View Full Version : Rangers Songs
22-05-2023, 08:29 PM
Without strict liability, there is nothing the SFA or SPFL can do.
Yip it's down to our board and them only.
Fuzzywuzzy
22-05-2023, 08:32 PM
It is within the power of the referee to stop the game. Actually doing it is another thing
22-05-2023, 08:33 PM
Without strict liability, there is nothing the SFA or SPFL can do.
What a sad state of affairs.
When you boil this all down, we live in a sectarian cesspit and everyone who should be doing something to improve/fix it has an endless list of excuses not to get involved. From clubs, to football authorities, to police and governments.
Sad as it is but I can only see this getting really bad to the point of it being impossible to ignore before its tackled.
Already had people getting death threats, bullets and all sorts through the letter box. What's done? Nothing. It looks like someone or multiple people will need to lose their lives before anything material is done.
22-05-2023, 08:33 PM
Until there is strict liability as they have in Europe nothing will change. This has been going on as long as I have been going to games 55+ years. Rangers are a club supported by bigots and the board and the executives are more than likely all bigots judging by the way they operate the club. They will still be singing these songs probably for the next hundreds of years.
The next home game televised against them supporters should not take their seats until 15 minutes after kick off time. The players should come out with anti bigotry tee shirts and refuse to start the game until our supporters take their seats.
Scotty Leither
22-05-2023, 08:42 PM
Sectarianism is something that is almost so ingrained in Scottish culture that it's more a light hearted joke than serious social issue.
I remember watching a BBC Scotland hogmanay show a fair few years back and Andy Cameron was on. Part of his act was walking up and down a stage pretending he was throwing the baton at the front of an orange walk. The live audience were in stitches and hogmanay on the beeb is prime time. It didn't even seem all that out of the ordinary. Maybe we should have got someone on wearing a white sheet and burning a cross next. Same with Off The Ball. Every other week there is a bit of 'banter' about how much of a jolly old laugh sectarianism is. I like the show and I know exactly why Tam Cowan is there but Cosgrove is usually a decent counter balance to the formers contrived 'ah dinnae ken any better' act. Not with sectarianism though, he's quite happy to also play the fool and treat it all as a big laugh.
These lads and the journos all know on what side their bread is buttered. Most of them will know Jim Spence and be well aware of what happened to him for speaking his mind.
Great post. It’s actually pathetic that this crap is indulged and celebrated. It stains us as a country and gives me the boak.
As an aside, I no longer attend sportsman’s dinners for a number of reasons, partly because I don’t drink any more, and I I’ve long since thought the humour is lame and tired; however the tipping point for taking that view was the last one I attended about eight years ago…
Main speaker was Chic “heh heh heh” Young, who was on for half an hour, and was utter cack, I never laughed once.
I left early and passed him on the way out, and he asked me “enjoy that big man?” When I told him I thought it was hackneyed ***** and if I never heard him again it would be too soon, his face was a picture.
It’s all a big laugh to the Weegie mafia of course but it’s high time this crap was getting called out, and Ben Kensell can’t hide behind referring to SPFL delegates reports and all that eyewash when there was barely 12k Hibs fans there yesterday .
What’s it to be Ben, the “blue pound” or alienating your own supporters?
JimmyL
22-05-2023, 08:50 PM
Yesterday was disgusting. I would pay for a seat in the south for the games against them over and above my season if it it meant no Zombies next season.
jakeshibs
22-05-2023, 08:51 PM
There is a substantial difference between chanting about the death of a near 100 year old wealthy queen who lived a life of privilege and luxury and the death of thousands of innocent people who were killed due to their religion.
Thats because it fits your agenda, they are equally despicable and not required at a football match, we should be ashamed to sing about the death of anyone, the POPE is just a privileged, what innocent people are you referring to "innocent people killed due to their religion"?
We must stop singing anything about death, politics or religion as there is no need at a football where children at present.
Peanut Shaz
22-05-2023, 08:56 PM
It could be possible that the Gordon family, Kensell and now McDermott just don't actually understand why the fans are so pig sick of the whole secterarian thing. Sure they know the songs are offensive, understand to a point the bigotry but do they actually "get it"?. They haven't been brought in Scotland, haven't had to suffer the bile for years and years. Sure they know we don't like it, but maybe they just don't grasp how the fan base REALLY feel about the whole thing. Grasping at straws maybe, but it's possible.
22-05-2023, 09:19 PM
It is within the power of the referee to stop the game. Actually doing it is another thing
All the refs are petrified of giving a decision against them never mind stopping the game due to fan behaviour.
BegbieHSC
22-05-2023, 09:20 PM
Copy of my email to the club, using the general enquiry option online. Feel free to adapt, and send on to add extra weight to how evidently unhappy we are about Hibs approach. To achieve anything, we need to speak with one voice, and as loudly as we can.
“Good evening,
I’d be grateful if this could be passed on to the relevant directors.
I’m getting in touch having attended the match on Sunday, and I’m really concerned by the club’s silence on the actions of the travelling support.
As a practising Catholic, I heard the travelling support repeatedly chanting slurs about that faith (a protected characteristic under the equality act.) Numerous renditions of ‘F the Pope’ and ‘You only sing in the chapel.’ I honestly don’t know how to square it with my family paying to go and support our team, and having our Faith targeted for abuse.
In addition to this, the travelling support had chants featuring the lines ‘up to our knees in fenian blood’ and ‘fenian b*****s.’ This is an anti-Irish slur - another protected characteristic.
I would expect my club to make a public statement calling out this bigoted chanting in the same way it would for assaults on other protected characteristics - faiths; sexuality and race. It’s so disappointing that the club is not doing so - silence implies tolerance, which I really wouldn’t expect from my club.
I really don’t think I’ll be able to attend future matches against Rangers at Easter Road until the club demonstrate a duty of care and respect towards our own supporters, and make clear that such intolerance of the Catholic faith, and Irish heritage is firmly and publicly opposed.
I understand that the club may be concerned about how this may impact on relations between the Hibernian and Rangers boards at corporate level, but surely standing up for the dignity of supporters, who have invested heavily both financially and emotionally into the club over many years should be the club’s priority.
I look forward to hearing a response.
Yours sincerely,”
Scotty Leither
22-05-2023, 09:37 PM
I wonder what the late Tom Hart would have made of this?
Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2023, 09:41 PM
Would finance be allowed to get in the way if we were talking about racism?
and that’s all that really needs to be said.
Our club don’t take racism seriously, because that’s exactly what the crap they’re singing is. The crap we spout about stamping it out is nothing but lip service. It’s that simple.
CL0762
22-05-2023, 09:41 PM
https://www.facebook.com/groups/2528...9978349763319/
The stadium manager and the club did have the balls to enter the East Stand and take down a Hibs flag commemorating a dead family member though.
**** off Hibs!
Club should hang its head in shame.
I’m absolutely disgusted with this.
I was pals with Jojo and mucked about the Inch with him as a teenager and the way he lost his life was heartbreaking.
Jake has taken that flag to every single game he’s attended since Jojo’s passing and I always like to look out for it and him and see how he’s keeping.
Actions like this coupled with complete inaction towards those rancid hun *******s is so damaging.
BegbieHSC
22-05-2023, 10:00 PM
Copy of my email to the club, using the general enquiry option online. Feel free to adapt, and send on to add extra weight to how evidently unhappy we are about Hibs approach. To achieve anything, we need to speak with one voice, and as loudly as we can.
“Good evening,
I’d be grateful if this could be passed on to the relevant directors.
I’m getting in touch having attended the match on Sunday, and I’m really concerned by the club’s silence on the actions of the travelling support.
As a practising Catholic, I heard the travelling support repeatedly chanting slurs about that faith (a protected characteristic under the equality act.) Numerous renditions of ‘F the Pope’ and ‘You only sing in the chapel.’ I honestly don’t know how to square it with my family paying to go and support our team, and having our Faith targeted for abuse.
In addition to this, the travelling support had chants featuring the lines ‘up to our knees in fenian blood’ and ‘fenian b*****s.’ This is an anti-Irish slur - another protected characteristic.
I would expect my club to make a public statement calling out this bigoted chanting in the same way it would for assaults on other protected characteristics - faiths; sexuality and race. It’s so disappointing that the club is not doing so - silence implies tolerance, which I really wouldn’t expect from my club.
I really don’t think I’ll be able to attend future matches against Rangers at Easter Road until the club demonstrate a duty of care and respect towards our own supporters, and make clear that such intolerance of the Catholic faith, and Irish heritage is firmly and publicly opposed.
I understand that the club may be concerned about how this may impact on relations between the Hibernian and Rangers boards at corporate level, but surely standing up for the dignity of supporters, who have invested heavily both financially and emotionally into the club over many years should be the club’s priority.
I look forward to hearing a response.
Yours sincerely,”
email here: https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/our-club/contact
Scotty Leither
22-05-2023, 10:05 PM
What’s even more astonishing is the club thinking that replying individually to each fan via email is going to keep a lid on this.
The sectarian cat is firmly out the bag Hibs, and it’s been exacerbated by the searches of Hibs fans, the banning of the tifo, the ignoring of the seventh anniversary of the Cup Final, and now the taking down of the flag commemorating the laddie’s brother, while tacitly enabling the Rangers fans through our utter inaction.
You need to address this publicly, Ben Kensell and co.
22-05-2023, 10:19 PM
What’s even more astonishing is the club thinking that replying individually to each fan via email is going to keep a lid on this.
The sectarian cat is firmly out the bag Hibs, and it’s been exacerbated by the searches of Hibs fans, the banning of the tifo, the ignoring of the seventh anniversary of the Cup Final, and now the taking down of the flag commemorating the laddie’s brother, while tacitly enabling the Rangers fans through our utter inaction.
They didn't ignore the anniversary? Goals shown on the big screens and social media posts about it... The rest is fair enough but that one's not accurate.
22-05-2023, 10:22 PM
Strangely this reminds me of the excessive policing of the anti-monarchy/coronation protests.
Club look to catch Hibs fans out before any "wrongdoing" but sit with their thumb up their arse when bigots sing sectarian songs for most of the match.
Club are really starting to embarrass themselves with this.
This take your money and move on attitude is ridiculous in 2023.
Hibs, have some morals. Society and the bodies that be keep ignoring it. Treat this like racism and raise a voice. Don't be complicit.
Scotty Leither
22-05-2023, 10:24 PM
They didn't ignore the anniversary? Goals shown on the big screens and social media posts about it... The rest is fair enough but that one's not accurate.
My bad then Matty, I must have missed it and I get into the ground early by and large, but it certainly wasn’t “overplayed” that’s for sure.
Just as an aside, why don’t you invite Kensell onto your podcast to talk about the events of yesterday?
He must be aware of the depth of feeling if he’s reading this thread alone, and that’s not even speculating at what’s in his inbox.
22-05-2023, 10:26 PM
For such an anniversary I thought it was largely ignored. Never saw the goals on the screen (maybe just wasn’t looking) but there wasn’t any mention of it. Someone delivering the match ball has been a thing this year, you’d think they could have had someone doing that at least, help build a bit atmosphere or whatever.
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-05-2023, 10:28 PM
Email to BK sent, will update if I hear anything back that differs from what we’ve had posted already
22-05-2023, 10:31 PM
Sectarianism is something that is almost so ingrained in Scottish culture that it's more a light hearted joke than serious social issue.
Can’t disagree with this. Scotland is practically a failed state insofar as this is concerned and I doubt it will change at any point in my lifetime.
22-05-2023, 10:32 PM
Won’t be at another Hibs v Rangers game until this disgusting bigotry is called out by Hibs. It is 2023 ffs. I don’t care if we lose out on money from their support it needs called out. Sure there’s a lot of Hibs fans not taking their kids to these games.
22-05-2023, 10:32 PM
My bad then Matty, I must have missed it and I get into the ground early by and large, but it certainly wasn’t “overplayed” that’s for sure.
Just as an aside, why don’t you invite Kensell onto your podcast to talk about the events of yesterday?
He must be aware of the depth of feeling if he’s reading this thread alone, and that’s not even speculating at what’s in his inbox.
We have asked and are waiting on Hibs coming back to me to confirm. I spoke to Ben after the last Rangers game to raise the same issues and he agreed to come on, so hopefully we'll have that sorted out soon.
Scotty Leither
22-05-2023, 10:33 PM
For such an anniversary I thought it was largely ignored. Never saw the goals on the screen (maybe just wasn’t looking) but there wasn’t any mention of it. Someone delivering the match ball has been a thing this year, you’d think they could have had someone doing that at least, help build a bit atmosphere or whatever.
Just for a laugh they could have had Anthony Stokes bring on the match ball. Then the teddy bears could have got the songbook out even earlier.
22-05-2023, 10:34 PM
Douglas Ross should be hounded if this isn't raised by him as well, you can't be the leader of a political party, bear witness to that, and ignore it without being seen to condone it.
Scotty Leither
22-05-2023, 10:35 PM
We have asked and are waiting on Hibs coming back to me to confirm. I spoke to Ben after the last Rangers game to raise the same issues and he agreed to come on, so hopefully we'll have that sorted out soon.
Good on you. I’d be surprised if he comes on now, though. The club have boxed themselves into a corner over this and I think he knows it.
Take it easy, speak to you soon, no doubt.
May21/05/216
22-05-2023, 10:37 PM
I think that sectarian songs are shocking and should be called out but some of the songs that our fans sing as just as bad
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-05-2023, 10:40 PM
I think that sectarian songs are shocking and should be called out but some of the songs that our fans sing as just as bad
No they’re not
BegbieHSC
22-05-2023, 10:42 PM
Do any of our chants attack protected characteristics, such as faith and race? If the answer is no, then our chants are nowhere near on the same level as the songs from Rangers fans.
22-05-2023, 10:42 PM
the gent who had his flag taken away has posted a response he received from the club on a hibs fans facebook page... though i'm still not understanding what on earth the problem was with where it was
Would like to thank each and every person who has showed support to me and my family regarding my brothers flag. An hour after I sent my email I got a phone call from the club. Apparently there was a miss communication https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/tf2/1/16/1f615.pnghttps://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t4e/1/16/1f644.png. To be fair the stadium manager I think it was, was helpful and coming to see me Wednesday. He stated that there may be changes next season but wants to work with me to find a spot where me, the club and fellow supporters will be happy where the flag is hung. I'm open to hear him out. Just don't see why it's an issue now. Hopefully it will be positive on Wednesday. Once again I cannot thank you all enough for your support it means the world to me and my family. https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/t94/1/16/1f49a.pnghttps://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/tf1/1/16/1f1f3_1f1ec.png
Scotty Leither
22-05-2023, 10:48 PM
Good for the lad being allowed to put his flag back up, it obviously means a lot to him.
Begs the question though, what was wrong with where it was?
May21/05/216
22-05-2023, 10:50 PM
No they’re not
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSo you think it's not as bad well I beg to differ I'm not going say which songs I find offensive and disgusting nowt to do with football
22-05-2023, 10:54 PM
Let's not do whataboutery, because that's exactly what the Huns will do.
