View Full Version : Midfield

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

31-12-2023, 11:52 AM
Even removing that game, he still has 4 goal contributions in 7 games from centre mid. He was a cracking player imo. If he signed id fancy he’d be our best player.

There must be a reason he is not a first pick for Hull probably been hiding

Found oot 😀

31-12-2023, 11:53 AM
There must be a reason he is not a first pick for Wigan probably been hiding

Found oot 😀

Maybe because he plays for Hull

31-12-2023, 11:54 AM
Maybe because he plays for Hull

Sorted

Doesn’t hide the fact he s**t it versus Hearts

Game just passed him by

Paulie Walnuts
31-12-2023, 11:59 AM
There must be a reason he is not a first pick for Hull probably been hiding

Found oot 😀

Hull are 6th in the Championship. Not one of our players would be a first pick for them.

Levitt and Miller were atrocious in the previous derby. Do they not want to be here as well?

31-12-2023, 12:16 PM
Hull are 6th in the Championship. Not one of our players would be a first pick for them.

Levitt and Miller were atrocious in the previous derby. Do they not want to be here as well?

Docherty is not a first team starter seems to have been used mostly as a sub this season

Naw Levitt and Miller simply not good enough

Docherty was caught out by the pace and intensity of the Edinburgh derby as I said passed him by

Obviously he had decided that he did not want to stick around and did not want to get injured

Not for me but you bash on never gonna happen anyway

02-01-2024, 03:26 PM
Playing without midfield again today. Everything round the outside. And we are losing again.

02-01-2024, 03:33 PM
Jeezo, this is *****...

02-01-2024, 03:44 PM
Jeezo, this is *****...

There is a massive gaping hole where a midfield should be. It’s almost comical to watch. We’ve been doing this for about 3 seasons now.

22-01-2024, 06:21 AM
Can't understand why we've not brought in a couple of midfielders by now! So far, we've brought in a winger and according to Monty we were close to bringing in a defender, but IMO it's the midfield that needs the greatest attention. Surely, we're going to see some movement in this week.

22-01-2024, 06:36 AM
JDH is nearly fit, we will be fine when he's back. 😩

22-01-2024, 06:37 AM

Well for a week at least :greengrin

TrinityHibby
22-01-2024, 06:59 AM
Well for a week at least :greengrin

just about sums Hibs up……we have a injury prone, average midfielder coming back so no need to sign anyone decent

TrinityHibby
22-01-2024, 07:03 AM
just about sums Hibs up……we have a injury prone, average midfielder coming back so no need to sign anyone decent

Where is the money going?……we earned good money from our euro run, have sold Melkerson for >£1m, and in the last week have been told we’ll earn £650k from the Old Firm euro runs and c£500k from a Doig sell on …..that’s well over £2m of unbudgeted income…….Hibs = zero ambition 🤡

MikeyS
22-01-2024, 08:01 AM
Where is the money going?……we earned good money from our euro run, have sold Melkerson for >£1m, and in the last week have been told we’ll earn £650k from the Old Firm euro runs and c£500k from a Doig sell on …..that’s well over £2m of unbudgeted income…….Hibs = zero ambition ��

Unfortunately this is real life and not Football Manager.

Any fee we get for Melkerson will arrive in instalments, much like how we will pay any fee we have to, so its a fair assumption that we are still paying for Vente and Levitt.
The Doig transfer was sealed on Friday, I doubt Verona's 1st thought is to get us paid!

I don't think it's the case that Ben Kensell or Iain Gordon are doing a Scrooge McDuck and are swimming in a vault of money somewhere

22-01-2024, 08:18 AM
Where is the money going?……we earned good money from our euro run, have sold Melkerson for >£1m, and in the last week have been told we’ll earn £650k from the Old Firm euro runs and c£500k from a Doig sell on …..that’s well over £2m of unbudgeted income…….Hibs = zero ambition 🤡

You've replied to your own post there...

Kickback must be slow today.

22-01-2024, 08:23 AM

Have you tried yoga?

Crunchie
22-01-2024, 08:35 AM
You've replied to your own post there...

Kickback must be slow today.

jakeshibs
22-01-2024, 08:59 AM

he is never a premiership player, we need better than JDH

22-01-2024, 09:01 AM
he is never a premiership player, we need better than JDH
I was quite hopeing nobody would take that post seriously. :wink:

Bridge hibs
22-01-2024, 09:10 AM
Have you tried yoga?

I have and I prefer the strawberry flavour

24-01-2024, 07:41 PM
Monty needs to sort it now. This is horrific to watch. Sevconians getting the freedom of Easter road out there.[emoji35]

Paulie Walnuts
24-01-2024, 07:42 PM
Monty needs to sort it now. This is horrific to watch. Sevconians getting the freedom of Easter road out there.[emoji35]

He’s no interest in sorting it. It’s 2 in the middle of the pitch, outnumbered every week, and that’s how it will remain.

Absolutely pish stuff yet again.

JammyDoidger
24-01-2024, 07:45 PM
The way to sort it is change the manager. If we knew he was going to stick to this formation no matter the circumstances he shouldn't have been given the job. He doesn't even try to adapt, it's insanity.

24-01-2024, 07:54 PM
Hopefully now amos is in that spells the end for the disaster that has been newell and levitt together. I'm glad its been addressed but it should've been done much sooner by changing shape.

24-01-2024, 07:58 PM
The way to sort it is change the manager. If we knew he was going to stick to this formation no matter the circumstances he shouldn't have been given the job. He doesn't even try to adapt, it's insanity.

I have to admit if you were part of the interview process and you asked him what his preferred couple of formations were and he said "442 and 442 only" you'd probably have moved him down your list of preferred targets.

24-01-2024, 08:26 PM
I have to admit if you were part of the interview process and you asked him what his preferred couple of formations were and he said "442 and 442 only" you'd probably have moved him down your list of preferred targets.

Just don't understand why a manager won't even think about changing tactics and formation. That's his job. Completely scunnered as to why. Surely something similar to the conversation above happened in interview to at least gain insight on a style of play?

24-01-2024, 09:07 PM
Can we just sign a CDM please so protect the back 4.

Levitt / Newell / Jeggo just don’t do that. Far too soft and the stats show they don’t win enough tackles.

Amos wont do that. Though he’s better than all 3 of them.

Until we start competing in middle of pitch - teams will cut us open or switch the play like tonight and drag us all over the place.

24-01-2024, 09:09 PM
In the summer we somehow managed to take a midfield of Newell, JDH, Campbell, Jeggo & Delfierre and make it worse by signing Levitt.

24-01-2024, 09:14 PM
He’s no interest in sorting it. It’s 2 in the middle of the pitch, outnumbered every week, and that’s how it will remain.

Absolutely pish stuff yet again.

Agree Will get to end of Season for me Never going to win tonight v **** hopefully he changes things with New Boys but it’s absolute dreadful to watch

24-01-2024, 09:20 PM
In the summer we somehow managed to take a midfield of Newell, JDH, Campbell, Jeggo & Delfierre and make it worse by signing Levitt.

Yes!
An achievement indeed, there's not a decent player between them.

24-01-2024, 09:25 PM

Levitt is one of the most surprised and disappointed ive been by a signing. I had hopes for him but hes lazy with possession, lazy with the ball at his feet and cant tackle. A nice drop of the shoulder on the half turn and the occasional showreel pass isn't what we need. Im starting to think hes just been an expensive mistake.

24-01-2024, 09:27 PM

Yeah because that worked the last 5 times. Bring in someone new and they can give Newell, Campbell, JDH et al a clean slate

24-01-2024, 09:30 PM
Levitt is one of the most surprised and disappointed ive been by a signing. I had hopes for him but hes lazy with possession, lazy with the ball at his feet and cant tackle. A nice drop of the shoulder on the half turn and the occasional showreel pass isn't what we need. Im starting to think hes just been an expensive mistake.

I’d like to know what was it that we identified as Levitt having that would compliment our midfield? Neat, tidy, not very athletic, good on paper but less in reality. Add him to the midfield pile.

It’s not like Johnson bought him and played him behind the striker(s). He’s only ever played deep, under both our managers. Which was the last thing we needed. He’s another poster boy for all our midfield woes it seems.

24-01-2024, 09:34 PM
I’d like to know what was it that we identified as Levitt having that would compliment our midfield? Neat, tidy, not very athletic, good on paper but less in reality. Add him to the midfield pile.

It’s not like Johnson bought him and played him behind the striker(s). He’s only ever played deep, which was the last thing we needed.

He scored all sorts of goals for dundee utd and had a nice line in the miracle assist a la Scottie Allan judging by his showreel. So far hes had zero goal threat and tries a lot of low percentage passes that dont come off. And doesnt like a 50/50 challenge, worst of all.

24-01-2024, 09:36 PM
I saw Amos snap into a challenge at one point tonight so that gives me some hope.[emoji1696][emoji51]

1875Sean
24-01-2024, 09:40 PM

Levitt / Newell / Jeggo just don’t do that. Far too soft and the stats show they don’t win enough tackles.

Until we start competing in middle of pitch - teams will cut us open or switch the play like tonight and drag us all over the place.

Amos main position is Defensive Midfield isn’t it?

24-01-2024, 11:11 PM
I saw Amos snap into a challenge at one point tonight so that gives me some hope.[emoji1696][emoji51]

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSame here, that's what we need in this side. The whole midfield needs replaced with the current players relegated to the bench.

Need bite, determination, quality and our current crop don't have that

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

24-01-2024, 11:24 PM

Jimmy Jeggo just isn’t a good footballer full stop - my heart sinks when I see the ‘quality’ of our midfield these days. Simply awful recruitment in that area for the last 4 seasons. Jeggo compounds that.

VoltaireHibs
25-01-2024, 12:09 AM

He's exactly what Utd fans said he was, a luxury player. Him and Youan starting is like playing with...well, Joe Newell on his own in midfield. I'd sell both Levitt and Youan if anyone came close to a decent asking price.

