View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Morton
Stupid challenge by josh campbell
20-07-2022, 08:36 PM
Josh Campbell mate..
What a challenge...
Can't believe Bonnyrigg are going to do us a favour and we can't even beat Morton. Doesn't bode well for the season ahead!
CL0762
Josh Campbell mate..
Hopeless.
Yup, this squad isn't good enough.
Do you think the manager is the right man for the job?
Porteous has regressed. Been really poor this pre season.
Agreed. Poor again today for me.
20-07-2022, 08:37 PM
This isn't very encouraging at all.
Earlydelivery
We’re a very poor side that will be battling relegation..:brought in unknown kids while other teams bring in seasoned pros … what a long season this is going to be …
Do you think the manager is the right man for the job?
Yes. Thank god it wasn't someone like Roy Keane.
"Hibs well and truly still in this one".
92nd minute. Hibs commentator.
20-07-2022, 08:38 PM
Agreed. Poor again today for me.
If he won’t sign a new deal. I would sell him now.
Hibee Daft
Joe newell so much time to look up with the cut back... but doesnt
Really not a fan of him, struggles to tacckle without giving away fouls / getting carded
Wow. So much overreaction on here. It’s still essentially a competitive game in pre season. Players not fully fit and having to play 3 games in 6 days plus loads of others missing with permit issues or through injury. We have also not finished improving the squad and have around £3m to invest. Add to that it’s a new coaching team and players bedding in. Chill out. Christ.
All of which applies to Falkirk and Morton.. it’s a level playing field.
He is a moron.
How far have we regressed over the past 2 seasons. A bag of inexperienced youngsters, shocking tactics and team selections, it’s not looking good.
20-07-2022, 08:39 PM
https://www.airads.uk/
Paulie Walnuts
Yup. A truly terrible excuse.
He needs punted.
Embarrassing crud.
Hopeless. Team is full of diddy's.
bringbackbenny
20-07-2022, 08:40 PM
He is a moron.
worse - he's incoherent and patronizing the viewers.
TheHibernator
I feel for Johnson.
Our players just aren’t good enough.
We need so much proven quality
I feel for ewan Henderson, his teammates are hopeless
has the broken big screen been fixed btw ? could do with some good news, we need it for adverts
NC1875
Joe Newell back to his old self. Imposter
Which is why it's no surprise unpredictable results are thrown up.
e2los
Brutal
I muted him a while back. One “wonderful pass” too many. :rolleyes:
20-07-2022, 08:41 PM
Embarrassing
booing at the end
At least the transfer window is still open so we have the chance to improve
He is a moron.
🤣🤣🤣. Shocking that.
https://www.airads.uk/
What do we write on it though.
We absolutely honk.
🙈
The Captain....
Manager needs backed with quality, stop these gamble/punts and inexperienced youngsters who aren't ready.
The performances against Falkirk and Morton are completely unacceptable. There has to be consequences for us going out the LC at this stage it is ****ing abysmal.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
Boooo
Lose against L1 & draw against Championship. Simply not good enough, regardless of how early in the season
itslegaltender
A Shocker. Again.
tonyrougier123
How far have we regressed over the past 2 seasons. A bag of inexperienced youngsters, shocking tactics and team selections, it’s not looking good.
It really is a baffling decline in quality.
20-07-2022, 08:42 PM
[QUOTE=Real Emerald;7031192]How far have we regressed over the past 2 seasons. A bag of inexperienced youngsters, shocking tactics and team selections, it’s not looking
It’s starting to look like it’s all going Pear Shaped for start of the Season
If we get off to a bad start it’s going to be a long hard season
berwickhibee
Horrendous again.
New signings yet again look poor.
Brutal.
Paulie Walnuts
Absolutely abysmal.
Bottom 6 season ahead. We are poor.
Christ, there’s a lot of weight on the shoulders of the players who haven’t played yet.
And hopefully the ones soon to sign.
Can’t think of any department there aren’t question marks over.
Maybe Marshall, he’ll surely be decent.
Can we sign some proper players and get rid of the deadwood that is still getting played.
Work permits or not… it’s simply good enough.
Billy McKirdy
Listening to this, I had no idea we had equalised, clueless commentator
20-07-2022, 08:43 PM
Falkirk get the bonus point.
Roy Keane would’ve been worse
Surprise, surprise. New signings with limited or no first team experience look like players with limited or no first team experience.:rolleyes:
At least the transfer window is still open so we have the chance to improve
They seem to have either no clue or no willingness to bring in Hibs/Premiership quality. Scattergun recruitment of unknowns, it’s hardly ever worked.
Paulie Walnuts
Bottom 6 season ahead. We are poor.
Optimistic. This team are in a relegation battle without 2 or 3 very good signings.
20-07-2022, 08:44 PM
Sorry, when was he not? You surely can’t count an average performance against Bonnyrigg?
So long as he is in that team, they will be garbage.
supermcginn
Absolute garbage. Out 1 of the two cups we can win before the league has even begun.
Jesus wept
A depressing and terrible squad. Will be fighting relegation this season. Josh Campbell left back, what is he thinking.
NC1875
Ian Gordon playing real life football manager with daddy’s money and this is what you get.
Berwickhibby
Hibs find another pish performance to disappoint the fans
That was a dreadful 90 minutes. So, so slow and so many basics wrong. Porteous again making poor decisions and getting booked for a foul caused by him switching off again. Hope the boys with work permits are world beaters as it doesn't look great.
