View Full Version : Midfield

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

TrinityHFC
31-08-2024, 09:09 AM
Only addition to a dreadful midfield from last season is Kwon. And Gray thinks that is enough?

Last week two of the three were different to last season.

I do think we wanted McCowan so I’m sure he recognises that one of those types of players are needed but he would also have been involved in deciding if there was an alternative available or to make do just now and wait for a player he wants.

He will ultimately be judged on how it goes though, of course.

31-08-2024, 09:16 AM
Last week two of the three were different to last season.

I do think we wanted McCowan so I’m sure he recognises that one of those types of players are needed but he would also have been involved in deciding if there was an alternative available or to make do just now and wait for a player he wants.

He will ultimately be judged on how it goes though, of course.

His job is to fix it and no credit will be given for trying and failing.

TrinityHFC
31-08-2024, 09:18 AM
His job is to fix it and no credit will be given for trying and failing.

Best just to go straight to assuming he’s failed then eh? Saves time.

31-08-2024, 09:19 AM
Best just to go straight to assuming he’s failed then eh? Saves time.

Do you think it’s fixed?

31-08-2024, 09:29 AM
What i will never understand is why we've went all in for McCowan with no backup plan?

Nobody with any brains would do what we did, and not have others in line who we needed to go after when being knocked back repeatedly for weeks.

We were apparently willing to spend nearly £1m on him, there must be other players out there just as good for that price, but we went right to the last minute going after 1.

Amateurs or just kidding us on, dont know which one is right.

31-08-2024, 09:33 AM
What i will never understand is why we've went all in for McCowan with no backup plan?

Nobody with any brains would do what we did, and not have others in line who we needed to go after when being knocked back repeatedly for weeks.

We were apparently willing to spend nearly £1m on him, there must be other players out there just as good for that price, but we went right to the last minute going after 1.

Yep, it is completely baffling. It looked like they were actually trying sort the issue with the midfield by going for that type of player. Yet it seems they just wanted him and not that sort of player in general.

31-08-2024, 09:33 AM

It's an utter shambles and needs new people at the helm.
It's clearly not going to change under their leadership.

TrinityHFC
31-08-2024, 09:34 AM
Do you think it’s fixed?

Don’t know yet really. We do have lots of different options in there now including players like Amos, NMW and Levitt who are all likely to be back ups but have ability if we find the right blend. Up to DG to get that right in his coaching and in games.

31-08-2024, 09:37 AM
Don’t know yet really. We do have lots of different options in there now including players like Amos, NMW and Levitt who are all likely to be back ups but have ability if we find the right blend. Up to DG to get that right in his coaching and in games.

Ah, it was just the blend that was wrong. Phew.[emoji106]

TrinityHFC
31-08-2024, 09:38 AM
Yep, it is completely baffling. It looked like they were actually trying sort the issue with the midfield by going for that type of player. Yet it seems they just wanted him and not that sort of player in general.

Perhaps a sign they don’t want to repeat previous mistakes?

We will have a view on who is available now and perhaps who will be in future so maybe it was him or we don’t waste the money on players we did think were right?

He was attractive because he has proven it in this league. Not sure there’s a big list of others in that type of role we could rely on to hit the ground running.

31-08-2024, 09:40 AM

Come on matey, you have watched us, you have seen this midfield, Gray is not a magician?

Youan/Hoilett wide left, Boyle/Chris Cadden wide right with 3 out of Kwon, Newell, Triantis, Amos, Campbell and Moriah-Welsh. It’s the centre of the park that lacks drive and creativity. The squad is good enough to finish top six though. Over to SDG to make it happen.

Bushwoof
Joe is a good passer of the ball (as also is Levitt, I'm told). Maybe with Kwon and Triantis further back we could see a transformation in the side, with undeniably skillful players such as Elie, Boyle and Bowie getting better service than they currently get from Campbell. I think we have the ingredients for a good midfield, it just remains to be seen if SDG can make it so.

Houston7
31-08-2024, 09:42 AM

Agree, but we’ll never know the answer to what was really happening. It’s only the media that reported all the offers for McGowan and the level of these. However, certainly no evidence of a Plan B.

31-08-2024, 09:43 AM
Our forwards should score goals, it's keeping them out that's the worry.

TrinityHFC
31-08-2024, 09:44 AM
Come on matey, you have watched us, you have seen this midfield, Gray is not a magician?

He’s not but say Triantis and Kwon with a Newell or Molotnikov ahead does change quite a lot what we’ve done before.

Amos has been a player in the past. If he is fit he can surely be coached and encouraged back to what he is capable of?

Levitt being able to come in with two physical behind him?

There’s players there a coach should be able to work with.

31-08-2024, 09:47 AM
He’s not but say Triantis and Kwon with a Newell or Molotnikov ahead does change quite a lot what we’ve done before.

