View Full Version : McKirdy will he be offski?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

18-01-2023, 08:24 PM
Sunday would be the perfect time to unleash his “machine gunning” the fans celebration. Wouldn’t rule him out doing a Benji and scoring in front of FF and running the full length of park to do it in front of the away end.

cameronw-hfc
18-01-2023, 08:45 PM
Is it likely to be anything more concerning than he has failed to make a stronger case to be starting than Nisbet, Myko, Youan, Boyle or McGeady, all of whom have put forward pretty robust cases to be first picks ahead of him thus far?

The manager has also shown patience with the likes of Youan, something he hasn't with Mckirdy. Youan started well, was shocking for a few games then picked it back up. Mckirdy hasn't even been given the chance to find form yet.

19-01-2023, 08:41 AM
Hell probably get chucked in from the start, pulled off at halftime again then not given another chance until the next time we play celtic.

If he gets another start he can't have any complaints. If he does, he needs to make sure he isn't hooked at at half time again. He isn't a young laddie. At his age i'd expect him to be able to come in and impact a game against Hearts in some way.

19-01-2023, 08:45 AM
The manager has also shown patience with the likes of Youan, something he hasn't with Mckirdy. Youan started well, was shocking for a few games then picked it back up. Mckirdy hasn't even been given the chance to find form yet.

He probably gets a chance every day at training.

19-01-2023, 08:51 AM
Sunday would be the perfect time to unleash his “machine gunning” the fans celebration. Wouldn’t rule him out doing a Benji and scoring in front of FF and running the full length of park to do it in front of the away end.

One of theirs did a similar one to us a while back, Obua I think.

Just_Jimmy
19-01-2023, 09:32 AM
The manager has also shown patience with the likes of Youan, something he hasn't with Mckirdy. Youan started well, was shocking for a few games then picked it back up. Mckirdy hasn't even been given the chance to find form yet.The key being "started well". McKirdey hasn't shown anything at all.

As I said in a previous post, players that start poorly at Hibs, rarely go on to be a success at the club.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Saint Hibee
19-01-2023, 09:38 AM
The key being "started well". McKirdey hasn't shown anything at all.

As I said in a previous post, players that start poorly at Hibs, rarely go on to be a success at the club.

Martin Boyle? Rocky Bushiri?

19-01-2023, 09:50 AM
Martin Boyle? Rocky Bushiri?

I wouldn’t say Boyle started poorly at Hibs, he showed some potential.

And I wouldn’t say Rocky has been a success, yet, either.

19-01-2023, 12:46 PM
I wouldn’t say Boyle started poorly at Hibs, he showed some potential.

And I wouldn’t say Rocky has been a success, yet, either.

Boyle and Rocky also had obvious attributes when they came. Boyle's pace and Rocky's physicality. You could see what they could potentially offer. Both you could have probably classed as young players too. McKirdy has ran around a bit and picked up a couple of yellow cards. That's about all he's shown.

19-01-2023, 01:32 PM
Boyle and Rocky also had obvious attributes when they came. Boyle's pace and Rocky's physicality. You could see what they could potentially offer. Both you could have probably classed as young players too. McKirdy has ran around a bit and picked up a couple of yellow cards. That's about all he's shown.

So you weren't at the last game then?

Up-the-slope
19-01-2023, 02:53 PM

:faf::faf: one of my best ER memories.... and possibly the best saves Zibby ever made as he came rushing out to intercept Benji before he made it fully to the away end

https://www.facebook.com/HibernianFootballClubOfficial/videos/flashback-benji-v-hearts-2006/979011528864575/

Hibiza
19-01-2023, 03:50 PM
There's a Scottish International free agent we could get in right away. Experienced in this league, European competition and international.

Johnny Russell?

19-01-2023, 04:29 PM
Johnny Russell?

Hibiza
19-01-2023, 06:08 PM
Youan has class.

19-01-2023, 11:49 PM

Would love to see him in a Hibs shirt.

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-01-2023, 11:56 PM
I just have a hunch that this guy has something about him and we might regret being impatient.

He’s already had a few lively sub appearances and his starts have been in dire team performances in some of our hardest games.

Get him a few starts on the right of a front 3 and I think he gets us goals.

Agree, the guys a bam and bams are normally decent players - Bojang aside (even though allegedly setting fire to your head is peak bam behaviour)

20-01-2023, 07:58 AM
Johnny Russell?

Now we're talking. Would be a terrific signing for anyone in the league outwith the bigots.

20-01-2023, 08:04 AM
Russell is contracted to the end of 2023 and is one of the highest paid players in MLS earning $40k per week.

Mainstandman
20-01-2023, 08:05 AM

He was on £1.6M in 2021 season!! the money these guys get in the states in unreal

20-01-2023, 09:17 AM
Time for Ron to show he is serious then.

20-01-2023, 09:26 AM
Time for Ron to show he is serious then.

Ron paying for Johnny Russel wouldn't be him showing he was serious, it would be him showing he was a moron.

Unless Russel takes about an 80% paycut.

20-01-2023, 10:39 AM

If that were to happen he'd instantly become my favorite player and i'd take everything back.

20-01-2023, 11:27 AM
‘The McKirdy derby’, it’ll be spoken about for years come. Comes on to score a last minute winner and proceeds to machine gun every row of the south stand🙏

20-01-2023, 12:33 PM
:faf::faf: one of my best ER memories.... and possibly the best saves Zibby ever made as he came rushing out to intercept Benji before he made it fully to the away end

https://www.facebook.com/HibernianFootballClubOfficial/videos/flashback-benji-v-hearts-2006/979011528864575/

Didn't Zemmama also do something similar?

20-01-2023, 01:44 PM
‘The McKirdy derby’, it’ll be spoken about for years come. Comes on to score a last minute winner and proceeds to machine gun every row of the south stand🙏

I'd be delighted if The Brazilian did that.

https://i.ibb.co/NKHhw5R/b25l-Y21z-Ojdi-ODgy-YTRh-LTlm-Nzgt-NDBh-ZC04-ODI2-LWM5-N2-Vj-ODRm-Njli-ZDox-NDZj-NTlk-Yi1l-Nm-Qx-LTR.jpg (https://ibb.co/5LfDqmZ)

22-01-2023, 03:17 PM
Waste of space.

22-01-2023, 03:26 PM
Part of the general problem. Way below the quality required for what we (the fans at least) like to think are realistic levels for Hibs.

Has to be one to cut the losses and move on and replace with better.

22-01-2023, 03:27 PM
Tbf he try’s and never seems to get a chance when things are going well

22-01-2023, 03:29 PM
There will still be people saying he hasn't had a proper chance. Absolute dross of Swindon Town standard.

22-01-2023, 03:29 PM
Him and Melkersen cost around £600k if reports are to be believed. Just let that sink in.

That's what happens when the owner let's his son take over one of the biggest jobs in the club with literally 0 experience.

Just_Jimmy
22-01-2023, 03:30 PM
Martin Boyle? Rocky Bushiri?"Rarely". The two you pointed out don't disproved that.

22-01-2023, 03:30 PM
Josh O’Connor and laidlaw must be thinking this young time to move on if they can’t get a shot over this over priced, hyped player.

Lost little boy every time I see mckirdy.

Sums us up perfectly to be fair

random sub
22-01-2023, 07:39 PM
He’s had a fair bit of game time now, I don’t think it’s going to work out for him, he’s just not showing anything that we need.

Willis1875
22-01-2023, 07:44 PM
Tbf he try’s and never seems to get a chance when things are going well

Probably due to things actually never going well

CL0762
22-01-2023, 08:36 PM
He’s had a fair bit of game time now, I don’t think it’s going to work out for him, he’s just not showing anything that we need.

No he hasn’t. 45 mins at either parkhead or tynecastle then 15 mins here or there is nowhere near enough time.

22-01-2023, 08:49 PM
No he hasn’t. 45 mins at either parkhead or tynecastle then 15 mins here or there is nowhere near enough time.
If he was any good he’d have gotten more game time before now.

Couldn’t score in a barrel of proverbials.

Hibees1973
22-01-2023, 08:54 PM
Him and Melkersen cost around £600k if reports are to be believed. Just let that sink in.

That's what happens when the owner let's his son take over one of the biggest jobs in the club with literally 0 experience.

Extraordinary.

This is one of the things that really annoys me.

Money has been spent (not from Ron's pocket), but from the Doig money.

Ron's son has set fire to the money brought in from very good player sold.

Hibees1973
22-01-2023, 08:55 PM
If he was any good he’d have gotten more game time before now.

Couldn’t score in a barrel of proverbials.

Yet another to be binned and around £200k written off.

Disasterous.

Potty78
22-01-2023, 08:57 PM
Brought on at 2 0 down. No saying he's great but needs time surely?

thebausburst
22-01-2023, 09:13 PM

Yet another to be binned and around £200k written off.

