View Full Version : Name the Hibs players

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

15-07-2023, 07:58 PM
I shared a pint or 3 any time i bumped into Tommy over the years.
Last i saw him is when he stayed at the Annfield in Newhaven .
I was in the Annfield after a funeral.
Lovely man . Loved the Hibernian.
Great company he was ,putting up wae me efter a few !!
Other guys who would have kept the youngsters right in early 60s would be the likes of John Grant,Joe McLelland and the underrated and true Hibs man .John Fraser.

John Fraser was a couch/trainer when I was there a great human being until wee Bertie and totally treated him crap in my opinion just wanted him gone

15-07-2023, 09:25 PM
This is a great thread,Billy.
Particularly when you put up "auld Hibs stuff"
Jogs the memory of us veterans of the old terracings ,and stories get swapped here.
Things come back that seemed long forgotten.
Like the trams !

15-07-2023, 10:30 PM
John Fraser was a couch/trainer when I was there a great human being until wee Bertie and totally treated him crap in my opinion just wanted him gone

Hibernian stalwarts don't come any bigger, or better, than John Fraser. A great player, captain and coach during his time at Easter Road, and a thoroughly nice guy to talk to.
John was the first Hibs captain I ever saw lift a trophy (the Summer Cup at Pittodrie in '64). Could have done with a few more like him over the years.

16-07-2023, 06:12 AM

16-07-2023, 06:20 AM
https://i.ibb.co/JrTMT6K/IMG-1691.png (https://ibb.co/DwFSFct)

16-07-2023, 06:49 AM
https://i.ibb.co/JrTMT6K/IMG-1691.png (https://ibb.co/DwFSFct)

Benji

16-07-2023, 07:03 AM
Benji

Cup winning legend

A fine example of a player who struggled to be a starter but won everyone over starting with his goal against Hearts insisting on celebrating at their end

16-07-2023, 07:11 AM
Cup winning legend

A fine example of a player who struggled to be a starter but won everyone over starting with his goal against Hearts insisting on celebrating at their end

I don't think we ever lost a game he scored in , Unlucky not to get a hattrick in the League cup final

16-07-2023, 07:16 AM
I don't think we ever lost a game he scored in , Unlucky not to get a hattrick in the League cup final

He was unplayable in that final.

16-07-2023, 07:24 AM
What a game that was

Every season of the year in 90 minutes

Don’t forget Steven Fletcher wand of a left peg

Got to admit never saw that coming against a decent Killie side

The ups and downs of being a Hibs supporter

Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 07:36 AM
What a game that was

The ups and downs of being a Hibs supporterThey terrorised Kilmarnock that day, I didnt want the game to end as I felt another 20 mins to 30 mins we could have added a few more 🤣

16-07-2023, 08:59 AM
Hibernian stalwarts don't come any bigger, or better, than John Fraser. A great player, captain and coach during his time at Easter Road, and a thoroughly nice guy to talk to.
John was the first Hibs captain I ever saw lift a trophy (the Summer Cup at Pittodrie in '64). Could have done with a few more like him over the years.

Just to re live the Summer Cup win.
Harry Swan came up with the Summer Cup idea .That was the "war years"
Its reincarnation in the 60s didnt last long.
Teams thought Summer Football was a daft idea.
I think what they meant was this Cup comp. being added to the regular season.
The trophy currently resides in the boardroom at Easter Road.
Hibernian chairman Harry Swan had helped to establish the competition and, when Hibernian won the first final,
team manager Willie McCartney suggested that the trophy should be presented to Swan.
Subsequently it was gifted to Hibernian in perpetuity.

You contributed ,a couple of years back ,to this thread on that game
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?354457-The-1964-Summer-Cup-Final-and-an-epedemic-!

Auckland Hibs
16-07-2023, 10:00 AM
What a game that was

The ups and downs of being a Hibs supporter

Still my favorite game in the flesh, Hampden in the snow with the perfect performance ❄️

Best rendition of SOL, the BBC footage with Dougie Donnelly is epic.

17-07-2023, 01:00 PM
Hibs players born on this day

https://i.ibb.co/Tghs7tc/IMG-1756.png (https://ibb.co/qr1vcpB)

https://i.ibb.co/gzTBZjH/IMG-1755.png (https://ibb.co/yWybFfG)

https://i.ibb.co/qMBK6VX/IMG-1754.png (https://ibb.co/jvhmtsB)
free pictures online (https://imgbb.com/)

https://i.ibb.co/WyK67cK/IMG-1757.jpg (https://ibb.co/gTg3QDg)
animated e safety pictures (https://imgbb.com/)

https://i.ibb.co/pXg3cmS/IMG-1759.png (https://ibb.co/6s24zdk)

17-07-2023, 01:47 PM
Joe Baker
Peter Cormack
Tony Rougier
Andy Shinnie
Richie Towell

17-07-2023, 01:48 PM
👍

17-07-2023, 01:49 PM
Joe Baker
Peter Cormack
Tony Rougier
Andy Shinnie
Richie Towell

Had to think before I got Towell.

17-07-2023, 01:51 PM
Had to think before I got Towell.

He was ok but played in a Hibs team I'd rather forget.

17-07-2023, 01:54 PM
He was ok but played in a Hibs team I'd rather forget.

Think he went on to better things.

17-07-2023, 01:57 PM
Think he went on to better things.

Good spell with Dundalk, couple of season on loan at Rotherham now back in Ireland at Shamrock Rovers via Salford.

17-07-2023, 01:59 PM
Good spell with Dundalk, couple of season on loan at Rotherham now back in Ireland at Shamrock Rovers via Salford.

Think it was Dundalk he did well at when they had a couple of European runs?

17-07-2023, 04:39 PM
Think it was Dundalk he did well at when they had a couple of European runs?

Aye he did really well there. Scored a lot of goals from an advanced midfield role.

18-07-2023, 09:30 AM
https://i.ibb.co/1dM7NMc/IMG-1761.png (https://ibb.co/P9MFyMk)

18-07-2023, 09:39 AM
Jackie "the Red, commie, lefty" MacNamara

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

18-07-2023, 09:51 AM
Jackie "the Red, commie, lefty" MacNamara

Legend and a fantastic guy

Good Hibby

19-07-2023, 08:28 AM
Another birthday boy

https://i.ibb.co/MGzLK5B/IMG-1763.png (https://ibb.co/VQF8bpw)

RIP Bestie
19-07-2023, 08:48 AM
Another birthday boy

https://i.ibb.co/MGzLK5B/IMG-1763.png (https://ibb.co/VQF8bpw)

Peter welsh

19-07-2023, 09:12 AM
Peter welsh

👍

19-07-2023, 05:50 PM
https://i.ibb.co/h1JnzrS/IMG-1767.png (https://ibb.co/5xgzHCP)

DIXIHIBS
19-07-2023, 05:53 PM

Brownlie, Mcarthur, Schaedler on the line. Munro no 10? Possibly Blackley in the mix...

19-07-2023, 05:55 PM

That’s away at Ayr United. It could be Jonny Graham wearing the No 7 for Ayr?

Hillsidehibby
19-07-2023, 06:02 PM
Roy Barry ?

DIXIHIBS
19-07-2023, 06:04 PM
Roy Barry ?

👍

19-07-2023, 06:27 PM
Great image that haven’t seen it for years

Looks like a 3-1 win in 1975

Johnny Doyle scored the opener in image and Arthur became the first player to score a double in the premiership

Super Ally Macleod scored the second

hibeg
19-07-2023, 09:35 PM
Brownlie, Mcarthur, Schaedler on the line. Munro no 10? Possibly Blackley in the mix...