Over 6 million received in 6 months
Get it invested in proven and quality players
Spending hundreds of thousands on 20 year olds with potential just won’t cut it
Lendo
Thank **** McGeady’s contract is only one year.
Remember the bad old days when Morton tipped up and beat us 3-0 at ER. Tonight’s a positive result for us :wink:
I suspect we’ll be onto another manager by Christmas. This team are strong relegation candidates
Two of three times LJ has said in interviews that Bojang likes to run in behind, He made at least 5 runs of that type and not once did anyone even try to make the pass when it was on.
Is that us out?
TheHibernator
Boys not got a scoobie. Waffle
20-07-2022, 08:45 PM
He’s one player that almost gets pass marks for me today.
Yes. Thank god it wasn't someone like Roy Keane.
Yeah, we know you do!
Asking dip ‘cause he agrees with me that the squad isn’t good enough but had a dig at me ‘cause I don’t think LJ is the right man for us.
I’m not looking for a fight. Just asking for his thoughts.
What do we write on it though.
Get tae **** the lot of ye
Paulie Walnuts
At this point in time I don’t think there’s many managers in the world who would have had a worse League Cup campaign.
This is an absolute shocker.
Ian Gordon needs punted.
Pointless penalty shoot out. We’re oot the cup. Bring on Celtic, Rangers, Hearts ……. We’ll show’em.:greengrin
You just have to laugh.
Lendo
I had to mute it. It was actually more brutal listening to them than watching the game.
I know he shouldn’t be at this moment but Lee Johnson’s body language in general just isn’t one of being happy, confident or inspiring…after tonight, I’m worried
Henderson penalty saved
hhibs
20-07-2022, 08:46 PM
Hopeless ,a very long season ahead, a repeat of last one.
Midfield is sh ite and LJ they will cost you.
Newall is never ever going to be the answer no matter the question.
That was a dreadful 90 minutes. So, so slow and so many basics wrong. Porteous again making poor decisions and getting booked for a foul caused by him switching off again. Hope the boys with work permits are world beaters as it doesn't look great.
Can you reword the post to blame Porto on Ron or Ian Gordon please? 🤣
Remember when we slaughtered the manager for losing semi finals and finals , this is much better eh. :rolleyes:
Oranje39
Pretty poor performance, massive improvement needed if we are to avoid the bottom six.
The commentary on HibsTv is abysmal too. Worst £10 I've spent in long time!!
I doubt that, Keane would have brought in decent players with a good mentality.
And got rid of the pish from last season.
Is that us out?
Almost certainly yes but believe it or not we can still win the group.
The famous five is usually ‘full buzzing and thriving’ 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
CL0762
Said it weeks ago and got shot down, **** all will change while we’ve got Ian playing real life FM with daddy’s money. Piss take
Marshall keeps us in it
cameronw-hfc
Nice to see it's only wrong to insult players when the CEO speaks out about it. Few weeks ago we were all in agreement that the insults at our own players weren't called for, but right back to it.
He's not had his best game, but so have most of them. There's a proper hatred for newell from some of our fans.
First two penalties abysmal.
OldEast
Why is Youan warming up at half time?
[emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Careful 😏
20-07-2022, 08:47 PM
Mcgeady misses another penalty freakin punt him ffs
Marshall saves now too
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
A depressing and terrible squad. Will be fighting relegation this season. Josh Campbell left back, what is he thinking.
What he was thinking was surely “what else have I got”?
We got Cadden to the right side and improved at least one bit of the side that had been terrible first half.
And FWIW Campbell did ok.
Almost certainly yes but believe it or not we can still win the group.
More chance of Man U winnng the league this season than us going through.
Keep McGeady off Pens, at least we have learned something from the league cup!
First two penalties abysmal.
Make that three.
Jesus wept.
The desire to paint dross in a positive light by the commentary team is cringeworthy. A bit insulting for those fans with eyes.
Is that the best we can say about LJ? :greengrin
hhibs
McGeady.tit
itslegaltender
20-07-2022, 08:48 PM
same fricking technique by McGeady like he did at Bonnyrigg.
tonyrougier123
He’s one player that almost gets pass marks for me today.
No chance. Awful. Big hype, we should be doing much better than a 36 year old on his way out with flashes of a player he once was,are we no bigger than that ffs 🤦*♂️
McGeady 🙄
HendoDelivered
Holy **** man 🤣🤣🤣
one day maybe...
Shambolic
and get shot of porteous as well
absolutely appalling penalties, embarrassing
So why did we buy McGeady? 2 missed penalties.
Morton win the shootout 3-1.
20-07-2022, 08:49 PM
This commentary is hilariously bad.
It's like watching TV in North Korea. Surely no one really believes the fans are buying this bull****.
Paulie Walnuts
Get Ryan Porteous in the bin.
This is kinda funny 🤣
This is ****ing outrageous
Professional footballers... **** me.
McGeady getting a contract cos he was Johnson's pal at Sunderland, he’s absolutely ganting
Even the penalties are ****ing embarrassing ffs.
Are we out?
itslegaltender
Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuckin boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
some said he will rip up the league
or something like that
Green-Hibee-7
Absolute embarrassment from that lot tonight.
Horrendous.
This team will get walked over every week.
Pffffffft
**** off Hibs. Utter *****.
Are we out?
We will be now
20-07-2022, 08:50 PM
Dare anyone to try and defend that.
