View Full Version : NHC Scotland v Ukraine 24th March 2022

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

01-06-2022, 08:09 PM
Clarke oot - he's lucked out in getting us to the Euros via the back door, but under him Scotland have never looked convincing.

This is howling.Didn't we win our last 6 games on the bounce? [emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Paulie Walnuts
How so many of this Scotland team play in the premier league is beyond me. Dreadful and paid a fortune for it

We’ll get nowhere with guys like Hanley, Cooper, McGregor, Dykes and Adams.

All of them are very, very poor at this level.

McTominay isn't our biggest problem. We have no craft and actually tonight not too much graft. Our supposedly creative players Gilmore and McGregir simply haven't got it. Our strikers don't score goals

McGinn should probably be off there.

Didn’t realise he was playing to be honest.

To be replaced by who??

I get your anger/despondence and dismay.
I'm the same, I don't know where we go or if replacing him will improve us.

It's a fair question, but I feel (and have done for a long time, even before we got to the Euro finals) he consistently fails to get the best of out what is an impressive squad of individuals.

We have world class players to build a functioning team around - Clarke's teams totally fail to inspire or build on that talent IMO.

01-06-2022, 08:10 PM
McGinn looks up to cross and Adams in in the box on his own surrounded by 6 or 7 Ukrainians. Take a chance Scotland

01-06-2022, 08:11 PM
Oh john

cannastar
two goals down and ross stewart cant get on but jack hendry can must be resorting to hoofing high balls into the box for the last twenty. ffs mcginn

Mcginn sitter. Missed.

mayo hibee
In fairness to Clarke I'd argue he has massively overachieved with this bunch to get them to the Euros and to this stage of the World Cup qualifiers. Scotland are desperately short on quality at centre back, right back and up front.

You can compensate for a lack of top quality strikers with a well drilled and organised team but it's a lot harder to do it when you're that weak in defence also. The future options at GK also look worrying after the two older lads retire.

McGinn with an Iwelumo moment there unfortunately.

How does McGinn miss that??

OMFG McGinn DEPLORABLE absolutely deplorable

How did he miss

cameronw-hfc
01-06-2022, 08:12 PM
That miss sums up how the midfield 3 have been so far today.

Been ***** all night - that sums it up.

McGinn has been absolutely appalling tonight, worst I’ve seen him at any level.

SJM, more difficult to miss.

That's pathetic from McGinn.

Absolutely shocking.

01-06-2022, 08:13 PM
Sums up McGinns night.

He gets omitted from the ‘McGreggor and Gilmour have been pish’ posts, understandably so on here, but he has been every bit as bad tonight.

what a bloody shocker from robertson there

JamesHFC
Fatigue starting to kick in for Ukraine. I think they will struggle with at least another 90 on Sunday.

cannastar
mctominay looking 200 per cent more effective since moving up field. ukraine look like they are starting to tire or nerves are kicking in.

01-06-2022, 08:14 PM
Better now with McTominay driving forward. Absolute shocker from SJM

01-06-2022, 08:14 PM
Scotland have zero flair or any player that does anything out the ordinary, it's all so predictable

01-06-2022, 08:15 PM
Hickey had lead boots on trying to get back there

01-06-2022, 08:15 PM
Hickey is ****ing dire

cameronw-hfc
01-06-2022, 08:16 PM
Hickey having such an odd game. One phase of play he looks top class then 5 minutes later he looks lost. can't figure out how I think he's played.

01-06-2022, 08:17 PM
Hickey is ****ing dire

Disagree, think he’s been reasonable tonight.

Hickey is ****ing dire

He’s been honking, as have most of the team.

Hickey is ****ing dire

One decent bit of play and very poor apart from that. He is a poor defender imo and decent going forward. O'Donnell would have been a far better option

Scotland, eh? Whit are we like? Wha's like us? I blame the Xboxes.

LunasBoots
01-06-2022, 08:18 PM
Ukraine are just technically better than our dross

cannastar
01-06-2022, 08:18 PM
cant believe ross stewart isnt getting on what is there to lose the boys confidence is sky high.

Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 08:19 PM
McGinn has been absolutely appalling tonight, worst I’ve seen him at any level.

Haha! The miss was bad but he has been out best midfielder (not saying much) tonight.

01-06-2022, 08:19 PM
Hickey having such an odd game. One phase of play he looks top class then 5 minutes later he looks lost. can't figure out how I think he's played.

He’s mostly played on the left this season in Italy but they have started to try play him on right some games to try give him another dimension to his game and also help his national career.

Think he’s definitely better going forward than defending.

01-06-2022, 08:20 PM
Workmanlike and zero imagination sums us up

01-06-2022, 08:20 PM
McGinn isn't so super any more.

Pish

01-06-2022, 08:21 PM
absolute garbage whoever punted that ball straight out

01-06-2022, 08:21 PM
Win or lose
I was never a supporter of this fixture going ahead
Ukranians in both the team and support should be at home defending their nation.

01-06-2022, 08:23 PM
we're brilliant :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Mikey_1875
Get everything on top of this goalie

That donkey mcgregor

1-2

01-06-2022, 08:24 PM
Game on.

Win or lose
Ukranians in both the team and support should be at home defending their nation.Should they?

cannastar
get stewart and mckenna on and stand on the keepers toes

Come on!!!

01-06-2022, 08:25 PM
Souness will be getting nervous

Ukraine taking off Yarmolenko slightly risky..feels like they were saving his legs for Sunday.

wow well done McGregor getting back

01-06-2022, 08:30 PM
Christie has changed this game.

cannastar
01-06-2022, 08:30 PM
some covering by mcgregor

01-06-2022, 08:31 PM
It's a fair question, but I feel (and have done for a long time, even before we got to the Euro finals) he consistently fails to get the best of out what is an impressive squad of individuals.

We have world class players to build a functioning team around - Clarke's teams totally fail to inspire or build on that talent IMO.

A few very good players,none world class sadly.
A lot to do with our philological outlook.

01-06-2022, 08:32 PM
Adams is p***

01-06-2022, 08:34 PM
Robertson, McGinn and Adams have picked a bad night for awful games.

cannastar
01-06-2022, 08:36 PM
for being the home team we never started with enough conviction reminiscent of the czech republic game at the euros.its the one failing that seems to repeat itself with steve clarke is the over cautiousness.

Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 08:37 PM
Adams is p***

So ****ing bad man.

Wish Hanley would get out the f****** road!

Their goalie has looked terrible and we continue to put uninspiring outswingers into the box. The goal has made it a better watch but we really have been terrible

We are ending the game how we should have started it.

NC1875
01-06-2022, 08:38 PM
Robertson has been terrible

Wtf!!!

just a pity we didn't have any intensity earlier on

01-06-2022, 08:39 PM
Derseved victory

Hope they make it to the WC

Absolute dugsh**

embarrassment complete

We seem incapable of hoofing it up the park

Game over. 3-1

Three one does not flatter them at all.

