View Full Version : Match Updates Killie v Hibs
12-11-2022, 12:52 PM
Can we get back to winning ways?
12-11-2022, 12:56 PM
Imo were playing into Killie’s hands with that team
Lack of pace, get the ball wide and cross it.
They’ll absolutely love that.
I wouldn’t be surprised in the slightest if they counter us from Porteous and Stevenson pushing right up and getting caught out
Mikey_1875
12-11-2022, 12:56 PM
LJ seems set on the 3-5-2 now. Got to assume Rocky isn’t 100%. Biggest problem again is going to be creativity and getting chances for the two up top. Hopefully there are some fresh ideas today.
DJ HIBBY
12-11-2022, 12:57 PM
No idea how that team lines up. Very few goals in there too. Magennis still not fit?
Not a fan of that team at all. See what happens you just never know in football.
No idea how that team lines up. Very few goals in there too. Magennis still not fit?
Out till after the world cup.
12-11-2022, 12:58 PM
Surprised to see McKirdy back, thought he was out until after the break?
DJ HIBBY
12-11-2022, 12:59 PM
Out till after the world cup.
Then back for 2 games and out until next season most likely
12-11-2022, 01:00 PM
Extremely harsh on Rocky
12-11-2022, 01:01 PM
Extremely harsh on Rocky
Easily our best defender/player over the last few games
12-11-2022, 01:02 PM
Looks like a back 4 to me and Lewis will be in midfield
Green Reaper
12-11-2022, 01:02 PM
Extremely harsh on Rocky
Don’t get it at all, must be ok as on bench
12-11-2022, 01:03 PM
It looks a 3-5-2 to me but could also be a 4-4-2 diamond or even a 4-3-3 with Stevenson LB and Cabraja LW.
Anyone come on the Hibs.
12-11-2022, 01:03 PM
I hope not, I've booked the plane and banner for half time.
12-11-2022, 01:04 PM
Looks like a back 4 to me and Lewis will be in midfield
Maybe trying to win the battle in the middle with 4 CM's
12-11-2022, 01:05 PM
Bizarre team. How the **** Rocky doesn’t get a start is beyond me. 2 left backs when we’ve got Dan McKay on loan?
12-11-2022, 01:06 PM
If that’s a 352 Johnson wants sacked. Surely Stevenson / Cabraja are left midfield?
12-11-2022, 01:09 PM
Very defensive. Don't see goals in that
12-11-2022, 01:10 PM
That lineup looks honking. Hopefully prove me wrong.
badabing67
12-11-2022, 01:17 PM
Dabrowski back in Schofield out no Magennis what's up with him
12-11-2022, 01:17 PM
Quite why Mitchell is taking a jersey ahead of a youngster is beyond me.
12-11-2022, 01:19 PM
Quite why Mitchell is taking a jersey ahead of a youngster is beyond me.
They are in the algarve
HibeeHibernia
Lets hope the boys get a result the day :flag:
Magennis is injured again. Some kind of muscular strain. Can't mind exactly but it was in here the other day from one of LJ's interviews.
BlackSheep
12-11-2022, 01:20 PM
Hamstring strain…. Again 🙈
Am I correct in saying Magennis’ OG injury before we signed him was a knee injury? If so it’s common for athletes who’ve had knee injuries to suffer hamstring problems when they recover.
12-11-2022, 01:20 PM
Looks like a 4-4-2 to me with Stevenson in Midfield. Moving away from the 3-5-2 but shying away from going back to that swashbuckling 4-3-3 we saw earlier in the season.
Doesn't look altogether inspiring with basically two defensive mids in Stevenson & Kenneh - hope they get the result though and make me eat my words :pray:
12-11-2022, 01:21 PM
Killie playing 352 too
…………….Walker……..
…..Mayo…Dorset….Wright….
Murray….Power…Donnelley…Polworth..
…………………McKenzie….
…………Armstrong….Cameron….
HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 01:22 PM
If that’s a 352 Johnson wants sacked. Surely Stevenson / Cabraja are left midfield?
The way he has been setting the team up lately it is almost like he wants to get the sack mate he looks like he has chucked it for me.
12-11-2022, 01:24 PM
Slight hamstring strain so needed rested for this one
That team is awful imo.
Hibees1973
6 defensive minded outfield players.
Starting with Kenneh who was hooked early doors on Tuesday. At least Henderson is not starting.
I weep when I see the lack of pace in that team. Depressing times these.
Can only see a defeat here today.
12-11-2022, 01:26 PM
Lennonesque line up
12-11-2022, 01:26 PM
Don’t get that line up at all. I’m sure there is method to it but it looks like another hopeful roll of the dice and it’s names out of a hat for the starting line up.
