View Full Version : Match Updates Livingston v Hibernian

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Paulie Walnuts
13-08-2022, 03:50 PM
Not sure why people are surprised at this. We have done very little in the transfer window to remedy this.

Yup. Other than Boyle and Marshall it’s just a raft of players much the same as the ones we signed in January.

We are managing to field eleven players, but not able to field a team.

5 over 3 stoppages. Pretty sure we have had 4 stoppages or does the half time one not count

Not sure why people are surprised at this. We have done very little in the transfer window to remedy this.

Replaced ***** with *****.

13-08-2022, 03:51 PM
How do you miss that?

Rolling the dice on a bunch of untested youngsters from abroad. Marshall aside that’s an absolutely woeful transfer policy.

That's dreadful, how is he missing that?

Punt Doidge aswell please

You'll have to change username then.:greengrin

Oh well a win a loss and a draw to start the season. Unfortunately Rangers up next so would have been good to get something today.

13-08-2022, 03:52 PM
Sitter Bojang

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Pretty sure we have had 4 stoppages or does the half time one not count

We've made 4 subs over 3 stoppages.

Bojang misses a great chance

ZitellZeTime
That was never a free kick, but the amount of possesion at time we spent up there we've only got ourselves to blame, we should have had a second by now.

Wish we could get Doidge out on loan or something, I loved the big guy but he's had more than enough time to recover from his injury and get game time last season and still looked **** near the end even when the injury was no longer an issue, hasn't done **** all apart from v Clyde in pre season, **** knows what he was playing at their either.

I like the big guy but hoping on one of these purple patches, I just done see coming at all. Looks a shadow of his former self even when he wasn't scoring in games inbetween his runs. I'm wondering maybe if Covid had more of an affect on him longterm than the injury.

13-08-2022, 03:53 PM
Rolling the dice on a bunch of untested youngsters from abroad. Marshall aside that’s an absolutely woeful transfer policy.[emoji38][emoji38][emoji38]

Yup. I suspect the main reason we opted for LJ rather than JDT was that JDT would have been expecting to make signings which would improve the team immediately, ie not punts on youthful players in the hope they may come good at some stage. Our forward line hasn’t improved, our midfield hasn’t improved and our defence is arguably weaker.

Absolute kick in the teeth today. Should never have went 1-0 down in the first place with Hanlon caught square to his man and sticking a leg out as if he’d never defended before.

You'll have to change username then.:greengrin

Gladly, absolute huddy

AL-Qaholik
Utterly toothless up front.
Poor defensively.
No creativity in midfield.

An awful lot of pressure on Marshall & Boyle for this to be anything other than a relegation battle.

Final whistle. Utter *****.

13-08-2022, 03:54 PM
Pish. Get money for him and move on, man down.

When I heard Doidge say he was happy at Hibs as his partner was studying here and didn’t want to leave, part of me said that’s not the way it works Christian, you earn your place at the team, the team isn’t here to accommodate a comfy lifestyle - harsh, but true.

That’s the problem with Doidge, Newell and a couple of others. In a comfort zone at Hibs and not pushed hard enough to succeed. Hence they’ve lapsed into below par performances nine times out of ten, week in week out.

[emoji38][emoji38][emoji38]

Well constructed response. Put me on ignore if you don’t like what I have to say.

sorrow sorrow
Zero improvement from last season

LJ still has time to bring in players to actually make us better.

Fails to do that then he’ll not last much longer than Christmas.

Unlucky to not take anything from that match.

13-08-2022, 03:55 PM
****ing pish. So much work still needing done after signing 12 players is laughable. Jair, Henderson, Youan, Doidge, Bojang. No wonder we aren’t scoring goals.

1st half very poor.

Well constructed response. Put me on ignore if you don’t like what I have to say.Well you are talking total nonsense though

Martin Boyle an untested youngster from abroad?

LJ still has time to bring in players to actually make us better.

Fails to do that then he’ll not last much longer than Christmas.

You seem to revel in it when Hibs are *****.

13-08-2022, 03:56 PM
Lack of quality all over the pitch. Especially up front.

Deserve something based on the second half and if we lost plahing like that the whole game it wouldn’t be so bad although undeserved.

But you can’t play like the first half, absolutely miles off it.

Marshall saved us massively with two great saves and then Bojang misses a sitter.

If Doidge is our physical centre forward he needs to do far more

A striker we brought in from Rainbow FC missing a sitter to level the match? Consider me surprised.

Not brought in anywhere near enough quality this window out with Marshall and boyle

Gonna get slapped next week. Half a team of passengers who do nothing week in, week out.

LunasBoots
Played well in spells in that second half, but unfortunaly we have the same problems, we dont score enough goals and dont take our chances. Defensively we should be marking far better than that aswell.

Well you are talking total nonsense though

Okay Marshall and Boyle then. Rest are untested and they’ve basically rolling the dice hoping one or two are good.

Full pre season and 7 games and we are still as bad as last season

Absolutely woeful. Another defeat next week a certainty too.

13-08-2022, 03:57 PM
Okay Marshall and Boyle then. Rest are untested and they’ve basically rolling the dice hoping one or two are good.Cabraja untested youngster from abroad?

JJP
Didn’t get what we deserved from that game for me. Thought Youan in particular was really good today. Poor refereeing and some dodgy defending has cost us.

Well constructed response. Put me on ignore if you don’t like what I have to say.

It’s a weak response to your entirely fair observation. So far this transfer policy has improved nothing except the keeper.

Ray Donovan
The feel good factor from last week now gone.

Very poor result against Livi who I really cannot stand.

Did I just watch the same game as some on here?
Get yourself to Specsavers asap!

Well you are talking total nonsense though

No, however he’s not really a difficult one to do, is he?

NC1875
Absolute *****.

And with Hanlon, newell and Doidge as the spine of your team, no wonder.

All 3 should be nowhere near Hibs. Pathetic getting beat from that absolute ***** again.

HendoDelivered
A striker we brought in from Rainbow FC missing a sitter to level the match? Consider me surprised.

Not brought in anywhere near enough quality this window out with Marshall and boyle

Boy looks like he’s won a raffle to play professional football.

Zero improvement from last season
Depressing eh !?...feel sick
I cant believe the amount of times livingston turn us over.

Paulie Walnuts
13-08-2022, 03:58 PM
If LJ is left to rely on guys like Henderson, Newell, Doidge, Jair, JDH, Campbell, Hanlon then he’ll fail.

