View Full Version : Match Updates Ross County v Hibernian
31-01-2023, 08:36 PM
i ******* hate playing Ross co
Point here in these conditions is not a bad result.
NC1875
31-01-2023, 08:37 PM
Saturday was a flash in the pan. Back to the turgid **** we've had all season.
Yup, we won’t play a team as bad as Aberdeen again in years.
We are still rank rotten.
Crunchie
game of two halves, we've done next to **** all this half anywhere near the county keeper
I remember a fingertip save and Youan trying to walk the ball into the net.
Saturday was a flash in the pan. Back to the turgid **** we've had all season.
:doh:
Point here in these conditions is not a bad result.
Common sense at last.
31-01-2023, 08:38 PM
That rule has changed, it's in the keepers possession when the ball is still ion the air, it's only if he puts the ball on the ground then you can go for it.
Didn't realise that.
Just seen the photos on BBC of what happened at their goal, absolutely shocking that it's not a foul to Hibs for impeding the keeper.
No one (management or playing squad) should be allowing him to walk on the a pitch, representing hibs; looking like that. He just looks like a complete and utter tube. He’s also absolute dugsh..
Maybe he should wear a cardigan and drive a rover? What a bizarre post
See if Marshall gets a punch to that corner I guarantee the fouls given against the keeper. It's a ****ing scandalous decision! Fuming.
But he doesn't.
If he had just shouted keepers to newell, he'd have had it and no corner.
He then stand like a goon as it sails over his head.
He was guff there.
Just seen the photos on BBC of what happened at their goal, absolutely shocking that it's not a foul to Hibs for impeding the keeper.Which referee from Glasgow was on VAR tonight?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
cekim
31-01-2023, 08:39 PM
Keep the ball on the deck and try and find a green shirt. SIMPLE
Paulie Walnuts
Really just exactly what you expect of a midweek winter game in the Highlands. Pretty crap stuff all round.
FT 1-1
at least we matched them :cb
A good point given the conditions
Is McKirdy trying to get sent off, erse
31-01-2023, 08:40 PM
McKirdy is just a bellend, to be honest. Why delay things when you’re chasing a goal by starting arguments whilst on a booking?
McKirdy is an absolute disgrace, embarrassing.
No one (management or playing squad) should be allowing him to walk on the a pitch, representing hibs; looking like that. He just looks like a complete and utter tube. He’s also absolute dugsh..
Don’t care what he looks like but don’t think he is good enough; no idea why he’s still here but Melkerson isn’t.
Well, that was pish.
Struggled to beat the mighty County yet again. Our head to head against them is brutal. Decent first half undone by a poor second half. Weather has a part to play but the team should have the quality to play the ball along the ground and hold on to it better. McKirdy has offered nothing.
GreenGray
What you talking about? His hair cut?
But he doesn't.
He was guff there.
You must be a spfl referee. If not, you should be with a view like that.
ACLeith
Which referee from Glasgow was on VAR tonight?
That doesn't really narrow it down though?
McKirdy 🤦*♂️
Unbelievable their equaliser was given - WTF is the point of VAR if a clear foul on the keeper like that is ignored :confused:
But he doesn't.
He was guff there.
Still a foul though?! He gets smashed by two players
31-01-2023, 08:41 PM
2 points dropped. Didn't play well 2nd half but var cost us another 2 points
Torto7
The officials are as much anti football as Ross County. How many ball boys and girls did County have tonight 1? Screwed by VAR again.
****ed by VAR and the referees again. Disgraceful.
Yup, we won’t play a team as bad as Aberdeen again in years.
We are still rank rotten.
Deary me.
Feels like a defeat
That 2nd half was atrocious. Midfield chasing the game constantly and everyone just booting the ball all over the place.
JammyDoidger
Rotten man.
After a brief respite, we’re back to being crap.[emoji35]
So annoying. Too soft on the corner and let the ref and VAR steal 2 points from us.
31-01-2023, 08:42 PM
That was pretty crap. County didn’t look up to anything and despite that, we’ve yet again failed to find a win.
Unbelievable their equaliser was given - WTF is the point of VAR if a clear foul on the keeper like that is ignored :confused:
There wasn’t a clear and obvious Ranger, so it stands. :rolleyes:
Decent 1st half but a poor 2nd, conditions pi sh but poor refereeing game them a point, too many players on yellows.
Pretty ***** really, a draw was fair
McKirdy just **** off
BegbieHSC
We were terrible in the second half, but should have still won. VAR and the referee had other ideas.
Tha Cabbage Kid
31-01-2023, 08:43 PM
i think the ref has had more touches than O'Connor :greengrin
Which referee from Glasgow was on VAR tonight?
Many a true word said in jest, yet some still tell us it is just rotten incompetent refs.
I guess a point in the middle of a storm is not bad.
We were average in the first half and poor in the second against a woeful side. I'm not really surprised though. This has been out level for a while now.
FT 1-1
at least we matched them :cb
Away to Ross County, howling gale and rain I think Hibs have done well to come away with a point.
yerauldda
some absolute clowns on here. We played well for 55 minutes, very difficult playing into that wind second half. They didn't really have a sniff and their goal shouldn't have stood.
Cheated out of 3 points by corrupt officials, an absolute disgrace
We’re still no a good team
matt macey would have caught and held that ball from the corner :cb
31-01-2023, 08:44 PM
On a different day, we lose that and pick up a red card or two. Any points earned away from home are always welcome.
hibIBZ
That was frustrating to say the least. Really highlights our lack of depth, midfield really needed a change but there is just nobody.
How it's not a foul on Marshall is just cheating, I really can't see any other way round it.
4 mins injury time, would think it was closer to 8
Not a bad point but the injury to Nisbet and getting ****ed by VAR yet again make it a bad night.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230131/5f367584f6822cd565d084f7b813c1b0.jpg
Clear as day…ridiculous decision
Stuarty1875
1-1 probably a fair result.
Don’t think we managed the second half very well. Barely played after 55 mins.
Disappointed the goal against us was given. Marshall maybe needed to be stronger in that situation.
31-01-2023, 08:45 PM
That was pretty crap. County didn’t look up to anything and despite that, we’ve yet again failed to find a win.
The conditions totally spoiled it and made it virtually impossible to play football against the wind.
Both sides suffered in the same way.
NC1875
some absolute clowns on here. We played well for 55 minutes, very difficult playing into that wind second half. They didn't really have a sniff and their goal shouldn't have stood.
Did they not have to play into in the 1st half ? 🤷🏽*♂️
safe journey home for those hardy ones that went up :agree:
The picture on the BBC shows Marshall getting an elbow in the mush from one player while the other has his hand on his shoulder
31-01-2023, 08:46 PM
1-1 probably a fair result.
Don’t think we managed the second half very well. Barely played after 55 mins.
Disappointed the goal against us was given. Marshall maybe needed to be stronger in that situation.
Looking at the photos, Andre the giant wouldn’t have been strong enough for that.
31-01-2023, 08:46 PM
Has to be total cheating from the VAR official there. Not even in question - foul on the keeper all day.
