Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

04-11-2022, 08:07 PM
VAR so bloody slow ruins the game

04-11-2022, 08:07 PM
yep. They never change.

Aberdeen were gifted a half time lead, no doubt, but there’s no excuse for this collapse

Especially as right up to the pen Hibs should have been ahead and was the best team by a long way.

04-11-2022, 08:08 PM
Onside according to VAR…

Mmmmmmmm could we get this goal given ?

yes

game on :greengrin

Comeback on

MelbourneHibees
Var gives the goal.

yep. They never change.

Aberdeen were gifted a half time lead, no doubt, but there’s no excuse for this collapse

We fell apart like this against Celtic, still too many players with little fight in them when the going gets tough.

VAR gives the goal, good it looked ok.

Honest too ****. COuld see that on the 1st replay. Why is it taking so long. Hibs commentators just as blind tbf...

Yaaaas, game on then

Love var

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Basildon Hibs
04-11-2022, 08:09 PM
Stay down in Basildon.

And you stay in outer space.

Radge70
04-11-2022, 08:10 PM
I wonder if VAR could do a check to see if Goodwin is actually sitting on the bench? It's marginal

I’d back any Hibs player who did it.

No one hard enough to dish the dirty in our team.

but it was good actually getting our goal finally given though ?

EGL2000
Surely he's off, comes off Melkerson after scales clears it and that didn't even check it. Will take it though, Mon!

Apart from their 3 goals tonight I don't think we've been too bad :cb

04-11-2022, 08:11 PM

Definitely needs to be speeded up, taking far too long

jakedance
That’s a great call by VAR. looked miles offside.

2k hibernians

Surely he's off, comes off Melkerson after scales clears it and that didn't even check it. Will take it though, Mon!Right back who challenged cabarja played him on - easily actually

For they calls its great but they made a right mess. Of the pen

So, surely his two game suspended ban should now come in to play since he's spent all game talking to the bench directly from about 2 feet away?

Nothing like a defeat to bring out the absentee posters.
Same thing happens when we win a game!

Well done var, spot on for Hibs goal

bringbackbenny
but it was good actually getting our goal finally given though ?

Its a factual decision though clear yes or no. The opposite of the penalty call.

That sums up Var. He was clearly offside,in my opinion, but the clowns give the goal. The cynic in me thinks they give it, to make up for the diabolical decision at the penalty.

Apart from their 3 goals tonight I don't think we've been too bad :cb

You've gone a bit Robbie Replay there

Basildon Hibs
04-11-2022, 08:12 PM
I say that every week and get slaughtered.
Keep hearing how good he is particularly from MW Hibbies.
Our players should be judged at Pittodrie, Tynecastle and in Glasgow.
We completely over hype our lads when we beat the likes of St Mirren at Easter Road.
How daft does the thread look now relating to us being above the Hearts. I know it was a bit of fun but they will soon be above us.

👍

Melkersen did very well for the goal.

speedy_gonzales
Honest too ****. COuld see that on the 1st replay. Why is it taking so long. Hibs commentators just as blind tbf...

Ha ha, wife has told me to calm down, clear as day the Aberdeen right back was playing Kukharevych onside and I think my shouting went up an octave or two 🙄

Definitely needs to be speeded up, taking far too long

The TV told us it was onside a minute before the ref announced

loanheadhibby
Don’t be a fud

You've got to do better than that surely.
Watching tonight kills me as a Hibbie but it's exactly what I expected.
My forecast was we wouldn't fancy it.
Very unlucky with the penalty but we have collapsed since then.

bringbackbenny
04-11-2022, 08:13 PM
That sums up Var. He was clearly offside but the clowns give the goal. The cynic in me thinks they give it, to make up for the diabolical decision at the penalty.

He wasn't offside, the far side defender played him on

Zambernardi1875
Melkersen did very well for the goal.

i wouldve started him.

Ah well

Hibees1973
We seem to have folded and lost concentration after the break which is poor.

With the noise created by Goodwin after the previous game it was always at the back of my mind that the officials, whether it be VAR or the ref, would be under pressure to come down on the side of Aberdeen in any close or remotely debatable decision.

Clearly this has happened tonight.

Magennis subbed

EGL2000
Right back who challenged cabarja played him on - easily actually

For they calls its great but they made a right mess. Of the pen

Yeah he's onside for the cabraja pass, but scales clears int into Melkerson then runs through, they didn't even check that bit?

bringbackbenny

And you're loving it 😅

4-1

04-11-2022, 08:14 PM
That sums up Var. He was clearly offside,in my opinion, but the clowns give the goal. The cynic in me thinks they give it, to make up for the diabolical decision at the penalty.

How was it offside??:confused:

**** off

oh dear back heel 4-1

now the humiliation is complete sadly

I ****ing hate those sheep **** more than Hearts.

1875Sean
Terrible defending from Porto, if he isn’t as casual he cuts that out

GRA
Atrocious defending

04-11-2022, 08:15 PM
Why does porteous just leave it?

Absolutely pathetic defending.

What a f’n shambles!

why the **** did porteous not just blooter that out for a corner

Eh wrong.

Woeful from Cadden as well.

Yeah he's onside for the cabraja pass, but scales clears int into Melkerson then runs through, they didn't even check that bit?The same. Right back played him on whne it clattered off scales

Comedy of errors, absolutely shocking.

04-11-2022, 08:16 PM
Second half has been an embarrassment

Hanlon away on his holidays for the 4th goal.

Mutu
we are so ***** when we go behind - ffs

Wtf was Porteous thinking there.

skyehibee
Why porteous not sliding for that?

Embarassing defending. Caught on the counter again. Lee needs to sort this because evidently we can't keep playing like this. We don't have the quality to score despite having almost twice as many shots and a fair chunk more posession. Never look troubled then they run up and score a piss easy goal. Unless we bring in better players the system needs to change to accomodate against the better sides in this league.

Newell misjudged a header, Porto leaves it. Embarrassing defending

Why does porteous just leave it?I thought the same

Couldve surely played that out for a. Corner easily?

I ****ing hate those sheep **** more than Hearts.

What you 🚬

RMQ1967
why the **** did porteous not just blooter that out for a corner

He's had an absolute nightmare - deserves to be dropped - awful awful performance all game.

04-11-2022, 08:17 PM
Why porteous not sliding for that?

Didn't even need to slide, could have just hoofed it clean out the stadium but chose not to for some unknown reason

To be fair to Aberdeen, they score goals and we don’t.

xyz23jc

:rolleyes::agree: :greengrin

04-11-2022, 08:18 PM
When this Hibs team are bad they are really bad. Johnson did warn us he’d guide us to receiving a few hammerings this season.

Looks like it's back to the 1 good game in 4 for this team, too many players disappearing when they're needed, still needs a clearout in January.

Zambernardi1875
He's had an absolute nightmare - deserves to be dropped - awful awful performance all game.

for all his billy big baws hes shat the bed tonight

Shocking defending but Newell wins the ball and the rest never happens. He’s been poor tonight.

We had the same goal difference as them before tonight.

Yip. Had we taken chances in the first half they could have crumbled. We don't then as soon as we lose one our heads go.

EGL2000
04-11-2022, 08:19 PM
The same. Right back played him on whne it clattered off scales

Fair enough, I thought he looked off, didn't check it on the screen.

Chorley Hibee
Another huge Hibs support let down by a bunch of spineless *******s wearing the jersey.

Folk laughing at Hearts and Aberdeen whilst we lose as many as we win.

Another season of dross dressed up as an improvement by the happy clappers though.

I didn’t see the var evidence but in ordinary time it looked offside to me. It’s academic anyway, the game was ruined by var at the end of the first half.

RMQ1967

Aberdeen are utterly rotten - how they're beating us is beyond me. Will do nothing this season. Freak result

04-11-2022, 08:20 PM

Every team scores against us Ozy. Its a shocking defence we have tbh.

04-11-2022, 08:21 PM
ultimately this will be in the record books as yet another capitulation at Pittodrie

The whole dynamic of the game changed after the VAR scandal. No excuse for throwing in the towel in this manner though. Expected a bit more fight and desire in the face of adversity.

FFS Youan crashes it off the bar

percy veer
Another huge Hibs support let down by a bunch of spineless *******s wearing the jersey.

Another season of dross dressed up as an improvement by the happy clappers though.

Happy clappers give it a rest ya clown , support the team .

04-11-2022, 08:22 PM
[QUOTE=Chorley Hibee;7150398]Another huge Hibs support let down by a bunch of spineless *******s wearing the jersey.

Another season of dross dressed up as an improvement by the happy clappers though.[/QUOTE

Sadly I agree, far to often the support is cheated by incompetent (cheats) referees, but it’s worse when your team let you down so badly

If we had signed a goal scoring forward and a midfield playmaker we might be pretty good. Assuming that Marshall stays in form and Rocky continues to improve. I certainly think less quantity and more quality would have seen us much more consistent.

Aberdeen are utterly rotten - how they're beating us is beyond me. Will do nothing this season. Freak result

Scored 10+ more goals than us this season.

Nor will we I fear. Inability to take our chances and score goals and a lack of steel in defence will cost us a lot of points. We’re just not ruthless enough.

coldingham hibs
10 goals shipped against Celtic & Aberdeen, embarrassing.

MelbourneHibees
The narrative will be that the VAR pen changed the game. The reality is though that this 2nd half display has been a complete collapse and if the pen can affect their mentality that much then there is an issue in the squad with their mindset.

bringbackbenny
04-11-2022, 08:23 PM
The whole dynamic of the game changed after the VAR scandal. No excuse for throwing in the towel in this manner though. Expected a bit more fight and desire in the face of adversity.

Agreed - similar pattern to the St Johnstone game post the red card, again really poor defending so soft.

Scored 10+ more goals than us this season.

This is the main issue. Most of the time we don’t score goals when we are dominating games. Aberdeen have four goals from six shots on target ffs!

Dress it up anyway you like, we dont score enough goals from chances created and when on top.

Every team scores against us Ozy. Its a shocking defence we have tbh.Didn't we have the 3rd best goals conceded in the league before today?

That obviously included a thumping at parkhead too

04-11-2022, 08:24 PM

What's freak about it. Inclusive of tonight we have only won once in thirteen at Pittodrie

Such an abysmal time to lose a goal after utterly dominating the first half. Players need to take a look at themselves again. The reaction to it has been woeful.

madsen5
Gutless.

BIG shout out to the fans who travelled up tonight brilliant as ever safe home :not worth

loanheadhibby
The narrative will be that the VAR pen changed the game. The reality is though that this 2nd half display has been a complete collapse and if the pen can affect their mentality that much then there is an issue in the squad with their mindset.

The worst thing is Aberdeen have not had to do anything to score their goals. We are absolutely pathetic at the back. The whole team cannot defend.

MountcastleHibs
04-11-2022, 08:25 PM
I imagine the VAR decision is going to be the focus but for me that completely detracts from the pathetic defending for the other 3 goals and our inability to be clinical.

When this Hibs team are bad they are really bad. Johnson did warn us he’d guide us to receiving a few hammerings this season.

Doesn’t make it any easier to take though!

We should be well past taking hammerings like this off of clubs out with the Old Firm.

We’re meant to be progressing this season but it sure as Hell doesn’t feel like it recently, despite playing ok for the most part tonight.

Nor will we I fear. Inability to take our chances and score goals and a lack of steel in defence will cost us a lot of points. We’re just not ruthless enough.

It's all pretty football without much substance, little cutting edge, little guile and creativity and very little composure. It'll click every now and then but most games this season has been a struggle to score even though we've been the better team.

04-11-2022, 08:26 PM
Conceding 4 against that gang is terrible.

LJ better watch himself. 4 defeats in the last 5 and a pasting from a very average dons side

Basildon Hibs
10 goals shipped against Celtic & Aberdeen, embarrassing.

👍

Shocking defending but Newell wins the ball and the rest never happens. He’s been poor tonight.

He has but depsite not having a great game he's been no worse than a few others and is more consistent than most. Henderson had a good game last week. Back to doing **** all today. Magennis took up the role of playing the ball sideways and rushing crosses in to the box under no pressure. Cadden has been **** and his crossing aimless. Portoues had a couple of good weeks and was quite rightly praised to the high heavens. He's been ***** in the last couple directly repsoinsible for 3 goals in two games. Far too many players just go missing or make simple mistakes at the same time for Hibs and been that way for some time.

As I say that Just now Newell could have got on the end of a good cross from Hanlon. Doens't even try. I'd drop him for that alone. Same for Porteous with the clearance that was obvious to everyone but him for some reason. Rock on the World Cup cause these players need a break cause we're going to struggle without one. Mentaility and applicaiton qurstionable again.

I imagine the VAR decision is going to be the focus but for me that completely detracts from the pathetic defending for the other 3 goals and our inability to be clinical.The 2nd and 4th granted but the 1st was a terrible call and the 3rd wasnt particulary bad defending

TAHibby
Deeply concerning now how we just crumble when behind or a key decision goes against us. They haven't had to work for any of these goals. Johnson teams seem very one note in that we predictably pile forward and just get picked off. Another heavy, heavy defeat

sorrow sorrow
That’s a very poor Aberdeen side and they are 4-1 up against us!
We are not a good team under LJ and his record is absolutely abysmal since he joined us.

Basildon Hibs
Conceding 4 against that gang is terrible.

LJ better watch himself. 4 defeats in the last 5 and a pasting from a very average dons side

That's what I'm thinking too..😉

Just_Jimmy
04-11-2022, 08:27 PM
He'll not last much longer if he keeps this up. League Cup, pumped by celtic, pumped by a ***** Aberdeen. 4 defeats in 5.

It's dross.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

04-11-2022, 08:27 PM
As bad as we were, and we were, I hope it doesn’t distract from pulling up the blatant cheating that happened tonight. VAR should have said to the ref right away it wasn’t a penalty as it’s clear to anyone with a brain that it’s a dive. BUT even after it’s told the ref to look at it, the ref has outright cheated by giving it. No one could see that as a penalty unless they wanted it to be a penalty.

Chorley Hibee
04-11-2022, 08:28 PM
Happy clappers give it a rest ya clown , support the team .

I'm there every week, and in Aberdeen tonight, so I know all about supporting the team!

Perhaps the ****ing club could turn up for once!

We are not a good team under LJ and his record is absolutely abysmal since he joined us.

His record overall since he joined us isn’t absolutely abysmal at all.

Newell has been pathetic tonight.

He'll not last much longer if he keeps this up. League Cup, pumped by celtic, pumped by a ***** Aberdeen. 4 defeats in 5.

It's dross.

Sent from my SM-G991B using TapatalkIl. Add in for balance 4 wins on the trot

04-11-2022, 08:29 PM
Doesn’t make it any easier to take though!

We should be well past taking hammerings like this off of clubs out with the Old Firm.

We’re meant to be progressing this season but it sure as Hell doesn’t feel like it recently, despite playing ok for the most part tonight.

We play ok in the areas of the pitch where the opposition are happy for us to play ok in.

When LJ said there’d be heavy defeats I thought he was meaning against decent sides

Mitchell not even getting on , surely a bit of pace and energy is what we need

Funny thing is I said in the first half we looked a very good team. Mentality is woeful though. Needs addressed.

His record overall since he joined us isn’t absolutely abysmal at all.No buts let's pick the precise part that shows us we are doooomed

Boooo! Hissss!

Our shooting is absolutely woeful and has been for a while now.

hhibs
04-11-2022, 08:30 PM
Apart from Goodwin taking the pisser out of the ban,has he not actually broken his ban by talking directly to a player from the stand ??

04-11-2022, 08:30 PM
Appalling defensive display 2nd half. Make no mistake this sheep side are rank rotten and were there for the taking. They didn't have to do anything for their goals.

04-11-2022, 08:31 PM
H-Ross co
A- Killie

full points needed

or bottom six beckons :agree: my prediction

Hanlon and Porteous can go in January please 👍 two brand new centre halves required. One too old and too consistently poor, one too full of his own ego.

Newell what can you say that’s not been said before - the only consistent appraisal is that he’s utterly inconsistent. Get rid 👍

Could do with a proper captain of this team too - absolutely no leaders in that side. Soft as *****

Our shooting is absolutely woeful and has been for a while now.

Joe Newell must be one of the worst "shooters" there has been at ER.

04-11-2022, 08:32 PM
Apart from Goodwin taking the pisser out of the ban,has he not actually broken his ban by talking directly to a player from the stand ??

Can't see how what he has done is acceptable but they will probably reduce his ban for doing it.

Funny thing is I said in the first half we looked a very good team. Mentality is woeful though. Needs addressed.We did look like a very good organised team 1st half

That's a positive but we cant capitulate like we did 2nd half

Its. A weird scoreline tho - I've seen hibs play far far worse and not lose

Ach, not the biggest surprise.
Crappy start to the weekend but it’s done now.
We won’t be better until we have better players playing the way Johnson wants.
Probably another 2 windows anyway.

4-1 against this dons side is a surprise. It’s pish.

We’ve needed better players for the last 3/4 windows now, it’s not happening

Donegal Hibby
04-11-2022, 08:33 PM
Var and referee have changed the course of this game and even though the scorelines bad but I still feel we have been the better team .

JJP
That was brutal. Lots of encouraging play but no goal threat and defensively pathetic.

Basildon Hibs
Hanlon and Porteous can go in January please 👍 two brand new centre halves required. One too old and too consistently poor, one too full of his own ego.

Newell what can you say that’s not been said before - the only consistent appraisal is that he’s utterly inconsistent. Get rid 👍

Could do with a proper captain of this team too - absolutely no leaders in that side. Soft as *****

I've been saying they're soft as ***** for years. Glad someone else can see it too. 😁

Embarrassing scoreline but the stats suggest better. What the **** happened?

Joe Newell must be one of the worst "shooters" there has been at ER.

I typed that before his latest woeful shot as well. If you can’t score goals you’re in trouble.

Stuarty1875
Don’t think we are suited to 3 at the back. Would prefer back 4 next game.

hhibs
Newell has been pathetic tonight.

Yep,just when you think he is a plus factor he does another of these performances.

MountcastleHibs
The 2nd and 4th granted but the 1st was a terrible call and the 3rd wasnt particulary bad defending

Cadden is really poor for the 3rd. Doesn’t get out quick enough then turns his back on it.

04-11-2022, 08:34 PM
As bad as we were, and we were, I hope it doesn’t distract from pulling up the blatant cheating that happened tonight. VAR should have said to the ref right away it wasn’t a penalty as it’s clear to anyone with a brain that it’s a dive. BUT even after it’s told the ref to look at it, the ref has outright cheated by giving it. No one could see that as a penalty unless they wanted it to be a penalty.
Injustice causes anger causes concentration loss

Appalling defensive display 2nd half. Make no mistake this sheep side are rank rotten and were there for the taking. They didn't have to do anything for their goals.The league table and there home form in particular suggests otherwise

Jim_in_Canada
Joe Newell is our best midfielder. That, in a nutshell, is what's wrong.

Stinking. Really really poor, not so much the performance but the way the capitulation.

Cadden is really poor for the 3rd. Doesn’t get out quick enough then turns his back on it.

I actually think we need a proper solid right back.

Hibees1973
We are just not a solid outfit and one I have little faith in.

This win 4, lose the next 3 or 4 sums us up. Johnson had this kind of record at his previous clubs. Also the amount of goals lost recently is a huge concern.

For the amount of players brought in and money spent we are miles off being a consistent and dependable side.

sorrow sorrow
04-11-2022, 08:35 PM
His record overall since he joined us isn’t absolutely abysmal at all.
Falkirk,Morton,Livingston,Dundee Utd,st Johnstone,Celtic game,this performance tonight.
Aye ok he is doing a great job

04-11-2022, 08:35 PM
Don’t think we are suited to 3 at the back. Would prefer back 4 next game.

I’m often critical but don’t think we were too bad tonight. Hard to believe we got beat 4-1.

MelbourneHibees
04-11-2022, 08:36 PM
Var and referee have changed the course of this game and even though the scorelines bad but I still feel we have been the better team .
Incredible take.

MJ hibs
Aberdeen wanting none of the ball at home is strange. Don't know why they got rid of McInnes

Goals so soft which is frustrating and Newell and mcgennis shooting poor.

Livingston now a point behind with a game in hand

lets hope Ross co beat St Mirren

Il. Add in for balance 4 wins on the trot

Followed by 3 defeats in a row for more balance.

MountcastleHibs
I actually think we need a proper solid right back.

I quite like Cadden but he has no real competition and he is more suited as a wing back in a 3-5-2 than a “proper” right back in a back 4.

He is even worse for the 4th, totally leaves his man.

5 players turned their backs for their 3rd goal. Shocking defending tonight all round.

04-11-2022, 08:38 PM
Stayed off the site tonight as wasn't enjoying what I've been listening to at all but got the txt below from a good friend who is there tonight that seemed to sum it up.

"VAR is only as good as the bias of the reviewer but as a team we were never going to win, we look like the Harlem Globetrotters without the guy putting the ball in the basket".

Stinking. Really really poor, not so much the performance but the way the capitulation.

Seems to be a big mindset problem when things aren’t going our way.

Said before the game that we needed to be solid and make them work hard for any goals. Instead we have gifted them really soft corners and then lost poor goals from them.

The squad have had their critics and ultimately they’ve done nothing to prove them wrong. We’ll go into Xmas having not really won a big game

Need 4 points and then regroup

hhibs
Yep,just when you think he is a plus factor he does another of these performances.

In fact ,we need to find another way,Newell, will,in my opinion,never take Hibs onwards.

Zambernardi1875
after going in 1-0 down after a terrible dive and being totally dominant, it worries me the lack of fight, weak pathetic attitude in the 2nd,

Falkirk,Morton,Livingston,Dundee Utd,st Johnstone,Celtic game,this performance tonight.

When you look at those games, and how we lost them, bar the celtic game it's just sheite.

And add another one tonight, if you dont score goals, you wont compete or win.

skyehibee
Joe Newell is our best midfielder. That, in a nutshell, is what's wrong.

Exactly this, how long has this been needing addressed for now too.

04-11-2022, 08:39 PM
after watching replay of goals there i still can't understand wtf porteous allowed that ball to go across him

baffling

Embarrassing scoreline but the stats suggest better. What the **** happened?

Too many players that make too many basic mistakes despite looking good for the majority of a game. Porteous made too look amateur along with Newell today. Don't see their defenders falling apart at basic set pieces or getting caught on the counter quite so easily. We're set up to play in a way we just don't have the quality to take advantage of. If anything it makes us worse than the some of our parts.

Horrific capitulation.

Another shocking result for the manager.

Better than Aberdeen all over the park tonight except where it matters - both 18 yard boxes.

I quite like Cadden but he has no real competition and he is more suited as a wing back in a 3-5-2 than a “proper” right back in a back 4.

I’m not really talking about Cadden, I just think we need a proper right back in there rather than a back 3 with a wing back.

04-11-2022, 08:40 PM

I didn’t say he was doing a great job either. I said his overall record isn’t abysmal, which it’s not.

04-11-2022, 08:40 PM
Exactly this, how long has this been needing addressed for now too.

we're a side in transition

rinse and repeat

04-11-2022, 08:41 PM
Our record in Aberdeen continues to be a joke - so many games like tonight.

1st half we were fine.

VAR joke / ref incompetence meant we went in 1v0 having been the better side.

2nd half..we needed the next goal but lost it from a simple header.

We gave ourselves a lifeline at 3-1 but it does feel this team still is too soft at times. The lack of leaders and Newell not playing at the required standard when we are losing is a consistent theme.

Really need to win the next 2 games.

04-11-2022, 08:42 PM
We’ll still be playing Paul Hanlon in season 2027/28 knowing Hibs.

Shouldn’t be near a Hibs defence in 2022, sorry, but that’s the stark truth. He’s absolutely nowhere near this level anymore. Sentiment over objectivity I’m afraid.

04-11-2022, 08:43 PM
Our record in Aberdeen continues to be a joke - so many games like tonight.

1st half we were fine.

VAR joke / ref incompetence meant we went in 1v0 having been the better side.

2nd half..we needed the next goal but lost it from a simple header.

We gave ourselves a lifeline at 3-1 but it does feel this team still is too soft at times. The lack of leaders and Newell not playing at the required standard when we are losing is a consistent theme.

Really need to win the next 2 games.

Our record at Pittodrie is absolutely abysmal.

Shouldn’t be near a Hibs defence in 2022, sorry, but that’s the stark truth. He’s absolutely nowhere near this level anymore. Sentiment over objectivity I’m afraid.Was he bad tonight? I thought he was blameless for the goals to be honest?

Maybe I can't remember but porteous was far more culpable

Paulie Walnuts
Absolutely gash again.

Donegal Hibby
Incredible take.
In what way ?

CL0762
04-11-2022, 08:44 PM

Shouldn’t be near a Hibs defence in 2022, sorry, but that’s the stark truth. He’s absolutely nowhere near this level anymore. Sentiment over objectivity I’m afraid.

If the alternative is Porteous putting in performances like tonight then sign me up for that.

Was he bad tonight? I thought he was blameless for the goals to be honest?

Yep, absolutely bonkers analysis.

Horrific capitulation.

Another shocking result for the manager.

For the manager? He's set up the team brilliantly tonight, most possession I can ever recall us having up there. Has a job to sort out the defending yes and our shooting is pretty dire but we are not a bad team by any means.

04-11-2022, 08:45 PM

Gave away the corner for the third under no pressure

Usual general lack of leadership in a big game IMO but he’s not the only one

04-11-2022, 08:45 PM
If the alternative is Porteous putting in performances like tonight then sign me up for that.

He does it far too often to be worth us paying him a huge contract, imo. Simply not worth the big wages that have been rumoured.

04-11-2022, 08:46 PM

Was he not playing as a wingback tonight seeing as we had a back 3.

thebausburst
04-11-2022, 08:46 PM
2 of our next 5 games are against the OF, likely to be very near the bottom of the table after those games on this showing.

loanheadhibby
04-11-2022, 08:47 PM

Eh? If he deals with the ball instead of heading it out for a needless corner, we might not concede the 3rd goal. Hanlon should just head it out for a throw in. He’s as guilty as the rest.

04-11-2022, 08:48 PM
For the manager? He's set up the team brilliantly tonight, most possession I can ever recall us having up there. Has a job to sort out the defending yes and our shooting is pretty dire but we are not a bad team by any means.
We are a very bad team I'm afraid. Poor defence, spineless midfield who create nothing and nothing up top. How many bad days at the office are we going to have ?

04-11-2022, 08:48 PM
2 of our next 5 games are against the OF, likely to be very near the bottom of the table after those games on this showing.

Oh for **** sake.

04-11-2022, 08:49 PM

Yes we played very well in the first half generally and the penalty decision was an absolute joke but that capitulation is disgraceful. At the end of the day he is ultimately responsible. What did he say to them at half time? What did he do to change it when we went 2-0 down? Make one sub?

we won’t be anywhere near the bottom of the table

We are a very bad team I'm afraid. Poor defence, spineless midfield who create nothing and nothing up top. How many bad days at the office are we going to have ?

We really are not a very bad team.

Hyperbolic nonsense.

CL0762
He does it far too often to be worth us paying him a huge contract, imo. Simply not worth the big wages that have been rumoured.

Yup. Especially with the figures being mooted.

I’m erring on the side of thanking him for his service and letting him go find his level elsewhere.

04-11-2022, 08:51 PM
I think we might be relegated after the next five games to be honest

Fergos
Better than Aberdeen all over the park tonight except where it matters - both 18 yard boxes.

Exactly right. And 2nd best, mentally in the second half too.

RMQ1967

Yep he was utterly brutal throughout. Get him out & Fish in. Raging with that performance from Porteous.

GRA
04-11-2022, 08:52 PM

Hyperbolic nonsense.

We're not a bad team at all, we generally dominate games, but have a softness in adversity that needs addressed ASAP.

04-11-2022, 08:53 PM

Hyperbolic nonsense.
Ok mate I'm not gonna argue with you but can you tell me how we are not a bad team cause im obviously not watching the same games as you are ?

MountcastleHibs
Was he not playing as a wingback tonight seeing as we had a back 3.

Yeah! I was replying to someone who suggested that we needed a proper right back in.

Feed McGraw
Hibs rarely play two good halves. Had their good one tonight in the first. Cheated at the pen of course but good pros `should get over that, hard as that may be.

MJ hibs
04-11-2022, 08:55 PM
Yep he was utterly brutal throughout. Get him out & Fish in. Raging with that performance from Porteous.

I don't think he is comfortable in the back three when we don't have the ball. Would be happy for fish to have a go but there must be a reason he isn't already playing over Hanlon.

Cadden is a bombscare needs replaced

Scotty Leither
The naivety of this team is a real issue for me. We can argue VAR/the penalty all day long, but the board is showing 2 minutes of injury time and we’ve got the ball high up the park in their box.

Then Newell lets the boy run off him into the box for the penalty pantomime, and the game changes right there. We should have run the clock down to half time, and we don’t commit enough cute fouls either to break up play, and it looks we have to score the first goal in games or else we’ll struggle to take anything.

Not one Hibs player with the exception of Boyle looks like they’ll change the game and the talk about growing the club needs backed up in January with some decent recruitment of players that actually look like doing something when they’re on the ball.

Better than Aberdeen all over the park tonight except where it matters - both 18 yard boxes.[emoji106]
See above re Harlem globetrotters

It’s games like this that make me struggle to see us finishing third unfortunately.

We defo won’t be We now have problems defending crosses in to box on top of having far too many forward players that can’t score
We need to trim the squad in January and try and bring in a couple of players ready to improve the first team

Yeah! I was replying to someone who suggested that we needed a proper right back in.

Cadden is actually a decent right midfielder, played there at Motherwell and the States, he's been turned into RB/wingback but is still defensively naive at times.

04-11-2022, 08:56 PM

A very bad team aye? We played some great football tonight. How can the midfield be spineless if we dominate possession to that extent? The mistakes were dreadful but are fixable.

04-11-2022, 08:57 PM
A very bad team aye? We played some great football tonight. How can the midfield be spineless if we dominate possession to that extent? The mistakes were dreadful but are fixable.

Great football? It was decent but certainly not great.

04-11-2022, 08:57 PM

Both should go next window :aok: Porteous full of his own ego, Paul not good enough now. Central defence needs a total revamp. Needs proper leaders at the back too, not a soft touch and a player who thinks he's Cannavaro but plays like Bambi on ice.

Sick and tired of watching Hibs centre halves sell games all too often. That loss was all on that central defence tonight, Again.

MountcastleHibs
04-11-2022, 08:58 PM
Cadden is actually a decent right midfielder, played there at Motherwell and the States, he's been turned into RB/wingback but is still defensively naive at times.

Like I say, I quite like him as a wing back. But we need competition for him because as you say defensively naive, and very poor defensively tonight.

04-11-2022, 09:00 PM

First half we played some excellent stuff.

04-11-2022, 09:01 PM
To think we had only conceded 7 in the league up until Celtic away a few weeks ago

How come we're no fixing them them. Its the same every week. When are we going to fix them ?

loanheadhibby
We're not a bad team at all, we generally dominate games, but have a softness in adversity that needs addressed ASAP.

Is this for real? We’ve just been rinsed 4 1 at Pittodrie. We’re the softest team around. We concede 1st and it’s game over. 10 goals conceded at Parkhead and Pittodrie!

04-11-2022, 09:02 PM
Progress, I struggle to see, we play pretty wee patterns then get lost as we get close to the 18yard line, the defense is a ****in shambles as soon as things go against them, ffs, what happened to the fight, we did look a wee bit better with Melkersen on, but we have to invest in much better quality players right through this team or just put up wi being the usual middle o the table side. It should not be so easy for other teams to beat us.

Zambernardi1875
04-11-2022, 09:03 PM
The naivety of this team is a real issue for me. We can argue VAR/the penalty all day long, but the board is showing 2 minutes of injury time and we’ve got the ball high up the park in their box.

Then Newell lets the boy run off him into the box for the penalty pantomime, and the game changes right there. We should have run the clock down to half time, and we don’t commit enough cute fouls either to break up play, and it looks we have to score the first goal in games or else we’ll struggle to take anything.

Not one Hibs player with the exception of Boyle looks like they’ll change the game and the talk about growing the club needs backed up in January with some decent recruitment of players that actually look like doing something when they’re on the ball.

spot on, said it for ages.

Ok mate I'm not gonna argue with you but can you tell me how we are not a bad team cause im obviously not watching the same games as you are ?

Did you think we were a bad team before tonight?

Look at the games we’ve lost this season, particularly tonight, st Johnstone and Dundee United, they were fine margin games that we deserved more from.

As for tonight, you can’t really argue with the capitulation of goals but we dominated until the penalty.

CL0762
Both should go next window :aok: Porteous full of his own ego, Paul not good enough now. Central defence needs a total revamp. Needs proper leaders at the back too, not a soft touch and a player who thinks he's Cannavaro but plays like Bambi on ice.

Sick and tired of watching Hibs centre halves sell games all too often. That loss was all on that central defence tonight, Again.

I don’t understand this ‘Porteous full of his own ego’ or ‘thinks he’s better than what he is’. I don’t get where people get that from, I don’t know Ryan personally but I’d be surprised if he openly spoke like that.

We need a Halkett/Obileye esque type of defender. Just defenders who love defending, and consider a clean sheet just as important as a goal.

I never thought after the summer that Rocky would be essential to our defence but he absolutely is. For me we need someone to play alongside him.

04-11-2022, 09:05 PM

I thought Porto was a bigger concern than Hanlon tonight.

04-11-2022, 09:07 PM
That was shameful.

We have too many players who are good when we’re good but disappear when it’s not going our way.

Hanlon, Porteous and Newell central to some amount of capitulations over the last couple of years.

Comes back to not improving enough in the transfer window.

£35 for Parkhead and £30 for tonight. We are being let down.

04-11-2022, 09:08 PM
To think we had only conceded 7 in the league up until Celtic away a few weeks ago

We had lost 8 before that game but yeah pretty poor to have lost 12 goals in 4 games.

thebausburst
04-11-2022, 09:09 PM
we won’t be anywhere near the bottom of the table

We’re 4 points of 9th right now

Bobo
04-11-2022, 09:13 PM
2nd half was always going to be " fight or flight" for our players and sadly they returned to type and capitulated within minutes of the restart!

For me we still have a very weak mentality, nobody wants to take a grip and lead by example, and we have too many players who shirk the battle and hide! It's all very well showing some desire when things are going their way but it's when up against it that our players need to stand up and make the difference but instead are repeatedly found wanting. Case and point again tonight.

It's not a new trait unfortunately and has been an issue despite manager and squad changes over the years? For me, the club itself (in entirety) is too nice and accommodating, caring more about upsetting others and what they think of us rather than standing up for itself and challenging the blatant ***** that constantly gets thrown our way.

If you're timid, submissive and obligent you'll get walked over, it's long over due that our club found its nasty side as every other *****ty team in our corrupt, tin pot league has one and they don't stand on ceremony for shower of softies!

The club could do with adopting a Tom Hart approach IMO

supermcginn
04-11-2022, 09:13 PM

Couldn't agree more. Add tonight to a never ending list of humiliations with him in the team. He's absolutely rotten.

04-11-2022, 09:20 PM
I don’t understand this ‘Porteous full of his own ego’ or ‘thinks he’s better than what he is’. I don’t get where people get that from, I don’t know Ryan personally but I’d be surprised if he openly spoke like that.

We need a Halkett/Obileye esque type of defender. Just defenders who love defending, and consider a clean sheet just as important as a goal.

I never thought after the summer that Rocky would be essential to our defence but he absolutely is. For me we need someone to play alongside him.

Ryan is a really humble guy and bleeds green. If people want to criticise his performance then fair dos but saying he’s full of his own ego is just wrong. We played well first half tonight until the penalty decision. For me the big issue is addressing the fact that we have lost more away games this year than any other SPL team. Our home form is good but we seem to struggle on the road.

04-11-2022, 09:21 PM
We dominated the game, playing some decent football, till the farce at the end of the first half. Having said that, the lack of character and determination to overcome that in the second half was disappointing in terms of handing them the match but, more worrying, in that it displayed a mindset which could set the standard for the remainder of the season. If LJ doesn’t see that and turn things around, I think we could be in for tough times, no matter who the opposition are.

04-11-2022, 09:21 PM
Couldn't agree more. Add tonight to a never ending list of humiliations with him in the team. He's absolutely rotten.

Ridiculous comment. You’re blaming PH for every humiliation we’ve had? Pathetic stuff.

04-11-2022, 09:22 PM
Ryan is a really humble guy and bleeds green. If people want to criticise his performance then fair dos but saying he’s full of his own ego is just wrong. We played well first half tonight until the penalty decision. For me the big issue is addressing the fact that we have lost more away games this year than any other SPL team. Our home form is good but we seem to struggle on the road.

It sounds simple but we still lack leadership and character.

No co-incidence when you buy young players with limited experience. You then can see where the naive play and collapses when things get tough come from.

St Johnstone game was never safe at 1-0 - 11v11 or 11v10.

Last week we had to get the 2nd goal and luckily we did.

Tonight felt like we had to score 1st - 2v0 and it was pretty much over.

Feels like this won’t be the last heavy scoreline against us this season.

04-11-2022, 09:24 PM
2nd half was always going to be " fight or flight" for our players and sadly they returned to type and capitulated within minutes of the restart!

For me we still have a very weak mentality, nobody wants to take a grip and lead by example, and we have too many players who shirk the battle and hide! It's all very well showing some desire when things are going their way but it's when up against it that our players need to stand up and make the difference but instead are repeatedly found wanting. Case and point again tonight.

It's not a new trait unfortunately and has been an issue despite manager and squad changes over the years? For me, the club itself (in entirety) is too nice and accommodating, caring more about upsetting others and what they think of us rather than standing up for itself and challenging the blatant ***** that constantly gets thrown our way.

If you're timid, submissive and obligent you'll get walked over, it's long over due that our club found its nasty side as every other *****ty team in our corrupt, tin pot league has one and they don't stand on ceremony for shower of softies!

:top marks Although it would have to be the early version of Tom Hart.

04-11-2022, 09:24 PM
I imagine the VAR decision is going to be the focus but for me that completely detracts from the pathetic defending for the other 3 goals and our inability to be clinical.

There is no character about this team . It's been that way for longer than I care to remember. One setback and they throw the towel in.

Basildon Hibs
04-11-2022, 09:27 PM

👍👍

04-11-2022, 09:29 PM
Ridiculous comment. You’re blaming PH for every humiliation we’ve had? Pathetic stuff.

If you want top 3, you won’t get that playing Paul Hanlon. Simple as that. Squad is bloated and we need to ship him, Lewis and others out. They’ve been there too long.

04-11-2022, 09:29 PM
A failure to sign a centre midfielder who can influence a game in the same manner as a Marvin Bartley and a left sided centre half have cost us dear now for the last 2 seasons.

Just_Jimmy
04-11-2022, 09:32 PM
Il. Add in for balance 4 wins on the trot

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkAgreed, but that won't get him much credit. It only matters in the now.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

04-11-2022, 09:33 PM
A failure to sign a centre midfielder who can influence a game in the same manner as a Marvin Bartley and a left sided centre half have cost us dear now for the last 2 seasons.

The transfer window was a disaster. Loads of numbers but a lot of *****.

Scotty Leither
04-11-2022, 09:34 PM

They signed the laddie Kenneh in a fanfare as our much vaunted new “no 6”. Out his depth at Parkhead and anonymous tonight. It’s not the boy’s fault, he’s only 19/20? But he’s being asked to do a man’s job in a tough unforgiving league and I’m sorry but we need better.

Silky
04-11-2022, 09:42 PM

We weren't soft under Lennon. And he didn't take any prisoners. Yet some of his rants, even when supporting the club, had him derided as some kind of arse hole!! So that approach, the exact opposite of submissive and obligent, doesn't work either. Lennon got crucified for that. Before we go making stuff up about the mentality of the club, we need to know what we want and stick with that.

Bobo
04-11-2022, 10:08 PM
We weren't soft under Lennon. And he didn't take any prisoners. Yet some of his rants, even when supporting the club, had him derided as some kind of arse hole!! So that approach, the exact opposite of submissive and obligent, doesn't work either. Lennon got crucified for that. Before we go making stuff up about the mentality of the club, we need to know what we want and stick with that.

Lennon's no nonsense and aggressive approach was a breath of fresh air but he had his deamons and unfortunately lost the plot in the end.

Who's making stuff up? The overly soft demeanour of our club has been exposed far too many times over a number of years. It's sadly not fiction and has happened with too much regularity.

04-11-2022, 10:09 PM
Disappointed at that result in which looked like we should of went in at half time in the lead from the stats.

Something that has killed us most of the season and needs addressed.

04-11-2022, 10:11 PM

Lennon got crucified for showing a lack of commitment to the job when it all started to unravel in his last few months. Who can forget some of the bizarre lineups, awol from press conferences etc.

supermcginn
04-11-2022, 10:14 PM
If you want top 3, you won’t get that playing Paul Hanlon. Simple as that. Squad is bloated and we need to ship him, Lewis and others out. They’ve been there too long.

Exactly. Some folk are glutton for punishment.

04-11-2022, 10:43 PM
Total capitulation

Weak mentality

Zero composure in front of goal

4 goals against that gang. Pish.

04-11-2022, 10:43 PM
25 pages. We must have lost.

CL0762
04-11-2022, 10:45 PM

Pretty sure we have finished in the top 3 with Paul hanlon an integral part of the back line.

04-11-2022, 10:49 PM

But why on earth are you singling out Hanlon when others ( e.g. Porteous, Cadden and Newell) were FAR worse?

Crunchie
04-11-2022, 11:22 PM
I actually don't think we have played too badly, just been zero cutting edge and no luck at all

And that’s the just of it. Why can’t people just accept that and move on to the next game.

supermcginn
04-11-2022, 11:34 PM
But why on earth are you singling out Hanlon when others ( e.g. Porteous, Cadden and Newell) were FAR worse?

Maybe because we've been getting horsed in games like this for the whole duration of Hanlon's career. Spot the common denominator.

Trinity Hibee
04-11-2022, 11:36 PM
And that’s the just of it. Why can’t people just accept that and move on to the next game.

Because this is repeatedly the same excuse year on year. We will not get 3rd getting beat by absolute ***** like Aberdeen. This has probably killed our season.

JammyDoidger
04-11-2022, 11:38 PM
We are mince. Too many players, not enough quality, crap. Total let down once again. Absolutely Chuck games!

04-11-2022, 11:57 PM
We are mince. Too many players, not enough quality, crap. Total let down once again. Absolutely Chuck games!

Aye but have you seen the stats?

LewysGot2
05-11-2022, 12:02 AM
Not long back and too tired to sift through a long thread to see what folk thought from watching it online.

A few observations from the ****iest stadium away end in the top flight.

The game was a real let down after a decent 40 minutes or so where we hadn't looked troubled but hadn't capitalised on any of our more decent play.

VAR is going to kill the game as a spectacle for the fans in the ground if it is to be executed as it was tonight. Forget the actual decision to award the penalty...7 minutes for the entire debacle? Really? No screens at that dump and poor tannoy announcements made it all the worse. Its still 1983 in Aberdeen im more ways than one.

The nonsense that accompanies games at Pittodrie is getting tedious, too. The policing of it, the stewarding of it and, unfortunately, the behaviour of some fans from both teams meant putting the fixture on a Friday night was tempting fate. Bother before the match meant we came out to a police blockade stopping folk going back to their cars on the beach front and a big detour that, at this stage in proceedings was really frustrating. It topped off the perfect evening.

From the worst view in Scottish top flight, Rocky was our best player again. Magennis had some decent stuff first half but is still not fully fit.

Nisbet warming up was the only real positive of the night. Hopefully he's back soon. We missed Boyle.

Expecting a reaction on Tuesday night but right now I can see it far enough...

05-11-2022, 05:34 AM
Maybe because we've been getting horsed in games like this for the whole duration of Hanlon's career. Spot the common denominator.

But the same applies for Porto, Cadden and Newell. In fact it applies for almost any Hibs player for over 40 years.

And the 3 mentioned tonight were all worse than Hanlon yet for some reason you've singled out Hanlon? Ok then.

Paulie Walnuts
05-11-2022, 05:49 AM

I think that’s been trotted out after all 4 of the games we’ve lost in the last 6.

When are people allowed to criticise if it’s not on a run like this?

05-11-2022, 05:50 AM

Did you honestly think at any point during that first half we were a bad team? What was bad was the mentality after the bad luck for the penalty. We never recovered from it.

05-11-2022, 05:52 AM
Because this is repeatedly the same excuse year on year. We will not get 3rd getting beat by absolute ***** like Aberdeen. This has probably killed our season.

Behave. We'll beat Ross County on Tuesday.

05-11-2022, 06:30 AM
Not long back and too tired to sift through a long thread to see what folk thought from watching it online.

A few observations from the ****iest stadium away end in the top flight.

The game was a real let down after a decent 40 minutes or so where we hadn't looked troubled but hadn't capitalised on any of our more decent play.

VAR is going to kill the game as a spectacle for the fans in the ground if it is to be executed as it was tonight. Forget the actual decision to award the penalty...7 minutes for the entire debacle? Really? No screens at that dump and poor tannoy announcements made it all the worse. Its still 1983 in Aberdeen im more ways than one.

The nonsense that accompanies games at Pittodrie is getting tedious, too. The policing of it, the stewarding of it and, unfortunately, the behaviour of some fans from both teams meant putting the fixture on a Friday night was tempting fate. Bother before the match meant we came out to a police blockade stopping folk going back to their cars on the beach front and a big detour that, at this stage in proceedings was really frustrating. It topped off the perfect evening.

From the worst view in Scottish top flight, Rocky was our best player again. Magennis had some decent stuff first half but is still not fully fit.

Nisbet warming up was the only real positive of the night. Hopefully he's back soon. We missed Boyle.

Expecting a reaction on Tuesday night but right now I can see it far enough...

The police barriers were a proper nuisance after the game. I was heading to Beach Ballroom so detour wasn’t too drastic, but those parked further along behind Pittodrie on beachfront would have had a much longer trek.

Would have been handy if we were informed in advance of this cordon.

It didn’t seem to work anyway going by footage on Twitter of a clash between fans.

05-11-2022, 06:34 AM

Go back and read the match thread up until half time.

05-11-2022, 06:47 AM
First half we were good, second half we looked like we’d run out of ideas but even saying that, got into good positions loads of times.

It’s been a failing all season that we don’t score enough and we’re never going to achieve what we want to achieve until we sort that out.

Add in woeful defending like we saw last night and we start to name winning games very, very difficult.

The difference between the two teams last night, a mental VAR decision aside, was that they defended their box very well and they were clinical with the few chances that they had.

We play some really good stuff, can dominate games but until we start capitalising on the chances we create we can forget about finishing third and we leave ourselves open to games like this over and over.

The goals we conceded last night were farcical. Had Aberdeen defended like we did we’d have taken about six off them. They didn’t and the end result is the score looks like they battered us.

05-11-2022, 06:49 AM
Pittordrie is usually a tough place to visit, but 4-1 is disappointing. We are far too easy to get at in away games, and we are now conceding too many on the road. I think it will be a season where the number of games we win is very close to the number we lose.

05-11-2022, 07:21 AM

scapegoating the likes of Paul “Bananas” Hanlon is tiresome.

05-11-2022, 07:25 AM

You surely know that’s not how football works. Or maybe you and a few others don’t. We don’t win that game by removing Hanlon if you think that maybe give the game a miss for a while.

05-11-2022, 07:25 AM

Killed our season it is one match. We complain about the players weak mentality