View Full Version : Goodwin

Pages : [1] 2 3

Postiga
17-09-2022, 04:52 PM
Absolutely delighted he never got the Hibs gig in the past… that interview on sportsound was an embarrassment. Bet those tears taste lovely

Ray Donovan
17-09-2022, 04:54 PM
Absolutely delighted he never got the Hibs gig in the past… that interview on sportsound was an embarrassment. Bet those tears taste lovely

Just listened to it - classless.

Jim Goodwin, more like Jim badloss

Amarite?

He's a ****!]

Just listened to it - classless.

What did he say?

Not even mentioned the other two blatant handballs in the box, incredible

17-09-2022, 04:55 PM
He's a seriously poor manager. They were dreadful today.

17-09-2022, 04:55 PM
Called Porto a serial cheat and that everyone know it.

17-09-2022, 04:56 PM
He is a fud of the highest order, potential future hertz manager.

rotherhamrob
What did he say?

Said Ryan was known for conning refs

Ray Donovan
What did he say?

Claiming Porto conned the ref and basically saying he's always cheating.

He should focus on the fact his team were murder.

He's a seriously poor manager. They were dreadful today.

Excellent point. Covering up for his team being total *****. Once again the sheep getting bigged up by the media but no substance to it. They are crao and we played them off the park for 90 mins

cameronw-hfc
17-09-2022, 04:57 PM
Where can I find it?

17-09-2022, 04:58 PM
Called Porto a serial cheat and that everyone know it.

He should be done for bringing the game into disrepute, fud that he has always been, one of the biggest cheats around as a player.

17-09-2022, 05:01 PM
Only he knows why his team resorted to time wasting after taking a very early lead instead of pressing the advantage home. He cheated his own fans today.
Given how his game as a player was based on getting under his opponents skin I’m delighted Porto has got under his.

Helensburghhibs
17-09-2022, 05:01 PM
He had a go at ryan at the final whistle. I have no idea if it was a penalty or not amd dont care. For aberdeen being so good seemingly,, they were pish. Even with 11 men

17-09-2022, 05:02 PM
Good to hear he is hurting. Willie Miller gave a very good analysis on Sportsound - basically Hibs better team before and after sending off. Leanne ? Clearly saw it as a penalty.

17-09-2022, 05:02 PM
Over to you Hibs.

Time to back out player in the face of disgraceful comments from a rival manager.

Don’t let this just quietly pass.

17-09-2022, 05:03 PM
He even said that he spoke to the ref before the game about porteous, maybe if he told his cloggers to defend properly they may have got something, total w⚓️

TheCabbage
17-09-2022, 05:04 PM
His team had 10 yellows and a red so expect them to get charged for that along with his comments
So glad he is nowhere near our club

17-09-2022, 05:06 PM
Dare I say that we have an Aberdeen Manager bleating.

17-09-2022, 05:07 PM
Dare I say that we have an Aberdeen Manager bleating.

More baaaaad jokes....

17-09-2022, 05:09 PM
Where can I find it?

It'll definitely be on Sportscene tonight but the Sportsound podcast should be up in about an hour or so.

17-09-2022, 05:13 PM
Deflection. Failing manager in charge of a s***e team needs to divert attention elsewhere.

17-09-2022, 05:14 PM
Deflection. Failing manager in charge of a s***e team needs to divert attention elsewhere.Cheap as well. More pressure on Porto.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Has he never seen Besuijen play?

Should change his name to Badloss...

17-09-2022, 05:16 PM
That’s a disgrace, Hibs need to bat this back and say something.

17-09-2022, 05:16 PM
Should change his name to Badloss...

I like that. :greengrin

Argylehibby
17-09-2022, 05:19 PM
Remember when Hughes accused Boyler of diving and every ref started booking him for diving? Hibs need to make a statement defending Ryan and telling Goodwin where to go!

17-09-2022, 05:20 PM
Deflection. Failing manager in charge of a s***e team needs to divert attention elsewhere.

In a nutshell. Hibs were easily the better side today and Goodwin team got what they deserved.

I see a P45 in Jim Goodwin's future before Christmas. His team are bog average.

17-09-2022, 05:20 PM
And now we need to defend our player.

17-09-2022, 05:21 PM

Probably the reason why he slaughtered Porteous, trying to deflect attention away from how bad they were.

17-09-2022, 05:22 PM
Not really interested in him or what he’s got to say, my only thoughts on him is that it’s bizarre when they went down to 10, they played like they had 8 men.

Derek Mcinnes Kilmarnock side would be a lesson for him on how you play a game with 10 men. Rather than moaning about players that have been fouled he should maybe reflect on how bad his team was with 10 men. Was a lot of football played between our penalty and full time.

17-09-2022, 05:23 PM
That’s a disgrace, Hibs need to bat this back and say something.

17-09-2022, 05:24 PM
His interview was a joke, regardless of whether he thinks it was a penalty, trying to build the narrative that Porto is a diver is out of order. I don't think he's ever been booked for diving has he? Happy yo be proved wrong on that though .

Hot head, cheeky and a bit reckless at times? Aye, con man, no.

17-09-2022, 05:26 PM
After they scored, they tried to kick Hibs off the park.

Then when it was 1-1, they were blatantly time wasting.

Methinks some self reflection is needed

17-09-2022, 05:28 PM
Only saw from 20 mins

Hibs by far the better team and should have had a pen for handball. Dominated thr second half

JG is lucky to be in a job his record at the end of last season was sack worthy. More of the same please

17-09-2022, 05:35 PM
Not really interested in him or what he’s got to say, my only thoughts on him is that it’s bizarre when they went down to 10, they played like they had 8 men.

Derek Mcinnes Kilmarnock side would be a lesson for him on how you play a game with 10 men. Rather than moaning about players that have been fouled he should maybe reflect on how bad his team was with 10 men. Was a lot of football played between our penalty and full time.

Said that on the way out that there was a huge difference between the way Kilmarnock played with 10 compared to Aberdeen.

As for his interview, he should be hammered. It was a cheap shot at Porteous and totally unwarranted.

h1bs4life
17-09-2022, 05:35 PM
Over to you Hibs.

Time to back out player in the face of disgraceful comments from a rival manager.

Definitely , heard the interview on the radio on the way back.
The fact none of the panel agreed with him is all you need to know.
Deflection from how bad his team where and the fact penalty was given away by the player their fans didn’t want there .
The club has to respond and back the player.

percy veer
17-09-2022, 05:36 PM
Cannae wait to see the same people foaming at porto who say colaks was a deffo pen

17-09-2022, 05:38 PM
Over to you Hibs.

He crossed a line here. I hope he gets hauled up by the authorities.

17-09-2022, 05:40 PM
Good to hear he is hurting. Willie Miller gave a very good analysis on Sportsound - basically Hibs better team before and after sending off. Leanne ? Clearly saw it as a penalty.

She did say the player was stupid to dive in being booked then letting Ryan get the better of him

17-09-2022, 05:42 PM
I thought he was a disgrace. Really hope we as club do something about it. Some lines shouldn’t be crossed.

17-09-2022, 05:43 PM
It’s a weird one for him to lose the plot at.

Given the context - that we also had 2 strong penalty claims turned down, that Scales could easily have been sent off minutes earlier and that his team were very poor after taking their early lead - it’s not as if a single decision cost his team the game.

LustForLeith
17-09-2022, 05:46 PM
I thought it was weird he turned up at the ground in his own car as opposed to getting the team coach

Torto7
17-09-2022, 05:53 PM
Another attack on Ryan by a well known bully and thug when he played so he can button it when it comes to illegal play as that was his only skill as a player. The club needs to be on to this and support Ryan 100%. F*** them they all want us to fail but that's us up to 4th with plenty of players to come back in. :flag:

Scotty Leither
17-09-2022, 05:56 PM
Censure should be coming his way for spouting that *****. Imagine the reaction among the Weegie media if a Hibs manager said the same about Morelos?

17-09-2022, 05:58 PM
Censure should be coming his way for spouting that *****. Imagine the reaction among the Weegie media if a Hibs manager said the same about Morelos?

Also says he tried to influence the ref pre match too. Should be getting hammered.

17-09-2022, 06:00 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p0d11r85

From 51:00 Goodwin's interview

loanheadhibby
17-09-2022, 06:03 PM
After they scored, they tried to kick Hibs off the park.

Then when it was 1-1, they were blatantly time wasting.

