View Full Version : Name the Hibs players

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Edina Street
23-02-2023, 07:56 PM
For the sake of nostalgia, and a bit of fun, name the players, and feel free to post your own content.

Player one

Player two

Player three

Player four

Player five

If you can, state what all the above players have in common.

Edina Street
23-02-2023, 08:09 PM

Halmyre Hibee
23-02-2023, 08:09 PM
1) John Grant 2) Joe Baker 3)? 4) Jock Paterson 5) Keith Wright.

23-02-2023, 08:26 PM
Is number 3 Stevie Brown? Was a sub in 2 of the 1979 Scottish cup finals.

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2023, 08:28 PM
Pat Carroll for number 3?

Edina Street
23-02-2023, 08:36 PM
Is number 3 Stevie Brown? Was a sub in 2 of the 1979 Scottish cup finals.

It isn't Stevie Brown.

Green forever
23-02-2023, 08:37 PM
Peter Docherty number 3 ?

23-02-2023, 08:37 PM
It isn't Stevie Brown.
Willie Jamieson's wee brother or sister? :greengrin

Edina Street
23-02-2023, 08:41 PM
Pat Carroll for number 3?

Correct

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2023, 08:46 PM
Correct

They all played for Raith Rovers as well?

Edina Street
23-02-2023, 08:48 PM
They all played for Raith Rovers as well?

Yep! You're a true Hibs historian.

23-02-2023, 09:26 PM
Correct

Are you sure that is Pat Carroll ?

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2023, 09:35 PM

First he straightened the hair, then he grew the tache. Which made him look like a totally different person. :wink:

leith lynx
23-02-2023, 09:36 PM

I don't think that is Pat Carroll either. Would go for Docherty.

23-02-2023, 09:41 PM
https://i.ibb.co/t43p48J/8-A3352-DA-7-CFD-4-A48-AF91-0351-C4293715.png (https://ibb.co/mGS5G6c)
fraction keyboard (https://usefulwebtool.com/math-keyboard)

23-02-2023, 09:47 PM
https://i.ibb.co/t43p48J/8-A3352-DA-7-CFD-4-A48-AF91-0351-C4293715.png (https://ibb.co/mGS5G6c)

The nose matches so it is Pat Carroll. Or if you base it on the hair in the OP photo then it's Leo Sayer.

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2023, 09:53 PM

His appearance certainly "evolved" over the years shall we say.

https://i.ibb.co/V92BSGH/Pat-Carroll.jpg

23-02-2023, 09:57 PM
His appearance certainly "evolved" over the years shall we say.

https://i.ibb.co/V92BSGH/Pat-Carroll.jpg

First one looks like Benny Brazil as a boy

23-02-2023, 09:58 PM
Peter Docherty is 2nd from right in the back row in this photo. Looks like no. 3.

https://twitter.com/ScotsFootyCards/status/734119549067526144?t=N9yW7IN8Q1Xj8biyy4NvtQ&s=19

leith lynx
23-02-2023, 09:58 PM
The nose matches so it is Pat Carroll. Or if you base it on the hair in the OP photo then it's Leo Sayer.

Docherty moonlighting as Carroll

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2023, 10:02 PM
First one looks like Benny Brazil as a boy

He certainly had the curls, but he also had one heck of a beak on him

leith lynx
23-02-2023, 10:07 PM
He certainly had the curls, but he also had one heck of a beak on him

Aye, in these VAR days Benny would have played a lot of strikers on-side!

Edina Street
23-02-2023, 10:11 PM
I don't think that is Pat Carroll either. Would go for Docherty.

https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/vintage-team-photos--323414816972858951/

Peter Docherty is 2nd from right in the back row in this photo. Looks like no. 3.

Edit..can't get link to work!

Docherty moonlighting as Carroll

Here is the article that I got the players from.
https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/raith-rovers/raith-rovers-players-who-have-also-played-hibernian-140646

Number three needs to be someone that made 93 appearances for Raith Rovers and scored seven goals for them. Using google and https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=5444 I worked out that it was Pat Carroll.

Perhaps the journalist attributed the wrong photo to Pat Carroll? I don't think so though, as it would be too much of a coincidence that HarpOnHibee just so happened to come up with Pat Carroll as well.

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2023, 10:12 PM
Aye, in these VAR days Benny would have played a lot of strikers on-side!

They never really got these decisions on the nose back then. :greengrin

23-02-2023, 10:14 PM

https://twitter.com/ScotsFootyCards/status/734119549067526144?t=N9yW7IN8Q1Xj8biyy4NvtQ&s=19

It does look more like him.

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2023, 10:16 PM
Perhaps the journalist attributed the wrong photo to Pat Carroll? I don't think so though, as it would be too much of a coincidence that HarpOnHibee just so happened to come up with Pat Carroll as well.

I wasn't entirely sure myself tbh. He looks quite a bit different in all of the google images, but his nose does look consistent once you factor in the angle of the image. There's a prominent development in the jawline in the other images, but again, it could just be the angle of the original image making his facial proportions look different.

23-02-2023, 10:18 PM
It does look more like him.

Yip and Carroll is front row left

Now all the rest

Spotted Jimmy McColl

Thief
23-02-2023, 10:21 PM
No.3 is definitely Peter Docherty.

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2023, 10:22 PM

Yep, I think you're absolutely spot on. Good shout. :aok:

https://i.ibb.co/SQd6vj3/002.jpg

23-02-2023, 10:26 PM
Pat Carroll it is.

https://i.ibb.co/Z1wLWT6/Screenshot-20230223-232454-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/Lhqknpz)

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2023, 10:27 PM
Pat Carroll it is.

Well this hasn't been confusing at all. :greengrin

23-02-2023, 10:30 PM
Well this hasn't been confusing at all. :greengrin

😀

Does anyone here know either Pat Carroll or Peter Docherty to ask them, if they are still with us? Or next time someone speaks to Pat Stanton, maybe ask him. He might know.

23-02-2023, 10:38 PM
Pat Carroll it is.

https://i.ibb.co/Z1wLWT6/Screenshot-20230223-232454-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/Lhqknpz)

Nope National World are not to be trusted only in it for the money

https://i.ibb.co/cJWFBWr/2-EE6-EB12-93-B3-4-B5-D-BB0-A-4-D0392-D00226.png (https://ibb.co/zs3RM34)

23-02-2023, 10:41 PM
Image posted by Hiber-nation is spot on

23-02-2023, 10:43 PM
Nope National World are not to be trusted only in it for the money

https://i.ibb.co/cJWFBWr/2-EE6-EB12-93-B3-4-B5-D-BB0-A-4-D0392-D00226.png (https://ibb.co/zs3RM34)

Fair enough. That's maybe where Fife Today got the photo from.