28-01-2024, 07:51 AM
How did the midfield perform yesterday? Surprised to see Levitt and Newell start again after the non-show against The Rangers.

28-01-2024, 08:01 AM
How did the midfield perform yesterday? Surprised to see Levitt and Newell start again after the non-show against The Rangers.

Started well then disappeared for half an hour once we went behind.

I actually thought Levitt was better on the ball yesterday and you could see him looming for Emi every time he had it. Off the ball is a different story but that ain’t going to change.

DinkyTwo
28-01-2024, 08:14 AM
Playing with a pairing of two in the middle of the park means that unless they are of McGinn & McGeough quality, they are going to struggle.

Only Amos & Newell can work in this system from the players we have. Even then, it really depends on just how good Amos is.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

28-01-2024, 08:18 AM

I actually thought Levitt was better on the ball yesterday and you could see him looming for Emi every time he had it. Off the ball is a different story but that ain’t going to change.

Levitt looks like the kind of squad player that comes on when a good team is trailing in a oneoff game and need one moment to get a goal, a kind of ‘roll the dice’ option B. A luxury. The problem being, thats not what we paid the money we paid for. Good contribution for the assist yesterday, will need much more of that to make me forget about the way he played on wednesday.

28-01-2024, 09:42 AM

I just can’t get away from thinking that he looks much more ideally suited to the role Emi played to the one we have him playing every week.

He’s about as frustrating a player as we’ve ever had - as he so clearly has something, something very good, but it’s accompanied by some pretty awful weaknesses.

I know the whole place isn’t same since Sir Alex left but I find it a bit mad that he could be at Manchester United for so long and retain these weaknesses.

gorgie greens
28-01-2024, 09:51 AM
Playing with a pairing of two in the middle of the park means that unless they are of McGinn & McGeough quality, they are going to struggle.

Only Amos & Newell can work in this system from the players we have. Even then, it really depends on just how good Amos is.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Disagree as Newell is too slow and the opposition get back into position.

28-01-2024, 09:54 AM
I just can’t get away from thinking that he looks much more ideally suited to the role Emi played to the one we have him playing every week.

He’s about as frustrating a player as we’ve ever had - as he so clearly has something, something very good, but it’s accompanied by some pretty awful weaknesses.

I know the whole place isn’t same since Sir Alex left but I find it a bit mad that he could be at Manchester United for so long and retain these weaknesses.

He doesn’t have the mobility to be a 10.

28-01-2024, 10:00 AM
He doesn’t have the mobility to be a 10.

He doesn’t have the mobility to be an elite 10 but his Dundee United highlight reel and his best and worst moments in a Hibs shirt suggest he’d be far better utilised nearer the opposition’s goal than ours.

His lack of mobility is less likely to be costly to us defensively with 2 centre mids behind him.

28-01-2024, 11:55 AM
Newell and Levitt are both more than decent Premiership midfielders but are not equipped for a central double act when they are outnumbered almost every time.
Would Monty ever consider a diamond shape with those two, Amos or Moriah-Welsh at the base and Marcondes at the tip? That leaves plenty of options for the front two.
Maybe a tad harsh on Jair and heavily dependent on Amos getting fit and M-W being any good...
Obita can deliver on the overlap, not so sure about our collection of right-backs.

VoltaireHibs
28-01-2024, 01:06 PM
Levitt looks like the kind of squad player that comes on when a good team is trailing in a oneoff game and need one moment to get a goal, a kind of ‘roll the dice’ option B. A luxury. The problem being, thats not what we paid the money we paid for. Good contribution for the assist yesterday, will need much more of that to make me forget about the way he played on wednesday.

I would file him under 'sell for the first decent offer'. Lightweight, lacks the appetite for the dirtier side of the game. it can't all be Hollywood passes, and that's about all he's got. He needs to get to the gym as well, looks about 8 stone dripping wet.

28-01-2024, 01:38 PM

There is still scope for him to get forward and get shots away from where he is playing, like Newell did yesterday. Up until Killie scored I thought we were actually playing higher up the park as a team. When the goal went in they just reverted to type and sunk back in though. A lot of Levitts goals at Utd were from distance and I think he is better playing with the game in front of him. I don’t see him as being similar to Marcondes but I’ll actually bet Marcondes will like playing with him because Levitt was looking for him every time he got the ball. And when he puts his mind to it he can actually play forward well, he’s got the ability.

03-02-2024, 03:56 PM
Might as well make this thread a permanent thread at the top of the page we can add to each week.

03-02-2024, 04:00 PM
The only real defence Monty can have was that none of the new boys were ready to start (if that was indeed the case).

But knowing what we know about our midfielders and having watched our game vs St Mirren on the opening day… is anyone surprised that this turned out to be the car crash that it did?

The players who have been playing midfield for Hibs for the past couple of months get teams relegated - deficient in every aspect of what you need from a midfield.

03-02-2024, 05:18 PM
I wasn’t at the game today so can’t comment on performance but I am surprised that the solution to our midfield woes still appears to be Newell and Levitt? Monty about to become the latest in a long line of Hibs managers to not fix this and pay for it with their jobs.

03-02-2024, 07:53 PM
LJ may have been a slaver but his evaluation of Jair was spot on, utter mince. Honestly could not believe he was starting in midfield today……especially with Whittaker playing behind him. One of the weakest right sides seen at ER, no wonder St Mirren targeted it.

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 08:09 PM
LJ may have been a slaver but his evaluation of Jair was spot on, utter mince. Honestly could not believe he was starting in midfield today……especially with Whittaker playing behind him. One of the weakest right sides seen at ER, no wonder St Mirren targeted it.

Mince is the polite way of saying it.

04-02-2024, 06:37 AM
Might as well make this thread a permanent thread at the top of the page we can add to each week.

I couldn't believe we started with the Jair-Newell-Levitt-Youan/Maolida. It's a powderpuff midfield protecting a back four consisting of a 16 year old and two 20 year olds. We need players who'll get stuck in and win their personal battles in all areas of the pitch, but that's not going to happen with our current midfield. Thankfully, Jair, Levitt and Youan were removed at half-time and let's hope we never see them again on the pitch at the same time.

The sad thing about our situation is that the majority of Hibs fans have been saying that our midfield isn't good enough for years but sadly not those at Hibernian FC don't seem capable of solving.

04-08-2024, 05:16 PM
Our midfield is so poor. Zero creativity and energy.

Also, I can't believe we extended Joe Newell's contract and made him Captain. The constant in a really poor midfield. Zero leadership from Super Joe.

04-08-2024, 05:21 PM
I couldn't believe we started with the Jair-Newell-Levitt-Youan/Maolida. It's a powderpuff midfield protecting a back four consisting of a 16 year old and two 20 year olds. We need players who'll get stuck in and win their personal battles in all areas of the pitch, but that's not going to happen with our current midfield. Thankfully, Jair, Levitt and Youan were removed at half-time and let's hope we never see them again on the pitch at the same time.

The sad thing about our situation is that the majority of Hibs fans have been saying that our midfield isn't good enough for years but sadly not those at Hibernian FC don't seem capable of solving.

Funny thing is, it’s the managers whose jobs depend on it who seem the most blind to it. Gray will end up sacked before the season is finished unless he acts in the next three weeks.

06-08-2024, 09:11 AM
Great news, if true, that we've signed Bowie. However, I think the majority on here would agree that we need some major overhaul of the midfield. Currently, we've got listed Levitt (6), JDH (8), Newell (11), Amos (14), NMW (16), Kenneh (24), Delferriere (28), Tavares (29), Campbell (32) and Molotnikov (35). Whether people agree or not, the only certain starters in that list is the much maligned Newell and Campbell, excluding Molotnikov as he may find his game time limited by the recruitment of Bowie. We desperately need to recruit well in midfield and move on those less likely to get much game time. We can't go another transfer window without proper recruitment in the midfield.

06-08-2024, 09:12 AM
Great news, if true, that we've signed Bowie. However, I think the majority on here would agree that we need some major overhaul of the midfield. Currently, we've got listed Levitt (6), JDH (8), Newell (11), Amos (14), NMW (16), Kenneh (24), Delferriere (28), Tavares (29), Campbell (32) and Molotnikov (35). Whether people agree or not, the only certain starters in that list is the much maligned Newell and Campbell, excluding Molotnikov as he may find his game time limited by the recruitment of Bowie. We desperately need to recruit well in midfield and move on those less likely to get much game time. We can't go another transfer window without proper recruitment in the midfield.This grouping of paragraphs into one long sentence is so frustrating!!

06-08-2024, 09:19 AM
Our midfield last season was poor and one of the main reasons we didn’t even make the top six.

I don’t see much change in it so far this season.

06-08-2024, 09:22 AM
Our midfield last season was poor and one of the main reasons we didn’t even make the top six.

I don’t see much change in it so far this season.

Sadly that’s because we are still persisting with the same group of midfielders that have let us down before. Hopefully the change we need is finally going to happen and we sign the right players for an area that we’ve been failing in for far too long.

06-08-2024, 09:31 AM
Sadly that’s because we are still persisting with the same group of midfielders that have let us down before. Hopefully the change we need is finally going to happen and we sign the right players for an area that we’ve been failing in for far too long.Yes, it doesn't need loads of players. Just the right players, like a proper defensive CM and a creative number 10, then get rid of players like JDH, Kenneh, Tavares and Delferiere and have Newell, Campbell, Levitt, Amos & NMW competing for the remaining one or two places in midfield.

Numptie
06-08-2024, 02:15 PM
With the signing of Hoilett and Cadden I was looking at the first team squad. I'm fairly happy that with another forward we will be OK up front and I think we have cover at the back - but our midfield just looks weak. There is not a single player I would be unhappy to lose and basically they could all go tomorrow if we can get in replacements - not like for like pleaseHOILETTHOILETHOILETTT

11-08-2024, 01:39 PM
What am I missing. Why is Gray the latest in a long line of managers to hang his hat on Newell & Campbell and make them undropable? I thought he got the job because he knew the squad.

