View Full Version : Match Updates Aberdeen v Hibernian
Crunchie
05-11-2022, 07:28 AM
I think that’s been trotted out after all 5 of the games we’ve lost in the last 6.
When are people allowed to criticise if it’s not on a run like this?
A run like what? We won our game before last night. When are you lot going to wake up and realise this will be Hibs all your days, it’s been Hibs since they were formed even the Title winning teams of the late 40s early 50s. I think a few of you should read some books on our history and enlighten yourselves instead of whining on a keyboard after a few defeats.
Crunchie
05-11-2022, 07:31 AM
First half we were good, second half we looked like we’d run out of ideas but even saying that, got into good positions loads of times.
It’s been a failing all season that we don’t score enough and we’re never going to achieve what we want to achieve until we sort that out.
Add in woeful defending like we saw last night and we start to name winning games very, very difficult.
The difference between the two teams last night, a mental VAR decision aside, was that they defended their box very well and they were clinical with the few chances that they had.
We play some really good stuff, can dominate games but until we start capitalising on the chances we create we can forget about finishing third and we leave ourselves open to games like this over and over.
The goals we conceded last night were farcical. Had Aberdeen defended like we did we’d have taken about six off them. They didn’t and the end result is the score looks like they battered us.
That about sums it up 👍
Trinity Hibee
05-11-2022, 07:38 AM
Killed our season it is one match. We complain about the players weak mentality
It is one match after many other matches where we have lost to a mediocre side like DU and St J. Having possession and making how ever many passes is pointless if you can’t defend properly and don’t take chances. That’s what Hibs should focus on.
Paulie Walnuts
05-11-2022, 07:45 AM
A run like what? We won our game before last night. When are you lot going to wake up and realise this will be Hibs all your days, it’s been Hibs since they were formed even the Title winning teams of the late 40s early 50s. I think a few of you should read some books on our history and enlighten yourselves instead of whining on a keyboard after a few defeats.
Form in football is generally given over a 6 game period. We’ve picked up 6 points from the last 6.
I’d suggest it’s you that needs to ‘wake up’ if you think that isn’t worthy of criticism and people shouldn’t bother having an opinion or any form of emotion regarding our results.
05-11-2022, 08:01 AM
I think fans are allowed to moan about the mindset of the players.
We can’t just accept this has always been Hibs or we will never move forward and what was the point in the fans going last night.
The club is in a better place than ever with stadium / infrastructure so the team is the final piece of the jigsaw.
I felt we were fine 1st half - but we missed someone with quality / composure to finish - the penalty was then a total joke just before half time team talk .
The 2nd half definitely needs to be addressed as I’ve said for a while we struggle to perform regularly over 90 mins.
Go back and read the match thread up until half time.
Which is all subjective, I thought we were very decent but not great, didn't threaten their goal enough.
05-11-2022, 08:29 AM
Which is all subjective, I thought we were very decent but not great, didn't threaten their goal enough.
The lack of goals has been an issue for a while.
If we hadn’t brought Boyle back we would be in an even worse position.
Strikers scoring regularly - midfielders chipping in occasionally and even from long throws and corners defenders scoring.
Campbell and Porto have stepped up but other players need to score more goals throughout the squad.
05-11-2022, 08:30 AM
We need a midfielder who can dictate and drive the team forward, and a quality left sided centre half next window - which won’t be easy to find in a notoriously difficult window.
Midfield in particular is lacking real leadership. My point about Ryan still stands, his complete lack of concentration at key times is costing this side and he needs dropped.
My worry about LJ is him openly saying he’s 2/3 windows away from the side he wants, and this season more than any is the chance to get a good crack at European football- we can’t afford to wait until 3 windows, football isn’t that forgiving I’m afraid. Players need to harden up or be moved on. That comes from within and often a coach is helpless in that regard. No wonder this side frustrates him. It’s a ‘nearly’ side at present. Only Celtic have played us off the park, whilst other sides we’ve lost to haven’t had to work hard to score despite us being on top most of them.
Chorley Hibee
05-11-2022, 08:33 AM
Nice on the ball, but powderpuff in the areas where we needed to hurt them.
The idea we were battering them and should have been 2/3 goals up is just fanciful nonsense.
It's a running theme, and has been for years now, but we persist with ignoring the same glaring issues each transfer window.
05-11-2022, 08:39 AM
Signing only 1 central midfielder since last season was mental considering the importance of that area on the pitch.
05-11-2022, 08:44 AM
Signing only 1 central midfielder since last season was mental considering the importance of that area on the pitch.
The midfield is unquestionably the biggest issue just now. We are very weak in there.
05-11-2022, 08:45 AM
Yet another game that shows up how disastrous our current transfer dealings are. Loads of signings, limited impact and the majority of them not on the pitch.
05-11-2022, 08:50 AM
The game hinged on the penalty incident. Duk is on one knee going down before Marshall arrives. It is never a penalty imo and that incident, particularly the time it took and then the retake changed the game. We were the better side in the first half but we need to start taking chances. We also need to look at the way we defend when we have corners and are hurling throw ins into teh box. We will get caught with a counter as we leave ourselves far too exposed.
The lack of goals has been an issue for a while.
If we hadn’t brought Boyle back we would be in an even worse position.
Strikers scoring regularly - midfielders chipping in occasionally and even from long throws and corners defenders scoring.
Campbell and Porto have stepped up but other players need to score more goals throughout the squad.
If they stop wasting everybody's time with playing 1 man up front it might help.
A lone striker offers absolutely nothing tactically and only allows opposition defences more time and space to dictate possession and the pace of a game.
Total waste of time IMO.
He's here!
05-11-2022, 09:21 AM
The title winning sides most certainly did not lose as many matches as they won.
McGruber
05-11-2022, 09:23 AM
If they stop wasting everybody's time with playing 1 man up front it might help.
A lone striker offers absolutely nothing tactically and only allows opposition defences more time and space to dictate possession and the pace of a game.
Total waste of time IMO.
Agreed
Fuzzywuzzy
05-11-2022, 09:26 AM
Just saw the back heel goal on Twitter. Instead of trying to take a swipe to clear it Porto stops and let's in run (in my opinion)
05-11-2022, 09:27 AM
Aye your right. Let’s not complain when we’re ***** cause it’s been like that for years.
05-11-2022, 09:58 AM
We were very good in the first half. I think your being subjective with the benefit of hindsight to play that first half showing down.
05-11-2022, 09:59 AM
Just saw the back heel goal on Twitter. Instead of trying to take a swipe to clear it Porto stops and let's in run (in my opinion)
He did. Yet another inexplicable decision from Porto that’s cost us. Far too many of those this season.
05-11-2022, 10:18 AM
Total waste of time IMO.
It seems to work for most other teams nowadays
I'm not interested in the fortunes of most other teams.
It has seldom worked to Hibs advantage and IMO is a negative formation that immediately surrenders advantage to the opposition.
05-11-2022, 10:40 AM
I'm not interested in the fortunes of most other teams.
It has seldom worked to Hibs advantage and IMO is a negative formation that immediately surrenders advantage to the opposition.
I agree with your point about it never really working for Hibs but the point in making is why is that? How does it work for everyone else but not Hibs? Are we some unique bunch who can only ever play with 2 strikers? Or is it the players we have got who aren’t suited to playing that way?
I don’t know the answer either btw
I agree with your point about it never really working for Hibs but the point in making is why is that? How does it work for everyone else but not Hibs? Are we some unique bunch who can only ever play with 2 strikers? Or is it the players we have got who aren’t suited to playing that way?
I don’t know the answer either btw
👍🏻
We've had several managers, numerous players and squads; all with the same outcome?
Something needs to change and I, for one, wouldnt be unhappy if we never used a lone striker again.
Never liked it, never will.
LewysGot2
05-11-2022, 01:25 PM
Killed our season it is one match. We complain about the players weak mentality
Indeed.:aok:
It’s been an up and down season. For a number of sides.
It’s far from over…cannae beat a wee bit melodrama mind :greengrin
LewysGot2
05-11-2022, 01:27 PM
It is one match after many other matches where we have lost to a mediocre side like DU and St J. Having possession and making how ever many passes is pointless if you can’t defend properly and don’t take chances. That’s what Hibs should focus on.
That’s not what you said though?
Crunchie
05-11-2022, 05:58 PM
The title winning sides most certainly did not lose as many matches as they won.
I never said they did, but they were certainly horsed by teams they shouldn't have, on many occasions, it's nothing new.
05-11-2022, 07:39 PM
How come we're no fixing them them. Its the same every week. When are we going to fix them ?
It's not the same every week. Quite obviously not as we won 3-0 last week.