Too many players in that side that are vastly over rated. Shown up by a much better squad of players. Fair play to them.

JamesHFC
01-06-2022, 08:40 PM
Best side won.

hibIBZ
What happens when you totally bottle the first 65-70mins and hand them a 2 goal headstart

Overall nowhere near good enough, can't only start playing when 2-0 down and expect to win against this standard of opponent.

If it wasn't for Craig Gordon this would have been an embarrassment.

28 years and counting.

Wtf were we doing at the end? Pissing around with it at the back when Hanley was up there for the hoof.

Too many players that can run about but but do much else

One man to blame for tonight again.

STEVE (******G) CLARKE :brickwall

We seem incapable of hoofing it up the park

That’s why I said wtf, seconds to go and we are f****** about

01-06-2022, 08:41 PM
Considering who we've got playing for us that has got to be the poorest Scotland performance for a long time.

Bad old Scotland are back.

much tougher game coming up for ukraine

Win or lose
Ukranians in both the team and support should be at home defending their nation.

What a horrible post :rolleyes:

We’re a bit mingin’ really.

01-06-2022, 08:42 PM
Total *****. Let's hope they pump the Welsh now.

hhibs
Well beat,Clarke was a complete failure.

Got all we deserved. Horrible set up by Clarke, zero urgency, zero energy until it was far too late. Handed the initiative and game to Ukraine, who deserve to go through. Horrible display.

McTom was a transformed player playing in his right position. McGinn was a mess.

Paulie Walnuts
Wonder if Clarke will go?

It may be looked at as him having taken us as far as he can and I think that’s the case.

Now is the time to really push the boat out for a top class manager imo. We’ve got probably the best squad we’ve had in a while, let’s get a manager to match.

JoeT
That’s why I said wtf, seconds to go and we are f****** about
Maloneyball. Lots of Hibs play tonight

Boy just walks upto Plooky and sticks it past him. Dreadful performance.

Hopefully we're not banking on that McGinn money because its not coming.

hfcok
01-06-2022, 08:43 PM
Steve Clarke😳 so bloody negative, only makes right decisions when he has to chase the game😡

cameronw-hfc
Robertson's a great player, never a captain. Hid for the last 15 minutes, so called best attacking left back in the world yet our whole attacking play towards the end came from the right. Should be embarrassed, same with Gilmour and Mcginn, Mcgregor gets pass marks for the last 15 mins, but otherwise the midfield were a disgrace to a man tonight.

norhfc
Shambles of a game plan, or lack of.

That's just poor.

hhibs
One man to blame for tonight again.

STEVE (******G) CLARKE :brickwall

Could not agree more.

01-06-2022, 08:44 PM
Could not agree more.

Yep, his times up

01-06-2022, 08:44 PM
Best side won.

01-06-2022, 08:46 PM

Utter guff. One game tonight compared to doing it week in and week out for his club. By your weird logic Messi wouldn’t be worth much, rarely does it for Argentina.

hfcok

Aye McGinn, looks like he’s knackered, or something else on his mind🤔.

Mcbizz1998
If it makes anyone feel better, a jambo mate of mine had Ukraine 2-1 for a substantial amount of money.

I celebrated that last goal wildly.

01-06-2022, 08:47 PM
Clarke with us until 2024

Tha Cabbage Kid
01-06-2022, 08:48 PM
how can anyone blame Steve Clark for that result?

we should have won the game tonight if half of our players played to there potential. no agression in front of goal.

armstrong, Adams, christie, mcginn, should all have done better infront of goal.

NC1875
Robertson's a great player, never a captain. Hid for the last 15 minutes, so called best attacking left back in the world yet our whole attacking play towards the end came from the right. Should be embarrassed, same with Gilmour and Mcginn, Mcgregor gets pass marks for the last 15 mins, but otherwise the midfield were a disgrace to a man tonight.

He wasn’t even the best left back on the pitch mate. Zinchenko gave a real captains performance.

Still find it baffling Robertson plays for Liverpool when I watch him for Scotland

Hibees1973
Congratulations Ukraine.

Outclassed Scotland and well deserved winners. Also saved us the misery of watching us serving up turgid, defensive and negative football against even better teams in the finals.

We are way off it at this level. It was similar when we played at the Euros last year.

Scotland still don't have enough technically adept players and we will always get found eventually.

Hope Ukraine beat Wales so I can watch them again in Qatar.

Clarke with us until 2024

Jesus

cameronw-hfc
This is exactly the type of performance I got hounded for saying Mcginn puts in more often than not for Villa, had some on here claiming he's world class😂. That's the Mcginn that Villa see more often than not, not the Mcginn we remember at Hibs.

He's a good player, but he's got a game like tonight where he just isn't having it in him.

01-06-2022, 08:49 PM
Looking forward to a few days of cliche bingo.

Playstations, fitba in the streets and the break up of the USSR will all get their usual mention. I suppose the last one is actually direct causation in this instance.

cannastar
01-06-2022, 08:49 PM
In defence of clarke apart from his selection of mctominay out of position we had a few players who looked worse the wear for having played too many games this season. I think when we reflect in time we will realise that this Ukraine side were very decent throughout with the exception of the goalkeeper. Could be a hard slog against Wales though as not much time to recover and Rob Page has done very well since being in charge full time.

01-06-2022, 08:50 PM
We missed Tierney big style.

01-06-2022, 08:50 PM
If it makes anyone feel better, a jambo mate of mine had Ukraine 2-1 for a substantial amount of money.

I celebrated that last goal wildly.

That helps 😂😂😂

01-06-2022, 08:51 PM
Jesus

He certainly ain’t

Chip shop Joe
Not sure how Clarke is getting all of the blame here. The players were extremely poor.

Christie did more in his 20 odd minutes than the rest of the team, bar McGregor. McGinn, Robertson, Gilmour we’re awful.

Looking forward to a few days of cliche bingo.

Playstations, fitba in the streets and the break up of the USSR will all get their usual mention. I suppose the last one is actually direct causation in this instance.

Waste of energy. Scotland barely worth it and I’d rather focus my complaints or otherwise on Hibernian transfer activity/inactivity.

Utter guff. One game tonight compared to doing it week in and week out for his club. By your weird logic Messi wouldn’t be worth much, rarely does it for Argentina.

By my logic Messi would be Argentinas top scorer, top assister, taken them to a world cup final and was the first player ever to get most goals, assists and player of the tournament in a major international competition in their recent Copa America win. He is absolutely wonderful for Argentina.

Lets not even consider mentioning any Scottish player in the same sentence as him. Hes just tonight got 2 assists in a 3-0 demolition of Italy.

I love and rate John McGinn. A very, very good player. Villa is his level in my opinion. He isn't better than that. The right move and a good manager may improve him, but I think hes at his peak.

