View Full Version : Summer Transfer Window

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

tonyrougier123
06-05-2023, 09:50 PM
Lacovitti of Ross county would be a decent leader to have in the team. I’d take him.

Willis1875
06-05-2023, 09:54 PM
Lacovitti of Ross county would be a decent leader to have in the team. I’d take him.

Watched him on the TV the other week against Hearts and he was absolutely hopeless,A no thanks for me

06-05-2023, 10:07 PM
He is absolutely brutal. If that's the type of player we go for then the new DOF isn't doing his job

tonyrougier123
06-05-2023, 10:22 PM
Watched him on the TV the other week against Hearts and he was absolutely hopeless,A no thanks for me

I’ll give you a couple reason why your argument doesn’t hold up,I’ve seen him a few times in the flesh now. Strong commanding laddie.

Ross county going into the hearts game the best defensive record outside the old firm,still stands up to the rest of the league after that result. Conceded 52 goals exact same as sheep in 3rd.

Talking of the sheep we’d probably agree we’d take duk off them?
We pumped that team 6-0 also,so by your assessment of lacovitti Duk against us not worth taking? Individual performance would see lacovitti out perform most CBs in the league,it’s goalscoring that has eluded them this season.

But we all see different things in players I suppose.

Who’d be a defender eh 😂

07-05-2023, 07:17 AM

Absolutely don’t rate him at all

07-05-2023, 07:58 AM
Van Veen was excellent yesterday. Right handful. Not saying we should sign him, he's had a pretty patchy career up to now. In some form though. Motherwell seem to get the best out of strikers who then leave them and become pretty hopeless. Higdon, Main, Moult etc.

07-05-2023, 07:58 AM
Permanent Players I reckon who will be moved on / sold
Nisbet
Devlin
Henderson
Tait
Cabraja
Miller
Tavares
Mckirdy
Doidge
Magennis
Potentially McGeady

07-05-2023, 08:03 AM
Nisbet
Devlin
Henderson
Tait
Cabraja
Miller
Tavares
Mckirdy
Doidge
Magennis
Potentially McGeady

Add Hauge, Delferriere, JDH, McKay and possibly Stevenson. McGeady is out of contract and I doubt he'll be offered another one.

I can't see Magennis moving anywhere, why would he?

Greenio
07-05-2023, 08:11 AM
Nisbet
Devlin
Henderson
Tait
Cabraja
Miller
Tavares
Mckirdy
Doidge
Magennis
Potentially McGeady

Nisbet will go because we need to get cash for hi.

Out of the others, only Miller I'd really like to stay. I think he's going to turn into a good player and want it to be with us.

07-05-2023, 08:11 AM
Add Hauge, Delferriere, JDH, McKay and possibly Stevenson. McGeady is out of contract and I doubt he'll be offered another one.

I can't see Magennis moving anywhere, why would he?

If we could get a fee for Campbell and/or Newell I’d take it to help with the rebuild.

07-05-2023, 08:30 AM
See when you list out the players we need to get shot of, it does make me realise just how huge a job we have this summer. It's not just about signing good players it's about clearing the decks as well.

If we don't manage to clear out this squad in mass then we'll end up with our hands tied on who we can recruit in a single window. I actually think it's too difficult a task to address immediately, and a massive failing of those running the recruitment at our club for the last 2/3 years.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

07-05-2023, 08:31 AM
If we could get a fee for Campbell and/or Newell I’d take it to help with the rebuild.

Outside the Old Firm Newall is one of the best midfielders in the league so wouldn't be in a rush to move him on.

07-05-2023, 08:35 AM
Van Veen was excellent yesterday. Right handful. Not saying we should sign him, he's had a pretty patchy career up to now. In some form though. Motherwell seem to get the best out of strikers who then leave them and become pretty hopeless. Higdon, Main, Moult etc.

He would be an excellent signing but I’m sure he must be attracting attention from Championship sides down south

07-05-2023, 08:38 AM
Outside the Old Firm Newall is one of the best midfielders in the league so wouldn't be in a rush to move him on.

I think he can be, but he’s also not a defensive midfielder and not an attacking midfielder. I think he falls into a bit of a no man’s land position wise and building a balanced midfield that includes him is difficult.

We’re going to struggle to move on most of the dross we have, particularly in midfield, so might have to move on those we can, especially for a fee, like Campbell & Newell. Neither would be first in a clear out for most but think both are replaceable. Maybe harder so in Campbells case given the goals he has scored despite still not fully convincing IMO.

07-05-2023, 08:41 AM
He would be an excellent signing but I’m sure he must be attracting attention from Championship sides down south

Nah - he’s 31 and averaged about 6 goals a season for 5 years at League 2 level.

He’s definitely doing well now but he’d be well advised to stay put. Moving to us, Hearts or Aberdeen would make him a squad player.

07-05-2023, 08:41 AM
I think he can be, but he’s also not a defensive midfielder and not an attacking midfielder. I think he falls into a bit of a no man’s land position wise and building a balanced midfield that includes him is difficult.

We’re going to struggle to move on most of the dross we have, particularly in midfield, so might have to move on those we can, especially for a fee, like Campbell & Newell. Neither would be first in a clear out for most but think both are replaceable. Maybe harder so in Campbells case given the goals he has scored despite still not fully convincing IMO.

Going to be an interesting summer.

07-05-2023, 08:43 AM

You’ve just described a number 8.

I agree on Campbell but not much upside in moving Newell on IMO. I’d like us to sign someone who’s potentially better and will challenge Newell to play at the top of his game every week. Something he’s not done often enough.

07-05-2023, 08:53 AM

Agree with the point that we’ll need to find a way of freeing up some space in there. There was talk of a fairly substantial bid for Campbell in January. If you were anywhere near 7 figures I’d absolutely take it. I think he’s been much improved this season but we’ve still largely struggled in the middle of the park and that kind of money used properly could go a long way to improving us.

A couple of midfielders, particularly a creative one, is an absolute must in this window.

07-05-2023, 08:55 AM
No coincidence we totally lost our rhythm after jdh went off.
Would keep him think he’s improved

07-05-2023, 09:00 AM
No coincidence we totally lost our rhythm after jdh went off.
Would keep him think he’s improved

Our ball retention second half really was poor. JDH gives us this as well as anyone in the team and we did miss his composure second half. Josh looked a bit off it physically no surprise as think he has had an injury and some illness sure will benefit from yesterday's runout.

07-05-2023, 09:12 AM
You’ve just described a number 8.

I agree on Campbell but not much upside in moving Newell on IMO. I’d like us to sign someone who’s potentially better and will challenge Newell to play at the top of his game every week. Something he’s not done often enough.

Is a number 8 essentially a box to box midfielder? Either way that’s the key position for me in midfield, based on a McGeough, McGinn & Allan template. We have Jeggo & JDH for the McGeough role. Thought wouldn’t be sad to see either leave. We badly need an attacking midfielder.

For me Newell isn’t a box to box midfielder as can’t/won’t drive us up the park anywhere as much as that position needs. Campbell maybe closest to that role given his engine, but his strengths are without the ball and running into the box.

That for me leaves Campbell & Newell in no man’s land position wise despite it being possible to make an individual case for both.

07-05-2023, 09:33 AM
LJ said yesterday he wanted “between two and four” new players in the summer (which would be three!).
Ideally, 10 or so would leave with 5 upgrades coming in.
Where the new faces come in depends on who goes, so we might need to be patient.
A deal for Youan would be a great place to start, then take it from there.

07-05-2023, 09:35 AM
Signing Elie Youan has to be our absolute No.1 priority. Him and Boyle in the same team next season will absolutely terrify defences - both will have a lot more space and allow our midfielders to break through the middle too.

07-05-2023, 09:43 AM

Tend to agree with this. Campbell has improved this season, but he can often drift through games anonymously (like yesterday). He's not short of application or effort, but technically he's not got enough for building a future midfield around. Newell is a better footballer, but he's been part of a problem for the past three years. Assuming he's on a decent wage, I wouldn't be gutted to see him leave. That said, how woul;d he fare with more quality around him?