10 looks more like Tony Higgins to me

19-07-2023, 10:05 PM
Great image that haven’t seen it for years

Looks like a 3-1 win in 1975

Johnny Doyle scored the opener in image and Arthur became the first player to score a double in the premiership

Super Ally Macleod scored the second

You know your HIBS BILLY !!:aok:

1975/76 Season

15 November
Ayr United (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ayr_United_F.C.)
A (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Somerset_Park)
3–1
McLeod (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ally_McLeod), Duncan (2) (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arthur_Duncan_(footballer,_born_1947))

20-07-2023, 05:50 AM
10 looks more like Tony Higgins to me

Thought the exact same the tree trunk legs being a giveaway

Big Tony played in a 2-2 draw away in 1975 and wore the #8

In all the games around about that time at Somerset Park the Hibs #10 was always Iain Munro in the days before squad numbers and based on lineups

20-07-2023, 07:57 AM

It's like one of those Find The Ball photos. Most are looking one way, and the ball is nowhere near :greengrin

20-07-2023, 10:20 AM
https://i.ibb.co/JkTpyhR/IMG-1771.png (https://ibb.co/j4YwWpv)

20-07-2023, 10:32 AM
Arthur Duncan, Jackie Mac, George Stewart and Steve Archibald

20-07-2023, 10:33 AM
And Joe Harper

20-07-2023, 10:34 AM
https://i.ibb.co/JkTpyhR/IMG-1771.png (https://ibb.co/j4YwWpv)MacNamara, George Stewart, maybe Arturo Duncan on the line + Archigoal when he was at Aberdeen.

20-07-2023, 10:55 AM
MacNamara, George Stewart, maybe Arturo Duncan on the line + Archigoal when he was at Aberdeen.

One more

20-07-2023, 11:03 AM
One more

Oi! What about my answers? 😡

20-07-2023, 11:04 AM
One moreWeecounty got in there.

20-07-2023, 11:05 AM
Oi! What about my answers? 😡

Sorry mate half asleep

Wee fat Joe

Well done 😀

20-07-2023, 11:06 AM
Weecounty got in there.

Yay!! Recognition!! A crap day at work and a moaning Mrs means this is the best part of my day

20-07-2023, 11:06 AM
Yay!! Recognition!! A crap day at work and a moaning Mrs means this is the best part of my day

👍

20-07-2023, 11:08 AM
Yay!! Recognition!! A crap day at work and a moaning Mrs means this is the best part of my day[emoji6]

Hope it gets better, bud.

21-07-2023, 07:45 AM
Today’s Birthday Boy

https://i.ibb.co/QrMkJJZ/IMG-1778.png (https://ibb.co/869bmmJ)

21-07-2023, 08:10 AM
Today’s Birthday Boy

https://i.ibb.co/QrMkJJZ/IMG-1778.png (https://ibb.co/869bmmJ)
Colin Grant
Well liked in his time at Hibs. Good pal o Jimmy's was Grantie.
Shared a love for the music of the Everly Brothers.
They had a ball on the US tour of 1967:greengrin
Didnae really make a big breakthrough during his time at Hibs .
There was some fine competition up front though.
Spent his later career in Peterhead.No,not the prison the football club ,:greengrinthen scouted youngsters for Aberdeen.
Possibly still lives up north.
Some of Colin's memories in the linked article below.
Brilliant stuff !

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/past-times/3518403/colin-grant-peterhead-fc/

21-07-2023, 08:16 AM
Colin Grant
Well liked in his time at Hibs. Good pal o Jimmy's was Grantie
Shared a love for the music of the Everley Brothers
They had a ball on the US tour of 1967:greengrin
Didnae realy make a big breakthrough during his time at Hibs .
There was some fine competition up front though.

Spent some time in Peterhead No not the prison the football club ,:greengrinthen scouted youngsters for Aberdeen.
Possibly still lives up north
Some of Colin's memories in this article
Brilliant stuff !

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/past-times/3518403/colin-grant-peterhead-fc/

Who could forget that bowl cut ?

Signed by Jock Stein after scoring 55:48 for Linlithgow Rose

21-07-2023, 08:24 AM
Who could forget that bowl cut ?

Signed by Jock Stein after scoring 55:48 for Linlithgow Rose

Aye, My pal at school then had one of those trendy stylish hairdos:greengrin
I think his mother was the barber.

For the younger fans.
In that photo behind Colin is of course the trackside/terracing wall.(East)
Now that wall was made of bricks .
Us older guys can remember when Celtic's John Hughes (no not our Yogi)broke our Bobby Duncan's leg in a tackle crashing along the touchline at the wall.(iirc)
Myth has it the break could be heard at the fit of St Clair Street.
Story also goes that Hughes went into Hibs dressing room after the game to say it wasn't meant maliciously.
He got chased !
Jock Stein ,then Celtic's manager went daft at him for going into Hibs dressing room when the feeling was still raw,saying to Hughes.
"its bad enough you break his leg,you want to make it worse" .
That game was in Jan.1968. score 0-2
38.000 plus witnessed it.
And mind, Celtic were European Champions at the time.
Changed times indeed " .

Sorry, this should be about Colin Grant,but seeing the old wall minded me of Bobby's sad story .
Bobby was never the same player .
He may well have went on to bigger things..He was good.
I was a 16yr old in the Cave that game,repelling the invaders !!

There was ,no surprise really as the game was very tense,fighting among fans at the game.
Match info on link.
https://www.thecelticwiki.com/1968-01-20-hibernian-0-2-celtic-league-division-1/

Get the young team behind the goals !!
:flag::flag:

22-07-2023, 04:14 PM
Colin Grant in team photos from 67/68 season.
Sorry i could not paste the image.
If someone can open them ,maybe do a "name game" and the ground it is taken at.

https://www.nasljerseys.com/images/ASL/Hibernian%2067-68%20Road%20Team.jpg

Toronto City FC aka Hibernian FC
Summer tour of North America 1967.

https://www.nasljerseys.com/images/2016/Toronto%20City%2067%20Road%20Team.jpg

Edit
Thank you for opening up photos
I have forgotten how to do that task .

The ground i was trying to remember
.I surely have been there.
Even the advert on roof for Evening Gazette didnt help my search

22-07-2023, 04:57 PM
Colin Grant in team photos from 67/68 season.
Sorry i could not paste the image.
If someone can open them ,maybe do a "name game" and the ground it is taken at.

https://www.nasljerseys.com/images/ASL/Hibernian%2067-68%20Road%20Team.jpg

Toronto City FC aka Hibernian FC
Summer tour of North America 1967.

https://www.nasljerseys.com/images/2016/Toronto%20City%2067%20Road%20Team.jpg

Will have a go at this one Mick
Lto R back row- No sure is it Billy Simpson, Joe Davis, Bobby Duncan (what a player he could have been) Thompson Allan, John Madsen, Alan McGraw, no sure, Peter Marinnello.
Lto R Front Row- Jimmy O, Pat Quinn, Colin Grant, Colin Stein, Peter Cormack, Eric Stevenson and John Murphy. Dont know what ground this was at, could it have been Motherwell? or Dundee who were a bogey side to us that season.

That season Hibs as ever up and doon we beat the jambos at Tinycastle wi Pat Quinn scoring a hat trick. We beat them at New Year wi a Joe Davis pen to win 1-0, then before that I remember going through to Stirling and we got gubbed 4-1 by Stirling Albion, some strange scores for sure. Knocked oot the Scottish cup by Airdrie while beating Porto and Napoli in Europe and then just going out to Dirty Leeds after a dodgy (English) ref gave then a free kick after Willie Wilson the goalie took more than 5 steps before kicking the baw, spent many games later in Willies company and he swore he never took more than 5.
great time and fantastic for the auld yins to reminice and get the old grey cells working.

hibeg
22-07-2023, 05:48 PM
Will have a go at this one Mick
Lto R back row- No sure is it Billy Simpson, Joe Davis, Bobby Duncan (what a player he could have been) Thompson Allan, John Madsen, Alan McGraw, no sure, Peter Marinnello.
Lto R Front Row- Jimmy O, Pat Quinn, Colin Grant, Colin Stein, Peter Cormack, Eric Stevenson and John Murphy. Dont know what ground this was at, could it have been Motherwell? or Dundee who were a bogey side to us that season.

