View Full Version : Name the Hibs players

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

12-03-2023, 02:26 PM
https://i.ibb.co/27LfkPD/5-DF0-C1-BA-AD73-4-C56-9654-AE833-B7-AB3-E3.png (https://ibb.co/d03z56d)

12-03-2023, 02:45 PM
https://i.ibb.co/wCm0SLx/ipswich-town-joe-davin-12-12-183639-p.jpg (https://ibb.co/pZF0fP9)

You are probably correct here Joe when he was at Ipswich. Maybe it is Ronaldo.

Wee bit more about the life of Joe Davin
Well known and liked man it seems he was.

https://www.scotsman.com/news/obituaries/obituary-joseph-james-davin-footballer-1558613

leith lynx
12-03-2023, 03:50 PM
https://i.ibb.co/27LfkPD/5-DF0-C1-BA-AD73-4-C56-9654-AE833-B7-AB3-E3.png (https://ibb.co/d03z56d)

Bjarni Larusson

12-03-2023, 04:07 PM
Bjarni Larusson

👍

Was at Killie when he scored

13-03-2023, 08:08 AM
https://i.ibb.co/vs9T1kV/5-F3433-CF-700-D-472-B-B23-D-8-FDBF109-EF1-B.jpg (https://ibb.co/bHtC1XQ)
lifeless (https://emoticoncentral.com/category/lifeless)

13-03-2023, 08:31 AM
https://i.ibb.co/vs9T1kV/5-F3433-CF-700-D-472-B-B23-D-8-FDBF109-EF1-B.jpg (https://ibb.co/bHtC1XQ)
lifeless (https://emoticoncentral.com/category/lifeless)

Beastie McCluskey

13-03-2023, 08:32 AM
Beastie McCluskey

👍

Loved that strip

15-03-2023, 06:09 PM
https://i.ibb.co/FsWddxP/20230315-190638.jpg

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

15-03-2023, 06:16 PM
https://i.ibb.co/FsWddxP/20230315-190638.jpg

Joe Harper?

PHeffernan
15-03-2023, 06:51 PM
Joe Harper?

Correct

In his Aberdeen days

15-03-2023, 08:42 PM
Joe Harper?https://i.ibb.co/h8dFq3c/3b351c3ca0c8585a614c56c2c7e2c15f.jpg

15-03-2023, 08:51 PM
https://i.ibb.co/h8dFq3c/3b351c3ca0c8585a614c56c2c7e2c15f.jpg

Yeah, I'm going for Joe Harper

15-03-2023, 08:59 PM
Yeah, I'm going for Joe HarperHave you tried spot-the-ball?

16-03-2023, 09:51 AM
https://i.ibb.co/8zkJ7bB/0-F853-FAC-2-F35-4384-AC20-F10-F75-FE6-E72.jpg (https://ibb.co/7ghH1Qz)
image hosting (https://imgbb.com/)

Donegal Hibby
16-03-2023, 10:11 AM
https://i.ibb.co/8zkJ7bB/0-F853-FAC-2-F35-4384-AC20-F10-F75-FE6-E72.jpg (https://ibb.co/7ghH1Qz)
David Zitelli ,very good player

16-03-2023, 10:21 AM
David Zitelli ,very good player

��

https://youtu.be/X4BDhwReAIc

zitelli62
16-03-2023, 11:21 AM

The man himself Mr Zitelli.

16-03-2023, 01:11 PM
The man himself Mr Zitelli.

We had some classy players at that time.

hibeg
16-03-2023, 02:50 PM
��

https://youtu.be/X4BDhwReAIc

That game brings back memories. A group of us watched it in a Dublin boozer on a 40th weekend. . 3-0 IIR and played on a Sunday/ Monday night :flag:

16-03-2023, 07:05 PM
That game brings back memories. A group of us watched it in a Dublin boozer on a 40th weekend. . 3-0 IIR and played on a Sunday/ Monday night :flag:

It was a Sunday night 6.05pm KO on Setanta, if I can remember

19-03-2023, 09:15 AM
https://i.ibb.co/9c0V8Hx/1202-B7-F5-3459-4-D44-952-F-AD4845-F03495.jpg (https://ibb.co/djvLW4N)

19-03-2023, 09:27 AM

19-03-2023, 09:30 AM

Great player, cannae believe he never got a scotland cap

19-03-2023, 09:43 AM

Agreed , I think he got 1 Scotland B cap

19-03-2023, 09:44 AM
Agreed , I think he got 1 Scotland B cap

Was he not top scorer at Celtc when he was there tae? Mad that he didn’t get a few full Scotland caps

19-03-2023, 09:49 AM
Was he not top scorer at Celtc when he was there tae? Mad that he didn’t get a few full Scotland caps

:agree: Top goalscorer in his only season their

19-03-2023, 10:28 AM
https://i.ibb.co/9c0V8Hx/1202-B7-F5-3459-4-D44-952-F-AD4845-F03495.jpg (https://ibb.co/djvLW4N)

Great pic.

19-03-2023, 10:31 AM
Great pic.

Did Turnbull take the pic?

19-03-2023, 11:31 AM
https://i.ibb.co/k8pfftM/39865290-7-BDB-4-F12-966-A-A000-BD493748.jpg (https://ibb.co/R01mmq7)
image upload (https://imgbb.com/)

19-03-2023, 11:32 AM
Did Turnbull take the pic?

My first thought as well

19-03-2023, 11:50 AM
https://i.ibb.co/k8pfftM/39865290-7-BDB-4-F12-966-A-A000-BD493748.jpg (https://ibb.co/R01mmq7)
image upload (https://imgbb.com/)

Gordon Hunter on the left.

26-03-2023, 10:35 AM
https://i.ibb.co/rp5YRTS/BACD9-A04-02-C4-4989-A5-B4-8-C9-ACAFCDFC9.png (https://ibb.co/c820SMH)

26-03-2023, 10:47 AM
Gordon Hunter on the left.

