View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Morton
Torto7
20-07-2022, 09:42 PM
I din't think it was that bad and don't understand the hysteria tbh. We lacked a cutting edge but in general our play wasn't awful. There's a new manager and a lot of new players it will take a wee while to see what we're about.
Pros: Marshall's composure, Henderson, Bojang/Tavares good movement energy, Rocky.
Cons: Lack of a cutting edge particularly poor crossing. Switching off and losing possession in dangerous areas. Melkerson was poor I thought along with Miller and Kennneh.
thebausburst
20-07-2022, 09:43 PM
Whatever. They will be good players for that lot and we turn our noses up at them, preferring a midfielder who has never played a senior game and some guy from the Gambian leagues or wherever.
Our recruitment is pathetic.
This ☝️Recruitment has been dreadful.
20-07-2022, 09:43 PM
I din't think it was that bad and don't understand the hysteria tbh. We lacked a cutting edge but in general our play wasn't awful. There's a new manager and a lot of new players it will take a wee while to see what we're about.
Pros: Marshall's composure, Henderson, Bojang/Tavares good movement energy, Rocky.
Cons: Lack of a cutting edge particularly poor crossing. Switching off and losing possession in dangerous areas. Melkerson was poor I thought along with Miller and Kennneh.
First half comes under “awful” for me
Second half slightly better but nowhere near good enough
JamesHFC
20-07-2022, 09:45 PM
It’s such a great feeling to feel comfortable when your goalkeeper has the ball at his feet. It’s been a long time.
Thought McGeady had a poor first half, improved second half, can’t believe nobody attempted to get on the end of that wicked ball he put in towards the end of the game.
j'adorehibs
20-07-2022, 09:46 PM
I don’t think we have changed to a 442. Looks like it’s Melkersen and Mcgeady either side of Doidge
thats a 442 as doidge is missing
20-07-2022, 09:47 PM
A 432 then
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-07-2022, 09:47 PM
There’s a change eh
j'adorehibs
20-07-2022, 09:48 PM
Miller in particular looks completely lost ...maybe needs dev games
Scotty Leither
It’s such a great feeling to feel comfortable when your goalkeeper has the ball at his feet. It’s been a long time.
Thought McGeady had a poor first half, improved second half, can’t believe nobody attempted to get on the end of that wicked ball he put in towards the end of the game.
Same here, but then players that instinctively follow the ball in and get across the goalkeeper are generally experienced and cost money, which renders them out of Hibs' reach in Ian Gordon's dossier on recruitment.
Glad I am on the other side of the Atlantic.
It’s crap we know this but two questions:-
1. Could we be overreacting given it’s mid July and pre season and we don’t have several players available/ up to speed?
2. Are we definitely out of the cup even if Falkirk win last game?
First question is a no, because it’s not pre season. Season started on the 9th of July.
Second question, we’ll only get through if we miraculously win the group.
DIXIHIBS
20-07-2022, 09:50 PM
First question is a no, because it’s not pre season. Season started on the 9th of July.
If Falkirk lose their last game we go through?
How can there be positives from a draw against Morton at home? Every one of our players should at the very least have looked bright or had some good touches against a first division team. That should be a given. A positive would be a hat trick, a player coming back from injury looking strong. A couple of players here and there achieving what they should against a lower league team, doing what they are paid for, is not a positive.
j'adorehibs
Wow. So much overreaction on here. It’s still essentially a competitive game in pre season. Players not fully fit and having to play 3 games in 6 days plus loads of others missing with permit issues or through injury. We have also not finished improving the squad and have around £3m to invest. Add to that it’s a new coaching team and players bedding in. Chill out. Christ.
and morton are half way through their season, no new signings , all fully fit and playing 1 game every other week
coldingham hibs
Come on Torto, you can’t be serious. That performance was pitiful, only Henderson & Marshall were anywhere near passable.
20-07-2022, 09:51 PM
Yes. As group winners
Aye, we’re currently top of the group. Don’t know what all the fuss is about really.
tonyrougier123
McGeady is and was never the answer for hibs.
Will offer very little as things stand,and adds to the imbalances in the team.