****ing boooooooo.
Oh boy. See you guys in a month. Meltdown Inc
Absolutely brutal, worrying times man
We’re a complete and utter ****ing laughing stock by the way.
The manager the players and the board all deserved to be boo’d out of Easter road after that shambles.
Get the ****ing Doig money spent now.
Paulie Walnuts
Are we out?
Clyde beating Falkirk is our only hope.
Time to sell Porto. Not half as good as he thinks he is.
20-07-2022, 08:51 PM
But we beat burton and Carlisle 👌🏻
Lee Johnson has a huge job to do.
Ray Donovan
Dreadful. Porteous penalty summed up this league cup campaign.
Pressure on and positivity for the new season gone.
OtleyHibs
These penalties sum us up.
Can't believe we have failed to qualify from this group, ridiculous
Nowhere near good enough
****in shocking, dont know where to start wi this mince, I am out of here, and I think a few of the players as well, perhaps even the manager.
and get shot of porteous as well
absolutely appalling penalties, embarrassing
I’ll drive him wherever he wants to go. He looks completely disinterested.
That is embarassing.
Say what you want about managers, tactics etc
The players just aren’t good enough
away days are well and truly back at ER for fans of other Scottish sides
Hibs are rubbish.
NC1875
Nice to see it's only wrong to insult players when the CEO speaks out about it. Few weeks ago we were all in agreement that the insults at our own players weren't called for, but right back to it.
He's not had his best game, but so have most of them. There's a proper hatred for newell from some of our fans.
You keep telling us he’s a good player. Glad you’re happy with the ***** served up every week with Newell a massive part of it.
****ing spend some of the millions for ****'S SAKE
But we beat burton and Carlisle 👌🏻
We didn’t play Carlisle tbf
[emoji23][emoji23]
20-07-2022, 08:52 PM
Crud
Is that us confirmed out?
Are we out?
Yesssss
That team is relegation material.
Surely no one can defend that tonight.
Absolutely abysmal and a total embarrassment.
That’s 2 games LJ and the players have seriously screwed up.
hibeesjoe
Can't even get out the crappy group stages of the cup and the Hibs TV commentator said we have got Sundays game against Norwich to look forward too [emoji1787]
Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk
ionahibby
20-07-2022, 08:53 PM
I think the best we can hope for is a top 6 finish this season. Anybody that thinks we are top 4 team lives in cloud cuckoo land.
Paulie Walnuts
A manager that has so far looked woefully out his depth
New signings that don’t look anywhere near good enough/downgrades on last season other than Marshall potentially
Players that were already here that haven’t got any better at best and have regressed at worse other than Henderson.
This season is shaping up to be a disaster.
hhibs
Professionals,my arse ,three penalty misses out of four.
Out with barely a wimper ,completely unacceptable
Fuzzywuzzy
I'm away to watch moneyball. See if I can work out what we're trying to do
Loud booing being heard on the radio, Johnson is on a shoogly peg already, this was a cup we should be aiming for, Ron has shown he can be ruthless and he'll not muck around if he thinks this isn't working. Question marks also over Kensall and Gordon Jnr.
Berwickhibby
20-07-2022, 08:54 PM
All the pre season good feeling has been completely sucked out with the absolute pish performances at Falkirk and tonight. All the talk of top six and Europe is just that … I would rather play the development squad than those bunch of imposters tonight …god help us against a good team.
cameronw-hfc
You keep telling us he’s a good player. Glad you’re happy with the ***** served up every week with Newell a massive part of it.
Never said I was happy, just disagree with straight up insulting our own players. Criticise aye, but there's some poor comments about more than just Newell on here and socials.
When Ben said Rocky felt like the fans hate him, everyone agreed it was wrong to abuse players, as soon as we lose it's right back to being the norm.
Penalties are a lottery. Doesn't matter if you're a professional or not. Disappointing to be out but we need a few windows to sort the mess out. That's the reality.
This is kinda funny 🤣
This is ****ing outrageous
Dunno whether to laugh or cry!
Pathetic. Club has been a shambles for far too long now and it’s only getting worse.
20-07-2022, 08:55 PM
The usual will be on still telling us it’s a strong squad 🥱
20-07-2022, 08:55 PM
I didn’t even think he was that bad tonight.
Others were far, far more culpable than Newell.
20-07-2022, 08:56 PM
Johnson deserves time to sort this but he has put himself under huge pressure already. Dreading the derby and sevco game.
Is that us confirmed out?
No if Clyde beat Falkirk in 90 minutes we'll go through as group winners.
Highly unlikely though.
Currie Hibee
Final ball into the box was dreadful. No impetus from midfield and shakey at the back. Only Henderson got pass marks for me. Could be a long season at this rate.
This commentary is hilariously bad.
It's like watching TV in North Korea. Surely no one really believes the fans are buying this bull****.Missus asked me how they can commentate that way when we have effectively been watching the opposite.......
North Korean tv coverage is as good an explanation as any.
Broxburn Greens
****ing spend some of the millions for ****'S SAKE
Absolutely no chance they will. We’lll all just sit here on .net and wring our hands but do nothing to voice our opinion about what is an utterly shambolic league cup campaign in real life so the board will just call it a blip and think nothing is wrong.
Bottom six beckons unless there’s a vast and rapid improvement.