The Rae brothers Robin and Gordon :greengrin

26-03-2023, 10:49 AM
The Rae brothers Robin and Gordon :greengrin

👍

07-04-2023, 12:03 PM
Brilliant pic posted by St Anthony today on Twitter from 1973 versus East Fife

https://i.ibb.co/rZVB673/F549-EC3-A-D4-F7-4868-99-AB-5-FEBFD772-E31.png (https://ibb.co/wKfnW07)
poems from mothers to sons inspiration (https://poetandpoem.com/analysis-mother-son-langston-hughes)

07-04-2023, 12:51 PM
Brilliant pic posted by St Anthony today on Twitter from 1973 versus East Fife

https://i.ibb.co/rZVB673/F549-EC3-A-D4-F7-4868-99-AB-5-FEBFD772-E31.png (https://ibb.co/wKfnW07)
poems from mothers to sons inspiration (https://poetandpoem.com/analysis-mother-son-langston-hughes)

The fateful game.

07-04-2023, 01:01 PM
The fateful game.

The day the music died

some crowd though

Roxyhibee
07-04-2023, 02:29 PM
The day the music died

some crowd though

The quadruple was on at that point in my young mind. Were either of those East Fife players the one who broke Europe’s finest right back leg and our hearts that day.?

07-04-2023, 02:42 PM
The day the music died

some crowd though

I was in the old North stand we scored late on and Easter Road erupted 👍💚

07-04-2023, 02:43 PM
The quadruple was on at that point in my young mind. Were either of those East Fife players the one who broke Europe’s finest right back leg and our hearts that day.?

Looks like Dave Clarke future East Fife Manager and our very own Bobby Duncan

East Fife were a tough nut to crack back then ultra defensive and man marking the total opposite to their Manager’s Pat Quinn’ s style as a player

Ian Printy was the culprit and totally blameless according to Onion and definitely not Johnny Love as he is always quick to remind me every time I meet him

07-04-2023, 02:44 PM
The fateful game.

Ian Printy was his name, a supposed Hibs fan 🙄

07-04-2023, 03:14 PM
Looks like Dave Clarke future East Fife Manager and our very own Arthur Duncan

East Fife were a tough nut to crack back then ultra defensive and man marking the total opposite to their Manager’s Pat Quinn’ s style as a player

Ian Printy was the culprit and totally blameless according to Onion and definitely not Johnny Love as he is always quick to remind me every time I meet him

East typo to make. I’ve changed it to Arthur 👍🏻

07-04-2023, 03:16 PM
East typo to make. I’ve changed it to Arthur 👍🏻

Nope Bobby far right

East Fife right back

Arthur is Arthur

07-04-2023, 03:23 PM
Ian Printy was his name, a supposed Hibs fan ��

Took Ian a while to get over that.
Ian was brought up doon the road from us in Clerry.
We all used to go to Clerry YMCA back in the 60s
Across from St Kentigerns chapel in Parkgrove it was ⛪
Ian lived near the primary school. His dad was a good Hibs man tae.
Done some scouting.

Roxyhibee
07-04-2023, 03:41 PM

Ah yes, Bobby D.! Suffered a similar career affecting break a few years before. Printy’s on Onion maybe have been an unfortunate clash but not sure Yogi could claim to be so innocent.

07-04-2023, 03:50 PM
Ah yes, Bobby D.! Suffered a similar career affecting break a few years before. Printy’s on Onion maybe have been an unfortunate clash but not sure Yogi could claim to be so innocent.

Shocking tackle was close to a Scotland call up IIRC

07-04-2023, 06:18 PM

Correct about Johnny but he got Mikey sent off for retaliation

07-04-2023, 06:34 PM

That was what I meant about man marking they knew how to push Mickey’s buttons and it cost us big time

Think Mickey was only booked but it pushed him onto mega points with the SFA who loved it

Think they had two on him at all times

Justice was served when Tosh rose like a salmon to head home Arthur’s cross in the last minute

Best header of a ball I have seen at Easter Road

07-04-2023, 06:37 PM

So blame Love for goading Mickey
That 8 week suspension was a disgrace.
Cost us the league title imo

From an interview Onion did with The Scotsman a good few year ago.

"Hibs beat East Fife in the next game after 7-0 but their losses were great.
On top of the leg-break, a booking for Alex Edwards triggered an eight-week suspension.
When asked about the game – and he is – Brownlie still has to correct key details.
Johnny Love didn’t make the tackle – the latter rarely left Edwards’ side in the pair’s recurring feud –
but Ian Printy did and, no, it wasn’t malicious and he doesn’t blame the player.
. He shakes his head. “Ian was a Hibs fan. He came to see me in hospital.”

Brownlie was ten months out, with the troublesome tibula having to be broken and re-set.

scm70nyd1973
07-04-2023, 07:43 PM
The fateful game.

Jeez oh - memories play tricks - I just seem to remember it was a really dull/grey/dreich day and a poor crowd 🤔

07-04-2023, 07:54 PM
That was what I meant about man marking they knew how to push Mickey’s buttons and it cost us big time

Think Mickey was only booked but it pushed him onto mega points with the SFA who loved it

Think they had two on him at all times

Justice was served when Tosh rose like a salmon to head home Arthur’s cross in the last minute

Best header of a ball I have seen at Easter RoadThey didn't have a points system back then. Bans were just arbitrarily applied. Alan Anderson of Hearts was up before the SFA the same day as Mickey, same amount of bookings, no where near the same punishment. Stanton and Blackley were also both suspended for a few games before the end of that season. In an era when teams had a set starting 11 our season petered out.

07-04-2023, 08:00 PM
They didn't have a points system back then. Bans were just arbitrarily applied. Alan Anderson of Hearts was up before the SFA the same day as Mickey, same amount of bookings, no where near the same punishment. Stanton and Blackley were also both suspended for a few games before the end of that season. In an era when teams had a set starting 11 our season petered out.

They loved it

We all knew Wee Mickey was in for a big ban

07-04-2023, 09:41 PM
Nope Bobby far right

East Fife right back

Arthur is Arthur

My goodness you’re right. Sincere apologies. I missed Bobby all together, great spot.

08-04-2023, 06:43 AM
My goodness you’re right. Sincere apologies. I missed Bobby all together, great spot.

