View Full Version : Hibs Under 18s/Development Squad 23/24

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

12-02-2024, 05:48 PM
Anyone have the team lines from Fridays 4-2 win v Aberdeen???

Good question. The official report doesn't even mention the make up of the teams.

12-02-2024, 05:53 PM
Anyone have the team lines from Fridays 4-2 win v Aberdeen???

Match report and teams on the Aberdeen site
https://www.afc.co.uk/report/u18s-defeated-in-east-lothian

12-02-2024, 06:27 PM
Rory Whittaker & Rudi Molotnikov called up to the latest Under 19's Scotland squad, unfortunately Jacob Macintyre has withdrawn due to injury

source: official site

That’s good they’ve got a call up. A few of the English clubs have refused to let their lads to go to the camp as it’s not an International break

12-02-2024, 06:58 PM
Rory Whittaker & Rudi Molotnikov called up to the latest Under 19's Scotland squad, unfortunately Jacob Macintyre has withdrawn due to injury

source: official site

Poor lad is just back from injury isn’t he?

12-02-2024, 07:02 PM

We did well with 9 players then. 😄

12-02-2024, 07:11 PM
We did well with 9 players then. 😄Was thinking the same . Imagine we`d played with 11 .

12-02-2024, 07:31 PM
How are we doing in the League this season?

berwickhibee
12-02-2024, 08:28 PM

Thankyou👍

15-02-2024, 06:48 PM

If you mean the 18's then we started really well, took a few defeats when some of the older players wasn't involved but I think we have done well the past few games.

It's a very young under 18's team.

Development I can't even remember as yet again we have not played many games at that level.

HIBS NUTS
15-02-2024, 07:05 PM
If you mean the 18's then we started really well, took a few defeats when some of the older players wasn't involved but I think we have done well the past few games.

It's a very young under 18's team.

Development I can't even remember as yet again we have not played many games at that level.
With so many young players in the first team squad, the more physical players, the under 18 s , we’re up against it this season, although they done well, but with Rudi and Josh landers back, they won 4-2 away to Aberdeen.
The reserves are still in the league cup, I think. 🤔

15-02-2024, 07:18 PM
With so many young players in the first team squad, the more physical players, the under 18 s , we’re up against it this season, although they done well, but with Rudi and Josh landers back, they won 4-2 away to Aberdeen.
The reserves are still in the league cup, I think. 🤔

Is there a counter initiative school of thought that the better an under 18 team is doing the less likely it is that players will actually make it into the first team? With the logic being the better players at teams have already moved up to the first team squad. I’m sure our 18s were bottom of the league during the golden generation, yet we had the best youth team in the country as they were all in the first team.

We were all pleased to see the U19s do well last season, and Hibs were happy to talk up their success, and caveated that I don’t know much about those out on loan, but it doesn’t look like any obvious candidates to make it further than squad players from last seasons U19s.

15-02-2024, 08:19 PM
Poor lad is just back from injury isn’t he?

i couldn't tell you :greengrin

anyways, Oscar Macintyre away to Annan Athletic on loan for the remainder of the season

15-02-2024, 09:20 PM
Good question. The official report doesn't even mention the make up of the teams. In report about tomorrow`s Under 18 match it says we beat Aberdeen 4 v 2 last week " in the Granite City " when it was a home match . No big deal really but I`m sure quite a few Hibbies are interested in the results and line ups at Under 18 and Devt team level .

foxy
16-02-2024, 07:35 AM

Under 18 League 2023/24

Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts

Kilmarnock

Aberdeen

Rangers

Hamilton Accies

Hibernian

Hearts

Celtic

Queens Park

St Mirren

Motherwell

Dundee United

16-02-2024, 01:52 PM
HT @ K Park,
@MotherwellFC U18s 0 @HibernianFC U18s 1.
A goal from Jamie McMurdo on 34' is all that separates the side but Hibs have had the better chances.

16-02-2024, 03:56 PM
Under 18 League 2023/24

Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts

Kilmarnock

Aberdeen

Rangers

Hamilton Accies

Hibernian

Hearts

Celtic

Queens Park

St Mirren

Motherwell

Dundee United

Thank you

andrew70
16-02-2024, 05:31 PM
Rudi scored for Scotland under 19s today in a 4-0 win over Latvia.

16-02-2024, 05:33 PM
HT @ K Park,
@MotherwellFC U18s 0 @HibernianFC U18s 1.
A goal from Jamie McMurdo on 34' is all that separates the side but Hibs have had the better chances.

Anyone know the final score?

andrew70
16-02-2024, 05:35 PM
Anyone know the final score?

4-2 Motherwell.

16-02-2024, 05:40 PM
4-2 Motherwell.

Thanks Andrew

18-02-2024, 09:01 AM
Hibs reserves/ Development Team away to Ayr on Tuesday
2pm KO at Cumnock Juniors ground

Wonder if any of our 1st team squad will get a run out as well as some of the young lads

20-02-2024, 02:26 PM
Any updates?

20-02-2024, 02:29 PM
HT @ Town head Ayr 0 @HibernianFC Dev 2,
Free kick from Molotnikov after 6 mins and second from Megwa header on 16'. Two more goals ruled out for offside and a foul in build up.

From Maurice Dougan's Twitter

20-02-2024, 03:04 PM
HT @ Town head Ayr 0 @HibernianFC Dev 2,
Free kick from Molotnikov after 6 mins and second from Megwa header on 16'. Two more goals ruled out for offside and a foul in build up.

From Maurice Dougan's Twitter

👍

20-02-2024, 03:07 PM
FT @ Town head Park
@AyrUnitedFC Res 1 @HibernianFC Dev 5.
Comprehensive display with Ayr getting a late consultation.

scm70nyd1973
20-02-2024, 03:08 PM
Was thinking the same . Imagine we`d played with 11 .

Should have been much better given that Carol Smillie was in goals for the Sheep - interesting slant on changing rooms that would have been post match 🤭

HIBS NUTS
20-02-2024, 04:11 PM
FT @ Town head Park
@AyrUnitedFC Res 1 @HibernianFC Dev 5.
Comprehensive display with Ayr getting a late consultation.

Great stuff
It would be nice to see the team.👍

20-02-2024, 04:43 PM
Well in Rudi on the Scotland goal also, seems like a mature head who should have a bright future in the game.

1875Sean
20-02-2024, 06:37 PM
Any first team players get a run out?

big-mo
21-02-2024, 10:40 AM
Any first team players get a run out?

Caddes was the only ‘regular’ first team player, he was on for 75 mins.
turned out to be a easy win for Hibs, the Ayr team was taken by Brown and Whittaker. They had a couple of there first team players starting. Hibs had the ball in the back of the net four times in the first half but one was rules off-side and the other scored by Megwa was ruled out as he had climbed over the defender to get to it. First goal was a great free kick by Rudi. The second was a header from Megwa but it was saved and pinged about the goalmouth before Megwa fired home. The other three goals were a McAllister free kick, Robbie Hamilton and Jacob Blaney shots. They got a late consolation goal.
Apart from Cadden and the goal scores we had, Murray Johnson in goal, Zaid, Whittaker, Cleland, Calder. Bench was Smith, Bulloch, McGrath, McGarva and Bruce. ( no sub keeper)

big-mo
21-02-2024, 10:49 AM
Just a wee update on the U18s league, we have two games to go before the split, top six, bottom five. We are currently sixth and were due to play Killie on Friday but that game will be played next Tuesday. Hearts are seventh one point behind and there next game on Friday is against Dundee Utd. Killie are top of the league and Utd are second bottom (however United are on a very good run of form). Our last game is against Hearts, a game postponed from December (called off due to weather) the rearranged game will be played on Friday 1st March at HTC.

