View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Bigots & SFA

Pages : 1 2 [3]

21-05-2023, 01:29 PM
Just no a very good fitba team, we lack quality have done for ages and that costs money. We are stuck wi the slaver for a while as no use just changing manager, we are paying off a few of them which must have also cost a small fortune.
The hun as despicable as ever, although I do expect my Hibs teams to put up more of a fight even if getting beat.

Another anti-LJ post. Do you not think if we’d been able to finish we could have at least got a point? How’s bad finishing in a game down to LJ?

21-05-2023, 01:30 PM
St Mirren were good enough to put up a fight against Celtic at Parkhead because they knew they had something to fight for. Our players played today as if Europe was a given. Rangers effectively threw out a B team today and made it look like a training session, because we allowed them to.There B team is doing better than there A team [emoji1787]

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

21-05-2023, 01:30 PM
Curious what people think, my own personal view is irrelevant here.

Are people happy/fine with 5th in the league and being put out both cups at the first opportunity? Assuming we stay 5th that is and 5th likely leads to a European qualifier.

How would you rate that season?

Donegal Hibby
21-05-2023, 01:32 PM
OK. How about judging him on the results against the team who look likely to finish bottom this season ? Or will there be some other excuse for that ?

We are going to probably finish 5th or 6th compared to 8th last year and most level-headed Hibs fans know the club was in a mess when he took over and inherited players on lengthy contracts that aren't good enough and a recruitment that failed as well . Though I don't think you will knowledge this as your dislike for the manager has completely taken over I feel .

21-05-2023, 01:33 PM
What? He sets the team up to play a certain way. When it works, St. Mirren, Hearts and Aberdeen it works and we win. Today you saw uninterested players going through the motions. When they closed down it was good and we won back possession. Then we had spells where players tried to go solo or attempted over complicated passes. The players know what they should so ergo good performances are certainly down to the Manager and the players. I have no idea what logic you are applying to think otherwise. Johnson can only work with the players he has, he is definitely not telling them to go out and underperform.

He sets the tone. Why are the players “uninterested” when they have a good chance to secure European football ? He can’t have it both ways. When we do well it’s down to him and when we are poor like today it’s the players fault ?

Scotty Leither
21-05-2023, 01:34 PM
Absolutely pathetic yet again. The thought of another season with that **** in charge is so depressing. No doubt someone will tell me we can’t expect to beat the Huns cos of their budget (someone should have told the Sheep that) and that we have made progress this season.

Exactly this…and St Mirren shouldn’t be taking 4 points from Celtic, Aberdeen shouldn’t be beating Rangers 3 weeks ago and St Johnstone shouldn’t have beaten Rangers this season either.

Utter loser mentality against the Ugly Sisters, but never mind, buy hospitality next season, buy Hibs kids packages, buy season tickets, but don’t dare expect a result or two against them two.

JamesHFC
21-05-2023, 01:34 PM

Are people happy/fine with 5th in the league and being put out both cups at the first opportunity? Assuming we stay 5th that is and 5th likely leads to a European qualifier.

After last season being so poor, qualifying for europe this season is a big improvement. Next season though we need to be better in all competitions.

21-05-2023, 01:35 PM

We shafted ourselves with our summer recruitment which was absolutely atrocious by and large. We’ve put steps in place to change that this time around and I’m keen to see what happens there.

Despite having a bloated squad, we are paper thin in terms of squad depth and I think post winter, LJ has gotten us not far off what we could expect from such a group of players, even with another blip in form just before the last derby.

I put a lot of the blame with our recruitment for this season but have hope that the new DoF can begin to turn that around.

This has been the very definition of a transitional season. Next season may be similar due to us needing to empty a lot of players and strengthen in depth.

If we get it right the one following may be very good, and changing manager now isn’t going to change that fact whatsoever.

21-05-2023, 01:38 PM
Another anti-LJ post. Do you not think if we’d been able to finish we could have at least got a point? How’s bad finishing in a game down to LJ?

Awe if's but's and mabey's, as always no good enough, not anti-LJ just think he is a slaver and we just lay doon against the The Hun.

Victor
21-05-2023, 01:44 PM
He sets the tone. Why are the players “uninterested” when they have a good chance to secure European football ? He can’t have it both ways. When we do well it’s down to him and when we are poor like today it’s the players fault ?

‘He sets the tone’ - so you really thinks he tells the players to go out and do what they want, or tell them it doesn’t matter if we qualify for Europe or not? As I have already said, the Manager knows how he wants the team to play, when it works then the performances are down to the Manager and the players. When it doesn’t work, the only thing that changes is the player’s performance. So yes he can have it ‘both ways’. He has put out the same team for at least the last three or four games. So nothing has changed apart from player’s performance. Unless you seriously think that Lee Johnson is filling the player’s heads with negative thoughts. Look at Celtics last two games, do you think their poor performances are down to the Manager, or the players mindset?

21-05-2023, 01:46 PM
We are going to probably finish 5th or 6th compared to 8th last year and most level-headed Hibs fans know the club was in a mess when he took over and inherited players on lengthy contracts that aren't good enough and a recruitment that failed as well . Though I don't think you will knowledge this as your dislike for the manager has completely taken over I feel .

Lose the next two games which isn’t out of the question and we’ll have gained a massive 3 points more than we did last season with a worse goal difference. But that’s progress for some I guess. Johnson still has a better squad than Maloney had to work with despite all the excuses made for him.

He's here!
21-05-2023, 01:53 PM
Lose the next two games which isn’t out of the question and we’ll have gained a massive 3 points more than we did last season with a worse goal difference. But that’s progress for some I guess. Johnson still has a better squad than Maloney had to work with despite all the excuses made for him.

It's more than 'not out of the question', it's the most likely outcome. But St Mirren will struggle to pick up any more points too so we should just about sneak 5th I think.

#2 Double Tap
21-05-2023, 02:03 PM

its his team, when s hit goes wrong he takes the blame and when it goes right he gets the praise. thats the way it works. its the same everywhere for every manager.

we have underperformed this year imo, the derby is looking like a must win for lj now or a huge chunk of the support will turn on him, instead of the minority as it is.

ehf
21-05-2023, 02:05 PM
It's more than 'not out of the question', it's the most likely outcome. But St Mirren will struggle to pick up any more points too so we should just about sneak 5th I think.

Think that’s optimistic; really can’t see us picking up any more points, and there’s every chance St Mirren beat Aberdeen, or even Rangers.

Scotty Leither
21-05-2023, 02:09 PM

I wouldn’t count on it. We’ll sit off Celtic like we did their mates today and I’d fancy St Mirren to beat Aberdeen.

The club need to BUY decent proven players for next season, and when Nisbet is sold ALL the money from his transfer needs to go on a penalty-box striker, a midfield playmaker that can actually join the game up, and a replacement goalkeeper.

21-05-2023, 02:12 PM

I didn’t think we looked disinterested today. Severely lacking in quality. And completely lacking in belief after the second goal. If we sign good players in the summer we’ll improve. If we don’t we won’t, irrespective of who the manager is.

21-05-2023, 02:16 PM
I didn’t think we looked disinterested today. Severely lacking in quality. And completely lacking in belief after the second goal. If we sign good players in the summer we’ll improve. If we don’t we won’t, irrespective of who the manager is.

That wasn’t my choice of word, was replying to another poster. Regardless of the wording we didn’t look like a team who had something meaningful to play for.

Fuzzywuzzy
21-05-2023, 02:21 PM
It was disheartening seeing our players backing of them and letting them move with the ball instead of actually trying to put a tackle in. Not entirely sure what they were expecting to happen.

Chuckled when someone shouted that cantwell looked like a ***** Disney villain.

Massive changes need to take place in the summer. Marshall bad positioning for the first and couldn't really make out what happened at the 3rd not great. Thought mckirdy did ok when he came on. Passing the ball straight to their players was unforgivable from some. Happened far too often, esp when no pressure on

21-05-2023, 02:54 PM
One time near the end of the first half Joe Newell put on some pressure and chased down a ball and the rangers players booted it out for a throw.

I'm not expecting a miracle and we smash them off the park as we have to be realistic, I expected a bit more of wanting it.

We created a couple of chances and Josh Campbell is close to making it 1-1.

To be fair Rangers never really had to work hard for the victory and we will need to be much better if we want anything for the next 2 games.

Donegal Hibby
21-05-2023, 03:04 PM
Losing the next two games certainly isn't out of the question, playing Celtic I expect nothing from and a trip to hertz isn't easy though one I think we could win also though .

Maloney is one of the reasons we are in the mess we are in with awful signings like Mitchell and player's like Henderson who was given a long term contract that our current manager has been trying to move on plus the fact we have a few of the Ross signings that I don't think he wants too .

Any manager in charge of us would need time with the issues we have unless we go down the route Watford are taking in becoming a complete basket case of a club. Nottingham forest had recruitment issues though stuck with the manager and it payed off.

There not excuses btw just the simple facts of the situation we have been in though in your personal dislike for the manager you seem totally unwilling to to look at the bigger picture which is a pity really and calling him a snake, **** etc is OTT too imo .

21-05-2023, 03:04 PM
That wasn’t my choice of word, was replying to another poster. Regardless of the wording we didn’t look like a team who had something meaningful to play for.

After the second goal. I thought we’d played well up to that point and been let dow, again, by Marshall.

21-05-2023, 03:14 PM
Losing the next two games certainly isn't out of the question, playing Celtic I expect nothing from and a trip to hertz isn't easy though one I think we could win also though .

Maloney is one of the reasons we are in the mess we are in with awful signings like Mitchell and player's like Henderson who was given a long term contract that our current manager has been trying to move on plus the fact we have a few of the Ross signings that I don't think he wants too .

Any manager in charge of us would need time with the issues we have unless we go down the route Watford are taking in becoming a complete basket case of a club. Nottingham forest had recruitment issues though stuck with the manager and it payed off.

There not excuses btw just the simple facts of the situation we have been in though in your personal dislike for the manager you seem totally unwilling to to look at the bigger picture which is a pity really and calling him a snake, **** etc is OTT too imo .

Lee Johnson was also in charge for our absolute disaster of a summer transfer window. That’s got nothing to do with Ross or Maloney. He got to spend a lot of money and then had to try and fix it all in January. For a man that said he had watched us and knew what we needed he certainly went about it all wrong.

I said before that finishing 5th would be a slightly below average season given how we did in the cups. If we were to finish 6th behind St Mirren and miss out on Europe it would take it to a failure of a season. We are currently needing others to do us a favour because I’ve no faith that we get positive results in our next two games.

21-05-2023, 03:19 PM

Any manager in charge of us would need time with the issues we have unless we go down the route Watford are taking and becoming a complete basket case of a club. Nottingham forest had recruitment issues though stuck with the manager and it payed off.

Aaah right get you. The poor players brought in when Maloney was here were all down to him, but the poor players that came in under Johnson were someone else’s signings. Thanks for clearing that one up. I’m pretty sure if we replaced Johnson the next manager wouldn’t want a number of players that came in under his watch.

Interesting that Robinson came in this season and has done very well with St Mirren, or Kettlewell took over a floundering Motherwell and turned them round. But we apparently have so many issues that our manager needs multiple windows to make meaningful improvements.