Definite shades of late Lennon era.
Here’s hoping I’m eating my words come full time, but i really don’t see this team getting pulses racing.
Don’t get that line up at all. I’m sure there is method to it but it looks like another hopeful roll of the dice and it’s names out of a hat for the starting line up.
Here’s hoping I’m eating my words come full time, but i really don’t see this team getting pulses racing.
I'm prepared for disappointment
12-11-2022, 01:31 PM
I do half get his thinking, 5 defeats in 6 so thinks we need to go and grind out a win at that horrible pitch which he thinks is best with the team we’ve put out.
What I don’t get is Rocky dropping out, been out best defender by a mile. If injured/can’t play on Astro why is he on the bench?
What’s clear though is this is a must win, from a form and starting X1 point of view.
You can put out a team that defensive and not win, especially when we’ve loads of attacking options on the bench.
McKirdy back surprises me as I’m sure the other day he said he was back running but no ball work?
If I was Killie I’d be rubbing my hands at that team, the lad up top for them Cameron is massive so he’ll pull onto Stevenson all day.
12-11-2022, 01:32 PM
Starting with Kenneh who was hooked early doors on Tuesday. At least Henderson is not starting.
Kenneh did nothing wrong in the last game.
12-11-2022, 01:32 PM
If you are dropping a defender it should have been Porteous.
12-11-2022, 01:33 PM
Stevenson in midfield?
442 ?
Stevenson or Cabraja Midfield
I’m prepared to celebrate a win. Seriously.
HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 01:34 PM
For a manager who prides himself on attacking football he certainly doesn't half love starting with defensive minded players mate eh
The way he has been setting the team up lately it is almost like he wants to get the sack mate he looks like he has chucked it for me.
What a load of nonsense 🤣
HibeeHibernia
makes the wins all the sweeter
HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 01:36 PM
What a load of nonsense 🤣
wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if he resigns today if we get beat, all in my opinion of course.
12-11-2022, 01:37 PM
I was at my annual fire training all day yesterday, work in a school with a capacity of 1500. We have under 2 mins to safely clear the building. If there is going to be a crush it will apparently most likely happen in the early stages of the evacuation and likely at a bottle neck off the stairs feeding back onto the actual stair itself.
So, arrive in rugby park today to see that all 5 evacuation routes Onto the park are blocked by metal barriers which are actually tied to the permanent railings. This type of practice was actually discussed yesterday. Let’s hope there is no need to evacuate because there will be no less than 5 simultaneous areas of danger.
12-11-2022, 01:39 PM
I think that’s what would disappoint many on here.
Is his celebration that bad?
Green Reaper
12-11-2022, 01:39 PM
I am baffled as to how we are lining up today because whatever formation I think it could be there seems to be better options in certain positions
Hibs4185
12-11-2022, 01:41 PM
Don’t like the team, hate the killie pitch, expecting us to get beat…
For that reason Hibs will win 3-1.
I’m prepared to celebrate a win. Seriously.
Hopefully I'll be celebrating with you 👌
Warming up as a back four, Cabraja at left back
12-11-2022, 01:43 PM
I was at my annual fire training all day yesterday, work in a school with a capacity of 1500. We have under 2 mins to safely clear the building. If there is going to be a crush it will apparently most likely happen in the early stages of the evacuation and likely at a bottle neck off the stairs feeding back onto the actual stair itself.
So, arrive in rugby park today to see that all 5 evacuation routes Onto the park are blocked by metal barriers which are actually tied to the permanent railings. This type of practice was actually discussed yesterday. Let’s hope there is no need to evacuate because there will be no less than 5 simultaneous areas of danger.
Dont worry, its Hibs, nothings done in a hurry.
Saint Hibee
Melkerson will score today.
Don’t like the team, hate the killie pitch, expecting us to get beat…
For that reason Hibs will win 3-1.
That's the spirit :)
12-11-2022, 01:44 PM
Defo a back four with Stevenson in midfield.
Hibees1973
12-11-2022, 01:46 PM
wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if he resigns today if we get beat, all in my opinion of course.
He would get a load of credit from me if he did. Most managers wait to be sacked in order to get a big pay-off deal.
In recent times I only remember Strachan leaving Middlesbrough and didn't ask for a pay-off.
That looks like a team set out not to lose and not to score either, just don't see what he's trying to do here, is he wanting to lose to get his full money from Ron when he's given the boot?
mcfly
12-11-2022, 01:48 PM
No idea what our best 11 is.
