View Full Version : Maloney must go

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2022, 04:11 AM
Forster has never said a good word about Hibs that I can recall. Ex- Aberdeen saying how new Aberdeen boss is doing it better. Same old ex pro waffle. File under “erse”.

Goodwin has done significantly worse than Maloney yet Forster feels the need to criticise Maloney and praise him.

Who’d of thunk it :rolleyes:

14-04-2022, 05:21 AM
Maloney will be fine and we’ll be fine, everyone please stop wetting the bed quite so much. Foster is a fud and Aberdeen are easily capable of finishing in the play off position.

Thank god for that. I was getting worried we weren't going to be fine.

14-04-2022, 05:39 AM
Goodwin has done significantly worse than Maloney yet Forster feels the need to criticise Maloney and praise him.

Over the last 12 games we have 1 more point than Aberdeen so I don't think you can say Goodwin has done significantly worse. Both team have only won 1 game, only difference is we've drawn 6 and lost 5 whereas Aberdeen have drawn 5 and lost 6.

Both records are horrendous for clubs our size in Scotland.

14-04-2022, 05:47 AM

He’s praised Goodwin purely for fronting up and taking some responsibility for the position they are in. Maloney seems more interested in blaming everyone else.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-04-2022, 06:18 AM
Thank god for that. I was getting worried we weren't going to be fine.

Happy to help, try no pish the bed tonight eh

14-04-2022, 06:22 AM
Guessing we ain't gonna sack him before Saturday so maybe time to focus on getting behind the team in such a massive game.

14-04-2022, 06:23 AM
I don’t blame Maloney, it’s Wrong Gordon who is at fault… what on earth is going on. .

Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2022, 06:56 AM
Over the last 12 games we have 1 more point than Aberdeen so I don't think you can say Goodwin has done significantly worse. Both team have only won 1 game, only difference is we've drawn 6 and lost 5 whereas Aberdeen have drawn 5 and lost 6.

Both records are horrendous for clubs our size in Scotland.

You’re right, apologies. I seen a tweet from Pie and Bovril where they’d incorrectly suggested Goodwin had picked up 4 points from 7 matches. That’s why I thought it was a lot worse.

14-04-2022, 07:11 AM
Maloney will be fine and we’ll be fine, everyone please stop wetting the bed quite so much. Foster is a fud and Aberdeen are easily capable of finishing in the play off position.

Thanks for the reassurance Mrs Maloney.

Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2022, 07:13 AM
He’s praised Goodwin purely for fronting up and taking some responsibility for the position they are in. Maloney seems more interested in blaming everyone else.

In reality he’s praised Goodwin because he’s an ex Aberdeen player. He’s criticised Maloney because he never has a good word to say about Hibs.

14-04-2022, 07:21 AM
In reality he’s praised Goodwin because he’s an ex Aberdeen player. He’s criticised Maloney because he never has a good word to say about Hibs.

Sshh! You can't come on here with sensible posts like this, you have to be at either extremity, either loathe Maloney or like him.

14-04-2022, 07:24 AM
Sshh! You can't come on here with sensible posts like this, you have to be at either extremity, either loathe Maloney or like him.

Is that not the way it goes now, you pick your man and stick with him, or slaughter him, whether it's Hecky lennon or Ross?

And now Maloney.

Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2022, 07:29 AM

The idea that Maloney takes no responsibility because Forster says so is ridiculous.

Nobody was really suggesting it before. Now people are getting on board with it as if Forster is some sort of football guru. He’s really just a massive bellend.

14-04-2022, 07:31 AM
The idea that Maloney takes no responsibility because Forster says so is ridiculous.

Nobody was really suggesting it before. Now people are getting on board with it as if Forster is some sort of football guru. He’s really just a massive bellend.

Just shows that when people hear what they want to hear these days they will agree with anyone. Remember when Boris had a big bus with a fake £ figure on it and won the election?

14-04-2022, 07:45 AM

I said as much before Foster piped up. His comments after a few of the recent games about what he inherited are him making excuses and hiding behind them.

14-04-2022, 07:53 AM
I said as much before Foster piped up. His comments after a few of the recent games about what he inherited are him making excuses and hiding behind them.

I don’t see much wrong with what Foster has said either.

Still, probably time to try and get a bit of positivity going for Saturday now.

Hibstrooper
14-04-2022, 08:08 AM

As soon as I heard the post match interviews from weekend I thought there was a stark difference between Goodwin’s and Maloney’s. Goodwin taking a good chunk of responsibility whilst Maloney harping on about being in same position as when he took over and problems he inherited. Been bugging me for days.

Not convinced by Maloney’s ability to lead yet, I think his lack of experience in this space is really hurting us just now and transitioning the team to his ideas.

Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2022, 08:18 AM
As soon as I heard the post match interviews from weekend I thought there was a stark difference between Goodwin’s and Maloney’s. Goodwin taking a good chunk of responsibility whilst Maloney harping on about being in same position as when he took over and problems he inherited. Been bugging me for days.

Not convinced by Maloney’s ability to lead yet, I think his lack of experience in this space is really hurting us just now and transitioning the team to his ideas.

And yet Maloney has picked up more points PPG in the league and got us to a cup semi final.

I’m more concerned about that than post match interviews tbh. Goodwin can take all the responsibility he wants. He’s not getting results and taking responsibility for it or not doesn’t change that.

The folk claiming Maloney should take more responsibility would be the first to tell us he’s admitting he’s out his depth and he should walk/is an arrogant araehole for not quitting if he did no doubt. Between this and the laughable faux outrage at Maloney for saying that we’ve started looking for players to bring in the summer then it’s quite clear people just want to criticise him for anything.

14-04-2022, 10:03 AM

Why should Maloney take the blame for the players ****ting it in the 2nd half, stop making excuses for these players. In the past 2 years we've seen some dreadful performances from them, from cup defeats to embarrassing losses at home to to Livi etc.

happiehibbie
14-04-2022, 10:24 AM
I was quite excited to see Hibs appoint Maloney, My first impressions are not good.

he has tried to implement a style with Players that are unable play that way IMO "i don't see them everyday so !"

I would have maybe waited until the close season to change implement his style of play.

I really hope it works out for us

14-04-2022, 10:32 AM
I was quite excited to see Hibs appoint Maloney, My first impressions are not good.

he has tried to implement a style with Players that are unable play that way IMO "i don't see them everyday so !"

I would have maybe waited until the close season to change implement his style of play.

I really hope it works out for us

Could have went either way really, if he waited to implement his style people would just say what is even the point of employing him? If we just kept going playing the way we were then he'd be in the same position he is now just a different stick to beat him with, sadly the change in "style" hasn't made any difference yet, we still lack the same midfielder, we still lack strikers and our defence is constantly injured or suspended.

14-04-2022, 10:40 AM
Maybe right but that’s because he has hardly played.

I just wish Ross or Maloney would have had the bottle to give him a run of games. That’s what he needs and he will be a threat.

Wouldn’t surprise me to see him leave in the summer, go to a club who give him game time and he thrives!Sticky this this and see what level he is at the end of the 2022/2023 season

I'd suspect not a very good one but in life you never know!

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

14-04-2022, 10:41 AM
Why should Maloney take the blame for the players ****ting it in the 2nd half, stop making excuses for these players. In the past 2 years we've seen some dreadful performances from them, from cup defeats to embarrassing losses at home to to Livi etc.

He had every right to call out that second half performance not good enough at any level. If he hadn't said it he would have been slated for treating the fans like mugs

Key West
14-04-2022, 11:00 AM
Hibs made a big mistake when sacking Ross, Maloney needs another season at least to get to grips with how different it is managing Hibs in comparison to his role with Belgium.

Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2022, 11:27 AM
Could have went either way really, if he waited to implement his style people would just say what is even the point of employing him? If we just kept going playing the way we were then he'd be in the same position he is now just a different stick to beat him with, sadly the change in "style" hasn't made any difference yet, we still lack the same midfielder, we still lack strikers and our defence is constantly injured or suspended.

If he’d come in and said how he wants to play but didn’t play that way and didn’t get results he’d be getting the exact same abuse he is now. And I’ve no doubt he wouldn’t have managed to get results playing a different way. Jack Ross played a different way and couldn’t get results before he was sacked either. The squad is simply nowhere near good enough and we’d be terrible regardless of the manager imo.

It’s quite apparent that for some, if results aren’t acceptable then neither will anything else he does and people will just start trying to pick holes in absolutely everything he says.

14-04-2022, 11:27 AM
Maloney has signed crap
Maloney has Hibs playing crap
Maloney talks crap after games
It not hard to work out he’s a crap manager and should be punted.
I’m praying we suddenly turn in a performance on Saturday but I think most us believe there is a better chance of us being relegated than winning the Scottish Cup. I’ve never felt so disinterested in Hibs v Hearts in over 40 years of following the club.

14-04-2022, 11:58 AM
Hibs made a big mistake when sacking Ross, Maloney needs another season at least to get to grips with how different it is managing Hibs in comparison to his role with Belgium.

Agree And now we must give Maloney time.

14-04-2022, 12:03 PM
I don’t blame Maloney, it’s Wrong Gordon who is at fault… what on earth is going on. .
Wrong Gordon, is that supposed to be clever?

14-04-2022, 12:04 PM
Wrong Gordon, is that supposed to be cleaver?

I dont think that's clever. :wink:

14-04-2022, 12:04 PM
Is that not the way it goes now, you pick your man and stick with him, or slaughter him, whether it's Hecky lennon or Ross?

And now Maloney.
Certainly the Hibs way.

14-04-2022, 12:08 PM
I dont think that's clever. :wink:
Dammit just beat me to an edit 🙄

14-04-2022, 12:08 PM

Some of us have held our counsel because we don’t want to add fuel to the fire.

A manager publicly warning his players that they are playing for their future is rarely a good sign. Seeing heads drop in a derby is never a good sign.

I’m hoping for the best but the concerns are there for all to see, not just retired players turned pundits.