23-02-2023, 10:45 PM
Fair enough. That's maybe where Fife Today got the photo from.

Crops = Jimmy McDonald geez a breek !

😀

23-02-2023, 10:51 PM
Crops = Jimmy McDonald geez a breek !

😀

Though not the worst mix up. 😮

https://i.ibb.co/30hmGSS/image-1.jpg (https://ibb.co/vJz4gLL)

23-02-2023, 11:00 PM
Though not the worst mix up. 😮

https://i.ibb.co/30hmGSS/image-1.jpg (https://ibb.co/vJz4gLL)

Oh dear !

Edina Street
24-02-2023, 12:11 AM

Conj
24-02-2023, 07:37 AM

What a team that is

K Kay
24-02-2023, 10:14 AM
I used to work with Pat Carroll and that ain’t him.

24-02-2023, 10:22 AM
We should do this as a rolling thing. Whoever correctly names the player has to post the next photo.

https://i.ibb.co/kmDzPvH/E3iy-Q98-WUAIt-U-z.jpg (https://ibb.co/qJgh2Vy)

Edina Street
24-02-2023, 10:23 AM

Edina Street
24-02-2023, 10:26 AM
We should do this as a rolling thing. Whoever correctly names the player has to post the next photo.

Isak Arne Refvik.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isak_Arne_Refvik

24-02-2023, 11:01 AM

Svein Mathisen.

Sorry, I'm no good at posting photos on here!

Edina Street
24-02-2023, 11:36 AM
Svein Mathisen.

Oh well, I was close, I got the Norwegian part right.

24-02-2023, 11:36 AM
Svein Mathisen.

Correct.👍Someone else could maybe post the next one.

24-02-2023, 11:44 AM
https://i.ibb.co/KVRsJ3J/20230224-124324.jpg

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Edina Street
24-02-2023, 11:47 AM
https://i.ibb.co/KVRsJ3J/20230224-124324.jpg

Bernard Breslin?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bernard_Breslin

24-02-2023, 11:54 AM
Bernard Breslin?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bernard_BreslinNice one. The link between the resuscitation of the club and the 1901-02 cup/league winners. The Louis Stevenson of his day.

Blurb attached now

https://i.ibb.co/zZPFcg9/5c26fdb7ad499246d220511966eb2ac5.jpg

24-02-2023, 12:02 PM
Oh well, I was close, I got the Norwegian part right.

I was a bit sneaky as thought Refvik would be easier so went for Mathisen. They were actually both in the photo.

https://i.ibb.co/VCJjnLK/FIaf6-Ns-Xs-Ac2cz-N.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

24-02-2023, 12:15 PM
https://images.app.goo.gl/dv2CriCdSrZHjvgr9
I got stuck on some of the subs in this one.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Edina Street
24-02-2023, 12:19 PM
Nice one. The link between the resuscitation of the club and the 1901-02 cup/league winners. The Louis Stevenson of his day.

Blurn attached now

https://i.ibb.co/zZPFcg9/5c26fdb7ad499246d220511966eb2ac5.jpg

Yeha, I got one right at last.

Ok, which retired Hibs player is this?

24-02-2023, 12:52 PM

Looks like that Tony Hart gadgie that could draw pictures on the telly :greengrin

Thief
24-02-2023, 01:14 PM
I used to work with Pat Carroll and that ain’t him.

Lol, I used to work with Peter Docherty and it 100% is him [emoji106]

24-02-2023, 01:39 PM
Lol, I used to work with Peter Docherty and it 100% is him [emoji106]

The not long retired Doc played with him for years at various teams

24-02-2023, 01:53 PM
Nice easy one guys

https://i.ibb.co/qCtwMhJ/3-F55-B643-4030-4-B0-A-AF94-4-F25-F01-EE7-CC.png (https://ibb.co/HCWQDRh)

24-02-2023, 02:05 PM
Nice easy one guys

https://i.ibb.co/qCtwMhJ/3-F55-B643-4030-4-B0-A-AF94-4-F25-F01-EE7-CC.png (https://ibb.co/HCWQDRh)John Fraser?

24-02-2023, 02:14 PM
Nice easy one guys

https://i.ibb.co/qCtwMhJ/3-F55-B643-4030-4-B0-A-AF94-4-F25-F01-EE7-CC.png (https://ibb.co/HCWQDRh)
Easy if you see his name at the top to be honest :greengrin

Edina Street
24-02-2023, 02:17 PM
Nice easy one guys

Peter Marinello

24-02-2023, 02:24 PM
Peter Marinello

👍

Fallen idle

24-02-2023, 02:31 PM

He looks like how I'd expect Brian Marjoribanks to look these days.

Edina Street
24-02-2023, 02:55 PM
��

Fallen idle

I actually removed my post believing my answer to have been wrong lol.

Ok, in this team photo is an ex Hibs player. Which one is he? And what is his name?

Edina Street
24-02-2023, 02:59 PM
He looks like how I'd expect Brian Marjoribanks to look these days.

Wow! You got it!

24-02-2023, 03:05 PM
Wow! You got it!

Being auld has its advantages.
Good thread - well done.

24-02-2023, 03:15 PM
I actually removed my post believing my answer to have been wrong lol.

Ok, in this team photo is an ex Hibs player. Which one is he? And what is his name?

Second from right Darling Willie Groves

What do I win ? :greengrin

Edina Street
24-02-2023, 03:25 PM
Second from right Darling Willie Groves

What do I win ? :greengrin

Yep, the first ever player to receive a world record transfer fee.

You win the honour of being a true hibby.

24-02-2023, 03:45 PM
Yep, the first ever player to receive a world record transfer fee.

You win the honour of being a true hibby.

Scottish Cup winning legend with Hibs also won the FA Cup with WBA and the League with AV

Scored a hat-trick for Scotland at ER

Legend

24-02-2023, 06:41 PM
Wow! You got it!

I remember Brian Marjoribanks from the old Sportsreel programme on BBC - the forerunner of Sportscene and didn’t realise he was a former player - and actor too.

24-02-2023, 10:06 PM
For the sake of nostalgia, and a bit of fun, name the players, and feel free to post your own content.

