View Full Version : Summer Transfer Window

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

04-04-2023, 09:50 PM
With rumours starting to begin like McGrath, Williams and pre contracts I thought I’d start a threat to keep up to date with it all.

Latest from Johnson is him saying he’ll speak with Man City about loans for next season

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/lee-johnson-sets-manchester-city-29631483

Trinity Hibee
05-04-2023, 06:42 AM
McGrath from DU been rumoured has he? Didn’t think he’d been playing for them much

05-04-2023, 07:12 AM
I thought McGrath had flopped since his move from St Mirren? Surely we should be treating that one as a bullet dodged rather than going back for him.

The Man City loans could be an interesting one, would be great to keep Myko on another year especially if we sell Nisbet which I fully expect.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

05-04-2023, 07:18 AM
I thought McGrath had flopped since his move from St Mirren? Surely we should be treating that one as a bullet dodged rather than going back for him.

The Man City loans could be an interesting one, would be great to keep Myko on another year especially if we sell Nisbet which I fully expect.

Somebody made the point elsewhere that he’s struggling at Utd as he’s been asked to play a more industrial midfield role with no wingers as an outlet to create for and a front man that’s better suited to winning aerial battles than anything he would create. The move to Dundee Utd hasn’t worked out but that doesn’t mean he should be written off.

Saying that, it sounds like the guy Jonny Williams will be signing and he’s a very similar type of player i think so doubt we’ll sign both.

05-04-2023, 07:47 AM
I really hope our new DoF and Head of Recruitment get a say in these signings. If only to stop the Johnny Williams one.

big gogs
05-04-2023, 07:49 AM

It is just a rumour,there will be many before we see a player with a scarf above his head,telling us about the wonders of the training centre.

Paulie Walnuts
05-04-2023, 07:51 AM
I really hope our new DoF and Head of Recruitment get a say in these signings. If only to stop the Johnny Williams one.

The Johnny Williams one I really don’t fancy. Not sure if it’s the scar of signing McKirdy from the same team cause I know little about him tbh.

05-04-2023, 07:56 AM

It just doesn’t seem cohesive to me for want of a better word. I thought the point of getting a DoF was to set the strategy for signings, amongst other things. Yet there appears to be nothing imminent, but we are targeting players while Johnson is talking about getting City youngsters in on loan.

05-04-2023, 07:58 AM
The Johnny Williams one I really don’t fancy. Not sure if it’s the scar of signing McKirdy from the same team cause I know little about him tbh.

Maybe we could swap him for McKirdy? Couldn't be any less effective and gets McKirdy off the books.

05-04-2023, 08:22 AM
It just doesn’t seem cohesive to me for want of a better word. I thought the point of getting a DoF was to set the strategy for signings, amongst other things. Yet there appears to be nothing imminent, but we are targeting players while Johnson is talking about getting City youngsters in on loan.

Yeah, I agree with that.

I still struggle to look past the fact LJ was claiming the credit for unearthing some of the signings last summer but when they didn’t work out he was very quick to blame the club.

What happens if any young City guys we get on loan don’t work out? Will he blame the club for making him sign untested youngsters?

It might not sound like it but I’ve not written LJ off yet, if we can make top 6 I’m happy progress is being made. If we don’t I’m a bit uneasy about keeping him on next season, let alone trusting him to have free reign with our summer transfers.

05-04-2023, 08:30 AM
LJ is a blether and says what people want to hear for self preservation, still sounds like a dodgy car salesman.

05-04-2023, 08:38 AM
LJ is a blether and says what people want to hear for self preservation, still sounds like a dodgy car salesman.

You forgot to say David Brent.

05-04-2023, 08:44 AM
Yeah, I agree with that.

I still struggle to look past the fact LJ was claiming the credit for unearthing some of the signings last summer but when they didn’t work out he was very quick to blame the club.

What happens if any young City guys we get on loan don’t work out? Will he blame the club for making him sign untested youngsters?

It might not sound like it but I’ve not written LJ off yet, if we can make top 6 I’m happy progress is being made. If we don’t I’m a bit uneasy about keeping him on next season, let alone trusting him to have free reign with our summer transfers.

My thoughts on him are well documented. I think it’s fair to say if things don’t work out he’ll deflect, it’s what he does.

Said it on the LJ thread but not making the top 6 is a total failure and one he shouldn’t survive. In saying that I’m hopeful when the DoF is appointed they see through him and empty him anyway.

05-04-2023, 09:13 AM

He is 29 so not a prospect. At this point he's playing at Div 2 England. Just makes no sense to me. Plays left wing or CM. We do need a Left Winger but can we not get someone with a potential to improve by moving to us.

05-04-2023, 09:19 AM
Not overly delighted with the loans from Man City, especially if young guys. I have to agree with Tam McManus, that we should be promoting from within. A couple of loan players can be great, but too many seems to create an apathy in the team, whereas players who have came through the ranks feel like one of our own. As a club we need that committment to the cause.

It is sad to say, but of our present squad I would not be fussed to lose any of them. We need players in the team who we love and who gives it back through performances.

05-04-2023, 09:37 AM

And didn't mention Joe Pasquale or his tan coat or Elio's. I wish people would toe the party line on these things.

05-04-2023, 09:38 AM
He is 29 so not a prospect. At this point he's playing at Div 2 England. Just makes no sense to me. Plays left wing or CM. We do need a Left Winger but can we not get someone with a potential to improve by moving to us.

Like Youann maybe?

05-04-2023, 09:43 AM
Like Youann maybe?

Yes 23 and clearly improving.

05-04-2023, 09:48 AM
Can't stand this short term filling the squad with loans. Try and build a team that might last a couple of years. We're never going to achieve finishing top 3 or win something if we have to restart again every season.

One or two loans to boost the team can be useful, but no more than that.

05-04-2023, 09:49 AM
Yes 23 and clearly improving.

I do hope we can get his deal done.

supermcginn
05-04-2023, 10:13 AM

McKirdy doesn't have 33 International cups, been to a European championship finals or played for a club like Crystal palace in the English Premier League, Williams has. He has excellent pedigree and experience it's absolutely laughable that people turning their noses up at him.

Donegal Hibby
05-04-2023, 10:15 AM
I don't know much about Johnny Williams and was a little concerned we might be signing a league 2 player though he has played in the premier League and the championship as well as 30 odd caps for his country which would suggest he has a decent pedigree.

Don't think signing a 29 year old player is exactly a bad thing either , your getting a experienced footballer with plenty of years left in him imo . If he has signed let's see how he does before deciding wither he's any good or not . Short clip of him here , noticed him and Mckirdy working well together in it .
https://youtu.be/4m8lzH-P3SU

Paulie Walnuts
05-04-2023, 10:18 AM
McKirdy doesn't have 33 International cups, been to a European championship finals or played for a club like Crystal palace in the English Premier League, Williams has. He has excellent pedigree and experience it's absolutely laughable that people turning their noses up at him.

He’ll also be 30 at the start of next season and is presumably playing League Two football for a reason.

Whilst he absolutely does have pedigree, that’s all in the past. We’re not going to be getting the Crystal Palace, European Championship Williams so it’s largely irrelevant that he achieved that, we’ll be getting the version that’s progressively dropped down the leagues into League Two where to be fair he appears to be doing quite well. That’s a terrible standard though.

If he signs then hopefully he does well. It would surprise me if he doesn’t end up another guy looking like a run of the mill player at this level though which is where our recruitment issues really lie imo. Lots of guys who are never going to be the catalyst for us getting third place.

05-04-2023, 10:34 AM
Christ, another transfer window ahead. I'm going to need to get into some kind of pre-window psychological training to cope with it.

I'll make my usual plea. Can we sign early and sign for positions we are weak in please? Just for the ****ing novelty that is.

darwenhibby
05-04-2023, 10:55 AM
On the Johnny Williams scenario??
Were we turning our noses up at a Leyton Orient midfielder called Marvin Bartley??

05-04-2023, 10:59 AM
Don't worry someone else will shortly.

EVENTUALLY
05-04-2023, 11:01 AM

05-04-2023, 11:08 AM
On the Johnny Williams scenario??
Were we turning our noses up at a Leyton Orient midfielder called Marvin Bartley??

We need a lot better than a Marvin Bartley type if we want to mix it at the top end of the table next season.

05-04-2023, 11:31 AM
I’m surprised so many don’t want Williams.

Whenever I’ve seen him I thought he was really good, always thought his main issue was injuries.

05-04-2023, 12:03 PM
Can't stand this short term filling the squad with loans. Try and build a team that might last a couple of years. We're never going to achieve finishing top 3 or win something if we have to restart again every season.

This for me too. We are starting every game just now with 3 or 4 loan players in the starting XI and I just can't see how you can progress a team from one season into the next when you could be looking to replace that many players in the summer as they almost invariably return to their parent clubs to get loaned elsewhere. Chuck in that we could also lose the likes of Nisbet, something which happens frequently just now with the likes of Porto and Doig leaving recently and it means starting every season with a rebuilding of the team .. that can't be good.

