View Full Version : This week's celebrity death

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

19-01-2023, 09:31 PM
Feels like there's one every week, so thought it might be an idea to have the one thread 🤔

This week it's David Crosby. Eight miles high now.

19-01-2023, 10:07 PM
Ach.

20-01-2023, 06:11 AM
Remember seeing him and Graham Nash in a Fringe thing at the Playhouse back in the 70s. Full of hippies obviously. I fell asleep halfway through.

Did well to get to his 80s!

20-01-2023, 10:46 AM
Was listening to an obituary piece by John Robb this morning, who said that Crosby was posting on Instagram only two days ago.

20-01-2023, 12:54 PM
Was listening to an obituary piece by John Robb this morning, who said that Crosby was posting on Instagram only two days ago.
Twitter too

https://twitter.com/thedavidcrosby/status/1615680342962343938?s=20&t=yxVTtjLY6Rhl6cTA2u72JQ

28-01-2023, 09:36 PM
Today it's Tom Verlaine.

28-01-2023, 09:39 PM
Today it's Tom Verlaine.

Oh no. Geez, another hero gone. It’s crap getting old.

28-01-2023, 10:31 PM
Today it's Tom Verlaine.

Just saw this dreadful news.

Marquee Moon is one of my favourite tracks of all time and contains my favourite guitar solo of all time. Others will put into words better than me how good it is.

30-01-2023, 02:43 PM
The original Wednesday Addams has gone.

30-01-2023, 02:44 PM
Barrett Strong

davy67 +
30-01-2023, 06:01 PM
US actress Annie Wersching aged 45

31-01-2023, 12:53 PM
The original Wednesday Addams has gone.

Lisa Loring, her dying means that Gomez is the only one left alive from the original series, John Astin is 92 now and is far and away the most successful acting career of all the cast of the original show.

davy67 +
31-01-2023, 07:58 PM
Cindy Williams who played Shirley Feeney in US sitcom Laverne & Shirley , which was a spin off of Happy Days , has died aged 75 , her co star Penny Marshall ( Laverne DeFazio ) passed away in December 2018 .

09-02-2023, 03:20 PM
Burt Bacharach.

That is all.....

09-02-2023, 03:28 PM
Burt Bacharach.

That is all.....

Just saw this on sky news, been following his song writing exploits for years
One of the most talented song writers ever…

Stairway 2 7
09-02-2023, 03:56 PM
His list of songs for him and others is remarkable

09-02-2023, 05:51 PM
Burt Bacharach.

That is all.....

I was watching a programme last week about Aretha, centred on three of her many great songs, "I Say A Little Prayer" was the middle one.

While Bacharach and David will be indelibly associated with Dionne Warwick and Dusty Springfield, I think there is another measure of their incredible talent.

This was in their capacity to write songs that were able to be reinterpreted to thei performer's style while still retaining that B&D magic to make them automatic classics for their cover artist - I'm thinking Isaac Hayes and the Manic Street Preachers for two.

09-02-2023, 07:23 PM
Burt Bacharach.

That is all.....

An amazing songwriter, good old age to get to.RIP.

davy67 +
15-02-2023, 07:29 PM
Raquel Welch has passed away aged 82

HibbyDave
22-02-2023, 06:55 AM
Ron.

Rest in Peace.

22-02-2023, 09:52 AM
I missed that Richard Belzer, comedian and actor who played John Munch on Law & Order Special Victims Unit, Homicide Life on the Street and 30 Rock, was in X Files and too many other shows to mention, died on Sunday 19th.

HibbyDave
24-02-2023, 07:03 AM
John Motson.

Stairway 2 7
27-02-2023, 11:36 AM
Betty Boothroyd

27-02-2023, 12:53 PM
As Stairway stated, ex parliament speaker Betty Boothroyd has died ages 93.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-64786680

I share her birthday.

02-03-2023, 02:45 PM
Steve Mackey today. Played bass for Pulp in the 90s when they enjoyed most of their commercial success.

02-03-2023, 09:06 PM
Steve Mackey today. Played bass for Pulp in the 90s when they enjoyed most of their commercial success.

My favourite britpop era band. Proper sense of humour and intelligence as well as the great songs.

02-03-2023, 10:13 PM
My favourite britpop era band. Proper sense of humour and intelligence as well as the great songs.

‘Underwear’ and ‘like a friend’ shot them right up there for me too. Then led to Babies, razzmatazz etc… great band.

02-03-2023, 10:15 PM
‘Underwear’ and ‘like a friend’ shot them right up there for me too. Then led to Babies, razzmatazz etc… great band.

Remember The First Time, Lipgloss…still gets me.
RIP.

03-03-2023, 10:47 AM
Wayne Shorter, jazz sax player extraordinaire.

Best known, to me, for Weather Report and Steely Dan. That solo on Aja.....:not worth

davy67 +
04-03-2023, 04:19 AM
Tom Sizemore: Saving Private Ryan actor dies at 61 after brain aneurysm https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-64721187

04-03-2023, 07:12 AM
David Lindley, session musician who appeared with many top stars. Probably best known for his work with Jackson Browne, he also contributed to albums by Dylan, Springsteen, Warren Zevon, Graham Nash, Iain Matthews, Ry Cooder and a host of others.

Stairway 2 7
04-03-2023, 07:55 AM
Tom Sizemore: Saving Private Ryan actor dies at 61 after brain aneurysm https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-64721187

Thought he was a very believable actor, especially as a hard b. Very good actor and in some tremendous movies

04-03-2023, 12:58 PM
David Lindley, session musician who appeared with many top stars. Probably best known for his work with Jackson Browne, he also contributed to albums by Dylan, Springsteen, Warren Devon, Graham Nash, Iain Matthews, Ry Cooder and a host of others.

Sore one. He's all over my music collection. I saw him once, with Jackson Browne at Glastonbury.

"Not so much a multi-instrumentalist as a maxi-instrumentalist" is how he was once described. He had no idea how many instruments he could play. And, of course, those amazing falsetto vocals on "Stay" by Jackson Browne.....

05-03-2023, 02:39 AM
Wayne Shorter, jazz sax player extraordinaire.

Best known, to me, for Weather Report and Steely Dan. That solo on Aja.....:not worth

For me it was his work with the Jazz Messengers, but even more so for his work with Miles. “In A Silent Way” is one of my favourite albums, let alone jazz albums. “Miles In The Sky” was another great piece of work. A very talented man.

06-03-2023, 11:56 AM
Relentless.