Disasterous.

He’s completely mince, not shown anything, but even he is better than Tavares lol

22-01-2023, 09:15 PM
Has had half a season to make an impact. Other than a haircut and ***** patter about “Tommy T” on Instagram he’s done nothing. No goals, no assists, no hoper.

22-01-2023, 09:16 PM
Extraordinary.

This is one of the things that really annoys me.

Money has been spent (not from Ron's pocket), but from the Doig money.

Ron's son has set fire to the money brought in from very good player sold.

I've no inside on this but I wouldn't be too sure that Ron's cash hasn't been splashed. I'm a bit worried about the next accounts.

22-01-2023, 09:17 PM

Yep, time with his agent and discussing a move - he’s rotten 👍

22-01-2023, 09:36 PM
Part of the general problem. Way below the quality required for what we (the fans at least) like to think are realistic levels for Hibs.

Don't dump this on the fans. Agree, he's a terrible waste of money, but this isn't about us fans being unrealistic about quality. Hibs are well short their realistic goal of 3rd / 4th place in league and this guy cannot even get a game. That's how bad he is.

22-01-2023, 09:41 PM
He’s completely mince, not shown anything, but even he is better than Tavares lol

Tavares was waltzing around at half time doing wee keepy uppies and not giving a sook - place in the ‘don’t fancy it’ pile of dross that the recruitment team have sourced - and he was apparent a ‘coup’ according to LJ 😂 no wonder youth players want to leave if that’s what they’ve to ‘displace’ - he’s stunningly bad

22-01-2023, 09:53 PM

Don't dump this on the fans. Agree, he's a terrible waste of money, but this isn't about us fans being unrealistic about quality. Hibs are well short their realistic goal of 3rd / 4th place in league and this guy cannot even get a game. That's how bad he is.

22-01-2023, 09:54 PM

To be fair he was ready to come on before they scored their second.

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 09:56 PM
To be fair he was ready to come on before they scored their second.

Should have been stripped 10 mins earlier at least, along with Laidlaw imo.

Stewboy
23-01-2023, 05:54 AM
We’re honking, if he’s not able to get a chance in a team that’s honking and gets picked with a bingo machine each week, let’s face it he not good enough

23-01-2023, 09:36 AM
We’re honking, if he’s not able to get a chance in a team that’s honking and gets picked with a bingo machine each week, let’s face it he not good enough

I must be in the minority that felt he done OK when he came on yesterday, helped created a good chance for Nisbet who could have done better. He was involved in a lot of attacking player, is always looking for the ball and getting forward.

We done this under Hecky with playing just 1 striker and it never worked, battering teams but unable to score. Get him and Nisbet up top next game.

cameronw-hfc
23-01-2023, 09:44 AM
I must be in the minority that felt he done OK when he came on yesterday, helped created a good chance for Nisbet who could have done better. He was involved in a lot of attacking player, is always looking for the ball and getting forward.

We done this under Hecky with playing just 1 striker and it never worked, battering teams but unable to score. Get him and Nisbet up top next game.

He was fine, lively and nearly set up a goal. He's rapidly becoming a scapegoat for the fans as well now. Johnson's treatment of him has been downright appalling and doesn't exactly leave me confused as to why he's not hit form yet. Can't give him as little time as he's almost exclusively when were chasing games. He's a confidence player, said it before he needs a run. Listen to interviews he's done himself, says his best form and performances come when the gaffer he works under shows a bit of a trust in him, LJ hooking him a halftime twice and giving him 5/10 mins here and there is the furthest from trust.

j'adorehibs
23-01-2023, 09:48 AM

dont think you've read that right. Carheenlea is saying the fans expectation levels are above the boards .....we want to fight for 3/4th place and win cups....signings like this suggest the owner and board dont want to. hes not blaming fans.

23-01-2023, 09:53 AM
He was fine, lively and nearly set up a goal. He's rapidly becoming a scapegoat for the fans as well now. Johnson's treatment of him has been downright appalling and doesn't exactly leave me confused as to why he's not hit form yet. Can't give him as little time as he's almost exclusively when were chasing games. He's a confidence player, said it before he needs a run. Listen to interviews he's done himself, says his best form and performances come when the gaffer he works under shows a bit of a trust in him, LJ hooking him a halftime twice and giving him 5/10 mins here and there is the furthest from trust.

I’d agree tbh. I mean, i accept he has had longer times in games than 5/10 minutes but his 2 starts have been in our hardest games and the team set up was poor in both of those.

I still think there is a player in there and you can see him itching to be involved
and not hiding in games. Doidge took a while to get playing well but he was starting games, McKirdy is coming off the bench and expected to make an instant impact.

23-01-2023, 12:04 PM
I’d agree tbh. I mean, i accept he has had longer times in games than 5/10 minutes but his 2 starts have been in our hardest games and the team set up was poor in both of those.

I still think there is a player in there and you can see him itching to be involved
and not hiding in games. Doidge took a while to get playing well but he was starting games, McKirdy is coming off the bench and expected to make an instant impact.

I'd hope there's been a call made to Swindon to say would you be in a position to take Harry back, at the same price we paid for him?

He seemed a good fit there, and it's just been simply too big a step up in class for the boy

23-01-2023, 12:13 PM

What has been appalling about his treatment? He's given him both starts and minutes. If that's appalling then how must Laidlaw and O'Connor or other players on the fringes feel? They'd absolutely kill for the game time McKirdy has been getting.

26-01-2023, 09:00 AM
Here's his chance to show us what he can do.

cameronw-hfc
26-01-2023, 09:05 PM
What has been appalling about his treatment? He's given him both starts and minutes. If that's appalling then how must Laidlaw and O'Connor or other players on the fringes feel? They'd absolutely kill for the game time McKirdy has been getting.

Given him starts 😂 aye away to parkhead and away to tynie. Two of the hardest grounds to get a result at. Bigging him up in the media, giving him 20 mins and expecting miracles from a player who needs a run of games to get going.

Mutu
26-01-2023, 09:09 PM
He needs a run of games, and he'll likely get them now.

Thought he looked okay on Sunday but there's no getting away with how lightweight he is.

cameronw-hfc
26-01-2023, 09:14 PM
He needs a run of games, and he'll likely get them now.

Thought he looked okay on Sunday but there's no getting away with how lightweight he is.

Im convinced there's a good enough player there for Hibs. Being a Villa man also I kept an eye on him when he left as he was a big talent there and followed him at Swindon and before, he always looked good enough, but one thing that was consistent with him is that sub appearances never suited him. Whenever he hit form it was when he was given a run of games, think Scott Allan for that is a good comparison despite being different players. Scotty always needed a run of games to really get going, Mckirdy is very much the same. He's not a #10 like Allan, but a bit of a maverick flair player and I don't see him doing it if we use him how we have so far.

Kano Kirsty
26-01-2023, 09:21 PM
Sorry, but he is absolutely pony and is nowhere near good enough for us.

26-01-2023, 09:31 PM
Im convinced there's a good enough player there for Hibs. Being a Villa man also I kept an eye on him when he left as he was a big talent there and followed him at Swindon and before, he always looked good enough, but one thing that was consistent with him is that sub appearances never suited him. Whenever he hit form it was when he was given a run of games, think Scott Allan for that is a good comparison despite being different players. Scotty always needed a run of games to really get going, Mckirdy is very much the same. He's not a #10 like Allan, but a bit of a maverick flair player and I don't see him doing it if we use him how we have so far.

If he was a big talent at Villa what was he doing at Swindon? Did he go directly there?

cameronw-hfc
26-01-2023, 09:34 PM
If he was a big talent at Villa what was he doing at Swindon? Did he go directly there?

Left Villa at a time where basically nobody was getting a chance from the youths, wanted to go play football. JDH was considered a big talent at Villa also, as is currently Louie Barry who was at Swindon last season on loan. Just because he had potential doesn't mean he automatically should have made it.

And nope, ended up there via Carlisle and Port Vale. Carlisle used him as a winger and done okay, Port Vale we're all over the shop when he went and it turned sour, spoke about it on a Pod recently, went to swindon, got a run of games and banged them in.

26-01-2023, 09:38 PM
Left Villa at a time where basically nobody was getting a chance from the youths, wanted to go play football. JDH was considered a big talent at Villa also, as is currently Louie Barry who was at Swindon last season on loan. Just because he had potential doesn't mean he automatically should have made it.

And nope, ended up there via Carlisle and Port Vale. Carlisle used him as a winger and done okay, Port Vale we're all over the shop when he went and it turned sour, spoke about it on a Pod recently, went to swindon, got a run of games and banged them in.

