4 year deal.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/lee-johnson-appointed-manager

JXM73
19-05-2022, 12:05 PM
Good luck, gonna need it with some vultures already circling

"We wanted a manager that would lead on recruitment..."

Interesting choice of words from Ron there.

HibeeSince85
Welcome Lee.

Did I miss any quotes from him on the official site? Seems strange.

LustForLeith
19-05-2022, 12:06 PM
Good luck to Lee

19-05-2022, 12:06 PM
Good luck, gonna need it with some vultures already circling

Yup.

I wasn't happy with this but he has my full support as does everyone from the outset. Hope he takes us where we need to go.

Ray Donovan
19-05-2022, 12:07 PM
Good luck.

Obviously he was not the fans choice but he needs to start with a clean slate.

The club and Lee have a month or 2 to sort out the mess and get the fans onside and feeling positive again.

Really happy and excited by this appointment.

I’ve listened to a couple of his interviews on Spotify lately and he seems the type that will really entertain us on the pitch and I think he’ll be a success.

Found this really interesting “We wanted a manager that would lead on recruitment and have a strong pool of knowledge in that area. He shares similar levels of ambitions for the Football Club and will instil a winning culture at Hibernian FC”

Welcome to the Cabbage, LJ.

Onwards and upwards, hopefully. Club really backing him with a four year deal, and are clearly going to do so with a good transfer budget too.

Looking forward to the summer.

4 year deal, we are backing this guy.
Looking forward to next season.

buktapurple79
Massively underwhelmed by this appointment but obviously wish him all the best despite the Yam connection.

Groathillgrump
Welcome aboard, Lee.

Prove the doubters wrong (including me) :wink:

19-05-2022, 12:09 PM
I think his signings are going to be very good, knows the market we’re in very well.

Excellent appointment

tonyrougier123
Welcome lee.
Sign players!

Looks like we're going to throw a **** ton of money at the guy and give him most of the control over transfers.

19-05-2022, 12:10 PM
I'm delighted we now have someone in place and we are ready to move forwards again. Good luck, I'm looking forward to the journey already. :thumbsup:

CL0762
Welcome to the finest football club in the land, Lee.

Wish you nothing but success

Welcome and good luck Lee :flag:

Mikey_1875
19-05-2022, 12:11 PM
Four years definitely sending out the message of attempting stability. Welcome and Good luck Lee.

The board and recruitment team now need to back that up financially and bring in some quality players.

Very best of luck to the guy, he faces a huge job re-structuring a very poor squad. It's a massive summer ahead, he will need support from the boardroom and the stands. Touch wood we've made the right choice; we can't continue changing managers so regularly. We need some stability and sustained improvement. I'm quite surprised by the four year contract, but it's a chance to dream about a manager sticking around and taking us to a far better position. :flag::flag:

h1bs4life
Welcome to Hibs Lee .
1st thing to do is confirm Gordon Marshall signing and hopefully the board will back him to bring in some decent signings

19-05-2022, 12:12 PM
Looks like we're going to throw a **** ton of money at the guy and give him most of the control over transfers.

Fingers crossed! Huge re-building job ahead.

Welcome to Hibs Lee .
1st thing to do is confirm Gordon Marshall signing and hopefully the board will back him to bring in some decent signings

Junior or senior? 😃

Excellent and a 4 year deal shows big commitment from Hibs

It will be an exciting summer thats for sire

Johnsons knowledge of the British market in and around our level is a big bonus

19-05-2022, 12:13 PM
Welcome to Hibs Lee .

Would prefer David Marshall but in saying that, I like your style - get experience in!

19-05-2022, 12:14 PM
Not my choice, feel pretty uninspired, but glad we have someone in place. We needed to have it done so that he can get on with sorting things out (mainly players) for the first day of pre season.

We need to get off to a good start and get some momentum early doors.

Welcome to Hibs Lee .

Could still do a job :wink:

Groathillgrump
Junior or senior? 😃

The junior is 58! :greengrin

H18S NX
19-05-2022, 12:15 PM
Ex Jambo Jamie Mcallister as his assistant according to the news.

19-05-2022, 12:15 PM
Welcome to the new manager, he has a big job on his hands now, let's hope he can handle it. Feeling excited again, can't wait to get a few players through the door.

19-05-2022, 12:17 PM
Very happy with this. Welcome Lee.

19-05-2022, 12:17 PM
Junior or senior? 😃
Some of the .net naysayers will claim that either would be better than Macey :greengrin

19-05-2022, 12:18 PM
Welcome, Lee!

Stairway 2 7
No care that they were hearts players as I'm not 12. Not impressed by his past performance, but will obviously fully back

Good luck

Going out on a limb here but I actually always liked McAllister's style as a player

Remember the Bobby Williamson team playing Livi and thinking McAllister would've been a great signing (would've been a big upgrade on Roland Edge at the time)

A bit like Tosh McKinlay before him, I always thought he had way too much "football" in him to really be at home at Tynecastle

So I'm glad to see Jamie McAllister at Easter Road - I think we're more his kind of club & wish him well

Mike Berry
19-05-2022, 12:21 PM
Going out on a limb here but I actually always liked McAllister's style as a player

Remember the Bobby Williamson team playing Livi and thinking McAllister would've been a great signing (would've been a big upgrade on Roland Edge at the time)

A bit like Tosh McKinlay before him, I always thought he had way too much "football" in him to really be at home at Tynecastle

So I'm glad to see Jamie McAllister at Easter Road - I think we're more his kind of club & wish him well

My mother would have been an upgrade on Roland Edge....