05-04-2023, 12:04 PM
Just with discussing some players on various different threads, what do people think will happen with some of our squad when you see it on paper?

Many of whom you probably forgot are still at the club.

We will have the following (not including those on loan who’s contract is up in the summer like Dabrowski);

First team;

Marshall

Miller
Cadden
Rocky
Hanlon
Cabraja

Kenneh
Magennis
JDH
Newell
Campbell
Jeggo
Henderson
Tait

Boyle
Nisbet
Melkersen
Doidge
Tavares
McKirdy
Mackay

Contract/loans expiring

Devlin
CJ Egan Riley
Fish
Stevenson
Hoppe
Youan
McGeady
Kuhkarevych

Then you have some development type players like

McLellend
Delferierre
Hauge

Youngsters expected to make the step up

Johnson
Megwa
Blaney
O’Connor - Out of contract
Laidlaw - Out of contract

Absolutely loads of players there, some I expect people to have completely forgotten about like Tait, Mackay, Doidge, Hauge, Delferriere and McLellend

05-04-2023, 12:33 PM
We need a lot better than a Marvin Bartley type if we want to mix it at the top end of the table next season.

Yep.

I liked Marv, but he’s remembered as a better player than he was (like a lot of players who leave are).

When we were in the Prem, he wasn’t a regular starter. In match day squad 58 times, started 27 (so less than half the time he could’ve) and came on as a sub 12 times.

As I say, I liked him as a player, and as a character in the squad, but I’d be hoping we are looking for better. We need someone in that role who is too good to be left out the starting 11.

05-04-2023, 01:10 PM
Yep.

I liked Marv, but he’s remembered as a better player than he was (like a lot of players who leave are).

When we were in the Prem, he wasn’t a regular starter. In match day squad 58 times, started 27 (so less than half the time he could’ve) and came on as a sub 12 times.

As I say, I liked him as a player, and as a character in the squad, but I’d be hoping we are looking for better. We need someone in that role who is too good to be left out the starting 11.

I agree on Marv re ability.

I think he was a big part of something that was a lot more than any one individual though. We built an actual squad and a bit of togetherness around that time. I don’t see us as being any further on that front than we were when LJ came in the door. We need to get the core of a squad that we can rely on and build from there. We’ve signed and moved on countless players under him already and this summer will be more of the same. Always be an element of short term (especially at our level) and I don’t mind a loan signing but we need to stop the big churn of players.

05-04-2023, 01:39 PM

Haha I did, sorry.

I just find it hard to believe most things he says, all the summer signings were his but now it's he was shafted by the recruitment team and they picked the players. Keeps going on about his Man C connections but in January the 2 loans came from Burnley and Middlesbrough, only one with a Man C connection is Myko.

05-04-2023, 08:25 PM
Sylvester Jasper joining Portimonese in the summer.

Probably quite a good move for him getting to that country and league.

https://twitter.com/fulhamfc/status/1643614483510706178?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Paulie Walnuts
05-04-2023, 09:32 PM
Sylvester Jasper joining Portimonese in the summer.

Probably quite a good move for him getting to that country and league.

https://twitter.com/fulhamfc/status/1643614483510706178?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

A decent move for a dreadful player.

Donegal Hibby
05-04-2023, 09:47 PM
Haha I did, sorry.

I just find it hard to believe most things he says, all the summer signings were his but now it's he was shafted by the recruitment team and they picked the players. Keeps going on about his Man C connections but in January the 2 loans came from Burnley and Middlesbrough, only one with a Man C connection is Myko.
CJ Egan Riley started at man city and was bought by Burnley who's manager is Vincent kompany who spent 11 years at Manchester city , maybe a wee bit of a man city connection there 🤔

05-04-2023, 10:12 PM
https://twitter.com/edinburghsport/status/1643729473894768642?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

McGeady wants to continue to play and sign again, alot to consider for the club though with his age, injury and how he recovers.

05-04-2023, 10:17 PM
More of a suggestion from me but I think the lad Victor Loturi at Ross County looks a real player.

Really reminds me of a Glen Kamara when he was at Dundee.

Real quality and composure in possession.

I often look at players and think he’s a ‘Hibs player’, as in he’d suit us perfectly with his style of play. To me he's on of them;

https://youtu.be/3Gy8AYzFpak

06-04-2023, 01:55 AM
:hyper

Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk

06-04-2023, 02:20 AM

I think that’s very harsh, personally.

While he didn’t set the heather alight, he was one of very few that looked like he might have something to offer during an awful spell for us.

Hopefully his move works out for him.

Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2023, 07:16 AM

While he didn’t set the heather alight, he was one of very few that looked like he might have something to offer during an awful spell for us.

I thought he was the complete opposite and the fact we had to rely on guys like him to be our attacking threat was the main reason we were so bad.

06-04-2023, 08:03 AM
Haha I did, sorry.

No I know what you mean, and to be honest I was the same in December and January.

I have definitely warmed to him and after what he said about trimming the squad and the difference it seems to have made, albeit with lots of room to improve I must add.

Trinity Hibee
06-04-2023, 08:06 AM

Just another player who flatters to deceive. All fart and no jobby

06-04-2023, 08:36 AM

Have seen a lot worse players for Hibs in my time. Has ability for sure final ball inconsistent.

06-04-2023, 09:21 AM

Harsh, boy wasn't a rowan vine signing.

Bad Habits
06-04-2023, 09:31 AM

Saw Portimonense in the flesh in the summer whilst taking in a Maritimo home game, very good team. Hilariously ex-Hearts manager Paolo Sergio is currently at Portimonense.

Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2023, 10:45 AM
Have seen a lot worse players for Hibs in my time. Has ability for sure final ball inconsistent.

Na, not for me. Absolutely brutal player.

06-04-2023, 11:19 AM

We have worse players on the bench for us now.

06-04-2023, 11:35 AM

True, but I wouldn’t feel any more confident about the quality of our bench by replacing any of them with Jasper.

06-04-2023, 01:27 PM

I've seen Jasper beat a player and cross the ball to a Hibs player who scored, i've never seen Tavarez beat a man unless he was going away from goal.

06-04-2023, 06:19 PM
Jasper was the most frustrating player I'd seen until Youan. Elie managed to turn the corner, I think Jasper has the potential as well.

06-04-2023, 06:37 PM
I don't think I've ever liked a Hibs player less than Jasper. Mediocre at best. A lazy, uninterested passenger at worst. His "performance" at Dens, my god. He epitomises the Maloney era for me.

06-04-2023, 06:40 PM
I’d have him over McKirdy.

Tavares I’ve not seen enough of but probably ahead of him too.

He could skin a man easily although his final ball was a bit off.

Loads of potential to work with imo.

PHeffernan
06-04-2023, 07:05 PM
Saw Portimonense in the flesh in the summer whilst taking in a Maritimo home game, very good team. Hilariously ex-Hearts manager Paolo Sergio is currently at Portimonense.

Average attendances of under 2000!
Sergio and Jasper have no half gone small time.

Paulie Walnuts
07-04-2023, 07:27 AM

I've seen Jasper beat a player and cross the ball to a Hibs player who scored, i've never seen Tavarez beat a man unless he was going away from goal.

He did, but at the end of the day he got 2 assists in 1 game, that was it. Every other game he produced absolutely nothing. And compared to Jair he got a hell of a lot more game time with him starting half the games he appeared in.

That being said, I think they’re both dreadful. As easty said, whilst he might not be any worse than some of the players we have just now we wouldn’t be any better for having him on the bench imo. He’d be equally as ineffective just like he was when he was here before.

07-04-2023, 07:46 AM
He did, but at the end of the day he got 2 assists in 1 game, that was it. Every other game he produced absolutely nothing. And compared to Jair he got a hell of a lot more game time with him starting half the games he appeared in.

That being said, I think they’re both dreadful. As easty said, whilst he might not be any worse than some of the players we have just now we wouldn’t be any better for having him on the bench imo. He’d be equally as ineffective just like he was when he was here before.

Probably cheaper tho.

Paulie Walnuts
07-04-2023, 07:49 AM
Probably cheaper tho.

I’d imagine so :agree:

07-04-2023, 08:22 AM

Agree

07-04-2023, 09:59 AM

Watch a lot of him do you?

07-04-2023, 10:21 AM
Watch a lot of him do you?

Watched a fair bit of him before commenting. He struggled for about 5 years to string together a run of decent games. He’s dropped down to the 2nd where in some games he has shined. But it’s the 2nd div and for me that’s miles below the pace of the game up here. He’s a player who likes time on the ball to pick out passes etc. he won’t get that. And he’s 29. If we are signing players at that age they have to be locked on starters that will improve our team. He’s no better than Newell. Oh and I think he’s already signed for us so I’ll just have to suck it up.