Reads to me that excuses are exactly what you are making. The simple facts of the situation are that we are on course for a 3 point improvement with a squad that is better than one the previous manager had to work with. Or do you think Maloney had a better squad ?

21-05-2023, 03:21 PM
Lee Johnson was also in charge for our absolute disaster of a summer transfer window. That’s got nothing to do with Ross or Maloney. He got to spend a lot of money and then had to try and fix it all in January. For a man that said he had watched us and knew what we needed he certainly went about it all wrong.

I said before that finishing 5th would be a slightly below average season given how we did in the cups. If we were to finish 6th behind St Mirren and miss out on Europe it would take it to a failure of a season. We are currently needing others to do us a favour because I’ve no faith that we get positive results in our next two games.
Think its unfair to pin the poor recruitment on him
last summer. Suspect a few deals were pretty far down the line by the time he joined and he was “persuaded” to give the ok. I think this summer things will be on a different level recruitment wise. Lets keep bashing LJ meantime though. I’m glad the guy has another opportunity to go under the new structure. Very excited for next season.

LewysGot2
21-05-2023, 03:23 PM
Had we gone in at HT 0-0 it wouldn't have been outrageous. For all The Thes possession there hadn't been any real sense that things were getting away from us. The timing was awful, the goal itself down to an awful individual error and a free kick that didn't appear to be one. Jimmy Bullard's reincarnation seems awfy prone to falling over.

Losing the first goal was pivotal.

Did they announce a MotM? I didn't hear it. When that happens it usually means an embarrassing choice has been made...wonder if the sponsor wanted to meet a Scotland keeper 👀🙄😉

One thing that struck me prematch was LJs mentioning the 3 games in 6 days being a big ask. It felt like we were at 2/3 pace from the off - was physical game management too much on the mind? The triple sub at 2-0 was definitely all about Wednesday...and saving legs.

Whats so frustrating is the Elie Youan who looks like he's cruising instead of striving was there again today. Lewis is almost old enough to be his Dad and was putting in more effort by a very long way. All we ever ask of our players is first and foremost they TRY.

Anyhow, on to the next one. Celtic without Carter Vickers look weaker through the centre than those opposition heifers did today...it's one wee hope to cling on to...

21-05-2023, 03:23 PM

There not excuses btw just the simple facts of the situation we have been in though in your personal dislike for the manager you seem totally unwilling to to look at the bigger picture which is a pity really and calling him a snake, **** etc is OTT too imo . LJ has had luxury of a full pre season , 2 transfer windows and being pardoned for using LC as a training exercise . We were really unlucky not to make the top 6 last year and were very close to making the SC final despite an even worse injury record than this season . Maloney came in mid season with team in crisis and losing Boyle almost immediately . Right up to his last game in charge the team at least looked very motivated . We`ve scraped into the top 6 with a pretty good chance of not making 5th as St Mirren must have a good chance of winning at least one of their matches . So really whatever happens in our next 2 matches very few if any signs of progress .

21-05-2023, 03:29 PM

A couple of weeks ago I watched an Aberdeen team that we played off the park last week beat Rangers easily with the type of performance we produced against the Hearts. There was certainly no fire or aggression in that performance today.
If we hadn’t missed that sitter before half time it may have been different but Rangers would probably just have moved up a gear. Very, very disappointing though not surprising.

21-05-2023, 03:29 PM
LJ has had luxury of a full pre season , 2 transfer windows and being pardoned for using LC as a training exercise . We were really unlucky not to make the top 6 last year and were very close to making the SC final despite an even worse injury record than this season . Maloney came in mid season with team in crisis and losing Boyle almost immediately . Right up to his last game in charge the team at least looked very motivated . We`ve scraped into the top 6 with a pretty good chance of not making 5th as St Mirren must have a good chance of winning at least one of their matches . So really whatever happens in our next 2 matches very few if any signs of progress .

:agree: Would love to see someone dispute what you’ve said. It just feels like it’s excuse after excuse for those defending Johnson and the negligible improvement we’ve seen since he took over.

21-05-2023, 03:38 PM
:agree: Would love to see someone dispute what you’ve said. It just feels like it’s excuse after excuse for those defending Johnson and the negligible improvement we’ve seen since he took over.

That's because it is. He's been given a complete pass this season. God knows why.

Donegal Hibby
21-05-2023, 03:41 PM

LJ was in charge in our summer transfer window that the recruitment failed in which was admitted and yes the summer window hasn't anything to do with Ross or Maloney though there's still no getting away from the fact there's players still at this club signed by the last two previous managers that I think LJ would like to move on and aren't good enough.

League cup was a disaster no doubt about it .Can't see us getting anything from Celtic game though the Derby game is winnable imo . Think Dons will beat st mirren and we will get 5th and I'd be reasonably happy with that considering everything that's went on and that our budget is probably the 5th biggest in the league as well

21-05-2023, 03:50 PM
Think its unfair to pin the poor recruitment on him
last summer. Suspect a few deals were pretty far down the line by the time he joined and he was “persuaded” to give the ok. I think this summer things will be on a different level recruitment wise. Lets keep bashing LJ meantime though. I’m glad the guy has another opportunity to go under the new structure. Very excited for next season.

I also think it’s unfair to still be mentioning Ross/Maloney when LJ has had plenty backing and signed loads himself. He was more than happy to take credit for a good number of them but changed his tune when results weren’t positive.

January certainly looked better recruitment wise and we’ve got to hope it gets better again in the summer.

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 03:56 PM

Creeping into the top 6 doesn’t mask our failings for me.

We’re at best marginally better than we were at the end under JR and under Maloney. Marginally better than that isn’t anywhere near good enough.

cameronw-hfc
21-05-2023, 03:57 PM
I also think it’s unfair to still be mentioning Ross/Maloney when LJ has had plenty backing and signed loads himself. He was more than happy to take credit for a good number of them but changed his tune when results weren’t positive.

January certainly looked better recruitment wise and we’ve got to hope it gets better again in the summer.

I always got the feeling LJ was 'taking credit' for the signings as a way to take the flak away from Ian. He publicly defended Ian multiple times then said they were his signings, when they fit the mould of our previous recruitment model (besides Mcgeady and Marshall)

21-05-2023, 04:00 PM
I’m not going to lie I’d be more than happy for Johnston to go and I’d be even more happy if Kensell went with him.

If Johnstone here next season I will support the team through thick and thin but I genuinely don’t think he’s good enough.

Hope he proves me wrong.

GreenGray
21-05-2023, 04:04 PM
I think the fact Johnson starts Jeggo week in week out is enough for me.

Donegal Hibby
21-05-2023, 04:08 PM
LJ has had luxury of a full pre season , 2 transfer windows and being pardoned for using LC as a training exercise . We were really unlucky not to make the top 6 last year and were very close to making the SC final despite an even worse injury record than this season . Maloney came in mid season with team in crisis and losing Boyle almost immediately . Right up to his last game in charge the team at least looked very motivated . We`ve scraped into the top 6 with a pretty good chance of not making 5th as St Mirren must have a good chance of winning at least one of their matches . So really whatever happens in our next 2 matches very few if any signs of progress .
LJ has had a full pre season with players in the squad signed by previous manager's, 2 transfer windows, the first and main one that was a mess due to poor recruitment, the 2nd one is the hardest transfer window to do business in according to most managers. League cup manager admitted to making mistakes in by trying to give players some game time .

As to you making Maloney out to be a good manager his signings of Mitchell and Henderson were awful . Henderson came on today and done nothing yet he was given a four year deal when Maloney was in charge which is a massive part of the current problems now . Also Maloney's football was awful and least at times under LJ we look like we are capable of scoring goals which we didn't under Maloney.Getting rid of Ross and appointing Maloney was a massive downgrade imo which has set us back.

HFC93
21-05-2023, 04:11 PM

Who is taking Jeggo's place?

21-05-2023, 04:11 PM

Not a fan of Jeggo, but think he was fine today. I'd have kept him on instead of bringing on Henderson.

Jeggo does a job, if you're expecting anything more than that out of him you'll be disappointed.

We absolutely need better going forward, but personally don't think he was an issue today

#2 Double Tap
21-05-2023, 04:22 PM
Who is taking Jeggo's place?

our best three midfielders are still doyle-hayes newell and magennis.

im sure johnson has signed 20 players, it could be more, how any one can still be mentioning jack or maloney is crazy.......this is his team.

GreenGray
21-05-2023, 04:23 PM
our best three midfielders are still doyle-hayes newell and magennis.

im sure johnson has signed 20 players, it could be more, how any one can still be mentioning jack or maloney is crazy.......this is his team.

CJ at holding midfielder and Miller at RB is an obvious solution to me.

Delfierre can’t be any worse than Jeggo either as an option.

#2 Double Tap
21-05-2023, 04:24 PM
CJ at holding midfielder and Miller at RB is an obvious solution to me.

Delfierre can’t be any worse than Jeggo either as an option.

shudder***********

GreenGray
21-05-2023, 04:24 PM
Not a fan of Jeggo, but think he was fine today. I'd have kept him on instead of bringing on Henderson.

Jeggo does a job, if you're expecting anything more than that out of him you'll be disappointed.

We absolutely need better going forward, but personally don't think he was an issue today

So I shouldn’t expect him to complete a simple pass as that is asking too much of him? Is that not the bare minimum for a professional footballer.

Fuzzywuzzy
21-05-2023, 04:26 PM
There was a long throw by Newell that nearly ended in a goal. I don't think it would have counted though as it was a foul throw. Newell appeared to be well on the pitch when he took the throw

GreenGray
shudder***********

?

So I shouldn’t expect him to complete a simple pass as that is asking too much of him? Is that not the bare kink in for a professional footballer.

He made plenty simple passes today though. He, like probably the majority of our team today also misplaced a few simple passes.

LJ has had a full pre season with players in the squad signed by previous manager's, 2 transfer windows, the first and main one that was a mess due to poor recruitment, the 2nd one is the hardest transfer window to do business in according to most managers. League cup manager admitted to making mistakes in by trying to give players some game time .

As to you making Maloney out to be a good manager his signings of Mitchell and Henderson were awful . Henderson came on today and done nothing yet he was given a four year deal when Maloney was in charge which is a massive part of the current problems now . Also Maloney's football was awful and least at times under LJ we look like we are capable of scoring goals which we didn't under Maloney.Getting rid of Ross and appointing Maloney was a massive downgrade imo which has set us back.

So you are basically saying the poor players that came in under Maloney were all down to him but Johnson had zero responsibility for the players that came in this summer ?

That terrible manager Maloney managed to gain 3 points less than it looks like the one you are constantly defending will achieve. Despite his failings Mitchell offered more than Bojang, Tavares and McKirdy have managed between them. We also brought in Clarke while Maloney was here, but I guess he’ll get no credit for that. Henderson has been a dreadful signing, you won’t see me disagreeing with that but to say he’s a massive part of our current problems. Really ? We have one player that came in under him but that’s set us back has it ?

He's here!
21-05-2023, 04:28 PM

Creeping into the top 6 doesn’t mask our failings for me.

We’re at best marginally better than we were at the end under JR and under Maloney. Marginally better than that isn’t anywhere near good enough.

Based on each team's spending power/squad strength/quality, fifth is realistically the best we could have hoped for this season. If we achieve that then I guess it goes down as mission accomplished.