Methinks some self reflection is needed

A bit of time wasting and thought they were dreadful but didn't think they were dirty at all.

EskbankHibby
17-09-2022, 06:04 PM
Porteous is a Hibs player and a Hibs asset. Goodwin is trying/has undermined that.

Not his place to devalue our asset. We need to go after that prick.

17-09-2022, 06:13 PM
Glad we've got LJ as our manager as opposed to the likes Goodwin. If weve played crap Lee calls it as it is and I feel always gives a fair reflection and assessment of a match as oppose to blaming anyone and everything for your own teams performance which will be at least partly down to that managers own inadequacies.

17-09-2022, 06:16 PM
Goodwin says Porteous has made a career out of cheating to win penalties for Hibs. I’m really struggling to think of him winning that many for us?

Sheffhibee
17-09-2022, 06:21 PM
Absolutely disgraceful, personal attack on one of our players hope they throw the book at him. Whingeing tw*t

17-09-2022, 06:23 PM
Tells you all you need to know when he says it was very even 11 v 11. The guys a total plum and Hibs need to come out fighting and defend Porto and make sure the 🛎 end gets punished for what he said. Aberdeen have spent a lot of money this summer and they were total gash.

17-09-2022, 06:26 PM
Goodwin says Porteous has made a career out of cheating to win penalties for Hibs. I’m really struggling to think of him winning that many for us?

He also said when they went down to 10 men it was an impossible task for them to get anything out the game.

Utterly bizarre take on it. Loads of examples of teams with 10 men getting points out games. His team gave up at 1-1. Weird.

17-09-2022, 06:34 PM

Me too.

Can’t remember any other examples.

There are legitimate criticisms that can be chucked at Porteous but this is simply nonsense.

17-09-2022, 06:36 PM
Grade A roaster.

17-09-2022, 06:41 PM
Grade A roaster.

Yep always has been as a player and manager. Ridiculous fat jambo interviewer didn't think it appropriate to bring up the other blatant penalties not given. Pure deflection for a poor manager and team. Another day it would have been 6 1

17-09-2022, 06:43 PM
Me too.

Can’t remember any other examples.

There are legitimate criticisms that can be chucked at Porteous but this is simply nonsense.

Won one against St Mirren couple of years back.

17-09-2022, 06:44 PM
Hope Ryan looks at what action he can take against what at one time was a thug on the field who went by the name of Goodwin and would appear to try and influence the referee prior to kick off.

skyehibee
17-09-2022, 06:49 PM
Classless ******. Will be sacked in a few months and probably blame Porteous for it.

17-09-2022, 06:58 PM
Some strong words from Hibs in response I hope.

And the twitter admin will have a laugh.

17-09-2022, 07:01 PM
Calling out an opposition player like this on the grounds he states isn't acceptable. That's someone's professional reputation and integrity he's calling into question.

Hope Hibs do something about it. At very least he needs to retract those remarks and apologise. Hopefully a fine and a ban for him. Probably be sacked soon.

JammyDoidger
17-09-2022, 07:05 PM
Clown. Hibs should bring this up though his comments are not on about our player.

one day maybe...
17-09-2022, 07:05 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p0d11r85

From 51:00 Goodwin's interview

What' the word... "conned".. Naw yer player Scales was stupid ya walloper. OMG a manager with as much common sense about the game as the way he played it..

17-09-2022, 07:06 PM
Goodwin was horrible as a player so I’m ok with Porto getting him wound up. Pretty classless comments though.

spudhib
17-09-2022, 07:09 PM
Won one against St Mirren couple of years back.

Also won one v St Mirren last season probably why Goodwin thinks the way he does 🤣

17-09-2022, 07:13 PM
That is an absolute shocking interview. Lets see what the authorities do about his comments come Monday. (F all imo)

Hopefully our club come out and back Ryan to the hilt over this scandalous half wit.

17-09-2022, 07:36 PM
That is an absolute shocking interview. Lets see what the authorities do about his comments come Monday. (F all imo)

Hopefully our club come out and back Ryan to the hilt over this scandalous half wit.

The comments are a disgrace and he should be asked to retract his slanderous remarks or be charged for bringing the game into disrepute.

17-09-2022, 07:43 PM
The comments are a disgrace and he should be asked to retract his slanderous remarks or be charged for bringing the game into disrepute.

They are indeed and just imagine the outcry if LJ had made those comments. Heartscene crew would be all over it etc. saying how unprofessional it is blah blah!

If Goodwin isn’t contacted regarding this then players and managers/coaching staff can say what they want, using Goodwins comments as the standard if they are brought to task!

Donegal Hibby
17-09-2022, 07:48 PM
Do think club need to respond to this. Shocking interview from Goodwin

17-09-2022, 07:48 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-chiefs-demand-answers-from-aberdeen-after-jim-goodwin-accuses-ryan-porteous-of-blatant-cheating-3847165

17-09-2022, 07:49 PM
Do think club need to respond to this. Shocking interview from Goodwin

Agree. An opposition manager calling out player a cheat shouldn’t be left at that. Goodwin under pressure. Shocking record up there.

17-09-2022, 07:49 PM
This is what I call cheating to win a penalty and get a player sent off.

https://youtu.be/clwHI6VGMZY?t=32

LunasBoots
17-09-2022, 07:51 PM
Disgusting little man

Scotty Leither
17-09-2022, 07:52 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-chiefs-demand-answers-from-aberdeen-after-jim-goodwin-accuses-ryan-porteous-of-blatant-cheating-3847165

If I was Ryan I would have laughed in his face as well. Welt.

17-09-2022, 07:55 PM

I'd say trying to influence the ref in the tunnel before kick-off is a blatant attempt at cheating.

hibbydog
17-09-2022, 08:01 PM
Comedy gold and I’m delighted we have someone that gets under everyone’s skin.

To be fair I thought Jim Goodwin was a decent bloke as a manager. Mindless thug as a player.

But on second thoughts he is a classless twonk.

nickwhibs
17-09-2022, 08:05 PM

Good on hibs for sticking up for him. Genuinely laughable stuff from Goodwin. There were also two other penalties that hibs should have been given for handball

17-09-2022, 08:07 PM
Really angry that he has came out with that interview, absolutely disgusting and beyond unprofessional.. That interview was the words of a man who is struggling with the pressure he is under as Aberdeen manager if you ask me . Dont know if he is trying to be clever and create some kind of siege mentality , but he has crossed a line that should not be ignored. Never liked goodwin as a player or a manager and I cannot stand Aberdeen.. I hope he/they have a horrible time together. Im not one for club statements , bit Hibs should calling this out immediately

17-09-2022, 08:15 PM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/jim-goodwin-hits-back-robbie-23272147

"There was contact, he went over and Steven McLean thought it warranted a penalty and so be it.”

Wonder why he sees it differently today? Silly prick.

Torto7
17-09-2022, 08:24 PM

Making our displeasure known to the Pittodrie hierarchy isn't enough imo. Their owner is a knob too. Make it public that we wont tolerate a witch hunt against one of our players again.

one day maybe...
17-09-2022, 08:53 PM
Imagine implying that Scottish referees are suckers.

"But it’s blatant cheating as far as I’m concerned and it’s cost my team points. We’re telling our players to be careful with him in the box, be careful with him at set-plays and don’t touch him as he will go over.

"I actually had a laugh and a joke with the referee prior to the game to make him aware of it. Unfortunately just before half-time he was sucked in hook, line and sinker. Bought it.”

Mikey_1875
17-09-2022, 08:56 PM
GIRUY Goodwin.

LunasBoots
17-09-2022, 08:56 PM
Funny how Aberdeen fans are going on about cheating, Porteous is no cheat, I do however remember Mackay Stevens while at Aberdeen going down very easily....

17-09-2022, 08:57 PM
Really angry that he has came out with that interview, absolutely disgusting and beyond unprofessional.. That interview was the words of a man who is struggling with the pressure he is under as Aberdeen manager if you ask me . Dont know if he is trying to be clever and create some kind of siege mentality , but he has crossed a line that should not be ignored. Never liked goodwin as a player or a manager and I cannot stand Aberdeen.. I hope he/they have a horrible time together. Im not one for club statements , bit Hibs should calling this out immediately

Yep despicable. Deflection pure and simple. They were so bad and we could easily have scored five or six. Thought sportsound let him off big time and imagine if he had been talking about a Rangers player. Love beating Aberdeen and well done the singing section for the SSB pisstake song was superb.