Amos has been a player in the past. If he is fit he can surely be coached and encouraged back to what he is capable of?

For me if we're playing Kwon and Triantis then the third one can't be Newell. He'll absolutely just revert to type and start dropping deep to pick the ball up from the defenders.

Plenty folk suggesting playing Newell further forward, I have in the past as well. But I honestly believe now he doesn't have it in him or we would've done it long before now.

Kwon, Triantis and Rudi fair enough, even Levitt. (or Marcondes but can't see it)

31-08-2024, 09:47 AM
Scoring hadn’t been a problem. Keeping them out has been.
Without players going out there was never going to be a huge turnover in midfield. All the energy put into one player to help. The only disappointment is there appears there was no other alternative should that fail and it ultimately did. I am certainly not in the know but perhaps rather than a plan b player to fall back on we are going to use the players here till a suitable plan b player is actually available allied to a good chunk of the playing staff leaving next summer and build proper from there?
I think we should be getting behind who actually is here and see where we end up. Anyone who is predicting anything regards league position after three games after we sign 11 players needs to calm down to a frenzy. Writing players off after a handful of games is plain stupid and obviously even more stupid before they’ve even kicked a ball. Happy clapper no. Probably a happy flapper.

31-08-2024, 09:49 AM
For me if we're playing Kwon and Triantis then the third one can't be Newell. He'll absolutely just revert to type and start dropping deep to pick the ball up from the defenders.

Plenty folk suggesting playing Newell further forward, I have in the past as well. But I honestly believe now he doesn't have it in him or we would've done it long before now.

Kwon, Triantis and Rudi fair enough, even Levitt. (or Marcondes but can't see it)

Don’t know much about Kwon or Rudi yet but the rest of our midfielders lack the energy to really be successful in this league. They all play at half pace. None of them will be part of the solution.

31-08-2024, 09:51 AM
Scoring hadn’t been a problem. Keeping them out has been.
Without players going out there was never going to be a huge turnover in midfield. All the energy put into one player to help. The only disappointment is there appears there was no other alternative should that fail and it ultimately did. I am certainly not in the know but perhaps rather than a plan b player to fall back on we are going to use the players here till a suitable plan b player is actually available allied to a good chunk of the playing staff leaving next summer and build proper from there?
I think we should be getting behind who actually is here and see where we end up. Anyone who is predicting anything regards league position after three games after we sign 11 players needs to calm down to a frenzy. Writing players off after a handful of games is plain stupid and obviously even more stupid before they’ve even kicked a ball. Happy clapper no. Probably a happy flapper.

We have signed 11 but only one is a midfielder and that was our biggest problem area.

31-08-2024, 09:52 AM
We have signed 11 but only one is a midfielder and that was our biggest problem area.

Three counting Trantis

31-08-2024, 09:54 AM
Three counting Trantis

He was here last year. Who is the other one?

31-08-2024, 09:54 AM
He was here last year. Who is the other one?

Cadden. I’m counting Triantis as new as he is in relative terms to our midfield.

31-08-2024, 09:55 AM
Kwon, Newell, Rudi will be fine. Not great but fine. If Bowie and Myko get firing we'll be top 6 quite easily.

31-08-2024, 09:55 AM
Cadden. I’m counting Triantis as new as he is in relative terms to our midfield.

Isn’t he more a winger?

TrinityHFC
31-08-2024, 09:59 AM

Particularly if people are going to constantly refer to Newell, JDH and Campbell.

We could easily play a midfield without any of those and probably Newell would be the only regular starter from those.

Bringing a promising young player in Rudi into the equation is also a big positive.

31-08-2024, 09:59 AM
Isn’t he more a winger?

Somebody better tell Hibs that then.

31-08-2024, 10:14 AM

So essentially we’re back to hoping the new manager can get more out of the same options as the previous managers, including Gray himself who saw in one of his two games what a midfield containing Newell & Triantis together looked like away to Livi.

Or Hope Kwon is on par with Maolida, and able to carry the midfield himself.

31-08-2024, 10:18 AM
Kwon, Newell, Rudi will be fine. Not great but fine. If Bowie and Myko get firing we'll be top 6 quite easily.

I wouldn’t be surprised to see Campbell back in the starting XI tomorrow.

31-08-2024, 10:20 AM

The first option makes us more defensive with little creativity, Amos fit, come on how long does he need to get fit?

Levitt is pish, cant run and needs a rocket up his arse, there's a reason we wanted McCowan, legs, creativity and someone who can link defence to attack, we've nobody that can do this.

31-08-2024, 06:43 PM
Kwon, Newell, Rudi will be fine. Not great but fine.

Deluded.com

That said, they are probably our best midfield three at the moment, albeit I'd go for Kwon and Triantis as the defensive pair. We need to get Newell further forward.