👍

08-04-2023, 08:33 AM
https://i.ibb.co/y4109jF/215-D9-E9-B-5-FCB-453-D-B629-B72570141-F99.jpg (https://ibb.co/BnxLpM2)
my screen size in pixels (https://whatsmyscreenresolution.com/)

08-04-2023, 08:36 AM
https://i.ibb.co/y4109jF/215-D9-E9-B-5-FCB-453-D-B629-B72570141-F99.jpg (https://ibb.co/BnxLpM2)

Bobby Smith great player

08-04-2023, 08:38 AM
Bobby Smith great player

Legend

https://i.ibb.co/1rfyM1b/41-AE9-BCA-0759-4-D30-9220-13-FCC009-B09-F.png (https://ibb.co/y6nvptV)

wallpaperman
08-04-2023, 09:04 AM

What a great player Bobby was. Looking at his wiki page I had completely forgotten that he had gone on to Dunfermline, Partick and Berwick after leaving Hibs for the second time, played over a hundred games combined for those 3 clubs.

17-04-2023, 09:04 PM
https://i.ibb.co/n6rHy6p/826-F9-E4-E-E0-A1-4822-AFF5-ED0-FC992-D311.png (https://ibb.co/17ZDN7c)

hibeg
18-04-2023, 07:41 AM
The guy with Joe Baker is doing my head in. Is is the reserve centre half, Montford ( or similar)

18-04-2023, 08:07 AM
Bernard Gallacher the golfer

18-04-2023, 08:23 AM

19-04-2023, 07:00 PM
He looks like a young Rory MciIroy.

20-04-2023, 10:47 AM
https://i.ibb.co/YXNV6JY/IMG-1334.png (https://ibb.co/68yq2GV)

leith lynx
20-04-2023, 11:45 AM

Tom Smith

20-04-2023, 12:03 PM
Tom Smith

👍
Great player for us

Solid and reliable

Hillsidehibby
20-04-2023, 01:10 PM
Tom Smith

I still have that strip with number 40 on the back. 24 years ago.
Im so old.

20-04-2023, 02:26 PM

Ridiculous he never played for Scotland. Still one of my favourite Hibs players is Pat. Read on here previously he wasn't as good for us in his second spell. But his goals to game ratio after coming back was considerably better than his first spell. Got 23 goals in 74 appearances when he dropped down to Aye Utd. One in three for a midfielder.

tonyrougier123
20-04-2023, 02:50 PM

Aye good full back smith. Signed two solid full backs from Clydebank big eck. A mind as a youngster in the east giving smith it tight for Clydebank,took it in good jest and impressed me and my mates on his side. To our amusement signed very shortly after.solid player who if not for bad injury would’ve been a very neat player for us for a few years.

scm70nyd1973
20-04-2023, 03:46 PM
Aye good full back smith. Signed two solid full backs from Clydebank big eck. A mind as a youngster in the east giving smith it tight for Clydebank,took it in good jest and impressed me and my mates on his side. To our amusement signed very shortly after.solid player who if not for bad injury would’ve been a very neat player for us for a few years.

Good FB and a great guy. I used to play 5 aside with him when he was still with Hibs. Knew him through his brother - they were really really great guys (and still are I’ve no doubt - always had laughs on their faces) apart from having an aversion to body cleaning agents since 1888 🤭

scm70nyd1973
20-04-2023, 03:48 PM

Once exchanged a ball for some French teeth v the Poppy Thieves IIRC

01-05-2023, 09:27 AM
Anyone able to name the two former Hibs players in this image ?

https://i.ibb.co/pfhchfp/IMG-1503.png (https://ibb.co/T4W6W45)

Bridge hibs
01-05-2023, 09:30 AM
Anyone able to name the two former Hibs players in this image ?

https://i.ibb.co/pfhchfp/IMG-1503.png (https://ibb.co/T4W6W45)Tam McManus and McQuilkin ?

01-05-2023, 09:33 AM
Tam McManus and McQuilkin ?

The Hibs are here Twitter

01-05-2023, 10:30 AM
https://i.ibb.co/vxqCsty/IMG-1504.png (https://ibb.co/4ZtwsQv)

Bridge hibs
01-05-2023, 10:32 AM
https://i.ibb.co/vxqCsty/IMG-1504.png (https://ibb.co/4ZtwsQv)

Shankly and Peter McCormack ?

01-05-2023, 10:37 AM
Shankly and Peter McCormack ?

https://i.ibb.co/TLMbLXf/IMG-1505.png (https://ibb.co/cLhCL5B)

The first Hibs player to have his own fan club

Legend

Bridge hibs
01-05-2023, 10:41 AM
https://i.ibb.co/TLMbLXf/IMG-1505.png (https://ibb.co/cLhCL5B)

The first Hibs player to have his own fan club

Legend
Brill, met him a few times in the past, absolute gentleman 👍

01-05-2023, 10:56 AM
Peter Docherty is 2nd from right in the back row in this photo. Looks like no. 3.

https://twitter.com/ScotsFootyCards/status/734119549067526144?t=N9yW7IN8Q1Xj8biyy4NvtQ&s=19

Featuring John Lambie wearing the best tracksuit ever made.

03-05-2023, 12:14 PM
https://i.ibb.co/Dw4myP4/IMG-1484.png (https://ibb.co/p42N862)

JamesHFC
03-05-2023, 12:25 PM

Liam Miller, Matt Thornhill, Martin Scott.

Miller was a fab player, RIP.

03-05-2023, 12:37 PM
Yip looks like his pen against them

Revered everywhere he played and actually played the most club games in his career for the first to wear the green

Legend

03-05-2023, 12:53 PM

Liam Miller

03-05-2023, 02:07 PM
Liam Miller

👍

04-05-2023, 07:25 AM
https://i.ibb.co/t3wc2c1/IMG-1336.png (https://ibb.co/fQVtNtT)

Hillsidehibby
04-05-2023, 07:44 AM
Gordon Rae Ally McLeod. Struggling with the one behind big Gordon!