17-09-2022, 09:00 PM
Funny how Aberdeen fans are going on about cheating, Porteous is no cheat, I do however remember Mackay Stevens while at Aberdeen going down very easily....

He has Besuijen and Hayes who are both ridiculous cheats in his team. Boy had the integrity of a serial killer. :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
17-09-2022, 09:18 PM
Making our displeasure known to the Pittodrie hierarchy isn't enough imo. Their owner is a knob too. Make it public that we wont tolerate a witch hunt against one of our players again.
Too right we have to do more on this issue and defend our player to the max on this one .Really disgraceful stuff from Goodwin . It at least merits a ban for him.

17-09-2022, 09:24 PM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/jim-goodwin-hits-back-robbie-23272147

"There was contact, he went over and Steven McLean thought it warranted a penalty and so be it.”

Wonder why he sees it differently today? Silly prick.

Oh dear :hilarious

He’s made a right fool of himself and will surely on reflection regret his comments, particularly if he was reminded about his comments in the game you highlight.

Wouldn’t surprise me if he’s in touch with the club and Porteous to offer an apology to be honest.

17-09-2022, 09:26 PM
Unbelievable how biased sportscene is. Mikey Stewart just agreeing with Goodwin and they didn’t even discuss the McCrorie handball

HibeeMackenzie
17-09-2022, 09:28 PM
Unbelievable how biased sportscene is. Mikey Stewart just agreeing with Goodwin and they didn’t even discuss the McCrorie handball

Or show the one in the second half

17-09-2022, 09:31 PM
He said we’ve got to many forwards and a massive squad. One player less than his team

17-09-2022, 09:33 PM
Goodwin …… classless, insignificant ****bag. Will go nowhere as a manager. Well, on reflection, I suppose he has reached the dizzy heights of Aberdeen:faf:

17-09-2022, 09:39 PM
You forget about that blatant diver pawlett who went down when touched ever so slightly.

17-09-2022, 09:40 PM

That was my first reaction also. I really can't remember any though I'm sure there's been a couple. I apologise for maybe getting ahead of myself, haven't read the full thread yet, but I thought Michael Stewart was equally disgraceful. They even edited the Sportscene slow motion replay to start after Scales had moved his hands off Ryan. They need to ask themselves why Scales is looking straight at Ryan and not the ball. How can he possibly be trying to win the ball when he's looking in the opposite direction?

Hibees1973
17-09-2022, 09:44 PM
Let's be honest Ryan is no angel. We all know this.

However, for Goodwin to say these comments, particularly in defeat, is a disgrace. If he had this opinion before the game why not call it out then. If Goodwin highlighted this to his players beforehand it is clear Scales was not listening. Think this is what's probably annoying Goodwin most.

For me it was two players grappling for position in the box and the ref's opinion was it's a penalty. My feeling is that the ref was kind of compensating for his earlier howler in not giving us a penalty for the clear handball. I've seen clearer penalties, but others have been given in a similar situation.

This does though deflect from the clear issue that it may be best for Porteous to move away from Scottish football. It appears it may end this way as he has not signed a new contract yet. He has at times made himself an easy target for the media who, predictably, as in Michael Stewart tonight, never fail to over-analyse any Porteous misdemeanour of the dark arts that are common place in the game.

I tend though to go by the judgement of Steve Clarke who played at a very high level, worked with world class managers and who has consistently picked Porteous in his Scotland squad. His comments and decisions carry way more clout than soundbites from the likes of Goodwin and Stewart.

17-09-2022, 09:47 PM
That was my first reaction also. I really can't remember any though I'm sure there's been a couple. I apologise for maybe getting ahead of myself, haven't read the full thread yet, but I thought Michael Stewart was equally disgraceful. They even edited the Sportscene slow motion replay to start after Scales had moved his hands off Ryan. They need to ask themselves why Scales is looking straight at Ryan and not the ball. How can he possibly be trying to win the ball when he's looking in the opposite direction? exactly, he said Scales arms were in the air . Where else would they be when Ryan’s on the ground ?

Donegal Hibby
17-09-2022, 09:48 PM
Goodwin …… classless, insignificant ****bag. Will go nowhere as a manager. Well, on reflection, I suppose he has reached the dizzy heights of Aberdeen:faf:
Hibs Twitter has a picture of Martin Boyle blowing a kiss just after he scored the penalty with the words ' A GOOD WIN TODAY'

17-09-2022, 09:49 PM
That was my first reaction also. I really can't remember any though I'm sure there's been a couple. I apologise for maybe getting ahead of myself, haven't read the full thread yet, but I thought Michael Stewart was equally disgraceful. They even edited the Sportscene slow motion replay to start after Scales had moved his hands off Ryan. They need to ask themselves why Scales is looking straight at Ryan and not the ball. How can he possibly be trying to win the ball when he's looking in the opposite direction?

Only time i can think of was last season , possibly ross county at easter rd famous five end. Grappling in the box and ref gave us a penalty for a foul on porteous from a corner kick , ref had already warned the defender previously for pulling porteous before the corner wad taken.

17-09-2022, 09:50 PM

That's a good start from Hibs. I'm a bit confused though. Goodwin tries to influence the referee pre match to stop Ryan influencing the referee during the match, have I got that right?

17-09-2022, 09:52 PM
Sportscene is produced by a pathetic little Hearts tosser and is embarrassingly amateur….Goodwin is a thug, and a classless loser, I’d love to get in his face and tell him that.

vuefrom1875
17-09-2022, 09:53 PM

Always a tramp...left our of cup win...Still bitter.

17-09-2022, 09:56 PM
exactly, he said Scales arms were in the air . Where else would they be when Ryan’s on the ground ?

Yep, Stewart was very strange tonight. He even came back at the end to say a couple of more positive things about Hibs. It was as if he realised he'd gone OTT with his earlier comments.
On a separate note can you imagine a McInnes Aberdeen team being so docile and passive? If I was a Sheep fan I'd have been disgusted with that performance. Strangely we were actually the team committing a few niggly fouls and breaking up play today.

17-09-2022, 10:04 PM
Goodwin’s words were OTT but having seen replays, I don’t think it’s a penalty. It’s two players giving as good as they get and the first tug comes from Ryan.

There were two instances of handball in the game though (one a stick on, the other debatable) that were in the box so it evens itself out. A poor referee.

EskbankHibby
17-09-2022, 10:05 PM
Two things should happen after today.

Firstly, that prick Goodwin should be charged for his comments about an opposing player.

Secondly, Lee should be using this rhetoric/narrative to create a siege mentality.

Can’t believe an opposing manager can get away with saying that about our player.

17-09-2022, 10:14 PM
Only time i can think of was last season , possibly ross county at easter rd famous five end. Grappling in the box and ref gave us a penalty for a foul on porteous from a corner kick , ref had already warned the defender previously for pulling porteous before the corner wad taken.

Remember that one too but couldn't remember who it was against. There have been one or two other similar grappling incidents at corners with Porteous ending up on the deck but that Ross County one and today's are the only ones I remember being given as penalties.

These days defenders play like blockers in American Football half the time instead of just trying to play the ball. It's Scales' own fault, he's looking at Porteous and trying to block his run so wasn't trying to go for the ball which was probably going over Porteous' head anyway.

https://youtu.be/QNK92LNnaEM?t=132

HibeeMackenzie
17-09-2022, 10:16 PM

It was against st mirren not far from a year ago today and goodwin came out with a similar interview after the game

Porteous has done well as a “bang average” player to get so far inside the heads of so many people in Scottish football

17-09-2022, 10:23 PM
Goodwin is a disgrace, he should be hammered for that

17-09-2022, 10:35 PM
Comedy gold and I’m delighted we have someone that gets under everyone’s skin.

To be fair I thought Jim Goodwin was a decent bloke as a manager. Mindless thug as a player.

But on second thoughts he is a classless twonk.

Same here. Had respect for him as a Manager but he's let himself down big time with that interview.

Stupid, classless remarks. Trying to buy himself excuses amongst Aberdeen fans.

Aberdeen had 1 attempt at goal today and scored. They were awful. He's trying to cover up for his team's poor showing by picking on a young player who did nothing wrong.

Lester B
17-09-2022, 10:39 PM
Always a tramp...left our of cup win...Still bitter.

