View Full Version : McKirdy will he be offski?

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Musselbound
02-02-2023, 05:49 AM
Find it a bit weird that people are concerned about the guys appearance tbh, not really sure why that matters.

Agree. I actually like to see something a bit different especially when it looks like 90% of players nowadays go to the same barber. All these distinctive little features he has would be great if his play was cutting it but so far it isn't. As others have said, all he seems to do is run around a lot and I've rarely seen him get on the ball or do anything out of the ordinary with it. The moaning at refs and others shich I first really noticed in the Middlesboro friendly is getting out of hand. Mavericks really need to show they are worth their place in the team but he looks out of his depth at the moment. I'm hoping to be proved wrong.

02-02-2023, 06:10 AM
Find it a bit weird that people are concerned about the guys appearance tbh, not really sure why that matters.

Completely agree. He's a young guy who has his own sense in fashion etc. Don't see why that would bother anyone in the slightest. Having his socks low etc on the pitch won't make any difference to his ability, it's how he's comfortable playing.

I like the guys energy and think he needs a goal to get going properly.

02-02-2023, 06:48 AM
Skacel was called a refugee cos of the way he looked???

At least it’s a novel way to justify the utter idiocy of that chant.

02-02-2023, 07:42 AM
I've stood up for McKirdy and, for most of the game vs Ross Cty that was justified enough as he had no worse a game than anyone else in very hard conditions for playing football. Towards the end though he increasingly became a liability, getting himself booked and then twice creating situations where noone would have been surprised if the ref had produced a second and sent him off - once for a clumsy challenge in midfield and once for what appeared to be a ludicrous dive when the ball was running away from him on the wing.

Don't know whether he was tiring or just frustrated and "trying too hard" - or maybe a bit of both - but I was unimpressed at these incidents and his more ardent critics were provided with plenty of ammunition. He needs to show a bit more maturity and professionalism, keep his head down and keep working hard and less of the histrionics.

Couldn't give a **** about his hairdo one way or the other

02-02-2023, 07:48 AM
I was just saying this on Saturday at the game. If I was manager I’d fine the socks at the ankles. I’d fine sucks over the knees. I’d fine shirts not being tucked in. Finally stupid haircuts too.

Brexit means Brexit.

Crunchie
02-02-2023, 07:58 AM
Strange comment for sure.

02-02-2023, 08:28 AM
McKirdy's appearance or haircut doesn't bother me at all. Not my taste but each to their own and i applaud his individuality. He clearly doesn't lack confidence. I think all good strikers have a bit of that about them. I just wish he was a cracking player with a ***** haircut instead of an average to poor one for this level with a ***** haircut. For the record i wish i had McKirdy's ability but like him i'm not good enough for Hibs either.

I don't buy the not enough game time stuff. You can tell pretty quickly if someone is a player or not.

Crunchie
02-02-2023, 08:58 AM
McKirdy's appearance or haircut doesn't bother me at all. Not my taste but each to their own and i applaud his individuality. He clearly doesn't lack confidence. I think all good strikers have a bit of that about them. I just wish he was a cracking player with a ***** haircut instead of an average to poor one for this level with a ***** haircut. For the record i wish i had McKirdy's ability but like him i'm not good enough for Hibs either.

I don't buy the not enough game time stuff. You can tell pretty quickly if someone is a player or not.
I personally think he's trying too hard, a wee word in his ear from Lee and the more experienced players might do the trick.

02-02-2023, 09:15 AM

I just assumed it was because he looked like some of the refugees who were arriving in the UK around the same time.

It seems I'm mistaken in which case I've no idea why he was dubbed that. :dunno:

02-02-2023, 09:18 AM
I just assumed it was because he looked like some of the refugees who were arriving in the UK around the same time.

It seems I'm mistaken in which case I've no idea why he was dubbed that. :dunno:

Because he was from Eastern Europe. As well as being xenophobic and hateful, that chant was ill-informed – being from the Czech Republic, Skacel was entitled to live and work in the UK as an EU citizen.