Today, it's Gary Rossington of Lynyrd Skynyrd. Last of the originals.

09-03-2023, 07:32 AM
Topol of Fiddler on the Roof fame died yesterday.

speedy_gonzales
09-03-2023, 09:41 AM
And there goes Mystic Meg,,,,, wonder if she seen that coming 🙄

09-03-2023, 10:20 AM
Topol of Fiddler on the Roof fame died yesterday.

brilliant in Flash Gordon, and decent in an average bond movie too

09-03-2023, 03:52 PM
And there goes Mystic Meg,,,,, wonder if she seen that coming 🙄

This might sound a bit crass given she’s died but I have absolutely no time for her ilk. Playing on people’s emotions.

10-03-2023, 01:43 PM
This might sound a bit crass given she’s died but I have absolutely no time for her ilk. Playing on people’s emotions.

I'm not too bothered about astrologers, they're pretty harmless but the 'psychics' and 'ghost channellers' are the real vampires, making people think they can communicate with dead loved ones and extracting money out of them to enable them to do it. Real **** of the earth to do that.

12-03-2023, 04:10 PM
Bill Tidy

12-03-2023, 06:13 PM
Bill TidySaw that. Stalwart of panel shows in the 70s and always very funny.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

13-03-2023, 08:29 PM
Dick Fosbury now.

Very few people can genuinely say they changed their sport for ever. He was one such athlete.

13-03-2023, 09:05 PM
Dick Fosbury now.

Very few people can genuinely say they changed their sport for ever. He was one such athlete.

I remember a guy at school attempting it for the 1st time at sports practice despite everyone being ordered not to. Smashed the back of his head on the bar, blood everywhere. Teacher made sure he gave him a bollocking first before running to his aid 😁

14-03-2023, 07:44 AM
Bill Tidy

Great cartoonist with an eye for the bizarre.

14-03-2023, 03:13 PM
I remember a guy at school attempting it for the 1st time at sports practice despite everyone being ordered not to. Smashed the back of his head on the bar, blood everywhere. Teacher made sure he gave him a bollocking first before running to his aid ��

"...If you try that Fosbury Flop in my class you'll be for the high jump!"

14-03-2023, 05:18 PM
"...If you try that Fosbury Flop in my class you'll be for the high jump!"

Haha, that takes me back as I recall someone posting on an old Friends Reunited school group that he actually said that....unfortunately he didn't though :greengrin

15-03-2023, 08:51 AM
Simon Emmerson, founder of the Afro Celt Sound System.

One of my favourite bands of this century.

15-03-2023, 09:14 AM
Simon Emmerson, founder of the Afro Celt Sound System.

One of my favourite bands of this century.Shame.

I only know them via MAW's house music remixes, great stuff.

https://youtu.be/yl7q5P9fbWQ

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

15-03-2023, 09:59 AM
Shame.

I only know them via MAW's house music remixes, great stuff.

https://youtu.be/yl7q5P9fbWQ

Hadn't heard that particular remix, ta. Sinead :agree:

Their music lent itself to so many remixes.

16-03-2023, 06:37 AM
Jim Gordon. Mainly a session man including the Wrecking Crew. Also murdered his mother and spent the rest of his life in institutions. List of sessions very impressive List of murder, less so.

18-03-2023, 05:36 AM
Lance Reddick who played Cedric Daniels in The Wire. Was also in the John Wick films.

He's here!
29-03-2023, 06:40 AM
Paul O'Grady has passed away suddenly aged 67.

Stairway 2 7
29-03-2023, 08:11 AM
Paul O'Grady has passed away suddenly aged 67.

Geez. My mum seen him a couple of nights ago at the playhouse, he's in the middle of an Annie the musical tour.

Seemed a decent guy on TV

Santa Cruz
29-03-2023, 12:33 PM
Geez. My mum seen him a couple of nights ago at the playhouse, he's in the middle of an Annie the musical tour.

Seemed a decent guy on TV

It's really sad, always thought he came across as genuine and unaffected by fame. He had two heart attacks, the first was when he was in his 40's. RIP.

He's here!
29-03-2023, 01:13 PM
It's really sad, always thought he came across as genuine and unaffected by fame. He had two heart attacks, the first was when he was in his 40's. RIP.

Yeh, he didn't keep the best of health. Like you I always thought he seemed a really decent guy, quite humble behind a sometimes quite spiky personality.

29-03-2023, 01:46 PM

Aye he came across as one of the good guys. Dogs seemed to like him and I'd trust them as a judge of character over most humans.

30-03-2023, 04:42 PM

Seemingly a history of heart problems in the family and as you said he had problems health wise a few years ago, a ticking time bomb. Very sad as he seemed a genuinely lovely man. RIP.

Santa Cruz
30-03-2023, 04:46 PM
Seemingly a history of heart problems in the family and as you said he had problems health wise a few years ago, a ticking time bomb. Very sad as he seemed a genuinely lovely man. RIP.

Read both his parents had a heart attack on the same day, only one survived. I can't begin to imagine that sort of circumstance and the effect that shock would have on me.

01-04-2023, 01:35 PM
Just read Ken Buchanan has passed

02-04-2023, 02:03 PM
Ryuichi Sakamoto

02-04-2023, 03:13 PM
Ryuichi Sakamoto

This is one of my favourite ever songs, sounds as good now as it did back in the day

https://open.spotify.com/track/5mvOFm7fHLFLyEQtusCmUf?si=f5F1RfUiTMWJpCBMNaQCMw&context=spotify%3Asearch%3AFirbidd

03-04-2023, 08:26 AM
Ryuichi Sakamoto

Decent read here: https://pitchfork.com/features/afterword/ryuichi-sakamotos-borderless-brilliance/

03-04-2023, 05:29 PM
Seymour Stein. Someone not so much ahead of his time but definitely within it.

https://variety.com/2023/music/news/seymour-stein-music-exec-madonna-talking-heads-dead-1235571169/?fbclid=IwAR1-ocUh_KkxJsUWVbr_Qsh0gOjwVs2_3jXVLYfsxPn3ouJM70xwpx XquX4

03-04-2023, 08:52 PM
Nigel Lawson, as of this evening.

While I disagreed with his politics it will be interesting to see and hear the accounts of those who worked with him and in opposition to him. It was a period of significant economic change.

For the Tories I imagine he ranks highly in their ‘best chancellors’ hierarchy.