That season Hibs as ever up and doon we beat the jambos at Tinycastle wi Pat Quinn scoring a hat trick. We beat them at New Year wi a Joe Davis pen to win 1-0, then before that I remember going through to Stirling and we got gubbed 4-1 by Stirling Albion, some strange scores for sure. Knocked oot the Scottish cup by Airdrie while beating Porto and Napoli in Europe and then just going out to Dirty Leeds after a dodgy (English) ref gave then a free kick after Willie Wilson the goalie took more than 5 steps before kicking the baw, spent many games later in Willies company and he swore he never took more than 5.
great time and fantastic for the auld yins to reminice and get the old grey cells working.

Agree with the line up and like you I have no idea who the player is second right in back row. Random guess, Davy Hogg ?

hibeg
22-07-2023, 05:51 PM
MacNamara, George Stewart, maybe Arturo Duncan on the line + Archigoal when he was at Aberdeen.

Doug Rougvie as well I think

22-07-2023, 06:11 PM
AHibee and Hibeg .Superb memories.
The players IS Davie Hogg,ex Holy Cross pal o Jimmy's and Pat.
l was searching for a pic of John Madsen and came across the two photos.

What a great memory for detail you have A Hibee .Porto Napoli,Leeds.
Hat trick Pat, The Mighty Quinn.
All those games in that season.Some season eh ?
As well as the League Final v Celtic,which was delayed for months cos of Hampden fire .
Highlights of that are on utube. Only highlight for ujs is Jimmys free kick !
The Airdrie cup game we lost one nil,through there.
Ex Hibby Derek Whiteford scoring.
Cops came into our support a bit heavy handed that day.
I got lifted and frogmarched round the track.
Guess who was sitting in the dugoot !!

Aye Jimmy loved big Willie Wilson.
Heard some stories. Some guy.
And yes the ref robbed us that night with the 4 step rule. v Leeds 1968
Copied this excerpt from an old thread.
1-0 for leeds at elland road in the first leg and 1-1 at ER in the return
Leeds they went on to win the cup, beating rangers in the QF's...then dundee in the semi final.
(yep...dundee) Leeds also won the last fairs cup before it changed to the UEFA cup.
We played them in the UEFA cup a few years later,drawing 0-0 at both elland road and ER..
.going out on penalty's
And this
Colin Stein scored after four minutes to level the tie in 2nd leg.
It looked like extra-time .....but in the eighty-seventh minute..
Willie Wilson was penalised by referee Clive Thomas (Wales) for infringing the 4 step rule ..
.Johnny Giles lofted the free kick into the area where Jack Charlton headed it in.

87th minute. Effin robbed !!! No lie, corrupt game,
Mind the Cave going radge:grr::grr::grr:

22-07-2023, 08:03 PM
AHibee and Hibeg .Superb memories.
The players IS Davie Hogg,ex Holy Cross pal o Jimmy's and Pat.
l was searching for a pic of John Madsen and came across the two photos.

What a great memory for detail you have A Hibee .Porto Napoli,Leeds.
Hat trick Pat, The Mighty Quinn.
All those games in that season.Some season eh ?
As well as the League Final v Celtic,which was delayed for months cos of Hampden fire .
Highlights of that are on utube. Only highlight for ujs is Jimmys free kick !
The Airdrie cup game we lost one nil,through there.
Ex Hibby Derek Whiteford scoring.
Cops came into our support a bit heavy handed that day.
I got lifted and frogmarched round the track.
Guess who was sitting in the dugoot !!

Aye Jimmy loved big Willie Wilson.
Heard some stories. Some guy.
And yes the ref robbed us that night with the 4 step rule. v Leeds 1968
Copied this excerpt from an old thread.
1-0 for leeds at elland road in the first leg and 1-1 at ER in the return
Leeds they went on to win the cup, beating rangers in the QF's...then dundee in the semi final.
(yep...dundee) Leeds also won the last fairs cup before it changed to the UEFA cup.
We played them in the UEFA cup a few years later,drawing 0-0 at both elland road and ER..
.going out on penalty's
And this
Colin Stein scored after four minutes to level the tie in 2nd leg.
It looked like extra-time .....but in the eighty-seventh minute..
Willie Wilson was penalised by referee Clive Thomas (Wales) for infringing the 4 step rule ..
.Johnny Giles lofted the free kick into the area where Jack Charlton headed it in.

87th minute. Effin robbed !!! No lie, corrupt game,
Mind the Cave going radge:grr::grr::grr:
My dad who was a ref was raging at that decision considering that the Leeds goalkeeper was at it all night and was not penalised.

22-07-2023, 08:50 PM
My dad who was a ref was raging at that decision considering that the Leeds goalkeeper was at it all night and was not penalised.

This one from a few years earlier

https://www.nasljerseys.com/images/ASL/Hibernian%2063-64%20Road%20Team.jpg

Top: J.Easton,J.Baxter,J Doherty,T Preston,R.Duncan

Standing: J.Fraser,J.Scott,P.Cormack,W.Wilson,J.O'Rourke,A.K eay,
T.Leishman,J.Grant,Ronnie.Simpson,G.Gartshore,P.Hu ghes

Seated:J.Byrne,J.McLelland,T.McGlynn,A.Cameron,Jim my Stevenson,W.Toner,D.Falconer,G.Baker
Front:A.Seaton,N.Martin,P.Stanton,Billy Simpson,Eric Stevenson

Its 1963/64 .Start of season official photo.
Older fans will remember there was a very strong Reserve League in those days .
The white alternative strip would be worn mostly by the reserves/youth development of the era.
Back then no one seen the need for an alternative colour strip when we faced Celtic.!
Although not all modelling the top in this photo would all be reserves at that time !
Reserve games sometimes got decent crowds,particularly if a first team favourite coming back from injury was playing.

Of course the names were under the photo i found ,but i do remember the majority.
I was 11/12 at the time !
A few would not make the 1st team.
Interesting how goalie Ronnie Simpson just about manages to get his head in the photo !
He looks awfy wee !
He would ,of course a few seasons later become a European Cup winner

25-07-2023, 10:57 AM
Today’s Birthday Boys

https://i.ibb.co/6WkdKk1/IMG-1801.png (https://ibb.co/W2LTrLP)

https://i.ibb.co/BVQ0Dn5/IMG-1802.png (https://ibb.co/ccZ45YS)

https://i.ibb.co/41SMKpf/IMG-1803.png (https://ibb.co/bbvLQX3)

https://i.ibb.co/JkDMgYM/IMG-1804.png (https://ibb.co/5cbfwQf)

25-07-2023, 11:04 AM
Big Keith Houchen third one down.

25-07-2023, 12:09 PM
Could that be Thomas Sowumni with Murph and Boozy?

25-07-2023, 12:10 PM
Big Keith Houchen third one down.

👍

25-07-2023, 12:10 PM
Could that be Thomas Sowumni with Murph and Boozy?

