View Full Version : Maloney has to go
02-04-2022, 04:02 PM
We can’t carry on like this. We are an absolutely terrible team to watch and with the money we have spent it’s a disgrace. The manager has not got a clue how to fix it either. He’ll do an interview in the next half hour where he tries to tell us we are doing well. He’s a clown who is not going to make it at Hibs and I see no point in dragging this out any further.
02-04-2022, 04:03 PM
Aw shut up eh.
02-04-2022, 04:05 PM
Aw shut up eh.
He has a valid point. I’m renewing my season ticket but I’m absolutely not looking forward to watching this football under Maloney.
02-04-2022, 04:06 PM
On the whole I enjoyed how we played today
Totally dominated against a decent side
Odd post after that
If we had got the winner no one would say it wasn't 100 percent deserved
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
1 win in 12... 3 in 15... The reality is it's ****ing howling and season ticket sales will reflect that unless we win the next two games. Was happier with how we played today but the result still isn't good enough given we need to start winning.
He'll be given time but things need to change and quickly.
LunasBoots
Agree, can't continue watching this unattractive system
Possession, possession, possession and that's about it, yawn
He has a valid point. I’m renewing my season ticket but I’m absolutely not looking forward to watching this football under Maloney.We didn't play badly today. Dominated the game and had about 20 attempts at goal, it's not Maloney's fault they aren't hitting the target.
02-04-2022, 04:07 PM
Todays the 2nd of April. You’re a day late.
02-04-2022, 04:07 PM
We didn't play badly today. Dominated the game and had about 20 attempts at goal, it's not Maloney's fault they aren't hitting the target.Aye but we didn't win so the toys are getting well chucked
BoyledEgg
02-04-2022, 04:08 PM
Odd post after that
We didn’t get the winner and it’s another dreadful result.
:faf::faf::fuming::violin: away and lie doon, watching Hibs is no good for some.
The results are crap. Nobody can argue with that.
I wouldn’t say we were bad to watch today though. Found some of the passing and build up play quite attractive tbh. 4-1 wouldn’t have flattered us
I'm guessing we will see at the end of the season as will Ron want to spend more money to watch the same again next season.
But the only thing is he will have to spend money as the central midfield needs improved so much.
02-04-2022, 04:10 PM
We didn’t get the winner and it’s another dreadful result.Wouldn't say dreadful but point being sometimes you don't get what you deserve
On the whole we played really well today
Pinned them back for about 75 minutes of the game and had over 20 shots at goal
Mike Berry
Oh here we go, toys out the pram time......
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
McGruber
We had to win our home game today for a top six spot. We have failed to do that today and that's us bottom 6. Only way to do it now is to win at Tynecastle, which isn't very likely. That was huge today, never done enough - though robbed of a late penalty.
We aren't winning enough games of football and the buck always stops with the manager. The injury list has bought him time but he needs to start finding ways to win. The next two games are vitality important for him.
02-04-2022, 04:11 PM
We can’t carry on like this. We are an absolutely terrible team to watch and with the money we have spent it’s a disgrace. The manager has not got a clue how to fix it either. He’ll do an interview in the next half hour where he tries to tell us we are doing well. He’s a clown who is not going to make it at Hibs and I see no point in dragging this out any further.
I've said it before, but for as sensible as you can be you spend too much time just being an a**e.
02-04-2022, 04:11 PM
Aye but we didn't win so the toys are getting well chucked
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkI thought we were decent today and the stats suggest we played well. Should have had a penalty as well. 25742
02-04-2022, 04:12 PM
We sold our only match winning player half way through the season. That’s why we are struggling getting top six. 3m is good money but we could easily lose that with bad results and falling crowds. We should never have sold Boyle half way through the season when our options up front were so limited. You reap what you sow.
LunasBoots
02-04-2022, 04:13 PM
Oh here we go, toys out the pram time......
Not really, any other manager with his record would be out the door.
I thought we were decent today and the stats suggest we played well. Should have had a penalty as well. 25742
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220402/b6e999d7ea00767e7263e3404dc515bc.jpg
Only one stat matters at this stage.
We sold our only match winning player half way through the season. That’s why we are struggling getting top six. 3m is good money but we could easily lose that with bad results and falling crowds. We should never have sold Boyle half way through the season when our options up front were so limited. You reap what you sow.
You just ignoring the part about Boyle wanting to go for the life changing money part?
If we fail to qualify for the top 6 I have a real fear we’ll end up in a relegation battle.
Hes won 3 league games, two of those were within his first week in December.
Its beyond brutal and we badly struggle scoring
St Johnston have Hendry scoring regularly and are picking up points.
Two defeats by Hearts would certainly turn more fans against him and a young team like this in the. Bottom six won’t win many battles never mind games you would imagine
I share some of your pessimism given Maloney has had one transfer window already
But most fans are pragmatic thathe will be here next season
But a poor start will see him under pressure
The loss for different reasons of Boyle Nisbet Doidge and McGennis has taken away our ability to score enough goals to win games Had he been able to move Scott on and bring in an experienced proven striker things might have been a bit different
Hope todays miss doesn’t dent the young laddies confidence as we are going to need him to do the business against Hearts
02-04-2022, 04:14 PM
We should have won today. But we didn’t. Again.
Some posters desperate to say “told you so” on Maloney though.
Mike Berry
02-04-2022, 04:14 PM
Not really, any other manager with his record would be out the door.Calm down. It was actually a good performance. I think we're getting better.
02-04-2022, 04:15 PM
We had to win our home game today for a top six spot. We have failed to do that today and that's us bottom 6. Only way to do it now is to win at Tynecastle, which isn't very likely. That was huge today, never done enough - though robbed of a late penalty.We did create enough to win and ofcourse that was a pen on mueller
We had to win our home game today for a top six spot. We have failed to do that today and that's us bottom 6. Only way to do it now is to win at Tynecastle, which isn't very likely. That was huge today, never done enough - though robbed of a late penalty.
we’re not bottom 6 though…
02-04-2022, 04:16 PM
We didn’t get the winner and it’s another dreadful result.
Maloney's sub decisions are a disgrace. He's shown absolutely nothing to suggest he has a clue what he is doing so far.
He has 2 games to save his job.
02-04-2022, 04:16 PM
You just ignoring the part about Boyle wanting to go for the life changing money part?
No I’m not, he was under contract and we were struggling for players. He could go in the summer and when we can recruit. He wasn’t holding the cards, Hibs were.
loanheadhibby
02-04-2022, 04:17 PM
To be fair, not sure what the club could do? Life changing money, good business for the club. Of course club could have refused but you’re left with unhappy player.
More importantly, the club did not the funds invest wisely on playing staff.
02-04-2022, 04:17 PM
If we fail to qualify for the top 6 I have a real fear we’ll end up in a relegation battle.
Hes one 3 league games, two of those were within his first week in December.
I’m feeling the same. It’s a long shot but not outwith the realms of possibility. He needs to start winning games.
02-04-2022, 04:18 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220402/b6e999d7ea00767e7263e3404dc515bc.jpg
Only one stat matters at this stage.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkBut your going on about being terrible to watch
Today wasn't terrible to watch at all
Disappointed result in the end but Dundee utd will think they got away with one big time today
02-04-2022, 04:18 PM
Not really, any other manager with his record would be out the door.
he’s only just in the door.
he lost our best player (by some distance) after just a few weeks in the job and his team have been decimated by injury (and suspensions) for weeks.
you can’t just sack managers every 3 months
02-04-2022, 04:19 PM
I’m getting a bit fed up of the Boyle chat too, how many excuses can we make?
Yes we sold him, we also brought in Melkersen, Mueller, Hauge, Jasper and Mitchell for the forward positions. On top of already having Nisbet, Doidge, Wright, Scott and Allan. What are any of them providing? Nothing anywhere near the standard or consistency we need.
Jasper and Melkersen are young and learning and both look like good signings in fairness to them.
But look at Livingston, Motherwell, United, St Johnstone etc. They have players scoring or regularly contributing in the final third, are the really better players or are ours just miles off it this year.
Callum Hendry was on loan in the championship a couple of months ago and has scored 7 goals since returning.
With the players we have we should be able to come up with a way to win games of football and we’re not doing that.
Our forwards all need to do so much more.
02-04-2022, 04:19 PM
Did you watch any of that today? Jeez.
PiemanP
02-04-2022, 04:20 PM
I think we have to stick for now but I’m not optimistic. The style of football is painful. In his defence, it’s a very young squad hit by injuries.
hibee1875
02-04-2022, 04:21 PM
Genuinely enjoyed today and felt we were unlucky. Muellers booking was a penalty.
Having Newell and Clark in there is giving us drive we’d been missing.
Full faith we will make top 6 and knock hearts out the cup
yerauldda
02-04-2022, 04:23 PM
I actually really enjoyed watching that today. Obviously massively frustrating but once we get some consistency of selection I think we’ll be a really attractive team to watch.
Absolutely mad to want Maloney gone already. He’s had 4 months in charge, lost his best player and the squad has been absolutely decimated with injuries.
I see a clear structure, system and style of play with a very young group of players. No guarantee’s it’ll work but it’s a manager and group of players that deserve a bit of patience and time.
tonyrougier123
People who think that is good enough are kidding themselves on.
We now must go to tynie win for top six and beat them at hampden to get to SCF 🤦*♂️.
His subs today were a bit off for me,thought we had our best spell first 25 in second half.
Should’ve had a pen and melkerson should’ve tucked that chance away.
It’s a game we mostly controlled but we have no killer instinct and that will be crucial if we are to be successful against them!
OldEast
Predictable thread. Probably written before the game was finished. Maloney and Hibs are a work in progress. Seen some ***** football and ***** managers over the years. This doesn't come close.