Sporadic neat play against part timers,won’t have anywhere near as much ball time in league games.
j'adorehibs
20-07-2022, 09:52 PM
A 432 then
ha yea you know what i meant a team of 10 (or less)
20-07-2022, 09:54 PM
As much as I don’t think the last couple of poor performances have been down to Johnson and more so the players.
I really struggle with subbing Miller for Campbell? Nothing about that made sense to me.
20-07-2022, 09:55 PM
Strangely enough we would win the group if Clyde beat Falkirk (unlikely). The group should have been won at a canter anyway. Embarrassing stuff if we're knocked out at this stage. God knows what Hertz and Huns will do to us next month if this bunch of losers can't beat Falkirk or Morton.
NC1875
20-07-2022, 09:55 PM
Spoke to one of McGeadys good mates in Tenerife last week.
Said Maloney was emptied as he was looking to bring in experienced heads, mulgrew and McGeady were 2 mentioned.
But had a fall out with the recruitment team over there insistence on signing young players.
Didn’t feel a need to drag up the past but after that tonight…..
We are an absolute shambles
20-07-2022, 09:56 PM
As much as I don’t think the last couple of poor performances have been down to Johnson and more so the players.
I really struggle with subbing Miller for Campbell? Nothing about that made sense to me.
It clearly did…..miller was struggling ( he’s quite a bit off being first team ready imo) and Cadden did better down that side. Campbell tbf did ok too.
JamesHFC
20-07-2022, 09:56 PM
Sporadic neat play against part timers,won’t have anywhere near as much ball time in league games.
I disagree. He’s exactly the type of player we need imo. We usually dominate possession in games so I’m sure he will have plenty of ball time.
20-07-2022, 09:57 PM
Said Maloney was emptied as he was looking to bring in experienced heads, mulgrew and McGeady were 2 mentioned.
But had a fall out with the recruitment team over there insistence on signing young players.
That doesn’t really stack up considering we signed McGeady and Marshall under LJ. Maloney was emptied for being a horrific football manager.
Torto7
Come on Torto, you can’t be serious. That performance was pitiful, only Henderson & Marshall were anywhere near passable.
What I saw was a new manager with a lot of new players who's put in a basic shape but they've done little in the way of polishing it. I'm not a happy clapper but it's way too early to lose the plot. If we're this bad come the tenth game or so then I'll get the pitchfork oot but not yet.
JamesHFC
Maloney would have been all over Fletcher too.
DIXIHIBS
20-07-2022, 09:58 PM
Miller had a very poor game....why campbell replaced him though im not sure. Cadden was doing nothing on the left either.
SideBurns
20-07-2022, 09:58 PM
Don’t really know what to say. Absolute shambles to probably be finishing 3rd in that group. The board have backed the manager with almost a dozen new signings so they have done their bit in that respect. I understand it takes time for that many players to settle into a new country, culture, team etc but failing to beat Falkirk and Morton is worrying.
Hanlon, Stevenson, Mitchell, Cabraja, JDH, Youan, Magennis and Nisbet still to come in too.
I still think we be fine and will kick on to have a good season but these players need a kick up the arse pronto.
The two best defenders at the club (with the caveat that we haven't seen Cabraja yet) are Hanlon and Lewis, imo. We've been unable to find better. Paul McGinn would be the 3rd best, if not deemed surplus to requirements. In fact, he'd be one of our main goalscoring threats too.
I'm looking forward to getting PH & LS back in the team before any of the others you mention.
WestStandMoaner
20-07-2022, 10:00 PM
Don’t really know what to say. Absolute shambles to probably be finishing 3rd in that group. The board have backed the manager with almost a dozen new signings so they have done their bit in that respect. I understand it takes time for that many players to settle into a new country, culture, team etc but failing to beat Falkirk and Morton is worrying.
Hanlon, Stevenson, Mitchell, Cabraja, JDH, Youan, Magennis and Nisbet still to come in too.
I still think we be fine and will kick on to have a good season but these players need a kick up the arse pronto.
Your having a laugh. The board have backed the manager with a dozen new signings. You mean LJ has been forced to accept these players. How many of these players would LJ have signed if he was still at Sunderland or Bristol I will tell you, none. The Gordon’s are dictating the signings not the manager that is plain to see
20-07-2022, 10:01 PM
I like McGeady and think he might well be part of the answer for Hibs.
