30-07-2022, 03:32 PM
i'm liking Cabraja

CallumHibs07
30-07-2022, 03:33 PM
Get Kenneh off. Hopeless

ChicoM1875
Are they all fouls, though? Some of them seemed highly dubious. Last one there, three boys on Doidge pulling him. He runs into the box, one boy falls. Free kick!

The ref has been terrible. Its like he's already made his mind up about the foul before the corner is taken!

Physical sort of game!

30-07-2022, 03:34 PM
Shooting practise required Monday morning.

St Johnstone are pathetic. Going down like they've been shot every foul and wasting time any chance they get.

It's going to be a long season.

And here he is, Mr doom and gloom .

It needs to improve. Been really poor going forward

Get Kenneh off. Hopeless

Bits I’ve seen he’s done ok. Good foil for Newell this afternoon

Green Reaper
Not seeing much of an improvement tbh. Uninspiring

For you, that’s surprisingly cheerful

30-07-2022, 03:35 PM
Extra atmosphere or not, I can't listen to they 2 numpty St Johnston commentators any longer, back to Hibs TV.

30-07-2022, 03:35 PM
Campbell on.

ChicoM1875
30-07-2022, 03:36 PM
Get Kenneh off. Hopeless

Opinions! Think he's been alright. Been giving Henderson and Newell license to get forward.

30-07-2022, 03:36 PM
Josh campbell? Poor sub at this time of the game

Have no idea what managers see in him

HendoDelivered
30-07-2022, 03:37 PM
Cadds unhappy about being subbed there, can see why.

Helensburghhibs
Unless cadden is injured thats a shocker of a sub

Campbell on.

Are we playing for a draw?

He was limping a few minutes ago.

Just don't get that sub whatsoever.

30-07-2022, 03:38 PM
Mitchell needs to turn and shoot there.

Unless cadden is injured thats a shocker of a sub

I think he is injured.

St J will be very very happy if they hang on!

Anti football team but unless things changed it’ll be like a victory for them!

badabing67
Thinking McGeady is a miss already

We've not been that bad, wee bit lack of composure and a few players still trying to gel as a team, what I'm seeing is quicker, sharper attacking football, much better to watch than sideways crab stuff.

So ****ing wasteful

late tackle Cabraja, ...waiting for colour of card

We've not been that bad, wee bit lack of composure and a few players still trying to gel as a team, what I'm seeing is quicker, sharper attacking football, much better to watch than sideways crab stuff.

Give you that for the first half, 2nd half we’ve looked poor.

30-07-2022, 03:39 PM
Why is this game so towsy?

Cabraja could easily be off there too.

We're lucky we're not down to 8 players.

THAT is a red card.

Lucky boy.

late tackle Cabraja, ...waiting for colour of card

Hopefully yellow as we could do without more suspensions and injuries

Paulie Walnuts

Yup.

Knock it about alright but we’ve not done nearly enough going forward. It was the story of last season and threatens to be the story of this season again without a quality centre mid with some sort of attacking intent being signed.

Got away with that

I think that's worse... :D

ChicoM1875
THAT is a red card.

Naw it's no. Although Davidson wasn't either.

30-07-2022, 03:40 PM
that should have been a red i think

Just not enough quality in the final third - don’t look like scoring.

Not convinced Youan is a ‘9’ especially against teams that sit off like st Johnstone.

In fairness to him he’s only had two pre season games so won’t be match fit.

HendoDelivered
Worse than Davidsons tackle that

Yup.

Knock it about alright but we’ve not done nearly enough going forward. It was the story of last season and threatens to be the story of this season again without a quality centre mid being signed.

It's the first game. Cheer up we have been better today.

Is Miller not on the bench, why then bring on Campbell?

30-07-2022, 03:41 PM
Has the ball been in play more than 15 min sthis half?

Makes football an absolute bore to watch this much time wasting

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

one day maybe...
Pretty turgid stuff from Hibs, was hoping that we'd see an improvement today against the worst St Johnstone side in many a year. No cutting edge or guile in the opponents penalty area.

Think we should be looking for at least another striker

I can't see how that isn't a red after their red. Very similar

Don’t understand why we’ve reverted from this after the way we played in the first half

The Captain....
This is a woeful game of football, two poor sides kicking lumps out of each other. Will I give a monkeys about that if we score a winner...Will I ****!

Cmon Hibs!

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

By miles.