02-04-2022, 04:24 PM
But your going on about being terrible to watch
Today wasn't terrible to watch at all
Disappointed result in the end but Dundee utd will think they got away with one big time today
Thought we were decent in the second half but we don’t look like scoring a goal very often. First half was huff and puff until we finally had a decent effort after 35 minutes.
Dundee Utd got what they wanted in the second half. We don’t have anything about us in the final third. I didn’t think we were brutal but it was miles from being good.
02-04-2022, 04:25 PM
Of course he shouldnt be sacked, he needs to be given time, yet saying that, if he was sacked i wouldnt bat an eyelid and i'd just watch the next mug try and make us challengers for Europe and cups.
hibee1875
02-04-2022, 04:25 PM
People who think that is good enough are kidding themselves on.
We now must go to tynie win for top six and beat them at hampden to get to SCF 🤦*♂️.
His subs today were a bit off for me,thought we had our best spell first 25 in second half.
Should’ve had a pen and melkerson should’ve tucked that chance away.
It’s a game we mostly controlled but we have no killer instinct and that will be crucial if we are to be successful against them!
Have you watched either of the previous derbys this season?
He's here!
02-04-2022, 04:26 PM
Hes one 3 league games, two of those were within his first week in December.
St Johnstone are away at Celtic next week. Even if we lose to Hearts and end up in the bottom six it's likely we'll have an eight-point cushion from the play-off spot.
Not exactly positive thinking I know but I don't see us going down.
FWIW the BBC said it was a 'pulsating' game today, with Clarke 'superb'. Wasn't there myself but it certainly didn't sound awful.
02-04-2022, 04:27 PM
I am going to go for it then, looking to see this thread get up to at least 20 pages just the same as the ones chastising young Porto.
Surprised we have no heard how him being suspended has cost us perhaps this game......
:greengrin:greengrin
tonyrougier123
02-04-2022, 04:27 PM
Have you watched either of the previous derbys this season?
Yes 0-0 no killer instinct? Did we win those draws?
hibee1875
02-04-2022, 04:28 PM
Yes 0-0 no killer instinct? Did we win those draws?
Did we lose those draws?
Both will be incredibly tight games. And I don’t see why we can’t get something from both.
02-04-2022, 04:28 PM
I actually really enjoyed watching that today. Obviously massively frustrating but once we get some consistency of selection I think we’ll be a really attractive team to watch.
Absolutely mad to want Maloney gone already. He’s had 4 months in charge, lost his best player and the squad has been absolutely decimated with injuries.
I see a clear structure, system and style of play with a very young group of players. No guarantee’s it’ll work but it’s a manager and group of players that deserve a bit of patience and time.
Agree with this. Enjoyed the game a lot more than many this season. Hopefully the recruitment team have some strong central midfielders targeted. We’re not far away I don’t feel, and it’s a couple of strong additions rather than major surgery that’s required.
Feeling more optimism going to Tynecastle and Hampden after that than I did a few hours ago.
LewysGot2
02-04-2022, 04:33 PM
If we had a forward line it would help.
Hanlon had a solid return and looked fit enough for 90mins. Clark a good debut.
We started the season with Boyle, Nisbet and Doidge. One is away, one is crocked and the other has disappeared off the radar. We really need to address that big time.
Then we're in the place where Scott gets a game ahead of Allan. Not saying that Allan should start as he's clearly not the player he was but Scott has been an out and out waste of a Jersey. We are where we are.
Two weeks tonight our season will either be in serious trouble or better than we could hope given the circumstances- there's really no in between
McGruber
02-04-2022, 04:33 PM
we’re not bottom 6 though…
True, and if we win at Tynie job's a good un. I just can't see us winning next week and that will very likely leave us bottom 6 unless Aberdeen v County draw, plus Livi & St Mirren both fail to win. The general play today was better but the result was needed. Will just have to see what next week brings
02-04-2022, 04:36 PM
We played well today and it was probably the most entertaining performance in what seems like ages. We squandered a few chances and were denied an obvious penalty, none of which Maloney or any other manager can do anything about. Still, why bother with the truth when you can come on here and bump your gums with the same old drivel?
02-04-2022, 04:37 PM
Agree with this. Enjoyed the game a lot more than many this season. Hopefully the recruitment team have some strong central midfielders targeted. We’re not far away I don’t feel, and it’s a couple of strong additions rather than major surgery that’s required.
Feeling more optimism going to Tynecastle and Hampden after that than I did a few hours ago.
We’ve also been hammered by injuries this season. Conveniently ignored by a few.
LewysGot2
True, and if we win at Tynie job's a good un. I just can't see us winning next week and that will very likely leave us bottom 6 unless Aberdeen v County draw, plus Livi & St Mirren both fail to win. The general play today was better but the result was needed. Will just have to see what next week brings
St mirren won't win. They're v Sevco
Livi play Well I think - draw anyone 🤔
Aberdeen v Ross - draw there too please.
Maloney comes in to a team struggling with loads of injuries and average players, best players leaves so we bring in some loan players to bolster the squad, more injuries and an unsettled team trying to play a new system (remember the system they played under Ross was ****ing boring and were *****). This season for Maloney was to stabilise and try and get 4th, summer is when we'll see what he's about, until after then please give this Maloney out BS a friggin rest, every bloody week.
tonyrougier123
Did we lose those draws?
Both will be incredibly tight games. And I don’t see why we can’t get something from both.
We didn’t win them though,and tbh I think if it came to nicking a game I think that lot have proved this season they can do it whilst we struggle to get tight games over the line for the win.
Listen bud don’t let me put you off being confident,I hope we revisit this over the piece and prove I was wrong,we needed to win that today,should’ve won that today.but we haven’t.
Tynie will be a different game altogether.
And hampden even more so.
Odd post after that
Not that odd considering our results havent been great and we have to probably beat Hearts to guarantee top 6 and on our current form points to us failing that.
No point dominating and playing well when you can't win the business end of the season.
Sadly see us in the bottom six.
Maloney hasn't proved his doubters wrong yet. Im sitting on the fence about him at the moment. Think he will get the summer to get players in
skyehibee
02-04-2022, 04:38 PM
I don’t think he “has to go” but certainly some pressure building as we aren’t good enough and aren’t creating enough. Dundee Utd we’re there for the taking today but we huffed and puffed again.
02-04-2022, 04:39 PM
Boring first half, good second which should have delivered a comfortable win. Fail to win next week will most likely mean bottom six, and with only 8 pts cushion above playoff spot it has potential to be an interesting end to season.
loanheadhibby
02-04-2022, 04:39 PM
Did we lose those draws?
The difficulty for SM is that when he came in, 3rd was the aim. That changed to 4th place was the aim after we drew derby at ER. Recently it’s down to securing top 6. His objectives are getting worse as the weeks go by.
SM has a massive 2 weeks coming up. Report card so far is not good.
02-04-2022, 04:42 PM
Tin hat on sir...
02-04-2022, 04:43 PM
Not that odd considering our results havent been great and we have to probably beat Hearts to guarantee top 6 and on our current form points to us failing that.
No point dominating and playing well when you can't win the business end of the season.
Sadly see us in the bottom six.
Maloney hasn't proved his doubters wrong yet. Im sitting on the fence about him at the moment. Think he will get the summer to get players inTalking about how bad we are to watch after a game we dominated having 21 shots at goal is odd
Conflating a bad performance with a disappointing result doenst change that
02-04-2022, 04:43 PM
Today absolutely wasn't terrible to watch. We were really good 2nd half, should've won.
02-04-2022, 04:45 PM
It would be crazy to bin another Manager who's not long in the door, but the sad fact is, unless we beat Hearts in 1 of the next 2 games, this board is going to become toxic.
The bottom line is that the players we have available right now are slap, bang average, but that can't all be blamed on the current Manager. He's inherited a squad which lacks quality.
What is very noticeable when watching us play though, is that our players' natural instinct when in possession is to pass the ball backwards. This style of play means we have lots of possession, but do very little with it offensively. Whether that is entirely down to Maloney, or the players lack of confidence I'm not sure, but it makes for turgid viewing.
02-04-2022, 04:47 PM
Jack Ross sacked after 9 points in his last 12 games. Maloney has 9 points in his last 12 games but he must stay?
LewysGot2
02-04-2022, 04:47 PM
It would be crazy to bin another Manager who's not long in the door, but the sad fact is, unless we beat Hearts in 1 of the next 2 games, this board is going to become toxic.
The bottom line is that the players we have available right now are slap, bang average, but that can't all be blamed on the current Manager. He's inherited a squad which lacks quality.
What is very noticeable when watching us play though, is that the player's natural instinct when in possession is to pass the ball backwards. This style of play means we have lots of possession, but do very little with it offensively. Whether that is entirely down to Maloney, or the players lack of confidence I'm not sure, but it makes for turgid viewing.
Or sideways. JDH is from the Ray Wilkins school of passing...
hibee1875
02-04-2022, 04:49 PM
Actually thought JDH played more forward passes than he usually does today.
It’s a really strange post given the performance was an improvement on what we’ve been seeing. Still not good enough, I get that but still a step in the right direction.
The first couple of months next season is when I’ll be judging maloney from.
02-04-2022, 04:51 PM
Since the winter break in the league we’ve had two halves of football that were entertaining in the league and some of the worst football since Calderwood.
Embarrassing thread.
Jack Ross sacked after 9 points in his last 12 games. Maloney has 9 points in his last 12 games but he must stay?
I wanted Ross to say but it's obviously different circumstances. Maloney will be given the summer transfer window, if we don't start the season will enough in the first 7 or 8 games he'll be gone.
tonyrougier123
This team lacks character,we have a few ball carriers who are not the finished article.where’s doidge?the physicality of that game would’ve suited him the day.
We need a huge summer window regardless what ppl think of maloney.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWe shouldn't have sacked Ross
We shouldn't sack Maloney
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 04:52 PM
Jack Ross had a squad he’d worked with and built over a 2 year period and still delivered that.
Maloney is by and large delivering the same with Jack Ross squad minus by far Jack Ross’ best player/one of the best players in the league.
02-04-2022, 04:52 PM
Maybe something to do with him inheriting a whole lot of problems, having an even worse time with injuries and having the best player outside of Glasgow sold means it’s not entirely comparable?
02-04-2022, 04:53 PM
Jack Ross had a squad he’d worked with and built over a 2 year period and still delivered that.
Maloney is by and large delivering the same with Jack Ross squad minus by far Jack Ross’ best player/one of the best players in the league.
We didn’t sign any players in January?
02-04-2022, 04:53 PM
I actually think JDH is technically a very good player, but he plays everything 100% safe. He would fit in perfectly if we had the right balance in midfield and more attack minded players.
TrinityHibs
02-04-2022, 04:54 PM
Thought we were decent in the second half but we don’t look like scoring a goal very often. First half was huff and puff until we finally had a decent effort after 35 minutes.
Dundee Utd got what they wanted in the second half. We don’t have anything about us in the final third. I didn’t think we were brutal but it was miles from being good.
That’s scarily close to what I said today
02-04-2022, 04:54 PM
Its hard to have any confidence in Maloney when he continues to give Wright and James Scott game time when we are in desperate need of a goal.
02-04-2022, 04:55 PM
As with all managerial debates , there are some who are against managers even before they`re appointed .
There were obvious signs of progress today and I didn`t think we were bad to watch at all . Great to see enthusiastic youngsters giving their all .
With the injuries we`ve had I don`t think any other manager would have got better results . Clarke showed today he`d have been a big help if fit before and we`re being forced to syart with young players who would normally only be subs or maybe not make debuts till next season .
Paulie Walnuts
We didn’t sign any players in January?
Aye you’re right. One window and it’s now Maloneys squad.
Jack Ross lead us to a bottom six finish in his first season in charge. He had only had one window and was dealing with the issues inherited from his predecessor though and was rightfully given time to build his own squad.
I presume you were demanding Jack Ross was binned when we were 7th in the 19/20 season?
Victor
Enjoyed today’s game. We dominated the second half. Dundee United were playing for a draw from the start, time wasting and 10 men back defending. It is obvious that we are missing a confidant, experienced striker. If Nisbet was available and playing, I think we would have won the game easily.
LunasBoots
Maloney inherited a squad that wasn't good enough after Jack Ross was let down in the summer by the club, Ross was let go but we possibly should have just given him the season and the January transfer window to bring in the players needed, would Boyle have left? Who knows.
Talking about how bad we are to watch after a game we dominated having 21 shots at goal is odd
Conflating a bad performance with a disappointing result doenst change that
21 shots but yet cannae score a winner. Sorry you can have those stats all you want. Id rather have two shots and winning at the moment
If you want to make comparisons:
Jack Ross had more than 2 years in charge, Maloney's had less than 4 months. Jack Ross had Martin Boyle and Kevin Nisbet, Maloney hasn't had them, and many more available to him. Even today, with some players back and us looking better (IMO) we were still missing 3 of our 1st choice defence plus Magennis, Mitchell and Nisbet and Jasper wasn't fully fit. The situations are not really comparable.
02-04-2022, 04:57 PM
I actually think JDH is technically a very good player, but he plays everything 100% safe. He would fit in perfectly if we had the right balance in midfield and more attack mided players.He put in a couple of excellent passes that nearly led to goals in the first half today . Seems to lack the confidence to do it more often .
mcfly
02-04-2022, 04:59 PM
Home form is not good enough and it’s been like that for a number of years so you can’t pin all the blame on maloney .
Maybe if the fans made the atmosphere better at Easter road the players would perform better?
02-04-2022, 05:00 PM
Jack Ross lead us to a bottom six finish in his first season in charge. He had only had one window and was dealing with the issues inherited from his predecessor though and was rightfully given time to build his own squad.
I presume you were demanding Jack Ross was binned when we were 7th in the 19/20 season?
Jack Ross started from near enough the bottom of the table.
This thread is an absolute beauty.
02-04-2022, 05:01 PM
We had some nice interplay and created chances.
But there's something unconvincing about Hibs.
LewysGot2
I actually think JDH is technically a very good player, but he plays everything 100% safe. He would fit in perfectly if we had the right balance in midfield and more attack minded players.
The balance of players in midfield is not right, totally. A consequence of previous recruitment activity. Its all a bit one paced as well. Let's hope the recruitment is strong this sunmer
The Captain....
I've no idea how to arrest our dismal form but I thought today was an improvement on some of the ***** I've seen lately at ER.
Don't see them sacking Maloney this season..the injuries to the squad are a valid enough excuse for him to stay. Its been mostly horrendous to watch so far but I'm hopeful (based on blind faith tbh) a close season, injuries clearing up, and a few quality signings will improve things.
It is going to be tough if (as I expect) we fail to beat Hearts next week and at Hampden.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
02-04-2022, 05:03 PM
Hibs were 6th when the season stopped. We would've finished top 6 easily that season.
02-04-2022, 05:03 PM
Aw shut up eh.
While that post wasn't my finest moment we have to stick with the team at this stage of the season.
I have to say that the substitution of Scott for Newell was one of the worst I've seen in a while though.
02-04-2022, 05:04 PM
The wind up merchants are predictably out in force tonight.
02-04-2022, 05:06 PM
While that post wasn't my finest moment we have to stick with the team at this stage of the season.
I have to say that the substitution of Scott for Newell was one of the worst I've seen in a while though.
A bizarre substitution. We lost the midfield when Newell went off.
LewysGot2
02-04-2022, 05:07 PM
He's not long back from injury. Actually back sooner than predicted so possibly fitness linked. He was our most confident midfielder on the ball today
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 05:08 PM
Jack Ross started from near enough the bottom of the table.
No, he didn’t.
He took us over in 8th. He got us up to the dizzy heights of 7th from 8th over the course of 18 matches.
02-04-2022, 05:09 PM
It’s getting to that time of the season where should haves are not good enough.
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 05:09 PM
Hibs were 6th when the season stopped. We would've finished top 6 easily that season.
The season finished 3 games before the split. We were within one fixture of bottom six, hence why St J’s game in hand was enough to overtake us. To suggest we were certs for top 6 when we were one set of fixtures from falling out the top 6 with 3 games to go is nonsense.
We also had two absolute horror shows in the 2 games before the season stopped, one of them to one of the worst Hearts teams in living memory in a skelping that could have been 4 or 5. Nothing at all to suggest we were going to be easily top 6. Infact they 2 performances just before the season stopped would suggest it was miles from a certainty.
Greenwich_Hibby
02-04-2022, 05:10 PM
Clueless...get rid now.
02-04-2022, 05:11 PM
Awful sub, the problem is that he's been making strange subs most weeks since January.
02-04-2022, 05:14 PM
Aye we were in great form when the season stopped then…
MinceAndTatties
02-04-2022, 05:14 PM
Spot on. We went from total control to hanging on for a draw
02-04-2022, 05:15 PM
Just an absolute f*****g bore they are too.
02-04-2022, 05:16 PM
That's ironic. You'd be one of the first to tell folk who had major concerns about your man Maloney from the beginning they were wrong if he somehow turned it around.
02-04-2022, 05:17 PM
Wed lost the last 2 yes, but overall we'd been decent after Ross came in. Doidge was banging goals, think we would've been comfy in 5th had things not stopped.
02-04-2022, 05:17 PM
Spot on. We went from total control to hanging on for a draw
Thats not true though is it.
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 05:18 PM
A draw at home to Livingston, getting played off the park by bottom of the table Hearts and an insipid performance at Pittodride in the 3 games before the season stopped.
We were on a poor run of form. To suggest we were going to easily get top 6 is simply rewriting history.
Anyway, the point of this was that Jack Ross got time despite not being able to get us into the top 6 in his first season. He had 18 games to move us up from 8th to 6th.
Maloney currently has us in 6th, has had less games than JR had in his first season and is being hounded out.
02-04-2022, 05:18 PM
The season finished 3 games before the split. We were within one fixture of bottom six, hence why St J’s game in hand was enough to overtake us. To suggest we were certs for top 6 when we were one set of fixtures from falling out the top 6 with 3 games to go is nonsense.
We also had two absolute horror shows in the 2 games before the season stopped, one of them to one of the worst Hearts teams in living memory in a skelping that could have been 4 or 5. Nothing at all to suggest we were going to be easily top 6. Infact they 2 performances just before the season stopped would suggest it was miles from a certainty.
Was the Aberdeen game we were winning easily until a red card really a horror show?
We would've been easily top 6. I know it doesn't suit your agenda, but we would've been. Good manager was Jack.
02-04-2022, 05:19 PM
Odd post after that
And if we'd won more than 1 league game since the new year, we wouldn't all be moaning so much.
But we haven't, so...
02-04-2022, 05:21 PM
Can we get to 20 pages by end of tomorrow, yes, sure we can. I am off to get ma pitchfork sharpened.
:cb
SON OF PADDY
Right you are then ! 🙄
Paulie Walnuts
Was the Aberdeen game we were winning easily until a red card really a horror show?
We would've been easily top 6. I know it doesn't suit your agenda, but we would've been. Good manager was Jack.
We absolutely collapsed after the red at Pittodrie. It was really, really poor. We had a similar result the other week at the exact same venue and it was a similar performance. Maloney was slaughtered for it.
You can claim that all you want, it’s really nothing but guesswork on your part. We weren’t easily top 6 with 3 games to go and had 3 bad results in a row before the season stopped. The facts though are that we did actually finish 7th, despite your insistence that we wouldn’t have been.
As I said in my other post, this isn’t so much about how good a manager JR was. More about the laughable fact that Maloney is being hounded out when he’s a position higher than JR left us in and he’s currently got us higher in the league than JR finished in his first season. He was given time and Maloney should be given the same.
02-04-2022, 05:24 PM
Posts like this are really beginning to piss me off. If a manager has a record like Maloney has so far, there is an open and fair debate to be had. Particularly when most of the football has been absolutely eye bleeding.
So far I’ve seen those who have lost confidence in Maloney bring up his stubbornness with tactics that don’t suit the team, strange subs, questioning his signings, his ability to motivate, the team he’s brought in and results in general.
On the other side (bar a few excellent posters who I enjoy their contributions immensely) I’ve seen “slavers”, “wind up merchants”, “empty barrels” etc. etc. etc.
Like it or not, there’s a debate open over whether Maloney is capable. Would be nice if quite a few posters could properly contribute to it or not at all.
02-04-2022, 05:24 PM
That's ironic. You'd be one of the first to tell folk who had major concerns about your man Maloney from the beginning they were wrong if he somehow turned it around.
Don’t know what you meant about my man?
I’m pretty concerned by it myself. I think there are plenty things he could do differently. I don’t think he’s entirely to blame for where we are.
02-04-2022, 05:25 PM
No I’m not, he was under contract and we were struggling for players. He could go in the summer and when we can recruit. He wasn’t holding the cards, Hibs were.
He / Hibs were far from guaranteed that Al Faisaly would still table an offer in the summer though - they were in a relegation battle (and indeed still aren’t far off one now) so needed Boyle immediately.
SON OF PADDY
02-04-2022, 05:26 PM
he’s only just in the door.
he lost our best player (by some distance) after just a few weeks in the job and his team have been decimated by injury (and suspensions) for weeks.
you can’t just sack managers every 3 months
💯 % we need stability !
02-04-2022, 05:36 PM
First half was garbage, second half was decent enough and we should have won the game.
The key moment for me though was when we dragged everyone back to defend a corner either right at the end of the 90 or just into injury time in a game we had to win. That was the moment that pretty much confirmed for me that after 25 years of having a season ticket I won’t be back next season. **** that, I’ve got other things to do with my time and money these days.
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 05:37 PM
First half was garbage, second half was decent enough and we should have won the game.
The key moment for me though was when we dragged everyone back to defend a corner either right at the end of the 90 or just into injury time in a game we had to win. That was the moment that pretty much confirmed for me that after 25 years of having a season ticket I won’t be back next season. **** that, I’ve got other things to do with my time and money these days.
The corner thing infuriates me.
Absolutely hate seeing any team do that, never mind my own.
02-04-2022, 05:38 PM
Next 2 games have just become more important for him.
If we had won today he could maybe have got away with a kiss next week.
Now we have to win - doubt a draw will be good enough for top 6.
If we fail to get top 6 - that’s embarrassing for a club with our resources = under performing.
2nd half was better but 1st half was rubbish and I’m struggling to remember the last FULL game where we actually played well.
We 100% need better players - but so does every team. I still worry the level of player to play this possession based formation is out our price range.
02-04-2022, 05:38 PM
Summer will be critical. Last summer's recruitment, Jack Ross, the club and owner need to take a portion of the blame. We have a ridiculously unbalanced squad. Some of our current starters need to become squad players and some of our current squad players need to leave.
Let's be honest we had to kick on last summer and we didn't, and we are paying the price for that.
Ridiculously young squad, filled with players that probably haven't played 20 first team games.
02-04-2022, 05:42 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1510310341254729729?s=21&t=vih2WKcMl4-LaOodtsWFBw
He sounds under more pressure than some on here think he is.
02-04-2022, 05:43 PM
Can anyone explain why, when he has one of the best young left wing backs in the country, he goes out of his way to not play him there?
I mean, I thought Clarke was excellent today and would probably have been excellent in any of the 11 outfield positions. But Maloney just seems to be intent on making things more difficult for himself than he needs to.
02-04-2022, 05:44 PM
Can anyone explain why, when he has one of the best young left wing backs in the country, he goes out of his way to not play him there?
I mean, I thought Clarke was excellent today and would probably have been excellent in any of the 11 outfield positions. But Maloney just seems to be intent on making things more difficult for himself than he needs to.
Doig will be his long term lcb. Mitchell was signed for lwv.
02-04-2022, 05:46 PM
Nonsensical attention seeking
I just don't get this as a comment on the back of today's game where I thought Hibs played well for large parts of the game but as too often this season under Jack Ross and the Shaun Maloney we've not been able to exert sustained pressure on our opponents. We created chances of all kinds this afternoon, against a well coached and organised team with some decent players, and could have won the game. Hibs performances under Maloney have been patchy to be sure but it's impossible to avoid at least some of that inconsistency stemming from the lengthy injury list we've suffered. We've underperformed our potential and the lack of cutting edge regardless of who's led the line in any game has been an Achilles heel with the impossible to resist sale of Martin Boyle hardly helping that. Too many of our players look neat and tidy but fail to impose themselves on the direction of the match. I'll be expecting a lot more next season but I'm willing to look at the positives where they're to be found and to trust that our management team are working on the weaknesses.
02-04-2022, 05:48 PM
Felt he sucked the energy out the crowd when he brought on Wright and Scott.
Wright had a decent run and should have shot but passed it.
At least Allan would have given the crowd a lift.
02-04-2022, 05:49 PM
I don’t want him to go but it’s really dull and the subs are awful.
02-04-2022, 05:50 PM
Got to agree with this, the few occasions Doig played wing back for Maloney he was brilliant too.
It was noticeable in the last game against hearts how well he played there and the difference it made him going off at half time.
LewysGot2
02-04-2022, 05:53 PM
Partly injuries to centre halves. Partly Ryan being perma-suspended. Partly wanting to play 3 at the back combined with the former.
When all are available again Josh surely will move over again. That said, I think Porto and Rocky will not be here next season...
The OP is spot on.
Maloney will not be sacked any time soon but it’s pretty clear that he is not going to be a success. I reckon when we are in a relegation fight next season will be when they act. Until then we have to watch this brutal football
It’s hard to know where to start today. The selection of Clarke out of position is baffling. As is Doig. The substitutions were bizarre and players were shuffled about a few times as we doggedly stick to 3-4-3. It’s clear that this formation does not work.
We had close to our best 11 today. Nisbet and porteous probably would start and maybe Mitchell. We need to be more incisive, take a chance, play a pass into the danger zone and make defenders think. Have a shot. Instead we slow the game down, play the ball back and then try to start again
I really hope I am wrong but I am just not seeing anything to be positive about
02-04-2022, 05:55 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1510310341254729729?s=21&t=vih2WKcMl4-LaOodtsWFBw
He sounds under more pressure than some on here think he is.
Your just making stuff up absolutely nothing wrong with what he says. Pathetic
02-04-2022, 05:55 PM
Porteous getting a red and players getting injured constantly is making Maloney's job more difficult. Doig is probably being played CB in a three because he is reliable and it gives us some stability in our ever changing defence.
I can see him going the same way as Tierney. Able to play both positions and, because of that, is very good at overlapping or underlapping wingback.
02-04-2022, 05:56 PM
He / Hibs were far from guaranteed that Al Faisaly would still table an offer in the summer though - they were in a relegation battle (and indeed still aren’t far off one now) so needed Boyle immediately.
But we also needed Boyle immediately and he was under contract with us. As I said the £3m could be lost entirely if we get beat twice by Hearts, end up in a relegation battle and sell thousands less ST’s. Martin Boyle should have been told that under the circumstances we couldn’t let him go at that time but would be happy to let him go in the summer.
No one can really know but in my opinion we would have been easily safe in the top six had he stayed. His future earnings don’t really concern me but I am pleased for him that he’s raking it in. I’m far less pleased where Hibs are sitting without him and we now have a massive 2 weeks for the club coming up. I sincerely hope we succeed.
Mikey_1875
02-04-2022, 05:56 PM
I’ve said it on other threads but Doigs’ forward play flatters to deceive imo. Mitchell and now Clarke have scored more/as many goals as Doig has in that position in a lot less games. He doesn’t have many assists either. I think he has a bright future where he has been playing recently and if it is in a three it still affords him the opportunity for the odd bursting run.
02-04-2022, 05:58 PM
Couldn't agree more that made no sense to me.
TheSouthMoroccan
02-04-2022, 06:06 PM
Whatever you do, don't stop posting on here, your views and opinions are always good value. PS, I sure after a goodnights sleep you will reconsider on the season ticket front :wink:
02-04-2022, 06:11 PM
I thought Maloney brought in 8 or was it 9 players in January?
Yep and today melkerson, bushiri, Henderson, jasper and Clarke all got at least 45 minutes. Hauge doesn’t seem to be trusted yet and. Mitchell injured.
Fewer excuses can be made now
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 06:17 PM
8 players were signed in January that are at Hibs right now. One of them was signed under JR. 9 were signed if we include Tait but he’s not been any use to Maloney and Maloney never signed him. Jack Ross brought in 20 over his tenure.
This squad is much more Jack Ross’ squad than it is Maloney’s.
02-04-2022, 06:17 PM
SM League record after 14 games is 3W, 6D and 5L for 1.07ppg and 0.71 goals per game. For comparison Jack Ross this season was 16 games 5W, 4D and 7L for 1.19ppg and 1.13 goals per game. Like SM two wins kicked it off and got worse from there. But Ross had the team scoring a tiny wee bit more points per game and scoring at a much better rate. The subs today made us worse which is a real feature of SM. I know he is completely different but there is quite a bit about Maloney that reminds me of Lennon. Constant changes in personnel despite players doing well in the previous games and subs often making us worse and actually coming when we were doing ok. He is also being let down badly by players getting sent off and also been unlucky with injuries but that hasn't stopped previous managers getting sacked.
Lots of doom and gloom in his reign so far but at least there were some positives today. Clarke looked good, Mueller was excellent in the second half and played hard for the 90 minutes including some good defending towards the end. Henderson at last had a decent half and Hanlon gets another game under his belt. Oh and we scored and never got beaten. So not all bad and the thing I enjoyed today most was actually got men in the box and players for the most part looked to get forward on their first touch.
02-04-2022, 06:20 PM
Yep and today melkerson, bushiri, Henderson, jasper and Clarke all got at least 45 minutes. Hauge doesn’t seem to be trusted yet and. Mitchell injured.
Fewer excuses can be made now
Are we sure that it was Maloney that brought all them players in, during the Jan window?
I stand corrected but I dont think he did.
02-04-2022, 06:21 PM
8 players were signed in January that are at Hibs right now. One of them was signed under JR. 9 were signed if we include Tait but he’s not been any use to Maloney and Maloney never signed him. Jack Ross brought in 20 over his tenure.
This squad is much more Jack Ross’ squad than it is Maloney’s.
How many of Jack Ross's players played today?
02-04-2022, 06:25 PM
We are quarter of the way to the 20 page target by tomorrow night.
The big question is who would we replace him with?
02-04-2022, 06:26 PM
7 that were here before SM got the job started I think.
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 06:27 PM
9 players that JR either signed or kept on for the last two years played today.
02-04-2022, 06:27 PM
He’s got to avoid defeat (and hope it’s enough for top 6 ) and then win semi or win 2 games in a row away from Easter Road something we haven’t done all season in the next 2 games.
02-04-2022, 06:29 PM
7 that were here before SM got the job started I think.
Was it 5 of Maloneys signings who got on the park today, just think how good we will be when he gets rid of the other 6 Ross players.
Or are they Lennons, or Stubbs?
Are we sure that it was Maloney that brought all them players in, during the Jan window?
He gets final say on all signings.
Was it 5 of Maloneys signings who got on the park today, just think how good we will be when he gets rid of the other 6 Ross players.
Don’t know how it works. I think you can just twist it to suit the argument you’re making tbh.
02-04-2022, 06:30 PM
Don’t know how it works. I think you can just twist it to suit the argument you’re making tbh.
02-04-2022, 06:31 PM
That’s a good question
In terms of who he signed, only Doyle-Hayes and Cadden started
02-04-2022, 06:32 PM
9 of the 14 players who played today were here when Maloney arrived (including Muller who signed his pre contract last summer).
02-04-2022, 06:33 PM
He gets final say on all signings.
So he signed off, on all the players that arrived in the Jan Window, was he even at Easter Rd when many of them were identified etc, etc.
I only ask as I am not sure.
I would be saying that should he sign players in the summer then we can safely say that they will be his signed players.
Maloney was manager when they came in
That’s a good question
Mueller as well.
Or Heckys.
That's now one win from thirteen league games since the winter break.
Other than that, we've beat Cove Rangers (after extra time), Arbroath and Motherwell... the latter playing for 89 minutes with only ten players (even then we won by a single goal).
If anybody can paint that as an impressive, or even acceptable, record then I'd have to say I'm pretty surprised.
02-04-2022, 06:34 PM
Mueller as well.
Forget about him, not convinced he was a Jack Ross choice, more a punt from our owner and his son
02-04-2022, 06:34 PM
That’s a good question
Newell, Doig, Hanlon, Dabrowski were all given new contracts while Ross was manger and Muller was given a pre-contract.
So he signed off, on all the players that arrived in the Jan Window, was he even at Easter Rd when many of them were identified etc, etc.
I would be saying that should he sign players in the summer then we can safely say that they will be his signed players.
Ffs so are you now blaming Ross for the January window signings
02-04-2022, 06:36 PM
Newell, Doig, Hanlon, Dabrowski were all given new contracts while Ross was a manger and Muller was given a pre-contract.
They weren’t his signings though, he inherited them, and worked with them
Nobody will ever tell me that Ross signed Mueller
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 06:38 PM
They weren’t his signings though, he inherited them, and worked with them
Nobody will ever tell me that Ross signed Mueller
If you’re giving out new contracts then they’re part of the squad you’re building though.
They were part of the squad that Jack Ross built. He wanted them to be a part of it, hence why they got new deals to keep them part of it.
Saying he ‘worked with them’ makes it sound like he had to just make do with them. That’s not the case.
02-04-2022, 06:39 PM
I don’t care who signed them, to only have 3 league wins is not good enough and it’s reasonable to say we should have far more with the quality we have.
I don’t understand what happened over the winter break. We looked to be a better side in maloneys first two games, playing a different way and won both games
Now we have reverted to the Ross way and in fact a poorer version of it.
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 06:45 PM
I’m honestly not sure how much more we can expect. We’ve got one striker available, he’s 19 years old and until a few weeks ago he’d never played on grass. We’ve sold our best player. Our next best player is perma-banned.
We’ve got 5 of our starting 11 today are 22 or younger and a goalkeeper having to play who has only played about 5 games against full time football teams.
I’m not all that sure we should really be that much higher with what we have available.
HFC93
I came away from the game thinking we played well and that things are starting to come together but then I read this thread. Never change hibs.net.
I don’t understand what happened over the winter break. We looked to be a better side in maloneys first two games, playing a different way and won both games
We lost Boyle, our top goalscorer and focal point for most of our attacking play.
Ross had Boyle.
02-04-2022, 06:47 PM
Ffs so are you now blaming Ross for the January window signings
FFS, is there anywhere in any of my posts where this Ross fellow, is mentioned. do you also believe in conspiracies FFS.
Lets not forget the title of this thread something like "Maloney must Go" FFS.
I thought he explained it well on his Longbangers podcast interview.
After the Boxing Day game I thought the three week break would work well for him in terms of him getting time on the training pitch with them.
Ultimately I think we had another crap window, selling our best player, bringing in players that weren’t ready to go and signing some players that we didn’t really seem to even need.
Fuzzywuzzy
02-04-2022, 06:51 PM
What are folk actually hoping for?
Klopp in charge? A massive war chest to buy superstar players?
Things don't always work out the same as when your playing Football Manager FFS. Life's not that simple or easy.
We have a young manager, in his first job, trying to get us playing a system that will take time to bed in. You can see the players trying to do it.
We've played one up from for a long time but we've normally had fit strikers and it didn't particularly work under previous managers.
Now we're at the point that some fans are wanting to hound him out. As Hibs fans we have to have a lot of faith, hope and at the moment, an awful lot of charity. We just need to keep the faith
02-04-2022, 06:55 PM
That's now one win from thirteen league games since the winter break.
Other than that, we've beat Cove Rangers (after extra time), Arbroath and Motherwell... the latter playing for 89 minutes with only ten players (even then we won by a single goal).
If anybody can paint that as an impressive, or even acceptable, record then I'd have to say I'm pretty surprised.
I think it's 12 league games since the break but it's really not good enough either way and actually quite worrying.
Over the last 10 games we are 1 point off the bottom of the form table and have scored just 6 goals in that time which is the lowest in the league.
02-04-2022, 06:55 PM
Things don't always work out the same as when your playing Football Manager FFS. Life's not that simple or easy.
We have a young manager, in his first job, trying to get us playing a system that will take time to bed in. You can see the players trying to do it.
We've played one up from for a long time but we've normally had fit strikers and it didn't particularly work under previous managers.
Now we're at the point that some fans are wanting to hound him out. As Hibs fans we have to have a lot of faith, hope and at the moment, an awful lot of charity. We just need to keep the faith
Bang on
02-04-2022, 06:56 PM
I thought he explained it well on his Longbangers podcast interview.
Never heard it, that was why I asked the question!
02-04-2022, 07:02 PM
I came away from the game thinking we played well and that things are starting to come together but then I read this thread. Never change hibs.net.
Indeed
02-04-2022, 07:07 PM
Never heard it, that was why I asked the question!
Worth a listen.
02-04-2022, 07:10 PM
That was a vast improvement on Livingston and St Johnstone, and obviously Aberdeen last week.
I thought we looked far slicker prior to United scoring and in the second half, didn't get much sense we were our usual plodding sense. Not getting at least one result against Hearts probably negates the fact that there was definite progress today.
02-04-2022, 07:14 PM
Next two games are obviously crucial and both for different reasons. Top 6 finish and a cup final place. However when was the last time Hibs beat them back to back?
Maloney could do his job prospects ( in some
People’s eyes ) the world of good or alternatively he may be struggling to get certain fans back on board.
My big concern is if we give him a big budget and we start next season as we are at the moment then we could have players brought in by Maloney that the new manager doesn’t want. Also if we finish this season as bad as we are now how many fans can we expect to get season tickets?
The board will have to either make a decision to give him funds or his P45. I personally hope we give him time but I do expect better than we’re getting now.
02-04-2022, 07:15 PM
The second half is the best I’ve seen us play for a while, although we never really looked like scoring. The lack of goals is costing us big time this season.
02-04-2022, 07:21 PM
Actually thought JDH played more forward passes than he usually does today.
It’s a really strange post given the performance was an improvement on what we’ve been seeing. Still not good enough, I get that but still a step in the right direction.
The first couple of months next season is when I’ll be judging maloney from.Yes. He had a couple of excellent passes in the first half which almost led to goals .
Signs of a brighter future ahead for us would be helpful. We had that in the first two games and also in the draws with hearts and Celtic but other than that it’s been pretty dire stuff.
I hope I am proven wrong but I am gett8ng no enjoyment right now at hibs games.
02-04-2022, 07:22 PM
Next two games are obviously crucial and both for different reasons. Top 6 finish and a cup final place. However when was the last time Hibs beat them back to back?
People’s eyes ) the world of good or alternatively he may be struggling to get certain fans back on board.
My big concern is if we give him a big budget and we start next season as we are at the moment then we could have players brought in by Maloney that the new manager doesn’t want. Also if we finish this season as bad as we are now how many fans can we expect to get season tickets?
The board will have to either make a decision to give him funds or his P45. I personally hope we give him time but I do expect better than we’re getting now.
02-04-2022, 07:22 PM
The results have been poor with and without Boyle in the team.
Him leaving hasn't contributed to us continuing to be gash.
LewysGot2
02-04-2022, 07:25 PM
You don't think we miss him?
02-04-2022, 07:28 PM
He’s been a massive loss. Played three games under Maloney winning two and losing at Celtic Park. In the two we won he set up three of the four goals we scored.
He’d undoubtedly have improved our crap goal return by a few and it would have been worth a few extra points.
02-04-2022, 07:28 PM
👍
02-04-2022, 07:37 PM
Fewer excuses can be made nowHow many of those players were signings Maloney chose ? How many were fully fit today ? How many were signed with a view to playing regularly in the first team this season ? Also , how many of the January signings are proving failures ? None so far so rest of squad Maloney inherited seems to be the problem .
CB Hibs 68
02-04-2022, 07:38 PM
He’s been a massive loss. Played three games under Maloney winning two and losing at Celtic Park. In the two we won he set up three of the four goals we scored.
He’d undoubtedly have improved our crap goal return by a few and it would have been worth a few extra points.Thanks for a fair assessment.Sadly there’ ain’t enough of this on Hibs .
.net
02-04-2022, 07:45 PM
Now we're at the point that some fans are wanting to hound him out. As Hibs fans we have to have a lot of faith, hope and at the moment, an awful lot of charity. We just need to keep the faithGood post . But think Maloney himself wouldn`t want folk to repeat young manager stuff . Very few fans want him to go and the majority of them have been after him since he arrived at Hibs .
How many of those players were signings Maloney chose ? How many were fully fit today ? How many were signed with a view to playing regularly in the first team this season ? Also , how many of the January signings are proving failures ? None so far so rest of squad Maloney inherited seems to be the problem .
Blimey
They were all signed when maloney was the manager. If you were talking mueller I could understand. Only melkerson was signed for the future. And only Clarke hasn’t been playing regularly. Clarke was the one bright spot today.
If your post is correct, what exactly was maloneys plan. Make do with the Ross squad as best he could ? Seems an odd way to approach your first job as manager.
Maloney needs to be more flexible and work with the players he has. 4-4-2 or 3-5-2 should be the line up.
Clarke bushiri hanlon and doig
Cadden JDH newell and maybe jasper
Melkerson and possible mueller up front
That’s probably best from the squad we have available right now.
Alternatively threebat the back with doig left of a 5 and jasper with melkerson
02-04-2022, 07:57 PM
GGTTHWhy should the club be doubting about giving SM transfer funds in summer ? All the players who joined us in January ( without exception , surely a record ) have impressed even though most are players we expect to improve in coming years . Also , we recruited SM as a young manager with good , clear ideas of how team can progress in next few years , signing young , hungry , talented players . Whatever happens in rest of this season , am not expecting expensive signings in summer , maybe one or two experienced players and several more talented young players .
02-04-2022, 08:03 PM
Blimey
They were all signed when maloney was the manager. If you were talking mueller I could understand. Only melkerson was signed for the future. And only Clarke hasn’t been playing regularly. Clarke was the one bright spot today.
If your post is correct, what exactly was maloneys plan. Make do with the Ross squad as best he could ? Seems an odd way to approach your first job as manager.
Maloney needs to be more flexible and work with the players he has. 4-4-2 or 3-5-2 should be the line up.
Clarke bushiri hanlon and doig
Cadden JDH newell and maybe jasper
Melkerson and possible mueller up front
That’s probably best from the squad we have available right now.
Alternatively threebat the back with doig left of a 5 and jasper with melkersonSo you`re suggesting Maloney picks team he picked today albeit with odd positional changes during games . Because of injuries team has virtually picked itself anyway since Maloney arrived .
02-04-2022, 08:09 PM
Why should the club be doubting about giving SM transfer funds in summer ? All the players who joined us in January ( without exception , surely a record ) have impressed even though most are players we expect to improve in coming years . Also , we recruited SM as a young manager with good , clear ideas of how team can progress in next few years , signing young , hungry , talented players . Whatever happens in rest of this season , am not expecting expensive signings in summer , maybe one or two experienced players and several more talented young players .
I don’t think all the players we signed have impressed. Some have shown some glimpses of quality but nothing more than that. Mueller (I know he wasn’t Maloney’s signing) has one goal, Melkerson had two. Henderson and Jasper have 3 assists between them. They’re all young players but that’s not good enough.
So you`re suggesting Maloney picks team he picked today albeit with odd positional changes during games . Because of injuries team has virtually picked itself anyway since Maloney arrived .
Yes of course maloney picked the team. That’s his job.
if it wasnt maloney, who picked the team, who did ?
02-04-2022, 08:16 PM
Why should the club be doubting about giving SM transfer funds in summer ? All the players who joined us in January ( without exception , surely a record ) have impressed even though most are players we expect to improve in coming years . Also , we recruited SM as a young manager with good , clear ideas of how team can progress in next few years , signing young , hungry , talented players . Whatever happens in rest of this season , am not expecting expensive signings in summer , maybe one or two experienced players and several more talented young players .
Maybe because we could have a drop in season ticket sales., possibly even a huge drop in season ticket sales if things don’t improve on the park.
As for spending money I think we need several midfield players to play Maloney type of game. What these will cost I’ve no idea but I do hope we have an outstanding finish to the season and we get to see him build a team to suit his type of game.
02-04-2022, 08:20 PM
Is there any chance of giving a manager a chance of actually bringing something together? He's the first manager i've listened to for a long time who seems to have a genuine plan of what he wants & and is quite happy to articulate it. From the podcasts Ive listened to hes pretty realistic on what needs to happen to do that, he knows we arent produciing the football he or fans want. Fans talk about the injuries we have had in almost the same breath say he needs to do better with the bare bones of a squad he has had to work with. I dont know if its going to work but Id like to see what happens when he gets a proper window and a pre season with the team.
Is it 'results straight away or not good enough' or is it recognising that we had a manager who wasnt getting the best from the team he got punted & we brought another manager in....Surely that manager needs time to make changes & change doesnt happen straight away........Jeez look at Jim Godwin, his team arent exactly shooting out the traps since he took over.
02-04-2022, 08:24 PM
He certainly hasn't improved us and doesn't appear to know how to.
Tough call for the club to make but I think we'll stick with him until Sept / Oct then make the change.
02-04-2022, 08:27 PM
I really enjoyed the 2nd half. Some of the link up play was brilliant to watch. We had no tall strikers so we had to be tricky and clever and at times we really were. Unlucky not to score and win the game.
Melkerson seemed to be in tears at the end.
Joe Newell is for me one of the best centre mids in the league. Robbed of a great chance via a penalty by a horrendous referee.
Onwards and upwards for our young team.
Tough call for the club to make but I think we'll stick with him until Sept / Oct then make the change.
We have to hope those that see positive signs are right and that the lack of available players and more time are what is required to turn this around.
02-04-2022, 08:29 PM
He’s improved us defensively without question, our goals conceded numbers since he came in confirm that. Our biggest issues are offensively and losing our best attacker / top goalscorer will have had a massive impact on that, to suggest it otherwise is absurd in the extreme.
02-04-2022, 08:32 PM
Posts like this are really beginning to piss me off. If a manager has a record like Maloney has so far, there is an open and fair debate to be had. Particularly when most of the football has been absolutely eye bleeding.
So far I’ve seen those who have lost confidence in Maloney bring up his stubbornness with tactics that don’t suit the team, strange subs, questioning his signings, his ability to motivate, the team he’s brought in and results in general.
On the other side (bar a few excellent posters who I enjoy their contributions immensely) I’ve seen “slavers”, “wind up merchants”, “empty barrels” etc. etc. etc.
Like it or not, there’s a debate open over whether Maloney is capable. Would be nice if quite a few posters could properly contribute to it or not at all.
Absolutely.
If people can't see why others are concerned they've had their head in the sand.
02-04-2022, 08:36 PM
How about someone who recognises bringing James Scott on when you need a goal is a pointless act?
scotia44
02-04-2022, 08:37 PM
He’s improved us defensively without question, our goals conceded numbers since he came in confirm that. Our biggest issues are offensively and losing our best attacker / top goalscorer will have had a massive impact on that, to suggest it otherwise is absurd in the extreme.
👏🏻👏🏻
02-04-2022, 08:39 PM
Absolutely.
If people can't see why others are concerned they've had their head in the sand.
I can see why some are concerned but also see why some are hopeful he will succeed or is that head in the sand too?
02-04-2022, 08:40 PM
How about someone who recognises bringing James Scott on when you need a goal is a pointless act?
And Drey Wright.
02-04-2022, 08:50 PM
I can see why some are concerned but also see why some are hopeful he will succeed or is that head in the sand too?
I think we are ALL hopeful he can succeed. I'm so desperate for him to do so mate but quite frankly the signs have been SO worrying since the winter break ended.
Yes he has had injuries, but his decision making has been so strange. The Cove game had serious alarm bells ringing with a string of mental subs.
And Drey Wright.
:agree::agree::agree:
And Drey Wright.
It wasn’t just who came on but who went off. And the positional changes that came with it. None of which to my untrained eye had any logic.
02-04-2022, 09:00 PM
It wasn’t just who came on but who went off. And the positional changes that came with it. None of which to my untrained eye had any logic.
Newell was struggling I think, was stretching a minute or two before subbed. Saw someone saying Jasper took a knock first half. I didn’t but saw he was a doubt before the game so assumed that had something to do with it.
Bringing Wright on will never make sense to me, regardless of who comes off or why.
Mrimbetween
02-04-2022, 09:02 PM
Aye sack Sean pay him and his staff off and bring in new people, easy eh, no financial implications at all either
Still time to salvage i say and improve
02-04-2022, 09:10 PM
Newell was struggling I think, was stretching a minute or two before subbed. Saw someone saying Jasper took a knock first half. I didn’t but saw he was a doubt before the game so assumed that had something to do with it.
Bringing Wright on will never make sense to me, regardless of who comes off or why.
Wright should be told to bring a fork with him for half time.
Yeah I saw jasper take a knock and their was talk he was carrying an injury. That change seemed ok though.
Didn’t notice newell though. Was it wright on for him with Henderson to midfield and Clarke over too the right.
Then Scott on for bushiri which then put cadden in the back three and Clark back to the left.
02-04-2022, 09:20 PM
Yeah I saw jasper take a knock and their was talk he was carrying an injury. That change seemed ok though.
Didn’t notice newell though. Was it wright on for him with Henderson to midfield and Clarke over too the right.
Then Scott on for bushiri which then put cadden in the back three and Clark back to the left.
Scott came on for Newell with Henderson going back one.
02-04-2022, 09:25 PM
02-04-2022, 09:26 PM
Scott came on for Newell with Henderson going back one.
He could have picked anybody out of the crowd to come on and it would have made no difference.
02-04-2022, 09:34 PM
Disappointed that noone is giving Maloney credit for making changes to go for win ( taking off Rocky for example ) . Obviously DU were happy with draw given league position and playing Dundee next week . I don`t like so many changes being allowed in matches but reality is that all clubs make a lot of changes for lots of reasons .
02-04-2022, 09:36 PM
Disappointed that noone is giving Maloney credit for making changes to go for win ( taking off Rocky for example ) . Obviously DU were happy with draw given league position and playing Dundee next week . I don`t like so many changes being allowed in matches but reality is that all clubs make a lot of changes for lots of reasons .
We only used 3 subs. The fact he brought Scott and Wright on when you need a goal doesn’t deserve any credit.
JamesHFC
02-04-2022, 09:38 PM
When Hibs don’t win I’m disappointed, naturally. When we went 1-0 down today I thought to myself I’m losing patience. I’ve backed him from day one. If we lose our next two games, the hibs fan inside me will say he’s not good enough but looking at it logically, he deserves the summer. We will beat Hearts in at least one of the next two games, we are ****ing hibs.
02-04-2022, 09:41 PM
He’ll be on tender hooks if we lose the next 2
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 09:41 PM
We only used 3 subs. The fact he brought Scott and Wright on when you need a goal doesn’t deserve any credit.
It’s a bit of a catch 22 really.
He needs to make subs. We can’t just plow on all game every game with the 11 that start and not make any subs. We’d just end up with even more injuries and then inevitably guys like Wright and Scott would have to start games.
Likewise though we can’t be chasing a winner and bringing these two on. They’re absolutely atrocious and make us an infinitely worse team when they’re on the pitch.
I would say it was telling that we had neither of Wright or Campbell playing for the first time in ages and probably had our best performance in a decent length of time.
02-04-2022, 09:42 PM
I came away from the game thinking another missed opportunity to win a game.
Another predictable performance and after losing the 1st goal it would be a miracle if we scored 2 to win and comeback.
I also came away thinking the 1st half was rubbish and we were lucky to go in 1-1.
We played better 2nd half but couldn’t score. Our home record is 6th best in the league. We should be winning more games at home and our standards as a club have dropped.
Ray Donovan
02-04-2022, 09:44 PM
He’ll be on tender hooks if we lose the next 2
Rightly so, losing both these games is a nightmare scenario. Neilson who has done relatively well at Hearts will be in the exact same position.
02-04-2022, 09:46 PM
Exactly. Why should anyone give Maloney credIt for his continuous RIDICULOUS decision making in bringing Drey Wright and James Scott on when we are DESPEERATE for a goal.
It doesnt matter if Scott Allan only has one leg or smokes 200 cigarettes a day - he is more likely to rustle up a goal than those 2 .
02-04-2022, 09:55 PM
Could not work out the formation and system at times. Players out of position. We seem to just write off the first half in games quite happy offering nothing and wait to 45-60mins to come out the traps - becoming a pattern in recent home games.
Just not good enough. Could another manager get more from this squad of players - to me that's a clear yes.
Scotty Leither
02-04-2022, 09:55 PM
Il
We played better 2nd half but couldn’t score. Our home record is 6th best in the league. We should be winning more games at home and our standards as a club have dropped.
Exactly this. It would be nice in the summer if the Board came out and said something along the lines of “We expect to win the majority of our home games, and anything less than European qualification through our league position will be regarded as a poor season”.
If that puts what’s viewed as undue pressure on the incumbent on the dugout, then maybe they shouldn’t be manager of the Hibs.
I’m sick of “incremental growth”, and “transition”, it’s corporate BS and I’d like an owner and a CEO who grasps the fundamentals of putting a decent, well resourced team and squad with a bit of depth to it on the park, first and foremost.
It really isn’t that hard a concept to grasp.
Mr. Wonderful
02-04-2022, 09:57 PM
Aye sack Sean pay him and his staff off and bring in new people, easy eh, no financial implications at all either
Still time to salvage i say and improve
Aye folk said that about Butcher too. Served us well.
02-04-2022, 09:58 PM
Exactly. Why should anyone give Maloney credIt for his continuous RIDICULOUS decision making in bringing Drey Wright and James Scott on when we are DESPEERATE for a goal.
It doesnt matter if Scott Allan only has one leg or smokes 200 cigarettes a day - he is more likely to rustlle up a goal than those 2 .Do you think Wright and Scott played badly when they came on ? Have you seen anything from Scott Allan this season to suggest he`d have done more than those that played today ? Can you not look for positives from other players who played today ?
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 10:02 PM
Do you think Wright and Scott played badly when they came on ? Have you seen anything from Scott Allan this season to suggest he`d have done more than those that played today ? Can you not look for positives from other players who played today ?
I’m 100% behind Maloney and have stuck up for him all night but I would say Wright and Scott did play badly when they came on. They’re poor players and if you hold them to the same standard as the other players then they pretty much always play poorly.
I would also say I’ve seen a lot more from Allan this season to suggest he’d have been a better substitute, especially in an attacking sense.
Allan was generally overlooked under Ross as well though so you’ve got to wonder why 2 managers in a row haven’t given him much game time.
02-04-2022, 10:03 PM
I think it is probably because the subs made little sense and made us play worse. Not really credit worthy. Moving Clarke seemed bizarre to me and he pretty much fell out the game after being swapped over. Wright did fine again when he came on and Henderson was a good call as Jasper looked goosed after about 20 minutes. James Scott nearly cost us a goal as he couldn't be bothered tracking a runner. Hope we don't need to call on him again. Newell again had a decent game and if he wasn't suffering from a knock that was a very odd substitution.
02-04-2022, 10:03 PM
Do you think Wright and Scott played badly when they came on ? Have you seen anything from Scott Allan this season to suggest he`d have done more than those that played today ? Can you not look for positives from other players who played today ?
Have I seen anything from Scott Allan to suggest he'd have done more? ALL Hibs fans have IF They have been paying any semblance of attention. Despite limited game time Allan is STILL the player with the most direct goal contributions (6) available for selection right now. Its insanity to think Wright and Scott will offer us a goal when they have almost never done it between them. ( one goal from D Wright v huns last year apart).
So yes. Allan is clearly a better bet if we need a goal.
02-04-2022, 10:05 PM
Yes they played poorly. They are poor players
Scotty Leither
02-04-2022, 10:06 PM
Have I seen anything from Scott Allan to suggest he'd have done more? ALL Hibs fans have IF They have been paying any semblance of attention. Despite limited game time Allan is STILL the player with the most direct goal contributions (6) available for selection right now. Its insanity to think Wright and Scott will offer us a goal when they have almost never done it between them. ( one goal from D Wright v huns last year apart).
I got in just on kick off today so missed seeing the full team lines. Did we have any other forward on the bench today bar Scott?
02-04-2022, 10:07 PM
Exactly this. It would be nice in the summer if the Board came out and said something along the lines of “We expect to win the majority of our home games, and anything less than European qualification through our league position will be regarded as a poor season”.
If that puts what’s viewed as undue pressure on the incumbent on the dugout, then maybe they shouldn’t be manager of the Hibs.
I’m sick of “incremental growth”, and “transition”, it’s corporate BS and I’d like an owner and a CEO who grasps the fundamentals of putting a decent, well resourced team and squad with a bit of depth to it on the park, first and foremost.
It really isn’t that hard a concept to grasp.
We can’t plan for the long term cos we can be demanding/impatient. This leads to us chopping and changing manager and inevitably squads. That puts us into transition.
Even when we finished 3rd and got to cup finals we wanted more and demanded change. It’s not going to be any different if/when they change the manager again.
02-04-2022, 10:08 PM
James Scott should be nowhere near our squad. Absolute imposter and wage thief.
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 10:08 PM
I got in just on kick off today so missed seeing the full team lines. Did we have any other forward on the bench today bar Scott?
Nope.
Scott, Hague, Allan and Henderson were the attacking options on the bench,
Scott
Hauge
Henderson
Allan
Stevenson
Wright
Delferriere
Campbell
Mitchell (GK)
BH1875
02-04-2022, 10:11 PM
What’s changing the manager going to achieve now?? He’s just in the door. Our fan base is a joke at times. We need to get behind the team and manager. If we lose these two games against them he really is going to be hounded out the club. I’m 100% still behind maloney even if we do lose these two games. Short term pain for long term gain. Our fans are so negative it’s unreal
02-04-2022, 10:12 PM
He’ll be on tender hooks if we lose the next 2Atleast they will be treating him with kindness
02-04-2022, 10:12 PM
It's tough to listen to Maloney after the game where he admits that it's 8 or 9 weeks now that he's been saying we need to improve our attacking play. And yet aside from shuffling the personnel a bit he continues to do the same things every week, same system, same lack of urgency, little support for our number 9, too many players behind the ball, too slow all over.
02-04-2022, 10:14 PM
I dont think we did ...but is James Scott a forward? He certainly doesnt look like one. And he played out wide when he came on rather than being part of a front two.
Scotty Leither
02-04-2022, 10:16 PM
Nope.
Scott, Hague, Allan and Henderson were the attacking options on the bench,
Scott
Hauge
Henderson
Allan
Stevenson
Wright
Delferriere
Campbell
Mitchell (GK)
That bench is a damning indictment of our recruitment. There’s not a single game changer on there to bring on, and there’s 4 of them at least who are no more than jersey fillers.
Keepthefaith
02-04-2022, 10:22 PM
Dear god, shouting it in capitals doesn't make it right. I would suggest that the Allan of this season is more likely to give a goal away than assist/ score. Too many errors now and not enough fight.
This thread needs some perspective. I would take us getting to a semi final and being bottom six this season if it means we're stronger for next. of course I don't want that, just like Maloney didn't want melkerson to miss an almost open goal! We've had horrendous injuries and judging on today I'd bet we'd be in a better position if Clarke hadn't got injured.
I want is to beat hearts twice and push on, but I can see the bigger picture and support the club in trying to build something sustainable, through a structure, an identity. Alex Ferguson didn't start too well at Aberdeen but seems to have done alright!
Baying for blood, being constantly negative and hounding out managers and players rarely beings positive long term change. Let's get behind Maloney and the team whatever happens and trust that were building foundations for something more sustainable and with high ambition.
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 10:24 PM
That bench is a damning indictment of our recruitment. There’s not a single game changer on there to bring on, and there’s 4 of them at least who are no more than jersey fillers.
Agree.
I also think it’s why we’re plodding along doing the same thing with the same system most weeks.
For all the talk about Maloney being stubborn, I’m not sure what the hell we can really do to change things.
We’ve only got one fit striker so can only really play one upfront unless we stick someone out of position up there and I’m not sure any of our other attack minded players would be suited to playing through the middle.
We’ve only got 2 (at best, I’m not convinced by JDH) decent centre mids so can only really play a 2 or else we’re having to play guys like Wright or Campbell. Either one of them playing makes us a poorer team.
We’ve got what looks like 3 good full backs/wing backs now that Clarke is fit so I can see why he’s tried to squeeze them all in.
I’m not sure Rocky or Doig are suited to playing a central 2 beside Hanlon so as it stands we almost have to play a 3.
I’m really not sure any other system would be any better. Near enough any other system would see us have to play numerous players out of position or giving poor players starts imo.
The squad we’ve got just now is a shambles and really poor. When people say we should be competing for 3rd I certainly don’t look at the squad of players we have and agree. I think we’ve got a squad that should be finishing about mid table.
02-04-2022, 10:25 PM
That bench is a damning indictment of our recruitment. There’s not a single game changer on there to bring on, and there’s 4 of them at least who are no more than jersey fillers.Henderson came on at half time and seemed to do well . We`ve still got a few out injured ( Nesbit , Macey , McGennis , Demetri Mitchell , ) plus others with fitness problems . How many top class game changers would you expect us to sign and be happy to wait their turn on the bench ?
02-04-2022, 10:31 PM
Dear god, shouting it in capitals doesn't make it right. I would suggest that the Allan of this season is more likely to give a goal away than assist/ score. Too many errors now and not enough fight.
This thread needs some perspective. I would take us getting to a semi final and being bottom six this season if it means we're stronger for next. of course I don't want that, just like Maloney didn't want melkerson to miss an almost open goal! We've had horrendous injuries and judging on today I'd bet we'd be in a better position if Clarke hadn't got injured.
I want is to beat hearts twice and push on, but I can see the bigger picture and support the club in trying to build something sustainable, through a structure, an identity. Alex Ferguson didn't start too well at Aberdeen but seems to have done alright!
Baying for blood, being constantly negative and hounding out managers and players rarely beings positive long term change. Let's get behind Maloney and the team whatever happens and trust that were building foundations for something more sustainable and with high ambition.
Dear god just becuase it is written in capitals doesnt make it wrong either. What is wrong is you posting absolute crap that Allan is more likely to cost us a goal than he is to create for us. That's just utter bollocks and symbolic of those with such short memories that they think Allan is "finished". Its nonsense. Look at the facts.
It's heartening to see people support Maloney, but people really need to be realistic and stop claiming the emperor's new clothes are nice when he is naked.
Scotty Leither
02-04-2022, 10:32 PM
Agree.
I also think it’s why we’re plodding along doing the same thing with the same system most weeks.
For all the talk about Maloney being stubborn, I’m not sure what the hell we can really do to change things.
We’ve only got one fit striker so can only really play one upfront unless we stick someone out of position up there and I’m not sure any of our other attack minded players would be suited to playing through the middle.
We’ve only got 2 (at best, I’m not convinced by JDH) decent centre mids so can only really play a 2 or else we’re having to play guys like Wright or Campbell.
We’ve got what looks like 3 good full backs/wing backs now that Clarke is fit so I can see why he’s tried to squeeze them all in.
I’m not sure Rocky or Doig are suited to playing a central 2 beside Hanlon so as it stands we have to play a 3.
I’m really not sure any other system would be any better. Near enough any other system would see us have to play numerous players out of position imo.
The squad we’ve got just now is a shambles and really poor. When people say we should be competing for 3rd I certainly don’t look at the squad of players we have and agree with it.
Yup. I’m not shouting for Maloney’s head, I’m just sick of watching a combination of ordinary players in Hibs strips, and laddies being asked to do mens’ jobs.
The boy Clarke was a bright spot today, for his goal and that he looked like a player that doesn’t hide and appears to have a bit of an appetite to play.
The fact he played almost 3/4 positions points to how short we are though, but in the saying of that I’d have put him up front for the last 15, so ineffectual was James Scott.
Scotty Leither
02-04-2022, 10:36 PM
Henderson came on at half time and seemed to do well . We`ve still got a few out injured ( Nesbit , Macey , McGennis , Demetri Mitchell , ) plus others with fitness problems . How many top class game changers would you expect us to sign and be happy to wait their turn on the bench ?
Aye right enough, in retrospect I’d be happy to have one on the park at the start of the game rather than the limited short back and sides ones we have just now.
These types of players are far too expensive for us of course.
Keepthefaith
02-04-2022, 10:42 PM
Dear god just becuase it is written in capitals doesnt make it wrong either. What is wrong is you posting absolute crap that Allan is more likely to cost us a goal than he is to create for us. That's just utter bollocks and symbolic of those with such short memories that they think Allan is "finished". Its nonsense. Look at the facts.
It's heartening to see people support Maloney, but people really need to be realistic and stop claiming the emperor's new clothes are nice when he is naked.
My point is that crying for him to be sacked on the assumption that his replacement will be better is flawed look at arteta at arsenal. Similar vibe, young manager who is technical and has a project. Their fans wanted him out but despite 8 defeats they're now 4th. Should he have been sacked when things were really **** at the start of the season?
Injuries have played a big part but so has the transition to a different style. We don't know who we went for and who turned us down in the January window but the damage was done in the summer window, not Maloneys fault.
Success isn't built on instability. It's not guaranteed by change either. My view is that he's got real potential as a manager. To not even give the guy a season is so typical of a child like " we want it now" society. Sometimes the best things come with hard work and patience.
02-04-2022, 10:46 PM
I'm not quite in the 'Maloney out' camp yet but I really don't think the suggestion is as outrageous as some people think it is.
We are on a dreadful run of form and we are now in serious danger of finishing in the bottom six which would be disgraceful.
Our results in 2022 so far are;
L Celtic 2-0 Hibs
W Hibs 1-0 Cove Rangers AET
D Motherwell 0-0 Hibs
L Hibs 2-3 Livingston
D Hibs 0-0 Hearts
L Hibs 0-1 St Mirren
L Rangers 2-0 Hibs
W Arbroath 1-3 Hibs
W Hibs 2-0 Ross County
D Hibs 0-0 Celtic
D Dundee 0-0 Hibs
D Hibs 0-0 St Johnstone
W Motherwell 1-2 Hibs
L Aberdeen 3-1 Hibs
D Hibs 1-1 Dundee Utd
One win from twelve in the league and it now means that these two derbies are absolutely massive for Maloney, probably even bigger than they would have been anyway if we had been going into them in decent form. I think he'll be in charge until at least the start of next season but there's no doubt he'll lose an increasing number of fans if we lose both of these games and I don't think there would be any way back for him.
We need to roll the sleeves up and get two wins by any means necessary.
Rondon
02-04-2022, 10:56 PM
Anyone who actually thinks Maloney has to go is mental. Even worse are the folk that want Ross back. His football is the reason we are where we are.