There hasn’t been any end product from him yet but I think at least there promises to be.
Doidge has been abysmal. Melkerson has been very quiet. I thought Tavares was atrocious tonight. Bojang looks nowhere near ready to be playing senior football to me.
McGeady should probably play a bit part role. Doidge should be punted. Tavares, Melkerson and Bojang look like development players who may be good in a year or 2.
It’s frightening how many players I think we’re still short of - and that’s before we get into the centre of midfield and the defence.
JamesHFC
20-07-2022, 10:02 PM
Your having a laugh. The board have backed the manager with a dozen new signings. You mean LJ has been forced to accept these players. How many of these players would LJ have signed if he was still at Sunderland or Bristol I will tell you, none. The Gordon’s are dictating the signings not the manager that is plain to see
😂 he literally came out and said he’s been tracking Tavares since his Bristol City days.
Dalkeith Boy
20-07-2022, 10:03 PM
Based on today's game, here's what I saw...
Marshall...good, like how he does not dilly dally prior to distributing the ball.
Miller..not impressed
Rocky..did ok
Porteous..ok, but don't like how he barks and waves at his teammates
Cadden..good , steady, reliable
Kenneh..not impressed
Newall...ok-ish, but should be better.
Henderson involved in lots of plays...improving with every game, but seems to have trouble giving the ball a good smack
Melkerson, can see he tries hard but not great today
Doidge...cannot remember him touching the ball....or even seeing him off the ball
McGeady...disappointing so far, also struggles to give the ball a good smack when shooting
Campbell...did ok without putting a stamp on the game
Taveres...not impressed
Bojang...missing in action just like Doidge
I know it's early days but from what I have seen the new boys are gonna take some time to get going.
20-07-2022, 10:08 PM
We were terrible at both RB and LB first half.
That change at least got Cadden into his best position so we were much improved down the right second half.
I actually thought Campbell did fine at LB. For a guy who is already under pressure if felt like he was being hung out to dry a bit.
I know inverted wing backs is a thing but I thought having both our LBs cut back onto their right side every time took away from our attacking play.
That was dismal; a staggering lack of quality all over the pitch. Wish I had stayed at home and watched the women’s Euros instead.
HendoDelivered
20-07-2022, 10:15 PM
😂 he literally came out and said he’s been tracking Tavares since his Bristol City days.
And that he’s tried to sign Marshall before too 🤣
20-07-2022, 10:16 PM
He should find another hobby then. Tavares was awful. He will be lost in the likes of Parkhead, Ibrox and Tynecastle. Barisic and Kingsley will batter him.
20-07-2022, 10:17 PM
Highlight of the game was Skippy the Morton physio what a cheer lol
20-07-2022, 10:17 PM
The treble is still on ...
20-07-2022, 10:20 PM
The only two positives are Marshall and Henderson, so far.
Marshall is a clear upgrade. It doesn’t reflect terribly well on the rest of them that he played the best pass of the night, right along the deck, took out half the Morton team. The bloody goalie FFS.
20-07-2022, 10:23 PM
Very early days but between us an St.Johnston for the drop. We are rank bought crap from a crap level. But FFS I hope I’m wrong.
20-07-2022, 10:23 PM
Different season, same ****. That was worryingly poor. Very early days, but a huge improvement is needed.
20-07-2022, 10:32 PM
The only two positives are Marshall and Henderson, so far.
Marshall is a clear upgrade. It doesn’t reflect terribly well on the rest of them that he played the best pass of the night, right along the deck, took out half the Morton team. The bloody goalie FFS.
With the exception of Henderson I thought Marshall was our best outfield player tonight.
20-07-2022, 10:35 PM
With the exception of Henderson I thought Marshall was our best outfield player tonight.
He’s more comfortable with the ball at his feet then half our outfield players.
20-07-2022, 10:36 PM
I agree. If the players actually playing outfield showed half the urgency he did, we’d be looking a hell of a lot better.
20-07-2022, 10:37 PM
I reckon what’s made tonight even worse is that we were told by our manager and a few players that the Falkirk game was just a blip.
We all believed it and they’ve gave us an almost similar performance only a week later.
20-07-2022, 10:43 PM
Ultimately, this team would unlikely have went any further anyway.