👍

27-07-2023, 07:30 AM
Today’s Birthday Boy

https://i.ibb.co/T2yxxDh/IMG-1811.png (https://ibb.co/c3qSSKT)
upload pic (https://imgbb.com/)

06-08-2023, 07:51 AM
Today’s Birthday Boys

https://i.ibb.co/WWgk7Cx/IMG-1874.png (https://ibb.co/KjF2Bn0)

https://i.ibb.co/VtMLsGq/IMG-1875.png (https://ibb.co/CzVwfyH)

06-08-2023, 07:54 AM
Today’s Birthday Boy

https://i.ibb.co/T2yxxDh/IMG-1811.png (https://ibb.co/c3qSSKT)
upload pic (https://imgbb.com/)

Jakob Divis guessing to be honest.

06-08-2023, 07:57 AM

👍

Well done

Bridge hibs
06-08-2023, 08:01 AM
Today’s Birthday Boys

https://i.ibb.co/WWgk7Cx/IMG-1874.png (https://ibb.co/KjF2Bn0)

https://i.ibb.co/VtMLsGq/IMG-1875.png (https://ibb.co/CzVwfyH)The late great Shades

06-08-2023, 08:03 AM
The late great Shades

Legend RIP

06-08-2023, 08:17 AM

Where did you dredge that one up from Jim?

06-08-2023, 08:23 AM
Where did you dredge that one up from Jim?

No idea to be honest. Vaguely remembered his name didn't recognise the photo and that I hadn't seen him play so guessed :greengrin

25-10-2023, 05:32 AM
Spotted this oldie but goodie yesterday

Can you name them all ?

https://i.ibb.co/Ht7FwwX/IMG-2178.png (https://ibb.co/QP9bSSX)

25-10-2023, 05:56 AM
Spotted this oldie but goodie yesterday

Can you name them all ?

https://i.ibb.co/Ht7FwwX/IMG-2178.png (https://ibb.co/QP9bSSX)

Tony Higgins, Colin Campbell, Jackie McNamara, George Best and Lawrence Tierney?

25-10-2023, 06:18 AM
Tony Higgins, Colin Campbell, Jackie McNamara, George Best and Lawrence Tierney?

Sorry not Lawrence

Bridge hibs
25-10-2023, 07:05 AM
Sorry not Lawrence

Joe Ward ?

25-10-2023, 07:15 AM
Joe Ward ?

👍

13-11-2023, 11:36 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/LPRjhL7/IMG-2218.png (https://ibb.co/wLgGr9m)
hemlock farms (https://nonprofitlight.com/pa/lords-valley/hemlock-farms-community-association)

https://i.ibb.co/8dP7pNy/IMG-2219.png (https://ibb.co/xfz70Xn)

https://i.ibb.co/P9YP15f/IMG-2220.png (https://ibb.co/VQNzMvP)

https://i.ibb.co/Jswm9TG/IMG-2222.png (https://ibb.co/TgxYsG7)

13-11-2023, 12:38 PM
Jim "Cilla" Black
Murray Johnson
Recognise the face...might be obvious
John McGachie?

13-11-2023, 12:43 PM

Happy Birthday Cilla 80 years young today

?

13-11-2023, 02:59 PM

Happy Birthday Cilla 80 years young today

?

Any clues on no. 3? The lad I was thinking of was Gordon McLeod who played for Dundee and Meadowbank but not Hibs.

13-11-2023, 03:10 PM
Any clues on no. 3? The lad I was thinking of was Gordon McLeod who played for Dundee and Meadowbank but not Hibs.

I could swear number 3 is Kevin Thomson with a perm.

hibeg
13-11-2023, 03:10 PM
Don’t recognise number 3 at all. Actually looks like Kevin Thomson but obviously not him.

leith lynx
13-11-2023, 03:12 PM
Don’t recognise number 3 at all. Actually looks like Kevin Thomson but obviously not him.

David Elliot?

13-11-2023, 03:13 PM
Think I've got it....David Elliot. Another bit of transfer market genius by Duff Jimmy!

13-11-2023, 03:16 PM
Think I've got it....David Elliot. Another bit of transfer market genius by Duff Jimmy!

Pick that one out! Amazed one of you got him never mind two.

13-11-2023, 04:02 PM
Pick that one out! Amazed one of you got him never mind two.

The pic looked like Celtc Park in the background then it somehow came to me as he used to play for them (believe it or not)....amazed myself actually :greengrin

13-11-2023, 04:34 PM
David Elliot?

👍

13-11-2023, 04:34 PM

👍

13-11-2023, 04:37 PM
Here’s another one

https://i.ibb.co/jGRsGKJ/IMG-1815.png (https://ibb.co/ftvLtRD)

leith lynx
13-11-2023, 05:11 PM
Here’s another one

Craig James?

13-11-2023, 05:13 PM
Craig James?

Sorry no

13-11-2023, 05:36 PM
Here’s another one

Is it his birthday today as well? Looks like a Leicester top. Still no idea.

13-11-2023, 05:49 PM
Is it his birthday today as well? Looks like a Leicester top. Still no idea.

Not his birthday today sorry

13-11-2023, 05:52 PM
Not his birthday today sorry

Martin Henderson and Peter Welsh played for Leicester but it can't be either of them. Can it?

13-11-2023, 05:53 PM
Martin Henderson and Peter Welsh played for Leicester but it can't be either of them. Can it?
Nope

Bridge hibs
13-11-2023, 06:12 PM
Craig James ?

13-11-2023, 06:18 PM
Craig James ?

Nope

13-11-2023, 06:35 PM
Here’s another one

Is that a very young Mark Venus?

13-11-2023, 06:43 PM
Is that a very young Mark Venus?

Well done

Bit of a liberty really only played one game for us Albion Rovers away in a 3-1 League Cup win

13-11-2023, 07:37 PM

Well done

Bit of a liberty really only played one game for us Albion Rovers away in a 3-1 League Cup win

Top guy though.

13-11-2023, 08:32 PM
Top guy though.

Legend

Loved our club

14-11-2023, 10:02 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/DGJr0wc/IMG-2229.png (https://ibb.co/6vMXjD9)

14-11-2023, 10:06 AM
https://i.ibb.co/qdFTwmX/IMG-2227.png (https://ibb.co/FKqRt8N)

14-11-2023, 10:42 AM

Thornhill?

14-11-2023, 10:45 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/DGJr0wc/IMG-2229.png (https://ibb.co/6vMXjD9)

Keith Watson?

14-11-2023, 12:10 PM
Thornhill?

Sorry nope

Keith Watson?
👍

When did David Turnbull play for us?!

14-11-2023, 12:12 PM

I think that’s a rare pic of Phil Airey in a Hibs top.

14-11-2023, 12:29 PM
When did David Turnbull play for us?!
You wish

14-11-2023, 12:30 PM

👍

Well done good spot

The Veteran
14-11-2023, 04:08 PM

Good one. :thumbsup:

15-11-2023, 06:45 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/zNMhXmj/IMG-2231.png (https://ibb.co/XVQZ7WN)

https://i.ibb.co/PGJmVWg/IMG-2233.png (https://ibb.co/GQGxrMR)

https://i.ibb.co/h8mbQND/IMG-2236.png (https://ibb.co/VBqRnG2)

leith lynx
15-11-2023, 08:18 AM
Boruc, Osborne and James

15-11-2023, 08:35 AM
Boruc, Osborne and James

Many Happy Returns

The Veteran
15-11-2023, 03:41 PM
Boruc, Osborne and James

17-11-2023, 06:28 AM
Today’s Birthday Boy

https://i.ibb.co/CKt6Hty/IMG-2241.png (https://ibb.co/TMT1gTG)
duplicate text checker (https://dedupelist.com/)

Many Happy Returns

Hillsidehibby
17-11-2023, 08:21 AM
Levitt

17-11-2023, 09:06 AM
Levitt

👍

19-11-2023, 11:00 AM
Today’s Birthday Boy

https://i.ibb.co/HBt6rjD/IMG-2250.png (https://ibb.co/bQsTrkg)
how to remove duplicate sentences in word (https://dedupelist.com/)

19-11-2023, 11:06 AM
Today’s Birthday Boy

https://i.ibb.co/HBt6rjD/IMG-2250.png (https://ibb.co/bQsTrkg)
how to remove duplicate sentences in word (https://dedupelist.com/)

Jake Sinclair? That might not be his name!

