View Full Version : Hibs Under 18s/Development Squad 23/24
15-08-2023, 07:20 PM
0 2 half time
Good stuff. Keep it coming. 👍
15-08-2023, 07:21 PM
Half time . Corner and McAllister ( suppose he`ll be on bench on Thursday ? ) shot over bar just before break . Text commmentary on Sky .
15-08-2023, 07:24 PM
Team
1 Freddie Owens
17 Oscar MacIntyre
22 Daz
16 Megwa
11 McGarva
8 MacIntyre
6 McAllister
19 Hamilton
20 Zaid
10 Rudi
9 Landers
Subs
Wright
Bulloch
Smith
Mallon
Calder
Hoping 2-3 will be on the plane tomorrow
HibeeMackenzie
15-08-2023, 07:30 PM
Thought Daz retired
15-08-2023, 07:32 PM
Nice one boys, love to see Megwa on the score sheet.
Round 3 draw is Thursday at 1pm.
badabing67
15-08-2023, 07:34 PM
Where's Tavares is he injured or has he made the Squad for Thursday.
Fanforlife
15-08-2023, 07:36 PM
Where's Tavares is he injured or has he made the Squad for Thursday.
Taveres hasn't been involved for a while.
15-08-2023, 07:38 PM
I take it Oscar Macintyre isn’t going to make it at Hibs? Not out on loan and doesn’t even get on the bench despite the only alternative being to play a 35 year old Stevenson into the ground.
15-08-2023, 07:53 PM
Still 2v0 for us after 62 minutes . No changes . Yellow card for Reuben McAllister .
KdyHby
15-08-2023, 07:54 PM
Wright and Smith on, Rudi and Reuben off
SJNB Hibby
15-08-2023, 07:57 PM
We've never actually won a match in this tournament outright I think. A couple of penalty wins for the 'B' Team, 'Colts', and a couple of losses to SEVCO for the sr team when we were in the Championship
15-08-2023, 08:00 PM
I take it Oscar Macintyre isn’t going to make it at Hibs? Not out on loan and doesn’t even get on the bench despite the only alternative being to play a 35 year old Stevenson into the ground.
He is only 18 years old, plenty developing to do and plenty time.
KdyHby
15-08-2023, 08:05 PM
0 3 Alfie Smith
15-08-2023, 08:07 PM
This would surely be seen as a very very good result for the wee Hibees
SJNB Hibby
15-08-2023, 08:11 PM
This would surely be seen as a very very good result for the wee HibeesI would say so.Hearts and Celtic 'B' teams banging the goals in in the Lowland league, and we've put 3 past the Highland league champions.Welsh & Irish teams enter in the next round---might get an attractive draw
KdyHby
15-08-2023, 08:11 PM
0 4 Alfie Smith
15-08-2023, 08:12 PM
0v4 Alfie Smith double
15-08-2023, 08:13 PM
He is only 18 years old, plenty developing to do and plenty time.
I know nothing about Macintyre, or any of the youngsters. So maybe he is miles off being ready. From the outside, I just look at the fact that he’s 19 in December, we keep having to play Stevenson and yet he still can’t get on the bench. Particularly in relation to the fact Motherwell just beat us playing a 16 year old in midfield.
Maybe in this instance Macintyre is too far away to merit making squads/getting game time. I do also wonder if it’s another example of nothing changing at Hibs and youngsters not being given their opportunity when we’re chronically short in certain positions.
15-08-2023, 08:15 PM
We've never actually won a match in this tournament outright I think. A couple of penalty wins for the 'B' Team, 'Colts', and a couple of losses to SEVCO for the sr team when we were in the ChampionshipDid we not win in Turrif ( ? ) a few years ago ? Remember a match on HIbs TV we won with a good Hibs support and a few goals .
0 4 Alfie Smith
Some performance, especially after Brechin put the Tiny team out!
KdyHby
15-08-2023, 08:17 PM
Bulloch and Calder on, Mcgarva and Zaid off
HIBS NUTS
I know nothing about Macintyre, or any of the youngsters. So maybe he is miles off being ready. From the outside, I just look at the fact that he’s 19 in December, we keep having to play Stevenson and yet he still can’t get on the bench. Particularly in relation to the fact Motherwell just beat us playing a 16 year old in midfield.
Maybe in this instance Macintyre is too far away to merit making squads/getting game time. I do also wonder if it’s another example of nothing changing at Hibs and youngsters not being given their opportunity when we’re chronically short in certain positions.
You actually have a point with regards to oscar mcintyre.
He should be making first team bench.
THIS IS A BRILLIANT RESULT TONIGHT.👍🏻
what's it all about Alfie
SJNB Hibby
15-08-2023, 08:18 PM
Did we not win in Turrif ( ? ) a few years ago ? Remember a match on HIbs TV we won with a good Hibs support and a few goals .Yes, double-checked and you're right.
15-08-2023, 08:18 PM
Did we not win in Turrif ( ? ) a few years ago ? Remember a match on HIbs TV we won with a good Hibs support and a few goals .
We did, that's when it was the IRN BRU cup, 2016, we were still in the championship and it was our first team playing.
15-08-2023, 08:20 PM
Yes, double-checked and you're right.
We were in the Championship when we played Turriff Utd so it was our first team that played not a B team. Boyle, Hanlon, Marciano, McGeouch and Fyvie all started.
KdyHby
15-08-2023, 08:22 PM
0 4 final
15-08-2023, 08:23 PM
Brilliant result!
Stairway 2 7
15-08-2023, 08:24 PM
Some result that
SJNB Hibby
15-08-2023, 08:25 PM
Cliftonville, Bala Town, TNS, Coleraine here we comeIt'll be Aberdeen 'B' won't it?