Bridge hibs
19-05-2022, 12:22 PM
Welcome to hibs Lee Johnson 🇳🇬🇳🇬

Victor
19-05-2022, 12:23 PM
Happier now than I was, definitely an experienced manager. Glad that SDG’s tenure has been continued. Three ex-jambos on the coaching staff! [emoji3][emoji3]

HendoDelivered
19-05-2022, 12:24 PM
All the best LJ

Welcome Lee

MagicSwirlingShip
Good luck.

19-05-2022, 12:25 PM
Welcome to Hibs Lee

Do your best.

19-05-2022, 12:27 PM
Wish you all the success in the world. As a fan I feel totally underwhelmed HOWEVER you have the gig and you’ll have 100% backing from me. Now all I ask is you put some wow factor back into my football life.

As I’ve already said Wish you all the success in the world.

19-05-2022, 12:27 PM
Glad we've got someone appointed. Roll on the next 12 weeks.

19-05-2022, 12:28 PM
Massively underwhelmed by this appointment but obviously wish him all the best despite the Yam connection.

There's a welcome to Hibs in there somewhere.

19-05-2022, 12:29 PM
Obviously wish him all the best and hope it works out but I'm really unimpressed.

I genuinely and sincerely hope I'm wrong about this appointment.

wandering_hibee
Welcome to Hibs Lee, looking forward to an exciting few years, and hopefully a trophy or two.

Paulie Walnuts
Welcome to Hibs, Lee.

Now let’s make sure we get some decent players in for him to utilise or he doesn’t stand a chance.

19-05-2022, 12:30 PM
Announcement on twitter has a lot of positive comments from Sunderland fans which seems to go against what we were being told here yesterday.

19-05-2022, 12:31 PM
Announcement on twitter has a lot of positive comments from Sunderland fans which seems to go against what we were being told here yesterday.

He split the fans and those against him were very vocal.

There were as many if not more who were sorry to see him go (although I reckon they're all probably happier with who they have ended up with).

I'm happy with this appointment, I think he'll do well.

19-05-2022, 12:32 PM

Saw that on Facebook too.

Some of the .net naysayers will claim that either would be better than Macey :greengrin

Actually......they would 😁

OldEast

I thought there were 2 or 3 things in the statement aimed at subtly pacifying the angry negative types across all social media.

19-05-2022, 12:33 PM

There were as many if not more who were sorry to see him go (although I reckon they're all probably happier with who they have ended up with).

One thing they all agree on is we are going to be on the attack.

OldEast
19-05-2022, 12:33 PM

Good comments from Bristol city fans now as well

19-05-2022, 12:34 PM
Obviously wish him all the best and hope it works out but I'm really unimpressed.

Realistically, who could we appoint who would really blow us away? A club our size will always be shopping around in a particular market. Sooner or later we'll find a good yin, and let's hope it's Johnson, but it's always something of a gamble.

19-05-2022, 12:35 PM
It is pretty impressive that he's only 40 but has already been in management for nine years.

19-05-2022, 12:36 PM
Good stuff. Let's hope he has watched a few games and gets to work on the squad today.

I'm happy with this, I think JDT made it a wee bit exciting for a bit but ultimately we have to realise this is the type of manager we attract at Hibs. If he can bring in an open attacking style I'll be happy, hopefully keeping it tight at the back also.

Sioux

Wow, what a shock!

Sioux
19-05-2022, 12:39 PM

You've not got a clue how it's gonna turn out.

19-05-2022, 12:39 PM
Whens the interviews with hibs TV etc going up?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

leithsansiro
19-05-2022, 12:40 PM
Welcome to our club, Lee.

No matter the background circumstances or any stupid media speculation about who was or wasn't available or interested, he should have the full backing of every true Hibs fan.

Get us playing some exciting football with the ball moving towards the opposition goal once in a while and we'll be pleased.

And everyone needs to remember that patience is maybe key here. We can't keep being a revolving door of managers otherwise the talent pool of who's going to want to come will be drastically smaller than expected.

Oh, and let's get a few wins against the Hearts.

Welcome to Hibs Lee. :flag:

No, none of us do, but he's entitled to to express his initial feelings.

19-05-2022, 12:41 PM

Yes that's fairly obvious at this stage.

Simply offering my thoughts that's all.

Neily1982
Think he will be gone by 6months into the season

This the same McAllister that was born in Glasgow and pla for QOS,Aberdeen, Livingston, Bristol city, Preston and Yeovil. Embarrassing post.

Stuarty1875
Welcome to Hibs LJ :flag:

Having read up a little on his time at Bristol City, he was generally well thought of there. Mixed bag at Sunderland, however they are a bit of a basket case tbf.

Hopefully will play attacking football with lots of goals - it’s all I really want from a manager.

Whether he is a success or not is largely going to be down to recruitment.

19-05-2022, 12:44 PM

Oh aye. Let's hear it then....:cb

19-05-2022, 12:44 PM
Welcome to Hibs LJ :flag:

Having read up a little on his time at Bristol City, he was generally well thought of there. Mixed bag at Sunderland, however they are a bit of a basket case tbf.

Hopefully will play attacking football with lots of goals - it’s all I really want from a manager.

Whether he is a success or not is largely going to be down to recruitment.

This sums it up for me too.

Greenio
19-05-2022, 12:45 PM
Welcome Lee

Onwards and upwards

19-05-2022, 12:45 PM

Good mate of mine is a big Mackem and he messaged me yesterday to say that he really liked LJ as manager.