07-04-2023, 11:19 AM
Watched a fair bit of him before commenting. He struggled for about 5 years to string together a run of decent games. He’s dropped down to the 2nd where in some games he has shined. But it’s the 2nd div and for me that’s miles below the pace of the game up here. He’s a player who likes time on the ball to pick out passes etc. he won’t get that. And he’s 29. If we are signing players at that age they have to be locked on starters that will improve our team. He’s no better than Newell. Oh and I think he’s already signed for us so I’ll just have to suck it up.

Great response😀

Donegal Hibby
07-04-2023, 12:32 PM
Not much we don't already know here in this short skysports interview with LJ .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-football/12851815/lee-johnson-hibs-recruitment-drive-already-underway

07-04-2023, 12:42 PM
Great response😀

Surprised you get a signal that far up his arse

07-04-2023, 12:50 PM

Can give it out but can’t take it! 😂😂😂

07-04-2023, 12:51 PM
Not much we don't already know here in this short skysports interview with LJ .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-football/12851815/lee-johnson-hibs-recruitment-drive-already-underway

If Stevenson doesn't get an extension I'm cancelling my season DD. Joking obviously, but think he deserves an extension on merit.

Interesting him mentioning any SPL team would want Kevin Nisbet...

07-04-2023, 01:03 PM
If Stevenson doesn't get an extension I'm cancelling my season DD. Joking obviously, but think he deserves an extension on merit.

At the AST event a couple of weeks ago Johnson was asked about him and mentioned that Stevenson already had a couple of offers from elsewhere.

It was just the way I took it but, certainly as a first team player, I got the feeling that this season might be his last for us.

07-04-2023, 01:17 PM

It’s quite a small arse too.

07-04-2023, 01:59 PM

If they don't offer him a contract I'm buying an extra one to replace yours.

Boy isn't good enough. He trys but him and hanlon have been our weak link for years.

07-04-2023, 02:06 PM

Boy isn't good enough. He trys but him and hanlon have been our weak link for years.

I couldn’t disagree more to be honest.

He has his limitations however there’s a reason he keeps seeing off new signings who are brought in to replace him.

Give him another year deal to give us time to find someone better. I wouldn’t go silly with a longer term contract than that but I hope he’s still here next season.

07-04-2023, 02:08 PM

How many years? Certainly not long in Hanlon's case, recently played every week in a side finishing 3rd with an excellent defensive record.

If their replacements achieve anything like they have at Hibs I'll be delighted.

Lazy, boring, incorrect da' at the pub patter to call them our weak links for years. You genuinely think you know better than a dozen managers?

07-04-2023, 02:40 PM
I couldn’t disagree more to be honest.

He has his limitations however there’s a reason he keeps seeing off new signings who are brought in to replace him.

Give him another year deal to give us time to find someone better. I wouldn’t go silly with a longer term contract than that but I hope he’s still here next season.

I don’t think we’ve really brought that many in with a view to replacing Stevenson. Plenty short term, back up players but never really anyone that you thought was coming in to take his place. Doig came through and took over. Cabraja came in and has been a bit meh but I wouldn’t say Stevenson has seen him off really, bit of a toss up as to who will play.

With Cabraja still contracted for two years I don’t really see a need to offer Stevenson another contract (neither is significantly better than the other IMO). Either bring McIntyre through or sign someone that is better than that.

Up-the-slope
07-04-2023, 03:12 PM
i presume if Yohan continues to improve we will pay the fee and sign him? (with money from KN sale - hes shown in both his time here and previous clubs he will run down contract if not sold... ) but will still need another striker or youngsters to rapidly step up

07-04-2023, 03:35 PM
Lazy, boring, incorrect da' at the pub patter to call them our weak links for years. You genuinely think you know better than a dozen managers?

There's also a reason why he was replaced by an 18 year old kid.

07-04-2023, 04:19 PM

Because the 18 year old kid was good enough to get a move to serie A within 2 years?

Donegal Hibby
07-04-2023, 04:24 PM

Totally agree , Stevenson has put in consistently good performance's for us this year and always gives 100 % and deserves another contract.

07-04-2023, 04:36 PM

Ridiculous patter.

07-04-2023, 05:04 PM

At the time of his debut? Was he really?

07-04-2023, 05:05 PM

Ridiculous patter.

Keeping someone for sentimental reasons because he trys hard is more ridiculous. We are a football team not a charity.

07-04-2023, 05:17 PM
Keeping someone for sentimental reasons because he trys hard is more ridiculous. We are a football team not a charity.

Keeping both as experienced backups is an excellent idea. Nothing to do with sentiment.

Absolute lie that they've been weak links for years.

07-04-2023, 05:21 PM
Keeping both as experienced backups is an excellent idea. Nothing to do with sentiment.

Okay, they've been utter outstanding most of their careers for hibs. I forgot the part where we knocked back a 2 million pound bid for both from down south.

Donegal Hibby
07-04-2023, 05:46 PM
I think Stevenson and Hanlon have played well this season and have plenty to offer our football club yet and I hope both are at the club for next season. Some might think they shouldn't be starting as first team players next season which is fair enough though what two good experienced players to have coming on in a game that always give 100% and rarely let us down they would be .

07-04-2023, 06:00 PM

Totally agree, Stevenson has always been a tireless worker and for that he is a handy backup for sure, Hanlon for me was absolute rubbish in most of the games I saw him in this season and looked past it to me, but his form has picked up since he formed a defensive partnership with Fish, so not ready to discount him yet.

07-04-2023, 06:01 PM
Hanlon kicked on after a sleepy start at Livvy and has not been without his fair share of injuries

Has a beautiful left peg and as another poster pointed out successive Managers kept picking him

I think at one point The Sheep were interested?

Stevenson always gives his all and I trust him more than Cabraja just now

In a perfect world I would love to replace them with better younger players who will hit the ground running but until that happens both should be retained as squad members until these mystery recruits arrive as it is a long season with injuries and suspensions but they both cannot go on forever

Legends

07-04-2023, 06:02 PM
Whenever I've seen him, Dylan Levitt from DU looks a player of real potential, for me he'd be a good signing for Hibs.

JamesHFC
07-04-2023, 06:03 PM
I think this may be the last season of Hanlon & Stevenson playing so regularly. Expect we will bring in players for both positions this summer.

07-04-2023, 06:15 PM
Whenever I've seen him, Dylan Levitt from DU looks a player of real potential, for me he'd be a good signing for Hibs.

Be interesting to see what happens with him, and others, at Dundee United if they get relegated.

He especially will be on a large amount of money and Dundee United are known for paying very good wages.

I’m intrigued to see what happens with our midfield in the summer, we’ve got a hell of a lot of centre mids on paper

Kenneh
Newell
JDH
Campbell
Jeggo
Magennis
Henderson
Delferriere
Tait

Expect the bottom 2 to leave but other than that the rest are likely on good contracts and could prove difficult to move.

An area we need to improve too.

07-04-2023, 06:19 PM
Would rather we gave Stevenson an extention and LJs got ripped up.

Too much talk

Donegal Hibby
07-04-2023, 07:12 PM
Be interesting to see what happens with him, and others, at Dundee United if they get relegated.

He especially will be on a large amount of money and Dundee United are known for paying very good wages.

I’m intrigued to see what happens with our midfield in the summer, we’ve got a hell of a lot of centre mids on paper

Kenneh
Newell
JDH
Campbell
Jeggo
Magennis
Henderson
Delferriere
Tait

Expect the bottom 2 to leave but other than that the rest are likely on good contracts and could prove difficult to move.

There's 3 to 5 in there I'd like to see us move on though easier said than done with them having lengthy contracts.

07-04-2023, 07:47 PM
Okay, they've been utter outstanding most of their careers for hibs. I forgot the part where we knocked back a 2 million pound bid for both from down south.

What an ignorant way to judge a player.

30 years from now, Lewis Stevenson probably still the only Hibs player to have won both cups, and you're sitting in a pub saying ''aye, but no championship team bid 2 million for him, guy was pish'' :faf:

Hibs legends, great players for us for years.

07-04-2023, 08:02 PM

He’d be an excellent signing but can’t see it happening now. United did well to get him when they did.

07-04-2023, 08:06 PM
He’d be an excellent signing but can’t see it happening now. United did well to get him when they did.

I'm sure he only signed a 2 year deal, I think Dundee Utd expected him to have a fantastic season and make a few quid this summer.

Paulie Walnuts
07-04-2023, 08:14 PM

Kenneh
Newell
JDH
Campbell
Jeggo
Magennis
Henderson
Delferriere
Tait

Other than campbell I’d be happy enough to see them all leave to varying degrees.

07-04-2023, 09:47 PM
What an ignorant way to judge a player.