01-09-2024, 04:40 PM
I’ve been vocal about my feelings on the midfield, and have still to be convinced. However credit where it’s due. I thought in the first half Kwon showed glimpses of the drive we’ve badly missed and Triantis was solid and comfortable on the ball. Once Newell’s cross went in I thought all 3 were good for most of the second half.

Will take more than 45 minutes to give confidence, in the midfield. Especially as a lot went for us today. Kilmarnock playing in midweek, a worse start to the season than us, Vassell missing on the line and Newell’s cross going in so we’re 1-0 up and not testing our fragile mentality from being 1-0 down etc. However maybe a small glimmer of hope.

Halifaxhibby
01-09-2024, 04:48 PM
[QUOTE=The Modfather;7762667]So essentially we’re back to hoping the new manager can get more out of the same options as the previous managers, including Gray himself who saw in one of his two games what a midfield containing Newell & Triantis together looked like away to Livi.

Or Hope Kwon is on par with Maolida, and able to carry the midfield himself.[/QUOTE

Still pish in midfield….thank god the puddle drinkers are even worse….club is getting run into the ground….people wetting there pants ….11 players signed!!! 4 year deal for megwa!!! Sir David well out his depth…good grief!!!!…newell plays with heart 1 game in 10……pish….

01-09-2024, 05:03 PM
Midfield was decent today. Physical and played some football. Stupid mistake by Obita and nothing else cost a good win.

01-09-2024, 05:05 PM
Not to be negative but thought Nicky Cadden was pretty poor when he came on.

Still looks quite a bit away from full fitness and sharpness

01-09-2024, 05:07 PM

Definitely. I think Bowie also looked slightly similar. Can see why Gray has chosen to manage some of the new guys minutes so strictly.

01-09-2024, 05:10 PM

I’m probably being totally unfair but I don’t rate him at all. We’ve now got a Cadden on either side of the field putting in poor crosses. It’s symmetrical I suppose.

01-09-2024, 05:18 PM
I’m probably being totally unfair but I don’t rate him at all. We’ve now got a Cadden on either side of the field putting in poor crosses. It’s symmetrical I suppose.

Think he’s a bit of a strange signing, especially on a 3 year contract. Don’t see him being much more than a squad player, not sure he’s going to really improve the team.

On the subject of the midfield, we looked better in there today. All got about the pitch and battled well in a game that was basically a battle on a ***** pitch against a team who are direct to say the least. I think he’ll stick with that three.

I thought the wide players were our weakness today.

01-09-2024, 05:37 PM
Think he’s a bit of a strange signing, especially on a 3 year contract. Don’t see him being much more than a squad player, not sure he’s going to really improve the team.

On the subject of the midfield, we looked better in there today. All got about the pitch and battled well in a game that was basically a battle on a ***** pitch against a team who are direct to say the least. I think he’ll stick with that three.

I thought the wide players were our weakness today.

I didn’t get the logic, especially when he described himself as a winger not a left back.

The midfield were solid today, I just don’t see them creating enough. I don’t want another Joe Newell debate with anyone but on the strength of today Kwon and Triantis start and we find someone else to provide some creativity/goals from midfield.

01-09-2024, 09:16 PM
I didn’t get the logic, especially when he described himself as a winger not a left back.

The midfield were solid today, I just don’t see them creating enough. I don’t want another Joe Newell debate with anyone but on the strength of today Kwon and Triantis start and we find someone else to provide some creativity/goals from midfield.

I get the point about the creativity. That said, Newell scored and the other two were very unlucky not to score. It was all individual moments though and we did have the extra man in the middle of the park as well. All in all I saw enough to think we stick with that midfield and get them to build on a good start. I thought the wide players were the biggest issue today. None of them, starters or subs, really created anything or were much of a threat.

01-09-2024, 09:22 PM

Think it would be really interesting to see Levitt along side Triantis and Kwon

14-09-2024, 04:07 PM
Credit where it’s due for Hibs in bringing in Kwon & Triantis? Both of whom have actually improved the midfield. Two strong and comfortable on the ball 6s. With Kwon also being more positive and his first thought to get us going forward. Shame they are both only on loan.

Those two first names in midfield plus a 10. Which should be Rudi’s until he needs a break IMO. With Newell a quality backup who can also come in when we want to be more solid and shut up shop at places like in Glasgow.

14-09-2024, 05:05 PM
Credit where it’s due for Hibs in bringing in Kwon & Triantis? Both of whom have actually improved the midfield. Two strong and comfortable on the ball 6s. With Kwon also being more positive and his first thought to get us going forward. Shame they are both only on loan.

Those two first names in midfield plus a 10. Which should be Rudi’s until he needs a break IMO. With Newell a quality backup who can also come in when we want to be more solid and shut up shop at places like in Glasgow.