04-05-2023, 07:46 AM
Gordon Rae Ally McLeod

👍

Both fantastic for us

04-05-2023, 11:24 AM
https://i.ibb.co/t3wc2c1/IMG-1336.png (https://ibb.co/fQVtNtT)

Semi final when all fans were in the Rangers end

scm70nyd1973
04-05-2023, 02:08 PM
Semi final when all fans were in the Rangers end

The 2-1 game in ‘79 ? Terrible attendance - I was in the North Terracing but most sheep and our fans split up in the so called Rangers end. One nil down (Archibald) then penalty (McLeod brought down and scored the penalty) - mibbies Gordon Rae with the winner - not sure if correct or in correct order - sheep goal at so called Celtic end and both ours at the Huns end. HIBS fans belting out the “Away the lads” song non stop. Good atmosphere considering the rubbish crowd. Could be Willie Patterson behind Rae/McLeod ?

scm70nyd1973
04-05-2023, 02:16 PM
The 2-1 game in ‘79 ? Terrible attendance - I was in the North Terracing but most sheep and our fans split up in the so called Rangers end. One nil down (Archibald) then penalty (McLeod brought down and scored the penalty) - mibbies Gordon Rae with the winner - not sure if correct or in correct order - sheep goal at so called Celtic end and both ours at the Huns end. HIBS fans belting out the “Away the lads” song non stop. Good atmosphere considering the rubbish crowd. Could be Willie Patterson behind Rae/McLeod ?

I forgot but I went to the Huns v Thistle semi as smell - think our game was first - went with my PTFC pals - surprise surprise Thistle goal - to go one nil up - was chalked offside - never in a million years - some things never change eh 🤬

04-05-2023, 04:14 PM

Yes that one think we did come from behind. Absolutely tipping down

scm70nyd1973
04-05-2023, 04:40 PM
Yes that one think we did come from behind. Absolutely tipping down

Just looked back at the actual stats - I’ve not lost it yet but have to confess that I would have put my life on it that the goals were all in the 2nd half. Don’t remember it chucking it down but it wasn’t a nice night - score excluded of course.

04-05-2023, 05:59 PM
My first visit to Hampden. Was a season of firsts for me in the cup that year. First away game, first derby, first visit to Hampden and first losing cup final. Sadly not the last

04-05-2023, 06:07 PM
Yes that one think we did come from behind. Absolutely tipping downHuge pagger in the puddles behind the Rangers end as well.

04-05-2023, 07:12 PM
Great archived thread in here about the Dons semi and the Huns who never do anything…ever!

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?192721-1979-Scottish-Cup-Semi-Final/page2

06-05-2023, 09:09 AM
All hail The King !

https://i.ibb.co/NCXBrHL/IMG-0713.png (https://ibb.co/fFbw9PC)

leith lynx
06-05-2023, 09:16 AM
All hail The King !

https://i.ibb.co/NCXBrHL/IMG-0713.png (https://ibb.co/fFbw9PC)

Lindsay Muir? (at least Eddie Turnbull thought!)

06-05-2023, 09:17 AM
Lindsay Muir? (at least Eddie Turnbull thought!)

Had the same red face 😀

06-05-2023, 11:56 AM
Hail the King!

https://i.ibb.co/tHDLH4t/IMG-1198.png (https://ibb.co/GdRHd0L)

16-05-2023, 09:49 AM
https://i.ibb.co/0Frsk4y/IMG-1572.png (https://ibb.co/pRdhgVj)

wallpaperman
16-05-2023, 10:51 AM

Can name them all, even the reserve goalie. Put a team picture in front of me from 10 years ago and I might be struggling with a good few.

16-05-2023, 11:31 AM
https://i.ibb.co/RCNCnsc/IMG-1575.png (https://ibb.co/ZhShsFx)

16-05-2023, 11:53 AM
Two Joe McBrides?

16-05-2023, 11:59 AM
Two Joe McBrides?

👍

16-05-2023, 12:02 PM

Fulton, Hunter, Harris, Rough, Carson (??), Rae, Chisholm, Cowan
Kane, McBride, Sneddon, Munro, Durie, Brazil, Collins

16-05-2023, 12:17 PM
Kevin Wilson

16-05-2023, 12:18 PM
Fulton, Hunter, Harris, Rough, Carson (??), Rae, Chisholm, Cowan
Kane, McBride, Sneddon, Munro, Durie, Brazil, Collins

What a right mixed bag that squad was

16-05-2023, 12:21 PM
Harris rather than Carter

16-05-2023, 12:35 PM
Tom Carson?

16-05-2023, 12:39 PM
What a team looking back

Every man always gave 100%

Old Firm were no bother to us

Aberdeen a different proposition

16-05-2023, 12:42 PM
What a team looking back

Every man always gave 100%

Old Firm were no bother to us

Aberdeen a different proposition
Probably about 7 or 8 of that squad would get into our team now.

16-05-2023, 01:07 PM
https://i.ibb.co/RCNCnsc/IMG-1575.png (https://ibb.co/ZhShsFx)

Joe McBride Snr digging for goals, what a great goalscorer he was, deadly and one of my fav goals against the tic at Easter Rd, we beat them 2-1 I think, same season we beat the huns away and him and a young Nello scored in the 1-3 win, great days and great under rated team from that time, some great games in Europe as well, soon made me forget all about C.Stein.

16-05-2023, 01:37 PM
Joe McBride Snr digging for goals, what a great goalscorer he was, deadly and one of my fav goals against the tic at Easter Rd, we beat them 2-1 I think, same season we beat the huns away and him and a young Nello scored in the 1-3 win, great days and great under rated team from that time, some great games in Europe as well, soon made me forget all about C.Stein.

Yip hit the ball on the volley from just inside the box absolutely outstanding strike

Brilliant home debut versus Lokomotiv with a hat-trick

Colin who ?

19-05-2023, 08:15 AM
https://i.ibb.co/Dt3WW0z/IMG-1591.png (https://ibb.co/NswCCct)
free flag images (https://imgbb.com/)

19-05-2023, 08:22 AM

Great photo when he had hair :greengrin

19-05-2023, 08:24 AM

Was the Celtic game not 2 0 both by Joe. Had the shorts with two green stripes. Fantastic kit

Great photo when he had hair :greengrin

Zombies lapping it up

Brilliant incredible how many goals he scored against them high percentage of his goals for us

19-05-2023, 08:31 AM
Was the Celtic game not 2 0 both by Joe. Had the shorts with two green stripes. Fantastic kit

Celtic game was 2-0 both goals coming from Joe McBride

Fantastic striker for us one of my boyhood heroes scoring 58:91 appearances

His first season he had an 83% strike rate for us

19-05-2023, 10:51 AM

A legend of all time wearing the worst Hibs kit in my lifetime.