11-08-2024, 01:45 PM
Terrible. Absolutely terrible

We’ve known it for 3/4 years and it hasn’t been addressed, in fact one of them has been rewarded with a new deal and the captaincy.

What a ****ing laugh

11-08-2024, 01:49 PM
Whilst I agree we need to improve on it, that Celtic midfield 3 is unbelievable

If they gave Hatate and O’Riley come the end of the window they’ll be doing well and if not they’ll have about 50 million

I think the new players all got a bit of a shock at how good Celtic are , the central 2 probably haven’t played against many strikers like Kyogo.

Next game I’d be playing Rudi as the 10 though.

11-08-2024, 01:50 PM
What am I missing. Why is Gray the latest in a long line of managers to hang his hat on Newell & Campbell and make them undropable? I thought he got the job because he knew the squad.

It’ll get him sacked, much like his predecessor(s). Newell should have been sold (still time 🙏) and Levitt and Campbell loaned out. As for JDH 😂 more chance of finding Lord Lucan.

11-08-2024, 01:51 PM
We really need x3 new starters but I would settle for 2.

A CDM is a must or Gray is in trouble.

Still think softest / slowest midfield in the league.

11-08-2024, 01:51 PM
McCowan, Jack, Allan Campbell.

Sign all of them now.

11-08-2024, 01:56 PM
McCowan, Jack, Allan Campbell.

Sign all of them now.

We definitely need two

11-08-2024, 02:01 PM

No fan of either, I can see why he picks Campbell cos he could get a goal. If both are still first picks when the window closes then I will be questioning David Gray.

11-08-2024, 02:03 PM
We definitely need two

It’s not even like we could get by with one, we need two at least. Proper defensive mid and McCowan or similar.

11-08-2024, 02:14 PM
Can we do an ALF and get out of a previously agreed contract and rescind Newell’s extension?

Lessons not learned from previous extensions to Doidge, JDH & Delfierre.

11-08-2024, 02:32 PM
What was that Einstein saying again? Something about doing the same thing over and over

11-08-2024, 02:36 PM
I honestly can’t believe we’re still watching the same players in that area of the pitch.

Campbell was completely lost and was scared to take the ball.

Newell being appointed club captain and getting an extension was an absolute joke.

We are so, so easy to play against.

11-08-2024, 02:42 PM
Campbell starting as a 6 with Levitt as a 10 and then having to swap after 20mins has me worried that Gray hasn’t a clue what he is doing. [emoji35]

11-08-2024, 02:47 PM
Campbell starting as a 6 with Levitt as a 10 and then having to swap after 20mins has me worried that Gray hasn’t a clue what he is doing. [emoji35]

It’s just like rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic TBH.

11-08-2024, 02:57 PM
Whilst I agree we need to improve on it, that Celtic midfield 3 is unbelievable

If they gave Hatate and O’Riley come the end of the window they’ll be doing well and if not they’ll have about 50 million

I think the new players all got a bit of a shock at how good Celtic are , the central 2 probably haven’t played against many strikers like Kyogo.

Next game I’d be playing Rudi as the 10 though.

Great post.

Really shos that all these English tubes calling us pub teams don’t have a clue. Overall the spfl is a hard sell for players. You prob get paid less and it’s harder than league one.

11-08-2024, 02:59 PM
This thread will be 2 years old on Tuesday and little has changed. Still starting Newell & Campbell and still having posters telling us they aren’t an issue.

11-08-2024, 03:00 PM
I honestly can’t believe we’re still watching the same players in that area of the pitch.

Campbell was completely lost and was scared to take the ball.

Newell being appointed club captain and getting an extension was an absolute joke.

We are so, so easy to play against.

Spot on, unfortunately:boo hoo:

11-08-2024, 03:02 PM
This thread will be 2 years old on Tuesday and little has changed. Still starting Newell & Campbell and still having posters telling us they aren’t an issue.

Who says that?

11-08-2024, 03:02 PM
It’s just like rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic TBH.

That’s all it is with our midfield. There isn’t one that functions between them.

Today should see Campbell out of the team, he was beyond bad. It wasn’t even just that he was bad, he looked terrified any time he had the ball in his own half.

Midfield should be completely changed next week. I’d go Amos, NMW and Moltnikov. Not because I’ve seen much from the first two but we simply cannot keep doing the same thing over and over and over again.

I will not be surprised in the slightest if Levitt is the only one changed though.

11-08-2024, 03:03 PM
Who says that?

You are one paranoid individual.

11-08-2024, 03:05 PM
Powderpuff in midfield as expected today. Unfortunately we are stuck with Newall for the next 3 years. Captain material? Aye, ok. Didn't see him once go up to the referee to question anything. That moment in the last few minutes when Johnston was talking the piss he should have been right up to the ref we are too nice. A Ryan Jack type of player is exactly what we need.

hibeerealist
11-08-2024, 03:05 PM
It’ll get him sacked, much like his predecessor(s). Newell should have been sold (still time 🙏) and Levitt and Campbell loaned out. As for JDH 😂 more chance of finding Lord Lucan.

TH I very much doubt that ANY club would give us money for "super joe", we could do the sensible thing and give him away but even that might be difficult given the silly wages he is on now

11-08-2024, 03:06 PM

I'm not. At all.

I'm asking who says those players aren't an issue? Can't remember seeing that. One, Campbell, is very poor. The other, Newell, is decent. Both have weaknesses that can cost us.

Try keep your thoughts about me to yourself. This thread isn't about me.

11-08-2024, 03:06 PM
Powderpuff in midfield as expected today. Unfortunately we are stuck with Newall for the next 3 years. Captain material? Aye, ok. Didn't see him once go up to the referee to question anything. That moment in the last few minutes when Johnston was talking the piss he should have been right up to the ref we are too nice. A Ryan Jack type of player is exactly what we need.

Did you no see him speaking to the ref and totally ignoring the Celtc player he was meant to be marking and the boy threw it over his head?

11-08-2024, 03:07 PM
No fan of either, I can see why he picks Campbell cos he could get a goal. If both are still first picks when the window closes then I will be questioning David Gray.

If we don't sign anyone to replace them I'll be questioning our Sporting Director first. Right now Campbell and Newell play on the flimsiest of merits. What does that say about the guys in and out around them?

11-08-2024, 03:07 PM
I'm not. At all.

I'm asking who says those players aren't an issue? Can't remember seeing that. One, Campbell, is very poor. The other, Newell, is decent. Both have weaknesses that can cost us.

Newell is going to have to get back to being decent very soon. Posted missing since the start of last season.

11-08-2024, 03:08 PM
I'm not. At all.

Newell isn’t decent at all. Keep hearing about how “decent” he is when he’s a constant in a poorly performing midfield. Always ‘needs better players beside him’, rather than it being him that makes players around him better

11-08-2024, 03:09 PM
Newell is going to have to get back to being decent very soon. Posted missing since the start of last season.

He contributed 4 goal 9 assists last season. He was actually very good in parts last season. Just a lie to say he's been "missing" since then.

Finished the season poorly and not been great this season either. Not so good.

11-08-2024, 03:10 PM
This midfield will get us relegated.

They are that bad.

Newell and Campbell should be nowhere near CM for us.

11-08-2024, 03:10 PM
Newell isn’t decent at all. Keep hearing about how “decent” he is when he’s a constant in a poorly performing midfield. Always ‘needs better players beside him’, rather than it being him that makes players around him better

He is decent. Not great, not bad. A decent player. Sadly that's as good as it gets in our squad.

11-08-2024, 03:11 PM
So many of our experienced players were posted missing today but Newell & Boyle were the worst. Newell just goes missing and cannot inspire as a a captain. Boyle looks past it.

11-08-2024, 03:12 PM
Now that we have some players who are decent in the air we had a good chance to put pressure on them with a free kick just before half time. Newell put it where nobody could get to it. Very poor.

11-08-2024, 03:12 PM
So many of our experienced players were posted missing today but Newell & Boyle were the worst. Newell just goes missing and cannot inspire as a a captain. Boyle looks past it.

Yeah, unfortunately Boyle is like a man down at the moment. No where near the player he used to be.

11-08-2024, 03:13 PM
He is decent. Not great, not bad. A decent player. Sadly that's as good as it gets in our squad.

It’s a matter of opinion. I don’t think he’s decent at all. I don’t think he gives us anything, either defensively or in an attacking sense. His better performances such as against Luzern last year are far too few and far between.

hibeerealist
11-08-2024, 03:15 PM
He contributed 4 goal 9 assists last season. He was actually very good in parts last season. Just a lie to say he's been "missing" since then.

Finished the season poorly and not been great this season either. Not so good.

Our midfield has been a problem for some time now, newell is integral to that and is a poor player when compared to other midfielders in this league. I just shook my head when I heard he had been given a contract extension and made captain!!

Our club appear to be, no are, rewarding failure.

11-08-2024, 03:19 PM
Our midfield has been a problem for some time now, newell is integral to that and is a poor player when compared to other midfielders in this league. I just shook my head when I heard he had been given a contract extension and made captain!!

Our club appear to be, no are, rewarding failure.

He actually isn't though. Compared well to other midfielders last season in most categories.

11-08-2024, 03:20 PM

Another word for “decent, not great not bad” is average. Our longest serving midfielder, most experienced midfielder and captain. He’s just a sliding doors version of Slivka if he had stayed for 5 or 6 years.

We need to replace him with someone who will drag the other midfielders up and make the midfield more than the sum of its parts. Instead we gave him a contract extension.

11-08-2024, 03:21 PM
Another word for “decent, not great not bad” is average. Our longest serving midfielder, most experienced midfielder and captain. He’s just a sliding doors version of Slivka if he had stayed for 5 or 6 years.

We need to replace him with someone who will drag the other midfielders up and make the midfield more than the sum of its parts. Instead we gave him a contract extension.

Absolutely. Let's do that.