19-05-2022, 12:47 PM
Good luck Lee. Welcome to the best club in the land. :flag:

19-05-2022, 12:48 PM

All teams he has managed he has stayed a while.

Least amount of games was 50 odd for Barnsley when Bristol City poached him for hard cash.

Moat fans from the teams I have seen have rated him.

G15 Hibs
19-05-2022, 12:48 PM
Could still do a job :wink:

Short back and sides?

19-05-2022, 12:49 PM
Short back and sides?

Something for the weekend....

I wish the bickering and negativity would stop. Let the guy get on with it.

Just seen a Johnson out post on Facebook, such a shame there is this type of reaction.

Hopefully that is just and isolated nut job and we don't now see 'I won't be renewing my ST type posts'.

19-05-2022, 12:50 PM
Positive waves only from now on.

Best of luck LJ.

high bee
19-05-2022, 12:51 PM
I was quite ‘Meh’ at the thought but after hearing he will be leading the recruitment I can see why he was chosen over JDT, if he ever was a candidate, and I’m quite excited at the thought of a manager being given the funds (hopefully) to go out and sign some quality players.

Welcome, Lee, looking forward to a new era at Hibs

....however long it lasts :wink:

Mcbizz1998
Good luck to him, I will back him 100%. Glad we have someone announced and we can start to look ahead now to next season.

Walter
19-05-2022, 12:52 PM
Welcome Lee, now......

LET'S **** THE HEARTS!

19-05-2022, 12:53 PM
4 year deal. Surprised at that.

19-05-2022, 12:54 PM
For me it's just a case of a clean slate. I don't have strong feelings either way, though perhaps slightly optimistic he might prove a shrewd appointment. He's going to have a busy summer ; if he does get financial backing, I look forward to seeing who he can bring in.

19-05-2022, 12:56 PM
4 year deal is bonkers

19-05-2022, 12:56 PM
Just seen a Johnson out post on Facebook, such a shame there is this type of reaction.

Hopefully that is just and isolated nut job and we don't now see 'I won't be renewing my ST type posts'.

You can lump all those together into the "LOOK AT MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE" category.

MKHIBEE
19-05-2022, 12:57 PM
Welcome to the Hibs Lee, it promises to be a helluva journey.

19-05-2022, 12:57 PM
4 year deal is bonkers

There will be a package in place where if sacked he will get around 6 months pay.

Mcbizz1998
19-05-2022, 12:59 PM
So we shell out a 4 year deal for LJ but JDT “priced himself out”.

19-05-2022, 01:00 PM
There will be a package in place where if sacked he will get around 6 months pay.

Exactly. There’s no chance we’d be paying out the full whack if we wanted to sack him at any point. 4 year deal gives us a good bit of security if he’s doing a good job.

19-05-2022, 01:00 PM
Glad he's leading recruitment. He'll get the backing to bring in players, of that i have no doubts. His style of football sounds very promising. Exciting summer ahead.

19-05-2022, 01:01 PM
Aye welcome to the Hibees. Really looking forward to some signings now, especially with Gordon stating we'll be backing him in the window.

Guessing the first confirmation will be Marshall now we have a manager in place.

19-05-2022, 01:01 PM

As HH says above, contracts are strange. If it doesn't work out, he won't get a four year pay off. Factors such as salary, transfer funds etc may have priced out JDT.

19-05-2022, 01:05 PM
https://youtu.be/Y1RtAzaGnzY

19-05-2022, 01:07 PM
I highly reccomend those with doubts, or those intrigued, to listen to some of his interviews on Spotify with the Sunderland podcasts etc.

I’m getting a really good feeling about this appointment.

I really like how the club went for who they thought was right and never just went with a name to appease fans.

Aww FFS his first word was "super". It's like Maloney all over again :greengrin

Certianly sounds like the board have put him through a long interview! Six hours!

Really enjoyed that interview. Speaks extremley well.

“Yes”

What’s strange about that? I don’t see the relevance of the two of them together.

Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2022, 01:08 PM
Aye welcome to the Hibees. Really looking forward to some signings now, especially with Gordon stating we'll be backing him in the window.

Guessing the first confirmation will be Marshall now we have a manager in place.

Marshall is an absolute must.

Macey doesn’t save anything. Doesn’t win us any points.

A good goalie can be every bit as important as a good striker and Marshall would give us that.

19-05-2022, 01:10 PM

Yes, leave the football player recruitment to an experienced football man,Rod.
Fair enough having others identify possibles,but Lee has to be the final arbiter/judge on who he wants and can work with.
I would not be surprised if our senior players/Hibs men at the club had an input on Lee's appointment
Whats that sayin "Fitba folk ken"

Lee ,in the words of Billy Brown, we know you have "been places and done things"
Take us to places like Hampden,Celtic Park,Ibrox,tynie and Europe next season, and do things !!

All the best !

19-05-2022, 01:10 PM
Finally, good to get confirmation at last.

Welcome aboard Lee, let the big re-build commence! :flag:

G15 Hibs
19-05-2022, 01:11 PM
Yes, leave the football player recruitment to an experienced football man,Rod.

Freudian slip?

JamesHFC
19-05-2022, 01:12 PM
Finally 😉

Welcome Lee.

JamesHFC
19-05-2022, 01:14 PM
It is pretty impressive that he's only 40 but has already been in management for nine years.

He was the youngest manager in the EFL when at Oldham.

19-05-2022, 01:17 PM
Glad we can move on now and start preparing for the new season, welcome aboard Lee!

19-05-2022, 01:18 PM
Are the players away their hols. yet or will Lee get a chance to meet them ?