The dalmeny
21-02-2024, 11:51 AM
turned out to be a easy win for Hibs, the Ayr team was taken by Brown and Whittaker. They had a couple of there first team players starting. Hibs had the ball in the back of the net four times in the first half but one was rules off-side and the other scored by Megwa was ruled out as he had climbed over the defender to get to it. First goal was a great free kick by Rudi. The second was a header from Megwa but it was saved and pinged about the goalmouth before Megwa fired home. The other three goals were a McAllister free kick, Robbie Hamilton and Jacob Blaney shots. They got a late consolation goal.
Apart from Cadden and the goal scores we had, Murray Johnson in goal, Zaid, Whittaker, Cleland, Calder. Bench was Smith, Bulloch, McGrath, McGarva and Bruce. ( no sub keeper)

Went to the Edinburgh City game on Saturday there as didn't fancy the trip north, Zaid put a decent shift in, looks a good loan.

1875Sean
21-02-2024, 08:20 PM

Thanks, good to hear cadden getting some minutes, hopefully not to far away from starting in the first team

29-02-2024, 05:28 PM
Hibs Reserve v Livingston Reserves league game
HTC 2pm - Tuesday 5th March

HIBS NUTS
29-02-2024, 05:41 PM
Are the under 18s playing hearts tomorrow at HTC

andrew70
29-02-2024, 05:50 PM
Are the under 18s playing hearts tomorrow at HTC

I believe so, 6pm ko

HIBS NUTS
29-02-2024, 06:03 PM
I believe so, 6pm ko

👍

01-03-2024, 10:08 AM
Looks like Jacob Blaney away out on loan to East Fife till the end of the season.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/february/29/jacob-blaney-joins-east-fife-on-loan/

01-03-2024, 12:17 PM
Are any of last seasons under 19 team likely to make it? Maybe Murray Johnson in time. Megwa as well but can see being a squad player potentially being his ceiling. What about those on loan? Aitken? O’Connor? Macintyre?

Feels a bit like it might be the younger age groups with a few players more likely to make it than last seasons team. Albeit that’s from my little to none knowledge of our youth teams.

01-03-2024, 12:45 PM
Are any of last seasons under 19 team likely to make it? Maybe Murray Johnson in time. Megwa as well but can see being a squad player potentially being his ceiling. What about those on loan? Aitken? O’Connor? Macintyre?

Feels a bit like it might be the younger age groups with a few players more likely to make it than last seasons team. Albeit that’s from my little to none knowledge of our youth teams.

I honestly think only Rudi and at a push Aiken if he comes back well from his injury.

VoltaireHibs
01-03-2024, 01:23 PM
I honestly think only Rudi and at a push Aiken if he comes back well from his injury.

Two first team players out of each age group probably wouldn't be a bad return. Add to that the potential for one or two of them to be squad players and it saves us a fair chunk of cash.

HIBS NUTS
01-03-2024, 02:03 PM

Rudi MOLOTNIKOV most likely to make it, but these things change monthly,a great attitude goes a long way, a few months ago , there were a couple,, I thought had no chance, now they are playing well.
Murray Johnstone is exceptional for his age.

HIBS NUTS
01-03-2024, 02:08 PM
We might struggle to score tonight against hearts , as our 2 main goal scorers probably won’t play, hopefully dean clelland gets a few.👍

HIBS NUTS
01-03-2024, 05:52 PM
HT Hibs 0 hearts 1
Deserved lead for hearts

01-03-2024, 06:35 PM
HT Hibs 0 hearts 1
Deserved lead for hearts

That lot never deserve anything 😁

HIBS NUTS
01-03-2024, 06:42 PM
HIBS 1 hearts 2
hibs better this half
Alfie Smith always impressive for hibs.

03-03-2024, 04:31 PM
Molotnikov only got the last 6 mins for Stirling in a 2-2 draw with Qots. Brydon and McClelland both started for Qots, though Brydon subbed after 30 mins.

03-03-2024, 04:51 PM
Molotnikov only got the last 6 mins for Stirling in a 2-2 draw with Qots. Brydon and McClelland both started for Qots, though Brydon subbed after 30 mins.

Brydon is no longer a Hibs player, joined QOTS permanently.

HIBS NUTS
03-03-2024, 05:28 PM

Yeh disappointed he only got 6 minutes, no point of loans if they don’t play, it’s important, the teams they go to match their current ability.
Josh OConner doesn’t get enough game time, Mackay never plays for Inverness.

03-03-2024, 05:36 PM
Yeh disappointed he only got 6 minutes, no point of loans if they don’t play, it’s important, the teams they go to match their current ability.

Mackay never plays for Inverness because he signed for Livi :greengrin

03-03-2024, 05:38 PM

I should hope not, he's at Livingston :greengrin

Bakerman
03-03-2024, 05:40 PM

Oops. Mistakes happen. :greengrin

HIBS NUTS
03-03-2024, 05:46 PM
Oops. Mistakes happen. :greengrin

😀There’s another MACKAY not playing for Inverness assumed it was still him.
Must have missed him going to Livingston.
Cheers for the update

03-03-2024, 06:18 PM

With them being part-time he’s probably only trained with his teammates once or twice. It’s always a struggle for loanees joining at this point of the season as they need to break into what is likely an established first XI and Stirling aren’t doing too badly.

King conrad
03-03-2024, 06:18 PM

He only joined just before the game, has to earn the right first.

05-03-2024, 12:28 PM
Anyone at the game today who can give updates

HIBS NUTS
05-03-2024, 12:38 PM
Anyone at the game today who can give updates

What time is it

05-03-2024, 12:50 PM
Very strong team today;

………….………..Johnson……

Cadden….Blaney…..Hanlon…..Stevenson….

…………….Triantis…..McAllister…..

Mayenda……..Molotnikov……..Jair……

……………………Clellend………

Hoping Mayenda does well, was impressed with him in his couple of sun appearances and been dissapointed he’s not featured the last couple of games.

HIBS NUTS
05-03-2024, 12:58 PM
What time is it

I’ve managed to get here for 2

VoltaireHibs
05-03-2024, 12:59 PM
Very strong team today;

………….………..Johnson……

Cadden….Blaney…..Hanlon…..Stevenson….

…………….Triantis…..McAllister…..

Mayenda……..Molotnikov……..Jair……

……………………Clellend………

Hoping Mayenda does well, was impressed with him in his couple of sun appearances and been dissapointed he’s not featured the last couple of games.

That is a very strong team indeed. Good to see Cadden getting minutes.

HIBS NUTS
05-03-2024, 01:50 PM
HT hibs 0 Livingston 1
Fast and furious
All hibs, don’t know how they are 1-0 down.😔

HIBS NUTS
05-03-2024, 03:15 PM
FT 1-1
Ridiculously one sided game.
Jair could be out for a while, after a terrible tackle.

05-03-2024, 03:27 PM
FT 1-1
Ridiculously one sided game.
Jair could be out for a while, after a terrible tackle.

That’s shocking. Livingston at their best. Was it deliberate?

HIBS NUTS
05-03-2024, 03:36 PM
That’s shocking. Livingston at their best. Was it deliberate?

Tackle was in Injury time
It was uncalled for, it didn’t look good for him, he actually got hacked a lot.
Livingston reserves play like the first team, they play no football, defend with a packed defence.
They had a few first team players I recognised.
Hope they get relegated.

05-03-2024, 03:42 PM
Tackle was in Injury time
It was uncalled for, it didn’t look good for him, he actually got hacked a lot.
Livingston reserves play like the first team, they play no football, defend with a packed defence.
They had a few first team players I recognised.
Hope they get relegated.

Genuinely ridiculous. What a gang they are

05-03-2024, 04:13 PM
Who scored for Hibs?

05-03-2024, 04:27 PM
Blaney scored with the last kick of the ball.

Hibs dominated possession but so wasteful in the final 3rd....was very familiar!

05-03-2024, 04:32 PM
Blaney scored with the last kick of the ball.

Hibs dominated possession but so wasteful in the final 3rd....was very familiar!

Thanks WH

Donegal Hibby
05-03-2024, 04:49 PM
How did Cadden do ? .

HIBS NUTS
05-03-2024, 05:03 PM
How did Cadden do ? .

He was his usual enthusiastic self.👍

05-03-2024, 06:04 PM
Mayenda was pretty disappointing, both when out wide and later through the middle.

Triantis showed promise as defensive mid, definitely looked more comfortable there than at CH in the first team I thought.