He's here!
03-04-2023, 10:46 PM

https://variety.com/2023/music/news/seymour-stein-music-exec-madonna-talking-heads-dead-1235571169/?fbclid=IwAR1-ocUh_KkxJsUWVbr_Qsh0gOjwVs2_3jXVLYfsxPn3ouJM70xwpx XquX4

The Beach Boys put through a meat grinder was how he described the Ramones, or something like that.

03-04-2023, 10:47 PM
Nigel Lawson, as of this evening.

While I disagreed with his politics it will be interesting to see and hear the accounts of those who worked with him and in opposition to him. It was a period of significant economic change.

For the Tories I imagine he ranks highly in their ‘best chancellors’ hierarchy.I don't believe he's dead, like he didn't believe in climate change.

04-04-2023, 08:09 AM

But has he ever seen Dundee?

04-04-2023, 08:53 AM
But has he ever seen Dundee?Nice green cover that one.

07-04-2023, 03:15 PM
Paul Cattermole from S Club 7

speedy_gonzales
07-04-2023, 03:30 PM
Paul Cattermole from S Club 7

46 is too young regardless the cause, but I hope it's nothing to do with the toxic bile that came his way after the band recently announced a reunion.
A couple of years younger than me, understandably his physique, like mines, doesn't resemble a young 20 year old that was once promoting music through tours & PA's with high energy routines.
Yeah, the guy has gained a few stone but bloody hell, the taunts on social media were shocking!

07-04-2023, 10:35 PM
Ryuichi Sakamoto

Jeez I missed this. That’s really sad to hear. I have quite a few Yellow Magic Orchestra albums and some of the soundtracks he created were masterpieces. Hugely talented guy. RIP.

08-04-2023, 11:50 AM
Ian Bairnson, once of Pilot, Alan Parsons Project, and session man for many others.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ian_Bairnson

08-04-2023, 11:14 PM
Ian Bairnson, once of Pilot, Alan Parsons Project, and session man for many others.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ian_BairnsonSaw him playing in the Fringe about 6 years ago. Maybe close to his last live performances. At that time the rumour was he had Alzheimers.Sadly true. His family (reluctantly)recently sold the guitar amp combo used in Wuthering Heights. The proviso was it went to players, not a museum. RIP.

10-04-2023, 07:06 AM

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ian_Bairnson

That's not magic, RIP.

13-04-2023, 03:34 PM
Mary Quant.

A woman to whom all straight men in the 60's owe so much. :greengrin

Bridge hibs
14-04-2023, 06:15 PM
Mark Sheehan the Script guitarist has died after a short illness aged 46

21-04-2023, 06:35 PM
Mark Stewart, of the Pop Group and solo performer.

Mark Stewart is an artist, vocalist, producer, and songwriter from Bristol. As a founding member of The Pop Group and as a soloist, Stewart has remained an anarchic and pioneering figure since the punk era, a constant source of discordance amongst the frontiers of post-punk, dub, industrial and electronic music.

22-04-2023, 11:11 AM
Barry Humphries aka Dame Edna.

22-04-2023, 05:40 PM
Barry Humphries aka Dame Edna.

I used to like his Barry McKenzie cartoons about ex-pat Aussies in Earl's Court. Baz was always on a fruitless quest to exercise his "one-eyed trouser snake"!

24-04-2023, 09:47 AM
Len Goodman.

24-04-2023, 11:20 PM
Actress/novelist/journalist Kate Saunders, only 62 though she did have health problems, some will remember her as the Policewoman that had a date with Rodney ‘Only Fools and Horses’ actress Kate Saunders dead aged 62 (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/entertainment/topnews/only-fools-and-horses-actress-kate-saunders-dead-aged-62/ar-AA1ahAsJ?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=5518c4b982574fe4b489e6dda8ec0d55&ei=10)

25-04-2023, 04:58 PM
Harry Belafonte. Not only a singer and actor, but also a very active civil rights campaigner, close friend and supporter of Martin Luther King. Quite a guy, it has to be said. RIP.

Stairway 2 7
25-04-2023, 05:06 PM
Harry Belafonte. Not only a singer and actor, but also a very active civil rights campaigner, close friend and supporter of Martin Luther King. Quite a guy, it has to be said. RIP.

Shame must have been some age. Songs to make you dance ha. As you say a great civil rights activist and a thorn in the Republics side

speedy_gonzales
27-04-2023, 02:32 PM
Jerry Springer, passed peacefully at 79.
According to Wikipedia he was born in London. Didn't know that🤔

27-04-2023, 02:38 PM

Till next time take care of yourselves, and each other.

27-04-2023, 03:08 PM

Shame that, his show was tremendous car crash TV when it first started.

27-04-2023, 05:26 PM
According to Wikipedia he was born in London. Didn't know that[emoji848]During the blitz.

02-05-2023, 05:46 AM
Gordon Lightfoot RIP

02-05-2023, 08:33 AM
Jock Zonfrillo dying is a bit of a shocker. Only 46 FFS.

02-05-2023, 07:23 PM
Shame that, his show was tremendous car crash TV when it first started.

Until they started paying actors and little known pro wrestlers to convey made up storylines.

02-05-2023, 07:33 PM
Until they started paying actors and little known pro wrestlers to convey made up storylines.

Indeed, I really enjoyed Big Brother back at the beginning until folk realised that it could become a route to a bit of fame/wealth.

19-05-2023, 09:59 AM
Andy Rourke

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-05-2023, 10:17 AM
Andy Rourke

Just heard on the radio, devastated. RIP Andy [emoji253]

lex07
19-05-2023, 04:01 PM
R.I.P Andy Rourke

20-05-2023, 09:03 PM
Martin Amis now, 73, which coincidentally was the same age as his father when he passed.

A very powerful writer, I read Money and London Fields, which were in his heyday and very much of their time - mid to late eighties. I can't genuinely say I was a big fan but sort of glad that I made the effort. You certainly knew you had read his work once you had finished it. He will be equally remembered for his commens about Islam though, which created a real furore.

22-05-2023, 10:50 PM
Actor Ray Stevenson, 58

appeared in several TV shows like Dexter, Vikings, Peak Practise, Murphy's Law and Band of Gold

and the Film Thor

23-05-2023, 12:04 PM
Rolf Harris, oh well! I happened to be watching a documentary about him on stv player when the story appeared on my phone which is a bit freaky! 😯

23-05-2023, 12:19 PM
Rolf Harris, oh well!

Good riddance

ErinGoBraghHFC
23-05-2023, 12:20 PM
Rolf Harris, oh well!