19-11-2023, 11:19 AM
Jake Sinclair? That might not be his name!

Brother of Scott who played for Celtic

Remember him ?

Played 3 times for Hibs

Many Happy Returns

21-11-2023, 12:41 PM
Today’s Birthday Boys

https://i.ibb.co/zZWr8ZG/IMG-2258.png (https://ibb.co/1TYLsT8)

https://i.ibb.co/xS20SyM/IMG-2256.png (https://ibb.co/8DmpDJj)

Hillsidehibby
21-11-2023, 12:45 PM
Tommy Craig

21-11-2023, 01:08 PM
Tommy Craig

👍

21-11-2023, 01:18 PM
Filipe Morais

21-11-2023, 01:20 PM
Filipe Morais

👍

The Veteran
21-11-2023, 03:29 PM
👍

Great thread, Billy.:thumbsup:

By the way, did you put the bet on the Italy game last night?

21-11-2023, 04:10 PM
Great thread, Billy.:thumbsup:

By the way, did you put the bet on the Italy game last night?

Naw but shudda seen 0-0 coming

22-11-2023, 07:08 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/x21vrnf/IMG-2265.png (https://ibb.co/PrcpV29)

https://i.ibb.co/vYfjZLL/IMG-2263.png (https://ibb.co/4dCVP44)

Hillsidehibby
22-11-2023, 08:39 AM
Alex Scott

22-11-2023, 08:40 AM
alex scott

👍

rip

22-11-2023, 12:25 PM
Scott Bain, never played a minute for us. I'd take him back despite his performance at ER at the end of last season.

22-11-2023, 12:30 PM
Scott Bain, never played a minute for us. I'd take him back despite his performance at ER at the end of last season.

That was a shocker right enough

It’s a no from me

22-11-2023, 04:27 PM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/x21vrnf/IMG-2265.png (https://ibb.co/PrcpV29)

https://i.ibb.co/vYfjZLL/IMG-2263.png (https://ibb.co/4dCVP44)
Alex scott what a player and he could cross a ball no problem. His brother Jim was my hero when I first starting watching hibs but the two never played together at Easter road.

22-11-2023, 04:42 PM
Alex scott what a player and he could cross a ball no problem. His brother Jim was my hero when I first starting watching hibs but the two never played together at Easter road.

Had a wee bit pace about him and had two assists versus Naples

I remember him being sent off for retaliation versus Lokomotiv

Eventually played with his brother towards the end of his career with Falkirk

23-11-2023, 08:03 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/6YQDj19/IMG-2272.png (https://ibb.co/xhZzxf9)

https://i.ibb.co/DRxZrcN/IMG-2271.png (https://ibb.co/W2bLV8Q)

23-11-2023, 08:10 AM
Brian Graham, think the first one is before my time.....

23-11-2023, 08:13 AM

Not everyone’s cup of tea a slow big poultice but I liked him scored some cracking goals for us unlucky not to bounce back up with Thistle last year

Many Happy Returns Brian

killie-hibby
23-11-2023, 08:21 AM

Johnny McLeod

23-11-2023, 08:30 AM
Johnny McLeod

Ex Arsenal and Aston Villa

Little known fact there is a picture of Johnny Macleod being introduced to the Duke Of Edinburgh before the 3-9 Frank Haffey game at Wembley hanging above the front door of Middleton’s Bar

Many Happy Returns Johnny

23-11-2023, 09:02 AM

Not everyone’s cup of tea a slow big poultice but I liked him scored some cracking goals for us unlucky not to bounce back up with Thistle last year

Many Happy Returns Brian

Think he was the type that needed to be playing every week which was never going to happen with big Holty there.

I remember a fantastic header from an equally good Cummings cross from the left late on in a home game, might have been Dumbarton, not sure.

23-11-2023, 09:40 AM
Think he was the type that needed to be playing every week which was never going to happen with big Holty there.

I remember a fantastic header from an equally good Cummings cross from the left late on in a home game, might have been Dumbarton, not sure.

My best memory was getting on him early for FGS when we knew Holt was out. Think it was against St.M and may have been 4/1. Good sesh that night.

23-11-2023, 09:43 AM

Morton ,Won 4-0

Some baw fae cumdog

23-11-2023, 09:48 AM
Morton ,Won 4-0

Some baw fae cumdog

👍

23-11-2023, 10:26 AM

All 4......headed goals v Morton 2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyGv1jfuDPE

!It's in the back of the net !":greengrin

28-11-2023, 10:47 AM
Many Happy Returns legend

https://i.ibb.co/JCR7Dm9/IMG-2289.png (https://ibb.co/XVZscjq)

28-11-2023, 03:24 PM
Many Happy Returns legend

https://i.ibb.co/JCR7Dm9/IMG-2289.png (https://ibb.co/XVZscjq)
Scot Alan

28-11-2023, 04:30 PM
Scot Alan

👍

30-11-2023, 07:10 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/XtsP31h/IMG-2299.png (https://ibb.co/DQCF8hx)

https://i.ibb.co/gty8LWc/IMG-2297.png (https://ibb.co/44WLnS0)

30-11-2023, 07:15 AM
Rocky, happy birthday big man!

30-11-2023, 07:26 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/XtsP31h/IMG-2299.png (https://ibb.co/DQCF8hx)

https://i.ibb.co/gty8LWc/IMG-2297.png (https://ibb.co/44WLnS0)

Derek Spalding?

30-11-2023, 07:29 AM
Derek Spalding?

Sorry no mate

30-11-2023, 07:45 AM
John Hazell

30-11-2023, 07:47 AM
John Hazell

Happy Birthday Pung

30-11-2023, 08:29 AM
Rocky, happy birthday big man!

👍

Many happy returns Bro!

leith lynx
30-11-2023, 09:45 AM
John Hazell

Don't forget Willie McFarlane!

30-11-2023, 09:45 PM
Don't forget Willie McFarlane!

Was a good Manager could spot a player and built a decent side playing exciting attacking football the Hibs way

01-12-2023, 07:47 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

Good luck

https://i.ibb.co/VVKqNfW/IMG-2317.png (https://ibb.co/cJmrv4c)

https://i.ibb.co/5K0bb5k/IMG-2319.png (https://ibb.co/6XMjj48)
image hosting (https://imgbb.com/)

https://i.ibb.co/rfsSJPp/IMG-2322.png (https://ibb.co/fGv57RN)

Hillsidehibby
01-12-2023, 07:51 AM
Colin Campbell?

01-12-2023, 07:56 AM
Harry Clarke in the middle and Dylan Tait.

DIXIHIBS
01-12-2023, 07:57 AM
Colin campbell in his sports shop at goldenacre?

Alfiembra
01-12-2023, 07:58 AM
Was a good Manager could spot a player and built a decent side playing exciting attacking football the Hibs way

I’ve always felt Willie Macfarlane never got the credit he deserved for building the foundations of what became the Tornadoes, and I don’t think his exit from the club was handled well to bring in Eddie Turnbull. It’s often overlooked that Turnbull inherited a terrific team/squad, he only tweaked it slightly and added a couple of, admittedly, fantastic players, Alex Edwards and Alan Gordon, to create the Tornadoes. I remember chatting to Pat Stanton many many years ago about it, and if my memory serves me well, he thought that Willie had too many fingers in too many pies to be solely focused on the Hibs job, he was a bookie as well as manager at that time and that was part of his downfall.