Average is well above Campbell and NMW and Levitt, though. Should be moving them on too. Newell is better than them.

mcohibs
11-08-2024, 03:22 PM

Said the same at the time. A captain should be right up there asking the ref wtf was going on. He just stood looking gormless in the middle of the pitch.

McGregor on the other hand was right over to it. He was also constantly speaking to players around him. Encouraging, berating, demanding the ball and taking the game by the scruff of the neck. Like a proper captain. Newell doesn’t do any of that.

SickBoy32
11-08-2024, 03:25 PM

Newell out, he is a massive issue in our malaise of recent years

11-08-2024, 03:27 PM

Average is well above Campbell and NMW and Levitt, though. Should be moving them on too. Newell is better than them.

Talking about who is slightly less poor out of Newell, Levitt, Campbell & NMW is bald men fighting over a comb. We should be moving them all on, in any order.

We wouldn’t be any worse of if Newell left. Same goes for any of the other midfielders. How you could look at the midfield last season and think, “I know what I’ll do, new 3 year contract”. Especially when this was the opportunity for it to be Newell’s last season without having to pay him off.

11-08-2024, 03:28 PM

This is the part everyone misses for me. Rate him or hate him he IS better than the rest of them. If we want to improve then stop signing players worse than him ffs.

11-08-2024, 03:28 PM
Talking about who is slightly less poor out of Newell, Levitt, Campbell & NMW is bald men fighting over a comb. We should be moving them all on, in any order.

We wouldn’t be any worse of if Newell left. Same goes for any of the other midfielders. How you could look at the midfield last season and think, “I know what I’ll do, new 3 year contract”. Especially when this was the opportunity for it to be Newell’s last season without having to pay him off.

Newell is quite clearly better than the other 3, so yes, currently we would be worse off without him.

11-08-2024, 03:30 PM
Newell is quite clearly better than the other 3, so yes, currently we would be worse off without him.

On paper he is better. In terms of good games, bad games, impacting games and going missing in games. He’s as guilty as all the other midfielders. The thought of Newell is better than the reality IMO.

11-08-2024, 03:31 PM
This is the part everyone misses for me. Rate him or hate him he IS better than the rest of them. If we want to improve then stop signing players worse than him ffs.

Yep. I don't get it at all.

I'm all for replacing Newell. Let's do it. But he is currently our best one. Replacing him and keeping Campbell, NMW and Levitt would be a dreadful idea.

11-08-2024, 03:32 PM
On paper he is better. In terms of good games, bad games, impacting games and going missing in games. He’s as guilty as all the other midfielders. The thought of Newell is better than the reality IMO.

He's been no better than the others for three weeks in a row.

The Tubs
11-08-2024, 03:33 PM
That’s all it is with our midfield. There isn’t one that functions between them.

Today should see Campbell out of the team, he was beyond bad. It wasn’t even just that he was bad, he looked terrified any time he had the ball in his own half.

Midfield should be completely changed next week. I’d go Amos, NMW and Moltnikov. Not because I’ve seen much from the first two but we simply cannot keep doing the same thing over and over and over again.

I will not be surprised in the slightest if Levitt is the only one changed though.

I actually think Campbell will be the one that's dropped. It seems like Amos is unable to start games so it might be Moriah-Welsh by default, unless we sign someone.

11-08-2024, 03:37 PM

The contract extension and even more so, the captaincy actually angers me. How the **** you expect to improve when rewarding what he’s offered and increasing his responsibility absolutely baffles me. It sets the standard IMO.

We’re stuck with him now but surely, at some point, we try something that doesn’t include him. Nothing that does include him works so we’d have absolutely nothing to lose despite him being the best of the lot, apparently.

11-08-2024, 03:38 PM
I dont think we are any weaker if he does not play, we are sheite with him and we'd be sheite without him.

11-08-2024, 03:39 PM
The contract extension and even more so, the captaincy actually angers me. How the **** you expect to improve when rewarding what he’s offered and increasing his responsibility absolutely baffles me. It sets the standard IMO.

We’re stuck with him now but surely, at some point, we try something that doesn’t include him. Nothing that does include him works so we’d have absolutely nothing to lose despite him being the best of the lot, apparently.

Did him, Irvine and Gogic not work quite well? Seem to remember finishing 3rd. Better times, before Campbell and Doyle Hayes.

11-08-2024, 03:39 PM
Levitt has ensured we have a capable replacement for JDH in the midfield trio that excels in getting managers sacked.

I wouldn't shed a single tear if I didn't see any of the midfield in a Hibs top again. Add Boyle to that list as well.

hibeerealist
11-08-2024, 03:40 PM
I dont think we are any weaker if he does not play, we are sheite with him and we'd be sheite without him.

So very true

11-08-2024, 03:41 PM

11-08-2024, 03:42 PM
Seems Newell is playing even deeper than last season. Which doesn’t suit him at all.

I just want some players that can close down and make tackles.

The attempt at tackling today was embarrassing at times.

11-08-2024, 03:42 PM
There is little to suggest we are worse off when Newell doesn’t play, in fact our record when he doesn’t start is better than when he does.

11-08-2024, 03:43 PM
I actually think Campbell will be the one that's dropped. It seems like Amos is unable to start games so it might be Moriah-Welsh by default, unless we sign someone.

Your last sentence underlines everything that is wrong at the club and why we are where we are.

11-08-2024, 03:44 PM
The so called midfield at Hibs, get rid, rip it up start again.
Rudi looked better when moved inside, and Campbell went off, but we need good midfield players, or nothing will change.

11-08-2024, 03:45 PM
Did him, Irvine and Gogic not work quite well? Seem to remember finishing 3rd. Better times, before Campbell and Doyle Hayes.

We finished 8th the following season with Newell & Gogic. Maybe Irvine is key and carried Newell (and Gogic) in a way the million other midfielders Newell has played beside couldn’t manage.

Mikey_1875
11-08-2024, 03:46 PM
First half today was absolutely shocking. The pass completion stats from those three would be interesting as I’m struggling to remember one that found a Hibs players feet.

Rudi has to play in the 10 for the foreseeable. Take your pick on the other two.

11-08-2024, 03:48 PM
Seems Newell is playing even deeper than last season. Which doesn’t suit him at all.

What does suit him, i'm all ears?

11-08-2024, 03:48 PM
We finished 8th the following season with Newell & Gogic. Maybe Irvine is key and carried Newell (and Gogic) in a way the million other midfielders Newell has played beside couldn’t manage.

Gogic only played 2 games that season in the league then got dropped and left for St Mirren at Xmas. I imagine we may have finished higher if we'd kept him TBF.

11-08-2024, 03:51 PM

It was ok, a bit better than we have now but still the weakest area of that team. Bossed numerous times by St Johnstone. Irvine and Gogic’s careers have both gone on experience “better times” since then while Newell’s has gone in the opposite direction.

11-08-2024, 04:00 PM
Sad state of affairs when Newell is seen as our best midfielder, we need a complete new midfield but can't afford to get rid of all 5 of them in one go.

11-08-2024, 04:04 PM

Does Campbell only have a year left? I suspect we’ll probably announce a contract extension for him in a few months time when he hits one of his sporadic goal scoring streaks.

11-08-2024, 04:08 PM
There is little to suggest we are worse off when Newell doesn’t play, in fact our record when he doesn’t start is better than when he does.

Kelty Hearts.

11-08-2024, 04:25 PM
Kelty Hearts.

Yes, naming a single game would probably fall under “little to suggest we are worse off”.

I raise you Stirling Albion, Falkirk, Morton, Forfar where Newell started and we were absolute s***e.

11-08-2024, 04:37 PM
No leaders or shouters in that midfield. Newell isn’t a captain. Break the bank for McCowan - it’s not even ability, it’s a personality issue. Our midfield has none.

11-08-2024, 04:37 PM

Gogic was injured most of the next season.

11-08-2024, 04:41 PM
No leaders or shouters in that midfield. Newell isn’t a captain. Break the bank for McCowan - it’s not even ability, it’s a personality issue. Our midfield has none.

Agree

TrinityHFC
11-08-2024, 04:43 PM

Just for balance McCowan was in a midfield that lost 7 goals to Celtic earlier this year. Personally doesn’t always help it seems.

11-08-2024, 04:45 PM
Yep. I don't get it at all.

I'm all for replacing Newell. Let's do it. But he is currently our best one. Replacing him and keeping Campbell, NMW and Levitt would be a dreadful idea.

That’s where I am.

11-08-2024, 04:48 PM
Newell is living off a third place finish what 5 years ago for many. This guy is the club captain but just disappears and gives nothing.

He’s not the only one but I expect more from my club captain

11-08-2024, 04:50 PM
Can Rudi play deeper?

Looks like he has a lot of the attributes to be a decent box to box midfielder to me.

I remember Scott Brown playing quite a few games in attacking positions as he broke through only for him to drop deeper as time went by.

11-08-2024, 04:51 PM
Newell is living off a third place finish what 5 years ago for many. This guy is the club captain but just disappears and gives nothing.

He’s not the only one but I expect more from my club captain

It’s the new contract that calls Gray’s judgement into question. An awful decision. If he can’t turn things around then it will be decisions like that people will point to.

11-08-2024, 04:51 PM
It’s the new contract that calls Gray’s judgement into question. An awful decision. If he can’t turn things around then it will be decisions like that people will point to.

Correct. If truth be told I don’t rate Newell. Zero leadership, zero drive and just well zero!

InvertedFullBak
11-08-2024, 04:54 PM

what position does suit him then ?

we’ve tried him on the wing - that didn’t work

we’ve tried him on the left of a 3 - that didn’t work

we’ve tried him on the left of a diamond 4 - that didn’t work

N ow we’ve trying him at the bast of a midfield 3 and he’s not working there.

When does the reality set in that he’s just not very good ??

11-08-2024, 04:54 PM
Correct. If truth be told I don’t rate Newell. Zero leadership, zero drive and just well zero!

Under no pressure today from middle of the pitch he managed to kick it into touch three times. One was a dead ball. Scary how bad he is.