Good.

23-05-2023, 01:28 PM
I was genuinely gutted when Rolf Harris was outed. I loved Animal Hospital as a child and I liked him, he seemed an affable and happy go lucky sort of guy. I suppose that's how he got away with what he did, he wasn't some cartoon paedo or abuser, like so many he was plausible.

I'm just glad a degree of justice was done even if it was belatedly. Hopefully there is support in place for his victims now he is thrust back into the public eye for a few days.

23-05-2023, 02:45 PM
Should've died a slow lingering death years ago the perverted old *******.

24-05-2023, 06:37 PM
Tina Turner 83 RIP.

24-05-2023, 07:04 PM
Tina Turner 83 RIP.
Sorry to hear this.

Peanut Shaz
24-05-2023, 10:18 PM
Seen Tina Turner twice in concert. Absolutely fantastic shows, a real performer. Saw Tina The Musical in London earlier this year. She had a tough upbringing and a hard life but overcame all the odds. RIP

25-05-2023, 08:23 AM
Tina Turner took on Swiss nationality in her later years.

Bridge hibs
28-05-2023, 09:42 AM
Emily Morgan BBC news reader has died aged 45 😵

06-06-2023, 08:24 PM
The Girl from Ipanema, Astrud Gilberto, at the age pf 83. According to her obit, it's widely held to be the second-most recorded pop song in history. She also sold a lot of other records in the Latin jazz and bossa nova genre, but I'll have that tune in my head for hours now!

07-06-2023, 05:39 PM
Tony TS McPhee, lead guitarist for blues rock band The Groundhogs. A brilliant guitarist, Hogwash was one of the first albums I bought. .RIP

10-06-2023, 04:03 AM
Mike Batayeh dies in his sleep of a heart attack, only 52, played Dennis Markowski in three episodes of Breaking Bad as manager of Gustavo's Laundromat, also appeared in CSI Miami and boy meetes world.

12-06-2023, 09:22 AM
Silvio Berlusconi passed this morning

13-06-2023, 12:46 PM
Treat Williams in a motor cycle accident at 71. Sidney Lumet's Prince of the city. Great film.

Donegal Hibby
13-06-2023, 12:57 PM
Treat Williams in a motor cycle accident at 71. Sidney Lumet's Prince of the city. Great film.

Sorry to hear this . He was a very good actor who also appeared in " The eagle has landed" and "Deep rising " .

Donegal Hibby
13-06-2023, 06:15 PM
Irish rock band ' Aslan ' front man Christy Dignam has died .

13-06-2023, 08:20 PM
Cormac McCarthy, American author. RIP
Blood Meridian is for me one of the greatest novels ever written. Not an easy read but one that really left me stunned at what I had read when I finished it. Brilliant.

14-06-2023, 12:43 PM
John Hollins.

14-06-2023, 02:18 PM
John Hollins.

Obviously best-known for Chelsea but he gave Arsenal a good few season’s service. Would have had an FA Cup Winners medal from his time at Highbury were it not for the limited stripped players allowed in those days.

15-06-2023, 10:47 AM
Glenda Jackson.

15-06-2023, 12:31 PM
Gordon McQueen today, at just 70.

15-06-2023, 01:14 PM
Glenda Jackson.

All men are fools. And what makes them so is having beauty like what I have got 🙂

15-06-2023, 04:37 PM
Glenda Jackson.

Possibly the greatest actress that we have had. Not many people have won the acting triple crown. She was always compelling and captivating. Her last major TV performance in Elizabeth is Missing, was nothing less than outstanding.

Bridge hibs
15-06-2023, 05:38 PM
Possibly the greatest actress that we have had. Not many people have won the acting triple crown. She was always compelling and captivating. Her last major TV performance in Elizabeth is Missing, was nothing less than outstanding.

Totally agree mate 👍

15-06-2023, 08:19 PM
Irish rock band ' Aslan ' front man Christy Dignam has died .

Saw them support SLF at the Barrowland once, they were excellent. He had a great voice.

16-06-2023, 07:23 PM
Daniel Ellsberg passed,92.

He was possibly the biggest whistleblower in history, before the age of the internet. He leaked the 7,000 pages of a US government report showing that successive administrations had escalated the conflict in Vietnam over a 20-year period despite knowing the war was almost certainly unwinnable. The Americans lost 58,000 personnel in Vietnam, the Vietnamese lost 2 million civilians and around 1.3 million combatabts, from both sides in total.

Then-president Richard Nixon tried to discredit him and a team of 'fixers' sought to undercover dirt on him, including breaking into his psychiatrists. They wee later the people involved in the Watergate break-in.

17-06-2023, 12:59 PM
Daniel Ellsberg passed,92.

He was possibly the biggest whistleblower in history, before the age of the internet. He leaked the 7,000 pages of a US government report showing that successive administrations had escalated the conflict in Vietnam over a 20-year period despite knowing the war was almost certainly unwinnable. The Americans lost 58,000 personnel in Vietnam, the Vietnamese lost 2 million civilians and around 1.3 million combatabts, from both sides in total.

Then-president Richard Nixon tried to discredit him and a team of 'fixers' sought to undercover dirt on him, including breaking into his psychiatrists. They wee later the people involved in the Watergate break-in.

Yeah, saw that.

Coincidentally, watched The White House Plumbers this week on Netflix. A big part of that was the botched burglary of the psychiatrist's.

On the back of that, just bought All The President's Men, which I first read when I was a teenager. Was an eye-opener then, and I'm wondering how I'll see it as a cynical senior.:cb

17-06-2023, 03:27 PM
Yeah, saw that.

Coincidentally, watched The White House Plumbers this week on Netflix. A big part of that was the botched burglary of the psychiatrist's.

On the back of that, just bought All The President's Men, which I first read when I was a teenager. Was an eye-opener then, and I'm wondering how I'll see it as a cynical senior.:cb

I've been watching Plumbers, quite enjoying it. I did worry slightly that the dark comedy might diminish the egregious criminality that went on, for younger viewers, hopefully not.

We watched The Post (movie) an few weeks ago, although it was released about five years ago. It centres on the Pentagon Papers. IF you've not seen it, it is worth a watch. Tom Hanks has one of the lead roles, so you get the production values of a Tom Hanks movie but you also get a Tom Hanks movie. :greengrin

I hope ATPM still holds up. I remember borrowing it from the local library round about S1 and borrowing it again and again, I loved it and was a bit blown awat by it. The film is magnificent as well, one of those that I will watch every so often. There's some great cinematography in it too - the shot where the camera pulls up and away from Redford and Hoffman in the Library of Congress is classic 70s camerawork, very Kubrick in nature.