01-06-2022, 08:52 PM
In defence of clarke apart from his selection of mctominay out of position we had a few players who looked worse the wear for having played too many games this season. I think when we reflect in time we will realise that this Ukraine side were very decent throughout with the exception of the goalkeeper. Could be a hard slog against Wales though as not much time to recover and Rob Page has done very well since being in charge full time.

Wales played tonight too

01-06-2022, 08:52 PM
it would have been great at least getting to play wales but this is thee first ever time i'm not distraught our national side is not participating in a WC

and i'm glad our players felt the same :wink:

Sergio sledge
01-06-2022, 08:53 PM
We missed Tierney big style.

Yup, Robertson is a different player with Tierney next to him.

We don't have the same attacking threat without Tierney and McTominay stepping out from centre back. McTominay started to do it towards the end of the game and Hendry made a difference when he came on rather than Cooper who isn't a centre back who can attack.

mayo hibee
Not sure who could get much more out of this group than Clarke - too many cracks being papered over because of a lack of quality in a lot of positions around the field. There is literally not one Scottish centre back of the quality needed to qualify for the world cup. Unlikely to get as handy a world cup qualifying draw again either. A 24 team Euros remains a much more realistic target for this group.

Robertson looked drained by the end. Long season for him. I wouldn't let Hanley near a Scotland shirt again. Souttar would have been better.

hhibs
how can anyone blame Steve Clark for that result?

we should have won the game tonight if half of our players played to there potential. no agression in front of goal.

armstrong, Adams, christie, mcginn, should all have done better infront of goal.

Think you are in a minority there.

01-06-2022, 08:54 PM
Wales played tonight too

yep, their 2nd string

cannastar
01-06-2022, 08:55 PM
most of the key welsh players were rested or used sparingly by the manager again in hindsight if our game had been played on the correct date our players may have still been peaking toward the end of the season and not the spent forces we witnessed tonight.

01-06-2022, 08:56 PM
I blame those Playstations

01-06-2022, 08:58 PM
Felt worse after Hibs meaningless defeat to Dundee. Struggle with international football.

01-06-2022, 09:00 PM
Felt worse after Hibs meaningless defeat to Dundee. Struggle with international football.

01-06-2022, 09:01 PM
Bar Gordon, McGinn, Roberston and Tierney (injured I know) that team is very average.

01-06-2022, 09:02 PM
That was terrible and you could tell after about two minutes the way it was going to play out.

Finally got in to the game when he switched to a back four after an hour which was about 45 minutes too late.

01-06-2022, 09:03 PM
By my logic Messi would be Argentinas top scorer, top assister, taken them to a world cup final and was the first player ever to get most goals, assists and player of the tournament in a major international competition in their recent Copa America win. He is absolutely wonderful for Argentina.

Lets not even consider mentioning any Scottish player in the same sentence as him. Hes just tonight got 2 assists in a 3-0 demolition of Italy.

I love and rate John McGinn. A very, very good player. Villa is his level in my opinion. He isn't better than that. The right move and a good manager may improve him, but I think hes at his peak.

Thanks for making my point. You don’t judge any player, including McGinn, on one performance. He’s generally been excellent for Scotland and writing off him getting a big move on the basis of tonight is ridiculous.

01-06-2022, 09:03 PM
Well done Ukraine, the better team on the night, far too many poor performances by Scottish players and our top players were nowhere near top tonight. Why was Clarke playing a left back at right back in his 1st competitive international, poor decision by Clarke. McGregor goal apart didn't show up, McGinn looked jaded after a long season and we have little up top to threaten most teams. Another major world cup disappointment, seems I've seen this scenario so many times in my lifetime, oh for the times of Jordan, Hansen, Souness, Strachan, Dalglish etc.

01-06-2022, 09:05 PM
Thanks for making my point. You don’t judge any player, including McGinn, on one performance. He’s generally been excellent for Scotland and writing off him getting a big move on the basis of tonight is ridiculous.

I agree, but I'm not doing so on the basis of tonight.

01-06-2022, 09:05 PM
it would have been great at least getting to play wales but this is thee first ever time i'm not distraught our national side is not participating in a WC

and i'm glad our players felt the same :wink:
Could have been embarrassing if Scotland had got to the world cup finals.

Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 09:06 PM
I’m disappointed but it’s times like these that I’m glad it’s only Hibs who can ruin my day/week/month/year with their ****ty results.

Roll on the LJ revolution!

Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 09:07 PM
Well done Ukraine, the better team on the night, far too many poor performances by Scottish players and our top players were nowhere near top tonight. Why was Clarke playing a left back at right back in his 1st competitive international, poor decision by Clarke. McGregor goal apart didn't show up, McGinn looked jaded after a long season and we have little up top to threaten most teams. Another major world cup disappointment, seems I've seen this scenario so many times in my lifetime, oh for the times of Jordan, Hansen, Souness, Strachan, Dalglish etc.

Take Souness out of that list, he would have presumably scored 5 OG’s if he was playing tonight.

01-06-2022, 09:07 PM
Clarke crapped it. Should go now. Replaced by? No idea. But he is murder

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:08 PM
Bar Gordon, McGinn, Roberston and Tierney (injured I know) that team is very average.

Yup.

A few very good players (the ones you’ve mentioned) and then a giant drop in quality to the rest of them with some of them being really poor for this level. We’ve not enough good players to carry dross like Hanley, Cooper, McGregor, Dykes and Adams..

01-06-2022, 09:09 PM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-10867473/amp/Scotland-fans-angered-Andy-Robertsons-boozing-Liverpools-open-bus-parade.html

Club before country

01-06-2022, 09:10 PM
I blame the slow overhyped Hickey and Clarke for every Scotland disappointed I’ve had over the past 50 years. Phew, I can go to bed happy now. Well done Ukraine, the better team. 🙏

01-06-2022, 09:11 PM
What a horrible post :rolleyes:

Ok..Its a horrible world,isn't it really?
People make decisions on what is more important to them.
I do aknowledge that most Ukranains at the game tonight did not travel from their home Country and this game was an opportunity to show support/solidarity for team and Country.
I notice though,that so many young Ukranain men were on the terracings,.
That surprised me,in the circumstances
Just my view.Not looking for a nark.
We got beat fair and square tonight.
Good luck to the Ukraine team at the weekend.

Slava Ukraini

Paulie Walnuts
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-10867473/amp/Scotland-fans-angered-Andy-Robertsons-boozing-Liverpools-open-bus-parade.html

Club before country

I seen people saying that it was ridiculous to be criticising him for it but this is elite sport and the biggest game Scotland have played in years.

Extremely poor from him.

Club before countryA drunk Robertson is streets ahead of most of those imposters. That was days ago ffs

01-06-2022, 09:13 PM
Yup.