No idea how that's not a red card.

Not complaining but we'll need to change our ways going forward as a lot of referees would likely have us down to 8 men by now.

Not convinced this formation was the right approach today.

Refs having a shocker.

30-07-2022, 03:42 PM
St Johnston are brutal to watch. Been rolling about the pitch all game.

Paulie Walnuts
It's the first game. Cheer up we have been better today.

It’s our fifth game. The last four seen us knocked out the cup.

A lot of people could see the struggles this team were going to have as we’ve simply not addressed the issues from last season. We’ve had the same struggles in some of the league cup games and again today.

There’s not really any point in me pretending otherwise just for the sake of ‘cheering up’

St Johnstone have been time wasting all game, absolutely brutal stuff.

Still lacking quality in the final third

Half an hour against one of the worst teams in the league and down to 10 men and you’ve barely created anything

ChicoM1875
Pretty turgid stuff from Hibs, was hoping that we'd see an improvement today against the worst St Johnstone side in many a year. No cutting edge or guile in the opponents penalty area.

Turgid! The most overused hibs.net word...

Professional time wasters to this lot

30-07-2022, 03:43 PM
could do with st johnstone going down to 8 players

i'd be super confident of at least forcing the keeper in to a save :greengrin

one day maybe...
30-07-2022, 03:43 PM

Wouldn't be if we weren't :greengrin:greengrin

30-07-2022, 03:44 PM

I much prefer insipid.

Think we should be looking for at least another striker

At least a couple of wide players too.

ChicoM1875
Wouldn't be if we weren't :greengrin:greengrin

Agree. But that word!

Professional time wasters to this lot

Game management. It's ugly but you see it more often than not against Hibs as we're rarely in a winning position at this point in the game.

30-07-2022, 03:45 PM
Not convinced this formation was the right approach today.

It looked like an excellent approach for a while.St Johnstone have succeeded in breaking up play at every opportunity in the second half so we've never regained our earlier momentum.

30-07-2022, 03:45 PM
Hope StJ go down . Offer absolutely nothing towards entertainment. A team of kickers and spoilers

tonyrougier123
30-07-2022, 03:47 PM
Grim viewing turned the stream off 5 to go,
St Johnstone absolutely dire tae.

Our substitutions have contributed **** all to this game.

Doyle Hayes on.

yassssssssssssssssssssssss :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: campbell

30-07-2022, 03:48 PM
Campbell goal

Wonder if the likes of Tait or Delferrie would have been better options from the bench?

yassssssssssssssssssssssss :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: campbell

No way 😂 😂

MagicSwirlingShip
Yes Josh Campbell

one day maybe...
Phew that'll do :flag::flag::flag:

Ahem! :greengrin

Great substitution!

Yaaaaaaaas!!!!

badabing67
Yas go Josh

Brilliant, well done Josh

Yaaaaasssssssssss. ****ing easy, inspired sub!

OtleyHibs
30-07-2022, 03:49 PM
Yaaaasssss

That sub baffled me, glad to be wrong

Paulie Walnuts
An OG I’d suspect but we’ll take it! :thumbsup:

Get in.

Get in

The much maligned Campbell?

Yasssssssssss

Josh Campbell.

Leave them no time to equalise...

Bridge hibs
Cannae be Campbell, he is ***** and a waste of a jersey, should be punted etc etc etc etc 🤣

Yassssss super sub!!!

Silky
It looked like an excellent approach for a while.St Johnstone have succeeded in breaking up play at every opportunity in the second half so we've never regained our earlier momentum.

That's ultimately what's wrong with the game up here. Too many teams park the bus, break up play and time waste from the first whistle. Maybe that's the way to play!

Beautifully timed.

Renfrew_Hibby
Fu en yes

Knew he’d win us the game

Hahaha

GET ****ING IN THERE

Delighted for Josh.
Good goal

Mutu
Well done Hibs - massive goal.

Come off Rocky actually?

30-07-2022, 03:50 PM
Yasss

Sounds like Bushiri gets the final touch!

HendoDelivered
Superb

ChicoM1875
Super sub Josh Campbell!

Goal! St. Johnstone 0, Hibernian 1. Rocky Bushiri (Hibernian) header from very close range following a corner.

EDIT

Goal! St. Johnstone 0, Hibernian 1. Josh Campbell (Hibernian) header from very close range to the top right corner. Assisted by Ewan Henderson with a cross following a corner.