I don’t care that they are on loan so long as it’s better. And Rudi needs to be kept playing. It’s the only way he improves.

14-09-2024, 05:20 PM
I don’t care that they are on loan so long as it’s better. And Rudi needs to be kept playing. It’s the only way he improves.

Completely agree.

Think Kwon and Triantis are building up a good wee partnership in the middle. I'm liking it.

random sub
03-11-2024, 10:17 PM
One of a few positives today was the midfield. I was worried about the central three- kwon, Newell, Triantis- but I thought they gelled, imposed themselves and all had decent games

03-11-2024, 10:25 PM
One of a few positives today was the midfield. I was worried about the central three- kwon, Newell, Triantis- but I thought they gelled, imposed themselves and all had decent games

First half aye. Second half absolutely not.

K-Zazu
03-11-2024, 10:31 PM

Are they going to score/assist goals? That’s what we really need at the moment. It’s like playing 3 defensive midfielders at the moment.

03-11-2024, 10:55 PM
Are they going to score/assist goals? That’s what we really need at the moment. It’s like playing 3 defensive midfielders at the moment.

It’s even worse than that imo because I don’t think any of them are actually defensive mids, I find them all extremely similar.

None of them are brilliant at breaking it up, reading the game or making big tackles that say even a Jeggo, Bartley or Gogic would.

random sub
03-11-2024, 11:27 PM
Fair points in reply. I guess I was worried the three of them wouldn’t work at all. But they fought and dominated (which is unusual for us) but agree lacked the look of scoring or creating and faded a bit as Utd pressed harder in the second half. Not perfect but decent overall.

04-11-2024, 05:45 AM
They were the three i wanted in midfield, as they are the best three on paper. What we saw though was no creativity and the usual retreat backwards the longer the game went on until the sending off, then they woke up again.

So frustrating to watch, and more so if you play up front i'd imagine?

04-11-2024, 06:01 AM
They were the three i wanted in midfield, as they are the best three on paper. What we saw though was no creativity and the usual retreat backwards the longer the game went on until the sending off, then they woke up again.

The players up front are as much to blame than anyone for dropping points yesterday. We put 47 crosses into the box, it would be nice to see our big centre forward attempt to get in front of his man and attack a cross ball once in a while instead of waiting on the perfect ball.

04-11-2024, 06:11 AM
The players up front are as much to blame than anyone for dropping points yesterday. We put 47 crosses into the box, it would be nice to see our big centre forward attempt to get in front of his man and attack a cross ball once in a while instead of waiting on the perfect ball.

I dont absolve our forwards from blame, but we have one forward challenging for most of those crosses, and he's not the best either.

Creativity is poor, we just dont create much.

04-11-2024, 06:14 AM

It’s a fair point about the attackers doing more. However we shell crosses into the box as our only tactic despite the fact we only ever have one or two players in the box at any one time. At least one of the 3 midfielders has to be given the instruction to keep running ahead of the ball and running into the box, otherwise only 2 of the 3 should be played at any one time and Levit given the chance as a 10 until January IMO.

04-11-2024, 06:24 AM
It’s a fair point about the attackers doing more. However we shell crosses into the box as our only tactic despite the fact we only ever have one or two players in the box at any one time. At least one of the 3 midfielders has to be given the instruction to keep running ahead of the ball and running into the box, otherwise only 2 of the 3 should be played at any one time and Levit given the chance as a 10 until January IMO.

Don’t disagree with any of that. Big bug bear from me is when our midfielders pass it forward and then don’t continue on running beyond to offer an option to receive it back.

Dmas
04-11-2024, 06:24 AM
I dont absolve our forwards from blame, but we have one forward challenging for most of those crosses, and he's not the best either.

Creativity is poor, we just dont create much.

Definitely we need more from Myko but Jesus he must be a frustrated man everything is wide and crossed into him surrounded by defenders our midfield standing watching from 30 yds, ball breaks out to edge of the box either nobody there or if they are they work it back out wide again

sauzeelegod
04-11-2024, 06:25 AM

Agreed

04-11-2024, 06:28 AM
What about trying Miller up front

04-11-2024, 06:29 AM
Definitely we need more from Myko but Jesus he must be a frustrated man everything is wide and crossed into him surrounded by defenders our midfield standing watching from 30 yds, ball breaks out to edge of the box either nobody there or if they are they work it back out wide again

Hoilett did a great run in the first half where he beat his man all ends up and got into the box, was a little unlucky with the pass being a shade behind Kuk???, but that apart, we just dont create much at all.

04-11-2024, 07:35 AM

We didn't retreat backwards yesterday. United came onto us, but we still pressed and defended high.

Newell played the best pass of the match into Hoilett. All if our midfield got it to the forwards consistently. Our left back created a goal with a cross, why couldn't Boyle or Hoilett?