LewysGot2
21-05-2023, 04:29 PM
So you are basically saying the poor players that came in under Maloney were all down to him but Johnson had zero responsibility for the players that came in this summer ?

That terrible manager Maloney managed to gain 3 points less than it looks like the one you are constantly defending will achieve. Despite his failings Mitchell offered more than Bojang, Tavares and McKirdy have managed between them. We also brought in Clarke while Maloney was here, but I guess he’ll get no credit for that. Henderson has been a dreadful signing, you won’t see me disagreeing with that but to say he’s a massive part of our current problems. Really ? We have one player that came in under him but that’s set us back has it ?

Maloney didn’t get last season’s points tally though? He was only with us for a footballing nanosecond…Jack Ross and SDG were also in charge.

#2 Double Tap
21-05-2023, 04:31 PM
?

boy canny pass for cm, and the rb has looked rubbish in previous game...

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 04:32 PM
Based on each team's spending power/squad strength/quality, fifth is realistically the best we could have hoped for this season. If we achieve that then I guess it goes down as mission accomplished.

We were a Melkerson sitter away from top 6 last season.

I’m not buying into the fact that we’ve seen a huge improvement on last season when you consider that was the difference between last season and this season.

21-05-2023, 04:34 PM
Maloney didn’t get last season’s points tally though? He was only with us for a footballing nanosecond…Jack Ross and SDG were also in charge.

Well apparently that footballing nanosecond has held us back considerably and poor Lee is having to undo the mess his one signing has created.

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 04:37 PM
Well apparently that footballing nanosecond has held us back considerably and poor Lee is having to undo the mess his one signing has created.

Is it really though?

What players that Maloney signed are holding us back? Not one player starting today was signed by Maloney.

The idea that he’s to blame for the desperately poor side we are just now a year later is laughable imo.

21-05-2023, 04:37 PM

I’m not buying into the fact that we’ve seen a huge improvement on last season when you consider that was the difference between last season and this season.

We were also unlucky to miss out on a Cup Final place, with a woeful forward line. I’m not rewriting history, it wasn’t great under Maloney but I don’t see enough of an improvement to deservedly sack one manager and back the other.

21-05-2023, 04:39 PM
Is it really though?

What players that Maloney signed are holding us back? Not one player starting today was signed by Maloney.

The idea that he’s to blame for the desperately poor side we are just now a year later is laughable imo.

No 💯 it isn’t, but it’s what some are trying to suggest when defending Johnson.

Skol
21-05-2023, 04:40 PM
It seems I was wrong. I said if we end with three defeats the Johnson out brigade would be out in force. It only needed one defeat.

That defeat against a team with many more resources than us and if we hadn’t chucked two goals and had taken some of our chances could have been a very different game.

Johnson has improved us from the maloney experiment. Granted there is a long way to go to reach the heights of jack ross, but we need to stick with a manager for a period now and back him.

GreenGray
21-05-2023, 04:48 PM
boy canny pass for cm, and the rb has looked rubbish in previous game...

Are you saying CJ can’t pass? He’s streets ahead of Jeggo technically

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 04:52 PM
It seems I was wrong. I said if we end with three defeats the Johnson out brigade would be out in force. It only needed one defeat.

That defeat against a team with many more resources than us and if we hadn’t chucked two goals and had taken some of our chances could have been a very different game.

Johnson has improved us from the maloney experiment. Granted there is a long way to go to reach the heights of jack ross, but we need to stick with a manager for a period now and back him.

I may have missed it but has anyone said he should be sacked after today?

#2 Double Tap
21-05-2023, 04:52 PM
Are you saying CJ can’t pass? He’s streets ahead of Jeggo technically

im no a fan of jeggo either, just dont think moving egan there will help/

GreenGray
21-05-2023, 04:53 PM
im no a fan of jeggo either, just dont think moving egan there will help/

He’s played there before and looked better than Jeggo so I’m sure it will.

21-05-2023, 04:54 PM
I may have missed it but has anyone said he should be sacked after today?

I definitely think we should wait until the last game to do that :greengrin

21-05-2023, 04:54 PM
Is it really though?

Are you seriously suggesting we are a desperately poorer side compared to how we were at this stage a year ago? Other than the first few games under Maloney we were a bore fest the majority of the time. We have created a barrow load of chances this season and poor finishing has done for us. I’d rather watch this season’s version of us rather than last season’s any day of the week.

#2 Double Tap
21-05-2023, 04:55 PM

then right back is considerably weakened.

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 05:00 PM
Are you seriously suggesting we are a desperately poorer side compared to how we were at this stage a year ago? Other than the first few games under Maloney we were a bore fest the majority of the time. We have created a barrow load of chances this season and poor finishing has done for us. I’d rather watch this season’s version of us rather than last season’s any day of the week.

No, I never suggested we were a poorer side so I’m not sure what you’re on about :confused:

Are we all that much better? Our record would suggest we’re not really.

If (and I realise it’s an if, but the odds would suggest it’s a likely if) we lose the last two games we’ll be 0.02ppg better than under Maloney. That’s less than one point over a season.

If that’s progress to you then fair enough. It’s not for me though.

LewysGot2
21-05-2023, 05:13 PM

His fitness levels make centre mid an ask. Has struggled to play 90 mins of late...he's more effective at the back, facing play.

JDH will likely start again either Wednesday or Saturday

21-05-2023, 05:22 PM
Bar the OF the standard of the league is absolutely dreadful. You’ll excuse me for getting carried away ‘cos we’ve done slightly better than we did last season. The way we are going we’ll end up finishing 6th. That coupled with our cup performances should be enough to empty the clown.

The league isn't that bad. The old firm unfortunately are much stronger now.

21-05-2023, 05:33 PM
The stick Mckirdy has got last couple of games is really pathetic tbh though not surprised as Newell was getting it on here and the manager getting called a **** again even though we are playing a club that's got 10 times our budget . Sad stuff .

Agree with that way too critical

21-05-2023, 05:35 PM

The quality of the league is as bad as I can ever remember. No matter how big a winless run teams go on they are never more than a couple of wins away from reaching their desired target again. I’ve never known a sustained period where there is so little to separate the non old firm 10. It’s a race to the bottom.

21-05-2023, 05:37 PM
I’m not Johnson’s biggest fan but, over the last few weeks, he’s managed to squeeze as much from what he has available as you can.

We had to score first today, we were playing well and the goalie does what he does.

I’ve seen enough lately to suggest that we can be better next season and I see little point in giving someone else the opportunity to do it. Massive summer and imperative we get a good start next season but Johnson should (and will be) given the opportunity.

Totally agree

21-05-2023, 05:47 PM
The quality of the league is as bad as I can ever remember. No matter how big a winless run teams go on they are never more than a couple of wins away from reaching their desired target again. I’ve never known a sustained period where there is so little to separate the non old firm 10. It’s a race to the bottom.

Agree. Don’t know what the points totals have been for third in recent history but this year will surely be one of the lower ones.

21-05-2023, 05:49 PM
No, I never suggested we were a poorer side so I’m not sure what you’re on about :confused:

Are we all that much better? Our record would suggest we’re not really.

If (and I realise it’s an if, but the odds would suggest it’s a likely if) we lose the last two games we’ll be 0.02ppg better than under Maloney. That’s less than one point over a season.

If that’s progress to you then fair enough. It’s not for me though.
You said we were a desperately poor side. I am asking if you were suggesting we were poorer than we were under SM.

I’m not really into XG etc but from what I watch I’d be surprised if that wasn’t way ahead of SMs numbers.

21-05-2023, 05:53 PM
You said we were a desperately poor side. I am asking if you were suggesting we were poorer than we were under SM.

I’m not really into XG etc but from what I watch I’d be surprised if that wasn’t way ahead of SMs numbers.

Much of an inconsistent muchness IMO. Only really differentiated between one team falling just short of the top 6 and the other falling over the line. Bald men fighting over a comb type of thing.

21-05-2023, 06:00 PM
one point from 21 against the old firm

so far

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 06:09 PM

You asked if I was seriously suggesting it. I’m not quite sure how my post could have been construed as saying we were desperately poor compared to last season as I never suggested that.

We’re not much better than last season imo, at least not to an extent worth getting excited about. When you consider the backing LJ has had compared to what Maloney had (losing Boyle who was not a kick in the arse off a one man team) then I’d suggest the job LJ is doing is arguably worse. He’s had better tools than Maloney ever had and is delivering much the same.

21-05-2023, 06:20 PM

……. as they, without doubt, always will be. 5th place, which I think we can hold on to, unless St Mirren overperform, is probably our dead strength this season. Unless we can pick up a few better players, we are probably destined to remain a safe, boring middle of the table outfit.

Donegal Hibby
21-05-2023, 06:21 PM

We have signed poor player's under both managers though the difference is Maloney hasn't had to deal with LJ signings . I think Henderson is a massive part of the problem as are a few others. Said a couple of weeks ago I didn't see one player that could come off the bench and have a positive effect on the game . The current manager knows this imo as he's tried to move a few on in January but they didn't want to go cause of the contracts given under previous manager's.

It's not just one player btw . And getting rid of Ross and appointing Maloney was a massive blunder , guys never a manager imo and watching Maloney's Hibs it felt like we would never score never mind score 4 or 6 goals as we have done with LJ as manager . Just got relegated at Wigan and still SUPER PROUD btw .

You keep saying there's no progress compared to Maloney I'd disagree with that as I think at times the footballs been very good and much better than anything Maloney's team produced . I've been in the LJ camp from day 1 and still AM , I didn't expect anything today against a team 10 times our budget and on a different level from us though knew the anti Johnson brigade would be out in force after it though .🤭

21-05-2023, 06:32 PM
You asked if I was seriously suggesting it. I’m not quite sure how my post could have been construed as saying we were desperately poor compared to last season as I never suggested that.

We’re not much better than last season imo, at least not to an extent worth getting excited about. When you consider the backing LJ has had compared to what Maloney had (losing Boyle who was not a kick in the arse off a one man team) then I’d suggest the job LJ is doing is arguably worse. He’s had better tools than Maloney ever had and is delivering much the same.
I think that’s where we disagree. I think the football this season has been a lot easier on the eye than under SM. We all have our own opinions of course.

21-05-2023, 06:32 PM
I’ve done a lot of thinking in the hours since the match and I’ve come to the conclusion that the game seven years ago was better.

He's here!
21-05-2023, 10:14 PM

so far

And yet some seem angry we didn't take anything from the game.

You just need to look at the stands housing the Hibs fans today to see how little was expected of us. 18k attendance given. More like 11 or 12k, if that.

21-05-2023, 10:47 PM
We have signed poor player's under both managers though the difference is Maloney hasn't had to deal with LJ signings . I think Henderson is a massive part of the problem as are a few others. Said a couple of weeks ago I didn't see one player that could come off the bench and have a positive effect on the game . The current manager knows this imo as he's tried to move a few on in January but they didn't want to go cause of the contracts given under previous manager's.

It's not just one player btw . And getting rid of Ross and appointing Maloney was a massive blunder , guys never a manager imo and watching Maloney's Hibs it felt like we would never score never mind score 4 or 6 goals as we have done with LJ as manager . Just got relegated at Wigan and still SUPER PROUD btw .

