View Full Version : Lee Johnson confirmed as manager

Pages : 1 [2] 3

19-05-2022, 04:49 PM
6.5 hour final interview, thats crazy

True, mate, it happens. Now we need to see progress which matches the rhetoric.

Totally agree.

I like the fact when it wasn’t working he acted. Seems like a lot of other people don’t like the ruthless side to him though.

Always amuses me when fans with strident views (I pay my money I’m entitled to my opinion) get their knickers in a twist when someone at the club speaks candidly too!

No problem with Ron, it’s always been obvious there’s a steely character underneath the jolly facade.

Without a doubt .
He did not accumulate his wealth being a softie !
Wise old owl too,is Ron.
It wisnae a slip o the tongue either,but he needs to not get to agitated wae the snide McLaughlin and his digs/questions.

He has talked the talk since he arrived; now we need him to walk the walk. We have gone backwards since he bought the club, let's see progress.

3rd place and two hampden finals in one season…backwards?

19-05-2022, 04:52 PM
I hope he's just being polite when he says we have a good squad with big characters who set the standards needed.

We absolutely NEED some big characters and the standards we've been playing to, are way short of where we want to be.

Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2022, 04:54 PM
Don’t get this about Macey. We have the best goals against record in the league outside Rangers and Celtic.:confused:

Our priority is forward players.

That’s much more to do with the fact we play so many defensive players than Macey imo.

I personally just don’t think he’s good enough. I’m sure someone posted stats on here before that suggested he was about 7th best goalkeeper in the league although I can’t remember what stats are used to come to that conclusion tbh.

The Veteran
19-05-2022, 04:55 PM
Good luck, sir. :aok:

I think you’re going to need it.

19-05-2022, 04:56 PM
I hope he's just being polite when he says we have a good squad with big characters who set the standards needed.

We absolutely NEED some big characters and the standards we've been playing to, are way short of where we want to be.

Which of them said that? Struggling to think who the big characters currently are and still less any discernible standards needed prior to LJ's arrival.

19-05-2022, 04:57 PM
The Sky interview, posted back a page I think.

19-05-2022, 04:59 PM
3rd place and two hampden finals in one season…backwards?

This season we have gone backwards massively. We need sustained progress which matches the talk. Our squad now needs completely re-building.

HendoDelivered
19-05-2022, 04:59 PM
I think he seems like a really lovely guy and very likeable. Really hope he js a success here. Kinda take back what I said about being underwhelmed etc, comes across great in his presser and interviews and seem to be saying all the right things, that’s for sure.

On wards and up wards!

19-05-2022, 05:01 PM
He comes over really well, certainly seems a lot more confident than maloney did, looking forward to seeing what happens with players in the next few months

The Veteran
19-05-2022, 05:01 PM
I think he seems like a really lovely guy and very likeable. Really hope he js a success here. Kinda take back what I said about being underwhelmed etc, comes across great in his presser and interviews and seem to be saying all the right things, that’s for sure.

On wards and up wards!

Aye, onwards and upwards. :aok:

19-05-2022, 05:03 PM
I’d be surprised if any prospective new manager would have watched our last few games and not been pretty impressed with what Lewis Stevenson brings to the table. It’s not like we have nobody.

I fully accept that we need more big characters though, especially those who can be a considerable on field influence.

19-05-2022, 05:04 PM
Don’t get this about Macey. We have the best goals against record in the league outside Rangers and Celtic.:confused:

Agree. We have had some real lousy goalies in the not too distant past.
Its an insult to suggest Matt is anywhere near those dunces.
Since Conrad we have had good keepers at the club.

19-05-2022, 05:09 PM
This season we have gone backwards massively. We need sustained progress which matches the talk. Our squad now needs completely re-building.

Last season was not great agreed. But since Ron has come in, it’s a stretch to say we have gone backwards.

19-05-2022, 05:10 PM
Very impressed with his interviews. I actually wrote a post yesterday where I said I wanted a manager to bring clarity and make the fans understand what was trying to be achieved and that good managers can make the whole greater than the sum of its parts. On top of that I don't like possession football and think the game should be played simply and quickly and on the front foot with every player looking to get themselves or the ball forward every every time they get the ball. I also believe you score goals by getting the ball in the both early and as often as possible and making sure you have bodies in there to get on the end of it.

If I had wrote all those down Lee J ticked every box. He has passed the talking part of the job with flying colours as far as I am concerned and I hope he does as well as he says. I felt exactly the opposite when SM took charge I just never saw it working and we played exactly how I imagined we would after reading about his style and listening to his interviews. There was no energy with Maloney and Ross was a bit listless at limes too. Lee is bristling with spark and energy and I hope we play in his image

19-05-2022, 05:17 PM
Last season was not great agreed. But since Ron has come in, it’s a stretch to say we have gone backwards.

Fair enough. Personally, I think the rhetoric has fallen short of the product so far. We are in a worse place now than when he arrived, which is backwards. Massive job for Johnson; I want to see progress now.

19-05-2022, 05:20 PM
Fair enough. Personally, I think the rhetoric has fallen short of the product so far. We are in a worse place now than when he arrived, which is backwards. Massive job for Johnson; I want to see progress now.

But he had to deal with Covid yet still managed to give our first 3rd place finish in 16 years and got us to two finals?

The last 6 months has been poor but I think he needs credit for admitting his mistake and getting someone else in.

I think we’ll be really strong next season

Brown Hibs
19-05-2022, 05:22 PM
Huge Summer coming up for us, we have cash in the bank and hopefully the pressure from fans and the disappointment of last season will see this being freed up for LJ. We need spending to be at similar levels to the McLeish days.

19-05-2022, 05:26 PM
But he had to deal with Covid yet still managed to give our first 3rd place finish in 16 years and got us to two finals?

The last 6 months has been poor but I think he needs credit for admitting his mistake and getting someone else in.

As we speak today the squad is relegation stuff. Our league form is horrific. We need a total re-build and massive improvement. Let's now see real improvement.

19-05-2022, 05:33 PM
Huge Summer coming up for us, we have cash in the bank and hopefully the pressure from fans and the disappointment of last season will see this being freed up for LJ. We need spending to be at similar levels to the McLeish days.
Unsustainable you mean?

19-05-2022, 05:33 PM

I think there's a bit of a lag effect between what we see and how good (or otherwise) the club's efforts have been.

From LD leaving I thought we were a rudderless ship for a bit. It took a while to get Kensell in, too long imo. During that time period we could have been lining up transfers for the summer for players who were out of contract but for whatever reason we were not. We then had the abomination of the summer transfer window, then we started sacking people. The appointment of Maloney was a mistake and we've had to live with the consequences of all of the above since then.

I'm happy with the sacking of Maloney, I'm happy with the appointment of Johnson and I've been happy with Ron Gordon's chat of late.

What matters now though is action. I'm confident we're set up to succeed and I'm actually now quite optimistic about the future. I don't actually think that we've probably been doing all that much wrong over the past 6 months (apart from, er, the first team playing terrible football) and due to that lag effect I reckon we'll be about to see the fruits of our recent, decent endeavours.

Brown Hibs
19-05-2022, 05:44 PM
Unsustainable you mean?

We have a healthy bank balance and the prize for finishing 3rd is group stage football in Europe.

Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2022, 05:44 PM

The teams we were competing with also had to deal with COVID surely?

Sioux
19-05-2022, 05:50 PM
Neither have you.

Exactly. But I'm not telling all and sundry that the future is bleak, LJ won't be a success, and we'll be looking for a new man in 6 or 9 months. Nor am I saying that this will be the best signing we've made and good times are a certainty.

As I said, no one has any idea of how it will work out, but there are many on here who pretend they do, and most of them have gone down the negative route.

19-05-2022, 05:51 PM
He came across better than Ron did. Mind you Rod liked the odd pop at the support too.

Didn't disagree with Ron. Our support is hard work.

LewysGot2
19-05-2022, 05:55 PM
I'm a bit more positive having heard him speak today that Johnson might be a reasonable fit for us.

Spoke well.

CB Hibs 68
19-05-2022, 05:56 PM
He obviously did his research on Hibs to the extent he went to watch the Livi and Dundee games.Pretty certain he will have had a look on Hibs.net to see what’s what and no doubt he will be aware of what some folk thought of his potential appt.For me he comes over well but success or not is down to recruitment over the next few weeks.

OldEast
Didn't disagree with Ron. Our support is hard work.

It certainly answers the question; do they read social media? Of course they do and if it pisses off a hardened businessman like Ron imagine how the abuse affects a 21 year old player.

Everything Ron said in that interview was absolutely spot on

I agreed with lots of what Ron said, he's right in that football fans are a fickle bunch but if you win games most of it is forgiven, if we do that then he will find it an easier ride

19-05-2022, 05:58 PM
Listening to his interview I quote like him. Wouldn't say I'm doing cartwheels about it but certainly not all doom and gloom. All the very best to him and hope he is a huge success!!

19-05-2022, 06:00 PM
Unsustainable you mean?

No, but spending which will deliver improvement.

Northern Hibby
19-05-2022, 06:01 PM

I'd rather he said that than do a Butcher

JamesHFC
19-05-2022, 06:07 PM
See that a lot of people who weren’t fussed on the appointment seem a bit more optimistic after the interviews. He’s got plenty of experience and knows what he wants and what he needs.

All on the club now to back him. I’m glad he pointed out in the press conference that we need to improve the attacking quality in the squad.

19-05-2022, 06:11 PM
He will be lucky to get two full weeks from most of our fanbase currently.

I'm giving him until half time of the first preseason game :agree:

Sioux
19-05-2022, 06:12 PM
Mostly. Lee came across better.

RG's certainly hit a nerve with you eh.

19-05-2022, 06:17 PM

Unless he signs LG, then he'll get the full game......:greengrin

19-05-2022, 06:24 PM
Unsustainable you mean?

Yeah we can’t go back to that.

An SJM transfer windfall might do the business for us… if it happens at all, and if it happens early in the window.

snedzuk
19-05-2022, 06:25 PM
He looked decent today, including the shoes (which matched Jack's before his move to white trainers and a down turn in form)

Also, cool haircut and tidy beard trim.

Sheffhibee
19-05-2022, 06:57 PM
Enjoyed both interviews, seems to be quite straightforward in interview. I'm impressed with the lack of coach speak that we've had to suffer from the last 3 incumbents. He'll have my full support from the start, welcome to Hibs Lee, and good luck GGTTH

19-05-2022, 06:58 PM
Also, cool haircut and tidy beard trim.

And he looks a bit like Alan Stubbs from some angles.

19-05-2022, 07:04 PM

Mainly because the defence in front of him is solid...