26-06-2023, 12:15 PM
Hearing news that Craig Brown has passed. Fantastic career playing and managing. Not everyone's cup of tea but a legend.

30-06-2023, 06:49 PM
Alan Arkin.

EH6 Hibby
01-07-2023, 01:12 AM
Alan Arkin.

Loved him in Little Miss Sunshine.

01-07-2023, 06:38 PM
Alan Arkin.

Loved him in Little Miss Sunshine.

He was a fantastic actor, and that's the one that really sticks in my mind.

I realise his role in it was pretty minor, but I'd really recommend watching ''So I married an Axe Murderer. The film itself is really good but the best, and funniest, scenes were the interaction between Alan Arkin and Anthony LaPaglia

12-07-2023, 11:49 AM
Maybe not so much ‘celebrity’ as ‘notable’, but Milan Kundera has passed, at 94.

He is probably best-known on these shores for writing ‘The Unbearable Lightness of Being’, which was made into a successful and critically-acclaimed film with Daniel Day-Lewis and Juliette Binoche.

Kundera hated the movie and I think refused to give permission for his work to ever be adapted for the cinema again. Personal view, I don’t think it is a terrible adaptation but it must be difficult having others play about with something as personal as your writing.

He wrote other works of course, and poetry and drama. His first novel, ‘The Joke’ was my favourite of his. He wrote in a particular and resonant style - using magical realism to confront or come to terms with the reality of Communism, much in the way that other European writers like Saramago and Gunter Grass had done in relation to fascism.

No doubt Unbearable Lightness will get an airing on Channel 4 or BBC2 or the like, over the coming days. I was thinking about how long ago it was that I read the book or saw the film and then recalled they were released in the mid-eighties or thereabout!

i

16-07-2023, 01:31 PM
Jane Birkin.

He's here!
21-07-2023, 02:59 PM
Tony Bennett.

Probably merits a thread of his own.

Sloop67
23-07-2023, 05:32 PM
Vince Hill

Coventry-born Edelweiss singer Vince Hill dies at 89 https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-coventry-warwickshire-66282835

23-07-2023, 06:22 PM
Tony Bennett.

Probably merits a thread of his own.

Best of all the crooners (and Im a big fan of Frank Sinatra). .. "for the good life" ... sheer class.

24-07-2023, 11:09 AM
BBC presenter George Alagiah.

24-07-2023, 01:42 PM
Trevor Francis

24-07-2023, 01:45 PM
Trevor Francis

First ever strip I had with a name on the back, yellow Adidas Forest away top, 10 Francis. RIP.

24-07-2023, 05:00 PM
Trevor Francis

1st million pound player if I remember correctly. I've never really followed English football but that Forest team was something else. RIP Trevor.

24-07-2023, 05:03 PM
BBC presenter George Alagiah.

He was a brilliant reporter and journalist, particularly before he got behind the desk in his later career.

Some of his writings on the Indian subcontinent and Africa are well worth a read.

25-07-2023, 06:39 AM
Ex footballer Chris Bart Williams aged 49, bad day for Nottingham Forest. 😢

26-07-2023, 05:59 PM
Shocking news.

Sinéad O’Connor

26-07-2023, 06:09 PM
Shocking news.

Sinéad O’Connor

Terrible news.

The world is a poorer place without her. A huge advocate for abused children and those living with, and dying from, AIDS at a time when it was far harder to be so in Ireland and beyond.

26-07-2023, 06:16 PM
Shocking news.

Sinéad O’Connor

Awful, just heard it on the news.

Just got back into some of her stuff recently as well. What a talent.

He's here!
26-07-2023, 06:19 PM
Irish singer Sinéad O'Connor dies aged 56 - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-66318626)

26-07-2023, 08:26 PM
Shocking news.

Sinéad O’Connor

only 56 as well

26-07-2023, 08:39 PM
Shocking news.

Sinéad O’Connor

Sadly, probably not a shock to many.

Just been listening to a song she did with the Afro Celts 20-ish years ago. It includes these lines:-

Don't argue amongst yourselves
Because of the loss of me
I haven't gone anywhere
But out of my body
Reach out and you'll touch me
Make effort to speak to me
Call out and you'll hear me
Be happy for me

26-07-2023, 08:46 PM
Such a voice

https://youtu.be/s8oqKyVW978

Donegal Hibby
26-07-2023, 08:57 PM
Sad news . She had such a amazing voice .
https://youtu.be/1Bay_ND-0M8

26-07-2023, 10:06 PM
I saw INXS at the Playhouse and all we spoke about on the way home was Sinead's voice (support obviously).

Totally blew me away. Watched a great documentary about her a few months back. What a very strong woman she was.

27-07-2023, 07:40 AM
She had a strange dilemma in that being a essentially a protest singer who became popular as a pop star and the more popular she got it brought more things to her life that she did not want. The word icon is often loosely thrown around, but it certainly applied to this girl.

27-07-2023, 02:13 PM
The news about Sinead O'Connor is very sad.

She received very little support (actually, none) from the music industry when she was basically 'cancelled' because of her protest about the cover up of mass child abuse in the Catholic Church.

https://apnews.com/article/sinead-oconnor-pope-protest-catholic-sex-abuse-8af35094040975393b1be177cdf3a437

28-07-2023, 04:40 AM
Randy Meisner of The Eagles. Wrote and sang lead on Take It To The Limit. Always liked that song.

28-07-2023, 09:01 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DtCV2vmhkWw&t=149s

One of the best scenes of TV I've ever seen. Chills.

28-07-2023, 10:26 AM
Randy Meisner of The Eagles. Wrote and sang lead on Take It To The Limit. Always liked that song.

Great band and that was my favourite song.

30-07-2023, 12:25 AM
Inga Swenson , 90

some will remember her as Gretchen the cook from the comedy Soap and spin off Benson

heck of a coincidence for me as i just started watching some episodes of Soap a few weeks back

31-07-2023, 05:35 PM
Adrian Street

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-66361848

31-07-2023, 05:47 PM
Adrian Street

I'm sure Street briefly worked as a costume designer for WWF/WWE in the 90s. He was one of those guys who was respected by fellow wrestlers for his work and always found work easy to come by across the territories before the emergence of WWF and WCW as the big two.