30 years from now, Lewis Stevenson probably still the only Hibs player to have won both cups, and you're sitting in a pub saying ''aye, but no championship team bid 2 million for him, guy was pish'' :faf:

Hibs legends, great players for us for years.

Basically yeah apart from the pub part as I don't drink.

Just don't rate Stevenson or Hanlon and see them as weak link. And believe if they were as good as people said they would have been at a higher level.

You don't, congratulations. I'm happy for you.

You'll be in the pub comparing every cb and lb to hanlon and Stevenson saying "but Lewis has 2" kinda like the 5-1 comfort blanket a tad.

Cheers.

08-04-2023, 12:05 AM

This weak link thing doesn’t stand up to any review at all. Some fans dont like either player thats fine but no one can question the positive impact they continue to have on our team. Until the last few games we have been better since Porto left, and since cabbage was moved to the bench. That’s clear in anyones eyes. If Lewis leaves there will be a back ground reason for it. I actually could see him going to Raith tbh but if he goes he will leave as a proper legend.

08-04-2023, 12:07 AM

Just don't rate Stevenson or Hanlon and see them as weak link. And believe if they were as good as people said they would have been at a higher level.

You'll be in the pub comparing every cb and lb to hanlon and Stevenson saying "but Lewis has 2" kinda like the 5-1 comfort blanket a tad.

Cheers.

Hanlon is the best LCB we have had in the last 10 years. That’s good enough for me. Maldini wasn’t available.

08-04-2023, 05:56 AM

Cheers.

You'll no doubt be able to provide some facts or at least a theory as to why they're weak links? I'll wait...

08-04-2023, 06:34 AM
Hanlon is the best LCB we have had in the last 10 years. That’s good enough for me. Maldini wasn’t available.

Says more about the recruitment than anything else.

Paulie Walnuts
08-04-2023, 07:09 AM

Cheers.

They’ve both seen off god knows how many new signings to keep their places for 15 years or so each.

There’s a reason they’re still in the team. It’s because we’ve struggled to sign better. In Hanlons case, the only better players we’ve managed to sign have been Ambrose, Bamba and possibly McGregor. But they’ve all ended up being his partner as we’ve not managed to sign 2 of them at the same time.

In Stevensons case, we’ve had Doig. That’s it. And Doig is now playing Serie A and being watched by the team who are strolling the title, so it’s no surprise he managed to displace a player at Hibs.

08-04-2023, 08:12 AM
Stevenson knows his career is at the tail end and he's been doing his badges, he mentored Doig while he was here and dare say helped improve him.

08-04-2023, 08:18 AM

It doesn't. Even when we were signing quality like Ambrose, McGregor, Fontaine, Hanlon still had a first team place. Great player for Hibs.

08-04-2023, 08:54 AM
You'll no doubt be able to provide some facts or at least a theory as to why they're weak links? I'll wait...

Why do I need too? If I was trying to convince you I would, I'm not trying to convince anyone. I just let people be happy with their opinions. You should try it instead of flinging personal insults.

08-04-2023, 09:10 AM

Or just that he’s been one of the most consistent defenders in the league.

Donegal Hibby
08-04-2023, 09:10 AM
Stevenson knows his career is at the tail end and he's been doing his badges, he mentored Doig while he was here and dare say helped improve him.
Stevenson probably did help josh Doig to improve . He did say he was more interested in that side of the game ( helping young players improve ) when he finally decides to call it a day on what was a remarkable career he's had , hopefully not for another year or two yet .Hanlon I seem to remember was talking to fish in one of his first games the entire time, there experience must be great for younger players to learn from I say.

08-04-2023, 09:15 AM
Why do I need too? If I was trying to convince you I would, I'm not trying to convince anyone. I just let people be happy with their opinions. You should try it instead of flinging personal insults.

Didn't fling any personal insults.

Ridiculous to claim 2 legendary players for Hibs have been weak links for years and have absolutely zero to back it up.

Paul was a key player that kept a lot of clean sheets and finished 3rd less than 2 years ago. It's literally a blatant lie that he's been a weak link for years.

All you've said is Lewis was replaced by an 18 year old. As if age is any indication of quality. Doig is a special talent, the type that rarely comes through.

08-04-2023, 09:35 AM
Replace Hanlon and Stevenson with better and nobody will have an issue. We don't have better though and that's down to poor recruitment over the years. We'll continue to be mediocre, losing countless derbies etc until that changes.

08-04-2023, 09:45 AM
Replace Hanlon and Stevenson with better and nobody will have an issue. We don't have better though and that's down to poor recruitment over the years. We'll continue to be mediocre, losing countless derbies etc until that changes.

Or replace the other 9 players with better 😂

08-04-2023, 09:46 AM
Stevenson probably did help josh Doig to improve . He did say he was more interested in that side of the game ( helping young players improve ) when he finally decides to call it a day on what was a remarkable career he's had , hopefully not for another year or two yet .Hanlon I seem to remember was talking to fish in one of his first games the entire time, there experience must be great for younger players to learn from I say.

Invaluable imo and shouldn’t be overlooked.

08-04-2023, 09:52 AM
Or replace the other 9 players with better 😂

Yes definitely. We should always look for better. The difference is Hanlon and Stevenson have racked up hundreds and hundreds of mediocre appearances between them. That's not their fault. It's the fault of the club.

MartinfaePorty
08-04-2023, 09:54 AM
'Hundreds and hundreds'? Come on, man. That's just nonsense.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

08-04-2023, 09:56 AM
'Hundreds and hundreds'? Come on, man. That's just nonsense.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

Must be around 900 appearances between them?

08-04-2023, 09:56 AM
Yes definitely. We should always look for better. The difference is Hanlon and Stevenson have racked up hundreds and hundreds of mediocre appearances between them. That's not their fault. It's the fault of the club.

When you play as many games as those have between them, you’re going to pile up a few mediocre and poor performances.

But they’re hidden amongst “hundreds and hundreds” of performances that range from acceptable to outstanding.

08-04-2023, 09:57 AM
When you play as many games as those have between them, you’re going to pile up a few mediocre or poor performances.

But they’re hidden amongst “hundreds and hundreds” of performances that range from acceptable to outstanding.

Neither of them have ever had outstanding performances. If they were they'd have been signed by another club years ago. The odd good game maybe.

Paulie Walnuts
08-04-2023, 10:03 AM
Neither of them have ever had outstanding performances. If they were they'd have been signed by another club years ago. The odd good game maybe.

Never had an outstanding performance? :faf: they’ve played nearly 1100 games between them and you think neither of them have ever managed an outstanding performance? Lewis Stevenson won MOTM whilst we won a cup final 5-1 ffs. They’ve had many outstanding performances in that time.

08-04-2023, 10:04 AM

You are at it now. Top trolling.

SickBoy32
08-04-2023, 10:06 AM
This place gets weirder by the day - if we’ve no got folk laying into legendary hibs managers, we’re now accusing legendary players of having hundreds of poor games 😂😂🤡

08-04-2023, 10:10 AM

I’m more than certain if you ask Josh Doig he would say Lewis led by example etc and Lewis helped him to be the player he is today!

The other issue folk have is that because they’ve stayed at one club and not moved on they are poor players. Players no other team want.

08-04-2023, 10:14 AM
This place gets weirder by the day - if we’ve no got folk laying into legendary hibs managers, we’re now accusing legendary players of having hundreds of poor games 😂😂🤡

If only the tornadoes had had so many poor games, they might have won as much as Lewis.

08-04-2023, 10:30 AM
Both have cup wins, international recognition and have won Hibs player of the year (I think), yet that’s no enough for some 😂

08-04-2023, 10:21 PM

Ffs :greengrin

08-04-2023, 10:42 PM
Worth a bid for Van Veen?

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-04-2023, 10:59 PM
Worth a bid for Van Veen?

No

Donegal Hibby
08-04-2023, 11:01 PM
No

Not doubting you on this though would like to know your reason/s why ?

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-04-2023, 11:06 PM
Not doubting you on this though would like to know your reason/s why ?

Don’t rate him, the Dutch Colin Nish. Presumably Hibs will lose Nisbet in the summer so he needs replaced by someone that’s a proven goal scorer, Van Veen is proven to be a half decent player that doesn’t score a lot of goals at this level. Offer Ross Stewart a deal, his contract is up at Sunderland in the summer. Worst that can happen is he says no

Donegal Hibby
08-04-2023, 11:42 PM
Don’t rate him, the Dutch Colin Nish. Presumably Hibs will lose Nisbet in the summer so he needs replaced by someone that’s a proven goal scorer, Van Veen is proven to be a half decent player that doesn’t score a lot of goals at this level. Offer Ross Stewart a deal, his contract is up at Sunderland in the summer. Worst that can happen is he says no

I'm not really a fan of van Veen myself though imo he's a big physical striker that puts himself about and makes life difficult for defense's and to be fair i think he's got 18 goals . I think he's having a fairly good season though he's not really the type of striker I like and with him near 32 I wouldn't be keen either. I'd doubt we would have a hope in hell in getting Ross Stewart . I think we will lose Nisbet too and will need to replace him with someone of quality that knows how to score goals which won't be easy.