01-12-2023, 08:09 AM
Colin Campbell?

👍

01-12-2023, 08:10 AM
Harry Clarke in the middle and Dylan Tait.

Not Harry sorry looks like him though

Yes Dylan the forgotten man

01-12-2023, 08:10 AM
Colin campbell in his sports shop at goldenacre?

👍

01-12-2023, 08:12 AM
I’ve always felt Willie Macfarlane never got the credit he deserved for building the foundations of what became the Tornadoes, and I don’t think his exit from the club was handled well to bring in Eddie Turnbull. It’s often overlooked that Turnbull inherited a terrific team/squad, he only tweaked it slightly and added a couple of, admittedly, fantastic players, Alex Edwards and Alan Gordon, to create the Tornadoes. I remember chatting to Pat Stanton many many years ago about it, and if my memory serves me well, he thought that Willie had too many fingers in too many pies to be solely focused on the Hibs job, he was a bookie as well as manager at that time and that was part of his downfall.

Agree with all of this

Had us top of the league signed Arthur, Shades and Johnny Graham

Heard he was also a very funny guy

Yes his departure was badly handled by Tom Hart coming at an inopportune moment

leith lynx
01-12-2023, 08:23 AM
Dylan Tait, James Collins, Colin Campbell.

01-12-2023, 08:26 AM
Dylan Tait, James Collins, Colin Campbell.

01-12-2023, 06:27 PM

Willie didn’t have the bookies business while he was Hibs manager. He did have a plant hire business in Ballantyne Road which was very successful and somebody ran that for him while he was manager.His downfall was all to do with not letting Tom Hart pick the team and it gave Hart the opportunity to bring his pal Eddie in once he got rid of Dave Ewing.

01-12-2023, 07:02 PM
Willie didn’t have the bookies business while he was Hibs manager. He did have a plant hire business in Ballantyne Road which was very successful and somebody ran that for him while he was manager.His downfall was all to do with not letting Tom Hart pick the team and it gave Hart the opportunity to bring his pal Eddie in once he got rid of Dave Ewing.

Was a strange one Tom Hart wanted to pick the team and he wanted Joe McBride Snr and Johnny Graham dropped for our biggest game of the season against Liverpool Willie refused and was replaced by Dave Rangers are rubbish Ewing

Joe McBride was a prolific goalscorer who ended up starting on the bench I think Tom Hart was unhappy about his refusal to move through to Edinburgh from Glasgow

02-12-2023, 08:42 AM
Today’s Birthday Boys

Good luck

https://i.ibb.co/HYPsBdf/IMG-2328.png (https://ibb.co/WFzwGt4)

https://i.ibb.co/Jnqpt55/IMG-2330.png (https://ibb.co/xhYgLJJ)

https://i.ibb.co/Nm0Xq58/IMG-2333.png (https://ibb.co/RBX1Kfx)

https://i.ibb.co/LvNkGyN/IMG-2337.png (https://ibb.co/hCY7qNY)

leith lynx
02-12-2023, 09:44 AM
ALF, Stephen McGinn, Hurtado?, Klaus Dietrich?

Bridge hibs
02-12-2023, 09:47 AM
Alf, Stephen Mcginn, Hurtado, Alex Marinkov

andy1875
02-12-2023, 09:52 AM
Alf, S McGinn, Hurtado, Marinkov

02-12-2023, 09:57 AM
Alf, Stephen Mcginn, Hurtado, Alex Marinkov

andy1875
02-12-2023, 10:04 AM

At the risk of making myself look stupid here but here goes…

My memory tells me that someone else made their debut the same day as Marinkov.

Clue is Falkirk at Brockville…

Unless my memory is playing tricks on me 😂

Bridge hibs
02-12-2023, 10:10 AM

Sauzee ?

andy1875
02-12-2023, 10:12 AM
Sauzee ?

02-12-2023, 11:52 AM
Hurtado looks like a tanned Tommy Preston! Still miss Tam, lovely man.

leith lynx
02-12-2023, 12:39 PM
Alf, S McGinn, Hurtado, Marinkov

Alex Marinkov was a good player, pity he didn't stay longer, done a good job for us at the time.

Bridge hibs
02-12-2023, 12:43 PM
Alex Marinkov was a good player, pity he didn't stay longer, done a good job for us at the time.

Saw him away to Raith and thought he looked like a good solid centre half

02-12-2023, 12:43 PM

Paul Hartley sent off that day anaw

Whatever happened to him ?

leith lynx
02-12-2023, 12:47 PM
Paul Hartley sent off that day anaw

Whatever happened to him ?

Still rattling from that Jay Sheils tackle!

03-12-2023, 07:01 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/hM4gzjF/IMG-2342.png (https://ibb.co/JdGcJ4j)

https://i.ibb.co/K5HgZmq/IMG-2340.png (https://ibb.co/dfyv972)
upload image (https://imgbb.com/)

https://i.ibb.co/R065HQF/IMG-2343.png (https://ibb.co/C79r0Vc)

Good luck

03-12-2023, 07:18 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/hM4gzjF/IMG-2342.png (https://ibb.co/JdGcJ4j)

https://i.ibb.co/K5HgZmq/IMG-2340.png (https://ibb.co/dfyv972)
upload image (https://imgbb.com/)

https://i.ibb.co/R065HQF/IMG-2343.png (https://ibb.co/C79r0Vc)

Good luck
Simon Brown
Martyn Canning
Burridge

03-12-2023, 08:30 AM
Simon Brown
Martyn Canning
Burridge

03-12-2023, 08:35 AM
Simon Brown
Martyn Canning
Burridge

I had electric shock therapy to remove Simon Brown from my memory so well spotted Sean.

03-12-2023, 08:39 AM
I had electric shock therapy to remove Simon Brown from my memory so well spotted Sean.

With good reason :greengrin

03-12-2023, 09:15 AM
I liked Martin Canning until I found an image of him celebrating at the away end after the playoff versus Accies :confused:

03-12-2023, 09:25 AM
I liked Martin Canning until I found an image of him celebrating at the away end after the playoff versus Accies :confused:

He wouldn't have been at Hibs at that time would he. Pretty much an Accies die hard was he not

03-12-2023, 09:27 AM

He played for them at the time. Of course he was celebrating.

03-12-2023, 10:20 AM
He played for them at the time. Of course he was celebrating.

Yip still hit a nerve though filed beside Simon Brown 😀

05-12-2023, 08:07 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/44MV2HW/IMG-2355.png (https://ibb.co/0YZGKxq)

https://i.ibb.co/d4z3v2v/IMG-2353.png (https://ibb.co/hFtnNWN)

https://i.ibb.co/G5RcMhk/IMG-2352.png (https://ibb.co/kSXQDd0)

Good luck

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-12-2023, 08:11 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/44MV2HW/IMG-2355.png (https://ibb.co/0YZGKxq)

https://i.ibb.co/d4z3v2v/IMG-2353.png (https://ibb.co/hFtnNWN)

https://i.ibb.co/G5RcMhk/IMG-2352.png (https://ibb.co/kSXQDd0)

Good luck

Third one Abdellah Zoubir?

Bridge hibs
05-12-2023, 08:18 AM
First two/three are Riordan, Dobbie and Arthur Duncan

05-12-2023, 08:22 AM
Third one Abdellah Zoubir?

Me too, and still a starter for a Qarabag

05-12-2023, 08:28 AM
Well done guys spot on

Too easy

Arthur one of my personal all time favs

Stephen Dobbie went on to have a very good career

Good to hear Zoubir still kicking a baw

Many happy returns

05-12-2023, 09:00 AM
Not his birthday...and this is a really hard one. CLUE - I spotted his name in an old programme for a Friendly and thought to myself who the hell is he ! I beleive he played in the friendly, but can't find details of him playing for us again.