A few very good players (the ones you’ve mentioned) and then a giant drop in quality to the rest of them with some of them being really poor for this level. We’ve not enough good players to carry dross like Hanley, Cooper, McGregor, Dykes and Adams..

McGregor is clearly not dross. We had no energy at all tonight and you have to query the preparation. A lot of players knackered. We didn't seem to be treating it like one of the most important of our lives. Clarke found out completely tactically imo totally outnumbered in the middle of the pitch the whole game.

01-06-2022, 09:13 PM
If he hadnt had a beer we would be heading to Cardiff. Gies piece [emoji37]

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:14 PM
McGregor is clearly not dross. We had no energy at all tonight and you have to query the preparation. A lot of players knackered. We didn't seem to be treating it like one of the most important of our lives. Clarke found out completely tactically imo totally outnumbered in the middle of the pitch the whole game.

At this level he is imo.

Guys like McGregor aren’t good enough to be getting to World Cups.

01-06-2022, 09:15 PM

I seen people saying that it was ridiculous to be criticising him for it but this is elite sport and the biggest game Scotland have played in years.

Extremely poor from him.Again, you hate Liverpool.

JamesHFC
01-06-2022, 09:15 PM
Could have been embarrassing if Scotland had got to the world cup finals.

Would have done alright against USA and Iran. Even recent results against England suggest that getting something might have been possible.

I expect Wales or Ukraine will finish 2nd in that group.

01-06-2022, 09:16 PM
A drunk Robertson is streets ahead of most of those imposters. That was days ago ffs

Days ago correct

Thanks for backing up the post

01-06-2022, 09:18 PM
At this level he is imo.

Guys like McGregor aren’t good enough to be getting to World Cups.

Disagree has played many excellent games for Scotland including in recent Euros

JamesHFC
01-06-2022, 09:18 PM
How are the Scotland under 21’s looking? Don’t really follow them but is there hope of some proper talent coming through? Rep of Ireland & Wales seem to produce better young talent.

01-06-2022, 09:20 PM
Days ago correct

Thanks for backing up the postHow long for a beer to leave the system of an adult? Never mind a supreme athlete?

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:20 PM
Again, you hate Liverpool.

Give it a ****ing rest.

If you think a player should be sinking beers 3 days before the biggest game in your living memory of your national team that your captain of then crack on. I think it’s wholly unprofessional and I don’t give a **** if he plays for liverpool, Man Utd, celtic or Burton Albion.

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:22 PM
How long for a beer to leave the system of an adult? Never mind a supreme athlete?

72 hours. So in other words, it would still be in his system now/whilst preparing for todays game.

01-06-2022, 09:24 PM
We won’t have a better chance of a World Cup in a long time. Gordon won’t be there or Marshall, Robertson and McGinn will be past their peak too.

Gutted by that.

01-06-2022, 09:25 PM
How are the Scotland under 21’s looking? Don’t really follow them but is there hope of some proper talent coming through? Rep of Ireland & Wales seem to produce better young talent.

Dreadful I'm afraid.

May21/05/216
01-06-2022, 09:26 PM
Give it a ****ing rest.

If you think a player should be sinking beers 3 days before the biggest game in your living memory of your national team that your captain of then crack on. I think it’s wholly unprofessional and I don’t give a **** if he plays for liverpool, Man Utd, celtic or Burton Albion.Idiot

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

That was an absolute shambles of a performance.

Best team won by a mile.

We’ve failed to turn up a few times for summertime games at Hampden under Clarke.

It’s really tough to take these pish, limp performances whenever you’re within touching distance of actually achieving whether it’s Hibs under Ross or Scotland under Clarke.

Totally acceptable to be hammered on a bus to celebrate a cup final and league cup weeks and months before right enough

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:28 PM
Idiot

Really insightful.

01-06-2022, 09:29 PM
Totally acceptable to be hammered on a bus to celebrate a cup final and league cup weeks and months before right enoughWho was hammered?

01-06-2022, 09:29 PM
Who was hammered?

Scotland

May21/05/216
01-06-2022, 09:31 PM
Really insightful.I know the whole team was poor but you single out our best player so I'm saying your comment is idiotic

Stairway 2 7
01-06-2022, 09:32 PM
Robertson could have had 6 jars this morning and had a better engine than our whole squad. If people think players don't have a beer in the 75 hours before a match your in for a shock. We need someone to blame I suppose. Daily mail link was an added bonus

Paulie Walnuts
Resorting to swearing. You are so obviously anti Liverpool. Do you support Everton? How many beers did he have? Are you a sports scientist? Tell you what I think, you are a prick and I dont like you.

No, I have no real interest in English teams so I don’t support Everton but I’m sure you’ll be along soon to tell me I do.

I don’t know how many beers he had but one beer can remain in your system for 72 hours. That’s a fact and is clearly not the answer you were expecting.

https://superleaguetriathlon.com/training/alcohol-and-its-affect-on-health-and-performance/

“AFFECT ON ATHLETIC PERFORMANCE: DECREASES STRENGTH, POWER AND IMPAIRS MOTOR SKILLS.

Alcohol slows your reaction time and negatively affects hand-eye coordination, balance and judgment, as well as stamina and strength, power and speed. Research has shown these effects can last for up to 72 hours before it is out of your system.”

As for your comments on swearing and then following up with the rest of your post.. really tells us all we need to know about you really.

NC1875

Club before country

He looked like he was still drunk to be fair

01-06-2022, 09:33 PM
My comment against stubbsy has been removed? I still dont like him tho

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:34 PM
Robertson could have had 6 jars this morning and had a better engine than our whole squad. If people think players don't have a beer in the 75 hours before a match your in for a shock. We need someone to blame I suppose. Daily mail link was an added bonus

Ah that makes it ok then. As long as he remains better than guys like Che Adams then jar on.

That was an absolute shambles of a performance.

Best team won by a mile.

We’ve failed to turn up a few times for summertime games at Hampden under Clarke.

It’s really tough to take these pish, limp performances whenever you’re within touching distance of actually achieving whether it’s Hibs under Ross or Scotland under Clarke.
Just seen the goals on the news, awful defending, a poor team I'm afraid.

Paulie Walnuts
My comment against stubbsy has been removed? I still dont like him tho

But not on a bus tho. Helmet

Genuine question

Hibs v hearts Scottish cup semi just gone by

If it came out in press that a hibs player played 90 minutes in the game after being pictured having a party and bevvy on the Wednesday night would you be happy with the preparation for that?

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:36 PM
Genuine question

If it came out in press that a hibs player played 90 minutes in the game after being pictured having a party and bevvy on the Wednesday night would you be happy with the preparation for that?

Anyone with any sort of basic knowledge of sports would know that drinking 3 days before a game is shambolic preparation.

72 hours. So in other words, it would still be in his system now/whilst preparing for todays game.