Player one

Player two

Player three

Player four

Player five

If you can, state what all the above players have in common.

Have't seen any mention of player 4-it's Des Fox.

24-02-2023, 10:07 PM
Willie Mc Farlane and Tommy Younger.
The two nearest Jimmy Mc Coll are maybe Hugh Howie and Hugh Higgins.

25-02-2023, 05:22 AM
[QUOTE=BILLYHIBS;7292872]Nice easy one guys

https://i.ibb.co/qCtwMhJ/3-F55-B643-4030-4-B0-A-AF94-4-F25-F01-EE7-CC.png (https://ibb.co/HCWQDRh)[/https://i.ibb.co/Qf5xLcx/74-BE8-C0-E-5-D06-46-DE-A48-D-45-DA9-AD36366.jpg (https://ibb.co/yX3xtRx)

25-02-2023, 06:04 AM
Who is this guy?

https://i.ibb.co/M8hGtqq/A1-AF2831-7-E77-4947-84-DD-8-A0-CB4-CA77-E1.png (https://ibb.co/0BXF6PP)

25-02-2023, 06:10 AM
Who is this guy?

https://i.ibb.co/M8hGtqq/A1-AF2831-7-E77-4947-84-DD-8-A0-CB4-CA77-E1.png (https://ibb.co/0BXF6PP)

Is that not Paul Tosh?

25-02-2023, 06:11 AM
Is that not Paul Tosh?

👍

Looks like Airdrieonians away

25-02-2023, 09:15 AM
Is that not Paul Tosh?

Definitely is.

Edina Street
25-02-2023, 09:36 AM

25-02-2023, 09:41 AM

Franck Dja Djédjé

Edina Street
25-02-2023, 09:46 AM
Franck Dja Djédjé

Well done

25-02-2023, 10:44 AM
Happy family snap

https://i.ibb.co/8rmVk5n/02-B46-C5-C-D75-B-484-E-9-B6-B-C17-C5-C2-C3-FC2.png (https://ibb.co/X7WTHsf)

25-02-2023, 10:56 AM
Happy family snap

https://i.ibb.co/8rmVk5n/02-B46-C5-C-D75-B-484-E-9-B6-B-C17-C5-C2-C3-FC2.png (https://ibb.co/X7WTHsf)Gordon Marshall .. more than one.

25-02-2023, 11:15 AM
Gordon Marshall .. more than one.

25-02-2023, 11:30 AM
https://i.ibb.co/VwN6SbW/2881854-F-0-D12-4-C57-B4-FA-02-C327-BBD09-A.png (https://ibb.co/7kzhWBJ)

25-02-2023, 11:50 AM
https://i.ibb.co/VwN6SbW/2881854-F-0-D12-4-C57-B4-FA-02-C327-BBD09-A.png (https://ibb.co/7kzhWBJ)

Joe Mcbride snr

25-02-2023, 11:52 AM
Joe Mcbride snr

Great player

Knew the road to goal

25-02-2023, 12:16 PM
https://i.ibb.co/VNxpD5K/13521-F38-A83-C-49-BC-8991-2-D563982-E44-B.jpg (https://ibb.co/z5FHbDk)

25-02-2023, 03:59 PM
https://i.ibb.co/VNxpD5K/13521-F38-A83-C-49-BC-8991-2-D563982-E44-B.jpg (https://ibb.co/z5FHbDk)

The Tornadoes and what a strip that was.

25-02-2023, 05:08 PM
https://i.ibb.co/F4McNbz/E511037-B-7490-4665-8-A04-7-DDADB6-AEF50.jpg (https://ibb.co/N2PfQ6K)

25-02-2023, 05:43 PM
https://i.ibb.co/F4McNbz/E511037-B-7490-4665-8-A04-7-DDADB6-AEF50.jpg (https://ibb.co/N2PfQ6K)

Madsen?

25-02-2023, 05:48 PM
Madsen?

25-02-2023, 05:50 PM
Who is this Hibs legend on holiday?

https://i.ibb.co/0nThL17/C1-FEEEA8-7-B14-49-FC-82-CC-A0-A48-E9-F943-F.jpg (https://ibb.co/vcpZWfF)

leith lynx
25-02-2023, 05:52 PM
Who is this Hibs legend on holiday?

https://i.ibb.co/0nThL17/C1-FEEEA8-7-B14-49-FC-82-CC-A0-A48-E9-F943-F.jpg (https://ibb.co/vcpZWfF)
Jim Heriot

25-02-2023, 05:53 PM
Jim Heriot

25-02-2023, 05:55 PM
https://i.ibb.co/H4h3tQx/221-D030-E-1-F13-46-F2-91-EB-0-A3385499242.jpg (https://ibb.co/fFDLk7n)

25-02-2023, 06:13 PM
Can anyone name Santa’s little helpers ?

https://i.ibb.co/3h8gmSB/6-AC8-E99-B-2-D93-4-EBC-A097-A48-A67248-E2-E.png (https://ibb.co/4NDhR4P)what should my screen resolution be (https://whatsmyscreenresolution.com/)

25-02-2023, 06:19 PM
Fraser F and Keats which brings up the question Hibs players who
have won both English and Scottish cups

leith lynx
25-02-2023, 06:19 PM
Fyvie and Keatings

25-02-2023, 06:22 PM
Fyvie and Willie Groves

Edina Street
26-02-2023, 09:28 AM

26-02-2023, 09:36 AM

Kenny Miller

26-02-2023, 09:39 AM
https://i.ibb.co/5Y8699q/A60-E2067-2049-4-C49-BC2-D-7-D3549-A1-E2-CE.png (https://ibb.co/YDk3WWv)

26-02-2023, 09:55 AM

Anyone got all these yet?

26-02-2023, 10:08 AM
https://i.ibb.co/M96SvN5/7-A399-E8-D-6-FD6-4282-9-B5-A-4-EAB71-C0761-A.jpg (https://ibb.co/pnyw7Xr)

26-02-2023, 10:42 AM
Anyone got all these yet?

Was taken just before 1953 Testimonial for Tom Curry who sadly died in the Munich Air Disaster

Manchester United 2 v 2 Hibernian

I recognise Jimmy McColl Willie Macfarlane and Tommy Younger but not sure about the other two ?

Hibernian Younger Macfarlane Paterson Buchanan Howie and Ward Smith Johnstone D’Arcy Combe and Ormond

Hope that helps ?