05-12-2023, 02:50 PM
Not his birthday...and this is a really hard one. CLUE - I spotted his name in an old programme for a Friendly and thought to myself who the hell is he ! I beleive he played in the friendly, but can't find details of him playing for us again.

Milorad Nizetic ?

Might be wrong but I remember a foreign goalkeeper playing for us in a night friendly seemed to do ok but never to be seen again

05-12-2023, 03:09 PM
Milorad Nizetic ?

Might be wrong but I remember a foreign goalkeeper playing for us in a night friendly seemed to do ok but never to be seen again

TOP MARKS ! Well done.. yes He played for us in the Friendly Against Leicester at ER, when George Best was around (did George miss the home match but play in Leicester ? I think so). Milo was Croatian.. an odd one, that he just dissapeared I wonder what happened.

05-12-2023, 03:14 PM
TOP MARKS ! Well done.. yes He played for us in the Friendly Against Leicester at ER, when George Best was around (did George miss the home match but play in Leicester ? I think so). Milo was Croatian.. an odd one, that he just dissapeared I wonder what happened.
Broke his hand and returned home I believe

https://i.ibb.co/tPQWmYw/2-BDDF0-F3-B916-4-D2-D-85-FF-D72-ACE9-BC60-C.jpg (https://ibb.co/WpGYxBN)photo upload sites (https://imgbb.com/)

05-12-2023, 03:46 PM
A blast from the past

https://i.ibb.co/CmCxyg6/6-D51215-E-0789-4-D5-E-A33-E-C198726-EAFD3.jpg (https://ibb.co/9cKR06h)

leith lynx
05-12-2023, 03:51 PM
A blast from the past

https://i.ibb.co/CmCxyg6/6-D51215-E-0789-4-D5-E-A33-E-C198726-EAFD3.jpg (https://ibb.co/9cKR06h)

Roland Edge

05-12-2023, 04:05 PM
Roland Edge

👍

06-12-2023, 06:54 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/PhM8Y15/IMG-2367.png (https://ibb.co/58kV9s5)

https://i.ibb.co/sRL4D2V/IMG-2368.png (https://ibb.co/KhCgQXr)
make url for image (https://imgbb.com/)

06-12-2023, 07:17 AM
Brebner and the Jukebox. Two decent players for us.

06-12-2023, 07:34 AM
Brebner and the Jukebox. Two decent players for us.

Never let us down

Loved watching the Juke Box in full flow running at opposition defences had everything

Many Happy Returns guys

06-12-2023, 08:42 AM
Today’s Birthday boys

https://i.ibb.co/PhM8Y15/IMG-2367.png (https://ibb.co/58kV9s5)

https://i.ibb.co/sRL4D2V/IMG-2368.png (https://ibb.co/KhCgQXr)
make url for image (https://imgbb.com/)
I remember Brebner scoring against us for Dundee United weeks after he left and refusing to celebrate.

Between that and being about 5 yards away from him sat in the West Lower when he broke his arm v Rangers in a Scottish Cup game I really don’t mind much of Brebner despite probably being at the majority of games he played for us, certainly all the homes. Saying that I was young!

06-12-2023, 08:52 AM
That hat-trick in the Cup game at Tannadice has to be Grant's finest moment in a Hibs jersey. Same day as the jambos got thumped 4-0 at Falkirk.

06-12-2023, 09:11 AM
Grant Brebner another product of the Man U Youth Academy

Born in Edinburgh loved our club p 161 scored 14

Scored winners in 1-0 victories over Motherwell and Aberdeen

What’s not to like ?

Looked really pleased to be here on his return to the Holy Ground

18-12-2023, 06:38 AM
https://i.ibb.co/23fXgYz/404-FFB6-E-01-B3-456-A-B4-EF-9-B664142-F41-E.jpg (https://ibb.co/HTkmnpc)

hibeg
18-12-2023, 07:59 AM
That’s a good one. Is it Jim Black ?

18-12-2023, 08:02 AM
That’s a good one. Is it Jim Black ?

Naw looks like him though good shout

He's here!
18-12-2023, 08:02 AM
Broke his hand and returned home I believe

https://i.ibb.co/tPQWmYw/2-BDDF0-F3-B916-4-D2-D-85-FF-D72-ACE9-BC60-C.jpg (https://ibb.co/WpGYxBN)photo upload sites (https://imgbb.com/)

The match went ahead on that surface? Would never be allowed now.

18-12-2023, 08:40 AM
https://i.ibb.co/23fXgYz/404-FFB6-E-01-B3-456-A-B4-EF-9-B664142-F41-E.jpg (https://ibb.co/HTkmnpc)

Are you able to give a clue re the vintage? Feel like I recognise his face but can't place him. Thinking 1960s possibly. Complete guess and based on nothing at all Joe Davis :greengrin

18-12-2023, 08:51 AM
Me too, and still a starter for a Qarabag

Just checked and Qarabag qualified 2nd in their Europa league group and Zoubir is their number 10 .

what age is he now and did he ever show any great potential with us.

18-12-2023, 08:51 AM
Are you able to give a clue re the vintage? Feel like I recognise his face but can't place him. Thinking 1960s possibly. Complete guess and based on nothing at all Joe Davis :greengrin
Sorry Jim no

Clue: late 1960’s early 1970’s

DanishJohn
18-12-2023, 09:02 AM
Thats an easy one Billy

One of Inch's finest.....didnt follow his Uncle to Ibrox

Mervyn Jones.

A great fullback who should never have been allowed to leave ER.

Footnote: Mervyn still a great Hibs supporter who attends the games _ He's one of us !

18-12-2023, 09:11 AM
Thats an easy one Billy

Mervyn Jones.

Footnote: Mervyn still a great Hibs supporter who attends the games _ He's one of us !

👍

John Greig’s nephew

The award was at a recent walking football event so still playing

18-12-2023, 10:36 AM
Thats an easy one Billy

Mervyn Jones.

Recognise the name not sure ever seen him play. Where did he go to after Hibs?

18-12-2023, 11:12 AM
Recognise the name not sure ever seen him play. Where did he go to after Hibs?

Falkirk

18-12-2023, 11:34 AM
Crossed a great ball for a historic goal against Aberdeen.

18-12-2023, 11:37 AM
Falkirk

Fanforlife
18-12-2023, 05:51 PM
Baker,s Return?

18-12-2023, 07:57 PM
Baker,s Return?

Spot on and also the first goal Bobby Clark had conceded for weeks.

18-12-2023, 08:26 PM
Spot on and also the first goal Bobby Clark had conceded for weeks.

Was that not Pat Stanton’s goal that day or have I got them the wrong way round? Either way, his was a raker

18-12-2023, 08:55 PM
TOP MARKS ! Well done.. yes He played for us in the Friendly Against Leicester at ER, when George Best was around (did George miss the home match but play in Leicester ? I think so). Milo was Croatian.. an odd one, that he just dissapeared I wonder what happened.Think we played 2 friendlies in 3 days at what was probably an international weekend . Lost 4 v 0 at Killie on Saturday and beat Leicester 3 v 2 at ER on the Monday . Same goalie in both games . When we did the double against Leicester it was our only away win in the whole season .

18-12-2023, 09:07 PM
Was that not Pat Stanton’s goal that day or have I got them the wrong way round? Either way, his was a raker

Pat got the second goal.As you say,a taker.

18-12-2023, 09:32 PM

It was such a long time ago but that was a goal to stick in the scrapbook of memories. Had to be 25 yards out

18-12-2023, 09:54 PM

Pretty sure Pat got the first in that game.