Can't even get out the crappy group stages of the cup and the Hibs TV commentator said we have got Sundays game against Norwich to look forward too [emoji1787]
Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk
All way though pens that's all he talked about haha.
20-07-2022, 08:57 PM
Ultimately, this team would unlikely have went any further anyway.
Ray Donovan
Cant beat Falkirk and Morton. Summer signings are unproven youngsters and experienced pros on the wind down.
Really is indefensible.
Dare anyone to try and defend that.
as already witnessed on this thread a poster showing concerns was ridiculed
by the same posters that ridiculed posters that showed concern in the early days of Maloney, those said posters then ended up slating Maloney as well....Hypocrites
Johnson deserves time to sort this but he has put himself under huge pressure already. Dreading the derby and sevco game.
He’s contributing to it with his signings so far and underestimating Falkirk. Out the cup in July, a very very poor start for him
xqnq1875
What an absolute embarrassment we are, tell you something that 3mil we got from the doig deal get it reinvested asap in a new striker and midfielder and a couple of cb’s, Ship doidge out as well he’s absolutely useless and get newell gone as well can’t hack it when the going gets tough
I genuinely thought the Falkirk game was a blip. Was optimistic about tonight and bought tickets for Perth because I was genuinely excited for the new league season.
This team looks a mess though. The same glaring issue in midfield which is the crux of the matter. I don't care about the litany of excuses. No one want to be playing competitive games now, no one has all their players ready, no one is fully up to speed, no one is ready to play 3 games in a week. The bottom line is we have amassed 7 points from 12 and failed to qualify from a group featuring Clyde, Bonnyrigg, Falkirk and Morton. That is ****ing diabolical by any measure no matter what mitigation is put forward. There are all kinds of red flags about this squad and beyond.
Dreadful, feel good factor gone, if we get gubbed by Hearts LJ will be on a hiding to nothing.
Never said I was happy, just disagree with straight up insulting our own players. Criticise aye, but there's some poor comments about more than just Newell on here and socials.
When Ben said Rocky felt like the fans hate him, everyone agreed it was wrong to abuse players, as soon as we lose it's right back to being the norm.
No ones insulting him though, they're saying he's decidedly pish and again only shows up when he can be arsed, he's just not good enough, that simple.
20-07-2022, 08:58 PM
At the moment I'm going nowhere near the derby!
blaikie
Big Amadou Konte would have put in a better shift up front tonight than that forward line!
Shopping in the bargain basement again for unknown, unproven players will see us fighting in the bottom six this season.
Just thankful we have KN and KM to come back in!
There will be a few regular posters but hopefully they’ll stay quiet tonight!
Time and a place and all that.
Problem I thought was during the last couple of interviews LJ referred to one of the games as a friendly or words to that effect, he needs to adapt to the game quickly so it comes across to the squad.
Not getting out the group we are in though is certainly not helping strained relations between fans and club
thebausburst
What an embarrassment, only Hibs could sign 12 players and 10 look absolute guff.
OsiersHibs
Disgrace! This could be a long season.
Wakeyhibee
That team is relegation material.
I thought that last season because there wasn't a lot between 5th and 12th imo. This season maybe similar looking at this form.
19 shots with 3 on target is not good enough at any level.
Final third can be so poor at times and I just wish we could play some fast flowing football with one or two touch at times.
Very disappointed in the shoot out but not much we can do but move on an dlook to improve
20-07-2022, 08:59 PM
Signings don’t look like an improvement unfortunately, hope I’m wrong but early signs not good
20-07-2022, 08:59 PM
If Hibs cant see that we need some sodding quality in the spine of that team after that **** show and don't spend some of that 6 million quid we have received in transfer fees in the last 6 months trying to get it, then they might as well save it and use it to cover our losses in the Championship next season because that lot will get us relegated. We have played two teams who are simply just organised with journeymen players, nothing more, and lost to both of them.
The fact that we play Hearts in two games time gives me the absolute fear :confused:
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 09:00 PM
Penalties are a lottery. Doesn't matter if you're a professional or not. Disappointing to be out but we need a few windows to sort the mess out. That's the reality.
Pish.
Penalties are far from a lottery. Skill comes into it massively which is unfortunately something we have very little of in any form.
leithsansiro
20-07-2022, 09:00 PM
Loud booing being heard on the radio, Johnson is on a shoogly peg already, this was a cup we should be aiming for, Ron has shown he can be ruthless and he'll not muck around if he thinks this isn't working. Question marks also over Kensall and Gordon Jnr.
It should be ludicrous to suggest that a manager is on a shoogly peg after 4 games and not even having started the league campaign. However, I don’t think that anyone can be in full defence of what we’re seeing.
I totally get while transition process and I understand the aspect about there perhaps being a bigger picture/long term planning, but how on earth can we justify splashing out upwards of 250k on a 16yo when we’ve got so many “first team players” who look either out of their depth, disinterested or just not good enough.
OsiersHibs
20-07-2022, 09:01 PM
Should have signed Fletcher instead of McGeady.
What an absolute embarrassment we are, tell you something that 3mil we got from the doig deal get it reinvested asap in a new striker and midfielder and a couple of cb’s, Ship doidge out as well he’s absolutely useless and get newell gone as well can’t hack it when the going gets tough
it will get reinvested in....
upgraded big TV screens
another few dozen up and coming one for the future development/u18/u23s B, C and D sides
disco lights for those europea...oops, i mean league cup group game nights
All the pre season good feeling has been completely sucked out with the absolute pish performances at Falkirk and tonight. All the talk of top six and Europe is just that … I would rather play the development squad than those bunch of imposters tonight …god help us against a good team.
