View Full Version : This week's celebrity death

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

30-11-2023, 02:02 AM
Henry Kissinger. I can't be the only person who's astonished he wasn't dead yet :dunno:

30-11-2023, 07:31 AM
Dean Sullivan aka Jimmy Corkhill from Brookside.

30-11-2023, 10:30 AM
Henry Kissinger. I can't be the only person who's astonished he wasn't dead yet :dunno:

I was surprised a bit, must be one of the last of that era of American politics

30-11-2023, 11:04 AM
Shane MacGowan RIP

30-11-2023, 11:28 AM
Shane MacGowan RIP

The Pogues are already odds on favourite for Xmas no.1.

30-11-2023, 11:40 AM
Shane MacGowan RIP

Gutted by this one.

Saw the Pogues live on a fair few occasions.

One of the great songwriters and an incredible frontman. The raw anger displayed by him singing the 'Birmingham Six' is something to behold.

Bridge hibs
30-11-2023, 11:43 AM
Gutted by this one.

Saw the Pogues live on a fair few occasions.

One of the great songwriters and an incredible frontman.

****, gutted at that too 🥲

Stairway 2 7
30-11-2023, 11:50 AM
Alistair Darling

30-11-2023, 11:52 AM
Shane MacGowan RIP

Sad but tbh surprised with his lifestyle he lasted as long as he did.

RIP Shane, a true one off.

Sloop67
30-11-2023, 05:02 PM
Dean Sullivan/ Jimmy Corkhill , One of my favourite soap characters

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-67575906

30-11-2023, 07:10 PM
Benidorm legend "Sticky Vicky" passed away this morning

That's the most devastating news of today.

Donegal Hibby
30-11-2023, 07:24 PM
When I first started going out to the local bar with my mates here it had a old style jukebox . Fri , Sat and sometimes sun nights we'd have some beer ,shoot some pool with the pogues regularly getting played . Very sad news about a wonderful musician .
Shane McGowan Legend.
RIP .

30-11-2023, 07:41 PM
James Douglas-Hamilton.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-67569288

30-11-2023, 09:35 PM
Shane MacGowan RIP

An abiding memory of him and kirsty mccall waltzing to fairy tail of new york in the playhouse. Well she was holding him up. Not a ‘gone too soon’ but a ‘how did you do that’……legend

01-12-2023, 09:22 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GAQVTqlXMAAXT_o?format=jpg&name=medium

01-12-2023, 09:40 AM
James Douglas-Hamilton.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-67569288

A very likeable toff. My MP for years.

Bridge hibs
01-12-2023, 01:38 PM

Gutted, met John a few times and spoke to him at length prior to him going into hospital, such a friendly guy and loved talking about his art

He painted a fantastic piece on the internal ceiling of the Kings Theatre and there is a really good documentary about it amongst others on youtube which are well worth a watch

01-12-2023, 02:01 PM
Gutted, met John a few times and spoke to him at length prior to him going into hospital, such a friendly guy and loved talking about his art

He painted a fantastic piece on the internal ceiling of the Kings Theatre and there is a really good documentary about it amongst others on youtube which are well worth a watch

I met him once, when his first play, Writer's Cramp, was on at the Calton Studios. A pal of mine (Alex Norton) was in the play, as were Bill Paterson and John Bett.

The 5 of us went to Clarinda's on Waterloo Place, and ended up in a drinking game.

I lost. :drunk:

01-12-2023, 02:54 PM
I met him once, when his first play, Writer's Cramp, was on at the Calton Studios. A pal of mine (Alex Norton) was in the play, as were Bill Paterson and John Bett.

The 5 of us went to Clarinda's on Waterloo Place, and ended up in a drinking game.

I lost. :drunk:

Not the most obvious pub to have a drinking game!

01-12-2023, 06:01 PM

Seems like it's my week for the anecdotes :cb

When I was 17, I needed a work permit for going to the US. At that time, the law required people of my age to apply to the Court. So my Dad travelled down to Bow Street Magistrates Court in London for a 2-minute appearance to have the permit granted.

When he came back, he approached Lord James, as he was our MP. He then raised it in Parliament, and was able to get the law changed to something more sensible.

Although I never voted for him, it has always stuck in my mind as a great example of what is arguably the prime duty of an MP, to look after their constituents.

01-12-2023, 06:21 PM
Dean Sullivan/ Jimmy Corkhill , One of my favourite soap characters

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-67575906
Spookily enough the night before I had mentioned to work colleagues about bumping into him in M&S in Stirling of all places a good number of years ago. :bitchy:

01-12-2023, 07:08 PM
Brigit Forsyth (Thelma from Whatever happened to The Likely Lads).

alhibby
01-12-2023, 09:01 PM
Brigit Forsyth (Thelma from Whatever happened to The Likely Lads).Shame, from Edinburgh originally

Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk

01-12-2023, 10:03 PM
Shame, from Edinburgh originally.
Aye, that rings a bell.

02-12-2023, 10:53 AM
Brigit Forsyth (Thelma from Whatever happened to The Likely Lads).

🥺

He's here!
02-12-2023, 12:42 PM

He was our MP for a while too and as you say a very pleasant fella. He had an air of a bygone era about him and was, I think, married to John Buchan's granddaughter.

He's here!
02-12-2023, 12:48 PM
Shane MacGowan RIP

Seeing the Pogues at the Barrowlands at the peak of their mid 80s prowess made you glad to be young and alive. Phenomenal gigs, especially Christmas 87 when Joe Strummer joined them for a couple of Clash songs.