02-02-2023, 09:24 AM
Because he was from Eastern Europe. As well as being xenophobic and hateful, that chant was ill-informed – being from the Czech Republic, Skacel was entitled to live and work in the UK as an EU citizen.

Yeah, of course. Thanks.

02-02-2023, 09:32 AM
Useless fact :

Read somewhere that ‘ Spud’ McKirdy is a second cousin to Stevie May on his mother’s side

02-02-2023, 10:08 AM
I was just saying this on Saturday at the game. If I was manager I’d fine the socks at the ankles. I’d fine sucks over the knees. I’d fine shirts not being tucked in. Finally stupid haircuts too.

He’s playing football mate, he’s not in the army.

FWIW, i don’t think he was as bad as made out against Ross County. When he came on, he looked lively, was involved in some food forward play and if Youan had been a bit more switched on and ready then we would have had a decent opportunity from a good early ball from McKirdy into the box.

As the game got more scrappy, the midfield became stuffy and the conditions got worse, he didn’t contribute much going forward, like most of the team. He still put in a shift with tracking back and putting tackles in.

His dive was very silly though, but i would not have complained had we got a free kick and scored from it.

His appearance i honestly could not care about one bit. He’s a grown man that can dress and style himself anyway he wants.

02-02-2023, 10:11 AM
Who decides what’s a stupid haircut? Getting into dodgy territory doing that with some players having cultural hairstyles etc

Stupid cultural hair styles.

02-02-2023, 10:16 AM

FWIW, i don’t think he was as bad as made out against Ross County. When he came on, he looked lively, was involved in some food forward play and if Youan had been a bit more switched on and ready then we would have had a decent opportunity from a good early ball from McKirdy into the box.

As the game got more scrappy, the midfield became stuffy and the conditions got worse, he didn’t contribute much going forward, like most of the team. He still put in a shift with tracking back and putting tackles in.

His dive was very silly though, but i would not have complained had we got a free kick and scored from it.

His appearance i honestly could not care about one bit. He’s a grown man that can dress and style himself anyway he wants.

Unless he starts dressing like John McGlynn. That's out of order.

02-02-2023, 10:18 AM

A ****ing atrocious chant no matter how much of an arse S****l was. Probably played a part in his animosity (and subsequent performances) toward us too, good job on that one all around everyone.

02-02-2023, 10:35 AM
The problem is that big physical teams are pretty standard up here.

Correct
Mckirdy,Tavares and Henderson are no good in this league.

02-02-2023, 10:53 AM
Correct

The only one you MIGHT have a point about is Henderson, the other 2 are untested at best.

Donegal Hibby
02-02-2023, 11:11 AM
The problem is that big physical teams are pretty standard up here.

Correct
I'm not so sure I'd put Mckirdy In the " no good in this league" bracket yet . The reason the big physical team thing came up was I mentioned it , the reason being I didn't think the conditions in dingwall ( strong winds, driving rain and a pitch that was near waterlogged) suited Hibs players who like to play a passing game as opposed to Ross county whos game plan was to lump the ball into the Hibs box at every opportunity . Think the conditions suited a big physical player like White more than a player like Mckirdy .

Hector Mudflap
02-02-2023, 12:47 PM
I still think that there is a player there - has the capacity to be a Cummings for us if he breaks his duck and the fans get behind him. He made some great space for himself during the game and never got the pass. He also did a couple of daft things for sure but he just looks like he is trying too hard. The pressure is building for sure. I'm more annoyed at Youan who's first touch is like an elephants and IMHO never looks up and rarely finds the pass. (tin hat on but thats how I see it)

02-02-2023, 12:52 PM
I'm planting my flag firmly in the 'he will come good' camp. In a years time we'll value him and his contribution (hopefully!)

02-02-2023, 01:08 PM

Yes. Not even Eastern European as Czech is Central Europe. Given the history of our club and the discrimination our founders endured and overcame you'd expect better. Expect that sort of nonsense from the Govan mob.