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 08:47 PM
Looked a foul to me, but it wasn’t the clearest angle.
Yeah watched on Hibs TV and probably a foul.
Marshall didn't complain too much and could possibly have been stronger. Lets not go into all this cheating nonsense. All came about when Cadden put us in trouble and we conceded the corner.
I hope that people now realise that McKirdy is a complete waste of space and shouldn't be anywhere near our club.
My god somebody on here wanted him in front of Nisbet.
We didn't really do enough to merit the 3 points but conditions awful.
tomhorn
31-01-2023, 08:47 PM
Get McKirdy and his terrible mohican to f...
Embarrassing tonight. Both his antics and contribution to the game.
31-01-2023, 08:48 PM
Ref didn't even go and check it! What the **** is going on with var. Nobody has a clue what it can and can't check, is the ref in charge or is it the var team?
Absolute omnishambles that has cost us AGAIN!
Tha Cabbage Kid
the thing is, even if there was no VAR it would still have been a goal as the ref said there was no foul. what i dont get is there IS VAR and you can clearly see its a foul but they still give it. VAR is a waste of time
Maybe we could've just had
1) cadden not giving away cheap possession
2) newell not heading the ball out when Marshall is right behind him. If only Marshall had a mouth with which he could communicate.
31-01-2023, 08:49 PM
Jesus that's ****ing shocking.
We were all over the place 2nd half, dreadful stuff.
2nd half was like watching a game of tennis , ball getting lumped from both sides
McKirdy getting ripped a new one for the dive, then starting a stooshie
matt macey would have caught and held that ball from the corner :cb
And launched a speedy counter attack that resulted in a goal.
31-01-2023, 08:50 PM
Cheated out of 3 points by corrupt officials, an absolute disgraceIf there was no VAR the ref might have made a decision, more often than not its defends the keeper... with VAR, he let them make the decision... shame they're based in Glasgow.
Exuberance1875
Chris Cadden is inept.
Liam978
[QUOTE=Real Emerald;7263465]McKirdy is an absolute disgrace, embarrassing.[/
Aye and you would know eh, can you hand on heart say that you have ever seen him play ?Naw didnae think so.
How anybody can watch that and not give a foul..... WITH the benefit of slomo/replays - it's blatant FFS! How is it that the ref/VAR officials are not held accountable for this kind of nonsense? Is it actually in the rules that they're ALLOWED to cheat?!?
31-01-2023, 08:51 PM
And launched a speedy counter attack that resulted in a goal.
nah, probably kicked it out :)
It was a poor game in horrendous conditions but we still got shafted.
When is that ever not a foul?
Crunchie
Spot on, it's very easy to criticise sitting at home.
Silky
That's shocking! How VAR never seen that is beyond me. Marsh looks like he was getting that. I also notice he's off the ground, an earler poster referred to him as "standing like a goon"! Strange, but hey, he's went for it and been impeded. The only goon here is the VAR and the ref who think that's legit.
Victor
31-01-2023, 08:52 PM
Agree. Some comments are ridiculous. We played well in the first half, kept the ball down. The wind had a big effect in the second half, it was very difficult to judge where the ball was going. A cross that Stevenson hit into the box changed direction mid way then took off and out for a goal kick, being one example. As for their goal, that was just an utter farce. Clear foul on Marshall, no attempts by the County players to go for the ball, both barged into the keeper, allowing the wind assisted ball to fly in.
31-01-2023, 08:52 PM
[QUOTE=Real Emerald;7263465]McKirdy is an absolute disgrace, embarrassing.[/
Aye and you would know eh, can you hand on heart say that you have ever seen him play ?Naw didnae think so.
I’m a season ticket holder in the East so yes. He looks like a ned playing for a Sunday pub team.
31-01-2023, 08:53 PM
Meh
31-01-2023, 08:53 PM
You forgot that the .net experts are all better footballers than the ones in the team they are supposed to support!
31-01-2023, 08:54 PM
How anybody can watch that and not give a foul..... WITH the benefit of slomo/replays - it's blatant FFS! How is it that the ref/VAR officials are not held accountable for this kind of nonsense? Is it actually in the rules that they're ALLOWED to cheat?!?
The still picture does not show Marshall going backwards, if had gone towards the ball he would have got the foul.
He was all over the place before they got near him.
Fratelli
Levein saying Marshall was crowded and should have got a punch on the ball. None of the pundits saying it was a foul…not even Yogi jumping in!
Victor
That's shocking! How VAR never seen that is beyond me. Marsh looks like he was getting that. I also notice he's off the ground, an earler poster referred to him as "standing like a goon"! Strange, but hey, he's went for it and been impeded. The only goon here is the VAR and the ref who think that's legit.
Don’t forget the “goons” masquerading as Hibs fans.
LJ "disappointed" and "fed-up" with VAR
You forgot that the .net experts are all better footballers than the ones in the team they are supposed to support!
What’s that got to do with the price of cheese?
31-01-2023, 08:56 PM
Have you seen the price of cheese lately??
Paulie Walnuts
May as well just shut the site down if it’s only for people who have played for a club of Hibs standard or better.
Donegal Hibby
Whole games corrupt , all season clear out decision's have been going against us. , really sick of it !
Maybe we could've just had
1) cadden not giving away cheap possession
2) newell not heading the ball out when Marshall is right behind him. If only Marshall had a mouth with which he could communicate.
We could do with a whole game where no players make a single error. That's irrelevant really if the opposition is allowed to take your keeper out I would have thought though.
31-01-2023, 08:57 PM
The still picture does not show Marshall going backwards, if had gone towards the ball he would have got the foul.
He was all over the place before they got near him.He went backwards into the net because he was barged
You don't reckon he jumped back the way do you?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
31-01-2023, 08:58 PM
I’m at a loss with that decision. It’s such a clear foul and is given in every case. For some reason we’ve been the exception tonight. Mental.
If that happens to a keeper in a Celtc/Rangers shirt does the goal get given? Does it ****
HarpOnHibee
31-01-2023, 08:59 PM
They don't half slaver a lot of pish on the radio.
Crunchie
Did they not have to play into in the 1st half ? 🤷🏽*♂️
Have you ever played a game of football in the driving rain and swirling wind? You'd think it was a calm summer day with some of the comments.
He went backwards into the net because he was barged
You don't reckon he jumped back the way do you?
He was already back tracking as the ball was going to go over his head.
31-01-2023, 09:00 PM
Players should have been kicking off putting pressure on officials.
Not just shaking heads.
Correct … put pressure on and he should go to review at the very least
MelbourneHibees
I’m at a loss with that decision. It’s such a clear foul and is given in every case. For some reason we’ve been the exception tonight. Mental.
If that happens to a keeper in a Celtc/Rangers shirt does the goal get given? Does it ****
That last line sums it up. Wouldn't even need VAR would be a straight foul.
Whole games corrupt , all season clear out decision's have been going against us. , really sick of it !