When guys like Drew McIntyre, Triple H, William Regal and Brian Heffron are praising his influence on pro wrestling then it suggests he was important.

31-07-2023, 07:30 PM
Paul Reubens aka Pee Wee Herman, I used to love his films and shows as a kid, even adored his Netflix film a few years back too

31-07-2023, 08:00 PM
Paul Reubens aka Pee Wee Herman, I used to love his films and shows as a kid, even adored his Netflix film a few years back too

Didn't realise he was only 70, bit of a strange character by all accounts

02-08-2023, 03:13 PM
Robbie Shepherd

03-08-2023, 12:24 PM
Composer and conductor Carl Davis.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/bafta-cbe-ian-mckellen-john-hurt-french-b2386958.html

04-08-2023, 10:18 PM
Mark Margolis, 83

had parts in Breaking bad and Better call Saul

Breaking Bad actor Mark Margolis dies aged 83 | Breaking Bad | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2023/aug/04/mark-margolis-dead-breaking-bad-better-caul-saul)

patch1875
09-08-2023, 04:35 PM
Jamie Reid

Artist known for all the work for the Pistols.

09-08-2023, 05:31 PM
Jamie Reid

Also designed the logo for, and was an early member of, the Afro Celt Sound System.

09-08-2023, 09:00 PM
Robbie Robertson. The Band.

https://youtu.be/4KP9PNSUME4

09-08-2023, 09:13 PM
Jamie Reid

He’s just recently provided some street art up in Aberdeen. Sad day.

09-08-2023, 09:17 PM
Robbie Robertson. The Band.

https://youtu.be/4KP9PNSUME4

Aw no, loved The Band, The Last Waltz is surely one of the best live concert films ever made.

09-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Aw no, loved The Band, The Last Waltz is surely one of the best live concert films ever made.

10-08-2023, 08:37 AM

There are so many brilliant versions of The Weight out there. It's just one of those songs. The one in the film (with the Staple Singers) was the first one I'd heard.... and it's still my favourite.

Curried
12-08-2023, 07:02 AM
So sad to hear of the passing of the Died Pretty front-man. RIP Ron Pino. Many a fun night shared.

https://youtu.be/07oZHDgPiqo

12-08-2023, 03:53 PM

There are so many brilliant versions of The Weight out there. It's just one of those songs. The one in the film (with the Staple Singers) was the first one I'd heard.... and it's still my favourite.Genuinely, when I heard that first time I "saw God".

Stairway 2 7
12-08-2023, 04:09 PM
Don't think Sixto Rodriguez has been put up. Searching for Sugarman is one of the best music documentaries I've seen. Good man and musician

17-08-2023, 09:16 AM
Michael Parkinson. Damn shame, grew up watching him on tv.

AltheHibby
17-08-2023, 09:53 AM
Adrian Street

I had the pleasure of meeting him at the Eldorado in Leith when I was a kid. He was an absolute gentleman outside the ring and helped me get the other wrestlers' autographs.

17-08-2023, 01:34 PM
Michael Parkinson. Damn shame, grew up watching him on tv.

It is a shame. One of the positives if one can take any is that it should see a lot of his material reshown.

I think his strength was in enabling others to shine in the interview format. He is of course well known for Ali and Billy Connnolly, and maybe Peter Kay in later years but some of his seventies stuff with the likes of Peter Ustinov or stuff with Brian Blessed is timeless.

17-08-2023, 02:17 PM
It is a shame. One of the positives if one can take any is that it should see a lot of his material reshown.

I think his strength was in enabling others to shine in the interview format. He is of course well known for Ali and Billy Connnolly, and maybe Peter Kay in later years but some of his seventies stuff with the likes of Peter Ustinov or stuff with Brian Blessed is timeless.The Robert Mitchum interview was priceless.

https://youtu.be/kW6ZkHgsTFM

17-08-2023, 02:28 PM
Just saw this re-Parkinson too.

https://twitter.com/Mr_Dave_Haslam/status/1692167314467430681?t=o4fK4j_dAjc7WzX2c-i-Bg&s=19

He's here!
18-08-2023, 08:23 AM
It is a shame. One of the positives if one can take any is that it should see a lot of his material reshown.I think his strength was in enabling others to shine in the interview format. He is of course well known for Ali and Billy Connnolly, and maybe Peter Kay in later years but some of his seventies stuff with the likes of Peter Ustinov or stuff with Brian Blessed is timeless.It's the 70s stuff that sticks with me most, me watching Sportscene as a kid and my parents watching Parkinson. It was a time when movie stars somehow seemed much bigger - and plenty of the guests used to smoke during interviews!

18-08-2023, 07:01 PM
It's the 70s stuff that sticks with me most, me watching Sportscene as a kid and my parents watching Parkinson. It was a time when movie stars somehow seemed much bigger - and plenty of the guests used to smoke during interviews!

The Billy Connolly ones were box office, the Orient express song and then a few years later, parking his bike, were some of TV’s best moment ever

23-08-2023, 09:13 PM
Terry Funk.

Wrestling fans of a certain vintage will know he was one of the best ever to do it.

24-08-2023, 11:25 AM
Terry Funk.

Wrestling fans of a certain vintage will know he was one of the best ever to do it.

With the stuff he got up to it's amazing he lived til 79

25-08-2023, 04:46 PM
Bernie Marsden has died, he was a founding member of Whitesnake and a pretty awesome guitarist and by all accounts a really decent human.

25-08-2023, 05:00 PM
Terry Funk.

Bray Wyatt at 36 years old too.

02-09-2023, 01:25 AM
former Harrods boss Mohamed Al Fayed, 94

02-09-2023, 11:58 AM
Singer Songwriter Jimmy Buffett, 76

02-09-2023, 01:03 PM
former Harrods boss Mohamed Al Fayed, 94

One day before the anniversary of his son's death.

05-09-2023, 11:23 AM
The Dream Weaver himself, Gary Wright, at the age of 80.