Unfortunately, every one of them is destined for significant game time.

Unlucky to not take anything from that match.

A draw would have been a fair result. We weren't great but Livi didn't deserve all 3 points. Shocking decision by the ref to give them a free kick.

Biffo
So many over reactions here, some folk need to calm down!

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Greenio
We weren't good. But I think overall we were just slightly the better team.

Deserved a point. Switched off. Cost us

Positives are Youan, Boyle and Marshall again

Pish losing tho!

Livi won that but deserved nothing. Total anti football again. Its no wonder Scottish football has regressed so much. Hibs much better 2nd half but 2 dreadful goals to lose. Defend like that and you are always going to struggle.

CL0762
Looking forward to the Newell defenders making an appearance.

Absolute imposter get him to ****.

Depressing eh !?...feel sick

You feel sick? Really?

13-08-2022, 03:59 PM
****ing pish. So much work still needing done after signing 12 players is laughable. Jair, Henderson, Youan, Doidge, Bojang. No wonder we aren’t scoring goals.

Youan looks a great player TBH. Can we not sign Nouble?

Just the usual against Livingston. Such a depressing thing to say.

It’s a weak response to your entirely fair observation. So far this transfer policy has improved nothing except the keeper.Fair observation that Marshall is the only untested youngster who wasn't from abroad that we have signed

Id suggest its abdolute nonsense rather than unfair

13-08-2022, 04:00 PM
So many over reactions here, some folk need to calm down!

Did you watch that? Not only were we absolutely pish… hibs should never, ever be losing to a tin pot nothing club. Sad thing is, we say it every f’n year. It’s a shambles.

Bojang misses a great chance

Not according to Cliff Pike on Hobs TV.

It was Kenneh.

Ffs he never even seen the lad coming on.

sean04
We dominated that game but the defending for both goals was disgraceful. Hanlon at the 1st and doidge at the 2nd. Pathetic from both

13-08-2022, 04:01 PM
Much more spirited second half after a terrible first half and we can count ourselves a bit unlucky.

However - the defence managed to lose a couple of awful goals. The midfield was second best for long periods. In spite of having lots of possession, we didn't create a great deal, and then the chances we did create, we spurned.

I was fairly positive going into today, hoping the team was going to capitalise on the recent late goals and decent results but I can't say I'm looking forward to the rest of the season. I don't like the signing policy, I don't like the tactics, I don't think we've come close to addressing our deficiencies and I don't see us coming close to meeting our targets.

We're pretty pish and I think this season is going to be a chore, unless we either do some great late transfer business or we get a magical resurrection from either Magennis or Mitchell.

No, however he’s not really a difficult one to do, is he?Ah right. So he can't be counted

Got it!

I'd suggest him being not a difficult one to do isnt true either - he will be our new record signing and on pretty big wages too

Disgrace.

Said it last week but the point stands, Martin Boyle is going to paper up a lot of cracks this season. We have a very medicore squad.

You feel sick? Really?

Yeah sorry if it annoys you, totally scunnered at a team with our resources getting turned over.

Aberdeen lost today too. Just shows players need time to gel.

13-08-2022, 04:02 PM
Must have watched a different 2nd half I seen looking at the comments on here. I thought we played well 2nd half.

Aberdeen lost today too. Just shows players need time to gel.Na, they are all pish young foreigners too! [emoji1787]

Antonyopus
Pathetic but no surprise. We should be beating these teams out of sight. A very long season ahead but mark these words.., bottom six at best if not relegation. Meanwhile Hearts will no doubt win comfortably tomorrow and the gap will only increase… lots to look forward to indeed - pathetic. I am glad my English team are doing well.

NC1875
Looking forward to the Newell defenders making an appearance.

Absolute imposter get him to ****.

Spot on. Guy is the definition of a loser.

Absolutely terrible like he is most weeks.

They do. But some of our new signings and existing players just don’t look like they’ve got the quality required for where we’re wanting to be

HendoDelivered
13-08-2022, 04:03 PM
We dominated that game but the defending for both goals was disgraceful. Hanlon at the 1st and doidge at the 2nd. Pathetic from both

Defo didn’t dominate the first half. Possession might say we had more of the ball but Livi had our number.

Wull

I would take Youan out of that suggestion, he will be a top signing

Ah right. So he can't be counted

Got it!

I'd suggest him being not a difficult one to do isnt true either - he will be our new record signing and on pretty big wages too

You love to put words in peoples mouths! You know exactly what I mean.

13-08-2022, 04:04 PM

It was Kenneh.

Sounds a bit like Chris Kamara! :wink:

Juice-Terry
It's just ****ing MENTAL that we don't sign CMs who will improve our team. **** this 'promising youngster with sell on potential' pish.

Pathetic but no surprise. We should be beating these teams out of sight. A very long season ahead but mark these words.., bottom six at best if not relegation. Meanwhile Hearts will no doubt win comfortably tomorrow and the gap will only increase… lots to look forward to indeed - pathetic. I am glad my English team are doing well.

Relegation lol.

HendoDelivered

Christ. 🤣🤣🤣

Who gives a **** if Hearts win tomorrow?

Let down massively by Hanlon and Doidge, long way to go still, hope to see some of this attacking football one day

Paulie Walnuts
Must have watched a different 2nd half I seen looking at the comments on here. I thought we played well 2nd half.

And yet we’ve nothing to show for it.

We’ve not got the quality to convert pressure into goals and we’ve not got the quality to keep them out, much the same as last season.

It’s a recipe for another dug **** season.

13-08-2022, 04:05 PM
If our tactics are going to be long punts over the top for the speedy Boyle and Youan, then it'll be sussed very quickly and a long season ahead. We need the ball on the deck and played quickly but unfortunately we still don't have the players capable of doing that, midfield has zero guile, schoolboy defending at both goals and still getting bullied by these pish teams, bloody depressing.

Juice-Terry

It was Kenneh.

He said it was Youan.

hhibs
Just dreadful,learn nothing, pathetic.

We are are very far from having a set of decent players never mind a good team.

Too many lightweights we need a midfield ,today,again, were awful ,and, please no more defence of Newell game in game out he is a waste of space.

If we do not go back into the market for players this will be ,yet again,an apalling season and finacially Ron ???