72 hours?
It takes about an hour give or take for one unit or alcohol how many beers did he have?

Genuine question

If it came out in press that a hibs player played 90 minutes in the game after being pictured having a party and bevvy on the Wednesday night would you be happy with the preparation for that?Only if i was drinking with him. So what?

01-06-2022, 09:37 PM
Anyone with any sort of basic knowledge of sports would know that drinking 3 days before a game is shambolic preparation.Really? Enlighten me

Please cut out the personal abuse. We don’t want to be removing posters.

Paulie Walnuts
72 hours?
It takes about an hour give or take for one unit or alcohol how many beers did he have?

Yes, for driving. Robertsons a footballer though, not a taxi driver :greengrin

Alcohol can effect athletic performance for days. If it was the same rules as for driving then footballers could probably have 6 or 7 pints the night before a game and be fine by 3pm on the Saturday. That’s not the case though.

Anyone with any sort of basic knowledge of sports would know that drinking 3 days before a game is shambolic preparation.

Opened himself up to criticism by doing it and turning in an absolutely dreadful performance. Will probably now pick up an ‘injury’ at some point in the next week along with a few others.

01-06-2022, 09:38 PM
72 hours for a beer to leave your system.....WTF???

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:38 PM
Really? Enlighten me

I already have.

01-06-2022, 09:39 PM
Please cut out the personal abuse. We don’t want to be removing posters.

Someone mentioned a Helmet but it was clearly a hat Robertson was wearing

Thanks though

Stairway 2 7

No, I have no real interest in English teams so I don’t support Everton but I’m sure you’ll be along soon to tell me I do.

I don’t know how many beers he had but one beer can remain in your system for 72 hours. That’s a fact and is clearly not the answer you were expecting.

https://superleaguetriathlon.com/training/alcohol-and-its-affect-on-health-and-performance/

“AFFECT ON ATHLETIC PERFORMANCE: DECREASES STRENGTH, POWER AND IMPAIRS MOTOR SKILLS.

Alcohol slows your reaction time and negatively affects hand-eye coordination, balance and judgment, as well as stamina and strength, power and speed. Research has shown these effects can last for up to 72 hours before it is out of your system.”

As for your comments on swearing and then following up with the rest of your post.. really tells us all we need to know about you really.

And you don't think there is a sliding scale decreasing, plus it was over 72 hours. Plus he was our best player the first half and still had energy the second half after an incredible amount of games played

Gazza said he used to have a whisky in dressing room before games.
He was ***** eh?
Too many slavers on social media

01-06-2022, 09:40 PM
Yes, for driving. Robertsons a footballer though, not a taxi driver :greengrin

Alcohol can effect athletic performance for days. If it was the same rules as for driving then footballers could probably have 6 or 7 pints the night before a game and be fine by 3pm on the Saturday. That’s not the case though.

Nothing to do with driving, it takes the same time for folk who can’t drive 😀

01-06-2022, 09:40 PM
Only if i was drinking with him. So what?

Answers my question really

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:42 PM
And you don't think there is a sliding scale decreasing, plus it was over 72 hours. Plus he was our best player the first half and still had energy the second half after an incredible amount of games played

The Liverpool parade was on Sunday afternoon.) 72 hours on is this afternoon.

Even if his last drink was on Sunday afternoon (which we don’t know) then he’s still not fully recovered for all the training sessions in the build up to this week and he’ll be cutting it fine to be at peak performance for the game. That’s absolutely piss poor preparation from our captain for the biggest game Scotland have had in a generation.

Whether he was our best player or not is irrelevant. If he’d not been drinking a few days before such a big game he’d have potentially played even better.

01-06-2022, 09:43 PM
Clarke got easy ride as per from the journalist’s again with that conference. Tactics wrong again and again.

01-06-2022, 09:45 PM
Clarke got easy ride as per from the journalist’s again with that conference. Tactics wrong again and again.

Very slow to register that it wasn’t working.

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:46 PM
Nothing to do with driving, it takes the same time for folk who can’t drive 😀

For athletes, alcohol is about as bad as it gets in terms of what you can put in your body in preparing for an event.

Robertson drinking on Sunday would undoubtedly have impacted his training on Monday, most likely Tuesday and could potentially have impacted his performance tonight.

Stairway 2 7
01-06-2022, 09:46 PM
The Liverpool parade was on Sunday afternoon.) 72 hours on is this afternoon.

Even if his last drink was on Sunday afternoon (which we don’t know) then he’s still not fully recovered for all the training sessions in the build up to this week and he’ll be cutting it fine to be at peak performance for the warm up. That’s absolutely piss poor preparation from our captain for the biggest game Scotland have had in a generation.

Peak performance in the training sessions and warm up 😆

Stairway 2 7
01-06-2022, 09:47 PM
I doubt he really trained this week after his season, nothing strenuous I'd bet

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:48 PM
Peak performance in the training sessions and warm up 😆

You’re right. Come to think of it I wonder why managers don’t just let players turn up absolutely ****ed to training every day. It appears being professional isn’t really all that much of an issue.

Stairway 2 7
01-06-2022, 09:53 PM
Radja Nainggolan, Verratti, buffon, Wesley Sneijder, Dimitar Berbatov, David Ginola, Slaven Bilic, Ashley Cole, vialli, Rooney and Zidane all smoked. Probably much more, some of them would have got there game for Scotland I think..

AugustaHibs
If Robertson had played well tonight then nobody would criticise his decision to drink.

What actually happened though is he was a ****ing disgrace and is rightfully being called out on it.

captain my arse.

I doubt he really trained this week after his season, nothing strenuous I'd bet
He had a ******g deck chair strapped to his back tonight that’s how strenuous he appeared tonight. On the beach already.

Never captain material imo.

Stairway 2 7
01-06-2022, 09:54 PM
Writing a list of players who have a jar during the week would give my thumb a six pack

May21/05/216
01-06-2022, 09:55 PM
Again, insightful.On the train home from the game and I need something to cheer me so I thought I would reply to your comment if I get blocked for calling out your post then I will live with that some of your posts are silly

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 09:56 PM
Writing a list of players who have a jar during the week would give my thumb a six pack

Go on then - give us a list and some proof of them all doing it days before a huge game.

We’ve already had someone using Paul Gasgoigne as a good example of athletes who drink after all :faf:

Stairway 2 7
01-06-2022, 10:02 PM
Go on then - give us a list and some proof of them all doing it days before a huge game.

We’ve already had someone using Paul Gasgoigne as a good example of athletes who drink after all :faf:

I gave you a list of players who smoked all of them would start for Scotland. Fags will effect a player more. Hibs players are up town during the week all the time. Capello After 2 poor group games at the world Cup let the England players have a drink before there last game to settle them, which they won

01-06-2022, 10:04 PM
IMO theres no way Roberston having a drink on Sunday affected his game tonight. Any of those players could have sat and had a beer at home last night and none of us would have known about it. I think its poor to partially blame the defeat on him drinking a few beers on Sunday. You'd think everyone on here never touches the stuff.