26-02-2023, 10:44 AM
https://i.ibb.co/M96SvN5/7-A399-E8-D-6-FD6-4282-9-B5-A-4-EAB71-C0761-A.jpg (https://ibb.co/pnyw7Xr)

The brilliant pat mcginlay

26-02-2023, 10:52 AM
The brilliant pat mcginlay

No doubt after one of his brilliant late runs into the opposition box

26-02-2023, 12:09 PM
No doubt after one of his brilliant late runs into the opposition box

Absolutely fantastic player for hibs he really was

26-02-2023, 12:23 PM

Absolutely fantastic player for hibs he really was

79 goals from 374 appearances

Awesome return from midfield

26-02-2023, 12:40 PM
79 goals from 374 appearances

Awesome return from midfield
Did he not end up as Celtics top scorer one season?

26-02-2023, 12:45 PM
Yip We bought him back for 420k

26-02-2023, 12:49 PM

Yip his one and only season their

26-02-2023, 12:50 PM
Yip We bought him back for 420k
What a bit of business that was Billy.

26-02-2023, 04:52 PM
Was taken just before 1953 Testimonial for Tom Curry who sadly died in the Munich Air Disaster

Manchester United 2 v 2 Hibernian

I recognise Jimmy McColl Willie Macfarlane and Tommy Younger but not sure about the other two ?

Hibernian Younger Macfarlane Paterson Buchanan Howie and Ward Smith Johnstone D’Arcy Combe and Ormond

Hope that helps ?

Thanks Billy. It's Pat Ward and Tommy D'Arcy. Should have remembered-I got both their autographs as a kid. A long time ago right enough:greengrin

26-02-2023, 04:55 PM
Thanks Billy. It's Pat Ward and Tommy D'Arcy. Should have remembered-I got both their autographs as a kid. A long time ago right enough:greengrin

Nae bother

👍

26-02-2023, 05:47 PM
Who am I ?

Born in Edinburgh

Grew up a Hibby

Signed for Hearts

Hearts sold me and I played against them defeating them in the Scottish Cup Final

I then went down South for a few years before returning to Edinburgh and signing for my beloved Hibs

26-02-2023, 06:11 PM
Who am I ?

Born in Edinburgh

Grew up a Hibby

Signed for Hearts

Hearts sold me and I played against them defeating them in the Scottish Cup Final

I then went down South for a few years before returning to Edinburgh and signing for my beloved Hibs

Roy Barry?

26-02-2023, 06:25 PM
Roy Barry?

👍

27-02-2023, 10:23 AM

Fyvie obvs, guessing that Willie Groves might have done so?

27-02-2023, 10:39 AM
https://i.ibb.co/ydS923S/8-D2-AEAB7-202-B-4-EAB-AABC-8-E4-C8-EC4-CD38.png (https://ibb.co/NtSvR4S)

Conj
27-02-2023, 10:45 AM
https://i.ibb.co/ydS923S/8-D2-AEAB7-202-B-4-EAB-AABC-8-E4-C8-EC4-CD38.png (https://ibb.co/NtSvR4S)

Paddy Cregg

27-02-2023, 10:56 AM
Paddy Cregg

👍

28-02-2023, 07:01 AM
https://i.ibb.co/Wfjc0cL/D6-BCE4-FB-D6-E4-468-A-AE3-D-1206-D5-A8-ED47.jpg (https://ibb.co/Pg05M5d)

hibeg
28-02-2023, 07:33 AM
That’s not Andy Goran is it ? Can’t remember him that thin :greengrin

28-02-2023, 07:42 AM
That’s not Andy Goran is it ? Can’t remember him that thin :greengrin

👍

https://i.ibb.co/HTfHBzj/9-C4-EEBA8-7532-442-A-BBB0-9-F98-F7-DC57-F5.jpg (https://ibb.co/607WrPk)

28-02-2023, 07:43 AM
Spot the ground ?

https://i.ibb.co/vjz8DC4/66117-F39-E8-F2-4828-9-E56-E17-A30-DA8940.jpg (https://ibb.co/QKmGX7v)

28-02-2023, 07:46 AM
Firhilll?

Nope

28-02-2023, 07:47 AM
Nope

Tynecastle was trying to guess the ground in the Goram picture honestly :greengrin

28-02-2023, 07:48 AM
Tynecastle was trying to guess the ground in the Goram picture honestly :greengrin

👍

Tiny

28-02-2023, 12:07 PM
https://i.ibb.co/JvX5JwP/3-BE391-F5-C574-45-B5-B35-E-4-F71-CF6-C289-C.png (https://ibb.co/6H6gC75)

28-02-2023, 01:39 PM
https://i.ibb.co/JvX5JwP/3-BE391-F5-C574-45-B5-B35-E-4-F71-CF6-C289-C.png (https://ibb.co/6H6gC75)

Big Bad John ?

28-02-2023, 02:09 PM
Big Bad John ?

Yip on the Tour of Canada

This is them setting off for the North American Tour 1965 from Easter Road to Glasgow Airport

How many can you name ?

https://i.ibb.co/8PMvY53/9-C69-ABD3-547-E-4-F19-8488-733-DE9-A6-DBB2.png (https://ibb.co/BTLWnZD)

28-02-2023, 03:51 PM
Left-right, ? ? Fraser, Cormack, Quinn, O’Rourke, Stanton, Big John, ? ? ? Tam McNiven

hibeg
28-02-2023, 05:42 PM
Far left Willie Wilson and Eric Stevenson, not Quinn
Not sure about the directors

hibeg
28-02-2023, 05:53 PM
Is it not Wilson Humphries then Willie Wilson

I was just going by the players Ringo

28-02-2023, 05:54 PM
I was just going by the players Ringo

That’s why I decided to delete my post 😂
Would be interesting to know what badge is on the blazer

Highwayman
28-02-2023, 05:54 PM
From left :- ?,Willie Wilson,John Fraser,Peter Cormack,Eric Stevenson,Jimmy O’Rourke,?,Pat Stanton,
Neil Martin,?,Bob Shankly,?Tam McNiven.

Seem to be missing 4 players from 11.Who would they be?

28-02-2023, 07:25 PM
From left :- ?,Willie Wilson,John Fraser,Peter Cormack,Eric Stevenson,Jimmy O’Rourke,?,Pat Stanton,
Neil Martin,?,Bob Shankly,?Tam McNiven.