14-04-2022, 12:18 PM
By the time Maloney leaves us, I think he will have delivered the worst set of results in our history.

He's not a manager, never will be.

Worse than Butcher.

Worse than Heckingbottom.

Worse than Duffy.

Worse than Cathro.

Worse than anyone else who has ever tried to be a manager in Scotland.

He doesn't know what he's doing.

He simply has to go.

14-04-2022, 12:19 PM
Maloney has signed crap
I’m praying we suddenly turn in a performance on Saturday but I think most us believe there is a better chance of us being relegated than winning the Scottish Cup. I’ve never felt so disinterested in Hibs v Hearts in over 40 years of following the club.

:top marksAgree with every word.

JamesHFC
14-04-2022, 12:23 PM
By the time Maloney leaves us, I think he will have delivered the worst set of results in our history.

Worse than Butcher.

Worse than Duffy.

Worse than Cathro.

He simply has to go.

😂😂😂😂

Weir07
14-04-2022, 12:25 PM
Maloney has signed crap

Sums it up perfectly!

Why anyone thinks Shaun Maloney should be given more time or another transfer window is beyond me, he lost me after the home defeats to Livingston and St Mirren. Just in case anyone isn't aware, one, yes one league win since the winter break, courtesy of two worldies from JDH. If that's not justification for sacking a manager I don't know what is. People being fooled with a promise of a fantastic world beating playing style that's just never going to happen.

14-04-2022, 12:27 PM

Worse than Butcher.

Worse than Duffy.

Worse than Cathro.

He simply has to go.

Possibly the most over the top, dramatic post made on the subject so far. Well played.

14-04-2022, 12:30 PM

Ron the con is better. :wink:

14-04-2022, 12:31 PM
Possibly the most over the top, dramatic post made on the subject so far. Well played.

Certainly plenty content recently to have an awards ceremony at the end of the season for biggest bedwetter.

14-04-2022, 12:31 PM

Because it tends to be a desperate last roll of the dice?

He may get a response but the concern is that all is not well in the dressing room right now.

14-04-2022, 12:35 PM
Because it tends to be a desperate last roll of the dice?

He may get a response but the concern is that all is not well in the dressing room right now.

If that was the case I doubt Joe Newell would've signed a new contract.

14-04-2022, 12:37 PM

Worse than Butcher.

Worse than Duffy.

Worse than Cathro.

He simply has to go.
***** sake.

Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2022, 12:38 PM
Sums it up perfectly!

Why anyone thinks Shaun Maloney should be given more time or another transfer window is beyond me, he lost me after the home defeats to Livingston and St Mirren. Just in case anyone isn't aware, one, yes one league win since the winter break, courtesy of two worldies from JDH. If that's not justification for sacking a manager I don't know what is. People being fooled with a promise of a fantastic world beating playing style that's just never going to happen.

He lost you after his 2nd and 3rd defeat, the first one having come at Parkhead? And that was after 8 games and taking over from a manager who had been on a horrendous run?

If that’s the case then I’d suggest you were never going to give him a chance.

To put that into perspective, if we’d binned Maloney at the weekend as some wanted and appointed a new man straight away, then a defeat this weekend and 1 defeat out of 5 in the league before the end of the season would put the new manager in the exact same position as Maloney was in at the point he lost you. Just let that sink in how ludicrous it would be to claim at that point that the new man had also lost you.

HendoDelivered
14-04-2022, 12:45 PM

Worse than Butcher.

Worse than Duffy.

Worse than Cathro.

He simply has to go.

He banged your Mrs?

Steven79
14-04-2022, 01:00 PM
He banged your Mrs?

I wouldn't worry as if he's anything like this Hibs team that he sets up then he will have plenty of play around the box but ultimately a lack of penetration.

14-04-2022, 01:04 PM
He lost you after his 2nd and 3rd defeat, the first one having come at Parkhead? And that was after 8 games and taking over from a manager who had been on a horrendous run?

To put that into perspective, if we’d binned Maloney at the weekend as some wanted and appointed a new man straight away, then a defeat this weekend and 1 defeat out of 5 in the league before the end of the season would put the new manager in the exact same position as Maloney was in at the point he lost you. Just let that sink in how ludicrous it would be to claim at that point that the new man had also lost you.

The first week back after Christmas was pretty awful and tbh it set the tone for what has followed.

I guess he maybe raised expectations with the couple of games before Christmas which were both good.

So whilst I wouldn’t say he lost me that early exactly, there were certainly warning signs, especially given he’d brought a few players in and had a few weeks to work with the team.

Weir07
14-04-2022, 01:13 PM

To be fair, looks like my view was right after those two defeats though. The Cove performance was shocking too.

I also thought in the Livingston game that Martidale didn't have to try too hard to change a couple of things to turn the game on it's head.

It's not only the results (clearly they are important though), it's the whole setup and style of play, it looks and feels wrong. I honestly can't understand who people think we're going to sign to turn that style of play into winning and exciting combination. Do you?

We're now in relegation form, with a fair wind we won't be dragged into 11th spot but it's not completly out of the equation.

We should get a new manager in if at all possibile for the last 5 league games and give them time to asses the squad and recommend potential summer targets, the staus quo is going to surely result in a relegation scrap next year.

14-04-2022, 01:16 PM
He banged your Mrs?

Way worse than that!

Mcbizz1998
14-04-2022, 01:17 PM
I must say, I don’t remember losing confidence in a manager quite as quickly as I have with Maloney - including Butcher.

That doesn’t actually count for anything of course, but Maloney certainly doesn’t inspire much confidence or belief in me. Hopefully he can with the players.

14-04-2022, 01:17 PM

Cheers!!

I put a lot of thought and effort into it, good to see it's appreciated :greengrin

ehf
14-04-2022, 01:27 PM
I wouldn't worry as if he's anything like this Hibs team that he sets up then he will have plenty of play around the box but ultimately a lack of penetration.

Certainly won't have scored.

14-04-2022, 01:55 PM
To be fair, looks like my view was right after those two defeats though. The Cove performance was shocking too.

I also thought in the Livingston game that Martidale didn't have to try too hard to change a couple of things to turn the game on it's head.

It's not only the results (clearly they are important though), it's the whole setup and style of play, it looks and feels wrong. I honestly can't understand who people think we're going to sign to turn that style of play into winning and exciting combination. Do you?

We're now in relegation form, with a fair wind we won't be dragged into 11th spot but it's not completly out of the equation.

We should get a new manager in if at all possibile for the last 5 league games and give them time to asses the squad and recommend potential summer targets, the staus quo is going to surely result in a relegation scrap next year.

The warning signs were there as early as in the Celtic game at Parkhead with his subs. The Cove game then had me seriously worried with a string of bizaare decisions, from the starting eleven, to the subs made as well.

I've slowly been losing faith over the weeks since then. Saturday is the last chance to convince me otherwise.

14-04-2022, 02:13 PM
Not to worry, this period will end eventually.....

14-04-2022, 02:42 PM

He’s the wrong man to be owning this Club, in my opinion. He think he’s clever.

14-04-2022, 02:55 PM
He’s the wrong man to be owning this Club, in opinion. He think he’s clever.

He thinks , therefore his wrong opinion about owning the Club , means he only thinks he is Clever
But are fans clever opinions wrong about his Club Ownership

14-04-2022, 02:57 PM
He thinks , therefore his wrong opinion about owning the Club , means he only thinks he is Clever

I think therefore I am, I think.

14-04-2022, 02:58 PM

You’ve lost me.

14-04-2022, 03:00 PM
I think therefore I am, I think.

Existentialist Angst lol

14-04-2022, 03:40 PM

Worse than Butcher.

Worse than Duffy.

Worse than Cathro.

He simply has to go.

Really quite pathetic give the guy a proper chance. Think you were righting him off before he was in the door. He has been dealt a poor hand and it clearly isn't going as well as we had hoped however to me a wee bit of patience will at least see if he is capable of doing it rather than forcing the guy out the door.

14-04-2022, 04:35 PM
He’s the wrong man to be owning this Club, in my opinion. He think he’s clever.

Clever enough to be a self made millionaire and able to buy Hibs.

14-04-2022, 04:40 PM
Maloney has signed crap

Bang on the money. Rabbit in the headlights. The most uninspiring Hibs manager I can ever remember playing uninspiring football.

14-04-2022, 04:44 PM

Worse than Butcher.

Worse than Duffy.

Worse than Cathro.

He simply has to go.
Do you believe anybody who doesn't have a clue should be sacked or does it only apply to fitba and not politics?

14-04-2022, 04:44 PM

Cheers Yoda.

hibbydog
14-04-2022, 04:52 PM
Has anyone stopped to consider the obvious evidence that Hibs changing managers doesn’t work?

14 managers in the last 20 years. I can count on the fingers of one hand how many of them have done a good job.

Not a Maloney fan by any stretch, but I have no confidence that the next guy will be any better.

14-04-2022, 05:03 PM
How about a swap for Kenny Shiels

14-04-2022, 05:24 PM
How about a swap for Kenny Shiels

Too Emotional

Mrimbetween
14-04-2022, 05:41 PM
Seen Sean on SSN earlier didny come accross well at all

Hopefuly nerves

14-04-2022, 05:44 PM
Has anyone stopped to consider the obvious evidence that Hibs changing managers doesn’t work?

14 managers in the last 20 years. I can count on the fingers of one hand how many of them have done a good job.

Not a Maloney fan by any stretch, but I have no confidence that the next guy will be any better.

Probably a lot of fans realise financially we can’t afford to change Managers Our form and performances however have to lead to some supports questioning the wisdom of brining in.a Rookie when we were in free fall and injuries were stacking up
Frustration is natural and forums like this are the ideal platform for different views to be shared
Defeat on Saturday will simply add to the discontent and Ron maybe needs to try snd steady the ship and try and assure fans money will be spend in the summer backing Maloney going forward
But then it comes down to do fans have confidence the current set up will identify quality players ,and is Maloneys apparent rigid thinking re system he wants is to play getting in the way
People will make Thier own mind up And some will vote with Thier feet if really not happy
I just hope the right decisions are taken and we start to move forward as a club in a positive way

14-04-2022, 05:48 PM

Hopefuly nerves

He's worryingly totally out his depth.