19-05-2023, 10:55 AM

Quite liked that kit 😂

19-05-2023, 10:57 AM
Quite liked that kit 😂

But your guide dog didn't :na na:

wallpaperman
19-05-2023, 11:20 AM
Tom Carson?

The goalkeeper beside Rough is David McKellar, fairly sure he didn’t make a first team appearance for Hibs.

19-05-2023, 12:04 PM
But your guide dog didn't :na na:

Boom boom :not worth

19-05-2023, 12:07 PM
The goalkeeper beside Rough is David McKellar, fairly sure he didn’t make a first team appearance for Hibs.

So it is

Well done

19-05-2023, 12:08 PM

Knew the face not the name

23-05-2023, 08:35 AM
https://i.ibb.co/1nfs48Z/IMG-1602.png (https://ibb.co/9v9wdsn)

23-05-2023, 09:34 AM

Is that Dan Carmichael?

23-05-2023, 09:54 AM
Is that Dan Carmichael?

Nope

Hillsidehibby
23-05-2023, 10:03 AM
Gunnarsson?

23-05-2023, 10:05 AM
Sam Stanton, currently at Raith Rovers

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2023, 10:08 AM

Sam Stanton

23-05-2023, 10:09 AM

👍

23-05-2023, 10:15 AM

It was a cracking kit ruined by the sponsor on the front. IMO of course.

23-05-2023, 12:03 PM

So it is. Didn't look much like him but I see it now. No idea how I thought Carmichael would be celebrating a goal against the huns, he didn't do much for us.

23-05-2023, 12:28 PM
Sammy different class in this Development game against the Wee Huns

Gets pulled down inside the box guess what ?

Nae penalty

https://youtu.be/iprozfywQhc

23-05-2023, 12:34 PM

Absolutely god awful, made slightly better by the fact that when you see it you think about the likes of Scott Allan, David Gray and Dominique Malonga starting to give our club a bit of pride back.

25-05-2023, 09:44 AM
https://i.ibb.co/DY63bvC/IMG-1611.png (https://ibb.co/T1nzT78)

23-06-2023, 06:25 PM
https://i.ibb.co/QvfrZ6W/IMG-1666.png (https://ibb.co/whRMTKn)

23-06-2023, 06:27 PM
https://i.ibb.co/QvfrZ6W/IMG-1666.png (https://ibb.co/whRMTKn)

Paul Dalglish

23-06-2023, 06:29 PM
https://i.ibb.co/DY63bvC/IMG-1611.png (https://ibb.co/T1nzT78)Pat McGinlay?

23-06-2023, 06:30 PM
Pat McGinlay?

Definitely

23-06-2023, 06:32 PM
Pat McGinlay?

👍

Thought at first it was Brian Hamilton

23-06-2023, 06:32 PM
Paul Dalglish

👍

23-06-2023, 06:33 PM
Pat McGinlay?

Yeah but who nicked his guitar?

23-06-2023, 06:35 PM
[emoji106]

Thought at first it was Brian HamiltonI'm nae expert, [emoji16] but I know what I like, even if my memory of those days isn't what it was

23-06-2023, 06:35 PM
Yeah but who nicked his guitar?[emoji23]

23-06-2023, 06:53 PM
I'm nae expert, [emoji16] but I know what I like, even if my memory of those days isn't what it was

Great player for us sold him for 520k and bought him back for 420k unheard of at Hibs

Underrated

23-06-2023, 07:01 PM
Great player for us sold him for 520k and bought him back for 420k unheard of at Hibs

UnderratedWe hear a lot about " box to box" midfielders and goal scoring midfielders etc....

As a Tornadoes era sentimentalist I think he was good enough to be around that squad and subsequently he was the only one that got near Des Bremner for me.....

23-06-2023, 07:12 PM
https://i.ibb.co/DY63bvC/IMG-1611.png (https://ibb.co/T1nzT78)

Pat Mcginlay , Quite simply the best box to box player i have seen in my time following Hibs

wazoo1875
23-06-2023, 07:21 PM
Pat Mcginlay , Quite simply the best box to box player i have seen in my time following Hibs

Loved Pat he was different class. Plenty goals in him.

23-06-2023, 07:31 PM
We hear a lot about " box to box" midfielders and goal scoring midfielders etc....

As a Tornadoes era sentimentalist I think he was good enough to be around that squad and subsequently he was the only one that got near Des Bremner for me.....

Ah The Tornadoes

Seems sooo long ago now

A different era

23-06-2023, 07:45 PM
Ah The Tornadoes

Seems sooo long ago now

A different eraVery very lucky to have been a Hibby in an era where you turned up and just wondered how well we'd win.

23-06-2023, 07:53 PM
Very very lucky to have been a Hibby in an era where you turned up and just wondered how well we'd win.

A total joy to behold

MKHIBEE
23-06-2023, 07:59 PM
Yip hit the ball on the volley from just inside the box absolutely outstanding strike

Brilliant home debut versus Lokomotiv with a hat-trick

Colin who ?
That was my first game under the lights at Easter Road. Loved those European nights.

23-06-2023, 09:15 PM
That was my first game under the lights at Easter Road. Loved those European nights.

Walking up to the ground lit up by the drench floodlighting it was like approaching an alien spaceship from the darkness full of hope excitement and expectation

The games had a totally different feel no matter the opposition or our domestic league position we felt and believed we were unbeatable as we faced a new fresh challenge

The better the opposition the better but we had some really good players ourselves in truth

As soon as the game kicked off the Hibs players were right in their faces probably something the continentals weren’t used to

26-06-2023, 11:23 AM
https://i.ibb.co/RNnh7zh/IMG-1587.png (https://ibb.co/9hXwGsw)

Bridge hibs
26-06-2023, 11:59 AM
https://i.ibb.co/RNnh7zh/IMG-1587.png (https://ibb.co/9hXwGsw)

Thats a toughy Billy, my initial thoughts Andy Dow but Im probably miles off

26-06-2023, 12:01 PM

Nope

26-06-2023, 12:25 PM
Joneleit?

Billy McKirdy
26-06-2023, 12:28 PM

Geebsy

26-06-2023, 12:29 PM
Joneleit?

