View Full Version : Match Updates Ross County v Hibernian
loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 10:12 AM
Aye... you could put yourself forward to play for Hibs using the same logic.
Refs want to be refs and it's a great wee side line financially. They're not heroes and we're entitled to expect better.
It's not paranoia as I don't believe it's bias against Hibs specifically- we've just been on the wrong side of ridiculous incompetence ,and in one case fear of giving a penalty against Rangers. It is beyond dispute that we've not had anything dodgy in our favour and had plenty dodgy against us- last night being an absolutely blatant one that cost us 2 points and 4th place probably.
Totally wrong analogy. Anyone can be a ref. You don’t have to really have any special talent.
You could only play for Hibs if you have a special talent.
It is a bit paranoid. Every clubs fan base can put forward scenarios were they have been on end of a dodgy decision. Celtic v Utd on Sunday, debatable pen not awarded. St Johnstone just had red Card rescinded from weekend.
01-02-2023, 10:14 AM
Totally wrong analogy. Anyone can be a ref. You don’t have to really have any special talent.
It is a bit paranoid. Every clubs fan base can put forward scenarios were they have been on end of a dodgy decision. Celtic v Utd on Sunday, debatable pen not awarded. St Johnstone just had red Card rescinded from weekend.
One example of when Hibs have benefited from a dubious VAR decision please .
01-02-2023, 10:33 AM
The ref clearly said on camera "ok, no foul" when confirming with VAR.
So VARs conclusion was just that.
How about playing the VAR and refs mikes over the stadium tannoy and live at home.
Like in Rugby (home only, but you can buy a ref radio and listen in in the stands) or NFL where the refs explain all their decisions. Again people may not agree with them, but they are transparent in how they got to their decisions.
“The offence player was down by contact. The play was short. 3rd down to be spotted at the 1 yard line”.
Last night could have been - “There has been contact, but not enough to warrant a foul. Goal stands”.
Not too difficult to do.
McGruber
01-02-2023, 10:35 AM
Genuine question - have Rangers or Hearts had any VAR go against them. I know Rangers haven't conceded a penalty. Can't think of anything though admittedly don't pay all that much attention. Certainly seems that way though.
01-02-2023, 11:08 AM
How about playing the VAR and refs mikes over the stadium tannoy and live at home.
Like in Rugby (home only, but you can buy a ref radio and listen in in the stands) or NFL where the refs explain all their decisions. Again people may not agree with them, but they are transparent in how they got to their decisions.
“The offence player was down by contact. The play was short. 3rd down to be spotted at the 1 yard line”.
Last night could have been - “There has been contact, but not enough to warrant a foul. Goal stands”.
Not too difficult to do.
I'd love that. It happens in Australia already.
01-02-2023, 11:45 AM
Not too difficult to do.
Transparency in Scottish officiating? It’ll never happen. Incompetent at best, corrupt at worst.
loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 11:52 AM
You've said probably about 6 times and now possibly, it's a foul all day long. I have jambo mates laughing at your comments.
It's a gift to make people laugh but you've probably made it up for effect.
01-02-2023, 11:55 AM
What’s the attraction of being a ref/lino? .....
Tax free inducements from dodgy far east betting syndicates???...
Greenworld
01-02-2023, 12:17 PM
Terrible game in terrible conditions, with some terrible refereeing. VAR guys can hide behind 'not clear and obvious' as remarkable as that seems to most on here, and there won't be any kind of fuss beyond our frustrated support.
We didn't do enough to win the game in the first half when the gusting wind was behind us.
We could really do with someone to take over from McGeady when he runs out of puff at 65/70 mins. Bradley might have been the answer, but that ship has sailed, and it seems Jair definitely isn't.
McKirdy just doesn't look up to it and was pretty lucky not get sent off.
Is O'Connor seen as a better prospect than Laidlaw or is he the more physically stronger of the two?Mckirdy doesn't help himself looking like a jakey coming on the park. Ross County players were taking the piss out of him laughing in his face and your right he could have been sent off.
I think the manager needs to have a word in his ear about his appearance
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
01-02-2023, 12:27 PM
Mckirdy doesn't help himself looking like a jakey coming on the park. Ross County players were taking the piss out of him laughing in his face and your right he could have been sent off.
I think the manager needs to have a word in his ear about his appearance
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using TapatalkHis appearance?
Welcome to 1960 [emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
01-02-2023, 01:10 PM
Not too difficult to do.
I'm a fairly recent convert to the NFL but I absolutely love that about it.
The decisions aren't always right and you still have wronged coaches going bananas on the sidelines but it appears to be a very well thought out system that has matured and gives the refs the best possible chances to get the decisions right.
It looks like a nightmare game to referee too, I think they do incredibly well to pick up what they do.
I can't really think of good reasons why football can't be more like that?
OldEast
01-02-2023, 01:18 PM
If we don’t have officials, we have no games. Remember these guys are paid relatively poorly compared to their counterparts in other countries. What’s the attraction of being a ref/lino? Years and years of bullying/constant stream of abuse.