02-02-2023, 01:43 PM
Yes. Not even Eastern European as Czech is Central Europe. Given the history of our club and the discrimination our founders endured and overcame you'd expect better. Expect that sort of nonsense from the Govan mob.

A pet peeve of a Polish pal :agree: "look at a ****ing map"

03-02-2023, 02:03 PM

Sick and tired of players running out looking like an unmade bed. Standards and all that.

03-02-2023, 02:11 PM
Im struggling to think of one memorable positive play he has produced in any of his game time so far. He looks miles off it for me

Brilliant shot off the bar in I think the Dundee United match. Also part of few very good moves in sheep game

03-02-2023, 02:32 PM
Sick and tired of players running out looking like an unmade bed. Standards and all that.

What other players have done this in recent times? Do a mohawk and short socks really bother you that much? :dunno:

03-02-2023, 11:13 PM
Brilliant shot off the bar in I think the Dundee United match. Also part of few very good moves in sheep game

Was offside though.

04-02-2023, 10:41 AM
If Arry starts todays his day for a goal

04-02-2023, 04:47 PM
Hope he is not injured too bad. 🙏

04-02-2023, 05:12 PM

Looked like his ankle was pretty badly injured.

04-02-2023, 05:15 PM
Was offside though.

No I think it was Youan that was offside when he passed it back to him.

04-02-2023, 05:18 PM
Was offside though.

Still decent positive play

04-02-2023, 05:19 PM
I like him, will become a fans favourite. Took Youan a while to find his scoring boots..McKirdy will score at leat 5 this season

04-02-2023, 05:24 PM
If Arry starts todays his day for a goal

I'm of the belief that this actual post put the Indian sign on Harry :greengrin

HarpOnHibee
04-02-2023, 05:37 PM
I like him, will become a fans favourite.

Don't see it myself. Unless we're all a fan of "unseen work" these days.

04-02-2023, 05:50 PM
Seen the dressing room video, looks to hate a boot on and crutches.

Doesn't look good.

04-02-2023, 05:54 PM
What other players have done this in recent times? Do a mohawk and short socks really bother you that much? :dunno:
If me or Sean Dyche were in charge we would be in third place. Fact. :wink:

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-02-2023, 06:01 PM
If me or Sean Dyche were in charge we would be in third place. Fact. :wink:

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMYYGY5Tw/

Playing like this every week?[emoji1787]

richard_pitts
04-02-2023, 06:05 PM
I thought he was good today and so did those round me in the home end. He was causing them problems. Was on crutches at the end so hope he's ok

04-02-2023, 06:06 PM

He'll definitely be out for a while I reckon. Looked bad on the replays. Shame cause he really did need a run in the team and there wasn't a better time than now to get it.

xyz23jc
04-02-2023, 07:58 PM
:top marks:greengrin:faf:

09-02-2023, 08:17 AM
Spotted him post match on Tuesday night at the back of the FF laughing and joking with youngsters happy to pose for selfies and sign autographs complete with green and purple Mohawk and seemed to be genuinely enjoying himself

My youngest said to me ‘ I like him’

Definitely a character

09-02-2023, 08:21 AM
Has there been any update from the club?

09-02-2023, 09:15 AM
Has there been any update from the club?

Nope. Looks like he's still here :greengrin

09-02-2023, 09:35 AM
Nope. Looks like he's still here :greengrin

Clarence
09-02-2023, 09:36 AM

Think a certain vintage of people still think in terms of east and west of the Berlin Wall.

RMQ1967
09-02-2023, 09:46 AM
I thought he was good today and so did those round me in the home end. He was causing them problems. Was on crutches at the end so hope he's ok

Agreed. He's not afraid to get stuck in & has an element of unpredictability in his play in terms of his passes & shots.

He has the talent there's no doubt - look forward to the naysayers eating their words in the months ahead. Probably the same group who wrote off Josh Campbell 🙄

richard_pitts
09-02-2023, 10:55 AM
Agreed. He's not afraid to get stuck in & has an element of unpredictability in his play in terms of his passes & shots.