19-05-2022, 07:11 PM
It certainly answers the question; do they read social media? Of course they do and if it pisses off a hardened businessman like Ron imagine how the abuse affects a 21 year old player.

Well said.Some deplorable stuff here and in the stands aimed at young players this past season.
And our goalie !

Inconsequential
19-05-2022, 07:21 PM
Mainly because the defence in front of him is solid... A poor defence that had Rocky at it's heart, various members missing through injury and suspension, defenders playing when unfit. Losing goals from crosses into the box on a regular basis. Of course Macey never saves anything. The problem is Hibs can't score... it's obvious!

WestCoastHibby
19-05-2022, 07:25 PM
A four year deal means hee haw.
It will be sewn up tight with several conditions but if he’s good enough he will get a fair amount of support hopefully

Paul1642
19-05-2022, 07:31 PM
I’m really exited about this which has surprised me. Really think he will work out and feel like the board will back him. Hopefully John McGinn get a big money move early in the window to really boost the budget.

19-05-2022, 07:34 PM
Everything Ron said in that interview was absolutely spot on
I've watched it twice and it's a great interview.

19-05-2022, 07:36 PM
Unsustainable you mean?
Great days, great players some terrific results unsustainable wage bill which nearly bankrupted the club.

JXM73
19-05-2022, 07:38 PM
Is everyone getting a clean slate been rolled out yet? Hope f'n not...

Paul1642
19-05-2022, 07:41 PM

Would you rather he went full Terry Butcher and said he doesn’t want any of them?

19-05-2022, 07:43 PM
RG's certainly hit a nerve with you eh.

Not particularly, I actually think he's genuine and serious about his commitment to the club and his ambition for success. I am however capable of not simply being an uncritical fanboy.

JXM73
19-05-2022, 07:44 PM
Would you rather he went full Terry Butcher and said he doesn’t want any of them?

After that season, definitely

Paulie Walnuts
19-05-2022, 07:45 PM

To the ones that aren’t worth keeping that’s exactly what I’m hoping we do.

Paul1642
19-05-2022, 07:48 PM
After that season, definitely

Clarke, Doig, Nisbet, Porto, Magennis, Cadden and Melkerson included?

We have the core of a good team. The manager was more the issue than the players IMO. A good pre season, a few quality signings and a winning start to get the confidence up and we will be competing for 3rd and trophies.

Even if a player is not in his initial plans, it’s better to keep them happy incase a move does not materialise and we end up relying on them due to injury’s or other factors.

Basildon Hibs
19-05-2022, 07:55 PM

And some Steel in our 'soft as *****' midfield.

19-05-2022, 07:56 PM

We poached Butcher 3/4 months into the season from ICT.
He told those players that nonsense around mid season.Not end of season.
Great time to tell them that,the eejit..
Then we went into freefall.
Hindsight is wonderful,though.
Pat Fenlon presided over two of the most most horrible results i recall.
But Butcher was something else and his bully assistant,Malpas
Should haver stuck with Pat for at least remainder of that season.
Pat was hurt when he left Hibs. He knew he let us down badly.
But Butcher had no such empathy.ICT club and their fans rejoiced when he relegated us.
Petrie oot !!:grr:

19-05-2022, 07:57 PM
And some Steel in our 'soft as *****' midfield.

4 new midfielders and we are a different team, as long as they are better of course. :wink:

I'm not so sure its steel either we need, just better quality.

G15 Hibs
19-05-2022, 07:59 PM

In the interview on the pitch he definitely referred to those who'll fit into how he wants to play and those who won't, or something along those lines which was encouraging to hear.

19-05-2022, 08:00 PM

Nope. Mentioned making signings though. Sounds like he's done his homework.

19-05-2022, 08:00 PM
Clarke, Doig, Nisbet, Porto, Magennis, Cadden and Melkerson included?

We have the core of a good team. The manager was more the issue than the players IMO. A good pre season, a few quality signings and a winning start to get the confidence up and we will be competing for 3rd and trophies.

Even if a player is not in his initial plans, it’s better to keep them happy incase a move does not materialise and we end up relying on them due to injury’s or other factors.

Nisbet will be out for around the first 3 months of next season, Magennis doesn't seem to have any timescale for a return, Clarke has a clause in his loan agreement which allows him to be recalled by Arsenal, Porteous is highly likely to be off sooner rather than later and Melkersen hasn't looked ready to play regular first team football.

There's an absolutely enormous rebuild required over the summer.

19-05-2022, 08:10 PM
Nisbet will be out for around the first 3 months of next season, Magennis doesn't seem to have any timescale for a return, Clarke has a clause in his loan agreement which allows him to be recalled by Arsenal, Porteous is highly likely to be off sooner rather than later and Melkersen hasn't looked ready to play regular first team football.

Sure Magennis is planned to be back for the start of pre season.

19-05-2022, 08:11 PM

Magennis is targeting a return for preseason.

19-05-2022, 08:22 PM
https://www.readytogo.net/smb/threads/lee-johnson-appointed-hibs-manager.1579552/page-2

A very interesting read

JXM73
19-05-2022, 08:24 PM
Nope. Mentioned making signings though. Sounds like he's done his homework.

Like it...

19-05-2022, 08:29 PM
Sure Magennis is planned to be back for the start of pre season.

Magennis is targeting a return for preseason.

Hope so as he's a good player, if he can stay fit then great but so far in his career he's averaged just 23 appearances per season over 6 years in all competitions. I'll believe he's back fit when I see it.

It doesn't really change the general point I was making though - an enormous rebuild is required if we're going to be competitive next season.

19-05-2022, 08:30 PM
https://www.readytogo.net/smb/threads/lee-johnson-appointed-hibs-manager.1579552/page-2

A very interesting read

Looks like a Heckingbottom thread on here

19-05-2022, 08:31 PM

A very interesting read

How do you mean?

19-05-2022, 08:33 PM
How do you mean?

Just interesting to read really, their fans seem split on it.

19-05-2022, 08:36 PM
Just interesting to read really, their fans seem split on it.

Ah I see. Wondered if was something specific in it 👍

GreenGray
19-05-2022, 08:36 PM
Just watched his interview and I liked the bit where he said he wanted to reconnect the fans with the playing staff and team. Something which is definitely needed.

I’m sold after a 10 minute interview.

19-05-2022, 08:38 PM
Just watched his interview and I liked the bit where he said he wanted to reconnect the fans with the playing staff and team. Something which is definitely needed.

I’m sold after a 10 minute interview.

I liked what he had to say too. It doesn’t make his appointment right or wrong yet but it’s a good start as far as I’m concerned.

Looking forward to the summer and some transfer news.

Cat Stanton
19-05-2022, 08:39 PM

A very interesting read

What does POMO mean?

19-05-2022, 08:40 PM

A very interesting read

Some positive posts in there which gives us some hope although the best thing that most of them have to say about his tenure is that he's a nice guy.

GreenGray
19-05-2022, 08:42 PM
I liked what he had to say too. It doesn’t make his appointment right or wrong yet but it’s a good start as far as I’m concerned.

Looking forward to the summer and some transfer news.

Does comes across very well, which of course anyone can do. However I always felt Maloney didn’t come across naturally and had to think hard about what he was saying.

19-05-2022, 08:46 PM
It is what it is. Can’t say I’m overly excited about next season but some of my favourite times following Hibs have come when I’ve had low expectations and been pleasantly surprised

19-05-2022, 09:01 PM
I'm sure he will know who he wants to keep to move the club forward after a good look at them.

Just seen his interview on YouTube and impressed with what he says, even says possession is not key as long as we win matches and will go to the old firm looking for a win 👍

19-05-2022, 09:05 PM
I had previously stated I was underwhelmed, and whilst he wasn't my first choice, I'll give him my full backing and thought he came across well in both his interview and the press conference.

RG made a point that he's found the lack of support from the fans challenging and of course it's a complex issue but he's probably generally right, we can be a fickle bunch but I'm sure of LJ can put together a team that can fight for the badge, play a bit and deliver some tangible success then we'll see the support galvanised.

19-05-2022, 09:06 PM
I'm sure he will know who he wants to keep to move the club forward after a good look at them.

Just seen his interview on YouTube and impressed with what he says, even says possession is not key as long as we win matches and will go to the old firm looking for a win 👍
Glad to hear it. I hate it when we to visit the glasgow manks just hoping not to get beat. A coach with a complete set of balls is more than welcome.

19-05-2022, 09:07 PM
Good luck, gonna need it with some vultures already circling

Sparrows chirping on social media.

Willis1875
19-05-2022, 09:08 PM

A very interesting read

Notice somebody on there say that Jamie McAllister has recently taken a job elsewhere,is this right?

19-05-2022, 09:13 PM
Notice somebody on there say that Jamie McAllister has recently taken a job elsewhere,is this right?Not sure but Johnsons response of 'that's not done yet' suggests he will be here

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

19-05-2022, 09:16 PM
What does POMO mean?

Still trying to figure that out myself :greengrin

Edit:

The pomo is the space inhabited by a striker, usually after pulling away from the goalkeeper after a corner is taken. It is the space in between the six-yard line and the back post and is important because a high percentage of headers won by the attacking team are flicked towards this area

19-05-2022, 09:17 PM

A very interesting read

Kind of reaffirms my fears about him to be honest.

I think you need to recognise the time and place for shoring up and seeing out wins/draws.

I like that there is a focus on attacking but as I say, when you are going for cups and third place you need to be able to grind wins out.

Hopefully he has learnt that

Willis1875
19-05-2022, 09:19 PM
Still trying to figure that out myself :greengrin

Edit:

The pomo is the space inhabited by a striker, usually after pulling away from the goalkeeper after a corner is taken. It is the space in between the six-yard line and the back post and is important because a high percentage of headers won by the attacking team are flicked towards this area

Yeah Position Of Maximum Opportunity

19-05-2022, 09:21 PM
Yeah Position Of Maximum Opportunity

Or, in Sunderland's case, promotion or move on.

19-05-2022, 09:25 PM

Are you making most of that up? Absolutely enormous haha.

McHibby
19-05-2022, 09:31 PM
"We wanted a manager that would lead on recruitment..."

Interesting choice of words from Ron there.

Good point, I didn't even pick up on that when I read RG's comments.

I feel heartened by it. Recruitment should absolutely be driven by the manager; and any "Head of Recruitment" (or similar) should only be responsible for trying to make those signings happen.

Admittedly, I don't know very much about the new manager. But at least we appear to have conducted proper due diligence this time and, with a 4 year contract, appear to be committed to him and his long-term plans.