Have to say, we need better than Jeggo in that anchor role. For a side that wants to finish high in the league and win a cup, we need more from a defensive midfielder. Not convinced Jeggo is that man.

07-05-2023, 10:11 AM
Tend to agree with this. Campbell has improved this season, but he can often drift through games anonymously (like yesterday). He's not short of application or effort, but technically he's not got enough for building a future midfield around. Newell is a better footballer, but he's been part of a problem for the past three years. Assuming he's on a decent wage, I wouldn't be gutted to see him leave. That said, how woul;d he fare with more quality around him?

Have to say, we need better than Jeggo in that anchor role. For a side that wants to finish high in the league and win a cup, we need more from a defensive midfielder. Not convinced Jeggo is that man.

Jeggo does a job but I agree we need better. Also, has there ever been a slower player than him at Hibs?!

07-05-2023, 10:40 AM
I was looking at the side first half yesterday and it had me thinking where are the most important positions to improve or replace players.

If (when) Nisbet goes we must replace him. If Myko could stay fit I'd see him as almost like for like.

Next most important to me is midfield, someone with creativity and composure, a bit of quality. That replaces JDH /Campbell.

The next one depends on our confidence in Boyle's fitness. We cannot have Cadden playing there, to me he's not got enough quality to be a first choice in this team. Some might disagree but we have to be ruthless to improve and Cadden is just not improving his composure or quality of delivery. Off the ball excellent, on it not so much.

All of this assumes we can get Youan and Fish back for next year. Otherwise both of their respective positions become more important replacements than the above.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Greenworld
07-05-2023, 11:25 AM
Signing Elie Youan has to be our absolute No.1 priority. Him and Boyle in the same team next season will absolutely terrify defences - both will have a lot more space and allow our midfielders to break through the middle too.Don't know the fee but Elie is a done deal for Hibs if they want him.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

07-05-2023, 12:17 PM

Can't we just pay up their contracts?

Or, even if we offer to do so, could the players refuse and say they want to stay and see their time out with us?

I'm hoping for at least 6 first team players to leave, to be replaced with 3 or 4 signings and a couple of the younger lads getting regular game time.

Expectations for next season are pretty low anyway, so I'd rather watch players that want to progress than take the risk of the unknown guff we've had recently. It's not worked for us.

Sign a few of the best players from the smaller clubs in our league and try and mould them into a team. It's not the most exciting approach but it can't be any worse than what we've seen the last 2 years.

Keepthefaith
07-05-2023, 12:29 PM
Can't we just pay up their contracts?

Or, even if we offer to do so, could the players refuse and say they want to stay and see their time out with us?

I'm hoping for at least 6 first team players to leave, to be replaced with 3 or 4 signings and a couple of the younger lads getting regular game time.

Expectations for next season are pretty low anyway, so I'd rather watch players that want to progress than take the risk of the unknown guff we've had recently. It's not worked for us.

Sign a few of the best players from the smaller clubs in our league and try and mould them into a team. It's not the most exciting approach but it can't be any worse than what we've seen the last 2 years.

Campbell has just been given a new contract, is still developing and IMO could turn out to be a cracking player, we can't just chuck these lads under the bus.

Secondly expectations for next season are low? Really?? I'd say quite the opposite, expectations are very much around challenging for 3rd, that we get Boyle back, have a mini clear out and blood exciting young players. With the DoF now in place were as well positioned as we've been in years to kick on!

07-05-2023, 12:50 PM
Campbell has just been given a new contract, is still developing and IMO could turn out to be a cracking player, we can't just chuck these lads under the bus.

Secondly expectations for next season are low? Really?? I'd say quite the opposite, expectations are very much around challenging for 3rd, that we get Boyle back,have a mini clear out and blood exciting young players. With the DoF now in place were as well positioned as we've been in years to kick on!

I like Campbell and want to see a couple more of our younger players getting the same opportunity as him. I've never once suggested he be moved on, he's one of my fav players.

I hope to be challenging for 3rd but don't expect us to be.

I want 6 players out and to bring young players on - you want a mini clear out and to blood exciting young players - not much difference there!

We've no idea how the DoF role will pan out so not sure we can we're well positioned to crack on.

07-05-2023, 01:22 PM
From what I have seen of him, Steven Fletcher wouldn't be a bad option up front for a year. Especially if Dundee Utd go doon.

Keepthefaith
07-05-2023, 01:42 PM
I like Campbell and want to see a couple more of our younger players getting the same opportunity as him. I've never once suggested he be moved on, he's one of my fav players.

I hope to be challenging for 3rd but don't expect us to be.

I want 6 players out and to bring young players on - you want a mini clear out and to blood exciting young players - not much difference there!

We've no idea how the DoF role will pan out so not sure we can we're well positioned to crack on.

Aye we are saying the same thing, I think I got your views mixed up with the post you replied to!🤦

07-05-2023, 01:55 PM
From what I have seen of him, Steven Fletcher wouldn't be a bad option up front for a year. Especially if Dundee Utd go doon.

We could have done with signing him at start of this season.

Hibstrooper
07-05-2023, 02:05 PM

Was thinking the same. A great target man, super experienced and would still easily bag 10+ goals next season. Plus the added romance of starting and ending his career at Hibs

07-05-2023, 02:07 PM
Was thinking the same. A great target man, super experienced and would still easily bag 10+ goals next season. Plus the added romance of starting and ending his career at Hibs

He doesn’t fit out player trading model😜

07-05-2023, 02:16 PM
He doesn’t fit out player trading model😜

He was seemingly a bit gutted Hibs never showed any interest in him before Utd signed him, doubt he would sign for Hibs now.

at last 61
07-05-2023, 02:22 PM
Would like us bringing David mcgoldrick to Easter road, probably going into his last season as a 1st pick and now with derby not going for promotion, maybe a good shout for us

07-05-2023, 02:23 PM
He was seemingly a bit gutted Hibs never showed any interest in him before Utd signed him, doubt he would sign for Hibs now.

Heard that too Silver. Did United give Fletch a 2 year deal

07-05-2023, 02:24 PM
We could have done with signing him at start of this season.

Absolutely

Torto7
07-05-2023, 02:27 PM
All Fletcher would do is block a spot for big Myk. I'd rather work on trying to get Myk signed and conditioned properly as there's a hell of a player in there imo.

07-05-2023, 02:29 PM
All Fletcher would do is block a spot for big Myk. I'd rather work on trying to get Myk signed and conditioned properly as there's a hell of a player in there imo.

Think he is out of our reach unless it's another loan. Fletch would be good for our younger players and brings experience to a frontline that we could do with.

07-05-2023, 02:32 PM

Think we’ve had 11 games out of Mokola, and 5 goals. Magennis has played more times than him this season
He looks the sort of player who could do well in Scotland, but like Kyle always seems to have an injury

07-05-2023, 02:44 PM
Heard that too Silver. Did United give Fletch a 2 year deal

Yeah, 2 years Billy so we would need to pay some cash for him.

07-05-2023, 03:02 PM
Bristol City Millwall and Blackburn Rovers had reps watching Nisbet yesterday

according to Edinburgh Live

Bridge hibs
07-05-2023, 03:03 PM
Wouldnt mind Turnbull from celtc year loan, he seems to be a bit player for them now

at last 61
07-05-2023, 03:20 PM
Wouldnt mind Turnbull from celtc year loan, he seems to be a bit player for them now

Didn't look happy after the game today and they will continue to bring in other players

PHeffernan
07-05-2023, 03:38 PM

He only has a season left on his contract so they will be looking to sell him this summer to the English Championship for around £3 million so well beyond Hibs.

07-05-2023, 03:46 PM
elsewhere i was reading sellick had received another £1m from Bournemouth for Ryan Christie, i think it was maybe another add-on for them staying up this time iirc

Bridge hibs
07-05-2023, 03:52 PM
He only has a season left on his contract so they will be looking to sell him this summer to the English Championship for around £3 million so well beyond Hibs.