Okay Marshall and Boyle then. Rest are untested and they’ve basically rolling the dice hoping one or two are good.

Signing Boyle was superb. Unfortunately that only takes us back to where we were in January this year when he left. We remain weak down the spine, lacking in pace through the team, low in firepower up front and without a properly balanced midfield with a playmaker. To top that off our defence is weaker than last year. We remain a mess and games like this will be the norm rather than the exception until we either develop or sign the players needed to change it. We have a shedload of passenger/not good enough players in our squad.

Or that we’ll both likely be as bad as we were last season.

Livi won that but deserved nothing. Total anti football again. Its no wonder Scottish football has regressed so much. Hibs much better 2nd half but 2 dreadful goals to lose. Defend like that and you are always going to struggle.

Contradiction?

Hibs dominated possession but never done much. Our goal was flukey as **** and Marshall made 2 great saves. We could've walked out with a draw but to say Livi deserved nothing is quite wide of the mark.

I think last week's equaliser papered over the League Cup exit cracks. Not expecting anything next week but a win at St Mirren is a must.

NC1875
Christ. 🤣🤣🤣

They’re our biggest rivals 🤣🤣

Let’s pretend no one cares.

13-08-2022, 04:06 PM
Was a bit better second half and with the amount of the ball we had we should be creating more.

Youan should of put his big chance away in the second half, he looks decent out on the wide with some spectacular play with pace and power.

Still hoping he will come good.

Paulie Walnuts
Relegation lol.

I’d be surprised but I’m not sure it’s that out the question.

We don’t look to have improved much at all from last season and we spent 9 months with a level of form that would have seen us right down there with Dundee and St J.

Our problem is Youan got the ball on their bye line turned into 6 yard box, turned again and the ball ended up on the halfway line with our passes.
Get a sight of goal shoot, we got lucky at the goal with a rebound, the same goes with this.
Too many players not wanting to take a chance!!!

You love to put words in peoples mouths! You know exactly what I mean.What words did I say that you didn't?

The guy claimed the only non young foreigner we signed was Marshall

Which was total nonsense

Christ. 🤣🤣🤣

I do.

We’re wanting to challenge them for 3rd no?

13-08-2022, 04:07 PM
I’m massively worried that we are going to have to rely on Jair/Henderson on the left. Both are utter pish. Henderson slightly better in the middle but still miles off being good enough to start for us every week.

thebausburst
Worst thing about this result was it was sadly all too predictable. Hibs can forget any aspirations for 3rd defending like this, also unsurprisingly the fears over the lower foreign league signings look like being realised, likes of Tavares and Bojang don’t look like signings of a team pushing for 3rd or 4th.

I am not so sure that this Lee Johnson fellow, has us playing any better than the last manager. He talks a good game but?

HendoDelivered
I do.

We’re wanting to challenge them for 3rd no?

I only care about what Hibs do, not hearts. (Personally)

Paulie Walnuts
13-08-2022, 04:08 PM
I’m massively worried that we are going to have to rely on Jair/Henderson on the left. Both are utter pish. Henderson slightly better in the middle but still miles off being good enough to start for us every week.

Throw in relying on Newell/JDH/Campbell in the middle and Rocky/Porteous/Hanlon at the back and it’s a real concern.

Same as last season really. No surprises today.

What words did I say that you didn't?

The guy claimed the only non young foreigner we signed was Marshall

Which was total nonsense

At what point did I say that he didn’t count? You just made that up for your Katie Hopkins dramatic, everyone but you is wrong response. You responded with Martin Boyle; I agree with you but Martin Boyle isn’t a difficult one for us to work out. He played for us, he’s good, we could do a deal….

I’m massively worried that we are going to have to rely on Jair/Henderson on the left. Both are utter pish. Henderson slightly better in the middle but still miles off being good enough to start for us every week.I wish folk would give guys like Jair more than bloody 90 minutes to claim they are 'utter pish'

Throw in relying on Newell/JDH/Campbell in the middle and Rocky/Porteous/Hanlon at the back and it’s a real concern.

Pretty much. Recipe for a ***** season.

13-08-2022, 04:09 PM
I only care about what Hibs do, not hearts. (Personally)

Aye that’s fine. Hibs have lost.

Hearts play tomorrow and I hope they lose also.

13-08-2022, 04:10 PM
I wish folk would give guys like Jair more than bloody 90 minutes to claim they are 'utter pish'

Big signing with big hype from the club. Number ten shirt. Maybe he should be turning up and showing us what he’s got immediately? So far he’s looked miles out of his depth.

13-08-2022, 04:10 PM
Our problem is Youan got the ball on their bye line turned into 6 yard box, turned again and the ball ended up on the halfway line with our passes.
Get a sight of goal shoot, we got lucky at the goal with a rebound, the same goes with this.
Too many players not wanting to take a chance!!!

2 many need to take a 2nd touch, if you see the goals put your laces through the ****in thing, one will eventually go in.

13-08-2022, 04:11 PM
At what point did I say that he didn’t count? You just made that up for your Katie Hopkins dramatic, everyone but you is wrong response. You responded with Martin Boyle; I agree with you but Martin Boyle isn’t a difficult one for us to work out. He played for us, he’s good, we could do a deal….So we signed him

Along with Marshall

And Mcgeady

And Cabraja

And Youan

I do see someone being dramatic though [emoji1787][emoji1787]

How is the claim that David Marshall is our only signing that isn't young and untested correct?

CL0762
And yet we’ve nothing to show for it.

We’ve not got the quality to convert pressure into goals and we’ve not got the quality to keep them out, much the same as last season.

It’s a recipe for another dug **** season.

Yup.

6 corners in a row and nothing different for any of them, just cross it and see.

Surely after 2/3 you think ‘right let’s try something different’ but nope. Same old lack of creativeness.

The Captain....
I’m massively worried that we are going to have to rely on Jair/Henderson on the left. Both are utter pish. Henderson slightly better in the middle but still miles off being good enough to start for us every week.Agreed, but the centre of midfield worries me just as much. Its a bottom 6 midfield. They are not great at anything, defending, attacking or keeping the ball. It's not new either, it's been the same old ***** for ages.