20-07-2022, 10:44 PM
It's already looking like the whole season is hinging on Youan and Cabraja being very good and finding at least one very good centre-half pronto.
franck sauzee
20-07-2022, 10:48 PM
Yes. As group winners
Everyone realises we're out yeah?
20-07-2022, 10:48 PM
Ultimately, this team would unlikely have went any further anyway.
Playing like that, no chance of progressing. We need to improve very quickly, otherwise we could be in big trouble.
20-07-2022, 10:49 PM
It's already looking like the whole season is hinging on Youan and Cabraja being very good and finding at least one very good centre-half pronto.
Pronto? Where do they play? Is it in a Lagos 4th division northern conference championship play off league final?
20-07-2022, 10:51 PM
...quite simply because that's what he's been told to say.
By who, and also doesn’t say much about himself if he is trotting out stuff like that.
Mikey_1875
20-07-2022, 10:51 PM
I just don’t see how this is all going to come together for next weekend with only a friendly vs Norwich left to cut our teeth.
Looking at the players in the squad i’m not sure why i’m surprised.
20-07-2022, 10:53 PM
Everyone realises we're out yeah?
It's not guaranteed yet, albeit it is highly likely.
If Clyde beat Falkirk inside 90 minutes then we'll qualify as group winners (as long as Bonnyrigg don't beat Morton 9-0).
20-07-2022, 10:57 PM
It's not guaranteed yet, albeit it is highly likely.
If Clyde beat Falkirk inside 90 minutes then we'll qualify as group winners (as long as Bonnyrigg don't beat Morton 9-0).
Clyde, Falkirk, Morton, Bonnyrigg....:bitchy:
Scotty Leither
20-07-2022, 10:59 PM
By who, and also doesn’t say much about himself if he is trotting out stuff like that.
Who do you think? I'll give you a clue, it's the same guy who said our January transfer window was a "good" one, and whose writ runs through the whole club, because he owns it.
Apparently the Hibs TV guy was the same tonight, his commentary was described by some as like North Korean-style propaganda.
Like I said, it's Gordon's way or the highway, and that includes us poor saps, the fans.
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 11:26 PM
Who do you think? I'll give you a clue, it's the same guy who said our January transfer window was a "good" one, and whose writ runs through the whole club, because he owns it.
Apparently the Hibs TV guy was the same tonight, his commentary was described by some as like North Korean-style propaganda.
Like I said, it's Gordon's way or the highway, and that includes us poor saps, the fans.
To be fair, the Hibs tv guy was the most enjoyable part for his ludicrous comments.
‘Ripping Morton apart’ (can’t remember the exact wording) whilst we were doing absolutely nothing to cause any sort of danger to Morton was simply outstanding levels of ****housery.
20-07-2022, 11:29 PM
To be fair, the Hibs tv guy was the most enjoyable part for his ludicrous comments.
‘Ripping Morton apart’ (can’t remember the exact wording) whilst we were doing absolutely nothing to cause any sort of danger to Morton was simply outstanding levels of ****housery.
He also mentioned near the end of the game about the 5k hibs fans “enjoying football in the sun”. He used the word enjoying, whilst we were being held at 1-1 against Morton.
Turkish Green
21-07-2022, 12:32 AM
This ☝️Recruitment has been dreadful.
Never mind the quality, feel the width.
Was it not just a couple of weeks since we were drooling over all the newbies. Thankfully LJ classifies this as pre-season. I worry that our marquee signing has reached a club too far.
It will come good.
xqnq1875
21-07-2022, 12:50 AM
Joe newell utter garbage once again, if it’s not a league 2 side he’ll hide all game like the coward he is, he’s not been good enough for ages now and should have been moved on this summer, an absolute loser of a player
21-07-2022, 01:07 AM
https://youtu.be/NjXcJsx2TJs
He tends to say the right things but it'll get old fast if things don't improve. This team is nowhere near ready and I doubtful of the quality regardless.
xqnq1875
21-07-2022, 01:12 AM
https://youtu.be/NjXcJsx2TJs
He tends to say the right things but it'll get old fast if things don't improve. This team is nowhere near ready and I doubtful of the quality regardless.