11-08-2024, 04:57 PM
what position does suit him then ?

we’ve tried him on the wing - that didn’t work

we’ve tried him on the left of a 3 - that didn’t work

we’ve tried him on the left of a diamond 4 - that didn’t work

N ow we’ve trying him at the bast of a midfield 3 and he’s not working there.

When does the reality set in that he’s just not very good ??

FWIW, the best I think I’ve seen him play is on the left of a diamond 4.

He’s not played there very often, granted, but the couple of times we did play him there he did very well.

May have been the immediate post-Hecky aftermath.

11-08-2024, 04:58 PM
It was ok, a bit better than we have now but still the weakest area of that team. Bossed numerous times by St Johnstone. Irvine and Gogic’s careers have both gone on experience “better times” since then while Newell’s has gone in the opposite direction.

Our best run of the season in 2020/21 (4 league wins in a row) actually coincided with Newell being out injured for three of those games. Gogic played next to Irvine, with Murphy in front of them.

11-08-2024, 04:59 PM
Our best run of the season in 2020/21 (4 league wins in a row) actually coincided with Newell being out injured for three of those games. Gogic played next to Irvine, with Murphy in front of them.

Played Aberdeen of the park and won 2-0 IIRC. Newell came back in to the team and Irvine ended up getting shunted about, we never got the best out of him after that.

11-08-2024, 05:02 PM

Which makes the extension of contract and captaincy decision utterly deflating as it’s baffling for Newell. Levitt has never looked happy playing for Hibs, Doyle Hayes doesn’t want to play. Campbell is limited and although applies himself runs around like a Labrador puppy with a soft toy. Crucial area of the pitch that’s been both neglected and allowed to morph into a very bland clutch of players - for four years !! How each manager, and recruitment, have allowed this to happen is disgraceful.

Hibs aren’t just a very poor football team, they’re boring. On and off the park. No game plan, no structure, no identifiable style, no leadership, and completely lacking in club identity. A play thing for today’s jovial owner who has utterly ruined the football team.

No “process”, golden quadrants, or series of rookie managers are going to change that any time soon.

May 2014 v Hamilton (0-2) - midfield of Stanton, Craig, Robertson and Harris.
August 2024 - midfields so far of Newell, NMW, Levitt, and Campbell

I really don’t see any marked difference in either of those midfields DBS - very worrying indeed.

11-08-2024, 05:09 PM

The contract was offered while Monty was still the manager. No excuse for making him captain though. Not many standout candidates for it tbf.

11-08-2024, 05:11 PM
Completely new midfield now. All our current midfield are just not good enough. It's been like this for too long. Looking at the list of midfielders, it must be the worst in the league.

Levitt (6)
JDH (8)
Newell (11)
Amos (14)
NMW (16)
Kenneh (24)
Delferriere (28)
Tavares (29)
Campbell (32)

I've excluded Molotnikov from the list as he's so young and shows potential to be good.

I know football has moved on and stats are the norm. However do clubs like St Mirren with Ohara, Dundee with Macowan, Kilmarnock’s midfield last season, going back a bit Motherwell and Campbell etc etc, focus less on stats than us?

You watch a game and think the midfield struggled and player x was poor, yet all manner of stats and metrics are put up that show player x was amongst top stats wise. Are we missing the simplicity of having someone to win the ball, someone who can drive with the ball and someone a bit more creative? In favour of a scrum of, generally, samey midfielders that are Jack of all trades master of none and ultimately ineffective, but show up well in the stats.

The contract was offered while Monty was still the manager. No excuse for making him captain though. Not many standout candidates for it tbf.

It's a relief is that it wasn't Gray who offered the contract, because it does look like a worrying piece of judgement - and no surprise given Monty's judgement in general.

Dreadful.

11-08-2024, 05:15 PM

Easier said than done but, for me, we had to sign one. Biggest issue for me is the mentality of the team. First half today was a prime example. We just looked beaten and fearful. Players didn’t want to get on the ball and that’s totally inexcusable. That’s on the back of totally folding last week as soon as we had a setback.

We have absolutely no leadership in that area of the park.

11-08-2024, 05:16 PM

Was it signed before Gray was appointed? Or did he rubber stamp it on appointment? I have my doubts Gray is ruthless enough to do something like withdraw Newell’s extension and tell him to earn a new deal through his performances this season. Appreciate it might have been signed before he was appointed but the general concern still stands as to how ruthless Gray is and how close he is to the squad and the likes of Newell & Campbell.

11-08-2024, 05:16 PM

Sign a player who you think is captain material. Even O’Hora looks like he’d be the captain type

11-08-2024, 05:17 PM
Under no pressure today from middle of the pitch he managed to kick it into touch three times. One was a dead ball. Scary how bad he is.

Someone will be along to say "best midfielder blah blah", but we need much better than Super Joe Newell.

11-08-2024, 05:18 PM
It's a relief is that it wasn't Gray who offered the contract, because it does look like a worrying piece of judgement - and no surprise given Monty's judgement in general.

Gray should have withdrawn the offer.

11-08-2024, 05:20 PM
Easier said than done but, for me, we had to sign one. Biggest issue for me is the mentality of the team. First half today was a prime example. We just looked beaten and fearful. Players didn’t want to get on the ball and that’s totally inexcusable. That’s on the back of totally folding last week as soon as we had a setback.

O’Hora looks the standout alternative for me.

Hibiza
11-08-2024, 05:21 PM
Midfield as usual anonymous/ ineffectual .take more than McCowan to even look like a midfield. Why do we persist with losers ?

11-08-2024, 05:23 PM
I think the issue I have with Joe is that he has shown, albeit he’s frustratingly inconsistent, that he can perform at a level where he can influence games and has the skills to do so. I’ve just not seen that from any of the other midfielders. Best of a bad bunch but that’s really not hard as it’s a pxxx poor collective.

11-08-2024, 05:25 PM
Was it signed before Gray was appointed? Or did he rubber stamp it on appointment? I have my doubts Gray is ruthless enough to do something like withdraw Newell’s extension and tell him to earn a new deal through his performances this season. Appreciate it might have been signed before he was appointed but the general concern still stands as to how ruthless Gray is and how close he is to the squad and the likes of Newell & Campbell.

I believe it was. I’m not 100% certain though.

I have no concerns over David Gray’s ability to be ruthless, with Newell and Campbell I just think it’s an error of judgement coupled with lack of great alternatives . As I said earlier though if we bring in the midfielders he’s looking for and still has those two as first picks then there is no hiding place.

InvertedFullBak
11-08-2024, 05:28 PM

Well who offered it then if it wasn’t Gray?

11-08-2024, 05:29 PM

Was offered before Gray was manager

11-08-2024, 05:30 PM

I mean did you even read Jeffers post that I responded to?!:hilarious

11-08-2024, 05:35 PM
Newell was very poor today. Campbell was hampered by the early yellow card, but at least put himself about. We need a new captain.

11-08-2024, 05:36 PM
Newell was very poor today. Campbell was hampered by the early yellow card, but at least put himself about. We need a new captain.

There was 2 minutes between the Campbell yellow and the Newell yellow. Surely if you’re using as an excuse for one then it also applies to the other?

The issue is that none of them are good enough

11-08-2024, 05:39 PM

Sad thing is both need replaced now, despite arguably being our best midfielders.

dunfyhibby
11-08-2024, 05:39 PM

They were both awful, along with Levitt! Brutal midfield 3! No desire or determination! Slow and pedestrian! They should be embarrassed!

Cabbage-Patch
11-08-2024, 05:43 PM
How Joe Newell has been a regular starter for us for the last 5 years is beyond me. To make him captain shows how lacking our squad is. You could have wrote Newells script before the game even started. Runs about but completely anonymous and absolutely zero influence in the game. Should be sold for whatever we can get for him. Cash plus him for McCowan would be a fantastic result.

Campbell also is not up to this level. Blowing out his arse after 20 minutes and lost count of the times he lost the ball today. Would benefit from a loan to a championship team. These are our two 1st choice midfielders at the moment which shows the gravity of the issue.

We need quality midfielders in the door asap

McCowan
Allan Campbell
Ryan Jack
Stuart Armstrong

If we could get 2 out of the 4 of these would transform us

11-08-2024, 05:46 PM

100%

I was hoping it would have been his first move. New player and captain - but instead he’s done the appointed Newell as captain with new contract and we have basically said your place is safe in the side this season.

Everytime the team sheet is put out I look at the midfield and it gives me zero confidence in getting a result.

Rudi even getting moved today centrally over Amos.

The only positive is there is still time to fix the issue but I don’t think he will change the captain - no chance.

Midfield is the heartbeat of the team and right now it’s so weak and sums up the identity of the team.

The 2nd Celtic goal today prime example of zero back 4 protection and massive gap in CDM area - every time we play the old firm they find the spaces between the lines and punish us.

11-08-2024, 05:49 PM

The “10” is his position I think. Amos wouldn’t play in that role

InvertedFullBak
11-08-2024, 05:49 PM
Was offered before Gray was manager

Well then who offered it to him if it wasn’t Gray ?.

Hibiza
11-08-2024, 05:50 PM
Newell is a consistent non performer + except the 1/ 10 . A more inappropriate Captain you couldn't pick.

hibeerealist
11-08-2024, 05:51 PM
[QUOTE=GreenCastle;7737898]100%

I was hoping it would have been his first move. New player and captain - but instead he’s done the appointed Newell as captain with new contract and we have basically said your place is safe in the side this season.

Everytime the team sheet is put out I look at the midfield and it gives me zero confidence in getting a result.

The only positive is there is still time to fix the issue but I don’t think he will change the captain - no chance.

Midfield is the heartbeat of the team and right now it’s so weak and sums up the identity of the team.

IF SDG cannot see that then he is on a very slippery slope that does not end well

11-08-2024, 05:51 PM
The “10” is his position I think. Amos wouldn’t play in that role

I liked what Rudi gave - is he now injured though?