14-04-2022, 05:50 PM
Seeing this thread is still going strong, just two days before our biggest derby in years, can I ask whether you think we should sack him in the next 48 hours or wait till we get inevitably humped and then do it?

Or alternatively you could grow a pair and post something more interesting, or even get behind the team and the manager. Just a thought.

14-04-2022, 06:01 PM

Hopefuly nerves

you surely weren’t getting nervous watching Sky Sports?! :greengrin

14-04-2022, 06:04 PM
Watched the interview on STV news with JDH, said all the right things about how strong we must be, pity they were not as strong and up for it last Saturday??
Would have been better to keep quite and do the talking on the pitch!!!!

14-04-2022, 06:24 PM
Watched the interview on STV news with JDH, said all the right things about how strong we must be, pity they were not as strong and up for it last Saturday??
Would have been better to keep quite and do the talking on the pitch!!!!
You think he wanted to have to talk to the media?

14-04-2022, 06:38 PM

I thought Hecky was the wrong appointment from the get go. Sometimes you just have a feeling it won’t work out.

I’ll say it again - the sacking of Jack Ross has unsettled things, it feels like nothing has got solid foundations at the moment. Shaun talks about the future but he should be more concerned about the here and now.

14-04-2022, 07:00 PM

Hopefuly nerves

I dont think he ever comes across well, he looks like he's very nervous in front of the camera, he never looks comfortable.

He could knock interviews on the head if his team were winning, i wouldnt give a toss.

14-04-2022, 07:39 PM
20 pages now . I think I wrote something in first page but haven`t bothered reading since then . Some folk were against him before his arrival at Hibs was confirmed , others jump on bandwagon after any setback . What are people expecting ? He took over a poor squad decimated by injuries , the injury situation has got even worse plus we lost Boyle late in window . Almost all the January signings look like they might have potential at least though I`m unsure how much credit or flak SM deserves for winter signings anyway . I say almost cause some / many here seem unhappy about Rocky as though there are loads of top class defenders waiting to sign for us . Clarke seems like a great signing but terrible injury , Mitchell decent signing ( I`ll admit I`m not convinced ) but again injured . Other signings are meant for next season or later surely ? So we appointed a new manager with plan of developing young players in coming years and making a regular challenge not just every few years . Never heard anything about talking about challenging strongly for 3rd this season or even in Scottish Cup . We`re looking beyond that and set up with SM and Kean is part of that . Obviously hope we make final and win it and finish league strongly but am also looking forward to see us progress with SM next season .

Mrimbetween
14-04-2022, 07:59 PM
Ditto havent bothered reading that either far to long winded for me

14-04-2022, 09:07 PM
https://fb.watch/cohFklHv7F/

Maloneys Derby preview

Havent watched it all but the first few mins I seen was fine

14-04-2022, 09:09 PM
I’m starting to get the feeling that if we’re beaten heavily on Saturday Maloney won’t come back from it

Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2022, 09:10 PM
I’m starting to get the feeling that if we’re beaten heavily on Saturday Maloney won’t come back from it

Maloney hasn’t lost a game heavily as Hibs manager. Infact he’s only lost more than one goal on 4 occasions I think it is. So you don’t need to worry yourself about that imo.

14-04-2022, 09:11 PM
Maloney hasn’t lost a game heavily as Hibs manager. Infact he’s only lost more than one goal on 4 occasions I think it is. So you don’t need to worry yourself about that imo.

Hearts at hampden? I’m definitely worrying about a heavy defeat.

14-04-2022, 09:13 PM

What do you class as a heavy defeat? 3,4,5 goals?

14-04-2022, 09:23 PM
https://fb.watch/cohFklHv7F/

Maloneys Derby preview

Havent watched it all but the first few mins I seen was fine

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkWatched it all now - good interview

Seems. Focused and determined while making it obvious the players desire was lacking on the weekend

14-04-2022, 09:35 PM

Unfortunately two of those defeats have come in our last three matches.

15-04-2022, 05:37 AM

Rightfully so. Very unlikely that that happens, though.

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 06:15 AM
What do you class as a heavy defeat? 3,4,5 goals?

Yeah, probably. Certainly not by two that’s for sure.

You?

15-04-2022, 06:19 AM
Rightfully so. Very unlikely that that happens, though.

It isn’t very unlikely at all. We capitulated on Saturday and could quite easily do so again.

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 06:24 AM
It isn’t very unlikely at all. We capitulated on Saturday and could quite easily do so again.

We also played quite well the game before and could do so again.

We’ve capitulated in one, maybe two halves of football under Maloney. We’ve not suffered any heavy defeats under him. We don’t often concede many goals under him. There’s nothing to suggest a heavy defeat is likely. Of course that doesn’t mean it’s an impossibility but then neither is a Hibs win. Something you’d be forgiven for believing reading this site.

McGruber
15-04-2022, 06:39 AM
20 pages now . I think I wrote something in first page but haven`t bothered reading since then . Some folk were against him before his arrival at Hibs was confirmed , others jump on bandwagon after any setback . What are people expecting ? He took over a poor squad decimated by injuries , the injury situation has got even worse plus we lost Boyle late in window . Almost all the January signings look like they might have potential at least though I`m unsure how much credit or flak SM deserves for winter signings anyway . I say almost cause some / many here seem unhappy about Rocky as though there are loads of top class defenders waiting to sign for us . Clarke seems like a great signing but terrible injury , Mitchell decent signing ( I`ll admit I`m not convinced ) but again injured . Other signings are meant for next season or later surely ? So we appointed a new manager with plan of developing young players in coming years and making a regular challenge not just every few years . Never heard anything about talking about challenging strongly for 3rd this season or even in Scottish Cup . We`re looking beyond that and set up with SM and Kean is part of that . Obviously hope we make final and win it and finish league strongly but am also looking forward to see us progress with SM next season .

I applaud your optimism. Couldn't disagree more though.

Some folk were against him before his arrival? A new manager at a club will rarely be universally popular or number one choice. Once in the door he gets a chance from all though (or vast majority) - that's football.

Jump on bandwagon after any setback? It's not been few and far between, it's been garbage on a weekly basis and a worse run than previous managers have lost their job over.

What were people expecting? Seriously! I don't think anyone was expecting us to bomb into the bottom 6 with the 2nd worse form over a quarter of a season. To regress individually and collectively. To become worse in results and performane.

Taken over a poor squad? ... relative to Scottish football, no he didn't. He took over the squad that finished 3rd the previous year and consistently got to latter stages of cups. It was a squad not performing, which cost the previous manager his job but there was ability there. Some poor players but our competition is Ross Co. Motherwell, Livi for top 6, come on. His January transfer window budget then dwarfed what these teams had to play with. No midfielder brought in, no striker brought in (except a kid predominantly for the future).

Jan window difficult to sign players- other teams managed. Hearts strengthened again, even St Johnstone signed a midfielder better than Campbell who we have had to rely on too often and their results have improved... his name Melker Halberg

We don't have Martin Boyle now. It has been a huge blow for us unquestionably. Keep in mind though, none of our competitors in the league have Martin Boyle either.

Nobody said we would be challenging for 3rd or Scottish cup?. . We did the previous season! Why the hell would we not have been.

My biggest issue with Maloney isn't even the results - it's his style. The lone striker is hung out to dry most of the time with a midfield 30 yards away. No wonder we barely have a shot on goal never mind score. That, his bizarre subs and stubborness playing the same system week in week out that isn't working in the slightest.

It was interesting reading in the build up that Hearts had been on a blip for about a month then changed to a 4 4 2 then haven't looked back. If only!

I go to Hampden tomorrow feeling like a lamb to the slaughter. Not because I don't think we have the players or team to beat this Hearts team, I just feel we won't playing the way Maloney has us playing.

Sorry for the rant and good luck to you in looking forward to next season under Maloney (if he is still there) - a season we will go into with the lowest season ticket take up in a decade.

I wonder if we will go into next season not targetting 3rd or cup wins!?

Clarence
15-04-2022, 06:46 AM
I’m sure there are some out there that would take a 3-1 defeat if it meant that Maloney was gone by Monday.

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 06:52 AM
I’m sure there are some out there that would take a 3-1 defeat if it meant that Maloney was gone by Monday.

A 3-1 defeat wouldn’t see him go anywhere and rightly so imo.

McGruber
15-04-2022, 06:58 AM

He wins Saturday or he is a dead man walking and has to go.

15-04-2022, 06:58 AM

Sales of nappies and incontinence pants would soar mind 😃

I’ve never wanted to win a derby more, for SM and the boys, so some bedwetters can dry off for a bit !

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 07:02 AM

I’ve never wanted to win a derby more, for SM and the boys, so some bedwetters can dry off for a bit !

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 07:02 AM

Maybe in your eyes but I’d doubt in the eyes of the people who actually make the call. Maloney has been tasked with making quite big changes to Hibs. He’ll be given time to do that.

Key West
15-04-2022, 07:03 AM
Before the derby at Easter Road there were predictions that Hibs were going to get hammered and it did not materialise, Porteous and Newell were exceptional, it was a poor performance last week and Hearts were allowed to grow in confidence with the timing of their goals.
Hearts have been the best of the rest and deserve to be where they are but they are not world beaters, Gordon has been to them what Boyle was to us, Hibs have enough decent players to make this a contest and I am pretty confident that will be the case, it definitely is though up to Maloney to get the shape, selection and tactics correct on the day, we could not be as bad as we were against St Johnstone in the final or in periods agains them last week again, Hibs will definitely put up a fight.

15-04-2022, 07:04 AM

Pretty much how it’ll go with a lot of fans. Happened with Jack Ross too.

McGruber
15-04-2022, 07:04 AM

Is 'bedwetters'not a term for people that get their knickers in a twist for no reason and are all doom & gloom? Is the bed not already wet?

McGruber
15-04-2022, 07:08 AM
Maybe in your eyes but I’d doubt in the eyes of the people who actually make the call. Maloney has been tasked with making quite big changes to Hibs. He’ll be given time to do that.

Fair enough, though the people that actually make the call were decisive in sacking the last manager and performances and results are now worse than that benchmark so you wouldn't be surprised would you?

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 07:11 AM
Fair enough, though the people that actually make the call were decisive in sacking the last manager and performances and results are now worse than that benchmark so you wouldn't be surprised would you?

It’s not as simple as that for me. Jack Ross had two years. This season was coming off the back of us having a fairly successful season last year and we’d went back at an alarming rate of knots. Maloney took over when we were very similar to how we are now.

Maloney has been asked to completely change the way we play whilst taking us over from a horrendous period of form and losing our best player.

15-04-2022, 07:11 AM

It's possibility not just because we're a poor team with young players, but those that do care will be fired up - as they were in 2006 - and get sent off. The likes of Porto will have to be incredibly disciplined. Hearts players will bully the Hell out of our guys knowing Hibs players are more likely be red carded if we react. It's a proven tactic of Hearts at Hampden.

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 07:13 AM
It's possibility not just because we're a poor team with young players, but those that do care will be fired up - as they were in 2006 - and get sent off. The likes of Porto will have to be incredibly disciplined. Hearts players will bully the Hell out of our guys knowing Hibs players are more likely be red carded if we react. It's a proven tactic of Hearts at Hampden.

If Porteous was to get sent off on Saturday then he should be sold in the summer imo.

Thankfully I doubt it will come to that… surely..

McGruber
15-04-2022, 07:37 AM
It’s not as simple as that for me. Jack Ross had two years. This season was coming off the back of us having a fairly successful season last year and we’d went back at an alarming rate of knots. Maloney took over when we were very similar to how we are now.

Maloney has been asked to completely change the way we play whilst taking us over from a horrendous period of form and losing our best player.

If he took us over in a horrendous period of form and after half a season and transfer window we are at best in the same horrendous form though in many eyes worse - that's quite something.

I admire your optimism, wish I had it. I hope you are right.

If he loses Saturday his problem won't just be turning things around it will be winning fans over with long memories.

Lets just hope he wins this semi

15-04-2022, 07:44 AM
Since Maloney has come in..

Which players have improved ?

What games have we played well over 90 mins ?

Maloney has to win Saturday to save his job and get some credit in the bank / get some fans back on side. If he doesn’t Hibs should be looking for a new manager as attendances / ST sales will drop badly.

15-04-2022, 07:54 AM

I think Maloney has been told Hibs fans expect to be entertained and want attacking football.

There is a difference between that and the club wanting to overhaul the football philosophy.

As has been mentioned many times it’s the structure how Hibs set up does not suit the limited players we have. As a coach you need a few plans if things aren’t working and often the only changes are personnel and not actually shape to cause the opposition problems. It’s just becomes so predictable and wouldn’t be surprised if opposition teams know exactly what to expect before they play us. Hearts conceded Saturday and weren’t even bothered (watch Craig Gordon at the time) as they knew Hibs don’t score many goals / have many shots on target).

15-04-2022, 08:00 AM
Do you believe anybody who doesn't have a clue should be sacked or does it only apply to fitba and not politics?

Are you suggesting that things I post on the Holy Ground should influence what I post here?

Does that apply to everyone?

I thought we were meant to keep politics off the main board?

15-04-2022, 08:01 AM
Are you suggesting that things I post on the Holy Ground should influence what I post here?

He's got a point though. One rule for Shaun, another for big Bojo?

15-04-2022, 08:03 AM
Pretty much how it’ll go with a lot of fans. Happened with Jack Ross too.

That’s how it will be with me, I was the opposite with Jack Ross because he’d already shown positive signs. I’ve seen nothing from SM that suggests he has the nouse to change a game or even change a starting formation. The selection tombola is really starting to grate and it’s no wonder we can’t get in to a rhythm.

15-04-2022, 08:07 AM
Really quite pathetic give the guy a proper chance. Think you were righting him off before he was in the door. He has been dealt a poor hand and it clearly isn't going as well as we had hoped however to me a wee bit of patience will at least see if he is capable of doing it rather than forcing the guy out the door.

Whether he stays or goes is absolutely nothing to do with me. I won't be hounding anyone anywhere.

You're right though. I thought it was a crap appointment on day 1 and every day since then has just reinforced that thought.

It' not through choice though. I just don't understand him or what he wants to do. I don't see him as a football manager in the slightest.

I've no idea how he thinks he's qualified to do the Hibs job. I find it massively disrespectful that someone like him could even think he deserves the chance without having done the job for a single day elsewhere.

I want better that that for Hibs. He's a novice at best and should be employed somewhere accordingly.

I'm not going to blindly support someone i think is causing actual harm to my club. That is a perfectly rational view and one that I would hope most Hibs fans would share.

15-04-2022, 08:10 AM
He's got a point though. One rule for Shaun, another for big Bojo?

I've explained numerous times why I think SM should go, as have others.

I'll keep my thoughts on any other subject for the Holy Ground where I'm more than happy to discus anything.

15-04-2022, 08:11 AM
I really hope we see something tomorrow that shows there are positive things happening. I can take a defeat if we've played well. You just have to suck that up and move on. If we roll over and have our bellies tickled again without laying a glove on them then he has to go tomorrow night. We will be at our lowest ebb since relegation IMO. We've had three massive games in a row that really could have defined our season and have so far failed. That's on the manager. Third time lucky tomorrow hopefully.

15-04-2022, 08:13 AM
I really hope we see something tomorrow that shows there are positive things happening. I can take a defeat if we've played well. You just have to suck that up and move on. If we roll over and have our bellies tickled again then he has to go tomorrow night. We will be at our lowest ebb since relegation IMO. We've had three massive games in a row that really could have defined our season and have so far failed. That's on the manager. Third time lucky tomorrow hopefully.

I felt that we did until Drey Wright went off on Saturday. If we can keep that going for 90 mins (whilst weathering short periods in between) we will be in with a shout.

Someone else posted if we're still in the game with 20 mins to go - even if 1-0 down - we need to all get behind the team.

15-04-2022, 08:16 AM
I felt that we did until Drey Wright went off on Saturday. If we can keep that going for 90 mins (whilst weathering short periods in between) we will be in with a shout.

Someone else posted if we're still in the game with 20 mins to go - even if 1-0 down - we need to all get behind the team.

If that happens then Hearts will be worrying. I really hoppe we are in that position (not 1-0 down obviously!).

15-04-2022, 08:19 AM
Whether he stays or goes is absolutely nothing to do with me. I won't be hounding anyone anywhere.

You're right though. I thought it was a crap appointment on day 1 and every day since then has just reinforced that thought.

It' not through choice though. I just don't understand him or what he wants to do. I don't see him as a football manager in the slightest.

I've no idea how he thinks he's qualified to do the Hibs job. I find it massively disrespectful that someone like him could even think he deserves the chance without having done the job for a single day elsewhere.

I want better that that for Hibs. He's a novice at best and should be employed somewhere accordingly.

I'm not going to blindly support someone i think is causing actual harm to my club. That is a perfectly rational view and one that I would hope most Hibs fans would share.

Alan Stubbs was a novice, didn’t get promotion from a lower Division yet won a cup because the club kept faith and gave him a few windows. Built a good side to watch too, arguably under-achieving too.

Maloney a ‘novice’ ? In first team management role, yes, but he’s had a stellar career at club and international level and assisted the manager of the best international side in the world by ratings. He’ll learn, he’ll adapt, he’ll improve - give the man some time and have patience.

Ross filled that squad with average footballers many of whom carry the same attributes, particularly in midfield. None of whom are really exciting or dynamic in their play. A very ‘safe’ and ‘conservative’ approach. Maloney rightly wants to change that, so at least give him some windows to try (and rid the squad of said players).

15-04-2022, 08:20 AM

I get the points about him being pish, no getting results and all that and can understand why folk want him gone.

I don’t get your angle about him being disrespectful because you don’t think he’s qualified for it. Managers have to get their first job somewhere and plenty get their first job at bigger clubs in bigger leagues than ours. It’s no as if he just walked in of the street.

15-04-2022, 08:22 AM
The seethe and hatred for Maloney on this thread and a few others is truly astonishing, never given a chance by many because their idol Ross lost his job. Same players that got Ross sacked are doing their worst to get Maloney sacked too. If Maloney does stay to rebuild, then the players bottling it in games like last week will all be looking for new clubs in the summer and rightly so.

15-04-2022, 08:23 AM
The seethe and hatred for Maloney on this thread and a few others is truly astonishing, never given a chance by many because their idol Ross lost his job. Same players that got Ross sacked are doing their worst to get Maloney sacked too. If Maloney does stay to rebuild, then the players bottling it in games like last week will all be looking for new clubs in the summer and rightly so.

👍👍

15-04-2022, 08:34 AM

Just interested in your thought processes that's all.

15-04-2022, 08:36 AM
I get the points about him being pish, no getting results and all that and can understand why folk want him gone.

I don’t get your angle about him being disrespectful because you don’t think he’s qualified for it. Managers have to get their first job somewhere and plenty get their first job at bigger clubs in bigger leagues than ours. It’s no as if he just walked in of the street.

Lower divisions? Smaller club?

I actually don't really care anymore, that's the effect he's had on me. I'm waiting for him to leave so that i get my club back!!

15-04-2022, 08:41 AM
Alan Stubbs was a novice, didn’t get promotion from a lower Division yet won a cup because the club kept faith and gave him a few windows. Built a good side to watch too, arguably under-achieving too.

Maloney a ‘novice’ ? In first team management role, yes, but he’s had a stellar career at club and international level and assisted the manager of the best international side in the world by ratings. He’ll learn, he’ll adapt, he’ll improve - give the man some time and have patience.

Ross filled that squad with average footballers many of whom carry the same attributes, particularly in midfield. None of whom are really exciting or dynamic in their play. A very ‘safe’ and ‘conservative’ approach. Maloney rightly wants to change that, so at least give him some windows to try (and rid the squad of said players).

Totally agree

15-04-2022, 08:41 AM

I know there's been some debate about our recruitment and the Jan window. I take the view that the manager is responsible for who we sign, rightly or wrongly.

We signed 6 or 7 players in January but not 1 of them made me think 'ya beauty, we've got a player here'. If we're all being honest, you'd maybe agree?

You guys maybe see signs of improvement that makes you think giving him time has merit. I just don't see it.

15-04-2022, 08:45 AM
Just interested in your thought processes that's all.

What's happening at Hibs is was more important to me than what's happening in Westminster. Holy Ground chat is mostly just chewing the fat really.

This is actual important stuff we're now discussing :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 08:50 AM

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 08:55 AM

Your last paragraph was exactly my point when Richie Fosters comments were being discussed. Because he criticised Maloney, people immediately jumped on it and started using it as a stick to beat Maloney with as well. Next to nobody had an issue with Maloney ‘not taking responsibility in his interviews’ before but the minute Foster said it, it was like gold dust to some.

If he’d taken responsibility though then you can guarantee there’d be a lot more ridiculous statements about Maloney being disrespectful, an arrogant ******** etc for not quitting. If I was him I wouldn’t be taking responsibility either. He’s inherited a really poor squad and had a one man team sold after 3 games of being in post. Not a chance in hell I’d be sitting there telling folk to blame me for the mess.

The idea that he’s disrespectful for taking a job which as far as I’m aware we actually approached him for is utter ridiculous and yet again just shows that people will now have a go at him for absolutely anything.

15-04-2022, 08:55 AM

I don't think there will be any Hibs fans not concerned with our form and not feel disappointed by missing top 6 however personally think he should get more time and there have been games or bits of games more accurately which we have been good in. Nowhere near enough however he has had a difficult job particularly with injuries on an unprecedented scale and more than one inexplicable refereeing decisions. Just think the club should support at this time give him the window and see where we are October to Dec this year. Appreciate others think differently just would be depressing to me turning into a sacking club.

LunasBoots
15-04-2022, 08:56 AM

He's got until October for me, if it's not looking like he's influencing his squad by then I'd empty him, rest of this season is pretty much a write off anyway.

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 08:59 AM
He's got until October for me, if it's not looking like he's influencing his squad by then I'd empty him, rest of this season is pretty much a write off anyway.

I think October is about fair. We’ll be able to get a much better idea on where we are at that point :agree:

Greenio
15-04-2022, 09:00 AM

Plenty managers have had no experience at all as managers and come in and done very well.

15-04-2022, 09:01 AM
I think October is about fair. We’ll be able to get a much better idea on where we are at that point :agree:

Agree with that. A lot depends on tomorrow a repeat of last week will put him under enormous pressure and rightly so.

Greenio
15-04-2022, 09:02 AM

Exactly.

October is when you make an informed decision. Anything decisive until then is just an overreaction

15-04-2022, 09:02 AM
Agree with that. A lot depends on tomorrow a repeat of last week will put him under enormous pressure and rightly so.

A repeat of last week should get him the bullet.

15-04-2022, 09:06 AM
Exactly.

October is when you make an informed decision. Anything decisive until then is just an overreaction

Can’t just give time (and more money for the sake of it).

He has to show something to earn the time. He needs to win tomorrow or he’s finished as far as a lot of people are concerned. And the club need to sell season tickets.

15-04-2022, 09:10 AM
If Porteous was to get sent off on Saturday then he should be sold in the summer imo.

Thankfully I doubt it will come to that… surely..

He's leaving anyway so probably wont give a ****!

Greenio
15-04-2022, 09:33 AM

He has to show something to earn the time. He needs to win tomorrow or he’s finished as far as a lot of people are concerned. And the club need to sell season tickets.

You earn the time by taking the job.

15-04-2022, 09:37 AM
You earn the time by taking the job.

Na, you need to get results or, at least, show some kind of progress.

He’s not done either, he needs to start changing that tomorrow or he’s done.

15-04-2022, 09:52 AM

How long should we give managers to change the mistakes of the past and implement their own style? If we were to sack managers after 4 months then no one would ever be able to change anything, and in that case it wouldn't even matter who they are, we should just have a rotating hot seat and get fans in for a few games at a time.

15-04-2022, 10:04 AM

:agree::agree::agree:

How long should we give managers to change the mistakes of the past and implement their own style? If we were to sack managers after 4 months then no one would ever be able to change anything, and in that case it wouldn't even matter who they are, we should just have a rotating hot seat and get fans in for a few games at a time.

Frank Sauzee got 69 days as a Hibs manager. If it's clear the manager isnt up to scratch then holding on to him does nothing but damage to the club.

15-04-2022, 10:09 AM

Frank Sauzee got 69 days as a Hibs manager. If it's clear the manager isnt up to scratch then holding on to him does nothing but damage to the club.

Sauzee had never coached a day in his life when he took over, it was a heart over head appointment.

15-04-2022, 10:15 AM
Sauzee had never coached a day in his life when he took over, it was a heart over head appointment.

Maloney had never managed a day in his life when he took over. Neither of these things matter if they are up to the task though.

15-04-2022, 10:23 AM

I’ve been the first to say that he’s been dealt a **** hand. Poor squad, worst injury crisis in memory, sale of best player. I also think the players deserve a hell of a lot of criticism.

But, it won’t be the mistakes of the past that get him sacked, it’ll be the mistakes he’s making himself. Irrespective of the above, there’s no way we shouldn’t have been capable of something even slightly better. But all we’ve seen is the same thing repeated week after week.

The best argument that can be made for Maloney at the moment is that he hasn’t had much time. I don’t think that’s a good argument, you need to see some positive signs and we’re not seeing any just now. He’s trying to implement a style without the players to do it, that’s bad management. You need to find a way in the short term and then implement your style when you do have the players to do it. I know there is a thought that he’s doing complicated things that the players don’t understand. I don’t think that’s the case, it’s just that they don’t have the attributes to do what he wants or, in some cases, aren’t very good.

15-04-2022, 10:25 AM

Probably will

15-04-2022, 10:27 AM
I’ve been the first to say that he’s been dealt a **** hand. Poor squad, worst injury crisis in memory, sale of best player. I also think the players deserve a hell of a lot of criticism.

But, it won’t be the mistakes of the past that get him sacked, it’ll be the mistakes he’s making himself. Irrespective of the above, there’s no way we shouldn’t have been capable of something even slightly better. But all we’ve seen is the same thing repeated week after week.

The best argument that can be made for Maloney at the moment is that he hasn’t had much time. I don’t think that’s a good argument, you need to see some positive signs and we’re not seeing any just now. He’s trying to implement a style without the players to do it, that’s bad management. You need to find a way in the short term and then implement your style when you do have the players to do it. I know there is a thought that he’s doing complicated things that the players don’t understand. I don’t think that’s the case, it’s just that they don’t have the attributes to do what he wants or, in some cases, aren’t very good.

I think the initial points you highlight should be the reason he gets more time.

DJ HIBBY
15-04-2022, 10:29 AM

Agree with all of this. Get beat tomorrow and no sign of improvement before end of season (we will be playing the worst teams in the league) and no way should he be given until October potentially writing off another season and more squad overhaul.

Daily Hibs
15-04-2022, 10:32 AM
A 3-1 defeat should see the end of the Maloney Cathro experiment.

DJ HIBBY
15-04-2022, 10:34 AM
I think the initial points you highlight should be the reason he gets more time.

He and the team have to show some sort of improvement to buy himself time though, they simply aren’t doing that at all. Showing the odd flashes in games really doesn’t cut it. 1 league win in 13 would get most managers the sack worldwide, so Maloney shouldn’t be exempt from this.

Like others have said, I just can’t see what we are trying to do and how we are looking to play. He sticks with the same rigid system but simply rotates the personnel on a weekly basis expecting better results. You really have to be better than that.

Not one of Maloney’s backers have been able to highlight a single improvement to back up why he should stay except that nothing is his fault and he needs more time. That is hardly a strong argument for the defence.

It was the right thing to do to sack Ross at that time but replacing him with a complete novice who seems totally out his depth seems utter madness now

15-04-2022, 10:42 AM
He's leaving anyway so probably wont give a ****!

Where is he off to?

15-04-2022, 10:53 AM

As dons found out backing glass when it was crystal clear he wasn’t making an impact

Daily Hibs
15-04-2022, 10:58 AM
As dons found out backing glass when it was crystal clear he wasn’t making an impact

Yes, Maloneys press conference yesterday was embarrassing. A big red flag and it's becoming clear he's losing the players.

15-04-2022, 11:07 AM
Yes, Maloneys press conference yesterday was embarrassing. A big red flag and it's becoming clear he's losing the players.Why was it embaressing?

I haven't seen it yet but his hibs TV one was really good so I'm curious why his other media was embrassing?

Daily Hibs
15-04-2022, 11:10 AM
Why was it embaressing?

I haven't seen it yet but his hibs TV one was really good so I'm curious why his other media was embrassing?

Having a pop at Hearts for celebrating winning a derby which clinched 3rd and clinched Europe was bizarre, as was his attempt to come over to the fans at full time where he rightly got told to GTF.

15-04-2022, 11:13 AM
Having a pop at Hearts for celebrating winning a derby which clinched 3rd and clinched Europe was bizarre, as was his attempt to come over to the fans at full time where he rightly got told to GTF.

That bit at the end. You stay classy.

Key West
15-04-2022, 11:13 AM
So if Hibs play well tomorrow and are the better team but lose to a more consistent team this season do people still want Maloney out?

15-04-2022, 11:16 AM
So if Hibs play well tomorrow and are the better team but lose to a more consistent team this season do people still want Maloney out?

Sounds similar to when Jack Ross lost to Hearts at Hampden.

Well a Hearts team who had hardly played a match and who were in pre-season.

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 11:21 AM

Aye. Total beamer that interview :rolleyes:

15-04-2022, 11:22 AM

I think the same applies to Neilson strangely enough.

Huge game for both clubs.

Pretty Green
15-04-2022, 11:25 AM
For what it is worth I actually think he would be a good manager at a club where money wasn't an issue. We just can't afford the quality of players that is required to play how he wants us to play.

15-04-2022, 11:26 AM

It was just strange. So was having a go at Jack Ross publicly about Boyle. I don't really get Maloney and can't take to him at all. He just seems incredibly awkward. That isn't the issue though. It isn't a personality contest. I couldn't care less what our manager is like as long as we are winning games of football which we arent doing under his management. That's the bottom line. Third massive game in a row tomorrow and i have little confidence we'll lay a glove.

15-04-2022, 11:31 AM
It was just strange. So was having a go at Jack Ross publicly about Boyle. I don't really get Maloney and can't take to him at all. He just seems incredibly awkward. That isn't the issue though. It isn't a personality contest. I couldn't care less what our manager is like as long as we are winning games of football which we arent doing under his management. That's the bottom line. Third massive game in a row tomorrow and i have little confidence we'll lay a glove.
You must have made your opinion about the manager about 40 times now.
Is it maybe time to give it a rest and look forward to a massive game less than 24 hours away?

15-04-2022, 12:02 PM
I'm now of the opinion that Hibs could appoint anyone it would not matter who and within a month that appointee would be torn to shreds.

15-04-2022, 12:05 PM
For what it is worth I actually think he would be a good manager at a club where money wasn't an issue. We just can't afford the quality of players that is required to play how he wants us to play.

That’s a bit of a misconception. That you need expensive, quality players to be able to play a certain style. There are teams across the lower leagues - and across Europe at various levels - who play the game in an attractive way. Those teams have a way of playing and every player knows their role. You don’t need big bucks players to do that. You just need players who are clear in what they need to do. That comes from the coaches. Having a lot of your first picks unavailable doesn’t help the situation.

15-04-2022, 12:10 PM

Not me.

Hearts have a better team just now, and a settled formation that works for the players the have. If we put up a decent performance but still lose, then I’m not going to be calling for him to go.

That said, I think he’s been a poor appointment, and I’m not at all convinced he can turn it around.

15-04-2022, 12:14 PM
Why was it embaressing?

Yes a very good interview

15-04-2022, 12:19 PM
Having a pop at Hearts for celebrating winning a derby which clinched 3rd and clinched Europe was bizarre, as was his attempt to come over to the fans at full time where he rightly got told to GTF.So the only embrassing thing in the interview was having a pop at hearts?

15-04-2022, 12:24 PM
Just watched the Hibs TV and he seemed fine.

Not seen the press conference one ??

Reading between the lines Doig definitely questionable to play.

15-04-2022, 12:29 PM
Just watched the Hibs TV and he seemed fine.

Not seen the press conference one ??

Reading between the lines Doig definitely questionable to play.

I thought both were good, but I’ve never idea who’s fit and available from McGinn, Doidge, Mitchell, Doig and Wright. Tell them nothing

Hearts been training at Tynecastle to keep team shape etc quiet, wonder if Hibs are training at ER today, keep our line up private
Robbie could be hiding in the bushes at East Mains today!

I'm Spartacus
15-04-2022, 12:36 PM
For me the Hibs TV one he sounds very nervous, I think he looks nervous too.

15-04-2022, 12:36 PM
You must have made your opinion about the manager about 40 times now.
Is it maybe time to give it a rest and look forward to a massive game less than 24 hours away?

Amen to this.

15-04-2022, 12:45 PM
If we take a scudding tomorrow without a reply then he will be away, if we win then he's staved off the vultures at least until the end of the season. Partly because he will have ruined hearts season as well.

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 01:13 PM
That’s a bit of a misconception. That you need expensive, quality players to be able to play a certain style. There are teams across the lower leagues - and across Europe at various levels - who play the game in an attractive way. Those teams have a way of playing and every player knows their role. You don’t need big bucks players to do that. You just need players who are clear in what they need to do. That comes from the coaches. Having a lot of your first picks unavailable doesn’t help the situation.

I’ve seen lots of posts on here moaning that he’s trying to play like Belgium even though we don’t have De Bruyne etc.

You don’t have to have De Bruyne to play like Belgium as we’re not coming up against Virgil Van Dijk, N’Golo ****e and Luka Modric.

It’s all relative. You can absolutely play like Belgium at our level if you can players in who suit that style. And that doesn’t mean getting KDB in.

15-04-2022, 01:18 PM
Hatred is a strong word. I've read plenty of comments from folk seething at his puzzling selections, substitutions, poor tactics and inability to change things, then subsequently saying he should be booted but I've not read anything that would qualify as hatred. What some of us find astonishing is the defence of Maloney from some quarters even if we lose tomorrow.

15-04-2022, 01:22 PM
So Hibs are too low-level a club for Maloney? Bizarre take.

15-04-2022, 01:40 PM
So Hibs are too low-level a club for Maloney? Bizarre take.

I'd wager managing a club with Belgian international players is easier than asking players signed from Forest Green Rovers and St Mirren to play like them.

15-04-2022, 01:41 PM

Absolutely.

Can I muddy the waters somewhat by saying that if we’re atrocious but somehow manage to find a way to get a result, that he’s earned more time?

15-04-2022, 01:43 PM
Absolutely.

Can I muddy the waters somewhat by saying that if we’re atrocious but somehow manage to find a way to get a result, that he’s earned more time?

I'd give him the final, sure.

Lets be honest, he wont get sacked regardless of what happens this season. Obviously seen as some long term project.

huggie1875
15-04-2022, 01:47 PM
If we lose heavily tomorrow then for me Boris has a better case for keeping his job

15-04-2022, 01:50 PM
Absolutely.

He just needs a win tomorrow - the performance I don’t think is that important. A win tomorrow will buy him some time.

If we play well and we lose - it’s not going to help his cause as ultimately it’s another loss and that will be 2 out of 3 games he’s lost against Hearts added to his other list of games not winning.

15-04-2022, 01:56 PM
He just needs a win tomorrow - the performance I don’t think is that important. A win tomorrow will buy him some time.

If we play well and we lose - it’s not going to help his cause as ultimately it’s another loss and that will be 2 out of 3 games he’s lost against Hearts added to his other list of games not winning.

Performance doesn’t mean anything tomorrow. Only a win matters, however it’s achieved. He needs to win, simple as that.

15-04-2022, 02:39 PM
I'd wager managing a club with Belgian international players is easier than asking players signed from Forest Green Rovers and St Mirren to play like them.

No one is asking any player to play like Belgium, he's asking them to do the basics of keeping shape, passing and holding onto the ball and above all giving 100% for the cause. If we played 433 it's little difference to 343, instead of a holding mid you have an extra CH.

15-04-2022, 02:55 PM

I want him out now, if we win tomorrow it will give him a bit longer, although i dont think you have anything to worry about, we are not winning tomorrow.:rolleyes:

15-04-2022, 03:00 PM
I want him out now, if we win tomorrow it will give him a bit longer, although i dont think you have anything to worry about, we are not winning tomorrow.:rolleyes:

Aye we are.

ErinGoBraghHFC
15-04-2022, 03:01 PM

Hope you’re wearing your Tena Ladies.

15-04-2022, 03:04 PM
No one is asking any player to play like Belgium, he's asking them to do the basics of keeping shape, passing and holding onto the ball and above all giving 100% for the cause. If we played 433 it's little difference to 343, instead of a holding mid you have an extra CH.

The extra midfielder might give you the chance to hold on to the ball 30 yards further up the park, which might give you a chance to get up and support your forwards, which might give you a better chance of scoring a goal

Equally, it might not as a lot of the players aren’t very good but to just keep doing the same things over and over again is lunacy. There are plenty things he could tweak and do a bit differently rather than continue to do the same thing with the same results.

15-04-2022, 03:05 PM
Aye we are.

I hope you are right, and we leave tomorrow at 7.30am to go to Hampden, but i cant see us laying a glove on them tomorrow, our team are just too weak.:rolleyes:

Silky
15-04-2022, 03:06 PM

That's what we do, though. There have been threads on here bemoaning the fact that there have been games where we are "all fur coat and nae knickers" - plenty possession ("passing and holding on to the ball") but no end product. They are doing the basics. I think the problem is its too "basic". Passing and holding on to the ball is great, but when it's side to side and backwards then maybe a different approach is needed.

Hibees1973
15-04-2022, 03:11 PM
I would prefer he is sacked at the end of the season.

For me he does not have the authority, personality or influence to attract the players needed at the club and improve the one's we have.

His after match interviews are a cringe, as what he sees is not what most Hibs fans I know, see. Last week his post match comments when he threw the team under the bus without taking some responsibility himself was the last straw for me.

Sadly, I can only see a meek capitulation tomorrow. If he is able to instill any fight in the players it will be random, unprofessional and will lead to a few sendings off. Just hope it is not a total disaster.

I think the team is not playing for him and the charismatic Caldwell. What disgraceful appointments both have been.

Both have to go. The owners have created this. Shocking.

15-04-2022, 03:18 PM
I would prefer he is sacked at the end of the season.

For me he does not have the authority, personality or influence to attract the players needed at the club and improve the one's we have.

His after match interviews are a cringe, as what he sees is not what most Hibs fans I know, see. Last week his post match comments when he threw the team under the bus without taking some responsibility himself was the last straw for me.

Sadly, I can only see a meek capitulation tomorrow. If he is able to instill any fight in the players it will be random, unprofessional and will lead to a few sendings off. Just hope it is not a total disaster.

I think the team is not playing for him and the charismatic Caldwell. What disgraceful appointments both have been.

Both have to go. The owners have created this. Shocking.
Same. It's just delaying the inevitable if he gets to the end of the season or October. I'd rather the summer dosh was given to the new manager, and ideally also the post-split games for squad familiarisation, so we don't perpetuate the "someone else's players" excuse.

15-04-2022, 04:04 PM
Hope you’re wearing your Tena Ladies.

No need you get men s one s these days

ErinGoBraghHFC
15-04-2022, 04:05 PM
No need you get men s one s these days

You do, they look quite comfy actually. Almost makes you want to have a meltdown about Maloney

15-04-2022, 04:14 PM
Hibs will win tomorrow, you heard it here first.
No need for the nappy wearers.

15-04-2022, 04:18 PM
I thought both were good, but I’ve never idea who’s fit and available from McGinn, Doidge, Mitchell, Doig and Wright. Tell them nothing

Hearts been training at Tynecastle to keep team shape etc quiet, wonder if Hibs are training at ER today, keep our line up private
Robbie could be hiding in the bushes at East Mains today!

He seemed to indicate it’s too early fir Mcginn and Mitchel Doidge is touch and go ,so late decision
He seemed to be heavily hinting Wright wouldn’t make it snd Doig is struggling and may not make it so be interesting to see how that pans out before kick off
Agree the less they know the better An element of surprise and hit them early and score and this time don’t concede at crucial times
Need defence solid with no mistakes and Macey to play a blinder
Attack minded players with pace need to be brave and take players on and hopefully Jasper finds the Hoff like he did v Motherwell and he sticks a couple away
Midfield combative but JHD to score in front of his girlfriend
Me to test negative and we are good to go
Moan The Hibees

15-04-2022, 04:20 PM
The extra midfielder might give you the chance to hold on to the ball 30 yards further up the park, which might give you a chance to get up and support your forwards, which might give you a better chance of scoring a goal

Equally, it might not as a lot of the players aren’t very good but to just keep doing the same things over and over again is lunacy. There are plenty things he could tweak and do a bit differently rather than continue to do the same thing with the same results.

All that is relative too. Where is our last line of defence on the pitch have they pushed up almost into the opposition half. I watched one of Celtcs goal against St Johnston and pretty much all their outfield players were in the Saints half. That allowed everyone to push a bit further forward. There most have been fifty passes that led to the goal and I did well to make it to the end as I was bored out my brain watching. It might end up goal of the season as the last two or three seconds were excellent but the lead up was so boring to watch. That is my fear with the style we want to play. I find it dull as ditch water.

Of course the quality of player makes a difference to the style SM wants to play. You need players like Newell who is very comfortable in tight situations and is always on the move. Our movement is very poor so until SM sorts that it will never work and that should have been the easiest thing to get right. Tomorrow is vital for our manager, lose and he will have to work wonders to get the fanbase back. Lose as meekly and without any sign he knows what he is doing, like last week, and he probably won't survive. I don't like sacking managers, even the ones I don't particularly like, but this appointment looks like a massive mistake at the moment. Hopefully Maloney, either changes his style or something clicks and he and the players send us home smiling tomorrow. A win against them at Hampden would be a massive boost for him and buy him lots of good will.

15-04-2022, 04:21 PM
I'd give him the final, sure.

Lets be honest, he wont get sacked regardless of what happens this season. Obviously seen as some long term project.

Wrong. He won't be here next season regardless what happens tomorrow.

15-04-2022, 04:30 PM

I’d be shocked if we sacked him. Payout would surely be massive.

15-04-2022, 04:30 PM

Is that what you think will happen or you heard something to suggest it's happening?

Mcbizz1998
15-04-2022, 04:34 PM
I think the same applies to Neilson strangely enough.

Huge game for both clubs.

Any other club and I would say you were mad - 3rd in the league by a long way, most likely playing Group stage European football and a decent run the cup, no way he is getting sacked!

But it’s hearts, we define them. Lose this and there will be large sections of their support who want him out.

JamesHFC
15-04-2022, 04:38 PM
Any other club and I would say you were mad - 3rd in the league by a long way, most likely playing Group stage European football and a decent run the cup, no way he is getting sacked!

But it’s hearts, we define them. Lose this and there will be large sections of their support who want him out.

Definitely, we are rent free in their heads.

Key West
15-04-2022, 04:39 PM

You do realise BH that when you are getting your picture taken with the cup you will have to retract all of this.😁

15-04-2022, 04:39 PM

Best case scenario. I'm slightly concerned that a win tomorrow, as brilliant as that would be, will convince the owners that he's the right guy. I still want him gone regardless of tomorrow's result.

15-04-2022, 04:43 PM

I obviously don’t know but I’d be surprised if we were tied to massively lucrative contracts for all the staff - wasn’t Michael Appleton’s gripe that led to him not being appointed that he wanted more than 3/4 months salary if sacked?

Maloney and Caldwell are both very wealthy men, and Maloney wanted to be a manager in his own right, rather than continue to earn what I’d imagine would be a higher wage as an assistant at Belgium.

I’m sure they are both on healthy salaries, but I’d also imagine we’ve paid managers more than what he is earning. I suppose the problem is that if we were to get rid of the whole team that he brought in, it could get quite costly even at a quarter of their salary all round.

There may be some kind of review/probationary period built into all contracts though.

JamesHFC
15-04-2022, 04:45 PM

If that’s the case why is he still here? If you know he won’t be here next season then he surely knows. Why would he stick around?

15-04-2022, 04:47 PM

Fair enough, if you know something. Or is that guesswork?

Personally would be quite relieved if he went and we started afresh.

Na. This isn't Chelsea. We only pay so much of contracts when we sack managers, especially if they fail to reach targets discussed.

15-04-2022, 04:50 PM
Lovely thread.

15-04-2022, 05:08 PM
Best case scenario. I'm slightly concerned that a win tomorrow, as brilliant as that would be, will convince the owners that he's the right guy. I still want him gone regardless of tomorrow's result.

Surely the best case scenario is that we win tomorrow and he goes on to turn it round?

Not looking like happening, but there seems to be some folk who don’t really want to it.

15-04-2022, 05:12 PM
Lovely thread.

I know things are far from good but it’s the night before one of our biggest ever games. Really hope the crowd that turns up tomorrow can put all this aside and the players give us something to to get behind.

15-04-2022, 05:15 PM
I know things are far from good but it’s the night before one of our biggest ever games. Really hope the crowd that turns up tomorrow can put all this aside and the players give us something to to get behind.

Exactly. I don’t know where the energy comes from in a thread like this, before a game like this.

15-04-2022, 05:20 PM

Agreed, this is not the time for moaning.

The fans will respond to every bit of effort from a Hibs player tomorrow and get right behind the team. We will be there is big numbers and as passionate as always. It’s time for these players to step up and show their best game. If they do, we’ll back them all the way.

15-04-2022, 05:24 PM

No surprise really.

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 05:24 PM
Agreed, this is not the time for moaning.

The fans will respond to every bit of effort from a Hibs player tomorrow and get right behind the team. We will be there is big numbers and as passionate as always. It’s time for these players to step up and show their best game. If they do, we’ll back them all the way.

15-04-2022, 05:29 PM
Exactly. I don’t know where the energy comes from in a thread like this, before a game like this.

This is a fair point tbh.

I’ve been trying to rein it in a bit after hibsbollah made a similar point the other day but in many respects I just can’t help myself.

It’s a huge game and there’s still something to be salvaged from the season. We should probably put a halt to the negativity for now.

15-04-2022, 05:31 PM

Concerns me that the magnitude of the game is lost in amongst all this. All week all I’ve heard from Hearts side is about what this means. That’s from players, manager, fans, the lot. It doesn’t feel like that on our side and I just hope the players know what is on the line and we’re not talking after about them wanting it more as we’ve talked about so many times before.

15-04-2022, 06:13 PM
Lovely thread.
It's never ending.

15-04-2022, 06:18 PM
It's never ending.

You and I have had moments but this list of chat is flabbergasting.

15-04-2022, 06:51 PM
Fair enough, if you know something. Or is that guesswork?

Personally would be quite relieved if he went and we started afresh.

Na. This isn't Chelsea. We only pay so much of contracts when we sack managers, especially if they fail to reach targets discussed.

We are still paying JR until his contract expires or until he takes a another full time job, whichever comes first.

15-04-2022, 07:05 PM
You and I have had moments but this list of chat is flabbergasting.
We have, but in this case I think it's fair to say I'm in total agreement with you.

15-04-2022, 07:07 PM
We are still paying JR until his contract expires or until he takes a another full time job, whichever comes first.

Is that really true? Not saying its not, but I'd be surprised if we're actually that bad at business. Why would we have changed to that way, when previously we were only offering candidates a few months pay?

15-04-2022, 07:10 PM
Is that really true? Not saying its not, but I'd be surprised if we're actually that bad at business. Why would we have changed to that way, when previously we were only offering candidates a few months pay?

Yes thats gen up.

15-04-2022, 07:32 PM
Jack Ross only had a three month pay off on his contract, same as Heckingbottom.

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2022, 08:15 PM
Jack Ross only had a three month pay off on his contract, same as Heckingbottom.

I’d be stunned if football managers are taking that.

I’d get more if I got binned from my job.

15-04-2022, 08:17 PM

Just a job though. They’re not superhuman.

15-04-2022, 08:20 PM

Are you on a short term contract or permanent?

15-04-2022, 08:25 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/michael-appleton-walks-away-hibs-13992257.amp

That article suggests we offer 4 months rather than 3 as I suggested.

Just for the record, I heard 3 from the same person that told me Melkersen got injured in a closed door match that resulted in me getting pelters on here despite it being 100% accurate.

15-04-2022, 08:31 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/michael-appleton-walks-away-hibs-13992257.amp

That article suggests we offer 4 months rather than 3 as I suggested.

Just for the record, I heard 3 from the same person that told me Melkersen got injured in a closed door match that resulted in me getting pelters on here despite it being 100% accurate.
Remember that, you got a bit of a pile for no reason.

15-04-2022, 09:27 PM

Mental

#2 Double Tap
15-04-2022, 09:31 PM
Mental

agree, a win tomorrow defo gives him some leeway with most of the fans. Come on shaun! show us what you are made of!!!
:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::cb:cb

15-04-2022, 09:32 PM
So you want Hearts win, unbelievable.

sunshinejim
15-04-2022, 09:36 PM
agree, a win tomorrow defo gives him some leeway with most of the fans. Come on shaun! show us what you are made off!!!
:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::cb:cb

Agreed. A win tomorrow will break hearts and send our support into seventh heaven. Come on Shauny boy. Get the selections and tactics spot on to get the win no matter how its done. Come on Hibs.

15-04-2022, 09:44 PM
MentalTotally mental . Almost like some fans are waiting for us to lose to say " I told you so " . I`ve said waiting instead of hoping to avoid controversy .

15-04-2022, 09:52 PM

Agree nightmare if we win tomorrow wtaf

15-04-2022, 09:52 PM
Totally mental . Almost like some fans are waiting for us to lose to say " I told you so " . I`ve said waiting instead of hoping to avoid controversy .

I'll say it then. I imagine there's a good few hoping......

15-04-2022, 09:54 PM

Certainly sounds like it. Absolutely ***** mental.. koks every one

LewysGot2
15-04-2022, 10:00 PM
So you want Hearts win, unbelievable.

I've had some doughnuts say they'd rather lose tomorrow than get horsed in the final. Same folk saying last week was the worst derby performance in their life. I mean, they weren't 5 year old so that last bit was just plain weird. As for the first bit...🙄🙈

15-04-2022, 10:01 PM

That’s just mental. A loss tomorrow will be horrible for us.
We have to hope against hope that the players have an amazing day tomorrow and Hearts are just a bit off it.
A win tomorrow could give the club a massive boost at a time when we really need it and it’s now our only route into European footy next season.
There is clearly zero excitement among the support for tomorrow(this board is very quiet tonight) but you never know in footy.

15-04-2022, 10:13 PM
The margins in football are tight. Win tomorrow and Maloney will
be safe. No doubt we will be thanking him and reflecting on his tactical genius, or something like that. Win the SC Cup and he will acquire and enormous amount of slack and even some legendary status.

Lose tomorrow and his position will be untenable. The background noise will kill his prospects as Hibs manager.

Maloneys future hangs on this one game. I hope he wins it - but I can’t see it.

15-04-2022, 10:14 PM
The margins in football are tight. Win tomorrow and Maloney will
be safe. No doubt we will be thanking him and reflecting on his tactical genius, or something like that. Win the SC Cup and he will acquire and enormous amount of slack and even some legendary status.

Lose tomorrow and his position will be untenable. The background noise will kill his prospects as Hibs manager. I won’t support him.

Maloneys future hangs on this one game. I hope he wins it.

Absolutely should not be hanging on one game

15-04-2022, 10:18 PM

I really think it will be.

1 loss to our rival which saw is drop out of the top 6 was seriously unpalatable.

I feel certain that a loss tomorrow will not be tolerated by Hibs fans.

Gates will collapse and then Ron will move.

sunshinejim
15-04-2022, 10:26 PM
I've had some doughnuts say they'd rather lose tomorrow than get horsed in the final. Same folk saying last week was the worst derby performance in their life. I mean, they weren't 5 year old so that last bit was just plain weird. As for the first bit...����

Seems highly unlikely this post. The worst derby performances in living memory imo (justifiably, zero financial doping) were the 0 - 7 and 6- 2 humiliations. Put that in yer pipe and smoke it.

15-04-2022, 10:31 PM
We have to hope against hope that the players have an amazing day tomorrow and Hearts are just a bit off it.
A win tomorrow could give the club a massive boost at a time when we really need it and it’s now our only route into European footy next season.
There is clearly zero excitement among the support for tomorrow(this board is very quiet tonight) but you never know in footy.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkCertainly not zero excitement . About 16 000 tickets sold , many more round the world following match on telly or online . Any cup semi is important for us , being against Hearts makes it even more important for many fans ( not for me as I`m not interested in Hearts at all ) . Hearts are having a good season but have lost to Dundee and St J and are certainly not invincible . The first two Derbies this season we matched them without having an amazing day . Obviously we`re not favourites but still have a chance of winning . Whether we do or not , we can be happy that club is taking measures to improve quality of squad for coming years with several very promising signings for Under 23 team (some of whom have unfortunately been rushed into first team cause of unprecedented injury list ) to supplement our very successful under 18 team . So huge game tomorrow but bigger things to come whatever the result .

15-04-2022, 10:35 PM

It’s not really just one game though, it’s what’s happened since he joined and now.

He’s got one game to save his job could be a better way of putting it. It’s not like he’s going to be judged solely on tomorrow.

15-04-2022, 10:38 PM
Seems highly unlikely this post. The worst derby performances in living memory imo (justifiably, zero financial doping) were the 0 - 7 and 6- 2 humiliations. Put that in yer pipe and smoke it.Great answer . I would add a 3 v 0 at the Holy Ground on New Year`s Day in about 1976 . Could have been another 7 v 0 if we hadn`t relaxed in last hour . Last week , like most of season since January window , we had to play with a near Under 21 team and even then we dominated the first half hour .

15-04-2022, 10:42 PM
You do realise BH that when you are getting your picture taken with the cup you will have to retract all of this.😁

Gladly.:greengrin

15-04-2022, 10:46 PM

Not one journalist gives us any chance All predicting a Hearts win comfortably as they will be too strong for us and have options to change things
It’s a sad reflection of where we currently are in tbe standing of journo s
Would love to Ram it up them all and pull off a shock win but it’s a huge ask given our run of form and injuries

15-04-2022, 10:47 PM

Losing to them would round off a miserable week after those sevco chunts going through in Europe.

15-04-2022, 10:55 PM
It’s not really just one game though, it’s what’s happened since he joined and now.

He’s got one game to save his job could be a better way of putting it. It’s not like he’s going to be judged solely on tomorrow.What has happened since he joined ? Boyle leaving , injuries to Nesbit , Mitchell , Clarke , Hanlon , Macey , JDH , McGinn , Wright , O`Connor , ....

sunshinejim
15-04-2022, 10:57 PM
Great answer . I would add a 3 v 0 at the Holy Ground on New Year`s Day in about 1976 . Could have been another 7 v 0 if we hadn`t relaxed in last hour . Last week , like most of season since January window , we had to play with a near Under 21 team and even then we dominated the first half hour .

Absolutely. Also it seemed like about 40 years or so they carried on adding to completely unafordable debt of around 30 million or thereabouts that they could never pay back. Until a Russian Criminal laundered his ill gotten gains through Gorgie and is now wanted for financial crimes in Europe. Now they have a so called 'philanthropist' chucking millions at them every year. You couldn't make it up with these gunts.

15-04-2022, 11:11 PM
Yes thats gen up.

Bull****.

15-04-2022, 11:12 PM
Absolutely. Also it seemed like about 40 years or so they carried on adding to completely unafordable debt of around 30 million or thereabouts that they could never pay back. Until a Russian Criminal laundered his ill gotten gains through Gorgie and is now wanted for financial crimes in Europe. Now they have a so called 'philanthropist' chucking millions at them every year. You couldn't make it up with these gunts.Yes very true but for whatever reason Scottish journalists chose / choose not to report on financial history of Gorgie club . Can you show me an article from Scottish press that really attacked them for financial dealings this century ? Also relegation in 2020 , Brora and Alloa cup defeats etc etc hardly suggest that big donations have made a big difference . Anyway , in short term we have a big match against them tomorrow . If we win , we`ll have an even bigger match in final . Either way , we`re already building towards a more successful period in next few years .

15-04-2022, 11:13 PM
Concerns me that the magnitude of the game is lost in amongst all this. All week all I’ve heard from Hearts side is about what this means. That’s from players, manager, fans, the lot. It doesn’t feel like that on our side and I just hope the players know what is on the line and we’re not talking after about them wanting it more as we’ve talked about so many times before.

You live in a virtual Hibs.net bubble......get out in to the real world for a day then you'll know what it means to the players and the average Hibs fan.

sunshinejim
15-04-2022, 11:19 PM
Yes very true but for whatever reason Scottish journalists chose / choose not to report on financial history of Gorgie club . Can you show me an article from Scottish press that really attacked them for financial dealings this century ? Also relegation in 2020 , Brora and Alloa cup defeats etc etc hardly suggest that big donations have made a big difference . Anyway , in short term we have a big match against them tomorrow . If we win , we`ll have an even bigger match in final . Either way , we`re already building towards a more successful period in next few years .

I have zero faith in so called Scottish Journalists. I was merely pointing out the massive advantages that the masonic establishment team have had and probably always will have over Hibernian FC. The manner in which Hibernian FC have managed to compete in years gone by might now be stretched by so called 'philanthropists' like James Anderson who have the wherewithal of billions of pounds. A level playing field?

15-04-2022, 11:27 PM
You live in a virtual Hibs.net bubble......get out in to the real world for a day then you'll know what it means to the players and the average Hibs fan.Exactly . I`ve never bought into this Hearts players want to win a Derby more or less than our players . Results are decided by which team is better that season or on the day plus luck . Last week wasn`t important cause it was against Hearts but because we needed a win to guarantee top 6 and be able to fight for top 5 and Europe .

16-04-2022, 12:56 AM
You live in a virtual Hibs.net bubble......get out in to the real world for a day then you'll know what it means to the players and the average Hibs fan.

Eh?

Out in to the real world? What the **** are you talking about? I’ve not missed a game this season.

You’re the biggest hypocrite on the site. Moaning at people about this, that and the next thing but chucking a wee grenade in about Maloney definitely being away irrespective of what happens. The night before one of our biggest ever games.