MacGowan was a wonderful lyricist. Many of those songs are just beautiful, poetic pieces of work, but he needed/should have sought help for many, many years. I imagine there was a George Best element to things whereby folk were happy to indulge his addictions as they wanted him to play up to his image.

02-12-2023, 04:04 PM
For those interested, Tom Robinson on 6 Music tomorrow is doing a tribute show for Shane. His one on Sinead was wonderful, so I'm expecting the same :cb

03-12-2023, 04:11 PM
Glenys Kinnock wife of Neil Kinnock dies, 79

03-12-2023, 09:21 PM

RIP Patrick (Pseudonym). Great visual artist, playwright and screenwriter.. Loved his Gerry Rafferty album cover designs. And what about The Slab Boys and Tutti Frutti?

Bridge hibs
04-12-2023, 05:02 AM
RIP Patrick (Pseudonym). Great visual artist, playwright and screenwriter.. Loved his Gerry Rafferty album cover designs. And what about The Slab Boys and Tutti Frutti?

Never watched the Slab Boys Jim, not that I can remember anyway but enjoyed Tutti Frutti when it was aired back in the day

04-12-2023, 07:51 AM
Never watched the Slab Boys Jim, not that I can remember anyway but enjoyed Tutti Frutti when it was aired back in the dayThe Slab Boys is a real treat.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Bridge hibs
04-12-2023, 07:59 AM

This is John proudly showing off his Kings Theatre ceiling artwork 27441

05-12-2023, 04:10 PM
Denny Laine, one of the founders of the Moody Blues, and later worked with McCartney in Wings.

05-12-2023, 04:19 PM
Denny Laine, one of the founders of the Moody Blues, and later worked with McCartney in Wings.

Is it bad taste to say he's gone now?

05-12-2023, 04:38 PM
Is it bad taste to say he's gone now?At least you didn't say that he's now got his Wings.

07-12-2023, 10:31 AM
Benjamin Zephaniah. Really sad to hear that - and kind of surprised to learn he was 65. Seemed younger. He was diagnosed with a brain tumour 2 months ago.

07-12-2023, 10:52 AM
Benjamin Zephaniah. Really sad to hear that - and kind of surprised to learn he was 65. Seemed younger. He was diagnosed with a brain tumour 2 month's ago.

My heart sank when I heard this. A principled man, a poet and great writer. Turned down an OBE, "I have been fighting against empire all my life, why would I accept an honour that puts that word with my name?"

07-12-2023, 11:17 AM
Benjamin Zephaniah. Really sad to hear that - and kind of surprised to learn he was 65. Seemed younger. He was diagnosed with a brain tumour 2 months ago.

Really sad news. Cultural icon is a befitting description. Always spoke and talked with passion and conviction. Loved Aston Villa too. Will be much missed

alhibby
08-12-2023, 09:54 PM
Actor Ryan O'neill aged 82 (age surprised me)

Sloop67
08-12-2023, 11:13 PM
Actor Ryan O'neill aged 82 (age surprised me)

Jeezo , I'd never have guessed he was that age . The grim reaper seems to be working hard lately

Stairway 2 7
09-12-2023, 07:43 AM
Really sad news. Cultural icon is a befitting description. Always spoke and talked with passion and conviction. Loved Aston Villa too. Will be much missed

Talking about his club
https://youtu.be/DnraKuh4FH4?si=6wkuBtycknO2HwJw

And his ode to villa
https://youtu.be/9YVOHu8qYSo?si=eSuhfoeHqKAU0Tt0

He couldn't read or right when he produced his first book, a complete genius went onto produced magic. I try not to be political in every thread but it's fitting for him. A child of immigrants talking about his love for the local area and the history of his club, its what makes Britain great. F the tories who want to villainize these people striving for a better life.

09-12-2023, 03:36 PM
Ryan O'Neal and daughter were unforgettable in Paper Moon, a very stylish and poignant comedy.
They both had big drug problems later on. I think he was a bit lazy as an actor and relied on his looks too much.

11-12-2023, 07:57 PM
Actress Shirley Anne Field, 87

played opposite Michael Caine in the film Alfie

The Bill, Murder She Wrote, Last of the summer wine, Upstairs, Downstairs

13-12-2023, 06:25 AM
Andre Braugher - captain Holt from Brooklyn 99 along other things. He was only 61.

13-12-2023, 07:51 AM
Andre Braugher - captain Holt from Brooklyn 99 along other things. He was only 61.

Never watched that but, he was brilliant on Homicide: Life on the street.

Willis1875
13-12-2023, 11:07 AM

Gutted by this,He played the Captain Holt role brilliantly

13-12-2023, 12:02 PM
Only 61, shocking news.

15-12-2023, 02:15 PM
Steve Halliwell(Zak Dingle) 77.

30-12-2023, 04:40 PM
Tom Wilkinson 75,

with more than 130 Film and TV credits to his name

30-12-2023, 04:40 PM
Tom Wilkinson (Gerald in the Full Monty)

31-12-2023, 11:45 AM
John Pilger, journalist, and much more.

Stairway 2 7
31-12-2023, 03:02 PM
John Pilger, journalist, and much more.

Played down verging on defending the evil genocide committed by Milosevic and Assad. Admired him but he was so clouded and went off the rails. In a horseshoe his theories on Putin and the war were similar to Tucker Carlsons

31-12-2023, 04:25 PM
In a horseshoe his theories on Putin and the war were similar to Tucker Carlsons:confused:

31-12-2023, 04:26 PM
Played down verging on defending the evil genocide committed by Milosevic and Assad. Admired him but he was so clouded and went off the rails. In a horseshoe his theories on Putin and the war were similar to Tucker Carlsons
Remind me not to ask you to write my obituary. You're pretty harsh.