06-09-2023, 02:48 PM
Runrig singer Bruce Guthro, only 62 Runrig singer Bruce Guthro dies aged 62, former bandmate announces | The National (https://www.thenational.scot/news/23772120.runrig-singer-bruce-guthro-dies-aged-62-former-bandmate-announces/?fbclid=IwAR17pwZHVy3suCNJv2BQdlIRLI6qfhQ64RfoFCDy 77zKBNLNrJ_acduv9yw#comments-anchor)

Bridge hibs
06-09-2023, 06:39 PM
Runrig singer Bruce Guthro, only 62 Runrig singer Bruce Guthro dies aged 62, former bandmate announces | The National (https://www.thenational.scot/news/23772120.runrig-singer-bruce-guthro-dies-aged-62-former-bandmate-announces/?fbclid=IwAR17pwZHVy3suCNJv2BQdlIRLI6qfhQ64RfoFCDy 77zKBNLNrJ_acduv9yw#comments-anchor)Wow, loved Guthro and Runrig, such a great voice and frontman ☹️

07-09-2023, 02:41 PM
John Cairney.

alhibby
08-09-2023, 09:22 PM
Mike Yarwood, aged 82

He's here!
09-09-2023, 09:21 AM
Mike Yarwood, aged 82

One of those people who for some reason I thought had already passed away (like Mohamed Al Fayed).

Yarwood was, like Parknson (and Bruce Forsyth's Generation Game) a Saturday night staple in our house when I was a kid.

11-09-2023, 12:33 PM
Sir Ian Wilmut

11-09-2023, 12:54 PM
One of those people who for some reason I thought had already passed away (like Mohamed Al Fayed).

Yarwood was, like Parknson (and Bruce Forsyth's Generation Game) a Saturday night staple in our house whe I was a kid.

He paved the way for Rory Bremner and Spitting Image by taking aim at politicians.

11-09-2023, 08:46 PM
Joe Fagin, best known as the singer of Auf Wiedersehen Pet theme tune.

12-09-2023, 06:09 PM
John Cairney.

A familiar face on tv in the sixties. Of all the Scots actors who tried to capture the Burns role he came closest, being dark and with an eye for the ladies.

13-09-2023, 12:35 PM
Jean Boht of Bread fame.

18-09-2023, 08:21 PM
Roger Whittaker has finally left old Durham Town.

speedy_gonzales
25-09-2023, 11:16 PM
David McCallum, famous for many acting roles including Kuryakin in "Man from U.N.C.L.E".
Enjoyed watching him in Sapphire & Steel and of course NCIS.

25-09-2023, 11:21 PM
David McCallum, famous for many acting roles including Kuryakin in "Man from U.N.C.L.E".
Enjoyed watching him in Sapphire & Steel and of course NCIS.Iconic actor.

Must have made a wad from this side hustle..

https://youtu.be/G9jHiifI74Q?si=Hbk7MVhkR4f9sP4u

26-09-2023, 05:22 PM
Talented guy McCallum. In the sixties he was like the fifth Beatle.

EH6 Hibby
28-09-2023, 11:43 AM
Michael Gambon 82.

28-09-2023, 01:20 PM
Michael Gambon 82.

Once took a girl to see The Cook, The Thief, His wife etc.... , don't think she appreciated my taste in arthouse cinema

01-10-2023, 12:07 PM
Jake Abraham, good Scouse actor known for Lock Stock and GBH amongst others.

01-10-2023, 08:24 PM
Jake Abraham, good Scouse actor known for Lock Stock and GBH amongst others.

Prostate cancer at 56. That's a scary thought.

02-10-2023, 04:01 PM
Francis Lee.

13-10-2023, 12:01 AM
Rudolph Isley passed, at the age of 84.

One of the original Isley Brothers, a group who enjoyed huge success. firstly on Motown and then incorporating funk, gospel and some strong social conscience lyrics in the seventies. Rudy left the music side to become a pastor but their music remains as vibrant as ever.

Two of their bigger songs here, the first is a personal favourite, the second perhaps the one that they are most widely-known for.

https://youtu.be/8g6Ov67VDQM?si=y00DY3MlmJ_5MaEU

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=U_9M6kRfJes

14-10-2023, 06:42 PM
Rudolph Isley passed, at the age of 84.

One of the original Isley Brothers, a group who enjoyed huge success. firstly on Motown and then incorporating funk, gospel and some strong social conscience lyrics in the seventies. Rudy left the music side to become a pastor but their music remains as vibrant as ever.

Two of their bigger songs here, the first is a personal favourite, the second perhaps the one that they are most widely-known for.

https://youtu.be/8g6Ov67VDQM?si=y00DY3MlmJ_5MaEU

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=U_9M6kRfJes

I also didn’t realise until yesterday that they did the originals of Twist and Shout (Beatles) and Shout (Lulu). Great band who covered a range of musical genres across the years 🙌

15-10-2023, 03:08 PM
Actress Piper Laurie. Twin Peaks and a decent cameo in one if my favourite Frasier episodes - among many other things.

15-10-2023, 06:17 PM
I also didn’t realise until yesterday that they did the originals of Twist and Shout (Beatles) and Shout (Lulu). Great band who covered a range of musical genres across the years 🙌

‘Caravan of Love’ by the Housemartins is another less obvious hit that is a cover of theirs.

Some noticeable lifting of hooks by generations that followed too - Kendrick Lamar, Jay Z, Tupac, Nas, Public Enemy are just a few of those who have borrowed from the Isley Brothers.

17-10-2023, 10:54 AM
Ivor Robson, 'Voice of The Open'.

18-10-2023, 07:51 PM
Another musical loss from the generation that came to the fore in the 1960s, Carla Bley just passed at the age of 87. It's very hard to define her by a style, she was extraordinarily prolific in many forms, but for music buffs who know the ECM label, they will know of her long association with it

She was a talented writer and arranger in the funny space between jazz and rock. Works like "Escalator over the Hill" were like a mash-ip of Miles Davis, Kurt Weill, Joni Mitchell and Jefferson Airplane, passed through blotting paper soaked in acid. She also was heavily involved in the Liberation Music Orchestra, especially after Charlie Hadens death.

Funny the things you never knew - I don't think I was aware that she wrote practically all of Nick Mason's debut solo album. Just another accomplishment by a hugely accomplished talent.

19-10-2023, 08:16 AM
Burt Young, Paulie from the Rocky movies

20-10-2023, 02:52 PM
Haydn Gwynne star of Drop the Dead Donkey, The Windsors has died age 66 of cancer

Also just found out the Tony Husband died on Wednesday, cartoonist for Private Eye and many other publications. Quite shocked at this one, he posted his last tweet on Wednesday, collapsed with a heart attack later whilst on Westminster Bridge, going to a Private Eye party. One of the good guys and a campaigner for dementia sufferers.