This is what Sunderland fans said about him as well, says the right things and all that etc etc in no way do I want Johnson out at all, I think if the board actually *****ing backed him and reinvested the money in to the team instead of spending it all on a new hospitality lounge and other silly things he’d be able to get us playing some good football and not have to use the same duds from last season
21-07-2022, 01:36 AM
Twice referred to the FF stand 'not being open just now' but that once the league started he was .... wait for it, wait for it ..... looking forward to it being packed again like it usually is ..... has the guy ever actually watched a whole season at Easter Road :faf:
mcfly
21-07-2022, 07:22 AM
Biggest problem in the 2 games I’ve seen is the midfield again.
Anyone who thinks Newall/Campbell etc are the answer then they’re deluded.
This is a bottom 6 side we have assembled.
The CEO is anonymous and the recruitment is just dreadful.
Sorry but the Gordon’s need to change their signing model of cheapskate speculative signings hoping that one can be sold for millions. We need some real quality. Going out league cup at this stage is a disgrace
We are going to struggle big time with this lot. Confidence already shot to bits. And a manager that doesn’t inspire at all.
21-07-2022, 07:26 AM
Twice referred to the FF stand 'not being open just now' but that once the league started he was .... wait for it, wait for it ..... looking forward to it being packed again like it usually is ..... has the guy ever actually watched a whole season at Easter Road :faf:
Hahahahaha
21-07-2022, 07:32 AM
Couldn’t listen to all the interview
Again
Not passionate enough already
You’ve just been papped out the league cup pretty much, show some desire even if it’s put on
21-07-2022, 10:00 AM
Who was the Irish commentator on Hibs TV last night? I think he must’ve been told to keep things positive and not actually report on the game.
21-07-2022, 10:05 AM
Who was the Irish commentator on Hibs TV last night? I think he must’ve been told to keep things positive and not actually report on the game.
Dave (not sure if hes a football fan.......), who deputises for Cliff Pike (a hibs fan and someone who can tell who players are).
Dave is clueless, I watched last night as I couldnt go and - as the players came back on 2nd half - he said "no substitutions............oh no I think there has been one, no two, let me see who they are"
This after they had been mentioned already on Hibs.net.
Also didnt spot that Cadden had moved to RB......................god give me strength
Feel sorry for people abroad who have to listen to this every match.
21-07-2022, 11:12 AM
Dave (not sure if hes a football fan.......), who deputises for Cliff Pike (a hibs fan and someone who can tell who players are).
Dave is clueless, I watched last night as I couldnt go and - as the players came back on 2nd half - he said "no substitutions............oh no I think there has been one, no two, let me see who they are"
This after they had been mentioned already on Hibs.net.
Also didnt spot that Cadden had moved to RB......................god give me strength
Feel sorry for people abroad who have to listen to this every match.
It used to be that the team doing Hibs TV commentary were volunteers, I assume that is still the case and - as such - I don't think we should be too critical of them.
As a long-term subscriber/member of Hibs TV I know its match commentator team has its ups and downs in terms of "quality" and accuracy, but generally the "guys" do a decent job IMO. I wouldn't want to do it myself ...
"Dave" had a poorish game, but it is early season yet, I'm sure he'll come good: not so sure about the team he was commenting on though :wink:
the_ginger_hibee
21-07-2022, 11:29 AM
It used to be that the team doing Hibs TV commentary were volunteers, I assume that is still the case and - as such - I don't think we should be too critical of them.
As a long-term member of Hibs TV I know its match commentator team has its ups and downs in terms of "quality" and accuracy, but generally the "guys" do a decent job IMO. I wouldn't want to do it myself ...
"Dave" had a poorish game, but it is early season yet, I'm sure he'll come good: not so sure about the team he was commenting on though :wink:
Fair. Do you know if there any truth that HibsTV team have received direct instruction to not be negative/always be positive?
21-07-2022, 11:45 AM
Fair. Do you know if there any truth that HibsTV team have received direct instruction to not be negative/always be positive?
I don't know the answer to that I'm afraid - I've always thought they were extremely biased in favour of Hibs ... not sure that was an instruction on anyone's part :greengrin
21-07-2022, 11:52 AM
As a long-term member of Hibs TV I know its match commentator team has its ups and downs in terms of "quality" and accuracy, but generally the "guys" do a decent job IMO. I wouldn't want to do it myself ...