The fact is that while a small number of Hibs fans sang unsavoury songs for a period, the entire away end sung bigoted, anti Irish, anti catholic songs for almost the full 90 minutes.
These are not the same, so let's not conflate one with the other.
HarpOnHibee
22-05-2023, 10:57 PM
Douglas Ross should be hounded if this isn't raised by him as well, you can't be the leader of a political party, bear witness to that, and ignore it without being seen to condone it.
You can if it's 'that' party. Unless there's some way to privatize and personally profit from taking any kind of action, he won't be in the least bit bothered.
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-05-2023, 11:01 PM
So you think it's not as bad well I beg to differ I'm not going say which songs I find offensive and disgusting nowt to do with football
No I don’t think it’s as bad, I don’t even think 99% of Celtic’s songbook is as bad as theirs. We as a country are desensitised to the word “sectarianism”, let’s call it what it actually is. It’s Xenophobia. The songs aren’t aimed at every catholic, it’s specifically targeting Irish people and people of Irish descent.
22-05-2023, 11:02 PM
They aren't.
I totally get that we need to get our own house in order with regards to certain issues but false equivalences help no one. Same goes for when Celtic come to town on Wednesday. Plenty of what they sing is extremely distasteful and should be called out for what it is but we often make the mistake of lumping that in with sectarianism when it more often than not isn't the case (there are exceptions, a few lyric changes in 'On The One Road and the odd blast of 'Roaming in the gloaming' don't help their cause).
If we are talking about sectarianism and the wider phenomenon of anti Irish xenophobia then one club stands head and shoulders above the rest though and that is the issue being discussed in the aftermath of yesterday. It's why I don't really care for calling Hearts fans 'diet huns' or worse when the likes of Kille fans get called 'huns'. Hearts could honestly say with a straight face that sectarianism is a minority problem in their support (how big a minority is a debate for another day) and Killie fans deserve praise for not jumping on the Rangers bandwagon in Ayrshire. Other clubs are routinely called out for songs, chants and banners which cross a line. Rangers hold such influence in Scottish football and have so many sympathisers in our sports and wider broadcasting that they act with impunity and their behaviour goes unchallenged.
Chants that are near the knuckle or a bit below the belt are part and parcel of football and when they go too far they are called out. The Rangers support have routinely gone way beyond that for decades and the silence from other clubs, football authorities and the media is deafening.
stuart-farquhar
22-05-2023, 11:06 PM
On this theme about Scotland and the serious depth of bigotry.
My next door neighbour, this is a few years ago, who I chatted with on a good number occasions, came home staggeringly drunk one night about midnight.
I went out when I heard banging.
He couldn't get the key in the door. So, attempting to help him he said " Are you the fenian Hibs cxxx next door?". I am indeed I replied and left him there. His wife apparently found him when she came home about 3 am.
That's this country for me. He sheepishly apologised a few days later, I'd told his wife what he'd said. I knew however what he really thought of me. Him and a million others in this country make it a depressing wee place. I've left many times myself to live abroad, each time I return it seems more blatant. How to change?
May21/05/216
22-05-2023, 11:10 PM
I'm out I will let everyone else comment on about sectarian songs I wish the sfa would bring in strict liability
but it won't happen as its up to the clubs to bring it in as every club will suffer from it
as every club have idiots in there fan base that sing and chant that have nowt to do with football
22-05-2023, 11:18 PM
My next door neighbour, this is a few years ago, who I chatted with on a good number occasions, came home staggeringly drunk one night about midnight.
He couldn't get the key in the door. So, attempting to help him he said " Are you the fenian Hibs cxxx next door?". I am indeed I replied and left him there. His wife apparently found him when she came home about 3 am.
That's this country for me. He sheepishly apologised a few days later, I'd told his wife what he'd said. I knew however what he really thought of me. Him and a million others in this country make it a depressing wee place. I've left many times myself to live abroad, each time I return it seems more blatant. How to change?
I think for a lot of people there's an element of 'it's just something you do' about it. I wouldn't even suggest these people are bigots as such, just that if someone banged the Sash on at a party they'd join in 'for a laugh'. Probably more people than would care to admit it too.
A few years back I was in a pub in a town in the borders. There was no outward sign it was in any way dodgy and the locals were a good laugh. As time wore on the karaoke started. Someone got up for Simply The Best and just about every person in the pub belted out the added lyrics of '**** the Pope and the IRA'. I don't think many were Rangers or even football fans; it was just 'something you do'.
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-05-2023, 11:33 PM
I don’t know you but I’d wager a fair bit that this neighbour was in West Lothian. Had it a fair bit in my late teens early twenties (before I moved in with the mrs) in pubs from steaming old men
stuart-farquhar
22-05-2023, 11:52 PM
I don’t know you but I’d wager a fair bit that this neighbour was in West Lothian. Had it a fair bit in my late teens early twenties (before I moved in with the mrs) in pubs from steaming old men
Unfortunately it was in Leith. Boy was Leither who supported Hearts. Almost makes it worse.
23-05-2023, 12:52 AM
There is a feeling for me at the moment that they don't get the club.
Maybe that's harsh. I don't want us to be a place where we only get 'Hibs folk' in charge as that would be ridiculous and disastrous but I can't for the life of me understand the cup final not being acknowledge. I won't be alone in this being the biggest event in my 30 years of supporting the club. There hasn't been much to cheer about recently and we were playing Sevco.
It was mentioned by someone else on here but did we ignore it so as not to upset Sevco? Or just because they don't get how much it means to us?
23-05-2023, 01:16 AM
“Glory, glory, what a terrible way to die, to die a f****n b*****d”.
I mean…what can you say? How much clearer does it need to be?
That's right, and proud of it :greengrin
They don't know how to handle that kind of response. I've been called that and worse many times by them. I smile and say "aye". They will never change until such a time strict liability is introduced.
23-05-2023, 06:04 AM
Yip it's down to our board and them only.
And all the other clubs who voted for no strict liability. That decision has created this mess with old firm trying to outdo each other at present. No doubt bought off by crumbs from the weegie table. Have a backbone for goodness sake and do the right thing.
23-05-2023, 06:24 AM
Email sent to the club. 1st time I’ve ever emailed them - totally fed up with the club making the home stadium a place where some fans don’t want to attend and various away fan behaviour being swept under the carpet.
Weir07
23-05-2023, 06:37 AM
They aren't.
I totally get that we need to get our own house in order with regards to certain issues but false equivalences help no one. Same goes for when Celtic come to town on Wednesday. Plenty of what they sing is extremely distasteful and should be called out for what it is but we often make the mistake of lumping that in with sectarianism when it more often than not isn't the case (there are exceptions, a few lyric changes in 'On The One Road and the odd blast of 'Roaming in the gloaming' don't help their cause).
If we are talking about sectarianism and the wider phenomenon of anti Irish xenophobia then one club stands head and shoulders above the rest though and that is the issue being discussed in the aftermath of yesterday. It's why I don't really care for calling Hearts fans 'diet huns' or worse when the likes of Kille fans get called 'huns'. Hearts could honestly say with a straight face that sectarianism is a minority problem in their support (how big a minority is a debate for another day) and Killie fans deserve praise for not jumping on the Rangers bandwagon in Ayrshire. Other clubs are routinely called out for songs, chants and banners which cross a line. Rangers hold such influence in Scottish football and have so many sympathisers in our sports and wider broadcasting that they act with impunity and their behaviour goes unchallenged.
Chants that are near the knuckle or a bit below the belt are part and parcel of football and when they go too far they are called out. The Rangers support have routinely gone way beyond that for decades and the silence from other clubs, football authorities and the media is deafening.
It's right to call out Rangers fans for their behaviour but it's not right to give Celtic fans a pass for theirs. They are both equally culpable, without each other sectarianism would be far more diluted in Scottish football. One reacts to the other and they are both part of the problem, harking back to events centuries ago that have nothing what so ever to do with Scottish football, or indeed Scotland at all. It's hard to see anything changing, mostly because neither Rangers or Celtic want to do anything about it!
jakeshibs
23-05-2023, 06:41 AM
Well said and totally agree
jakeshibs
23-05-2023, 06:44 AM
Let's not do whataboutery, because that's exactly what the Huns will do.
The fact is that while a small number of Hibs fans sang unsavoury songs for a period, the entire away end sung bigoted, anti Irish, anti catholic songs for almost the full 90 minutes.
These are not the same, so let's not conflate one with the other.
Stop it and take responsibility our distasteful songs about peoples deaths are just as bad, be honest!
There is no need for either at football
jakeshibs
23-05-2023, 06:46 AM
No they’re not
Yes they are, singing about peoples deaths and being in a box is despicable, terrible and we need to get a grip and be honest , no need at football
23-05-2023, 06:48 AM
Expect more of the same tomorrow with the Celtic end singing going through their own song book that no one gives a ***** about anymore and have nothing to do with football
Enough is enough time for the fans to approach the Board and petition to have the Uglies banned from Easter Road
The Board need to realise that the fans will no longer tolerate it and do not want it as part of our match day experience
Football and Hibs are all that matters
Perhaps children will return to OF games without the presence of the moronic hordes
It is 2023 and no one wants to listen to their sectarian racist singing and songs about the IRA Palestine or wherever
Edit
Songs about Lizzie RIP and Wallace RIP should be banned are despicable and mean we have lost the moral high ground
23-05-2023, 07:25 AM
Its been mentioned already here, but lets not do false equivalence.
A small %age of our support singing about Lizzie in a box is not the same as almost the entire away end singing for pretty much 90 minutes about hatred of catholics and dead hunger strikers.
When Hibs fans are caught breaking the law (i.e. the bottle throwing incident a few years back) there is a massive media outcry, we ban our offenders and pay the price in upgraded CCTV etc.
Rangers do it with impunity.
Dublin07
23-05-2023, 07:48 AM
Email sent to the club. 1st time I’ve ever emailed them - totally fed up with the club making the home stadium a place where some fans don’t want to attend and various away fan behaviour being swept under the carpet.
I emailed the club 24 hours ago and no response so far.
ErinGoBraghHFC
23-05-2023, 07:58 AM
Yes they are, singing about peoples deaths and being in a box is despicable, terrible and we need to get a grip and be honest , no need at football
I didn’t say there was a need, I said they weren’t as bad. Unless you think two very wealthy people dying is as bad as the slaughter of innocent catholics enjoying a night out in their local pub by loyalist death squads? Needs called out by the club - would only be about 30 years late.
Daniel 1875
23-05-2023, 08:06 AM
I’ve emailed the Rangers SLO asking what their stance is on thousands of people displaying anti-Catholic behaviour in the name of their club loudly and proudly live on Sky Sports on Sunday.
I don’t expect a response. I went onto Twitter to try and find out the SLO’s name, to find the Rangers SLO account has been suspended for violating Twitter’s rules. I wonder if they were tweeting some of the lyrics to their favourite songs.
[email protected]
23-05-2023, 08:13 AM
I emailed the club 24 hours ago and no response so far.
My guess is there will be radio silence now in the hope the reaction is knee jerk and dies away. No more personal replies and nothing said publicly. Hibs have been good at that for as long as I can remember.
Tbh I'm not even sure how much anger or reaction there is about this among the wider support. It's maybe a lot of noise on here but in reality that could mean little more than a handful of emails that can be easily ignored. It's certainly not a massive talking point among Hibs fans I chat to outside of this site.
23-05-2023, 08:59 AM
Can we organise a fan boycott of the next home game to Rangers if their allocation is not cut/Hibs make a public statement on unacceptable behaviour from THEM, SPECIFICALLY before the match?
The blue pound won't be worth much if it's devalued by the green pound.
23-05-2023, 09:04 AM
Can we organise a fan boycott of the next home game to Rangers if their allocation is not cut/Hibs make a public statement on unacceptable behaviour from THEM, SPECIFICALLY before the match?
Let’s be honest, going by our stands on Sunday we are already boycotting
23-05-2023, 09:25 AM
Hibs could be doing with calling out that **** Douglas Ross about this too - not a hope in hell he’s not aware of what they were singing
Its good this seems to finally be gathering some traction at least amongst us - we surely can’t be ignored on this matter by the club much longer
hibsforeurope
23-05-2023, 09:25 AM
The club needs to cut their allocation and highlight the reason why to the press, as mentioned i really can't see this happening and we'll just carry on regardless.
on the Hibs website there are various articles and charters aimed at protecting supporters in side and out, the Club Policy and the Safeguarding measures to name two. the behaviour of the away fans on sunday massively goes against both these charters.
by selling tickets to young Hibs fans for these such games the club are actively going against their Safeguarding message.
Hibernian is a Football Club for all, promoting diversity and treating everyone fairly and with
respect. Everyone has the right to protection from all forms of harm and abuse, and Hibernian
Football Club is committed to doing everything it can to provide this. Adhering to these policies
and procedures will help ensure children and young people are ‘SAFE WITH HIBS.’
I'm not sure many can say allowing such behaviour is promoting Hibs as a "Club for All" let along making young people (i'm thinking of my own daughter here) feel "SAFE WITH HIBS"
I've sent a similar email to Hibs but don't expect a reply any time soon.
23-05-2023, 09:36 AM
4 Hibs managers in my lifetime have suffered horrendous sectarian abuse from Rangers fans because of their affiliation with Celtic. Mowbray, Collins, Stubbs and Lennon. The former also had to deal with being mocked because his wife died from cancer, Stubbs was mocked for having had cancer and let's not even start on what Lennon had to put up with throughout his time in Scotland. Religious bigotry married with anti Irish xenophobia leading to death threats and bullets being sent in the post. Lovely.
Throughout it all Hibs said **** all. Other clubs continually do likewise. The only person who really had the bollocks to call them out was Steve Clarke and he got the backlash and then some. Yet when Glenn Kamara was racially abused we all jumped into line. Posting on social media and releasing statements saying how appalled we were. Racism is appalling and I'm glad it was called out on that occasion but the hypocrisy is clear for all to see. It was the easy thing to do after that incident. Calling it out when it's that mob doing the absuing with the power they hold is difficult so no one says anything. Those in power at Hibs are cowards, as are those in power at every other club in the league. A bunch of spineless wimps who have allowed themselves to be bullied.
:top marksPerhaps we have been moaning about this to the wrong people? Maybe it's time to actually target OUR club here, show them up for the way they completely ignore whats happening in our house, to our family.
Moaning on sites like this does nothing.
23-05-2023, 10:08 AM
As several folk have mentioned above, it's the hypocrisy that really sticks in the craw. Rangers had the nerve to recently release a statement about the singing from some Aberdeen fans. That really is some brass neck. Their songbook is easily the most bigoted and unpleasant in Britain.
23-05-2023, 10:27 AM
Money to Hibs seems to mean more more than the home fan experience / resultS
Would give them minimum / no tickets then listen to them cry.