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 10:08 PM
I gave you a list of players who smoked all of them would start for Scotland. Fags will effect a player more. Hibs players are up town during the week all the time. Capello After 2 poor group games at the world Cup let the England players have a drink before there last game to settle them, which they won

I don’t care about fags, you said jars and made out like you could give us a huge list.

Nobody has said it means you can’t win a match. It negatively impacts an athletes performance and can continue to do so for 72 hours. That much really cannot be argued.

Stairway 2 7
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/jamie-vardy-diet-drinks-half-a-bottle-of-port-red-bull-before-leicester-match-a7334921.html%3famp

Jamie Vardy drinks half a bottle of port before every Leicester match and three cans of Red Bull on game day

Paulie Walnuts
IMO theres no way Roberston having a drink on Sunday affected his game tonight. Any of those players could have sat and had a beer at home last night and none of us would have known about it. I think its poor to partially blame the defeat on him drinking a few beers on Sunday. You'd think everyone on here never touches the stuff.

Everyone on here isn’t an elite athlete captaining their country in the biggest game in a generation 3 days after a bevvy and I think it’s safe to say none of them have been sitting at the Scotland camp last night having a beer.

I think it’s safe to say Robertson (or any of the Liverpool or Real Madrid team for that matter) wouldn’t have dreamt of drinking last Wednesday with the Champions League final 3 days later.

01-06-2022, 10:15 PM
Everyone on here isn’t an elite athlete captaining their country in the biggest game in a generation 3 days after a bevvy and I think it’s safe to say none of them have been sitting at the Scotland camp last night having a beer.

Whether it actually did affect him physically or not, I agree it was very poor decision by him to be publicly drinking only days before captaining his national side in such an important game. He’s left himself open to criticism regardless.

01-06-2022, 10:16 PM
On the Robertson debate does anyone actually know it was Alcoholic or non-alcoholic beer he had or how many he had?
We lost tonight because we were the poorer team not because Robertson had a beer or two 72hrs before. What were the other players excuses?

Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 10:17 PM

How can you possibly say that? Nobody knows if it did or didn’t and nobody knows if the other players had a drink or not.

We know Robertson did, we know he was awful tonight, we know Scotland lost.

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 10:19 PM
Whether it actually did affect him physically or not, I agree it was very poor decision by him to be publicly drinking only days before captaining his national side in such an important game. He’s left himself open to criticism regardless.

Yup.

We’ll never know how much it affected him if at all. Even if he had a really good game tonight, he could potentially have been even better had he prepared better. At the elite level, every small detail matters and alcohol 3 days before a game is more than a small detail.

01-06-2022, 10:20 PM
How can you possibly say that? Nobody knows if it did or didn’t and nobody knows if the other players had a drink or not.

We know Robertson did, we know he was awful tonight, we know Scotland lost.

But it wasnt Robertsons fault we lost so the argument about him having a beer 72hrs before is aload of tosh

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 10:22 PM
But it wasnt Robertsons fault we lost so the argument about him having a beer 72hrs before is aload of tosh

Andy Robertson is in theory our best player. He was gash tonight. If he’d performed well we’d have stood a much better chance of winning.

Of course it isn’t solely his fault we lost, but he’s part of a team that could have performed so much better both collectively and individually with him and McGinn probably being the two worst in terms of how far off they were from the level they’re capable of.

01-06-2022, 10:24 PM
Andy Robertson is in theory our best player. He was gash tonight. If he’d performed well we’d have stood a much better chance of winning.

Of course it isn’t solely his fault we lost, but he’s part of a team that could have performed so much better both collectively and individually with him and McGinn probably being the two worst in terms of how far off they were from the level they’re capable of.

Same could be said about the other players. You can keep your anti Robertson agenda going all you want if that makes u happy but its tosh

01-06-2022, 10:27 PM
On the coach back from Hampden. Poor tonight with only Gordon getting pass marks. Clarke’s tactics all wrong. Back next Wednesday for the Armenia game then off to Dublin via Cork for the Ireland game. Everywhere we go…..

LunasBoots
01-06-2022, 10:28 PM

Robertson been good for Liverpool with good players around him but we rarely see it in a Scotland top, looks pretty ordinary if I'm honest.

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 10:28 PM
Same could be said about the other players. You can keep your anti Robertson agenda going all you want if that makes u happy but its tosh

Alcohol having a negative impact on sporting performance is tosh? Aye ok.

01-06-2022, 10:34 PM
Alcohol having a negative impact on sporting performance is tosh? Aye ok.

The fact your singling out robertson is. Lets hope you dont drink 72hrs before you work as may effect your performance.
Robertson hadd plenty time to be ready to play tonight

01-06-2022, 10:38 PM
On the coach back from Hampden. Poor tonight with only Gordon getting pass marks. Clarke’s tactics all wrong. Back next Wednesday for the Armenia game then off to Dublin via Cork for the Ireland game. Everywhere we go…..

That entire team apart from Gordon were a disgrace.

McTominay should be playing in midfield not defence.

CB Hibs 68
01-06-2022, 10:41 PM
Can’t be bothered reading through 24 pages but has MC Ginns performance been called out.? No chance he was the only under performing Scotland player but he was way off the pace.So unlike him but dear oh dear and that miss as well..Basically like the whole team posted missing.Has to be down to the managers selection and team set up.

01-06-2022, 10:43 PM
Can’t be bothered reading through 24 pages but has MC Ginns performance been called out.? No chance he was the only under performing Scotland player but he was way off the pace.So unlike him but dear oh dear and that miss as well..Basically like the whole team posted missing.Has to be down to the managers selection and team set up.

McGinn should have been subbed not long after that miss. He could hardly move at times.

01-06-2022, 10:44 PM
Clarke out.

Wrong team.

Robertson isn't even the best left sided player. Unfortunately Tierney was out.

Just nothing there at all. Embarrassing from Scotland.

01-06-2022, 10:46 PM
Clarke out.

Wrong team.

Robertson isn't even the best left sided player. Unfortunately Tierney was out.

Just nothing there at all. Embarrassing from Scotland.

A few others when walking out of the game saying the same.

01-06-2022, 10:48 PM
A few others when walking out of the game saying the same.

Yep plenty folk saying similar walking away.

I thought tonight was really similar to the Czech game in the Euros, just didn’t show up. Clarke just standing watching without any real attempt to change anything until it was too late was really bad.

May21/05/216
01-06-2022, 10:48 PM
Cesspit

NC1875
01-06-2022, 10:54 PM
The fact your singling out robertson is. Lets hope you dont drink 72hrs before you work as may effect your performance.