20-10-2023, 03:08 PM
Haydn Gwynne star of Drop the Dead Donkey, The Windsors has died age 66 of cancer

Also just found out the Tony Husband died on Wednesday, cartoonist for Private Eye and many other publications. Quite shocked at this one, he posted his last tweet on Wednesday, collapsed with a heart attack later whilst on Westminster Bridge, going to a Private Eye party. One of the good guys and a campaigner for dementia sufferers.

She was my favourite in The Windsors. They announced earlier this year that a series 4 had been commissioned. Not sure what they'll do with that now.

Sloop67
21-10-2023, 03:11 PM
Sir Bobby Charlton
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/62989801

Sloop67
23-10-2023, 05:21 PM
Bishan Bedi
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-59047519

24-10-2023, 03:42 AM
Bishan Bedi
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-59047519

Oh dear. He was a Sikh and a leftie spinner. Familiar figure when cricket was a proper game.

24-10-2023, 04:11 PM
Bill Kenwright (producer and Chairman of Everton)

24-10-2023, 04:22 PM
Bill Kenwright (producer and Chairman of Everton)

Huge Toffees fan not universally popular recently. RIP.

24-10-2023, 04:26 PM
My mate is a huge Toffes fan, hates Kenwright and feels he's to blame for the last 10 years at least.

speedy_gonzales
25-10-2023, 03:04 AM
Shaft, John Shaft!
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-67191245

25-10-2023, 10:06 AM
My mate is a huge Toffes fan, hates Kenwright and feels he's to blame for the last 10 years at least.

Lots of my mates are huge toffee fans too, they could never hate him, they disagree with a lot of what he done and said but they remember how he led the club after Peter Johnson almost ruined it and the massive part he played in the club throughout his time.

25-10-2023, 02:37 PM
Lots of my mates are huge toffee fans too, they could never hate him, they disagree with a lot of what he done and said but they remember how he led the club after Peter Johnson almost ruined it and the massive part he played in the club throughout his time.

Possibly hate was a tad strong, I know he disagreed a lot with Kenwright and wanted him out the club for quite a while now.

26-10-2023, 10:38 PM
Shaft, John Shaft!
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-67191245

A nice pictorial collection of his film work here (https://www.theguardian.com/film/gallery/2023/oct/25/shaft-richard-roundtree-dies-a-life-in-pictures)

Willis1875
29-10-2023, 12:41 AM
Matthew Perry dead at 54 from Drowning apparently 🥲
Played the character Chandler Bing brilliantly,bit gutted about this one

EH6 Hibby
29-10-2023, 01:31 AM

Really hoped it was a hoax when I read it. So sad about this. Friends is my all time favourite program. My son who born a few months after the last episode aired also loves it, he watches it on repeat constantly. Quite something that almost 20 years after it finished, it’s still a hugely popular show.

He's here!
29-10-2023, 06:49 AM

Very sad news. He led an awfully troubled life for many years.

29-10-2023, 07:25 AM

He didn't look at all well in the last thing they did when the Friends cast got back together. It seems that being successful has been his downfall. Real shame when anyone goes "before " their time.

29-10-2023, 07:43 AM
Properly sad about this one. I grew up with Friends and still love it to this day.

29-10-2023, 07:46 AM
Properly sad about this one. I grew up with Friends and still love it to this day.

Same. Really sad to hear this news.

29-10-2023, 08:45 AM
Really sad to hear of Mathew Perry's death, we all know he had his demons but he with Matt LeBlanc were my 2 favourite characters in Friends and the two I could relate to.

29-10-2023, 09:41 AM

I was just reading an interview with him from a few years back and I hadn't realised he'd struggled so badly with the ensuing fame from Friends, and from the stress of making the shows.

He apparently had endless number of people shouting 'hey Chandler' at him in the street and he absolutely detested it.

29-10-2023, 12:47 PM
I was just reading an interview with him from a few years back and I hadn't realised he'd struggled so badly with the ensuing fame from Friends, and from the stress of making the shows.

He apparently had endless number of people shouting 'hey Chandler' at him in the street and he absolutely detested it.

He was so out of it that he doesn’t remember filming series 3-6.

29-10-2023, 02:20 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2023/oct/29/alcoholic-troubled-life-matthew-perry-addicted-substance

This is a sad read.

29-10-2023, 10:27 PM
Perhaps not a celebrity but someone I had a lot of time for, sadly James Doleman, Scottish journalist, has died. I didn't know him personally but we had some interactions on twitter. I'm sorry to see him gone.

29-10-2023, 11:54 PM
such a shame re Matthew Perry i still watch a couple of Friends episodes once or twice a week, i've probably watched every episode so many times i could play each part in any given episode. :(

30-10-2023, 11:03 AM
Perhaps not a celebrity but someone I had a lot of time for, sadly James Doleman, Scottish journalist, has died. I didn't know him personally but we had some interactions on twitter. I'm sorry to see him gone.

James done a short piece in the Byline Times last month about his diagnosis (He has been living with treatable cancer since 2013, this was about the change of diagnosis to terminal cancer). I have always enjoyed his work and have followed him on Twitter for a good few years now,I am sure most would know him from his court reporting on the various cases the rangers were going through a few years back.. Sad news that he has died

30-10-2023, 02:19 PM

Really sorry to hear this. Will miss his court reporting - and more recently, his hospital dinner updates. Sad loss.

11-11-2023, 04:53 PM
Colin Mackay

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-67386246

20-11-2023, 02:58 PM
Joss Ackland

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-67469247

Sloop67
21-11-2023, 06:05 PM
Annabel Giles

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2023/nov/21/tv-presenter-and-actor-annabel-giles-dies-aged-64

21-11-2023, 07:36 PM
Annabel Giles

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2023/nov/21/tv-presenter-and-actor-annabel-giles-dies-aged-64What an awful thing to happen. Only 64.

21-11-2023, 09:02 PM
Just seen the pictures of Shane Macgowan, don't think he'll be around for much longer 😬

26-11-2023, 11:30 AM
Terry Venables

27-11-2023, 07:38 PM
Killing Joke guitarist Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker

28-11-2023, 04:56 AM
Just seen the pictures of Shane Macgowan, don't think he'll be around for much longer 😬

But his teeth go marching on.

ErinGoBraghHFC
28-11-2023, 08:05 AM
Just seen the pictures of Shane Macgowan, don't think he'll be around for much longer [emoji51]

If anyone can survive a brain infection, it’s Shane MacGowan. He’ll be grand.

Edit: I hope. Get well soon Shane.

29-11-2023, 02:16 PM
Benidorm legend "Sticky Vicky" passed away this morning