You keep saying there's no progress compared to Maloney I'd disagree with that as I think at times the footballs been very good and much better than anything Maloney's team produced . I've been in the LJ camp from day 1 and still AM , I didn't expect anything today against a team 10 times our budget and on a different level from us though knew the anti Johnson brigade would be out in force after it though .🤭

And what about all the players brought in since Johnson was appointed or because you are in the LJ camp as you put it does he get a free ride ? You can’t blame Maloney for the huge issue that you seem to think Henderson is while ignoring guys like Tavares, McKirdy, Miller and Cabraja who have offered varying degrees of heehaw that have come in under Johnson. I’d argue a few of them are even more of an issue than Henderson. The current manager tried to move on players that were signed since he was appointed.

I’m not saying Maloney did a good job or the football was anything but a hard watch, but he had nowhere near the backing Johnson has been given, then factor in losing our best player for almost all of his time with us. Who knows if the football would have been better if he’d had the same opportunities as Johnson.

I said the progress has been minimal at best. The points we look likely to gain along with the goal difference would back that up. The football has been better at times OK, but there’s been little consistency and at times it’s been just as awful as anything under Maloney.

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 12:25 AM
And what about all the players brought in since Johnson was appointed or because you are in the LJ camp as you put it does he get a free ride ? You can’t blame Maloney for the huge issue that you seem to think Henderson is while ignoring guys like Tavares, McKirdy, Miller and Cabraja who have offered varying degrees of heehaw that have come in under Johnson. I’d argue a few of them are even more of an issue than Henderson. The current manager tried to move on players that were signed since he was appointed.

I’m not saying Maloney did a good job or the football was anything but a hard watch, but he had nowhere near the backing Johnson has been given, then factor in losing our best player for almost all of his time with us. Who knows if the football would have been better if he’d had the same opportunities as Johnson.

I said the progress has been minimal at best. The points we look likely to gain along with the goal difference would back that up. The football has been better at times OK, but there’s been little consistency and at times it’s been just as awful as anything under Maloney.
Some of the signings haven't been good under LJ I grant you that which was down to poor recruitment that's let him down though others like Youan , CJ , Fish and Mykola have all been good imo . Can't remember any good ones Maloney took in though you seemed to rate Mitchell quite highly apparently.

I thought Mckirdy was ok today when he came on . Miller was excellent against Celtic and cabraja started off well though his form dipped after losing a family member which is understandable imo. Hendersons no fault to the lad isn't good enough imo and we have tried to move him on though he didn't want to go which is understandable tbf though that in its self is a problem for the manager having a player he doesn't want ! .

Maloney did lose Boyle which would have been a massive blow to any manager of our football club . LJ lost Boyle aswell as Nisbet , Mcgeady , Mykola , Magennis etc etc which also has had a bearing on our season and if you take into account the amount of dodgy decision's that's went against us we would probably be sitting 3rd ! .

The progress under LJ compared to Maloney's football imo is night and day . I thought he was out of his depth at us and the football awful .The board made the right call imo . I do wish Maloney well btw and wouldn't call the guy a snake or **** as he done his best for our club just like LJ is doing now under difficult circumstances 👍

May21/05/216
22-05-2023, 04:58 AM
Some of the signings haven't been good under LJ I grant you that which was down to poor recruitment that's let him down though others like Youan , CJ , Fish and Mykola have all been good imo . Can't remember any good ones Maloney took in though you seemed to rate Mitchell quite highly apparently.

I thought Mckirdy was ok today when he came on . Miller was excellent against Celtic and cabraja started off well though his form dipped after losing a family member which is understandable imo. Hendersons no fault to the lad isn't good enough imo and we have tried to move him on though he didn't want to go which is understandable tbf though that in its self is a problem for the manager having a player he doesn't want ! .

Maloney did lose Boyle which would have been a massive blow to any manager of our football club . LJ lost Boyle aswell as Nisbet , Mcgeady , Mykola , Magennis etc etc which also has had a bearing on our season and if you take into account the amount of dodgy decision's that's went against us we would probably be sitting 3rd ! .

The progress under LJ compared to Maloney's football imo is night and day . I thought he was out of his depth at us and the football awful .The board made the right call imo . I do wish Maloney well btw and wouldn't call the guy a snake or **** as he done his best for our club just like LJ is doing now under difficult circumstances [emoji106]I agree with post but stand by for those who don't agree

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

McGruber
22-05-2023, 06:11 AM

I agree with you. Progress, if any, is absolute minimal. Spent a fortune to get there. Potentially 3 points more in the league than last season with no cup runs compared to a final and semi final.

Have zero faith in this team being able to get anything out the next 2 games. Not saying they won't just don't trust them to show up or be good enough.

Johnson is very lucky to still be in the gig, he got more leeway than his predecessors and delivered about the same. He will get next season even if we lose the next 2, which is the most likely outcome, and we are all a bit deflated going into the summer.

22-05-2023, 07:22 AM
What are the difficult circumstances that LJ has had to work under?

I don't see what's different for him, than for Maloney or Ross?

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2023, 07:44 AM

The progress under LJ compared to Maloney's football imo is night and day . I thought he was out of his depth at us and the football awful .The board made the right call imo . I do wish Maloney well btw and wouldn't call the guy a snake or **** as he done his best for our club just like LJ is doing now under difficult circumstances 👍

Maloney lost Nisbet, never had Magennis available once, had Boyle sold after 2 games and had Porteous suspended and/or getting sent off for around a third of the games he managed. He never even had the luxury of occasionally being able to count on guys like Myko and McGeady. Instead he had the luxury of going into cup semi finals with James Scott starting as a lone striker and being given a guy in Melkersen who had never played football on grass.

There’s absolutely no chance LJ has been given a worse hand than Maloney was imo so to only be potentially ending up 3 points better off with the backing he’s had is terrible.

22-05-2023, 07:52 AM

The progress under LJ compared to Maloney's football imo is night and day . I thought he was out of his depth at us and the football awful .The board made the right call imo . I do wish Maloney well btw and wouldn't call the guy a snake or **** as he done his best for our club just like LJ is doing now under difficult circumstances ��

You are applying different standards to Maloney and Johnson. You keep slating the former for bringing in Henderson (in particular) and Mitchell yet the poor players we’ve brought in under Johnson/ones that have made close to zero impact (of which there have been many) you say are down to poor recruitment as if he had no input on their signings. If I believe you, Maloney was responsible for the players that came in while he was the manager whereas the ones that have come in under Johnson were down to the recruitment team. Yet the good ones you are giving Johnson credit for ? That’s the sort of thing I’d expect him to come out with.

When defending Johnson you state one of his windows that he’s had to bring in players was the January one where it’s really difficult to bring in quality. That will be the one and only window that Maloney had then. Harry Clarke came in under Maloney, he was excellent. You are making things up when suggesting I rated Mitchell highly. I said he had offered more than guys like Tavares. Is that inaccurate ?

Maloney lost Boyle and was left with close to nothing. You say Johnson lost Magennis, did Maloney have him available ? ‘Cos you like Johnson you are applying different standards to him that you applied to Maloney, and making up excuse after excuse for the former (as he does himself.)

If, in all likelihood a 3 point increase in our total points gained from last season with a worse goal difference is night and day progress I’d hate to think what minimal progress would have looked like.

22-05-2023, 08:05 AM
Maloney lost Nisbet, never had Magennis available once, had Boyle sold after 2 games and had Porteous suspended and/or getting sent off for around a third of the games he managed. He never even had the luxury of occasionally being able to count on guys like Myko and McGeady. Instead he had the luxury of going into cup semi finals with James Scott starting as a lone striker and being given a guy in Melkersen who had never played football on grass.

There’s absolutely no chance LJ has been given a worse hand than Maloney was imo so to only be potentially ending up 3 points better off with the backing he’s had is terrible.

I don’t think either manager has been particularly well backed.

Maloney was thrown under the bus but didn’t show much to suggest he deserved to stay and be backed.

Jury’s out on Johnson but I don’t feel like the head coach has been our biggest problem this season, or during most of our seasons.

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2023, 08:18 AM
You are applying different standards to Maloney and Johnson. You keep slating the former for bringing in Henderson (in particular) and Mitchell yet the poor players we’ve brought in under Johnson/ones that have made close to zero impact (of which there have been many) you say are down to poor recruitment as if he had no input on their signings. If I believe you, Maloney was responsible for the players that came in while he was the manager whereas the ones that have come in under Johnson were down to the recruitment team. Yet the good ones you are giving Johnson credit for ? That’s the sort of thing I’d expect him to come out with.

When defending Johnson you state one of his windows that he’s had to bring in players was the January one where it’s really difficult to bring in quality. That will be the one and only window that Maloney had then. Harry Clarke came in under Maloney, he was excellent. You are making things up when suggesting I rated Mitchell highly. I said he had offered more than guys like Tavares. Is that inaccurate ?

Maloney lost Boyle and was left with close to nothing. You say Johnson lost Magennis, did Maloney have him available ? ‘Cos you like Johnson you are applying different standards to him that you applied to Maloney, and making up excuse after excuse for the former (as he does himself.)

If, in all likelihood a 3 point increase in our total points gained from last season with a worse goal difference is night and day progress I’d hate to think what minimal progress would have looked like.

The post is very much a Maloney gets the blame for everything but LJ gets off with nearly everything despite the issues under both managers being very similar. Crap signings and generally crap football with pretty crap results.

22-05-2023, 08:20 AM

People have been saying the league is the worst ever for 20 years on here.

22-05-2023, 08:23 AM
I don’t think either manager has been particularly well backed.

Maloney was thrown under the bus but didn’t show much to suggest he deserved to stay and be backed.

Jury’s out on Johnson but I don’t feel like the head coach has been our biggest problem this season, or during most of our seasons.

Given Johnson’s record, I’m surprised the jury is still out for so many people? Is it maybe that his chat after defeats actually works on some?

GreenGray
22-05-2023, 08:26 AM
What are the difficult circumstances that LJ has had to work under?

I don't see what's different for him, than for Maloney or Ross?

If anything Maloney had it worse. I have heard some interesting excuses for LJ but blaming Maloney is certainly a new one.

I am sure we were interested in Henderson prior to Maloney anyway it wasn't his signing.

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2023, 08:34 AM
If anything Maloney had it worse. I have heard some interesting excuses for LJ but blaming Maloney is certainly a new one.

I am sure we were interested in Henderson prior to Maloney anyway it wasn't his signing.

He got a phonecall the night he scored for Celtic against Betis saying we wanted him. That was before Maloney was our manager. We 100% were trying to sign him before Maloney even came in the door. Henderson became more interested in the move though once Maloney was appointed.

22-05-2023, 08:53 AM

You just need to look at the stands housing the Hibs fans today to see how little was expected of us. 18k attendance given. More like 11 or 12k, if that.

Game live on tv kids football likely on. Many maybe put off by the sectarian filth being sung for 90mins. Even more bizarre one of our top politicians involved in the game who will no doubt have no opinion on it.

22-05-2023, 08:56 AM
He got a phonecall the night he scored for Celtic against Betis saying we wanted him. That was before Maloney was our manager. We 100% were trying to sign him before Maloney even came in the door. Henderson became more interested in the move though once Maloney was appointed.

Very similar to McKirdy in that we’d looked at him previously but ultimately Johnson wanted him signed.