Obviously success can never be guaranteed, but I certainly feel confident that a lot of thought has gone into this appointment.

The Veteran
19-05-2022, 09:33 PM

Aye, ok Lee.

Thanks for giving us the scenario, much appreciated. :aok:

19-05-2022, 09:43 PM
Not an appointment that fills .e with any great excitement, but will of course give him full support. Only concern is length of contract, if it doesn't work out it will be costly.

19-05-2022, 09:52 PM
Are you making most of that up? Absolutely enormous haha.

What most parts would I have made up exactly?

I happen to believe that our squad isn't very good right now and is in need of major repair over the summer to avoid a repeat of this season.

19-05-2022, 09:58 PM

I happen to believe that our squad isn't very good right now and is in need of major repair over the summer to avoid a repeat of this season.

You were spot on. Not sure how anyone could disagree. We need a big rebuild.

19-05-2022, 10:02 PM

I agree and think the team will look quite different by the start of the season.

We already know we’re going to have a different goalie.

We’ll have a different centre half (possibly more than one) in at some point as I think you’re right about Porteous being away (if not for the start of the season then by the time the window closes). Chuck in the fact that I don’t think we’ll sign Rocky and McGregor won’t be playing anymore.

We all know we need a central midfielder and on top of that I think we’ll sign at least a couple of attacking players be it a centre forward, winger or whatever.

I don’t think we’re going to be looking for the squad filler types this summer.

19-05-2022, 10:08 PM
Aye, ok Lee.

Thanks for giving us the scenario, much appreciated. :aok:

No problem.

19-05-2022, 10:52 PM
Have paid my £420 ST again. Will back any new Hibs Manager to the hilt come the new season, but I am totally underwhelmed by this appointment. I would absolutely love to be proved wrong but I have zero enthusiasm now.

Sorry if I have upset anyone. Just my gut instinct.

19-05-2022, 10:55 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-reveals-hibs-connection-as-he-speaks-on-signings-kenny-dalglish-link-and-really-good-academy-3701703

Another good read

19-05-2022, 10:57 PM
Have paid my £420 ST again. Will back any new Hibs Manager to the hilt come the new season, but I am totally underwhelmed by this appointment. I would absolutely love to be proved wrong but I have zero enthusiasm now.

Sorry if I have upset anyone. Just my gut instinct.

Hope for the best.

The enthusiasm will come back with a couple of positive signings and performances.

There is no point focusing on the negative. There is no joy in being proved right!

19-05-2022, 11:08 PM
Hope for the best.

The enthusiasm will come back with a couple of positive signings and performances.

There is no point focusing on the negative. There is no joy in being proved right!

I agree mate. I don't have a negative outlook normally. I always expect the worst and hope for the best with Hibs.

LJ could be a good appointment, who knows? I just think our support needed a boost to galvanise us and turn things around. The wrong appointment at the wrong time I fear, but wtf do I know?

19-05-2022, 11:44 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-reveals-hibs-connection-as-he-speaks-on-signings-kenny-dalglish-link-and-really-good-academy-3701703

Another good readI always make a huge effort not to criticise our club , giving those in charge the benefit of the doubt , but I see nothing in this article to make me think that this is a good appointment or the best we could have made . Likewise with the interview on Hibs TV . Someone with no attachment to Hibs being interviewed by someone else with no attachment to Hibs with the East Stand in the background to let us know it`s Easter Road . Anyway , let`s hope we get some good results and above all some entertaining football . We`re all aware or should be of financial limits and know that no club in Scotland except Celtic or Rangers can attract a big name manager who also has proven managerial skills and also understand that choosing a good manager is very complicated .

K-Zazu
19-05-2022, 11:47 PM

Another good read

I’m sure some heckingbottom and Maloney articles were the same all talk a good game means nothing really

19-05-2022, 11:53 PM
I’m sure some heckingbottom and Maloney articles were the same all talk a good game means nothing really

And there is the bottom line. Any claims of LJ doing well or otherwise at Hibs is sheer speculation. Sadly RG has dumped pressure on LJ through his knee-jerk experiment with Malloney.

19-05-2022, 11:57 PM
I’m sure some heckingbottom and Maloney articles were the same all talk a good game means nothing reallyExactly but with H and M club made big decision to select them over other candidates then got rid of them at first sign of trouble . This time we`ve given the manager a 4 - year contract either because we think he may want to leave before 4 years are up so we get compensation or because manager has demanded long contract and we didn`t want to drag heels for too long about a decision .

shetlandhibee
20-05-2022, 12:25 AM
Exactly but with H and M club made big decision to select them over other candidates then got rid of them at first sign of trouble . This time we`ve given the manager a 4 - year contract either because we think he may want to leave before 4 years are up so we get compensation or because manager has demanded long contract and we didn`t want to drag heels for too long about a decision .
this :top marksLJ would have insisted on 4 yrs before he put an X

20-05-2022, 12:29 AM
I always make a huge effort not to criticise our club , giving those in charge the benefit of the doubt , but I see nothing in this article to make me think that this is a good appointment or the best we could have made . Likewise with the interview on Hibs TV . Someone with no attachment to Hibs being interviewed by someone else with no attachment to Hibs with the East Stand in the background to let us know it`s Easter Road . Anyway , let`s hope we get some good results and above all some entertaining football . We`re all aware or should be of financial limits and know that no club in Scotland except Celtic or Rangers can attract a big name manager who also has proven managerial skills and also understand that choosing a good manager is very complicated .

Such a reasoned, and articulate post.

We have brought in a run of the mill Manager, with a questionable CV, and expect him to be successful with Hibernian.

Most Hibs fans like me will back LJ, but will have very low expectations Maybe that's a good thing ironically.

It's just a meh appointment and not what we needed at this moment in time. There are many Hibs fans with this view from what I can see, and their view is just as valid as those on herre who seem to express blind loyalty to the club .

20-05-2022, 12:46 AM
this :top marksLJ would have insisted on 4 yrs before he put an X

Not entirely sure what difference it would make? We'll only be paying 6 months if he does end up sacked anyway. Think that's the case for all managers we employ? It's why Appleton allegedly turned us down.

20-05-2022, 12:57 AM
Not entirely sure what difference it would make? We'll only be paying 6 months if he does end up sacked anyway. Think that's the case for all managers we employ? It's why Appleton allegedly turned us down.

Exactly the long term contract suggests Hibs expect him to be a success and would ensure excellent compensation if he left.

20-05-2022, 12:57 AM

We have brought in a run of the mill Manager, with a questionable CV, and expect him to be successful with Hibernian.

Most Hibs fans like me will back LJ, but will have very low expectations Maybe that's a good thing ironically.

It's just a meh appointment and not what we needed at this moment in time. There are many Hibs fans with this view from what I can see, and their view is just as valid as those on herre who seem to express blind loyalty to the club .

Player signings are massively more important than manager imo

20-05-2022, 01:05 AM
Player signings are massively more important than manager imo

Honestly can't get my head around that. Without a manager who would decide which players to sign? Fergie stated many many times that manager was the most important person at any club in a football sense.

20-05-2022, 01:53 AM

There is no guarantee a big name would have delivered success just as we can't say for certain that a 'meh' name will or wont. We want success and the die has been cast so now, as you say, we hope for the best.

Also, I disagree with your last line. The doubters have been very vocal from very early on in this process. If you feel your view is seen as less valid I hope that is because more and more are getting behind the new manager. Not blind loyalty. Just supporters supporting.

20-05-2022, 04:45 AM
Can’t say he’s an appointment that I know anything about or feel overly excited about. That’s also exactly how I felt with Mowbray and Stubbs, so certainly not a bad thing. In the past 20 years Terry Butcher was our most hyped managerial appointment and he was the worst in our history.

Clean slate and welcome Lee! Sounds like he wants us to have a go and not play the bland conservative style we’ve become accustomed to, so should be a welcome change either way.

Clarence
20-05-2022, 05:07 AM
It does feel like we were promised Michelin star and have ended up at Wetherspoons but hey ho, pass me the HP sauce and get the pints in, it might not be that bad.

20-05-2022, 05:22 AM
It does feel like we were promised Michelin star and have ended up at Wetherspoons but hey ho, pass me the HP sauce and get the pints in, it might not be that bad.

I think the press/we built our expectations up with the names flying around at the start. All Ron said was that he wanted an experienced manager this time. That's what we've got.

20-05-2022, 05:26 AM
Time will tell if he is a good appointment or not, same as every manager, we were never going to attract a top end manager or really big name ex player, unless you are celtic or rangers then thats not going to happen up here, we are not a big club(outwith scotland) that dont pay huge wages, we are always going to employ coaches who are either on the way up or have not been great somewhere else and looking to rebuild. Here is hoping the LJ is a success

20-05-2022, 05:44 AM

100% agree :agree:

I recall as the 2021 summer transfer window was about to close, there were many who posted that we were short of two or three quality players in central defence, midfield and in the forward locations. Yet, there were posters who ridiculed such suggestions pointing out that we had just finished 3rd in the league, best for a long time, SC final etc and you can't have good/quality players sitting on the bench every week. Well that worked out well. Within days, we had lost Doidge, Magennis and it was clear we had no reliable back-up to Porto & Hanlon, if you discount an ageing McGregor. Players like Paul McGinn had gone off form as IMO they were being rushed back into the 1st team too quickly.

Roll on less than a year and it's been excruciating watching this team play football, get progressively worse as the season progressed. We've lost our talisman striker. We are lacking in midfield and I would not want to rely on Magennis next season. We are lacking in forward positions and I would not want to rely on Nisbet and Doidge, nor an inexperienced Norwegian, next season. We are lacking in defence, as our ageing players are showing signs of regressing. Yes, we do have some good young players in Porto and Doig, but for their development we need to protect them and that isn't happening when they are playing every single game or being rushed back into the team as there's no reliable back-up. With the exception of Clarke, none of the 'loanees' gave me confidence that they are players who'll excel in a team at the top end of the league.

I'm baffled when posters disagree that there's not an enormous rebuild needed next season. If our squad for 2022/23 is largely the same that ended the 2021/22 season then I'll be seriously disappointed and I believe LJ will be too. Surely, we must have a squad that when you take one player out of the team there's someone good enough to replace him with minimal impact to the team's performance.

20-05-2022, 05:49 AM

I thought he said good group of senior players which is true. Agree we need some big aggressive players with character coming in.

20-05-2022, 05:58 AM

I might even be judging him on how good his warm up routine is in the first pre season game, :greengrin

20-05-2022, 06:14 AM

Yes some form of rebuild is required but you describe it as absolutely enormous....10/10 for sensationalism. And could you enlighten us on when Nisbet and Magennis will be back to full fitness, you seem to be in the know.