Seem to be missing 4 players from 11.Who would they be?

Duncan and Davis?

McNamee and Scott?

Far left.... Tom Hart?

28-02-2023, 07:46 PM
Yip on the Tour of Canada

This is them setting off for the North American Tour 1965 from Easter Road to Glasgow Airport

How many can you name ?

https://i.ibb.co/8PMvY53/9-C69-ABD3-547-E-4-F19-8488-733-DE9-A6-DBB2.png (https://ibb.co/BTLWnZD)
Alex Pratt Dir Willie Wilson John Fraser Peter Cormack Eric Stevenson Jim O’ Rourke Bob Powrie Dir Pat Stanton Neil Martin Jimmy Stevenson Bob Shankly Kenny McIntyre Dir and Tom McNiven

28-02-2023, 08:55 PM
Alex Pratt Dir Willie Wilson John Fraser Peter Cormack Eric Stevenson Jim O’ Rourke Bob Powrie Dir Pat Stanton Neil Martin Jimmy Stevenson Bob Shankly Kenny McIntyre Dir and Tom McNiven

Another good one BillyHibs. The director standing in between Jimmy O'Rourke and Pat Stanton, is Kenny McIntyre - he worked beside me for James Miller & Partners in the early 60s. Nice guy.

28-02-2023, 08:56 PM
That’s why I decided to delete my post 😂
Would be interesting to know what badge is on the blazer

I read somewhere that someone found Tam McNiven’s blazer in an Oxfam Shop and handed it into Hibs Historic Trust

That wasn’t the Blazer for this trip looks more like the old Edinburgh Corporation badge in the image

https://i.ibb.co/dmKS5g3/840-AC1-F8-F568-40-B6-A3-FC-6-F0346115608.png (https://ibb.co/PDCR6Qb)
math symbols copy and paste (https://usefulwebtool.com/math-keyboard)

01-03-2023, 12:58 PM
https://i.ibb.co/3pWNcLw/47-E487-EC-F513-4-B96-91-B0-724-B87147-D04.jpg (https://ibb.co/ZBK8xk3)

hibeg
01-03-2023, 01:28 PM
https://i.ibb.co/3pWNcLw/47-E487-EC-F513-4-B96-91-B0-724-B87147-D04.jpg (https://ibb.co/ZBK8xk3)

kane, Durie, McNiven
McNamara, Gordon Rae, Harris, Benny, Robin Rae ( i think )

01-03-2023, 01:37 PM
kane, Durie, McNiven
McNamara, Gordon Rae, Harris, Benny, Robin Rae ( i think )

👍

Looks like Benny signing the ball after his surprise perfect hat-trick versus Celtic

01-03-2023, 02:27 PM
👍

Looks like Benny signing the ball after his surprise perfect hat-trick versus Celtic

Gordon Rae signing is it not?

01-03-2023, 03:03 PM
Gordon Rae signing is it not?

I think they all are :greengrin

01-03-2023, 03:06 PM
https://i.ibb.co/BjQMFwW/DD9-DA063-BC18-4-DA1-9-C7-E-2-EB7-EB966652.jpg (https://ibb.co/6bTCLN9)

01-03-2023, 03:42 PM
https://i.ibb.co/BjQMFwW/DD9-DA063-BC18-4-DA1-9-C7-E-2-EB7-EB966652.jpg (https://ibb.co/6bTCLN9)

Gerry Baker?

01-03-2023, 03:54 PM
How do you post a photo on here, asking for a technophobic auld buffer of a pal:greengrin

01-03-2023, 03:56 PM
Gerry Baker?

Close

01-03-2023, 03:58 PM
[QUOTE=superfurryhibby;7297536]How do you post a photo on here, asking for a technophobic auld buffer of a pal:greengrin[/https://i.ibb.co/gjkgVCZ/9586-A61-B-E4-C2-4763-8-BD2-E4-D6204-B8-E81.png (https://ibb.co/PmqCQ8G)

01-03-2023, 04:01 PM
I think they all are :greengrin

01-03-2023, 06:21 PM
Close

Is that Tommy Preston behind Joe?

01-03-2023, 06:22 PM
Is that Tommy Preston behind Joe?

👍

01-03-2023, 06:24 PM
https://i.ibb.co/xjSzHPV/18-E6-D14-A-1925-41-D9-9-A71-457-C0278-C7-AA.png (https://ibb.co/T8BPLpz)

01-03-2023, 06:25 PM
https://i.ibb.co/xjSzHPV/18-E6-D14-A-1925-41-D9-9-A71-457-C0278-C7-AA.png (https://ibb.co/T8BPLpz)

Cormack :greengrin

01-03-2023, 06:25 PM
Cormack :greengrin

👍

01-03-2023, 06:26 PM

Ha! Peter Cormack. Went in goal v hahahahaheart when we went down to ten men. Didn’t do a bad job either, sadly not enough though

01-03-2023, 06:28 PM
https://i.ibb.co/fX2Smmy/97-B48135-6-AE7-4-F93-87-C8-B42-C5-C7-ADA57.jpg (https://ibb.co/7SXz77Z)
hosting google free (https://imgbb.com/)

leith lynx
01-03-2023, 09:32 PM
https://i.ibb.co/fX2Smmy/97-B48135-6-AE7-4-F93-87-C8-B42-C5-C7-ADA57.jpg (https://ibb.co/7SXz77Z)
hosting google free (https://imgbb.com/)
Sol Bamba

02-03-2023, 06:44 AM
Sol Bamba

👍

https://i.ibb.co/QkpTkjB/F7-AEC933-6105-4-EEF-90-DF-3076671-CD317.jpg (https://ibb.co/bFQCFRh)

02-03-2023, 06:48 AM
https://i.ibb.co/xMvyMHQ/CE321477-E4-C2-423-E-B2-FC-BE5-C691-C6-F78.jpg (https://ibb.co/sFShFHr)

leith lynx
02-03-2023, 07:40 AM
https://i.ibb.co/xMvyMHQ/CE321477-E4-C2-423-E-B2-FC-BE5-C691-C6-F78.jpg (https://ibb.co/sFShFHr)

Collins, Kane & Weir.

02-03-2023, 07:43 AM
Collins, Kane & Weir.