BBC cannae make up their minds

Suddenly it's like watching Brazil!

Paulie Walnuts
Cannae be Campbell, he is ***** and a waste of a jersey, should be punted etc etc etc etc 🤣

To be fair im not sure it will be Campbell :greengrin

An OG I’d suspect but we’ll take it! :thumbsup:

Defender or possibly even Rocky. But fair play to Josh. Come under a lot of flack and got himself in the right position to make it happen regardless. Happy for him.

crash
30-07-2022, 03:51 PM
Come off Rocky actually?

Rocky scores it

dchibs
Was just thinking if WMiller was sleeping not herd him this second half.

Yes Josh Campbell
Well done that lad, well done the manager with the sub.
BBC giving it to Rockie

badabing67
Go Rocky

No way 😂 😂

looking at the 26 replays i think it actually came off the shoulder of a st johnstone player

Yasssss get in

Ya absolute beauty - well done Rocky & Josh!

tonyrougier123
Josh Campbell get in lad,hopefully folk lay off him.
Should be starting over anyone in that midfield the day.

Credited to Josh on the Beeb

Stuarty1875
Josh :thumbsup:

That's was Rocky's goal.

Silversand
30-07-2022, 03:52 PM
[emoji16]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Beautifully timed.

Never fails 😂

Don't care who it came off, it's a goal and that's the main thing.

Paulie Walnuts
Defender or possibly even Rocky. But fair play to Josh. Come under a lot of flack and got himself in the right position to make it happen regardless. Happy for him.

Looks like rocky!

30-07-2022, 03:53 PM
Rocky picks up his 17423174213 yellow card

This ref is an utter speng.

tonyrougier123
We would score when I turned the stream off 🤦*♂️

Helensburghhibs
Great sub.... In off the defender but was 9n target so reckon josh will get it

Rocky or OG surely?

We've played some great stuff since we scored.

Stairway 2 7
Campbell and rocky yas couldn't make it up for the boo boys, delighted

30-07-2022, 03:54 PM
Campbell and rocky yas couldn't make it up for the boo boys, delighted

Let’s celebrate Hibs scoring a late goal by moaning about fans booing when nobody is! Yay!

Glad we got that goal, looks like we’ve played some good stuff. Reckon we’ve got the makings of a good team once the new signings settle in.

How much injury time FFS

Bridge hibs
Campbell and rocky yas couldn't make it up for the boo boys, delightedThey should be quiet the night 🤣

30-07-2022, 03:55 PM
If the header was on target but deflected in, I'm pretty sure Campbell will get the goal.

get in the points are all that matters :agree:

pleased for the big away support as well

Great 3 points.

Delighted we got it done. Let’s kick on from there and learn to put away teams we’re dominating.

Yaaaaaas get in there.

A few fortunate rubs of the green with the referee it has to be said but a great 3 points. :thumbsup:

A lot of people could see the struggles this team were going to have as we’ve simply not addressed the issues from last season. We’ve had the same struggles in some of the league cup games and again today.

There’s not really any point in me pretending otherwise just for the sake of ‘cheering up’

Hopefully the win cheered you up.

Football is about winning and we got it. Get in.

Get in.

Up-the-slope
100% match day thread record :na na:

30-07-2022, 03:56 PM
They should be quiet the night 🤣
There will be a few .netters booting the dog roon the hoose tonight..... :greengrin

Doubt it.

I’m cheered up though! [emoji2]

Great 3 points.

Never in doubt. Ahem.

Yes Hibs !

MASSIVE win. Huge boost for next week

30-07-2022, 03:57 PM
JC just saved our season. 😂. Final 3rd our decision making is awful. Missing a real leader on the park with Hanlon out

If the header was on target but deflected in, I'm pretty sure Campbell will get the goal.
Pleased for both of them

Let’s celebrate Hibs scoring a late goal by moaning about fans booing when nobody is! Yay!

TBF he's not moaning about anyone booing, more that the goal will shut up the booing fans because of who may have scored it.

That goal is massive for us and LJ - needed a win today and we deservedly got it

Well deserved 3 points.StJ got nothing, exactly what they deserved. Well done Hibs

Paulie Walnuts

Absolutely :aok:

30-07-2022, 03:58 PM
We deserve that.

Much better team first half.

Second half they just booted us and time wasted, especially when they got the red.

Well done Lee and the players.