This thing where people think we should accept anything because people are "volunteers" is crazy.
The club should not be allowing anyone so clearly clueless anywhere near the gig. When your own fans are talking about turning the sound down on a club broadcast there is a problem. Doesn't matter a jot whether you, me or anyone else on this thread couldn't do better - we're a biggish football club who shouldn't be coming across as cheap and unprofessional.
To me that commentary added insult to injury last night - if you read a transcript of it it would barely be believable. I can almost handle the lack of knowledge, it's the constant wittering on, laughing at his own daft comments and failure to realise the mood of the viewers that is so utterly appalling. He'll not "come good", I can guarantee it.
21-07-2022, 11:59 AM
This thing where people think we should accept anything because people are "volunteers" is crazy.
The club should not be allowing anyone so clearly clueless anywhere near the gig. When your own fans are talking about turning the sound down on a club broadcast there is a problem. Doesn't matter a jot whether you, me or anyone else on this thread couldn't do better - we're a biggish football club who shouldn't be coming across as cheap and unprofessional.
To me that commentary added insult to injury last night - if you read a transcript of it it would barely be believable. I can almost handle the lack of knowledge, it's the constant wittering on, laughing at his own daft comments and failure to realise the mood of the viewers that is so utterly appalling. He'll not "come good", I can guarantee it.
I'm not "accepting" anything! I think generally the commentary is OK: it's not "professional", I don't care myself - I don't agree with a lot of what is said, again, I don't care, I don't expect to - the highlight for me used to always be Cliff's half-time pie report!
It's only a few guys commentating on a game I can see for myself as I have the video option, unlike fans back home, I guess ... as to clueless, I think the commentary team is the least of our worries :greengrin
21-07-2022, 11:59 AM
What a ****ing mess the club is.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-greenock-morton
21-07-2022, 12:00 PM
****ing laughable from the club.
JamesHFC
21-07-2022, 12:01 PM
That’s us out then.
GreenGray
21-07-2022, 12:01 PM
Been trying my best to stay positive till now but Jesus Christ what is going on?
21-07-2022, 12:02 PM
Well we can forget Clyde doing us a favour now.
Amateur hour and fast becoming a laughing stock
hibsforeurope
FFS just sums Hibs up right now, a shambles from top to bottom.
🤣🤣🤣
21-07-2022, 12:03 PM
****ing hell😅
21-07-2022, 12:05 PM
Absolute shambles. Between the whole Rocky incident and now this, Kensell’s head really needs to roll (for the avoidance of doubt that’s a figure of speech)
Paulie Walnuts
21-07-2022, 12:08 PM
You’ve got to laugh really.
We are a ****ing joke.
21-07-2022, 12:08 PM
You just know all the other ridiculous permutations are going to go in our favour at the weekend and this will cost us the chance to qualify.
the_ginger_hibee
21-07-2022, 12:10 PM
I don't know the answer to that I'm afraid - I've always thought they were extremely biased in favour of Hibs ... not sure that was an instruction on anyone's part :greengrin
Yes, club TV channels are always, rightly, unbalanced 😁
I'd just heard something, last year, that a direct instruction was given as they weren't being positive enough. Would explain the 'North Korea' level of positivity from the commentary team.
21-07-2022, 12:14 PM
You just know all the other ridiculous permutations are going to go in our favour at the weekend and this will cost us the chance to qualify.
That’s my coupon sorted for the weekend!
Turkish Green
21-07-2022, 03:30 PM
As a long-term subscriber/member of Hibs TV I know its match commentator team has its ups and downs in terms of "quality" and accuracy, but generally the "guys" do a decent job IMO. I wouldn't want to do it myself ...
As I have been unwell through lockdown, I have had to watch/listen through PPV for many clubs games. Some smaller clubs use volunteers, some of which are decent (Livingston), some are not so (Falkirk, who have a couple of infuriating biased bairns) and are unable to remember opposition players names.
The bigger clubs with a larger overseas market (Rangers, Celtic, Hearts, Aberdeen, etc.) have a more professional setup. To compare with our city rivals; the yams use pro commentators and ex-players, plus using a couple of the presenters from VFTT (Borthwick & Fowler) as back-up "back in the studio" and must have upgraded video facilities when the PBS was upgraded.