Back 3, back 4 - still hanlon/Porteous though.
All those new players, apart from Marshall none have improved us and we rely on the same players that got Ross/ maloney the sack.
Got so many players now it’ll be hard to get new ones in in January
fingers crossed for a result today but expect defeat.
Helensburghhibs
12-11-2022, 01:49 PM
I fear we are going backwards... I really enjoyed the season under LJ, results aside, we had pace and decent creativity, that lineup doesnt inspire tha.
12-11-2022, 01:49 PM
Agreed, looks like a desperate throw of the dice in the hope of a different outcome. Only chance I see today is to hope they are even worse than us, because there is absolutely nothing to feel positive about in that line up.
HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 01:51 PM
He would get a load of credit from me if he did. Most managers wait to be sacked in order to get a big pay-off deal.
In recent times I only remember Strachan leaving Middlesbrough and didn't ask for a pay-off.
aye same from me mate I just get those vibes from him that he's had enough eh could be wrong though and am sure al get slaughtered for it on here but it is just my opinion. Aye a think you might be right there can't think of too many who have resigned in recent times.
CL0762
12-11-2022, 01:51 PM
Defo a back four with Stevenson in midfield.
Maybe a diamond? Still, a baffling team selection.
Not confident for this at all.
12-11-2022, 01:52 PM
Melkerson will score today.
These are the games we've got him for. The AstroTurf!
Are hibs TV showing the game for non UK people?
I’ve been willing to back him but if Rocky is injured it was a prime chance to move back to the 4 at the back it now looks as if it’s a statement of this is how he wants them to set up no matter what’s happened since the initial switch, he’s also adding fuel to the recruitment argument playing lewis at centre half with Fish on the bench, if Lewis is a better option at centre half then that guy should be sent home at the earliest opportunity as there’s no point him being here
442 with Stevenson and Campbell wide?
Helensburghhibs
12-11-2022, 01:53 PM
101 it and report to the duty area fire officer, they will investigate it
12-11-2022, 01:54 PM
Hard avoid this forum if we lose. It's started already.
12-11-2022, 01:54 PM
aye same from me mate I just get those vibes from him that he's had enough eh could be wrong though and am sure al get slaughtered for it on here but it is just my opinion. Aye a think you might be right there can't think of too many who have resigned in recent times.
He'd be off his rocker to resign when he could get a substantial pay-out
HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 01:56 PM
He'd be off his rocker to resign when he could get a substantial pay-out
he certainly would we'll see what happens mate
12-11-2022, 01:57 PM
Depending on how it lines up it might be alright.
On the face of it, it's a 352 with a multitude of things you could pick fault with.
It looks like the type of line up that heaps pressure on a manager.
CL0762
12-11-2022, 01:57 PM
What’s Kevin Harper apologising for? Did he say something untoward on Tuesday regarding Porteous?
12-11-2022, 01:58 PM
So much self flagellation on here already; I hope we pump them 6 nil with all the defensive players getting one goal each 🤣
12-11-2022, 01:59 PM
What’s Kevin Harper apologising for? Did he say something untoward on Tuesday regarding Porteous?
Think it was him who said Porto was away for a hot dog when they scored the 2nd goal.
Donegal Hibby
Come on the Hibs:flag:
Victor
Are hibs TV showing the game for non UK people?
Yes
12-11-2022, 02:01 PM
Happy with the front 2, i've been wanting to see that for a while. McKirdy to replace 1 of them at some point.
I'd imagine it's a back 4 with Cabraja left mid.
No idea how it will go, but expectations are suitably low to avoid disappointment!
12-11-2022, 02:01 PM
Think it was him who said Porto was away for a hot dog when they scored the 2nd goal.
Out of order.
How does Kev know what he was ordering!
12-11-2022, 02:02 PM
Perfectly reasonable comment, no?
12-11-2022, 02:02 PM
Any open all mics today?
Mon the Hibs
Found it
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/live:bbc_radio_scotland_fm
12-11-2022, 02:03 PM
So much self flagellation on here already; I hope we pump them 6 nil with all the defensive players getting one goal each 🤣
Na, even then it would be because Kilmarnock are rubbish, not because we done anything positive
12-11-2022, 02:04 PM
Usually a glass half full kind of guy, but ffs the negatives on here before the game even starts has me thinking am I on a jambo forum or something, slavers united, for sure. Win or lose Hibs will still be here and the manager as well.
MagicSwirlingShip
12-11-2022, 02:05 PM
Hopeful for the best, but to be honest, fearing the worst with that 11
12-11-2022, 02:05 PM
Depending on how it lines up it might be alright.