Weir07
19-05-2022, 01:19 PM
Feel pretty positive about Lee Johnson as manager. Supposedly an attacking style which will be a relief after what we've seen for the last couple of seasons. Looks to have a strong track record when it comes to recruitment too. I honestly don't think the squad needs a massive overhaul, maybe 4 or 5 quality additions, let's hope Lee can pick some good ones. Fingers crossed for an exciting season ahead!

19-05-2022, 01:20 PM
Welcome to the club and hopefully you'll prove me wrong.

19-05-2022, 01:20 PM
Good luck Lee, welcome to the Hibees

19-05-2022, 01:21 PM

Aw man, don't!!!

That was my first thought too, but I was too scared to mention it :faf:

19-05-2022, 01:22 PM
Freudian slip?

Well spotted.
Indeed :greengrin

I'll leave it there !

19-05-2022, 01:22 PM
Great to have a manager again . Good luck Lee - let’s get going and get ER rocking

JamesHFC
19-05-2022, 01:23 PM
Are the players away their hols. yet or will Lee get a chance to meet them ?

Phonecalls have already been made to some players, so I expect they have all been spoken to in some capacity.

19-05-2022, 01:23 PM

Good first interview, really excited

19-05-2022, 01:25 PM
The posted interview made a good impression on me, have to wish Johnson all the best and hope that it works out for him with us ...

19-05-2022, 01:27 PM
The posted interview made a good impression on me, have to wish Johnson all the best and hope that it works out for him with us ...

Aye, that's all we can do, mate. Only time will tell how it goes :agree:

19-05-2022, 01:27 PM

Front foot, aggressive football, trust me I'm going out to win every game we play in.

That will do for me btw

Bushwoof
19-05-2022, 01:29 PM
He was the youngest manager in the EFL when at Oldham.

One of my mates is from Oldham. They were gutted when he left, as he had them going really well. They've never been the same since, and now they're out of the league entirely.

Left a bit of a bad taste, as he jumped ship to a supposedly bigger club (Barnsley) at a point when it looked like he was going to get Oldham promoted. I reckon we'd settle for something like that though!

Good luck Lee.

hfcok
19-05-2022, 01:30 PM
Front foot, aggressive football, trust me I'm going out to win every game we play in.

That will do for me btw

Yes totally agree, that statement alone makes me think maybe he will be a good fit.

19-05-2022, 01:30 PM

That is backed up by the quote in the article that also mentioned that the "American owner also spoke of the Englishman's skills in recruitment and insisted he would be backed this summer to "put his own stamp on the squad"."

That looks like the pre George Craig way to me when the manager and scouts drove the recruitment process but I really hope the data and performance analysis team have some input into the end decision.

19-05-2022, 01:32 PM
Welcome to the club and hopefully you'll prove me wrong.

I'm actually quite impressed with what I'm hearing in his interview. Even wee things like calling us "Hibs" rather than "Hibernian" which a few of the managers we've had from down south have called us to begin with.

19-05-2022, 01:32 PM

That will do for me btw

Was the bit that got me. "Even if it's a detriment I'm going out to win"

19-05-2022, 01:34 PM
Anyone sitting next someone with a dodgy fake nose, tash and glasses at the Livi or Dundee games? :greengrin

19-05-2022, 01:34 PM

That will do for me btw

Absolutely.

I also like how he said he’s not overly bothered about possession, seems like it will be 100mpg when we’ve got the ball.

19-05-2022, 01:35 PM
Anyone sitting next someone with a dodgy fake nose, tash and glasses at the Livi or Dundee games? :greengrin

I’m delighted he saw those 2 games btw!

He must be under no illusion after that what our players are like and where we need to get better

McGruber
19-05-2022, 01:36 PM
Welcome aboard Lee Johnson and good luck. Only positivity now, onwards and upwards.

19-05-2022, 01:36 PM

Certianly sounds like the board have put him through a long interview! Six hours!

Really enjoyed that interview. Speaks extremley well.

He's a millennial mate, that's how we speak. :wink:

19-05-2022, 01:37 PM
4 year deal is bonkers

It's excellent.

The compensation clause will be significantly lower than that so the longer contract was a huge incentive.

If he does well, and gets headhunted, we'll get good compensation.

19-05-2022, 01:38 PM

What's difficult to understand about that?

19-05-2022, 01:38 PM

You've done budget negotiations in FM right?

Scotty Leither
19-05-2022, 01:43 PM
Beat Hearts. That’s all.

Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2022, 01:44 PM
It's excellent.

The compensation clause will be significantly lower than that so the longer contract was a huge incentive.

If he does well, and gets headhunted, we'll get good compensation.

If that’s how it works then it is excellent.

Seems like it’s not all that beneficial to the manager tbh but that’s their problem, not ours.

Mcbizz1998
19-05-2022, 01:44 PM
You've done budget negotiations in FM right?

I don’t know what FM is but no, I’ve never done any kind of budget negotiations.

Mcbizz1998
19-05-2022, 01:45 PM
What's difficult to understand about that?

I never said there was anything difficult to understand [emoji23]

hfcok
19-05-2022, 01:46 PM

That will do for me btw

Yes totally agree, that statement alone makes me think maybe he will be a good fit.

19-05-2022, 01:46 PM
4 years means it has to work out and fast, All the best with trying to calm some of the posters on here!
I hope this means Ron Gordon is going to unloosen the purse strings, and give Lee a fair crack at bringing us success!!!

19-05-2022, 01:49 PM

Neither have you.