Ok Forrest then 🤣

07-05-2023, 04:14 PM
Ok Forrest then 🤣

To keep Magennis company in the treatment room.

PHeffernan
07-05-2023, 04:28 PM
Ok Forrest then 🤣

Forrest is 32 in the summer and still has 2 years on his contract.

Despite being fit he has only played 640 minutes in all competitions this season which is the equivalent of 7 games.
A waste of a good player so I could see him going out on loan.

PHeffernan
07-05-2023, 04:29 PM

A minor muscle injury this season kept him out for a couple of weeks in March.
No other injuries listed for 18 months

JamesHFC
07-05-2023, 04:30 PM

I was thinking about that last night. I'd take him over Hoppe & McKirdy.

Bridge hibs
07-05-2023, 04:32 PM

Hasnt been injured for yonks, just a bit player now with better players ahead of him

PHeffernan
07-05-2023, 04:44 PM
I was thinking about that last night. I'd take him over Hoppe & McKirdy.

At 36 the Fletcher well could run dry at any point and injuries can take over.
No doubt he has been the success of the old guy signings in the league this season but next season could easily turn out one too many

McGeady, Mulgrew and Snodgrass were all expensive fails this season.

07-05-2023, 06:36 PM
Hasnt been injured for yonks, just a bit player now with better players ahead of him

Shows how much attention I take of other teams, hadn't seen or heard of him for ages, I assumed he was injured, I stand corrected.

Bridge hibs
07-05-2023, 06:43 PM
Shows how much attention I take of other teams, hadn't seen or heard of him for ages, I assumed he was injured, I stand corrected.He was out for a while but celtic brought in Jota etc and he fell down the pecking order, another bit player now

badabing67
07-05-2023, 08:16 PM
Nisbet
Devlin
Henderson
Tait
Cabraja
Miller
Tavares
Mckirdy
Doidge
Magennis
Potentially McGeady

I don't think Miller will be going anywhere unless he wants leave, I have liked what i have seen of him so far and think he will step up. I realize you are posting about permanent players but with Fish and CJ's situation unknowns for next season, I think we will need Miller for next season. Hope he stays.

08-05-2023, 07:44 AM

Assume wouldn't have been happy the Japanese guy who I had never heard of came on for Hatate instead of him.

Bridge hibs
08-05-2023, 07:48 AM
Assume wouldn't have been happy the Japanese guy who I had never heard of came on for Hatate instead of him.Yeah and no doubt Ange will strengthen even more this summer so I think Turnbulls days could be numbered, same for Forrest. I doubt we would have any chance with either as mentioned above celtic will likely sell Turnbull rather than send out on loan as a loan would not benefit either. I think Forrest may fancy a wee earner in England

08-05-2023, 08:11 AM
Yeah and no doubt Ange will strengthen even more this summer so I think Turnbulls days could be numbered, same for Forrest. I doubt we would have any chance with either as mentioned above celtic will likely sell Turnbull rather than send out on loan as a loan would not benefit either. I think Forrest may fancy a wee earner in England

Agree don't think we have chance of either at all. Celtic will bring in but may also lose players. I would have thought English premier teams would be looking at Hatate for example.

08-05-2023, 09:40 AM
Jeggo does a job but I agree we need better. Also, has there ever been a slower player than him at Hibs?!

A very important job that nobody was doing before which is protecting the back three/four. It’s no coincidence our results improved after he arrived. Is he amazing? No, but we definitely need someone to play that role.

08-05-2023, 09:41 AM

You think midfields are comprised of attacking midfielders and defensive midfielders? Have to disagree. Newell is much easier to fit into a midfield than a player like Scott Allan or Alex Gogic. Players like Newell are the majority now. Purely defensive and purely attacking midfielders are not common now.

08-05-2023, 09:42 AM

We can’t get him on the pitch without his place being blocked. We need to sign player who are not injured all the time.

08-05-2023, 10:09 AM
You think midfields are comprised of attacking midfielders and defensive midfielders? Have to disagree. Newell is much easier to fit into a midfield than a player like Scott Allan or Alex Gogic. Players like Newell are the majority now. Purely defensive and purely attacking midfielders are not common now.

Yeah, I was always of the opinion that most midfielders needed to be very rounded players without weaknesses, as well as very fit.

Then we ended up with quite a lot of niche players number 10s, holding midfielders etc.

Tbh you probably need a balance of both - can’t do much when they’re all niche, can’t do much when they’re all “Jack of all trades, master of none.”

08-05-2023, 12:18 PM
A very important job that nobody was doing before which is protecting the back three/four. It’s no coincidence our results improved after he arrived. Is he amazing? No, but we definitely need someone to play that role.

Is it the player or the formation? We still lost 4 in a row with JJ in the protecting back 4 role. IMO CJ, Josh or Kenneh could all fill that role. I recognise CJ will probably be gone but Rocky is another possible. All those named are much better on the ball than JJ.

08-05-2023, 12:20 PM
Is it the player or the formation? We still lost 4 in a row with JJ in the protecting back 4 role. IMO CJ, Josh or Kenneh could all fill that role. I recognise CJ will probably be gone but Rocky is another possible. All those named are much better on the ball than JJ.

Surely nobody is seriously still suggesting Josh Campbell in a defensive midfield role. Maloney nearly ended the boys Hibs career playing him there.

08-05-2023, 12:43 PM

I don’t, no. There’s many ways to skin a cat and set up a midfield. Quality aside, the most balanced midfield I’ve seen at Hibs probably since the golden generation, and McLeish before that was Stubbs/Lennon’s midfield. That is my template for a midfield. A defensive midfielder (preferably more of a footballer like McGeough than an old fashioned defensive midfielder like Jeggo or Gogic), an attacking midfielder and to knit them together a box to box midfielder with drive. A McGinn or Docherty.

I appreciate what I look for in a midfield or team is probably outdated now. Midfield for me is still the most important area, you need to dominate that area to be successful IMO. However, all of the midfields Newell has been part of have been missing drive and creativity IMO. We could sign two players to provide those missing elements and a Newell type might compliment them. I just see the Newell type as a Jack of all trades master of none for me and part of the reason midfield has been an issue for so long.

Paulie Walnuts
08-05-2023, 12:57 PM
I don’t, no. There’s many ways to skin a cat and set up a midfield. Quality aside, the most balanced midfield I’ve seen at Hibs probably since the golden generation, and McLeish before that was Stubbs/Lennon’s midfield. That is my template for a midfield. A defensive midfielder (preferably more of a footballer like McGeough than an old fashioned defensive midfielder like Jeggo or Gogic), an attacking midfielder and to knit them together a box to box midfielder with drive. A McGinn or Docherty.

I appreciate what I look for in a midfield or team is probably outdated now. Midfield for me is still the most important area, you need to dominate that area to be successful IMO. However, all of the midfields Newell has been part of have been missing drive and creativity IMO. We could sign two players to provide those missing elements and a Newell type might compliment them. I just see the Newell type as a Jack of all trades master of none for me and part of the reason midfield has been an issue for so long.

Exactly where I am.

Newell might end up part of a decent midfield. He’ll never end up part of a great midfield though because he himself doesn’t offer enough to be part of one imo.

08-05-2023, 01:02 PM
However, all of the midfields Newell has been part of have been missing drive and creativity IMO. We could sign two players to provide those missing elements and a Newell type might compliment them. I just see the Newell type as a Jack of all trades master of none for me and part of the reason midfield has been an issue for so long.

Some of your post probably accurately describes why Newell is not, and never has been 'the problem' but yet you imply strongly that he is! It's utterly mental that the latest stick to beat him with now is that he's too much of an all rounder.

He probably does need a better balance around him, but that doesn't mean he's not the guy to build it around- he clearly and obviously is.

Can think of many of even the great midfielders who are lauded for having a bit of everything, as opposed to being totally one dimensional or great at one thing in particular. Funnily enough, all the top teams have them as well.

Spudster
08-05-2023, 01:11 PM

Box to box midfielder is a thing of the past IMO.