22-05-2023, 09:45 AM
People have been saying the league is the worst ever for 20 years on here.

It’s terrible. Aberdeen or Hearts will finish 3rd. The former were awful on Saturday and were not much better the previous week. For all the chat about the OF being so good I’m not convinced they are better than the O’Neill Celtic sides or the Huns with Gascgoine, Laudrup etc. The rest of the teams in the league are a lot worse imo.

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 09:53 AM

Maloney was dismissed by the Hibs board for as they said at the time " THERE WAS NO IMPROVEMENT" which I'd agree with tbh as the football was awful and there was no sign of players improving under him .

Since LJ has been appointed there's been some awfully bad performance's there's no getting away from that and it's been a really mixed season for us though there's also been really excellent performances like 6-0 Dons , beating hertz 1-0 , 0-0 pittodrie two games we absolutely bossed btw and more .

While I said I'm in the LJ camp in my support for him I'd be like that whoever our manager at this time as long as I seen some improvement which I have . There's quite a few players need to go and the recruitment needs to be a lot better and I'm hopeful giving our manager the summer transfer window we will a much improved Hibs side.

Think this is all a waste of my time discussing this with you in fairness as you seem to have taken a total spite to the manager and want him gone anyhow which of course is your right as a Hibs fan though some of the stuff you been calling him for months hasn't been nice or in anyway justifiable . You want him gone ! . I want him to get more time! . We will leave it at that 👍

22-05-2023, 10:25 AM

Can we use that logic here? What about the near misses/ major decisions that have gone against us this season?

22-05-2023, 10:35 AM
Given Johnson’s record, I’m surprised the jury is still out for so many people? Is it maybe that his chat after defeats actually works on some?

In all likelihood we'll finish 5th, where our budget suggests we probably should. We've had our ups and our downs this season so "jury is out" should largely be reasonable.

The cups were poor but he was just in the door for one of them and got Hearts at a point when they were in decent form in the other (he won't be cut anything like as much slack should we fail next season).

I'd take some convincing from anyone that he's been an abject failure or a resounding success. Jury's out, deserves more time but it could yet go either way for me.

22-05-2023, 10:41 AM
Can we use that logic here? What about the near misses/ major decisions that have gone against us this season?

Fair point. Only last week we hit the post/bar four times in one game before also missing a penalty.

22-05-2023, 10:50 AM

I'm probably in the LJ out camp but the one thing holding me back is the above. I'm not sure if it's just rose tinted glasses but I feel like there are so many games where we have dominated, come close but just failed to pick up the 3 points

Is there data on xG this season? I'd love to know if my feeling is right as it would persuades me a bit more that we are improving and building, and just need some more time.

mcfly
22-05-2023, 11:36 AM
He’s not a very good manager, says same rubbish every week.

We don’t compete anymore v old firm especially at home - like we used to.

Fans know this now judging by the mass of empty seats across the home stands.

LJ will get the summer transfer window and prob first 1/4 of next year.

If no improvements and another early exit in league cup he will be gone.

HFC93
22-05-2023, 11:53 AM

so far

Not great but how does that compare with the rest of league?

22-05-2023, 12:06 PM

Very quick check suggests -

St Johnstone and Aberdeen have one win vs Rangers. Hibs, St Mirren and Livi have all drawn against them once.

St Mirren have one win vs Celtic. Motherwell and St Mirren have both drawn against them once.

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 12:12 PM
He’s not a very good manager, says same rubbish every week.

We don’t compete anymore v old firm especially at home - like we used to.

Fans know this now judging by the mass of empty seats across the home stands.

LJ will get the summer transfer window and prob first 1/4 of next year.

If no improvements and another early exit in league cup he will be gone.
I'd say he's a decent manager who's taken over a club with problems and been dealt a bad hand in poor recruitment as to talking same rubbish every week I'd disagree as I think he comes across well in interviews tbh

We don't compete at home against the old firm anymore because the gap between them and us has increased. They now have far more quality players in there team than us and normally have players on the bench that would walk into our first team too . They are also financially on another planet to us also and in game's against them I expect nothing and hope to get away without been giving a hiding. Sorry but them's the facts of it now , well least how I see it anyhow.

I agree that he will get the summer transfer window and he should tbh . I think if we are struggling next season then obviously his position as manager will need to be looked at though with moving a few players on ( if we can ) and some good recruitment and Boyle back there's every reason that we will have a good season next year imo .
GGTTH 🇳🇬

22-05-2023, 12:23 PM
Last season we reached the League Cup final and the Scottish Cup semi finals, and in the league had a points total of 54,

That resulted in the sacking of both Ross and Maloney

This season we were put of both cups at the first round and are currently on 58 points with two games left (against Celtc and Hearts) and there's not much signs that we're going to increase that points total.

TBH, I'm not sure I'm seeing much of an improvement.

22-05-2023, 12:25 PM
Last season we reached the League Cup final and the Scottish Cup semi finals, and in the league had a points total of 54,

This season we were put of both cups at the first round and are currently on 58 points with two games left (against Celtc and Hearts) and there's not much signs that we're going to increase that points total.

How many of the 54 points were gained in the bottom 6?

22-05-2023, 12:29 PM

There were about 15000 at the game with the East and South more or less full and the West and FF half full.

22-05-2023, 12:30 PM
I'd say he's a decent manager who's taken over a club with problems and been dealt a bad hand in poor recruitment as to talking same rubbish every week I'd disagree as I think he comes across well in interviews tbh

We don't compete at home against the old firm anymore because the gap between them and us has increased. They now have far more quality players in there team than us and normally have players on the bench that would walk into our first team too . They are also financially on another planet to us also and in game's against them I expect nothing and hope to get away without been giving a hiding. Sorry but them's the facts of it now , well least how I see it anyhow.

I agree that he will get the summer transfer window and he should tbh . I think if we are struggling next season then obviously his position as manager will need to be looked at though with moving a few players on ( if we can ) and some good recruitment and Boyle back there's every reason that we will have a good season next year imo .
GGTTH 🇳🇬

Is the gap between them and us now bigger than when they had Gazza, Laudrup, Albertz etc? Not sure that’s right to be honest.

I think we had enough fight yesterday but a real lack of quality on the ball and that’s what cost us. Who was our main guy who everything went through yesterday? Feels like when we got the ball we hoped to get it to the wings and hope Youann would create something out of nothing.

I know I’m being unrealistic here as he was a once in a lifetime player but I would love a Latapy, someone that we know we can get the ball to and he’ll cause them problems. As well as that who in midfield had the composure to get their foot on the ball and play at our tempo, a Dylan McGeouch type.

For me, we had neither of those kind of players yesterday and meant that when we did get possession it was panic stations.

22-05-2023, 12:39 PM
Is the gap between them and us now bigger than when they had Gazza, Laudrup, Albertz etc? Not sure that’s right to be honest.

I think we had enough fight yesterday but a real lack of quality on the ball and that’s what cost us. Who was our main guy who everything went through yesterday? Feels like when we got the ball we hoped to get it to the wings and hope Youann would create something out of nothing.

I know I’m being unrealistic here as he was a once in a lifetime player but I would love a Latapy, someone that we know we can get the ball to and he’ll cause them problems. As well as that who in midfield had the composure to get their foot on the ball and play at our tempo, a Dylan McGeouch type.

For me, we had neither of those kind of players yesterday and meant that when we did get possession it was panic stations.

I don’t believe the gap is bigger tbh but along with the chat about us being where we are in comparison to our budget feels like another excuse for poor performing.

22-05-2023, 12:45 PM

How many of the 54 points were gained in the bottom 6?

The answer is 7, we beat St Mirren & St Johnstone and drew with Aberdeen.

Saint Hibee
22-05-2023, 12:48 PM

It would be nice to see if Dylan McGeouch could fill the Dylan McGeouch role! I think he's a free agent now?

22-05-2023, 12:48 PM

St Mirren 5
Aberdeen 3
St Johnstone 1
Hibs 1
Livingston 1
Motherwell 1
Hearts 0
Ross County 0
Killie 0
Dun Utd 0

Chorley Hibee
22-05-2023, 12:49 PM

I agree with you.

I honestly believe the current Celtic and Rangers team aren't anywhere near the levels of an O'Neill team, or even a Rodgers team, or the Laudrup, Gascoigne era etc.

We were frequently capable of giving those teams a game, yet aren't anywhere near the current Celtic/Rangers sides.

I'm certainly of the belief that the teams outwith the gruesome twosome have deteriorated by a considerable distance.

22-05-2023, 12:49 PM
It would be nice to see if Dylan McGeouch could fill the Dylan McGeouch role! I think he's a free agent now?

I was as guilty as anyone for wanting a former player in Scott Allan to return, but please no to McGeouch.

22-05-2023, 12:55 PM

Average number of points gained against the Old Firm per club this season is 1.2 points. So, we're pretty much bang average on that front.

22-05-2023, 12:55 PM
There were about 15000 at the game with the East and South more or less full and the West and FF half full.

Be amazed if that was the case. I'm in the West and the East was nowhere near full.

We must have an incredible ratio of season ticket holders who don't attend. Of the 18,000 counted, 7,000 of those must have been walk-ups on Sunday, so guessing they were more or less all there. I'd estimate closer to 13,000-14,000 at the game so maybe 6-7,000 ST holders present out of 11,000?

22-05-2023, 12:57 PM
The answer is 7, we beat St Mirren & St Johnstone and drew with Aberdeen.

So, by my calculations, at the split, we were 7 points better off this season. That's where the comparison should end as we are playing far harder games post split this season.

22-05-2023, 01:11 PM
I agree with you.

I honestly believe the current Celtic and Rangers team aren't anywhere near the levels of an O'Neill team, or even a Rodgers team, or the Laudrup, Gascoigne era etc.

We were frequently capable of giving those teams a game, yet aren't anywhere near the current Celtic/Rangers sides.

I'm certainly of the belief that the teams outwith the gruesome twosome have deteriorated by a considerable distance.

It’s all relative though, we’ve deteriorated since then as well, as have all Scottish teams.

The gap is bigger now than it’s ever been, and season on season it gets bigger because of the European money the top 2 sides get.

Rangers won the league with an unbeaten season, Celtic have done the same and are on course for something like their fourth treble in five or six years.

Next season the financial gap between Celtic and Rangers and everyone else will be bigger again. Even Hearts with Anderson’s money are only slowing down the rate at which the gap widens, they’re not narrowing it.

So while Rangers and Celtic can’t pull in the mikes of Gazza or Laudrup, we can’t pull a Sauzee or Latapy either. The change in the football landscape with the billions put into English football has left everyone in a worse position.

22-05-2023, 01:19 PM
St Mirren 5
Aberdeen 3
St Johnstone 1
Hibs 1
Livingston 1
Motherwell 1
Hearts 0
Ross County 0
Killie 0
Dun Utd 0

wow, i really didn't expect that considering they were flying earlier in the campaign

certainly does put things into perspective

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2023, 01:24 PM
St Mirren 5
Aberdeen 3
St Johnstone 1
Hibs 1
Livingston 1
Motherwell 1
Hearts 0
Ross County 0
Killie 0
Dun Utd 0

That makes for really grim reading for our league as a whole. 40% of the teams have managed no points out of 78 (on the presumption Hearts lose at Ibrox) against the Old Firm. 80% of non Old Firm teams will likely manage 4 out of 156.