19-05-2022, 01:50 PM
4 years means it has to work out and fast, All the best with trying to calm some of the posters on here!
I hope this means Ron Gordon is going to unloosen the purse strings, and give Lee a fair crack at bringing us success!!!

It could also mean that even if it doesn't go great to begin with the higher ups are going to give him the time needed and we will just have to moan ourselves into oblivion in our online echo chamber.

G15 Hibs
19-05-2022, 01:51 PM
I also like how he said he’s not overly bothered about possession

That stood out for me too. He's obviously aware / been made aware of criticism of styles of play of recent managers. If we never see any more pissing about at the back it's a early tick for me.

19-05-2022, 01:54 PM
It could also mean that even if it doesn't go great to begin with the higher ups are going to give him the time needed and we will just have to moan ourselves into oblivion in our online echo chamber.

Oh crap, where can we possibly find one of those?

19-05-2022, 01:55 PM
Welcome Lee, first time listening to him in the interview and he does sound interesting in his style and philosophy of the game. Let’s hope he’s able to achieve it.

New season, new slate.

19-05-2022, 01:56 PM
In the spirit of this forum, welcome Leigh Johnstone

19-05-2022, 01:58 PM
Beat Hearts. That’s all.

Yup.

19-05-2022, 01:59 PM
I like the cut of his jib.

19-05-2022, 01:59 PM
Beating Hearts is not all. We want to beat them and be best of the rest. No use beating Hearts 3 times then finishing in the bottom six again whilst they galivant around Europe.

19-05-2022, 02:04 PM
He's saying all the right things and seems genuinely happy and enthusiastic to be here. In the absence of any meaningful way to prove himself at the moment, it's a good start.

He needs to be given a chance, I'll give him until at least half time of the first derby of the season before I make up my mind:greengrin

19-05-2022, 02:05 PM

Brilliant interview. Thank **** he's not too bothered about possession! I'm completely done watching that kind of football for a while.

Liked that though! Big summer ahead.

19-05-2022, 02:05 PM
Absolutely.

I also like how he said he’s not overly bothered about possession, seems like it will be 100mpg when we’ve got the ball.

The way fuel prices are going,could be expensive,too :greengrin

19-05-2022, 02:06 PM
He's saying all the right things and seems genuinely happy and enthusiastic to be here. In the absence of any meaningful way to prove himself at the moment, it's a good start.

He needs to be given a chance, I'll give him until at least half time of the first derby of the season before I make up my mind:greengrin

It's the least we can do :greengrin

19-05-2022, 02:07 PM
Welcome Lee and the very best of luck.

Not the appointment I wanted but then I don't own the club. I'm adopting a position of scepticism until proven otherwise. Previously I've been optimistic until proven otherwise. I want our new manager to prove me hugely, embarassingly humble pie eatingly wrong.

First litmus test for me is the quality and to some extent quantity of new signings. If we're to be playing fast paced attacking football I'd expect signings of established proven goalscorers, wingers and a playmaker - and some or all of them need to have pace or at least pace of thought.

Second litmus test is the team, squad and club ethos. No more 'fine margins', no more treating any derby as though it isn't a cup final, no more games where players look like they're phoning it in and no more being soft touches for teams desperate for points.

Third litmus test. We need a captain who is a vocal leader.

First season I'll settle for top 5, a cup run to at least a semi and derbies after which - win, lose or draw - Hearts teams look like they have just been ragdolled senseless by tigers.

Now, we're going to need a song...

CL0762
19-05-2022, 02:07 PM
That is backed up by the quote in the article that also mentioned that the "American owner also spoke of the Englishman's skills in recruitment and insisted he would be backed this summer to "put his own stamp on the squad"."

That looks like the pre George Craig way to me when the manager and scouts drove the recruitment process but I really hope the data and performance analysis team have some input into the end decision.

I’ve just left the broadcast/written media conference and the impression I’ve got is that it’ll be very much ‘data profile’ driven. He said not to be bothered regarding formations but they have to have the right profile to fit the way we want to play. If they have the right character, the right temperament and most importantly the ability to play.

I believe this is an excellent appointment & IF he’s given all the tools he needs then he’ll be successful.

CL0762
19-05-2022, 02:08 PM
Also haven’t had a chance to watch the Hibs interview yet but he did mention himself about not being bothered about possession for possession sake. Possession percentage doesn’t bother him.

19-05-2022, 02:10 PM

Great interview. Saying all the right things for me.

OldEast
19-05-2022, 02:10 PM
In the spirit of this forum, welcome Leigh Johnstone

Verry good. Sum wont get it

19-05-2022, 02:11 PM
Verry good. Sum wont get it

I git it

Green Reaper
19-05-2022, 02:14 PM
Also haven’t had a chance to watch the Hibs interview yet but he did mention himself about not being bothered about possession for possession sake. Possession percentage doesn’t bother him.

He did say that and his strikers score goals as he likes to gat the ball in early to them, he’s going to love Chris Cadden! Also, like that Lee said we will play at a high tempo as the our play was so slow and ponderous last season, drove me nuts 😬

I feel infinitley better about this appointment than i did with Maloney. It's like night and day. Listening to that interview and various other bits and pieces has really got me excited for the new season. The board have clearly put the hard work in. Clean slate for me. The season past is history now.

Benny Brazil
Welcome aboard Lee.
Certainly speaks well, very thoughtful - liked his comments about getting into the psyche of the support - although if he reads this board his brain will be melted!
Spoke well about what he wants from his team and about recruitment. Clearly he has done a lot of research and already knows about the strengths and weaknesses of the current t squad.
I know its just words but am feeling a lot more positive about this.