👍

Too easy

How young they look

02-03-2023, 07:46 AM
https://i.ibb.co/dcL3t4G/0-F72-CC33-DA93-4-E12-A9-EE-B48-A87-AF9-D88.jpg (https://ibb.co/cvCpwhD)

02-03-2023, 07:48 AM
https://i.ibb.co/dcL3t4G/0-F72-CC33-DA93-4-E12-A9-EE-B48-A87-AF9-D88.jpg (https://ibb.co/cvCpwhD)

Billy Findlay?

02-03-2023, 07:51 AM
Billy Findlay?

👍

5 year contract IIRC

https://i.ibb.co/RNV0yvX/8488-AC0-C-168-A-47-CE-98-C9-DA3-CD20-CA29-F.jpg (https://ibb.co/Sc9nrsk)

02-03-2023, 09:05 AM
Ha! Peter Cormack. Went in goal v hahahahaheart when we went down to ten men. Didn’t do a bad job either, sadly not enough though

Remember a 1-1 draw at Tiny in 1969 when Peter replaced Willie Wilson with 10 minutes to go EoS Shield

My abiding memory is of Willie’s huge top dwarfing Peter his skinny pins dangling down and him smiling and throwing mud at any passing Jambo’s

02-03-2023, 09:41 AM
Remember a 1-1 draw at Tiny in 1969 when Peter replaced Willie Wilson with 10 minutes to go EoS Shield

My abiding memory is of Willie’s huge top dwarfing Peter his skinny pins dangling down and him smiling and throwing mud at any passing Jambo’s

Didn’t Willie go on the right wing with his head bandaged?

02-03-2023, 12:53 PM
Didn’t Willie go on the right wing with his head bandaged?

Naw that was St Mirren at home I think in the League Cup

Image above

McGraw came on for Wilson and Cormack went in goal versus Hearts

https://i.ibb.co/5L7mrMv/BD46163-D-A6-A2-43-BB-A6-FE-368-EDC845-DAD.png (https://ibb.co/3cJ2prW)

02-03-2023, 06:43 PM
https://i.ibb.co/mSg64sd/A84979-E7-C92-C-4293-80-D3-EC9-FCCBCF200.png (https://ibb.co/V352Tyb)

02-03-2023, 07:04 PM
https://i.ibb.co/mSg64sd/A84979-E7-C92-C-4293-80-D3-EC9-FCCBCF200.png (https://ibb.co/V352Tyb)

Gordon Chisholm.

02-03-2023, 07:07 PM
Gordon Chisholm.

👍

Thought he was a great signing then next minute he was Captain of Dundee ?

leith lynx
02-03-2023, 07:24 PM
👍

Thought he was a great signing then next minute he was Captain of Dundee ?

Sure he was Hibs captain for a season or two as well.

02-03-2023, 07:46 PM
Sure he was Hibs captain for a season or two as well.

Yip remember his debut scoring against the Huns

But choosing Dundee over Hibs ?

Must have been the money or relegation ?

Same with Willie Miller ?

leith lynx
02-03-2023, 09:46 PM
Yip remember his debut scoring against the Huns

But choosing Dundee over Hibs ?

Must have been the money or relegation ?

Same with Willie Miller ?
Seem to remember Darren Dodds and Steven Tweed jumping ship as well.

hibeg
03-03-2023, 03:16 AM

Tweed left Hibs to go abroad, a Turkish or Greek side
Dodds left for St Johnstone if I remember correctly
Can’t blame Dundee for those 2 :greengrin

03-03-2023, 07:32 AM
https://i.ibb.co/0F1sw6k/D90-A47-E2-CDD1-4-E78-BB1-D-DD69-FC68-D361.png (https://ibb.co/WP7VTMQ)

Hillsidehibby
03-03-2023, 07:44 AM
Ian Munro Ally McLeod

03-03-2023, 07:45 AM
Ian Munro Ally McLeod

Both Saintees brilliant for us

03-03-2023, 07:46 AM

Was never so glad to see the back of a centre half than when Darren Dodds left. People around me must have thought his name was Oh-no!

03-03-2023, 07:56 AM
https://i.ibb.co/NsnSP2B/62198858-74-D3-42-C1-891-A-82-BA6-CF01535.png (https://ibb.co/zrHJYVv)

Highwayman
03-03-2023, 11:05 AM
Is that a picture of Johnny McLeod ?

03-03-2023, 11:41 AM
Is that a picture of Johnny McLeod ?

👍

03-03-2023, 11:46 AM
Ian Munro Ally McLeod

It's Iain Munro no Ian Munro (pedant). Iain was quality in whatever position he played in.

Hillsidehibby
03-03-2023, 01:05 PM
It's Iain Munro no Ian Munro (pedant). Iain was quality in whatever position he played in.
I realised it after I posted. Nae excuse either, my laddie is called Iain

03-03-2023, 01:15 PM
I realised it after I posted. Nae excuse either, my laddie is called Iain

You better not mention it to Ian or you might get a poke in the I.😁

03-03-2023, 02:26 PM
https://i.ibb.co/KrxYpS6/A5-CAF38-D-4923-4-D15-8718-882-E5888597-A.jpg (https://ibb.co/mc5mVgJ)

leith lynx
03-03-2023, 03:00 PM
https://i.ibb.co/KrxYpS6/A5-CAF38-D-4923-4-D15-8718-882-E5888597-A.jpg (https://ibb.co/mc5mVgJ)

Scott Bain

03-03-2023, 03:25 PM
Scott Bain

👍

04-03-2023, 10:42 AM
Teenage kicks

https://i.ibb.co/XWMp9K6/7-BA87931-4-B97-4-B3-F-933-B-5-E6903050-CD0.jpg (https://ibb.co/tHFcSvn)
upload pic (https://imgbb.com/)

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-03-2023, 10:48 AM
Teenage kicks

https://i.ibb.co/XWMp9K6/7-BA87931-4-B97-4-B3-F-933-B-5-E6903050-CD0.jpg (https://ibb.co/tHFcSvn)
upload pic (https://imgbb.com/)

John Peel

04-03-2023, 11:05 AM
john peel

sent from my iphone using tapatalk

👍

rip

04-03-2023, 11:16 AM
Scott Bain

Great signing :greengrin When was the last time he actually played a game. Completely forgot about him is he still at Celtic?