08-05-2023, 01:16 PM
Some of your post probably accurately describes why Newell is not, and never has been 'the problem' but yet you imply strongly that he is! It's utterly mental that the latest stick to beat him with now is that he's too much of an all rounder.

He probably does need a better balance around him, but that doesn't mean he's not the guy to build it around- he clearly and obviously is.

Can think of many of even the great midfielders who are lauded for having a bit of everything, as opposed to being totally one dimensional or great at one thing in particular. Funnily enough, all the top teams have them as well.

A Jack of all trades master of none isn’t the same as an all rounder IMO. McGinn was an all rounder, as in he could do all midfield roles and excel in each of them. All round midfielders don’t tend to stay at Hibs, or Scottish football, for too long before they are snapped up from higher up the food chain. I wouldn’t describe Newell as an all rounder. He’s good at lots of things without excelling at many specific elements IMO.

Which is why I see him as able to survive, possibly even thrive, in a good midfield. However he won’t ever make a midfield more than the sum of its parts playing alongside poorer players, as we’ve seen.

I’d certainly not be building a midfield around him though. I don’t think I rate him as highly as you do, which is fine.

08-05-2023, 02:22 PM
A Jack of all trades master of none isn’t the same as an all rounder IMO. McGinn was an all rounder, as in he could do all midfield roles and excel in each of them. All round midfielders don’t tend to stay at Hibs, or Scottish football, for too long before they are snapped up from higher up the food chain. I wouldn’t describe Newell as an all rounder. He’s good at lots of things without excelling at many specific elements IMO.

Which is why I see him as able to survive, possibly even thrive, in a good midfield. However he won’t ever make a midfield more than the sum of its parts playing alongside poorer players, as we’ve seen.

I’d certainly not be building a midfield around him though. I don’t think I rate him as highly as you do, which is fine.

McGinn was a generational player for Hibs. He made others much better to the point that some Hibs fans reckoned they (his team mates) were actually as good or better than McGinn.

I agree Joe is nowhere near that player, but at this level he is as good as we'll get in terms of the steady rounded central midfielder. The fact we lack creativity and dynamism isn't down to him - it's down to the fact that we've not brought in players who can complement what Newell does. He's perfectly adequate doing what he does.

People saying he couldn't be part of a great midfield (at this level) are way off the mark IMO. Could easily have him in the McGinn era midfield doing a similar job to McGeouch who wasn't a goal scorer, a tackler or a particularly creative player- just a good all round player.

08-05-2023, 03:26 PM
McGinn was a generational player for Hibs. He made others much better to the point that some Hibs fans reckoned they (his team mates) were actually as good or better than McGinn.

I agree Joe is nowhere near that player, but at this level he is as good as we'll get in terms of the steady rounded central midfielder. The fact we lack creativity and dynamism isn't down to him - it's down to the fact that we've not brought in players who can complement what Newell does. He's perfectly adequate doing what he does.

People saying he couldn't be part of a great midfield (at this level) are way off the mark IMO. Could easily have him in the McGinn era midfield doing a similar job to McGeouch who wasn't a goal scorer, a tackler or a particularly creative player- just a good all round player.

If that is true we might as well give up now. 12 misplaced passes on Saturday, dispossessed 4 times (more than any other player on the pitch) and 6 fouls conceded (more than any other player on the pitch) - I refuse to believe we couldn’t do better than that.

08-05-2023, 03:43 PM
If that is true we might as well give up now. 12 misplaced passes on Saturday, dispossessed 4 times (more than any other player on the pitch) and 6 fouls conceded (more than any other player on the pitch) - I refuse to believe we couldn’t do better than that.

His normal level, especially this season, has been well above that, though.

He was poor on Saturday. He has been good this season. We could do better, but if we are aiming to, then we'd need to bin the entire midfield, because he is the best one.

08-05-2023, 03:54 PM
Jeggo can be frustrating at times on the ball but so was Gogic who done a decent job at what he was asked to do and Jeggo does that most of the times.

Newell has Been a lot more consistent this season than last and its clear to see we need someone to try and create in the number 10, Williams will be linked again come end of the season I think. Would love turnbull who would probably be out our reach unless he actually would prefer to stay in Scotland.

Campbell has been remarkable numbers wise but is still capable of the bad performance and would keep him.

Really undecided about Kenneh's future who came in as young potential plus a good few youngsters looking for first team football.

Upgrade/Jeggo
Newell/ new signing/jdh?
Upgrade/Campbell

Would be the ideal scenario for me next season, all though would be getting a few players off the books.

I'm actually looking forward to the summer and hope we get it right.

08-05-2023, 04:00 PM

He was poor on Saturday. He has been good this season. We could do better, but if we are aiming to, then we'd need to bin the entire midfield, because he is the best one.

:pray:

A sliding scale, but don’t think we’d miss any of the midfielders we have if they were to leave. In the summer we still have a contracted midfield of:

Jeggo
Newell
Henderson
Campbell
Kenneh
JDH
Magennis

Could probably add Tait & Delfierre to that list as well

08-05-2023, 04:28 PM

A sliding scale, but don’t think we’d miss any of the midfielders we have if they were to leave. In the summer we still have a contracted midfield of:

Jeggo
Newell
Henderson
Campbell
Kenneh
JDH
Magennis

Not sure if it was yourself that posted something similar but, IMO, it might take a couple of what would be unpopular decisions, with some, for us to improve the squad this summer.

We have too many poor to average players contracted that are going to be difficult to move on. They’ll have better contracts with us than they can get elsewhere so we might need to look at other ways to free up some space because we can’t just continue going with the same again, particularly in midfield.

Of the team that started on Saturday I think Youan and Nisbet are difficult to replace. I’d like to keep the two other loan players because I think they have already made an impact but still have loads of improvement in them.

Beyond that, I don’t see anyone individually who I’m thinking to myself how do we replace them.

08-05-2023, 04:53 PM

You’re 100% correct, he’s the best of a bad bunch - a Liam Craig but with better hair if you will. I’d have no qualms about us binning our entire midfield however the point you’re making ignores the context of cost. Newell is one of, if not our highest paid central midfielders. Moving on a Campbell, Henderson, Tait etc and using that budget to find a replacement wont move the needle much in terms of improving our squad.

08-05-2023, 05:43 PM
You’re 100% correct, he’s the best of a bad bunch - a Liam Craig but with better hair if you will. I’d have no qualms about us binning our entire midfield however the point you’re making ignores the context of cost. Newell is one of, if not our highest paid central midfielders. Moving on a Campbell, Henderson, Tait etc and using that budget to find a replacement wont move the needle much in terms of improving our squad.
If we moved on Campbell it would be for a fee, his stats are very good this season and as we know a lot of recruitment is now based on stats

Donegal Hibby
08-05-2023, 05:48 PM
I like Newell and when he's on his game he's very good , probably one of the better midfielders in the league though his form dips regularly imo and when it does he's poor and doesn't have the same impact in games . He's undoubtedly our best midfielder though.

Hibiza
08-05-2023, 06:13 PM
I like Newell and when he's on his game he's very good , probably one of the better midfielders in the league though his form dips regularly imo and when it does he's poor and doesn't have the same impact in games . He's undoubtedly our best midfielder though.

Hope Newell leaves this summer , an unedited talented player , far far too inconsistent , in my humble.

Paulie Walnuts
08-05-2023, 06:32 PM

I think you’ve described Newell quite well. Adequate. That’s about it.

Adequate isn’t going to make us a great side unfortunately.

08-05-2023, 06:59 PM

Misplaced passes and dispossessions are absolutely fine when he's playing a more adventurous role further forward.

If he was putting up those numbers under Maloney or jack when he tended to sit and shield the back 4 and play simpler passes then I'd be worried.

To give your stats a bit of balance he also had 5 successful tackles (2 more than anyone else in the side), the most successful crosses (5 more than youan who had the second most), the joint most key passes and an assist.

08-05-2023, 07:26 PM

Yeah I think McGinn has kinda ruined things for some Hibs fans.