Unbelievable that we actually look more lightweight and easily bullied this season. What the **** do they watch at the club...its not as if there aren't clearly identifiable problems.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

SQHib
13-08-2022, 04:12 PM
I would take Youan out of that suggestion, he will be a top signing

For someone , porobably not us as we have him on loan for a season

13-08-2022, 04:12 PM
Agreed, but the centre of midfield worries me just as much. Its a bottom 6 midfield. They are not great at anything, defending, attacking or keeping the ball. It's not new either, it's been the same old ***** for ages.

Unbelievable that we actually look more lightweight and easily bullied this season. What the **** do they watch at the club...its not as if it isn't clearly identifiable problems.

Too busy spending cash on the development team.

dmc1875
13-08-2022, 04:13 PM
Agreed, but the centre of midfield worries me just as much. Its a bottom 6 midfield. They are not great at anything, defending, attacking or keeping the ball. It's not new either, it's been the same old ***** for ages.

Unbelievable that we actually look more lightweight and easily bullied this season. What the **** do they watch at the club...its not as if it isn't clearly identifiable problems.

Our midfield is garbage - the fact we haven’t done anything to fix it is mind boggling

13-08-2022, 04:14 PM
Big signing with big hype from the club. Number ten shirt. Maybe he should be turning up and showing us what he’s got immediately? So far he’s looked miles out of his depth.

It's not his fault obviously but based on what I've seen so far Tavares and Melkersen are not good enough to play for our first team at this moment in time, never mind be in the starting XI.

So we signed him

Along with Marshall

And Mcgeady

And Cabraja

And Youan

How is the claim that David Marshall is our only signing that isn't young and untested correct?

You’ve made you’re point. Let it go! :faf:

Too busy spending cash on the development team.

This is the real worry. new coat of paint while the engine is broken.

Big signing with big hype from the club. Number ten shirt. Maybe he should be turning up and showing us what he’s got immediately? So far he’s looked miles out of his depth.He was poor in his 45 today (although that could be labelled at pretty much everyone barring Marshall)

He wasn't terrible up in Perth now - not great but average

Regardless, he's a young guy in a new league and Country, combined total of about 1 game. Isn't real fair to label them as 'utter pish'

Ralphy C

It was Kenneh.

Brian McLauchlin seems to think it was Doidge, mind you he also thinks Livi's 1st was a Holt assist.

13-08-2022, 04:15 PM
Bojang miss btw

Ouch

Also - David Marshall will win us points (still a very good keeper)

13-08-2022, 04:16 PM
Brian McLauchlin seems to think it was Doidge, mind you he also thinks Livi's 1st was a Holt assist.

My app says likewise.

13-08-2022, 04:16 PM
So we signed him

Along with Marshall

And Mcgeady

And Cabraja

And Youan

Yup, we have. At what point have I disputed any of this?

You love to make comments to anyone who’s slightly disappointed by us being utterly hopeless, which is the case more often than not. You mentioned Jair elsewhere - I’d take a stab in the dark that the majority of people who payed to go and watch their team today, thought he was atrocious. You and I both know they may vent and it may or may not be true that he’s ‘utter pish’ but we’re on a fans forum, where we support the same team and people are entitled to vent anger when we turn up and play like that AGAIN against f’ng Livingston.

chookyembra
13-08-2022, 04:17 PM

What’s with the anti-football pish, they played us off the park at times. They outfought us for 95 minutes. I would settle for their commitment and, according to you, their anti-football, every week over the ***** that we had on the park today.

13-08-2022, 04:17 PM
Our midfield is garbage - the fact we haven’t done anything to fix it is mind boggling

That performance in the first half has me worried, the team that was picked never showed up, has to be a reason behind this, if I was the manager I would have 3 or 4 of them nowhere near the first team.
We all understand that performances may be up and down, but to go onto that park and not even fight for the badge on that jersey, is not on ever.

13-08-2022, 04:18 PM
So we signed him

Along with Marshall

And Mcgeady

And Cabraja

And Youan

The point I was making is that the transfer policy is rotten and the issues with this team have yet again not been addressed. Just because I missed a couple of players doesn’t make the point irrelevant.

A few folk need to just put their phones down and enjoy the Saturday evening sunshine.

Chill.

To be honest, just becoming utterly fed up of these predictable results.

Saps the energy right of you when it comes to hibs.

Boring.

13-08-2022, 04:20 PM
Yup, we have. At what point have I disputed any of this?

You love to make comments to anyone who’s slightly disappointed by us being utterly hopeless, which is the case more often than not. You mentioned Jair elsewhere - I’d take a stab in the dark that the majority of people who payed to go and watch their team today, thought he was atrocious. You and I both know they may vent and it may or may not be true that he’s ‘utter pish’ but we’re on a fans forum, where we support the same team and people are entitled to vent anger when we turn up and play like that AGAIN against f’ng Livingston.

You jumped on the comment I made to someone who claimed that

Also that's nonsense

I might stick up for our players being labelled amateur standard after playing for around 1 game

As I said Jair was poor as pretty much all the team was first half

Screaming about being utter pish etc I don't agree with and Il stick up for our players in that case

Doidge though - Ive lost hope with him and everyone feel free to fire in [emoji1787]

13-08-2022, 04:22 PM
You jumped on the comment I made to someone who claimed that

Also that's nonsense

I might stick up for our players being labelled amateur standard after playing for around 1 game

As I said Jair was poor as pretty much all the team was first half

Screaming about being utter pish etc I don't agree with and Il stick up for our players in that case

Doidge though - Ive lost hope with him and everyone feel free to fire in [emoji1787]

Nah!! Doidge is class!! 😝

13-08-2022, 04:23 PM
Livi now taking the piss out of our “choose hibs”.

hibeerealist
He was poor in his 45 today (although that could be labelled at pretty much everyone barring Marshall)

He wasn't terrible up in Perth now - not great but average

Regardless, he's a young guy in a new league and Country, combined total of about 1 game. Isn't real fair to label them as 'utter pish'

Young guy, new league and country BUT he should be able to show us he has something? Maybe even control a ball thats passed to him, he has shown nothing hence the concern

Nah!! Doidge is class!! [emoji13][emoji38][emoji38][emoji38]

He's not even young, foreign or untested either [emoji1787]

13-08-2022, 04:25 PM
Young guy, new league and country BUT he should be able to show us he has something? Maybe even control a ball thats passed to him, he has shown nothing hence the concernHe wants terrible in Perth though

Sometimes folk have bad games

I watched Chris Cadden literally fall over the ball today and totally miss it when he tried a drag back

Ofcourse he needs to be better but "utter pish" is a bit harsh imo

13-08-2022, 04:26 PM
[emoji38][emoji38][emoji38]

He's not even young, foreign or untested either [emoji1787]

😂👏 Ach I feel like a prick now, just disappointed like everyone else. Wish I shared your optimism.