Pig sick of the corrupt decisions by the weegie refereeing mafia. Doing us over again and again. Huge decision for the manager also in what should have been three points
We were back to being sheite again tonight, Ross County are garbage and we hardly created anything all night, but we were cheated out of a win by the corrupt officials who officiate in Scottish football.:rolleyes:
That last line sums it up. Wouldn't even need VAR would be a straight foul.
Why did the referee not give it?
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 09:01 PM
Grow up you're embarrassing yourself.
It probably was a foul but keeper poor - again.
31-01-2023, 09:02 PM
Some of the Marshall can do better posters on this thread are off their trolley or simply hate Hibs. Incredible that any same person thinks that isn't a foul.
He was already back tracking as the ball was going to go over his head.No he wasn't
He took 1 step Back, set to jump and was clattered into
Its clear as day - literally how anyone can argue ut is beyond me
That's what we have with var though now. Folk trying to justify every way it goes using slow mo
It makes no odds if Marshall was doing hardstands he was still clearly fouled
Here's a video
Its Watson charging in that's the obvious foul - clear as day
https://streamable.com/fmpafv
loanheadhibby
Correct … put pressure on and he should go to review at the very least
I agree we accepted the decision very calmly and Marshall showed little emotion/ anger.
Silky
31-01-2023, 09:03 PM
Can you backtrack whilst in the air? Cos that picture posted above paints a different scenario. I'd be interested to see a picture of the backtracking.
HarpOnHibee
31-01-2023, 09:04 PM
Some of the Marshall can do better posters on this thread are off their trolley or simply hate Hibs. Incredible that any same person thinks that isn't a foul.
They're spouting the same nonsense on BBC Radio Scotland. Basically saying that he should have done better not to be fouled. :blah:
Donegal Hibby
We’re still no a good team
Very hard to judge any team in them conditions mate . Crazy decision to allow there goal , take the point and move on !
They don't half slaver a lot of pish on the radio.
i think Yogi made a good point re that corner, the Ross co players surrounded our keeper, where were our defenders, whether they fouled him or not none of our players were near our keeper giving some protection and stopping their strikers
loanheadhibby
Yes of course we all hate Hibs but get your green specs of Marshall was poor at the goal and didn't appeal to the ref.
NC1875
31-01-2023, 09:05 PM
Have you ever played a game of football in the driving rain and swirling wind? You'd think it was a calm summer day with some of the comments.
I have yeah. I was replying to someone who said it was hard for us against it in the 2nd half. Ross County had to play in it as well. Bad conditions yes but both teams play in them, not just us.
RossScott1991
31-01-2023, 09:05 PM
VAR being used as our excuse to mask another underwhelming display. Took a lump up the park and a massive error from their CB for us to have a clear sight at goal.
Problem nowadays is people go game to game in deciding if players are good or not. Aberdeen too many got carried away. Another reminder that we are a struggling outfit with many problems throughout team. A weak spine in defence and in the centre of the park. (We were long before January window also) Combined with poor fullbacks.
The same problems are still there, we really need a couple of good quality midfielders at this club.
Plugging gaps with loan signings is going to have to do. But not sure I want LJ input going forward on too many..
31-01-2023, 09:06 PM
Yes of course we all hate Hibs but get your green specs of Marshall was poor at the goal and didn't appeal to the ref.He did appeal straight away
And its clearly an obvious foul
No way would that every be given against the OF, no chance
Yes of course we all hate Hibs but get your green specs of Marshall was poor at the goal and didn't appeal to the ref.
I agree, he should have been able to shrug off two players Incredible Hulk style, jump 10 foot in the air, caught the ball and maybe even throw in a backflip for good measure
i think Yogi made a good point re that corner, the Ross co players surrounded our keeper, where were our defenders, whether they fouled him or not none of our players were near our keeper giving some protection and stopping their strikers
Isnt that the refs job? We shouldn’t need a bodyguard to protect our goalkeeper. If he is fouled then he is fouled, which he clearly was by the way
31-01-2023, 09:07 PM
We had the better chances but didn’t get the 2nd goal. Not great but better than getting beat
Exactly!!!
31-01-2023, 09:07 PM
What do you call it then? "Probably" a foul but not given despite the luxury of replays etc?
YOU are an embarassment for your desire for our club and supporters to bend over and take it up the arse from what can only be be concluded to be corrupt officialdom.
31-01-2023, 09:08 PM
Would have been a well deserved win in challenging conditions after playing pretty well for the most part.
Must be the first time a goal has been awarded after a keeper has been barged into the net since the 1950’s.
31-01-2023, 09:09 PM
Hibernian manager Lee Johnson tells Sportsound: "I thought we were the better side in the first half. They felt they had to almost clear it from the midfield because of the wind gusting in their face.
"Good first goal in terms of our pressure, forced an error. A really good fginish.
"I was disappointed. I was disappointed with VAR again. I'm fed up with it because it's a foul on David Marshall (at the Yan Dhanda goal).
"The wind's howling in, 35-40 mile an hour wins and there's two players that absolutely career into him. Again we've been let down by VAR, it's not the first time.
"Kevin Nisbet felt a pinch on his hamstring. We won't know this early, have to settle for two or three days. But, obviously, it'd be a big blow for us.
Well, given your posting history, everyone knows you hate hibs. Don't bother with your sarcastic / condescending reply as I've read enough guff on this thread already.
A good point given the conditions
Nah three point was ours until ref and stevie wonder on var decided not to get involved.
VAR being used as our excuse to mask another underwhelming display. Took a lump up the park and a massive error from their CB for us to have a clear sight at goal.
Problem nowadays is people go game to game in deciding if players are good or not. Aberdeen too many got carried away. Another reminder that we are a struggling outfit with many problems throughout team. A weak spine in defence and in the centre of the park. (We were long before January window also) Combined with poor fullbacks.
The same problems are still there, we really need a couple of good quality midfielders at this club.
Plugging gaps with loan signings is going to have to do. But not sure I want LJ input going forward on too many..
Only 1 team tried to play football there. We tried for 50/60 minutes to play the ball on the deck , the conditions weather and pitch resulted in it becoming a horrible last 30 to watch. Wont be getting too upset about that performance or result to be honest
31-01-2023, 09:10 PM
4 unbeaten in the league
31-01-2023, 09:11 PM
Hibernian manager Lee Johnson tells Sportsound: "I thought we were the better side in the first half. They felt they had to almost clear it from the midfield because of the wind gusting in their face.
"Good first goal in terms of our pressure, forced an error. A really good fginish.
"I was disappointed. I was disappointed with VAR again. I'm fed up with it because it's a foul on David Marshall (at the Yan Dhanda goal).
"The wind's howling in, 35-40 mile an hour wins and there's two players that absolutely career into him. Again we've been let down by VAR, it's not the first time.
"Kevin Nisbet felt a pinch on his hamstring. We won't know this early, have to settle for two or three days. But, obviously, it'd be a big blow for us.