I definitely think there's a potential Hibs 1st team player in Blaney. He played well alongside Paul H and his use of the ball in both short and longer passing is very good.

Cadden looked fit and played the 90 which was great to see.

Jair took it past players for fun but his final ball is consistently poor and he rarely has an end product.

Livi a team of hammer throwers unsurprisingly but Bruce Anderson took his goal well.

HIBS NUTS
05-03-2024, 06:08 PM
Mayenda was pretty disappointing, both when out wide and later through the middle.

Triantis showed promise as defensive mid, definitely looked more comfortable there than at CH in the first team I thought.

I definitely think there's a potential Hibs 1st team player in Blaney. He played well alongside Paul H and his use of the ball in both short and longer passing is very good.

Cadden looked fit and played the 90 which was great to see.

Jair took it past players for fun but his final ball is consistently poor and he rarely has an end product.

Livi a team of hammer throwers unsurprisingly but Bruce Anderson took his goal well.
The miss at the end by Mayenda, was incredible.
Nectar looked decent in midfield.👍

HIBS NUTS
05-03-2024, 06:09 PM
I actually forgot how attacking cadden is, definitely a wing back, not a right back.

05-03-2024, 06:10 PM
The miss at the end by Mayenda, was incredible.
Nectar looked decent in midfield.👍

Aye I think that was going in until his intervention!

big-mo
08-03-2024, 08:51 PM
The CAS Under18s league has reached the split, but Hibs were unable to find out their post split fixtures because it was not confirmed if they were in the top six or bottom five. There were a few teams that had outstanding fixtures, Dundee Utd had two games in hand and if they won them both they would overtake take us in six position. However Utd played Queens Park this evening, Utd lost 2-1, Hibs are now confirmed as top six, btw Hearts are bottom five.

09-03-2024, 01:17 AM
Any updates news on Jair ? Apols if missed

VoltaireHibs
09-03-2024, 01:33 PM
The CAS Under18s league has reached the split, but Hibs were unable to find out their post split fixtures because it was not confirmed if they were in the top six or bottom five. There were a few teams that had outstanding fixtures, Dundee Utd had two games in hand and if they won them both they would overtake take us in six position. However Utd played Queens Park this evening, Utd lost 2-1, Hibs are now confirmed as top six, btw Hearts are bottom five.

Natural order. Or in Hearts case, Natural Ordure

09-03-2024, 02:14 PM
Molotnikov on the bench for Stirling again today. Ironically, ex Hibs youngster Callum Crane playing in midfield for them.

HIBS NUTS
09-03-2024, 06:30 PM
Any updates news on Jair ? Apols if missed

Monty never mentioned Jair in the rangers post match interview.
It Looked a bad injury.
Hopefully he’s alright

10-03-2024, 08:13 AM
It Looked a bad injury.
Hopefully he’s alright

That sounds like bad news for him. Really hoping he can hit a bit of form and consistently show what he can do. Effign cloggers. Hoping he can still prove the doubters wrong. Raimundo will know how to manage it. I imagine similar to the Brazilians, Portuguese will play with emotion and he truly took a battering from LJ and what a fraud he turned out.

10-03-2024, 09:40 AM
It Looked a bad injury.
Hopefully he’s alright

He was in the training pics so presumably he is fine.

HIBS NUTS
10-03-2024, 12:34 PM
He was in the training pics so presumably he is fine.

Great 👍

12-03-2024, 02:13 PM
1 nil Hibs after 1 minute.

12-03-2024, 02:16 PM
2 nil 10 mins.

12-03-2024, 02:59 PM
5 nil ht.

12-03-2024, 03:12 PM
5 nil ht.

Wow ! Who are they playing ?

12-03-2024, 03:27 PM
Wow ! Who are they playing ?

Malaga Academy. 6 nil.

12-03-2024, 03:44 PM
Malaga Academy. 6 nil.

Is it our under 18’s

Fanforlife
12-03-2024, 04:47 PM
Final score 9 - 0 😁

12-03-2024, 05:11 PM
Is it our under 18’s

Yes both teams were 18s Billy. I counted 8-0.

12-03-2024, 05:18 PM
Yes both teams were 18s Billy. I counted 8-0.

Thanks, when is the away leg😀

VoltaireHibs
12-03-2024, 05:27 PM
Malaga showing us that Spanish football is miles ahead...

Keepthefaith
12-03-2024, 06:05 PM
Malaga showing us that Spanish football is miles ahead...

to be fair, Malaga are now in the 3rd tier of Spanish football. great stadium and city but they've been in decline for a long while now

plhibs
12-03-2024, 06:13 PM
Why were we playing them :confused:

12-03-2024, 06:46 PM
Why were we playing them :confused:

Malaga are on tour, they asked Hibs for a game. They were poor.

VoltaireHibs
12-03-2024, 07:16 PM
to be fair, Malaga are now in the 3rd tier of Spanish football. great stadium and city but they've been in decline for a long while now

Ah,fair do's. Good shooting practice for us. Good back stretches for their goalie.

plhibs
12-03-2024, 07:55 PM
Malaga are on tour, they asked Hibs for a game. They were poor.

Thanks for that 👍.

12-03-2024, 08:56 PM

Two different teams. Malaga City’s senior team are in the fifth tier, which maybe helps explain the scoreline

Coach Jon
13-03-2024, 09:03 AM
Do we still have a B team, if so when do they play?

13-03-2024, 09:37 AM
Do we still have a B team, if so when do they play?

Depends what we call them, but we have an 18’s, and a team in the Reserve League and Cup competitions
The games for the Reserves are all on the SPFL site

Coach Jon
13-03-2024, 09:43 AM
Depends what we call them, but we have an 18’s, and a team in the Reserve League and Cup competitions
The games for the Reserves are all on the SPFL site

Thanks for that Billy.

13-03-2024, 04:54 PM
Final score 9 - 0 😁

Well done Harry 👍

Fanforlife
13-03-2024, 08:18 PM
Well done Harry 👍
Scored in 30 seconds but it was him who told me it was 9 daft bugger cannae count🤣🤣

big-mo
14-03-2024, 12:36 PM
Ok, we are now into the post split fixtures in the CAS Elite Under 18s league. With Dundee United losing last week, we were then confirmed as in the top 6, and the natural order was maintained when Hearts were confirmed in the bottom 5.
i now have the fixtures for the rest of the season and I have listed them below, at this point we do not know kickoff times, but these will normally be 7pm. They have had to make a couple of changes to the schedule already because of pitch availability and player availability due to international call-ups.

Friday 15/3 Hamilton away,
Friday 22/3 Rangers home (postponed) TBA
Friday 29/3 Aberdeen home,
Friday 5/4 Killie away (now switched to a home game)
Friday 12/4 Celtic home,
Tuesday 16/4 Hamilton home ( now switched to Monday 15th)
Friday 19/4 Rangers away,
Friday 26/4 Aberdeen away
Friday 3/5 Killie home ( now away),
Friday 10/5 Celtic away.

As you will see, we have a run of home games and then all away, the postponed Rangers has still to be fitted in.
We also have three Tuesday games for the Reserves, 26/3 Dundee away, 2/4 Killie home, Pars away 9/4.

Hope this is informative and that some of you will maybe be able to make it to one or two of these game.

Also if any of you are on Instagram, there is a new group called Hibsdevelopment which does match reports, lineups and uses some of my photos from the games. Well worth a look.

14-03-2024, 12:56 PM
Ok, we are now into the post split fixtures in the CAS Elite Under 18s league. With Dundee United losing last week, we were then confirmed as in the top 6, and the natural order was maintained when Hearts were confirmed in the bottom 5.
i now have the fixtures for the rest of the season and I have listed them below, at this point we do not know kickoff times, but these will normally be 7pm. They have had to make a couple of changes to the schedule already because of pitch availability and player availability due to international call-ups.

Friday 12/4 Celtic home,
Friday 10/5 Celtic away.

As you will see, we have a run of home games and then all away, the postponed Rangers has still to be fitted in.
We also have three Tuesday games for the Reserves, 26/3 Dundee away, 2/4 Killie home, Pars away 9/4.