Is there another central midfielder in Scotland than drives his team forward with the ball the way that McGinn could? There’s certainly nobody at Hearts/Dundee Utd/Aberdeen who have played the role Newell has any more effectively this season

08-05-2023, 07:36 PM

I thought he did well first half before having a shakier second.

Stats like these have to be taken with a pinch of salt.

Or at least - as was pointed out a few posts up - taken alongside the positive stats.

ElginHibbie
08-05-2023, 08:08 PM
I thought he did well first half before having a shakier second.

Stats like these have to be taken with a pinch of salt.

Or at least - as was pointed out a few posts up - taken alongside the positive stats.

“Oh, people can come up with statistics to prove anything, Kent. Forfty percent of all people know that.”

08-05-2023, 08:14 PM

Jeggo
Newell
Henderson
Campbell
Kenneh
JDH
Magennis

I mean we could bin them all if we got better but we won’t. Those that or on the edge and not playing now have to go. Anyone that comes in has to be pushing to start. If we score more goals no one really cares so much about the midfield 3. Ideally I’d have at a starter coming in and with that the rest will improve.

08-05-2023, 08:26 PM
I mean we could bin them all if we got better but we won’t. Those that or on the edge and not playing now have to go. Anyone that comes in has to be pushing to start. If we score more goals no one really cares so much about the midfield 3. Ideally I’d have at a starter coming in and with that the rest will improve.

I reckon we’d manage to find better than a few of those names

08-05-2023, 08:27 PM
I'm hoping the new DOF has a good few different players lined up than the usual naff players generally suggested on these threads.

08-05-2023, 08:43 PM

Aye cos of course that’s a normal week for him isn’t it?🙄

Your ‘Liam Craig with better hair comment’ in your other post just says it all. Some folk need to be careful what they wish for. Cannae believe he’s apparently culpable for being our best midfielder - utter nonsense.

Hibs fans who think we should have a midfield consisting of 4 players better than Joe Newell are utterly deluded. It won’t have been the case since the 70’s that we’ve had that. Like I said before - take McGinn out of our apparently legendary midfield and it would have been slightly above average at best.

PHeffernan
08-05-2023, 08:47 PM

Great post.
It was no coincidence that the team fell to bits as soon as the £30 million all action midfield player was removed.
Plug McGinn into the current midfield and hey presto they look great.

08-05-2023, 08:54 PM
Great post.
It was no coincidence that the team fell to bits as soon as the £30 million all action midfield player was removed.
Plug McGinn into the current midfield and hey presto they look great.

McGinn was a brilliant player for Hibs but he wasn’t a 30 million pound player at the level he is now when he left. It’s five years since we sold him. Uncovering a player like him is always going to be difficult but I think we’re entitled to feel we should have done more to put together a midfield that functions consistently well in that period of time. Individually, I thought McGinn was also surrounded by midfielders that offered more than the current lot, or most since, have as well.

08-05-2023, 08:56 PM
I reckon we’d manage to find better than a few of those names

But we aren’t going to be able to remove that many. Those in contract will only be away if we have buyers. Hopefully 4 or so out 2 in.

PHeffernan
08-05-2023, 09:16 PM
McGinn was a brilliant player for Hibs but he wasn’t a 30 million pound player at the level he is now when he left. It’s five years since we sold him. Uncovering a player like him is always going to be difficult but I think we’re entitled to feel we should have done more to put together a midfield that functions consistently well in that period of time. Individually, I thought McGinn was also surrounded by midfielders that offered more than the current lot, or most since, have as well.

Arguably, none of them did anything after McGinn left.

At 30,
McGeough is playing for the worst team in the English 3rd tier
Allan was unable to get a game for part time Arbroath
Fyvie is playing for the worst team in the Scottish Championship

At the same age Joe Newell is playing in the midfield of, 5th placed, Hibs.

08-05-2023, 09:17 PM

Your ‘Liam Craig with better hair comment’ in your other post just says it all. Some folk need to be careful what they wish for. Cannae believe he’s apparently culpable for being our best midfielder - utter nonsense.

Hibs fans who think we should have a midfield consisting of 4 players better than Joe Newell are utterly deluded. It won’t have been the case since the 70’s that we’ve had that. Like I said before - take McGinn out of our apparently legendary midfield and it would have been slightly above average at best.

You’re absolutely right, in hindsight my Liam Craig comment was unfair - Liam Craig has actually achieved something in his career, his St Johnstone team beat Joe Newell’s Hibs en route to winning both cup competitions.

08-05-2023, 09:21 PM
Arguably, none of them did anything after McGinn left.

At 30,
McGeough is playing for the worst team in the English 3rd tier
Allan was unable to get a game for part time Arbroath
Fyvie is playing for the worst team in the Scottish Championship

At the same age Joe Newell is playing in the midfield of, 5th placed, Hibs.

One of them had a serious heart issue. And the other two had careers massively impacted by injuries.

All mentioned were superior players for Hibs IMO. Two of them earned good moves based on their performances for Hibs.

Joe Newell isn’t the worst player to play for Hibs but he has been a mainstay in a midfield that has been poor for a couple of years now. Whether he is part of the solution this summer I don’t know, but we simply need to make a proper go of resolving what has been a long-standing issue this time.

08-05-2023, 09:23 PM
I really rate Newell.

If he had a player next to him who was more creative he would strive imo and people would realise just how good he is.

As we lack that player the burden then falls on to him to be creative which people criticise him for.

He’s the least of our worries imo.

08-05-2023, 09:24 PM
You’re absolutely right, in hindsight my Liam Craig comment was unfair - Liam Craig has actually achieved something in his career, his St Johnstone team beat Joe Newell’s Hibs en route to winning both cup competitions.

Do you want a saucer of milk with that?

08-05-2023, 09:29 PM

I’m not sure why you feel the need to talk down McGeough & Allan as part of a defence of Newell.

I also don’t think anyone is advocating a midfield 4 (presumably a diamond?) all of better players than Newell. There’s been a good and constructive debate about the shape of the midfield, Newell’s importance and how he compliments others. We might not be able to sign a load of midfielders better than Newell, I do think we could sign different kinds of players of a similar or better quality to the likes of Newell (or Campbell or JDH for that matter) who make it easier to put together a balanced and consistently functioning midfield though.

Newell isn’t the sole reason we have struggled in midfield the whole time he has been here, but he also can’t be completely absolved of consistently being part of midfield that are less than the sum of their parts.

There are quality, commanding midfielders out there. In our league alone since McGinn there’s been Campbell, Turnbull, Docherty, Kamara & Ferguson. Given the fees we now pay there’s a small window where it’s not unrealistic we could potentially sign those kind of players IMO, before they move out our price range.

PHeffernan
08-05-2023, 09:41 PM
I’m not sure why you feel the need to talk down McGeough & Allan as part of a defence of Newell.

I also don’t think anyone is advocating a midfield 4 (presumably a diamond?) all of better players than Newell. There’s been a good and constructive debate about the shape of the midfield, Newell’s importance and how he compliments others. We might not be able to sign a load of midfielders better than Newell, I do think we could sign different kinds of players of a similar or better quality to the likes of Newell (or Campbell or JDH for that matter) who make it easier to put together a balanced and consistently functioning midfield though.

Newell isn’t the sole reason we have struggled in midfield the whole time he has been here, but he also can’t be completely absolved of consistently being part of midfield that are less than the sum of their parts.

There are quality, commanding midfielders out there. In our league alone since McGinn there’s been Campbell, Turnbull, Docherty, Kamara & Ferguson. Given the fees we now pay there’s a small window where it’s not unrealistic we could potentially sign those kind of players IMO, before they move out our price range.

Out of that lot Campbell and Docherty wanted to go to England
Kamara went to Rangers and Turnbull went to Celtic for £3 million
So basically we missed out on Ferguson who went to a club of our level

08-05-2023, 09:49 PM
Out of that lot Campbell and Docherty wanted to go to England
Kamara went to Rangers and Turnbull went to Celtic for £3 million
So basically we missed out on Ferguson who went to a club of our level

If we moved for them early enough, and given the fees we now pay, I think all of those players were potentially within our price range (say £500k and 30/40% sell on fee) up to a certain point.