Stairway 2 7
31-12-2023, 04:37 PM

Horseshoe theory, some in the far left and right have had similar opinions on Ukraine. George Monbiot has talked about pulling up Russian propaganda when it comes from those we respect

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2022/mar/02/russian-propaganda-anti-imperialist-left-vladimir-putin

I respect lots what Pilger did like his work on the first Australians, Iraq and Cambodia for example. Genocide denials need mentioned though. That wouldn't be on your obituary so it would be ok.

05-01-2024, 01:37 PM
David Soul. Hutch from Starsky & Hutch.

05-01-2024, 01:39 PM

Shame that.

05-01-2024, 01:43 PM
Derek Draper (Kate Garraway's husband), not a celeb per se but, what a nightmare the guy has had since catching COVID (and had to live with it under the eyes of the media), probably a relief for everyone concerned.

05-01-2024, 01:49 PM
Glynis Johns.

Bridge hibs
05-01-2024, 02:56 PM
Derek Draper (Kate Garraway's husband), not a celeb per se but, what a nightmare the guy has had since catching COVID (and had to live with it under the eyes of the media), probably a relief for everyone concerned.

Absolutely, it just shows how devastating covid was and how people were affected differently, he battled and fought as much as he could, such a shame

He's here!
05-01-2024, 03:05 PM

Aw no, that's a sad one for me. Loved Starsky & Hutch as a kid.

05-01-2024, 03:30 PM
Glynis Johns.

She was quite familiar on TV back in the day singing "Send in the Clowns".

05-01-2024, 04:18 PM
She was quite familiar on TV back in the day singing "Send in the Clowns".I remember her as Mrs Banks from Mary Poppins.

06-01-2024, 06:38 PM

I met him once when he was sat next to us at a restaurant in Italy. He was a very pleasant bloke.

06-01-2024, 11:52 PM
I remember her as Mrs Banks from Mary Poppins.

I thought she was old then and that was 1964.

07-01-2024, 10:45 AM
I remember Glynis Johns in Rob Roy with Richard Todd and James Robertson Justice.

Sloop67
07-01-2024, 11:50 AM
Glynis Johns's father ( Meryvn Johns) played Bob Cratchet in the Alister Sim version of A Christmas Carol

08-01-2024, 03:31 PM
Germany, Bayern Munich legend Franz Beckenbauer has died aged 78.

08-01-2024, 07:49 PM
Welsh Rugby Legend JPR Williams just announced on the BBC.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

08-01-2024, 10:03 PM
Germany, Bayern Munich legend Franz Beckenbauer has died aged 78.

Didn’t get to see either play live, but both of these make me feel quite sad, 2 men who profoundly affected their sports in their own ways

Bridge hibs
09-01-2024, 08:48 PM
Singer James Morrisons singer Wife Gillian Catchpole dead at 45, he came home to find she had hanged herself ☹️

10-01-2024, 09:10 AM

With his socks down at his ankles he sort of transcended rugby and football. On the run he could swerve like George Best.

12-01-2024, 12:26 PM
Annie Nightingale, OGWT presenter and DJ.

12-01-2024, 06:15 PM
Annie Nightingale, OGWT presenter and DJ.

Sore one.

I'm old enough to remember before she was "Annie". Plain "Anne" doing her Sunday afternoon show in the 70's on Radio 1, when female DJ's were a curiosity.

HibbyDave
20-01-2024, 07:21 AM
Mary Weiss: lead singer with The Shangrilas

Ask your parents/grandparents😀

20-01-2024, 07:52 AM
Mary Weiss: lead singer with The Shangrilas

Ask your parents/grandparents😀

😢
Leader of the pack 60 years old this year.

23-01-2024, 09:52 PM
Just read Frank Farian mostvgmfamous as the brains behind Boney M has passed away age 82.

25-01-2024, 07:15 AM
Melanie. Loved her voice.

https://youtu.be/RanxIzBac0k?si=BhuHmkCQTIEHP3FA

ACLeith
26-01-2024, 09:57 PM
Melanie. Loved her voice.

https://youtu.be/RanxIzBac0k?si=BhuHmkCQTIEHP3FA

Her voice touched my heart and lifted me up, way back then. Lay Down, the definitive version of Ruby Tuesday, the simplicity of Peace will come, all classics for those of us lucky enough to live through the music of that time.

patch1875
02-02-2024, 06:36 PM
Jonnie Irwin.

Sad news been following him since his diagnosis and he was a really positive guy through it all.

Bridge hibs
02-02-2024, 07:03 PM
Jonnie Irwin.

Sad news been following him since his diagnosis and he was a really positive guy through it all.

Very sad 🥲

02-02-2024, 07:18 PM
Carl Weathers of Rocky fame. 😢

02-02-2024, 08:04 PM
Jonnie Irwin.

Yeah so sad. Seemed like a great lad.

02-02-2024, 09:21 PM
Wayne Kramer MC5.

Keyser Sauzee
03-02-2024, 10:18 AM
Yeah so sad. Seemed like a great lad.

Seen this last night, really surprised even though his well documented illness as he seemed in decent form on instagram last week or so.

04-02-2024, 11:22 AM
Wayne Kramer MC5.Surprised he was still around. Undervalued contribution to the way rawk music travelled in the 70s. From the little footage available they looked awesome live, and they really, really meant it.

04-02-2024, 11:40 AM
Motor City 5 - Live

https://youtu.be/74jS3dW0DtE?si=xhvCTiaEMZYyXdtm

patch1875
04-02-2024, 02:03 PM
Aston ‘Family Man’ Barrett

04-02-2024, 04:22 PM
For someone like me who knows nothing about rugby, the death today of Barry John is a significant sporting name to me

05-02-2024, 11:37 AM
"Stupid boy" Ian Lavender.