Hope this is informative and that some of you will maybe be able to make it to one or two of these game.

Also if any of you are on Instagram, there is a new group called Hibsdevelopment which does match reports, lineups and uses some of my photos from the games. Well worth a look.

Thank you big mo! It's great to read an actual informative football post on this forum! It makes a very pleasant change from some of the content on other threads which seem to becoming more and more prevalent recently.

HIBS NUTS
14-03-2024, 01:36 PM

Friday 12/4 Celtic home,
Friday 10/5 Celtic away.

Brilliant thanks

14-03-2024, 01:45 PM
Thanks Mo

big-mo
14-03-2024, 02:56 PM
Two different teams. Malaga City’s senior team are in the fifth tier, which maybe helps explain the scoreline

just to clarify FC Malaga City are an academy set-up, and take players from all over. The team that played us on Tuesday all spoke English. It is basically for rich kids whose families think they can be professional footballers. It has tie ins to Spurs.
One of their coaches is Steven Calker who played for a number of clubs including Tottenham, QPR, Liverpool and Dundee. He is one of their player/coaches and he contacted Hibs looking for a game, we has a free date so agreed.

Fanforlife
16-03-2024, 01:49 PM
Under 18,s lost 1 -0 away to Hamilton last night.

HIBS NUTS
16-03-2024, 09:42 PM
Well done today, for another under 18 player Jacob McIntyre .
We all have different views about Monty, but he has shown more than any previous manger, the young players have a chance of first team football.

16-03-2024, 09:51 PM
Well done today, for another under 18 player Jacob McIntyre .
We all have different views about Monty, but he has shown more than any previous manger, the young players have a chance of first team football.Thought he did well when he came on . His brother wasn`t in Annan squad today . Presumably injured or suspended .

17-03-2024, 07:04 AM
Molotnikov got the last 15 mins for Stirling.

Zaid started (and scored) for Edinburgh City.

HIBS NUTS
26-03-2024, 02:32 PM
Scotland under 19s playing today against Czechs
Some hibs boys involved
Is it on a channel somewhere.

26-03-2024, 02:37 PM
Some hibs boys involved

It’s finished they lost 2-0
Rory Whittaker, Jacob McIntyre and Rudi all started

26-03-2024, 02:37 PM
Some hibs boys involved

It's finished. They lost 2-0.

HIBS NUTS
26-03-2024, 03:15 PM
Thanks guys 👍

Chip shop Joe
26-03-2024, 05:48 PM
It’s finished they lost 2-0
Rory Whittaker, Jacob McIntyre and Rudi all started

Very encouraging that we had 3 starters.

That can’t have happened many times.

26-03-2024, 06:39 PM
Very encouraging that we had 3 starters.

That can’t have happened many times.

Result aside it's still some minutes at international level.

HIBS NUTS
27-03-2024, 08:51 AM
Do the under 18s play Aberdeen at home on Friday, and if so what time.

27-03-2024, 10:01 AM

6pm at HTC.

You should follow Hibs on WhatsApp if you use it. They posted the fixture details there

HIBS NUTS
27-03-2024, 01:57 PM
Thanks I will try and get that whatsapp

big-mo
27-03-2024, 02:18 PM
6pm k/o on the 3G, free entry to all spectators.

The reserves should have played Dundee up there yesterday but the game was postponed, now rescheduled for 16th April, that is going to be a busy week with the Reserves playing Hamilton at HTC on the Monday and the U18s away to Rangers on the Friday.

big-mo
27-03-2024, 02:26 PM
Thanks I will try and get that whatsapp

If you are on Instagram there is a very good account on there worth following HibsDevelopment. It is run by someone in the know as they post fixtures, lineups and match reports.

i am still trying to find out who runs it, some of the lads parents have labelled his as the Banksy of the web. Does anyone on the .net know who it is?

HIBS NUTS
27-03-2024, 03:51 PM
If you are on Instagram there is a very good account on there worth following HibsDevelopment. It is run by someone in the know as they post fixtures, lineups and match reports.

i am still trying to find out who runs it, some of the lads parents have labelled his as the Banksy of the web. Does anyone on the .net know who it is?

Thanks but I’m not on instagram 👍

HIBS NUTS
29-03-2024, 05:49 PM
HT HIBS 1- ABERDEEN 2
Clelland scored for hibs

HIBS NUTS
29-03-2024, 06:50 PM
HIBS 2- 4 ABERDEEN
Jamie McMurdo for hibs
Red card for bullock hibs

31-03-2024, 08:51 AM
Zaid played the full 90 for Edinburgh City yesterday while Molotnikov was an unused sub for Stirling Albion.

01-04-2024, 07:45 AM
Zaid played the full 90 for Edinburgh City yesterday while Molotnikov was an unused sub for Stirling Albion.

Not really sure why we’ve sent rudi there is he’s not going to play. It’s clogger football.

01-04-2024, 07:52 AM
Not really sure why we’ve sent rudi there is he’s not going to play. It’s clogger football.

It's a bit disappointing he's not getting much game time.

01-04-2024, 07:58 AM
Seen Rudi a few times lately and I'm not sure about his attitude, seems to be on his heels a lot, not looking for the ball, not pressing, doesn't seem focused.

01-04-2024, 08:17 AM
Seen Rudi a few times lately and I'm not sure about his attitude, seems to be on his heels a lot, not looking for the ball, not pressing, doesn't seem focused.

A couple goals of reserve games coming up, maybe for the likes of Rudi, and maybe even Josh Campbell to get some minutes
Home to Kilmarnock tomorrow at HTC 2pm KO
Away to Dunfermline on Tuesday 9th April at Ainslie Park, 1pm KO
Away to Dundee on Tuesday 16th 2pm KO

HIBS NUTS
01-04-2024, 09:38 AM
It's a bit disappointing he's not getting much game time.

Mabye we are pitching the young players , at too high a level, I would much rather he was playing at Edinburgh city, who are desperate for players, than sitting on the bench.

HIBS NUTS
01-04-2024, 09:39 AM
Jacob McIntyre is to good for under 18 football.

01-04-2024, 10:36 AM
Mabye we are pitching the young players , at too high a level, I would much rather he was playing at Edinburgh city, who are desperate for players, than sitting on the bench.

He was away with Scotland for most of the last week or so, we don’t know if he actually trained with Albion after he came back from international duty

King conrad
01-04-2024, 11:57 AM

Alot of our young players are not ready for that level never mind playing for Hibs. I hate when we over hype and put pressure on them, Yes they may be good at youth level but it's a big jump from u18s to play league one football.
Don't agree with the clogger football comment as most of these players at that level are good footballers.
I think we should have went down the route of Hearts and Celtic and had a team in the Lowland league.
Get the younger players playing against men at a younger age

HIBS NUTS
01-04-2024, 12:25 PM
Alot of our young players are not ready for that level never mind playing for Hibs. I hate when we over hype and put pressure on them, Yes they may be good at youth level but it's a big jump from u18s to play league one football.
Don't agree with the clogger football comment as most of these players at that level are good footballers.
I think we should have went down the route of Hearts and Celtic and had a team in the Lowland league.
Get the younger players playing against men at a younger age

The problem with the under 18s football is, at the end of each term, a decision it made, on whether to offer a full time contract to the players that are to old.for the next season, out of a pool of perhaps 15, only a very small percentage will be kept on .
The standard of the players, in the position of the players below affect that decision.
If these guys have only experienced youth football, it’s hard to decide if the player could play at a more physical level.

The dalmeny
01-04-2024, 03:11 PM

I happened to be at the City game yesterday (wouldn't touch ibrox with a bargepole) firstly City have no space for further loan players. Malik put in a good shift again, if he's no getting bodied he's getting in about it. I'd say this has been a good loan move for him. All the young ( City) loan players seem to be putting a good shift in.

The cloggers comment elsewhere is embarrassing so I won't make any further comment on it.

The problem with being at Stirling is they are right in the mix for the relegation playoff. A gaffer might be reluctant to throw a 17yo into that. Rudi needs to show he's up for that in training. Maybe there will be more chance towards the end of the season if they can pull away.