👍

Bridge hibs
26-06-2023, 12:51 PM
👍

Aw **** so it is, a strange one that, very highly rated German U21 rated at the time of around £1.5m and signed on loan from Monaco but hardly kicked a ball for us

28-06-2023, 12:57 PM
https://i.ibb.co/4KBk0hV/IMG-1683.png (https://ibb.co/YPvgVHL)

28-06-2023, 01:05 PM
Saw this picture posted elsewhere yesterday, the player to the left of Bertie Auld has me beat. Alan Hansen's brother :greengrin?

28-06-2023, 01:10 PM
Ian Hendrie

StevieT
28-06-2023, 06:46 PM

Met Willie Jamieson at the Iron Maiden gig in Glasgow on Monday

28-06-2023, 07:30 PM
Ian Hendrie

👍

28-06-2023, 08:36 PM
Saw this picture posted elsewhere yesterday, the player to the left of Bertie Auld has me beat. Alan Hansen's brother :greengrin?

Same that was why I put it out here

28-06-2023, 10:14 PM
Same that was why I put it out hereJackie McNamara had you beat?

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

28-06-2023, 10:22 PM
Jackie McNamara had you beat?

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

I meant left of Bertie Auld looking at the picture, not on Berties left.

28-06-2023, 11:02 PM
I meant left of Bertie Auld looking at the picture, not on Berties left.Ah... Only name I can up with is Bobby Flavell, but not convinced

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

28-06-2023, 11:46 PM
Ah... Only name I can up with is Bobby Flavell, but not convinced

Another poster said Ian Hendrie but honestly that name escapes me.

29-06-2023, 03:10 AM
Iain Hendry tragically broke his leg 20 seconds into his Hibs debut Berwick Rangers 0-0 away a compound fracture in the old First Division

Only made one other appearance as a sub in the Premier League Partick Thistle away in a 2-1 win

02-07-2023, 08:54 AM
https://i.ibb.co/p2sVktr/IMG-1695.png (https://ibb.co/VVhnk7p)

DIXIHIBS
02-07-2023, 08:56 AM
Darren Jackson?

02-07-2023, 08:57 AM
https://i.ibb.co/p2sVktr/IMG-1695.png (https://ibb.co/VVhnk7p)

Darren Jackson

02-07-2023, 09:49 AM
Darren Jackson?

👍

DIXIHIBS
02-07-2023, 11:00 AM
👍

Skinny wee lad😀. Looks like Meadowbank Stadium.

02-07-2023, 11:03 AM
Skinny wee lad😀. Looks like Meadowbank Stadium.

Yip went to Newcastle IIRC

He was the type of player that if he was in the opposition you just hated him

Loved him at Hibs never let us down

02-07-2023, 07:11 PM
Yip went to Newcastle IIRC

He was the type of player that if he was in the opposition you just hated him

Loved him at Hibs never let us down

Scored on his debut against Dundee utd with a pass from Tortolano which he looked about 5 yards offside !!! Would love VAR in those days to see how close it was :tee hee::tee hee:

02-07-2023, 07:58 PM
Scored on his debut against Dundee utd with a pass from Tortolano which he looked about 5 yards offside !!! Would love VAR in those days to see how close it was :tee hee::tee hee:Would have been a penalty to Rangers

02-07-2023, 08:04 PM
First Hibs goal was a penalty versus his old club Dundee United in a 2-1 home win

Super Joe Tortolano equalising a Paddy Connolly strike

02-07-2023, 08:09 PM
First Hibs goal was a penalty versus his old club Dundee United in a 2-1 home win

Super Joe Tortolano equalising a Paddy Connolly strike

I'm getting Jacksons and Tortolano mixed up :greengrin

02-07-2023, 08:19 PM
I'm getting Jacksons and Tortolano mixed up :greengrin

👍

03-07-2023, 09:06 AM
https://i.ibb.co/yy0mc4W/IMG-1239.png (https://ibb.co/T8cDxWm)

ripvanwinkle
03-07-2023, 10:56 AM
https://i.ibb.co/yy0mc4W/IMG-1239.png (https://ibb.co/T8cDxWm)
John Fraser

03-07-2023, 10:58 AM
John Fraser

👍

Signed as Gordon Smith’s replacement but a fantastic servant to our club

03-07-2023, 11:10 AM
👍

Signed as Gordon Smith’s replacement but a fantastic servant to our club

Yeh. Regularly booed when "changes to the programme" came over the tannoy and he was standing in for Smith or Reilly! A dependable forward who became an excellent right back and played in many of our biggest ever games.

03-07-2023, 12:49 PM
https://i.ibb.co/GHhf2wV/IMG-1612.png (https://ibb.co/8Yhn53j)
free image hosting (https://imgbb.com/)

Bridge hibs
03-07-2023, 12:56 PM

Jamie McLaren

03-07-2023, 12:58 PM
Jamie McLaren

👍

Not everyone’s cup of tea but I loved him stuck the ba in the net

Bridge hibs
03-07-2023, 01:04 PM
👍

Same here mate, I liked McLaren

03-07-2023, 01:13 PM

Was this after scoring the penalty

03-07-2023, 01:16 PM
Was this after scoring the penalty

Yes

03-07-2023, 02:26 PM
Yeh. Regularly booed when "changes to the programme" came over the tannoy and he was standing in for Smith or Reilly! A dependable forward who became an excellent right back and played in many of our biggest ever games.
Never knew we had a tannoy back in those days!

03-07-2023, 02:43 PM
Never knew we had a tannoy back in those days!It was either that or the long awaited helipad, once again we went for the cheap option[emoji16]

03-07-2023, 05:19 PM
Never knew we had a tannoy back in those days!

It was terrible too and usually there were then 20,000 people all saying “what was that?”.

03-07-2023, 05:45 PM
👍

So did I

12-07-2023, 07:36 AM
https://i.ibb.co/whLKZW1/IMG-1741.png (https://ibb.co/3ms05NH)

DIXIHIBS
12-07-2023, 08:04 AM

Where do you get them😀. Nae idea on that one...

12-07-2023, 08:09 AM
Jim Scott

12-07-2023, 08:13 AM
Jim Scott

👍

Fairs Cities/UEFA Cup winner

12-07-2023, 09:00 AM
👍

Fairs Cities/UEFA Cup winner
His brother Alex was an excellent player as well.