05-02-2024, 12:13 PM
And another. Michael Jayston, for me always remembered as Peter Guillam to Alec Guiness' George Smiley.

He's here!
05-02-2024, 01:18 PM

He was so much younger than the rest of the cast that he'd been the last surviving member for quite some time.

05-02-2024, 02:42 PM
And another. Michael Jayston, for me always remembered as Peter Guillam to Alec Guiness' George Smiley.

Always be Raquel's old man to me.

05-02-2024, 03:37 PM
for anyone that may have been into rave in the 90's, Mallorca Lee passed away, front man for the band ultrasonic

decent guy and had the pleasure of deejaying alongside him a few times over the last few years

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/scots-dj-mallorca-lee-shared-32051846

05-02-2024, 08:59 PM
only fools and horses start Michael Jayston, played the father of Raquel in the episode 'time on our hands' 88. the one where Del & Rodney did indeed become Millionaires

06-02-2024, 09:40 AM

Yea seen that, only 77 which is no age nowadays. Seen a meme where he's stading at the gates of heaven abd St Peter asks him his name, Arthur Lowe stands there and says, don't tell him Pike.

06-02-2024, 11:23 AM
Toby Keith 😢

06-02-2024, 12:59 PM
Motor City 5 - Live

https://youtu.be/74jS3dW0DtE?si=xhvCTiaEMZYyXdtm

Kick out the jams mother****er.

That's a classic clip. Brilliant

06-02-2024, 02:10 PM
only fools and horses start Michael Jayston, played the father of Raquel in the episode 'time on our hands' 88. the one where Del & Rodney did indeed become Millionaires

I mentioned that earlier.

06-02-2024, 02:40 PM
Yea seen that, only 77 which is no age nowadays. Seen a meme where he's stading at the gates of heaven abd St Peter asks him his name, Arthur Lowe stands there and says, don't tell him Pike.

Mallorca Lee was 51. Just horrible.

06-02-2024, 03:49 PM
Mallorca Lee was 51. Just horrible.

My wife does a dance radio show every week and knew of him, speaking about it last night, she was quite shocked when she heard.

Donegal Hibby
07-02-2024, 01:44 PM

I was sorry to hear this .One of my favourite shows is Dad's Army . Didn't know he was asked to take a scarf when playing pike and he wore his Villa scarf .
Fine actor ,RIP
https://youtu.be/_YMVPXmaKds?si=qmXqPNbjZHLuA_Ti

10-02-2024, 01:47 PM
Damo Suzuki. A force of nature who had way more influence than is commonly recognised.

Curried
11-02-2024, 02:27 AM
Damo Suzuki. A force of nature who had way more influence than is commonly recognised.

Loved his dancing moves.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LPjF4ZHuIko

12-02-2024, 07:47 AM

Not sure how 77 is 'no age' when the average male life expectancy in this country is 76.5!

12-02-2024, 09:28 AM
Not sure how 77 is 'no age' when the average male life expectancy in this country is 76.5!

UK expectancy is 81 but I see where you're coming from, I just feel 77 nowadays isn't that old with better medical treatments etc, people expect to live older now.

Sloop67
12-02-2024, 05:49 PM
Marathon world record holder Kelvin Kiptum aged 24 , along with his coach died in a road accident on Sunday

13-02-2024, 04:07 PM
Steve Wright BBC Radio presenter.

13-02-2024, 04:13 PM

Just heard that. Quite shocked. He’d lost his regular daily slot but still had his Lovesongs Sunday show and other bits and pieces. AFAIK he was still working till the present.

13-02-2024, 04:19 PM
Just heard that. Quite shocked. He’d lost his regular daily slot but still had his Lovesongs Sunday show and other bits and pieces. AFAIK he was still working till the present.

Yes very shocked.

He was a huge part of my growing up, used to listen every day when he was on radio 1, he apparently recorded a valentines show on Sunday.

13-02-2024, 04:21 PM
Yes very shocked.

He was a huge part of my growing up, used to listen every day when he was on radio 1, he apparently recorded a valentines show on Sunday.

Me too BH, part of my growing up too, afternoons with all his characters, and then a number of years on Sunday Love songs
Absolutely gutted to hear this

13-02-2024, 04:46 PM

Mixing up my 80s stalwarts. Old age got the better of me! :greengrin
Anyway, RIP to Steve. I'm not in touch with today's pop radio - does anyone have anything like the level of reach that Steve Wright and his colleagues did? Genuine question., because I imagine that everyone on here within a certain age bracket will have listened to Steve Wright.

13-02-2024, 05:23 PM
Sorry, but am I missing something here?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcVt67FOZek

13-02-2024, 05:31 PM

Just what I was thinking although I'm not listening to it all!

13-02-2024, 05:41 PM

No - just a bit of nostalgia. It's just a typical episode of Our Tune, with the theme tune. Should probably have just put up the tune vid instead :greengrin. Maybe I'll do that.

And I've just realised I killed the wrong DJ... :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

13-02-2024, 05:50 PM

Only recently took over Pick of the Pops from Paul Gambaccini.

Radio 2 tonight is a bit like the day the Queen died though.

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2024, 01:27 PM
Russian opposition leader Alexi Navalny has died in prison . Brave Man.
https://news.sky.com/story/russian-opposition-politician-and-putin-critic-alexei-navalny-has-died-13072837

number7
16-02-2024, 09:31 PM
Russian opposition leader Alexi Navalny has died in prison . Brave Man.
https://news.sky.com/story/russian-opposition-politician-and-putin-critic-alexei-navalny-has-died-13072837
Nothing atall suspicious about that 🙄

20-02-2024, 09:31 AM
2 football ones.