Waste of time going to these games - gives the bigots a platform.
treat them the way they (bigots) treat each other, every club should ban them, even for a season
hibsforeurope
23-05-2023, 10:30 AM
As several folk have mentioned above, it's the hypocrisy that really sticks in the craw. Rangers had the nerve to recently release a statement about the singing from some Aberdeen fans. That really is some brass neck. Their songbook is easily the most bigoted and unpleasant in Britain.
Is it time Hibs had a proper supporters organisation to act on stuff like this, if the club are going to remain silent?
23-05-2023, 10:31 AM
treat them the way they (bigots) treat each other, every club should ban them, even for a season
I imagine they would all be afraid of the backlash. There's also the financial hit, which would be significant to the smaller clubs.
23-05-2023, 10:33 AM
I imagine they would all be afraid of the backlash. There's also the financial hit, which would be significant to the smaller clubs.
St Mirren took the hit
hibsforeurope
23-05-2023, 10:34 AM
St Mirren took the hit
reducing the Sevs allocation actually increased St Mirren's over all average attendance.
23-05-2023, 10:37 AM
This is the one thing that properly gets on my tits with this situation. No marks like Livi and St J relying on their dirty money should find both their morals and their place in the pyramid and do without three stands of Old Firm bigots. Fair play to both Kilmarnock and St Mirren, who listened to their own supporters who were sick fed up giving up half their stadiums to the dregs of society
23-05-2023, 10:38 AM
reducing the Sevs allocation actually increased St Mirren's over all average attendance.
It was fan power that made it happen - they were sick to the back teeth of it.
This adds to the point you made in your earlier post about supporter representation.
We used to have Kieran Power as fans rep, and he could take issues (like this) to the board - but he has a different role now within Hibs, and I think we miss his previous role badly at times like now.
hibsforeurope
23-05-2023, 10:44 AM
It was fan power that made it happen - they were sick to the back teeth of it.
This adds to the point you made in your earlier post about supporter representation.
We used to have Kieran Power as fans rep, and he could take issues (like this) to the board - but he has a different role now within Hibs, and I think we miss his previous role badly at times like now.
Totally agree, there's no real fan's voice now. we can send email, letters, etc. all we like but it's unlikely to be listened to. having a fan physically in the Board room would go a long way to us having a voice again.
23-05-2023, 11:00 AM
St Mirren took the hit
Yes, plus a couple of other clubs.
Stokesy's on fire
23-05-2023, 11:07 AM
we did that on sunday...
23-05-2023, 11:10 AM
I must be one of the few that heard the noise they were making but didn’t understand a word of any of the songs they sang apart from GSTK. I honestly couldn’t tell you what the songs were about so took no offence.
Surely you heard that Bobby Sands is deid. I’m :thumbsup:
23-05-2023, 11:10 AM
Sent email yesterday regarding not going to any more rangers hibs games till something is done. As usual tho the silence is deafening from hibs, they can stick their zero tolerance were the sun don’t shine. Just words to keep us lot in check.
23-05-2023, 11:11 AM
I didn’t say there was a need, I said they weren’t as bad. Unless you think two very wealthy people dying is as bad as the slaughter of innocent catholics enjoying a night out in their local pub by loyalist death squads? Needs called out by the club - would only be about 30 years late.
What has their wealth got to do with it ? Mocking dead people is creepy whoever they are.
Stokesy's on fire
23-05-2023, 11:14 AM
some song about hanging as well?
ErinGoBraghHFC
23-05-2023, 11:20 AM
Since when?
23-05-2023, 11:21 AM
some song about hanging as well?
Build My Gallows.
It's one of those ones where I think sectarianism is harder to argue unequivocally. That's what I meant in my earlier post about Celtic fans and their songs rather than it being excusing them completely. Sample lyrics below:
I am a Loyal Ulster man
They say this day that I must hang
Cause I fought the IRA
They say that I must pay
Well they say this day that I must hang.
So build my gallows build them high
That I might see before I die
The Antrim glen and the hills of County Down
And I'll see again the lights of home.
Does that belong in a Scottish football stadium? I think most sane people would say no. Is it irrefutably sectarian? I'm not sure it is.
When challenging sectarianism I don't think you can give either side any wiggle room as it just weakens the wider argument. There's enough evidence of blatant sectarianism, certainly from Rangers fans, that it stands on it's own merits and stuff like the above that is more grey area doesn't need lumped in initially. Same with Celtic and songs like The Boys of The Old Brigade.
ErinGoBraghHFC
23-05-2023, 11:22 AM
What has their wealth got to do with it ? Mocking dead people is creepy whoever they are.
It doesn’t really but there’s a difference between singing songs about people being murdered because of their religion or politics and about a 96 year old billionaire, that we paid for her entire life, kicking the bucket. Might be tasteless, but it’s not quite glorifying an act of attempted ethnic cleansing. Maybe that’s just me, though.
23-05-2023, 11:38 AM
Says everything that a bunch of kids that run on the pitch to run up to their heroes get treated more like villians than a stand of "adults" signing hugely inappropriate songs.
Visited a friend studying in Glasgow about 8 years ago and couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the Orange Order march.
The worrying thing is there was a fair few young ones that were gleefully taking part in that. As there is in the stands and on social media.
We will never stamp this out as nobody wants to do anything about it. I said it before, it sadly looks like someone is going to have to lose their life before anything is done.
This is more than supporting a club. Its cult-like and relies on the indoctrination of youth to continue the culture. Those within it think they are defending their club, their country, their honour. Those outwith it, whilst knowing it doesn't belong in this day-and-age, just let it occur out of fear.
Hibs fear retaliation and loss of money so are complicit. Some cheek they have setting higher standards for Hibs fans though. Their direct lifeblood...
zitelli62
23-05-2023, 11:41 AM
After 50 years of putting up with there crap you know what I've had enough if hibs don't stand up to this they
Can count me out will go to other games but not against them it breaks my Heart to miss any game but if silly old me is the only one boycotting the game at least i know I made a point
Had enough.
23-05-2023, 11:42 AM
Weird ***** the lot of them. Soon as someone tells me they're a Rangers fan I instantly judge/dislike them.
23-05-2023, 11:46 AM
Weird ***** the lot of them. Soon as someone tells me they're a Rangers fan I instantly judge/dislike them.
It's difficult not to. My gut reaction is they are guilty until proven innocent :greengrin
I'm only half joking there. In my experience, you don't need to scratch far beneath the surface for the craziness to appear in many of them. There are exceptions. One of my closest friends of twenty years is a Rangers fan (ex ST holder) and you couldn't meet a nicer person. It only took me about ten years to admit that :greengrin
23-05-2023, 11:49 AM
:top marksPerhaps we have been moaning about this to the wrong people? Maybe it's time to actually target OUR club here, show them up for the way they completely ignore whats happening in our house, to our family.
Moaning on sites like this does nothing.
Not sure that moaning is the correct word, but it does seem like we are making the same points over and over again and it's only us that seem to be really bothered. I take your point about challenging our own club a bit more though.
23-05-2023, 11:59 AM
I’ve emailed the Rangers SLO asking what their stance is on thousands of people displaying anti-Catholic behaviour in the name of their club loudly and proudly live on Sky Sports on Sunday.
I don’t expect a response. I went onto Twitter to try and find out the SLO’s name, to find the Rangers SLO account has been suspended for violating Twitter’s rules. I wonder if they were tweeting some of the lyrics to their favourite songs.
[email protected]
He wont be the least bit interested in your complaint.
He is the liaison between the hordes and the club.
He wont stick his head above the parapet,and risk the wrath of the hordes.
In fact,unless its a new SLO ,it appears it is a guy name of Greg Marshall who ran one the Louden rangers pubs..
If its still him .Forget it !!
BegbieHSC
23-05-2023, 12:03 PM
It seems to have really reached a tipping point amongst Hibs fans, and our feelings about the bull**** we have to put up with from Sevco supporters. The club absolutely cannot remain silent.
Their chants are not banter or about football. It’s bigotry. And we have to act.
This clip from the final in 2016 i always think about when I think of the Huns. Charging on to the pitch, screaming about fenians. The raw hatred for Hibs fans in it is incredible. They’re not normal, and it shouldn’t be tolerated.
https://twitter.com/thecasualultra/status/1252954681871122432?s=46&t=uwBtvnvH7IM-mhAA3NxihA
23-05-2023, 12:06 PM
Says everything that a bunch of kids that run on the pitch to run up to their heroes get treated more like villians than a stand of "adults" signing hugely inappropriate songs.
Visited a friend studying in Glasgow about 8 years ago and couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the Orange Order march.
The worrying thing is there was a fair few young ones that were gleefully taking part in that. As there is in the stands and on social media.
We will never stamp this out as nobody wants to do anything about it. I said it before, it sadly looks like someone is going to have to lose their life before anything is done.
This is more than supporting a club. Its cult-like and relies on the indoctrination of youth to continue the culture. Those within it think they are defending their club, their country, their honour. Those outwith it, whilst knowing it doesn't belong in this day-and-age, just let it occur out of fear.
Hibs fear retaliation and loss of money so are complicit. Some cheek they have setting higher standards for Hibs fans though. Their direct lifeblood...
think i read 30 planned this marching season in the weeg, it's almost like they want to convince good decent normal people that being a sectarian bigot is acceptable in the 21st century, one march isn't enough for them
Daniel 1875
23-05-2023, 12:10 PM
He wont be the least bit interested in your complaint.
He is the liaison between the hordes and the club.
He wont stick his head above the parapet,and risk the wrath of the hordes.
In fact,unless its a new SLO ,it appears it is a guy name of Greg Marshall who ran one the Louden rangers pubs..
If its still him .Forget it !!
In fairness the club’s ‘Football Intelligence Officer’ emailed me back and just called me.
He acknowledged the unacceptable behaviour, said the club has work to do with its supporters and was - on the whole - very understanding of the issues related to Sunday’s game.
He didn’t need to do that and it was a pleasant surprise to hear back from anyone at all, but he seemed to get what I was trying to say.
ErinGoBraghHFC
23-05-2023, 12:11 PM
think i read 30 planned this marching season in the weeg, it's almost like they want to convince good decent normal people that being a sectarian bigot is acceptable in the 21st century, one march isn't enough for them
Half of GCC are probably members, mind. Far as I’m concerned they can march away to their hearts content, but we shouldn’t have to close the roads for their pish. Might make it all a bit more interesting if there was a chance one of them could become a (very large) splat on someone’s windscreen.
ErinGoBraghHFC
23-05-2023, 12:12 PM
In fairness the club’s ‘Football Intelligence Officer’ emailed me back and just called me.
He acknowledged the unacceptable behaviour, said the club has work to do with its supporters and was - on the whole - very understanding of the issues related to Sunday’s game.
He didn’t need to do that and it was a pleasant surprise to hear back from anyone at all, but he seemed to get what I was trying to say.
Better than I’ve had so far from Hibs, radio silence.
h1bs4life
23-05-2023, 12:13 PM
They aren't.
Celtic are just as bad as the Huns , they are 2 cheeks of the same erse.
Both near enough promote / cash in on sectarianism.
If we are looking at bans we should be looking to ban both.
I have equal amount of disdain for them.
Said before despite being season ticket holder I would quite happily buy another ticket to compensate for any ban on the Huns and would do the same if we ban the other erse cheek with there IRA and other nonsense they come out with.
Mates I know that go to Tynecastle get it just as bad from the lesser greens as we do from the Huns.
Sure a while back Budge called out Celtic fans but got no support and more abuse.
23-05-2023, 12:32 PM
**** that. Just give them 800 tickets in the upper tier only like what they give us through there. We shouldn't be missing games because of this. Hurt them, not our own fans.
23-05-2023, 12:40 PM
Here is where Hibs are amongst all this. Immediate action taken in the form of sacking our stadium announcer for playing Taxman by the Beatles. 3800 Rangers singing banned anti catholic, sectarian songs for 90 minutes on Sunday. Nothing, silence, shat it, as usual. Our home is not our home, its everybody's else's to use as they please, especially the Old Firm. A soft touch.
23-05-2023, 12:44 PM
**** that. Just give them 800 tickets in the upper tier only like what they give us through there. We shouldn't be missing games because of this. Hurt them, not our own fans.
I don’t know why folk think giving them 800 will make much difference.
They will still come and sing same songs and be the same bigots they are.
Ban them completely- zero away fans from Celtic or Rangers - make it clear in the media why - grow a backbone and stop being so soft.
It’s our home and fans are not turning up for these games now due to the bigots behaviour - that is a concern.
23-05-2023, 12:45 PM
Here is where Hibs are amongst all this. Immediate action taken in the form of sacking our stadium announcer for playing Taxman by the Beatles. 3800 Rangers singing banned anti catholic, sectarian songs for 90 minutes on Sunday. Nothing, silence, shat it, as usual. Our home is not our home, its everybody's else's to use as they please, especially the Old Firms. A soft touch.
Except when wee kids run onto the pitch at the end of season "celebration". Militant, knickers in a twist lot then.
Hibs are happy getting the crumbs off the bigots table. Becoming so obvious now. Should take the birthday card pish off the website about being inclusive. Utter *****.
23-05-2023, 12:45 PM
Lip service, nothing more.
If it was up to me I would ban all the ***** from attending games at ER next year. It would be a hit of around 200k if we had them twice at Easter Road but it would make front page headlines. Maybe then other clubs would follow suit.
There is nothing the Police, the SFA or the SPFL are going to do about it so it really is only left to us. Which I doubt we will.
23-05-2023, 12:51 PM
I don’t know why folk think giving them 800 will make much difference.
They will still come and sing same songs and be the same bigots they are.
Ban them completely- zero away fans from Celtic or Rangers - make it clear in the media why - grow a backbone and stop being so soft.
It’s our home and fans are not turning up for these games now due to the bigots behaviour - that is a concern.
Well if those 800 don't behave he next time they get nothing. Simple.
23-05-2023, 12:52 PM
Lip service, nothing more.
If it was up to me I would ban all the ***** from attending games at ER next year. It would be a hit of around 200k if we had them twice at Easter Road but it would make front page headlines. Maybe then other clubs would follow suit.
There is nothing the Police, the SFA or the SPFL are going to do about it so it really is only left to us. Which I doubt we will.
No chance hibs have balls to ban them both. Just won't happen.
23-05-2023, 12:56 PM
We need to be clever.
I would give them a warning that the songs are totally unacceptable, and we will close off ticket allocations if they dont stop illegal songs.
As we all know, they wont stop - because they are neanderthal thickos - and as a result I would move to an immediate sanction of the same %age of the ground they give us, so ~400 tickets - and not in the upper either, lower in some crappy corner.
Agree 100%.
Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2023, 12:58 PM
Problem is I don’t think Hibs can just not give them tickets. We’d not only lose out on ticket money but we’d also be in bother with the SFA. You have to give the other team tickets unless an agreement is reached.
The financial hit shouldn’t be an issue. We should do the right thing. I can see why Hibs wouldn’t want to get into bother with the SPFL/SFA though.
BegbieHSC
23-05-2023, 12:58 PM
No chance hibs have balls to ban them both. Just won't happen.
We don’t even have the balls to call out the Huns behaviour against our fans, never mind ban them from the ground.