19-12-2023, 04:35 AM

Stanton 64 Baker 68

Robb 84,

Joe Baker wore his Hummel white boots on his debut

19-12-2023, 07:57 AM
Stanton 64 Baker 68

Robb 84,

The sale of Joe to Torino in 1961 cost the club more in the longer term than the fee we got.
Lost many fans who were angry at the board and fought a relegation battle not long after Joe left.

Schoolboy Jimmy O'Rourke idolised Joe from the terracing when Joe was first with us.

Jimmy's dream came true ,and some,when he played alongside Joe in games like the one you refer to here .

Wee report from John Hislop on that Aberdeen game
https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/02/hibernian-2-1-aberdeen-16-january-1971/

This link to a fine account of Joes life/career from a blog by Arsenal fans.

https://gunnerstown.com/arsenal/2018/11/05/highbury-hero-joe-baker-his-generations-roy-of-the-rovers/

The Baker Boys
Gerry and Joe
Forever Hibernian Legends
:not worth

https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2013/09/the-fabulous-baker-boys-the-greatest-strikers-scotland-never-had/

DIXIHIBS
19-12-2023, 08:34 AM
The sale of Joe to Torino in 1961 cost the club more in the longer term than the fee we got.
Lost many fans who were angry at the board and fought a relegation battle not long after Joe left.

Schoolboy Jimmy O'Rourke idolised Joe from the terracing when Joe was first with us.

Jimmy's dream came true ,and some,when he played alongside Joe in games like the one you refer to here .

https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/02/hibernian-2-1-aberdeen-16-january-1971/

https://gunnerstown.com/arsenal/2018/11/05/highbury-hero-joe-baker-his-generations-roy-of-the-rovers/

The Baker Boys
Gerry and Joe

https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2013/09/the-fabulous-baker-boys-the-greatest-strikers-scotland-never-had/

Great report on Aberdeen game...one of my earliest memories being a young hibbie. Not to bring up old arguments but behind the goals in the report is called...the cowshed😊😊

19-12-2023, 08:36 AM

The Baker Boys
Gerry and Joe

Super Joe on that day all sideburns cheeky chappy grin and not so white boots

https://i.ibb.co/Q9cJ79Z/96-D025-E6-A744-43-E7-BE7-E-32876567-E1-A3.jpg (https://ibb.co/4WfFwWc)

19-12-2023, 08:42 AM
Great report on Aberdeen game...one of my earliest memories being a young hibbie. Not to bring up old arguments but behind the goals in the report is called...the cowshed����

Yes
Some fans did call the Cave the cowshed.
(Others just called it The Albion Road End !)
I always found that a derogatory term and many other clubs fans called their "covered bit", the cowshed.
It was an ugly looking structure ,but apart from the main stand the Cave was the only covered part of the ground then.
Putting seats in ruined the atmosphere for many.
Particularly the Cave Choir !!:greengrin
I stood around the 18 yrd line after the seats went in .

19-12-2023, 08:46 AM
Yes
Some fans did call the Cave the cowshed.
Others just called it The Albion Road End !
I always found that a derogatory term and many other clubs fans called their "covered bit", the cowshed.
Although it was an ugly structure ,but apart from the main stand it was the only covered part of the ground then.

Once it closed after Sporting I graduated to the Covered Enclosure downhill end where you would find a better class of Radge :greengrin

19-12-2023, 08:56 AM

https://i.ibb.co/Q9cJ79Z/96-D025-E6-A744-43-E7-BE7-E-32876567-E1-A3.jpg (https://ibb.co/4WfFwWc)

Cracking photo, Billy

Roxyhibee
19-12-2023, 09:16 AM
Stanton 64 Baker 68

Robb 84,

When Joe came out the tunnel that day, an old fanatical Hibby who used to stand in the enclosure in flat cap and Mac, ran on and put his arms around him. His son, who was much older than me was a family friend, so I sort of knew the old guy. I wondered if anyone knew him.?

19-12-2023, 09:18 AM
Once it closed after Sporting I graduated to the Covered Enclosure downhill end where you would find a better class of Radge :greengrin

I remember a well known character who use to drink frequently in the West End boozers of the day ran on the field from the North Enclosure at a zombiehun game.
He got ejected from the ground. He got back in and ran on the park again. I forget what happened next !!
But yes ,there was some "sectionable cases" in that section of the ground then .:greengrin
The late comers! The quarter past 3 mob, tripping in from the boozers last orders .
Mind the boozers back then closed in the afternoon between 2.30 and 5.00pm

19-12-2023, 09:34 AM
I remember a well known character who use to drink frequently in the West End boozers of the day ran on the field from the North Enclosure at a zombiehun game.
He got ejected from the ground. He got back in and ran on the park again. I forget what happened next !!
But yes ,there was some "sectionable cases" in that section of the ground then .:greengrin
The late comers! The quarter past 3 mob, tripping in from the boozers last orders .
Mind the boozers back then closed in the afternoon between 2.30 and 5.00pm
Aye mind the John McDonald game couldnae get to the diving wee bassa coz they had built a 12 foot fence

Shades could though :greengrin

19-12-2023, 10:15 AM
Stanton 64 Baker 68

Robb 84,

Cheers always had it in my head it was 2 0 for some reason. Bobby Clark was on some amazing run of not losing a goal.

19-12-2023, 10:20 AM
Cheers always had it in my head it was 2 0 for some reason. Bobby Clark was on some amazing run of not losing a goal.

Aye memory tells me the late Davie Robb good player in the mould of a latter day Josh Campbell later turned down a move to the Holy Ground decided to try his luck stateside and ended up hobnobbing with the Hollywood elite

19-12-2023, 11:41 AM

The Hibs’ team that ended Aberdeen’s record run was
Roy Baines,
John Brownlie, Mervyn Jones,
John Blackley, Jim Black, Pat Stanton,
Arthur Duncan, Jimmy O’Rourke, Joe Baker, Johnny Hamilton and Kenny Davidson.

19-12-2023, 11:53 AM

https://i.ibb.co/Q9cJ79Z/96-D025-E6-A744-43-E7-BE7-E-32876567-E1-A3.jpg (https://ibb.co/4WfFwWc)😅
The attendance that day was a vindication that the club made a grave mistake in 1961
Yes he may well have left sooner or later but not under the circumstances he did
He didnt want to leave at that time, His words not mine ! And Tam Preston who encouraged Joe to ask for a £5 raise weekly

Great quote from Jimmy on Joe

Jimmy O’Rourke said: “I had gone from watching Joe in the stands to playing alongside him.
I was trying to think who I could compare him to, but I couldn’t think of anyone except maybe Roy of the Rovers.”

Superb line and 100% true!!

19-12-2023, 04:45 PM

It was such a long time ago but that was a goal to stick in the scrapbook of memories. Had to be 25 yards out

Stanton 64 Baker 68

Robb 84,

Just shows you. I was convinced Joe scored the first goal. Never too old to learn. It’s the remembering that’s difficult.
He was sold to Raith far too soon. Of course he and ET never hit it off.

19-12-2023, 07:47 PM
Just shows you. I was convinced Joe scored the first goal. Never too old to learn. It’s the remembering that’s difficult.
He was sold to Raith far too soon. Of course he and ET never hit it off.

Memory definitely doesn’t get easier. Your contributions are way better remembered than mine for sure. So much so you had me convinced I’d got that one wrong.
I wasn’t about to see Bobby Johnston return or Joe Baker in his prime but I got the feeling that Joe Baker's return might have had much the same feeling. Great anticipation for what had once been followed by flashes of exactly that but for all too short a time. You, on the other hand..,

15-02-2024, 02:06 PM
Today’s Birthday Boy

https://i.ibb.co/VSXr8NJ/30773-C2-E-4-E23-4-F83-8529-73482573-F554.jpg (https://ibb.co/Hzm1Q2B)