01-04-2024, 07:00 PM
I happened to be at the City game yesterday (wouldn't touch ibrox with a bargepole) firstly City have no space for further loan players. Malik put in a good shift again, if he's no getting bodied he's getting in about it. I'd say this has been a good loan move for him. All the young ( City) loan players seem to be putting a good shift in.

The cloggers comment elsewhere is embarrassing so I won't make any further comment on it.

The problem with being at Stirling is they are right in the mix for the relegation playoff. A gaffer might be reluctant to throw a 17yo into that. Rudi needs to show he's up for that in training. Maybe there will be more chance towards the end of the season if they can pull away.

So it’s pointless sending him to Stirling then. Send him somewhere where he will get game time. He should have went to a team looking to play football. There was very little of that when I watched striking recently

The dalmeny
01-04-2024, 07:54 PM
So it’s pointless sending him to Stirling then. Send him somewhere where he will get game time. He should have went to a team looking to play football. There was very little of that when I watched striking recently

I think t3 is probably to high an introduction to 'mens' football. Somewhere like Gala would have been far better.

Perhaps the loan team at hibs have had their eye off the ball here they should be looking for a suitable club

PHeffernan
01-04-2024, 10:18 PM
Jacob McIntyre is to good for under 18 football.

I thought he looked very comfortable when he came on for the first team recently.
Very impressive he was.

HIBS NUTS
02-04-2024, 07:00 AM
I thought he looked very comfortable when he came on for the first team recently.
Very impressive he was.

He’s the best under 18 player by a country mile.
Hopefully the reserve game is on today, but the pitches are bound to be flooded. 😔

HIBS NUTS
02-04-2024, 12:59 PM
Under 18s today

02-04-2024, 01:37 PM
Currently 1.0 to Kilmarnock in the reserve league

02-04-2024, 01:48 PM
Very poor first half from Hibs and lucky to xbe only 1 goal down.

HIBS NUTS
02-04-2024, 01:52 PM
All under 18 players apart from Murray Johnstone , as previously said terrible performance so far

02-04-2024, 02:08 PM

02-04-2024, 02:42 PM
2.1 Killie

HIBS NUTS
02-04-2024, 03:08 PM
The second half was much better.

Fanforlife
05-04-2024, 05:52 PM
Just found out 18,s are playing Killie at present moment, still 0-0 but Hibs down to 10 men,seemingly Whitaker been sent off.

05-04-2024, 06:07 PM
Just found out 18,s are playing Killie at present moment, still 0-0 but Hibs down to 10 men,seemingly Whitaker been sent off.

Clearly not in the squad for tomorrow then, so Miller must be back.

Fanforlife
05-04-2024, 07:47 PM
Lost 3-0. Seemingly better team until sending off😱

06-04-2024, 12:20 AM

Not unusual for young lads to play some minutes on the Friday night and be in the senior squad on the Saturday.

06-04-2024, 07:42 AM
Is there a drop in talent at the moment in the U18's, seems to be a good few losing games this season.

06-04-2024, 08:37 AM

They are allowed to play a certain amount of minutes on a Friday night but they usually get subbed off rather than sent off haha

06-04-2024, 08:38 AM
Is there a drop in talent at the moment in the U18's, seems to be a good few losing games this season.

It's normally a really young Hibs team this season. I've seen 14 year olds playing.

06-04-2024, 10:18 AM
It's normally a really young Hibs team this season. I've seen 14 year olds playing.

👍

06-04-2024, 08:13 PM
Last 20 mins for Molotnikov today.

06-04-2024, 08:25 PM
Having watched the 18s and Dev games recently I was really concerned to see they seemed afflicted by the same issues as the 1st team. Passing the ball slowly and with little purpose at the back to no effect and toothless up top. We seem to have an abundance of staff on the bench in these games (counted 10 Vs Killie in the Dev game last week) but aside from Boozy, no-one else was very active in doing anything (overtly anyway).

NM imposing his dull, boring style across the club is a concern.

07-04-2024, 03:02 PM
Reserves playing Dunfermline at Ainslie Park on Tuesday, 1pm KO
Wonder if the likes of Josh Campbell will get some minutes

big-mo
07-04-2024, 03:56 PM
Having watched the 18s and Dev games recently I was really concerned to see they seemed afflicted by the same issues as the 1st team. Passing the ball slowly and with little purpose at the back to no effect and toothless up top. We seem to have an abundance of staff on the bench in these games (counted 10 Vs Killie in the Dev game last week) but aside from Boozy, no-one else was very active in doing anything (overtly anyway).

NM imposing his dull, boring style across the club is a concern.

Not sure about the over abundance of numbers on the bench. In the U18s games Daz is in charge as U18s coach, Boozy is the Dev coach, Gareth Evans is the Academy Director, so is at all these games. Other than that, we have Lewis the physio, Aaron is fitness coach. Scott is the goalie coach. They normally have Shep the Kit man, but he is missing at the moment as it is lambing season.

Fanforlife
09-04-2024, 01:20 PM
Development squad 1-0 up at HT v Dunfermline. Game is at Ainslie Park.

09-04-2024, 02:02 PM
FT
@officialdafc Res 2 @HibernianFC Dev 3.
Malik gave Hibs 2-0 lead 11 mins in 2nd half but only few mins later Pars got 2, first from free kick, 2nd from shot across goal. Hibs got the winner on 90 mins from sub Josh Landers.

Copied from Maurice Dougan's Twitter

09-04-2024, 03:44 PM
They normally have Shep the Kit man, but he is missing at the moment as it is lambing season.

That is brilliant 😄

HIBS NUTS
09-04-2024, 05:12 PM
FT
@officialdafc Res 2 @HibernianFC Dev 3.
Malik gave Hibs 2-0 lead 11 mins in 2nd half but only few mins later Pars got 2, first from free kick, 2nd from shot across goal. Hibs got the winner on 90 mins from sub Josh Landers.

Copied from Maurice Dougan's Twitter
Nice to see landers is back from injury, his absence has made a big difference.

12-04-2024, 03:07 PM
From Maurice Dougan on twitter @Cabbageandribs

HT @ HTC @HibernianFC U18s 3 @CelticFCAcademy 1. Josh Landers on 4 mins, Celtic got one back 3 mins later, but Josh restored lead on 27' and McAllister made it 3 on 44'. Game ebbing to and from but Hibs with the best chances, it could have been more.

12-04-2024, 03:37 PM

HT @ HTC @HibernianFC U18s 3 @CelticFCAcademy 1. Josh Landers on 4 mins, Celtic got one back 3 mins later, but Josh restored lead on 27' and McAllister made it 3 on 44'. Game ebbing to and from but Hibs with the best chances, it could have been more.

Sounds good

12-04-2024, 04:06 PM

FT @ HTC @HibernianFC U18s 4 @CelticFCAcademy 1. Harry Wright added the fourth early in the second half, and from there on it was no longer a contest.
Good win for the youngsters. Overall Hibs 10-3 on aggregate over three games against the 'Tic this season.

Fanforlife
12-04-2024, 10:28 PM
Thought Hibs 18,s were excellent today,was good to see the gaffer taking the time to attend as well,fair play to him as the weather was pony.

tbfhibs2
16-04-2024, 06:01 PM
0-0 today away to Dundee.
Pitch was awful so hardly a classic.

The dalmeny
17-04-2024, 11:44 AM
Wee Malek played a blinder (as did all the guys to be fair) in Edinburgh City's win over Montrose last night. Got the ball, got kicked, got up, got the ball.

Fanforlife
18-04-2024, 03:18 PM
Under 18,s away to Sevco tomorrow, 4pm, KO.