15-08-2023, 08:27 PM
When's the draw
15-08-2023, 08:27 PM
Excellent result . Would be good to get an Irish or Welsh club in next round , playing at ER if at home . 400 crowd tonight according to Sky . Maybe several times that in next round with free admission or very low prices .
15-08-2023, 09:03 PM
Well done the young team
15-08-2023, 09:04 PM
He's 18 years old and a cracking prospect. From what I've seen this season he should be at least getting a chance. His time will come, not with the current manager though. Out of curiosity have you seen much of him?
Fanforlife
15-08-2023, 09:08 PM
Could well have been more,Grandson said that he missed 2 sitters when he came on,telt him he will be getting a slap when i return fae Switzerland 🤣🤣🤣🤣
15-08-2023, 09:09 PM
When's the draw
According to Wiki Thursday at 13:00 live on SPFL YouTube channel
Cliftonville, Bala Town, TNS, Coleraine here we comeIt'll be Aberdeen 'B' won't it?
Sheep were losing 5 3 last I looked.
SJNB Hibby
15-08-2023, 09:23 PM
Sheep were losing 5 3 last I looked.2 late goals for Peterhead
For those who watch the young uns often, what’s the thoughts on Zaid?I’ve seen him play a few times, and I think he looks a cracking player, and with many suggesting the first team squad could do with an attacking playmaker, could he possibly fit the bill?Something I also have noticed about him is his work rate, I felt him going off against Dortmund changed the game in their favour, as Zaid was pressing them hard from midfield, and they got much more joy advancing the ball up the pitch when he went off
15-08-2023, 09:30 PM
Fabulous result
15-08-2023, 10:10 PM
Isn't he just back from an injury?
16-08-2023, 06:49 AM
Not as far as I know, l have said a couple times in the past month that I found it strange that he wasn't involved in the training camp in Spain and has not been involved at all expect vs Blackpool.
He has played all the games for the development team this season as far as I'm aware.
16-08-2023, 08:13 AM
Not as far as I know, l have said a couple times in the past month that I found it strange that he wasn't involved in the training camp in Spain and has not been involved at all expect vs Blackpool.
He has played all the games for the development team this season as far as I'm aware.
Coaching team might just think he isn't ready?
16-08-2023, 09:58 AM
He was out injured for a week around the time of the Groningen game.
16-08-2023, 03:18 PM
He was out injured for a week around the time of the Groningen game.
I thought that injury prevented him going away for preseason.
andrew70
16-08-2023, 03:50 PM
I thought that injury prevented him going away for preseason.
He played (well) against Dunbar and Berwick in pre season.
16-08-2023, 04:06 PM
He played (well) against Dunbar and Berwick in pre season.
Not that it matters but he definitely didn't play well at Berwick. We actually commented that he didn't look the same player that had made first team appearances.
16-08-2023, 05:38 PM
Coaching team might just think he isn't ready?
Don't think he's ready to be first choice LB right now myself, a few outings last season, never set the world of fire but from what I thought, he was highly rated?
A few fans last season wanted him to be involved this season under Lewis.
Maybe there was a restriction on the numbers who could go to Spain?
Great result last night anyway.
Rumble de Thump
17-08-2023, 08:56 AM
The draw for the next round of the SPFL Trust Trophy is due to take place at 1pm today. It will be streamed live on You're A Tube.
KdyHby
17-08-2023, 09:53 AM
Highlights of the Brechin match https://www.brechincity.com/bcfc/p/v/512
Rumble de Thump
17-08-2023, 12:04 PM
Hibees v The New Saints (Welsh champions). The games in this round will be played on the weekend on September 9/10.
17-08-2023, 12:57 PM
Hopefully play it at Easter Rd with it being an international weekend and we get a decent crowd for it.
Hopefully play it at Easter Rd with it being an international weekend and we get a decent crowd for it.Good shout that
Hopefully play it at Easter Rd with it being an international weekend and we get a decent crowd for it.
It's at Meadowbank according to Evening News report.
17-08-2023, 02:51 PM
Decent draw for the boys.
Do alba still pick up these games?
linlithgowhibbie
17-08-2023, 04:48 PM
Hibees v The New Saints (Welsh champions). The games in this round will be played on the weekend on September 9/10.Does The New Saints game count as a european match? Where abouts do they play anyway?
17-08-2023, 05:06 PM
Highlights of the Brechin match https://www.brechincity.com/bcfc/p/v/512
Excellent highlights from Brechin. Looked like a fairly even game going by the chances created. Hibs just more clinical in punishing them as they tried to play out from the keeper.
Rumble de Thump
17-08-2023, 05:06 PM
I think they play in Shropshire.
ferry hibby
17-08-2023, 05:26 PM
Excellent highlights from Brechin. Looked like a fairly even game going by the chances created. Hibs just more clinical in punishing them as they tried to play out from the keeper.
Think it was Brechin's version of the edited highlights and did not show how much Hibs were in command in the first half. Brechin could not get out their own half. Brechin did come into it in the second half and just when I thought the young guys might be tiring it was Brechin who ended up under the cosh for the last 20 mins and score could have been a lot more.
HIBS NUTS
18-08-2023, 04:27 PM
Are the young guys playing tonight at HTC
20-08-2023, 10:00 AM
It's at Meadowbank according to Evening News report.
Had a quick look at SPFL site, showing Edin City playing their game at Meadowbank, but no venue for the Hibs game yet. Would be nice if it was played at ER though
https://spfl.co.uk/league/challenge-cup/fixtures
20-08-2023, 10:05 AM
Had a quick look at SPFL site, showing Edin City playing their game at Meadowbank, but no venue for the Hibs game yet. Would be nice if it was played at ER though
Surely some mistake, would have thought Hearts would have been in the draw. Do they enter it at a later stage? :stirrer:
tbfhibs2
20-08-2023, 12:46 PM
Surely some mistake, would have thought Hearts would have been in the draw. Do they enter it at a later stage? :stirrer:
Think they enter in about 11months.