Scottish football’s acceptance of bigotry for the sake of money ****ing stinks. Silence implies tolerance - that’s exactly what our club is doing right now.
23-05-2023, 12:59 PM
Problem is I don’t think Hibs can just not give them tickets. We’d not only lose out on ticket money but we’d also be in bother with the SFA. You have to give the other team tickets unless an agreement is reached.
The financial hit shouldn’t be an issue. We should do the right thing. I can see why Hibs wouldn’t want to get into bother with the SPFL/SFA though.
Do we have to give them tickets? The last old firm games haven't had any away fans
23-05-2023, 12:59 PM
Oh come on - how many chances do they want or need?
Just ban them and let them squeal. They may ban us at their stadium but it’s not exactly like we are treated well at either stadium.
Is it zero tolerance or we just going to allow 800 / 400 of the most die hard bigots in the ground ?
Cover at empty seats with banners against sectarianism - put the games on pay per view and the muppets will still pay for it or games will be on sky and then sky can tell the UK Hibs are taking a stand against it. I’m sure the rest of Scottish football would support us.
j'adorehibs
23-05-2023, 01:04 PM
you are aware that the old firm no longer hand out tickets to away fans for old firm derby matches?
23-05-2023, 01:04 PM
Just ban them and let them squeal. They may ban us at their stadium but it’s not exactly like we are treated well at either stadium.
Is it zero tolerance or we just going to allow 800 / 400 of the most die hard bigots in the ground ?
We need to be smart - if we just outright ban them, you know what the media will do (I know, I know we shouldnt care, but the real world etc....).
If we explain that our stance of zero tolerance to bigotry etc applies to the entire ground, including away fans, and that if "any clubs" continue with this we will have no choice but to close off some or all sections of the away support until it stops.
Then there can be no complaints from anyone
23-05-2023, 01:05 PM
Said before despite being season ticket holder I would quite happily buy another ticket to compensate for any ban on the Huns and would do the same if we ban the other erse cheek with there IRA and other nonsense they come out with.
Mates I know that go to Tynecastle get it just as bad from the lesser greens as we do from the Huns.
Sure a while back Budge called out Celtic fans but got no support and more abuse.
I'm not some defender of Celtic (or Rangers for that matter) but I think we have to be explicitly clear as to what we mean by sectarianism or we give one or both sides an easy out.
I struggle to think of many songs in the regular Celtic rotation that are sectarian (I'd go further and say the IRA referenced in a lot of the songs isn't the same entity as the provos of the Troubles but that's a largely superfluous point). I'm not arguing there won't be bigots in the Celtic support, I'd say it's almost certain, but there will also be a sizeable number in the Celtic fanbase who are nominally Protestant. I'm not sure the reverse is true with Rangers and Catholics. I have plenty issues with Celtic and I daresay sectarianism or the reactionary response to it most certainly hands them a competitive and monetary advantage. They are an easy choice for those who want to set themselves up as 'different' from Rangers and Celtic as club and fanbase have monetised that and exploited a part of the history of Ireland that is both glorious and tragic for their own ends.
When it comes to the songs though Grace is really no different from something like Flora MacDonald's Lament or The Boys of the Old Brigade compares to Scot's Wae Hae. Our bloodshed is just a bit less fresh in the memory and neither song would raise an eyebrow where it sung in a family friendly pub in Ireland (Grace is one of the best love songs ever written imo but that's another discussion). I'd argue the same about the aforementioned Build My Gallows or even Derry's Walls from the Rangers support. Ultimately Hibs and the Hibs support can't control the marketing strategies of other clubs so Rangers releasing an orange 3rd strip or Celtic sticking green white and orange trim on a track top is neither here nor there even if we believe it's cashing in on bigotry (which it is). What we can comment on is sectarianism in our stadium and if we want to lead on that then we have to be crystal clear as to what that means. If we just lump everything in as sectarianism then we give them room to produce an argument like the one I have just made and they are within their right to do that. Call them out for specifics and you take away that power.
j'adorehibs
23-05-2023, 01:05 PM
Cover at empty seats with banners against sectarianism - put the games on pay per view and the muppets will still pay for it or games will be on sky and then sky can tell the UK Hibs are taking a stand against it. I’m sure the rest of Scottish football would support us.
This!
Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2023, 01:07 PM
Do we have to give them tickets? The last old firm games haven't had any away fans
That’s a decision they’ve reached between themselves. If both teams agree to it then it’s fine but I think it’s safe to say rangers wouldn’t agree to it.
23-05-2023, 01:14 PM
We don’t even have the balls to call out the Huns behaviour against our fans, never mind ban them from the ground.
Scottish football’s acceptance of bigotry for the sake of money ****ing stinks. Silence implies tolerance - that’s exactly what our club is doing right now.
Some fans will say you’re a bad fan not attending to support Hibs in these games.
Instead you’re actually giving the bigots more of an audience to sing their nonsense.
Make a stand and stand up for what’s more important in life and society - Hibs are important to many but the bigger picture is the behaviour of these 2 clubs and how they get away with it week in week out and how it affects many in daily lives.
Until we try address it - it will continue to happen / spread hate.
23-05-2023, 01:16 PM
That’s a decision they’ve reached between themselves. If both teams agree to it then it’s fine but I think it’s safe to say rangers wouldn’t agree to it.
Rangers made the move 1st to ban Celtic fans and Celtic followed.
It wasn’t an agreement and league rules plus the precedent that they have done this season could mean Hibs can ban them if that had a backbone.
Huns would ban us but does that really matter ?
Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2023, 01:21 PM
It wasn’t an agreement and league rules plus the precedent that they have done this season could mean Hibs can ban them if that had a backbone.
Don’t get me wrong, if we could get away with it then I’d do it.
There’s a set amount you have to give the away fans though. If there wasn’t you can guarantee there would never be away fans in Glasgow.
23-05-2023, 01:23 PM
We do not need to give any team any tickets for league games. Cup games are different, 20% of the stadium capacity where segregation allows must be given to visiting teams.
23-05-2023, 01:24 PM
There’s a set amount you have to give the away fans though. If there wasn’t you can guarantee there would never be away fans in Glasgow.
Is there a link to this ?
23-05-2023, 01:25 PM
Not for league games IIRC, only cup games require tickets to be allocated.
23-05-2023, 01:26 PM
I dont agree with your opening line.Be surprised if many on here do.
Or what your jambo mates "endure" from fans of Celtic at tynie games.
Jambos singing hello hello, including the Fenian blood verse /line, and waving union and red hand/ulster flags at tynie,when Celtic are there, doesnt help of course !
There is just no comparison in what the hordes from ibrox sing at Easter Road to what Celtic fans sing at Tynecastle.
23-05-2023, 01:31 PM
We need to be careful now as well, we go to tyne on Saturday and we all know we have few poor songs that get an airing there. We can't bring ourselves down to that level if we are pushing for action to be taken against the OF.
23-05-2023, 01:46 PM
We need to be careful now as well, we go to tyne on Saturday and we all know we have few poor songs that get an airing there. We can't bring ourselves down to that level if we are pushing for action to be taken against the OF.
Indeed
As much as i detested Wallace Mercer,and i met him a couple of times in his property dealings/renovations, for not paying journeymen doing up his flats , but mostly for his attempt to destroy our club.
The man is long dead.The Mercer song should now be buried.
Goodness me, some of the youngsters singing it now would have been munching Farley's Rusks when Wallace died ! :greengrin
Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2023, 01:54 PM
Not for league games IIRC, only cup games require tickets to be allocated.
Fair enough if that’s the case. It’s definitely a rule in England, I can find that information easy enough but I can’t find it actually written down for Scotland.
If so though then I’m stunned we still get tickets for Ibrox and Parkhead if they are only doing it out the good of their own hearts.
BegbieHSC
23-05-2023, 02:02 PM
sorry, but I really don’t agree. Sure, Celtic bring in a lot of crap irrelevant to football, but they don’t sing songs targeting faith or race.
The Huns do. That’s why they are much worse.
23-05-2023, 02:02 PM
Fair enough if that’s the case. It’s definitely a rule in England, I can find that information easy enough but I can’t find it actually written down for Scotland.
If so though then I’m stunned we still get tickets for Ibrox and Parkhead if they are only doing it out the good of their own hearts.
They do it because they know that to give zero may result in a reduction in their allocation.
23-05-2023, 02:31 PM
Indeed
As much as i detested Wallace Mercer,and i met him a couple of times in his property dealings/renovations, for not paying journeymen doing up his flats , but mostly for his attempt to destroy our club.
The man is long dead.The Mercer song should now be buried.
Goodness me, some of the youngsters singing it now would have been munching Farley's Rusks when Wallace died ! :greengrin
Agree Mick have been posting this for a number of years on this site that we must rise above this(was vilified by quite a number of posters on this site)
Not Hibs class.
ErinGoBraghHFC
23-05-2023, 04:01 PM
Agree Mick have been posting this for a number of years on this site that we must rise above this(was vilified by quite a number of posters on this site)
Not Hibs class.
Hibs class is a myth
23-05-2023, 04:11 PM
Maybe only way for us to sort this is to have 3 massive tifos that say, "Listen to these bigots."
Oh wait, club would put a stop to that as well...
Easter Road is not the home for Hibs fans. Rangers and Celtic pound means more than our pounds.
Unlikely to get my ST and probably going to cancel my HibsTV sub. No point to Scottish football tbh and culturally the country is in the dark ages. Rangers fans will debate the Vinicius Junior racism and criticise Spain for it. Sad and hilariously ironic really. The world is very ironic these days.
Chorley Hibee
23-05-2023, 04:21 PM
Maybe only way for us to sort this is to have 3 massive tifos that say, "Listen to these bigots."
Oh wait, club would put a stop to that as well...
Easter Road is not the home for Hibs fans. Rangers and Celtic pound means more than our pounds.
Unlikely to get my ST and probably going to cancel my HibsTV sub. No point to Scottish football tbh and culturally the country is in the dark ages. Rangers fans will debate the Vinicius Junior racism and criticise Spain for it. Sad and hilariously ironic really. The world is very ironic these days.
I'm at this stage too.
Haven't renewed and I don't think I will either.
23-05-2023, 04:22 PM
Rangers weren't 'banning' Celtic fans for anything though.
Demand for their STs was up and they wanted to be able to sell that whole end to their own fans. Can't blame them for that.
Celtic then responded in kind and the clubs agreed on the 800 figure as a compromise.
If we had demand for 18,000 STs, we'd be selling them for the south stand and visiting fans would get a reduced allocation.
23-05-2023, 04:27 PM
Rangers weren't 'banning' Celtic fans for anything though.
Demand for their STs was up and they wanted to be able to sell that whole end to their own fans. Can't blame them for that.
Celtic then responded in kind and the clubs agreed on the 800 figure as a compromise.
If we had demand for 18,000 STs, we'd be selling them for the south stand and visiting fans would get a reduced allocation.
Rangers massively cut Celtic's allocation because they were continually getting hammered at Ibrox and, simply, couldn't hack having an entire end waiving tri colours ect celebrating. Their fans kicked off, they clearly don't do irony, about Celtic fans signing IRA songs ect and they demanded at things like the AGM they stop giving them the whole end.
It was nothing to do with demand, do you think it's only been the last few years they've had demand to shift season tickets in that stand?
That demand has always been there. If anything the demand would have been higher when they had guys like De Boer ect playing there in the early 2000s and they were still winning the odd league, and definitely during the late 1990s when they were winning 9 in a row.
23-05-2023, 04:33 PM
I don't think the demand for STs was there during their time in the lower leagues?
Anyways, the point is, I doubt very much that Rangers banned Celtic fans because of the songs being sung in the away end!
Scotty Leither
23-05-2023, 04:37 PM
[QUOTE=WhileTheChief..;7355978]Rangers weren't 'banning' Celtic fans for anything though.
If we had demand for 18,000 STs, we'd be selling them for the south stand and visiting fans would get a reduced allocation.[/QUOTE
Getting a decent team on the park would get us somewhere towards 15/16k season tickets though.
Can’t see it with the present Board though, too much influence from the old regime still around the place.
They did **** all about the bottom feeding inadequates from the West polluting our stadium too.
23-05-2023, 04:38 PM
I don't think the demand for STs was there during their time in the lower leagues?
Anyways, the point is, I doubt very much that Rangers banned Celtic fans because of the songs being sung in the away end!
And all the years, literally decades before that, they spent in the top flight? Rangers have always has the capability to sell 50,000 season tickets in the top flight.
It was nothing to do with demand and was petty as their fans kicked off after Celtic continually humped them at Ibrox
I'm at this stage too.
Haven't renewed and I don't think I will either.
These types of statements are why we get they types of replies we’ve seen off the club in the aftermath of this, we can’t be relied on to turn up and back the club, they stand to lose a huge amount of money banning them, shooting ourselves in the foot in the process as every other team will stay quiet and bank the cash and as soon as it goes wrong on the field ST’s won’t be renewed and it’ll be a double whammy really is no wonder the club just keep quiet on it can’t win either way
h1bs4life
23-05-2023, 05:19 PM
I dont agree with your opening line.Be surprised if many on here do.
Or what you and your jambo mates "endure" from fans of Celtic at tynie games.
Jambos singing hello hello, including the Fenian blood verse /line, and waving union and red hand/ulster flags at tynie,when Celtic are there, doesnt help of course !
There is just no comparison in what the hordes from ibrox sing at Easter Road to what Celtic fans sing at Tynecastle.
Not sure if everyone would agree
No idea what the you and your jambo mates endure at Tynecastle quote is all about , dont go to Tynecastle to watch Hertz and Celtic .
Its 2023 have lots of friends of different religions , colours , football teams including the Old Firm.
I know plenty of Hibs fans who attend games that are fed up with Celtic fans and all there IRA crap and other nonsense including 3 generation of my own family who are long term season ticket holders.
People may have there own bigoted views but I loath sectarianism, detest both sides of the old firm if the club wants to make a stand ban both.
h1bs4life
23-05-2023, 05:28 PM
sorry, but I really don’t agree. Sure, Celtic bring in a lot of crap irrelevant to football, but they don’t sing songs targeting faith or race.
The Huns do. That’s why they are much worse.
So it’s alright for Celtic as they are not as bad, do you like the atmosphere of IRA this IRA that , orange b’s and no doubt kill Brits.
Heard it all before from both erse cheeks it has no affect on me , do you think it is good for young kids to be subjected to all crap from both
23-05-2023, 05:32 PM
These types of statements are why we get they types of replies we’ve seen off the club in the aftermath of this, we can’t be relied on to turn up and back the club, they stand to lose a huge amount of money banning them, shooting ourselves in the foot in the process as every other team will stay quiet and bank the cash and as soon as it goes wrong on the field ST’s won’t be renewed and it’ll be a double whammy really is no wonder the club just keep quiet on it can’t win either way
Why not just paint Easter Road blue then and give them all the stands? They'll fill the stands so why not? Due to the sectarian nature of those 2 from the west I genuinely think we could put a pub team out against them and they'd still turn up in their thousands, not to support a club. For them it's to protect King and country, or to fight for Ireland or some other nonsense.