Ian McMillan, the wee Prime Minister, ex of Rangers, Airdrie and Scotland.

Andreas Brehme, whose penalty won the World Cup for Germany in 1990.

20-02-2024, 12:05 PM
Robin Windsor, 44. Ex of Strictly, going by the social media posts, a really nice fella.

20-02-2024, 02:31 PM
Lenny Love, founder of Sensible Records and Simple Minds former tour manager.

patch1875
20-02-2024, 03:20 PM

Sad news. Great guy not seen him since the brilliant days of Vegas.

Green Man
20-02-2024, 06:27 PM

I was aware of his role in the music scene but I met him in his later vocation as a celebrant when he did my father in law’s funeral. Great guy, he took a lot of time speaking to the family, learning about my father in law and he did a wonderful job of conducting the service. Very sad to hear he’s passed.

20-02-2024, 06:48 PM
2 football ones.

Ian McMillan, the wee Prime Minister, ex of Rangers, Airdrie and Scotland.

Andreas Brehme, whose penalty won the World Cup for Germany in 1990.

The Brehme one is a surprise as he can't be that old. Early 60s maybe.

20-02-2024, 07:20 PM
The Brehme one is a surprise as he can't be that old. Early 60s maybe.

21-02-2024, 08:57 AM
Ewen Macintosh from The Office aged 50.

21-02-2024, 10:44 AM
Ewen Macintosh from The Office aged 50.

Sad news.

I can't think of many characters who had such a small part but were such a huge part of a show. I could still reel off just about all his lines from The Office 20+ years later.

23-02-2024, 10:30 AM
Stuart Organ - the longest serving actor in Grange Hill

John Savident - Fred Elliott in Coronation Street. "I say, I say, Ashley"

24-02-2024, 11:05 PM
Stan Bowles. True maverick.

25-02-2024, 12:56 AM
Stan Bowles. True maverick.Proper maverick too. Mullet, sideburns no shin pads and a tremendous player

28-02-2024, 09:22 PM
Richard Lewis.

29-02-2024, 09:08 AM
Dave Myers one of the Hairy Bikers

29-02-2024, 09:24 AM

So sad, great guy. I thought he was on the mend from his cancer episode. RIP.

29-02-2024, 10:00 AM

Aah that's a shame. I liked their shows and he seemed like a good sort.

29-02-2024, 10:10 AM

That's so sad, seemed like a great guy.

29-02-2024, 10:11 AM

That's sad, I also thought he was fighting it, he's had poor health most of his life though.

29-02-2024, 10:36 AM
Only 66 ffs.

Donegal Hibby
29-02-2024, 10:37 AM

Sad to here this , show I really liked .

01-03-2024, 06:32 AM
So sad, great guy. I thought he was on the mend from his cancer episode. RIP.

When he decided to publicise that he had cancer, he also decided to keep private what kind of cancer he had, because he didn't want to be 'judged'. Bit puzzled by that. I never saw him on the tellybox except for a single appearance on Would I Lie To You, when he seemed a completely regular guy. Had he lived a life full of smoking and drinking, or excess of some other sort? :dunno:

01-03-2024, 07:08 AM
Sad to here this , show I really liked .

The two Hairy Bikers were the perfect antidote to the self centred bullying persona of Gordon Ramsay.

04-03-2024, 07:08 PM
Tony Green, former darts commentator and Jim Bowen’s sidekick on Bullseye.

05-03-2024, 10:50 AM
Tony Green, former darts commentator and Jim Bowen’s sidekick on Bullseye.

He was the voice of darts back in the day, in those smoky, drink fuelled, new year championships at the lakeside.

We are all getting old.

05-03-2024, 01:04 PM
He was the voice of darts back in the day, in those smoky, drink fuelled, new year championships at the lakeside.

We are all getting old.

So true. Tony's dulcet tones were a nice contrast to Sid Waddell's hysteria.

06-03-2024, 12:57 PM
Robert Peston, political broadcaster.

Really? He tweeted 20 minutes ago

06-03-2024, 12:59 PM
Robert Peston, political broadcaster.

Where did you read that? Fake news :greengrin

06-03-2024, 01:00 PM
Where did you read that? Fake news :greengrin

Yes. Apologies. Fake news.

patch1875
06-03-2024, 04:20 PM
Seen a few Peston click bait links recently. Also Zoe Ball has commented on her getting a lot.

Sloop67
07-03-2024, 05:24 PM
BBC Scotland presenter Nick Sheridan aged 32

07-03-2024, 05:26 PM
BBC Scotland presenter Nick Sheridan aged 32

Can't quite come to terms with that, he was only on TV the other day wasn't he? Awful.

Peanut Shaz
07-03-2024, 06:05 PM
Reports saying he collapsed whilst out running. Second time it had happened seemingly. So sad, a very talented journalist, writer and musician.

11-03-2024, 10:00 PM
Kurt Wallinger, formerly of World Party and The Waterboys. Put The Message In The Box, what a great song.

Green Man
12-03-2024, 05:04 PM
Kurt Wallinger, formerly of World Party and The Waterboys. Put The Message In The Box, what a great song.

I loved Is It Like Today? when it came out.

I had no idea that he’d been in the Waterboys, or that he wrote She’s The One which was a hit for Robbie Williams. That explains why it’s one of the few RW songs that I like.

12-03-2024, 06:11 PM
Eric Carmen.

Loved Overnight Sensation (Hit Record) when he was in The Raspberries. Not so much his solo stuff....