Booooooo

Feels great to be on the right side of the result after a real scrap of a game. They’ve earned that.

Boom boom. Will take that. Still need a lot of work as we started to revert to last season's woes but fair play. Josh came.on and never got.involved much but managed to get a shot on target regardless of who it came off. Most others struggled to do that today so Kudos. Rocky could've been off but was MotM for me.

Special mention for that ref though. Absolutely dreadful. Wouldn't have him ref a Sunday League game.

Seems like the manager knew what he was doing. Any thoughts now?

hibIBZ
A deserved win, they are a crap team that in the past we probably wouldn't of got that winner.

Never really looked like conceding. We do need to be more creative and clinical when the chances come, but overall I thought we looked lively with some nice passages of play. Continue to build on that and I think qe have the basis of an exciting g team

Not the best game in the world but we got a win at a ground we've struggled at big time in the past

30-07-2022, 03:59 PM
90 mins possession

32% v 68%

Everyone is happy celebrating yet this is your first thought when we score?

You were quick off the mark with it, I'll give you that.

Last time we won opening game away 0-1 with an injury time goal - Morton at start of 98/99?

We went on to win the league.

Looking forward to this.

Only team to keep a clean sheet in the Prem today

it wasn't though, it was back across goals

but, doesn't matter anyway 3 points is all that matters

Rocky was about a 2 feet off the line in the middle of the goals, how on earth is that a header going wide?

30-07-2022, 04:00 PM
Phew!

Quite sad really eh.

Not vintage but a huge 3 points at the start of the season and should give the team a boost for next week and that’s the main thing. A win next week will be HUGE.

Deserved win overall with a dominated performance with the ball.

Our final third needs to improve if we want to finish at least 4th.

Can't have asked for more than 3 points.

30-07-2022, 04:01 PM
Great result.

There was a lot to be happy with, some stuff to be concerned about but a win and a clean sheet is never to be sniffed at.

Glad we got that goal, looks like we’ve played some good stuff. Reckon we’ve got the makings of a good team once the new signings settle in.

Exactly.Johnson was obviously majorly irked by not having players available due to paperwork and injury. Had we had even half of these players available we would have got through in the league cup. Im sure there will be bumps on the road but im sure once we get a settled fit team we will be fine. Only one win so not getting carried away but the 3 points is all that matters surely. Plus im sure we will get another midfielder and defender in. Lets get right behind the team next week.

Paulie Walnuts
Rocky was about a 2 feet off the line in the middle of the goals, how on earth is that a header going wide?

The dodgy stream wasn’t conclusive but it didn’t look like it was going in to me. Looked like it was going back across goal and probably wide if it went all the way through but it doesn’t really matter.

We looked good going forward but it's all a bit hit or miss. Defence was good.

We'll need to be a lot more clinical against Hearts. I wish Hibs had a midfield general type but they don't grow on trees.

Bridge hibs
30-07-2022, 04:02 PM

You were quick off the mark with it, I'll give you that.Im having a laugh ffs, lighten up, oh and thanks, I will run all my future posts by you first yeah ?

30-07-2022, 04:02 PM
Wasn't a great game but we definitely have the better players. Hopefully they can gel in the coming weeks. I'll take the 3 points.

30-07-2022, 04:03 PM
Well done Hibs in digging out the three points in the end.

Wasn’t pretty, but any game involving St Johnstone never is. A lot of work still to do, particularly in a striking sense, but a good win to start the campaign.

3rd top

call the league season now

in fact no don't, heartz are top

Early days but the recruitment team should be praised for Cabraja.

He looks a player and that’s without any pre season games etc.

Stairway 2 7
Hibs announced on twitter it was Campbells 100 appearance when he got subbed on. It was met with abuse, its went quiet now. Great boost for the team, bring on the jamboids

30-07-2022, 04:04 PM
can Cabraja get further punishment for that yellow card if he was booked at the time ?

hope not, other than that tackle he played very well

We can all laugh and joke about who scored but at the end of the day that is a huge win for us. Needed to hit the ground running and get the 3 points today as we have a few hard games coming up.

Well done lads 👏👏👏

You didn't feel a whoosh of something passing over your head by any chance did you?

Good first half, seemed less focussed second half, we had plenty of "chances" but not clinical enough - overall 3 deserved points - fine team performance and some really good individual ones - vital goal for us - referee worst performer on the park ... good start to the league season.