24-08-2023, 01:34 PM
Hibs v New Saints on SPFL site showing Friday 8th September, 3pm KO at Meadowbank
JGS56
24-08-2023, 01:37 PM
Hibs v New Saints on SPFL site showing Friday 8th September, 3pm KO at Meadowbank
6pm KO
24-08-2023, 02:22 PM
6pm KO
It was definitely showing 3pm earlier. Shame it’s not at ER though as there’s no game at home after Saturday until 23rd September
Fanforlife
25-08-2023, 09:01 AM
Under 18,s play Celtic at EM tonight 5.30pm KO
tbfhibs2
25-08-2023, 04:58 PM
Under 18,s play Celtic at EM tonight 5.30pm KO
Anyone there, latest score?
25-08-2023, 05:24 PM
https://x.com/cabbageandribs/status/1695124262690963894?s=46&t=jSQJiu4qWw0BtbshNSr4Xw
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230825/3fa768f55682624926fcd90cc350ae35.jpg
25-08-2023, 05:38 PM
Excellent stuff lads.
Daz seems to be doing a good job so far this season 👍
Up 5-0 against any Cellic team is great stuff. Well done the young guns, and Daz off course.
B
Fanforlife
25-08-2023, 07:25 PM
Game finished 5-0,cracking result 👏
25-08-2023, 07:27 PM
Did McAllister play?
HIBS NUTS
25-08-2023, 09:45 PM
great result.👍🏻
Doing well in general.
SJNB Hibby
26-08-2023, 11:38 AM
It was definitely showing 3pm earlier. Shame it’s not at ER though as there’s no game at home after Saturday until 23rd September
It is showing on the Beeb as starting 1800, the Cyprus v Scotland match starts at 1945----crazy scheduling:confused:
StarMan10
26-08-2023, 01:43 PM
Anyone know the situation with Murray Johnson? Recalled from his loan at QOTS when the keeper crisis happened vs Inter but seems to be behind Boruc in the pecking order.
Don’t think he’s headed back to QOTS, so curious to see where. Be good for him to be playing regular first team football this year.
Anyone know the situation with Murray Johnson? Recalled from his loan at QOTS when the keeper crisis happened vs Inter but seems to be behind Boruc in the pecking order.
Don’t think he’s headed back to QOTS, so curious to see where. Be good for him to be playing regular first team football this year.
He won’t be going anywhere until we are officially out of Europe if the 3 GK rule is correct so would imagine he will head back out on Friday
Rumble de Thump
26-08-2023, 06:54 PM
Queen of the South's goalkeeper was sent off today so they could really do with Johnson returning ASAP.
26-08-2023, 07:01 PM
Queen of the South's goalkeeper was sent off today so they could really do with Johnson returning ASAP.
Don’t think he’ll be going anywhere just now if Marshall is injured
27-08-2023, 06:05 PM
Hibs reserves away at QOS on Tuesday afternoon
Wonder what sort of team we’ll have out
https://spfl.co.uk/league/rl1/fixtures
big-mo
28-08-2023, 08:20 PM
Hibs reserves away at QOS on Tuesday afternoon
Wonder what sort of team we’ll have out
https://spfl.co.uk/league/rl1/fixtures
I believe it will be mostly the same side that played on Friday with a couple of the U19s that are not required for Villa. Not sure if Rudi and McAllister will be travelling with the first team but their inclusion made a bit of a difference on Friday against Celtic.
While I am on about the Celtic game, the Hibs side were different class, it was only five in the first half but could have been a lot more. Celtic were a bit better in the 2nd half but Hibs had gone a bit easy on them after the break. Hibs only needed three goals to go back above Celtic at the top but the five was more than enough to see them clear.
Stairway 2 7
28-08-2023, 08:24 PM
Hope his dad going doesn't effect Mcalisters choice of future. A great prospect and big outlay
28-08-2023, 08:46 PM
I think they play in Shropshire.When I first read this I assumed it was a mistake but I now see they play in the Welsh League but are based in Oswestry in England ( Berwick Rangers type situation ? ) but have also read they play in Wales - is stadium right on border ? Think they`ve been in Conference League qualifiers in recent years so might have been a good European trip instead of Andorra . Surprised this isn`t being played at Easter Road right in the middle of a month with no home matches for first team .
tbfhibs2
29-08-2023, 01:52 PM
Ht 0-0
NGoloGrantie
29-08-2023, 01:57 PM
Ht 0-0
Any idea of who the trialist is?
29-08-2023, 03:01 PM
Finished 3-1 for Queens.
Molotnikov pen for Hibs.
tbfhibs2
29-08-2023, 03:03 PM
Any idea of who the trialist is?
No idea , finished 3-1 to Qots .
29-08-2023, 03:18 PM
That's a very young Development side, in fact it's basically the 18s.
29-08-2023, 03:28 PM
That's a very young Development side, in fact it's basically the 18s.
I'd guess that means Molotnikov won't be in the first team away for villa but Megwa will.
HIBS NUTS
29-08-2023, 03:35 PM
It appears our development squad comprises, the under 18s, and darren mcgregor, almost every overage player, has left or is is on loan.
It leaves our current first team squad very thin.
But at least the under 18s , are getting plenty of games.
29-08-2023, 03:54 PM
It appears our development squad comprises, the under 18s, and darren mcgregor, almost every overage player, has left or is is on loan.
I’m sure going forward a few 1st team fringe players will get some game time, it’s just with Hibs having a match on Thursday it wasn’t possible today
Green Man
29-08-2023, 03:54 PM
When I first read this I assumed it was a mistake but I now see they play in the Welsh League but are based in Oswestry in England ( Berwick Rangers type situation ? ) but have also read they play in Wales - is stadium right on border ? Think they`ve been in Conference League qualifiers in recent years so might have been a good European trip instead of Andorra . Surprised this isn`t being played at Easter Road right in the middle of a month with no home matches for first team .