Surely we have enough international supporters to warrant a better product that is currently on offer. Dave will improve with age.
ErinGoBraghHFC
21-07-2022, 03:38 PM
As I have been unwell through lockdown, I have had to watch/listen through PPV for many clubs games. Some smaller clubs use volunteers, some of which are decent (Livingston), some are not so (Falkirk, who have a couple of infuriating biased bairns) and are unable to remember opposition players names.
The bigger clubs with a larger overseas market (Rangers, Celtic, Hearts, Aberdeen, etc.) have a more professional setup. To compare with our city rivals; the yams use pro commentators and ex-players, plus using a couple of the presenters from VFTT (Borthwick & Fowler) as back-up "back in the studio" and must have upgraded video facilities when the PBS was upgraded.
Surely we have enough international supporters to warrant a better product that is currently on offer. Dave will improve with age.
Hearts and Aberdeen have a larger overseas market? You sure? There’s probably more Hibs fans in Ireland than Hearts fans living abroad in total tbh
Scotty Leither
21-07-2022, 03:39 PM
Can Kensell not conjure up a sponsor for our admin team?
There's got to be a business opportunity in this for Gordon, surely - maybe Paul Chuckle and Syd Little could do a job for us behind the scenes?
21-07-2022, 03:40 PM
Hearts and Aberdeen have a larger overseas market? You sure? There’s probably more Hibs fans in Ireland than Hearts fans living abroad in total tbh
Even now? I honestly know so many Irish folk through various jobs and not one of them or their family supported us. Was a lot of Celtic but mainly Man Utd and Liverpool.
21-07-2022, 07:28 PM
https://www.skysports.com/amp/football/news/11792/10180151/hibernian-0-3-morton-hibs-loss-boosts-rangers-title-hopes
21-07-2022, 07:30 PM
https://www.skysports.com/amp/football/news/11792/10180151/hibernian-0-3-morton-hibs-loss-boosts-rangers-title-hopes
What’s with the 2016 link?
21-07-2022, 07:31 PM
Amazing what a bit of pace can do up top
Also should Bushiri not be suspended for this game? He’s had two bookings already, hope this doesn’t come back and bite us
Mental how I seen this coming and yet Hibs didn’t.
21-07-2022, 07:35 PM
What’s with the 2016 link?
Just trying to be positive, lost 3-0 to Morton and won the Cup😀
HIBS NUTS
22-07-2022, 07:31 AM
Spot on👍🏻
League Cup is finished now, time to move on.
I’m just praying our new centreforward is good.
Otherwise we could be in bother.
Paulie Walnuts
22-07-2022, 07:55 AM
Well that puts an end to the idea that because no fans knew about it that we can’t criticise the club as was suggested on another thread :greengrin
I'm Spartacus
22-07-2022, 11:59 AM
Marshall, Cadden, Bushiri, Porteous, Miller, Kenneh, Newell, Melkersen, Henderson, McGeady, Doidge
Who around us has signed established players? Shankland? He’s no better than Nisbet.
Just a shout that our OP got caught out with this one too! :)
I would agree that Nisbet and Shankland are the same, what's not the same is the service each will receive :( Shakland will score 20+ against Nisbets 6, not through their individual ability but the quality around them.
Sad times, worrying times.
22-07-2022, 10:41 PM
Just a shout that our OP got caught out with this one too! :)
I would agree that Nisbet and Shankland are the same, what's not the same is the service each will receive :( Shakland will score 20+ against Nisbets 6, not through their individual ability but the quality around them.
Sad times, worrying times.
… and the fact he’s likely to play twice as many games as Nisbet this season!
It’s pretty close I agree. I think Shankland is possibly the better striker, but the form Nisbet was in when he first came to us was brilliant. Looking forward to seeing him fit again, albeit still a while to wait.
22-07-2022, 10:44 PM
Even now? I honestly know so many Irish folk through various jobs and not one of them or their family supported us. Was a lot of Celtic but mainly Man Utd and Liverpool.
I’ve never met an Irishman that supports Hibs. That’s not to say they don’t exist but any of them I’ve met or known have barely heard of us.
Hardly a surprise when we’re barely mentioned in our own country’s media, never mind anywhere else 😁