Donegal Hibby
12-03-2024, 06:15 PM
Charlie Bird Irish journalist. RIP
https://youtu.be/J5c5qUfw8UY?si=tZ8-g0VinuNbhhmG

12-03-2024, 07:13 PM
Eric Carmen.

Loved Overnight Sensation (Hit Record) when he was in The Raspberries. Not so much his solo stuff....Brings back memories of the 70s.

https://youtu.be/iN9CjAfo5n0?si=KQ_ASMN4ODK2LIQJ

17-03-2024, 10:09 AM
Just reading of the passing of Steve Harley after a short battle with cancer.

17-03-2024, 10:42 AM
Just reading of the passing of Steve Harley after a short battle with cancer.
Very sorry to read this.

25-03-2024, 01:27 PM
Charlie Bird Irish journalist. RIP
https://youtu.be/J5c5qUfw8UY?si=tZ8-g0VinuNbhhmG

Just watched that what an amazing life he led. Just shows you how poorly off we are for quality inspirational and fearless journalists like him.

speedy_gonzales
29-03-2024, 03:34 PM
Louis Gossett Jnr

Memories of a few dodgy action movies in the 80's.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-68693180

30-03-2024, 09:01 AM
Gerry Conway, drummer with Fairport Convention. Also played with many others including Cat Stevens, Al Stewart and Iain Matthews.

30-03-2024, 11:24 AM
Louis Gossett Jnr

Memories of a few dodgy action movies in the 80's.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-68693180

Sad to read this, a gifted man and excellent at what he did

30-03-2024, 12:36 PM
Larry Lloyd ex Liverpool, and Forest stalwart during their glory years.

02-04-2024, 09:04 PM
Ultravox Guitarist Chriss Cross, co-wrote Vienna with Midge Ure

died last week but the news just disclosed last night

09-04-2024, 04:43 PM
Professor Peter Higgs, aged 94.

Used to see him about town doing his shopping, and I'd have liked to congratulate him on his achievement but a) he didn't look like someone who would appreciate attention from randomers while he was buying his dinner and b) I'd have been worried he WOULD appreciate it, and start talking about particle physics, about which I know nothing.

11-04-2024, 02:46 PM
OJ Simpson

16-04-2024, 11:22 AM
Vincent Friell Trainspotting and Still Game actor

16-04-2024, 03:45 PM
Vincent Friell Trainspotting and Still Game actor

And Restless Natives too. Will the Wolf, sad news.

18-04-2024, 10:28 PM
Samantha Burroughs, wife of actor and tv presenter Warwick Davis. A lesser known actress than her very well known spouse.

19-04-2024, 11:58 AM
Dickey Betts, guitarist with the Allman Brothers.

Immortalised by the theme song to Top Gear, but so much more than that.

19-04-2024, 01:00 PM

Brothers and Sisters was one of the first albums I bought with my own money.

19-04-2024, 01:04 PM
Brothers and Sisters was one of the first albums I bought with my own money.

Don't know if you know the band, Safehouse?

They play a lot of Allmans stuff, indeed they have a side-project as an Allmans tribute. They're playing at Stramash tomorrow (as themselves), so the setlist might have a few changes :greengrin

19-04-2024, 01:19 PM

My first memories of people smoking dope at a student party. Ramblin' Man by the Allman Brothers playing in the background to a call of "get that crap off" by a long haired chap with a copy of The Velvet Underground & Nico under his arm.

Have to say it wasnae my scene.

RIP Dickey

Sloop67
20-04-2024, 04:34 AM
Leighton James: Former Wales, Burnley, Swansea and Derby winger dies aged 71 https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51960881

20-04-2024, 06:53 AM
Leighton James: Former Wales, Burnley, Swansea and Derby winger dies aged 71 https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51960881

Remember him in an evening friendly for Swansea at ER absolutely destroying poor old Benny Brazil.

HibbyDave
23-04-2024, 07:57 AM
Gianluca Vialli

23-04-2024, 07:58 AM
Gianluca Vialli

Passed away in January 23.

HibbyDave
24-04-2024, 07:03 AM
Oops…. Was sure I heard it on Radio and there was applause for him at AcMilan v Inter this week.

I’ll re-check what was going on

24-04-2024, 07:37 AM
Oops…. Was sure I heard it on Radio and there was applause for him at AcMilan v Inter this week.

I’ll re-check what was going on

Might have been for this guy.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-13327833/Footballer-Mattia-Giani-drops-dead-taking-shot-goal-Romas-Gianluca-Mancini-paying-tribute-striker-26.html

25-04-2024, 05:04 AM
Gone now. Mike Pinder, last surviving original member of the Moody Blues.

HibbyDave
27-04-2024, 07:26 AM
Might have been for this guy.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-13327833/Footballer-Mattia-Giani-drops-dead-taking-shot-goal-Romas-Gianluca-Mancini-paying-tribute-striker-26.html
Cheers CWG, new hearing aids for me I think😀

27-04-2024, 04:54 PM
Gone now. Mike Pinder, last surviving original member of the Moody Blues.

He also recorded two albums for children, “Planet With One Mind” (1995) and “A People With One Heart” (1996), in which he told stories, accompanied by his musical arrangements.

“We wanted stories that had multilevel meanings,” he told The San Francisco Examiner in 1997, referring to the search for the right picture books that he pursued with his wife, Taralee (Grant) Pinder. “We went through hundreds of books. We were looking through a lot of books that were like, ‘The rabbit went down to the mouse’s house for a cup of tea.’ But we were looking for books like, ‘The rabbit went down to the mouse’s house and discussed the Zen of tea making.’"