TNS used to be based in Wales, until they merged with Oswestry Town, who played in the Welsh league although they were based in England.
29-08-2023, 04:57 PM
Yes that's the only problem with loaning out most of our development team also which I think is much better for them anyway.
29-08-2023, 05:10 PM
Yes that's the only problem with loaning out most of our development team also which I think is much better for them anyway.
Loans can usually play for the development team, maybe Hibs felt that they wanted to play the young lads before the SPFL Trophy game next week
thebausburst
29-08-2023, 05:36 PM
only one current Hibs player in the latest Scotland u21, u19 and u17 squads is a pretty daming indictment of our youth development programme.
29-08-2023, 06:33 PM
only one current Hibs player in the latest Scotland u21, u19 and u17 squads is a pretty daming indictment of our youth development programme.
It’s not really. Go back a decade and look at a Scotland youth team, it probably won’t reflect the players who go on to be the best as adults. Below is the U21 team that faced England in August 2013 - no Andy Robertson, no McGinn, No McLean, No Hendry, No Clark, No McGregor who would have all been aged around 19-21. Typically these teams are stacked with old firm youngsters and players playing down south who never get a look in at their first teams.
29-08-2023, 06:59 PM
Good to see Tavares got a chance today . Goal disallowed in first half .
29-08-2023, 07:02 PM
It’s going to kill this season for us imo.
HendoDelivered
30-08-2023, 01:33 PM
Good to see Tavares got a chance today . Goal disallowed in first half .
How did he play?
08-09-2023, 08:39 AM
Hibs v The New Saints tonight, 6pm KO at Meadowbank
Think a couple of the young lads are away with Scotland this week
andrew70
08-09-2023, 09:02 AM
Hibs v The New Saints tonight, 6pm KO at Meadowbank
Think a couple of the young lads are away with Scotland this week
Rudi and Jacob are yes. Anyone going along to this?
Rumble de Thump
08-09-2023, 10:49 AM
Tickets are available at the gates for thids game. Think it's 10 squid for adults and 5 squid for kids.
08-09-2023, 05:11 PM
One nil down , own goal I believe.
08-09-2023, 05:18 PM
One nil down , own goal I believe.
Yes, McGregor OG.
Crammond Hibee
08-09-2023, 05:41 PM
0.2 now
Crammond Hibee
08-09-2023, 06:14 PM
0.2 now
09-09-2023, 09:04 AM
Unlucky lads, not to disheartened with this result. Was always going to be tough game and didn't help with Rudi and Jacob away.
andrew70
12-09-2023, 03:36 PM
Under 18s are 1-1 with Rangers at Murray Park just now. Landers with our goal.
andrew70
12-09-2023, 04:14 PM
Rangers 1 - 2 Hibs. Own goal
12-09-2023, 04:16 PM
Rangers 1 - 2 Hibs. Own goal
Great player
12-09-2023, 04:39 PM
Great player
Can score at both ends of the pitch
andrew70
12-09-2023, 04:56 PM
Rangers 1-3 Hibernian Alfie Smith
I assume that was final? Well done boys, nice OF double.
andrew70
12-09-2023, 05:45 PM
I assume that was final? Well done boys, nice OF double.
Yes sorry that was the way it ended.
12-09-2023, 05:54 PM
Great result again boys, McGregor seems to be doing well at this level in charge.
Yes sorry that was the way it ended.
Thanks for the info!
andrew70
12-09-2023, 07:12 PM
Hibernian:- Ryan Mallon; Jamie Bulloch, Joe McGrath, Owen Hastie; Rory Whittaker, Jacob McIntyre, Jay McGarva, Harry Wright; Rudi Molotnikov, Dean Clelland; Josh Landers.
Subs Used:- Alfie Smith, Flynn McCafferty, Sean Brannen, Jamie McMurdo.
Source: https://rfcyouths.wordpress.com/2023/09/12/another-defeat-for-18s/
andrew70
12-09-2023, 07:30 PM
Team Pl W D L GF GA GD Pts
Kilmarnock 6 4 1 1 14 8 6 13
Hamilton Accies 6 4 1 1 14 9 5 13
Celtic 7 4 1 2 11 12 -1 13
Aberdeen 5 4 0 1 14 8 6 12
Hibernian 5 3 1 1 15 8 7 10
Queens Park 6 3 0 3 15 14 1 9
Motherwell 6 2 1 3 11 12 -1 7
Rangers 4 2 0 2 8 7 1 6
St Mirren 7 1 2 4 11 19 -9 5
Hearts 6 0 2 4 4 12 -8 2
Dundee United 6 0 1 5 8 16 -8 1
HIBS NUTS
12-09-2023, 07:34 PM
Great result today 👍🏻
12-09-2023, 07:36 PM
Team Pl W D L GF GA GD Pts
Kilmarnock 6 4 1 1 14 8 6 13
Hamilton Accies 6 4 1 1 14 9 5 13
Celtic 7 4 1 2 11 12 -1 13
Aberdeen 5 4 0 1 14 8 6 12
Hibernian 5 3 1 1 15 8 7 10
Queens Park 6 3 0 3 15 14 1 9
Motherwell 6 2 1 3 11 12 -1 7
Rangers 4 2 0 2 8 7 1 6
St Mirren 7 1 2 4 11 19 -9 5
Hearts 6 0 2 4 4 12 -8 2
Dundee United 6 0 1 5 8 16 -8 1
Hibs are now 6 4 1 1 18 9 and 13 points, Aberdeen top with 15 points
andrew70
12-09-2023, 07:57 PM
Hibs are now 6 4 1 1 18 9 and 13 points, Aberdeen top with 15 points
Cheers, going well.