Yet didn’t turn up! Oh the irony

01-06-2022, 10:57 PM
Yet didn’t turn up! Oh the irony

Just like the rest of them ffs

Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 11:00 PM

Yeah that’s fine. I’m not making that argument, I’m just questioning the absolutism of HC’s post claiming that it didn’t have an impact on his performance.

JoeT
01-06-2022, 11:09 PM
Got no issue with Robertson celebrating his club season. He spoke well after the game tonight. Drinking 3 nights before Champions League final I'd get the criticism from Liverpool fans given the wage he earns. Playing for Scotland is a privilege but not the same. These June International rounds are ridiculous

cameronw-hfc
01-06-2022, 11:09 PM

If the captain isn't leading by example then he's going to be singled out. It happens at every club, every country and so on. He was crap tonight. He's clearly a great player, but he's not immune to criticisms because he's technically our best player. It's no anti Robertson agenda or anything, it's expecting more from our national team captain.

hibeg
01-06-2022, 11:14 PM
Was in a bar in Spain tonight for the game with a few Scots but mostly Spaniards.
I was bigging up SJM saying he would dominate midfield etc, etc.
Suffice to say everyone was underwhelmed with his performance along with our captain AR
Can’t be bothered reading 20 odd pages at 1am but our 2 most influential players were rank rotten along with the rest, apart from the keeper
Mctominay should have started in midfield, he is not a defender, as Gilmour couldn’t even get in the Norwich team.
Manager responsible for the crap initial line up, get him out.

JoeT
01-06-2022, 11:19 PM
If the captain isn't leading by example then he's going to be singled out. It happens at every club, every country and so on. He was crap tonight. He's clearly a great player, but he's not immune to criticisms because he's technically our best player. It's no anti Robertson agenda or anything, it's expecting more from our national team captain.

Bit of a different task playing for Scotland as opposed to Liverpool...finding Mane or Diaz overlapping with van Dijk tucking in versus passing forward to Dykes or back to Hanley or Cooper is a different sport

01-06-2022, 11:21 PM
Was in a bar in Spain tonight for the game with a few Scots but mostly Spaniards.
Suffice to say everyone was underwhelmed with his performance along with our captain AR
Can’t be bothered reading 20 odd pages at 1am but our 2 most influential players were rank rotten along with the rest, apart from the keeper
Mctominay should have started in midfield, he is not a defender, as Gilmour couldn’t even get in the Norwich team.

In fairness, Gilmour has been brilliant for Scotland and I don’t think anybody can complain about him starting. But he was shocking tonight, should have been hooked earlier. Zinchenko gave our midfield the absolute runaround.

01-06-2022, 11:23 PM
Yep plenty folk saying similar walking away.

I thought tonight was really similar to the Czech game in the Euros, just didn’t show up. Clarke just standing watching without any real attempt to change anything until it was too late was really bad.

He tried to change it at halftime where we were only 1 down, hardly too late to change it?

01-06-2022, 11:23 PM

I thought McGinn was garbage, miles short of what we might expect from him.

That’s the worst I’ve seen him play.

He was the best man at Paul’s wedding at the weekend, if anyone was interested…

Our best guest players were probably the most culpable tonight - McGinn, Robertson and Gilmour.

We badly missed Tierney and Patterson.

It seems that Clarke has got a decent first choice team but starts to struggle a bit when he has to do without a couple of players and doesn’t have the creativity to overcome them. In fairness to him, you didn’t look at the bench and see a multitude of options but it’s his job to find these solutions and whilst he’s definitely had some good performances and results, the disappointments are starting to mount up.

camthebam
01-06-2022, 11:26 PM
I’m chairman of a local team and I know for a fact ~ 50% of our players are partying Friday to Sunday.

I’m not sure what my point is. But we should maybe all lighten up. Play-offs is the best we’ve done in decades and Andy Robertson’s been fan-dobie-dazy for Scotland as far as I can see, let the man drink a beer after a CL final ffs. I didnae want to go to Qatar anyway, looks a pure *****hole. Wales looks worse.

More importantly, was Porto outwitting yon hun on Sportscene (cannae mind his name, Steve something maybe), it was only on on silent in my hotel bar. Has he signed a new contract yet? I sincerely hope so. But I’m maybe off on a wee tangent here.

Some moaning on here min. Chill oot a bit lads, short life we have. Look for the positives.

CB Hibs 68
01-06-2022, 11:48 PM
I’m chairman of a local team and I know for a fact ~ 50% of our players are partying Friday to Sunday.

I’m not sure what my point is. But we should maybe all lighten up. Play-offs is the best we’ve done in decades and Andy Robertson’s been fan-dobie-dazy for Scotland as far as I can see, let the man drink a beer after a CL final ffs. I didnae want to go to Qatar anyway, looks a pure *****hole. Wales looks worse.

More importantly, was Porto outwitting yon hun on Sportscene (cannae mind his name, Steve something maybe), it was only on on silent in my hotel bar. Has he signed a new contract yet? I sincerely hope so. But I’m maybe off on a wee tangent here.

Some moaning on here min. Chill oot a bit lads, short life we have. Look for the positives.At last some commen sense on this thread.I doff my cap to you sir.

02-06-2022, 12:28 AM

Some moaning on here min. Chill oot a bit lads, short life we have. Look for the positives.
Agree with everything other than the short life bit - it's the longest thing we ever do...... :greengrin

Yorkshire HFC
02-06-2022, 05:02 AM
Very slow to register that it wasn’t working.

It's sport - maybe we just got beaten by a better team?

It happens - just move on to the next game.

02-06-2022, 05:54 AM
While I don't really care about Robertson drinking, using examples of players who do drink to defend him is dumb. If they didn't drink, they'd be better off. It certainly never helped Gascoigne.

The very best rarely drink. And tbf, Robertson is one of the very best, he won't do it often.

02-06-2022, 05:57 AM
We were all terrible. Hickey was shocking

02-06-2022, 06:02 AM
Genuinely think the preparation must have been shambolic we looked miles off it in terms of energy. Only two outfield players who looked semi energetic were McTominay and Christie the others were slow laborious and beaten to every second ball. The Ukrainians were everything we were not Zinchenko is clearly a very good player but we imo made him look way better than he is. The only real chances we had were from their keeper who looked a bombscare all night yet he had about a couple of shots to save. Clarke should be getting questioned on the back of that imo both preparation and not changing shape in the first half.

02-06-2022, 06:07 AM
Genuinely think the preparation must have been shambolic we looked miles off it in terms of energy. Only two outfield players who looked semi energetic were McTominay and Christie the others were slow laborious and beaten to every second ball. The Ukrainians were everything we were not Zinchenko is clearly a very good player but we imo made him look way better than he is. The only real chances we had were from their keeper who looked a bombscare all night yet he had about a couple of shots to save. Clarke should be getting questioned on the back of that imo both preparation and not changing shape in the first half.