To be fair to Mikey Stewart have you seen his expression when the rest of that team is celebrating the cup win? He looks about as happy as a man who has stood in a large amount of dog doo while wearing sandals while walking to the gallows. He’s got a major trophy winners medal for a team he hates. No wonder he’s bitter.

Halifaxhibby
17-09-2022, 11:40 PM

Steven Thompson is an absolute embarrassment..dreadful footballer, dreadful dress sense. Total sheep love in...BBC welt.

17-09-2022, 11:56 PM
Goodwin’s words were OTT but having seen replays, I don’t think it’s a penalty. It’s two players giving as good as they get and the first tug comes from Ryan.

There were two instances of handball in the game though (one a stick on, the other debatable) that were in the box so it evens itself out. A poor referee.

I agree, what I don't understand is why is the focus on Porteous? He was wrestling with Scales and the ref made another contentious decision. It isn't Ryan's fault the ref gave it. The discussion should be on VAR and full-time refs. It should also be on Goodwins' integrity, or lack of it, as the ref is the issue in that instance.

18-09-2022, 12:10 AM
Poor comments by Goodwin. Their defender gave the referee a decision to make. Sour grapes.

18-09-2022, 12:17 AM
Managers who make comments as stupid as that are usually feeling under pressure and out of a job within 3 months.

JammyDoidger
18-09-2022, 12:36 AM
Behaviour like goodwins will make it less likely Porto signs a new contract. The damage these 'senior professionals' are doing to a young man's career is nothing short of disgusting. Hibs need to come out and back Porteous here, this is not on.

18-09-2022, 01:21 AM

Both Goodwin and Stewart were correct in describing the incident regardless of the other handball.Porto fooled the ref into giving the penalty, brilliant 😀

18-09-2022, 01:27 AM
As an aside, I thought Porto was very good today.

He’s not been playing his best stuff this season but that was much more like it from him.

A great boost for him ahead of meeting up with the Scotland squad, although instead of that he’ll be finding himself centre of attention and having to answer all sorts of crap.

18-09-2022, 02:12 AM
When the Daily Record Sport start a Vendetta the sheep will follow.. literally

Portious is laughing himself to bed, 3 points and a Scotland call up 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

18-09-2022, 06:43 AM
When the Daily Record Sport start a Vendetta the sheep will follow.. literally

Portious is laughing himself to bed, 3 points and a Scotland call up 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

It’s no laughing matter. The media and now other teams are systematically degrading our player and prize asset. Ryan’s probably going to leave (for free) after not singing a new contract. And the main reason will be because of all this guff he has to put up with.

job done media *****

Clarence
18-09-2022, 06:54 AM
Goodwin would do well to remember his own football career.

WestCoastHibby
18-09-2022, 07:01 AM
She did say the player was stupid to dive in being booked then letting Ryan get the better of him
Generally I think Leanne Chrichton is very good and her analysis has improved as time has gone on. Far better than Julie Fleeting or Rabbit in the headlights Shelly Kerr

18-09-2022, 07:24 AM
Rather annoyed he basically called Porteous a cheat in his post match interview, can he be pulled up for these accusations,

18-09-2022, 07:44 AM
Rather annoyed he basically called Porteous a cheat in his post match interview, can he be pulled up for these accusations,

Michael Stewart on Sportscene supporting Goodwin’ case. Other comments, expressing his doubts as to Hibs’ ability and decent progress, indicate his dislike for us.

18-09-2022, 08:21 AM
Hibs have apparently contacted Aberdeen to voice their displeasure over the comments and demanded an apology.

18-09-2022, 08:27 AM
If anyone thought his BBC interview was bad then his one for red TV was even saltier :hilarious

https://twitter.com/AberdeenFC/status/1571194471164907526?t=7YpnSZDSOv0***DGDcbx1Q&s=19

LeithMike
18-09-2022, 08:37 AM
If anyone thought his BBC interview was bad then his one for red TV was even saltier :hilarious

https://twitter.com/AberdeenFC/status/1571194471164907526?t=7YpnSZDSOv0***DGDcbx1Q&s=19Funny that Porteous walks by during the interview. I'm not Porteous's greatest fan and think he loses focus too easy but while not 100% it was a penalty, it didn't look a clear dive. Regardless, even if it was a dive, Goodwin shouldn't be commenting publicly like that unless he would do the same with his own players. Very much deflection form the way Aberdeen capitulated after a good first half showing.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

18-09-2022, 08:45 AM
Michael Stewart on Sportscene supporting Goodwin’ case. Other comments, expressing his doubts as to Hibs’ ability and decent progress, indicate his dislike for us.

Quite surprised at MS comments as I find him to be objective and reasonably supportive of Hibs. Maybe he's big mates with JG ?

18-09-2022, 08:46 AM
Between the two interviews on BBC and Red TV, there must be a strong case for Goodwin to be charged with bringing the game into disrepute.

I’m not sure exactly what the rules are regarding accusing players of cheating and defaming character by insinuation that they are serial cheaters, but I’m sure it must be frowned upon.

I hope Hibs don’t just accept an apology and would hope we push this much further in defence of our player and his reputation.

18-09-2022, 08:47 AM
Funny that Porteous walks by during the interview. I'm not Porteous's greatest fan and think he loses focus too easy but while not 100% it was a penalty, it didn't look a clear dive. Regardless, even if it was a dive, Goodwin shouldn't be commenting publicly like that unless he would do the same with his own players. Very much deflection form the way Aberdeen capitulated after a good first half showing.

It wasn’t in any way a “dive”

DIXIHIBS
18-09-2022, 08:50 AM

https://twitter.com/AberdeenFC/status/1571194471164907526?t=7YpnSZDSOv0***DGDcbx1Q&s=19

"Made a career out of winning penalties" !! What a ridiculous comment. Think porto has been awarded another 1 or 2 other than today over 4 seasons. Crazy comment.

18-09-2022, 08:53 AM
On Goodwin, presumably Scales was assigned to mark Porteous at set pieces. This is Porteous who Goodwin said he spoke to the ref about before the game. What kind of stupid is he then to not change Porto's marker after Scales has been booked? I think recognition of his own stupidity may be the source of Goodwin's ludicrous comments.

18-09-2022, 08:58 AM
So he’s admitted approach an opposing teams player after the match to “tell him exactly what he thought” that’s after saying he “had laugh/word with the ref before the game” about Porto?

In his fury - maybe that’s what we should call them all - “The Furies” - he appears to have lost his marbles. Surely open and shut case the muppet!

18-09-2022, 08:58 AM
Quite a few sheep on the twitter page giving him it tight for time wasting, poor tactics, poor substitutions and playing pish. Not everyone fooled by his pathetic deflection. Guaranteed to be binned before the end of the season

18-09-2022, 09:08 AM
Goodwin would do well to remember his own football career.

Indeed
This as already said cannot be ignored
If it is
Open season for gaffers and players in post match interviews.
I agree some restrictions on what can be said maybe ludicrous
But his accusations crossed the line.
Willie Miller had a point on the radio yesterday
At set pieces/corners refs need to be stopping this grappling nonsense from the off.

18-09-2022, 09:11 AM
Funny that Porteous walks by during the interview. I'm not Porteous's greatest fan and think he loses focus too easy but while not 100% it was a penalty, it didn't look a clear dive. Regardless, even if it was a dive, Goodwin shouldn't be commenting publicly like that unless he would do the same with his own players. Very much deflection form the way Aberdeen capitulated after a good first half showing.

It wasn’t a dive and a clear penalty. The controversy arose with Porteous initially having a wee tug at Scales’ jersey, a thing that goes on at every corner, at every game at every level, and usually missed or rightly or wrongly ignored by referees. The fact that it developed into a penalty is the issue. The tug was technically illegal but the ensuing grapple was indisputable. The tiresome attempts from Tom, Dick and Harry to vilify Porteous are a joke.

LeithMike
18-09-2022, 09:15 AM
It wasn’t a dive and a clear penalty. The controversy arose with Porteous initially having a wee tug at Scales’ jersey, a thing that goes on at every corner, at every game at every level, and usually missed or rightly or wrongly ignored by referees. The fact that it developed into a penalty is the issue. The tug was technically illegal but the ensuing grapple was indisputable. The tiresome attempts from Tom, Dick and Harry to vilify Porteous are a joke.One wonders what VAR would have made of it! For me, nothing clear enough to overturn referee's decision.

18-09-2022, 09:17 AM
Interesting that both Tom English and Willie Miller thought Goodwin was talking nonsense.