What you've basically described is the club taking dirty sectarian money to curb the race to the bottom. Sad indictment of Scottish football.
Pointing to Hibs fans not renewing STs as a reasonable excuse to why the club do nothing is a bit ridiculous. If a full stand chanted racist remarks to a player I'd expect serious repercussions to individuals and to the clubs involved. I would not expect a financial debate. Hibs are responsible for Hibs fans' behaviour and have been routinely slated for incidents at grounds in the mainstream media, with many bending the truth to suit an agenda. We silently take the flak and pay fines. Those 2? Almost nothing said, its banter when they do it. Nothing to see, move on.
If Hibs are going to do nothing to fix the issue they should at least take statements about being inclusive and rights respecting off the website. Or amend it so say "our stance on these is flexible if price is right".
23-05-2023, 05:42 PM
And all the years, literally decades before that, they spent in the top flight? Rangers have always has the capability to sell 50,000 season tickets in the top flight.
It was nothing to do with demand and was petty as their fans kicked off after Celtic continually humped them at Ibrox
Pre-Souness they didn't get anywhere near that number for a long, long time,
Anyways, we're agreed on the main point. They didn't cut Celtic's allocation because of the songs being sung.
23-05-2023, 05:51 PM
I remember circa 1986 our Ball Boys wearing Rangers tracksuits to save them getting abuse and spat upon
I kid ye not
Ye couldnae make it up
23-05-2023, 05:51 PM
Pre-Souness they didn't get anywhere near that number for a long, long time,
Anyways, we're agreed on the main point. They didn't cut Celtic's allocation because of the songs being sung.
Pre Souness? What's that the 80s?
If you don't believe that Rangers could have sold 50,000 season tickets during 9 in a row, or under the good sides they had managed by Smith, Advocaat ect including making a Uefa cup final then you're entitled to that opinion, it's completely incorrect, but you're entitled to it.
23-05-2023, 06:08 PM
Good you are the spokesman for Hibs net , must be the surname.
No idea what the you and your jambo mates endure at Tynecastle quote is all about , dont go to Tynecastle to watch Hertz and Celtic .
Its 2023 have lots of friends of different religions , colours , football teams including the Old Firm.
I know plenty of Hibs fans who attend games that are fed up with Celtic fans and all there IRA crap and other nonsense including 3 generation of my own family who are long term season ticket holders.
People may have there own bigoted views but I loath sectarianism, detest both sides of the old firm if the club wants to make a stand ban both.
Including the word "you" was not meant and it is gone.
No need for the snide personal remark,though/
But none the less your Jambo pals cannae greet about Celtic chants at tynie when some hertz fans are in diet hun mode at those games.
Am no daft about some of the Green Brigade song book, but dont compare that with the vile,hateful singing and chanting witnessed on Sunday and at the previous game during our tribute to Ron in particular.
Celtic fans would not have disrupted that.
Steven79
23-05-2023, 06:15 PM
Not for league games IIRC, only cup games require tickets to be allocated.Queen's Park were forced to give Dundee more tickets for the last game of the season.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
23-05-2023, 06:25 PM
So it’s alright for Celtic as they are not as bad, do you like the atmosphere of IRA this IRA that , orange b’s and no doubt kill Brits.
Heard it all before from both erse cheeks it has no affect on me , do you think it is good for young kids to be subjected to all crap from both
Every time these mutant racist, zombies step out of line, there's always folk popping up quoting arse cheeks, Celtic do this, Celtic do that, Hibs fans are no better, blah, blah., etc, etc.
This whataboutery, often spouted by Hibs fans, is a big reason why the huns haven't been taken to task for the racist filth the vast majority of their fans spout week after week.
23-05-2023, 06:33 PM
Half of GCC are probably members, mind. Far as I’m concerned they can march away to their hearts content, but we shouldn’t have to close the roads for their pish. Might make it all a bit more interesting if there was a chance one of them could become a (very large) splat on someone’s windscreen.
long walk of a short pier would suffice, or ask a farmer to loan them his field so they can march somewhere away from decent human beings going about their normally daily life and if they happen to be kafflik they don't have to hear the marchers and their groupies singing about being up to their knees in kafflik blood
Sevco are giving Sellick 800 tickets next season, i presume sellick will reciprocate
23-05-2023, 06:46 PM
Every time these mutant racist, zombies step out of line, there's always folk popping up quoting arse cheeks, Celtic do this, Celtic do that, Hibs fans are no better, blah, blah., etc, etc.
This whataboutery, often spouted by Hibs fans, is a big reason why the huns haven't been taken to task for the racist filth the vast majority of their fans spout week after week.
Exactly. The issues with away fans are easily resolved. We either ban them or reduce their allocation. Dealing with our own fans and some of the chants being made are a separate issue and can more easily be dealt with as there are fewer fans singing those songs. The next time the Huns come calling I would reduce their allocation by 1000. If they continue with their songbook at that game reduce the allocation by another 1000 and so on until they are stuck in a corner with 500 fans. The same goes for Celtic fans.
23-05-2023, 07:00 PM
Exactly. The issues with away fans are easily resolved. We either ban them or reduce their allocation. Dealing with our own fans and some of the chants being made are a separate issue and can more easily be dealt with as there are fewer fans singing those songs. The next time the Huns come calling I would reduce their allocation by 1000. If they continue with their songbook at that game reduce the allocation by another 1000 and so on until they are stuck in a corner with 500 fans. The same goes for Celtic fans.
It's worth adding to this and saying Hibs do actively deal with issues in our own support.
The Tavares incident at Tannadice and the smoke bomb at Tynecastle as 2 recent examples.
23-05-2023, 07:12 PM
I remember circa 1986 our Ball Boys wearing Rangers tracksuits to save them getting abuse and spat upon
I kid ye not
Ye couldnae make it up
Not strictly true. I was a ballboy then and we were told to wear Rangers jumpers in front of the Dunbar End as Umbro were launching a new range of gear. Both teams were supplied by Umbro and the genius marketing plan was to get the ball boys to wear their stuff at the their end and our stuff in front of the home fans. I refused to wear a Rangers jumper and was sent home (essentially suspended) by Raymond Sparkes, our commercial manager at the time. I ran to my dad’s pub on leith walk in tears and told my dad, who took me straight back up to the stadium, demanded that the security guy got Sparkes down to the players entrance and told him he was and arse (he knew Sparkes). The result was my dad and I got to watch the game from the directors box. Haha
23-05-2023, 07:35 PM
Not strictly true. I was a ballboy then and we were told to wear Rangers jumpers in front of the Dunbar End as Umbro were launching a new range of gear. Both teams were supplied by Umbro and the genius marketing plan was to get the ball boys to wear their stuff at the their end and our stuff in front of the home fans. I refused to wear a Rangers jumper and was sent home (essentially suspended) by Raymond Sparkes, our commercial manager at the time. I ran to my dad’s pub on leith walk in tears and told my dad, who took me straight back up to the stadium, demanded that the security guy got Sparkes down to the players entrance and told him he was and arse (he knew Sparkes). The result was my dad and I got to watch the game from the directors box. Haha
Well done for having that rebellious streak in you as a youngster.
That was Raymond told !!
Great story.
Why not just paint Easter Road blue then and give them all the stands? They'll fill the stands so why not? Due to the sectarian nature of those 2 from the west I genuinely think we could put a pub team out against them and they'd still turn up in their thousands, not to support a club. For them it's to protect King and country, or to fight for Ireland or some other nonsense.
What you've basically described is the club taking dirty sectarian money to curb the race to the bottom. Sad indictment of Scottish football.
Pointing to Hibs fans not renewing STs as a reasonable excuse to why the club do nothing is a bit ridiculous. If a full stand chanted racist remarks to a player I'd expect serious repercussions to individuals and to the clubs involved. I would not expect a financial debate. Hibs are responsible for Hibs fans' behaviour and have been routinely slated for incidents at grounds in the mainstream media, with many bending the truth to suit an agenda. We silently take the flak and pay fines. Those 2? Almost nothing said, its banter when they do it. Nothing to see, move on.
If Hibs are going to do nothing to fix the issue they should at least take statements about being inclusive and rights respecting off the website. Or amend it so say "our stance on these is flexible if price is right".
It’s not ridiculous at all, BK is a man employed to get the best for the finances provided we are asking him to make that job harder for himself and then if he does a **** job at making the lower budget work we’ll hit him again by not renewing ST’s.
The guys a CEO of a football team,he bans them from ER they’ll still be marching down your streets in July its an issue for politicians to answer too for people in charge of local authorities, police scotland, not Ben Kensall and hibernian football club
23-05-2023, 07:59 PM
It’s not ridiculous at all, BK is a man employed to get the best for the finances provided we are asking him to make that job harder for himself and then if he does a **** job at making the lower budget work we’ll hit him again by not renewing ST’s.
The guys a CEO of a football team,he bans them from ER they’ll still be marching down your streets in July its an issue for politicians to answer too for people in charge of local authorities, police scotland, not Ben Kensall and hibernian football club
Apply this same logic to rampant racism in the stands. Would it still not be remotely Hibs' issue?
Why were Hibs tasked with fixing fan behaviour at ER then? Why did we invest money into a CCTV system to catch our own fans? Surely that wasn't the responsibility of the club either.
Clubs being silent allows governments and Police Scotland to remain silent. Get the feeling they are hoping it doesn't escalate so are happy for the "banter" level its at.
23-05-2023, 08:15 PM
👍
Remember the blue jerseys now
Dealt with Raymond a few times in the past you are spot on
Not strictly true. I was a ballboy then and we were told to wear Rangers jumpers in front of the Dunbar End as Umbro were launching a new range of gear. Both teams were supplied by Umbro and the genius marketing plan was to get the ball boys to wear their stuff at the their end and our stuff in front of the home fans. I refused to wear a Rangers jumper and was sent home (essentially suspended) by Raymond Sparkes, our commercial manager at the time. I ran to my dad’s pub on leith walk in tears and told my dad, who took me straight back up to the stadium, demanded that the security guy got Sparkes down to the players entrance and told him he was and arse (he knew Sparkes). The result was my dad and I got to watch the game from the directors box. HahaBrilliant
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Torto7
23-05-2023, 08:34 PM
Pretty much. It's at best naïve and at worst secretly condoning it. Every fanbase has welts in it. None of them have massed sectarianism and closet neo nazi tendencies like the huns do.
Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2023, 08:52 PM
Pretty much. It's at best naïve and at worst secretly condoning it. Every fanbase has welts in it. None of them have massed sectarianism and closet neo nazi tendencies like the huns do.
Sometimes feels like folk are so desperate to show they hate Celtic just as much that they tell everyone they’re just as bad.
Nobody is on the same planet as rangers when it comes to sectarianism.
23-05-2023, 09:28 PM
Pre Souness? What's that the 80s?
If you don't believe that Rangers could have sold 50,000 season tickets during 9 in a row, or under the good sides they had managed by Smith, Advocaat ect including making a Uefa cup final then you're entitled to that opinion, it's completely incorrect, but you're entitled to it.
Yeah Souness turned up in 86.
I'm not disagreeing at all about your point that Ranger are, and have been able to, sell 50k season tickets for most of their history probably.
Certainly through the eras you mentioned above. I 100% agree, and don't have a different opinion, never said otherwise!
23-05-2023, 09:34 PM
No knowledge what so ever if my scenario will happen. ( just doing a what if )
What if Hibs are staying quiet because we have agreed a fee for Nesbit with them and don’t want to rock the boat?
I personally don’t think he’d go there but we shall see.
23-05-2023, 11:24 PM
Is it ****.
The notion that the club, the SFA, the police, the politicians, the judiciary, the stewards, other clubs, the media or anyone else for that matter determine what action they will or will not take over sectarian behaviour on the basis of what we as Hibs fans have to say about anything is just completely divorced from reality.
I suppose I could be wrong. Maybe they're all straight on here after a game checking out what we're posting.
And BTW, they absolutely are two cheeks of the same cancerous rank arse. It's the economic model that sustains their revenue streams. They need each other and the hatred to sustain it.
24-05-2023, 04:13 AM
Hibs will do nothing and say nothing and as the season is about to end will hope people forget about it. Cowards.
tonyrougier123
24-05-2023, 04:39 AM
Top class 😂
h1bs4life
24-05-2023, 06:21 AM
Including the word "you" was not meant and it is gone.
No need for the snide personal remark,though/
But none the less your Jambo pals cannae greet about Celtic chants at tynie when some hertz fans are in diet hun mode at those games.
Am no daft about some of the Green Brigade song book, but dont compare that with the vile,hateful singing and chanting witnessed on Sunday and at the previous game during our tribute to Ron in particular.
Celtic fans would not have disrupted that.
Mick apologies for the remark , removed.
Everyone will have there own opinion of the OF
me personally can’t stand them both.
At the end of the day the only thing that matters to me is Hibs.
h1bs4life
24-05-2023, 06:28 AM
Is it ****.
The notion that the club, the SFA, the police, the politicians, the judiciary, the stewards, other clubs, the media or anyone else for that matter determine what action they will or will not take over sectarian behaviour on the basis of what we as Hibs fans have to say about anything is just completely divorced from reality.
I suppose I could be wrong. Maybe they're all straight on here after a game checking out what we're posting.
And BTW, they absolutely are two cheeks of the same cancerous rank arse. It's the economic model that sustains their revenue streams. They need each other and the hatred to sustain it.
Spot on 2 cheeks of the same erse.
No one will put there head above the parapet to call out sectarianism.
As soon as anyone calls it out the OF would stick together and gang up against who ever does it.
The government should be leading on this but it’s a vote loser so won’t happen.
Mentioned on thread that we need supporters representing the fans , someone on hear should take the lead then and set something up using there own name .
Scotty Leither
24-05-2023, 06:47 AM
Ben Kensell can’t do anything about Orange marches, what Ben Kensell and the Board did do on Sunday though was to completely sanitise their own supporters by way of the OTT searches, rendering the ground half-empty at KO time,and refusal of tifos being displayed lest it offend Rangers.
The club dumped on its own supporters on Sunday hence the reaction, yet the silence continues until they hope we shut up and go away.
What was the tifos that were refused ?
Scotty Leither
24-05-2023, 07:07 AM
One was of David Gray.
24-05-2023, 07:29 AM
Mick apologies for the remark , removed.
Everyone will have there own opinion of the OF
me personally can’t stand them both.
At the end of the day the only thing that matters to me is Hibs.
Be interesting how fans are treated tonight going into the ground after Sundays debacle .
The "turning a blind eye" to away fans doubling up in the South and sneaking pyros in has got to stop before a tragedy occurs.
Stadium police commander/Hibs security chief(if we have one) need to "up their game" at Easter Road.
Lets hope the team "up their game" tonight.:greengrin
24-05-2023, 07:37 AM
One was of David Gray.
There must be more to this. If Block Seven were really squeaky clean on it then they'd have said exactly what all three tifos had on them.
