View Full Version : Rangers Songs
Bronson
02-06-2023, 08:41 AM
I agree with your earlier posts about not really caring about what 3000 roasters choose to sing at a football match, but I go to most away games and have done since I was wee and I have never once heard that line about provo rangers.
It starts off with that line then goes on to ‘here’s to the girl that i love best’ with some lines that aren’t .net family friendly so i’ll leave out
Maybe i’m getting old! It’s not a regular one admittedly
02-06-2023, 08:43 AM
‘I want to lead a life of danger, I want to be a provo ranger…’
It’s an old one but you still hear it on away days sometimes.
To be clear i’m not defending rangers fans in general, they are a nasty bunch and i’m certainly not condoning physical violence. I just don’t find songs that offensive regardless of what they say.
We started the super trooper rendition recently about walter smith, jimmy bell and andy goram being in hell. How is that any better than the billy boys?
You continually say "we" how many is we 5,10,50,100 or 3,500?
No one is disputing we have a tiny minority of ********s in our support but to equate it to every single supporter in a stand like the Huns is disingenuous at best
Bronson
02-06-2023, 08:46 AM
You continually say "we" how many is we 5,10,50,100 or 3,500?
No one is disputing we have a tiny minority of ********s in our support but to equate it to every single supporter in a stand like the Huns is disingenuous at best
Depends on the song really. Ones about wallace mercer you’d be talking about nearly every supporter in the roseburn stand. I’ve joined in myself on occasion as i’m sure most on here have
02-06-2023, 08:46 AM
It starts off with that line then goes on to ‘here’s to the girl that i love best’ with some lines that aren’t .net family friendly so i’ll leave out
Maybe i’m getting old! It’s not a regular one admittedly
Why are you trying to compare a niche songs that no one has ever actually heard, certainly in the last 20 or 30 years, to what we hear week in week out from hundreds and thousands?
02-06-2023, 08:53 AM
Depends on the song really. Ones about wallace mercer you’d be talking about nearly every supporter in the roseburn stand. I’ve joined in myself on occasion as i’m sure most on here have
You are berating Hibs fans for singing a song that you sing or have sung?
Bronson
02-06-2023, 08:57 AM
You are berating Hibs fans for singing a song that you sing or have sung?
Not at all. The point i’m making and have made from the start is they’re just songs and it’s not that deep
Not at all. The point i’m making and have made from the start is they’re just songs and it’s not that deepProtestant supremacists disagree.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Paulie Walnuts
02-06-2023, 09:34 AM
I tested the water to see what kind of response I would get, I raised a few points that I thought would have provoked a decent response, however all I got was a kind of “we dont really give a ****”
Paul
I understand your comments in your email from 21st May. It is indeed sad that we still have to suffer in this way in 2023. We have many things to consider in how to react to these matters, but the situation is consistently under review.
Regards
Malcolm McPherson
Chairman of Hibernian FC
That’s the worst yet.
‘Aye it’s sad, eh. No sad enough for us to bother our ***** to do anything though.’
Chorley Hibee
02-06-2023, 09:49 AM
I go home & away and have never heard that sung at all
Likewise.
hibsforeurope
02-06-2023, 10:05 AM
I too got a very underwhelming reply to my email, it's clear they are not willing to make the first move here.
Thank for your email from 22nd May and we understand your reaction. The problem is anything but straightforward, but we do consider how best we can deal with this. It is much wider than simply our football club, as you know.
Regards
Malcolm McPherson
Chairman of Hibernian FC
Original email:
Dear Mr Kensell
I wasn’t able to make the match yesterday due to family commitments but as a season ticket holder, signed up for 2023/24, having seen footage of the game on TV, I have some real concerns about the conduct of the away fans, when the Glasgow teams, particularly Rangers visit Easter Road.