04-11-2024, 07:54 AM
Balance in midfield still isn’t right. We all know what is missing, the club just decided that there was only one player in world football that they could go after to help with it though.

It’s a real issue in terms of the lack of goals. All we do is look to get it wide and cross it. It’ll come off sometimes, good goal yesterday. But it can’t be your only attacking threat. We’re so predictable.

04-11-2024, 08:25 AM
Midfield should be Kwon and Triantis with a proper attacking midfielder.

04-11-2024, 08:37 AM

I've been disappointed with Kwon. He has all the attributes to be a dominant figure in midfield but does not do enough IMO.

Boyle is also very poor - despite being our top scorer - he's no longer beating his man or influencing the game the the game at the sharp end.

04-11-2024, 08:47 AM
I've been disappointed with Kwon. He has all the attributes to be a dominant figure in midfield but does not do enough IMO.

Boyle is also very poor - despite being our top scorer - he's no longer beating his man or influencing the game the the game at the sharp end.

Numerous times in the second half yesterday, Boyle had the left back 1v1 and you could just see the old legs weren’t what they used to be. He does provide the odd moment, he still put in a couple of decent balls and I don’t think he’s finished, but we can’t rely on him to go and win games for us the way we used to.

malcky
04-11-2024, 08:49 AM

I thought Triantis was sloppy in midfield so many unforced errors

04-11-2024, 08:52 AM
What about trying Levitt in that forward position

04-11-2024, 08:53 AM

I think it should be Kwon or Triantis plus Newell and a new attacking midfielder.

The 3 of them together actually did a lot better yesterday than I thought they'd do.

I'm with CapitalGreen on this one - all that I really thought was lacking yesterday was the central striker. The 2 wide players played well, Cadden did well when he came on.

I think we could do with a striker who is told not to gallivant and only even stay right up on the last man, the width of the posts. The number of times we got the ball into decent wide areas, sometimes even got the ball in and the options in the middle were either poor or non existent was infuriating.

Myko's suspension actually gives us a great chance to shake it up, even if we are short of obvious like for like replacements.

I have a hunch that putting Youan in there might change the way we play, very much for the better. He'd need to be pretty disciplined though.

There's a lot on the shoulders of the striker as with that midfield you're never going to be getting any of them up to support / get beyond the striker.

09-11-2024, 03:01 PM
What do Triantis, Kwon & Newell do? What are they expected to do? What can we hope they can do?

All decent individually, but at least Kwon & Triantis won’t be here next season. We’re stuck with Newell for another two years. How many midfields is it he’s been part of that aren’t balanced?

Yet if there’s ever talk of moving on players like Newell, Boyle, Miller, Cadden etc then you hear the battle cry of “least of our problems”.

If I was Levitt (or NMW or Amos for that matter), and I was asked by Gray to come into the team and try and save his job I’d be tempted to say thanks, but no thanks and let him crack on hoping Triantis, Kwon & Newell can suddenly work.

09-11-2024, 03:04 PM
All of them miles off it today, after doing decent last week

09-11-2024, 03:04 PM
What do Triantis, Kwon & Newell do? What are they expected to do? What can we hope they can do?

All decent individually, but at least Kwon & Triantis won’t be here next season. We’re stuck with Newell for another two years. How many midfields is it he’s been part of that aren’t balanced?

Yet if there’s ever talk of moving on players like Newell, Boyle, Miller, Cadden etc then you hear the battle cry of “least of our problems”.

If I was Levitt (or NMW or Amos for that matter), and I was asked by Gray to come into the team and try and save his job I’d be tempted to say thanks, but no thanks and let him crack on hoping Triantis, Kwon & Newell can suddenly work.

This 3 actually did better than I expected last week but even on paper they just shouldn’t work. In practice that’s exactly what it seems to be.

Kwon or Triantis plus Newell might be close to being an acceptable 2 of the 3.

The 3 together? I don’t even get how you would ever expect that to work.

09-11-2024, 03:06 PM
Newell kept on, the other two subbed.[emoji23]

09-11-2024, 03:15 PM
Newell kept on, the other two subbed.[emoji23]

Probably about right. He was the least bad, he can't sub all 3.

09-11-2024, 04:31 PM
Levitt showing the rest of the midfield how to actually play football today.

ShadesLongThrow
09-11-2024, 04:36 PM
Levitt played well. Don’t think he missed a pass and generally tried to go forward. I think he’s our best option for taking a ball deep and breaking through a press that all teams now seem to do to us.

09-11-2024, 04:41 PM
Levitt played well. Don’t think he missed a pass and generally tried to go forward. I think he’s our best option for taking a ball deep and breaking through a press that all teams now seem to do to us.

He looked okay but it was an ideal situation for him. St Mirren sitting back not interested in scoring. He got time on the ball.

09-11-2024, 04:42 PM
We didn't retreat backwards yesterday. United came onto us, but we still pressed and defended high.