Hibernian:- Ryan Mallon; Jamie Bulloch, Joe McGrath, Owen Hastie; Rory Whittaker, Jacob McIntyre, Jay McGarva, Harry Wright; Rudi Molotnikov, Dean Clelland; Josh Landers.
Subs Used:- Alfie Smith, Flynn McCafferty, Sean Brannen, Jamie McMurdo.
Source: https://rfcyouths.wordpress.com/2023/09/12/another-defeat-for-18s/
A few Borders boys there. Good to see us tapping into that talent.
12-09-2023, 09:24 PM
A few Borders boys there. Good to see us tapping into that talent.
Which ones and where they from as a matter of interest?
Potty78
12-09-2023, 09:44 PM
Landers is innerleithen 👍
13-09-2023, 06:00 AM
McGarva is from Earlston, Zach Bruce isn’t in the team but is from Coldstream.
13-09-2023, 06:03 AM
Landers is innerleithen
McGarva is from Earlston, Zach Bruce isn’t in the team but is from Coldstream.
Cool good to know. Is Murray Aiken Peebles or have I just imagined that. Whether Peebles is Borders is questionable though :greengrin
13-09-2023, 11:02 AM
Cool good to know. Is Murray Aiken Peebles or have I just imagined that. Whether Peebles is Borders is questionable though :greengrin
Definitely went to Peebles HS.
Potty78
13-09-2023, 12:21 PM
Yeh Murray is a good Peebles Borders man👍
13-09-2023, 03:09 PM
I'm guessing Landers is the new one to watch?
Wonder why Ruben wasn't involved.
Hamilton doing well again I see from the table.
Donegal Hibby
13-09-2023, 03:57 PM
Hibs report.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/report-rangers-1-3-hibs-under-18s
HIBS NUTS
13-09-2023, 05:27 PM
Hibs report.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/report-rangers-1-3-hibs-under-18s
thanks.
Landers has a good physic , i was told last year , that he was a very talented sprinter as well.
He certainly looks one to watch.👍🏻
Fanforlife
13-09-2023, 07:11 PM
I'm guessing Landers is the new one to watch?
Wonder why Ruben wasn't involved.
Hamilton doing well again I see from the table.
Ruben is injured m8.
14-09-2023, 10:11 AM
Ruben is injured m8.
Joseph McGrath is the latest member of the Hibs Academy to sign a professional contract with the Club.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/first-pro-contracts-for-academy-youngsters
That Mcgarva looks about 10 years old 😆
14-09-2023, 10:31 AM
L J gave very little game time to youngsters Always saying it’s easier to integrate them into a winning team But even we we did go on a reasonable unbeaten run youngsters were rarely used much
We seem to regularly have young teams that do well
But it would be nice to get another golden generation coming through together and getting into and establishing themselves in first team
L J gave very little game time to youngsters Always saying it’s easier to integrate them into a winning team But even we we did go on a reasonable unbeaten run youngsters were rarely used much
We seem to regularly have young teams that do well
But it would be nice to get another golden generation coming through together and getting into and establishing themselves in first team
This was one of my biggest frustrations of Johnson, he loved talking up the youngsters and would say it's great to have them in the squad. He went OTT with our game up at Ross County when O'Connor played a large part and I think MacIntyre got in but he also had Laidlaw and one or two others on the bench. His interviews were looking for so much praise on the youth but in reality they barely got a shot when there was plenty of options to do so. Perhaps that played into us losing Laidlaw.
14-09-2023, 10:57 AM
There's an old saying about the Tweed valley. Peebles for pleasure, Innerleithen for bonnie lassies, and Gala for a sh*g.
Dan Sarf
14-09-2023, 11:11 AM
There's an old saying about the Tweed valley. Peebles for pleasure, Innerleithen for bonnie lassies, and Gala for a sh*g.
Does it give a phone number?
On the pull down the bingo. 🤔
14-09-2023, 11:44 AM
https://www.thesouthernreporter.co.uk/news/people/galashiels-is-scotlands-happiest-place-to-live-3938785
They're hiding the real reason everyone has a smile on their face.
HIBS NUTS
14-09-2023, 01:22 PM
Is there a youth cup game tomorrow at HTC.
andrew70
14-09-2023, 01:49 PM
Is there a youth cup game tomorrow at HTC.
No I don’t think we enter until the next round.
HIBS NUTS
14-09-2023, 04:36 PM
thanks 👍🏻
14-09-2023, 04:48 PM
Livvi v Hibs at Toni Macaroni Stadium in the Reserve League Cup
2pm KO on Tuesday 19th September
14-09-2023, 06:03 PM
Joseph McGrath is the latest member of the Hibs Academy to sign a professional contract with the Club.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/first-pro-contracts-for-academy-youngsters
That Mcgarva looks about 10 years old 😆
Suspect you mean Zach Bruce (blonde hair) rather than McGarva, who is one of the more substantial players in the 18s!
berwickhibee
15-09-2023, 01:18 PM
Zach Bruce is 15 I think, played pre season at Berwick and done well in the time he was on. Very fiery😁
15-09-2023, 01:35 PM
Suspect you mean Zach Bruce (blonde hair) rather than McGarva, who is one of the more substantial players in the 18s!
Aye that's who I meant my mistake 👍
15-09-2023, 02:25 PM
Aye that's who I meant my mistake 👍
In fairness the webpage is a bit ambiguous about who's who!
Quite excited to see how this lot get on - when the under-18 were doing well in the league winning season the suggestion was the next couple of age groups were going to be even better :thumbsup:
15-09-2023, 05:57 PM
In fairness the webpage is a bit ambiguous about who's who!
Quite excited to see how this lot get on - when the under-18 were doing well in the league winning season the suggestion was the next couple of age groups were going to be even better :thumbsup:
Just pointing out no disrespect in my comment either.