Looking through the clubs Policies and child safeguarding it seems that the songs (abuse) from the away fans was a direct breach of club (and SPFL) policy:
Unacceptable Conduct is conduct which is violent or disorderly. Violent conduct includes any actual, attempted, or threatened physical violence against any person, or intentional damage to property. Disorderly conduct includes;
· Conduct which stirs up or sustains, or is likely or is designed to stir up or sustain hatred or ill will against or towards individuals or groups of people because of:
· Colour, race, nationality, (including citizenship) or ethnic or national origin
· Membership, or presumed membership, of a religious group or of a social cultural group with perceived religious affiliation
· Sexual orientation
· Transgender identity
· Disability
· Using threatening, abusive or insulting words or conduct
· Displaying writing or any other thing which is threatening, abusive or insulting
As I’m going to be attending games with my young daughter who’s signed up for next season I have concerns about bringing her to games such as yesterday, which is a shame as it will mean her missing over 10% of games on her ticket.
I see from the safeguarding policy Hibs are rightly promoting the ‘Safe with Hibs’ slogan
“Hibernian is a Football Club for all, promoting diversity and treating everyone fairly and with respect. Everyone has the right to protection from all forms of harm and abuse, and Hibernian Football Club is committed to doing everything it can to provide this. Adhering to these policies and procedures will help ensure children and young people are ‘SAFE WITH HIBS.’”
As a Hibs supporter from a Catholic family the abuse that was aimed at ‘us’ from Rangers fans was really disturbing, hurtful and should not be tolerated.
Hibs, rightly, went to great lengths, after the racial abuse of Jair at Tannadice, to catch the culprit. It would be a much easier task to identify those involved on Sunday, there were circa 3500 of them.
If the police, stewards and SPFL aren’t going to do anything to stop this hatred We as a club need to make a stand against it. Be it formally highlighting the specific incident to the media, but ultimately that won’t work, the media are scared of the backlash. Ticket allocation reduction or complete ban on them is the only way things will change and Hibs fans can feel safe about attending games without having to listen to sectarian hatred aimed at them.
I hope the club make a stand as this isn’t the 1st time fans have been talking about the conduct of Rangers supporters. Personally I would have banned them after the last game when they dis-respected Ron’s tribute (at Easter Road and Hampden).
I look forward to hearing about what actions will be taken.
Yours
02-06-2023, 10:21 AM
‘I want to lead a life of danger, I want to be a provo ranger…’
It’s an old one but you still hear it on away days sometimes.
To be clear i’m not defending rangers fans in general, they are a nasty bunch and i’m certainly not condoning physical violence. I just don’t find songs that offensive regardless of what they say.
We started the super trooper rendition recently about walter smith, jimmy bell and andy goram being in hell. How is that any better than the billy boys?
Never heard any of the songs sung as you describe and believe me I am old and the veteran of many an away day
My lasting memory of our greatest away day in our history is the image of a 34 year old Rangers thug booting a Hibs youngster on his knees in the head for celebrating a famous victory on the pitch at Hampden
Explain that one away from your book of excuses
Add the towns and cities they have wrecked along the way Newcastle Leeds Manchester and Barcelona
The Celtic song had it spot on they are animals
Paulie Walnuts
02-06-2023, 11:38 AM
HibsforEurope, that reply to yours is a shocker as well. It’s not just us so don’t ask us to do anything. FFS.
Someone needs to take Malcolm’s laptop off him.
hibsforeurope
02-06-2023, 12:17 PM
HibsforEurope, that reply to yours is a shocker as well. It’s not just us so don’t ask us to do anything. FFS.
Someone needs to take Malcolm’s laptop off him.
It was a disappointing response from his, i thought i had raised some valid concerns but he didn't seem interested.
02-06-2023, 01:27 PM
Completely agree Jim. Nookie is absolutely right about this. The mixture of complacency, conspiracy and complicity across all of Scottish football without exception - and most of Scottish society too - is stomach turning.
It undoubtedly is.
02-06-2023, 01:48 PM
Has anyone emailed Rangers or the SPFL?
Would be interesting to know if the SPFL delegate actually mentioned it in their report, and if they didn't, what the rationale was for omitting it.
02-06-2023, 02:00 PM
Would be interesting to know if the SPFL delegate actually mentioned it in their report, and if they didn't, what the rationale was for omitting it.
I got that stock answer from MM and replied with that very question. No reply as yet.
Bridge hibs
02-06-2023, 02:01 PM
Who was the SPFL delegate Matty ?