Thanks.

zero-seven
26-01-2023, 09:39 PM
is this what we are down to..making a case for Mckirdy to be our main striker ? the Hibs management team have really not thought this through.

cameronw-hfc
26-01-2023, 09:41 PM
Thanks.

He was that desperate to get out and play games he told Villa to take the wages one of the clubs he played for on loan couldn't afford out of his signing on fee so that he could force the move.

26-01-2023, 09:45 PM

That's excellent information, 👍

26-01-2023, 10:02 PM
Given him starts 😂 aye away to parkhead and away to tynie. Two of the hardest grounds to get a result at. Bigging him up in the media, giving him 20 mins and expecting miracles from a player who needs a run of games to get going.

I want McKirdy to do well for us but right now we're expecting miracles from a player who couldn't earn a starting spot when we were struggling so I'm sceptical.

thebausburst
26-01-2023, 10:18 PM
If we could get our money back club would sell in a heartbeat anyone saying otherwise is kidding themselves, can talk all you like about game time offered but he’s shown nothing at all to suggest he can be a regular scorer at this level. Verdict - sell.

GreenPJ
26-01-2023, 10:21 PM
Give him 6 starts, if he still hasn't scored or shown he can be effective then he is deserving of the criticism but think he should be told its his position now - its up to him to keep.

26-01-2023, 10:21 PM
If we could get our money back club would sell in a heartbeat anyone saying otherwise is kidding themselves, can talk all you like about game time offered but he’s shown nothing at all to suggest he can be a regular scorer at this level. Verdict - sell.

He is about to become our first choice centre forward!!

26-01-2023, 10:29 PM
He looks very lightweight and doesn't protect the ball well. He is lively though and makes runs so if we can get balls across teh box he may get a few goals. I'll be very surprised, and delighted, if he becomes a regular starter but at the moment he is about all we have.

26-01-2023, 10:32 PM
Hopefully he`ll get a chance from the start in the next three games to show what he`s about . From what I`ve seen of him , he`s much better than many comments here suggest .

26-01-2023, 10:36 PM
Holy moley :rolleyes:

I hope he starts and proves to us all what he can do.

thebausburst
26-01-2023, 10:38 PM

He won’t be 🥴

CB Hibs 68
26-01-2023, 10:42 PM
He won’t be 🥴

Think you will find at least this Saturday he will be.

cameronw-hfc
26-01-2023, 10:45 PM

Think Hibs made a mistake branding him a striker. He's never been a striker, he's as much a striker as Boyle is. He's a wise man that can play across the front 3, he's always been used best in a wide right with the license to come into the box. He's not a "striker".

26-01-2023, 10:53 PM
Think Hibs made a mistake branding him a striker. He's never been a striker, he's as much a striker as Boyle is. He's a wise man that can play across the front 3, he's always been used best in a wide right with the license to come into the box. He's not a "striker".

https://youtu.be/t-eZkOesKT0?t=16

cameronw-hfc
26-01-2023, 11:11 PM
https://youtu.be/t-eZkOesKT0?t=16

😂😂

zero-seven
26-01-2023, 11:39 PM

looks like a panic return for the doidger

27-01-2023, 05:17 AM
is this what we are down to..making a case for Mckirdy to be our main striker ? the Hibs management team have really not thought this through.

Mismanagement of the highest order. To be left with McKirdy and a couple of young lads is worrying. Really hope we have someone lined up.

27-01-2023, 05:32 AM

I’m amazed how anyone can make this assessment. He’s barely played.

27-01-2023, 05:37 AM

He can play across the front 3 but he played 70% of his games last season as a CF. I can’t see what else they could have called him.

27-01-2023, 05:48 AM

Let's see after a few games may be a thoroughbred :greengrin

27-01-2023, 06:06 AM
He can play across the front 3 but he played 70% of his games last season as a CF. I can’t see what else they could have called him.

The lovechild of Deek and Sam Morrow? 🤣

cameronw-hfc
27-01-2023, 06:13 AM

Swindon fans themselves said it was due to not having a proper striker, he was always a makeshift striker for them.

27-01-2023, 06:22 AM
Swindon fans themselves said it was due to not having a proper striker, he was always a makeshift striker for them.

Might have been makeshift at the time, but going by his goal scoring record playing there it would suggest it's definitely his best position?

cameronw-hfc
27-01-2023, 07:11 AM
Might have been makeshift at the time, but going by his goal scoring record playing there it would suggest it's definitely his best position?

Would say with a strike partner it could work here, but not m his own. He would be best suited to a more inside forward role, he reminds me of Stokesy in the sense he always tends to drift out wide, even when he's played up top.

27-01-2023, 07:38 AM

it’s silly really, there are people already writing Jeggo off after 1 game.

27-01-2023, 08:25 AM

I don't think Hibs "branding" has had any impact whatsoever. If he was like Boyle then he'd be a regular goal threat and he'd contribute to the play, setting up chances. He's done very little of that in his time on the park. Hence people are writing him off.

People are basing opinions on what they've seen of him. He tends to come on, give away stupid fouls and look out of his depth. Hopefully that can change but it's not promising.

27-01-2023, 08:46 AM
That in itself speaks volumes though.

27-01-2023, 08:59 AM
That in itself speaks volumes though.

It really doesn’t.

He is a chippy character, isn’t as developed or proven a striker as Nisbet, but not many are. Lots of strikers need to be patient for their first team breakthrough for many different reasons.

Way, way too early to write him off. I don’t care if it was in the English 4th tier, he’s shown goal scoring ability in a similar formation to what LJ plays and has scored all sorts of goals.

27-01-2023, 09:05 AM
McKirdy isn't a young laddie. He needs to grab his opportunity when it comes starting on Saturday. At his age he should be first team ready and not needing a run of games to get going. We've brought him in for money to do a job and he needs to start doing it or give one of the youngsters a chance instead. He's had 12/13 appearances in a Hibs shirt, 347 minutes in total. Long enough to form an opinion. Needs to start showing something.

Paulie Walnuts
27-01-2023, 09:08 AM

Who should he have been getting game time ahead of? Nisbet who has been scoring a goal a game, Youan who has more assists than pretty much anyone or McGeady who has looked a lot better than McKirdy has?

See a lot of posts on here about how he ‘deserves’ a run etc but never any indication as to who he’s supposed to be replacing, probably because he doesn’t deserve a start ahead of those he’d need to replace.

27-01-2023, 09:13 AM
McKirdy isn't a young laddie. He needs to grab his opportunity when it comes starting on Saturday. At his age he should be first team ready and not needing a run of games to get going. We've brought him in for money to do a job and he needs to start doing it or give one of the youngsters a chance instead. He's had 12/13 appearances in a Hibs shirt, 347 minutes in total. Long enough to form an opinion. Needs to start showing something.

Agreed. Cometh the hour. Would ****ing love it if he scored the winner against the sheep and did some classless celebration.

27-01-2023, 09:17 AM

347 minutes is less than 4 games. He’s not even had a run of 2 starts and has come from a different league. Took Doidge a while to get scoring, not sure if he came from the same league or the one above though.

Either way, we are going to see him starting games now surely and hopefully we see a player in there. I really hope we do as he seems a very likeable character, and we need some personality in the team.

27-01-2023, 09:18 AM
Agreed. Cometh the hour. Would ****ing love it if he scored the winner against the sheep and did some classless celebration.

27-01-2023, 09:41 AM
I'm not convinced McKirdy will play tomorrow.

Could see Campbell being pushed into a front 3 role and someone else in midfield.

27-01-2023, 09:52 AM
I'm not convinced McKirdy will play tomorrow.

Could see Campbell being pushed into a front 3 role and someone else in midfield.

Not a chance, he has to start.

27-01-2023, 10:02 AM
What’s the point in signing the guy if we don’t give him a run of games, a couple of 45mins and the occasional bit part just isn’t enough time to pass judgment.

Swindonfan
27-01-2023, 10:04 AM
Harry didnt play centrally for us he played off the right. It gave him space to make runs. He wasnt really playing with his back to goal. Gutted for you he hasn't done a thing for you yet. I think theres a few reasons for it. Lack of opportunity in games where you would think he could do something. He got thrown into games where due to where Hibs are as a team right now he was just chasing the opposition out of possession.

Maybe hes a player who needs that run of games at a level he needs to adapt to. He does need to learn he doesnt have to do everything himself as he was greedy while with us. But he got us off our seats and won us games we wouldn't have without him.

I do feel LJ didnt really want him and so the managers got a negative feeling about him hes not wanting to let go of. A player who needs to be loved.

Fingers crossed one goes in off his arse, he gets to do his celebration and he goes on a run.

Its the hope that kills you being a football fan.

Mainstandman
27-01-2023, 10:09 AM
If I was Mckirdy and I didn't start tomorrow I'd want to leave as i'm clearly not getting a game. Having played for two teams already i don't there are any options other than staying though.