It can't be as simple as "Hibs fans want to display picture of club legend", Hibs refuse.
IMO.
24-05-2023, 08:01 AM
Still radio silence from the cowards at Hibs
And tonight we’ll be subjected to nearly 4000 tramps singing pish about the IRA
And tomorrow Hibs will still be bent over with their pants down saying nothing
We can’t be upsetting either of the Old Firm and risk losing money can we. It stinks and Hibs are complicit in it by ignoring the matter. I’m pretty disgusted with the charlatans that are hiding from this.
24-05-2023, 08:19 AM
It’s 2023 and fans don’t want to take their kids to games with the Old Firm as they don’t want to subject them to bigotry in the stadium and surrounding streets.
We have an issue and the sooner the club actually addresses it the sooner they will get bigger home crowds at these games and fans will actually feel like action has been taken and our home is a place welcome for ALL Hibs fans to be comfortable. We may not win every game but we should have a right to attend without being subjected to constant bigotry.
Just ban Old Firm away fans completely. Short term money isn’t as important as future generations of Hibs fans.
Helensburghhibs
24-05-2023, 10:59 AM
Has anyone emailed Ben Kensall for comment? I had an issue a few weeks ago , emailed him direct and had a reply within a day.
24-05-2023, 11:56 AM
Ben Kensell can’t do anything about Orange marches, what Ben Kensell and the Board did do on Sunday though was to completely sanitise their own supporters by way of the OTT searches, rendering the ground half-empty at KO time,and refusal of tifos being displayed lest it offend Rangers.
The club dumped on its own supporters on Sunday hence the reaction, yet the silence continues until they hope we shut up and go away.
The searches would be organised by the police
24-05-2023, 12:02 PM
Story I heard was that the club were concerned that the tifo would be a fire hazard should anyone let off flares, rather than the content itself being offensive. Could be mince though.
24-05-2023, 12:23 PM
Has anyone emailed Ben Kensall for comment? I had an issue a few weeks ago , emailed him direct and had a reply within a day.
A few folk on the thread have emailed. Think there was a response from Ben but basically said there wasn't much they can do, it's up to the football authorities.
Scotty Leither
24-05-2023, 01:00 PM
Still radio silence from the cowards at Hibs
And tonight we’ll be subjected to nearly 4000 tramps singing pish about the IRA
And tomorrow Hibs will still be bent over with their pants down saying nothing
We can’t be upsetting either of the Old Firm and risk losing money can we. It stinks and Hibs are complicit in it by ignoring the matter. I’m pretty disgusted with the charlatans that are hiding from this.
It should be brought up at the next fans forum or AGM. I’ll bet you McPherson would shut the conversation down, though.
24-05-2023, 01:14 PM
A few folk on the thread have emailed. Think there was a response from Ben but basically said there wasn't much they can do, it's up to the football authorities.
If only Hibs had, I dunno, a Chief Executive or something whose job it was to look out for the club's interest and make that interest known to external bodies such as the SFA...
In other news the notion that the club can't do much about sectarianism spouted by visiting supporters is pish. Worse than that it's spineless pish.
ErinGoBraghHFC
24-05-2023, 01:16 PM
I have and a few others, personally not heard anything back but at least one person has had a reply
24-05-2023, 01:18 PM
Not had a reply either.Not in the least surprised about that:rolleyes:
PHeffernan
24-05-2023, 01:38 PM
If only Hibs had, I dunno, a Chief Executive or something whose job it was to look out for the club's interest and make that interest known to external bodies such as the SFA...
Comment: He does, the club's interest is money. By selling out the South to Rangers and Celtic fans he is looking after the club's interest.
You are confusing that with supporters interests which should be looked after by our supporters club branches.
In other news the notion that the club can't do much about sectarianism spouted by visiting supporters is pish. Worse than that it's spineless pish.
Comment: As per part 1, the club are only interested in maximising revenue. Their silence is nothing to do with being spineless. They like the Rangers and Celtic pound as they like ours. If there was big money available to stop Rantic supporters bad behaviour Hibs would be all over it.
See above
24-05-2023, 02:55 PM
It should be brought up at the next fans forum or AGM. I’ll bet you McPherson would shut the conversation down, though.
What’s your beef with Malky? Previous presumably?
Paulie Walnuts
24-05-2023, 02:57 PM
See above
Completely wrong.
24-05-2023, 03:09 PM
It’s 2023 and fans don’t want to take their kids to games with the Old Firm as they don’t want to subject them to bigotry in the stadium and surrounding streets.
We have an issue and the sooner the club actually addresses it the sooner they will get bigger home crowds at these games and fans will actually feel like action has been taken and our home is a place welcome for ALL Hibs fans to be comfortable. We may not win every game but we should have a right to attend without being subjected to constant bigotry.
Just ban Old Firm away fans completely. Short term money isn’t as important as future generations of Hibs fans.
That sounds a bit made up, there's absolutely no way you can know that. There's plenty reasons that folk don't go to these games - much more likely it's because we always get humped!
Not all Hibs fans want to see Old Firm fans banned from ER. There might be a very vocal minority that would be happy with us going down that route, but it's not nearly as simple as you make out.
Games against Hearts and the Old Firm are the biggest of the season. Going to a half empty ER doesn't hold any more appeal than what we've got just now.
In the past, we'd have given as good as we got, and it could be a cracking (hostile) atmosphere inside ER. Now, we sit in silence taking notes of what the opposition sing instead, then moan on here.
PHeffernan
24-05-2023, 03:10 PM
I'm not some defender of Celtic (or Rangers for that matter) but I think we have to be explicitly clear as to what we mean by sectarianism or we give one or both sides an easy out.
I struggle to think of many songs in the regular Celtic rotation that are sectarian (I'd go further and say the IRA referenced in a lot of the songs isn't the same entity as the provos of the Troubles but that's a largely superfluous point). I'm not arguing there won't be bigots in the Celtic support, I'd say it's almost certain, but there will also be a sizeable number in the Celtic fanbase who are nominally Protestant. I'm not sure the reverse is true with Rangers and Catholics. I have plenty issues with Celtic and I daresay sectarianism or the reactionary response to it most certainly hands them a competitive and monetary advantage. They are an easy choice for those who want to set themselves up as 'different' from Rangers and Celtic as club and fanbase have monetised that and exploited a part of the history of Ireland that is both glorious and tragic for their own ends.
When it comes to the songs though Grace is really no different from something like Flora MacDonald's Lament or The Boys of the Old Brigade compares to Scot's Wae Hae. Our bloodshed is just a bit less fresh in the memory and neither song would raise an eyebrow where it sung in a family friendly pub in Ireland (Grace is one of the best love songs ever written imo but that's another discussion). I'd argue the same about the aforementioned Build My Gallows or even Derry's Walls from the Rangers support. Ultimately Hibs and the Hibs support can't control the marketing strategies of other clubs so Rangers releasing an orange 3rd strip or Celtic sticking green white and orange trim on a track top is neither here nor there even if we believe it's cashing in on bigotry (which it is). What we can comment on is sectarianism in our stadium and if we want to lead on that then we have to be crystal clear as to what that means. If we just lump everything in as sectarianism then we give them room to produce an argument like the one I have just made and they are within their right to do that. Call them out for specifics and you take away that power.
Great post
PHeffernan
24-05-2023, 03:14 PM
Completely wrong.
Why is it wrong?
The clubs acts and omissions to the issue makes it true.
Paulie Walnuts
24-05-2023, 03:21 PM
Why is it wrong?
The clubs acts and omissions to the issue makes it true.
Sorry, to be fair I have read your post a bit wrong :greengrin
The clubs interest is money, you’re right. It doesn’t need to be the only consideration though and if we decided we wanted to reduce their allocation we could.
As someone else said, the club should stop claiming they’re standing up to racism. They’re not, they’re actively encouraging it by selling rangers so many tickets.
Scotty Leither
24-05-2023, 03:31 PM
What’s your beef with Malky? Previous presumably?
He didn’t allow ANY questions on team matters/playing side of things at the AGM, only questions relating to the balance sheet.
He’s a remnant of the old Board along with Langham and David Forsyth (although the last one isn’t a Board member, he was directly involved with sacking Wille Docherty for playing “taxman), and he’s got influence at Easter Road.
Old Board/new Board, same prissy and dismissive attitude to their own fanbase.
24-05-2023, 03:41 PM
He didn’t allow ANY questions on team matters/playing side of things at the AGM, only questions relating to the balance sheet.
He’s a remnant of the old Board along with Langham and David Forsyth (although the last one isn’t a Board member, he was directly involved with sacking Wille Docherty for playing “taxman), and he’s got influence at Easter Road.
Old Board/new Board, same prissy and dismissive attitude to their own fanbase.
That was announced before the AGM took place. In the context of what had just happened, it was appropriate IMO.
24-05-2023, 03:47 PM
That was announced before the AGM took place. In the context of what had just happened, it was appropriate IMO.
Absolutely was.
24-05-2023, 03:48 PM
See above
That's an excellent narration of how they behave and why, but not an excuse for how they could or should behave.
Scotty Leither
24-05-2023, 03:49 PM
Point taken. It did remind me of Petrie’s tenure though, of which Malky McPherson was a member of the Board.
Answering “difficult” questions aren’t really (successive) Hibs’ Boards forte.
24-05-2023, 04:00 PM
That sounds a bit made up, there's absolutely no way you can know that. There's plenty reasons that folk don't go to these games - much more likely it's because we always get humped!
Not all Hibs fans want to see Old Firm fans banned from ER. There might be a very vocal minority that would be happy with us going down that route, but it's not nearly as simple as you make out.
Games against Hearts and the Old Firm are the biggest of the season. Going to a half empty ER doesn't hold any more appeal than what we've got just now.
In the past, we'd have given as good as we got, and it could be a cracking (hostile) atmosphere inside ER. Now, we sit in silence taking notes of what the opposition sing instead, then moan on here.
There are definitely fans who have tickets in the FF lower who don’t go to Old Firm games. I’ve met some and it’s often reflected with the empty seats in FF Lower also for these games compared to the Derby.
I think if the club did a survey a majority would prefer a reduced allocation of the old firm as a minimum.
The past hostile atmospheres are a thing of the past - 9 out of 10 games we seem to get steam rolled due to the gap in finances.
The other main issue which should be considered is that a smaller allocation actually gives Hibs more chance of getting points off them. Just now we are providing a 3000 strong platform for the sectarian songs to be sung - I don’t see that as what’s best for Hibs fans or the the team.
24-05-2023, 04:18 PM
I'd never take my daughter to a game involving Rangers, and depending on the meaningfulness of the game and KO time, not Celtic either.
I can't imagine I'm alone in thinking that.
24-05-2023, 04:48 PM
This was on the clubs information for tonights game preview;
SUPPORTER BEHAVIOUR
At the Rangers match a further arrest was made for the use of pyrotechnics inside the Stadium. Several incidents are still under review which may lead to retrospective action being taken.
Searching may be a condition of entry and we would ask that you follow the instruction given by Police, Stewards or over the PA system. Once inside the Stadium respect your fellow supporters by taking up your allocated seat for the duration of the game.
Anyone caught throwing objects, causing damage, entering the trackside or field of play, bringing of bottles/cans into the stadium can expect action to be taken. The Club will continue to support the actions of Police Scotland and the Courts in acting against anyone detected carrying out a breach of the Ground Regulations. Sanctions may include an indefinite Club Ban, a Football Banning Order or as we have seen elsewhere recently, a custodial sentence.
In addition, incidents of Unacceptable or Disorderly Conduct by either Clubs Players, Officials, or Supporters may be reported to the SPFL by the Match Delegate.
We ask you to think about your actions, before, during and after the match and please don’t be that person!
So let me get this straight, one arrest was made for use pyro, yet they let them wander in with them for all to see? :confused:
Not a word about the sectarian abuse dished out to Hibs fans either.
24-05-2023, 05:01 PM
SUPPORTER BEHAVIOUR
At the Rangers match a further arrest was made for the use of pyrotechnics inside the Stadium. Several incidents are still under review which may lead to retrospective action being taken.
Searching may be a condition of entry and we would ask that you follow the instruction given by Police, Stewards or over the PA system. Once inside the Stadium respect your fellow supporters by taking up your allocated seat for the duration of the game.
Anyone caught throwing objects, causing damage, entering the trackside or field of play, bringing of bottles/cans into the stadium can expect action to be taken. The Club will continue to support the actions of Police Scotland and the Courts in acting against anyone detected carrying out a breach of the Ground Regulations. Sanctions may include an indefinite Club Ban, a Football Banning Order or as we have seen elsewhere recently, a custodial sentence.
In addition, incidents of Unacceptable or Disorderly Conduct by either Clubs Players, Officials, or Supporters may be reported to the SPFL by the Match Delegate.
We ask you to think about your actions, before, during and after the match and please don’t be that person!
So let me get this straight, one arrest was made for use pyro, yet they let them wander in with them for all to see? :confused:
Not a word about the sectarian abuse dished out to Hibs fans either.https://images.app.goo.gl/LEp7cRoT22BpxpiL7
The spfl match delegates at the Rangers game.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
24-05-2023, 05:16 PM
SUPPORTER BEHAVIOUR
That's laughable.
I know there will be an obligation for the club to put such a statement out but the content is laughable all the same. I counted about a dozen instances of pyro in the Rangers end yet there was one arrest and we all know that will be for the solitary green smoke bomb that made it's way onto the park at 3-0.
It's all just a bad joke.
24-05-2023, 05:40 PM
That's laughable.
I know there will be an obligation for the club to put such a statement out but the content is laughable all the same. I counted about a dozen instances of pyro in the Rangers end yet there was one arrest and we all know that will be for the solitary green smoke bomb that made it's way onto the park at 3-0.
After that mobs racist behaviour on Sunday and at the SOL tribute to Ron,not a peep from the board.
For the club to now come out with that statement alone is utterly contemptible.
Ignoring issues that may well affect attendances next season if not addressed,and treating the supporters as fools.
Chorley Hibee
24-05-2023, 05:40 PM
That's laughable.
An absolute piss take by the club.
Needs supporter action now.
Spineless enablers of sectarianism throughout the board.
24-05-2023, 05:48 PM
The cheek of the clubs statement while they let Rangers fans sing sectarian songs and bring in flares.
24-05-2023, 05:54 PM
A statement painting us as the bad ones after the Rangers fans actions the last few times they have came to ER is so laughably tone deaf and yet painfully on point for a Hibs board that is happy to bend over and take it every time instead of defending its on fans.
LunasBoots
24-05-2023, 06:14 PM
SUPPORTER BEHAVIOUR
Be the Hibs fan that was arrested, I'd be interested to know what action has been taken against Rangers fans coming yo Easter Road since the over the top pyro started, its been talked about enough down the years and still the same problem persists. The 'Ultra' group should also be banned from ER for the persistent nonsense
Scotty Leither
24-05-2023, 06:36 PM
Just listened to the football banning order announcement. “Any acts of bigotry” could lead to one apparently.