Malcolm didnt divulge in reply to my email, in fact he divulged very little
02-06-2023, 02:02 PM
So if the club aren’t prepared to do anything, it’s down to the fans. Is it time to start talking boycotts, staying the concourse for a period of time, demonstrations etc etc
02-06-2023, 02:05 PM
So if the club aren’t prepared to do anything, it’s down to the fans. Is it time to start talking boycotts, staying the concourse for a period of time, demonstrations etc etc
Mass walkouts as soon as they start their *****. It wont stop Rangers (or Celtic) fans singing their folk songs, but it might just draw some attention to the issue.
02-06-2023, 02:10 PM
Rather than boycotting let’s give the club a reason to give them less tickets by selling out our 3 stands and half the away stand. That way we can easily drown them out
02-06-2023, 02:14 PM
Rather than boycotting let’s give the club a reason to give them less tickets by selling out our 3 stands and half the away stand. That way we can easily drown them out
A great team on the park will help this
Bridge hibs
02-06-2023, 02:19 PM
A great team on the park will help this
Thats a start but could take time, something more spontaneous to make a point to the board could send a message, although turning up late wouldnt be an option as hibs fans already go through the stop and search
A father and son, both Rangers supporters, pled guilty to behaving in a threatening or abusive manner aggravated by religious prejudice.
The terms they shouted ‘Fenian ******* and Fenian ****er’ at Rangers home game v Hearts in 2022.
So the terms as above are deemed as against religious prejudice.
SPFL delegate take note
02-06-2023, 04:04 PM
Who was the SPFL delegate Matty ?
Malcolm didnt divulge in reply to my email, in fact he divulged very little
I have no idea, not even sure where to start to find out, to be honest!
02-06-2023, 04:12 PM
Never heard any of the songs sung as you describe and believe me I am old and the veteran of many an away day
My lasting memory of our greatest away day in our history is the image of a 34 year old Rangers thug booting a Hibs youngster on his knees in the head for celebrating a famous victory on the pitch at Hampden
Explain that one away from your book of excuses
Add the towns and cities they have wrecked along the way Newcastle Leeds Manchester and Barcelona
The Celtic song had it spot on they are animals
Definitely heard the Super Trooper song being belted out on numerous occasions.
DIXIHIBS
02-06-2023, 04:35 PM
Song was defo sang back late 70s early 80s but more individual bams in a pub/bus but never really sung by general support.
BegbieHSC
02-06-2023, 05:48 PM
Copy of my email to the club, using the general enquiry option online. Feel free to adapt, and send on to add extra weight to how evidently unhappy we are about Hibs approach. To achieve anything, we need to speak with one voice, and as loudly as we can.
“Good evening,
I’d be grateful if this could be passed on to the relevant directors.
I’m getting in touch having attended the match on Sunday, and I’m really concerned by the club’s silence on the actions of the travelling support.
As a practising Catholic, I heard the travelling support repeatedly chanting slurs about that faith (a protected characteristic under the equality act.) Numerous renditions of ‘F the Pope’ and ‘You only sing in the chapel.’ I honestly don’t know how to square it with my family paying to go and support our team, and having our Faith targeted for abuse.
In addition to this, the travelling support had chants featuring the lines ‘up to our knees in fenian blood’ and ‘fenian b*****s.’ This is an anti-Irish slur - another protected characteristic.
I would expect my club to make a public statement calling out this bigoted chanting in the same way it would for assaults on other protected characteristics - faiths; sexuality and race. It’s so disappointing that the club is not doing so - silence implies tolerance, which I really wouldn’t expect from my club.
I really don’t think I’ll be able to attend future matches against Rangers at Easter Road until the club demonstrate a duty of care and respect towards our own supporters, and make clear that such intolerance of the Catholic faith, and Irish heritage is firmly and publicly opposed.
I understand that the club may be concerned about how this may impact on relations between the Hibernian and Rangers boards at corporate level, but surely standing up for the dignity of supporters, who have invested heavily both financially and emotionally into the club over many years should be the club’s priority.
I look forward to hearing a response.
Yours sincerely,”
Got a fairly stock response. My eMail criticised Hibs silence, and I found the bit in bold a bit odd. Are we staying silent, because it’s a problem “beyond our club.”??
Thank you for your email from 22nd May. I understand your reaction. It is indeed sad that we have to face this in 2023. We oppose any kind of sectarianism, a problem which goes far beyond just our Club. There is an SPFL delegate at every game reporting back to the SPFL who have sanctions available.