09-04-2023, 12:46 AM

This is definitely just a bit of Easter fun. Good effort 😁

PHeffernan
09-04-2023, 03:17 AM

Absolutely zero chance of 26 year old Ross Stewart signing for Hibs in the summer.

09-04-2023, 09:28 AM

If they'd never had any outstanding performances then it's very difficult to explain why Hibs have kept offering them new contracts instead of easily replacing them.

Or maybe the reason they keep getting contracts is that both Stevenson and Hanlon are good players at our level, steady and reliable with the occasional outstanding performance and the occasional howler, and it's not been easy to find better.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 09:51 AM
Absolutely zero chance of 26 year old Ross Stewart signing for Hibs in the summer.

We were paying Chris Mueller 10k a week, he’s on less than a third of that at Sunderland. Worth a try, especially with the potential lure of European football, something he’d never get playing in league one/championship in England

Willis1875
09-04-2023, 10:27 AM
We were paying Chris Mueller 10k a week, he’s on less than a third of that at Sunderland. Worth a try, especially with the potential lure of European football, something he’d never get playing in league one/championship in England

Sunderland were going to offer him a new deal to make him the highest paid player at the club a few weeks ago,unless that’s changed then we have no chance….would however continue the pattern of signing players coming off the back of serious injuries

Edit Sunderland also have the option of activating an extra year

09-04-2023, 12:54 PM

Not a chance in hell. Not even worth a try. Key player for a championship club. Never happening.

09-04-2023, 12:55 PM
Any transfer that sees Joe Newell leave would do me.

09-04-2023, 12:58 PM

“Least of our worries”
“Not as bad as other midfielders”
“Great stats”
“First name on team sheet”

Etc etc

SickBoy32
09-04-2023, 01:00 PM

Simply get rid of that joker in the summer, we'll achieve nothing tangible as a club with gutless guys like him in the middle of the park

Symptomatic of our general decline since Lennon

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 01:02 PM
Simply get rid of that joker in the summer, we'll achieve nothing tangible as a club with gutless guys like him in the middle of the park

Symptomatic of our general decline since Lennon

Easy there someone will come along to say that’s all rubbish and a troupe [emoji23]

09-04-2023, 01:03 PM
Let’s hope we don’t take up the option to buy Youan as we would be wasting our money again.

09-04-2023, 01:04 PM
He did put in a half decent cross today but overall he's been disappointing and I would add Cabraja to the out List.

You could believe the rumours of the young players not really been giving a chance this season after a lot of performances like today.

09-04-2023, 01:10 PM
Easy there someone will come along to say that’s all rubbish and a troupe [emoji23]

I’m not saying Newell is the quality we need in that position but I’d have him at the club longer than any 1 of those other midfielders. I’ve never known such a collection of mediocre, limited central midfielders at our club in over 30 years of following Hibs. I couldn’t give 2 hoots if Campbell, Henderson, JDH, Jeggo and sicknote Magennis ever played for Hibs again.

09-04-2023, 01:12 PM
I’m not saying Newell is the quality we need in that position but I’d have him at the club longer than any 1 of those other midfielders. I’ve never known such a collection of mediocre, limited central midfielders at our club in over 30 years of following Hibs. I couldn’t give 2 hoots if Campbell, Henderson, JDH, Jeggo and sicknote Magennis ever played for Hibs again.

Yeah, but don’t let that get in the way of a good Newell bashing.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 01:13 PM

I’d get shot of Newell, Henderson, JDH and Magennis. Like Campbell and Jeggo.

Bronson
09-04-2023, 01:21 PM
Newell is the only cm we have who can play football.

Jeggo and cabraja first out the door please both absolutely dug sh*te. I’ll add henderson, magennis, JDH, stevenson, hanlon, tavares to that exodus list as well. And that’s being generous to a few others.

Donegal Hibby
09-04-2023, 01:24 PM
I’d get shot of Newell, Henderson, JDH and Magennis. Like Campbell and Jeggo.

Midfield is awful and I'd get shot of exactly the same players you would . If Johnson doesn't survive the next few weeks whatever manager we appoint he's going to have the same problems recurring time and time again with a s***e midfield! We have tried in January to offload Henderson and JDH though they wouldn't go cause of lengthy contracts and probably good wages .

09-04-2023, 01:26 PM

Jeggo and cabraja first out the door please both absolutely dug sh*te. I’ll add henderson, magennis, JDH, stevenson, hanlon, tavares to that exodus list as well. And that’s being generous to a few others.

What does the football that Newell plays achieve? He’s as ineffective as all our other midfielders IMO. Possibly our best midfielder on paper, but he’s just as underwhelming in reality as the rest of them. How many different unbalanced midfields has he been part of? He might not solely be responsible for that but it’s also not an unrelated coincidence.

Bronson
09-04-2023, 01:28 PM
What does the football that Newell plays achieve? He’s as ineffective as all our other midfielders IMO. Possibly our best midfielder on paper, but he’s just as underwhelming in reality as the rest of them. How many different unbalanced midfields has he been part of? He might not solely be responsible for that but it’s also not an unrelated coincidence.

He’s the only one who is a calm head on the ball, drives forward and picks a forward pass. He’s a good player who has had to do too much heavy lifting over the years because he’s picking up the slack for the sh*te next to him.

09-04-2023, 01:33 PM
He’s the only one who is a calm head on the ball, drives forward and picks a forward pass. He’s a good player who has had to do too much heavy lifting over the years because he’s picking up the slack for the sh*te next to him.

I’ll agree to disagree as I don’t see what you see, certainly not more than occasionally. In his time here he is as guilty of dragging his felllow midfielders down as they are in dragging him down IMO.

09-04-2023, 01:35 PM

Occasionally, but rarely does he do it, more often he passes squarely or backwards.

Paulie Walnuts
09-04-2023, 01:36 PM

Can’t say that’s the Newell I watch imo.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 01:37 PM

Drives forward? When?

09-04-2023, 01:38 PM
Drives forward? When?

Was going to say when he leaves his driveway but he’s probably one of those silly ***** that reverses out into a main road.

BoyledEgg
09-04-2023, 01:39 PM

Slows play down everytime to a snails pace everytime he gets the ball.

09-04-2023, 01:41 PM

We need a better one.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

10-04-2023, 10:53 AM
Nearing the end of the season and another summer transfer thread about the midfield which has been the case the past how many seasons?

Nisbet will be looking for a move in the summer so if we can get something half decent for him that would be a start.

Looking at the squad he is really the only player we have that could make us some decent transfer incoming(Boyle won't be going anywhere)

The 750k quoted fee for Youan is a lot of money for our club with either no transfer outs or no Europe money.

Players i want to us see move on

Cabraja
Magennis
Henderson
JDH
Hauge
Melkersen

Players I wouldn't be bothered if they left

Marshall
Hanlon
Lewis
Newell
McKirdy
Jair
Jeggo
Cadden

Campbell has had a great season and he definitely has his use in any squad if he had better technical players around him.

Next season team based on a 4-3-3

?/Johnson

Cadden/Miller/?
Fish
Rocky/?
McIntyre

?/Newell
?/Campbell
?/?

Boyle/?
?/?
Youan/?

The ? Indicates a new signing on which I think we need to improve which is a very big ask for any club to get that many ins and outs.

10-04-2023, 11:02 AM
All midfielders should be leaving if Newell is because he's clearly our best one. Generally been good this season too. The agenda will never end.

10-04-2023, 11:05 AM
All midfielders should be leaving if Newell is because he's clearly our best one. Generally been good this season too. The agenda will never end.

There’s been times I’ve been critical of Newell, he needs to offer so much more in an attacking threat IMO. His goal return for a player of his abilities is pathetic to be honest.

That said, he’s absolutely miles off being our biggest problem. If he is here next season but surrounded by better players I’d be quite happy.

10-04-2023, 11:10 AM

Indeed. He has his faults but is comfortably our best midfielder.

10-04-2023, 11:12 AM
There’s been times I’ve been critical of Newell, he needs to offer so much more in an attacking threat IMO. His goal return for a player of his abilities is pathetic to be honest.

That said, he’s absolutely miles off being our biggest problem. If he is here next season but surrounded by better players I’d be quite happy.

I just can't get my head around our midfield. It seems that we can't manage to find anyone who is actually reliable or consistent. They've all got that habit where they can look great one week or even for a few weeks and can then just totally disappear.

Newell's probably at the upper end of the list regarding who should be kept or who might be relied upon to be part of a solid unit going forward but I'm not sure I have total confidence in any of them.

Sadly, I don't really have much confidence that Hibs won't manage to find replacements that are actually worse, so it feels tempting to stick with the slow decline over the rapid one.