24-05-2023, 06:38 PM
Just listened to the football banning order announcement. “Any acts of bigotry” could lead to one apparently.
Except for Rangers fans.
The Pointer
24-05-2023, 07:25 PM
Know it's a thread drift, but anything about the offensive bile coming out the away end tonight.
Paulie Walnuts
24-05-2023, 07:45 PM
It’s really difficult to like Hibs just now for a variety of reasons :rolleyes:
24-05-2023, 07:48 PM
Rangers brought out a new ****ing flare every ten minutes at Sunday's game, NOTHING about that. A complete JOKE.
24-05-2023, 07:51 PM
Know it's a thread drift, but anything about the offensive bile coming out the away end tonight.
According to some on here Celtics offensive tunes are only folk songs.
25-05-2023, 10:15 AM
If we look at this week in isolation, then they 2 cheeks were on different levels IMHO. Rangers did not sing one single pro-Rangers football chant that I noticed and sang endless ditties filled with hatred. Celtc were much quieter in general and whilst most of their tunes were songs I don't know and probably nowt to do with football, they certainly weren't as obviously hate filled as their cohorts on Sunday.
jakeshibs
25-05-2023, 12:39 PM
Its been mentioned already here, but lets not do false equivalence.
A small %age of our support singing about Lizzie in a box is not the same as almost the entire away end singing for pretty much 90 minutes about hatred of catholics and dead hunger strikers.
When Hibs fans are caught breaking the law (i.e. the bottle throwing incident a few years back) there is a massive media outcry, we ban our offenders and pay the price in upgraded CCTV etc.
Rangers do it with impunity.
Singing lizzie is in box, is just as bad, glorifying someones death is distasteful, as you are offended about someones personal choice to hunger strike, or religion then say its not the same is hypocritical there is no need for either and we must stamp it out.
jakeshibs
25-05-2023, 12:42 PM
Are you referring to the deaths of hundred's at the hands of Irish catholic terrorists, including children, singing about anyones death is disgusting and not Hibs class.
ErinGoBraghHFC
25-05-2023, 12:49 PM
Are you referring to the deaths of hundred's at the hands of Irish catholic terrorists, including children, singing about anyones death is disgusting and not Hibs class.
I wasn’t and you know I wasn’t.
Paulie Walnuts
25-05-2023, 12:50 PM
If we look at this week in isolation, then they 2 cheeks were on different levels IMHO. Rangers did not sing one single pro-Rangers football chant that I noticed and sang endless ditties filled with hatred. Celtc were much quieter in general and whilst most of their tunes were songs I don't know and probably nowt to do with football, they certainly weren't as obviously hate filled as their cohorts on Sunday.
Celtic are nowhere near as bad as Rangers. It’s a desperate attempt to show how much you hate Celtic if you claim they are imo. Almost like an attempt to show they’re not our ‘cousins’.
25-05-2023, 01:02 PM
Irish 'Catholic' terrorists :faf::faf::faf:
Prominent members of the Republican movement like Theodore Wolfetone, Charles Parnell, Erskine Childers, David Bell, Ivan Cooper, Billy Leonard, Ronnie Bunting, John Turnley and David Russell might feel a bit misrepresented being painted as Catholics. Proud Presbyterians to a man, Wolfetone was descended from a Huguenot family.
25-05-2023, 01:06 PM
watched on the tellybox and i honestly cannot say i heard much from the away end, obviously the cameras are there for Sky so the away end was just constant sectarianism last sunday
sellick fans need to up their game a little to be as repugnant as the buns, just a little mind, the buns are the most vile set of fans in the UK
and i say that as a good proddy :greengrin
ErinGoBraghHFC
25-05-2023, 01:06 PM
Irish 'Catholic' terrorists :faf::faf::faf:
Prominent members of the Republican movement like Theodore Wolfetone, Charles Parnell, Erskine Childers, David Bell, Ivan Cooper, Billy Leonard, Ronnie Bunting, John Turnley and David Russell might feel a bit misrepresented being painted as Catholics. Proud Presbyterians to a man, Wolfetone was descended from a Huguenot family.
Surely not, the world is black and white PB. Didn’t you know?
25-05-2023, 01:08 PM
watched on the tellybox and i honestly cannot say i heard much from the away end, obviously the cameras are there for Sky so the away end was just constant sectarianism last sunday
sellick fans need to up their game a little to be as repugnant as the buns, just a little mind
All their usual Party Songs last night. We are all off to Dublin in the green they struggled with something to rhyme with. They are not in the same league as the The Thes but if we could stop both supports coming to ER I would be quite happy. Stop giving them a stage to perform on. If nothing else I'm at an age where loud bangs can be fatal
25-05-2023, 01:14 PM
Let's all agree that the songs from the old firm and Hearts and the lizzie/Mercer songs are wrong and have no place at a football stadium where children are present. Been going on for a long as I have watching Hibs 55 years, and until there is suitable legislation introduced by Scot Gov and spfl it will carry on. Points deductions and withdrawal of stadium licences will soon stop it
Ps Rangers fans are on a different level to any other club when it comes to bigotry.
25-05-2023, 01:42 PM
Singing lizzie is in box, is just as bad, glorifying someones death is distasteful, as you are offended about someones personal choice to hunger strike, or religion then say its not the same is hypocritical there is no need for either and we must stamp it out.
This has been said repeatedly but worth saying again.
Songs about Mercer etc are terrible. They are grossly offensive and if you sing and your not a bairn you can GTF.
However, whilst they are offensive, they are not discriminatory. They do not have the same legal severity as songs about race, gender and yes, you guessed it, religion.
This is why, whilst we should be doing all we can to eradicate some of the songs a very small number of our supporters engage in, they are not the same as the Sevco song book.
So we can absolutely take a stand against them, whilst also having a few idiots in our support. We have taken very strong action when there has been racist abuse from Hibs fans. It is completely unacceptable that we are expected to ignore similar behaviour from Sevco fans.
I also wonder if there are grounds for anyone working at the stadium when we play Sevco to make a complaint based around anti discrimination legalisation in the workplace. Those working as stewards, catering etc are being subjected to 90 minutes of discriminatory abuse in their place of work. How can that be legal? If you are Catholic you are being forced to work whilst being subject to a barrage of abuse about your religion. Football grounds are places of work and surely rules apply just as they would for me at an office. Hibs as an employer as doing nothing to prevent their staff from being subject to sectarian abuse on a regular basis.
25-05-2023, 06:09 PM
Aww come on man. 'Irish Catholic terrorists'. You should know better. Most strands of thought (though not all) when it comes to desiring the re-unification of Ireland comes from a left of centre perspective. It is anti-imperial and egalitarian. The aim of a re-united Ireland is not to impose a Catholic state. Indeed, there is a history of deep disagreement between Irish Republicanism since 1916 and the Catholic Church. That isn't to say that Republicanism has never disgraced itself by committing sectarian attacks - the Provisional IRA certainly sometimes did after 1969 - but religious hatred, indeed Catholic philosophy, isn't the philosophy and the goal of Irish Nationalism/Republicanism. If you look at the Sinn Fein policies of today, there is no desire to 'put the shoe on the other foot' i.e. make Protestants second class citizens in a united Ireland as Catholics have been in Northern Ireland since 1921.
01-06-2023, 04:36 PM
Apologies for resurrecting this, but I just got a response from Malcolm McPherson...........and I have to say the response is a bit underwhelming;
Green Day,
Thank you for your email from 23rd May and we understand your reaction. There is an SPFL delegate at the game whose duty it is to report back to the SPFL, who have sanctions available. The Club keep the situation under review.
For context, here is the text of mine;
Hi Ben, I hope you are well.
You and I had a bit of a chat pre Hibs Celtic League Cup final on ticket allocations etc, and I know you work hard for the club.
I appreciate that you have already received emails on this subject but I felt I also had to give you some additional background on this subject.
There were a few things that happened on Sunday which have provoked the furious reaction among some of our fans -
My Season Ticket is in the West Upper, and I have never heard such prolonged and awful sectarian singing from - pretty much - the entire away end.
Hibs fans were also subjected to individual searches ahead of the match, resulting in many fans missing the beginning of the game. I walked past the Rangers end before I was searched, and they were not subjected to the same searches - they all got in on time while the East stand was empty.
There are rumours that Hibs fans in the East were not allowed a Tifo display and another fan had a flag - with a dead fans name - removed.
Meanwhile, Rangers fans had Huge flags, flares etc from their fans.
We announce over the tannoy pre match that sectarian singing is illegal, and can result in football banning orders - then their entire end sings these songs for 90 minutes and the police and stewards do nothing - they are scared. They also disrespected the Ron Gordon tribute at the previous fixture.
Rangers (and Celtic) bring large crowds to the ground and presumably bring us a lot of money. I understand that, however there is a - growing - feeling among fans that Hibs are a "soft touch" and are scared of telling it how it is with Rangers and their fans.
I know you are not a lifelong Hibs fan, but believe me, to have spent almost 50 years going to matches and being called a fenian *******, and spat at by this lot for simply being a Hibs fan (and I am not even Catholic !!) is horrific.
We are now at the stage where OUR fans dont want to attend these games because they are so toxic, and the feeling grows that our club holds our fans to a different degree of rigour than Rangers and their fans.
I know you do everything you can to support Hibs in the background, and that the gate money is hugely important to us.
But the time has passed for "working in the background" and "discussions behind closed doors", because the SFA, SPFL, and the media are complicit in ignoring the illegal actions of this one club.
I dont necessarily believe in cutting your nose off to spite your face, but saying nothing merely enables these people to continue with their vile behaviour.
Apologies, a long email.
I will finish by asking a simple question - If they sang songs for 90 minutes about Pakis, ******s, or the Slave Trade - instead of the Irish Famine, and Catholics........would we still stand by and say nothing in public?
Chorley Hibee
01-06-2023, 04:47 PM
Apologies for resurrecting this, but I just got a response from Malcolm McPherson...........and I have to say the response is a bit underwhelming;
Green Day,
Thank you for your email from 23rd May and we understand your reaction. There is an SPFL delegate at the game whose duty it is to report back to the SPFL, who have sanctions available. The Club keep the situation under review.
You and I had a bit of a chat pre Hibs Celtic League Cup final on ticket allocations etc, and I know you work hard for the club.
I appreciate that you have already received emails on this subject but I felt I also had to give you some additional background on this subject.
There were a few things that happened on Sunday which have provoked the furious reaction among some of our fans -
My Season Ticket is in the West Upper, and I have never heard such prolonged and awful sectarian singing from - pretty much - the entire away end.
Hibs fans were also subjected to individual searches ahead of the match, resulting in many fans missing the beginning of the game. I walked past the Rangers end before I was searched, and they were not subjected to the same searches - they all got in on time while the East stand was empty.
There are rumours that Hibs fans in the East were not allowed a Tifo display and another fan had a flag - with a dead fans name - removed.
We announce over the tannoy pre match that sectarian singing is illegal, and can result in football banning orders - then their entire end sings these songs for 90 minutes and the police and stewards do nothing - they are scared. They also disrespected the Ron Gordon tribute at the previous fixture.
Rangers (and Celtic) bring large crowds to the ground and presumably bring us a lot of money. I understand that, however there is a - growing - feeling among fans that Hibs are a "soft touch" and are scared of telling it how it is with Rangers and their fans.
I know you are not a lifelong Hibs fan, but believe me, to have spent almost 50 years going to matches and being called a fenian *******, and spat at by this lot for simply being a Hibs fan (and I am not even Catholic !!) is horrific.
We are now at the stage where OUR fans dont want to attend these games because they are so toxic, and the feeling grows that our club holds our fans to a different degree of rigour than Rangers and their fans.
I know you do everything you can to support Hibs in the background, and that the gate money is hugely important to us.
But the time has passed for "working in the background" and "discussions behind closed doors", because the SFA, SPFL, and the media are complicit in ignoring the illegal actions of this one club.
I dont necessarily believe in cutting your nose off to spite your face, but saying nothing merely enables these people to continue with their vile behaviour.
Apologies, a long email.
I will finish by asking a simple question - If they sang songs for 90 minutes about Pakis, ******s, or the Slave Trade - instead of the Irish Famine, and Catholics........would we still stand by and say nothing in public?
Piss poor response from the club, but not in the least bit surprised by their latest cowardly refusal to deal with it.
In answer to your question, no, the club wouldn't stand by silently had the songs/behaviour in question have been aimed at your other groups mentioned.
When it comes to sectarianism though, our club find that perfectly acceptable, even if it's to the detriment of their own fans attending.
Cowards, the lot of them.
Dublin07
01-06-2023, 04:49 PM
I also received a reply today which is different from the above.
I have read your email from 22nd May and understand your feelings. We have had a number of emails in a similar vain. This situation is under review and there are many factors that have to be taken into account. I appreciate that you are angry and understand that.
Regards
Malcolm McPherson
Chairman of Hibernian FC
01-06-2023, 04:54 PM
That was 90 minutes of sectarian racist bigoted singing
If the SPFL representative does not include that in his report we know that they are not fit for purpose
They will hope it all goes away
Pretty sure that UEFA hit them with sanctions for sectarian singing
I won’t hold my breath
Time for Hibs to grow a pair
01-06-2023, 05:06 PM
Piss poor response from the club, but not in the least bit surprised by their latest cowardly refusal to deal with it.
In answer to your question, no, the club wouldn't stand by silently had the songs/behaviour in question have been aimed at your other groups mentioned.
When it comes to sectarianism though, our club find that perfectly acceptable, even if it's to the detriment of their own fans attending.
Cowards, the lot of them.
I responded to his email and said
"Thanks for taking the time to reply, but I have to say I had expected a rather more comprehensive response than that to my numerous issues.
Ignoring this problem won't make it disappear"
01-06-2023, 05:11 PM
Same reply today.Get the impression the board is hoping this will go away.:rolleyes:
Sauerkraut
01-06-2023, 05:26 PM
Nigh on 60 years attending at ER. I messaged a mate after that game saying I was giving serious thought to returning. Nowt to do with Hibs performance (bad,seen worse) but all about the sustained, bigoted, bile being howled from the away end. I found myself attempting to gauge the level of participation, beyond the ultras, hardly scientific I know. It was huge, maybe 80%. The idea that only a minority of them spew that hatred is nonsense. I'ts way beyond anything heard from the other erse-cheek or The Cardigans, both of whom can annoy but don't overstep nearly as much. (Q in a box being a recent exception). It HAS to be strict liability and points deduction. We can soon sort out our occasional daftie and TBF the Brown Rovers probably could as well.
Bronson
01-06-2023, 05:42 PM
Left field opinion but they’re just a few naughty songs. It’s not that deep in my opinion. Never really understood the faux outrage
angus hibby
01-06-2023, 05:46 PM
I emailed also, raising many of the same points you made.
Word for word, got exactly the same reply today. Obviously and copy and paste job. Is there a way of finding out who the delegate at the game was?
Green Day,
Apologies, a long email.