Regards
Malcolm McPherson
Chairman of Hibernian FC
02-06-2023, 07:13 PM
Do the entire Hibs support sing these songs or is it a few daft wee laddies? There is a difference
One of those songs is sung by more than just daft laddies. And with fair reason in my opinion. Not comparable to sectarian nonsense.
02-06-2023, 09:50 PM
Been going to games since 1966 and never heard those words sung. It’s just utter make-believe that it’s happened. I heard the Merry Ploughboy in the early 70’s and glad it died out but that lyric I’ve never heard.
03-06-2023, 05:29 AM
Definitely heard the Super Trooper song being belted out on numerous occasions.
Will listen out for it
Sounds horrendous tbh was a big fan of Andy Goram from his Hibs days despite his loyalist tendencies and had the utmost respect for Walter Smith
03-06-2023, 01:53 PM
Try writing to wee Dougie the Tory leader. He was running the line that game and must’ve heard the bile.
03-06-2023, 04:44 PM
Disappointing responses from Chairman to the complaints
03-06-2023, 04:47 PM
Sent e-mail to SFA re delegates report and not surprisingly no response.:rolleyes:
Steven79
03-06-2023, 04:52 PM
Try writing to wee Dougie the Tory leader. He was running the line that game and must’ve heard the bile.He probably was hoping to join in.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
03-06-2023, 05:55 PM
Sent e-mail to SFA re delegates report and not surprisingly no response.:rolleyes:
Its not the SFA you need to email about that.
03-06-2023, 05:56 PM
Sent a reply to Malcolm's generic template email. Don't expect a response. The bland copy and paste nature of it annoyed me more than no reply to be honest. Especially as BK had already replied basically saying it's all about the money.
LunasBoots
03-06-2023, 06:41 PM
Got a fairly stock response. My eMail criticised Hibs silence, and I found the bit in bold a bit odd. Are we staying silent, because it’s a problem “beyond our club.”??
Thank you for your email from 22nd May. I understand your reaction. It is indeed sad that we have to face this in 2023. We oppose any kind of sectarianism, a problem which goes far beyond just our Club. There is an SPFL delegate at every game reporting back to the SPFL who have sanctions available.
Regards
Malcolm McPherson
Chairman of Hibernian FC
Moneys all that matters sadly, what happens illegaly at football matches is let to carry on sadly
04-06-2023, 12:24 AM
https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-65800061.amp
Interesting that the police in England have taken action here. They are correct to do this imo but I wonder what's stopping Police Scotland from doing something about hate speech at football games in Scotland?
04-06-2023, 04:54 AM
https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-65800061.amp
Interesting that the police in England have taken action here. They are correct to do this imo but I wonder what's stopping Police Scotland from doing something about hate speech at football games in Scotland?
That's an absolutely vile t-shirt and a despicable thing to do to have it made and then wear it, but I'm not sure that we shouldn't be concerned about him being arrested for it.
Your wider point about the police doing something about what they considered an offence stands though - here we have police dealing with someone within a large group of people so why not up here for sectarianism?
04-06-2023, 01:33 PM
Scottish FA far to scared to even have talks about it, never mind take any action.
Need all the others clubs to be more stronger and togethernes.
Scottish FA far to scared to even have talks about it, never mind take any action.
Words from clubs are cheap imho.
Government, Police Scotland and footballing powers have done and will continue to do nothing. Their silence on this matter proves it.
04-06-2023, 04:12 PM
Well, the SPFL ARE the clubs. The issue is that 2 of them have too much influence.
04-06-2023, 05:05 PM
Well, the SPFL ARE the clubs. The issue is that 2 of them have too much influence.
Without the extended sectarianism & bigotry that is a by product of both clubs, they wouldn’t be attracting the numbers of supporters from all corners of Scotland. They’d still have bigger crowds and such but would be more just run of the mill clubs without the sideshow that attracts so many towards them.
It’s not in their best interests to see sectarianism & bigotry eradicated, and that’s quite obvious to see.
04-06-2023, 05:10 PM
Refuse them an allocation for our first fixture v sevco next season.
Install a giant message in the South instead.....
Hibs say NO to Bigotry
and Sectarianism.