The 18's Seem to be doing well so far under McGregor.
big-mo
19-09-2023, 07:20 AM
As mentioned already the Reserves are back in action this afternoon at Livi in the Reserve League Cup, 2pm k/o. This would normally be just the Under 18s plus a couple of others like Malik and Robbie Hamilton, but with the new gaffer in, we might see a few more first team fringe players included.
19-09-2023, 09:15 AM
What's the situation with Murray Johnson? We brought him back from his loan, and didn't use him at all. Big season for him, development wise, and I'd much rather he was away in the championship/league 1 playing every week.
19-09-2023, 09:18 AM
What's the situation with Murray Johnson? We brought him back from his loan, and didn't use him at all. Big season for him, development wise, and I'd much rather he was away in the championship/league 1 playing every week.
He came back due to our injury crisis. Meanwhile QOS took another goalie on loan
Think he played in the SPFL trophy game a week or so ago
We’ve now got 3 goalies not getting much game time, in Johnson, Boric and Owens. Only one can play in the development team
19-09-2023, 09:25 AM
He came back due to our injury crisis. Meanwhile QOS took another goalie on loan
We’ve now got 3 goalies not getting much game time, in Johnson, Boric and Owens. Only one can play in the development team
hopefully we can get Johnson out on loan in January, but it’s a shame he’s had to give up half a season of first team football for nothing
Coach Jon
19-09-2023, 09:31 AM
Billy, is the development team the same as the Reserve Team, mentioned as playing today (a couple of posts back)
19-09-2023, 09:37 AM
Billy, is the development team the same as the Reserve Team, mentioned as playing today (a couple of posts back)
Yeah it’s non age related
Coach Jon
19-09-2023, 10:11 AM
Thanks for clearing that up Billy, confusing when they use different names for it. :aok:
big-mo
19-09-2023, 10:11 AM
from what I am hearing, Livi maybe playing a number of their first team players today, I will be interesting to see what team we field.
19-09-2023, 10:18 AM
from what I am hearing, Livi maybe playing a number of their first team players today, I will be interesting to see what team we field.
Ok Mo. I’m hoping to get along today if work is kind to me😀
19-09-2023, 10:39 AM
That's a pain about Murray Johnston, bit of a raw deal for his development. I remember being surprised we recalled him instead of just finding an emergency loan for a couple of weeks or something.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
19-09-2023, 10:56 AM
Is it normally access via reception or via turnstile at Livi reserve games?
19-09-2023, 01:53 PM
1-0 Livvi at ht, Hibs have had a couple of chances
19-09-2023, 02:51 PM
Hibs pulled one back but Livvy have since scored 2 more, currently 3-1, almost full time.
HIBS NUTS
19-09-2023, 02:53 PM
That's a pain about Murray Johnston, bit of a raw deal for his development. I remember being surprised we recalled him instead of just finding an emergency loan for a couple of weeks or something.
Murray Johnstone was playing today.
19-09-2023, 02:56 PM
Young Hibs team today, average age of 17. Livvy had some 1st teamers in their side, finished 3-1 and the young Hibs side played well.
Crammond Hibee
19-09-2023, 03:02 PM
Young Hibs team today, average age of 17. Livvy had some 1st teamers in their side, finished 3-1 and the young Hibs side played well.
What is the team
19-09-2023, 04:53 PM
What is the team
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1704111732044558724?s=46&t=FHnJhTJB3lhW_lfnm2jGGg
Crammond Hibee
19-09-2023, 06:48 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1704111732044558724?s=46&t=FHnJhTJB3lhW_lfnm2jGGg
Thank you
20-09-2023, 09:20 AM
No Rudi or Jacob yesterday, any idea why?
andrew70
20-09-2023, 09:47 AM
No Rudi or Jacob yesterday, any idea why?
Involved with first team I think
Thanks, good to see Blaney back.
chippy
20-09-2023, 11:17 AM
Involved with first team I think
Hope so would like to see them get a shot
andrew70
20-09-2023, 12:45 PM
Hope so would like to see them get a shot
Yes both deserve a shot. Be interesting to see where he plays Jacob if they are involved. Rudi is more than good enough. In fact a few of them are, I expect to see more youths in the squad as time goes on.
HIBS NUTS
20-09-2023, 02:52 PM
Thanks, good to see Blaney back.
Absolutely fantastic he’s back, we need a good young centreback
20-09-2023, 03:38 PM
I would of thought McAllister would of been ahead of Jacob but great if both involved for Saturday.
andrew70
20-09-2023, 03:52 PM
I would of thought McAllister would of been ahead of Jacob but great if both involved for Saturday.
Rueben has been injured so maybe yesterday was the first he’d really seen of him. 🤔
20-09-2023, 03:57 PM
Think Rueben currently injured
Fanforlife
20-09-2023, 03:59 PM
Think Rueben currently injured
Played v Livi yesterday i think 🤔
20-09-2023, 04:14 PM
Absolutely fantastic he’s back, we need a good young centreback
Harbottle is on a fair length deal.
20-09-2023, 04:28 PM
Should that not be ahead have? 🤔😊
20-09-2023, 05:15 PM
In my opinion Jacob is a far better player than Ruben.
20-09-2023, 06:04 PM
Should that not be ahead have? 🤔😊
Im sorry sir for not being 100% perfect, do you have any homework for me?
21-09-2023, 07:51 AM
https://twitter.com/ClydeFC/status/1704591626792755589?t=UtalstO3QWZPOQN0FnOy5A&s=19
Interesting as there was much debate over whether Hibs were right to let him go.
21-09-2023, 08:12 AM
https://twitter.com/ClydeFC/status/1704591626792755589?t=UtalstO3QWZPOQN0FnOy5A&s=19
Interesting as there was much debate over whether Hibs were right to let him go.That is an interesting one, keen to see how he gets on.