I don’t think I have ever been less enthusiastic about a new season as this and I’ve been watching the Hibs since the early 60s.
Yes folks, the season hasn’t even started and we are already out one of the only competitions we have a slim chance of winning more or less before it starts.
Our loyalty is being tested to the limit and we certainly don’t deserve this embarrassment and the ridicule that this farce will bring.
ErinGoBraghHFC
Can’t argue with any of that
mcfly
20-07-2022, 09:02 PM
Utterly embarrassing but I’m not surprised
Taken in £5 million and won’t buy any quality.
Usual hibs - letting the fans down again but this is a new low even for us.
Let’s see what Johnson is made of now
Lendo
McGeady.tit
Doesn’t work
as already witnessed on this thread a poster showing concerns was ridiculed
by the same posters that ridiculed posters that showed concern in the early days of Maloney, those said posters then ended up slating Maloney as well....Hypocrites
:top marksSame posters saying the same things.
Thing is, they’ve been wrong all along. Most people saw that Maloney was the wrong appointment very early on, as in, as soon as he was appointed!
With LJ, I never felt that the wider Hibs support was enthusiastic about his appointment. More of a, “ach well, he’s here now” kinda vibe.
That’s twice the club have gone out and picked their man without just inviting applications and going through the usual process. I don’t expect or want LJ to be sacked but I don’t see any way back for him already.
I know some will say that’s crazy talk but you just need to read the room. Very view Hibs fans think he is the right man for the job. We’re rarely wrong when it comes to this. I wish the people running the club would listen to us.
Paulie Walnuts
Absolutely no chance they will. We’lll all just sit here on .net and wring our hands but do nothing to voice our opinion about what is an utterly shambolic league cup campaign in real life so the board will just call it a blip and think nothing is wrong.
And we’ll have posters asking “where do you think we got the money for the players we’ve already signed?” As if we wouldn’t have signed anybody had we not made these sales.
We need significant spend before the end of the window on proven quality.
delbert
20-07-2022, 09:03 PM
Pathetic. Club has been a shambles for far too long now and it’s only getting worse.
Well done Lee Johnson, you have managed to make us the laughing stick of Scottish football before the league has even begun, four competitive games and two utter humiliations and be in no doubt, that’s exactly what they are. Cue the usual zombies with their eyes painted on shouting bedwetters and ‘strong squad’ garbage, we are an utter shambles from top to bottom and it’s quite clear where we are going with this squad and that’s the championship, this team are full of third rate zeroes or guys only there to top up their pension, a club led by donkeys, mediocre at all levels, gutless, spineless, clueless, leaderless, hopeless
leithsansiro
20-07-2022, 09:04 PM
The fact that we play Hearts in two games time gives me the absolute fear :confused:
Genuinely fear that we could get an absolute doing from Hearts, which makes me feel vaguely sick.
That said, maybe we’ll see the fire come out when it’s needed?
Mike Berry
20-07-2022, 09:04 PM
Absolutely no question, that was pish. I'm proper angry now.
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
20-07-2022, 09:05 PM
Well done Lee Johnson, you have managed to make us the laughing stick of Scottish football before the league has even begun, four competitive games and two utter humiliations and be in no doubt, that’s exactly what they are. Cue the usual zombies with their eyes painted on shouting bedwetters and ‘strong squad’ garbage, we are an utter shambles from top to bottom and it’s quite clear where we are going with this squad and that’s the championship, this team are full of third rate zeroes or guys only there to top up their pension, a club led by donkeys, mediocre at all levels, gutless, spineless, clueless, leaderless, hopeless
Is that like Ken Dodd with his tickling stick? 😁
20-07-2022, 09:06 PM
No defending that...utterly pathetic and embarrassing - sorely regret renewing my ST just now - my new manager optimism has vanished. I actually thought we were poor on Sunday too and we're lucky Bonnyrigg are gash
Davy Mac
20-07-2022, 09:06 PM
We really no how to piss on our chips dont we, it was crucial we get the fans back on side early and we deliver yet more lily-livered performances.
Only known faces to be signed now or it will cost you your job LJ, but more importantly questions need to be asked about the direction of the club in my opinion.
20-07-2022, 09:07 PM
We have £3m in from Doig and I want to scream 'get the cheque book out Hibs' but in all honesty, I don't trust our recruitment team to use it wisely.
I know we have players to come back, work permits to go through and more players will be signed but we don't look like a team that is 1 or 2 players away from coming together.
We don't look much changed from last season, despite all the managers talk about pressing and attacking football.
Worrying times ahead. I'm not sure how many more transitional seasons this support can take before we lose a chunk of the fans for good.
yerauldda
20-07-2022, 09:07 PM
Henderson and Rocky the only two who were anywhere near good enough.
I’ve been a Joe Newell defender for most of his time at Hibs but he’s just not good enough.
Kenneh, Miller and McGeady all really disappointing. Doidge utterly abysmal. Campbell was fine but he’s extremely limited. Melkerson looks sharp and deployed in the right system will be a real threat this season. Tavares looked raw. Cadden poor by his standards.
The team is crying out for Magennis and Youan better be bloody good. So poor tonight.