Pretty accurate assessment. Feel sorry for him we have been on the end of some shockers and three points there would have pushed us into a decent position. Cheating pure and simple
i think Yogi made a good point re that corner, the Ross co players surrounded our keeper, where were our defenders, whether they fouled him or not none of our players were near our keeper giving some protection and stopping their strikersDoes that mean it's not a foul? I understand blocking players off but your still not allowed to barge the goalie. It's not even contentious these days.n
31-01-2023, 09:12 PM
Forget specs, someone’s mask is starting to slip a bit.
May21/05/216
31-01-2023, 09:12 PM
Well, given your posting history, everyone knows you hate hibs. Don't bother with your sarcastic / condescending reply as I've read enough guff on this thread already.Agree
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Crunchie
31-01-2023, 09:13 PM
Does that mean it's not a foul? I understand blocking players off but your still not allowed to barge the goalie. It's not even contentious these days.n
It hasn't been for a very long time, any contact on the keeper is 100% a foul. Can't wait to hear the sportscene pundits view.
31-01-2023, 09:13 PM
If that exact same scenario happens to McLaughlin or McGregor, whoever their keeper is these days do we honestly think that goal stands? Absolutely no chance! Especially after going to VAR as well.
Absolute embarrassment of a decision.
31-01-2023, 09:14 PM
Give it a rest. He is literally smashed into the back of the net.
https://twitter.com/jameslu7980808/status/1620540157857497089?s=46&t=i454WLtu904omWLk9iBJtg
SJNB Hibby
31-01-2023, 09:14 PM
We had the better chances but didn’t get the 2nd goal. Not great but better than getting beat
This. We're not going to win every game
We played better but it's the old, who how will we do on a miserable Tuesday night in Dingwall
But it's 4 in a row unbeaten with a good chance to make itv5 on Saturday.
31-01-2023, 09:15 PM
Does that mean it's not a foul? I understand blocking players off but your still not allowed to barge the goalie. It's not even contentious these days.n
Jordan White charges in to take him out. Clearest foul ever. Different if players are standing like Watson was but White runs from yards away to bundle him into the net.
McGruber
31-01-2023, 09:16 PM
Marshall wasn't poor at the goal - he's not going to not be put over with 2 jumping into him on the run. Neither County player were near the ball, they just played the keeper.
You are right though, he should have come out screaming at the ref and rest of players should be going mad. People will say that shouldn't make a difference but it will.
The visuals made it look like Hibs as a team, keeper included didn't really think it was a foul.
Forget specs, someone’s mask is starting to slip a bit.
Slipped ages ago
hibsdaft
So presumably he goes from that position to lying on the ground in the back of the net by chucking himself to the ground?? Mental.
31-01-2023, 09:17 PM
i'm getting mixed up with NFL, our quarterback(Marshall) needs to be protected :wink: our defenders should at least try and get between our keeper and their strikers, there's three of them around marshall there
https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/624/cpsprodpb/0CEC/production/_128480330_20668293.jpg
31-01-2023, 09:17 PM
Marshall wasn't poor at the goal - he's not going to not be put over with 2 jumping into him on the run. Neither County player were near the ball, they just played the keeper.
You are right though, he should have come out screaming at the ref and rest of players should be going mad. People will say that shouldn't make a difference but it will.
The visuals made it look like Hibs as a team, keeper included didn't really think it was a foul.
Agree with your second point Marshall should have been sprinting after the ref going nuts. Would have put more pressure on the cheat at Glasgow specsavers
McGruber
31-01-2023, 09:18 PM
Jordan White charges in to take him out. Clearest foul ever. Different if players are standing like Watson was but White runs from yards away to bundle him into the net.
They both fouled the keeper but yes, White's was by far the most obvious one.
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 09:19 PM
What do you call it then? "Probably" a foul but not given despite the luxury of replays etc?
YOU are an embarassment for your desire for our club and supporters to bend over and take it up the arse from what can only be be concluded to be corrupt officialdom.
As I've stated I thought it was probably a foul but Marshall could have done better.
What can our club do regarding VAR?
They both fouled the keeper but yes, White's was by far the most obvious one.I disagree
Watson running in barging into Marshall being miles away from the ball is the clearer foul
As I've stated I thought it was probably a foul but Marshall could have done better.
**** all that’s the issue
31-01-2023, 09:20 PM
Precisely how is Marshall supposed to "do better" if he is being fouled and impeded by two opposition players?
hibsdaft
31-01-2023, 09:20 PM
Notice the county player looking around at ref and linesman assuming it would be clocked off too
CB Hibs 68
31-01-2023, 09:21 PM
No he wasn't
He took 1 step Back, set to jump and was clattered into
Its clear as day - literally how anyone can argue ut is beyond me
That's what we have with var though now. Folk trying to justify every way it goes using slow mo
It makes no odds if Marshall was doing hardstands he was still clearly fouled
Here's a video
Its Watson charging in that's the obvious foul - clear as day
Thanks for this.Hadn’t seen the incident that resulted in the County equaliser but that is a definite foul on Marshall.Totally outrageous that was not given as a foul on the keeper.
31-01-2023, 09:22 PM
Attendance:3,074
31-01-2023, 09:23 PM
Attendance:3,074
Hope they get relegated
Silky
31-01-2023, 09:25 PM
He's slavering again." 35-40 mile an hour winds". Its just a gentle breeze. "Two players that absolutely career into him". Nah, they were going for the ball. Marsh stood like a goon then jumped backwards, missing the ball. Absolute slaver. I've read what happened on here and it doesn't square with what Lee says. Therfore he's slavering. :wink:
Crunchie
31-01-2023, 09:26 PM
Agree with your second point Marshall should have been sprinting after the ref going nuts. Would have put more pressure on the cheat at Glasgow specsavers
Agreed, the same with Hanlon and the other experienced pros. County players were at it all night.
31-01-2023, 09:26 PM
He's slavering again." 35-40 mile an hour winds". Its just a gentle breeze. "Two players that absolutely career into him". Nah, they were going for the ball. Marsh stood like a goon then jumped backwards, missing the ball. Absolute slaver. I've read what happened on here and it doesn't square with what Lee says. Therfore he's slavering. :wink:I didn't feel any wind through the telly!
McGruber
31-01-2023, 09:29 PM
I disagree
Watson running in barging into Marshall being miles away from the ball is the clearer foul
Was it Watson running in - I've got them the wrong way round then.
31-01-2023, 09:31 PM
the thing is, even if there was no VAR it would still have been a goal as the ref said there was no foul. what i dont get is there IS VAR and you can clearly see its a foul but they still give it. VAR is a waste of time
Every goal is checked. You can’t blame VAR for this. You blame the idiots operating it.
31-01-2023, 09:32 PM
Was it Watson running in - I've got them the wrong way round then.Yeah whites basically standing on the keeper
Watson runs in from our left back area
Liam978
31-01-2023, 09:34 PM
He's slavering again." 35-40 mile an hour winds". Its just a gentle breeze. "Two players that absolutely career into him". Nah, they were going for the ball. Marsh stood like a goon then jumped backwards, missing the ball. Absolute slaver. I've read what happened on here and it doesn't square with what Lee says. Therfore he's slavering. :wink:
OMG just like yirsel, away and lie doon, promise you will be better the morn .