27-01-2023, 10:11 AM

Bojang barely played.

27-01-2023, 10:16 AM
Bojang barely played.

That’s true, I’d argue McKirdy has a bit more on his CV than Bojang though. But both hotheads…

Willis1875
27-01-2023, 10:18 AM
That’s true, I’d argue McKirdy has a bit more on his CV than Bojang. Both hotheads apparently…

Both considered to be a bit fiery

27-01-2023, 10:18 AM

Some utterly bizarre views on this thread.

27-01-2023, 10:20 AM
That’s true, I’d argue McKirdy has a bit more on his CV than Bojang though. But both hotheads…

LunasBoots
27-01-2023, 10:22 AM
McKirdys played at a lower level for some time, you've got to give him time to develop, I still think he'll come good, some players take time and I'm all for giving him that.

Swindonfan
27-01-2023, 10:23 AM
He wont come back to Swindon. We have gone all about signing young players to develope and sell on, hopefully after they have done something for us. Harry did fantastically for us and earned a move. We got some money for him and he got to sign for a great club.

Hibs have also gone on this route of young players who will hopefully make hibs money in the future. But thats not so easy for Hibs as your playing at a higher level for players to go in and learn on the job. Hibs seem to have paid out alot of money on players who are not in the first team and so not effecting the most important thing at a football club. The 1st team.

Hibs youth seem to be doing really well. But its zero consolation to a hibs fan if your youth team win something when your first team is poor.

27-01-2023, 10:25 AM
Harry didnt play centrally for us he played off the right. It gave him space to make runs. He wasnt really playing with his back to goal. Gutted for you he hasn't done a thing for you yet. I think theres a few reasons for it. Lack of opportunity in games where you would think he could do something. He got thrown into games where due to where Hibs are as a team right now he was just chasing the opposition out of possession.

Maybe hes a player who needs that run of games at a level he needs to adapt to. He does need to learn he doesnt have to do everything himself as he was greedy while with us. But he got us off our seats and won us games we wouldn't have without him.

I do feel LJ didnt really want him and so the managers got a negative feeling about him hes not wanting to let go of. A player who needs to be loved.

Fingers crossed one goes in off his arse, he gets to do his celebration and he goes on a run.

Thanks SF, here's hoping he gets on the score sheet soon. He almost scored a cracker a couple of weeks ago though it turned out it wouldn't have counted due to an offside in the build up.

https://youtu.be/NepP3Al0-YY?t=171

27-01-2023, 10:35 AM
347 minutes is less than 4 games. He’s not even had a run of 2 starts and has come from a different league. Took Doidge a while to get scoring, not sure if he came from the same league or the one above though.

Either way, we are going to see him starting games now surely and hopefully we see a player in there. I really hope we do as he seems a very likeable character, and we need some personality in the team.

It is a bit bizarre that his starts have been at Celtic Park and Tynecastle. Like LJ is expecting him to write a fairytale start akin to Boyle's return or Sproule (I know they were all from the bench).

27-01-2023, 10:41 AM
Some utterly bizarre views on this thread.

I think all the opinions are understandable and valid.

There are those who are basing their views about Mckirdy on the fact that he had a good season in the English Football League 2 and are hoping that he can repeat that at Hibs if he's given the opportunity to settle into the team with regular starts. That's not bizarre.

Other folk are basing their views on what they've seen from the player when he's been on the pitch which has been less than impressive. That's not bizarre either.

My view is a bit of both. I hope that he does become the player we'd hoped for, but I've seen nothing so far to make me think that he will.

Doidge had a very good season with Hibs and has a far better CV than Harry Mckirdy, but I don't read many people desperate for us to bring him back from Killie. (I think we should, btw).

Had we not known about his 1 prolific season with Swindon and purely based our views on his time in a Hibs shirt few, if any, would be wanting Mckirdy to start every week.

Basically it's hope and faith against evidence. I can understand both.

Spudster
27-01-2023, 10:47 AM

There are those who are basing their views about Mckirdy on the fact that he had a good season in the English Football League 2 and are hoping that he can repeat that at Hibs if he's given the opportunity to settle into the team with regular starts. That's not bizarre.

Other folk are basing their views on what they've seen from the player when he's been on the pitch which has been less than impressive. That's not bizarre either.

My view is a bit of both. I hope that he does become the player we'd hoped for, but I've seen nothing so far to make me think that he will.

Doidge had a very good season with Hibs and has a far better CV than Harry Mckirdy, but I don't read many people desperate for us to bring him back from Killie. (I think we should, btw).

Had we not known about his 1 prolific season with Swindon and purely based our views on his time in a Hibs shirt few, if any, would be wanting Mckirdy to start every week.

There is no place for such reason and logic on hibs.net!

27-01-2023, 10:49 AM
Unless we sign someone today, then McKirdy is surely going to get a chance tomorrow. If LJ really doesn't fancy him and sticks Laidlaw in, the approach has to be the same, with Youan & McGeady fizzing in low crosses for our striker and Campbell. Any ball in the air is going to get gobbled up easily by the Aberdeen back three. I wouldn't even be swinging in a corner with Porto and Rocky out. On. The. Deck. Please.

27-01-2023, 10:49 AM
There is no place for such reason and logic on hibs.net!

Sorry about that. I was in a weak moment.

Where's the delete button?

27-01-2023, 11:09 AM

Hi and thanks for coming on. I had a look at the bbc sport lineups for Swindon games last season and he seemed to be playing in various positions across the front three. I know the bbc isn’t super reliable but is this accurate? In an interview when signing for us he said he doesn’t mind where he plays left right or down the middle.

27-01-2023, 11:10 AM

Good post.

27-01-2023, 11:15 AM

Maybe we should give Bojang another chance then? He played even less.

27-01-2023, 11:20 AM

spot on with what you say regarding McKirdy. I really want to see it work out for him at Hibs.

Not sure I agree about Doidge being recalled :greengrin

Swindonfan
27-01-2023, 11:42 AM
Hi and thanks for coming on. I had a look at the bbc sport lineups for Swindon games last season and he seemed to be playing in various positions across the front three. I know the bbc isn’t super reliable but is this accurate? In an interview when signing for us he said he doesn’t mind where he plays left right or down the middle.

He played from the right side of a front 3. It gave him space to make runs that would put him centrally but we had a couple of players who played the central role and gave us a bit of physicality that harry doesnt have. At his best hes quick and direct and goes past people. He got assists to. Hes a poor mans Martin boyle.

27-01-2023, 11:45 AM
He played from the right side of a front 3. It gave him space to make runs that would put him centrally but we had a couple of players who played the central role and gave us a bit of physicality that harry doesnt have. At his best hes quick and direct and goes past people. He got assists to. Hes a poor mans Martin boyle.

Boyle used to get pushed off the ball too easily as well but learnt how to either stay on his feet or win a free kick. McKirdy could learn a thing or 2 from him.

Swindonfan
27-01-2023, 11:58 AM
Boyle used to get pushed off the ball too easily as well but learnt how to either stay on his feet or win a free kick. McKirdy could learn a thing or 2 from him.

After getting Boyle back i was surprised hibs still went for Harry as to me they then signed 2 players for the same position and to me that doesnt make sense when fans were crying out for midfielders.

Just out of curiosity why did hibs sign Henderson ? To me hes way to light weight to play in midfield and not quick enough to play in a forward position. LJ really bigged up the Portuguese lad and hes done nothing as well. Other than Boyle whos the last signing who was proven quality who you knew would do well ?

27-01-2023, 12:18 PM
How unsurprising for Hibs.net as various "experts" write off player after player as not good enough/pony & trap/abysmal etc having barely seen them play - I'd wager that 90% of these "experts" also wrote off Rocky last season - someone who 6 months later was in the running for Hibs' player of the season prior to injury.

27-01-2023, 12:18 PM
Have him in from the start tomorrow. Let’s see what he can do with Laidlaw and JOc off the bench.

27-01-2023, 12:20 PM
How unsurprising for Hibs.net as various "experts" write off player after player as not good enough/pony & trap/abysmal etc having barely seen them play - I'd wager that 90% of these "experts" also wrote off Rocky last season - someone who 6 months later was in the running for Hibs' player of the season prior to injury.

People are just giving their opinions.

What's your view?

27-01-2023, 12:32 PM
After getting Boyle back i was surprised hibs still went for Harry as to me they then signed 2 players for the same position and to me that doesnt make sense when fans were crying out for midfielders.

Just out of curiosity why did hibs sign Henderson ? To me hes way to light weight to play in midfield and not quick enough to play in a forward position. LJ really bigged up the Portuguese lad and hes done nothing as well. Other than Boyle whos the last signing who was proven quality who you knew would do well ?