20-07-2022, 09:10 PM
We have £3m in from Doig and I want to scream 'get the cheque book out Hibs' but in all honesty, I don't trust our recruitment team to use it wisely.
I know we have players to come back, work permits to go through and more players will be signed but we don't look like a team that is 1 or 2 players away from coming together.
We don't look much changed from last season, despite all the managers talk about pressing and attacking football.
Worrying times ahead. I'm not sure how many more transitional seasons this support can take before we lose a chunk of the fans for good.
Agreed. Wouldn't trust Ian Gordon et al to spend more monry wisely. We are a shambles of a club on a severe downwards trajectory. Ron Gordons tenure to date has been a failure.
20-07-2022, 09:12 PM
Get tae **** the lot of ye
Let’s go for that :thumbsup:
tonyrougier123
You’ll get the usual folk saying we have spent this summer…..nonsense!
We have took a punt on a few cheap options wanting miracle sell on fees,if the club is not performing no one is happy and no one is buying it either.
Lose lose I’m afraid.
Broxburn Greens
And we’ll have posters asking “where do you think we got the money for the players we’ve already signed?” As if we wouldn’t have signed anybody had we not made these sales.
We need significant spend before the end of the window on proven quality.
Agree totally, need proven quality, doesn’t matter if it involves big transfer fees or paying a couple of players significant salaries, simply need strong, quality players… Not players who might be good in 3 years who’ll play for two seasons and go the same way as Doig.
Dreading playing both Hearts and The Rangers at this point.
And Ryan Porteous needs a shake. Ideas above his station and he has been terrible in the 4 games. Newell hides when the going gets tough as usual and needs sold.
Btw I don’t mind the club at all taking some risks with younger players, but there needs to be a balance.
Melkersen
Hauge
Delferriere
Tait
Mackay
Tavares
Youan
Bojang
Kenneh
Henderson
Surely there comes a point where we’re blocking there pathway by recruiting other players of a similar age?
SideBurns
20-07-2022, 09:13 PM
Utterly pathetic. I don't expect us to be brilliant in what is apparently still 'pre-season' (although we're already out of one of the 2 cups we have a chance in). I do expect that we might be able to do better than create one clear chance (the goal) at home to Morton.
I admire anyone still able to remain positive after tonight's performance - wish I had their sunny disposition and misplaced optimism.
Brummie_Hibs
20-07-2022, 09:13 PM
Johnson deserves time to sort this
What exactly has he done to 'deserve' it? Have I missed him donating a kidney to a dying Hibs kid or something? He deserves f*** all.
I'd bin him now, get Strachan in while there are still 10 days to go.
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-07-2022, 09:15 PM
What exactly has he done to 'deserve' it? Have I missed him donating a kidney to a dying Hibs kid or something? He deserves f*** all.
Aw **** up you greeting faced arse, the players are mingin and he’s inherited the vast majority of them. Can hardly judge the guy as a manager when all his signings are waiting on work permits ffs
Strachan??? You are at it 🤣🤣🤣
I don't really know what to say to be honest.
A well drilled team comes to Easter Road and gets a result, it's a script we've all read far too often in the past several years and will probably see throughout the season. Slight change in that this is a championship team, in fact it's the second championship team we've played this season and failed to beat.
LJ has a hell of a job on his hands, the senior players at the club have let the last couple managers down over the past 12 months and all the new guys are basically untested (bar Marshall and McGeady) at this level. Morton didn't win in 90 minutes but had enough chances to and squandered several other opportunities to play into some pretty gaping spaces but a final ball let them down, against better teams we will be punished.
Hibs for all their huffing and puffing we lacked quality all over the park really, but in the final third especially where Doidge continues to look uninterested and Melkersen doesn't look ready. Out of the league cup at the first round of asking is never good enough and hopefully this will convince the board and management to make the personnel changes that are required - move on some players and bring in some quality.
The alarm bells began to ring at Falkirk and just got a bit louder tonight.
Ian Gordon is clueless. It’s all good signing players because they’re young, have good stats in the Luxembourg second division and have a good potential sell on value but that sort of player needs the right team around them to develop.
There’s nothing wrong with safe, sensible signings like Gogic, Paul McGinn and the like if they make for a cohesive unit on the pitch. Instead we have a collective of larger inexperienced, young individuals who are fish out of water with nobody to bind them together and help them realise any potential they may have.
The Gordon’s really have me concerned. Not the manager who I feel sorry for having to walk into this ****show.
Bit gutted that the feel good factor has disappeared. We looked superb in Portugal and blew Clyde away. We needed to carry a bit of momentum in to the league campaign. Hopefully a decent performance against Norwich.
20-07-2022, 09:16 PM
Henderson and Rocky the only two who were anywhere near good enough.
I’ve been a Joe Newell defender for most of his time at Hibs but he’s just not good enough.
Kenneh, Miller and McGeady all really disappointing. Doidge utterly abysmal. Campbell was fine but he’s extremely limited. Melkerson looks sharp and deployed in the right system will be a real threat this season. Tavares looked raw. Cadden poor by his standards.
The team is crying out for Magennis and Youan better be bloody good. So poor tonight.
Rocky the only one tonight who done well.
Scotty Leither
Who around us has signed established players? Shankland? He’s no better than Nisbet.
Try Forrest as well?
Time to sell Porto. Not half as good as he thinks he is.
Who buys him though.
Davy Mac
Has LJ given a post match interview yet, no piss take please and he better not give it I'm all behind my players and all that.