19-04-2024, 05:00 PM
FT The Rangers U18's 0 Hibs U18's 0

Taken from their Twitter

big-mo
20-04-2024, 06:46 AM
FT The Rangers U18's 0 Hibs U18's 0

Taken from their Twitter

it was a game of few clear-cut chances, but much better that Tuesday’s game in Dundee. Both teams matched up fairly well but had a bit of end of season to it. Downside for h
Hibs both Josh Landers and Jay McGarva were forced off, Josh with problems with the same ankle that kept him out for 9 weeks and Jay going home with a moon boot on. Both expected to miss the next few games at least.
Only five games left in the U18s season, Tuesday at home to Rangers, Friday away to Aberdeen, Monday at home to Hamilton, then the next two Fridays, away to Killie and the Celtic.
Looks like Killie will be champions but Dons still have two games in hand and can still catch them, just.

23-04-2024, 02:57 PM
HT @ HTC @HibernianFC U18s 1 @RFC_Youth 0. Plenty of pressure from both sides, with the Gers edging it to start with but Hibs came more into it. With 4 mins remaining Rudi headed home from 10 yards.

SonOfDavidFrancey
23-04-2024, 03:11 PM
FT @ HTC @HibernianFC U18s 3 @RFC_Youth 2. Where have I seen that score before? Gers equalised 5mins into 2nd half but a free kick from McAllister 2 mins later and another from Deano 2 mins after that saw Hibs in control, Gers got their second on 85'. Good win for the lads.

23-04-2024, 03:19 PM
FT @ HTC @HibernianFC U18s 3 @RFC_Youth 2. Where have I seen that score before? Gers equalised 5mins into 2nd half but a free kick from McAllister 2 mins later and another from Deano 2 mins after that saw Hibs in control, Gers got their second on 85'. Good win for the lads.

Always good to hear a win against Gers

HIBS NUTS
23-04-2024, 04:00 PM
Great win👍

29-04-2024, 06:50 PM
Any updates from tonights game against Hamilton?

29-04-2024, 07:20 PM
Any updates from tonights game against Hamilton?
HT 45+1’ u18s Hibernian 1-1 Accies. Hibs took lead in 12’ and Lewis Hodgkiss equalised on 25’

29-04-2024, 08:26 PM
FT 90+4’ u18s Hibernian 3-1 Accies. 1-1 at HT with Lewis Hodgkiss out scorer, but Hibs scored in 49’ and 71’

Info from Accies Twitter, sorry don't have Hibs scorers.

29-04-2024, 08:59 PM
Josh McDonald got our second and Rueben McAllister the third. Also, first goal was Rudi according to Maurice Dougan’s X account. Mental that fans who are mental about anything Hibs have to rely on one individual rather than the club.

HIBS NUTS
29-04-2024, 10:31 PM
Josh McDonald got our second and Rueben McAllister the third. Also, first goal was Rudi according to Maurice Dougan’s X account. Mental that fans who are mental about anything Hibs have to rely on one individual rather than the club.

The coverage of the under 18s, and reserve football at hibs , is abysmal 👍

01-05-2024, 12:15 PM

The coverage of the under 18s, and reserve football at hibs , is abysmal 👍

Hibs publicise the fixtures through WhatsApp, so I don’t get why they don’t at least share the scores (albeit I’d far prefer more coverage than that!)

Fanforlife
10-05-2024, 09:09 PM
Under 18,s lost 5 -3 away to Celtic tonight.

10-05-2024, 09:21 PM
Under 18,s lost 5 -3 away to Celtic tonight.

Believe a 14 year old GK made his debut for Hibs tonight.

Fanforlife
10-05-2024, 09:45 PM
Believe a 14 year old GK made his debut for Hibs tonight.sorry ive no idea regarding this m8,grandson just messaged me with the result.

big-mo
11-05-2024, 03:16 PM
Last night was the final Under 18s game of the season, away to Celtic, a team we have had mixed results against them, the first game we beat them 5-0 away, lost 1-2 at home, then beat them 4-1 at HTC, last night at Lennoxtown. it looked like they would murder us.
A quick game report - it started as a fairly even game with both teams having chances but just before the half-hour mark Celtic go a penalty, it was a last ditch tackle but could have gone either way (Celtic managed to get the ball in the net as the ref gave the pen, they scored the resultant kick. Two minutes later Josh Landers had a shot from close range come off the bar, the ball went back up field and the Celtic striker headed home a cross to make 2-0 on 32'. On 42 mins it was 3-0 and just before half-time it was 4-0. (not a fair reflection on the game at that point).
Hibs made a couple of changes at half-time (one enforced) as Harry Wright and Reuben McAllister came on for Josh McDonald and Arran McSporran. On 49' Wright was taken out from behind right on the edge of the box, the Celtic player involved had already been booked in the first half, but no card was shown. McAllister took the free-kick from just outside the D, and put it over and around the wall to get one back, 4-1. Celtic scored another on 52' witha strike into the bottom corner. Hibs kept pressing and Jammie McMurdo hit a great shot from 20 yards out and into the net. Josh had another shot come of the bar. On 92' minutes Harry Wright drove in from the left and got Hibs third with a great solo effort. Full Time 5-3.

As mentioned it was a fairly young team and with two 14 year olds and one that had just turned 15. Celtic had a very experienced side out.
Hibs had Ben Vickey in goal, who is not 15 until August, despite losing five, he had a number of good saves. The other 14 year old was Alisdair Burns who came on as a sub, he is 15 in September.
The Hibs team were - Ben Vickery (14), Dean Cleland, Lewis Gillie (15), Jamie McMurdo, Alfie Smith (Alisdair Burns), Arron McSporran (15 just)(Reuben McAllister), Josh McDonald (Harry Wright), Owan Calder, Joe McGrath (c), Jamie Bulloch (Adam Buckley 15) Josh Landers. Unused Ryan Mallon gk.

There are afew other games still to be played in the league, but Aberdeen won it yesterday after beating Rangers, Killie had been 12 points clear at one point in the season. Other notable teams were, Dundee United who one 8-1 yesterday and have won their last eight game but are in the bottom five of the league. Hearts were away to Queen's Park yesterday, it was 1-2 at HT but the game ended 6-8.!!!

11-05-2024, 08:35 PM
Last night was the final Under 18s game of the season, away to Celtic, a team we have had mixed results against them, the first game we beat them 5-0 away, lost 1-2 at home, then beat them 4-1 at HTC, last night at Lennoxtown. it looked like they would murder us.
A quick game report - it started as a fairly even game with both teams having chances but just before the half-hour mark Celtic go a penalty, it was a last ditch tackle but could have gone either way (Celtic managed to get the ball in the net as the ref gave the pen, they scored the resultant kick. Two minutes later Josh Landers had a shot from close range come off the bar, the ball went back up field and the Celtic striker headed home a cross to make 2-0 on 32'. On 42 mins it was 3-0 and just before half-time it was 4-0. (not a fair reflection on the game at that point).
Hibs made a couple of changes at half-time (one enforced) as Harry Wright and Reuben McAllister came on for Josh McDonald and Arran McSporran. On 49' Wright was taken out from behind right on the edge of the box, the Celtic player involved had already been booked in the first half, but no card was shown. McAllister took the free-kick from just outside the D, and put it over and around the wall to get one back, 4-1. Celtic scored another on 52' witha strike into the bottom corner. Hibs kept pressing and Jammie McMurdo hit a great shot from 20 yards out and into the net. Josh had another shot come of the bar. On 92' minutes Harry Wright drove in from the left and got Hibs third with a great solo effort. Full Time 5-3.

As mentioned it was a fairly young team and with two 14 year olds and one that had just turned 15. Celtic had a very experienced side out.
Hibs had Ben Vickey in goal, who is not 15 until August, despite losing five, he had a number of good saves. The other 14 year old was Alisdair Burns who came on as a sub, he is 15 in September.
The Hibs team were - Ben Vickery (14), Dean Cleland, Lewis Gillie (15), Jamie McMurdo, Alfie Smith (Alisdair Burns), Arron McSporran (15 just)(Reuben McAllister), Josh McDonald (Harry Wright), Owan Calder, Joe McGrath (c), Jamie Bulloch (Adam Buckley 15) Josh Landers. Unused Ryan Mallon gk.