22-05-2023, 01:39 PM

Your second paragraph is it for me...we don't have a creator in the middle of the park, playing not to far behind the striker when we have the ball. A midfield 3 with a defensive type (Jeggo...though I'm not really a big fan), Joe Newell, then a creative attacking midfielder would work for me. Campbell isn't it. JDH isn't it. It doesn't matter if Magennis can do it, cos he never is and never will be available long enough to rely on him. Henderson isn't it. A Latapy, a prime Scott Allan. We don't have anything like that.

Imagine Russell Latapy in the hole, being able to slide in Boyle on the right or Youan on the left. Would be brilliant.

I think Newell gets on the ball and dictates tempo well enough though, I think we have that.

On another note, Albertz doesn't deserve to be on your 3 person throwback list there...he was nae better than they have now.

Chorley Hibee
22-05-2023, 01:39 PM
It’s all relative though, we’ve deteriorated since then as well, as have all Scottish teams.

The gap is bigger now than it’s ever been, and season on season it gets bigger because of the European money the top 2 sides get.

Rangers won the league with an unbeaten season, Celtic have done the same and are on course for something like their fourth treble in five or six years.

Next season the financial gap between Celtic and Rangers and everyone else will be bigger again. Even Hearts with Anderson’s money are only slowing down the rate at which the gap widens, they’re not narrowing it.

So while Rangers and Celtic can’t pull in the mikes of Gazza or Laudrup, we can’t pull a Sauzee or Latapy either. The change in the football landscape with the billions put into English football has left everyone in a worse position.

Fair points. 👍

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 01:51 PM

I'd love another latapy and mcginn as well :wink: . I agree about the lack of quality in our team in fairness and we could and hopefully will improve that In the summer . Rangers did indeed have a good team back . They are able to go out and spend £7million on a player , loan in player's from Bayern Munich, loan in player's from England that are on £130 grand a week over the past few years .

Celtic have also spent £10 million, £7 million and lots more on there current team that I think are one of the best Celtic sides I've seen in years . Both old firm clubs financial income from champions league and all the rest of the other stuff like merchandise etc etc definitely makes it harder for a club like ours to compete now . As I said I don't think the gaps ever been bigger and I think it will continue to do so .

Going into the sevco game after a few good results of course I wanted Hibs to compete and take something from the game though I didn't really expect us to as they have sadly more quality than us.

The celtic games much the same , I don't really expect to take anything from it but I live in hope mate :greengrin . I don't really blame the manager for not getting a result in these like some and it's not a excuse or anything but merely I think facts have to be faced that 9 times out 10 or even 10 out of 10 the old firm are now going to beat us , Dons and hertz .

22-05-2023, 02:01 PM
I honestly don’t buy the fact that the gap’s that big.

If we ask ourselves an honest question - where do we think we are relative to where we want to be - then the honest answer is that we’re well short. We’re coming off the back of a few bad years of decision making relative to the football team and it’s showing in our efforts, in spite of the fact that this season we’ll likely finish near the top of a pile of woeful teams.

We don’t need peak Andy Goram to stop their first goal yesterday, we just need a safe pair of hands, and losing the first goal drastically changes the way that game unravels.

Personally, I think part of our problem in these games is that we build up the gap in our own heads.

That Rangers team isn’t nearly as good as past Rangers teams and it’s nowhere near the current Celtic team. They’ll drop points early in the season and be in self-inflicted crisis mode again by October.

We simply need to get our act together. Terrible Hibs squads have given much stronger Rangers and Celtic squads much harder games than this one has and it must improve.

22-05-2023, 02:12 PM

If we ask ourselves an honest question - where do we think we are relative to where we want to be - then the honest answer is that we’re well short. We’re coming off the back of a few bad years of decision making relative to the football team and it’s showing in our efforts, in spite of the fact that this season we’ll likely finish near the top of a pile of woeful teams.

We don’t need peak Andy Goram to stop their first goal yesterday, we just need a safe pair of hands, and losing the first goal drastically changes the way that game unravels.

Personally, I think part of our problem in these games is that we build up the gap in our own heads.

That Rangers team isn’t nearly as good as past Rangers teams and it’s nowhere near the current Celtic team. They’ll drop points early in the season and be in self-inflicted crisis mode again by October.

We simply need to get our act together. Terrible Hibs squads have given much stronger Rangers and Celtic squads much harder games than this one has and it must improve.
I agree that both teams are a wee bit below previous squads, but they have the money to keep on adding quality when needed!
Just look at Celtic selling players for £20 million, we sell our best player in years McGinn for a pittance in comparison, and its stats like that that makes them able to lord it over the rest!!!

22-05-2023, 02:23 PM

I think we can be critical of our own standards while also acknowledging that there’s an ever widening gap.

The evidence bears it out, Celtic are just shy of another record points total, they have won virtually every domestic trophy available since Rangers died with only a couple of exceptions, while the title they didn’t win went to Rangers, who went through the season unbeaten.

Since taking over at Rangers, Beale has lost to Celtic once in the league, and Aberdeen, once. That’s it (I think).

One of Celtic’s defeats came after they won the league, and that was too Rangers.

Teams taking points off them are anomalies, it rarely happens (and we’ve been one of the teams that have taken something from Rangers this season).

You take almost any data point and you’ll see a widening gap, some of that is on us not being very good, but more is on the financial disparity season on season (Celtic’s last reported turnover was in the region of £120m, IIRC) and some is on the fact that, financially, players can get wages higher than they can get here at a bunch of English clubs so even when we do spot good players, we're competing with a wide pool of clubs to make that signing.

22-05-2023, 02:26 PM

Rangers were a missed Ramsey sitter away from being Europa League champions this time last year. Domestically, they are playing better now than they were 12 months ago. I’m not sure how anyone can argue the gap between us and them isn’t massive.

22-05-2023, 02:36 PM
Rangers were a missed Ramsey sitter away from being Europa League champions this time last year. Domestically, they are playing better now than they were 12 months ago. I’m not sure how anyone can argue the gap between us and them isn’t massive.

Think it was Ryan Kent but your overall point is spot on. Their performance in the other game at ER was imo exceptional. They beat Dortmund in that run last who are about to win the Bundesliga. Bottom line we simply cannot afford to gift them goals like yesterday. Thought we were decent first half and were well in the game. Reaction to second goal wasn't great.

22-05-2023, 03:17 PM
Think it was Ryan Kent but your overall point is spot on. Their performance in the other game at ER was imo exceptional. They beat Dortmund in that run last who are about to win the Bundesliga. Bottom line we simply cannot afford to gift them goals like yesterday. Thought we were decent first half and were well in the game. Reaction to second goal wasn't great.

Yeah you’re right, Ramsey missed the crucial penalty in the shoot out 👍

22-05-2023, 03:46 PM
I don't think the quality of Celtic and Sevco has changed all that much tbh, but the quality of teams like Hibs has been pretty erratic and at times much poorer quality then we have had in other Hibs teams and that can sometimes make other teams such as Hearts and Aberdeen look a lot better than they actually are. Also I don't know if I really buy into that list going round this thread of how many teams have or haven't taken points off the OF, plenty of them didn't and hardly ever do in any season never mind this one. What's really dissapointing is that Hibs have put in a number of really lame performances against Sevco, in the past we always seemed to give them a hard game, they were good games to watch even if we didn't always beat them. But you can't compare that with how we've performed against them recently, we've been really poor for whatever reason, and contrary to what some might say, it really does look sometimes like there's a lack of fight, almost like the players really do believe what some people on here seem to believe, that Sevco have got more money, therefore they have better players, therefore they should normally beat us. I don't give a **** about how much money they've got, we can put up more of a fight on every front on the pitch than we are doing currently, otherwise there's no point in even turning up. Just my opinion.

22-05-2023, 04:06 PM
I don't think the quality of Celtic and Sevco has changed all that much tbh, but the quality of teams like Hibs has been pretty erratic and at times much poorer quality then we have had in other Hibs teams and that can sometimes make other teams such as Hearts and Aberdeen look a lot better than they actually are. Also I don't know if I really buy into that list going round this thread of how many teams have or haven't taken points off the OF, plenty of them didn't and hardly ever do in any season never mind this one. What's really dissapointing is that Hibs have put in a number of really lame performances against Sevco, in the past we always seemed to give them a hard game, they were good games to watch even if we didn't always beat them. But you can't compare that with how we've performed against them recently, we've been really poor for whatever reason, and contrary to what some might say, it really does look sometimes like there's a lack of fight, almost like the players really do believe what some people on here seem to believe, that Sevco have got more money, therefore they have better players, therefore they should normally beat us. I don't give a **** about how much money they've got, we can put up more of a fight on every front on the pitch than we are doing currently, otherwise there's no point in even turning up. Just my opinion.

Agree with that. I’ll revise my stance on the gap. I think it probably is bigger than before, but not because the OF are any better it’s because the rest of the league have got a lot worse.

22-05-2023, 04:15 PM
I'd take smashing the rest of the teams in the league over 1 or 2 freak results against the OF. Games against the OF are very unlikely to define your season.

Also, if we managed to assemble a team that could comfortably win 70%+ of the games against the rest of the league then we'd stand a better chance of pulling the odd freak result against them.

For me our season isn't a disappointment due to the games against the OF, it's been a disappointment as we've looked absolutely garbage against teams with 1/4 of our budget (more than once). Losing games against teams with 1/4 of our budget. Until Hibs and, dare I say it, Aberdeen and Hearts, find a way to stop that from occurring as frequently as it does then we'll always have a tinpot league.

There should be 3-4 breakaway clubs in the top flight that are the European contenders behind the OF.

Wanting to beat, or even compete against, Celtic and Rangers when we struggle to beat St Johnstone and Ross County seems a wee bit delusional. We are below average and we all, and more importantly, the club, need to realise we are not as good as they keep saying we are.

The club need to stop with buzzwords and face reality.

SickBoy32
22-05-2023, 04:17 PM

We're currently on 48 points, not 58 (it was 44 pre split)

The 21/22 final league table had us on 45 points (not sure where the other figures on the thread are coming from tbh)

Like yourself - I'm really struggling to see any improvement at all, especially when the cup performance (or lack of) are factored in too

The club continues to feel increasingly bland, flat and disconnected from the fanbase

Here's hoping we finish strongly in our last 2 fixtures, but a failure to finish 5th at a minimum should see LJ away back down the road

McDermott has some job on his hands here, trying to rectify the mess that has been created in the last couple years (particularly when the guys who created the mess are still in situ) :confused:

SickBoy32
22-05-2023, 04:20 PM
Simple stuff for me, show a bit of dig and desire - that muppet Cantwell should've been hit in the first 5 minutes to let him know he's in for a game

2nd game in a row we've just stood back in awe admiring that wee fanny

Need to be in Celtic's faces from the off on Wednesday to have any chance, and we need to be prepared to battle on Saturday too - does this current side (midfield in particular) have that in them ?

Scotty Leither
22-05-2023, 04:27 PM
Them having “much more money” than we have shouldn’t stop a Hibs player putting that bubble/permed poseur with the ponytail flat on his arse inside the first ten minutes, much in the way Stokes put one on Holt in the Cup Final.