And B7 tifo idea:hmmm:
Stick yer racist song book up yer arse.
Well, Summer is here and happy pre season holidays to you all.:greengrin
Commiserations to those of you who live in towns blighted in the summer by middle aged and elderly men and women in orange and blue fancy dress costumes, marching in your area ,to the delight of buckfast fueled bigots in attendance.
07-06-2023, 05:51 AM
The more I think about it there was a Rangers provo line as intro to one of our songs as well as Sean South The Soldiers Song Thomson’s Gun and The Ploughboy usually sung by the back of the bus on Supporters Buses returning from away games in the mid to late sixties
These were largely clamped down on by Bus Convenors and Tom Hart with his ban on the Irish tricolour and republican songs from Easter Road in the early to mid seventies following violent clashes with the Hun
As a wee aside I remember purchasing a ‘ college’ Hibs scarf for our YNWA late sixties home and away more as our imitation of the Kop pre SOL and before Celtic used to sing it
07-06-2023, 10:44 AM
The more I think about it there was a Rangers provo line as intro to one of our songs as well as Sean South The Soldiers Song Thomson’s Gun and The Ploughboy usually sung by the back of the bus on Supporters Buses returning from away games in the mid to late sixties
These were largely clamped down on by Bus Convenors and Tom Hart with his ban on the Irish tricolour and republican songs from Easter Road in the early to mid seventies following violent clashes with the Hun
As a wee aside I remember purchasing a ‘ college’ Hibs scarf for our YNWA late sixties home and away more as our imitation of the Kop pre SOL and before Celtic used to sing it
Billy I knew the song book inside out when i was a schoolboy.
I attended a number Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem concerts back then,dont you know :greengrin
On your "provo line" in a song intro.
I cannot remember any that was sung back then.
The Provos broke from the "Officials" in December 1969.
When The Troubles escalated,Tom Hart banning the Irish National Flag was outrageous of him.
And polis confiscating them was worse .
I once kept away from ER (and got a haircut) for a couple of games back then,as i hit a cop over the head with a flagpole when he tried to steal my tricolour.
Mayhem and chaos in the Cave !!
Happy Days !
Merry Ploughboy/Thomson Gun/ Off to Dublin in the Green is the same song :singing: !!
07-06-2023, 10:53 AM
Billy I knew the song book inside out when i was a schoolboy.
I attended a number Clancy Brothers concerts back then,dont you know :greengrin
On your "provo line" in a song intro.I cannot remember such reference.
The Provos broke from the "Officials" in December 1969.
When The Troubles escalated,Tom Hart banning the Irish National Flag was outrageous of him.
And polis confiscating them was worse .
I once kept away from ER (and got a haircut) for a couple of games back then,as i hit a cop over the head with a flagpole when he tried to steal my tricolour
Mayhem and chaos in the Cave !!
Happy Days !
Merry Ploughboy/Thomson Gun/ Off to Dublin in the Green is the same song !!
Thought it was 😀
Did we sing the Fields of Athenry ?
I was 11 at the time First Year pupil at Auggies didn’t know the time of day according to Ted 😀
Always sat up the front beside all the sensible boys so didn’t join in
The provos reference was sung before Hail Hail but only sung by a few
Edit :
I thought The Rangers should have been banned after the time before last they seem to treat their visit to ER like an Orange Walk and the disrespect shown to our late Chairman was unforgivable
07-06-2023, 11:16 AM
Thought it was
I was 11 at the time First Year pupil at Auggies didn’t know the time of day according to Ted
Edit :
I thought The Rangers should have been banned after the time before last they seem to treat their visit to ER like an Orange Walk and the disrespect shown to our late Chairman was unforgivable
“The Fields of Athenry” is a relatively new song. Written in 1979 and adopted by Irish sports supporters much later in the 90’s, before Celtic followed suit in their own unoriginal way simply because folk in Ireland sung it. It’s the big anthem for Galway GAA.
Never been sung at Hibs, and there isn’t really any reason to be doing so.
07-06-2023, 11:22 AM
Thought it was
I was 11 at the time First Year pupil at Auggies didn’t know the time of day according to Ted
Edit :
I thought The Rangers should have been banned after the time before last they seem to treat their visit to ER like an Orange Walk and the disrespect shown to out late Chairman was unforgivable
It would not have been sung by Hibs fans en masse at games.