30-07-2022, 04:05 PM
We played better in the first half than we were in the 2nd but 3 points and back down the road.

Still feel we’re lacking something going forward and could struggle to open teams up again.

can Cabraja get further punishment for that yellow card if he was booked at the time ?

Yes he can, the rules were changed a few years ago.

Yep he can.

Also this is why fans should just relax and trust the players and management team.

We’ll always have different opinions, of course we will it’s natural.

But before the game and when the sub was made Campbell was getting loads of stick.

Let’s back the players, well done Josh - go and enjoy your Saturday night now.

Seems like the manager knew what he was doing. Any thoughts now?

Paint me surprised

For his first game I thought he played well, a couple of loose touches but looked like he will be a big addition.

Always looked to go forward and likes his cross.

All though not every cross found the man it did beat the opposition first man, could be useful on set peices?

Ah ****. Ignore me

30-07-2022, 04:06 PM

split decision eh :greengrin

30-07-2022, 04:09 PM
Good start and three points, will need to be much better next week though.

I feel like some of the issues in the final third have yet to be addressed. Still early das though.

GreenGray
30-07-2022, 04:09 PM
Take that every day after playing such an anti football team, dominated from start to finish

30-07-2022, 04:10 PM
Not a great game but good result in the end.

St Johnstone are brutal to watch. Their biggest cheer was Davidson booting Porto up in the air!

Quite sad really eh.

Not vintage but a huge 3 points at the start of the season and should give the team a boost for next week and that’s the main thing. A win next week will be HUGE.

I don’t thinks it’s sad tbh. Far too many on this forum are too quick to slate our own players. That’s sad.

Bring on the jambos

30-07-2022, 04:11 PM

Loving this.

Scrappy second half and we got lucky at times with Ref's decisions but, given the anti-football of the opposition, it feels like justice was finally done.

GGTTH on to Sunday.

30-07-2022, 04:12 PM
Thought we did well against a team playing anti football even before Davidson was sent off.

Once things click, we will do just fine.

30-07-2022, 04:13 PM
We played better in the first half than we were in the 2nd but 3 points and back down the road.

Still feel we’re lacking something going forward and could struggle to open teams up again.

Similar thoughts to me. I think another winger in will help with that. Mitchell being back is good too. Will take a few games for overall fitness for some players but good positive start

30-07-2022, 04:13 PM
Hibs announced on twitter it was Campbells 100 appearance when he got subbed on. It was met with abuse, its went quiet now. Great boost for the team, bring on the jamboids

Hibs should just block them all

30-07-2022, 04:14 PM

Why should he? Didn't think it was a red

30-07-2022, 04:16 PM
St Johnstone 0-1 Hibernian: Rocky Bushiri strikes late against 10-man hosts - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/62275138)

Hibernian snatched all three points thanks to Rocky Bushiri's stoppage-time winner against 10-man St Johnstone.
Hibs dominated the action at McDiarmid Park without taking advantage until the centre-half's touch in crowded goalmouth.

BS44
30-07-2022, 04:17 PM

Nae luck. 😉

ChicoM1875
30-07-2022, 04:20 PM

You need a cuddle pal?

ZitellZeTime
30-07-2022, 04:22 PM

I can't believe Stevie May is only 29 like. Seems about 15 years ago he had that great season for Hamilton then the next season when he came back to St Johnstone. Did he have a bad injury or something, I remember reading about him starting decent at Sheffield Wednesday then never heard much after few months next thing I know Aberdeen sign him and he was ****, they said the 29 year old though. I honestly thought with how long ago all that was then down england couple seasons, Aberdeen for a bit then back at saints for a few years that he was about 34/35.

Good start for us though, Think Henderson is going to keep improving, he'll be quiet in some games but others he's going to be a match winner for us, has a lovely touch plays some lovely balls too, if he's coached properly he's going to be one of our best players. Rocky looked good today like, seems to be reading games a bit better and that new boy Cabraja did really well considering the amount of playing time he's had and not been here long at all, Youan definitely looks a player and Tavares does at times too but I think its just going to take a bit of time for him to get used to the game here, the whole team to be honest. Would have preferred a bit more time for them to try to gel together before a derby but you never know this could make us.

Id stard Cambell or JDH instead of Newell in the middle Beside Kenneh against they *****, Newell I thought might look a bit better in this set up but he seems to be getting worse and worse, Hallberg looked better than him. I thought he looked, not great but atleast a good player especially under ross and it was just Maloneyball which made them all look worse but dont think we're going to get anything out of him, camtn see anybody taking him off us too.