31-01-2023, 09:37 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/var-cost-us-fourth-says-hibs-boss-lee-johnson-as-he-slams-ross-county-goal-and-speaks-on-kevin-nisbet-injury-4009042
Donegal Hibby
31-01-2023, 09:40 PM
Your at it again I see :tsk tsk: it's either a foul or it's not and imo it is clear as day that it was a foul .Two players barging our keeper into the goal , I watched games were there's been a lot less contact on keepers and it's always went in favour of the keeper ! Your grow up your embarrassing yourself line is really quite funny in a childish sort of a way though I am getting use to your posts at this stage :wink:
31-01-2023, 09:41 PM
Mackay said Marshall came off and told him he’d just given them a goal
#2 Double Tap
31-01-2023, 09:42 PM
OMG just like yirsel, away and lie doon, promise you will be better the morn .
think you missed the sarcasm
31-01-2023, 09:43 PM
https://youtu.be/h7dj1ee0Y2Q
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 09:44 PM
Precisely how is Marshall supposed to "do better" if he is being fouled and impeded by two opposition players?
Possibly the fact Marshall admitted after the game he should have done better at the goal?
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 09:45 PM
Slipped ages ago
Hi Jim, any thoughts on Marshall saying he should have done better?
31-01-2023, 09:46 PM
Could Egan Riley get a start at right back sooner rather than later? Cadden poor again tonight, especially just before their goal.
31-01-2023, 09:46 PM
Possibly the fact Marshall admitted after the game he should have done better at the goal?
The only thing he could have done better was make contact with the cross, even then its still a foul, two players bundle him into the net.
31-01-2023, 09:47 PM
Could Egan Riley get a start at right back sooner rather than later? Cadden poor again tonight, especially just before their goal.
Has to, loved Cadden last year and was easily my player of the year but he's a shadow of that player this season.
31-01-2023, 09:47 PM
Marshall should have done better but it’s still a foul every day of the week. The two County players took Marshall out like they were sacking a quarterback in American football, no one ever gets away with that normally, especially after video evidence.
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 09:49 PM
The only thing he could have done better was make contact with the cross, even then its still a foul, two players bundle him into the net.
I’ve said possibly a foul and Marshall states he could have done better. A disappointing goal to lose whichever way we look at it.
Chorley Hibee
31-01-2023, 09:50 PM
I don't think they're mutually exclusive outcomes though.
It's possible that Marshall thinks he could have done better but still have been fouled.
That's how I see it.
Crunchie
31-01-2023, 09:52 PM
I’ve said possibly a foul and Marshall states he could have done better. A disappointing goal to lose whichever way we look at it.
You've said probably about 6 times and now possibly, it's a foul all day long. I have jambo mates laughing at your comments.
Allyg69
31-01-2023, 09:54 PM
And we are all meant to just take the word of Malky Mackay that Marshall actually said he gave them a goal tonight. Aye OK Malky
31-01-2023, 09:55 PM
And we are all meant to just take the word of Malky Mackay that Marshall actually said he gave them a goal tonight. Aye OK MalkyCourse we do
Marshall actually said it was the wind that flew him 5 yards back into the net
31-01-2023, 09:55 PM
Keeper poor by allowing himself to be barged into the net by 2 Ross County players😂😂😂😂👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻
Allyg69
31-01-2023, 09:59 PM
Course we do
Marshall actually said it was the wind that flew him 5 yards back into the net
🤣
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:01 PM
Keeper poor by allowing himself to be barged into the net by 2 Ross County players😂😂😂😂👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻
It’s Marshall that is saying he should have done better. On the BBC website.
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:03 PM
I don't think they're mutually exclusive outcomes though.
It's possible that Marshall thinks he could have done better but still have been fouled.
That's how I see it.
And I’m not disagreeing. It possibly/probably was a foul but Marshall is saying he also should’ve done better.
31-01-2023, 10:05 PM
It’s Marshall that is saying he should have done better. On the BBC website.I don't see any quotes from Marshall?
I also See Malky McKay saying there was "no contact" in the same paragraph he's saying marshal said he gave us a goal
Ross County manager Malky Mackay: "When you look at the goal again, nobody actually makes a connection. David Marshall actually said to me coming off the park, 'I gave you a goal tonight'.
Allyg69
31-01-2023, 10:06 PM
I don't see any quotes from Marshall?
I also See Malky McKay saying there was "no contact" in the same paragraph he's saying marshal said he gave us a goal
Ross County manager Malky Mackay: "When you look at the goal again, nobody actually makes a connection. David Marshall actually said to me coming off the park, 'I gave you a goal tonight'.
I have seen no quotes from Marshall either.
It hasn't been for a very long time, any contact on the keeper is 100% a foul.
Exactly.
You just know we will get a similar one disallowed sooner or later.
31-01-2023, 10:09 PM
It’s Marshall that is saying he should have done better. On the BBC website.
No Malky Mackay claimed Marshall said it to him.
He’s no the most trust worthy our Malky and thankfully I understand the rules and have eyes and that’s one of the clearest fouls you’ll ever see.
31-01-2023, 10:09 PM
And I’m not disagreeing. It possibly/probably was a foul but Marshall is saying he also should’ve done better.
I think I’m indestructible at the weekend with when I’m mad with the drink. Doesn’t mean I am.
31-01-2023, 10:13 PM
Still at it I see.
McGruber
31-01-2023, 10:14 PM
Marshall can say what he likes, changes nothing. It was 2 blatant fouls on the keeper and absolute clear cut.
VAR is a piece of ****. I would say inconsistent - remember the Rangers goal chopped off for a foul on Gordon that was never a foul but it is actually consistent for who gets the decisions.
If it was just VAR useless all clubs would be up in arms.
Hearts with what 9 penalties and Rangers went through 3 quarters of the season without a single VAR decision going against them, inspite of their 'any man in' policy.
Just a tool used by the corrupt and incompetent
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:17 PM
Still at it I see.
Still not going to many games mate but an opinion about everything? Why not actually go to the games and see these incidents yourself?
HarpOnHibee
31-01-2023, 10:18 PM
No he didn't.
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:20 PM
Marshall can say what he likes, changes nothing. It was 2 blatant fouls on the keeper and absolute clear cut.
VAR is a piece of ****. I would say inconsistent - remember the Rangers goal chopped off for a foul on Gordon that was never a foul but it is actually consistent for who gets the decisions.
If it was just VAR useless all clubs would be up in arms.
Hearts with what 9 penalties and Rangers went through 3 quarters of the season without a single VAR decision going against them, inspite of their 'any man in' policy.
Just a tool used by the corrupt and incompetent
I’m not disagreeing with you re VAR. However surely if Marshall says he should do better and he’s directly involved in the incident, we should at least accept what he says?
We all have an opinion and Marshall’s seems to be that he could have done better.