Newell played the best pass of the match into Hoilett. All if our midfield got it to the forwards consistently. Our left back created a goal with a cross, why couldn't Boyle or Hoilett?

I've come to the conclusion you are blind.

09-11-2024, 04:43 PM
JDH, Campbell, Newell midfield 3 next week anyone😳😂

09-11-2024, 04:44 PM

I’ll bet a good manager would find his best position to affect games. He is not a tackling defensive midfielder, he’s a ball playing pass maker.

NC1875
09-11-2024, 04:46 PM
He looked okay but it was an ideal situation for him. St Mirren sitting back not interested in scoring. He got time on the ball.

Newell man of the match again ? As much of a joker as the so called manager

09-11-2024, 04:47 PM

Don't think anyone would be man of the match. Joe tried but was poor. Won a penalty I guess.

09-11-2024, 04:51 PM

I do get what you are trying to say, but why didn't the rest of the midfield not look as good after they went 2-0 up in the 1st half? Why did none of them play tidy passes through the lines? Why did none of them play a ball through two lines of opposition to set youan free? He was, in terms of technique, miles above everyone on the pitch today. Painfully obvious his creativity and vision makes us better.

Hibiza
09-11-2024, 04:55 PM
We've not had a decent midfield for 5 years probably more , obvious . Breaks my heart , why don't the imposter a at the top see it .

LewysGot2
09-11-2024, 04:55 PM

Sponsors MotM was given to Levitt apparently

09-11-2024, 05:37 PM
JDH, Campbell, Newell midfield 3 next week anyone😳😂

It's probably a better option than the Newell, Triantis and Kwon offering. Kwon, in particular, has to be the biggest waste of space since, er, Triantis.

raeburnhibs
09-11-2024, 05:45 PM

Hi did quite well but doesnt even fancy a 60/ 40 in his favour challenge never mind a 50/ 50

JJP
09-11-2024, 06:03 PM
Is it just me or does Kwon seem to get worse every week? He was brutal in that first half.

09-11-2024, 06:05 PM
Hibs can't score and can't defend.

There's a lot more at fault than the midfield

09-11-2024, 06:06 PM
Is it just me or does Kwon seem to get worse every week? He was brutal in that first half.

Seems to be a common theme at Hibs - we make players worse.

They go to other clubs and often do better.

09-11-2024, 06:12 PM
Was Kwon an ill thought out opportune signing? He seemed to sign out of the blue following playing Celtc. I wonder if we asked them who they were willing to loan us.

Not anything wrong with that in itself, however given we wanted Triantis all window, tried to sign McCowan and Newell was given a contract, captaincy and is one of Grays undropables. Why did we need to sign another two players similar to Newell?

Gray has the same blind spot when it comes to how to set up a midfield all the predecessors he has worked under. Which once again will be a major factor in his sacking.

09-11-2024, 06:12 PM
Any midfield with Joe Newell as a regular, and a rookie centre half is not a good midfield - I’m more concerned there’s zero possibility of our manager spotting a creative midfielder if he walked past with a sign saying “I’m a creative midfielder” and that our club isn’t developing those players regularly via the academy.

Newell should have been punted 2 years ago - as for the plethora of utterly utterly bland sub-standard “safe” midfielders we have on the books - that’s on recruitment and our completely inept owner(s).

09-11-2024, 06:19 PM
When I watch our midfield and think back to the garbage that was spun about why we only went after McCowan, it makes me really angry.

Joe Newell being made captain of our club and getting another contract extension also makes me angry.

Thought Kwon showed some early promise but is turning in to another nothing player. Not necessarily all bad players but when you sign individuals without any thought about how they fit together, you’re not getting the best out of anyone.

09-11-2024, 06:21 PM
When I watch our midfield and think back to the garbage that was spun about why we only went after McCowan, it makes me really angry.

Joe Newell being made captain of our club and getting another contract extension also makes me angry.

Thought Kwon showed some early promise but is turning in to another nothing player. Not necessarily all bad players but when you sign individuals without any thought about how they fit together, you’re not getting the best out of anyone.

Agreed. Cannot fathom why we gave him a new 3 year deal when we can clear the decks in the summer.
Terrible decision

09-11-2024, 06:23 PM
Was Kwon an ill thought out opportune signing? He seemed to sign out of the blue following playing Celtc. I wonder if we asked them who they were willing to loan us.

Not anything wrong with that in itself, however given we wanted Triantis all window, tried to sign McCowan and Newell was given a contract, captaincy and is one of Grays undropables. Why did we need to sign another two players similar to Newell?

Gray has the same blind spot when it comes to how to set up a midfield all the predecessors he has worked under. Which once again will be a major factor in his sacking.