Overall good start for us though especially against them who I always have a bad feeling we're going to get beat by, Think when this team gels we're going to be decent, still think we need another CB, CM and another forward.

Did I hear that Mitchell boy come through their youth system? Looks a good especially for his age.

30-07-2022, 04:23 PM
I can't believe Stevie May is only 29 like. Seems about 15 years ago he had that great season for Hamilton then the next season when he came back to St Johnstone. Did he have a bad injury or something, I remember reading about him starting decent at Sheffield Wednesday then never heard much after few months next thing I know Aberdeen sign him and he was ****, they said the 29 year old though. I honestly thought with how long ago all that was then down england couple seasons, Aberdeen for a bit then back at saints for a few years that he was about 34/35.

Good start for us though, Think Henderson is going to keep improving, he'll be quiet in some games but others he's going to be a match winner for us, has a lovely touch plays some lovely balls too, if he's coached properly he's going to be one of our best players. Rocky looked good today like, seems to be reading games a bit better and that new boy Cabraja did really well considering the amount of playing time he's had and not been here long at all, Youan definitely looks a player and Tavares does at times too but I think its just going to take a bit of time for him to get used to the game here, the whole team to be honest. Would have preferred a bit more time for them to try to gel together before a derby but you never know this could make us.

Id stard Cambell or JDH instead of Newell in the middle Beside Kenneh against they *****, Newell I thought might look a bit better in this set up but he seems to be getting worse and worse, Hallberg looked better than him. I thought he looked, not great but atleast a good player especially under ross and it was just Maloneyball which made them all look worse but dont think we're going to get anything out of him, camtn see anybody taking him off us too.

Overall good start for us though especially against them who I always have a bad feeling we're going to get beat by, Think when this team gels we're going to be decent, still think we need another CB, CM and another forward.

Did I hear that Mitchell boy come through their youth system? Looks a good especially for his age.

Mitchell is on loan from Milwall

GreenGray
30-07-2022, 04:24 PM
Not sure how anybody could be negative after a last minute winner. We dominated and played some nice stuff just struggled in the final third where we had a front three who have never played with eachother before. Once they gel and play more games together we’ll be laughing.

Tha Cabbage Kid
30-07-2022, 04:26 PM
St Johnstone 0-1 Hibernian: Rocky Bushiri strikes late against 10-man hosts - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/62275138)

Hibernian snatched all three points thanks to Rocky Bushiri's stoppage-time winner against 10-man St Johnstone.
Hibs dominated the action at McDiarmid Park without taking advantage until the centre-half's touch in crowded goalmouth.

from one angle it did look like it touched rocky last but it actually tough a ST J's defender before going it. it was going in anyway! :thumbsup:

Keepthefaith
30-07-2022, 04:27 PM
You need a cuddle pal?

No point in asking him, he'll not be back on so soon after a positive result...can hear the tumbleweed from the doom-merchants on here as soon as the winner hit the net...

ZitellZeTime
30-07-2022, 04:27 PM
split decision eh :greengrin

Canelo wins then

Tha Cabbage Kid
30-07-2022, 04:28 PM
Its a shame Davidson got a red card wasnt anywhere close to being a red. Cabraja's challege was worse but also no way a red card!

30-07-2022, 04:30 PM
We can and will improve, but we kept at it and got the points. I confess I was despondent at the poor League Cup campaign but we can hopefully build on this. St Johnstone though will be early favorites for the drop.

EGL2000
30-07-2022, 04:35 PM
Cabraja looks a solid signing, early impressions very good.

30-07-2022, 04:35 PM

You thought Newell was poor today? He was the stand out player 1st half and most of our good play came through him. 2nd half the team as a whole weren’t as dominant as there was no flow to the game due to StJ antics.

30-07-2022, 04:39 PM
Anybody got photos of today's game?

30-07-2022, 04:42 PM
You thought Newell was poor today? He was the stand out player 1st half and most of our good play came through him. 2nd half the team as a whole weren’t as dominant as there was no flow to the game due to StJ antics.
Agreed, very good today.

30-07-2022, 04:43 PM
Callum Davidson interview on sportsound :faf:

ChicoM1875
30-07-2022, 04:43 PM

Newell is getting worse and worse? Rugby may be better for you?