I have never heard that sung at ER,bar when Celtic are here.
Song was not written till the late 70s.
My story about the flagpole was long before Tom Hart's anti Irish edict .
When i was growing up anti Catholic feeling was bad in Edinburgh.
My older cousins/uncles had many stories of violent incidents in the Grassmarket when the John Knox mob came down there.
Me and my brothers had a few run ins in Clermiston,cos of what school we went tae .
Pure and simple taught in the house by their parents.
Picked on the wrong laddies at the finish up,but they kept coming !!
Retribution later on for the abuse/bullying was the outcome.Slowly,but surely !
Anti Irish/Catholic was institutionalised back then in Edinburgh.Polis for a start.Personal experience.
I mind a sub editor in the Scotsman (Highland Catholic he was) telling me NOT to name my secondary school/religion in some job applications. Basically tell lies,he said .That was 1967/68
I had to laugh if i didnt cry.
My surname was enough of a giveaway !!
I remember a well known building site foreman joiner who would not employ anyone,no matter how good they were,if they had an Irish surname or ginger hair.
True !!
07-06-2023, 11:34 AM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;7367458]It would not have been sung by Hibs fans en masse at games.
My older cousins/uncles had many stories of violent incidents in the Grassmarket when the John Knox mob came down there.
Me and my brothers had a few run ins in Clermiston,cos of what school we went tae .
Anti Irish/Catholic was institutionalised back then in Edinburgh.Polis for a start.Personal experience.
I mind a sub editor in the Scotsman (Highland Catholic he was) telling me NOT to name my secondary school/religion in some job applications. Basically tell lies,he said .That was 1967/68
I remember a well known building site foreman joiner who would not employ anyone,no matter how good they were,if they had an Irish surname or ginger hair.
True !![/QUOTE
With all due respect anti Irish feeling was decades ago we have all moved on . Ive never heard any anti-Irish or anti Catholic sentiment expressed nowadays. Have you?
Every Rangers fixture?
Every Orange Walk?
07-06-2023, 11:53 AM
My comments refer to ongoing chat with BillyHibs about 60s/70s and personal experiences during that time.
There was no "due respect" then i assure you.
I had the bruises and lumps to prove it .You go ahead though.:greengrin
But Kato is correct.
It sadly has not gone away and they will be rehearsing now for July .
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-06-2023, 12:17 PM
My comments refer to ongoing chat with BillyHibs about 60s/70s and personal experiences during that time.
There was no "due respect" then i assure you.
I had the bruises and lumps to prove it .You go ahead though.:greengrin
But Kato is correct.
It sadly has not gone away and they will be rehearsing now for July .
How about that book Mick [emoji6]
07-06-2023, 12:36 PM
How about that book Mick [emoji6]
I do Harp on a bit sometimes,dont i ? (pun intended)
Just some topics/issues on here bring back old,sometimes better forgotten, memories :greengrin
Didnt realise i stored so many stories up top.
Who said they were "the good old days"? Mary Hopkins ?
Bah,humbug !
07-06-2023, 12:58 PM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;7367458]It would not have been sung by Hibs fans en masse at games.
True !![/QUOTE
You've never attended a game with Rangers fans in attendance then.
Literally every single time we play then they sing anti Catholic and anti Irish songs, everytime.
07-06-2023, 01:05 PM
https://www.eastlothian.gov.uk/info/210567/your_community/12643/list_of_public_events
List of events in East Lothian showing the ones to avoid. What has East Lothian done to deserve bigots closing roads. Councils should be refusing licences for them to March.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
07-06-2023, 05:12 PM
My wife is Irish and has lived here for 20 years. She’s never encountered any anti Irish or anti Catholic bigotry in all her time here in any form.
I’m nether Irish or Catholic, but have been called a Fenian on many occasions, exclusively when watching Hibs play Rangers.
You can only go on your own experiences and for me sectarianism exists as a by-product of support for Rangers. I get that there are still Orange walks and such where fat bald men wheeze their way up roads banging the odd drum accompanied by braying pissed up rough women. It’s to be laughed at and be glad you’re alien to it all.
Probably why efforts to eradicate sectarianism are largely half hearted. It’s part of the culture of Rangers more than any other denominator. I can see why it’s not taken that seriously.