30-04-2024, 10:40 AM
Ultravox Guitarist Chriss Cross, co-wrote Vienna with Midge Ure

died last week but the news just disclosed last night

Jeez. Don’t know how I missed this. Very sad news. Chris was the bass player in the band though.

30-04-2024, 11:01 AM
He also recorded two albums for children, “Planet With One Mind” (1995) and “A People With One Heart” (1996), in which he told stories, accompanied by his musical arrangements.
Thank you. Will check them out.

Bridge hibs
30-04-2024, 07:06 PM
Scottish Actor Brian Mcardie aged 59

https://news.sky.com/story/amp/line-of-duty-actor-brian-mccardie-dies-aged-59-13126313

01-05-2024, 06:51 AM
Scottish Actor Brian Mcardie aged 59

https://news.sky.com/story/amp/line-of-duty-actor-brian-mccardie-dies-aged-59-13126313

Just seen this, Line of Duty and many other parts too.

01-05-2024, 11:54 AM
I'd missed the fact Derek Underwood, demon spinner for Kent and England died recently. Seemed to be in the England team all the way through the 70s

01-05-2024, 02:04 PM
I'd missed the fact Derek Underwood, demon spinner for Kent and England died recently. Seemed to be in the England team all the way through the 70s

Underwood was a brilliant bowler with Kent and England his partnership with Allan Knott behind the stumps was brilliant over so many years.

01-05-2024, 08:05 PM
Duane Eddy

https://youtu.be/UMz8XRGxZdY?si=jjkzVNuFNZJ1FU6I

01-05-2024, 11:24 PM
ELO Keyboardist Richard Tandy, 76

gawd i feel older now

02-05-2024, 12:49 PM
singer Christian, 80

performed his last show just last Saturday at Fauldhouse Miners

also sang on the Scotland World Cup song we have a dream

02-05-2024, 01:00 PM
singer Christian, 80

That's a shame. I worked a lot with his Uncle (Bruce McClure) when I was young.

02-05-2024, 06:25 PM
singer Christian, 80

Sorry to hear this but jeez didn't realise he was 80, how the years fly by.

02-05-2024, 08:13 PM
Peter Oosterhuis, pro golfer and commentator, age 76.

03-05-2024, 04:45 AM

In the days of sticky wickets Derek could run through any side pretty quickly.

04-05-2024, 10:56 AM
Not a death as such, but still something to mourn.

http://https://www.itv.com/news/2024-05-04/hall-and-oates-confirm-split-following-ongoing-legal-dispute

They've gone. I'd pay the devil to replace them.

alhibby
05-05-2024, 02:05 PM
Sadly Bernard Hill has passed, good old Yosser Hughes among others

Sloop67
05-05-2024, 02:05 PM
Bernard ( Yosser Hughes ) Hill. R.I.P. aged 79

Donegal Hibby
05-05-2024, 04:23 PM
Sadly Bernard Hill has passed, good old Yosser Hughes among others

Sorry to hear this , only watched ' restless natives ' the other night . Fine Actor . RIP .

08-05-2024, 05:15 PM
Steve Albini.

Probably best known as a producer these days, but I absolutely loved his band Shellac.

https://www.theguardian.com/music/article/2024/may/08/steve-albini-us-alt-rock-musician-and-producer-dies-aged-61

08-05-2024, 05:35 PM
Steve Albini.

Probably best known as a producer these days, but I absolutely loved his band Shellac.

https://www.theguardian.com/music/article/2024/may/08/steve-albini-us-alt-rock-musician-and-producer-dies-aged-61

Producer of the rather wonderful Seamonsters for the Wedding Present. I’ll give that a spin tonight.

bringbackbenny
08-05-2024, 10:07 PM
Steve Albini.

Wow that's unexpected 😔 - what a legacy, both of his own music and inspiring production. Pixies, Nirvana, the Wedding Present and many more

14-05-2024, 07:45 AM
David Sanborn, sax player extraordinaire.

14-05-2024, 08:36 AM
David Sanborn, sax player extraordinaire.
Sad. Another Woodstock performer gone.

14-05-2024, 10:17 PM
Supergran Gudrun Ure at age 98

20-05-2024, 11:05 AM
Frank Ifield.

I remember him.

21-05-2024, 08:55 AM
Frank Ifield.

I remember him.

My wife said the same thing, I told her I do the crappy dad jokes.😁

21-05-2024, 01:01 PM
My wife said the same thing, I told her I do the crappy dad jokes.😁

alhibby
22-05-2024, 03:51 PM
Swimmer David Wilkie, sadly passed aged 70

Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk

22-05-2024, 04:04 PM
Swimmer David Wilkie, sadly passed aged 70

Sent from my SM-G988B using TapatalkJust reading about that. Quite a shock.

24-05-2024, 07:04 PM
Morgan Spurlock of Supersize Me fame.

Sloop67
02-06-2024, 05:30 PM
Rob Burrow, R.I.P.

Bridge hibs
02-06-2024, 05:44 PM
Rob Burrow, R.I.P.

Very sad, another lost to MND 😢

02-06-2024, 06:30 PM
Very sad, another lost to MND 😢

41. So sad

03-06-2024, 07:54 AM
Colin Gibb has died.
Done my daughter's 18th birthday in Tenerife. Proper legend.
RIP.

07-06-2024, 01:09 PM
Glan Letheren, who played in goals for Leeds in 73 (?) when they beat us on penalties at ER.

Sloop67
11-06-2024, 06:44 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c06618ln7xlo

Arthur "Gaps" Hendrickson from The Selector

HibbyDave
11-06-2024, 08:42 PM
Dr Michael Mosley.
Amazing man who helped so many cope with diabetes etc.