In his defence, the conditions were absolutely awful
Willis1875
31-01-2023, 10:20 PM
I’m not disagreeing with you re VAR. However surely if Marshall says he should do better and he’s directly involved in the incident, we should at least accept what he says?
We all have an opinion and Marshall’s seems to be that he could have done better.
Where has Marshall said this?
31-01-2023, 10:21 PM
Still not going to many games mate but an opinion about everything? Why not actually go to the games and see these incidents yourself?
I’ve got an opinion about you, put it that way.
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:22 PM
No Malky Mackay claimed Marshall said it to him.
He’s no the most trust worthy our Malky and thankfully I understand the rules and have eyes and that’s one of the clearest fouls you’ll ever see.
If you are calling Mackay a liar, it will be easy for Marshall to clarify tonight and Mackay to offer an apology?
31-01-2023, 10:22 PM
Where has Marshall said this?
He texted it to MacKay. Someone is investigating Malky's phone again.
Chorley Hibee
31-01-2023, 10:23 PM
🤣🤣
Willis1875
All makes sense now,it was Mackay that got a hold of Kenneh’s phone
Allyg69
You can repeat yourself all night. Won't change the fact Marshall didn't actually say anything.
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:26 PM
You can repeat yourself all night. Won't change the fact Marshall didn't actually say anything.
Thanks for clearing that up. I’m assuming you have discussed directly with Marshall?
Allyg69
31-01-2023, 10:27 PM
Thanks for clearing that up. I’m assuming you have discussed directly with Marshall?
No but you are saying he said this on the BBC website which is untrue
1875godsgift
31-01-2023, 10:27 PM
If you are calling Mackay a liar, it will be easy for Marshall to clarify tonight and Mackay to offer an apology?
He also said no County player connected with Marshall, do you believe that as well?
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:30 PM
No but you are saying he said this on the BBC website which is untrue
Has Mackay quoted Marshall on bbc website? Whether true or not, he’s actually quoted it.
You’re just making things up to suit your point of view?
31-01-2023, 10:32 PM
He’s a proven liar, and wtf would Marshall clarify anything?
I’m sure he’s comfortable that anyone with eyes can see that is as nailed on a foul as you’ll ever see.
I’m pretty sure he’s not thinking ‘oh look, Loanheadhibby is making a Roger Hunt of himself on Hibs net. I better make a statement’🥳
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:32 PM
He also said no County player connected with Marshall, do you believe that as well?
Nope I don’t believe that. I’ve seen goal and still photos like everyone else.
Unfortunately I was not the ref or in charge of VAR tonight so what I see/believe does not really matter.
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:34 PM
He’s a proven liar, and wtf would Marshall clarify anything?
I’m sure he’s comfortable that anyone with eyes can see that is as nailed on a foul as you’ll ever see.
I’m pretty sure he’s not thinking ‘oh look, Loanheadhibby is making a Roger Hunt of himself on Hibs net. I better make a statement’🥳
Here’s the bully boy. Getting personal and abusive as usual. Stay classy mate
Allyg69
31-01-2023, 10:35 PM
Has Mackay quoted Marshall on bbc website? Whether true or not, he’s actually quoted it.
You’re just making things up to suit your point of view?
So I've made up the fact you said Marshall admitted he was at fault on the BBC website? I think you need to go back and read your earlier comments.
zitelli62
31-01-2023, 10:35 PM
It was a foul all day long if it had happened to 2 clubs from the west it would all over the papers but its hibs this is var we need to learn and live with it welcome to scotland my var friends.
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:36 PM
So I've made up the fact you said Marshall admitted he was at fault on the BBC website? I think you need to go back and read your earlier comments.
You stated Marshall did not say anything to MacKay after the game?
Allyg69
31-01-2023, 10:41 PM
You stated Marshall did not say anything to MacKay after the game?
I said Marshall didn't quote anything on the BBC. I also hinted that Mackay was talking s***e.
You are obviously not one for admitting when you are wrong so best left there . 👋👍
1875godsgift
31-01-2023, 10:43 PM
Nope I don’t believe that. I’ve seen goal and still photos like everyone else.
Unfortunately I was not the ref or in charge of VAR tonight so what I see/believe does not really matter.
That's great, so we can agree the guy's a habitual liar and probably also lied about what Marshall said.
The County player(s) fouled the goalie and the goal should've been disallowed.
That was easy wasn't it? :aok:
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:46 PM
That's great, so we can agree the guy's a habitual liar and probably also lied about what Marshall said.
The County player(s) fouled the goalie and the goal should've been disallowed.
That was easy wasn't it? :aok:
You need to temper that by saying in our opinion.
In the opinion of the ref & VAR, no foul was committed.
That was easy, wasn’t it?
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:47 PM
I said Marshall didn't quote anything on the BBC. I also hinted that Mackay was talking s***e.
You are obviously not one for admitting when you are wrong so best left there . 👋👍
So I’m quoting MacKay from bbc website and you’re making it up as you go. Seems a fair conclusion.
31-01-2023, 10:49 PM
So I’m quoting MacKay from bbc website and you’re making it up as you go. Seems a fair conclusion.
MacKay also said there's no contact, I think you can take anything he has to say on their goal as bull****. Including talking to Marshall.
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 10:49 PM
Radio Scotland have done a var check.
Craig said a good goal and laughed.
John said a foul
Leanne said she agrees that if they give a foul for that type of INFRINGEMENT, there would be constant penalties and fouls in every game.
It’s done.
Just have to accept that there are crooked people ruining the game for us.
Completely agree. There is nothing going to change it now. No point crying over spilt milk.
Move on to Paisley and hope we get the decision from VAR
Allyg69
31-01-2023, 10:51 PM
You never said you were quoting Mackay at the start. There is only one person twisting words here and guess what it's no me!!!
1875godsgift
31-01-2023, 10:59 PM
I think the whole issue stemmed from you inferring that Marshall had been poor - again - for conceding the goal.
But as you say, in our opinion, he was fouled, so he wasn't poor, was he?
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 11:18 PM
I think the whole issue stemmed from you inferring that Marshall had been poor - again - for conceding the goal.
But as you say, in our opinion, he was fouled, so he wasn't poor, was he?
According to MacKay, Marshall thinks he should have done better? If that’s correct, I’m assuming Marshall thinks he was poor at goal? Would you agree that’s a fair assumption?
On the same point, why are the 2 Ross County jumping in to/with Marshall unchallenged? Were exactly are our big burly centre halves. Why are they not blocking them to give Marshall a bit more freedom to come and punch the ball.
I’ll caveat that to say I’ve only seen the goal once and a couple of still photographs
loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 11:21 PM
You never said you were quoting Mackay at the start. There is only one person twisting words here and guess what it's no me!!!
Semantics mate but if that’s the best you’ve got, fair enough.
1875godsgift
31-01-2023, 11:42 PM
According to MacKay, Marshall thinks he should have done better? If that’s correct, I’m assuming Marshall thinks he was poor at goal? Would you agree that’s a fair assumption?