The thing is Kwon looked good for St Mirren and absolutely ran us off the park in that horrible 3-0 game we played. It was, on paper, a smart signing for us to pick up. But as someone else said he's getting worse every week and that for me shows that the coaching isn't up to standard at all because the guy is better than what he's showing at the moment.

09-11-2024, 06:24 PM
No idea who will be in charge next time we play, but Nicky Cadden and Levitt both should be starting.

09-11-2024, 09:30 PM
Is it just me or does Kwon seem to get worse every week? He was brutal in that first half. I think he was pretty poor to start with and it has stayed that way. He is terrible at tracking his man into the box. Cost us again today. I'd play Levitt and JDH ahead of him

09-11-2024, 09:32 PM
Kwon absolutely dreadful

Triantis hopeless

Joe Newell — prob another extention Monday

Clowns

10-11-2024, 06:13 AM
The Saints 88 (Killian Phillips) was absolutely everything our midfield was not. Powerful, athletic, physical in the challenge and gave his absolute all for his team.

A 22 year old kid on loan from Palace.

Fergos
10-11-2024, 06:17 AM
The Saints 88 (Killian Phillips) was absolutely everything our midfield was not. Powerful, athletic, physical in the challenge and gave his absolute all for his team.

A 22 year old kid on loan from Palace.

Yep. Totally up for getting stuck in. Like zero of our lot, unfortunately.

10-11-2024, 06:22 AM
Hibs can't score and can't defend.

There's a lot more at fault than the midfield

Teams with decent midfield protect the defence & support the attack

Ours midfield plays hide & seek and makes life impossible for the defence & attack

10-11-2024, 06:23 AM
No idea who will be in charge next time we play, but Nicky Cadden and Levitt both should be starting.

I’m not a fan of Levitt but he did more when he came on yesterday than our club captain has down for weeks.

Surely he deserves a chance alongside Kwon and Triantis to see what he can do. Cannot be any worse than what we have witnessed so far.

Again N Cadden too.

10-11-2024, 06:32 AM
I’m not a fan of Levitt but he did more when he came on yesterday than our club captain has down for weeks.

Surely he deserves a chance alongside Kwon and Triantis to see what he can do. Cannot be any worse than what we have witnessed so far.

Again N Cadden too.

I wouldn't have Kwpn anywhere in the team. Heart of a mouse and better at doing nothing than Newell.

10-11-2024, 06:35 AM
I wouldn't have Kwpn anywhere in the team. Heart of a mouse and better at doing nothing than Newell.

You’re probably right tbh. Triantis has been pretty poor too.

10-11-2024, 06:38 AM

Ever since Newell came back in. Our lack of CAM is absolutely killing us, we are stuck with a group of midfielders who play it super safe/can’t turn and drive.

10-11-2024, 07:53 AM
We are better off without Newell - it’s not rocket science.

He slows the game down - he has too much influence and doesn’t make tackles or track back enough. Not saying the others are the way forward long term but he’s been an issue for too long and one of the many issues with the club right now.

Have no idea how he’s even going to be near the team in next couple seasons with his extended contract.

23-11-2024, 06:07 PM
Newell & Campbell starting games as 2/3rds of our midfield heading into 2025. Grays answer to building a new midfield was to re-unite the 3 who finished 8th last season. I’m now convinced we’re all in purgatory.

02-01-2025, 04:59 PM
Today, IMO, confirms we need more creativity and energy in midfield. Newell and Triantis are solid and have been good in the last few games, but we need better. The back-ups are poor. I hope we're going to address that in this transfer window.

02-01-2025, 05:07 PM
We should be going for Cameron of Dundee, very clever player

02-01-2025, 05:12 PM
We should be going for Cameron of Dundee, very clever player
Levitt looked a very clever player. We need to splash on a leader of proven ability.

02-01-2025, 05:13 PM

Such a Kwon-man

02-01-2025, 05:20 PM
Kwon started off well in his first few games, definitely has regressed in performances and another I wouldn't care if we sent back to his parent club.

02-01-2025, 06:12 PM
Campbell in games like that where you need to put a foot on the ball and play is no good. Pittodrie and Tynecastle where it’s a fight, it’s trying to get on the end of things is fine. We so badly need a bit of creativity.

02-01-2025, 06:13 PM
Campbell in games like that where you need to put a foot on the ball and play is no good. Pittodrie and Tynecastle where it’s a fight, it’s trying to get on the end of things is fine. We so badly need a bit of creativity.

Even just switching Campbell and Hoilett today would have made more sense.

davhibby
03-01-2025, 09:09 AM
Today, IMO, confirms we need more creativity and energy in midfield. Newell and Triantis are solid and have been good in the last few games, but we need better. The back-ups are poor. I hope we're going to address that in this transfer window.

Yesterday proves how important Newell is if anything. We’d have had a much better foothold on the game first half if he’d been playing, missed him massively

03-01-2025, 09:13 AM
I thought Nicky cadden might have got moved to the ten position at one point. Great striker of the ball.