Fair comments - our recruitment policy has been getting mostly deserved pelters for an unstinting tendency to sign "project" players that may or may not be brilliant in a few year's time. McKirdy did NOT come into that category though and some have already been writing him off because he's not hit the ground running - yet to score a goal and with mainly fleeting substitute appearances so far. I see something there with McKirdy though and am inclined to show a bit of patience - some players take a while to settle into a team.

Re Henderson & Tavares - two great examples of those "project" type players I mentioned. If we hadn't seen so many of these perhaps some would be showing more patience with McKirdy - as it is the fans want performances NOW and, critical though I may be of our more relentless whingers, they have a point!

27-01-2023, 01:00 PM

Marshall would be on good money and has probably been an improvement and offers something that the team needed.

There'd have been the hope that Doyle-Hayes would've come straight in and improved our midfield but he only showed it in flashes and has struggled with injuries this season. Similar to Magennis where injuries have ruined him and maybe should've been predicted considering the money spent.

GRA
27-01-2023, 01:03 PM
Been with us 5 months and has only had two starts, both of which he was hooked at half-time. But those were at Celtic Park & Tynecastle, when the games were virtually over at half time.

Can't build up any momentum if he keeps getting just 20 minutes or so each week.

With Nizzy on the way give him a run of starts to show what he can do. Who knows, maybe will go on a scoring spree once he breaks his duck like Doidge did.

27-01-2023, 01:07 PM

Nobody is claiming to be an expert. It's a fans forum. Plenty people have seen him with their own eyes though and think he's nowhere near good enough. Rocky Bushiri had obvious attributes even when settling in. Almost everyone appreciated he had the physical presence to do well in this league and he was only 21 years old. McKirdy is about to turn 26. He should be in his prime. If he can't take this chance that's been presented to him then he never will. I hope he rattles in a goal or two tomorrow to silence me and a few others but i have my doubts.

27-01-2023, 01:27 PM
He’s going to be raging if Nisbet doesn’t go 😂

27-01-2023, 02:50 PM

Agree with a fair bit of this. What I find bizarre is some folk throwing derogatory comments around and writing the guy off based on not very much at all. The last few games I’ve watched with him involved he’s looked better each time.

One of the points I don’t agree with you on is Christian Doidge unfortunately. Since his return from the achilles injury he really has looked like a different player. It’s been sad to see but it doesn’t look to me like he will ever be the same player again that was banging the goals in and helping the team out all over the park pre-injury. Bringing him back wouldn’t help us out at the moment imo.

27-01-2023, 02:58 PM
Agree with a fair bit of this. What I find bizarre is some folk throwing derogatory comments around and writing the guy off based on not very much at all. The last few games I’ve watched with him involved he’s looked better each time.

One of the points I don’t agree with you on is Christian Doidge unfortunately. Since his return from the achilles injury he really has looked like a different player. It’s been sad to see but it doesn’t look to me like he will ever be the same player again that was banging the goals in and helping the team out all over the park pre-injury. Bringing him back wouldn’t help us out at the moment imo.

I understand that about Doidge and the injury may well be the reason for the dip in his form. My main point was about being wary of using past success as an indicator of possible future success despite current evidence to the contrary.

Football fans do that a lot, certainly they do on this forum. Griffiths for example has been very poor for a long time but folk still think that if he came back to "where he was loved" he'd be brilliant again. There are several other examples like that, Deek and even Stokes could probably still do a job for us in some people's minds.

But I digress. :greengrin

snedzuk
27-01-2023, 03:23 PM

Slide tackle in training incoming.

j'adorehibs
27-01-2023, 08:06 PM

i hear Danny Baker has been on the blower to McKirdy

28-01-2023, 10:37 AM
Give the ball to McKirdy and he'll score!

Today's his day to shine!

GreenPJ
28-01-2023, 11:01 AM

The evidence on Doidge for the last season and a bit are that his injury has taken its toll and he is going backwards. Over that same period McKirdy showed evidence he can be impactful (maybe not with us yet but I would argue he hasn't had a chance to prove himself).

Edinburgh Green
28-01-2023, 04:36 PM
Played well, some nice link up play and defended well.

28-01-2023, 04:37 PM
Decent shift today.

28-01-2023, 04:38 PM
Surprised me today to be honest. Better than I expected. Played well today

28-01-2023, 04:41 PM
Didn’t do much with the ball but absolutely ran himself in to the ground. Set the tone and let us play much higher up the pitch. Really liked his performance today.

28-01-2023, 04:51 PM
Didn’t do much with the ball but absolutely ran himself in to the ground. Set the tone and let us play much higher up the pitch. Really liked his performance today.

The second half attack when he was offside was a lovely piece of play. Could easily have been greedy but he played a nice lay off to Youan

Also would have had a tap in if Youan had just played an early cross later in the game

28-01-2023, 04:52 PM
Could do a job as a DM to be honest, bags of energy and positional awareness.

28-01-2023, 04:54 PM
Worked hard.

GreenPJ
28-01-2023, 05:06 PM
Worked hard.

He did work hard and did some tracking back but still doesn't seem he knows his role in the team.

ErinGoBraghHFC
28-01-2023, 05:08 PM
Could do a job as a DM to be honest, bags of energy and positional awareness.

You sure you’re not Lee Johnson? Please just play guys in their natural position

28-01-2023, 05:20 PM
The second half attack when he was offside was a lovely piece of play. Could easily have been greedy but he played a nice lay off to Youan

Also would have had a tap in if Youan had just played an early cross later in the game

He links the play very well. He needs game time but also a bit of luck around the penalty box.

Good shift today.

28-01-2023, 05:24 PM
Most he’s played for us and in one of his natural positions.

Done well imo, understandably a bit rusty at times though

Hopefully gets his footwear right in the next game.

JammyDoidger
28-01-2023, 05:27 PM
I think if he gets a goal he will start to settle into a rhythm. Play him again Tuesday.

28-01-2023, 05:30 PM
Really energetic and pressed really well. Just needs a goal and I think we might have a useful player here.

Thought he did a valuable job today, hassling Dons players, winning loose balls, and some of his link up was excellent. Until he finds his A game, that will do nicely.

He did work hard and did some tracking back but still doesn't seem he knows his role in the team.

Disagree with that on what I saw today. Played his position well, even if not spectacular with the ball.

28-01-2023, 05:37 PM

Marshall.

28-01-2023, 05:52 PM
Thought he played well today full of beans never gave the Dons defence a moments peace

Needs a goal and looks as though he could do with a good feed

What’s with the bandage ?

Good to see him getting a start

Played his part in a good team performance

loanheadhibby
28-01-2023, 06:03 PM
He has great energy. Still not sure he’s at same level as Youhan & McGeady.

I actually think he’s trying a bit too hard. He just needs to relax a little bit

28-01-2023, 06:09 PM
Hopefully gets that goal soon. I thought him, McGeady and Youan complimented each other well today. He has less ability than them but sometimes it isn't about that. Aberdeen couldn't cope. Well done.

Silky
28-01-2023, 06:12 PM
He has great energy. Still not sure he’s at same level as Youhan & McGeady.

I actually think he’s trying a bit too hard. He just needs to relax a little bit

He does look like he's trying too hard. I think there's something in there. He needs a run at it.

28-01-2023, 06:15 PM
I thought he played really well today, lots of good link up play and just needs that goal.

I also like the way he did wee ned things like standing way too close to the corner takers, he was closer to the ball than the 10 yd markers

28-01-2023, 06:16 PM
Did very well defensively today.

Not really coming together for him at the other end of the pitch though.

29-01-2023, 08:36 AM
I couldn't help but have a chuckle when he tried his we dance/step over thing in their box at the end of the first half. Youan then picking the ball up and skinin their defence made it even funnier 🤣.

29-01-2023, 08:39 AM
Delighted with the reaction he got when he left the pitch, he may not have a goal yet but that will have given him some confidence after putting in a great shift. If only Youan had squared the ball to him at the back post 2nd half I was sure he was going to get his first goal.

percy veer
29-01-2023, 08:40 AM
Thought he played Well today looked hungry, youan should have squared it to him second half needs to sometimes just fire it across after beating 1 man.

LustForLeith
29-01-2023, 09:10 AM
I thought he was decent yesterday. Just needs a goal for his confidence

29-01-2023, 09:33 AM
Played well, got stuck in, never hid and was willing to backtrack and do his bit defensively.

Hopefully gets a run and goals will come .

29-01-2023, 09:37 AM
In the highlights I thought he showed great footwork in the one he layed off from the edge of the box for Youan to run on to.

29-01-2023, 09:37 AM
Really good shift yesterday, was all over the pitch and linked up with the other attackers well. Hope he gets a start again on Tuesday if he’s fit.