Like everyone in life, they make mistakes.
Aye mistakes, which should be picked up and corrected by VAR.
01-02-2023, 01:19 PM
You can always put yourself forward to become a referee? I certainly would not be putting myself/family through that.
And have we really had the worst of it? We’ve definitely had a few dodgy ones but I think every club can point to certain decisions. It’s paranoia to think otherwise.
Aw is loanhead gone?
What a shame.
OldEast
01-02-2023, 01:23 PM
Apologies your knowledge of players/refs salaries is much better than mine.
Point stands for me tho, you’d need to be insane to go through a ref course to get abused constantly from folk who have probably never refereed a game in their lives.
Nobody needs to have reffed a game though, we have tv replays. And now with VAR the refs do too. They are incompetent/corrupt take your pick.
Willis1875
01-02-2023, 01:26 PM
Nobody needs to have reffed a game though, we have tv replays. And now with VAR the refs do too. They are incompetent/corrupt take your pick.
He’s been horsed out mate
OldEast
01-02-2023, 01:31 PM
Oh well I never agree with banning posters on any forum unless theres threatened violence. Sure he'll pop up somewhere else.
Aw is loanhead gone?
What a shame.
:na na:He'll get a loan of another head soon.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
01-02-2023, 01:58 PM
Loanhead poppy fund money under armed guard.
01-02-2023, 02:02 PM
I'm a fairly recent convert to the NFL but I absolutely love that about it.
The decisions aren't always right and you still have wronged coaches going bananas on the sidelines but it appears to be a very well thought out system that has matured and gives the refs the best possible chances to get the decisions right.
It looks like a nightmare game to referee too, I think they do incredibly well to pick up what they do.
I can't really think of good reasons why football can't be more like that?
There are 7 officials (I think, certainly used to be) on the field watching different areas of the gridiron, which helps. But more fundamentally, all the teams are franchises, so have very similar fan numbers, budgets and influence. Scottish football doesn’t have that. Actually, nfl officials have been getting a lot wrong this season too. But the explanations are different class, as you rightly explain.
Not too difficult to do.
Totally agree with this.
I’ve only seen the clips but Marshall looked as if he wasn’t getting to the ball.
HarpOnHibee
01-02-2023, 05:10 PM
Totally agree with this.
I’ve only seen the clips but Marshall looked as if he wasn’t getting to the ball.
When you get elbowed out of the way, you aren't getting to the ball.
Does that mean he is a Jambo after all?
01-02-2023, 05:21 PM
Does that mean he is a Jambo after all?
I'm not convinced he was to be honest. Argumentative though and could never see anyone elses point of view.
01-02-2023, 05:26 PM
Any word on Nisbets injury?
Crunchie
01-02-2023, 06:55 PM
Totally agree with this.
Have you seen any contact on a keeper in the 6 yard box result in anything other than a foul in say the last 10 years?
01-02-2023, 07:57 PM
If we don’t have officials, we have no games. Remember these guys are paid relatively poorly compared to their counterparts in other countries. What’s the attraction of being a ref/lino? Years and years of bullying/constant stream of abuse.
Like everyone in life, they make mistakes.
Isn't it like £800 a game?
They deserve all the abuse they get if they're still making mistakes with var in place. It's literally ****ing idiot proof.
Crunchie
01-02-2023, 08:00 PM
Isn't it like £800 a game?
They deserve all the abuse they get if they're still making mistakes with var in place. It's literally ****ing idiot proof.
You're not expecting a reply are you?
01-02-2023, 08:01 PM
Have you seen any contact on a keeper in the 6 yard box result in anything other than a foul in say the last 10 years?
It’s probably been said already but without VAR the ref would have chalked the goal off.
Referees are now using the system to avoid making important decisions and passing the buck to the guy sitting in front of the tv in Glasgow.
01-02-2023, 08:02 PM
You're not expecting a reply are you?
Didn't even notice :faf:
01-02-2023, 08:11 PM
Aw is loanhead gone?
What a shame.
Just loanheaded out til the end of the season.
With an option to keep him to **** for good 👍
01-02-2023, 08:49 PM
Hard place to go pity we didn’t get the win with them getting pumped wi the huns
01-02-2023, 08:52 PM
Just loanheaded out til the end of the season.
With an option to keep him to **** for good 👍
This place just got better with the click of a mouse (or finger). This is actually the best bit of the transfer window!
02-02-2023, 06:11 AM
This place just got better with the click of a mouse (or finger). This is actually the best bit of the transfer window!
I have a feeling him arguing that we should be more sympathetic to referees because they might be higher rate earners could have been the straw to break the camel’s back.
02-02-2023, 07:28 AM
Any word on Nisbets injury?
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-face-anxious-wait-to-discover-extent-of-kevin-nisbet-injury-after-feeling-pinch-4009059