11-08-2024, 05:52 PM

What?? Probably when Montgomery was still here

11-08-2024, 05:52 PM
Newell is a consistent non performer + except the 1/ 10 . A more inappropriate Captain you couldn't pick.

We have played 2 league games…club captain..

Newell v Saints - 4 / 10 max
Newell v Celtic - 5 / 10 max

11-08-2024, 05:56 PM
What?? Probably when Montgomery was still here

I doubt Gray wanted Newell to leave and probably spoke with him when he got the job. But making him captain is a massive mistake - nice guy but not what we need to push on sadly.

11-08-2024, 06:00 PM
Which makes the extension of contract and captaincy decision utterly deflating as it’s baffling for Newell. Levitt has never looked happy playing for Hibs, Doyle Hayes doesn’t want to play. Campbell is limited and although applies himself runs around like a Labrador puppy with a soft toy. Crucial area of the pitch that’s been both neglected and allowed to morph into a very bland clutch of players - for four years !! How each manager, and recruitment, have allowed this to happen is disgraceful.

Hibs aren’t just a very poor football team, they’re boring. On and off the park. No game plan, no structure, no identifiable style, no leadership, and completely lacking in club identity. A play thing for today’s jovial owner who has utterly ruined the football team.

No “process”, golden quadrants, or series of rookie managers are going to change that any time soon.

May 2014 v Hamilton (0-2) - midfield of Stanton, Craig, Robertson and Harris.
August 2024 - midfields so far of Newell, NMW, Levitt, and Campbell

I really don’t see any marked difference in either of those midfields DBS - very worrying indeed.

Agree with all of this unfortunately

11-08-2024, 06:01 PM
Stanton, Craig and Robertson is a better midfield than what we have now. That isn't hyperbole.

11-08-2024, 06:03 PM
Newell
Campbell
Vente
Amos
Boyle
Vente

Not one of them would be missed if they left Hibs tomorrow.

What a mess we are in.

11-08-2024, 06:23 PM
Newell
Campbell
Vente
Amos
Boyle
Vente

Not one of them would be missed if they left Hibs tomorrow.

What a mess we are in.

Add:

Newell
Jair
McKirdy
Kenneh
JDH
Harbottle
Bushiri
Delfierre
Levitt

Absolutely none would be missed, every single one easily replaceable with much hungrier and skilful players and probably on much less cash.

Paul1642
11-08-2024, 06:25 PM
Add:

Newell
Jair
McKirdy
Kenneh
JDH
Harbottle
Bushiri
Delfierre
Levitt

Absolutely none would be missed, every single one easily replaceable with much hungrier and skilful players and probably on much less cash.

Newell’s really pissed you off to be making your list twice ;)

The sad think is that it’s a long list and I’d agree with pretty much all. I think Amos might still come good.

11-08-2024, 06:31 PM

The sad think is that it’s a long list and I’d agree with pretty much all. I think Amos might still come good.

That was really poor from Newell today. No sure it merits a double listing! But I'm generally a big fan and found myself fuming at times today. Disappointing.

Actually, thinking back, double list him!

11-08-2024, 06:32 PM
Thing that’s struck me about Molotnikov so far is that he just screams hunger. There’s a a burst of energy and desire that’s not present in other players.

We’ve got an awful lot of comfort zone players of one description or another, who know they will be handsomely rewarded (albeit also abused) to coast, to offer next to no end product and in many cases not even threaten the match day squad.

It’s a disgrace, really.

I’m hoping to see Jacob McIntyre make a full and prompt recovery from his injury as I think a little bit more youthful endeavour could go a long way.

I’d argue we need that almost as much as we need the cheque book to come out.

11-08-2024, 06:35 PM

😂 he does actually but well spotted 😜

He’s an awful choice of club captain and another 3 years of him in that midfield is beyond the pale. Every week I see him on the team lines irks me and shows the management haven’t a clue about how a midfield should be structured. Worse is, it’s made me seriously question the manager’s judgement on where this side’s going mate.

11-08-2024, 06:45 PM
Stuart Armstrong

If we could get 2 out of the 4 of these would transform us

You are not being serious with that one. The OF couldn't afford him. Unless there's another Stuart Armstrong that I know nothing about.

Cabbage-Patch
11-08-2024, 06:53 PM
You are not being serious with that one. The OF couldn't afford him. Unless there's another Stuart Armstrong that I know nothing about.

Ok that one may be a stretch wages wise but no reason why we couldn't get the other 3.

11-08-2024, 06:55 PM
Ok that one may be a stretch wages wise but no reason why we couldn't get the other 3.

McCowan and Campbell change everything for me. Get those two in and I think we finish third.

11-08-2024, 06:56 PM
Add:

Newell
Jair
McKirdy
Kenneh
JDH
Harbottle
Bushiri
Delfierre
Levitt

FFS!

How did I forget Levitt.

11-08-2024, 06:59 PM
This midfield today is the worst line up imaginable currently

Tried and failed

Gray must must must do something before it’s too late

Get rid of Levitt, realise Newell is not the captain he thinks he is.

See that Campbell is no where near the level of play-maker

11-08-2024, 07:07 PM
This midfield today is the worst line up imaginable currently

Tried and failed

Gray must must must do something before it’s too late

Get rid of Levitt, realise Newell is not the captain he thinks he is.

See that Campbell is no where near the level of play-maker

None of those three should be starting. Today was a prime example while Newell should not be Captain. Anonymous for pretty much the whole game. I keep hearing he’s the best and runs the midfield himself but he does nothing. Slow and ponderous. Worst decision ever to give him a contract extension.

If folk think Newell is the answer then we really are screwed.

11-08-2024, 07:15 PM
Gray is unfortunately stuck with these players and until we can shift most of them on it is going to be difficult for him to create a team with his stamp on it. Also the fact that Boyle appears to have lost most of his pace is compounding the issue.
Bowie looks like he will make a difference up front but as far as the midfield goes, it’s an absolute mess.

11-08-2024, 07:18 PM
Gray will be gone by Christmas or earlier - I’ve no doubt about it. Love him, but he’s not ready nor is he able yet - sad thing is, our inept owner will undoubtedly shoe in Malky and he’ll be our manager for the duration. David should never have been appointed in the first place. Way too big a job for him this early and far too many comfortable relationships with the players which offers them an “out”. Shades of Sauzee this appointment sadly.

WestStandWillie
11-08-2024, 07:19 PM
Midfield are stinking. Teflon Newell can GTF

Awarded bog standard performances with a new deal and the armband.

Levitt is an one season wonder, Campbell is limited, Moriah-Welsh needs to find form and Amos is the invisible man.

11-08-2024, 07:21 PM
Gray will be gone by Christmas or earlier - I’ve no doubt about it. Love him, but he’s not ready nor is he able yet - sad thing is, our inept owner will undoubtedly shoe in Malky and he’ll be our manager for the duration. David should never have been appointed in the first place. Way too big a job for him this early and far too many comfortable relationships with the players which offers them an “out”. Shades of Sauzee this appointment sadly.

Spoken like a 'truehibernian'

Not a chance that happens IMO. We're quite clearly looking to address the midfield issue and when we do I'm confident things will change. Still think we'll be top six.

11-08-2024, 07:23 PM
Any other manager would have had a far tougher time of it today with our approach. Totally stood off them even when goals down was really sobering to see. I am still hopeful but certainly miles from confident that we can do get close to where we want to be this year.

11-08-2024, 07:25 PM

I haven’t seen anything that says it wasn’t Gray. People just trying to protect the manager.

Cabbage-Patch
11-08-2024, 07:25 PM
McCowan and Campbell change everything for me. Get those two in and I think we finish third.

Definite upgrade but we are miles off top 6 let alone 3rd. Not convinced about Ekpiteta and this new goalie. We essentially need a whole new midfield another CB and keeper.

I also wouldn't be surprised if Vente is loaned out and we get another forward in

11-08-2024, 07:28 PM
I haven’t seen anything that says it wasn’t Gray. People just trying to protect the manager.

I already posted it was offered when Monty was still the manager.

11-08-2024, 07:29 PM

Disagree that Gray will be gone by Christmas.

Today was pish but it’s always going to be tough to take points from Celtic, season defining it was not.

We’ll bolster the midfield over the coming weeks.

By mid - late September our signings will be fit and relatively bedded in.

We won’t have a great squad, the first half of the season won’t be all that pretty but it will be fairly well acknowledged that Gray isn’t culpable for that.

We’ll bolster the squad further in January and the season will be respectable overall, if not brilliant.

11-08-2024, 07:35 PM

It was offered months ago

11-08-2024, 07:37 PM
Gray said after the game that he’s learning about his players. He’s been around long enough to know certain things about certain players. In fact, it was meant to be one of the main positives in him getting the job. To use Campbell the way he did today was a horrific decision.

Watching how continually inept we are in the middle of the park really pisses me off. We’re getting what we deserve when we keep expecting different things with the same players.

11-08-2024, 07:41 PM
Spoken like a 'truehibernian'

Not a chance that happens IMO. We're quite clearly looking to address the midfield issue and when we do I'm confident things will change. Still think we'll be top six.

Never question my credentials as a true supporter John, just saying what I’m seeing and already questioning tactics, selections and in game decisions. He’s didn’t learn from last years league cup, and today, didn’t learn from previous inept showings at home v the Old Firm and shore up - the selection and formation today was naive especially after last week’s capitulation to St Mirren.

Like any fan I want David to succeed - however I can’t see him doing so, I can’t see the owner realising what we need, and I can’t see them being patient. I also think you under estimate the influence Foley has (and will have) moving forward. We should have employed an experienced manager - I think SDG will be hamstrung with the dross previous managers have left him with but that said, he’s already worried me with his Newell decision and his comments about Campbell. It’s shades of Robson at Aberdeen - which gives me the fear.

Today was utterly abject, no desire, no drive, fear football, and no one leading - first home game of the season !! That’s a huge huge worry even against Celtic (who played in second gear).