:agree: It wasn’t even close. 1-3 flattered us massively, it could have been a real hiding without Gordon. We created nothing until very late in the game, for the preparation to have seemingly gone so badly wrong questions need to be asked of the management team.

02-06-2022, 06:08 AM
He tried to change it at halftime where we were only 1 down, hardly too late to change it?

Did we? He swapped a striker. We lost a 2nd mins into the half as he hadn’t changed anything. It was a very strange coaching performance.

02-06-2022, 06:12 AM
I'm prepared to give the players and the manager some slack!

Had this match been played back in March, without any outside influence like a nation being at war, I would have assessed this match as 50/50 possibly slightly more in our favour as we've been on a good run and our good players were playing well internationally and domestically.

However, last night they were much more superior than us in almost every aspect of the game. You can tell that they've had weeks gelling together, albeit without their star players. Their movement was superb. We, however, look very slow with key players obviously suffering what has been a long hard season for many.

We've not become a bad team overnight. Our good players have not become bad players overnight. Last night was just a bad performance against a team who were better prepared, despite the not so minor issue that their nation is at war.

In team sport, it's often said that you are only as good as your weakest player. We had many of those last night. Their weakest player (excluding their goalkeeper) still did their job very well allowing their better players to dominate. We didn't.

02-06-2022, 06:19 AM

SJM performance last night just cost us 5 mill 😔

02-06-2022, 06:22 AM
Did we? He swapped a striker. We lost a 2nd mins into the half as he hadn’t changed anything. It was a very strange coaching performance.

Christie is a completely different type of player to Dykes, plays far deeper and closer to the Ukrainian sitting midfielder whereas Dykes plays on the shoulder of the last defender, to think they were like for like is naïve.

It might not have worked but to say he didn't change it is wrong.

02-06-2022, 06:23 AM
Better team won

Superior in every department apart from goalkeeper

Better team collectively and individually once they got their passing game going with some quality individual performances and won easily in the end

Wish them all the best for Sunday

OldEast
02-06-2022, 06:32 AM
I'm prepared to give the players and the manager some slack!

Had this match been played back in March, without any outside influence like a nation being at war, I would have assessed this match as 50/50 possibly slightly more in our favour as we've been on a good run and our good players were playing well internationally and domestically.

However, last night they were much more superior than us in almost every aspect of the game. You can tell that they've had weeks gelling together, albeit without their star players. Their movement was superb. We, however, look very slow with key players obviously suffering what has been a long hard season for many.

We've not become a bad team overnight. Our good players have not become bad players overnight. Last night was just a bad performance against a team who were better prepared, despite the not so minor issue that their nation is at war.

In team sport, it's often said that you are only as good as your weakest player. We had many of those last night. Their weakest player (excluding their goalkeeper) still did their job very well allowing their better players to dominate. We didn't.

We've not become a bad team overnight?
When did we become a good team? Last night's result should have been a surprise to no one.

Paulie Walnuts
02-06-2022, 06:34 AM
While I don't really care about Robertson drinking, using examples of players who do drink to defend him is dumb. If they didn't drink, they'd be better off. It certainly never helped Gascoigne.

The very best rarely drink. And tbf, Robertson is one of the very best, he won't do it often.

I did find that funny.

Seeing Paul Gascoigne used as a positive example for drinking was quite mind blowing.

Paulie Walnuts
02-06-2022, 06:36 AM

I’ve not singled out Robertson, I replied to a post mentioning the fact he was drinking.

I’ve also criticised Adams and Dykes plenty along with McGregor and others.

02-06-2022, 06:42 AM

He didn’t change the thing that everybody could see needed changed, which was going from a back three to a back four. As soon as he did that we actually got up the park a bit. He was far too late in doing that.

02-06-2022, 06:42 AM
I did find that funny.

Seeing Paul Gascoigne used as a positive example for drinking was quite mind blowing.

Indeed. There is a reason the supposed most talented English player ever got as far as Spurs, and won a few cups. Guy was an absolute fanny off the park. A dreadful example of a player who was good despite drinking. The guy averaged 26 games a season in his club career. Dreadful professional.

02-06-2022, 06:44 AM
We didn't lose because Robertson had a couple of beers on Sunday. We lost because were were outplayed.

Of course there are a number of factors as to why we were outplayed but over the piece they are just a better football team than we are.

02-06-2022, 06:48 AM
If you flipped the play offs and CL final around, Scotland played last weekend, won and Robertson had a few drinks on the Sunday before the CL final on the Wednesday do you think Klopp would have shrugged his shoulders and said it was OK?

I'd suggest there is every chance he wouldn't have played. I'm not really interested in him having a beer one way or another. Scotland has so few top class options that we have to indulge that kind of thing though in a way Liverpool or at international level England or France don't.

Fwiw I don't remember too many defending Ferguson and McGreggor when they went on the lash 2 or 3 days before a Scotland game a few years back.

02-06-2022, 06:50 AM
I blame the people that said they'd like Ukraine to win... the fact that Scotland aren't a particularly good team is neither here nor there.

02-06-2022, 06:55 AM
If you flipped the play offs and CL final around, Scotland played last weekend, won and Robertson had a few drinks on the Sunday before the CL final on the Wednesday do you think Klopp would have shrugged his shoulders and said it was OK?

I'd suggest there is every chance he wouldn't have played. I'm not really interested in him having a beer one way or another. Scotland has so few top class options that we have to indulge that kind of thing though in a way Liverpool or at international level England or France don't.

Fwiw I don't remember too many defending Ferguson and McGreggor when they went on the lash 2 or 3 days before a Scotland game a few years back.

Were Ferguson and McGregor not up until the early hours of the morning though in the hotel bar? It's hardly comparable.

02-06-2022, 06:55 AM
We didn't lose because Robertson had a couple of beers on Sunday. We lost because were were outplayed.

Of course there are a number of factors as to why we were outplayed but over the piece they are just a better football team than we are.

They have better players. They had a few players that would be star players for Scotland.

Scotlands best players didn’t play well.

It also didn’t help that Clarke picked the wrong starting team and wrong formation - the 3 that really hurt us were Hickey, Gilmour and Dykes all being useless.

All this quite simply meant there was only one outcome from early on. Add in Clarke far too long to change it and even when he did at half time - He didn’t change enough and at 2-0 it was over.

OldEast
02-06-2022, 06:59 AM
I blame the people that said they'd like Ukraine to win... the fact that Scotland aren't a particularly good team is neither here nor there.

😂😂😂👍🏻

02-06-2022, 07:31 AM
Very poor last night. Thought Robertson was very good first half but less involved 2nd. Thought Hickey looked ropey defensively first half but had a good 2nd half

Mcginn was his worst game I’ve ever seen him play. Gilmour poor too. And 2 up front?? Any international teams play that anymore?

Simple fact is they were better than us