12-07-2023, 10:40 AM
https://i.ibb.co/gR5rgXB/IMG-1712.png (https://ibb.co/tJ7HCNW)

Bobo
12-07-2023, 10:51 AM
https://i.ibb.co/gR5rgXB/IMG-1712.png (https://ibb.co/tJ7HCNW)

Duncan and McBride

12-07-2023, 10:52 AM
Duncan and McBride

Legends

12-07-2023, 10:54 AM
https://i.ibb.co/p1TD5Sw/IMG-1694.png (https://ibb.co/kGTnvtB)

12-07-2023, 10:55 AM
https://i.ibb.co/p1TD5Sw/IMG-1694.png (https://ibb.co/kGTnvtB)

Matt Done?

12-07-2023, 11:11 AM
Matt Done?

👍

12-07-2023, 11:36 AM
His brother Alex was an excellent player as well.#

Although past his best when he came to us still had some very good games -terrific against Napoli.

12-07-2023, 12:05 PM
Jim Scott

Don’t remember him being quite so… erm… homely
Good player in the first side I saw Hibs

12-07-2023, 12:51 PM
#

Although past his best when he came to us still had some very good games -terrific against Napoli.

Had a fair turn of pace IIRC had played for Rangers and Everton

Was on a short fuse remember him being sent off for retaliation against Leipzig I think ?

Part of the Famous Five

Scott Quinn Stein Cormack and Stevenson

beensaidbefore
12-07-2023, 01:00 PM
https://media.gettyimages.com/photos/craig-rocastle-hibernian-picture-id660984926?s=612x612

12-07-2023, 01:18 PM
Had a fair turn of pace IIRC had played for Rangers and Everton

Was on a short fuse remember him being sent off for retaliation against Leipzig I think ?

Part of the Famous Five

Scott Quinn Stein Cormack and Stevenson
Lewis has aged well😁
It used to depend on what Alex Scott turned up on the day.Wonder how much that 5 would be worth today.

12-07-2023, 01:59 PM
https://media.gettyimages.com/photos/craig-rocastle-hibernian-picture-id660984926?s=612x612

Rocastle?

12-07-2023, 03:12 PM
Duncan and McBride

Wonder how many goals them 2 greats scored, and not just for Hibs, how much would they be worth today.

12-07-2023, 03:15 PM
Jim Scott

Remember he scored a wonder goal beating half a dozen smelic players in from the left hand side doon the slope, think we ended up getting beat 3-5 in an amazing game, they had the European cup winning team I think.
Big crowds and very open games although we played more in hope most of the time, but got some good results against them.

beensaidbefore
13-07-2023, 12:14 PM
Rocastle?

beensaidbefore
13-07-2023, 12:17 PM
https://th.bing.com/th/id/R.be51bed2bdc59dac120f6ff4abbf36c6?rik=kortdS5XkAO vYg&riu=http%3a%2f%2fnewsimg.bbc.co.uk%2fmedia%2fimage s%2f39168000%2fjpg%2f_39168351_janosmatyus203.jpg&ehk=c9y%2f2LIHwsiUaTLQT2Jrfnk0p9yThpDB%2fYUEouukjj I%3d&risl=&pid=ImgRaw&r=0

Conj
13-07-2023, 02:15 PM
Janos Matyus

beensaidbefore
13-07-2023, 02:51 PM
Janos Matyus

How the hell did you get him! :aok:

beensaidbefore
13-07-2023, 02:52 PM
Cant reduce the image size, but 2 hibbies playing for other teams! one easy, one not so

https://i2-prod.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article3674285.ece/ALTERNATES/s1227b/GL86523.jpg

13-07-2023, 02:58 PM
Cant reduce the image size, but 2 hibbies playing for other teams! one easy, one not so

https://i2-prod.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article3674285.ece/ALTERNATES/s1227b/GL86523.jpg

John Collins and Shaun Dennis?

14-07-2023, 07:25 AM
https://i.ibb.co/PhC4Ht4/IMG-1653.png (https://ibb.co/pzXZFnZ)
check duplicate online (https://dedupelist.com/)

14-07-2023, 07:31 AM
https://i.ibb.co/PhC4Ht4/IMG-1653.png (https://ibb.co/pzXZFnZ)
check duplicate online (https://dedupelist.com/)

Eric Stevenson

DIXIHIBS
14-07-2023, 07:32 AM
Eric stevenson? Wearing my first ever hibs top. Classic,

beensaidbefore
14-07-2023, 08:06 AM
John Collins and Shaun Dennis?

Correct.

14-07-2023, 08:22 AM
Eric Stevenson

Legend

Went AWOL from Ayr United to watch Hibs winning the Cup at Hampden instead

14-07-2023, 08:22 AM
What was the occasion?

https://i.ibb.co/1ZZvyVg/IMG-1412.png (https://ibb.co/qBByqGS)

14-07-2023, 08:30 AM
Remember he scored a wonder goal beating half a dozen smelic players in from the left hand side doon the slope, think we ended up getting beat 3-5 in an amazing game, they had the European cup winning team I think.
Big crowds and very open games although we played more in hope most of the time, but got some good results against them.

I was near to 15 yrs old in the Dunbar End. 1966 and all that !
McBride and Jinky took us to the cleaners.
Over 40.000 at the Holy Ground that day.
Celtic on the road to 2 European Cup finals and 9 in a row from that season.
Dixie Deans would later take over from Joe McBride at Celtic,and would give us Hibees Hampden nightmares.
At least it wasnt 6 that day. It was on others,against Stein's Celtic.

A couple of weeks before that was the 6-5 game against The Pars at East End Park.
Again,i was behind the goal when Jim Scott's late winner slowly trundled into the net in the mud (iirc)

Older fans will recall that the Forth Road Bridge was only a couple of years old then and getting to Fife, Perth,Dundee, etc. by coach and car became all the more quicker.
The long and only alternative was the Kincardine Bridge. (or the ferry!)

Match report on that Celtic game and other interesting stuff !!