On the face of it, it's a 352 with a multitude of things you could pick fault with.
It looks like the type of line up that heaps pressure on a manager.
Am I allowed to say that now I see it lined up, I quite like it?
Clearly not a 352, given the players available I think quite a lot of what he's gone for here looks quite reasonable.
12-11-2022, 02:07 PM
Get some clothes on.
??
12-11-2022, 02:08 PM
We have to get at least draw here to stop the rot.
Looks very much like a 4222 with Lewis and Kenneh sitting deep, Newell and Campbell ahead of them and the 2 strikers up top, almost zero width though.
12-11-2022, 02:12 PM
Too late to do anything about the second part of your name.
No idea who you are, or why you are being a prize prick, bizarre behaviour, but whatever floats your boat.
For a manager who prides himself on attacking football he certainly doesn't half love starting with defensive minded players mate eh
That's one of the things I really don't get. We have had some good attacking spells in games, and occasionally looked like we were going to click.
Now the same manager that tells us he wants to have a go seems to be regressing to starting with 5 defenders and two defensive midfielders every week. And it's not working!!
I think most fans would be a bit more appreciative if we were losing but scoring goals and taking the game to teams.
cameronw-hfc
Looks like the 442 box formation. No wingers, two dm's and two 10s
CL0762
12-11-2022, 02:13 PM
Get Newell so far away from corners. This floaty type of cross is absolutely shocking.
12-11-2022, 02:14 PM
You mean folk giving their opinions? Surely not on a football forum!!
awk that's not a booking c'mon
Why the **** is Douglas Ross allowed to run the line?
12-11-2022, 02:15 PM
Pathetic refereeing. A tackle - yellow card.
12-11-2022, 02:15 PM
Like Dan Armstrong at Killie. Good player, direct and tricky.
12-11-2022, 02:17 PM
That's one of the things I really don't get. We have had some good attacking spells in games, and occasionally looked like we were going to click.
Now the same manager that tells us he wants to have a go seems to be regressing to starting with 5 defenders and two defensive midfielders every week. And it's not working!!
I think most fans would be a bit more appreciative if we were losing but scoring goals and taking the game to teams.
Going on the first 10 minutes or so, it's absolutely not a defensive line up.
We're taking the game to them and offering enough up going forward.
Centre halves are both comfortable on the ball, full backs are both good going forward. A couple of defensive midfielders in Lewis and Kenneh, but Lewis isn't a stranger to driving forward and helping the attack. Not many teams play 2 strikers, we have, and Newell and Campbell both have attacking attributes.
There aren't many better alternatives on the bench in the attacking sense either.
It's been a decent enough start.
please keep up with the comments on the game guys, Hibs TV crashing as per usual. no idea what is happening...
waste of money
Absolutely. Even if we draw it’ll be horrendous.
12-11-2022, 02:18 PM
Absolutely. Even if we draw it’ll be horrendous.
I would take the away point.
12-11-2022, 02:18 PM
Looks like the 442 box formation. No wingers, two dm's and two 10s
"Box formation" is a new one to me.
Is this a thing?
Do other teams play it?
Is it just a bit like the diamond but with the middle 2 having one deeper and one pushed on?
Key West
12-11-2022, 02:20 PM
From the starting line up to the bench it is definitely a positive selection.
Is this a thing?
Do other teams play it?
Is it just a bit like the diamond but with the middle 2 having one deeper and one pushed on?
It’s a formation you can choose on fifa.
cjward2
Hibs tv fine hee in Canada. Clear and no interruptions.
Leithwalk
12-11-2022, 02:21 PM
please keep up with the comments on the game guys, Hibs TV crashing as per usual. no idea what is happening...
waste of money
It is repeating the same 32 seconds of commentary - Hibs have now won that corner a dozen times. Logging out and back doesn't work and neither does switching browsers
Get Newell so far away from corners. This floaty type of cross is absolutely shocking.
Newell has a cracking delivery on him when he belts it in at pace.
I have no idea why he persists with that floaty pish that nearly always seems to go straight to an unchallenged goalkeeper.
cjward2
What is the link I use to get live updates on all posts going onto Hibs.net?
Cliff getting stuck into Moray Ross.
Hibs tv fine hee in Canada. Clear and no interruptions.
I just get the same 30-second clip each time I restart it... weird...
12-11-2022, 02:22 PM
It is repeating the same 32 seconds of commentary - Hibs have now won that corner a dozen times. Logging out and back doesn't work and neither does switching browsers
thats it for me too...
12-11-2022, 02:22 PM
Cliff getting stuck into Moray Ross.