04-03-2023, 11:49 AM
https://i.ibb.co/yfCbhYs/8-D8-D4-A2-C-9-E58-4-B97-BDD0-0-E42-BBDAE87-A.jpg (https://ibb.co/sm4M563)
uploading pictures (https://imgbb.com/)

leith lynx
04-03-2023, 12:54 PM
https://i.ibb.co/yfCbhYs/8-D8-D4-A2-C-9-E58-4-B97-BDD0-0-E42-BBDAE87-A.jpg (https://ibb.co/sm4M563)
uploading pictures (https://imgbb.com/)

Lyndon Andrews

04-03-2023, 12:57 PM
Lyndon Andrews

👍

Wee Russell’s mate

04-03-2023, 10:30 PM
https://i.ibb.co/NsnSP2B/62198858-74-D3-42-C1-891-A-82-BA6-CF01535.png (https://ibb.co/zrHJYVv)

Johnny was an ex St. Anthony's boy. I remember him coming into the classroom one day when there was a lot of speculation linking him with Arsenal, and he wanted to speak to Mr.Canning, our geography teacher, who was a bit of a mentor to Johnny. All the Hibees in the class were shouting "Dinnae go Johnny!" Unfortunately Johnny went. He was some player.

05-03-2023, 07:52 AM
[QUOTE=The Harp;7300329]Johnny was an ex St. Anthony's boy. I remember him coming into the classroom one day when there was a lot of speculation linking him with Arsenal, and he wanted to speak to Mr.Canning, our geography teacher, who was a bit of a mentor to Johnny. All the Hibees in the class were shouting "Dinnae go Johnny!" Unfortunately Johnny went. He was some player.[/https://i.ibb.co/b1pzkbx/2-EE17-DDF-0923-4-D9-A-B42-B-A2-E7-B60-F605-F.jpg (https://ibb.co/gyszx4G)

05-03-2023, 07:58 AM
https://i.ibb.co/jZxjmXY/56-FC96-E2-2-BD0-4014-991-F-254-AF41-F2116.jpg (https://ibb.co/KzQ8dvg)

leith lynx
05-03-2023, 08:04 AM
https://i.ibb.co/jZxjmXY/56-FC96-E2-2-BD0-4014-991-F-254-AF41-F2116.jpg (https://ibb.co/KzQ8dvg)

Gordon Smith top right while at Dundee

05-03-2023, 08:12 AM
Gordon Smith top right while at Dundee

👍

https://i.ibb.co/NCNzxDS/8-C2-A6936-D77-E-43-F6-8-BB5-22-D261815-CB2.jpg (https://ibb.co/T205cjL)

05-03-2023, 08:14 AM
https://i.ibb.co/gdcT8WR/BB44-FC1-D-35-AF-4659-AE50-65-F43-EA4824-F.jpg (https://ibb.co/RNJ0K6D)

05-03-2023, 08:46 AM
https://i.ibb.co/gdcT8WR/BB44-FC1-D-35-AF-4659-AE50-65-F43-EA4824-F.jpg (https://ibb.co/RNJ0K6D)

Stop it!!!

Kuqi. He honestly looks about 52 and played like it too.

05-03-2023, 08:57 AM
Alan Cousin in picture as well.

05-03-2023, 08:59 AM
Alan Cousin in picture as well.

Well spotted

https://i.ibb.co/XzCKppB/7-A604-F50-CFFE-4182-AA4-B-2-BACBBC10274.png (https://ibb.co/xM7BGGv)

05-03-2023, 08:59 AM
Stop it!!!

Kuqi. He honestly looks about 52 and played like it too.

Lol

05-03-2023, 09:08 AM
Well spotted

👍
Also managed by Bob Shankly future Hibs manager. Both Dundee teams have got to a European Cup semi final, have the so called big team in Edinburgh got anywhere near that?

06-03-2023, 07:13 AM
https://i.ibb.co/jZxjmXY/56-FC96-E2-2-BD0-4014-991-F-254-AF41-F2116.jpg (https://ibb.co/KzQ8dvg)A young Sauzee next to Ian Ure.

06-03-2023, 07:14 AM
https://i.ibb.co/Nnyj9sN/20230306-081124.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

06-03-2023, 07:22 AM

Must be a wee bit easier this pic. I've got them all - won't spoil it for anyone about to identify them.
Keep 'em coming.

ripvanwinkle
07-03-2023, 03:35 PM
Must be a wee bit easier this pic. I've got them all - won't spoil it for anyone about to identify them.
Keep 'em coming.
Fraser,Grant,Simpson Baxter Easton Baird
Bogie E Stevenson, Kinloch, Preston, A MacLeod

08-03-2023, 06:10 AM

What a fantastic strip that is

08-03-2023, 07:41 AM
Fraser,Grant,Simpson Baxter Easton Baird
Bogie E Stevenson, Kinloch, Preston, A MacLeodGreat effort. Bottom left isn't Bogie though.

DIXIHIBS
08-03-2023, 07:48 AM
Great effort. Bottom left isn't Bogie though.

Ronaldo?

08-03-2023, 08:00 AM
Ronaldo?I checked again. No. Ish though see what you mean.

08-03-2023, 08:08 AM
I checked again. No. Ish though see what you mean.

Is it Duncan Falconer?

08-03-2023, 10:03 AM
Is it Duncan Falconer?No.

08-03-2023, 10:24 AM
Davie Hogg.

08-03-2023, 11:41 AM
Davie Hogg.Nope.

08-03-2023, 11:42 AM
Harvey Mcreadie?

I always thought that that was a great name.

08-03-2023, 12:07 PM
Harvey Mcreadie?

I always thought that that was a great name.

:greengrinGreat name, not him.

I wouldn't have known myself but here's the uncropped pic.

https://i.ibb.co/x1mTp57/e92421c0538aa472770cc859851b3c15.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

Small thread on here from when Joe passed away.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?271748-Joe-Davin-RIP

greeny
08-03-2023, 02:15 PM
It’s Malcolm Bogie. That’s taken from the Trial Match at ER in 1961 but with the wrong name in listing. It was the first time I had been in the Centre Stand so remember it well

08-03-2023, 02:30 PM
https://i.ibb.co/wCm0SLx/ipswich-town-joe-davin-12-12-183639-p.jpg (https://ibb.co/pZF0fP9)

You are probably correct here Joe when he was at Ipswich. Maybe it is Ronaldo.