11-06-2024, 09:41 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c06618ln7xlo

Arthur "Gaps" Hendrickson from The Selector

Had been battling cancer. 2 Tone legend and will be sadly missed.

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 11:57 AM
Sorry to hear of the sad passing of ex Arsenal and Everton striker Kevin Campbell at the age of 54 .
Very good player .RIP .

Bridge hibs
15-06-2024, 12:14 PM
Sorry to hear of the sad passing of ex Arsenal and Everton striker Kevin Campbell at the age of 54 .
Very good player .RIP .Millwall keeper too

Millwall star dead at 26: Matija Sarkic tragically passes away after falling ill as tributes pour in for the goalkeeper

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 02:51 PM
Millwall keeper too

Millwall star dead at 26: Matija Sarkic tragically passes away after falling ill as tributes pour in for the goalkeeper

Just seen that now too , didn't realise he had been at Livvy on loan . Awfully sad news as well.

18-06-2024, 07:45 PM
Professor Noam Chomsky. Aged 95.

18-06-2024, 08:13 PM
Billy Abercrombie of 80s St Mirren fame.

18-06-2024, 08:23 PM
Billy Abercrombie of 80s St Mirren fame.

That’s sad, part of a very good St Mirren side and a Scottish Cup winner with them.

18-06-2024, 10:01 PM
Professor Noam Chomsky. Aged 95.

Seriously ill but still alive according to his wife.

18-06-2024, 10:39 PM
Dario G died a couple of days ago too.

I'm far from a dance fan, but Sunchyme and Carneval de Paris are still excellent songs to this day - the latter iconic amongst any football fans.

19-06-2024, 12:17 AM
Noam Chomsky (https://www.independent.co.uk/topic/noam-chomsky)'s wife, Valeria Wasserman Chomsky, has debunked reports Tuesday that the famed linguist has died.
“No, it is false,” she wrote Tuesday in response to an emailed query from The Associated Press. “He is well,” she added to ABC.

Chomsky, 95, has been hospitalized in Brazil while recovering from a stroke suffered a year ago, his wife confirmed last week. (https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/books/news/noam-chomsky-health-update-tributes-b2561064.html)

He's here!
19-06-2024, 06:35 AM
Baseball legend Wille Mays, the 'Say Hey Kid', aged 93.

19-06-2024, 08:49 AM
Baseball legend Wille Mays, the 'Say Hey Kid', aged 93.

Just read that earlier this morning - his spirit is everywhere you turn at Oracle Park. From the street it sits on being named after the man, to iconography everywhere inside the stadium. I've been going to Giants games a lot since I started working for part of the year in the Bay Area, and there's no understating his importance to that baseball club.

A geniune legend of the game, and it's sad to hear of his passing.

Sloop67
20-06-2024, 06:30 PM
Donald Sutherland aged 88

20-06-2024, 07:12 PM

https://youtu.be/525PM43mrG8?si=z-RwrXQS1izw8-xe

Stairway 2 7
20-06-2024, 08:10 PM

A titan

21-06-2024, 07:49 AM

He was good in Kelly’s Hero’s and Invasion Of The Body Snatchers among others.

27-06-2024, 02:56 AM
Actor Bill Cobbs, 90

04-07-2024, 02:15 PM
Not a celebrity as such but, I thought I'd put it in here.

Tommy Burns' wife passed away on a flight returning from Tenerife after cutting short her holiday after complaining about being ill.

04-07-2024, 06:14 PM
Not a celebrity as such but, I thought I'd put it in here.

Tommy Burns' wife passed away on a flight returning from Tenerife after cutting short her holiday after complaining about being ill.

That seems really sad

HibbyDave
06-07-2024, 07:22 AM
The Tory party😀

Sorry, couldn’t resist .

06-07-2024, 08:44 AM
The Tory party[emoji3]

Sorry, couldn’t resist .They're technically not dead. What we saw was what mums always said . If you pick it, it'll only cone back worse. Boy did that come true

Sloop67
09-07-2024, 08:31 PM
Scottish Musician Joe Egan. , who along with Gerry Rafferty formed Stealers Wheel ,aged 77

Caversham Green
12-07-2024, 12:21 PM
Shelley Duvall of The Shining aged 75.

14-07-2024, 01:31 PM
Shannen Doherty from Beverly hills 90210 so sad 53

14-07-2024, 02:00 PM

Never had her troubles to seek, fate is a strange old business.

Sloop67
14-07-2024, 02:22 PM

Breast Cancer , very sad to hear
Shannen Doherty, ‘Beverly Hills, 90210’ and ‘Charmed’ star, dead at 53 - CNN
https://apple.news/AMqB91PRCT9ObsfcmpW5LaQ

Sloop67
17-07-2024, 06:10 AM
David Morrow , Aussie sports journalist

18-07-2024, 09:13 PM
Bob Newhart at the ripe old age of 94

18-07-2024, 11:28 PM

Not that familiar with his stuff although I do watch a bit of the old Dean Martin celebrity roasts on YouTube so if not appearing would certainly have been name checked by the likes of Don Rickles and Johnny Carson. Saying that, Rickles digs out just about everybody. Certainly seems to have been one of the last names standing from a rich era of American comics come tv personalities.

20-07-2024, 09:00 AM

Remember watching all the Newhart comedies on TV in the 80’s/90’s, used to love these
Remember him in elf movie too

20-07-2024, 11:39 AM
Ray Reardon

He's here!
20-07-2024, 11:48 AM
Ray Reardon

Dracula. Fantastic player from an era where personalities abounded in snooker.