League Cup... meh.
20-07-2022, 09:17 PM
And Ryan Porteous needs a shake. Ideas above his station and he has been terrible in the 4 games. Newell hides when the going gets tough as usual and needs sold.
A shake? He needs a ****ing ultimatum. Shape up or **** off to the reserves until you’re contract runs out.
Rejecting a deal like what’s been reported is a ****ing insult to Hibs and the supporters, most of whom could only dream of a wage packet like that.
20-07-2022, 09:17 PM
I would normally ignore and laugh at this type of post at this stage of the season but it saddens me to admit that I agree with every word.
20-07-2022, 09:18 PM
All our problems stem from our recruitment policy, as far back as the summer window before our Euro game in Croatia.
Jack Ross wasn’t supported then, and it’s only got worse since.
I don’t believe for one second that our managers decide who to sign. Every manager knows their job is short lived. You don’t go into a new club to sign players for a development team that you will never see play or reap the benefit from.
He should of said he needed first team players only. Better than the ones already here or there’s no point. The players he has signed are the exact opposite of what we need. We can all see it, why can’t the club?
We need to let Ben Kensall go now. He’s added nothing to our club. Get a proper CEO in and let them get on with it. If it means Ian Gordon moving into a new role then so be it. Neither of them should be involved in deciding whether LJ stays or goes, or in finding his replacement.
Between them, they have royally screwed up our club.
We can't even blame the ref for this one, we had 19 fouls and 1 booking, they had 11 fouls and 5 bookings????
Its a worry how we think this is a good team 1 minute, then they put out a performance like that!!!!
Try Forrest as well?
Shankland and Forrest are players I'd expect St Johnstone to sign.
20-07-2022, 09:19 PM
We are actually worse than last season. Hearts will murder us.
20-07-2022, 09:20 PM
Ian Gordon needs punted.
Why? Although his title is Head of Recruitment, the club clarified that he isn't actually the Head of Recruitment. Our actual Head of Recruitment is 🤔
inglisavhibs
20-07-2022, 09:22 PM
He’s contributing to it with his signings so far and underestimating Falkirk. Out the cup in July, a very very poor start for him
Something severely wrong with the whole club at the moment and no end is in sight. Even tonight I wasn't really too optimistic about the outcome as it really only takes an organised and motivated team to get the better of us. No easy answers, does the blame lie with the players, the coaching staff, the manager, recruitment (I do think our manager has had final say on most of the newcomers) ? You can blame the manager for not playing the full team against Falkirk, a pretty basic mistake given that the league cup is one of the two realistic trophies we can compete for. The truth is though, even our full team can't seem to get motivated to play every game which is the least we should expect. We seem to be toothless on and off the pitch and it's very worrying to say the least.
20-07-2022, 09:23 PM
Why? Although his title is Head of Recruitment, the club clarified that he isn't actually the Head of Recruitment. Our actual Head of Recruitment is 🤔
How do we even come across players like Bojang
20-07-2022, 09:23 PM
Something severely wrong with the whole club at the moment and no end is in sight. Even tonight I wasn't really too optimistic about the outcome as it really only takes an organised and motivated team to get the better of us. No easy answers, does the blame lie with the players, the coaching staff, the manager, recruitment (I do think our manager has had final say on most of the newcomers) ? You can blame the manager for not playing the full team against Falkirk, a pretty basic mistake given that the league cup is one of the two realistic trophies we can compete for. The truth is though, even our full team can't seem to get motivated to play every game which is the least we should expect. We seem to be toothless on and off the pitch and it's very worrying to say the least.
Yes there is. And it starts at the very top.
HIBS NUTS
20-07-2022, 09:24 PM
Embarrassing tonight, a horrible display, it was not even a tough group.
20-07-2022, 09:25 PM
The only thing I can think about the last 3 games is the change to 442.
The first 3 games, for the majority we played 433 - Hartlepool, Burton and Clyde we were really good and ran all over them
Last 3 we’ve changed to a 442 and we’ve been a lot poorer for it, it looks like the players are unable to press as effectively in this formation and it takes away from the intensity
20-07-2022, 09:26 PM
How do we even come across players like Bojang
What the top striker for Rainbow FC? The team who don’t even have a Wikipedia?😅
Yet plenty on here wanted Shankland for us?
When you bring in players whoever they are you expect them to bring something to the team.
Its wait and see, how well our and their new recruits do, then we'll see what's what!
delbert
Ian Gordon is clueless. It’s all good signing players because they’re young, have good stats in the Luxembourg second division and have a good potential sell on value but that sort of player needs the right team around them to develop.
There’s nothing wrong with safe, sensible signings like Gogic, Paul McGinn and the like if they make for a cohesive unit on the pitch. Instead we have a collective of larger inexperienced, young individuals who are fish out of water with nobody to bind them together and help them realise any potential they may have.
The Gordon’s really have me concerned. Not the manager who I feel sorry for having to walk into this ****show.
Ian Gordon’s background is in retail wine sales, that’s his area of ‘expertise’, and he is in the position he is in because his Dad had to find a job for his idiot offspring. Anyone who actually believes he got this job on merit only need to look at the squad he has been instrumental in assembling, and the suit wearing love child of Delia Smith must also take his share of the blame along with Gordon Snr, who is now actively killing our club, only Wallace Mercer managed to do more damage to our club than this cabal of crap, and worryingly, they might ultimately do more !