Roxyhibee
18-09-2022, 09:18 AM
Possibly the most bitter, childish post match interview I’ve heard. What an absolute clown. Hope Hibs take an aggressive, consistent counter against him this whole week.

18-09-2022, 09:20 AM
What a complete and utter deluded clown.

18-09-2022, 09:22 AM
At 5he time I thought it was a penalty but after seeing it back it it’s not clear cut and could have either way but Porto gets in front of Scales and goes down. As for Goodwin, he’s embarrassed himself and his club with the drivel he’s spouted in his after match comments. Free speech is one thing but his comments are way off the mark and he needs to explain himself

18-09-2022, 09:26 AM
He said he told Porteous what he thought of him and Porto laughed in his face . He’s proper raging haha

hibsfan7
18-09-2022, 09:26 AM
Ewe do know that he was just trying to pull the wool over everyones eyes

18-09-2022, 09:29 AM
Goodwin just deflecting. The lack of scrutiny from the media on him is shocking, like his record since he went there. Not done any better for them than Maloney did for us but nothing seems to be said about that.

Big hard man telling Porteous to his face though.

Argylehibby
18-09-2022, 09:30 AM
Two things should happen after today.

Firstly, that prick Goodwin should be charged for his comments about an opposing player.

Secondly, Lee should be using this rhetoric/narrative to create a siege mentality.

Can’t believe an opposing manager can get away with saying that about our player.

Hughes got away with it when he accused Boyle of diving and sportscene jumped all over it highlighting every foul on hm after that to see if it was a dive. Hibs have to go public on a statement condemning Goodwins comments and questioning Sportscenes backing of the comments.

18-09-2022, 09:33 AM
I usually don't mind Goodwin but he's had a howler yesterday. Porteous penalty isn't clear cut but to paint it as a blatant dive is just sour grapes. His team were pish even after an early goal and he's flat out ignoring the fact we should've had a penalty for the McCrorie handball. Something that many Dons fans on twitter are also ignorant of. The other handball I've seen given albeit I wouldn't give it on the basis it comes up if the players leg on to his hand. This again is before the Porteous incident. All ignored by Goodwin and most of their support. All ignored on the weekly analysis show that does a great deal missing or downplaying many of the decisions that go against us. Producer/s needs skelped.

Thankfully there's also a number of Dons fans who can see it for what it is. Deflection. Hope Hibs get an apology and if not take things further and highlight some of the above. Heck hope the manager and Porteous himself come out and highlight the above with the fact that Porteous rarely wins penalties contrary to what the bellend says.

18-09-2022, 09:43 AM
I usually don't mind Goodwin but he's had a howler yesterday. Porteous penalty isn't clear cut but to paint it as a blatant dive is just sour grapes. His team were pish even after an early goal and he's flat out ignoring the fact we should've had a penalty for the McCrorie handball. Something that many Dons fans on twitter are also ignorant of. The other handball I've seen given albeit I wouldn't give it on the basis it comes up if the players leg on to his hand. This again is before the Porteous incident. All ignored by Goodwin and most of their support. All ignored on the weekly analysis show that does a great deal missing or downplaying many of the decisions that go against us. Producer/s needs skelped.

Thankfully there's also a number of Dons fans who can see it for what it is. Deflection. Hope Hibs get an apology and if not take things further and highlight some of the above. Heck hope the manager and Porteous himself come out and highlight the above with the fact that Porteous rarely wins penalties contrary to what the bellend says.

Often see folk saying they don’t mind Goodwin.

He was a prick as a player and he’s now a prick as a manager IMO.

He’s also overrated as a manager. Keep up the good work Jim.

18-09-2022, 09:46 AM

Agree cant stand him and yesterday he demonstrated why

Stokesy's on fire
18-09-2022, 09:49 AM
Its funny that earlier this season Goodwin was slagging Lee Johnson off for complaining about match officials and now Goodwins the one moaning. Goodwin is a total clown he fits in well with the Aberdeen fans in terms of prickness a good match for them

18-09-2022, 09:51 AM

He admitted that Hibs deserved the win. Fair enough, we all know that. I thought 1st half it was a good decent game and they didn't just sit in which they would have done under McInnes after going a goal up so early doors. They have some decent pacy players up front. However he's made an arse of himself with his comments particularly given he was hardly a saint himself.

Stuarty1875
18-09-2022, 09:51 AM
Don’t rate Goodwin as a manager. Thought he done an average job at St Mirren.

Comments yesterday were bang out of order.

18-09-2022, 10:03 AM
Watching it at the time i thought it was a clear penalty, it's clear now it wasnt.

Ryan did foul Scales, it should have been a foul to them and the player should have remained on the pitch.

Jim Badloss clearly has issues, and irrespective of how he feels, he cant go around accusing players of cheating, espesially when he was up there with the best at it.

He should be charged with bringing the game into disrepute, and he should also set his team up better when he knows how good players are at conning refs. :faf:

18-09-2022, 10:04 AM
He admitted that Hibs deserved the win. Fair enough, we all know that. I thought 1st half it was a good decent game and they didn't just sit in which they would have done under McInnes after going a goal up so early doors. They have some decent pacy players up front. However he's made an arse of himself with his comments particularly given he was hardly a saint himself.

I’m surprised you think they didn’t sit in. I thought they were dreadful after going 1 up, not looking to attack at all, time-wasting at every opportunity

18-09-2022, 10:08 AM

Probably stems from the fact I quite liked his comments regarding the budget disparities between Rangers and Celtic compared to everyone else after all the whining about the differences they have compared to their European opposition.

Couple that with the short time I thought we should sign him as we needed a decent all rounder with a mean streak.

I actually have no issues with managers calling out other players and such but in this occasion he's jumped the gun got it wrong and his facts don't line up. All he's done is made himself look like a fud and Hibs, Lee and Ryan should call it out. Stoke the flames and redirect the pressure away from Ryan and back on to him. There's a good number of Aberdeen fans who seem to see his deflection for what it is. Point it out and open the rest of their eyes.

18-09-2022, 10:12 AM

I thought they were negative as hell and made very little attempt to do anything positive after scoring. Thought it was as dominant a performance as we’ve had in a very long time and we played well, just lacked a bit quality in the final third in the first half.

18-09-2022, 10:16 AM
Watching it at the time i thought it was a clear penalty, it's clear now it wasnt.

Ryan did foul Scales, it should have been a foul to them and the player should have remained on the pitch.

Jim Badloss clearly has issues, and irrespective of how he feels, he cant go around accusing players of cheating, espesially when he was up there with the best at it.

He should be charged with bringing the game into disrepute, and he should also set his team up better when he knows how good players are at conning refs. :faf:

I agree.

If he'd said that it wasn't a penalty or that Ryan actually fouled Scales, that would have been fair enough, but to call him a cheat was wrong.

Porto already has a section of the media out to get him and this just fuels and increases that.

Would he have said that if it had been a Rantic player...

18-09-2022, 10:17 AM
I’m surprised you think they didn’t sit in. I thought they were dreadful after going 1 up, not looking to attack at all, time-wasting at every opportunity

My memory of the 1st half was I thought they were a different team to that under McInnes and didn't look like a team of defending cloggers that they were under him. 2nd half was different with a man down. I'd like to say alcohol had an influence in my thoughts but it didn't yesterday, maybe just me. 😂

Maybe a more experienced Manager or one with a bit more of a standing, says that Scales needs to do better and not hand the referee a decision to make. I get standing up for your players, but unless he is making an early pitch for the Celtc job, blaming it all completely on someone else, only shows that what you do yourself will never be enough. The ten Aberdeen players left on the park will be delighted that their Manager didn't think that they would be able to play the game out.

Kavinho

Didn't see it like that at all.
He's moving in on goal and being obstructed.
Scales isn't interested in where the ball is for a long time.
Porteousjinks to go past him, there are arms everywhere as a result.

Definitely a penalty for me.
More open to an argument about whether it should be a yellow card or not, which I think could be deemed either. But a definite penalty.

Goodwin's comments are really poor though.

18-09-2022, 10:19 AM
Didn't see it like that at all.
He's moving in on goal and being obstructed.
Scales isn't interested in where the ball is for a long time.
Porteousjinks to go past him, there are arms everywhere as a result.

Definitely a penalty for me.
More open to an argument about whether it should be a yellow card or not, which I think could be deemed either. But a definite penalty.