On the same point, why are the 2 Ross County jumping in to/with Marshall unchallenged? Were exactly are our big burly centre halves. Why are they not blocking them to give Marshall a bit more freedom to come and punch the ball.
I’ll caveat that to say I’ve only seen the goal once and a couple of still photographs
On your first point, we've already agreed Mackay has lied about there being no contact so anything he says has to be taken with a large pinch of salt.
I agree, our defence should have been protecting the goalkeeper, but again, that doesn't make him poor as per your original point, he was fouled regardless of anything else and the goal should have been disallowed.
Donegal Hibby
31-01-2023, 11:57 PM
The way refs and VAR have been making decisions in our games this season I wouldn't trust any opinion they made . That was easy, wasn't it ?
01-02-2023, 12:23 AM
Cannae be long surely?
01-02-2023, 04:30 AM
Just seen the RC goal. A clear foul. Ref is a useless **** for not seeing it first time. And the var official even worse. Officials in Scotland deserve all the abuse they get.
01-02-2023, 06:23 AM
Well, given your posting history, everyone knows you hate hibs. Don't bother with your sarcastic / condescending reply as I've read enough guff on this thread already.
Best ignoring him, its very clear he isn't a hibs fan
01-02-2023, 06:25 AM
you need to temper that by saying in our opinion.
In the opinion of the ref & var, no foul was committed.
ltyf
01-02-2023, 07:48 AM
I dunno how anyone can watch that and no see a Ross County player running in and jumping into the keeper?
I just cannae understand it at all.
Marshall ends up barged into the net.
It’s clear as day.
loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 07:57 AM
ltyf
Excellent input Tyler.
Crunchie
01-02-2023, 08:00 AM
I dunno how anyone can watch that and no see a Ross County player running in and jumping into the keeper?
I just cannae understand it at all.
Marshall ends up barged into the net.
It’s clear as day.
:agree: to all bar the blind
loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 08:00 AM
Just seen the RC goal. A clear foul. Ref is a useless **** for not seeing it first time. And the var official even worse. Officials in Scotland deserve all the abuse they get.
If we don’t have officials, we have no games. Remember these guys are paid relatively poorly compared to their counterparts in other countries. What’s the attraction of being a ref/lino? Years and years of bullying/constant stream of abuse.
Like everyone in life, they make mistakes.
01-02-2023, 08:04 AM
If we don’t have officials, we have no games. Remember these guys are paid relatively poorly compared to their counterparts in other countries. What’s the attraction of being a ref/lino? Years and years of bullying/constant stream of abuse.
Mistakes are forgivable in certain circumstances.
With VAR though the refs are being given significant opportunities to eradicate their mistakes. When they repeatedly CHOOSE not to, it’s no wonder they end up copping a bit of flak.
Willis1875
01-02-2023, 08:05 AM
You’re unbelievable,they have the benefit of being able to watch it to determine the correct outcome.
It’s not a mistake it’s sheer incompetence and stupidity
Bridge hibs
01-02-2023, 08:05 AM
Most Refs up here have full time jobs with some of them very well paid in their jobs. No one is forcing them to become officials, they choose to do it and go through training to do just that. They are just pretty ****ing **** at what they do, thats why they get abuse, they are big boys though, Im sure they can handle it
01-02-2023, 08:09 AM
People on a football fans forum offering up their opinions, what a shocker eh?
They’re not paid poorly. A ref gets £850 a game. 4 games a month, £3400. That’s the attraction of it probably.
This is their second job. Their job on the side.
I’m not about to donate to any Scottish Prem Refs Hardship Fund, that’s for sure.
Making the refs we have full time isn’t going to change the quality of their refereeing. I’m not even a part time ref and can pick out the multiple mistakes being made every week, and that’s when they even have VAR to look at too.
Crunchie
You’re unbelievable,they have the benefit of being able to watch it to determine the correct outcome.
It’s not a mistake it’s sheer incompetence and stupidity
Exactly, and they made that decision in a fraction of the time they've taken over more clear cut incidents in previous games. there was direct contact on Marshall which makes it a free kick all day long in any other game.
loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 08:10 AM
Mistakes are forgivable in certain circumstances.
With VAR though the refs are being given significant opportunities to eradicate their mistakes. When they repeatedly CHOOSE not to, it’s no wonder they end up copping a bit of flak.
You’re possibly right but how are we ever going to encourage anyone to become officials with the constant abuse?
And it’s not just impacted us. Look at the St Johnstone game at the weekend. These guys are paid peanuts and we are just driving the good ones out the game.
I think someone in SFA needs to back refs by coming out after each game explaining why the ref came to a decision. There will be a top ref in Hampden surely that can take us through the reasoning for contentious decisions. We might not agree with their reasoning but at least we’d know.
01-02-2023, 08:11 AM
You’re possibly right but how are we ever going to encourage anyone to become officials with the constant abuse?
And it’s not just impacted us. Look at the St Johnstone game at the weekend. These guys are paid peanuts and we are just driving the good ones out the game.
I think someone in SFA needs to back refs by coming out after each game explaining why the ref came to a decision. There will be a top ref in Hampden surely that can take us through the reasoning for contentious decisions. We might not agree with their reasoning but at least we’d know.
Paid peanuts 😂
The ref last night probably gets more for that game than some of the players involved make in a week. Plus, the ref can double that with another game at the weekend.
loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 08:14 AM
They’re not paid poorly. A ref gets £850 a game. 4 games a month, £3400. That’s the attraction of it probably.
This is their second job. Their job on the side.
I’m not about to donate to any Scottish Prem Refs Hardship Fund, that’s for sure.
Making the refs we have full time isn’t going to change the quality of their refereeing. I’m not even a part time ref and can pick out the multiple mistakes being made every week, and that’s when they even have VAR to look at too.
It’s hardly life changing money tho? Plus they’ll pay hefty tax if it’s a 2nd income (probably higher rate). To get abused for every decision they make.
I’m not saying making them full time is the answer but surely if they are spending their whole day learning and training together for a decent wage, it may improve in the long term?
01-02-2023, 08:16 AM
Exactly, and they made that decision in a fraction of the time they've taken over more clear cut incidents in previous games. there was direct contact on Marshall which makes it a free kick all day long in any other game.
Do what they do in NFL. All scoring plays reviewed.
Normally I’d say, “Quick check in the time it takes for players to celebrate”. Done.
However, last night there was VAR and it was still deemed a goal. WTF?!?
Willis1875
It’s hardly life changing money tho? Plus they’ll pay hefty tax if it’s a 2nd income (probably higher rate). To get abused for every decision they make.
I’m not saying making them full time is the answer but surely if they are spending their whole day learning and training together for a decent wage, it may improve in the long term?
To take last nights decision into isolation,You don’t need trained or taught anything to make the correct decision….you simply just need a set of fully functional eyeballs
loanheadhibby
Paid peanuts 😂
The ref last night probably gets more for that game than some of the players involved make in a week. Plus, the ref can double that with another game at the weekend.