Christ. [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

We need to worry about our team and results and not give. F*** about what other teams are doing.

Our destiny should be in our hands, not relying on other results

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Chorley Hibee
Surprise, surprise, turned over by the mighty Livingston once again.

Too busy buying hopeful prospects (and based on what I've seen - I use that term lightly) instead of dealing with the actual issues that have been staring the club in the face for at least 2/3 years.

Another season of mediocre piss at best, and a collection of players nowhere near ready for the first team, or that should have been shown the door long ago.

But don't worry, supposedly we just need to be patient.

Well I for one have just about had my fill of jam tomorrow.

13-08-2022, 04:30 PM
So we signed him

Along with Marshall

And Mcgeady

And Cabraja

And Youan

The funny thing is, the ones that have came in with a reputation/played at a decent level have looked good and shown their quality

Marshall
Cabraja
McGeady
Boyle
Youan

If we do that with another two or three positions we’ll be fine, the ones that aren’t performing/not being consistent are the ones we could have all predicted would be like that. The only exception for me is Kenneh who has been good imo and plays beyond his years/experience.

Sign quality and you’ll get quality.

Said it many times too, but I think Miller will be our starting right back come the end of the season.

13-08-2022, 04:31 PM

Quite right too, they took the **** whole game and could have won by a few goals today. They’re right to bask in it.

I’d swap their midfield for ours every single day of the week too. That’s the even sadder indictment on our recruitment team.

13-08-2022, 04:39 PM
I suppose the big positive is that we’ll best rangers next week.

Youan and Boyles pace will be too much on the counter

13-08-2022, 04:41 PM
I suppose the big positive is that we’ll best rangers next week.

Youan and Boyles pace will be too much on the counter

Yup. 🙁

13-08-2022, 04:43 PM
Very strange game that.

could have been 0-4 down at half time. Could have been 6-1 up by the time they sucker punched us late on.

Not good enough. We failed to do the basics at key moments. I fear another long, difficult season.

i was hoping for a shock today but, meh maybe next time, or the next again

it's a long time since i saw us so poor in that first half, absolutely pathetic

45 mins to get a shot on target and the keeper saved easily

a raft of corners and we done absolutely **** all with them, one good ball in the box for livingston with minutes to go and boom

ZitellZeTime
13-08-2022, 04:44 PM
Absolute kick in the teeth today. Should never have went 1-0 down in the first place with Hanlon caught square to his man and sticking a leg out as if he’d never defended before.

Its like the defending you get on they retro games for nes/megadrive etc, especially the really slow first fifa 94/5 or something thats what the denders did lol.

13-08-2022, 04:46 PM
Quite right too, they took the **** whole game and could have won by a few goals today. They’re right to bask in it.

I’d swap their midfield for ours every single day of the week too. That’s the even sadder indictment on our recruitment team.

Eh? They barely touched the ball second half and we really should have scored a few.

Mrimbetween
The warning signs were there for all to be seen

Late goals aint the answer, great at the time , but !!!

When was the last time you thought my word did Hibs not half dominate that game

Apathy awaits sadly

Unless

Hibees1973
A few weeks ago I said we need at least 4 points minimum from the first 4 games based on the fixtures we had or Johnson will be under pressure early doors.

Given that we have the hun next week it looks like it will be 4 points. When you consider that we got these points from last minute/injury time goals it kind of papers over the cracks.

I get some consolation that we have a good goalkeeper and Boyle is back. However, if either of these players gets injured we are ****ed. Based on the majority of our signings and what I've seen so far we will be in real trouble this season. We look powder puff and toothless going forward and the centre of our defence is vulnerable.

All these unproven and inexperienced players we have signed will not improve us. The squad is massive, but woefully short on quality.

13-08-2022, 04:49 PM
Said today would tell us a lot about where we are and it did, but not in a positive way.

You aren’t going to get very far without goal scorers and we don’t have them. Other than Boyle we have no real quality in the final third. Youan shows flashes but non scoring forwards are no good to anyone.

It was also a poor reflection on our recruitment policy. Melkersen hooked after 20 minutes. Tavares hooked at half time. Centre half, signed for the development team, brought on and a goal conceded a few minutes later.

We had a good spell start of the second half but lack of quality all over the park. One of the things that summed up the lack of quality, IMO, we’re the three free kicks we had outside the box in brilliant positions. Every one of them hit the wall.

13-08-2022, 04:49 PM
Can’t remember the last game we played well for 90 mins ?

Fergos
13-08-2022, 04:50 PM
What’s with the anti-football pish, they played us off the park at times. They outfought us for 95 minutes. I would settle for their commitment and, according to you, their anti-football, every week over the ***** that we had on the park today.

I wouldn’t say played us off the park but agree with your post in general. They were better first half, bossed our piss poor midfield, first to the second ball and hungrier. They are a very tactically astute side to be fair who do the basics very well.

We improved second half but if we defend like we did at the 2 goals we deserve and will get very little.

Antonyopus
13-08-2022, 04:51 PM
The truth of the matter is that Hibs are rank rotten and will lose more games than they win this year. I can’t put my finger on why that is as we have good players and the training ground is fabulous…answers on a postcard. Defeat again next week is an inevitability which will read 4 points out of 12..,,,,,,

13-08-2022, 04:55 PM

That merely shows how tinpot their club is if thats the best they can do.

Are you seriously going to be worried about what 200 daft wee gluesniffers that follow their twitter account think?

Jeez................

13-08-2022, 04:56 PM
Martindale has got a win against our last four managers, inc SDG as caretaker obviously

ZitellZeTime
13-08-2022, 04:57 PM
[QUOTE=Hibernia&Alba;7063659]Not good enough. We failed to do the basics at key moments. I fear another long, difficult season.UOTE]

Yeah its not like we thought we only needed a new decent CB or CM this season, lots were calling for it a year ago, theyve told us multiple times they know where the weak links are and had plans already before windows were even opened.

Magennis be like a new signing and would make a huge difference in midfield when back but no idea when that will be or when he will be injured again, fingers crossed though because the way LJ was talking we need bodies out before anyone in and none of them seem to be willing to leave their cushy long contacts even if been told not a big part of the plans.