McGruber
29-01-2023, 09:53 AM
Great shift - he's clever aswell.

hibeejeebies
29-01-2023, 12:03 PM
I think if he gets a goal he will start to settle into a rhythm. Play him again Tuesday.

I agree JD. Needs a goal and will hopefully go from strength to strength.

29-01-2023, 06:12 PM
Really good shift yesterday, was all over the pitch and linked up with the other attackers well. Hope he gets a start again on Tuesday if he’s fit.

I agree, he should start, even if Nizzy is still on the premises. That for me would be good management from LJ.

SideBurns
29-01-2023, 06:17 PM
I'd agree with previous posters that he seems to be trying too hard. He'll be desperate to get his first goal. Nevertheless, was a great piece of play in the 2nd half to set up Youan for the shot saved by Lewis (you could argue McKirdy should've ran thru on his own, but still showed composure and was unselfish).

A great performance yesterday.

29-01-2023, 06:51 PM
Delighted with the reaction he got when he left the pitch, he may not have a goal yet but that will have given him some confidence after putting in a great shift. If only Youan had squared the ball to him at the back post 2nd half I was sure he was going to get his first goal.

The fans acknowledged that he had a good game and battled hard, and the fans are pretty good judges as to whether or not a player is deserving of praise. It was a very warm ovation. I got the sense of a real will from the support to see McKirdy grow into the side, make a valued contribution and to get that first goal which would take some of the weight off his shoulders a bit.

He usually gets a couple of chances with getting himself into the right at paces, but despite a decent performance yesterday he didn’t really get any chances from what I recall!

Deserves to keep his place in side for Dingwall I’d say.

29-01-2023, 07:08 PM
The fans acknowledged that he had a good game and battled hard, and the fans are pretty good judges as to whether or not a player is deserving of praise. It was a very warm ovation. I got the sense of a real will from the support to see McKirdy grow into the side, make a valued contribution and to get that first goal which would take some of the weight off his shoulders a bit.

He usually gets a couple of chances with getting himself into the right at paces, but despite a decent performance yesterday he didn’t really get any chances from what I recall!

Effort and enthusiasm goes a long way. He went out and showed that yesterday and, as you say, the crowd responded to that. I can’t see Nisbet being on the bench again on Tuesday and think McKirdy is the most likely one to miss out, unless we need to manage McGeady’s minutes.

cameronw-hfc
29-01-2023, 07:17 PM

He popped up unmarked quite a few times at the back post and was never picked up. Think his first goal might come from a tap in at the back post if we can start finding him, just needs one then the confidence will be flowing 👍

29-01-2023, 07:23 PM
Really energetic and pressed really well. Just needs a goal and I think we might have a useful player here.
100% this.

29-01-2023, 08:11 PM
Makes lots of decent runs off the ball into space without getting picked up

His cheeky wee reverse flick to Youan into space second half was sublime

As others have said I suspect his first goal will be a tap in at the back post

Defences nowadays do not defend their posts for some strange reason 😀

29-01-2023, 10:53 PM
Was his substitution with calf injury just a precaution or is he likely to miss a few games Haven’t seen an update on this

mikewynne
29-01-2023, 11:02 PM
Was his substitution with calf injury just a precaution or is he likely to miss a few games Haven’t seen an update on this

It just looked like cramp to me. He pointed to both calves

tomhorn
31-01-2023, 11:49 AM

Just needs a haircut

31-01-2023, 11:50 AM
It just looked like cramp to me. He pointed to both calves
Cheers thst would make sense given he hasn’t had a lot of prolonged game time so far

147lothian
31-01-2023, 05:18 PM
He links play well, but I think his main contribution to the team is the energy he brings.

31-01-2023, 05:32 PM
Once he settles in and gets the goal could see the best off him there’s something different about Him reminds me of Sturrock not just with socks lol

31-01-2023, 08:42 PM
Looks energetic but couldn’t score in a barrel of proverbials and his attitude stinks. If the game went on even a couple more minutes he’d likely have gotten a red.

31-01-2023, 08:43 PM
On tonight's evidence swap that embarrassment, the poor man's BA Barrucus, for the lad Williams

31-01-2023, 08:46 PM
Headless chicken.
That dive was the worst I've ever seen.

31-01-2023, 08:46 PM
Said on the matchday thread he looks and acts like a wee boy

Socks at his ankles, long sleeve top covering his hands to keep warm

Not the type of player you want or need on a cold wet night in dingwall

31-01-2023, 08:51 PM
Looks energetic but couldn’t score in a barrel of proverbials and his attitude stinks. If the game went on even a couple more minutes he’d likely have gotten a red.

31-01-2023, 08:55 PM
Ach you mob are no fun. Johnny Rotten playing for Hibs - gotta love that. :greengrin

31-01-2023, 08:57 PM
Ach you mob are no fun. Johnny Rotten playing for Hibs - gotta love that. :greengrin
I want a goalscorer, not a walking talking toilet brush.

AL-Qaholik
31-01-2023, 09:02 PM
Can’t stand him. Sooner he swans back off to Swindon the better.

31-01-2023, 09:18 PM
Back to Swindon please

31-01-2023, 09:19 PM
Without all the personal stuff , id have to agree that this looks like another wasted signing.. He looks and plays like a 17/18 year old laddie coming through, yet he is almost 26. We need to be moving these type of players on this summer if we are going to Improve next season

31-01-2023, 09:20 PM
He’s the cocky, moaning ***** that gets away with it because they’re a decent player, except he’s not a decent player.

Whatever writing a player off means as a football fan… that’s what I’m doing.

greenflyer
31-01-2023, 09:26 PM
Running about like a wobbly scarecrow with no talent to influence a game for adults.
This is how to drive away supporters. We have seen some charlies before but nothing like this. :timebomb::idiot:

31-01-2023, 09:28 PM
Is Swindon on the way to Wigan? We could take Henderson and McKirdy in the one car...

Crunchie
31-01-2023, 09:30 PM
Some less than Hibs class comments on here. The guy tries his heart out, if he's not good enough it's not for the want of trying that's for sure. Not having an extended run in the team certainly hasn't helped.

Hibees1973
31-01-2023, 09:34 PM
Can’t stand him. Sooner he swans back off to Swindon the better.

100%.

Remember some posters on here saying when he arrived 'Oh, he is really going to wind up the Yams wi his banter'. Do me a favour.

Has contributed absolutely nowt since he stepped in at ER. Apart from several bookings, the occasional offensive tweet and a few dives.

Get rid pronto.

I actually cringe watching him. McKirdy is one of the most embarrassing players to wear a Hibs jersey that I have seen.

31-01-2023, 09:37 PM
Some of the comments a bit harsh but no idea what he was doing the last 20 or so. In saying that Malkys team are an absolute gang

31-01-2023, 09:38 PM
100%.

Remember some posters on here saying when he arrived 'Oh, he is really going to wind up the Yams wi his banter'. Do me a favour.

Has contributed absolutely nowt since he stepped in at ER. Apart from several bookings, the occasional offensive tweet and a few dives.

Get rid pronto.

I actually cringe watching him. McKirdy is one of the most embarrassing players to wear a Hibs jersey that I have seen.

Jesus that's a bit harsh nah? Plenty players with a better pedigree than McKirdy have struggled or failed to adapt to the Scottish game.

delbert
31-01-2023, 09:39 PM
100%.

Get rid pronto.

Agree with all of that mate, he is quite simply an absolutely awful football player, one of the very worst we have ever had and that’s saying something !

Allyg69
31-01-2023, 09:40 PM
He's just not SPL standard, aye he tries but we could all do that. We gave it a shot and it hasn't worked out as we all expected. Time for Hibs to admit his time is up.

BoyledEgg
31-01-2023, 09:44 PM
If he was stick to the football side of things he could be a decent player, but all the moaning and complaining, trying to start arguments, and whatever that dive was, is just stupid behaviour. Needs to screw the nut and knuckle down instead of trying to make it about himself.

31-01-2023, 09:44 PM
The concerning thing is that we would be better off gambling with our young players coming through , not the likes of mckirdy who cost us a transfer fee and presumably on decent enough dough.. we need a core of experienced spl players and good quality signings blended with our own young players coming through. Its beyond staggering the amount of punts we have taken on various signings.. need to clear the crap out in the summer and get back to basics. Whats the point in having an academy and training facility with plenty overheads and costing a small fortune to run if we aren’t prepared to try using what we produce. If im an 18 year old coming through at Hibs , im looking at the likes of tavares , mckirdy , henderson, bojang , and countless others rocking up and having nothing worthy to contribute and im thinking whats the point.

Hibees1973
31-01-2023, 09:47 PM
Is Swindon on the way to Wigan? We could take Henderson and McKirdy in the one car...

I'm sure there will be room for Tavares as well.

Liam978
31-01-2023, 09:50 PM
100%.