Apologies your knowledge of players/refs salaries is much better than mine.
Point stands for me tho, you’d need to be insane to go through a ref course to get abused constantly from folk who have probably never refereed a game in their lives.
01-02-2023, 08:17 AM
I agree that an explanation would go a long way.
You don’t even need to agree with the explanation.
For example, last night - the ref comes out and said that there was contact with the goalkeeper but it’s a contact sport and he didn’t seem the contact to be enough to knock a 6ft plus goalkeeper into the net, fair enough I’d disagree but I’d accept that the ref had a reason for giving it that way.
The countless handballs that appear to be given at random - I’d love to know the nuances in the rules that the refs work to. An adequate explanation and I’d be accepting these decisions.
The problem I have is that I’m becoming increasingly suspicious that there is no reasonable explanation.
Other than that the decisions seem to go in favour of the teams who kick off most and against those who meekly accept them, nothing to do with any actual incidents.
01-02-2023, 08:18 AM
Should refs be paid “life changing money”?
loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 08:21 AM
To take last nights decision into isolation,You don’t need trained or taught anything to make the correct decision….you simply just need a set of fully functional eyeballs
Hence my earlier point about an explanation after the game from SFA. At the moment we have no idea the conclusion made by Ref/VAR.
01-02-2023, 08:23 AM
Hence my earlier point about an explanation after the game from SFA. At the moment we have no idea the conclusion made by Ref/VAR.
The ref clearly said on camera "ok, no foul" when confirming with VAR.
So VARs conclusion was just that.
01-02-2023, 08:23 AM
Paid peanuts
Some of them ref on the Saturday, are 4th officials/VAR on the Sunday and maybe involved in another game midweek.... they could be earning close to £3k a week from a part-time job which they're useless at. They no doubt get decent expenses as well and we'll be (indirectly) paying for them. It's a pretty good gig if you ask me.
The impression I get is that they just sometimes can't be bothered making decisions in games not involving Rangers and Celtic. When it's as obvious as last night and they don't overturn it they're basically cheating the paying public.
We've had the worst deal of any SPFL teams since VAR came in - nonsense penalties against us and as obvious non-decisions as you can possibly imagine. Not once have we got a "wow" decision in our favour.
loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 08:26 AM
I agree that an explanation would go a long way.
You don’t even need to agree with the explanation.
For example, last night - the ref comes out and said that there was contact with the goalkeeper but it’s a contact sport and he didn’t seem the contact to be enough to knock a 6ft plus goalkeeper into the net, fair enough I’d disagree but I’d accept that the ref had a reason for giving it that way.
The countless handballs that appear to be given at random - I’d love to know the nuances in the rules that the refs work to. An adequate explanation and I’d be accepting these decisions.
The problem I have is that I’m becoming increasingly suspicious that there is no reasonable explanation.
Other than that the decisions seem to go in favour of the teams who kick off most and against those who meekly accept them, nothing to do with any actual incidents.
100% agree with you. They could even surely appoint an ex ref to come out after the game. As you say, we might not agree but at least we would know the basis of the decision.
Even if that explanation is the ref mucked up, at least we would know.
The danger is our support is becoming very like Celtic fans with conspiracy theories. Every club is subject to dodgy decisions (apart from Rangers).
St Johnstone have as much to be aggrieved about as we do.
01-02-2023, 08:30 AM
Seen the highlights, that is as blatant a foul as I've ever seen on a goalkeeper.
loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 08:30 AM
Some of them ref on the Saturday, are 4th officials/VAR on the Sunday and maybe involved in another game midweek.... they could be earning close to £3k a week from a part-time job which they're useless at. They no doubt get decent expenses as well and we'll be (indirectly) paying for them. It's a pretty good gig if you ask me.
The impression I get is that they just sometimes can't be bothered making decisions in games not involving Rangers and Celtic. When it's as obvious as last night and they don't overturn it they're basically cheating the paying public.
We've had the worst deal of any SPFL teams since VAR came in - nonsense penalties against us and as obvious non-decisions as you can possibly imagine. Not once have we got a "wow" decision in our favour.
You can always put yourself forward to become a referee? I certainly would not be putting myself/family through that.
And have we really had the worst of it? We’ve definitely had a few dodgy ones but I think every club can point to certain decisions. It’s paranoia to think otherwise.
01-02-2023, 08:32 AM
Terrible game in terrible conditions, with some terrible refereeing. VAR guys can hide behind 'not clear and obvious' as remarkable as that seems to most on here, and there won't be any kind of fuss beyond our frustrated support.
We didn't do enough to win the game in the first half when the gusting wind was behind us.
We could really do with someone to take over from McGeady when he runs out of puff at 65/70 mins. Bradley might have been the answer, but that ship has sailed, and it seems Jair definitely isn't.
McKirdy just doesn't look up to it and was pretty lucky not get sent off.
Is O'Connor seen as a better prospect than Laidlaw or is he the more physically stronger of the two?
01-02-2023, 08:44 AM
750 quid per game. Two games per week at times. Somewhere in the region of 50k per year. They are professional referees. I am now completely of the mind that most are incompetent and some are downright cheats.
Crunchie
01-02-2023, 08:46 AM
You can always put yourself forward to become a referee? I certainly would not be putting myself/family through that.
And have we really had the worst of it? We’ve definitely had a few dodgy ones but I think every club can point to certain decisions. It’s paranoia to think otherwise.
You're the only Hibs fan as far as I know who thinks that wasn't a foul, and you're going to extreme lengths to let everyone know, very strange.
01-02-2023, 08:49 AM
I dinnae understand how a counter argument to ***** refereeing is - well you go do it then.
Nobody is forced to be a referee. They’ve chosen to. The least we as football fans should expect is for them to do their job semi decently. Surely.
01-02-2023, 08:57 AM
Aye... you could put yourself forward to play for Hibs using the same logic.
Refs want to be refs and it's a great wee side line financially. They're not heroes and we're entitled to expect better.
It's not paranoia as I don't believe it's bias against Hibs specifically- we've just been on the wrong side of ridiculous incompetence ,and in one case fear of giving a penalty against Rangers. It is beyond dispute that we've not had anything dodgy in our favour and had plenty dodgy against us- last night being an absolutely blatant one that cost us 2 points and 4th place probably.
01-02-2023, 09:26 AM
If we dont have fans, what's the point?
Decisions like that and what has gone before are strangling the joy out of the game. Fans will vote with their feet, it's cheating, and it's blatant cheating.
01-02-2023, 09:47 AM
Should refs be paid “life changing money”?
Think some already are just not officially. :greengrin
loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 10:07 AM
If we dont have fans, what's the point?
Decisions like that and what has gone before are strangling the joy out of the game. Fans will vote with their feet, it's cheating, and it's blatant cheating.
There will always be fans. There might not always be officials.
I totally disagree that it’s cheating. Incompetence definitely, cheating never.
If you think it was cheating, what benefit is the ref going to get for cheating against us? Are Ross County offering to send ladies/gents of the night to their hotel rooms?