21-09-2023, 09:51 AM
Good luck to him. Hibs were not offering him a new deal and were amazed when Rangers game in with decent cash. Happy days.
21-09-2023, 10:14 AM
Interesting as there was much debate over whether Hibs were right to let him go.
Very badly advised when he decided to leave for Rangers, and not by his agent.
21-09-2023, 10:35 AM
That is an interesting one, keen to see how he gets on.
Another one that was destined to be the next big thing to come through our academy that falls down the leagues after leaving Hibs. I may be more sensitive to it given I’m a Hibs fan but I wonder how our % of players, who make it through to the first team squad, compare to other premiership teams. And I’m not taking about fillers on the bench, positive contributions consistently within the first XI. Makes you wonder why we bother at all🤷🏼
The dalmeny
21-09-2023, 11:42 AM
When you're not getting offered a new deal........
SickBoy32
21-09-2023, 11:47 AM
Cryptic - who advised him to leave Hibs? Someone within the club?
Another one that was destined to be the next big thing to come through our academy that falls down the leagues after leaving Hibs. I may be more sensitive to it given I’m a Hibs fan but I wonder how our % of players, who make it through to the first team squad, compare to other premiership teams. And I’m not taking about fillers on the bench, positive contributions consistently within the first XI. Makes you wonder why we bother at all🤷🏼
There was a review on it last year IIRC and we were #1 for ex Academy appearances by a country mile. I think Celtc were #2. Of course the stats are a bit distorted by the fact that Lew and Paul are still playing most weeks but Porto and Josh also made a significant contribution. Hopefully some more will step up soon.
21-09-2023, 04:16 PM
Megwa away out on loan to our reserves - airdrie.
21-09-2023, 04:21 PM
Megwa away out on loan to our reserves - airdrie.
Good move for him. Good level to get regular football.
Does it leave us short at right back though?
JammyDoidger
21-09-2023, 04:24 PM
Would have liked Megwa to hang about and rotate with Miller, might be better for him in the long run getting regular games at a competitive level though.
21-09-2023, 04:29 PM
Good move for him. Good level to get regular football.
Does it leave us short at right back though?
Blaney came on for the reserves/ development team on Tuesday and played right back. Megwa remained at centre back
HIBS NUTS
21-09-2023, 05:00 PM
Blaney came on for the reserves/ development team on Tuesday and played right back. Megwa remained at centre back
Great that Blaney is back, and a really good move for Megwa .
I wonder if megwa will play centrehalf at Airdrie, definitely his best position.
21-09-2023, 05:50 PM
Would have liked Megwa to hang about and rotate with Miller, might be better for him in the long run getting regular games at a competitive level though.
Rotate? Who does that?
21-09-2023, 06:47 PM
Are the 18's playing tomorrow?
21-09-2023, 07:47 PM
Miller is our first choice right back, why would we rotate him with a youngster who's not ready to play first team football at Hibs.
Good move for him.
andrew70
21-09-2023, 08:04 PM
Are the 18's playing tomorrow?
yes, 4pm at HTC against Dundee United.
21-09-2023, 08:21 PM
yes, 4pm at HTC against Dundee United.
Ok thanks. Just had a look and it seems like a mission to get there and back from south Queensferry using public transport.
22-09-2023, 03:14 PM
1-1 half time
HIBS NUTS
22-09-2023, 03:59 PM
FT 2-1 hibs
22-09-2023, 04:16 PM
FT 2-1 hibs
The young team seem to be going really well just now.
HIBS NUTS
22-09-2023, 04:35 PM
The young team seem to be going really well just now.
Yeh a very young reserve team.
Dean Clelland is a good finisher,in what was
Quite a niggly game.
Unfortunately Jacob mcintyre got injured.😞
22-09-2023, 04:59 PM
Yeh a very young reserve team.
Dean Clelland is a good finisher,in what was
Quite a niggly game.
Unfortunately Jacob mcintyre got injured.😞
Suspected metatarsal, he's off to hospital.
HIBS NUTS
22-09-2023, 05:11 PM
Suspected metatarsal, he's off to hospital.
It’s usually 6 weeks recovery, unless your david Beckham.
22-09-2023, 06:21 PM
Another good result for the boys. Unlucky Jacob. Head high and have a full speedy recovery.
27-09-2023, 10:44 AM
When is the next development game?
27-09-2023, 02:43 PM
When is the next development game?
Aberdeen Away on Friday.
Fanforlife
29-09-2023, 06:00 PM
Aberdeen Away on Friday.
Lost 3 1 😣
HIBS NUTS
29-09-2023, 06:36 PM
What lineup did we have.
29-09-2023, 06:53 PM
What lineup did we have.
Mallon, Hastie, McAllister, Cleland, Landers, McGarva, Smith, Calder, Bruce, McGrath, Molotnikov.
The bench included a number of u14s. We are toiling for numbers at the moment, same goes for the Development team which is basically the same squad as above.
29-09-2023, 07:15 PM
Mallon, Hastie, McAllister, Cleland, Landers, McGarva, Smith, Calder, Bruce, McGrath, Molotnikov.
The bench included a number of u14s. We are toiling for numbers at the moment, same goes for the Development team which is basically the same squad as above.
Mallon's a new name on me for the youngsters.
HIBS NUTS
29-09-2023, 07:46 PM
That’s the problem with so many young guys on loan, just a changing of the guard.
Still some cracking players coming through.
Just surprised Murray Johnstone isn’t getting game time , i was hoping he might be on the bench, for the first team.
thanks for the lineup. 👍🏻
Fanforlife
29-09-2023, 09:32 PM
Harry Wright out for another 4/5 weeks,Jacob Mcintyre out for a fair bit longer than first thought ☹️
03-10-2023, 01:12 PM
Strong Development team today.