Are you on the right channel?
cameronw-hfc
12-11-2022, 02:23 PM
Is this a thing?
Do other teams play it?
It isn't as common but yeah, Klopp has used it well, and it's how Villa we're able to get at UTD last week. Strikers go wide, drag the CB's out with them and the 10s step up into the space.
It's become a lot more popular in recent years.
https://mbooroff.medium.com/box-midfield-advantages-and-ways-to-create-e006ac93ff8
Here's a good piece on it. Rodgers also used it well in the season he nearly won the league at Liverpool.
Donegal Hibby
12-11-2022, 02:23 PM
You mean folk giving their opinions? Surely not on a football forum!!
You forgot the " negative" negative opinions you should have said
12-11-2022, 02:24 PM
Cannot believe I’m sitting here watching this midfield. We’re playing against nothing, again, but we have nothing in that area of the pitch ourselves.
I just get the same 30-second clip each time I restart it... weird...
You've actually died and gone to hell. This is what you'll see for eternity.
Helensburghhibs
waste of moneywas having constant issues with yhe hibs tv stream. Swapped to killie tv and not buffered once.
Are you on the right channel?
Our commentator taking the Mick out of a Tory MP for his indecisive nature
3 corners not given already!!! Infuriating referees in this country
12-11-2022, 02:25 PM
Is this a thing?
Do other teams play it?
Brazil in the 90s and 00s favoured this formation.
Not that I’m comparing….
12-11-2022, 02:25 PM
Killie having quite a few chances, but not a lot in it so far
12-11-2022, 02:26 PM
hibs 'goal' chalked off for offside
Is this a thing?
Do other teams play it?
Yea it's a thing, not many play it because it lacks width, 2 DM 2AM and 2 strikers.
12-11-2022, 02:26 PM
Brazil in the 90s and 00s favoured this formation.
Not that I’m comparing….
They didn't have Joe Newell.
12-11-2022, 02:27 PM
Kukharevych scores but is offside.
Var?
cjward2
Does he get an offside goal almost every game.
VAR checking if melkerson was offside
boooo VAR
Whether that was offside or not, it was a lovely bit of football.
I hate VAR
12-11-2022, 02:28 PM
Offside stands.
That was ridiculously tight, unlucky.
That's super tight. Think he's level. Perhaps his knee... Would love to see it but doubt we will.
bringbackbenny
Kukharevych scores but is offside.
Would like to see the 'line' for that, looked very close
Are you not allowed to be level any more?
VAR is anti football.
Would like to see the lines for VAR claiming Elias was offside there, must have been by a millimetre
12-11-2022, 02:29 PM
So unlucky.
1875Sean
Looked like his knee was just offside, very close tho
That's bull**** to give that as offside.
That's super tight. Think he's level. Perhaps his knee... Would love to see it but doubt we will.
Aye, but off is off. It's the auld "ye cannae be a bit pregnant" analogy. Unlucky there.
Kneecap offside hahahahahahahah
Looked onside from the replay. Didn't get shown the lines though. 🤔
Silky
12-11-2022, 02:30 PM
Would like to see the 'line' for that, looked very close
I thought he was level
It's mental that lines that are overlapping are being called offside here
I thought he was well off to be honest live but calls where the line has no daylight between then shoukd surely be in the attackers favor?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
VAR going to destroy the game
Are you not allowed to be level any more?
VAR is anti football.
So much for favouring the attacking player
They didn't have Joe Newell.
Not much difference between Newell and Rivaldo to be fair
12-11-2022, 02:31 PM
Looked like his knee was just offside, very close tho
If you invented a game tomorrow with such rules you’d be laughed out the room.
was having constant issues with yhe hibs tv stream. Swapped to killie tv and not buffered once.
Only problem with that is listening to biased commentating.
12-11-2022, 02:31 PM
Why the **** is Douglas Ross allowed to run the line?
If that other tory can spend some time in the pretend jungle making a fortune then nothing stopping that prick racking it in as well, he may give some of it away, no sure.
1875Sean
12-11-2022, 02:32 PM
VAR going to destroy the game
Not a fan of VAR but the linesman called the offside and VAR confirmed it, if there was no VAR they were still giving offside
12-11-2022, 02:33 PM
Not a great game so far, apart from that one chance we offer nothing going forward
12-11-2022, 02:34 PM
Not a great game so far, apart from that one chance we offer nothing going forward
Kukhas had two glorious chances and scored one tbf
12-11-2022, 02:34 PM
porteous down in a lot of pain
Apart from the chalked off goal, this has been pretty dire from both teams.