There are afew other games still to be played in the league, but Aberdeen won it yesterday after beating Rangers, Killie had been 12 points clear at one point in the season. Other notable teams were, Dundee United who one 8-1 yesterday and have won their last eight game but are in the bottom five of the league. Hearts were away to Queen's Park yesterday, it was 1-2 at HT but the game ended 6-8.!!!

Well done for the season to a very young u18's, great updates from everyone and we should do another thread next season 👍

big-mo
12-05-2024, 08:14 AM
Good idea to have a thread for next season.
The youngster have a summer trip to France to Boozy’s home town where the will play a mini tournament against local sides. (Not full games, so don’t expect updates).

Also it is looking like the Reserves/ Dev will not be taking part in the Reserve league but will still try their had at the cup.

12-05-2024, 08:29 AM
Thanks for the updates Mo. It has certainly been a mixed bag watching the 18s this season. Hopefully the really young guys will have benefited from being involved. I've heard a good few of the 18s have already been told they are not getting new contracts.

12-05-2024, 08:55 AM
Good idea to have a thread for next season.
The youngster have a summer trip to France to Boozy’s home town where the will play a mini tournament against local sides. (Not full games, so don’t expect updates).

Also it is looking like the Reserves/ Dev will not be taking part in the Reserve league but will still try their had at the cup.

Reading your last paragraph Mo, does this mean players over 18 will go out on loan

Mrimbetween
12-05-2024, 11:16 AM
I thought the Youth Development squad was being axed hope no

big-mo
12-05-2024, 12:03 PM
Reading your last paragraph Mo, does this mean players over 18 will go out on loan

Not sure, but with the general trimming of the total squad, I would not be supprised if most go out on loan or are released.

17-05-2024, 10:55 AM
under-17's off to France today to compete in the Tournament international U17

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/438099398_852102610289036_6885400197820817057_n.jp g?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5f2048&_nc_ohc=IDn8ZlySez8Q7kNvgFBgsc1&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AYBn5AUfA2lr90dYOr-RvWkAlm9ia_3KMVKg08jzEvTdcw&oe=664CF045

big-mo
19-05-2024, 09:03 AM
Boozy took the U17s to his local town to play in a mini tournament, they won their first game yesterday against La Harve 1-0 with a late goal by Dean Cleland, his 30th this season.
They play two games today, West Floria Flames this morning at 9am and ESMGO at 13:30.
once I know the scores I will post an update.

19-05-2024, 09:05 AM
Boozy took the U17s to his local town to play in a mini tournament, they won their first game yesterday against La Harve 1-0 with a late goal by Dean Cleland, his 30th this season.
They play two games today, West Floria Flames this morning at 9am and ESMGO at 13:30.
once I know the scores I will post an update.

Like.

The Hibee Harp
19-05-2024, 01:36 PM
First match with West Florida finished 1-1. Cleland scored.

big-mo
19-05-2024, 01:48 PM
First match with West Florida finished 1-1. Cleland scored.
Florida Flames game ended 1-1, Deano scored in the second half just after they had taken the lead.

big-mo
19-05-2024, 02:54 PM
The ESM Gonfreville (from France ) game ended 3-0, the youngster go on into the semis tomorrow.

big-mo
19-05-2024, 07:04 PM
The ESM Gonfreville (from France ) game ended 3-0, the youngster go on into the semis tomorrow.

The goals came from Jamie McMurdo, Deano (again) and an OG.

big-mo
19-05-2024, 07:49 PM
The lads play Spanish side FC Cadiz in the S/F at 11 am BST.

big-mo
20-05-2024, 11:11 AM
The lads play Spanish side FC Cadiz in the S/F at 11 am BST.T

he game ended 0-0. went to pens, But lost 5-4.

Good experiance for the lads and hopefully a good team bonding trip.

20-05-2024, 12:09 PM
Anyone else enjoy this thread and hearing about the youth teams. While simultaneously resigned to none of them ever getting a chance and guys like Bojang, Mayenda, Harbottle etc blocking their path for no impact themselves.

20-05-2024, 12:51 PM
Anyone else enjoy this thread and hearing about the youth teams. While simultaneously resigned to none of them ever getting a chance and guys like Bojang, Mayenda, Harbottle etc blocking their path for no impact themselves.

Yep, that absolutely has to change. Mayenda taking a spot on the bench each week when that could have been one of our own kids getting a taste of 1st team life was just typical of how we do things.

HIBS NUTS
20-05-2024, 03:49 PM
Yep, that absolutely has to change. Mayenda taking a spot on the bench each week when that could have been one of our own kids getting a taste of 1st team life was just typical of how we do things.
Yip hopefully some sort of pathways involved from under 18s.
Even if it was one player per squad, garanteed.
Gives the guys, something to aim for.👍

Mrimbetween
20-05-2024, 06:16 PM
Great to seeing the Youth doing well and nice one Boozy.My concern as im sure i read that we were scrapping any more investment in the Development Glad to be wrong

big-mo
21-05-2024, 06:35 AM
The Hibs team in France won the third-place play-off against Florida 3-0, with the goals coming from 15 year old Ally Burns and another couple from Dean Cleland, (Deano’s 33rd and 34th of the season).

big-mo
21-05-2024, 06:53 AM
The Hibs team in France won the third-place play-off against Florida 3-0, with the goals coming from 15 year old Ally Burns and another couple from Dean Cleland, (Deano’s 33rd and 34th of the season).

Also makes Deano top scorer in the tournament. He is a real prospect for Hibs, let’s hope he continues his progress next season, and Malky and the new manager appreciates home grown talent

Edinburgh Green
21-05-2024, 09:19 AM
Also makes Deano top scorer in the tournament. He is a real prospect for Hibs, let’s hope he continues his progress next season, and Malky and the new manager appreciates home grown talent

How does he compare to the last bunch of prospect strikers? O'Conner, Laidlaw and the boy who went to Rangers who's name escapes me.

21-05-2024, 09:32 AM
How does he compare to the last bunch of prospect strikers? O'Conner, Laidlaw and the boy who went to Rangers who's name escapes me.

Connor Young. Last seen at Clyde I think.

21-05-2024, 10:16 AM

Deano is a great striker who knows where the net is. A right good team player. He's grown about a foot in the last year which has helped him.

Young, we were lucky to get £50k for him.
Laidlaw, I really rated him, always came in off the left, Dean is more central.
O'connor, I don't quite think he's good enough. Always seems a bit selfish.

big-mo
21-05-2024, 11:25 AM

Connor Young is now at Clyde. Laidlaw still at Brentford and playing for their U21s.

As for Deano, he is a poacher and that is where he get most of his goals. 34 goals from roughtly 50 games is not a bad return. He is still a bit on the slight side but can put himself about no problem. He likes playing alongside a larger CF, such as Rudi Molotnikov or Josh Landers. Hopefully Hibs will keep all three of them.

We also have Josh McDonald coming through, he is still just 15, but as long as he progresses, he should also do well.

K-Zazu
21-05-2024, 11:34 AM
Anyone know why we don’t have a team in the Lowland league? Not sure if it is benefiting hearts this season but they seem to promoting and playing more youngsters than us.

22-05-2024, 06:29 AM
Anyone know why we don’t have a team in the Lowland league? Not sure if it is benefiting hearts this season but they seem to promoting and playing more youngsters than us.

We chose not to wanted to go down the development team path. Wonder if that decision is being reconsidered. No real view one way or another pros are probably get to play against men cons get to play against men who may want to do you. 😄

1875Sean
22-05-2024, 07:09 AM

Isn’t the B team getting binned anyway? Sure I read Hibs are only going to have an 18s then first team from next season

22-05-2024, 07:24 AM
Isn’t the B team getting binned anyway? Sure I read Hibs are only going to have an 18s then first team from next season

That’s right. Anyone else will be on loan or released. Was certainly the chat.

22-05-2024, 07:10 PM

Which makes sense.

How many players will come through a B team, and will their subsequent play justify the cost of running a B team just for that one or two players every couple of seasons?

I'm in favour of putting the promising youngsters out on loan to experience a new environment at a lower level where wins matter to their team mates rather than a cosy set up playing with their mates in bounce development games or a Lowland League they can't get promote from.