Far too much respect shown to them, and a bit of desire and steel costs precisely nowt, but when the Board lack the bottle to challenge their Neanderthal fans behaviour off the park, I’ll not hold my breath on the team sticking it to them on the park any time soon.

While watching the match yesterday, I spent much of it thinking, “What’s the point of being here?” which is a dangerous place for a club to be at with their fans.

22-05-2023, 04:28 PM
Simple stuff for me, show a bit of dig and desire - that muppet Cantwell should've been hit in the first 5 minutes to let him know he's in for a game

2nd game in a row we've just stood back in awe admiring that wee fanny

Need to be in Celtic's faces from the off on Wednesday to have any chance, and we need to be prepared to battle on Saturday too - does this current side (midfield in particular) have that in them ?

Yes. They battled like **** in the last derby as one very recent example. Aberdeen away too they outfought and outplayed the opposition.

22-05-2023, 05:56 PM
So, by my calculations, at the split, we were 7 points better off this season. That's where the comparison should end as we are playing far harder games post split this season.

Yeah, that's probably a better way to compare. So...

2021-22
League Points (after 33 games): 38
League Cup: Final
Scottish Cup: Semi Final
---
Trips to Hampden 3

2022-23
League Points (after 33 games): 44
League Cup: First Round
Scottish Cup: First Round
---
Trips to Hampden 0

Six points more but out of both cups at first stage. Still not seeing that as much of an improvement, TBH.

22-05-2023, 06:51 PM
The football under Johnson is certainly miles better. Create many more chances, score more goals etc than Maloney ever would've.

With a fitter squad, we would've had a good season

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 07:16 PM
The football under Johnson is certainly miles better. Create many more chances, score more goals etc than Maloney ever would've.

With a fitter squad, we would've had a good season

22-05-2023, 07:38 PM
Them having “much more money” than we have shouldn’t stop a Hibs player putting that bubble/permed poseur with the ponytail flat on his arse inside the first ten minutes, much in the way Stokes put one on Holt in the Cup Final.

Far too much respect shown to them, and a bit of desire and steel costs precisely nowt, but when the Board lack the bottle to challenge their Neanderthal fans behaviour off the park, I’ll not hold my breath on the team sticking it to them on the park any time soon.

While watching the match yesterday, I spent much of it thinking, “What’s the point of being here?” which is a dangerous place for a club to be at with their fans.
Said the same coming out the ground and on the podcast - even the very good Rangers teams wouldn't have got away with strolling about the park like they did on Sunday.

We were really passive and we needed aggression. I know the game's changed these days but we should definitely have let them know they were in a game and be thinking twice about holding on to the ball.

22-05-2023, 07:47 PM
21st May , 7 year to the very day since we beat them 3-2 in the final and not a single mention of it , All the goals on the big tv were in games gone by this season

Why ? We should have rubbed their ****ing noses in it !!

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2023, 07:52 PM
21st May , 7 year to the very day since we beat them 3-2 in the final and not a single mention of it , All the goals on the big tv were in games gone by this season

Because it would have hurt their feelings.

22-05-2023, 08:55 PM

The 3-2 goals were on the big screen.

22-05-2023, 08:58 PM
The 3-2 goals were on the big screen.

Must have missed it Matty

Skol
22-05-2023, 09:04 PM
Yeah, that's probably a better way to compare. So...

2021-22
League Points (after 33 games): 38
League Cup: Final
Scottish Cup: Semi Final
---
Trips to Hampden 3

2022-23
League Points (after 33 games): 44
League Cup: First Round
Scottish Cup: First Round
---
Trips to Hampden 0

Six points more but out of both cups at first stage. Still not seeing that as much of an improvement, TBH.

The comparison though isn’t equal. We need to compare against makoneys time. Ross had us at two of the three hampden games and also a good chunk of the points we had.

Johnson’s hibs are better than maloneys hibs.

22-05-2023, 10:03 PM
The comparison though isn’t equal. We need to compare against makoneys time. Ross had us at two of the three hampden games and also a good chunk of the points we had.

Johnson’s hibs are better than maloneys hibs.Not sure what you mean . Maloney took over a club in crisis on a long run of bad results mid season , we lost Boyle soon after and Nesbit got a bad injury soon too . Most successful winter signing Clarke then gets a bad injury . We were very unlucky not to make the top 6 and were close to making the SC final with 10 players battling till the last second in the semi . This season , we scraped into the top 6 , made a total mess of League Cup ( compare to our SC wins against a top of championship Arbroath and at Motherwell ) and exited SC with a heavy home defeat . Scraped into top 6 with an experienced manager who had a full pre season and 2 transfer windows . Our 2 big results this season have been hammering Aberdeen who`d just lost to a non league team in SC and beating a Hearts team which had lost their previous 6 or 7 games and were total garbage . This time a year ago we didn`t look in great shape but I can`t see anything now to suggest team or squad in general is better and have seen nothing to suggest we have a management team which will improve the team or encourage supporters to come back .

22-05-2023, 10:23 PM
Not sure what you mean . Maloney took over a club in crisis on a long run of bad results mid season , we lost Boyle soon after and Nesbit got a bad injury soon too . Most successful winter signing Clarke then gets a bad injury . We were very unlucky not to make the top 6 and were close to making the SC final with 10 players battling till the last second in the semi . This season , we scraped into the top 6 , made a total mess of League Cup ( compare to our SC wins against a top of championship Arbroath and at Motherwell ) and exited SC with a heavy home defeat . Scraped into top 6 with an experienced manager who had a full pre season and 2 transfer windows . Our 2 big results this season have been hammering Aberdeen who`d just lost to a non league team in SC and beating a Hearts team which had lost their previous 6 or 7 games and were total garbage . This time a year ago we didn`t look in great shape but I can`t see anything now to suggest team or squad in general is better and have seen nothing to suggest we have a management team which will improve the team or encourage supporters to come back .

We weren’t in crisis when Maloney took over. We’d been in bad form but it wasn’t a crisis. We’d played in a cup final the day before he was appointed.

22-05-2023, 10:45 PM
Not sure what you mean . Maloney took over a club in crisis on a long run of bad results mid season , we lost Boyle soon after and Nesbit got a bad injury soon too . Most successful winter signing Clarke then gets a bad injury . We were very unlucky not to make the top 6 and were close to making the SC final with 10 players battling till the last second in the semi . This season , we scraped into the top 6 , made a total mess of League Cup ( compare to our SC wins against a top of championship Arbroath and at Motherwell ) and exited SC with a heavy home defeat . Scraped into top 6 with an experienced manager who had a full pre season and 2 transfer windows . Our 2 big results this season have been hammering Aberdeen who`d just lost to a non league team in SC and beating a Hearts team which had lost their previous 6 or 7 games and were total garbage . This time a year ago we didn`t look in great shape but I can`t see anything now to suggest team or squad in general is better and have seen nothing to suggest we have a management team which will improve the team or encourage supporters to come back .

You paint an interesting view of the situations under Maloney and Johnson...

Under Maloney the football was atrocious. We were barely even mustering a shot on goal. You say we were very unlucky not to make the top 6, but after the winter break he had 13 league games in charge, right up til the split, and the only one we won was at home to Ross County. In those 13 games we got 9 points, and scored 7 goals!

Compare that to this season, where you say we "scraped" into the top 6...in 5th place. It's barely scraping in when you have another team below you make it too. Look at the same 13 game period before the split under Johnson, we got 21 points, and scored 25 goals.

I honestly have no idea how you can try to make out like its not improved.

I'm pretty disappointed with the season as a whole, but it's miles better than last season.

23-05-2023, 08:57 AM
The fact we can’t decide if we have improved from last season or not tells me all I need to know about Johnson.

23-05-2023, 09:38 AM
The fact we can’t decide if we have improved from last season or not tells me all I need to know about Johnson.

Certain people can’t decide because they don’t want to admit we have improved.

We have secured more points and scored more goals than last season - the most obvious measure of improvement.

Over the course of this season we have also improved, we have been better post-World cup break than pre-World cup break.

Our last 5 games form against our rivals for Europe is W4 D1 L0, 10 goals scored, 1 conceded. If not for a Nisbet missed penalty it would have been 5 wins.

Are we the finished article, absolutely not but the only people who can’t see improvement are those who are wilfully blind to it.

23-05-2023, 09:42 AM

This is the Rangers team we faced on the final day of the season 5 years ago. With the exception of Tavernier, those players would struggle to make the bench of the current Rangers team let alone be starting a must win game. Anyone claiming they haven’t massively improved in that time is either lying or clueless.

23-05-2023, 09:49 AM
Certain people can’t decide because they don’t want to admit we have improved.

We have secured more points and scored more goals than last season - the most obvious measure of improvement.

Over the course of this season we have also improved, we have been better post-World cup break than pre-World cup break.

Our last 5 games form against our rivals for Europe is W4 D1 L0, 10 goals scored, 1 conceded. If not for a Nisbet missed penalty it would have been 5 wins.

Are we the finished article, absolutely not but the only people who can’t see improvement are those who are wilfully blind to it.

Or maybe the improvement isn’t as great as some are suggesting. Points wise and goal difference would suggest it is marginal, certainly not miles better. There have definitely been some impressive performances but equally there have been quite a few shockers too.

I’m not going to rewrite history ‘cos, bar a few games, it was a hard watch under Maloney, but he was never afforded the same opportunities as Johnson. One of the common themes on here is the injuries Johnson has had to contend with, but he’s still had more players available to him than Maloney ever did as well as two windows to operate in.

I think most people would acknowledge there has been an improvement, the disagreement is by how much. For me it’s not been big enough over the season.

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2023, 09:58 AM
Or maybe the improvement isn’t as great as some are suggesting. Points wise and goal difference would suggest it is marginal, certainly not miles better. There have definitely been some impressive performances but equally there have been quite a few shockers too.

I’m not going to rewrite history ‘cos, bar a few games, it was a hard watch under Maloney, but he was never afforded the same opportunities as Johnson. One of the common themes on here is the injuries Johnson has had to contend with, but he’s still had more players available to him than Maloney ever did as well as two windows to operate in.

I think most people would acknowledge there has been an improvement, the disagreement is by how much. For me it’s not been big enough over the season.

Agree with all that.

We’ve improved. The stats confirm that.

It’s a marginal improvement though by a manager who has been backed a hell of a lot more than Maloney was. To only marginally improve on a manager who you’ve been backed so much more heavily than isn’t good enough imo.

23-05-2023, 09:58 AM
I think the club should bin LJ and beg Ross to come back, and back him the way they have backed both managers since sacking him.

HFC93
23-05-2023, 10:22 AM

The fact we have more points and and we're a few positions higher tells you we’ve improved on last season. It’s not that complicated.

23-05-2023, 10:26 AM

Not really.

The original discussion was around whether or not Johnson has improved us over last season, which was generally considered pretty poor and resulted in the sacking of two managers.

The stats show, to me at least, that it's hardly an impressive upturn so far (six more points in the league but much worse results in both cup competitions)

Donegal Hibby
23-05-2023, 10:41 AM
Not sure what you mean either tbh . Maloney took over a club in crisis did he ? Did he make it better at our club or worse before he left ? What has LJ taken over then ?.