11-08-2024, 07:44 PM
Unpopular opinion?

We are looking at the wrong Dundee midfielder

We need their guy Sylla

RossScott1991
11-08-2024, 07:44 PM
Gray said after the game that he’s learning about his players. He’s been around long enough to know certain things about certain players. In fact, it was meant to be one of the main positives in him getting the job. To use Campbell the way he did today was a horrific decision.

Watching how continually inept we are in the middle of the park really pisses me off. We’re getting what we deserve when we keep expecting different things with the same players.

Newell and Campbell being chosen and made key players by every manager should be studied.

Gray has watched from close these guys be rag dolled week to week and be some of the most underwhelming midfielders at us for years and still is building them up.

Same conversations every year but I really can’t wait for the day we are released from the shackles that are newell and Campbell

11-08-2024, 07:48 PM
Never question my credentials as a true supporter John, just saying what I’m seeing and already questioning tactics, selections and in game decisions. He’s didn’t learn from last years league cup, and today, didn’t learn from previous inept showings at home v the Old Firm and shore up - the selection and formation today was naive especially after last week’s capitulation to St Mirren.

Like any fan I want David to succeed - however I can’t see him doing so, I can’t see the owner realising what we need, and I can’t see them being patient. I also think you under estimate the influence Foley has (and will have) moving forward. We should have employed an experienced manager - I think SDG will be hamstrung with the dross previous managers have left him with but that said, he’s already worried me with his Newell decision and his comments about Campbell. It’s shades of Robson at Aberdeen - which gives me the fear.

Today was utterly abject, no desire, no drive, fear football, and no one leading - first home game of the season !! That’s a huge huge worry even against Celtic (who played in second gear).

Nah I know, just a wee play on the username. You're entitled to your opinion on Gray.

Just think this Celtic team will comfortable tuck away most teams this season. First half was a real worry, thought we were abysmal. Second half I thought we were alright. Not sure how much of that was due to Celtic sitting off a bit, who knows.

Just think we'll get a few more players in and work our way up the league.

11-08-2024, 07:49 PM
Another point on the midfield, we’d be as well trying to find someone to take Amos off our hands.

I found him a strange signing at the time given he’d been injured and without a club for so long. If he can’t get a game ahead of what we have, it’s a waste of time him being here.

11-08-2024, 07:53 PM

That's just bollox, if he does not know enough about this lot of players then he's not the man for the job.

11-08-2024, 07:55 PM

Could be that he thought the last 2-3 managers didn't use them properly and he thought he'd get more out of them, he's probably realising they're just pi sh and no one can get a song out of this lot.

11-08-2024, 07:57 PM

Nope not having that.

Gray is taking the piss with that quote.

He's seen these players more than any of our last 3 managers

11-08-2024, 07:58 PM
Unpopular opinion?

We are looking at the wrong Dundee midfielder

We need their guy Sylla

That shouldn’t be an unpopular opinion as he’s a very effective player.

Sad truth is that any of the three Dundee CMs would be a significant upgrade on our midfielders and as a unit, infinitely more effective than anything we can cobble together.

I have a concern that you can drop almost any player into our midfield and they’ll turn into turd.

InvertedFullBak
11-08-2024, 07:59 PM

If David gray is still learning about his players then he can take a flying one to himself. He’s been with a lot of those players for a good few seasons now so he should know those guys inside and out.

11-08-2024, 08:01 PM
Nah I know, just a wee play on the username. You're entitled to your opinion on Gray.

Just think this Celtic team will comfortable tuck away most teams this season. First half was a real worry, thought we were abysmal. Second half I thought we were alright. Not sure how much of that was due to Celtic sitting off a bit, who knows.

Just think we'll get a few more players in and work our way up the league.

👍

We’ve a knee jerk board and one which has already got a horrible record of management appointments- I want David to do well obviously, but he definitely wouldn’t have been my choice as manager for a number of reasons. I don’t think it will end well, which would make me as sad as I was when Franck left and believe it or not I shed a tear when that happened - didn’t help I bumped into him moving out his house days after like 😫🥲 I’d feel the same if it doesn’t work out for DG.

He's here!
11-08-2024, 08:03 PM
That was really poor from Newell today. No sure it merits a double listing! But I'm generally a big fan and found myself fuming at times today. Disappointing.

Actually, thinking back, double list him!

Out if interest what makes you a big fan of Newell? He's clearly a good bloke and has scored a couple of excellent goals but overall his contribution seems minimal to non existent.

11-08-2024, 08:04 PM
Nope not having that.

Gray is taking the piss with that quote.

He's seen these players more than any of our last 3 managers

I agree completely.

Try to give him the benefit of the doubt as he’s inherited some garbage. But he’s made some questionable decisions. Appointing Newellclub captain had me worried. It was obvious it was going to be more of the same.

Chorley Hibee
11-08-2024, 08:04 PM
"Still learning about the players"

That quote alone is all I need to know about where we're heading this season.

David, if you don't know by now, then you never will.

He's here!
11-08-2024, 08:06 PM

Gray has stacks of coaching experience compared to Sauzee, who I don't think had any. Sauzee was an absurdly rash appointment despite the fans' desperation for him to succeed. I can see why Gray was deemed to be ready for the job but the signs so far are worrying.

11-08-2024, 08:08 PM

I think that shows exactly why he shouldn’t have been appointed manager to be brutally honest. Especially after MM gushing about his interview for the job and knowing the players ! Utter **** show to be frank.

11-08-2024, 08:11 PM

I think that shows exactly why he shouldn’t have been appointed manager to be brutally honest. Especially after MM gushing about his interview for the job and knowing the players ! Utter **** show to be frank.

Spot on

David Gray should never ever have been offered the job

11-08-2024, 08:15 PM
Gray has stacks of coaching experience compared to Sauzee, who I don't think had any. Sauzee was an absurdly rash appointment despite the fans' desperation for him to succeed. I can see why Gray was deemed to be ready for the job but the signs so far are worrying.

I’d need to check but Franck and David probably managed the same amount of games either as manager or interim ? Either way I agree with you - sentiment over due diligence - neither were qualified to manage Hibs.

11-08-2024, 08:16 PM
Cmon guys beating up Dave Gray for that comment about learning about his players is a bit OTT - there is no doubt he is still learning about some of them - Bursik, O'Hora, Marvin, Rudi (at that level) and Bowie today for example. I'm sure that's what he meant.

As the Sky pundits pointed out today he's been dealt a tough hand with an overinflated, unbalanced squad with guys on big wages we want to get out the door but can't. He is going to need some time and patience to sort things out.

11-08-2024, 08:21 PM
Cmon guys beating up Dave Gray for that comment about learning about his players is a bit OTT - there is no doubt he is still learning about some of them - Bursik, O'Hora, Marvin, Rudi (at that level) and Bowie today for example. I'm sure that's what he meant.

He’s seen 2/3 years of Newell, Campbell and Levitt together - he played them !

I agree, context is important, but he trains them every week and been around most of that team today for the last while - if you’re still learning about them then deary me that’s a brutally honest (and stupid) confession to make about them.

11-08-2024, 08:24 PM

Refuse to believe he said that.

11-08-2024, 08:29 PM
He’s seen 2/3 years of Newell, Campbell and Levitt together - he played them !

I agree, context is important, but he trains them every week and been around most of that team today for the last while - if you’re still learning about them then deary me that’s a brutally honest (and stupid) confession to make about them.

Yes I know he's seen those players and of course he knows them. So my belief is that he was obviously talking about the new players.

Almost every word or sentence is jumped on and analysed by people these days online, its a bit much at times.

11-08-2024, 08:31 PM
Out if interest what makes you a big fan of Newell? He's clearly a good bloke and has scored a couple of excellent goals but overall his contribution seems minimal to non existent.

When he's good he's a standout for me. But his good games are when he's more attack minded turns on the ball and gets the ball forward. Those games have been too few and far between lately though.

LeithMike
11-08-2024, 08:46 PM
Said it before but Newell just doesn’t have the game for central midfield if you want to take on teams like Celtic. Especially not as a holding midfielder. He can’t sprint and hasn’t got any defensive nous which isn’t great when facing. Celtic’s movement.

I don’t know what happened with the contract but it’s one of the poorest decisions we have made with the 3 year contract and captaincy.

Today would have been a better game for NMW who at least gets around the park (albeit is very raw) and probably even Kenneh who can at least put his foot in.

I don’t see McCowan alone fixing this. We need him and a proper holding midfielder who can do all the dirty off the ball stuff (sounds like Ryan Jack). I still think Levitt can get enough goals and assists as a 10 (don’t think Newell can) but I don’t think we will move on until all of our midfielders can work properly both on and off the ball. At the moment, there is no cohesion as they can’t press together.

If we get the midfield right then there’s enough in the rest of the team to suggest we’d be a good team.

11-08-2024, 08:52 PM
I’m quite happy and supporting David gray more than ever purely cause I’ve reached the point where the club is a shambles from top to bottom, my biggest irk is the recruitment policy before was scatter gun approach - now it’s more sensible but we’ve taken 5 years and probably over 70 players to get here and it’s no where near good enough.

However where gray needs to take that horrible step up is now. He’s no longer the good cop. He’s no longer the one the players can come come and have a moan too. He has to be ruthless.

He must realise this midfield is no where near good enough. Demand he gets his targets in or it’s another season gone.

Not his fault he’s been left with a bloated mediocre midfield, that’s why he’s no where near getting called out, but for his long term sake he needs to act for the short term and good of the team and keeping fans with him.

Sticking with that midfield is not an option

11-08-2024, 08:53 PM

As the Sky pundits pointed out today he's been dealt a tough hand with an overinflated, unbalanced squad with guys on big wages we want to get out the door but can't. He is going to need some time and patience to sort things out.
You can also add he is perhaps asking players he does know to do something different that he thought they were maybe capable of. You can still learn.

percy veer
11-08-2024, 08:55 PM
Levitt was terrible was like he was in a training game so slow

12-08-2024, 04:49 PM
13th August 2022 was the date I started this thread highlighting our deficiencies in midfield. In doing so, I referred to eight threads started on or after 24th November 2021.