10-04-2023, 11:18 AM

Probably sums Newell up to be honest that he doesn't deserve the fierce arguments where rubbish is pitted against him being a key player.

He's certainly not as bad as his detractors make him out to be, and man for man he's our most talented midfielder. However, it's a fair argument by now that if you're looking at his role in the team - and the fact he's not that regularly influencing a game our way - then it might be time to try and find a better midfielder to be our best midfielder.

10-04-2023, 12:00 PM
Was a moment in the first half yesterday that just summed up our midfield.

Youan was running down the line and Newell and Jeggo were stood almost side by side about 10 yards in front of the centre halves. They only had Fletcher left up they either didn’t have the nous to get themselves up the park or couldn’t be bothered to do it.

Until we completely rebuild the midfield we’ll see more of the same inept performances.

10-04-2023, 12:10 PM

Youan was running down the line and Newell and Jeggo were stood almost side by side about 10 yards in front of the centre halves. They only had Fletcher left up they either didn’t have the nous to get themselves up the park or couldn’t be bothered to do it.

Until we completely rebuild the midfield we’ll see more of the same inept performances.

Campbell has had a lot of praise this season, rightly so, but he’s gone missing the last couple of games too.

10-04-2023, 12:13 PM
Campbell has had a lot of praise this season, rightly so, but he’s gone missing the last couple of games too.

Josh has improved a lot this season, no mean feat in an often struggling team. A plus point for the season. Was missing in action yesterday tho.

10-04-2023, 12:28 PM

Drives forward when on his beloved golf course.

10-04-2023, 12:35 PM
Drives forward when on his beloved golf course.

Footballer has hobbies. Whatever next.

10-04-2023, 12:36 PM

Or until we get a manager that gets more from these guys. Tight game away from home, they were likely doing exactly what they were told to.

HendoDelivered
10-04-2023, 12:45 PM

Facts 👌🏼

Just_Jimmy
10-04-2023, 12:55 PM

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk18 goals in 31 games.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

10-04-2023, 12:58 PM

I’m not saying we should sign the guy, but isn’t a proven goalscorer at this level exactly what he’s been for Motherwell?

Seems to score all of motherwell’s goals, and do so most weeks.

10-04-2023, 02:11 PM
Or until we get a manager that gets more from these guys. Tight game away from home, they were likely doing exactly what they were told to.

I’d hope there was a middle ground in following the managers instructions to the letter, and seeing how a game is unfolding and taking initiative and grabbing it by the scruff of the neck. Newell is about the only midfielder we have, apart from perma injured Magennis, that can drive up the park with the ball. Particularly with Jeggo providing cover. He doesn’t do it anywhere near as much as we need him to IMO. Which in itself is part of our midfield being consistently less than the sum of whatever parts we put together IMO.

Donegal Hibby
10-04-2023, 02:22 PM
We need a better one.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Newell being our best midfielder wouldn't be hard with the midfield we have , it's been poor for years. Newell slows the game down to much for me and on Sunday he done nothing

Exuberance1875
10-04-2023, 02:32 PM
Scott Fraser from Charlton would be a massive improvement on any of our midfield at the moment

10-04-2023, 02:34 PM
Pep couldn't get more from these guys.

Donegal Hibby
10-04-2023, 03:15 PM
We keep saying when we get a manager that gets more out of these guys , if Johnson goes and we put a caretaker in charge that will be our 4th caretaker while we look for our 5th manager in 4 years , at what point do we wake up and think maybe it's because the players aren't very good either. Personally I think there should be more than just Lee Johnson future at stake over the next couple of games and that includes Joe Newell in it as well.

10-04-2023, 03:51 PM
God knows where we'll get the money, but for me most of the midfield needs replaced. And if Newell is the best we've got, he's got even less excuse than the others for his poor performances. Contrary to what one or two people on here seem to think, he's not been particularly good this season when he has been playing, and we haven't missed him when he hasn't. I certainly haven't anyway. He needs to be replaced with a player that offers a lot more than he has, but that goes for plenty of others. I suppose it comes down to money. Again.

10-04-2023, 03:56 PM
Behich from United anyone?

maturehibby
10-04-2023, 04:16 PM
Johnston was at Mcdermott Park on Saturday
Perhaps looking at potential signings from either the Saintees or Ross County..
Oh how the mind boggles thinking who it was they were interested in.

kentao
10-04-2023, 04:17 PM
Behich from United anyone?

I`d take him, Love how he attacks the opposition full back and can actually pick a pass when he gets passed his man. Something i thought Demetri Mitchell would give us but injuries put that to bed. Its about time we start cherry picking some of the better players in the league.

10-04-2023, 04:18 PM
Behich from United anyone?32 now otherwise I'd say yes

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

10-04-2023, 04:20 PM

Maybe seeing how Kenneh is doing

10-04-2023, 04:21 PM

We play St Johnstone in a couple of weeks, will just be to see them. Also gave him the opportunity to see how Kenneh was getting on.

10-04-2023, 07:41 PM
Pep couldn't get more from these guys.

Probably not pep no. He's useless without the chequebook.

Mourinho, Simeone etc? I think they might pick up a few more points.

Infact, even Robbie Neilson might.

archie
10-04-2023, 08:01 PM
We play St Johnstone in a couple of weeks, will just be to see them. Also gave him the opportunity to see how Kenneh was getting on.

Any word on how Kenneh is doing?

PHeffernan
10-04-2023, 10:02 PM
Any word on how Kenneh is doing?

Kenneh and Loturi are anchoring the Ross County midfield which has made a big difference to their fortunes along with the efforts of the new strikers

Big90inOz
11-04-2023, 03:26 AM
Newell and Jeggo spend way too much time keeping the centre half's company, the 2 wide / wingbacks stay wide so we have an enormous hole in the middle of the park with no one there. It happens game after game after game. Every team in the country knows we will pass back and forward across the back line so as long as they stay tight to our wide men its a hoof up the park to an area where we have no players

11-04-2023, 05:46 AM
Jeggo is a bit like Marvin Bartley. Completely ineffectual when we have the majority of the ball.

11-04-2023, 05:51 AM
Kenneh and Loturi are anchoring the Ross County midfield which has made a big difference to their fortunes along with the efforts of the new strikers

Loturi is the one I want to see us sign in the summer, very very good player

11-04-2023, 07:07 AM
Joe Newell our best midfielder, right there we have the reason we are sheite.

Paulie Walnuts
11-04-2023, 07:37 AM
Joe Newell our best midfielder, right there we have the reason we are sheite.

I don’t agree with that statement, especially not this season, but even if it was the case, it’s a damming indictment on our current midfield if Newell is even being discussed as the best of them.

PHeffernan
11-04-2023, 12:11 PM
Loturi is the one I want to see us sign in the summer, very very good player

Johnson and our recruitment team should be looking closely at Loturi and Kenneh playing together to see if it is a pairing that could work for Hibs.
Loturi is only in year 1 of a 3 year contract and Ross County looked to have paid a 6 figure sum for him with a sell on clause also included.

11-04-2023, 12:27 PM
Johnson and our recruitment team should be looking closely at Loturi and Kenneh playing together to see if it is a pairing that could work for Hibs.
Loturi is only in year 1 of a 3 year contract and Ross County looked to have paid a 6 figure sum for him with a sell on clause also included.

I'd be amazed if Ross County have ever paid a 6 figure fee for anyone.

11-04-2023, 10:27 PM
Wonder if we should revise our position on Dabrowski and offer him a new deal. With Schofield away and Marshall off form, we’re light on the keeper front. Kev was just featured in the SPFL TOTW too, seems to be doing well on loan.

archie
11-04-2023, 10:30 PM

Thanks.

12-04-2023, 06:33 PM
Delferriere scored a hat trick the other day for the development team and still won't get a game for the 1st team. Weird. Only a year left on his contract and he looks a promising young player, don't know why he still can't get a game.

Keepthefaith
12-04-2023, 08:10 PM

Burnley just ran away with the championship having 4 loan players playing regularly. our problem has not been loan players per se, but more often too many that aren't better than our own young players. for me the ideal is to improve the squad with a couple of loan players that would otherwise be out of our price range and to bring more of our young players through.

also interesting how some of the clubs decisions to release young players has been criticised in recent seasons but I'm not aware of any that have set the world alight elsewhere? have to say I like the job Kean is doing and would trust his judgement going forward. would be interesting to know if there is a big difference of opinion between him and johnson as to which of our young players should be getting game time.

Dmas
13-04-2023, 05:42 AM
Delferriere scored a hat trick the other day for the development team and still won't get a game for the 1st team. Weird. Only a year left on his contract and he looks a promising young player, don't know why he still can't get a game.

Mystery how this guy hasn’t even had sub appearances but he looked like an experienced guy playing in a kids game going by YouTube highlights the other day

13-04-2023, 07:31 AM
Mystery how this guy hasn’t even had sub appearances but he looked like an experienced guy playing in a kids game going by YouTube highlights the other dayWasn't he sent back from Edinburgh city?