20-07-2022, 09:27 PM
What will it take for us to not get knocked out? Assuming Falkirk get a point in their last game how many 2nd place go through?
I think second place qualification is well out of the equation with seven points.
Should have signed Fletcher instead of McGeady.
Maybe, but we never even got in touch to see if Fletcher was available for us.
They’d both start for us…no problem….
mcfly
20-07-2022, 09:28 PM
Club is a shambles and the owner, CEO, head of recruitment and the manager should be embarrassed at what they are presiding over.
It’s so obvious what the club needs. A dominant centreback. A couple if midfielders who can play and also make a tackle and a centre forward.
Fans buy season tickets again in high numbers and this bunch of imposters have us out of a cup before hearts have played.
Shameful
20-07-2022, 09:29 PM
Ian Gordon’s background is in retail wine sales, that’s his area of ‘expertise’, and he is in the position he is in because his Dad had to find a job for his idiot offspring. Anyone who actually believes he got this job on merit only need to look at the squad he has been instrumental in assembling, and the suit wearing love child of Delia Smith must also take his share of the blame along with Gordon Snr, who is now actively killing our club, only Wallace Mercer managed to do more damage to our club than this cabal of crap, and worryingly, they might ultimately do more !
That’s a bit dramatic but the underlying point is there.
The problems at Hibs go deeper than the players and manager sadly, and it won’t change.
20-07-2022, 09:30 PM
Btw I don’t mind the club at all taking some risks with younger players, but there needs to be a balance.
Melkersen
Hauge
Delferriere
Tait
Mackay
Tavares
Youan
Bojang
Kenneh
Henderson
Surely there comes a point where we’re blocking there pathway by recruiting other players of a similar age?
This is where I'm at as well.
We've paid decent six figure fees for both Melkerson and MacAlister. I'm not having a go at either of those players, but it's a weird strategy for us to throw that kind of money to bring in guys for the future when we are toiling right now.
Far too many players at either end of their careers and not enough at or coming into their peak. Top many gambles and when money is spent, the focus seems to be on players who are not seen as immediate starters.
20-07-2022, 09:31 PM
That performance stank.
Time will tell but the club looks to be a shambles from top to bottom. If folk are pinning their hopes on the new signings then good luck. Lee Johnson is a brave man to have taken this job on that's for sure.
Mcbizz1998
20-07-2022, 09:31 PM
Whatever. They will be good players for that lot and we turn our noses up at them, preferring a midfielder who has never played a senior game and some guy from the Gambian leagues or wherever.
Our recruitment is pathetic.
20-07-2022, 09:34 PM
That performance stank.
Time will tell but the club looks to be a shambles from top to bottom. If folk are pinning their hopes on the new signings then good luck. Lee Johnson is a brave man to have taken this job on that's for sure.
Probably doesn’t care. He knows the club has went through manager after manager, player after player, worst case for him he gets a pay off and he can go back to a League One club down south and just call the club a basket case.
20-07-2022, 09:34 PM
Maybe, but we never even got in touch to see if Fletcher was available for us.
if only he played for some european B side or some unknown side from wherever
20-07-2022, 09:36 PM
The only thing I can think about the last 3 games is the change to 442.
The first 3 games, for the majority we played 433 - Hartlepool, Burton and Clyde we were really good and ran all over them
Last 3 we’ve changed to a 442 and we’ve been a lot poorer for it, it looks like the players are unable to press as effectively in this formation and it takes away from the intensity
I don’t think we have changed to a 442. Looks like it’s Melkersen and Mcgeady either side of Doidge
Probably doesn’t care. He knows the club has went through manager after manager, player after player, worst case for him he gets a pay off and he can go back to a League One club down south and just call the club a basket case.
I think that’s a bit unfair on the manager Tbf. After Sunderland he can’t get away with that again and he appeared to do a fair amount of research on us. I do think he cares.
I do also think that there are alarming, alarming deficiencies and warning signs all around the club just now though.
That performance stank.
Similar to Heckingbottom, he had nothing to lose.
Success or failure, he's guaranteed to earn 6 figures with us, whether in a few months or over a few years.
20-07-2022, 09:37 PM
Try Forrest as well?
Forrest is pish.
JamesHFC
20-07-2022, 09:39 PM
Don’t really know what to say. Absolute shambles to probably be finishing 3rd in that group. The board have backed the manager with almost a dozen new signings so they have done their bit in that respect. I understand it takes time for that many players to settle into a new country, culture, team etc but failing to beat Falkirk and Morton is worrying.
Hanlon, Stevenson, Mitchell, Cabraja, JDH, Youan, Magennis and Nisbet still to come in too.
I still think we be fine and will kick on to have a good season but these players need a kick up the arse pronto.
Scotty Leither
20-07-2022, 09:40 PM
Not just RG, LJ said he was also happy with the squad he has.
...quite simply because that's what he's been told to say.
20-07-2022, 09:40 PM
Our new dead ball specialist, has now failed twice from the penalty spot???
It could could be a long hard season, if they don't buck up their ideas quick!!!
20-07-2022, 09:41 PM
We are actually worse than last season. Hearts will murder us.
Would you like a wee cuddle?
Glad I am on the other side of the Atlantic.
It’s crap we know this but two questions:-
1. Could we be overreacting given it’s mid July and pre season and we don’t have several players available/ up to speed?
2. Are we definitely out of the cup even if Falkirk win last game?