08-06-2023, 03:36 PM
My wife is Irish and has lived here for 20 years. She’s never encountered any anti Irish or anti Catholic bigotry in all her time here in any form.
I’m nether Irish or Catholic, but have been called a Fenian on many occasions, exclusively when watching Hibs play Rangers.
You can only go on your own experiences and for me sectarianism exists as a by-product of support for Rangers. I get that there are still Orange walks and such where fat bald men wheeze their way up roads banging the odd drum accompanied by braying pissed up rough women. It’s to be laughed at and be glad you’re alien to it all.
Probably why efforts to eradicate sectarianism are largely half hearted. It’s part of the culture of Rangers more than any other denominator. I can see why it’s not taken that seriously.
I meant outwith football, I just don't hear any anti Irish/ catholic feeling in every day life.
08-06-2023, 03:53 PM
I meant outwith football, I just don't hear any anti Irish/ catholic feeling in every day life.
Outwith football...
The reality of life next month for Catholics (and non Catholics) in Scotland who will endure,once again,this festival of hate and bigotry.
Many,in some localities, on a number of occasions.
From The National newspaper dated 7th May 2023
"Overall, Scotland (2023) will see 213 loyalist processions across 16 local authority areas.
This is an increase from 184 parades in 2022, held in 15 local authorities.
Prior to the Covid-19 pandemic in 2019, there were 414 loyalist parades across Scotland,
with almost half (192) in Glasgow, which has historically held a higher number of marches."
These are not 90 minute football bigots (there is really no such thing anyway ,a bigot is a bigot ..full time)
So 50% of all Scottish local councils are allowing this carnival of hate on our streets this year.
08-06-2023, 04:21 PM
Outwith football...
The reality of life next month for Catholics (and non Catholics) in Scotland who will endure,once again,this festival of hate and bigotry.
Many,in some localities, on a number of occasions.
From The National newspaper dated 7th May 2023
"Overall, Scotland (2023) will see 213 loyalist processions across 16 local authority areas.
This is an increase from 184 parades in 2022, held in 15 local authorities.
Prior to the Covid-19 pandemic in 2019, there were 414 loyalist parades across Scotland,
with almost half (192) in Glasgow, which has historically held a higher number of marches."
These are not 90 minute football bigots (there is really no such thing anyway ,a bigot is a bigot ..full time)
So 50% of all Scottish local councils are allowing this carnival of hate on our streets this year.
If you went to a council asking for permission to march which had anti semitic,anti muslim elements to the march what would be the reaction to the councils/government giving these marches the go ahead. I am sure the press would be all over it.
I meant outwith football, I just don't hear any anti Irish/ catholic feeling in every day life.Orange Walks are part of football?
McSwanky
08-06-2023, 04:32 PM
Orange Walks are part of football?
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkNumber of Rangers tops you see on them, there's definitely a correlation
Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk
Number of Rangers tops you see on them, there's definitely a correlation
Sent from my YAL-L21 using TapatalkYou see football tops at any random event.
Orange Walks predate assoc. football by quite a few decades. No doubt there are those who attend both but Orange Walks aren't football related events. If you go to a Rangers fixture you know what you are getting.
Walking down the road into a crowd of protestant supremacists is a different matter.
08-06-2023, 05:21 PM
You see football tops at any random event.
Orange Walks predate assoc. football by quite a few decades. No doubt there are those who attend both but Orange Walks aren't football related events. If you go to a Rangers fixture you know what you are getting.
Walking down the road into a crowd of protestant supremacists is a different matter.
Not really a different matter. Both are attended by obnoxious bigots and the songs and the tunes are the same.
Orange Walks in Glasgow were banned in Glasgow for 20 years in the early 1800s. If only the did that now.
08-06-2023, 05:26 PM
Without Rangers, Orange Walks wouldn’t exist in Scotland in 2023. Certainly not in the same manner. They are effectively an extension of your support for Rangers and a sense of obligation to embrace the Rangers identity.
The vast majority of “Orangemen” and their supporters on March days will not be practising church goers, wouldn’t be able to give you a brief synopsis of The Battle of the Boyne or indeed have much interest in it, and very few will have any connection whatsoever to Ireland.