I believe some of the reports from there w were OK but certainly nothing to get super excited about

Which I'm surprised at as he looked pretty decent anytime I seen him at hibs

13-04-2023, 07:34 AM
Delferriere scored a hat trick the other day for the development team and still won't get a game for the 1st team. Weird. Only a year left on his contract and he looks a promising young player, don't know why he still can't get a game.We have the option of a years extension I think

2 1/2 year deal in 2022 with option to extend by a year

No idea if we rate him enough to use it

He was touted as a pure development player and really he's only been here 12 months

13-04-2023, 12:03 PM

By all accounts on another thread by people who see him regularly he's been pretty average. Maybe the penny's dropped and this is him getting his act together. You think one excellent game in the development teams means he should be getting a game for first. If he's doing it regularly then yes.

13-04-2023, 12:34 PM
I know folk will be demanding Delferriere starts now but was he even any good in the game?

Look I know he scored a hat trick which was a header, free kick and a pen so people will always say he was good, but how was he on the ball, defensively etc.

Even James Scott managed a hat trick with us 🤣

A goal or two or three at under 23s etc shouldn’t just mean you start for us. Tavares seems to get a goal or assist every time he plays for them but never gets a sniff for the first team.

13-04-2023, 02:30 PM
I know folk will be demanding Delferriere starts now but was he even any good in the game?

Look I know he scored a hat trick which was a header, free kick and a pen so people will always say he was good, but how was he on the ball, defensively etc.

Even James Scott managed a hat trick with us 🤣

A goal or two or three at under 23s etc shouldn’t just mean you start for us. Tavares seems to get a goal or assist every time he plays for them but never gets a sniff for the first team.

Nobody is demanding he starts.

13-04-2023, 02:43 PM
Nobody is demanding he starts.

There’s been plenty posts suggesting he should be in the first team.

13-04-2023, 03:37 PM

18 in 31 this season for Motherwell in the league lol

cameronw-hfc
13-04-2023, 04:05 PM
Wasn't he sent back from Edinburgh city?

I believe some of the reports from there w were OK but certainly nothing to get super excited about

Which I'm surprised at as he looked pretty decent anytime I seen him at hibs

Yeah but due to a breakdown between the relationship between clubs rather than his performances.

13-04-2023, 09:39 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/kyle-magennis-set-for-another-operation-as-hibs-boss-confirms-midfielders-season-is-over-4103652

Magennis getting another operation.

CL0762
13-04-2023, 09:44 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/kyle-magennis-set-for-another-operation-as-hibs-boss-confirms-midfielders-season-is-over-4103652

Sigh.

Probably the worst value for money signing Hibs have ever made.

13-04-2023, 09:45 PM

Reckon it’s time we paid up the boys contract and let him go.

He’s been an absolute failure of a signing.

Never known a player to get so many long term injuries.

JamesHFC
13-04-2023, 09:48 PM

Brutal. A good player ruined by injuries.

LJ saying in that article he expects Hanlon back post split but in the video shared by the club a couple of hours ago he’s hopeful to have him available for this weekend?

13-04-2023, 09:49 PM
Real shame for Kyle and the club. Easily our best midfielder on the rare occasion he’s available.

Donegal Hibby
13-04-2023, 09:51 PM

Arguably our best midfielder too though haven't had any return fro m him since we got . He had a 5 year deal , probably 2 years left . His injury record's quite bad .

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/kyle-magennis/verletzungen/spieler/399258

13-04-2023, 09:52 PM

Just looked up his time at Hibs - assuming the data is correct.

x5 games he’s played 90 mins. Last time he played 90 mins was August 2021.

If you add the minutes up this season it’s 7 games worth.

Last season 13 games worth of minutes.

Season before last 8 games worth.

It’s such a shame what he’s been through but we need to bring in more midfielders in summer and Kyle will be a bonus if he can get fit again.

Paulie Walnuts
13-04-2023, 09:57 PM

How has it taken us 2 months to decide he needs an op? You’d have to imagine an op now will keep him out for at least some of pre season if not all of it and we all know that’s then a cert to impact his return to the team if that ever even comes round again. Why not get the op done earlier and give him the best chance of being ready for next season?

Between this and the time when JR came out and told us they didn’t know what was even wrong with Magennis after he’d been out for 2 months or so we seem to be managing his injuries woefully.

Said it before and there is constant evidence to back up my point but questions need to be asked about the medical side of things at Hibs, whether it’s our internal teams/companies we out source things to or both. It can no longer reasonably be put down to bad luck.

13-04-2023, 10:03 PM
Arguably our best midfielder too though haven't had any return fro m him since we got . He had a 5 year deal , probably 2 years left . His injury record's quite bad .

It’s a hard one for me even knowing how good he is.

Start of last season he had a spell he was really good and scored a few goals but outwith that he’s seemed pretty average to me - albeit with his injuries and time out he needs a while to get back to his best. Just unfortunate he gets injured again before he’s at his best!!

Hopefully he gets the op and is back on day 1 of pre season fully fit and ready to go.

You just know if we did release him that he would go to a Dundee United and be fully fit every week.

13-04-2023, 10:03 PM
Real shame for Kyle and the club. Easily our best midfielder on the rare occasion he’s available.
Finished for the season.

13-04-2023, 10:07 PM
Release

13-04-2023, 10:08 PM
How has it taken us 2 months to decide he needs an op? You’d have to imagine an op now will keep him out for at least some of pre season if not all of it and we all know that’s then a cert to impact his return to the team if that ever even comes round again. Why not get the op done earlier and give him the best chance of being ready for next season?

Between this and the time when JR came out and told us they didn’t know what was even wrong with Magennis after he’d been out for 2 months or so we seem to be managing his injuries woefully.

Said it before and there is constant evidence to back up my point but questions need to be asked about the medical side of things at Hibs, whether it’s our internal teams/companies we out source things to or both. It can no longer reasonably be put down to bad luck.

I can only assume the injuries he’s got they’re confident that certain exercises etc will build it up enough without an op and they e done that before with other players.

Maybe with Magennis his body just doesn’t react well if there is a weakness there.

I was the most injury prone player myself so I get the frustration he must feel but it’s equally as frustrating as a fan.

He’ll be on a decent wage too and one that could go towards another quality midfielder.

RossScott1991
13-04-2023, 10:10 PM
13 games in total last season. Only 7 which were in the league.
13 total this season.

20 league games played for Hibs in 2 seasons. And many of them off the bench returning from injury.

13-04-2023, 10:19 PM
Release

Which we can't do, as I'm sure you are well aware.

13-04-2023, 10:48 PM

That he was offered a 5 year deal in the first place is an absolutely shocking decision.

13-04-2023, 11:00 PM
It’s a hard one for me even knowing how good he is.

Start of last season he had a spell he was really good and scored a few goals but outwith that he’s seemed pretty average to me - albeit with his injuries and time out he needs a while to get back to his best. Just unfortunate he gets injured again before he’s at his best!!

Hopefully he gets the op and is back on day 1 of pre season fully fit and ready to go.

You just know if we did release him that he would go to a Dundee United and be fully fit every week.I agree. I think most of us, myself included, seem to let 3 or 4 games under Jack Ross cloud our judgement of him. Other than those games which are probably less than a quarter of his total games for Hibs, he's been decidedly average.

And even if he is a fantastic player, he's useless because we get 3 games a season out of him.

Donegal Hibby
13-04-2023, 11:43 PM
That he was offered a 5 year deal in the first place is an absolutely shocking decision.
I'd say in fairness he is quality player though with his injury history at St mirren before we signed him on 5 year deal was a shocking decision though how many of them have been made since 2016 . The squad has been on the decline ever since . When I see the midfield we had then compared to the current one I'd swap most of them in a heartbeat.
https://www.skysports.com/football/rangers-vs-hibernian/teams/355016

13-04-2023, 11:47 PM
Just looked up his time at Hibs - assuming the data is correct.

x5 games he’s played 90 mins. Last time he played 90 mins was August 2021.

If you add the minutes up this season it’s 7 games worth.

Last season 13 games worth of minutes.

Season before last 8 games worth.

It’s such a shame what he’s been through but we need to bring in more midfielders in summer and Kyle will be a bonus if he can get fit again.

That’s horrific reading.

hhibs
14-04-2023, 12:04 AM

Yes,something just is not right IMO.

14-04-2023, 10:49 AM
Mark Ohara from St mirror looks decent.

PHeffernan
14-04-2023, 11:52 AM

Has a contract until the summer of 2026

14-04-2023, 11:59 AM

'Stephen Robinson warns clubs St Mirren's transfer record will need to be smashed to land Mark O'Hara
The Buddies' record-sale was Ian Ferguson's £850,000 move to Rangers in 1998'

14-04-2023, 12:16 PM
'Stephen Robinson warns clubs St Mirren's transfer record will need to be smashed to land Mark O'Hara
The Buddies' record-sale was Ian Ferguson's £850,000 move to Rangers in 1998'

1988 surely?