Goodwin's comments are really poor though.

Watch it on sportscene, Ryan pulls his shirt to get past him, then gets him in a headlock and pulls him to the ground.

Great play from Porto. :thumbsup:

Kavinho
18-09-2022, 10:20 AM
I have. More than once.
And came to the above conclusion.

18-09-2022, 10:21 AM
I have. More than once.
And came to the above conclusion.

Next stop then is specsavers. :wink:

Mcbizz1998
18-09-2022, 10:30 AM
I liked Goodwin as the St Mirren manager but he has now morphed into the typical chippy twat that I’ve come to expect from Aberdeen Football Club.

Delighted Porto gets under his skin and laughed in his face at FT.

Kavinho
18-09-2022, 10:32 AM
Next stop then is specsavers. :wink:

You can't defend a corner by having no idea where the ball is and just trying to block a player.

Scales put himself in trouble.

Still a penalty for me

18-09-2022, 10:36 AM
You can't defend a corner by having no idea where the ball is and just trying to block a player.

Scales put himself in trouble.

Still a penalty for me

I agree, but if you started giving penalties for players coming together at corners, we'd have one every corner.

Scales did put himself in trouble by getting the wrong side of Porto, the only trouble with that, was Porto dragged him back by the shirt to get there, obviously getting him in a headlock helped too.

Kavinho
18-09-2022, 10:39 AM
I agree, but if you started giving penalties for players coming together at corners, we'd have one every corner.

Scales did put himself in trouble by getting the wrong side of Porto, the only trouble with that, was Porto dragged him back by the shirt to get there, obviously getting him in a headlock helped too.

Are you saying scales didn't have a hold of Porteous..?

18-09-2022, 10:41 AM
Are you saying scales didn't have a hold of Porteous..?

Yes

18-09-2022, 10:44 AM
An absolute fraud of a manager. St.Mirren was his level. Just another to join the managerial merry go round.

18-09-2022, 10:54 AM
Yes

Come oan now

Victor
18-09-2022, 10:55 AM
There is only one player going for the ball, Porteous. Scales has no idea where the ball is he is only intent on blocking Porteous’ run into the box. Every thing else that happens is due to Scales trying to block and Porteous trying to fend him off. Soft penalty, but in my opinion there was definitely no attempt by Porteous to try and win a penalty. Therefore, Goodwin is talking s**t.

18-09-2022, 10:58 AM
Hope Jim is feeling a bit sheepish this morning.

The mutton bothering, sunbed pestering cockwomble that he is.

18-09-2022, 10:58 AM
Yes

He clearly has both arms around Porteous and never once looks at the ball. He gets wrongside and it's a clear pen.

18-09-2022, 11:00 AM
Steven Thompson is an absolute embarrassment..dreadful footballer, dreadful dress sense. Total sheep love in...BBC welt.

How thon amateur got that Sportscene gig is baffling

18-09-2022, 11:04 AM
There is only one player going for the ball, Porteous. Scales has no idea where the ball is he is only intent on blocking Porteous’ run into the box. Every thing else that happens is due to Scales trying to block and Porteous trying to fend him off. Soft penalty, but in my opinion there was definitely no attempt by Porteous to try and win a penalty. Therefore, Goodwin is talking s**t.
If you watch the replay, Porteous makes no attempt to claim a penalty. He threw up his arms in frustration as I think he thought the ref had blown for a full on Scales.
It was soft but it was down to the ref not Porteous.
Goodwin is totally out of order

Donegal Hibby
18-09-2022, 11:05 AM
An absolute fraud of a manager. St.Mirren was his level. Just another to join the managerial merry go round.
Dons much bigger club and it seems General Zod can't handle the pressure with his ridiculous comments.

Kavinho
18-09-2022, 11:05 AM
Yes

And you say I need to go to Specsavers ??!😉

18-09-2022, 11:09 AM
... he's flat out ignoring the fact we should've had a penalty for the McCrorie handball. Something that many Dons fans on twitter are also ignorant of. The other handball I've seen given albeit I wouldn't give it on the basis it comes up if the players leg on to his hand. This again is before the Porteous incident. All ignored by Goodwin and most of their support. ...

There was also a decent call for a penalty in the second half, when it looked like the Dons defender fell to the ground and pulled the ball away from the Hibs player with his hand.

It was the incident right on the by-line, about 5 yards from the goals.

Donegal Hibby
18-09-2022, 11:18 AM
First foul was from porto after that was missed scales fouls Porto definite penalty though if Ref had seen Porto's one Dons get free kick . No issue with Goodwin complaining about that . It's the scandalous comments about Porto im annoyed about and hope club don't let this go.

18-09-2022, 11:21 AM
Yes

Watch the angle from behind the goal, Scales not even looking towards the ball. Runs towards Porteous and grabs him. Porteous has plenty of him as well by the time he gets the run on him but you can’t seriously think Scales didn’t have hold of him!

18-09-2022, 11:22 AM
Can you imagine the outcry of any manager called a rangers player a cheat

Its surley a fine and a ban coming for Goodwin

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

18-09-2022, 11:29 AM
There was also a decent call for a penalty in the second half, when it looked like the Dons defender fell to the ground and pulled the ball away from the Hibs player with his hand.

It was the incident right on the by-line, about 5 yards from the goals.

That was a penalty as well.

Defender got the ball nicked off him. Ref only blew when the defender grabbed the ball.

18Craig75
18-09-2022, 11:29 AM
Wasn’t it Lewis Ferguson that blatantly dived for Aberdeen against Hearts I believe, last season. Interested to know if Goodwin called him a cheat?

I also remember after he called someone else out (maybe Taylor of Celtic) whilst St Mirren boss, he had a player in the next couple weeks go down easily then pathetically tried to contrive the situation to somehow differentiate it from being a clear dive.

If you’re calling people cheats and calling out diving, you better make sure your own players are squeaky clean.

18-09-2022, 11:32 AM
Wasn’t it Lewis Ferguson that blatantly dived for Aberdeen against Hearts I believe, last season. Interested to know if Goodwin called him a cheat?

I also remember after he called someone else out (maybe Taylor of Celtic) whilst St Mirren boss, he had a player in the next couple weeks go down easily then pathetically tried to contrive the situation to somehow differentiate it from being a clear dive.

If you’re calling people cheats and calling out diving, you better make sure your own players are squeaky clean.

Neilson criticised Ferguson and Goodwin defended him.

18-09-2022, 11:34 AM
Neilson criticised Ferguson and Goodwin defended him.

Ferguson made a career out of ‘conning’ refs.

18-09-2022, 11:37 AM
Goodwin is an absolute welt coming out with that - particularly as he was himself one of the dirtyest cheatingest players of his generation. His player Scales, fresh from an out of control lunge on Campbell, was clearly bent on obstructing Porteous' run into the box with no intention whatsoever to play the ball. As a result of his blocking there is a coming together resulting in them both crashing to the turf. Maybe a bit soft but strictly speaking a correct penalty award. Add that to the other TWO we should have been awarded for handball and Goodwin makes himslef look a proper idiot.

18-09-2022, 11:47 AM
Classic case of poor manager with a poor team trying to deflect criticism by creating a story that the media laps up.

18-09-2022, 11:49 AM
Goodwin is an absolute welt coming out with that - particularly as he was himself one of the dirtyest cheatingest players of his generation. His player Scales, fresh from an out of control lunge on Campbell, was clearly bent on obstructing Porteous' run into the box with no intention whatsoever to play the ball. As a result of his blocking there is a coming together resulting in them both crashing to the turf. Maybe a bit soft but strictly speaking a correct penalty award. Add that to the other TWO we should have been awarded for handball and Goodwin makes himslef look a proper idiot.

Goodwin's going to get pulled up for those comments. His problem is simply no evidence that Porteous dived, faked injury or simulated - so it is down to the referees judgement. By calling Porteous a cheat he is fact calling the ref's judgement into question, something the beaks don't take well. Add to that, his accusation and rant about Porteous and JG is in hot water.

18-09-2022, 11:51 AM
That was a penalty as well.

Defender got the ball nicked off him. Ref only blew when the defender grabbed the ball.

It was a complete cop out by the ref.

By grabbing the ball, the Dons player forced the ref to make a decision - penalty to Hibs or foul to Aberdeen, despite being no infringement by the Hibs player. A weak referee.