We also lost Boyle and Nisbet under LJ and a few more as well . we did indeed lose Clarke though again we lost Mcgeady too ! .we were unlucky not to make top 6 under Maloney yet scraped top 6 under LJ , really? .

Could we not consider LJ to be unlucky as well in the facts that we had some terrible decisions go against us like " keeper taken out in dingwall, stonewall penalty at Huns denied when we were 2-1 up and the rest too! Yes we did thump Aberdeen 6-0 something as a Hibs fan I don't remember us doing before and our 1-0 against hertz should have been 3 or 4 as we absolutely dominated that derby , what team did Maloney thump again? Did he beat hertz btw ?

I think we have improved under LJ tbh . Style of football is miles better than it was under Maloney. We finished top 6 and last year we finished 8th . It's been a very up and down season with some good and very bad results . I do think the squad needs a complete overhaul and badly in need of some quality signings and I think our current manager deserves the chance to change the squad In the squad in the summer.

I think a certain minority of our fans have decided that getting rid of the manager is the best course of action for Hibernian to take , like months and months ago when some wanted him out and replaced with Malky McKay, Derek McInnes or David Martindale :worried: . I'm very much in favour in giving a manager every possible chance at our football club to turn things around if theres been a improvement from the following year and imo there has been !

23-05-2023, 10:49 AM
I think the club should bin LJ and beg Ross to come back, and back him the way they have backed both managers since sacking him.

Ross? The guy who was sacked in the blink of an eye at Dundee United after losing 1-7 and 0-9 and is still without a job nearly a year later? We should be begging him???

The case for Jack Ross has taken a serious kicking given his record after leaving Hibs.

23-05-2023, 11:20 AM
Ross? The guy who was sacked in the blink of an eye at Dundee United after losing 1-7 and 0-9 and is still without a job nearly a year later? We should be begging him???

The case for Jack Ross has taken a serious kicking given his record after leaving Hibs.

Yip, that's the one.:agree:

23-05-2023, 11:55 AM

Without a doubt. Maloney's time at Hibs is up there with the likes of Calderwood in terms of my least enjoyable period watching us. In fact probably exceeds it. Such an unlikable group of players and a Cathro type manager caught in the headlights playing honking football with barely a shot at goal. Jasper and Demitri Mitchell ffs.

23-05-2023, 12:09 PM
Maloney's tenure made me yearn for teh swashbuckling style of Bertie Auld's tenure. What is worse he said what he was going to do and it was incredibly predictable that it was never going to work at Hibs and in Scotland for a whole host of reasons. It was one of the worst managerial appointments we have made in my 50 years of supporting. LJ has done the most important thing for me. Generally speaking we try and create chances and get the ball in the box. We play quicker and don't see a 30 pass exchange between centre halves as a positive. That being said he has failed badly in the cups and in a pretty terrible league with very few teams consistent over the year it looks like we may scrape 5th. It is a par performance in the league, poor in the league cup and a sore defeat to take in the Scottish. He absolutely deserves another window and at least the first round of fixtures if not the first two. If we can get the signing back to where they were under Stubbs I think he will do fine. I think the new DOF could get us back to that level with his contacts.

Donegal Hibby
23-05-2023, 12:33 PM
Without a doubt. Maloney's time at Hibs is up there with the likes of Calderwood in terms of my least enjoyable period watching us. In fact probably exceeds it. Such an unlikable group of players and a Cathro type manager caught in the headlights playing honking football with barely a shot at goal. Jasper and Demitri Mitchell ffs.
That pretty much sums it up perfectly btw . It was like let's keep the ball and pass it around midfield for 90 minutes and don't go to far forward incase we get exposed at back . Honestly watching Hibs under Maloney was like watching paint dry on a wall though he was always super proud :rolleyes:

23-05-2023, 01:03 PM
That pretty much sums it up perfectly btw . It was like let's keep the ball and pass it around midfield for 90 minutes and don't go to far forward incase we get exposed at back . Honestly watching Hibs under Maloney was like watching paint dry on a wall though he was always super proud :rolleyes:

I take it you missed the cup semi where his strike force was led by the world beating James Scott ? I don’t remember that game, after a horrendous start, being like watching paint dry. If we’d went on to win that game there could have been few complaints.

ehf
23-05-2023, 01:08 PM
I take it you missed the cup semi where his strike force was led by the world beating James Scott ? I don’t remember that game, after a horrendous start, being like watching paint dry. If we’d went on to win that game there could have been few complaints.

:agree: we battered them in the second half and deserved to win.

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2023, 02:04 PM

Thing is I wouldn’t argue that his team was crap and crap to watch. I would argue though that nobody would have got much more out of that squad. It was absolutely appalling and we threw him under the bus expecting him to do anything with it.

23-05-2023, 02:15 PM
:agree: we battered them in the second half and deserved to win.

Ugh, I need to forget about that game.

Donegal Hibby
23-05-2023, 02:21 PM
Rather than picking out one individual game but looking at Maloney's 4 months in charge in general the football for the most part was dull and boring, other posters have also stated this as well.

When I've brought up things that our current manager has been unlucky with you have repeatedly told me I'm making up excuses for him.Bringing up that Maloney had a strike force lead by James scott also sounds like abit of a excuse as well tbh as there were more he could have done to make us more attacking , like try and get players further forward or getting players in the box.

Josh Campbell was a prime example of this instead of pushing him further forward he had him sitting deep most of the time which didn't suit him . He has scored quite a few goals this year compared to when Maloney had him in fairness.

GreenGray
23-05-2023, 02:24 PM
Rather than picking out one individual game but looking at Maloney's 4 months in charge in general the football for the most part was dull and boring, other posters have also stated this as well.

When I've brought up things that our current manager has been unlucky with you have repeatedly told me I'm making up excuses for him.Bringing up that Maloney had a strike force lead by James scott also sounds like abit of a excuse as well tbh as there were more he could have done to make us more attacking , like try and get players further forward or getting players in the box.

Josh Campbell was a prime example of this instead of pushing him further forward he had him sitting deep most of the time which didn't suit him . He has scored quite a few goals this year compared to when Maloney had him in fairness.

You must acknowledge that Maloney had it worse than Johnson in terms of players to choose from though?

I’m not sure why the debate is Maloney vs Johnson so often. I appreciate that they are easy to compare as they were directly after one another but can’t we just say that they were both poor appointments?

23-05-2023, 02:32 PM

You can also add playing Josh Doig as a centre back. The team was devoid of creativity and he played one of the most exciting young wing backs in Europe in central defence. Defensively we were sound but he was absolutely clueless on how to play offensively in our league.

23-05-2023, 02:35 PM
Thing is I wouldn’t argue that his team was crap and crap to watch. I would argue though that nobody would have got much more out of that squad. It was absolutely appalling and we threw him under the bus expecting him to do anything with it.

No either would I and I didn’t argue when he was sacked. It may well be that we’d have seen much of the same if he’d stayed in charge, though that cup semi was a really encouraging performance with a very poor side, certainly in attacking terms. I don’t see how anyone can argue that the backing he received was close to the backing Johnson has had though.

23-05-2023, 02:42 PM

It was his final game, the biggest one he had as our manager and a game we should have went on to win after a horrendous start where it would have been easy for the team to give up. Maybe he had finally learned….

If you seriously believe Johnson, despite the injuries, hasn’t had a better squad to work with than Maloney then we are wasting our time even having a discussion. I’m amazed if anyone can’t acknowledge that. Again I’m not defending Maloney, he made a number of mistakes but he was working from a much weaker position than Johnson has been.

Donegal Hibby
23-05-2023, 03:26 PM
You can also add playing Josh Doig as a centre back. The team was devoid of creativity and he played one of the most exciting young wing backs in Europe in central defence. Defensively we were sound but he was absolutely clueless on how to play offensively in our league.
Good point about Josh Doig btw , he is another example of a player that could have been used better to help the team in a creative or attacking sense like Campbell. Though it was all about defending and passing the ball back and forth with very little creativity or penetration . Maloney was indeed clueless when it came down to us playing offensively.

Donegal Hibby
23-05-2023, 04:29 PM
It was his final game, the biggest one he had as our manager and a game we should have went on to win after a horrendous start where it would have been easy for the team to give up. Maybe he had finally learned….

If you seriously believe Johnson, despite the injuries, hasn’t had a better squad to work with than Maloney then we are wasting our time even having a discussion. I’m amazed if anyone can’t acknowledge that. Again I’m not defending Maloney, he made a number of mistakes but he was working from a much weaker position than Johnson has been.
I have nothing against Maloney other than I found Hibs very boring to watch under him and didn't think he was a good manager. Personally I think we should never have appointed a rookie manager with the way the team was struggling at that time in the first place. Even in interviews he'd be itching his face in a nervous manner constantly saying " UM " and was generally " Super proud " of our performances. Looked totally out of his depth imo .

As to him finally learning I watched a fair bit of Wigan this year and it's been much the same as it was at Hibs , plenty possession though not a lot of attacking with some games them only having 1 or 2 shots on goal the entire match

I think LJ has more to choose from than Maloney though his options aren't really great either imo. All managers make mistakes I think and while you say you aren't defending Maloney and he was working in a weaker position than LJ , he obviously didn't help himself by playing Josh Campbell as a DM and Josh Doig as a CH .

When watching Maloney's Hibs it always felt like we weren't going to score and the best we could hope for was a draw . Now least we are attacking teams and scoring goals and I felt if we hadn't the injuries Boyle, Nisbet, Mcgeady we would have more points plus I think some awful decisions have cost us a minimum of maybe 7 points this year too . I think our football's definitely improved from what it was like when Maloney was in charge in all honesty.

23-05-2023, 04:41 PM

I agree.[emoji106]

23-05-2023, 04:46 PM
I have nothing against Maloney other than I found Hibs very boring to watch under him and didn't think he was a good manager. Personally I think we should never have appointed a rookie manager with the way the team was struggling at that time in the first place. Even in interviews he'd be itching his face in a nervous manner constantly saying " UM " and was generally " Super proud " of our performances. Looked totally out of his depth imo .

As to him finally learning I watched a fair bit of Wigan this year and it's been much the same as it was at Hibs , plenty possession though not a lot of attacking with some games them only having 1 or 2 shots on goal the entire match

I think LJ has more to choose from than Maloney though his options aren't really great either imo. All managers make mistakes I think and while you say you aren't defending Maloney and he was working in a weaker position than LJ , he obviously didn't help himself by playing Josh Campbell as a DM and Josh Doig as a CH .

When watching Maloney's Hibs it always felt like we weren't going to score and the best we could hope for was a draw . Now least we are attacking teams and scoring goals and I felt if we hadn't the injuries Boyle, Nisbet, Mcgeady we would have more points plus I think some awful decisions have cost us a minimum of maybe 7 points this year too . I think our football's definitely improved from what it was like when Maloney was in charge in all honesty.

That’s fair enough, don’t disagree with what you say. At the time I felt if we were to appoint a rookie manager it should have been at the start of the season, not part way through. I watched nothing of Wigan, from what you say it appears he didn’t learn from his mistakes with us.

25-05-2023, 10:11 AM
What a difference a game makes......

St Mirren 5
Hibs 4
Aberdeen 3
St Johnstone 1
Hibs 1
Livingston 1
Motherwell 1
Hearts 1
Ross County 0