14-04-2023, 12:22 PM

He's definitely had a good season. But he had a few years at Motherwell prior to that where he wasn't standing out much.

With the exception of a John McGinn it's always a bit of a lottery when we sign players from teams who are traditionally more the bottom 6. Liam Craig, Gogic, Drey Wright etc. A lot of these types look good for smaller teams and then seem to struggle with different expectations at Hibs.

Not many players in the bottom 6 now that would be obvious targets to improve us IMO.

14-04-2023, 12:22 PM
1988 surely?

I would have thought so, just lifted it from a media report today, wouldn't be like them to get things wrong 🤔

churchie16
14-04-2023, 12:30 PM
Jack fitzwater signing for hibs according to si ferry, take that however you want it .

Donegal Hibby
14-04-2023, 12:33 PM
Jack fitzwater signing for hibs according to si ferry, take that however you want it .
I've watched us against Livvy a few times and tbh never really noticed him . Would he be a player you'd rate ?

PHeffernan
14-04-2023, 12:37 PM
He's definitely had a good season. But he had a few years at Motherwell prior to that where he wasn't standing out much.

With the exception of a John McGinn it's always a bit of a lottery when we sign players from teams who are traditionally more the bottom 6. Liam Craig, Gogic, Drey Wright etc. A lot of these types look good for smaller teams and then seem to struggle with different expectations at Hibs.

Not many players in the bottom 6 now that would be obvious targets to improve us IMO.

I thought we should have signed him instead of Motherwell but as you say he went on to have an unremarkable spell there.
Also as you say these players are moving up a level if they move to Hibs, Hearts or Aberdeen and it often doesn't work out.
Drey Wright has gone back to St Johnstone and is doing well again after a tough time at Hibs.
JDH did well at St Mirren but has struggled to step up. I thought we might have tried to sign Erhahon in January but it didn't happen.
There are other good players outside the 5 big teams but Hibs have player numbers and really need to bring in upgrades to improve the starting 11.

Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2023, 12:42 PM

I’d extend your last point to the whole league outside the OF. Genuinely think the only players I can think of outside the OF that id say would obviously improve us would be Shankland and Gordon and I’d suspect the likes of Hearts would probably only look at Boyle.

The league is of such a poor standard that there is next to no stand out players anymore.

14-04-2023, 12:44 PM

If we end up signing him you'd need to question why we couldn't get it done in January. He's one that has been highly regarded but hasn't seemed to have shone in games against us.

Scotty Leither
14-04-2023, 12:45 PM

He’ll be cheap, so he fits the bill, I suppose.

14-04-2023, 12:49 PM

We haven’t had a problem spending money the last couple of years

Spending it on pish has been the problem

14-04-2023, 12:52 PM

We haven't had a problem with spending money the last few years, it's been spent poorly.

PHeffernan
14-04-2023, 12:58 PM

That's been talked about for a while because Fitzwater is out of contract in the summer and Hibs need at least one centre half.
The parallel chat is he may go back down south.
He struggled when he first arrived in Scotland, was very good last season and not so good this.

Scotty Leither
14-04-2023, 01:05 PM
We haven't had a problem with spending money the last few years, it's been spent poorly.

I priced the Edinburgh club hospitality for next season, £1,875 is the tab.

We’ve got Harrod’s prices off the park and budget cola ON it, hence the signings of the likes of Devlin who, according to our manager’s latest stream of banalities has issues with “exerting himself” but might be ready for next season?

Why not just sign a player that will come straight into the first team?

Answer - £££ and a stubborn refusal to spend any.

14-04-2023, 01:09 PM

We’ve got Harrod’s prices off the park and budget cola ON it, hence the signings of the likes of Devlin who, according to our manager’s latest stream of banalities has issues with “exerting himself” but might be ready for next season?

Livingston probably didn't want to do business in January. Same reason we shouldn't have sold Porteous for 200k.

PHeffernan
14-04-2023, 01:10 PM

Think the problem was we had burnt the player budget and more by the time Devlin came in.

Scotty Leither
14-04-2023, 01:17 PM
Think the problem was we had burnt the player budget and more by the time Devlin came in.

So the playing budget should have been extended then as Kensell will tell anyone that’ll listen that hospitality sales are through the roof, and that the increased revenue is all for the good of the playing side.

It’s got shades of Petrie telling us that once spending on infrastructure was done, there’d be more money spent on the team, which was BS then and it’s the same line being spouted now, just for “infrastructure” read “hospitality”.

14-04-2023, 01:17 PM
Si Ferry talks so much **** so would take it with a pinch of salt.

14-04-2023, 01:20 PM

Because Devlin was signed as cover on a short term deal. You don't spend Harrods money on a player you aren't planning on using.

PHeffernan
14-04-2023, 01:21 PM
If we end up signing him you'd need to question why we couldn't get it done in January. He's one that has been highly regarded but hasn't seemed to have shone in games against us.

Livingston needed Fitzwater for their own team so wouldn't have wanted to sell in January.

14-04-2023, 01:29 PM
I'm hoping Si Ferry has heard it wrong and we are getting fizzy water for the boardroom.

Scotty Leither
14-04-2023, 01:30 PM
Because Devlin was signed as cover on a short term deal. You don't spend Harrods money on a player you aren't planning on using.

Don’t buy him at all then.

PHeffernan
14-04-2023, 02:01 PM
So the playing budget should have been extended then as Kensell will tell anyone that’ll listen that hospitality sales are through the roof, and that the increased revenue is all for the good of the playing side.

It’s got shades of Petrie telling us that once spending on infrastructure was done, there’d be more money spent on the team, which was BS then and it’s the same line being spouted now, just for “infrastructure” read “hospitality”.

Hibs hospitality is a revenue stream that brings in much more cash than it previously did but not amounts such that great players can suddenly be signed at will on lucrative contracts.
Hibs burnt a massive chunk of money on Boyle and McGeady. Both are badly broken and have barely played.
Jeggo, Egan-Riley and Hoppe were brought in during the January window so extra money was spent.

The reality is money has been spent on the team just not very well but fortunately we will be able to spend again in the summer.
The salaries of Boyle and a new Director of Football will take up a big chunk of the budget next season so both need to perform.
The real harsh reality is Hibs have the 5th best turnover in the league and generally that means finishing 5th best team if all teams spend their budget equally well.
That won't change next season although I expect Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen to all improve and lose less games to the lesser clubs.

Donegal Hibby
14-04-2023, 02:08 PM
Is anyone else concerned that we are rumoured to be signing players with no DOF in and probably the same recruitment that's been getting things wrong ?

14-04-2023, 02:08 PM

He was awful against us. Ive been saying it for ages. Just go and buy Mayo.

Scotty Leither
14-04-2023, 02:11 PM
Hibs hospitality is a revenue stream that brings in much more cash than it previously did but not amounts such that great players can suddenly be signed at will on lucrative contracts.
Hibs burnt a massive chunk of money on Boyle and McGeady. Both are badly broken and have barely played.
Jeggo, Egan-Riley and Hoppe were brought in during the January window so extra money was spent.

The reality is money has been spent on the team just not very well but fortunately we will be able to spend again in the summer.
The salaries of Boyle and a new Director of Football will take up a big chunk of the budget next season so both need to perform.
The real harsh reality is Hibs have the 5th best turnover in the league and generally that means finishing 5th best team if all teams spend their budget equally well.
That won't change next season although I expect Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen to all improve and lose less games to the lesser clubs.

Guess we’ll need to agree to disagree…

Jeggo would have been as cheap as they come, and short term loans are by and large fill-ins of which we’ve had a glut of these past few windows.

The club, playing staff, and recruitment team need filleted (again), but I suspect that’ll only come through new ownership, because if any of the Gordon sons were going to step into their old man’s shoes they’d have done so by now.

Until either of these scenarios plays out we’ll be stuck with a dull, safe Board only sanctioning the signing of dull, safe (cheap) sub-standard players.

SickBoy32
14-04-2023, 02:15 PM

Curious what makes you think we'll improve ?

The club will likely look to sell Nisbet in the summer, at that point we've got Boyle as our only source of real quality.

Then it's over to the recruitment team - of which it's hard to have any faith in, when you look at the last 3/4 windows

DoF I can't see working out, purely as Kensell has shown he lacks the nous to effectively recruit (maybe I'm being overly pessimistic, but I don't think so unfortunately)

Bleak outlook IMO, and I certainly don't expect any big improvements - and i say that as someone who has renewed my ST

14-04-2023, 02:16 PM
Is anyone else concerned that we are rumoured to be signing players with no DOF in and probably the same recruitment that's been getting things wrong ?

100% yes.