Get rid pronto.

Oh so obviously you cringed on Saturday aye, whatever happened to the real Hibby's, when you pull on our unique and famous jersey; you should be entitled to some form of encouragement. Sadly that is not the case anymore especially on this forum these days. Take a leaf out of the real fans who were in Dingwall tonight. they were magnificent.

Hibees1973
31-01-2023, 09:51 PM
The concerning thing is that we would be better off gambling with our young players coming through , not the likes of mckirdy who cost us a transfer fee and presumably on decent enough dough.. we need a core of experienced spl players and good quality signings blended with our own young players coming through. Its beyond staggering the amount of punts we have taken on various signings.. need to clear the crap out in the summer and get back to basics. Whats the point in having an academy and training facility with plenty overheads and costing a small fortune to run if we aren’t prepared to try using what we produce. If im an 18 year old coming through at Hibs , im looking at the likes of tavares , mckirdy , henderson, bojang , and countless others rocking up and having nothing worthy to contribute and im thinking whats the point.

Agree.

Much as Kensall has said there is a restructure taking place. Surely someone must take responsibility and leave for paying out transfer fees, 3 - 4 years deals and wages on imposters such as the ones mentioned in your post.

What a complete waste of time and money.

31-01-2023, 09:51 PM
Actually thought he started reasonable well but later in game he started to get a bit ragged and unprofessional.

The Wireless
31-01-2023, 09:56 PM
Give the lad Henderson a break, far too many supporters jumping on this “ he’s ***** bandwagon” When a player is struggling for form and confidence what he needs is the help of the so called Hibs Class fan to help him through this period not slag him off with repeated snide comments behind a keyboard.

31-01-2023, 09:58 PM
Would like to see one of the youngsters given a chance

31-01-2023, 10:01 PM
Give the lad Henderson a break, far too many supporters jumping on this “ he’s ***** bandwagon” When a player is struggling for form and confidence what he needs is the help of the so called Hibs Class fan to help him through this period not slag him off with repeated snide comments behind a keyboard.

The personal digs are needless.. That doesn’t disguise the fact he isnt good enough if we want to improve next season. He isnt just struggling for form , he is well off the standard of player we need to be handling 3 year contracts out to.

31-01-2023, 10:02 PM

He isnt **** but for whatever reason it hasn't worked overly well for him at Hibs. And sometimes it's better for players to move on to a new environment.

But just as well he has a Hibs class fan like yourself to defend him against the cowardly typists.

31-01-2023, 10:05 PM
Some less than Hibs class comments on here. The guy tries his heart out, if he's not good enough it's not for the want of trying that's for sure. Not having an extended run in the team certainly hasn't helped.

Trying your heart out should be a pre requisite for any Hibs player. I'm still struggling to see what he offers.

31-01-2023, 10:35 PM

Agreed, it's hard to believe that the young strikers at the club would have offered less than McKirdy has so far, if given the same opportunity.

loanheadhibby
31-01-2023, 11:45 PM
Trying your heart out should be a pre requisite for any Hibs player. I'm still struggling to see what he offers.

He offers 0 get rid.

cameronw-hfc
31-01-2023, 11:55 PM
Seen much better players play much worse away to county on nights like this. Wasn't a terrible performance, just didn't do much.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-02-2023, 12:26 AM
I like the guy, there’s a player in there and he puts himself about.

Donegal Hibby
01-02-2023, 12:35 AM
I have been mostly very critical of Mckirdy , I was encouraged by what I saw of him in Dons game and think there's a player there . Against Ross county with the weather and playing a big physical team i don't think it's fair to judge him on this game and would like to see the guy given more time.

01-02-2023, 05:48 AM
I have been mostly very critical of Mckirdy , I was encouraged by what I saw of him in Dons game and think there's a player there . Against Ross county with the weather and playing a big physical team i don't think it's fair to judge him on this game and would like to see the guy given more time.

The problem is that big physical teams are pretty standard up here.

Paulie Walnuts
01-02-2023, 06:04 AM

When is it going to be fair to judge him? The weather? Come on man.

I’ve never heard so many excuses be made for a player. Every time he doesn’t perform it’s not his fault, it’s LJ for not starting him, it’s LJ for starting him at undesirable locations, it’s LJ for starting him when it’s raining.

01-02-2023, 06:05 AM
He scored 25 goals last year. This year, albeit mainly cameo roles, he’s barely threatened.

Clarence
01-02-2023, 06:16 AM
His highlights reel looks nice but I wonder if anyone from Hibs watched him play in person. He’s just not cut out for this league as he’s too slight and he doesn’t know how to use the strength he has well.

HerbDailly
01-02-2023, 06:29 AM
I have been mostly very critical of Mckirdy , I was encouraged by what I saw of him in Dons game and think there's a player there . Against Ross county with the weather and playing a big physical team i don't think it's fair to judge him on this game and would like to see the guy given more time.He's come from a level filled with big, strong lads, to Scotland, where the weather's ****, and we also have big, strong lads playing football.
It irritates that he's so into making sure he's holding his cuffs so he looks different and what have you, I wish he'd drop these stupid priorities and stand out for the right reasons, he's not a youngster ffs.

If he can't do it on a cold Tuesday night in dingwall, and he can't do it on an autumn Saturday afternoon in Edinburgh, when can he do it?

Sorry, I'm not around here much, but this guy's getting on my chebs.

HerbDailly
01-02-2023, 06:29 AM
The problem is that big physical teams are pretty standard up here.As is **** weather

sauzeelegod
01-02-2023, 07:58 AM
Does he offer any more than Bradley would have done?
Starting to look like we should have kept him and played him instead of McKirdy.

01-02-2023, 08:00 AM

So is the bad weather

sahpaton
01-02-2023, 08:02 AM

Same in League Two as well to be fair and he scored plenty there last season

loanheadhibby
01-02-2023, 08:05 AM

I read guys on Twitter last night slaughtering LJ because he left McKirdy out of the starting line up. It amazes me as LJ watched this guy everyday in training.

We’ve heard every excuse from supporters that he’s not had enough time, not had run of games etc. Possibly he just is not good enough?

01-02-2023, 08:09 AM
I read guys on Twitter last night slaughtering LJ because he left McKirdy out of the starting line up. It amazes me as LJ watched this guy everyday in training.

We’ve heard every excuse from supporters that he’s not had enough time, not had run of games etc. Possibly he just is not good enough?
It’s his attitude that annoys me the most. We needed to get the head down and bust a gut to scrape a goal last night.

Instead we see him picking a fight with his own shadow, very very lucky not to get sent off as a result IMO and also has the worst dive I’ve seen from a Hibs player in many a year. Even if the player clipped his heel like he claimed (and I didn’t see it), it was several steps before and the player was a couple of yards away from him when he falls over.

We don’t need a character like that. No goals, no assists, no hope.

01-02-2023, 08:09 AM

Previously I didn’t don’t think he’d had enough of an opportunity, I thought he did well at the weekend and I didn’t see the game last night.

Tbf, the “not had enough of a chance” line should be wearing a bit thin by now. I’m coming round to thinking he’s not going to be good enough, depending on what our expectations are. I’d be surprised if he’s a regular, positive, significant contributor to a top 4 side but I reckon he’s probably solid enough for a club that bumps around in the middle of the bottom 6.

01-02-2023, 08:10 AM
Sick to death of the excuses being rolled out for this lad. Not had much game time. Brought on when chasing the game. Hooked at half time. Bad weather. Started at a difficult venue. Played against a big physical team etc, etc, etc.

Maybe we should only play him when we're winning comfortably at home against a poor team full of small players during the summer? He's had around 500 minutes to show what he's all about. The likes of Laidlaw and O'Connor would bite your hand off for that amount of game time. All he's done of note is pick up yellow cards.

01-02-2023, 08:47 AM
Sick to death of the excuses being rolled out for this lad.

When I get fed up with a subject or a thread like that, I just stop reading it. Your well being may benefit if you did the same.

Just a thought. :wink:

heid the baw
01-02-2023, 08:50 AM
Everyone waiting for the " player on there somewhere", he'll be quietly moved on in the summer window, probably released on a free.
Very poor signing. Came on as cover for an early injury yesterday but we could equally have brought on O Connor and come away with the same result. Only difference would have been that we know what McKirdy offers but have yet to see what young O Connor can do. He showed a wee glimpse winning a penalty at the weekend.
I agree with other re McKirdys niggly unnecessary fouls and moaning at officials. Just a frustrating player and not what's required

01-02-2023, 09:07 AM
I don’t think his general play last night night was as bad as some are making out, but it was his losing the plot a bit that was more concerning for me. In the little game time that he’s had to date, that was always bubbling under the surface and you’d imagine with more game time the more we’ll see his throwing the toys out the pram. A red card waiting to happen.