Saint Hibee
19-05-2022, 02:16 PM
Beat Hearts. That’s all.

That’s where I’m at, too.

19-05-2022, 02:18 PM

Spoke well and really good interview.

I’ve said before his downfall is he’s nearly too nice ! But his assistant will be there to be the bad guy and get players working.

Let’s give him a chance !

JamesHFC
19-05-2022, 02:22 PM
https://youtu.be/heEA9RqDQx4

Steve88
19-05-2022, 02:23 PM
Interview " possession isn't a key factor...I'll try and win every game - sometime to our detriment - including the big boys"

no more two DM sounds like. phewww

Outlook on the game sounds similar to Tony Mowbray

19-05-2022, 02:25 PM
Looking forward to what he can bring to the table, think fans need to be patient with this appointment, 2 full seasons to actually build a strong foundation from which to continually push for 3rd knowing that it will now (almost) guarantee European Football until Xmas

Welcome Lee and good luck.

I feel positive about this appointment. More so having seen the interview.

In any case I'm glad we have our man in place and can finally put last season behind us.

Onwards and upwards!

What a guy. Man crush already.

Feed McGraw
19-05-2022, 02:27 PM
Welcome Lee & best of luck to you.Come on Hibs, let's have a great season.

Mcbizz1998
19-05-2022, 02:28 PM

That’s class.

19-05-2022, 02:34 PM
He speaks well, lets hope with the right amount of backing, cash and supporters he can translate his thinking onto the pitch.

19-05-2022, 02:35 PM
Very impressed with his interview, the aspect of the game he covered, his recruitment to the club and his ambitions for the club. Came across as knowledgeable and thoughtful, pleased that he's here.

19-05-2022, 02:35 PM
Welcome Lee and the very best of luck.

Not the appointment I wanted but then I don't own the club. I'm adopting a position of scepticism until proven otherwise. Previously I've been optimistic until proven otherwise. I want our new manager to prove me hugely, embarassingly humble pie eatingly wrong.

First litmus test for me is the quality and to some extent quantity of new signings. If we're to be playing fast paced attacking football I'd expect signings of established proven goalscorers, wingers and a playmaker - and some or all of them need to have pace or at least pace of thought.

Second litmus test is the team, squad and club ethos. No more 'fine margins', no more treating any derby as though it isn't a cup final, no more games where players look like they're phoning it in and no more being soft touches for teams desperate for points.

Third litmus test. We need a captain who is a vocal leader.

First season I'll settle for top 5, a cup run to at least a semi and derbies after which - win, lose or draw - Hearts teams look like they have just been ragdolled senseless by tigers.

Now, we're going to need a song...

Think it should be left to him to decide what we need.

Welcome Lee. Ignore everything said online and you'll smash it

19-05-2022, 02:36 PM
Good interview. Hope he coaches and spots a player the same way he talks about the game. He may even want to bring back the slope.....

HFC93
19-05-2022, 02:38 PM
I think he might suprise a few people. He'll need to make a few clever signings.

19-05-2022, 02:40 PM
I’m glad he was at the Livi and Dundee games, he’s not going to be under any false impression of what is required. I was also comforted by the fact he has been thinking about players for the last few weeks before he even knew he had the job.

Highwayman
Unlike some of the lukewarm responses to this appointment on this thread,I 100% welcome Lee Johnson to Hibernian Football Club.

Similar to everybody else I haven’t got a clue how this is going to turn out.But the guy neeeds time and space to sort out the shambolic mess he has inherited.

In the interview he says commitment is big and he's going to commit to the area. Thats a very important aspect in my opinion. Sounds like we'll have a guy really throwing himself in to it and putting the hard graft in.

I'm Spartacus
19-05-2022, 02:43 PM
4 year deal, we are backing this guy.
Looking forward to next season.

Didn't we give Shaun a 4 year deal?

Anyway, welcome Lee, do your thing and don't read this forum! :)

19-05-2022, 02:46 PM
Looking forward to what he can bring to the table, think fans need to be patient with this appointment, 2 full seasons to actually build a strong foundation from which to continually push for 3rd knowing that it will now (almost) guarantee European Football until Xmas

He will be lucky to get two full weeks from most of our fanbase currently.

19-05-2022, 02:47 PM
After listening to his interview I’m liking the cut of his jib

Certainly saying all the right things

19-05-2022, 02:48 PM
comes across well..

19-05-2022, 02:49 PM
Think it should be left to him to decide what we need.

Welcome Lee. Ignore everything said online and you'll smash it

This. Is. A. Fan. Forum.

Do you also think it should be left to him to decide whether he ignores everything said online?

19-05-2022, 02:49 PM
Side note: is this Leweys lucky number 13th manager ? 🤔

Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2022, 02:50 PM
This. Is. A. Fan. Forum.

Do you also think it should be left to him to decide whether he ignores everything said online?

19-05-2022, 02:51 PM

Innit

19-05-2022, 02:53 PM
This. Is. A. Fan. Forum.

Na, that's the one thing he desperately must do.

19-05-2022, 02:54 PM
Side note: is this Leweys lucky number 13th manager ? 🤔

I have no doubt this is another manager that Lewis Stevenson will impress.

19-05-2022, 02:54 PM
Just seen it suggested on twitter that it's ludicrous we've given him a 4 year deal and we should have just offered him double the wage for two years.

WTF goes through people's brains.

19-05-2022, 02:56 PM
Just seen it suggested on twitter that it's ludicrous we've given him a 4 year deal and we should have just offered him double the wage for two years.

Very little.