30-07-2022, 04:45 PM
Agreed, very good today.

I thought he was absolutely brilliant in the first half .

ZitellZeTime
30-07-2022, 04:47 PM
Mitchell is on loan from Milwall

Ah cheers man, heard that wrong. Know its only one game but I thought he looked good especially for his age and us attacking a lot. Good thing is if he keeps playing decent he will be back to Millwall after the loan.

Didn't realise Considine was at them either, can't imagine he'll be there for much longer than a year or so with his age, same with Murphy,

I knew Drey Wright was gone and I was relieved but I didn't realise he was away back to them. Doubt he will do much.

Totally different side from the team that won the cups, not much quality in them at all, still a decent side and more used to playing together than our squad who have just been put together and few weren't even in the league cup games.

Definitely not the finished article and looked a bit lost and just tried a long shot quite a lot as they ran out od idead, but I think that will come with time and hopefully another couple of signings.

Good start for a squad with a lot of new players in it, anyone moaning about this is a ****ing idiot.

30-07-2022, 04:48 PM

I turned it off as I knew exactly what his interview would be like. If I remember correctly he threw the toys out of the pram in a post match interview last season as well.

30-07-2022, 04:49 PM

What did he say?

Just home now from the game, good win, think this team might just do a bit better than folk think this season

CL0762
What did he say?

‘Either both are a yellow or both are a red’.

Torn faced fanny.

NC1875
30-07-2022, 04:51 PM

Torn faced fanny.

He’s a dick

Torn faced fanny.

The Cabraja incident I take it?

I'm not surprised he's annoyed by that to be honest, I thought it was a fairly blatant red card.

Great to see these decisions go in our favour!

This.👍

30-07-2022, 04:52 PM

Torn faced fanny.

He has a point though

30-07-2022, 04:52 PM

Torn faced fanny.

I actually agree with that

ZitellZeTime
30-07-2022, 04:54 PM
Newell is getting worse and worse? Rugby may be better for you?never e

Nah never watched Rugby apart from when South Africa won the world cup, fitba aw ma days, we're all entitled to our opinions.

Aye I think Joe Newell is nowhere near good enough for us, he is definitely a football player, but last season he would look class and you think thats him starting to come on to something, then ***** again for about the next 4 or 5 games then decent again. we need our most experienced central midfielder and probably highest earning cm in the middle to be someone better who plays decent once a month.

30-07-2022, 04:54 PM
Our Manager reckoned that Davidson's red card should maybe have been a yellow and a half. 😆

ZitellZeTime
30-07-2022, 04:58 PM
This.👍

Aye I've only seen clips of him, but the boys only just arrived had his work permit cleared etc. Read good things about him but thought it would be a quiet day for him as he gets adjusted to the game here, our style of play and playing with a whole new squad in a brand new league but couldn't have asked for much better for that performance wise from a pretty much unknown player, atleast to me coming into that and doing as well as he did. Definitely looks like a shrewed piece of business so far.

The Cabraja incident I take it?

I'm not surprised he's annoyed by that to be honest, I thought it was a fairly blatant red card.

Great to see these decisions go in our favour!

Opinions huh.

Cabraja slides in late but he’s not off the ground or anything overly dangerous. A solid yellow card all day long I’d say.

oh aye

todays attendance 5,793

spudhib
30-07-2022, 04:59 PM

You thought Hallberg was better than Newell today wow I thought Joe was our best player today by a country mile and I’d have the fear with Campbell in the middle of the park against them instead of Joe.

30-07-2022, 04:59 PM
Think a yellow for Davidson and Cabraja would have been the right call.

They’ll be plenty of those next week, a few early doors they will probably go unpunished

30-07-2022, 05:00 PM
You thought Hallberg was better than Newell today wow I thought Joe was our best player today by a country mile and I’d have the fear with Campbell in the middle of the park against them instead of Joe.

Thought Joe was very good, especially first half.

That chip over the two players was brilliant

Bridge hibs
30-07-2022, 05:02 PM
You thought Hallberg was better than Newell today wow I thought Joe was our best player today by a country mile and I’d have the fear with Campbell in the middle of the park against them instead of Joe.Think he was watching the game with his telly turned off 😁

He can but I doubt he will. Davidson’s may be rescinded tho and downgraded to yellow.

ZitellZeTime

Not just today, for over the last year hes played decent - good one every 4 or 5 games.