22-05-2024, 07:11 PM

Been a decent thread two years in a row, shame the development never worked out the way we wanted.

Look forward to the u18's thread next season.

02-06-2024, 09:30 AM
I see the u17 squad that flew out for the youth tournament in France finished 3rd overall.

02-06-2024, 09:41 AM
Really amazes me how some of these clearly talented youngsters can’t even get on the bench never mind a sniff of minutes, when you’ve folk like Mayenda who never played and was never going to be here long term or be our project and and the eternally mediocre Jair.

02-06-2024, 10:31 AM
Really amazes me how some of these clearly talented youngsters can’t even get on the bench never mind a sniff of minutes, when you’ve folk like Mayenda who never played and was never going to be here long term or be our project and and the eternally mediocre Jair.

I would guess it’s because they are nowhere near ready or good enough to play for the first team. Very few of the under 18 team will make it as professional footballers never mind as first team players for Hibs

Paul1642
02-06-2024, 11:05 AM

There is a very big step up from youth football to senior football. There are so many average to crap players who’s youth profile would have had them on track to play at a high level, which never came to pass.

Our own Dylan Vente has 38 appearances and 15 goals across all youth ages for the Netherlands for example (at least according to Wikipedia) yet we are now asking if he’s good enough for Hibs. Likewise with Jair at Portugal youth with 40 appearances and 7 goals. These are literally the first two players that I checked out and the footballing world it’s littered with youth players who never made the step up very well.

These achievements certainly dwarf 3rd place at some French tournament.

This isn’t to write off our current youth team and I fully endorse us trying to ease the better ones into the team, but it isn’t something to be rushed or pushed for just because the senior squad are playing crap. If anything it does more harm than good to the player.

This season we have seen Whittaker, Landers, Megwa and a few others get some minutes. More importantly we’ve got plenty out on loan which is the better way for them to get minutes at senior level.

02-06-2024, 11:10 AM
I would guess it’s because they are nowhere near ready or good enough to play for the first team. Very few of the under 18 team will make it as professional footballers never mind as first team players for Hibs

We would be better, financially if nothing else, padding out the bench/squad with our own youngsters than signing players to make up the numbers, who we also have no intention of using or who are never likely to feature. Guys like Mayenda, Devlin, Bojang, Hope, McKirdy, Harbottle, Nathan Wood, Kenneh, Schofield, Wollacot (up until Marshall was injured for the dead rubbers), or guys struggling from the off fitness wise like Amos & Bevan.

02-06-2024, 11:26 AM
Dunbar United have announced a pre season friendly v a Hibernian XI on 9 July 7.30 ko

02-06-2024, 11:26 AM
Dunbar United have announced a pre season friendly v a Hibernian XI on 9 July 7.30 ko

Always a goodnight at Dunbar

Logie Green
02-06-2024, 11:45 AM

Always a good wee trip down there but it’s the same night as the first of the Euro Semi Finals. Hopefully Scotland’s game will be the following night. 😉

HIBS NUTS
02-06-2024, 03:52 PM
Always a goodnight at Dunbar
A pint in the club attached to the ground, and loads of parking.
Great wee set up, always enjoy the friendly there, Had a chat with Jim mcauthur last year, I think he is an agent for some of our players.

11-06-2024, 10:48 AM
What's the thoughts from those who watch the young team on those who have been let go?

Jamie Bulloch, Robbie Hamilton, Owen Hastie, Jay McGarva, Alfie Smith, and Harry Wright.

TrinityHFC
11-06-2024, 11:00 AM
We would be better, financially if nothing else, padding out the bench/squad with our own youngsters than signing players to make up the numbers, who we also have no intention of using or who are never likely to feature. Guys like Mayenda, Devlin, Bojang, Hope, McKirdy, Harbottle, Nathan Wood, Kenneh, Schofield, Wollacot (up until Marshall was injured for the dead rubbers), or guys struggling from the off fitness wise like Amos & Bevan.

We don’t sign players with the intention of never playing them, unless they are purely just decent t quality back up. Things don’t always work out but it is too simplistic to say a young player would have been better.

11-06-2024, 01:14 PM
What's the thoughts from those who watch the young team on those who have been let go?

Jamie Bulloch, Robbie Hamilton, Owen Hastie, Jay McGarva, Alfie Smith, and Harry Wright.

Hastie was the only one of those 6 who I felt had a chance but since playing for Scotland at the Euros last summer he's had a bad run of injuries. The younger players behind them will now get a chance to shine.

11-06-2024, 08:54 PM

I could be wrong but I thought Harry was starting to progress a little? Must be gutting for the lad and his grandad but I'm sure he will keep working hard while looking for a new club.

big-mo
30-06-2024, 12:59 PM
The U18s start the new season v Carlisle Utd on Wed at HTC, not sure if it is open to the public, the Dunbar Utd on the 9th, Preston Ath away on the 13th 14:00 ko, Middlesbrough on the 16th at HTC 14:00, 20th away to Millwall at St Andrews Uni 13:00.
26th the League starts, fixtures TBC. 30th or 31st Trust Trophy first round.

andrew70
30-06-2024, 03:31 PM
The U18s start the new season v Carlisle Utd on Wed at HTC, not sure if it is open to the public, the Dunbar Utd on the 9th, Preston Ath away on the 13th 14:00 ko, Middlesbrough on the 16th at HTC 14:00, 20th away to Millwall at St Andrews Uni 13:00.

Cheers for this, can you let us know if Carlisle is open to public if you find out.

Thanks again

30-06-2024, 03:52 PM

Mo although we don’t have a development squad next season, is there a reserve league/cup that we can play young players, and 1st team squad players who need minutes?
Nothing on the SPFL website about it

big-mo
30-06-2024, 05:48 PM
Mo although we don’t have a development squad next season, is there a reserve league/cup that we can play young players, and 1st team squad players who need minutes?
Nothing on the SPFL website about it
As you say we wouldn’t have Reserve League games, not sure if they will play Reserve Cup games. They will however be playing in the Trust Trophy but the number of games will depend on how far we progress. I think they will be planning a few more in season friendlies.
I will let you know about the game on Wednesday, it is a 12:30 k/o.

big-mo
02-07-2024, 09:52 AM
As you say we wouldn’t have Reserve League games, not sure if they will play Reserve Cup games. They will however be playing in the Trust Trophy but the number of games will depend on how far we progress. I think they will be planning a few more in season friendlies.
I will let you know about the game on Wednesday, it is a 12:30 k/o.

there is no indication that it is BCD so it will be a 12:30 k/o, hopefully there might be a few turn up for the game. A number of the youngster are away with the first team, so it will most likely be a the 15 and 16 year olds making up the team.

03-07-2024, 12:04 PM
1-0 Hibs. Number 14 scored

03-07-2024, 12:45 PM
2-0 McAllister

03-07-2024, 12:52 PM
3-0 own goal

03-07-2024, 12:59 PM
3-0 own goal

Good to see him carrying on his good form from the Euros.

03-07-2024, 01:23 PM
Ended up 3-1

03-07-2024, 01:45 PM
Worthy winners, strong looking 18s squad this season.

03-07-2024, 01:51 PM
Worthy winners, strong looking 18s squad this season.

Any names to look out for Brooster? Dean Cleland maybe?

03-07-2024, 02:05 PM
1-0 Hibs. Number 14 scored

Kitchin scored the first.

03-07-2024, 02:06 PM
2-0 McAllister

Surely he should have gone with first team?

03-07-2024, 03:34 PM

Tam's boy? Are both of them at Hibs - I thought they went to Rangers?

03-07-2024, 03:38 PM

👍

03-07-2024, 03:39 PM
Surely he should have gone with first team?

imo he is not quite ready for the first team squad. I would think next season would be his best chance.

03-07-2024, 04:57 PM
Tam's boy? Are both of them at Hibs - I thought they went to Rangers?

Yes Tam's boy. Can't say with any certainty if both are at Hibs.

big-mo
03-07-2024, 06:17 PM
Good to see him carrying on his good form from the Euros.

A bit like McTominey’s goal, Josh Lander’s shot was goal bound.