11-03-2023, 08:22 AM
https://i.ibb.co/9wgcJXs/87-EAF1-B9-BE4-F-4-CB9-A912-6775-EA205-B96.jpg (https://ibb.co/N1CtXhZ)

leith lynx
11-03-2023, 08:31 AM
https://i.ibb.co/9wgcJXs/87-EAF1-B9-BE4-F-4-CB9-A912-6775-EA205-B96.jpg (https://ibb.co/N1CtXhZ)

Tommy Mcintyre

11-03-2023, 08:33 AM
Tommy Mcintyre

👍

ripvanwinkle
11-03-2023, 09:14 AM
It’s Malcolm Bogie. That’s taken from the Trial Match at ER in 1961 but with the wrong name in listing. It was the first time I had been in the Centre Stand so remember it well

Thanks greeny, felt sure it was Bogie.Do I get a prize?

11-03-2023, 09:17 AM
https://i.ibb.co/251ZGp0/630-CED1-F-5-CDC-4611-B6-AF-41-BD186-E74-F4.jpg (https://ibb.co/HXfh59L)

ripvanwinkle
11-03-2023, 11:46 AM
https://i.ibb.co/251ZGp0/630-CED1-F-5-CDC-4611-B6-AF-41-BD186-E74-F4.jpg (https://ibb.co/HXfh59L)

Wille Hamiton no 10 celebrating his first of 2 beating Rangers 2-1cup win.

11-03-2023, 12:07 PM
Wille Hamiton no 10 celebrating his first of 2 beating Rangers 2-1cup win.

Willie Hamilton opened the scoring but who scored Hibs’ winner ?

Jim Baxter’s long awaited return after a broken leg

11-03-2023, 12:15 PM

Definitely Malcolm Bogie, as you say. I remember speaking to him 20+ years ago in what used to be the Raeburn House Hotel. He seemed surprised I recognised him so many years after his time at Easter Road. He had hardly changed since his playing days. Very skillful player.

11-03-2023, 07:01 PM

It may have been our own Baxter, John that is. around 48,000 crowd that day, Hamilton was brilliant and run rings around the other Baxter who happened to play for the hun at the time.

11-03-2023, 08:09 PM
It may have been our own Baxter, John that is. around 48,000 crowd that day, Hamilton was brilliant and run rings around the other Baxter who happened to play for the hun at the time.

👍

2 minutes from the end

11-03-2023, 08:14 PM
https://i.ibb.co/TtGjkqt/82924829-6-D5-F-4759-8847-D8694-DB421-CB.jpg (https://ibb.co/dDvCrJD)

greeny
11-03-2023, 08:28 PM
Kleton Plentreou

11-03-2023, 08:40 PM
👍

2 minutes from the end

Willie Hamilton scored the winner not John Baxter.

12-03-2023, 04:38 AM
Kleton Plentreou

👍

12-03-2023, 04:42 AM

Yip

That explains the image

John Fraser wanted to take a quick short free kick in the 88th minute but his colleague wasn’t ready He swore then sent a ball into the mixer 2-1.

‘ Willie Hamilton? Think of Kenny Dalglish only better ‘

Jock Stein

12-03-2023, 06:51 AM
https://i.ibb.co/WFzg5H4/05551717-3639-4-D2-D-87-FA-4-A2195-CDF1-F2.jpg (https://ibb.co/DkM5W1H)

12-03-2023, 07:11 AM
https://i.ibb.co/WFzg5H4/05551717-3639-4-D2-D-87-FA-4-A2195-CDF1-F2.jpg (https://ibb.co/DkM5W1H)

Daniel Andersson.

12-03-2023, 07:29 AM
Daniel Andersson.

👍

https://i.ibb.co/N9SLvch/F72-BDB7-C-21-E0-438-C-93-B3-1-B6-C0-B696-FA8.jpg (https://ibb.co/x1HMkxv)

12-03-2023, 09:43 AM

Of course it was, I was standing on the wall right at the top of the terracing in the picture, crazy days and the old grey matter gets a bit rusty at times. Huge crowd and yes of course we got a lift over in them days just a youngster then.

12-03-2023, 10:57 AM
Well spotted

https://i.ibb.co/XzCKppB/7-A604-F50-CFFE-4182-AA4-B-2-BACBBC10274.png (https://ibb.co/xM7BGGv)

Gously. Does anyone else know why that is significant?

12-03-2023, 11:07 AM
Gously. Does anyone else know why that is significant?

Bob Shankly’s first signing ?

12-03-2023, 11:09 AM

A famous occasion. I was in the stand with the late Laurence Whitley, who became minister of Glasgow Cathedral.
His father was the famous Harry Whitley of St Giles who was Hibs Presbyterian chaplain.
He was always talking about something going on in the city.

They called him "Whitley say next?"

12-03-2023, 11:15 AM
Bob Shankly’s first signing ?

No. Alan Cousin, a very good player who was underused by Hibs, appeared in a match programme at Third Lanark or Raith or summat (I'll have to delve into the box) listed as Gously.

His teammates subsequently ribbed him about it.
There wasn't much else to do in those days.

12-03-2023, 11:21 AM
Of course it was, I was standing on the wall right at the top of the terracing in the picture, crazy days and the old grey matter gets a bit rusty at times. Huge crowd and yes of course we got a lift over in them days just a youngster then.

There was endless debate about who scored. Hamilton naturally claimed it but some would say he merely glanced at the ball. He was the king of dummy moves and frequently turned around entire defences without even touching the ball. A famous one at Tynecastle is on YouTube described by a worshipful Archie McPherson.

The scorer was John Fraser who delivered a great cross.

12-03-2023, 01:48 PM
No. Alan Cousin, a very good player who was underused by Hibs, appeared in a match programme at Third Lanark or Raith or summat (I'll have to delve into the box) listed as Gously.

His teammates subsequently ribbed him about it.
There wasn't much else to do in those days.

A School Teacher was part time at Hibs scoring 3 times in 125 appearances

Was also a decent cricketer

12-03-2023, 01:59 PM
A School Teacher was part time at Hibs scoring 3 times in 125 appearances

Was also a decent cricketer
I was at school with and a good friend of Alan's son. Was in the Cousin household many many times. Alan was a complete gentleman and there was very little indication that he had actually been a footballer. As you say he was a very good cricketer and also tennis player and pretty good at golf. In fact I believe he actually played internationally at cricket and tennis. Complete gentleman

12-03-2023, 02:14 PM
Well spotted

https://i.ibb.co/XzCKppB/7-A604-F50-CFFE-4182-AA4-B-2-BACBBC10274.png (https://ibb.co/xM7BGGv)Mm, that collar. Was on the first Hibs strip I ever owned.