20-05-2022, 06:16 AM
Exactly the long term contract suggests Hibs expect him to be a success and would ensure excellent compensation if he left.

So if he leaves after 4 months how much would we have to pay him?

20-05-2022, 06:19 AM
Yes some form of rebuild is required but you describe it as absolutely enormous....10/10 for sensationalism. And could you enlighten us on when Nisbet and Magennis will be back to full fitness, you seem to be in the know.

I would probably agree that the vast majority of the squad needs overhauled to get us up a level.

That said, I think there are players in the squad who would be able to (already are) jump up to that level.

I also recognise that turning the squad over will take a couple of years, so we will be with a certain amount of them for at least the next year.

I don’t see how that is surprising to be honest. There a lot who aren’t good enough for us to be consistently top 4.

Dmas
20-05-2022, 06:21 AM

It is quite a job to be fair, we still have the CB issue from last summer now even more important cause it seems there won’t be big Daz to fall back on either, CM is an issue even with magennis back we need another 2 IMO, and we need a Striker to ease the pressure on melkerson all that as well as having to find someone to fill Boyles shoes on the right, it’s maybe only 5/6 players to add to what we have but there in hugely important roles for the team big summer ahead

20-05-2022, 06:44 AM
So if he leaves after 4 months how much would we have to pay him?I'm assuming the same as if he left after 2 years?

I've not seen the contract but it would be fairly standard for a club like us to have a X months payout clause I would have thought

Dmas
20-05-2022, 06:54 AM
I'm assuming the same as if he left after 2 years?

I've not seen the contract but it would be fairly standard for a club like us to have a X months payout clause I would have thought

He’s dropped his wage demands and got the security of a 4 yr deal, def be a clause as Callum states as well, just another excuse for the negative bunch to twist it another way, we all know there would be the same scoffs at the club had he signed a 2 yr deal ‘can’t be that confident then’, ‘expect him out the door in 6months club obviously think so too’ club can’t win in some eyes desperate for failure just to get the feeling of being right, sad.

20-05-2022, 07:00 AM

Nisbet's been in the media over the past few days saying he hopes to be back playing in October hence why I said he'll miss the first three months of next season (i.e. not made up).

Magennis apparently hopes to be back for pre-season which, if true, would be very welcome news but considering he has only managed to play an average of just over 20 games per season in all competitions during his 6 seasons as a professional footballer so far I'm not quite convinced that he's going to suddenly be a regular starter and be someone we can rely on week in and week out.

Our midfield is a huge problem area and I believe it needs major surgery done to it. If we start next season with the same midfield that ended last season we're in for a long season.

20-05-2022, 07:01 AM

That's my take on it too. He gets the same payout whether he leaves after 4 months or after 34 months.

20-05-2022, 07:14 AM
Lee Johnson has been pictured singing and dancing in celebration of joining Hibs...

:singing:

"I'm coming out,
I want to the world to know..."

20-05-2022, 07:54 AM
I thought he said good group of senior players which is true. Agree we need some big aggressive players with character coming in.

Kinda.

He said we’ve got a senior group of really good characters to help set the standards.

I think the complete opposite and that we’re crying out for characters.

Our standards have been shocking and need risen but we don’t have the players to do it.

RG was kidding himself on when he said we had a good squad. It’s mince. I hope LJ figures that out quickly.

If we have another window like last year he, and our team, will be screwed. Again.

20-05-2022, 08:20 AM

Excellent analogy.
Trouble is many of Wetherspoons products are close to their sell-by and on the turn!

20-05-2022, 08:21 AM
Nisbet's been in the media over the past few days saying he hopes to be back playing in October hence why I said he'll miss the first three months of next season (i.e. not made up).

Magennis apparently hopes to be back for pre-season which, if true, would be very welcome news but considering he has only managed to play an average of just over 20 games per season in all competitions during his 6 seasons as a professional footballer so far I'm not quite convinced that he's going to suddenly be a regular starter and be someone we can rely on week in and week out.

Our midfield is a huge problem area and I believe it needs major surgery done to it. If we start next season with the same midfield that ended last season we're in for a long season.

I agree with all of this

I would say a lot of our punchless toothless attacking is because (without McGennis) we actually don't have a midfielder who breaks the lines, makes late runs, creates a problem for the opposition, and it makes life 100% harder for our strikers to find any space.

By the same token, I think our defence ends up under more pressure because of midfielders not tracking their man - the number of times we lost a goal from a cross (in our right back area) where Paul McGinn had been double-teamed without support, and then that cross is headed in by a late runner from midfield (thinking of the St Mirren 2-2 game for example) and actually the issue isn't defence or attack, it's the midfield not doing enough at one end and not tracking back at the other.

2 upgrade centre mids, with bite and dynamism, will lift the whole team.

20-05-2022, 08:27 AM
Kinda.

He said we’ve got a senior group of really good characters to help set the standards.

I think the complete opposite and that we’re crying out for characters.

Our standards have been shocking and need risen but we don’t have the players to do it.

RG was kidding himself on when he said we had a good squad. It’s mince. I hope LJ figures that out quickly.

If we have another window like last year he, and our team, will be screwed. Again.

For sure we need 4 or 5 first team starters in quickly as agree we need a rebuild. Marshall is a good start

20-05-2022, 08:28 AM

Pretty sure that will be the case :agree:

20-05-2022, 08:30 AM
A poor defence that had Rocky at it's heart, various members missing through injury and suspension, defenders playing when unfit. Losing goals from crosses into the box on a regular basis. Of course Macey never saves anything. The problem is Hibs can't score... it's obvious!

Our weakness as the 3rd best defence in Scotland is crosses...which our current no.1 cannot deal with.

leith lynx
20-05-2022, 08:34 AM
Lee Johnson has been pictured singing and dancing in celebration of joining Hibs...

:singing:

"I'm coming out,
I want to the world to know..."

Seems like a nice boy!

GreenGray
20-05-2022, 08:37 AM
Was he actually at Livingston and Dundee games in disguise?[emoji23]

20-05-2022, 08:42 AM
Our weakness as the 3rd best defence in Scotland is crosses...which our current no.1 cannot deal with.

The first rule of defending crosses is to stop the cross coming in, something we have been chronic at since the opening game against Motherwell last season.

20-05-2022, 09:07 AM
I don't think the overhaul is a desperate and vast as some make out, the fact that a lot of these players managed to finish 3rd and get to two cup finals shows you they are capable of something. We had a good defensive record, however we do need cover.

It really depends who leaves or is sold. The midfield is the real area that needs fixed, Magennis can fix it but as we saw last year once one player is injured the whole season was done. We were very unlucky with striker injuries, but we need improvements there since Nisbet is out for so long we can't be just relying on 19 year old Melkersen to carry us.

I'm also not even sure what "way" we were playing most of last season, if LJ can get the players to adapt to how he wants to play then they can be better players than just going through the motions as most of them did last season. When everyone buys into a style and knows their job it can make a huge difference.

Spudster
20-05-2022, 09:21 AM

I recall as the 2021 summer transfer window was about to close, there were many who posted that we were short of two or three quality players in central defence, midfield and in the forward locations. Yet, there were posters who ridiculed such suggestions pointing out that we had just finished 3rd in the league, best for a long time, SC final etc and you can't have good/quality players sitting on the bench every week. Well that worked out well. Within days, we had lost Doidge, Magennis and it was clear we had no reliable back-up to Porto & Hanlon, if you discount an ageing McGregor. Players like Paul McGinn had gone off form as IMO they were being rushed back into the 1st team too quickly.

Roll on less than a year and it's been excruciating watching this team play football, get progressively worse as the season progressed. We've lost our talisman striker. We are lacking in midfield and I would not want to rely on Magennis next season. We are lacking in forward positions and I would not want to rely on Nisbet and Doidge, nor an inexperienced Norwegian, next season. We are lacking in defence, as our ageing players are showing signs of regressing. Yes, we do have some good young players in Porto and Doig, but for their development we need to protect them and that isn't happening when they are playing every single game or being rushed back into the team as there's no reliable back-up. With the exception of Clarke, none of the 'loanees' gave me confidence that they are players who'll excel in a team at the top end of the league.

I'm baffled when posters disagree that there's not an enormous rebuild needed next season. If our squad for 2022/23 is largely the same that ended the 2021/22 season then I'll be seriously disappointed and I believe LJ will be too. Surely, we must have a squad that when you take one player out of the team there's someone good enough to replace him with minimal impact to the team's performance.

So in summary:
If we have injuries we are weaker.
McGregor is the only cover at CB but we discount him because he is too old.
As Magennis is often injured we also eliminate him.
All 3 strikers are unreliable on the basis that two were injured and one is young.
Porto and Doig are good but can't play often because they are too young.

20-05-2022, 09:26 AM
Never more than a few wins away from talk of challenging the of. Never more than a few losses away from disaster.

Our squad really isn't bad. Plenty proven players who should find that good form again under a good manager. Definitely weak links and definitely new players required though. 3 or 4 good ones and we'll be 4th easily imo.

20-05-2022, 09:30 AM
Never more than a few wins away from talk of challenging the of. Never more than a few losses away from disaster.

Our squad really isn't bad. Plenty proven players who should find that good form again under a good manager. Definitely weak links and definitely new players required though. 3 or 4 good ones and we'll be 4th easily imo.

The problem we have is that we’re short of star quality and that can be hard to address. Boyle had it, he’s left. Porteous has it, he’s likely to leave. Magennis has it, he’s always injured.

We’ve got plenty of decent enough players who can fit around good players to make a good team. We’re just lacking in the actual good players and our attempts to sign those are often high profile, expensive disasters.

Spudster
20-05-2022, 09:33 AM
The problem we have is that we’re short of star quality and that can be hard to address. Boyle had it, he’s left. Porteous has it, he’s likely to leave. Magennis has it, he’s always injured.

We’ve got plenty of decent enough players who can fit around good players to make a good team. We’re just lacking in the actual good players and our attempts to sign those are often high profile, expensive disasters.

Could argue that 2 of those 3 grew into being Star players, never know who could step up from the current team (or youth team).

20-05-2022, 09:33 AM

Would much rather we became a strong team anyway, rather than one reliant on 2 or 3 stars. Good chance for LJ to implement that. Aberdeen and Kilmarnock teams of recent years had none of that.