Doidge doesn't want to leave even though there were teams interested and we let him decide so we're ****ed there too.
the a
We just spent 200k on a striker for development according to here? if thats true why could we not have put that towards a ****ing defender to help us and hope magennis comes back sometime soon.

Clarke and Jasper(on his day) as he was raw but talented were good loan signings, wonder if we could maybe loan in a couple platers like that for cb and cm, still need another striker though, not a forward type player, I mean I think Melkerson looks alright through the middle but LJ doesn't seem to like him there. Youan is going to be a good player for us and has already had couple of key moments although not scoring but leading to goals but we need someone else. Doidge just aint at the races anymore and hasn't been since the beginning of 2022.

Makes you wonder with their statements a about the key weak areas being addressed already and clearly werren't then did the recruitment team think the defence and midfield were sound and we just needed some pace and bit creativity in the forwards and wingers?

thebausburst
Can’t remember the last game we played well for 90 mins ?

Good point, must be 2 or 3 managers ago tbh.

Biffo
Did you watch that? Not only were we absolutely pish… hibs should never, ever be losing to a tin pot nothing club. Sad thing is, we say it every f’n year. It’s a shambles.I've seen better Hibs teams have worse results! 3 games into a season after 8/9 new signings and some people are talking about relegation...have a word!

hhibs
13-08-2022, 04:58 PM
The truth of the matter is that Hibs are rank rotten and will lose more games than they win this year. I can’t put my finger on why that is as we have good players and the training ground is fabulous…answers on a postcard. Defeat again next week is an inevitability which will read 4 points out of 12..,,,,,,

Newell is to me at the heart of our problems,clearly not alone but he is the standout fail in the team.

13-08-2022, 05:00 PM
I've seen better Hibs teams have worse results! 3 games into a season after 8/9 new signings and some people are talking about relegation...have a word!

The relegation chat is mental.

13-08-2022, 05:02 PM
Newell is to me at the heart of our problems,clearly not alone but he is the standout fail in the team.

He is perhaps the weakest link, the one that will fail more times than not.

13-08-2022, 05:05 PM
First half was unacceptable but overall we were miles better than the last time under Ross and we'll get better.

13-08-2022, 05:06 PM
To be honest, just becoming utterly fed up of these predictable results.

Saps the energy right of you when it comes to hibs.

Boring.
Find something else to do.

13-08-2022, 05:06 PM
I nearly drove the 3 hours 46 mins to the game this morning.

Asked the wife if she fancied a day in livi shopping. She said no, I didn't drive. Feels a good call now.

Awful result.

13-08-2022, 05:07 PM
Least we got a draw with hearts though eh

13-08-2022, 05:08 PM
Not recruiting the type of players that we need is getting like a depressing repeat of the saga with Hecky and not bringing in a DM.

JamesHFC
13-08-2022, 05:15 PM

Better than a defeat?

McGruber
13-08-2022, 05:15 PM

If we are swapping teams or midfields then okay - but have to rip up Easter Road and lay plastic pitch. This Livi team, this Livi midfield are bottom 6 every season. Do we aspire to be bottom 6 or are we having a bit of a knee jerk

13-08-2022, 05:16 PM
Better than a defeat?

Well yeah it did keep a positive vibe up for a week

Back to the last 12 months feeling back in abundance

13-08-2022, 05:17 PM
Livingston had a team out there today that as individuals very few Hibs fans would want us to sign. However the important word is that they are a TEAM.

They fight like a team, know each other’s strengths and weaknesses, and have played together often enough under a tactically astute coach to be able to anticipate passes.

We on the other hand have around 40-50 players across 3 squads and a lot of coaches still new to the club that are such a long way from creating a settled first team that the supporters have faith in.

And if we start badly or finish bottom six again, what will the Board do then? Same as they always do. Rip it up and start all over again with a manager and player churn.

We never learn!!

JammyDoidger
13-08-2022, 05:19 PM
Played superb second half, best we've played in god knows how long..defence let us down today. Solid no nonsence centre halfs needed pronto. Amazing the lift Boyle gives us, Tavares nowhere near ready can't believe he's got the number 10 shirt.

13-08-2022, 05:30 PM
Played superb second half, best we've played in god knows how long..defence let us down today. Solid no nonsence centre halfs needed pronto. Amazing the lift Boyle gives us, Tavares nowhere near ready can't believe he's got the number 10 shirt.

Did the defence let us down that much? Aye the boy walks past Hanlon as if he wasn’t there but thought we were fine after that for most of the game, other than the odd lapse. I think the midfield is a much bigger issue, we get absolutely nothing from them. Players in there that just aren’t good enough. Kenneh slow to the ball at the first goal then doesn’t bother his arse to chase back. Doidge then loses the man for the 2nd goal

13-08-2022, 05:33 PM

What?

13-08-2022, 05:38 PM
Find something else to do.

I have, I work Saturdays now 😁

The lists becoming endless finding things better to do than watch hibs currently, unfortunately

xqnq1875
13-08-2022, 05:47 PM
Hanlon absolutely bullied by nouble today and an overall terrible performance, surely we’re looking at cb’s because this just simply isn’t good enough (not just hanlon today as well might I add loads of other players weren’t good enough as well)

Stonewall
13-08-2022, 05:51 PM
Anyone else think it was pretty dim witted to play in an all black strip in that heat and direct sunlight?

13-08-2022, 05:52 PM
Hanlon absolutely bullied by nouble today and an overall terrible performance, surely we’re looking at cb’s because this just simply isn’t good enough (not just hanlon today as well might I add loads of other players weren’t good enough as well)

Nouble giving Hanlon the runaround was the most obvious thing we were going to see today.

13-08-2022, 05:52 PM
Anyone else think it was pretty dim witted to play in an all black strip in that heat and direct sunlight?

We said that before the game. Thought it was a strange thing to do.

uwxm07
13-08-2022, 05:55 PM
I've seen better Hibs teams have worse results! 3 games into a season after 8/9 new signings and some people are talking about relegation...have a word!

Patience is not something we have as a fan base . The past is done we need to look forward and it will gel in the next couple of months - hopefully for a few years

13-08-2022, 06:02 PM
Nouble giving Hanlon the runaround was the most obvious thing we were going to see today.