He has the talent there's no doubt - look forward to the naysayers eating their words in the months ahead. Probably the same group who wrote off Josh Campbell 🙄

I remember them writing off Steven Fletcher. Not in the same class as O'Connor and Riordan apparently.:wink:

10-02-2023, 08:41 AM

He has talent, but there's definitely doubt: is it enough talent for him to be successful in the Scottish Premiership?

I hope he comes good and becomes a hero, but I've seen nothing from him, so far, to make me think he will.

As I said before, currently it's a case of evidence versus blind faith. Time will tell.

PS Will you eat your words if he doesn't succeed? :wink: :greengrin

10-02-2023, 09:44 AM
I remember them writing off Steven Fletcher. Not in the same class as O'Connor and Riordan apparently.:wink:

Fletcher was absolutely crucified on here back in the day. 'One footed', cant get stuck in, too lightweight' even when he was scoring a ton of goals for us, lots of them when he was being playing in left midfield. Could never understand it. He's had a fantastic career.

10-02-2023, 09:47 AM

On a similar subject, can anyone remember that hearts promotional thing with the family on the beach with the hearts gear on from romanovs time? 'what all the fashionable people will be wearing this summer' or something like that. Id love to see that again.

10-02-2023, 10:06 AM
Fletcher was absolutely crucified on here back in the day. 'One footed', cant get stuck in, too lightweight' even when he was scoring a ton of goals for us, lots of them when he was being playing in left midfield. Could never understand it. He's had a fantastic career.

I remember bumping into Pat Stanton outside the ground one wet afternoon way back when Riordan, O'Connor and Fletcher were just breaking through. He said then that Fletcher was the one who was the top class real deal with the potential to really make it. Not surprisingly, that was good enough for me.

10-02-2023, 11:02 AM
Out for 4-6 weeks

10-02-2023, 11:07 AM
I remember bumping into Pat Stanton outside the ground one wet afternoon way back when Riordan, O'Connor and Fletcher were just breaking through. He said then that Fletcher was the one who was the top class real deal with the potential to really make it. Not surprisingly, that was good enough for me.

Now that’s a source I’d give credence to :agree:
Fletcher always seemed to be one step ahead of everyone else on the pitch, he lovely technique as well. As he’s aged he’s reinvented himself as a target man centre forward, but he was a sort of willowy skilful wide left player as a youngster. He also had a habit of joining clubs I have a soft spot for after leaving Hibs.

10-02-2023, 11:26 AM
Now that’s a source I’d give credence to :agree:
Fletcher always seemed to be one step ahead of everyone else on the pitch, he lovely technique as well. As he’s aged he’s reinvented himself as a target man centre forward, but he was a sort of willowy skilful wide left player as a youngster. He also had a habit of joining clubs I have a soft spot for after leaving Hibs.

Injury issues seemed to halt Fletcher's career just when it was really taking off (at Sunderland?) but I thought O'Connor had it all (apart from the savvy required to actually make the best of what he had).

10-02-2023, 11:30 AM

On a similar subject, can anyone remember that hearts promotional thing with the family on the beach with the hearts gear on from romanovs time? 'what all the fashionable people will be wearing this summer' or something like that. Id love to see that again.

https://i.postimg.cc/BvJztcJg/C92-C4-E9-E-C0-F9-4-C52-A74-D-AC7-A8-EE6-B298.jpg (https://postimg.cc/RWbdDt66)

10-02-2023, 11:34 AM
Out for four to six weeks

10-02-2023, 11:40 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/BvJztcJg/C92-C4-E9-E-C0-F9-4-C52-A74-D-AC7-A8-EE6-B298.jpg (https://postimg.cc/RWbdDt66)

🤣 Truly the most cringe inducing ad ever. State of the jaikie Dad wi his pie!

10-02-2023, 11:57 AM

That is actually the best thing ive ever seen.