19-05-2022, 02:57 PM
Didn’t want him, but enjoyed watching his Hibs TV introduction. Certainly comes across as positive. Obviously recruitment will be key.

I’ve done my moaning let’s see what he can do as manager.

19-05-2022, 02:58 PM

Some people type first and think later - or never at all. That is next level stuff, right enough.

https://twitter.com/hibeehibernian1/status/1527290961830612994?s=20&t=9yM9JrGJSm-knLTTSKDxig

This a great thread.

Na, that's the one thing he desperately must do.

I see. He has to do what you say but ignore anyone else. Got it.

Is it ok with you if the rest of us have opinions?

19-05-2022, 03:06 PM
Launch the Yam fud.

There. Got it out my system.

All the best Lee, you’ll have my unwavering support unless we’re outside the top 3, Europe and have no silverware

19-05-2022, 03:07 PM
Launch the Yam fud.

All the best Lee, you’ll have my unwavering support unless we’re outside the top 3, Europe and have no silverware

No pressure then.

19-05-2022, 03:12 PM
Any ideas on how Yamston carries himself sartorially? The Yam background concerns me, they’ve never been dressers.

19-05-2022, 03:12 PM

Thing is though they type on an empty head and always will. Rattles out the pram unless they get it their way!

19-05-2022, 03:13 PM
Launch the Yam fud.

Aye, it's always best to be reasonable :greengrin

19-05-2022, 03:14 PM
Any ideas on how Yamston carries himself sartorially? The Yam background concerns me, they’ve never been dressers.

Baseball cap, shirt and tie, with the shirt tucked into his joggers, white socks and black slip on shoes….. well that’s what I’m led to believe [emoji2957]

19-05-2022, 03:17 PM
Baseball cap, shirt and tie, with the shirt tucked into his joggers, white socks and black slip on shoes….. well that’s what I’m led to believe [emoji2957]

Like a jumbo up in court basically?

19-05-2022, 03:20 PM

Ye cannae buy class. At least it wasn't sky blue polyester M&S slacks with maroon cardigan and Union Jack socks. I've seen that and it's deeply disturbing.

19-05-2022, 03:20 PM
https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1527300148526600193?s=21&t=d9U98aEqoZC2kGliU-XOKQ

Another good interview with Sky

19-05-2022, 03:21 PM
Like a jumbo up in court basically?

Aye

19-05-2022, 03:21 PM
Ye cannae buy class. At least it wasn't sky blue polyester M&S slacks with maroon cardigan and Union Jack socks. I've seen that and it's deeply disturbing.

[emoji23]

19-05-2022, 03:22 PM
I assume half our support don't recognise the 2016 cup win given that:

The captain and guy who scored the winner was a boyhood Hearts fan and played for their youth team
The player who assisted the first goal, and scored two goals in the second round, and the winning penalty in the semi, was (and probably still is) a Hearts fan
One of the subs (who also scored in the QF) was ex Hearts

Get a grip.

19-05-2022, 03:23 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zw04fIvfdQQ

Interesting watch.

19-05-2022, 03:25 PM
Any ideas on how Yamston carries himself sartorially? The Yam background concerns me, they’ve never been dressers.They may have had a couple of cross-dressers in the past.

I fancy Lee to be more George Street than Junction Street in the clothes shopping stakes :greengrin

On the Yamston... Hope that doesn't stick. Very negative.
Lee spent less than half a season over there .4 appearances, 2 of them as substitute,i read.
Hardly makes him a Jambo.

Twitter. The playground of idiots.

https://youtu.be/PjqPEMcJGAA

19-05-2022, 03:33 PM

He looked decent today, including the shoes (which matched Jack's before his move to white trainers and a down turn in form)

19-05-2022, 03:33 PM

'sky blue polyester M&S slacks' - WTF? :jamboak:

GRA
19-05-2022, 03:35 PM
Gets a summer to bring his players in and gets my full support. Clean slate time!

Fuzzywuzzy
19-05-2022, 03:36 PM

11:35 onwards interesting

19-05-2022, 03:40 PM
'sky blue polyester M&S slacks' - WTF? :jamboak:

Yes, mate, the old spiteful crackpot who lives next door but one from us. I've posted about him before: the same Jambo who fills his garden with Loyalist flags every 12th July, just to troll us and next door - both Hibs households. Wears his Union Jack shorts in the garden every summer: legs like a flamingo. Incredible stuff.

19-05-2022, 03:42 PM
Gets a summer to bring his players in and gets my full support. Clean slate time!

First in the door - Bailey Wright

Calling it now

19-05-2022, 03:42 PM
Wasn’t my choice at all but do you know what, I’m quite impressed with that interview. Let’s get right behind him

19-05-2022, 03:45 PM
Wasn’t my choice at all but do you know what, I’m quite impressed with that interview. Let’s get right behind him

"Supporters are a fickle bunch." Outrageous.

Groathillgrump
19-05-2022, 03:50 PM
Press conference earlier.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHORKXRaxrM

19-05-2022, 03:51 PM
Welcome Lee.

Just be good, and everything will be tickety boo.

19-05-2022, 03:51 PM
Junior or senior? 😃

Or even the grampa! 82 years young!

Scotty Leither
19-05-2022, 03:54 PM
Beating Hearts is not all. We want to beat them and be best of the rest. No use beating Hearts 3 times then finishing in the bottom six again whilst they galivant around Europe.

You can have both - beat them more than they beat us will usually mean we’ve attained a higher league placing because of that. Need to start winning this fixture again.