HIBS NUTS
03-10-2023, 01:43 PM
Strong Development team today.
when’s the game
03-10-2023, 01:46 PM
when’s the game
Now, kicked off at 2?
03-10-2023, 01:52 PM
1.0 Hibs at half time
03-10-2023, 02:00 PM
1.0 Hibs at half time
Great goal. Great work from Rudi to put Josh Landers in, strong run and cool finish.
Good mix of youth and fringe players today.
andrew70
03-10-2023, 02:02 PM
Great goal. Great work from Rudi to put Josh Landers in, strong run and cool finish.
Good mix of youth and fringe players today.
Who did Rudi come on for? An injury I assume?
andrew70
03-10-2023, 02:42 PM
2-0 Hibs
andrew70
03-10-2023, 02:45 PM
Who are we playing?
Queen’s Park
Garymcl
03-10-2023, 02:52 PM
Jair off with shoulder injury
03-10-2023, 02:55 PM
Who is playing where in defence?
andrew70
03-10-2023, 03:11 PM
Who is playing where in defence?
Whittaker, Blaney, Harbottle, Hastie according to Pat McPartlin.
03-10-2023, 03:20 PM
Question for those that watch the 18's play, does Whittaker stand out as a particular talent?
HIBS NUTS
03-10-2023, 03:32 PM
Question for those that watch the 18's play, does Whittaker stand out as a particular talent?
Nope !!!
managed to catch the second half.
thanks 👍🏻
HIBS NUTS
03-10-2023, 03:39 PM
Rudi Molotnikov stands out in midfield.
03-10-2023, 03:42 PM
Whittaker, Blaney, Harbottle, Hastie according to Pat McPartlin.
Interesting that HASTIE is playing LB. For some reason I thought he was a CB.
andrew70
03-10-2023, 03:55 PM
Would say there’s others that stand out more tbh.
03-10-2023, 04:05 PM
Would say there’s others that stand out more tbh.
I appreciate that he is (probably) in his first season with the under 18's, but his rise to the first team seems remarkable. Hopefully our other young talent will follow his lead and start having an impact.
03-10-2023, 04:16 PM
Jair off with shoulder injury
Asked to come off after 20 mins, was holding his ground. He touched the ball about 3 times in 20 mins. Delferriere the stand out for me but a good performance all round.
03-10-2023, 04:32 PM
Any reason why Rudi and Reuben aren’t starting? Thought they’d be in there given the pre season they had and how highly rated they are.
03-10-2023, 04:50 PM
Any reason why Rudi and Reuben aren’t starting? Thought they’d be in there given the pre season they had and how highly rated they are.
Ruben not quite up to it yet. Said it before, I think he got fast tracked in to the first team because of his Dad.
Mikey_1875
03-10-2023, 04:56 PM
Don’t often get down to see the dev squad but thought Rudi looked a good player, brilliant bit of skill to set up the first. Wouldn’t be against him getting a chance especially in an area where we are struggling for back up.
HIBS NUTS
03-10-2023, 05:01 PM
Don’t often get down to see the dev squad but thought Rudi looked a good player, brilliant bit of skill to set up the first. Wouldn’t be against him getting a chance especially in an area where we are struggling for back up.
Unlike some others at that age, Rudi Molotnikov has physicality.
03-10-2023, 05:03 PM
Ruben not quite up to it yet. Said it before, I think he got fast tracked in to the first team because of his Dad.
I remember reading that before actually.
Which is quite surprising as I thought he looked decent for the first team and really good on the ball - obviously friendlies are different though.
03-10-2023, 05:42 PM
Nice one Rudi! I'm sure you'll get the chance in the first team soon.
cameronw-hfc
03-10-2023, 07:19 PM
From the very little I've seen of him last season he looks very technically gifted, but a bit lacking physically and probably a bit behind on decision making, but a very good talent. Think folk forget how young he is due to his signing being reported by a few big journos at the time.
I remember reading that before actually.
Which is quite surprising as I thought he looked decent for the first team and really good on the ball - obviously friendlies are different though.
I agree, thought he looked excellent in Spain and a great left foot. Obviously Brooster sees the young boys regularly so I'm not going to argue based on my limited sight of Reuben.
Any updates on game today?
andrew70
06-10-2023, 04:28 PM
Any updates on game today?
Big Mo on twitter updated at HT. 2-2 Hibs down to ten men. Landers and Hastie with the two for the Young Hibees.
Edit
It’s now 3-2 Hibs. Landers
andrew70
06-10-2023, 04:50 PM
3-3 as per Pat McPartlin
06-10-2023, 04:54 PM
Anyone know if Landers is potentially anywhere near a sniff of the first team?
Usually read good things about him but admittedly know very little.
About him, I mean 😉
06-10-2023, 04:56 PM
Is Rudi playing today? If Monty was impressed the other day then he could earn a spot on the bench.
andrew70
06-10-2023, 05:02 PM
Is Rudi playing today? If Monty was impressed the other day then he could earn a spot on the bench.
He is playing.
andrew70
06-10-2023, 05:09 PM
FT 3-3
Hibs: Mallon, McSporran, McGrath, McGarva, Hastie, Molotnikov, Smith, McAllister, Calder, Cleland, Landers.
Subs: Sinnefoh, Brannen, Bruce, McMurdo
06-10-2023, 05:21 PM
Anyone know if Landers is potentially anywhere near a sniff of the first team?
Usually read good things about him but admittedly know very little.
About him, I mean 😉
He's still very young.
06-10-2023, 05:39 PM
He's still very young.
They used to say if they were good enough then they was old enough, Hibs have a good record of giving younger players a chance (lets forget the LJ years)
06-10-2023, 05:55 PM
He's still very young.
So’s Whitaker. Our youngest ever in fact
Seems age isn’t an issue for our new manager if he thinks they’re ready