Plus, his appearance leaves a lot to be desired. Looks more like someone dressed for a game of 5’s with their mates rather than a professional footballer, and the less said about the Mohawk the better. Are they really back in style? Who else other than middles aged darter Peter “Snakebite” Wright has one these days?

He offers something, but what he’s offering could be replicated, or bettered by the likes of O’Connor and Laidlaw.

Donegal Hibby
01-02-2023, 09:41 AM
When is it going to be fair to judge him? The weather? Come on man.

I’ve never heard so many excuses be made for a player. Every time he doesn’t perform it’s not his fault, it’s LJ for not starting him, it’s LJ for starting him at undesirable locations, it’s LJ for starting him when it’s raining.

I think we have all been judging Stubbs and he's not had the best of starts though my own opinion is he was good against Aberdeen and worked his socks off in that game, do think there's a player there . Weather had a big bearing on how the game was played or the lack of it and I think we can cut the team and Mckirdy some slack due to the conditions. Yes big physical teams are pretty standard in Scotland though I felt with a combination of wind and rain it probably suited a more physical team than ours last night . LJ did say in his post - match interview here that the players had said it was tough to play our game in such conditions.
https://youtu.be/h7dj1ee0Y2Q

01-02-2023, 02:16 PM
Sick to death of the excuses being rolled out for this lad. Not had much game time. Brought on when chasing the game. Hooked at half time. Bad weather. Started at a difficult venue. Played against a big physical team etc, etc, etc.

Maybe we should only play him when we're winning comfortably at home against a poor team full of small players during the summer? He's had around 500 minutes to show what he's all about. The likes of Laidlaw and O'Connor would bite your hand off for that amount of game time. All he's done of note is pick up yellow cards.

Played well in the big win against the sheep, only his 3rd start. Still to early to write the wee nyaff off.

01-02-2023, 07:14 PM
I don’t think his general play last night night was as bad as some are making out, but it was his losing the plot a bit that was more concerning for me. In the little game time that he’s had to date, that was always bubbling under the surface and you’d imagine with more game time the more we’ll see his throwing the toys out the pram. A red card waiting to happen.

Plus, his appearance leaves a lot to be desired. Looks more like someone dressed for a game of 5’s with their mates rather than a professional footballer, and the less said about the Mohawk the better. Are they really back in style? Who else other than middles aged darter Peter “Snakebite” Wright has one these days?

He offers something, but what he’s offering could be replicated, or bettered by the likes of O’Connor and Laidlaw.

The hair "style" doesn't bother me but what I would say is that if he's going with something that draws that much attention, he'd better perform because everyone will be watching him.

1875Sean
01-02-2023, 09:16 PM
I think we have all been judging Stubbs and he's not had the best of starts though my own opinion is he was good against Aberdeen and worked his socks off in that game, do think there's a player there . Weather had a big bearing on how the game was played or the lack of it and I think we can cut the team and Mckirdy some slack due to the conditions. Yes big physical teams are pretty standard in Scotland though I felt with a combination of wind and rain it probably suited a more physical team than ours last night . LJ did say in his post - match interview here that the players had said it was tough to play our game in such conditions.
https://youtu.be/h7dj1ee0Y2Q

Working his socks off is right but he’s not good enough!

Honestly think he would have punted by now if he hadn’t already played for 2 clubs this season

01-02-2023, 09:53 PM
Find it a bit weird that people are concerned about the guys appearance tbh, not really sure why that matters.

01-02-2023, 10:03 PM
Im struggling to think of one memorable positive play he has produced in any of his game time so far. He looks miles off it for me

01-02-2023, 10:26 PM
Find it a bit weird that people are concerned about the guys appearance tbh, not really sure why that matters.

Players' appearances are regularly commented upon by football fans, usually as a pejorative.

Players often get taunted about the way they look.

Nade for being big.
Fulton booked for being ugly
Skacel refugee
Looks looky men
Elephant man
Bald folk

etc etc etc

Even Dirk Lehman was dubbed Porn Star for the way he looked.

It is what it is.

Donegal Hibby
01-02-2023, 10:31 PM
Working his socks off is right but he’s not good enough!

Honestly think he would have punted by now if he hadn’t already played for 2 clubs this season
I actually think he's a good player though it hasn't happened for him at us for some reason and I thought he had a good game against Aberdeen. I'm not going to be critical of him or any other Hibs player in the Ross county game as I thought the conditions were horrendous for playing football . I think he's probably lacking abit of confidence and needs a goal to get him going , he's certainly trying imo , understand why your not happy with him though I just feel like he might come good yet . I watched his goals at Swindon today again and I'm hoping once he gets his first it will lead to more 🤞.
https://youtu.be/HaO22tqX-SU

1875Sean
01-02-2023, 10:52 PM
I actually think he's a good player though it hasn't happened for him at us for some reason and I thought he had a good game against Aberdeen. I'm not going to be critical of him or any other Hibs player in the Ross county game as I thought the conditions were horrendous for playing football . I think he's probably lacking abit of confidence and needs a goal to get him going , he's certainly trying imo , understand why your not happy with him though I just feel like he might come good yet . I watched his goals at Swindon today again and I'm hoping once he gets his first it will lead to more 🤞.
https://youtu.be/HaO22tqX-SU

Better players from league 2 have come up and failed, look forward to seeing your next excuse when he doesn’t score!

I’m just glad we have another forward in, McKirdy will remain on the bench

01-02-2023, 10:59 PM

For me it’s just the classic if you have that/do a certain thing you better be a good player.

So far he’s not proven that.

He doesn’t look like the player we thought we were getting at all, maybe due to confidence or sharpness but hopefully he rediscovers it.

What annoys me about him is when he’s in the box and does a wee flick pass with the outside of his boot, needs to commit to it and make sure it gets to his man.

There’s times he protects the ball well and takes it in his stride or does a good turn, I just want to see him running at players more and getting shots away

Donegal Hibby
02-02-2023, 12:24 AM
Better players from league 2 have come up and failed, look forward to seeing your next excuse when he doesn’t score!

I’m just glad we have another forward in, McKirdy will remain on the bench
Maybe better players have come from league 2 and failed though wherever they come from I hope they are a success at Hibs . Wasn't trying to make excuses for Mckirdy in dingwall though i think our team didn't play that well and I put a lot of that down to weather conditions and decided to cut the team some slack as a fan .I'm glad we signed a striker as well specially with Nisbet going off injured . You say your looking forward to my next excuse when Mckirdy doesn't score , kinda feels like that's what your hoping for with a statement like that ! . I hope we win , team plays well and Mckirdy scores which just might boast his confidence and get him on the goal trail which can only benefit us .

ErinGoBraghHFC
02-02-2023, 12:44 AM
Players' appearances are regularly commented upon by football fans, usually as a pejorative.

Nade for being big.
Skacel refugee
Looks looky men
Elephant man
Bald folk

etc etc etc

It is what it is.

How do you look like a refugee? Answers on a postcard

Greenio
02-02-2023, 01:04 AM
I think his appearance is about professionalism. It's all perception of course but he doesn't look like he's taking himself seriously enough and that can have an impact on him, his team and the opponents

ErinGoBraghHFC
02-02-2023, 01:07 AM
I think his appearance is about professionalism. It's all perception of course but he doesn't look like he's taking himself seriously enough and that can have an impact on him, his team and the opponents

He’s no a lawyer or a politician, the guy plays a game for a living. He can have whatever hairstyle he wants (even if he looks like a fud)

Greenio
02-02-2023, 01:16 AM

'pull your socks up' is a saying for a reason

HarpOnHibee
02-02-2023, 01:45 AM
If he didn't act like an idiot, nobody on here would care less how he styles his hair or whatever. The lad either screws the nut or he spends the rest of his career in the sea side leagues. We should be long done dealing with wasters.

02-02-2023, 04:33 AM

'pull your socks up' is a saying for a reason
I was just saying this on Saturday at the game. If I was manager I’d fine the socks at the ankles. I’d fine sucks over the knees. I’d fine shirts not being tucked in. Finally stupid haircuts too.

ErinGoBraghHFC
02-02-2023, 04:59 AM
I was just saying this on Saturday at the game. If I was manager I’d fine the socks at the ankles. I’d fine sucks over the knees. I’d fine shirts not being tucked in. Finally stupid haircuts too.

Who decides what’s a stupid haircut? Getting into dodgy territory doing that with some players having cultural hairstyles etc

02-02-2023, 05:30 AM

Nade for being big.
Skacel refugee
Looks looky men
Elephant man
Bald folk

etc etc etc

It is what it is.

Skacel was called a refugee cos of the way he looked???

02-02-2023, 05:38 AM
Skacel was called a refugee cos of the way he looked???

Think he ment big nosed prick instead of refugee 😉