Dmas
20-05-2022, 09:35 AM

Definitely,if we think how poor a season we’ve had and look at the table going into the split we’d have made top 6 with 1 extra win, considering we had beaten both Motherwell and Ross county before the split it’s not inconceivable to think had we achieved that extra win we’d have had a real shout of a top 4 finish, we’re currently not a million miles away from top 4 but we need a lot of improvement to catch them in 3rd

GreenPJ
20-05-2022, 09:36 AM

So assuming we keep everyone we want to keep I think we could probably get away with Marshall plus 4 others (in this window) although ideally would like 5 plus Marshall. If we lose Ryan, Josh or Harry then they will need to be replaced directly.

20-05-2022, 09:41 AM
Could argue that 2 of those 3 grew into being Star players, never know who could step up from the current team (or youth team).

True.

It looks to be quite a big ask from here though. And if that were to happen, would it not have happened last season?

I’d expect that sort it f thing to happen over time, in a good team.

FWIW I think Jasper and Mitchell have potential to be much better soon, Melkerson over time.

I do think we need a pretty robust 3 or 4 players to go straight in as starters and as our best players.

#2 Double Tap
20-05-2022, 09:46 AM
He comes across all right, the recruitment is still a bit confusing, with Ron saying lee will lead, but lee hinting in his interview the recruitment team will give him a choice of players.

Praying this is the right appointment, his attacking talk is what I wanna hear.

Chorley Hibee
20-05-2022, 09:56 AM

Agree with your assessment entirely.

I'm shocked by the amount of people who believe the majority of the current side doesn't need replaced.

If there isn't major surgery carried out on our squad over the summer/winter then I dread to think where we're heading.

The standard of teams outside the old firm and Hearts has been abysmal (Dundee Utd finished 4th yet lost more than they won) so hiding behind the fact we were only a win away from the top 6 doesn't cut it for me.

We've been relegation form for pretty much the last 30 games we played in.

The squad is awful.

20-05-2022, 09:56 AM
Assuming Porteous is away i think Lee has a decent starting point. 4 or 5 good players in and we'll be able to push on. Im sure he/Hibs already have players in mind.

20-05-2022, 10:00 AM
Assuming Porteous is away i think Lee has a decent starting point. 4 or 5 good players in and we'll be able to push on. Im sure he/Hibs already have players in mind.

If Porteous is away and I think he will be , can't see us needing any less than 6 or 7 players of real quality.

#2 Double Tap
20-05-2022, 10:10 AM

I'm shocked by the amount of people who believe the majority of the current side doesn't need replaced.

If there isn't major surgery carried out on our squad over the summer/winter then I dread to think where we're heading.

The standard of teams outside the old firm and Hearts has been abysmal (Dundee Utd finished 4th yet lost more than they won) so hiding behind the fact we were only a win away from the top 6 doesn't cut it for me.

The squad is awful.

Squad could defo do with some work, but it’s not all horrific.
Macey

Clarke Porto, hanlon doig,

Cadden jdh newell Mitchell

……..,doidge nisbet

Shouldn’t be a bottom six team. Don’t care what anyone says.

Not So Young
20-05-2022, 10:15 AM
Good luck Lee

20-05-2022, 10:15 AM
Would much rather we became a strong team anyway, rather than one reliant on 2 or 3 stars. Good chance for LJ to implement that. Aberdeen and Kilmarnock teams of recent years had none of that.

What we need is a match winner. Boyle was that for us, and has been a huge miss.

I’d argue that Niall McGinn performed that role for Aberdeen for years.

In tight games they make all the difference.

JamesHFC
20-05-2022, 10:16 AM
What we need is a match winner. Boyle was that for us, and has been a huge miss.

I don’t think we have even had a penalty since Boyle left. We need someone who will get into the box and make things happen.

Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2022, 10:18 AM

I’d agree to an extent but it doesn’t even need to be a match winner imo, just a talismanic figure. Aberdeen had Shinnie and McLean, neither of them were guys that could single handedly win you a game but when they were on it they were exceptional and dragged the team up a level.

We need guys who can lift the players who are already here. As it is, our squad actually drags each other down imo by being so imbalanced and players who don’t compliment each other at all having to play together.

Chorley Hibee
20-05-2022, 10:18 AM
Macey

……..,doidge nisbet

I don't think Macey, Porteous or Doidge will be with us next season. Clarke may be away too depending on what Arsenal decide.

Nisbet is probably out until Christmas, and he was awful for months prior to his injury. Mitchell looks to be another who struggles with injuries.

We need to replace Hanlon, room for him in a squad role, not as a starter.

JDH and Newell have been almost ever present in a midfield that has been dominated week in/week out. A midfield that doesn't tackle, doesn't create, doesn't support offensively, and doesn't score goals. If they're part of the future then we're in trouble.

Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2022, 10:21 AM
Macey

……..,doidge nisbet

That team to me is bottom six personified. There’s nothing to it. No players that can step up and create something out of nothing, no forwards that create chances for themselves, no pace, no power, no personality. It’s a team full of players where the majority of them have no stand out qualities.

The centre midfielders offer nothing going forward and the two wide men can also operate as full backs which really goes to show the threat they pose going forward. As wingers/wide midfielders it’s nowhere near enough.

That team is the reason we’re bottom six imo and I say that as someone who doesn’t mind most of them individually. The squad we’ve got though gives us no chance of putting out a decent team, just decent individuals who don’t compliment each other and playing in all the wrong positions.

Throw in the fact that Porteous is probably away and Nisbet is out and they’re probably the two best in that team then that shows the scale of the job we’ve got this summer imo.

20-05-2022, 10:30 AM
That team to me is bottom six personified. There’s nothing to it. No players that can step up and create something out of nothing, no forwards that create chances for themselves, no pace, no power, no personality. It’s a team full of players where the majority of them have no stand out qualities.

That team is the reason we’re bottom six imo.

I don't think its as bad as you make out, but the midfield centrally offers nothing there JDH and Newell are murder together and that combination serves up basically zero support for whoever is up front.

Every one of our strikers struggled this season because the support from midfield was non existent, they were reliant on getting on the end of a cross or just getting the ball and creating something themselves for the most part. Even when we are launching balls into the box we didn't have doidge so it was either Nisbet or Melkerson up against 2 6ft plus no nonsense central defenders.

It's all very well saying that Nisbet or Melkersen need to get stronger but that simply won't make a difference when they are out numbered and smaller. Like when we got really mad at Hanlon for being pushed around by someone who's a giant in comparison, it's frustrating but unless he develops freakish strength he's not going to be out muscle someone much bigger.

20-05-2022, 10:32 AM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hearts-sunderland-match-report-friendly-21079448.amp

More of this please LJ.

Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2022, 10:34 AM
I don't think its as bad as you make out, but the midfield centrally offers nothing there JDH and Newell are murder together and that combination serves up basically zero support for whoever is up front.

Every one of our strikers struggled this season because the support from midfield was non existent, they were reliant on getting on the end of a cross or just getting the ball and creating something themselves for the most part. Even when we are launching balls into the box we didn't have doidge so it was either Nisbet or Melkerson up against 2 6ft plus no nonsense central defenders.

As individuals I actually don’t mind a lot of that team. They’re all pretty steady Eddie. I just think our squad doesn’t compliment each other in the slightest. We’ve no wingers of any substance so we play Cadden there who’s really a full back. We have 2 centre mids who play sideways or backwards passes all game and as you say, they don’t offer any help whatsoever to the strikers.

Individually most of them aren’t bad players (although I think Macey, JDH and Doidge aren’t of the standard required anymore) and I think Hanlon is creeping into that space as well. I said it a lot under Maloney though and I really don’t see how a competent team can be crafted out of this squad. That’s through a mixture of a lack of quality and a horrible imbalance imo.

People moaned under Maloney that we didn’t play two upfront but that would have meant James Scott having to play. It also meant we’d have had to go either 4-4-2 or 3-5-2 with 4-4-2 seeing us horribly overrun in the middle for the sake of having an ineffective striker up top. 3-5-2 would have meant Campbell playing, so now three midfielders who can’t play together and offer nothing going forward and it would also have meant full backs as wing backs and 3 defenders, so really 8 players offering next to nothing going forward. 4-3-3 wasn’t an option as it probably would have again meant a full back like Cadden now pushed even further forward into a front 3 as an out and out winger because we didn’t have any other options.

We need better players but we also need players who compliment each other. We need a centre mid who can carry the ball, we need a centre mid who can break up the play. If we get that then guys like Newell may well have a part to play but without the guys who do the stuff Newell and JDH can’t we’ll continue to struggle imo.

20-05-2022, 10:35 AM

The squad is awful.

Totally agree.

30 points from our last 31 league games is really worrying for me, that's nearly a full season and we averaged less than 1 point per game. Thank God we got 15 points from our first 7 league games or we would have been in really deep trouble. For some context St Johnstone, who are two games away from being relegated to the Championship, managed 29 points from their last 31 league games. Even Dundee managed 26 points over that same period and they only won 6 matches all season.

Like you I am also quite surprised at how many people think our current squad is of an acceptable standard. I think the last two windows in particular have been very poor and unless we see a real improvement in the standard of player brought to the club over the next 3 months I genuinely believe that relegation is a real possibility next season. I personally think we have just 5 or 6 players out of the entire squad who I would say we should actively try and keep.

Lee Johnson has a huge job on his hands to get us even close to where we should be. I wish him all the best in trying to do that.

20-05-2022, 10:45 AM
Macey

……..,doidge nisbet

The 12th worst team in the league ran riot against that midfield.

If you think Newell and JDH, as a combination, are 10th best or above then you are wrong.

They were spared relegation by 2 things this season (and 2 things only)
1) with McGennis fit we were top of the league & unbeaten in 7/8 games - that saved us
2) if we had lost to St Mirren (first game post split) the freefall would have been going til the St J game. That dismal (but important) 1-0 win spared us.

I cannot believe my eyes that you think Newell and JDH are a good combination

They - as a pairing - have relegation stats

20-05-2022, 10:48 AM

If you think Newell and JDH, as a combination, are 10th best or above then you are wrong.

He didn’t say that though, he specifically said the squad ‘needed some work’ but isn’t all bad, which is true.

The major need for surgery is the midfield. Newell has a contract now so it’ll be expensive to get rid, I’d keep him, get rid of JDH and spend some money on 3 new signings in that area.

20-05-2022, 10:57 AM
Bringing in a better central midfield will lift all the players around it.

I’m thinking the likes of Beuzelin, Liam Miller and McGinn coming in and how much they helped raise the levels of those around them. Our periods of good football have always been built around excellent midfielders. Get that part right and you’ll probably realise that some of other areas of the team aren’t as bad as we first thought. They need to be very comfortable in possession but also be willing to take risks to get the team forward.

Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2022, 10:58 AM

1) with McGennis fit we were top of the league & unbeaten in 7/8 games - that saved us
2) if we had lost to St Mirren (first game post split) the freefall would have been going til the St J game. That dismal (but important) 1-0 win spared us.

Yup.

I’m in no way suggesting we sign these guys but if you use players from our recent history based more on the type of player they are rather than how good they are, we should be aiming for our team to be:

Marshall

Cadden
Porteous (or an alternative physical defender if he leaves)
Ambrose style CB who can play a bit football
Doig

Dylan-type sitting midfielder who is always available for the ball. In a decent team Newell would maybe fit the bill. Dylan was also a great reader of the game and could cut off passing lanes well.
Magennis/McGinn type with the ability to drive the team on and a bit athleticism
Allan type who can cut a team open and create chances or a Mallan type who is a threat from distance

Boyle/Barker type winger who can carry the ball with real pace and beat a man
Nisbet/Doidge of a couple years ago level striker who can get close to 20 a season
Another winger, either in a similar mould to the other one or even more like a Tony Watt who likes to drift inside and link with the striker

Our recruitment of the last few seasons smacks very much of not actually considering that players can play the exact same positions in hugely different ways and ending up with us signing loads of guys that just all want to do the same thing.

20-05-2022, 11:06 AM
He didn’t say that though, he specifically said the squad ‘needed some work’ but isn’t all bad, which is true.

The major need for surgery is the midfield. Newell has a contract now so it’ll be expensive to get rid, I’d keep him, get rid of JDH and spend some money on 3 new signings in that area.

Doyle Hayes' contract length is exactly the same as Newell's - both are contracted until 2025.

#2 Double Tap
20-05-2022, 11:07 AM
Yup.

I’m in no way suggesting we sign these guys but if you use players from our recent history based more on the type of player they are rather than how good they are, we should be aiming for our team to be:

Marshall

Cadden
Porteous (or an alternative physical defender if he leaves)
Ambrose style CB who can play a bit football
Doig

Dylan-type sitting midfielder who is always available for the ball. In a decent team Newell would maybe fit the bill. Dylan was also a great reader of the game and could cut off passing lanes well.
Magennis/McGinn type with the ability to drive the team on and a bit athleticism
Allan type who can cut a team open and create chances or a Mallan type who is a threat from distance

Boyle/Barker type winger who can carry the ball with real pace and beat a man
Nisbet/Doidge of a couple years ago level striker who can get close to 20 a season
Another winger, either in a similar mould to the other one or even more like a Tony Watt who likes to drift inside and link with the striker

Our recruitment of the last few seasons smacks very much of not actually considering that players can play the exact same positions in hugely different ways and ending up with us signing loads of guys that just all want to do the same thing.

Your midfield is gonna still get overrun with just those 3, in that 433.

20-05-2022, 11:07 AM
Bringing in a better central midfield will lift all the players around it.

I’m thinking the likes of Beuzelin, Liam Miller and McGinn coming in and how much they helped raise the levels of those around them. Our periods of good football have always been built around excellent midfielders. Get that part right and you’ll probably realise that some of other areas of the team aren’t as bad as we first thought. They need to be very comfortable in possession but also be willing to take risks to get the team forward.

Exactly right.

20-05-2022, 11:08 AM
He looks and sounds a good sort.
Immaculately turned out too. I feel that's a reflection of the inner man.

20-05-2022, 11:08 AM
Doyle Hayes' contract length is exactly the same as Newell's - both are contracted until 2025.

Id hazard a guess that JDH is on less wage though. And more importantly he's shown less evidence of being able to contribute good things from time to time than Newell has.

Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2022, 11:15 AM
Your midfield is gonna still get overrun with just those 3, in that 433.

Is it? It never used to get overrun the last time we had a midfield 3 with those qualities. Infact it was utterly dominant most weeks.

Obviously the standard of player will decide whether we get overrun or not but a combination of those 3 style of players is about the perfect mix imo.

20-05-2022, 11:16 AM

The squad is awful.

I reckon with minimal addition you should be able to carve out a decent that could be up to scratch.

We’re going to need some serious reinforcements in midfield and attack, although I wouldn’t rule out any of our current players being able to make a contribution alongside them. The problems we have is that the sum of the parts we have currently is less than the individual parts, making those players look worse than they are.

20-05-2022, 11:19 AM
Nisbet will be away as soon as he's fit and we can forget about Doidge.

We need 3 strikers to start with. Melkerson might come onto a game so that leaves 2.

Whole new midfield and a decent centre half might give us a chance.

20-05-2022, 11:25 AM

We need 3 strikers to start with. Melkerson might come onto a game so that leaves 2.

Who would sign Nisbet?

Brown Hibs
20-05-2022, 11:26 AM
Who would sign Nisbet?

Doubt he will be going anywhere

20-05-2022, 11:27 AM
Who would sign Nisbet?

International striker, good strike record on paper, going through a dry spell at the moment but clubs will definitely take a chance on players with his pedigree, especially strikers.

Paulie Walnuts
20-05-2022, 11:28 AM
Doubt he will be going anywhere

Next summer at the earliest surely.

He’ll need to prove his fitness, that he has fully recovered and also regain some sort of form after a poor season.

I’d be stunned if anyone came in with enough money for us to sell him now or January.

20-05-2022, 11:29 AM

As a pairing I thought they had a decent game in the derby at ER but apart from that have been awful together since Magennis got injured.

However - they were really pretty good together with Magennis when he was fit. As you say, pretty much top of the league.

This is the conundrum we have with this squad. I don’t think either JDH or Newell are pish but I think there’s a good chance they’re a relegation midfield if played as a pair. I also think that we might only be getting Magennis fit and signing a top central striker away from seeing a lot more from them.

I’ll respect Johnson’s decision to cull anyone but I don’t think it’s anything like as black and white as some folk are making out. All of our players aren’t pish.

20-05-2022, 11:30 AM

How do you know that, are you his agent?

20-05-2022, 11:32 AM
Enjoyed Lee Johnson’s introduction and interviews, and I have quite a positive feeling about this one.

Sounds like a change of style could be afoot so will be interesting to see what type of player he brings in. Hopefully see a more athletic and physical side to compliment the “tidy footballer” category who make up a lot of the squad. A robust spine and a mixture and blend of different attributes throughout a starting eleven.

He’s admitted himself he’s not a glamour name, but when you look at his competitors for fighting it out against next term, it’s the likes of Robbie Neilson, Graeme Alexander, Jim Goodwin, Tam Courts, Malky Mackay, Derek McInnes, David Martindale and Stephen Robinson. Not exactly a stellar list and we should be well positioned to have a decent season.

20-05-2022, 11:33 AM
How do you know that, are you his agent?

Bizarre post.

I’ll bet you know I’m not. Just want an argument yeah?

Like everyone else on here, I’m saying what I think.

20-05-2022, 11:34 AM
Who would sign Nisbet?

He’ll get a move easily once he’s fit.

I just don’t think he wants to be here. We weren’t getting much out of him anyways so think he’ll be off.

20-05-2022, 11:35 AM
International striker, good strike record on paper, going through a dry spell at the moment but clubs will definitely take a chance on players with his pedigree, especially strikers.

I think he might go, but it was presented as fact that he's away as soon as he's fit. Was just wondering who was signing him.

20-05-2022, 11:36 AM
He looks and sounds a good sort.
Immaculately turned out too. I feel that's a reflection of the inner man.
Good perceptive post👌

Percy Vere
20-05-2022, 11:38 AM
Like what I’m hearing.
Aggressive attacking football… yes please
Welcome Lee.

20-05-2022, 11:38 AM

I just don’t think he wants to be here. We weren’t getting much out of him anyways so think he’ll be off.
Needs to up his game if he wants a move.

#2 Double Tap
20-05-2022, 11:43 AM
Is it? It never used to get overrun the last time we had a midfield 3 with those qualities. Infact it was utterly dominant most weeks.

Obviously the standard of player will decide whether we get overrun or not but a combination of those 3 style of players is about the perfect mix imo.

Imo : Need a ball winner in a 433.

Lennon had that mix working, but we played 352.

Potty78
20-05-2022, 11:45 AM
Enjoyed Lee Johnson’s introduction and interviews, and I have quite a positive feeling about this one.

Sounds like a change of style could be afoot so will be interesting to see what type of player he brings in. Hopefully see a more athletic and physical side to compliment the “tidy footballer” category who make up a lot of the squad. A robust spine and a mixture and blend of different attributes throughout a starting eleven.

He’s admitted himself he’s not a glamour name, but when you look at his competitors for fighting it out against next term, it’s the likes of Robbie Neilson, Graeme Alexander, Jim Goodwin, Tam Courts, Malky Mackay, Derek McInnes, David Martindale and Stephen Robinson. Not exactly a stellar list and we should be well positioned to have a decent season.

I've said this all along pal, the competition ain't great but he has to get off to a flyer to get fans onside. Get the recruitment right and we should be aiming top 4 and at least challenge hearts👍

20-05-2022, 11:47 AM

I don’t think he wants to be here either.

Not sure he’s twigged that in order to get the move he “deserves” that he’s going to have to produce the form of his first 4 months or so over a sustained period rather than the garbage he’s dished up since. I think he’s far more bothered about what he does in a Scotland squad that he’s in serious danger of dropping out of.

I don’t see him fitting into a Johnson team tbh.

Renfrew_Hibby
20-05-2022, 12:05 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Auk3BOS7F5Y

Sunderland fans take on LJ

20-05-2022, 12:22 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Auk3BOS7F5Y

Sunderland fans take on LJ

A grown man in a football shirt talking to no- one on YouTube.

20-05-2022, 12:28 PM
Marshall

Clarke Porteous Hanlon

Clarke Doig

Two new midfielders alongside Henderson

Combination of Doidge/Nisbet/Melkerson as two upfront.

I don't think we're that far away from a good first 11, and if we can get better than any of the current players I've included, ideal. Two or three really good midfielders is the key.

20-05-2022, 12:32 PM
So far I've spoken to fans of Dundee United, Hearts, Aberdeen and St. Johnstone and the general view is that it's a good appointment, though the Jambo thought he may be a bit of an It's Your Daniel Stendel type.

cameronw-hfc
20-05-2022, 12:34 PM
He comes across all right, the recruitment is still a bit confusing, with Ron saying lee will lead, but lee hinting in his interview the recruitment team will give him a choice of players.

Praying this is the right appointment, his attacking talk is what I wanna hear.

That's how it usually works at most clubs tbf. Manager tells recruitment team what type of player he wants, they go source some options and let the manager chose

20-05-2022, 01:12 PM
Marshall

Clarke Porteous Hanlon

Clarke Doig

I don't think we're that far away from a good first 11, and if we can get better than any of the current players I've included, ideal. Two or three really good midfielders is the key.

The cloning of Clarke will be a challenge. I'd be happy with Stevenson in the centre of midfield for some of the time so we might only need one nailed on starter for midfield.

I think we need 2 new strikers though if we're going to play that way. We're also likely to be short of cover and injuries to key players would see us back with the mince of this season so I accept we need at least 2 good central midfielders.

It would surprise me if Johnson wants to play a back 3 and wingbacks so not sure he'd go with something like this - I expect he'll want to go for something different and I'm not sure how our current players will fit into that (Hanlon in a CB pair? Who plays FB? Do we have enough quality and cover to play wide? Do we anyone who can play up front on their own?)

20-05-2022, 01:25 PM
I've said this all along pal, the competition ain't great but he has to get off to a flyer to get fans onside. Get the recruitment right and we should be aiming top 4 and at least challenge hearts👍

I've got a very good feeling about this appointment. Better than I had when Jack Ross was announced. Think the fit is very good. The league Cup group stages might be a bit of a blessing this season. Plenty games to get his ideas across and new signings bedded in.

20-05-2022, 01:32 PM
Needs to up his game if he wants a move.

Correct.

20-05-2022, 01:37 PM
I've got a very good feeling about this appointment. Better than I had when Jack Ross was announced. Think the fit is very good. The league Cup group stages might be a bit of a blessing this season. Plenty games to get his ideas across and new signings bedded in.

Yeah, I was thinking that about the league cup too.

I think they’ve done the right thing with the league cup, I quite like this format.

Obviously I’d rather we were in Europe, didn’t have to bother with it and that that will be the case in future, but hey…

Northern Hibby
20-05-2022, 02:41 PM
I just want that, new manager, spike in form that we never seem to get 😔

20-05-2022, 02:47 PM
Marshall

Clarke Porteous Hanlon

Clarke Doig

If we are going to be playing fast paced attacking football as promised, Doidge certainly wont be part of it.

20-05-2022, 04:22 PM
Marshall

Clarke Porteous Hanlon

Clarke Doig

Hope that Magennis makes a come back. Could be a key player for us.

20-05-2022, 07:29 PM
Other half just watched his interview and first impression is “he looks a bit like Dane Bowers”.

20-05-2022, 07:30 PM
Other half just watched his interview and first impression is “he looks a bit like Dane Bowers”.

Out of your mind

20-05-2022, 07:31 PM

I'm still hopeful he can take us to another level.

20-05-2022, 07:51 PM

One of the first interviews i watched of Dane Bowers was with Katie Price.

20-05-2022, 07:57 PM
I'm still hopeful he can take us to another level.

Reminds me of the late great Scottish manager Tommy Docherty
Late 1960s.....
...The month following his departure from Chelsea, Docherty became manager of Rotherham United (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rotherham_United_F.C.).
He said of his year there: "I promised I would take Rotherham out of the Second Division – and I took them into the Third.
The old chairman said ....'Doc, you’re a man of your word! :greengrin

NC1875
20-05-2022, 08:02 PM

Has McAllister been confirmed as assistant ? Lee doesn’t want to be alone no more!

20-05-2022, 10:15 PM
Congratulations Lee and welcome to the Hibees :thumbsup:

Give us a streak of victories v the Yams and your star will rise :cb

Turkish Green
20-05-2022, 10:47 PM
My read of this appointment is that LJ is here to oversee the turnaround of players and that he showed to RG that he has a wide knowledge of available players to suit his style of play. Bearing in mind that RG and mini-me have no knowledge of players themselves, they will be relying heavily on LJ's contacts in the English game.

Maybe the other short-listed candidates did not demonstrate the same level of availability of players knowledge.

I am excited on seeing what players LJ will bring in over the summer and how much money RG will back him with.

Will Hibs hit the ground running? I do hope so.

21-05-2022, 06:36 AM
Nisbet and Doidge both quality strikers who'll be here next year. If he plays 442, or something with 2 up front, we need a striker. Maybe 2. But it's midfield and wide areas that are the problem.

21-05-2022, 07:03 AM
Nisbet and Doidge both quality strikers who'll be here next year. If he plays 442, or something with 2 up front, we need a striker. Maybe 2. But it's midfield and wide areas that are the problem.

Not fussed about seeing Doidge here next season but could certainly see LJ bringing Nisbet’s performance levels up. Ross Stewart’s developed well under LJ into one of the best strikers in the EFL.

Crunchie
21-05-2022, 07:07 AM
Massively underwhelmed by this appointment but obviously wish him all the best despite the Yam connection.

Welcome to our club Lee, may you have a long and happy stay with us.

cameronw-hfc
21-05-2022, 07:07 AM
Read in an interview his ideal formation is a 433 with a 6, 8 and 10 as the 3. Sounds very Pep/total football influenced

21-05-2022, 07:38 AM
Read in an interview his ideal formation is a 433 with a 6, 8 and 10 as the 3. Sounds very Pep/total football influenced

Taken from the Northern Echo
Northern Echo

'WHATEVER league Sunderland are playing in next season, Lee Johnson has revealed he will be recruiting players this summer to fit into the 4-3-3 formation he fielded at Hull City last night.

Johnson has chopped and changed systems on a number of occasions since taking over in December, but most of the tinkering has been a response to the injury issues that have blighted the Black Cats in the second half of the season.

Ideally, Johnson wants his side to line up as they did at the KCOM Stadium, with a flat back four, a relatively narrow central midfield, and two wide attackers flanking a central striker'

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2022, 07:51 AM

Exactly how I posted yesterday I’d be hoping we set up.

Fingers crossed.

21-05-2022, 08:41 AM
Welcome Lee.

I think this is a good appointment and fit for Hibs.

He is young and yet, experienced.

He’s had a pretty steady management performance given his age.

He likes attacking football.

Anyone holding his 4 games for Hearts against Hibs, surely has an IQ in the region of 80?!

21-05-2022, 08:42 AM
Read in an interview his ideal formation is a 433 with a 6, 8 and 10 as the 3

Can you explain this?

21-05-2022, 08:45 AM
Can you explain this?

6 is pretty much defensive midfielder who can also play. 8 is more box to box with 10 a more attacking midfielder obviously these three roles can interchange and be flexible.

21-05-2022, 08:46 AM
Can you explain this?

In old money a 6 is more of a holding midfielder/deep lying playmaker someone to take the ball of the CH's and 8 is your old box to box and your No 10 is just that an attacking midfielder.

21-05-2022, 08:51 AM
6 is pretty much defensive midfielder who can also play. 8 is more box to box with 10 a more attacking midfielder obviously these three roles can interchange and be flexible.

It’s this as ‘the three’ expression that confused me, I usually hear “the ‘3” to mean the front 3. I was thinking he liked playing a front 3 comprised of midfielders for a minute :agree:

21-05-2022, 08:55 AM
It’s this as ‘the three’ expression that confused me, I usually here the ‘3’ to me the front 3. I was thinking he liked playing a front 3 comprised of midfielders for a minute :agree:

His front 3 in the game before the article I read was published was

Jordan Jones one the left
Lynden Gooch on the right
Charlie Wyke through the middle

21-05-2022, 08:57 AM
I think we need at least 5 maybe 6 players if we lose certain players who will start,

Marshall
Cadden
Porteous if he stays
Hanlon
new left back
Clarke if he stays
new midfielder
McGennis if he stays fit.
new midfielder
Doig
New centre forward.

Subs from Dabrowski, Stevenson, McGinn, Campbell Newell, JDH, Mitchell Henderson, Melkerson Nisbet and Jasper.

Macey will probably go, along with Rocky Drey Wright Scott Allan and James Scott. Not sure about Doidge.

If we are to play a more high tempo game( where have i heard that before):greengrin then we need players who can play that way, and i look at that bench and think very few if any can.

21-05-2022, 09:01 AM
It will be interesting to see how he fits our best players into this system
Both Cadden/Clarke are best high up the park, as is Doig. Don’t think either are traditional full backs

As it stands we don’t have a right or left winger in our squad, a stack of midfielders. Is Magennis the attaching midfielder, as he has goals in him!

Looking forward to see how it all pans out

21-05-2022, 09:17 AM
Porteous, and probably Doig, will be gone over the summer and Daz is no longer available as a back up and Rocky hopefully has a return ticket. We need a complete back unit brought in to bolster Cads, Lewy and Hanlon.

Midfield we missed Magennis too much as there is no back up for him so get someone in for that role

Hibees1973
21-05-2022, 09:21 AM
Small minded/insular interview to begin with....'can't wait to play against Hearts'. Eh?
Ron has said numerous times he wants us playing like Atletico Madrid and Sevilla so was this really a 'pitch' that Johnson made in his interview. :confused:

Wish these guys would just get on with their jobs effectively and try to turn this debacle of a club around, instead of making sound bites.

21-05-2022, 09:31 AM
Small minded/insular interview to begin with....'can't wait to play against Hearts'. Eh?
Ron has said numerous times he wants us playing like Atletico Madrid and Sevilla so was this really a 'pitch' that Johnson made in his interview. :confused:

Wish these guys would just get on with their jobs effectively and try to turn this debacle of a club around, instead of making sound bites.

I thought the point he made about the derbies was a decent one?

Derbies are pretty big occasions and due to circumstance he hasn't really experienced them much yet as a manager. He's looking forward to taking us into derbies as it will be a fairly new experience for him.

Not particularly small minded to me, sounded like a genuine reason to be excited.

Maybe we grow to undervalue them a bit, since they come round so often?

21-05-2022, 09:39 AM

Can’t wait to experience some of our biggest games? Well **** me that is an insular view.

A bizarre way to interpret a comment about a big derby.

21-05-2022, 09:40 AM

Shock you’re moaning. You watched his whole interview and that’s your only takeaway, some run-of-mill sound bite about looking forward to the derby matches.

Bridge hibs
21-05-2022, 09:44 AM

Wish these guys would just get on with their jobs effectively and try to turn this debacle of a club around, instead of making sound bites.When did Ron say he wanted us playing like Athletico or Seville ? Apologies if I missed his comments

Found it, cant find where he says he wants hibs to play like them

Hibs owner Ron Gordon has revealed he looks to a Spanish model as a potential pathway to success for the Leith club.

Gordon, who took charge at Easter Road two years ago, believes the environments created at Atletico Madrid and Sevilla can be transported to Edinburgh.

The American chief reckons Jack Ross' men can look to La Liga for inspiration as the Hibees look to build and compete at the top of the Premiership table.

Speaking on a fan podcast, Gordon laid out his vision for Hibernian and what clubs he looks to and admires.

"I think two clubs in Spain stand out to me - Sevilla and Atletico Madrid," Gordon said on the Strong Opinion Hibs Podcast.

"There's a sense at Sevilla they're a club that always delivers and is particularly good at building youth programmes and in the Europa League is probably one of the most successful clubs in the last 10-15 years

"It has a culture and an environment we want to emulate and is one of the things I put in the strategic plan for Hibs - hopefully we do that.

"We're a players' club and want to nurture our players and create an environment for them to be as successful as possible.

"Clubs like Sevilla do that - they bring young players and develop them.

"It knows it can't compete with Barcelona and Real Madrid at a different level, but it competes and delivers. It's a successful club.

"Atletico Madrid I like because it's a gritty club.

"It doesn't matter who they play, you know you're in a match with them.

"I think sometimes at Hibs I'd like for us to show that a little bit - it is a game and they're going to give you a game.

"I'd like for us to have that aspirational thing where you play Hibs and you know you're in a game."

Gordon also paid tribute to former owner Sir Tom Farmer and ex-chariman/chief executive Rod Petrie for their advice since he took over the reins at Hibs.

The Peru-born businessman believes he has a responsibility as a guardian of the club and feels things are "headed in the right direction".

Gordon added: "I'm very grateful because I think both Rod (Petrie) and Tom Farmer were very particular as to whom they would pass the baton on to.

"I am very grateful and feel very blessed that they actually found in me somebody who was going to be a good steward of the club.

"I think to some degree I feel that was their final responsibility as trustees of the club so I'm very honoured they saw in me somebody who could carry this forward."

He continued: "My hope is that I'm going to work hard to make it the best club that it can possibly be.

"I think we're on that path, it's only been two-and-a-bit years, but I think the club is headed in the right direction.

"We've had some bumps on the road, it's never going to be easy, but generally speak I think the club is in a much better place.

"We've had many more good days than bad days so it's been a very good and exciting ride.

"We're building and there's still progress to be made - which is good."

21-05-2022, 09:44 AM

I might be wrong here, but i do think he will be able to get on with the job, and say a few words to the press at the same time, well i hope he can do a couple of things in tandem.

21-05-2022, 11:40 AM

He hasnt said that numerous times so if you are going to have a pop at him at least get your facts correct

21-05-2022, 11:46 AM

Wish these guys would just get on with their jobs effectively and try to turn this debacle of a club around, instead of making sound bites.Having a mare today

21-05-2022, 11:57 AM

Why do you hate hibs ?
Are you actually a Hibs fan?

21-05-2022, 12:03 PM

Your determined to read the negative into all LJ says, small minded and insular, come on you can surely do better than that as a put down.

NC1875
21-05-2022, 12:10 PM

Mental 😂

I’d rather he was looking forward to the derbies than treating them as just another game.

Glad he’s pinpointed them as big games.

21-05-2022, 12:10 PM
In old money a 6 is more of a holding midfielder/deep lying playmaker someone to take the ball of the CH's and 8 is your old box to box and your No 10 is just that an attacking midfielder.

Basically he wants a midfield of Beuzelilin, Pat McGinlay and Russel Latapy, just younger versions 😉

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2022, 12:17 PM
Basically he wants a midfield of Beuzelilin, Pat McGinlay and Russel Latapy, just younger versions 😉

Oh yeah baby

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2022, 12:27 PM
Got to say now that the dust has settled and his interviews have been done i’m a bit more ‘whelmed’ than I was when he was first appointed.

If he aims to get us playing an attacking 4-3-3 in the way he’s described previously then I’ll be delighted. We’ve just got to hope the board backs him to be able to do that as I reckon that we need at least 5 or 6 new players able to start games to be able to play like that. We’ll then need squad players on top of that.

For a 4-3-3, I’d say best case scenario using the players we’ve got right now (and presuming Marshall is signing):

Marshall (1) - GK

Cadden (2) - RB
Porteous (5) - CB
Hanlon (4) - CB
Doig (3) - LB

Newell (6) - DM
Magennis (8) - CM
Henderson (10) - AM

Vacant (7) - RW
Doidge/Melkersen (9) - ST
Vacant (11) - LW

I’m not convinced about Newell in the 6, we can’t rely on Magennis as the 8 and I think we need better than Henderson in the 10. I think we need better than Doidge/Melkersen in the 9. That could/should be Nisbet but he won’t be available until we’ll into the season. I also reckon Porteous will be away and in an ideal world I think it’s time to start phasing Hanlon out of the starting line up.

A hell of a lot of work to do if that’s the system we aim to play but it’s certainly the way to go imo.

21-05-2022, 04:32 PM
Just seen Sunderland have been promoted and this was mentioned in the BBC Live text updates:

FT: Sunderland 2-0 Wycombe

Marco Gabbiadini

Ex-Sunderland striker on BBC Radio Newcastle

Lee Johnson deserves a mention. Sunderland went into Christmas with a better than two points per game return.

I think he would have had a good go getting Sunderland over the line. The players started faltering and at the time he didn't have the players to replace them with.

The bad results before he got the sack, he didn't have anyone to play on the left side of defence.

21-05-2022, 04:41 PM
Everbody interviewed post playoff match mentioned Lee Johnson in a positive light. He had Sunderland higher in the league when he was sacked than Alex Neil managed at the end of the season. When players were asked what Alex Neil brought to the team it was all about shoring them up defensively.

Looking forward to the Johnson era, it might be fun.👍

Hibees1973
21-05-2022, 08:13 PM
Why do you hate hibs ?
Are you actually a Hibs fan?

I don't hate Hibs. Yes, been a Hibs supporter for over 50 years.

All my posts are not negative about Hibs. I give credit when it is due, it's just that since RG took over Hibs I have not felt the need to give them much credit.

Much as the intentions of RG are good I feel his ownership of Hibs has taken the club backwards. He has totally misread how to run a football club in Scotland. His trigger happy approach to things and appointing unqualified people at the club, like his son, has put him up for ridicule.

Mentioning Hibs in the same breath as Sevilla and Atletico Madrid are pure fantasy. Yes, fine, have ambition, but make it realistic.

I will continue to give my support to Hibs and watch them. As I will use this forum to criticise them, as other people do. Maybe I should temper down my posts at times, my bad, but some of the things coming out from Hibs on and off the park over the last few months have been deeply disappointing.

Maybe LJ will produce a new dawn. I really hope so.

Bridge hibs
21-05-2022, 08:27 PM
I don't hate Hibs. Yes, been a Hibs supporter for over 50 years.

All my posts are not negative about Hibs. I give credit when it is due, it's just that since RG took over Hibs I have not felt the need to give them much credit.

Much as the intentions of RG are good I feel his ownership of Hibs has taken the club backwards. He has totally misread how to run a football club in Scotland. His trigger happy approach to things and appointing unqualified people at the club, like his son, has put him up for ridicule.

Mentioning Hibs in the same breath as Sevilla and Atletico Madrid are pure fantasy. Yes, fine, have ambition, but make it realistic.

I will continue to give my support to Hibs and watch them. As I will use this forum to criticise them, as other people do. Maybe I should temper down my posts at times, my bad, but some of the things coming out from Hibs on and off the park over the last few months have been deeply disappointing.

Maybe LJ will produce a new dawn. I really hope so.But you still made this up to have a pop at Ron Gordon ?

Ron has said numerous times he wants us playing like Atletico Madrid and Sevilla

Show us where he said that numerous times 👍

21-05-2022, 08:36 PM
But you still made this up to have a pop at Ron Gordon ?

Ron has said numerous times he wants us playing like Atletico Madrid and Sevilla

Show us where he said that numerous times 👍

It’s no different to Leeann Dempster saying she wanted us to emulate the best aspects of Southampton when they were riding high in the Premier League.

Bridge hibs
21-05-2022, 08:47 PM
It’s no different to Leeann Dempster saying she wanted us to emulate the best aspects of Southampton when they were riding high in the Premier League.Ron didnt say that though, not once and certainly not numerous times as the poster states. Emulating and building similar structures that other clubs do are fine and its never a bad thing, however Ron Gordon has never said he wants us to play like Atletico or Seville, theres a big difference there and just another reason for the poster to have a pop at RG and not for the first time either

andrew70
21-05-2022, 08:53 PM
Ron didnt say that though, not once and certainly not numerous times as the poster states. Emulating and building similar structures that other clubs do are fine and its never a bad thing, however Ron Gordon has never said he wants us to play like Atletico or Seville, theres a big difference there and just another reason for the poster to have a pop at RG and not for the first time either

To be fair Atleti and Sevilla are polar opposites when comparing playing styles.

Some folk just take things too literally. It makes sense to strive to be the best and you can always learn from others as you go along.

21-05-2022, 08:57 PM
Its not about playing style its about trying to emulate clubs in similar stature in their own leagues as ourselves. Being the best of the rest if you like. Fair to say Rons got off to a bad start.

21-05-2022, 09:09 PM
Ron didnt say that though, not once and certainly not numerous times as the poster states. Emulating and building similar structures that other clubs do are fine and its never a bad thing, however Ron Gordon has never said he wants us to play like Atletico or Seville, theres a big difference there and just another reason for the poster to have a pop at RG and not for the first time either

I know.

21-05-2022, 09:20 PM

Dearie me mate - you are not so much cut you and you bleed green as full to the brimming of brown stuff. There was nothing wrong with what LJ said in the interview - and by the way - giving interviews IS part of his job.

Silky
21-05-2022, 10:09 PM
Everbody interviewed post playoff match mentioned Lee Johnson in a positive light. He had Sunderland higher in the league when he was sacked than Alex Neil managed at the end of the season. When players were asked what Alex Neil brought to the team it was all about shoring them up defensively.

Looking forward to the Johnson era, it might be fun.👍

So am I. I have seen nothing to suggest that he is going to be a failure with us. He's received a bit of praise for building the Sunderland squad which won the play-offs today and the EFL trophy last season. I'll fully get behind him and look forward to the journey.

22-05-2022, 03:33 AM
Lee Johnson green and white army.

22-05-2022, 07:44 AM
The Sunderland team he put together got promoted yesterday.

w pilton hibby
22-05-2022, 07:47 AM
Lee Johnson green and white army.

Johnson’s Four Week Plan - from the Official Site

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/johnsons-first-month-plan

G15 Hibs
22-05-2022, 09:55 PM
Gets the Graham Stack seal of approval, which I'm sure everyone's been waiting for.

https://twitter.com/GrahamStack1/status/1528492149754720256?t=CNRydSNk_qU8b8D9NScQaQ&s=19