Yep. He never copes well with they kind of strikers.

In fairness, he doesn’t seem to cope well with any strikers these days

13-08-2022, 06:06 PM
Anyone else think it was pretty dim witted to play in an all black strip in that heat and direct sunlight?Guess it depends what you believe

https://gizmodo.com/the-physics-that-explain-why-you-should-wear-black-this-5903956

Mutu
13-08-2022, 06:10 PM
Yep. He never copes well with they kind of strikers.

In fairness, he doesn’t seem to cope well with any strikers these days

In fairness, that was a pretty brutal 1st game of the season to come into if you're Hanlon. Livi away up against Nouble - ooft.

Less his fault, more a fault of our recruitment. Centre back depth has been obvious since the end of last season.

13-08-2022, 06:12 PM
In fairness, that was a pretty brutal 1st game of the season to come into if you're Hanlon. Livi away up against Nouble - ooft.

Less his fault, more a fault of our recruitment. Centre back depth has been obvious since the end of last season.

It was but Hanlon usually has an uncomfortable time of it against physical strikers

NC1875
13-08-2022, 06:13 PM

Excuses excuses. We were playing Livi, not Barcelona.

Hanlons just not very good, and shouldn’t be anywhere near Hibs now. Should be at Dunfermline or the likes!

13-08-2022, 06:20 PM
Thought there were some encouraging signs second half. We need a striker to play between Boyle and Youan
We also need a midfielder who makes runs off the ball.
We also need another central defender.
On the plus side Youan was like a different player wide left, Boyle will only get better and Marshall is a big upgrade in goals.

13-08-2022, 06:22 PM
Thought there were some encouraging signs second half. We need a striker to play between Boyle and Youan
We also need a midfielder who makes runs off the ball.
We also need another central defender.
On the plus side Youan was like a different player wide left, Boyle will only get better and Marshall is a big upgrade in goals.

100% agree about Youan wide left. Especially whilst McGeady is out.

If we could get a striker that can hold the ball up and offer a threat in behind it would be huge, I’d be tempted to try Melkersen there in the interim.

LewysGot2
13-08-2022, 06:25 PM

If we could get a striker that can hold the ball up and offer a threat in behind it would be huge, I’d be tempted to try Melkersen there in the interim.

Was on crutches at the end

uwxm07
13-08-2022, 06:25 PM
It could be worse if we were ManUre fans

13-08-2022, 06:28 PM

Apart from the goal he didn’t tho. We lost an easy goal as soon as we subbed him. He had an excellent 2nd half.

13-08-2022, 06:29 PM
Ready for sportscence trial for Boyle 👀

13-08-2022, 06:31 PM
It could be worse if we were ManUre fans

Great patter; but yes, it's bad.

13-08-2022, 06:32 PM
Just saw Livingstons winner, how the f*** was that a free kick to them?

LewysGot2
13-08-2022, 06:36 PM
Apart from the goal he didn’t tho. We lost an easy goal as soon as we subbed him. He had an excellent 2nd half.

I'm a bit lost on this, too. Considering he's had no preseason and he'd been dropped in the deep end possibly earlier than expected. Second half he was good and when he went off I had the fear as the replacement was the kid. The opening goal was the cumulative impact of three individual errors by 3 players. Kenneh started that ball rolling.

13-08-2022, 06:41 PM

Nouble just walked past Hanlon for the first goal

So easy it was embarrassing

Saying that Hanlon came onto a game and I don’t think we would have lost the second goal if Paul had still been on the pitch

A free header inside the box ?

Strange substitution for me

Paulie Walnuts
13-08-2022, 06:43 PM

Saying that Hanlon came onto a game and I don’t think we would have lost the second goal if Paul had still been on the pitch

Unless Hanlon would have been marking their striker I’m not sure what difference he’d have made at the goal. McLelland wasn’t at fault and it was Doidge that lost his man.

LewysGot2
13-08-2022, 06:44 PM
Hanlon came onto a game and I don’t think we would have lost the second goal if Paul had still been on the pitch

And me...I'd have even just brought on Darren but rotten plastic pitches aren't great for his knees and back.

It wasn't even long to go. Very odd.

13-08-2022, 06:49 PM

Losing the second goal was nothing to do with Hanlon going off, it was all to do with Doidge not concentrating whatsoever from a free kick.

I know you’re always likely to stick up for Hanlon but Nouble played on him from the very first minute and gave him a really rough time. Not just him but it was clear as day he targeted him.

13-08-2022, 06:51 PM

Hanlon was finished. He was stretching a couple of minutes before the sub was made.

Second goal wasn’t down to him not being there though. Was just Doidge failing to contribute at that end of the pitch as well as the top end.

13-08-2022, 06:55 PM
Guess it depends what you believe

https://gizmodo.com/the-physics-that-explain-why-you-should-wear-black-this-5903956

I'm sure that the Bedouins wear black robes in the desert.

13-08-2022, 06:55 PM
Any links to the goals?

13-08-2022, 06:57 PM
It could be worse if we were ManUre fansTo be fair, even our recruitment team wouldn't sign Harry Maguire and then make him captain, we might stick him in midfield if they paid us to take him but that's another story ...

13-08-2022, 07:00 PM
Nouble should really be someone we are looking at.

13-08-2022, 07:01 PM
Just back from Livingston, my thoughts….

1. Hanlon has been a great servant to the club but he’s done at this level
2. Doidge - see above
3. Jair - offers less than Jasper who we didn’t want
4. Melkerson - play him as a 9 or not at all
5. Henderson - squad filler, never a starting XI midfielder….file under Campbell.

13-08-2022, 07:07 PM
Just back from Livingston, my thoughts….

1. Hanlon has been a great servant to the club but he’s done at this level
2. Doidge - see above
3. Jair - offers less than Jasper who we didn’t want
4. Melkerson - play him as a 9 or not at all
5. Henderson - squad filler, never a starting XI midfielder….file under Campbell.

1. As much as it genuinely upsets me I think I agree.
2. Agree to an extent but feel he’s a good squad player option.
3. No one on their right mind will disagree - no hard feeling re signing him, I want us to access these markets.
4. Agree completely - the boy is a 9, play him there.
5. Disagree but think he can only play centrally. Never a wide player.