19-05-2022, 03:55 PM
Yes, mate, the old spiteful crackpot who lives next door but one from us. I've posted about him before: the same Jambo who fills his garden with Loyalist flags every 12th July, just to troll us and next door - both Hibs households. Wears his Union Jack shorts in the garden every summer: legs like a flamingo. Incredible stuff.

Superb, truly outstanding. Where on earth do you live?

19-05-2022, 03:56 PM
I love some of the interaction back and forth between Ron Gordon and Brian McLaughlin (the bit around the 10 minute mark is class.)

19-05-2022, 03:56 PM
Press conference earlier.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHORKXRaxrM

Good interview from both Ron and Lee.

Think Ron seems really confident and determined that they’re going to win over some of the doubtful fans. There will no doubt be some that are offended by his comments but I think he’s bang on.

Also like how he jumped on top of Brian and made folk laugh at him as he sensed he was away to have a prolonged pop/statement about the fans being raging.

19-05-2022, 04:01 PM

Cheers Alex
Just watched that . :aok:

Ron got grumpy a wee bit at watshisname fattyjambojourno and some fans !

Looking forward to watching Lee's brand of football already.

Rob
They may have had a couple of cross-dressers in the past.

I fancy Lee to be more George Street than Junction Street in the clothes shopping stakes :greengrin

On the Yamston... Hope that doesn't stick. Very negative.
Lee spent less than half a season over there .4 appearances, 2 of them as substitute,i read.
Hardly makes him a Jambo.
It's not even right. If the OP wants to resort to a childish nickname, it should be Yamson.

He possibly did, you dont know how much he was wanting

19-05-2022, 04:03 PM
Superb, truly outstanding. Where on earth do you live?

Portobello, mate. One might expect a better class of clientele, but no, he's not right.

The Tubs
19-05-2022, 04:03 PM
Was the bit that got me. "Even if it's a detriment I'm going out to win"

This worries me a little. When we were 3-1 down at swiney recently, I was delighted when Maloney decided that was enough and shut up shop. If you're getting beat 3-1 but it looks like you're in the game, no problem; however, if you play like we did that day, then you should accept damage limitation.

AdidasHibernian
19-05-2022, 04:04 PM
Good luck Lee. Welcome to Hibernian FC 🇳🇬

19-05-2022, 04:10 PM

Yeah I like this fella

19-05-2022, 04:17 PM
Yeah I like this fella

He came across better than Ron did. Mind you Rod liked the odd pop at the support too.

19-05-2022, 04:17 PM
4 year deal is bonkers

Depends on how it’s made up. I’m sure there will be caveats.

19-05-2022, 04:18 PM
Portobello, mate. One might expect a better class of clientele, but no, he's not right.

He might be confused. Perhaps he thinks it's Largs?

Inconsequential
19-05-2022, 04:19 PM
I would just like to point out that Lee Johnson must be the chunkiest manager Hibs have had in recent years.

19-05-2022, 04:21 PM
I would just like to point out that Lee Johnson must be the chunkiest manager Hibs have had in recent years.

Big boned mate, just big boned.

Inconsequential
19-05-2022, 04:24 PM

He might be confused. Perhaps he thinks it's Largs?

Ayrshire behaviour, right enough.

19-05-2022, 04:27 PM

I will raise you with Bobby Williamson

19-05-2022, 04:28 PM

He describes himself as hungry so checks out.

Gotta say, I think he spoke well at the presser.

19-05-2022, 04:30 PM
He came across better than Ron did. Mind you Rod liked the odd pop at the support too.

Everything Ron said in that interview was absolutely spot on

19-05-2022, 04:35 PM

Always amuses me when fans with strident views (I pay my money I’m entitled to my opinion) get their knickers in a twist when someone at the club speaks candidly too!

No problem with Ron, it’s always been obvious there’s a steely character underneath the jolly facade.

19-05-2022, 04:37 PM

He has talked the talk since he arrived; now we need him to walk the walk. We have gone backwards since he bought the club, let's see progress.

hfcok
19-05-2022, 04:38 PM
Always amuses me when fans with strident views (I pay my money I’m entitled to my opinion) get their knickers in a twist when someone at the club speaks candidly too!

No problem with Ron, it’s always been obvious there’s a steely character underneath the jolly facade.
Defo, he’s seems a guy who does not want to fail, look at all what he’s done before he came to us. He’s not afraid to right his mistakes either.

19-05-2022, 04:38 PM
He has talked the talk since he arrived; now we need him to walk the walk. We have gone backwards since he bought the club, let's see progress.

We’ve had a bad season, it happens.

19-05-2022, 04:39 PM
Liked the press conference, liked the interview, he talks well and seems relaxed in what he says and what he wants to acheive.

I don’t think Hibs sign ‘great’ managers for Hibs but we maybe sign guys who become ‘great’.

Quietly optimistic and looking forward to summer signings and next season.:thumbsup:

19-05-2022, 04:40 PM

Mostly. Lee came across better.

19-05-2022, 04:45 PM
We’ve had a bad season, it happens.

True, mate, it happens. Now we need to see progress which matches the rhetoric.

19-05-2022, 04:46 PM
Marshall is an absolute must.

Macey doesn’t save anything. Doesn’t win us any points.

A good goalie can be every bit as important as a good striker and Marshall would give us that.

Don’t get this about Macey. We have the best goals against record in the league outside Rangers and Celtic.:confused:

Our priority is forward players.

19-05-2022, 04:48 PM
Don’t get this about Macey. We have the best goals against record in the league outside Rangers and Celtic.:confused:

Our priority is forward players.

I don't mind Macey but Marshall is an upgrade. Definitely a points winner.