12-11-2022, 02:35 PM
Not a fan of VAR but the linesman called the offside and VAR confirmed it, if there was no VAR they were still giving offside
That's red card on Porteous.
Can VAR intervene?
Red card surely
VAR should be looking at that stamp on Porteous.
Helensburghhibs
12-11-2022, 02:36 PM
Only problem with that is listening to biased commentating.
Finding it not as biased as hibs tv tbh. Jerry mccabe isnt bad at all
Is there a reason VAR wouldn’t have checked that stamp?!
Can VAR intervene?
Yes it would be looking for a possible red card offence so within its remit.
12-11-2022, 02:37 PM
No, that's exactly what it should be for, if the referee misses it.
Helensburghhibs
Im sure in england now the lines were made thicker this year. They only showed it once but the lines didnt look like he was offside
Finding it not as biased as hibs tv tbh. Jerry mccabe isnt bad at all
Don't mind Hibs tv being biased as it's biased for us. :greengrin
I assuming var thought that was accidental on porteous
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Not a stamp. Armstrong knows what he's doing and it's probably worthy of a yellow. Porteous makes more if it than there is. Stupid thing to do but he puts his hand on him so Armstrong retaliates.
Donegal Hibby
12-11-2022, 02:38 PM
Killie commentators said he dived :faf:
Yes it would be looking for a possible red card offence so within its remit.
I presume nothing has come of it m? The radio is saying anything.
Helensburghhibs
Porto isnt doing himself any favours with the theatrics
Kukhas had two glorious chances and scored one tbf
Zero shots on goal after 35 minutes says we offer nothing going forward
12-11-2022, 02:39 PM
I’m getting fed up with Porteous.
Sounds like a boring game
Victor
The pitch and the referee are ruining this game. He gives fouls when there is any contact, but does not think shirt pulling and grappling is illegal.
Apart from the perfectly good goal we scored.
12-11-2022, 02:40 PM
Offside so doesn't show in the stats.
12-11-2022, 02:40 PM
We had a goal disallowed so that
Must of been on target 🤔
I’m getting fed up with Porteous.
Turned into a bit of a prima dona
cameronw-hfc
12-11-2022, 02:41 PM
Cabraja playing very well so far. Melkersen looks decent as well, otherwise a bit average so far
Well it clearly wasn't as both VAR and linesman gave offside
I presume nothing has come of it m? The radio is saying anything.
No, nothing.
12-11-2022, 02:42 PM
We had a goal disallowed so that
Must of been on target 🤔
You do realise that doesn't get classed as being a shot on target
Cabraja playing very well so far. Melkersen looks decent as well, otherwise a bit average so far
Agreed, Lewis has been decent too. Rest of the midfield aren’t showing up too well so far.
power booked for tackle on Lewis
Kenneh is really struggling on this surface.
Stevenson having a good game in the midfield imo.
Scotty Leither
Looks like he’s here for a point with that formation. Hope I’m proved wrong but the lack of creativity in this team is disgraceful.
That Alan Power seems to get a yellow every game, he's a right dirty player.
percy veer
12-11-2022, 02:45 PM
That Alan Power seems to get a yellow every game, he's a right dirty player.
Difference is he usually get 3 fouls before he gets booked , we get booked after our first foul
Scrappy stuff
Game is awful
Not the only one, the bounce of the ball is so unrealistic on that surface, very hard to play decent football on it.
I say it every away game against Livi and Killie, but ****ing hell these artificial pitches are bogging. They should be absolutely nowhere near the Premiership, it’s borderline embarrassing. Get them banned.
12-11-2022, 02:46 PM
Poor game. Everything good is going through Stevenson. What the **** are the rest of the midfield doing? ****ing hopeless.
Victor
12-11-2022, 02:46 PM
Agree. But I think everyone is struggling the ball is bouncing all over the place. It looks like they are playing with a balloon.
Helensburghhibs
12-11-2022, 02:47 PM
I may have missed it but whats the latest with boyle... We have nothing down the right today.
12-11-2022, 02:47 PM
Awful game, two poor teams. 0-0 all over it
Zambernardi1875
12-11-2022, 02:48 PM
Poor game. Everything good is going through Stevenson. What the **** are the rest of the midfield doing? ****ing hopeless.
Proved it under maloney, best midfielder we have
I say it every away game against Livi and Killie, but ****ing hell these artificial pitches are bogging. They should be absolutely nowhere near the Premiership, it’s borderline embarrassing. Get them banned.
Community pitches which don’t cost the team any money as they are from foundation grants and used by youth teams / womens teams and generally over used. Shouldn’t be allowed unless they are 1st team only and decent quality.
loanheadhibby
Well it clearly wasn't as both VAR and linesman gave offside
I’ve seen a picture of it. The Lino must have been guessing as it’s the tightest of tight decisions. A baw hair.
12-11-2022, 02:49 PM
Ht 0-0
I may have missed it but whats the latest with boyle... We have nothing down the right today.
Picked by Australia but Hibs announced he would miss our last two games before the World Cup.
Games been as bad as the pitch, Lewis is playing well though
I’ve seen a picture of it. The Lino must have been guessing as it’s the tightest of tight decisions. A baw hair.
I thought he was on also, was very tight
Half time Kilmarnock 0-0 Hibs.
Pretty poor stuff.
12-11-2022, 02:50 PM
I thought he was on also, was very tight
I thought we created nothing going forward? That’s something surely?
cameronw-hfc
12-11-2022, 02:51 PM
Not expecting a performance today, crappy pitch, stuffy defensive opposition. I'll take a win anyway we can get one.
Awful game, two poor teams. 0-0 all over it
Yes, that was pretty bad.
dmc1875
This is back to Maloney again. Boring, pedestrian, no pace, lack of ideas and look like we are playing for a 0-0.
Cliff just said David Dickinson blows for the half, think he's seen enough...think we've all seen enough TBH.
Playing a bit of a risky game being this defensive and allowing so many crosses in the box. Killie will love the space they’re getting out wide to whip in a cross and will like the odds of Cameron etc winning one.
Melkersen doing well, couple of great touches and linking the play well when he gets the ball.
Dissallowed goal was a really good bit of play and must have been 1cm off if that.
Overall though we need more creativity and attacking threat imo.
Looks a team scared of losing
From his side he will have looked off by quite a bit more as there is nothing between him and Melkerson.
Kept it tight at the back but not much going forward.
Lewis has played excellent but not much going forward and very tight for the offside goal.
12-11-2022, 02:52 PM
Highlight of that half was Cliff’s take on Douglas Ross
Finally got sound from Hibs TV... and it's half time!
Must have got all of 45 seconds of the first half including the repeated 32-second clip
Melkerson not really getting much service from anyone bar Stevenson. Kukha (not even going to try) has been quiet but finished well from the one ball he got in to his feet in the box. Would love to have seen them draw the lines down cause there's no way those lines on the ground are an accurate representation of their respective levels. Other than that it's been dire. Campbell and Newell have done heehaw... Again.
I've been sticking up for Johnson and the current team but that half was absolutely shocking, can't beleive how much we've regressed in just a couple of weeks. During the start of the losing run I thought we were still playing well on the whole but watching that half was dire.
Stevenson playing well but having him and Kenneh in the same midfield against the bottom of the league is way too negative, Newell is also never a 10 I don't know why he's been pushed so high.
We have a poacher and a number 8 playing out wide, with 3 wingers on the bench. Youan Mckirdy Tavares all been poor this season but at least they have a bit of pace and can beat a man. Have nobody on the pitch who can do that and its making us so predictable and easy to defend against.
12-11-2022, 02:53 PM
Turned into a bit of a prima dona
He’s clearly got a decent deal on the table from another club. Moaning at any team mate that makes a mistake and STILL diving about the place.
Mikey_1875
12-11-2022, 02:54 PM
Not as bad as Tuesday but still not great. Still searching for that spark in our team. Game is there for the taking if we want it though.
dmc1875
12-11-2022, 02:54 PM
I've been sticking up for Johnson and the current team but that half was absolutely shocking, can't beleive how much we've regressed in just a couple of weeks. During the start of the losing run I thought we were still playing well on the whole but watching that half was dire.
Stevenson playing well but having him and Kenneh in the same midfield against the bottom of the league is way too negative, Newell is also never a 10 I don't know why he's been pushed so high.
We have a poacher and a number 8 playing out wide, with 3 wingers on the bench. Youan Mckirdy Tavares all been poor this season but at least they have a bit of pace and can beat a man. Have nobody on the pitch who can do that and its making us so predictable and easy to defend against.
It’s night and day even from the first half performance against Aberdeen. We now look like we struggle to even string a couple passes together.
12-11-2022, 02:55 PM
I thought we created nothing going forward? That’s something surely?
OKi take that back, we had a goal chopped off for offside, still zero shots on target after 45 minutes, you must be really happy with how the game is going
cameronw-hfc
12-11-2022, 02:55 PM
He’s clearly got a decent deal on the table from another club. Moaning at any team mate that makes a mistake and STILL diving about the place.
Don't know what he's like off the pitch so by no means a criticism of his character, more his on pitch persona, but right now, his on-field attitude is stinking. Dives about like Kent, defensively slack recently and his moaning at teammates has been taken up multiple notches.
HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 02:56 PM
Enjoyed that first half a must say we have played some decent stuff can see us going on to win the game these pitches are shocking though as was that var call for the goal never offside in a million years. :flag:
12-11-2022, 02:57 PM
Playing a bit of a risky game being this defensive and allowing so many crosses in the box. Killie will love the space they’re getting out wide to whip in a cross and will like the odds of Cameron etc winning one.
Melkersen doing well, couple of great touches and linking the play well when he gets the ball.
Dissallowed goal was a really good bit of play and must have been 1cm off if that.
Overall though we need more creativity and attacking threat imo.
Looks a team scared of losing
I think we look a bit like a team who were startled at how bad they were on Tuesday and are just looking for an improvement.
It's not been that bad imo. Tight enough at the back and we were unlucky that our only bit of quality going forward ended up in a very marginally offside goal.
Johnson hasn't spurned billions of better options to pick this team. It's doing a job - a keep it tight and hope that the quality we do have in certain areas pays off at some point, allowing us a narrow win and the chance to move on.
I want to be playing swashbuckling football as much as the next person but we can't turn back time and do the transfer window again - we have to urinate with the appendage provided.
Scotty Leither
12-11-2022, 03:00 PM
I think we look a bit like a team who were startled at how bad they were on Tuesday and are just looking for an improvement.
It's not been that bad imo. Tight enough at the back and we were unlucky that our only bit of quality going forward ended up in a very marginally offside goal.
Johnson hasn't spurned billions of better options to pick this team. It's doing a job - a keep it tight and hope that the quality we do have in certain areas pays off at some point, allowing us a narrow win and the chance to move on.
I want to be playing swashbuckling football as much as the next person but we can't turn back time and do the transfer window again - we have to urinate with the appendage provided.
I’d settle for a midfield player who can see a pass and a forward who runs the channels. Not too much to ask, surely?
12-11-2022, 03:01 PM
How can you give such a tight offside? Do the balls have pressure sensors in them that we can tell the micro second the ball leaves the foot?
VAR operator absolutely guessing.
12-11-2022, 03:02 PM
OKi take that back, we had a goal chopped off for offside, still zero shots on target after 45 minutes, you must be really happy with how the game is going
Uhm, how can you have a goal chalked off AND zero shots on target?
Surely that's at least one?
12-11-2022, 03:02 PM
Think we need to be a wee bit more adventurous in the 2nd half, stick another forward on and go 433, drop either Campbell or kenneh
12-11-2022, 03:03 PM
The boy clearly stuck his studs into the top of his boots.
HibeeHibernia
How can you give such a tight offside? Do the balls have pressure sensors in them that we can tell the micro second the ball leaves the foot?
VAR operator absolutely guessing.
it is never offside for me mate melks knee is in line with the killie guys heel this var is killing the game like.
I’d settle for a midfield player who can see a pass and a forward who runs the channels. Not too much to ask, surely?
I'm still getting my head around this formation, but is Joe Newell not a player who can see a pass and Melkerson a player who runs channels?
Stevenson is also having a decent game.
It's far from vintage so far but I can think of many things other than this that Johnson might have picked that I'd have been much more pissed off at.
12-11-2022, 03:05 PM
You really are making something very simple very hard, it was not given as melkersen was offside, which means we did not have a shot on target, its not really that hard to understand
12-11-2022, 03:05 PM
This Hibs side is worse than watching a Fenlon side. A midfield of Jimmy Scott, Matt Thornhill and Victor Pallson would be an upgrade and I’m not even joking.
Trinity Hibee
12-11-2022, 03:06 PM
Eh? An offside effort doesn’t count as a shot on target
12-11-2022, 03:07 PM
Horrendous decision making from melkerson
Mcbizz1998
12-11-2022, 03:08 PM
Horrendous decision making from melkerson
What about Melkersen?
12-11-2022, 03:08 PM
Eh? An offside effort doesn’t count as a shot on target
Technically it happens after play is stopped?
12-11-2022, 03:09 PM
Might be a pen
On the line? Think it's going to be a pen
penalty killie
12-11-2022, 03:10 PM
Us or them?
Them
Penalty check for Kilmarnock.
1-0 killie
baffling that was given
Them... No idea why it takes so long. Ref will be going to the monitor shortly surely.
Get var to **** .
Victor
It’s not even a foul.
Penalty for Kilmarnock.
**** VAR.
Helensburghhibs