Hibs scorers that day.
Peter Cormack ,Allan McGraw and Joe Davis (The Penalty King,as he was known)

8 October
Celtic (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celtic_F.C.)
H (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Easter_Road)
3–5
Davis (pen.) (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Davis_(footballer,_born_1941)), Cormack (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Cormack), McGraw (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allan_McGraw)

https://www.thecelticwiki.com/1966-10-08-hibernian-3-5-celtic-league-division-1/

A couple of stunning photos showing the crowd on this link
A packed Cave which would have witnessed some "nonsense" that day.
No "brotherly love" in those days,either.
Maybe Billy or someone can "open" it up showing them for a "name the player" challenge.

https://www.thecelticwiki.com/the-photograph-library/year-by-year-pictures/60s-pictures/1966-67-pics/1966-10-08-hibernian-3-5-celtic-league-division-1-pictures/

14-07-2023, 08:36 AM
https://media.gettyimages.com/photos/craig-rocastle-hibernian-picture-id660984926?s=612x612The original Rocky

14-07-2023, 08:37 AM
What was the occasion?

https://i.ibb.co/1ZZvyVg/IMG-1412.png (https://ibb.co/qBByqGS)Friendly at Leicester? Hairy trip.

14-07-2023, 09:08 AM
Friendly at Leicester? Hairy trip.

👍

15-07-2023, 09:23 AM
One for the auld yins

https://i.ibb.co/cYfb2tZ/IMG-1085.png (https://ibb.co/vXysLmT)

15-07-2023, 10:48 AM
One for the auld yins

https://i.ibb.co/cYfb2tZ/IMG-1085.png (https://ibb.co/vXysLmT)Before my time but Stanton, O'Rourke in there. High probability of Joe Davis John Fraser possibility of Allan McGraw and Peter Cormack or Peter Marinello

15-07-2023, 11:15 AM
Before my time but Stanton, O'Rourke in there. High probability of Joe Davis John Fraser possibility of Allan McGraw and Peter Cormack or Peter Marinello

Stan Vincent

15-07-2023, 11:41 AM
One for the auld yins

https://i.ibb.co/cYfb2tZ/IMG-1085.png (https://ibb.co/vXysLmT)

Jock Stein's time at Hibs i think. Just before he left for Celtic

Neil Martin Jim Leishman? Willie Wilson
Jim Scott Willie Hamilton John Fraser John McNamee
J.O'Rourke Jimmy Stevenson Stan Vincent and Pat Stanton

Line up ?
Fraser Leishman
Stanton McNamee Stevenson(J)
Scott O'Rourke Vincent Hamilton Martin

4 of that forward line would solve the current number 9 debate:greengrin

And the footballing genius that was the late great Willie Hamilton would lay many of them on.

15-07-2023, 12:27 PM
Well remembered Mick. Agree with all of your line up - but it was Tommy (Leishman).

15-07-2023, 01:10 PM
Well remembered Mick. Agree with all of your line up - but it was Tommy (Leishman).

lol, of course it was "Big Tam"
not The Pars Leishman:greengrin

Hence i put the ?
We also had 3 Stevensons at the club at that time .
Yes i remember the fore names !

No ...Lewis wasn't one of them:greengrin

15-07-2023, 02:09 PM
lol, of course it was "Big Tam"
not The Pars Leishman:greengrin

Hence i put the ?
We also had 3 Stevensons at the club at that time .
Yes i remember the fore names !
No ...Lewis wasn't one of them:greengrin

Ha ha Yeah, Eric, Maurice and Jimmy.
Was Jimmy Stevenson your cousin Mick?

15-07-2023, 02:50 PM
Jock Stein's time at Hibs i think. Just before he left for Celtic

Neil Martin Jim Leishman? Willie Wilson
Jim Scott Willie Hamilton John Fraser John McNamee
J.O'Rourke Jimmy Stevenson Stan Vincent and Pat Stanton

Line up ?
Fraser Leishman
Stanton McNamee Stevenson(J)
Scott O'Rourke Vincent Hamilton Martin

4 of that forward line would solve the current number 9 debate:greengrin

And the footballing genius that was the late great Willie Hamilton would lay many of them on.

Good team and good days for sure at Hibs.

15-07-2023, 03:13 PM

👍
If only we could find another like him nowadays

15-07-2023, 03:16 PM
Good team and good days for sure at Hibs.

When Jimmy O joined Hibs,it wisnae to great... Avoided relegation.
But most of the sixties,we were not too bad.
Under Stein,then Bob Shankly, we played some real good football and some memorable European nights.
Napoli for one !..... or FIVE past Zoff!
Oh... and 4 nil in front after 8 minutes played at Tynecastle v them was unbelievable .
Fans were still coming through the turnstiles .........Then many went right back oot !!
They couldnt even drown there sorrows, cos pubs were shut mid afternoon back then !!
2.30 till 5.00pm

15-07-2023, 03:21 PM
Ha ha Yeah, Eric, Maurice and Jimmy.
Was Jimmy Stevenson your cousin Mick?

No
But the two Jimmys were good pals,being roughly the same age... Mid teens.
Gerry Baker and Eric Stevenson would have been two they looked up to. Football and fashion wise ,not socialising !!

Jimmy once told me that Tommy Preston was his mentor .I asked what that meant.
He said "I clean his boots" !!:greengrin

15-07-2023, 06:48 PM
Nice one Mick. Tommy was a good looking dude. He was a part-time male model. I still remember the cries from the terracing when he was having a bad game ...
"Away back tae C&A's windae."

15-07-2023, 07:10 PM
👍
If only we could find another like him nowadays

He really was a brilliant player for Hibs , IMO underrated by many

15-07-2023, 07:42 PM
Nice one Mick. Tommy was a good looking dude. He was a part-time male model. I still remember the cries from the terracing when he was having a bad game ...
"Away back tae C&A's windae."

I shared a pint or 3 any time i bumped into Tommy over the years.
Last i saw him is when he stayed at the Annfield in Newhaven .
I was in the Annfield after a funeral.
Lovely man . Loved the Hibernian.
Great company he was ,putting up wae me efter a few !!
Other guys who would have kept the youngsters right in early 60s would be the likes of John Grant,Joe McLelland and the underrated and true Hibs man .John Fraser.

15-07-2023, 07:44 PM
Good team and good days for sure at Hibs.https://fb.watch/lOHTOww8rq/
An interview with Neil Martin, sure he had almost a goal per game ratio for us. Had many an interesting conversation with him as a neighbour.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

delbert
15-07-2023, 07:45 PM
Friendly at Leicester? Hairy trip.

Was at that one