PHeffernan
08-05-2023, 10:12 PM
One of them had a serious heart issue. And the other two had careers massively impacted by injuries.

All mentioned were superior players for Hibs IMO. Two of them earned good moves based on their performances for Hibs.

Joe Newell isn’t the worst player to play for Hibs but he has been a mainstay in a midfield that has been poor for a couple of years now. Whether he is part of the solution this summer I don’t know, but we simply need to make a proper go of resolving what has been a long-standing issue this time.

You could argue the two players you mentioned earned good moves on the back of looking good with McGinn doing his thing next to them and without him they struggled at their new clubs and were quickly chucked back to a lower level.

Newell is a low level English Championship player.
McGinn is a middle level English Premiership level player.

Hibs are typically not able to afford a player much better than what Newell is.

We have a lot of quite good midfielders and need a few of the younger ones to break through next season.
Campbell and much less so, JDH have made a move forward this season.
Jeggo is a protective defensive mid who is a good reader of the game but his ability on the ball and passing are low level.
Can we resolve Magennis pelvic issue?
Can Henderson, Delferrier, Tait or Kenneh make a Campbell like leap forward next season?

If we bring in a midfielder in this summer it has to be the best guy we can afford.
We already have a substantial supporting cast.

08-05-2023, 10:18 PM
You could argue the two players you mentioned earned good moves on the back of looking good with McGinn doing his thing next to them and without him they struggled at their new clubs and were quickly chucked back to a lower level.

Allan, McGeouch and Fyvie were good for Hibs before McGinn was signed. The latter two earned their permanent deals with the club on merit of their own excellent personal performances in the season prior to McGinn’s arrival.

08-05-2023, 10:21 PM

Newell is a low level English Championship player.
McGinn is a middle level English Premiership level player.

Hibs are typically not able to afford a player much better than what Newell is.

We have a lot of quite good midfielders and need a few of the younger ones to break through next season.
Campbell and less so JDH have made a move forward this season.
Jeggo is a protective defensive mid who is a good reader of the game but his ability on the ball and passing are low level.
Can we resolve Magennis pelvic issue?
Can Henderson, Delferrier, Tait or Kenneh make a Campbell like leap forward next season?

If we bring in a midfielder in this summer it has to be the best guy we can afford.
We already have a substantial supporting cast.

On the first bit, Allan earned a move to Celtic based on his form in 2014/15 which was prior to McGinn signing.

The McGinn thing is always brought up but it needs to be remembered he was out of contract at St Mirren when we signed him. He’s obviously an exceptional talent but the McGinn that left us wasn’t the McGinn that joined. And the McGinn now, isn’t the one that left us either. I’ll bet we were paying him less than we pay many of our current players as well.

No every player you sign is going to turn out to be a John McGinn but we have signed too many poor players in that position over the last few years and we need to change that this summer so we’re not having the same conversation in a year.

PHeffernan
08-05-2023, 10:28 PM
Allan, McGeouch and Fyvie were good for Hibs before McGinn was signed. The latter two earned their permanent deals with the club on merit of their own excellent personal performances in the season prior to McGinn’s arrival.

They were doing it in the Championship before McGinn arrived where you would expect them to look good.

PHeffernan
08-05-2023, 10:46 PM
On the first bit, Allan earned a move to Celtic based on his form in 2014/15 which was prior to McGinn signing.

The McGinn thing is always brought up but it needs to be remembered he was out of contract at St Mirren when we signed him. He’s obviously an exceptional talent but the McGinn that left us wasn’t the McGinn that joined. And the McGinn now, isn’t the one that left us either. I’ll bet we were paying him less than we pay many of our current players as well.

No every player you sign is going to turn out to be a John McGinn but we have signed too many poor players in that position over the last few years and we need to change that this summer so we’re not having the same conversation in a year.

Agreed the McGinn that left Hibs wasn't the one that arrived.
I remember not being able to believe the energy he put into some of his performances.
The one that comes to mind is the Cup replay against Hearts in 2016.
The running he did that night was off the scale.
The big thing he added to his game after leaving Hibs was his shooting and eye for a goal.

Our team including the midfield has been in limbo since the season we finished 3rd and has only started moving forward again since January. Senior players like Newell have been left doing what they could in a post covid thread bare squad followed by a moneyball recruitment mess.
I think we will continue our move forward in the summer whilst coping with the loss of Nisbet but spending the likely proceeds on fees and wages.

09-05-2023, 02:33 AM
Misplaced passes and dispossessions are absolutely fine when he's playing a more adventurous role further forward.

If he was putting up those numbers under Maloney or jack when he tended to sit and shield the back 4 and play simpler passes then I'd be worried.

To give your stats a bit of balance he also had 5 successful tackles (2 more than anyone else in the side), the most successful crosses (5 more than youan who had the second most), the joint most key passes and an assist.

Thanks for providing the perspective - that makes sense as Newell was one of the better players on the pitch vs St Mirren.

09-05-2023, 03:58 AM

Newell is a far better player than Craig was, and I didn't mind Craig.

09-05-2023, 05:41 AM

Joe Newell has been good this season and excellent over the last few games. Actually thought Liam Craig was a good player but Newell is better. We'd miss him if he wasn't here.

147lothian
09-05-2023, 06:27 AM
Hope Newell leaves this summer , an unedited talented player , far far too inconsistent , in my humble.

IMO Newell had a great game on Saturday.

09-05-2023, 07:02 AM
Joe Newell has been good this season and excellent over the last few games. Actually thought Liam Craig was a good player but Newell is better. We'd miss him if he wasn't here.

I don’t think Liam Craig was a bad player at Hibs, but Newell is miles better than he ever was.

badabing67
09-05-2023, 01:56 PM
Thought we missed JDH when he went off I really hope he doesn't have a concussion we need him for the Aberdeen game. Has anybody heard anything.

PHeffernan
09-05-2023, 02:19 PM
After losing Doig and Porteous this season the sale of Nisbet sale this summer will be the last forced one for a while so if we can cover his loss we should start to improve the team transfer window by transfer window.

09-05-2023, 02:53 PM
After losing Doig and Porteous this season the sale of Nisbet sale this summer will be the last forced one for a while so if we can cover his loss we should start to improve the team transfer window by transfer window.

This is where the Euro group stages are so pivotal in gaining that advantage over others.

09-05-2023, 03:12 PM

I wouldn’t be surprised in the slightest to see Campbell leave.

His numbers this season, age, energy and the overall reputation of young Scottish players at the moment I think will lead to a bid around 2 million which the club will accept with a sell on %.

Complete hunch, not ITK

angus hibby
09-05-2023, 03:31 PM
Very random but I went to a few Accrington games a few seasons back and couple of players caught my eye - Dan Barlaser and Paul Smyth.

I’ve kept an eye on them both since - Smyth just been promoted with Leyton Orient and soon to be out of contract, and Barlaser was a stand out for Rotherham before getting a move to Middlesbrough. Don’t think he’s featured much but unsure if injured?

(sadly), I actually emailed Graeme Mathie about Barlaser at the time and to his credit, he replied saying they were aware of him but hadn’t been able to pursue it for a few reasons.

Both would be very good in my opinion.

badabing67
09-05-2023, 03:33 PM

His numbers this season, age, energy and the overall reputation of young Scottish players at the moment I think will lead to a bid around 2 million which the club will accept with a sell on %.

Complete hunch, not ITK

I think he will be worth more this time next year I think we should keep him. imo

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2023, 04:03 PM

Complete hunch, not ITK

If we got north of £1m for campbell we should take it imo. If we got £2m and a sell on then we’d have absolutely robbed somebody.

Donegal Hibby
09-05-2023, 04:04 PM

Complete hunch, not ITK
It's a possibility he could leave if the right offer came in though I do think we will try and move Henderson , JDH , kenneh and Tait on in the summer probably.