13-08-2022, 07:13 PM
1. As much as it genuinely upsets me I think I agree.
2. Agree to an extent but feel he’s a good squad player option.
3. No one on their right mind will disagree - no hard feeling re signing him, I want us to access these markets.
4. Agree completely - the boy is a 9, play him there.
5. Disagree but think he can only play centrally. Never a wide player.

I’m not sure Doidge is even good enough to be a squad player nowadays. Came on today and was woeful

13-08-2022, 07:17 PM
I’m not sure Doidge is even good enough to be a squad player nowadays. Came on today and was woeful

I know, to be fair it is up for debate. I’m just thinking he could or at least should be useful as he is completely different to the rest we have in the forward area.

13-08-2022, 07:28 PM
I know, to be fair it is up for debate. I’m just thinking he could or at least should be useful as he is completely different to the rest we have in the forward area.

He definitely ‘should’ be. If he was anything like he was a couple of years ago he would be a very decent option. Not now for me

snedzuk
13-08-2022, 07:29 PM

That Nouble boy from Livvy!

13-08-2022, 07:30 PM
Sounds a bit like Chris Kamara! :wink:

🤣

13-08-2022, 07:33 PM

Agree

13-08-2022, 07:43 PM
Just saw goals on Sportscene

First goal is utterly horrific

As concerning as Hanlon's woeful attempt at defending was the total lack of urgency from anyone else to do anything about the situation.

Folk ambling back like they couldn't give a damn.

Cabraja & Kenneh to name but two

But if Hanlon steps up to meet him rather than back peddling it is not an issue as even if he is beat there is still time to do something about it.

I like Hanlon but he is absolutely at his worst defending when going backwards toward his own goal

Not convinced Cabraja will retain his place when Stevenson is fit either, he has made some shocking errors already and is very loose in his distribution of the ball.

13-08-2022, 07:45 PM

As concerning as Hanlon's woeful attempt at defending was the total lack of urgency from anyone else to do anything about the situation.

But if Hanlon steps up to meet him rather than back peddling it is not an issue as even if he is beat there is still time to do something about it.

I like Hanlon but he is absolutely at his worst defending when going backwards toward his own goal

Not convinced Cabraja will retain his place when Stevenson is fit either, he has made some shocking errors already and is very loose in his distribution of the ball.Has Cabraja made shocking errors?

His pass today to start the move for livis goal was a poor one but outside that he's been pretty good in all 3 games I thought?

13-08-2022, 07:47 PM

Not convinced Cabraja will retain his place when Stevenson is fit either, he has made some shocking errors already and is very loose in his distribution of the ball.

I’d disagree on your assessment of Cabraja there. Better LB than Lewis without question IMO. He’s one of the few good signings we’ve made for me. I actually though Kenneh was more at fault for the first goal. He’s standing waiting on the ball. The Livingston player sprinted to get it.

capitals_finest
13-08-2022, 07:50 PM
Livingston had a team out there today that as individuals very few Hibs fans would want us to sign. However the important word is that they are a TEAM.

They fight like a team, know each other’s strengths and weaknesses, and have played together often enough under a tactically astute coach to be able to anticipate passes.

We on the other hand have around 40-50 players across 3 squads and a lot of coaches still new to the club that are such a long way from creating a settled first team that the supporters have faith in.

And if we start badly or finish bottom six again, what will the Board do then? Same as they always do. Rip it up and start all over again with a manager and player churn.

We never learn!!

Well said. We have one of the biggest budgets in the league yet time and time again we struggle to find the level we all strive to be at and the consistency to get there. Even with a decent manager we must surely see that more often that not it takes time to build a decent team.

13-08-2022, 07:55 PM
Has Cabraja made shocking errors?

His pass today to start the move for livis goal was a poor one but outside that he's been pretty good in all 3 games I thought?

He has played at least another couple of similar balls playing folk into trouble, I think he should do better for Hearts goal and for today's first goal also

13-08-2022, 07:55 PM

Going by today Lewis will see off another pretender. Cabraja was appalling in the first half. It was like he never knew we were playing in black.

13-08-2022, 07:56 PM
Going by today Lewis will see off another pretender. Cabraja was appalling in the first half. It was like he never knew we were playing in black.

Boys been in the door 5 minutes give it a rest

13-08-2022, 07:56 PM

No he won’t. Cabraja is a good player.

Lewis was poor in the league cup games prior to his injury.

13-08-2022, 07:59 PM
No he won’t. Cabraja is a good player.

Lewis was poor in the league cup games prior to his injury. I'll give you that. First time in a long time Lewis looked like he was underperforming. Cabraja needs to prove he is a good player in this league, he is a long way from that yet

Ray Donovan
13-08-2022, 08:23 PM

It's so frustrating when players like him are out there who can clearly do a job in this league but we go down a different route. He'd also be such a cheap addition.

I'm not saying he's a world beater but it's a head scratcher the decision makers would take a punt on someone like bojang over him.

13-08-2022, 08:30 PM
Rolling the dice on a bunch of untested youngsters from abroad. Marshall aside that’s an absolutely woeful transfer policy.

Nowt to do with them. It’s the dross that’s been here for years that let us down today.

JamesHFC
13-08-2022, 08:33 PM
First half was woeful. Second half a lot better and we really should have been a lot more clinical.

Another LCB needed before the end of this window I think. St Mirren & Kilmarnock after The Rangers next week, got to be taking six points from those games.

Stonewall
13-08-2022, 09:00 PM
Guess it depends what you believe

Next time it’s hot try a white T shirt and a black one and see how you get on.

donno
13-08-2022, 09:40 PM
Excuses, excuses, excuses. Let's face it, so far this season we've not played well.
What's the solution, apart from buying more players? I don't know!
Every game hibs have had more possession, but nothing comes from it. Teams just seam to sit back and take the pressure knowing we fail in the last 3rd. Martin can't save us every week, like our last home game.
I've read all comments on this thread, and agree with a lot that say some starters are past their best, but what to do with them? Most were given new contracts recently, so won't go elsewhere easily, as their wages would be reduced.
In summary, I'm glad I'm not in the hot seat! Onwards, and upwards[emoji106]

Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk

13-08-2022, 11:51 PM
Has Cabraja made shocking errors?

I like Cabraja, a tough tackling full back who likes to get forward, but he's already been booked 3 times in 3 games. Guaranteed to be 4 out of 4 next week against the Huns. Knowing our referees, the guy will be due a suspension before the month is out. :rolleyes: