View Full Version : Maloney must go

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

Pretty Green
16-04-2022, 05:33 AM
So Hibs are too low-level a club for Maloney? Bizarre take.

Not actually what I said, try reading it again.

McGruber
16-04-2022, 05:53 AM
What has happened since he joined ? Boyle leaving , injuries to Nesbit , Mitchell , Clarke , Hanlon , Macey , JDH , McGinn , Wright , O`Connor , ....

O'Connor?

HIbs have had horrific luck this year with injuries, no doubting the impact it has had on our season. Selling Boyle has also seen us lose our biggest attacking threat.

Both needed to be taken account of in Maloney's time so far.

So however does the awful tactics, weird team selections, mind numbing performances, bizarre subs, poor January signings and this relentless stubborness to play his formation when it repeatedly doesn't work.

There has been zero progress.

I would love for nothing more than for him to turn it around starting with a win today. This is huge for him, a win could give him time to go into next season a loss and he will never win back elements of the support regardless of what he does in future - that's what kills a manager

Bridge hibs
16-04-2022, 05:58 AM
O'Connor?

HIbs have had horrific luck this year with injuries, no doubting the impact it has had on our season. Selling Boyle has also seen us lose our biggest attacking threat.

Both needed to be taken account of in Maloney's time so far.

So however does the awful tactics, weird team selections, mind numbing performances, bizarre subs, poor January signings and this relentless stubborness to play his formation when it repeatedly doesn't work.

There has been zero progress.

I would love for nothing more than for him to turn it around starting with a win today. This is huge for him, a win could give him time to go into next season a loss and he will never win back elements of the support regardless of what he does in future - that's what kills a managerJosh O’Connor, think he was injured in a youth game recently and is out for the remainder of the season, unsure of what his injury is though

bruno
16-04-2022, 06:00 AM
Great answer . I would add a 3 v 0 at the Holy Ground on New Year`s Day in about 1976 . Could have been another 7 v 0 if we hadn`t relaxed in last hour . Last week , like most of season since January window , we had to play with a near Under 21 team and even then we dominated the first half hour .
I think you make some valid points in both your posts today is not going be one sided. There have been 2 close games this season and not forgetting the tanking you gave rangers this season(albeit with Boyle) I am really surprised in a one off game that fans on here are writing chances off completely
Remember Hearts have a number young players too indeed both teams started with 4 players last week 22 and under so not quite an under 21 team v an old experienced team. Hearts were able bring on experienced players compared to Hibs but not nearly as one sided age wise as some seem to think

16-04-2022, 06:03 AM
What has happened since he joined ? Boyle leaving , injuries to Nesbit , Mitchell , Clarke , Hanlon , Macey , JDH , McGinn , Wright , O`Connor , ....

Yeah I agree.

There’s a lot of mitigating circumstances with the run we’ve been on and I think he’s been dealt a terrible hand.

I would give him the summer to build his own squad unless we get absolutely pumped the day. I do think if we lose though he’s a dead man walking and it’s just a matter of when he leaves and not if as he won’t recover from it with too many of the fans.

FWIW despite the poor hand he’s been dealt there’s still things he has done and continues to do that is absolutely on him so despite the poor luck with injuries, he’s also not helped himself.

16-04-2022, 06:15 AM
I think whatever happens today - the only alternative being an absolute devastating defeat maloney will be here until at least October.

The hierarchy will not continue to dig their own grave by getting rid of maloney so soon.

As annoyed as I am with hibs failures it’s not all on maloney

:Cruel injury list.
:Selling our best player that carried a team imo for 18 months
:Dealt a squad that was threadbare and expecting new players to gel quickly.
:fans already disillusioned

Win today and it will buy the floating voters on maloney a good bit of time.

McGruber
16-04-2022, 06:21 AM
I think you make some valid points in both your posts today is not going be one sided. There have been 2 close games this season and not forgetting the tanking you gave rangers this season(albeit with Boyle) I am really surprised in a one off game that fans on here are writing chances off completely
Remember Hearts have a number young players too indeed both teams started with 4 players last week 22 and under so not quite an under 21 team v an old experienced team. Hearts were able bring on experienced players compared to Hibs but not nearly as one sided age wise as some seem to think

It's more so in attack at the minute. Sold Boyle and Doidge and Nisbet out - no experience or back up in attack. We are reliant on Melkerson up on his own at 19 new to Hibs and Scottish football. Support probably comes from Jasper (if he is fit) another young guy. Hearts have far more options in attack and probably have a full pool to pick from up front. I suspect that will be the difference today.

16-04-2022, 06:22 AM
I think whatever happens today - the only alternative being an absolute devastating defeat maloney will be here until at least October.

The hierarchy will not continue to dig their own grave by getting rid of maloney so soon.

Is October the magic manager sacking month? If we lose heavily today he's as good as gone, and so are most of the fans, what if we get relegated or retain our SPL status through the playoffs? Is he still here until October?

DJ HIBBY
16-04-2022, 06:37 AM
Is October the magic manager sacking month? If we lose heavily today he's as good as gone, and so are most of the fans, what if we get relegated or retain our SPL status through the playoffs? Is he still here until October?

Yep let’s potentially write off another season!

16-04-2022, 06:58 AM

How many season tickets we are shifting needs to be factored in as does sponsorship Winning increases both Losing tends not to

16-04-2022, 07:01 AM
It's more so in attack at the minute. Sold Boyle and Doidge and Nisbet out - no experience or back up in attack. We are reliant on Melkerson up on his own at 19 new to Hibs and Scottish football. Support probably comes from Jasper (if he is fit) another young guy. Hearts have far more options in attack and probably have a full pool to pick from up front. I suspect that will be the difference today.

Goals win games it’s as simple as that and it’s one of the main reasons we aren’t winning them at present

bruno
16-04-2022, 07:04 AM

True to some extent but Simms is only 21 and not had much first team experience. I think melkerson is a real talent but too lightweight at the moment but given time and not exposed as a lone striker in a tough league week in week out I think he’ll be good. Mueller I think is not going to reach heights as expected. May be better suited to a more technical league Portugal perhaps

Our full backs both young and inexperienced but not sure Hibs have quality in wide areas to expose although Camden seems a one man attack down the right
Be an interesting match up and course not going wish Hibs good luck but really don’t think they as bad as many make out but football relies so much on confidence we looked worst team in league when confidence was low we got pumped 5-0 by Rangers then lost to Dundee and at Johnston I think we play good football but are also physically strong (but not as dirty as in Levein era)
I think in MacKay we have that one player who can change game in an instant similar to what Allan was able to do in his pomp
Time to head off interesting day ahead for us all. Safe travels to all going

Paulie Walnuts
16-04-2022, 07:05 AM

October usually gives you about a round of fixtures and there’s an international break. I’d say it’s a decent amount of time to give someone from the summer window to see how the season is going to go.

16-04-2022, 07:29 AM
Going to the game on my own today, fully expecting us to get humped.

There's not one bit of it I'm looking forward to, it's a chore more than anything else. It's a nice day mind.

I absolutely, unequivocally, 100%, want us to win.

Like, I really, really, really want us to win. It's not even up for discussion.

Is that clear enough for some of you?

I'm not lying, I'm not just saying it, I don't have an agenda, I'm not waiting to say I told you so if we get beat or any other poxy BS lines you try to come up with.

It's semi-final day against Hearts. I'd happily bet there isn't a Hibs fan on the planet that wants Hearts to win today.

GGTTH :flag:

16-04-2022, 07:35 AM

There's not one bit of it I'm looking forward to, it's a chore more than anything else. It's a nice day mind.

I'm not lying, I'm not just saying it, I don't have an agenda, I'm not waiting to say I told you so if we get beat or any other poxy BS lines you try to come up with.

It's semi-final day against Hearts. I'd happily bet there isn't a Hibs fan on the planet that wants Hearts to win today.

Protesting too much for my liking.:wink:

16-04-2022, 07:54 AM
Goals win games it’s as simple as that and it’s one of the main reasons we aren’t winning them at present

Yes and we aren’t really creating many chances, let alone scoring.

Maloney can love a 343 formation all he likes but his priority needs to be an effective formation that gives us the best chance of winning.

16-04-2022, 08:06 AM
Good luck today Shaun.

Lets get the win and start the feel good factor again and really kick on.

Lets get right behind Shaun and the players today, they’re going to need our support.

C’mon the Hibees.

16-04-2022, 08:20 AM
Good luck today Shaun.

Lets get right behind Shaun and the players today, they’re going to need our support.

C’mon the Hibees.

This. :top marks

16-04-2022, 08:39 AM
Best case scenario. I'm slightly concerned that a win tomorrow, as brilliant as that would be, will convince the owners that he's the right guy. I still want him gone regardless of tomorrow's result.That's sounds like the Ron Gordon / Jack Ross school of thinking

Which is bat **** crazy btw

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Paulie Walnuts
16-04-2022, 09:02 AM
Good luck today Shaun.

C’mon the Hibees.

16-04-2022, 09:10 AM
Good luck today Shaun.

C’mon the Hibees.

We’ve got….Shaun Maloney

Come on the ****ing cabbage.

16-04-2022, 10:04 AM
The team selection today..it’s an interesting one…

16-04-2022, 10:10 AM

Seems largely to be...who is Scottish, understands this game and/or has some experience. Certainly when you look at who he has brought in.

Maloney had to make changes from last week. Apart from Scott the rest make a lot of sense. Experience and grit plus Henderson was always likely to be dropped in.

16-04-2022, 10:11 AM

Random Maloney Team Generator.

16-04-2022, 10:13 AM
This could be a 451 or a 4411. Definitely looks like he's going to change the formation.

thebausburst
16-04-2022, 10:15 AM
Maloney has effectively signed his own resignation letter with that team sheet, James Scott!!!

Paulie Walnuts
16-04-2022, 10:25 AM
People wanted changes, they’ve got them.

**** the hearts, Mon the Hibs.

OldEast
16-04-2022, 10:29 AM

Hope you come home smiling 👍🏻

Paul1642
16-04-2022, 02:52 PM
Must go, now more than ever. We needed just 1 win in our last 4 games to have a shot a a successful season. Apparently that was too big an ask.

16-04-2022, 02:54 PM
Awful subs. Weird team selection. Lost, again. Bottom six to look forward to. Made changes after they needed to be made. This with them running out of centre halves.

But we put in some effort so that’s better apparently.

Not for me. Awful manager.

16-04-2022, 02:57 PM
Awful subs. Weird team selection. Lost, again. Bottom six to look forward to. Made changes after they needed to be made. This with them running out of centre halves.

:agree: Bye Shaun

Also agree with someone earlier who said they were angry with Maloney for applying for the job. How arrogant is he to think he is capable? Even angrier with Hibs senior MGMT for giving him the job.

16-04-2022, 02:59 PM

Also agree with someone earlier who said they were angry with Maloney for applying for the job. How arrogant is he to think he is capable? Even angrier with Hibs senior MGMT for giving him the job.Agree with Maloney for applying?

****ing hell. [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

16-04-2022, 03:07 PM
Agree with Maloney for applying?

Yet the poster calls other posters clueless😂😂

Agree with Maloney for applying?

Of course its embarrassing that he thought he was capable of managing an adult football team given his woeful communication skills and appalling decision making. Honestly what a joker.

Yet the poster calls other posters clueless����

You most defo are, as is Maloney.

16-04-2022, 03:10 PM
You most defo are, as is Maloney.

Must be amazing being such a top notch fan and clearly more qualified than everyone who disagrees with what you say.

16-04-2022, 03:14 PM
Must be amazing being such a top notch fan and clearly more qualified than everyone who disagrees with what you say.

I don't think that - I do know that you are a bit simple though.

16-04-2022, 03:16 PM

Hey no need for that, I am tempted to say you are a slaver but I refrain as I am going to take the moral high ground here.
:faf::aok:

16-04-2022, 03:16 PM

See if you fancy keeping it personal then im more than happy to take it off the board

16-04-2022, 03:18 PM

Also agree with someone earlier who said they were angry with Maloney for applying for the job. How arrogant is he to think he is capable? Even angrier with Hibs senior MGMT for giving him the job.

i suspect shaun maloney was probably persuaded to apply

Arnie
16-04-2022, 03:19 PM
Maloney must go. He’s just soft

16-04-2022, 03:19 PM
See if you fancy keeping it personal then im more than happy to take it off the board

Lol he’s gonny pump him

16-04-2022, 03:21 PM
Lol he’s gonny pump him

Appreciate folk will be pissed off today and we will always have a difference of opinion on here but cant be bothered with the personal digs

Lol he’s gonny pump him

AL-Qaholik
Wrong team. Wrong formation. Wrong substitutions. No cutting edge.
Rinse, repeat since he got the job.
A bit of fight at 2 nil down in a semi final to our bitter rivals is the ABSOLUTE MINIMUM we should expect.
He might be a decent coach. He is not a manager.
Should he gone by St. Mirren.

16-04-2022, 03:23 PM
He simply has to get some wins in the next few weeks. Simple as that. I’ve not got a massive amount of faith that he will do it.

16-04-2022, 03:24 PM
Appreciate folk will be pissed off today and we will always have a difference of opinion on here but cant be bothered with the personal digs

Correct, Sir 👍🏻

CL0762
16-04-2022, 03:27 PM

Shows how much attention you pay to what is actually communicated.

Maloney never applied for the job, we didn’t invite applicants for the job, we didn’t interview anyone else for the job.

Kensell wanted Maloney and went straight for him.

If you’re going to be a petulant child, at least be correct about it

16-04-2022, 03:37 PM

Maloney never applied for the job, we didn’t invite applicants for the job, we didn’t interview anyone else for the job.

O.K. come on now CL no need for the silly wee name game, if someone wishes to behave like a petulant child then they have to be allowed to do so, our Government tells us such.
So please no more nasty name calling or I will have to be calling you a slaver as well as Ray.

McGruber
16-04-2022, 03:48 PM
He simply has to get some wins in the next few weeks. Simple as that. I’ve not got a massive amount of faith that he will do it.

Season is over, he can win all 5 post split doesn't matter. Lost when it counted. He has to go now

16-04-2022, 03:50 PM
Lol he’s gonny pump him

18Craig75
16-04-2022, 03:55 PM
Goodbye Maloney.

16-04-2022, 03:57 PM
Not going to be standing outside Easter Road with the pitchfork and torch, but if he left tomorrow neither would I be begging him to come back.

OldEast
16-04-2022, 03:59 PM

Careful LaMotta was a warrior. Or should that be keyboard warrior?

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-04-2022, 04:01 PM

He’s just pished I think, acting the ******** on more than just this thread today [emoji106]

16-04-2022, 04:02 PM

Change the word apply for accept then.

Embarrasing still from Maloney for accepting a job he isn't cut out for.

If you are correct, then it's an awful decision from Hibs.

#2 Double Tap
16-04-2022, 04:04 PM
Not going to be standing outside Easter Road with the pitchfork and torch, but if he left tomorrow neither would I be begging him to come back.

so many said the same about JR, sure people where describing it as apathy, it is worrying imo, we need passion and a win at all cost attitude, not a I dont really care one way or the other!

16-04-2022, 04:05 PM

You started the personal digs but you can't take them back? :hilarious

16-04-2022, 04:07 PM
A gamble that has simply not worked great on paper but time to go

16-04-2022, 04:08 PM

😁 I was just annoyed woth his response, should learn to ignore folk

16-04-2022, 04:09 PM
You started the personal digs but you can't take them back? :hilarious

Cant remember having a personal dig, if i did then it was unintentional, ill go back and delete any personal digs

16-04-2022, 04:09 PM
Maloney never applied for the job, he was approached by Kensell.

16-04-2022, 04:15 PM

If that’s the case then if Maloney gets punted, Kensell should get his jotters as well.

OldEast
16-04-2022, 04:16 PM
😁 I was just annoyed woth his response, should learn to ignore folk

I know, difficult sometimes but it's just a bunch of strangers. Took me years to learn 😛

16-04-2022, 04:23 PM

That deeply concerns me as it just takes listening to Maloney for five minutes to realise he doesn’t have it. At all.

16-04-2022, 04:25 PM
If that’s the case then if Maloney gets punted, Kensell should get his jotters as well.

That deeply concerns me as it just takes listening to Maloney for five minutes to realise he doesn’t have it. At all.

:agree::agree:

16-04-2022, 04:31 PM
:agree::agree:

Go and lie doon in a darkened room Ray, chill out for a few weeks you know it makes sense.

16-04-2022, 04:32 PM
Go and lie doon in a darkened room Ray, chill out for a few weeks you know it makes sense.

You seem oddly delighted this afternoon.

16-04-2022, 04:32 PM

Personally think he speaks well

16-04-2022, 04:45 PM

:agree: absolute weirdo, revelling in a Hibs defeat.

16-04-2022, 04:46 PM

Its the pain killers that I take they numb things, very handy when Hibs games are on.
Hey Hibs v Valencia 1962/63 season I was there, we ended up getting beat then we played then again a couple of years later (Big John MacNamee scored wi a great header at the cave end,) but i was too young for the pain killers, just had to suffer being a Hibs Supporter.
Some European games before that but memory plays tricks, what was your first European game, northern hibee?
I also well remember the 6-2 drubbing we got from the Tic at Hampdump in the 1968 league Cup final, game was meant to be played in the November but was postponed due to a small fire at hampdump, we would have beat them if game had gone ahead. Alan McGraw (hobling around injured but no subs so he had to come back on) gets the winner at Tynecastle v Dundee to put us into the final, great days indeed. That was my first Hibs Final at hampdump. Did you ever see Hibs in England or Overseas??????
Should you want any more wee snippets of Hibernian history just give me a shout.................

16-04-2022, 04:48 PM
:agree: absoulute weirdo, revelling in a Hibs defeat.

Now now Ray what did I tell you about your childish name calling, I will now just have to call you out as the biggest slaver on here.

Are you even a Hibs supporter, ya muppet. you sound like a jambo...

16-04-2022, 04:54 PM
Change the word apply for accept then.

Embarrasing still from Maloney for accepting a job he isn't cut out for.

If you are correct, then it's an awful decision from Hibs.I'm sure you accepted some conditions to join this board and yet here we are

16-04-2022, 05:10 PM
I'm sure you accepted some conditions to join this board and yet here we are

Haha ok Stewie. :na na:

16-04-2022, 08:00 PM
Times up. GTF.

chookyembra
16-04-2022, 08:52 PM
I was supportive of not chopping and changing managers on a previous thread but after hearing him today after the game he should never be given time.
I couldn’t give a flying fart if it’s the best we have played all season we got beat and beat by them!! FFS go now, we have lost our ability to play with flair and it was embarrassing listening to him support some of our challenges today. It’s not the Hibernian way to foul and injure opposition players, we are better than that and deserve better than that.

16-04-2022, 08:55 PM
I've been the first to slag him as most of you will know but I thought we showed heart and pride today. That's what I wanted to see and I got it. I can accept losing a game of football if we played for the badge.

Paulie Walnuts
16-04-2022, 08:57 PM

Come on now. Don’t let facts get in the way of a bit of Maloney bashing. The arrogant tosspot that he is.

I actually can’t believe he had the audacity to be approached tbh. Disgraceful from Maloney.

16-04-2022, 09:00 PM
Come on now. Don’t let facts get in the way of a bit of Maloney bashing. The arrogant tosspot that he is.

I actually can’t believe he had the audacity to be approached tbh. Disgraceful from Maloney.

“Maloney bashing”.

We’re bottom six after having several opportunities to consolidate top six, have won once in the league in 2022 unless I’m mistaken, out of the cup, no chance of Europe. Terrible football, terrible recruitment.

What do you expect? Would we in retrospect call those who looked at the warning signs under Butcher as Butcher bashing?

16-04-2022, 09:04 PM
If that’s the case then if Maloney gets punted, Kensell should get his jotters as well.Kensell is the / our short to medium term problem, he is making the decisions and if still around will appoint the next Maloney.

16-04-2022, 09:16 PM

I thought second half we got at them even with 10 men but as we know we don’t have the cutting edge needed
Our support out-sang them as they gave us something to.sing about

StockholmHibs
21-05-2022, 04:34 PM
Thank god for that. Onwards and upwards. Well be a force next season.

08-11-2022, 09:18 PM
Wrong Gordon, is that supposed to be clever?

Aye.

Paulie Walnuts
08-11-2022, 09:20 PM
Posted on another thread:

Maloney - played 19 picking up 24 points if you give cup games a points equivalent

Johnson - played 19 picking up 26 points if you give cup games a points equivalent (whilst also having the benefit over Maloney that he got 4 games against lower league teams to Maloneys 1).

Folk that think we’ve improved need to give their head a wobble. We are every bit as bad as last season.

08-11-2022, 09:22 PM
Oh ****, Maloney's back?

08-11-2022, 09:23 PM
Posted on another thread:

Maloney - played 19 picking up 24 points if you give cup games a points equivalent

Johnson - played 19 picking up 26 points if you give cup games a points equivalent (whilst also having the benefit over Maloney that he got 4 games against lower league teams to Maloneys 1).

Folk that think we’ve improved need to give their head a wobble. We are every bit as bad as last season.

Step forward please, Wrong and Ian Gordon. And please now step forward Manager Number FOUR

NC1875
08-11-2022, 09:44 PM
Can we bring Maloney back ?

08-11-2022, 09:46 PM
Maloney out