Our failings in midfield have been obvious to many supporters for years, but our recruitment team and our coaches / managers have failed to address this. In fact they've made it worse.

Too slow, not creative enough, lacking quality etc etc was the comments I made in the OP.

Come Hibs, FFS get it sorted.

12-08-2024, 04:58 PM
13th August 2022 was the date I started this thread highlighting our deficiencies in midfield. In doing so, I referred to eight threads started on or after 24th November 2021.

Our failings in midfield have been obvious to many supporters for years, but our recruitment team and our coaches / managers have failed to address this. In fact they've made it worse.

Too slow, not creative enough, lacking quality etc etc was the comments I made in the OP.

Come Hibs, FFS get it sorted.

We have signed plenty of midfielders in that time.

However many times hibs.net just says "midfield is to blame" it doesnt make it true. No area of our team is doing well. Midfield are performing no worse than forwards or defenders. It's all a problem.

12-08-2024, 05:10 PM

However many times hibs.net just says "midfield is to blame" it doesnt make it true. No area of our team is doing well. Midfield are performing no worse than forwards or defenders. It's all a problem.

The defence and forwards have changed many times, not always for the better, yet it’s 2024 and Newell & Campbell have started the season as 2/3rds of our midfield and seemingly undropable.

12-08-2024, 05:13 PM

Respectively I think you are wrong.

The midfield is the engine room and ours is clearly worse other teams in the league.

A few years ago, some made the same comment as you, but the signing of Gogic helped improve our midfield considerably. It's not escaped my notice that the negative posts I refer to started when Gogic's influence on the team regressed.

12-08-2024, 05:16 PM
The defence and forwards have changed many times, not always for the better, yet it’s 2024 and Newell & Campbell have started the season as 2/3rds of our midfield and seemingly undropable.

Campbell I do not get at all. He's never been good for us.

Newell has. One of our best players last 2 years. Obvious why he's still starting and he'll probably get back to form.

Forwards massively let us down under Maloney and Johnson. Easily our weakest area until Nisbet got back fit and started scoring. The chances being missed then were unreal. Forwards cost us at Kelty and St Mirren already this season. This forum would be very different if Vente wasn't crap really. Boyle shocking miss at St Mirren too.

Back 4 was a total mess last season and has been worked on. Fullbacks still look sloppy.

12-08-2024, 05:18 PM

The midfield is the engine room and ours is clearly worse other teams in the league.

A few years ago, some made the same comment as you, but the signing of Gogic helped improve our midfield considerably. It's not escaped my notice that the negative posts I refer to started when Gogic's influence on the team regressed.

That exact period was also when the Porteous/Hanlon pairing started to struggle. And when Doidge and Nisbet got injured and Boyle left.

Marciano also left, best keeper we've had in decades. No part of our team has been strong since we finished 3rd.

12-08-2024, 05:23 PM
In theory we should have a much better forward line with Kuka and Bowie now in the squad. They will need decent service though and with our midfield that isn't going to happen.

Defensively our midfield isn't good enough either as Campbell is nowhere near good enough and Levit and Newell are simply not quick enough to cover the ground.

Midfield is the key area of the pitch for me at the moment that needs improving quickly. Moriah-Welsh should be in the team ahead of Levitt as he atleast has legs and Rudi should be in ahead of Campbell. That midfield still isn't good enough but it would be better than what was put out yesterday.

cekim
12-08-2024, 05:30 PM
If we continue to play Newell Levitt and Campbell in the same team we will never get into the top 6. If the new recruits don't step up we're in real trouble. Worrying times ahead.

Scotty Leither
12-08-2024, 05:30 PM
Definite upgrade but we are miles off top 6 let alone 3rd. Not convinced about Ekpiteta and this new goalie. We essentially need a whole new midfield another CB and keeper.

I also wouldn't be surprised if Vente is loaned out and we get another forward in

Vente would struggle in the Scottish Championship. I’ve never seen a Hibs CF with so little desire and appetite for the game. Another Ian Gordon masterpiece.

12-08-2024, 05:44 PM
Two of Celtic’s midfield are likely to move for a total of £40 million.Hardly surprising we couldn’t compete.However what appeared a lack of fitness and desire to get anywhere near them was worrying.

LeithMike
12-08-2024, 05:44 PM

Totally agree. If you’ve got a good midfield then it instantly improves your defence and attack. Remember how good Kamberi looked when we had our best midfield and what he looked like after it was gone.

No idea why we have not properly addressed this and actually given long-term contracts to the players concerned. Madness.

12-08-2024, 05:50 PM

I think the point of the thread was that we wanted upgrades in midfield and not the current bunch of back ups to Newell and Campbell.

12-08-2024, 06:44 PM
Vente would struggle in the Scottish Championship. I’ve never seen a Hibs CF with so little desire and appetite for the game. Another Ian Gordon masterpiece.

Shy of getting Vente in for an extended trail what did we do wrong? He looked excellent at the team he was playing for, folk in here who had seen him couldn't believe we'd managed to get him. Even with the level admittedly being lower than SPFL the signs were he should have been a very capable striker worst case scenario.

Turns out those signs were way off, but it's not like he was total humpty at his previous clubs and we still signed him.

12-08-2024, 06:49 PM
Shy of getting Vente in for an extended trail what did we do wrong? He looked excellent at the team he was playing for, folk in here who had seen him couldn't believe we'd managed to get him. Even with the level admittedly being lower than SPFL the signs were he should have been a very capable striker worst case scenario.

Turns out those signs were way off, but it's not like he was total humpty at his previous clubs and we still signed him.

I agree, he was scoring with his left foot, right foot and headers prior to Hibs. He really looked a great goalscoring prospect. He’s undoubtedly been played out of position at Hibs but he is a shadow of the player we thought we’d get. I still think in a better team, better service and some confidence he’ll come good. It needs to happen quickly though.

12-08-2024, 06:58 PM
I agree, he was scoring with his left foot, right foot and headers prior to Hibs. He really looked a great goalscoring prospect. He’s undoubtedly been played out of position at Hibs but he is a shadow of the player we thought we’d get. I still think in a better team, better service and some confidence he’ll come good. It needs to happen quickly though.

Someone more qualified than Ian Gordon might have looked at the man Vente was replacing in Nisbet. Someone who almost single handedly carried us to Europe, creating a lot of his own chances. We then replaced him with an out and out poacher with no all round game. Like a lot of our signings we seem to have just looked at a good individual player and worry about how they actually work in the team later.

12-08-2024, 07:02 PM
Someone more qualified than Ian Gordon might have looked at the man Vente was replacing in Nisbet. Someone who almost single handedly carried us to Europe, creating a lot of his own chances. We then replaced him with an out and out poacher with no all round game. Like a lot of our signings we seem to have just looked at a good individual player and worry about how they actually work in the team later.

That’s a good observation. 👍

12-08-2024, 07:21 PM

The last point is my biggest concern this window. I’m looking at what we have and I’m thinking that we need to get Myko and Bowie up top together which would mean going to a back 3. But if you do that where does that leave someone like Hoilett. What is the plan for someone like Nicky Cadden. We talk about him being versatile but have we signed him with any idea on how to fit him in to the team or are we just hoping to get all these players in and land on something. It’s not a new issue but you’re already shuffling the midfield about on a weekly basis hoping that something clicks.

I just think we are going to end up with a collection of players, again, rather than having a team. If you get a player or two who have enough quality going forward you’ll pick up wins here and there but that’ll be about as good as it gets.

Just really hope Gray has an idea of what he’s going to do because I thought we looked severely lacking in any game plan yesterday.

12-08-2024, 07:36 PM
If our current midfield persists, they’ll see of SDG too. Awful, nonexistent, soft & dreadful. I’d be happy to part with the lot of them.

12-08-2024, 08:42 PM
Two of Celtic’s midfield are likely to move for a total of £40 million.Hardly surprising we couldn’t compete.However what appeared a lack of fitness and desire to get anywhere near them was worrying.

What about competing against a St Mirren midfield last week that was missing arguably its best midfielder?

12-08-2024, 09:09 PM
What about competing against a St Mirren midfield last week that was missing arguably its best midfielder?

I mean, we did. Much the better side first half, striker misses from under the bar. Other forward misses a great chance at 1-0 down then we gift them a second. The big moments let's us down and it wasn't midfield that ****ed them up. Boyle, Vente, Ekpiteta.

12-08-2024, 09:43 PM
The last point is my biggest concern this window. I’m looking at what we have and I’m thinking that we need to get Myko and Bowie up top together which would mean going to a back 3. But if you do that where does that leave someone like Hoilett. What is the plan for someone like Nicky Cadden. We talk about him being versatile but have we signed him with any idea on how to fit him in to the team or are we just hoping to get all these players in and land on something. It’s not a new issue but you’re already shuffling the midfield about on a weekly basis hoping that something clicks.

I just think we are going to end up with a collection of players, again, rather than having a team. If you get a player or two who have enough quality going forward you’ll pick up wins here and there but that’ll be about as good as it gets.

Just really hope Gray has an idea of what he’s going to do because I thought we looked severely lacking in any game plan yesterday.

Fully agree with this.

We don’t have an issue adding players - it’s the right players for a system or two plus the TEAM.

I’ve got a bad feeling we only sign 1 centre midfielder and are stuck with the bad combinations we have seen fail numerous times.

Please Hibs sign x2 minimum- 2 starters and a CDM who makes tackles.

12-08-2024, 09:56 PM
I mean, we did. Much the better side first half, striker misses from under the bar. Other forward misses a great chance at 1-0 down then we gift them a second. The big moments let's us down and it wasn't midfield that ****ed them up. Boyle, Vente, Ekpiteta.

I’m sure you were saying after the game last week that NMW and Campbell were both poor and Newell was playing in there himself. Now you’re saying the midfield competed well?