:jamboclow:jamboclow:jamboclow:jamboclow

10-02-2023, 12:10 PM
Perfect casting TBF

Dad and Puggsley wouldn’t look out of place in the Zombies End at an Edinburgh Derby

10-02-2023, 12:16 PM
Perfect casting TBF

Dad and Puggsley wouldn’t look out of place in the Zombies End at an Edinburgh Derby

What is he doing with the pie? He's not eating it. Look at the picture, imagine him saying 'See this pie?' and try not to laugh.

bringbackbenny
10-02-2023, 12:21 PM
🤣 Truly the most cringe inducing ad ever. State of the jaikie Dad wi his pie!

and the strangest thing of all? it's not a parody they actually published it :faf:

10-02-2023, 12:31 PM

The guy in this is their kit man I think

10-02-2023, 12:43 PM
The guy in this is their kit man I think

I think he's there to scare the seagulls away.

10-02-2023, 01:12 PM
I found this image to be even more disturbing :confused:

https://i.ibb.co/kVZmrRK/6-FF2-B64-E-287-E-4341-8-D5-F-AED0-E6-A13375.png

10-02-2023, 01:16 PM
Mckirdy will be mortified if he sees this thread about him has descended into tearing into folk about their fashion disasters...
(or maybe thats appropriate:bitchy:)

10-02-2023, 01:26 PM

Who is he?

10-02-2023, 01:56 PM

Got to be the worst strip ever. I really like fruit salads but I wouldn't wear one.

10-02-2023, 02:06 PM

https://i.ibb.co/gJVt4Tk/31525698-31528630.png

10-02-2023, 02:35 PM

Love the pie in the right hand and the dog walker is obviously on Porty beach. Lol

10-02-2023, 03:54 PM

Does anyone else remember the famous clip of the Hearts fans shaking hands with Romanov and his son. :faf:

Green Reaper
10-02-2023, 03:56 PM
Does anyone else remember the famous clip of the Hearts fans shaking hands with Romanov and his son. :faf:

And the plonker with the big romanov tattoo across ss his back 😂

10-02-2023, 05:55 PM

fear and self loathing within elements of our support / mentalist interlopers on the wind-up is quite something….

to them I say two words - “therapy” :)

10-02-2023, 06:18 PM

Was brilliant 👏 came back to bite them. Always had the same jambo muppets telling me "we're only due the debt to ourselves" aye and 100s of others 🤣

10-02-2023, 06:58 PM

Why is he on Portobello beach wearing a full kit? Bit weird.

10-02-2023, 06:59 PM
Was brilliant 👏 came back to bite them. Always had the same jambo muppets telling me "we're only due the debt to ourselves" aye and 100s of others 🤣

Really wish there was a clip still out there 😂

Found it 😂

https://twitter.com/gramo1875/status/1155053832105287680?s=46&t=GzzRkk0cFv3-j__YM0q0Kg

Bridge hibs
10-02-2023, 07:03 PM
Really wish there was a clip still out there 😂The guy bowing and shaking Vlads hand saying ‘thank you Vlad, thank you Vlad’ 🤣

10-02-2023, 11:47 PM

Or Romanov boxing with their star striker Bednar in pre-season

11-02-2023, 06:05 AM
I can’t decide what I enjoyed more, that era of ridiculousness or the new stand/Ann budge era.

11-02-2023, 07:46 AM
Why is he on Portobello beach wearing a full kit? Bit weird.

He’ll get his sand in his hairy pie

11-02-2023, 05:11 PM
When the auld boy emptied bag with Cossack hats and booting them lol

Percy Vere
12-02-2023, 02:46 PM
Getting back to the original thread.
Have we seen anything yet from Mckirdy to merit him staying?
I generally like to see players in a number of games before I make my mind up. For me he looks untidy, bit flappy, no end product (as yet).
Obviously got a few starts before his injury, so is LJ seeing a player there?
Would like to see the lad kick on but I’m not sure.