18-09-2022, 11:51 AM
Interestingly St Mirren seem to have improved quite a lot since he left . They actually play some football now

Donegal Hibby
18-09-2022, 11:53 AM
And you say I need to go to Specsavers ??!😉
Find the Specsavers comments quite funny yet the ones that really need to go the most are the Ref , linesmen , fourth officials .McCrories handball was as clear as day to see yet they all missed it .Imo you will not get a clearer handball penalty all season .Make a great Add on the telly for Specsavers too:greengrin

18-09-2022, 11:54 AM
Feeling the pressure already. Suddenly realising that managing a club with expectations above “avoid relegation” is beyond his limited capabilities as a manager. An absolutely classless welt as a player and carrying that on in to management.

I always thought he was very complimentary about Hibs as St Mirren manager, maybe it’s just being Aberdeen manager that’s made a bitter twat.

scuttle
18-09-2022, 12:20 PM
Instead of moaning about Porto he should look at his own tactics. Once he took no 22 off who was doing well against Boyler the huge gaps left let us exploit them down our right from then on. Couldn't believe he did that at the time

18-09-2022, 12:54 PM
Watch the angle from behind the goal, Scales not even looking towards the ball. Runs towards Porteous and grabs him. Porteous has plenty of him as well by the time he gets the run on him but you can’t seriously think Scales didn’t have hold of him!

Both players are trying to block each other, both got their arms out trying to get ahead of each other, you see it at every corner.

If Hanlon or Porto defend like Scales, and a penalty was awarded against Hibs, i'd be livid.

18-09-2022, 12:59 PM
Both players are trying to block each other, both got their arms out trying to get ahead of each other, you see it at every corner.

If Hanlon or Porto defend like Scales, and a penalty was awarded against Hibs, i'd be livid.

Michael Stewart and Jim Goodwin would find a way to justify it to you.

18-09-2022, 01:01 PM

I’m no convinced you have seen the incident

18-09-2022, 01:03 PM
I’m no convinced you have seen the incident

Caught, listened on the radio.

18-09-2022, 01:18 PM
Watch it on sportscene, Ryan pulls his shirt to get past him, then gets him in a headlock and pulls him to the ground.

Great play from Porto. :thumbsup:

A case of 6 of one and half a dozen of the other, the 2 of them were at it and the ref doesn't see the pulled shirt, VAR would've reviewed and turned that over IMO but I'll take those decisions all day long.

18-09-2022, 01:36 PM
I can understand a rant from someone like Goodwin - a thug as a player, and now a classless manager. Hope he has talked himself into trouble with his after-match comments.
What did take me by surprise was Michael Stewart's disparaging remarks about Porteous and the club. He's gone right down in my estimation after that tirade.

18-09-2022, 01:46 PM
Caught, listened on the radio.

Aberdeen fan's view: https://twitter.com/eaonp/status/1571313205473058816?s=20&t=pnwxBb6oXc6iP6l9BSv44g

McCrorie handball not given: https://twitter.com/Tweet_Russ/status/1571198196646383618?s=20&t=pnwxBb6oXc6iP6l9BSv44g

18-09-2022, 01:49 PM
Sportsound now talking about the "blatant dive"

18-09-2022, 01:53 PM

Yet they fail to mention two hand balls which should have been penalties, the fact Porto never dived, and Hayes is a persistent diver throughout 90 minutes :aok:

Nice balanced critique by Aberdeen and Hearts supporting pundits :rolleyes: as for Craigan, he's a ***** a pundit as he was a centre half :aok:

18-09-2022, 01:54 PM

Is it Richard Gordon hosting per chance?

18-09-2022, 02:00 PM

Scales did put himself in trouble by getting the wrong side of Porto, the only trouble with that, was Porto dragged him back by the shirt to get there, obviously getting him in a headlock helped too.Dragged? You're having to exaggerate to try and prove sportsman's point. He didn't drag anybody.

18-09-2022, 02:00 PM
If anyone is in any doubt that the media have it in for Ryan and are trying to influence referees, they're deluded. It's a witch hunt pure and simple. Hibs are right to demand an explanation, not only from Aberdeen, but from the BBC too. Someone needs to remind Richard Gordon that when Aberdeen played in the 80's and 90's they had two referees on the pitch with Mr Willie Miller Esq making decisions for the refs :cb Nice of Levein to remind the SFA he owes them £32,000 in fines.......hope they have added the compound interest Craigy :aok: you'll need a big win at the bookies to cover that one lad :wink:

18-09-2022, 02:08 PM

Maybe debatable if it was a penalty or not but it definitely wasn’t a dive.

18-09-2022, 02:24 PM
Maybe debatable if it was a penalty or not but it definitely wasn’t a dive.Yep, you can argue either way

Its certainly not a dive though

Interestingly the difference in narrative over this and the Colak penalty for rangers

I'm not sure ours was a penalty but Rockys fleeting touch on Colak certainly would not have caused his legs to collapse

I don't remember anyone in the media or that mentioning the wold dive

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

18-09-2022, 02:45 PM
Could the ref have given a penalty, but not another yellow card?

18-09-2022, 02:56 PM
Dragged? You're having to exaggerate to try and prove sportsman's point. He didn't drag anybody.

Porto pulled his shirt to get in front of him, pulled/dragged what would you call it?

18-09-2022, 03:04 PM
Porto pulled his shirt to get in front of him, pulled/dragged what would you call it?

Lightly tugged.:greengrin

18-09-2022, 03:21 PM
:greengrin:top marks

18-09-2022, 03:47 PM

Smoothed a wrinkle? 🤔

18-09-2022, 03:56 PM
Porto pulled his shirt to get in front of him, pulled/dragged what would you call it?I call it as Willie Miller did. Scales is too close to Porteous and is obstructing him, Porteous makes the same move as some other players do, "makes an honest attempt to get the ball" while Scales isn't playing to get the ball, he's deliberately getting in Porteous's way.

So any tangle or contact is the defenders fault.

Obstruction leading to a foul, penalty.

18-09-2022, 04:05 PM
I call it as Willie Miller did. Scales is too close to Porteous and is obstructing him, Porteous makes the same move as some other players do, "makes an honest attempt to get the ball" while Scales isn't playing to get the ball, he's deliberately getting in Porteous's way.

Ah Willie Miller, that proves it beyond doubt then.

ACLeith
18-09-2022, 04:12 PM
The only place Aberdeen have recorded an away league victory in the last 13 months is Perth. In spite of that they continue to bring a good support to ER.

18-09-2022, 04:46 PM

That sums it up for me. For years I've been advocating that defenders who face up to attackers while completely ignoring the ball, should be penalised. If it was known that a penalty would result then this nonsensical practice would stop overnight!

18-09-2022, 04:46 PM
Ah Willie Miller, that proves it beyond doubt then.That's not really addressing the obstruction though is it. Miller was at the game watched it back and made those comments before Goodwin made his comments and before the sportsound team began their editing of the incident.

Do you think it's obstruction?

18-09-2022, 04:48 PM
I call it as Willie Miller did. Scales is too close to Porteous and is obstructing him, Porteous makes the same move as some other players do, "makes an honest attempt to get the ball" while Scales isn't playing to get the ball, he's deliberately getting in Porteous's way.

That’s the way I saw it.

If it had gone against us, I think I’d have more of an issue with the defending than the refereeing.

Could you imagine the racket if that had been Rocky?

It’s a wee bit contentious but so don’t think I’d be getting into the state Goodwin has got himself into over it.

18-09-2022, 04:50 PM
That sums it up for me. For years I've been advocating that defenders who face up to attackers while completely ignoring the ball, should be penalised. If it was known that a penalty would result then this nonsensical practice would stop overnight!Obstruction in the box is an indirect free-kick. Refs seem to have forgotten this. If your trying to play the man and not watching the ball it's obstruction. If that develops into impeding the player getting to the ball or stopping his attempt, it's a penalty.

18-09-2022, 05:16 PM
Let’s not get away from the fact that once again Sportsound are over analysing a moment in the game that involves a Hibs player.

Did we hear them go on and on about Colak at ER when he went down like he was shot and a penalty given.

It’s time someone called them out as it would appear they are having a laugh at our expense

Skol
18-09-2022, 05:19 PM

That’s the way I saw it also. Sadly although it’s a clear penalty, nine times out of ten it isn’t given. I think we only got it because the ref knew he got the handball wrong

18-09-2022, 05:26 PM
Obstruction in the box is an indirect free-kick. Refs seem to have forgotten this. If your trying to play the man and not watching the ball it's obstruction. If that develops into impeding the player getting to the ball or stopping his attempt, it's a penalty.