Every single one of them will be Rangers fans though.
Sectarianism will prevail as ling as Rangers exist. It’s not going away any time soon.
08-06-2023, 05:31 PM
You see football tops at any random event.
With no Rangers, Orange Walks would have long been left in the past. In Scotland at least.
Would have maybe went the way of Morris Dancing with a few eccentrics keeping an ancient tradition alive for summer fetes and suchlike.
08-06-2023, 05:33 PM
Without Rangers, Orange Walks wouldn’t exist in Scotland in 2023. Certainly not in the same manner. They are effectively an extension of your support for Rangers and a sense of obligation to embrace the Rangers identity.
The vast majority of “Orangemen” and their supporters on March days will not be practising church goers, wouldn’t be able to give you a brief synopsis of The Battle of the Boyne or indeed have much interest in it, and very few will have any connection whatsoever to Ireland.
Sectarianism will prevail as ling as Rangers exist. It’s not going away any time soon.
Yip, they really are a poison throughout Scottish society.
12-06-2023, 09:21 AM
“Simply The Best”and it’s use as an anthem for Johnny Adair’s Loyalist terror group and an attempt from Tina Turners lawyers to stop them using the song at their public “shows of strength” was the topic of a podcast I was listening to this morning.
You can argue who used it first - Rangers or the UFF, but there was definitely a previous Rangers chairman who wanted to distance himself from the song and stopped playing it as a matchday anthem at Ibrox, but it’s long been back on the roster. It’s quite telling that.
Maybe because Turner’s lawyers didn’t come after them Rangers probably thought that gave them the all clear to continue. Sails far too close to the wind really.
12-06-2023, 09:41 AM
The subject of “Simply The Best”and it’s use as an anthem for Johnny Adair’s Loyalist terror group and an attempt from Tina Turners lawyers to stop them using the song at their public “shows of strength”
You can argue who used it first - Rangers or the UFF, but there was definitely a previous Rangers chairman who wanted to distance himself from the song and stopped playing it as a matchday anthem at Ibrox, but it’s long been back on the roster. It’s quite telling that.
Maybe because Turner’s lawyers didn’t come after them Rangers probably thought that gave them the all clear to continue. Sails far too close to the wind really.
They are a club whose board do nothing to stop their association with bigoted organisations such as playing that song and its connection with that group.Also having the orange strips/training gear. This has nothing to do with a homage to their Dutch players but their loyalty to the Orange Order.
PHeffernan
12-06-2023, 12:28 PM
They are a club whose board do nothing to stop their association with bigoted organisations such as playing that song and its connection with that group.Also having the orange strips/training gear. This has nothing to do with a homage to their Dutch players but their loyalty to the Orange Order.
The orange strips/training gear is nothing to do with the loyalty of Rangers FC to the Orange Order.
It's all do with financially exploiting their supporters loyalty to the orange order.
It's always about the money just like Hibs allowing a stand full of their supporters at Easter Road.
Always follow follow the money.
12-06-2023, 01:52 PM
The orange strips/training gear is nothing to do with the loyalty of Rangers FC to the Orange Order.
It's all do with financially exploiting their supporters loyalty to the orange order.
It's always about the money just like Hibs allowing a stand full of their supporters at Easter Road.
Always follow follow the money.
Your right I should have said fans. But as a corporate body they as complicit as are their fans or are their board only 90 min bigots. The board of that club in my opinion are as odious as their fans. Mcgregor seemed to always wear his orange goalkeeping kit when playing against us and Celtic.
ErinGoBraghHFC
12-06-2023, 02:35 PM
Not every single one of them will be Rangers fans, a huge majority though no doubt. You’ll definitely get the odd Hearts/Airdrie fan at these bigotfests
12-06-2023, 05:29 PM
Not every single one of them will be Rangers fans, a huge majority though no doubt. You’ll definitely get the odd Hearts/Airdrie fan at these bigotfests
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalkr
I worked for an English electrical/engineering company many years ago.
Contract/construction site i was on was in the Scottish Borders .
Majority of workforce was English.
One chargehand was a jambo from East Lolthian.
He soon discovered who i was,and i found it he was an orangeman.
Long story short.I was the first to be "laid off" .
No reason,there was lots of work to be done .
My job was filled within days . So who knows ?