09-05-2023, 04:21 PM
If we got north of £1m for campbell we should take it imo. If we got £2m and a sell on then we’d have absolutely robbed somebody.

That's under rating a very good young player. For me he's another player that will do very well in the Italian league.

badabing67
09-05-2023, 04:23 PM
It's a possibility he could leave if the right offer came in though I do think we will try and move Henderson , JDH , kenneh and Tait on in the summer probably.

JDH wants to stay

09-05-2023, 04:27 PM

I just think he’s the sort of all action midfielder a lot of teams like, 8 goals and 4 assists that all vary massively and show real quality.

I can see Italian clubs likening him to Ferguson who has done very well over there this season

Also think he’d suit the championship to a tee.

09-05-2023, 04:27 PM
JDH wants to stay

Good, hope he does stay. Starting to show his worth playing a bit further forward and getting a run of games.

The Wireless
09-05-2023, 04:30 PM
That's under rating a very good young player. For me he's another player that will do very well in the Italian league.
Is Doig still cutting the mustard in Italy ?

09-05-2023, 04:42 PM

We'd be robbing ourselves. That would be a shocking bit of business. He's under contract to 2027.

09-05-2023, 04:54 PM
We'd be robbing ourselves. That would be a shocking bit of business. He's under contract to 2027.

He might be, but I think folk are getting a bit ahead of themselves thinking we’ll get several million for him at this point in time. You look at someone like Lewis Ferguson and he was consistently good for 4 years and Aberdeen got £2.1m rising to £3m if certain things met.

Campbell hasn’t been near that kind of consistency so far and he’s a bit later in nailing himself down as a first team player. Hopefully he can improve again next season as I still don’t think he’s influenced a where near enough games this season (a few obvious exceptions).

09-05-2023, 05:08 PM
If Campbell had maintained the form he showed for the first half of the season then I could see a team being prepared to pay decent money for him but his performances have dipped a bit in recent months. Anyone scouting him closely would be a bit put off.

Not saying he’s a bad player and not saying he won’t recapture that form but he’s closer to £1m than £2m, possibly less than a million.

His attitude and athleticism are big assets though, and they can take you quite far in the English lower leagues.

Donegal Hibby
09-05-2023, 05:26 PM
JDH wants to stay
I remember reading that he wanted to stay though it was rumoured we had bids in for JDH , Henderson and Campbell , Campbell's was rejected wither it was below value or we just didn't want to lose him I don't know but the other two were accepted but both players wanted to stay .

I think the manager was quite willing to let both go and it wouldn't surprise me if we tried to move both on in the summer. We have to change our midfield as there's no drive or creativity in it and I think Henderson and JDH are the obvious choices to move if we can . Btw I think JDH is a decent player .

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2023, 05:34 PM

Just because he has a long contract it doesn’t mean he’s automatically worth a lot of money.

I think Campbell is decent. He more often than not isn’t a huge amount more than that though imo.

09-05-2023, 05:39 PM
Just because he has a long contract it doesn’t mean he’s automatically worth a lot of money.

I think Campbell is decent. He more often than not isn’t a huge amount more than that though imo.

He’s our 2nd top goal scorer this season. If you don’t score goals you don’t win games

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2023, 05:41 PM
He’s our 2nd top goal scorer this season. If you don’t score goals you don’t win games

Of course.

He’s still not done it nearly consistently enough to be a £2m player though imo but I’d love to be proved wrong. His goals have also been boosted (and this isn’t a criticism as such) by a glut of goals in 2 matches against Aberdeen. It’s not like he’s a goal scoring midfielder who’s frequently pitching in with goals every few weeks.

Let’s remember that Hibs rarely sell players for over £1m so it’s not like my comment was a slight on Josh Campbell, it still puts him in a fairly exclusive club. I just think he’s got a lot more to do before we can be talking about £2m plus add ons deals.

09-05-2023, 06:06 PM
I really rate Newell.

If he had a player next to him who was more creative he would strive imo and people would realise just how good he is.

As we lack that player the burden then falls on to him to be creative which people criticise him for.

He’s the least of our worries imo.

Good, hope he does stay. Starting to show his worth playing a bit further forward and getting a run of games.

I think this shows the difficulty we have transforming our midfield. Individual cases being made for each of Newell, Campbell & JDH. Cases which are reasonable and not without merit. However those 3 can’t play together, arguably no combination of two can play together either. If we don’t make difficult and unpopular decisions we’ll forever have the same struggles in the middle of the park.

I’d discreetly make it known we’re open to offers for any, or all, of those 3. As well as the rest of the squad outside of probably less than a handful of the squad. To move forward we need to move on whoever we can, which might have to be players who are the least of our problems. Outside of Nisbet, Youan & Boyle I don’t think any of the contracted players would leave a big hole if they were to leave.

09-05-2023, 07:10 PM
:hyper

09-05-2023, 08:04 PM

And if he struggles like he is at the moment then that's a long time to be paying someones wages.

At the moment he is struggling to get into a piss poor Hibs midfield.

09-05-2023, 08:06 PM
Is Doig still cutting the mustard in Italy ?

Not started a game in ages and doesn't come on as a sub very often either.

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2023, 08:06 PM

And apparently isn’t getting paid.

All went a bit sour.

09-05-2023, 08:07 PM

I was reading that there was some kind of issue to do with him not getting his wages and that he was been left out for reasons other than football. Not sure how accurate like.

09-05-2023, 08:09 PM
And apparently isn’t getting paid.

All went a bit sour.

I've heard that but I don't believe it.

In Turkey yes but surely not in Italy.

09-05-2023, 08:11 PM
See Airdrie are dishing out another pumping tonight.

Anyone there creating or scoring their goals worth looking at?

10-05-2023, 07:39 AM
I was reading that there was some kind of issue to do with him not getting his wages and that he was been left out for reasons other than football. Not sure how accurate like.

He had an injury to his foot and he's been on the bench since then. Last 4 games or so. He struggled when he came back early from covid / flu earlier in the year. He's still had over 20 games for them.

Just_Jimmy
10-05-2023, 08:48 AM
He had an injury to his foot and he's been on the bench since then. Last 4 games or so. He struggled when he came back early from covid / flu earlier in the year. He's still had over 20 games for them.There was a game on the other week and he came on as a sub. I didn't watch it but I was changing channels and heard them talking about Hibs and Doig.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Dmas
10-05-2023, 01:53 PM

Came on as a half time sub in 5 of his last 6 appearances, Verona new manager abit on the eccentric side half time subs are a bit of a thing for him, club also on the road to ruin so don’t think the non payment of wages will be all pie in the sky unfortunately for Josh, was a lot of interest in him earlier in the season hopefully someone rekindles that and rescues him

badabing67
10-05-2023, 02:41 PM
Came on as a half time sub in 5 of his last 6 appearances, Verona new manager abit on the eccentric side half time subs are a bit of a thing for him, club also on the road to ruin so don’t think the non payment of wages will be all pie in the sky unfortunately for Josh, was a lot of interest in him earlier in the season hopefully someone rekindles that and rescues him

If that's the case could there not be an issue with his transfer fee though, as far as I am aware they were paying his fee in instalments. Will we be protected or can we we get the player back if they do not honour it? Or what happens if they sell him on.

10-05-2023, 03:05 PM
Would teams bid on Magennis due to his injury record? would a mutual release be the best optiom? give him time to find a new club in the summer.

I would also offer Cabraja one, no hard feelings and would wish him well.

We could get some kind of fee for Henderson, JDH and Kenneh if they are told they won't be needed next season.

Tait and Delferrière should be easy to offload if that's the option.

Annoying we have another transfer window thread which is dominated with midfielder problems.

Will be Doidge be giving another chance?

Get the required CB's, fix the midfield, bring back Youan and we should be a decent team capable of 3rd.

tonyrougier123
10-05-2023, 03:57 PM

The Campbell chat been done to death,Johnson said himself he’s first player on the team sheet earlier in the season. He’s twice the player JDH is, and newell has been decent recently so you see what Joe brings in form. Jeggo brought in to do the job he’s doing and has been effective enough to plug some gaps.