Some of the shooting yesterday was woeful. Bad pitch or not, Triantis took a shot from a ridiculous angle.

Couple of signings and I think we’re not far away from a push to challenge a mediocre Dundee United / Aberdeen.

19-01-2025, 11:13 AM
Yesterday back-up midfield's display just reiterated what has been evident for a while IMO that we desperately need reinforcements that are better than current.

I really rate Triantis and Newell is okay, but the back-up after that is poor. Kwon has been disappointing and that's been kind. Levitt just doesn't have the engine to play in our midfield, and looked as if he could be out for a wee while when he went down yesterday. I was disappointed in Amos yesterday when he came on. He's another who's been disappointing.

I really hope we're looking to get in a couple of really good midfielders during this transfer window.

19-01-2025, 12:15 PM
Yesterday back-up midfield's display just reiterated what has been evident for a while IMO that we desperately need reinforcements that are better than current.

I really rate Triantis and Newell is okay, but the back-up after that is poor. Kwon has been disappointing and that's been kind. Levitt just doesn't have the engine to play in our midfield, and looked as if he could be out for a wee while when he went down yesterday. I was disappointed in Amos yesterday when he came on. He's another who's been disappointing.

I really hope we're looking to get in a couple of really good midfielders during this transfer window.

I thought Amos was fine, as was Levitt

GreenPJ
19-01-2025, 12:20 PM

I agree thought Amos was OK although if he wasn't ok against that level of opposition then that is a big problem. I was disappointed in Levitt. I thought he started off ok and was actually closing down the opposition but then he drifted out of the game and was rarely looking for the ball and was leaving it more to Kwon to try and create something.

19-01-2025, 12:22 PM
To move up a level we need a better quality midfield, and anywhere else we can bring better players in.

19-01-2025, 12:23 PM

Thought Levitt was a big part of our total lack of enthusiasm in the first half yesterday. Barely moved above walking pace and just very, very slow. Thought it was disappointing from him on the back of a decent performance last week, when he has been waiting for so long for an opportunity.

Mango Man
19-01-2025, 01:11 PM
Thought Levitt was a big part of our total lack of enthusiasm in the first half yesterday. Barely moved above walking pace and just very, very slow. Thought it was disappointing from him on the back of a decent performance last week, when he has been waiting for so long for an opportunity.

Agreed, was a game for Levitt to really show something, but it was all just sideway passes with no urgency, and Kwon just looks so nervous on the ball, has a habit of making the wrong choices, had high hopes for him as well.

It just shows you how good Triantis has been for us, without him, I don't think there is a very good midfield to be made with the players available.

19-01-2025, 02:15 PM
Agreed, was a game for Levitt to really show something, but it was all just sideway passes with no urgency, and Kwon just looks so nervous on the ball, has a habit of making the wrong choices, had high hopes for him as well.

It just shows you how good Triantis has been for us, without him, I don't think there is a very good midfield to be made with the players available.

Totally agree. To say both Levitt and Amos were fine against a 6th tier team says it all. I'd want them to dominate. I honestly can't think of any moment when I thought "wow, that's good". Disappointed in both, along with Kwon.

19-01-2025, 09:40 PM
Kwons really bad

I canny believe he’s contracted to Celtic

23-01-2025, 06:23 AM
Kwons really bad

Something has clearly happened in between time thought he looked pretty good in earlier games however looks like his form has fallen off a cliff in between time. Suspect been injured or lost a bit of confidence who knows. Certainly been poor recently

23-01-2025, 06:59 AM
Kwons really bad

I agree. Think they've signed the kwon guy :greengrin

23-01-2025, 07:33 AM
Kwons really bad

It was worth a punt for Celtic as he came for gratis when they signed another player.

It was buy one, get Kwon free.

23-01-2025, 07:40 AM
Something has clearly happened in between time thought he looked pretty good in earlier games however looks like his form has fallen off a cliff in between time. Suspect been injured or lost a bit of confidence who knows. Certainly been poor recently

I reckon confidence.

Agreed he started fine and was decent at St Mirren. Probably doesn’t help being in and out the team.

ChilliEater
23-01-2025, 10:22 AM
It was worth a punt for Celtic as he came for gratis when they signed another player.

It was buy one, get Kwon free.

We only signed him because his Mum made our kit from 2017-2021.

I quite liked those Ma Kwon kits.

17-02-2025, 06:59 AM
We're looking short in midfield for the Celtic game.

With Manneh suspended, Kwon not available against parent club and Newell & Levitt possibly still injured, it's looking like it'll be Triantis and Moriah-Welsh as the midfield two with Campbell as No.10 with only Rudi as back-up.

Are any of the Development squad ready for a step up, against the Champions?