01-06-2023, 05:54 PM
I responded to his email and said
"Thanks for taking the time to reply, but I have to say I had expected a rather more comprehensive response than that to my numerous issues.
Ignoring this problem won't make it disappear"
I’d imagine there will be no response to that one. Very poor reply to your initial email which appeared to give the generic comment about the SPFL delegate and totally ignored all the other excellent points raised - some which the club itself definitely has some influence over.
01-06-2023, 05:56 PM
Left field opinion but they’re just a few naughty songs. It’s not that deep in my opinion. Never really understood the faux outrage
The world moves on. Are these things still acceptable in this day and age? Certainly not to me.
01-06-2023, 06:08 PM
I’d imagine there will be no response to that one. Very poor reply to your initial email which appeared to give the generic comment about the SPFL delegate and totally ignored all the other excellent points raised - some which the club itself definitely has some influence over.
Thanks T.
As you say, I probably wont get a response but I would almost rather have got nothing than that cut and paste "fob him off" job !
Its not like we dont already know that there is an SPFL delegate there.............but the main annoyance is that the delegate is in the Huns pocket and its time Hibs piped up.
I actually thought we might have turned a corner after the Cabraja statement at Tynie.
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-06-2023, 06:59 PM
Got the same reply from Malcolm McPherson today, sweep sweep nothing to see here
01-06-2023, 07:09 PM
Nigh on 60 years attending at ER. I messaged a mate after that game saying I was giving serious thought to returning. Nowt to do with Hibs performance (bad,seen worse) but all about the sustained, bigoted, bile being howled from the away end. I found myself attempting to gauge the level of participation, beyond the ultras, hardly scientific I know. It was huge, maybe 80%. The idea that only a minority of them spew that hatred is nonsense. I'ts way beyond anything heard from the other erse-cheek or The Cardigans, both of whom can annoy but don't overstep nearly as much. (Q in a box being a recent exception). It HAS to be strict liability and points deduction. We can soon sort out our occasional daftie and TBF the Brown Rovers probably could as well.
Strict liability, points deduction, closure of stadiums and self policing defo the way to go
Worked in Serie A to cure them of neo facist political racist chants and violence in Stadia
Bronson
01-06-2023, 08:13 PM
The world moves on. Are these things still acceptable in this day and age? Certainly not to me.
I don’t think it’s great but i do think people are hypersensitive now. I can’t say it’s ever made me enjoy going to the football any less
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-06-2023, 08:19 PM
I don’t think it’s great but i do think people are hypersensitive now. I can’t say it’s ever made me enjoy going to the football any less
Is it hypersensitive to be a wee bit affronted at being on the receiving end of sectarian abuse? Would it still be hypersensitive if it was just me and one of them and he calls me a bead rattling taig *******, or something of the like?
01-06-2023, 08:19 PM
Strict liability, points deduction, closure of stadiums and self policing defo the way to go
Worked in Serie A to cure them of neo facist political racist chants and violence in Stadia
Yep it isn't rocket science
01-06-2023, 08:46 PM
Got the same reply from Malcolm McPherson today, sweep sweep nothing to see here
Very similar:
"John
Thank you for your email from 22nd May and we understand your reaction. There is an SPFL delegate at the game whose duty it is to report back to the SPFL, who have sanctions available. The Club keep the situation under review."
But I also got an earlier response directly from BK. So was really surprised to get such a pointless and meaningless follow up.
Still really pissed off by the whole thing and how little the club really seem to care.
01-06-2023, 08:47 PM
It wasn’t just a few naughty songs though was it ?
It was 90 minutes of anti Catholic songs sung by a minority of 3000 The Rangers fans 4500 if you count the ones that doubled up without paying
We go to Easter Road to watch football not listen to songs about being up to their knees in fenian blood The Sash The Billy Boys and other such tripe about the UDA and battles fought long ago that no one remembers what they were even about ?
Hand on heart I sit in the West South and I do not remember them singing one football song an absolute embarrassment and Scotland’s disgrace
Something needs to be done it is 2023
On the football front I thought The Rangers Xl played very well and we could not near them and deserved their victory
Bronson
01-06-2023, 09:00 PM
It wasn’t just a few naughty songs though was it ?
It was 90 minutes of anti Catholic songs sung by a minority of 3000 The Rangers fans 4500 if you count the ones that doubled up without paying
We go to Easter Road to watch football not listen to songs about being up to their knees in fenian blood The Sash The Billy Boys and other such tripe about the UDA and battles fought long ago that no one remembers what they were even about ?
Hand on heart I sit in the West South and I do not remember them singing one football song an absolute embarrassment and Scotland’s disgrace
Something needs to be done it is 2023
On the football front I thought The Rangers Xl played very well and we could not near them and deserved their victory
I hate rangers as much as the next guy, but they’re just songs. I’ve heard loads of hibs fans sing about rudi skacel being a refugee, or the ‘i want to be a provo ranger’ line in the build up to hail hail the hibs are here. We’re not angels either so i think we can probably get off the moral high horse.
01-06-2023, 09:27 PM
I hate rangers as much as the next guy, but they’re just songs. I’ve heard loads of hibs fans sing about rudi skacel being a refugee, or the ‘i want to be a provo ranger’ line in the build up to hail hail the hibs are here. We’re not angels either so i think we can probably get off the moral high horse.
Are you genuinely comparing Hibs fans to Rangers ones?
01-06-2023, 09:31 PM
Skacel played for Hearts 11 years ago, it wouldn't be sung today, shows how quickly things can change in what's deemed acceptable or not, the Huns sing songs about things that happened 333 years ago
Bronson
01-06-2023, 09:31 PM
Are you genuinely comparing Hibs fans to Rangers ones?
Just highlighting that we’re not innocent either.
I did say it was a left field opinion so i’m aware i’m in the minority on this one!
01-06-2023, 09:47 PM
Very similar:
"John
Thank you for your email from 22nd May and we understand your reaction. There is an SPFL delegate at the game whose duty it is to report back to the SPFL, who have sanctions available. The Club keep the situation under review."
But I also got an earlier response directly from BK. So was really surprised to get such a pointless and meaningless follow up.
Still really pissed off by the whole thing and how little the club really seem to care.
And right there is the problem. The SPFL have a delegate at every game that club play, games at which time and again sectarian pish is blasted out and no sanction is ever administered. Their behaviour at the game in question was the absolute gold standard in sectarianism and bigoted songs and the SPFL have had absolutely nothing to say in the days since. Clearly just like every other SPFL 'delegate' sent to Rangers games this one was deaf as well.
Sorry guys, but the attitude at Hibs is clearly to deflect this onto the SPFL in spite of the fact that they know absolutely nothing will be done by them
If anybody wants the answer to the question 'how do they get away with it?' the reply fans who complained received from Hibs, myself included, says it all .... there isn't a club in Scotland willing to take them on over bigotry and sectarianism, including ours and the SPFL know that leaves them in the clear to abdicate any responsibility the should have to take action. Spineless the whole lot of them ... including Hibs.
01-06-2023, 10:09 PM
Football fans sometimes sing inappropriate songs, some of them anyway. Rangers fans ALWAYS sing inappropriate, illegal, sectarian songs and it's not just some of them.....it's nearly all of them. I can't remember the last time I heard the Skacel song in any stadium. Must be many years and as for the 'provo ranger' line.....40 odd years a Hibby and I have no idea what you're talking about. To compare us to Rangers is utterly ridiculous.
02-06-2023, 02:38 AM
With all respect, it's a pretty poor attitude to take that just because it doesn't bother you, others are just being sensitive.
That logic leads us down a line that you are only bothered about something if it directly impacts you. So basically, I'm not gay, why do I care if folk are shouting homophobic stuff? I'm not black, if someone if calling a player the N word why should I be fussed?
BTW I'm not saying that's exactly what you are thinking but I am curious where you draw the line on what chanting from fans would bother you? We've been hearing this stuff from Sevco for so long that I suspect its been normalised for many of us - but that doesn't mean it's OK or we shouldn't stand against it.
And the other thing for me is whatever anyone's views are, the bottom line is there is law covering this behaviour. We've had Hibs fans lifted for making comments during games (correctly so). But 4k of their fans can sing what they like and no one bats an eyelid. As others have said, it feels like our club holds Hibs fans to a different standard, which doesn't sit well.
02-06-2023, 06:08 AM
And right there is the problem. The SPFL have a delegate at every game that club play, games at which time and again sectarian pish is blasted out and no sanction is ever administered. Their behaviour at the game in question was the absolute gold standard in sectarianism and bigoted songs and the SPFL have had absolutely nothing to say in the days since. Clearly just like every other SPFL 'delegate' sent to Rangers games this one was deaf as well.
Sorry guys, but the attitude at Hibs is clearly to deflect this onto the SPFL in spite of the fact that they know absolutely nothing will be done by them
If anybody wants the answer to the question 'how do they get away with it?' the reply fans who complained received from Hibs, myself included, says it all .... there isn't a club in Scotland willing to take them on over bigotry and sectarianism, including ours and the SPFL know that leaves them in the clear to abdicate any responsibility the should have to take action. Spineless the whole lot of them ... including Hibs.
Spot on. Completely lacking in any backbone. Let's ignore it and hope it goes away except it doesn't it just gets worse. Entitled bullies need confronted not pandered to.
02-06-2023, 06:30 AM
I take it you are referring to The Celtic Song ?
I cannot find any reference to Provo Rangers in any version of the song in the last 100 years
Anyway we are talking about a club that is institutionally sectarian and until recently had a strict signing policy of no Catholics indeed Sir Alex Ferguson had to leave Rangers because he married a Catholic
They have Graeme Souness to thank for finally seeing sense and signing a Catholic as they were restricting themselves to half the market
Rangers pander to the loyalist masses because it suits their MO and keeps their coffers full with their orange strips etc
If they are so harmless try walking down ER on match day wearing a green and white scarf
I have been supporting Hibs for 60 years and I have been physically assaulted many times by their fans for wearing a green scarf
Hibs are strictly a non sectarian club and The Rangers will always deflect the issue as it suits their needs
Horrible horrible Club
Edit:
Posted on another thread I don’t agree with Lizzie’s in a box and the Wallace Mercer song but trust me The Rangers are the exception to the rule they are relentless need to be reigned in it is 2023 and our club need to tell them it is no longer acceptable behaviour
jakeshibs
02-06-2023, 06:52 AM
Just highlighting that we’re not innocent either.
I did say it was a left field opinion so i’m aware i’m in the minority on this one!
A lot of good hibs supporters agree with you, as we sing about mercers death, lizzies in a box, all just as disgusting and just as bad as singing about religious hatred.
02-06-2023, 07:00 AM
Absolutely embarrassing from Malcolm McPherson. The founders of this club will be turning in their graves at the current custodians turning a blind eye to the sectarianism they’re tolerating and enabling.
Pretty shameful, but no more than we’ve come to expect from they ***** bags. Stand up for us FFS
02-06-2023, 07:01 AM
A lot of good hibs supporters agree with you, as we sing about mercers death, lizzies in a box, all just as disgusting and just as bad as singing about religious hatred.
Do the entire Hibs support sing these songs or is it a few daft wee laddies? There is a difference
02-06-2023, 07:03 AM
I love the deflection from some on here who continually compare some of our fans with the majority of theirs. You would have thought the “mercer” song would have got an airing on Saturday, as far as I can remember it didn’t. Neither did the “Lizzie” song. I can guarantee you that the Huns would have been singing their full list of songs at their game.
02-06-2023, 07:13 AM
:stirrer:
:tsk tsk:
Bridge hibs
02-06-2023, 07:20 AM
Absolutely embarrassing from Malcolm McPherson. The founders of this club will be turning in their graves at the current custodians turning a blind eye to the sectarianism they’re tolerating and enabling.
Pretty shameful, but no more than we’ve come to expect from they ***** bags. Stand up for us FFSI tested the water to see what kind of response I would get, I raised a few points that I thought would have provoked a decent response, however all I got was a kind of “we dont really give a ****”
Paul
I understand your comments in your email from 21st May. It is indeed sad that we still have to suffer in this way in 2023. We have many things to consider in how to react to these matters, but the situation is consistently under review.
Regards
Malcolm McPherson
Chairman of Hibernian FC
02-06-2023, 08:15 AM
I tested the water to see what kind of response I would get, I raised a few points that I thought would have provoked a decent response, however all I got was a kind of “we dont really give a ****”
Paul
I understand your comments in your email from 21st May. It is indeed sad that we still have to suffer in this way in 2023. We have many things to consider in how to react to these matters, but the situation is consistently under review.
Regards
Malcolm McPherson
Chairman of Hibernian FC
Looks like the official stencil from the Sectarian folder
File and put away until next season
Spineless
Bronson
02-06-2023, 08:22 AM
I take it you are referring to The Celtic Song ?
I cannot find any reference to Provo Rangers in any version of the song in the last 100 years
Anyway we are talking about a club that is institutionally sectarian and until recently had a strict signing policy of no Catholics indeed Sir Alex Ferguson had to leave Rangers because he married a Catholic
They have Graeme Souness to thank for finally seeing sense and signing a Catholic as they were restricting themselves to half the market
Rangers pander to the loyalist masses because it suits their MO and keeps their coffers full with their orange strips etc
If they are so harmless try walking down ER on match day wearing a green and white scarf
I have been supporting Hibs for 60 years and I have been physically assaulted many times by their fans for wearing a green scarf
Hibs are strictly a non sectarian club and The Rangers will always deflect the issue as it suits their needs
Horrible horrible Club
Edit:
Posted on another thread I don’t agree with Lizzie’s in a box and the Wallace Mercer song but trust me The Rangers are the exception to the rule they are relentless need to be reigned in it is 2023 and our club need to tell them it is no longer acceptable behaviour
‘I want to lead a life of danger, I want to be a provo ranger…’
It’s an old one but you still hear it on away days sometimes.
To be clear i’m not defending rangers fans in general, they are a nasty bunch and i’m certainly not condoning physical violence. I just don’t find songs that offensive regardless of what they say.
We started the super trooper rendition recently about walter smith, jimmy bell and andy goram being in hell. How is that any better than the billy boys?
02-06-2023, 08:27 AM
I go home & away and have never heard that sung at all
02-06-2023, 08:28 AM
It’s an old one but you still hear it on away days sometimes.
To be clear i’m not defending rangers fans in general, they are a nasty bunch and i’m certainly not condoning physical violence. I just don’t find songs that offensive regardless of what they say.
We started the super trooper rendition recently about walter smith, jimmy bell and andy goram being in hell. How is that any better than the billy boys?
I agree with your earlier posts about not really caring about what 3000 roasters choose to sing at a football match, but I go to most away games and have done since I was wee and I have never once heard that line about provo rangers.
02-06-2023, 08:32 AM
Spot on. Completely lacking in any backbone. Let's ignore it and hope it goes away except it doesn't it just gets worse. Entitled bullies need confronted not pandered to.
Completely agree Jim. Nookie is absolutely right about this. The mixture of complacency, conspiracy and complicity across all of Scottish football without exception - and most of Scottish society too - is stomach turning.