If folk only think Campbell is “decent” at this point then they will most likely never see his true worth. Josh has it all in a midfielder I like to see,combative gets goals, assists ,breaks up play and gets further forward at times than our strikers do. He’s always the midfielder right up with play during dangerous attacks,in fact if we had a better final ball or decision making had been better he might’ve doubled his goal tally this season.
One thing he doesn’t quite get credit for is his vision for a pass.

Campbell for me best player in the current fit player pool.

Hibs should be better all over the park,but I’m not going to downplay a players ability based on anything Johnson has served up.

Easily a £3million player,and I hate trying to value him because we should be building a team around his kind attitude and commitment to hibs. And it comes with pure ability to be every bit as effective as John mcginn going forward.

10-05-2023, 04:05 PM
The Campbell chat been done to death,Johnson said himself he’s first player on the team sheet earlier in the season. He’s twice the player JDH is, and newell has been decent recently so you see what Joe brings in form. Jeggo brought in to do the job he’s doing and has been effective enough to plug some gaps.

If folk only think Campbell is “decent” at this point then they will most likely never see his true worth. Josh has it all in a midfielder I like to see,combative gets goals, assists ,breaks up play and gets further forward at times than our strikers do. He’s always the midfielder right up with play during dangerous attacks,in fact if we had a better final ball or decision making had been better he might’ve doubled his goal tally this season.

Hibs should be better all over the park,but I’m not going to downplay a players ability based on anything Johnson has served up.

Easily a £3million player,and I hate trying to value him because we should be building a team around his kind attitude and commitment to hibs. And it comes with pure ability to be every bit as effective as John mcginn going forward.

Aye, ok then Josh's ma.

If he was rated that highly wouldn't he be picked before JDH?

Imagine stopping discussing something on here that was "done to death". We'd be pretty devoid of topics :greengrin

No one will ever pay us three million quid for Josh, nor will he ever come close to being as effective as SJM, that's totally delusional.

He's improved this season and we're all grateful for that, but let's not get carried away. I see energy and commitment, lack of technical ability, a decent eye for a goal and a guy who's been a bit inconsistent and off the boil for a few months now.

Paulie Walnuts
10-05-2023, 04:06 PM

Campbell was really poor last season and his form has fell away a bit since January imo to the point he got dropped the other week. It’s not really a surprise people aren’t getting on board with the £3m player hype at this stage, he’s a long way to go before he gets to that imo. And I say that as someone who thinks he’s got as good a shout for our POTY as anybody.

As for the comment about McGinn, just no. He doesn’t have that.

Donegal Hibby
10-05-2023, 04:32 PM
Would teams bid on Magennis due to his injury record? would a mutual release be the best optiom? give him time to find a new club in the summer.

I would also offer Cabraja one, no hard feelings and would wish him well.

We could get some kind of fee for Henderson, JDH and Kenneh if they are told they won't be needed next season.

Tait and Delferrière should be easy to offload if that's the option.

Annoying we have another transfer window thread which is dominated with midfielder problems.

Will be Doidge be giving another chance?

Get the required CB's, fix the midfield, bring back Youan and we should be a decent team capable of 3rd.
I'd say it's highly unlikely any teams would bid for Magennis with his injury record . Magennis has 2 years left at us which unless we pay him off I don't see him going anywhere soon tbh .

Cabraja looked good when he first came to us though has lost form which is understandable considering everything that's happened. I would hang on to cabraja personally.

We tried to move Henderson and JDH on but they didn't want to go . Thats our big problem in we have players who aren't good enough or don't fit into the manager's plans who are going to be hard to move on unless we pay them off which costs money .

I really don't think doidge is a player our manager is interested in having tbh and you could probably file him in with JDH , Henderson, kenneh and maybe melkersen , Mckirdy as well . It's a bit of a mess and one that will take some fixing in the summer tbh .

supermcginn
10-05-2023, 05:20 PM

Best player in the squad? He wouldn't make the top 10, results have picked up since he's been dropped.

PHeffernan
10-05-2023, 07:50 PM
By the end of next season the contracts of Gray, McGregor, Stevenson and Hanlon will all be up.
Campbell could be the new Mr Hibs starting season 2024/25 and go on to play hundreds of games with bawbags criticising him every season.

Once Nisbet goes in the summer there are no players who need to be sold because their contracts are running down.

Looks like we are looking to sell a player a season.

Who is our most likely sale in summer 2024?
Youan would be a decent bet or will it be someone else who breaks through next season.

This season Campbell, Bushiri, Youan and arguably Nisbet have progressed.
Another 4 players progressing next season would be good.
Like Campbell and Bushiri this season it could be two players folk are currently saying should be moved on.

10-05-2023, 08:03 PM

Big Josh fan but he’s certainly not twice the player JDH is.

10-05-2023, 08:13 PM
Big Josh fan but he’s certainly not twice the player JDH is.

I think JDH is a bit under appreciated. He’s a good player.

10-05-2023, 08:13 PM
Wonder if we’ll go back in for Stuart Findlay.

Hope not but we were apparently close to signing him in January so you’d imagine we’d still be interested

tonyrougier123
10-05-2023, 08:32 PM
Aye, ok then Josh's ma.

If he was rated that highly wouldn't he be picked before JDH?

Imagine stopping discussing something on here that was "done to death". We'd be pretty devoid of topics :greengrin

No one will ever pay us three million quid for Josh, nor will he ever come close to being as effective as SJM, that's totally delusional.

He's improved this season and we're all grateful for that, but let's not get carried away. I see energy and commitment, lack of technical ability, a decent eye for a goal and a guy who's been a bit inconsistent and off the boil for a few months now.

I didn’t say stop discussing it chief 😂
If I was your ma you’d be getting a clip roond the ear for your cheek!😝

The point I’m making is for some he will never be good enough although he’s clearly a very good young player yet to hit his prime.

I’d love your crystal ball you seem to know what he definitely won’t be, there will possibly never be another mcginn and before that it was sauzee aye,im just trying to say Campbell has the same knack to influence games on his day in the same way sometimes unplayable due to endless energy willingness to run through walls for the team, a much lesser team than mcginn played for as well.

Where does the lack of technical ability come from? Some cracking assist thru balls and worldie finishes? Now I think that’s a wee bit of what you want to see imo.

I’m no convinced by Johnson anyway so his selections don’t fill me with confidence. I’d have Josh over Jake no problems.

badabing67
10-05-2023, 08:47 PM
Wonder if we’ll go back in for Stuart Findlay.

Hope not but we were apparently close to signing him in January so you’d imagine we’d still be interested

Same here would prefer Jason Kerr and Fish Back

10-05-2023, 08:50 PM
Same here would prefer Jason Kerr and Fish Back

We went from talking about Joaquim Sousa last season to Stuart Findlay, I do love the transfer window 😄

cameronw-hfc
10-05-2023, 08:52 PM
I didn’t say stop discussing it chief 😂
If I was your ma you’d be getting a clip roond the ear for your cheek!😝

The point I’m making is for some he will never be good enough although he’s clearly a very good young player yet to hit his prime.

I’d love your crystal ball you seem to know what he definitely won’t be, there will possibly never be another mcginn and before that it was sauzee aye,im just trying to say Campbell has the same knack to influence games on his day in the same way sometimes unplayable due to endless energy willingness to run through walls for the team, a much lesser team than mcginn played for as well.

Where does the lack of technical ability come from? Some cracking assist thru balls and worldie finishes? Now I think that’s a wee bit of what you want to see imo.

I’m no convinced by Johnson anyway so his selections don’t fill me with confidence. I’d have Josh over Jake no problems.

Not sure Josh has a lack of technical ability as much as poor decision making when he's got the ball deeper. Often last season he would have obvious passes available and would often hold onto the ball or play the wrong ball, hence why Johnson has been vocal about him being involved less in the build up and finding pockets of space higher up the park to get involved