Up-the-slope
30-07-2022, 05:03 PM

Torn faced fanny.

i agree with him as i said at time Not a red for me for davidson and Cabraja was forceful but barely above grass and not out of control... both yellows (dont want to get to the point its a non contact sport.

What about the 2 arms round Porto in box at corner and hes brought down.. or 2 arms round Rocky at corner and goal keeper gets free kick...or Hendo obstructed on run towards goal and SJ player fall over and gets free kick.... VAR wont eradicate poor officiating but it might help with some clear and obvious ones

Stick
30-07-2022, 05:04 PM
I don’t understand how anyone who was at that game today can claim that Newell didn’t have a good game.
I think sometimes the problem is that some folk state an opinion once and then feel they have to defend it no matter what.

30-07-2022, 05:04 PM
Hallberg was really poor, weird to think anyone could think he was better than Newell 😂😂

My MOTM would have been Rocky followed by Cabraja but either Campbell or Newell could follow them.

cameronw-hfc
30-07-2022, 05:05 PM
I don’t understand how anyone who was at that game today can claim that Newell didn’t have a good game.
I think sometimes the problem is that some folk state an opinion once and then feel they have to defend it no matter what.

He was very good at times today. Driving us forward whenever he could, was very impressed. Thought they all done we'll tbf and more games together will help it all click.

30-07-2022, 05:07 PM
He was very good at times today. Driving us forward whenever he could, was very impressed. Thought they all done we'll tbf and more games together will help it all click.

Nah a poster on here thought some of them were dismal😂😂

OldEast
30-07-2022, 05:08 PM

Either that or they start off with a poor opinion of a player and only focus on any slight mistakes which act as confirmation bias.

CL0762
30-07-2022, 05:13 PM
i agree with him as i said at time Not a red for me for davidson and Cabraja was forceful but barely above grass and not out of control... both yellows (dont want to get to the point its a non contact sport.

What about the 2 arms round Porto in box at corner and hes brought down.. or 2 arms round Rocky at corner and goal keeper gets free kick...or Hendo obstructed on run towards goal and SJ player fall over and gets free kick.... VAR wont eradicate poor officiating but it might help with some clear and obvious ones

He was happy enough at getting every other decision under the sun today including those mentioned.

Get it right up him. The play acting from St Johnstone players was absolutely diabolical, I do not understand why you’d be employed in football and go out to play as little football as possible genuinely baffles me.

30-07-2022, 05:16 PM
Opinions huh.

Cabraja slides in late but he’s not off the ground or anything overly dangerous. A solid yellow card all day long I’d say.

Not dangerous in the slightest, an absolute textbook yellow.

30-07-2022, 05:16 PM
After being poor at Falkirk I think Newell has given himself a shake and has actually been very good in every game since (I know many would take issue with him being good against Morton but I thought he was).

His problem has never been how good he can be but how consistent he can be but that’s a few games in a row that he’s stood up well. And not just in games we were dominating, helping drag us through tough games too.

JamesHFC
30-07-2022, 05:21 PM
Thought we looked good when we played 3-5-2 in the 2nd half against Norwich and thought the same when we switched it up today.

ZitellZeTime
30-07-2022, 05:22 PM
I was having a giraffe, why the need to be personal with the name calling ?

Sorry for the name calling man, that is my bad. Just us winning is about the only good thing thats happened today, I made that comment then came back on to about 4 comments taking the piss for it and said that and i shouldn't have.

We might disagree but apologies your no a ****ing rocket am the one acting like one, should've edited it once I saw it

Dmas
30-07-2022, 05:23 PM
After being poor at Falkirk I think Newell has given himself a shake and has actually been very good in every game since (I know many would take issue with him being good against Morton but I thought he was).

His problem has never been how good he can be but how consistent he can be but that’s a few games in a row that he’s stood up well. And not just in games we were dominating, helping drag us through tough games too.

Newell was good today I don’t think it’s any coincidence his better performances come when he’s not playing alongside JDH far too similar players occupying the same spaces was much better knowing Kenneh was sitting covering for him to move forward

ZitellZeTime
30-07-2022, 05:24 PM
He’s not our highest earning midfielder.

I thought I read with his contract he got he's our highest earning central midfielder, is Kenneh getting more? im surprised but suppose he's came with a good pedigree but no first team football at all.

Campbell and JDH both earn less.

Stuarty1875
30-07-2022, 05:26 PM
Great to start off with a win