Absolutely this. If Scales and Porteous were both going for the ball and the resulting grappling ensued then I would have some sympathy with the defender. However Scales is never at any stage interested in attacking the ball, only in blocking Porto. I haven't seen game again but my first impression was that Scales initiated the contact. I do have it recorded so ill check later before Specs Savers are called in.:greengrin
Final thought, if a player did that anywhere else on the park it would be an automatic free kick.

Argylehibby
18-09-2022, 05:28 PM
Let’s not get away from the fact that once again Sportsound are over analysing a moment in the game that involves a Hibs player.

Did we hear them go on and on about Colak at ER when he went down like he was shot and a penalty given.

It’s time someone called them out as it would appear they are having a laugh at our expense

Totally agree.

Sergio sledge
18-09-2022, 05:33 PM
Obstruction in the box is an indirect free-kick. Refs seem to have forgotten this. If your trying to play the man and not watching the ball it's obstruction. If that develops into impeding the player getting to the ball or stopping his attempt, it's a penalty.

Scales only aim was to stop Porteous's run, he wasn't even looking at the ball at any point. He had his arms around his waist at one point and only took them away as Porteous was falling down to try to claim he hadn't done anything. In my view looking at where he was heading and where the ball went Porteous had a good chance to get the ball if Scales hadn't done that.

I wish referees would clamp down on it more, players should be attempting to clear the ball at a corner not just stopping the man running.

18-09-2022, 05:36 PM
That’s the way I saw it also. Sadly although it’s a clear penalty, nine times out of ten it isn’t given. I think we only got it because the ref knew he got the handball wrong

Aye, the ref definitely had the previous claim on his mind when he gave it. Then as soon as he’s done that, he has to send the boy off. He then spent the second half trying to even that up because there were some utterly bizarre decisions thrown in.

18-09-2022, 05:39 PM

Wouldn't do any good if they were called out. The whole premise of their commentating on games appears to be employing Celtic and Rangers sycophants and goading everyone else. Even people with a degree of intelligence like Michael Stewart get sucked in to talking absolute s***e. The product is awful but it'll continue as long as people watch it in enough numbers. Switching off the telly en-masse and putting their cushy jobs at risk is the only way that it will change.

18-09-2022, 05:40 PM
I remember him giving a free kick to Aberdeen in the 2nd half when McCrorie simply fell over, raised his hand to claim for a foul, which the incompetent clown duly awarded. He was hopeless.

18-09-2022, 05:46 PM
An Aberdeen player tried to foul Youan in the box then dived on top of the ball and grabbed it. Hand ball, penalty.

Is that trying to con the ref?

(Given that he did, BTW where is the Sportscene analysis? )

18-09-2022, 05:53 PM
His name is Jimmy Badloss now 😁

18-09-2022, 05:54 PM
Take away the penalty it’s still the same outcome. Certainty to be next on the dole . Clown

Skol
18-09-2022, 05:54 PM
An Aberdeen player tried to foul Youan in the box then dived on top of the ball and grabbed it. Hand ball, penalty.

Is that trying to con the ref?

(Given that he did, BTW where is the Sportscene analysis? )

It was bojan, but doesn’t change the fact it was a penalty.

18-09-2022, 08:21 PM
Should also note that Aberdeen's game plan was patently a rehash of the classic McInnes "go 1-0 up and employ gamesmanship throughout to preserve that lead for the remainder of the game", which didn't work this time because 1. The ref actually did something about it and 2. Unlike McInnes, Goodwin doesn't have the managerial ability to pull it off.

They would have cheated like **** for the rest of the game if we hadn't got that penalty.

18-09-2022, 08:48 PM
https://youtu.be/kCxbRsBDAxo?t=15 :greengrin

The_Sauz
18-09-2022, 09:25 PM
Aberdeen fan's view: https://twitter.com/eaonp/status/1571313205473058816?s=20&t=pnwxBb6oXc6iP6l9BSv44g

McCrorie handball not given: https://twitter.com/Tweet_Russ/status/1571198196646383618?s=20&t=pnwxBb6oXc6iP6l9BSv44g
McCrorie also throws an arm into Portos face when he jumps, which in the rules is a booking! I think the west stand linesman was still sleeping when it all happened :agree:

18-09-2022, 09:29 PM
One player pushes the ref and another pushes the fourth official. Nothing mentioned about either

The_Sauz
18-09-2022, 09:31 PM
:greengrin:top marks
I guess you did not know the Porto had a part time job as a QA for adidas and was just check the guys shirt for flaws :greengrin

18-09-2022, 09:32 PM
I am Porto

18-09-2022, 09:32 PM
I can understand a rant from someone like Goodwin - a thug as a player, and now a classless manager. Hope he has talked himself into trouble with his after-match comments.
What did take me by surprise was Michael Stewart's disparaging remarks about Porteous and the club. He's gone right down in my estimation after that tirade.
I don’t know what’s happened there. He was always very complimentary about us but this season Mikey has really been putting the boot in.

18-09-2022, 09:33 PM
I don’t know what’s happened there. He was always very complimentary about us but this season Mikey has really been putting the boot in.

Every since we punted Sack Ross he has been vehemently critical of Hibs. Yet haven't heard him be anywhere near as critical of Dundee Utd?

18-09-2022, 09:39 PM
Incredible

Kelle Roos claims he heard Ryan Porteous was a 'diver' BEFORE game as Aberdeen keeper pulls no punches

bit.ly/3qPXrDI

18-09-2022, 09:45 PM
Incredible

Kelle Roos claims he heard Ryan Porteous was a 'diver' BEFORE game as Aberdeen keeper pulls no punches

bit.ly/3qPXrDI

Diving is not his thing? He is a bloody goalkeeper! Maybe that's why he let 3 past him 🤣

Seriously though what a horrid, biased article!

18-09-2022, 09:53 PM
Incredible

bit.ly/3qPXrDI

Ryan Porteous claims he had never heard of Kelle Roos BEFORE game as Hibernian defender pulls no punches

18-09-2022, 10:04 PM
"Craig Samson mentioned to me this guy has a name for himself by diving if he can’t get near the ball."

Interesting that it's an ex-Hibs coach that has told him this. Pricks.

18-09-2022, 10:08 PM
"Craig Samson mentioned to me this guy has a name for himself by diving if he can’t get near the ball."

Interesting that it's an ex-Hibs coach that has told him this. Pricks.

He couldn't get near the ball as that lump Scales was blocking him and hauled him to the ground

Donegal Hibby
19-09-2022, 12:13 AM
Dons keeper saying how hurt scales was after getting sent off . No word of nasty tackle that hurt Campbell though!

GonzoReturns
19-09-2022, 12:21 AM
If the SFA don’t go to town with those clowns then it’s open season against any player who the opposition don’t like. It is no more than cowardly bullying.

norhfc
19-09-2022, 05:44 AM
Its already open season on naming opposition players, mind Gerrard named Porteous a couple of times and nobody batted an eye lid. It was never accepted in years gone by, cant remember when it became a thing in Scottish football.

19-09-2022, 05:46 AM
Was Goodwin not a well known hatchet man in his playing days?

Bridge hibs
19-09-2022, 05:58 AM
Was Goodwin not a well known hatchet man in his playing days?Yes

Nov 2014: Goodwin accepts a three-match ban for violent conduct after being charged by the SFA when TV pictures show him slamming an elbow into Dundee United kid Aidan Connolly’s face during a 3-1 Premiership defeat at Dundee United.

Nov 2013: Goodwin is banned for two matches after TV cameras catch him elbowing Dundee United midfielder Stuart Armstrong during a clash at St Mirren Park.

Dec 2011: Goodwin accepts a two-match ban for throwing a punch at Motherwell’s Steve Jennings at Fir Park.

Season 14/15 - 6 yellow 1 red
13/14 - 14 yellow 2 red
11/12 - 15 yellow 0 red
10/11 - 12 yellow 0 red

As a St Mirren player Goodwin accumulated 56 yellow and 4 reds

Not saying it was all for thuggery but I think most of us has seen the good the bad and the ugly in his play over the years

Prick 🤬

19-09-2022, 06:01 AM
Just seen this picture, looks like i got it wrong, although this was after Ryan pulled/dragged him back. 26190