View Full Version : NHC Scotland v Ukraine 24th March 2022
He's here!
31-05-2022, 07:01 PM
If that’s the case then why are the Ukrainian National team playing when there are more important things happening. When does this “sympathy” stop? This game? The game against Wales? Or do we just award Ukraine the World Cup. I sympathise with all their players and the whole of the Ukrainian population but do not believe that awarding them a game of football will somehow make their lives better.
Nobody's saying it will make their lives better in the sense that it will change the course of this utterly unjustified war. It's about showing nutters like Putin that nuggets of positivity can still be unearthed amid such atrocities. The fact it's a football match is kind of beside the point. It could be any high profile event (eg Eurovision). It's also not about being somehow unpatriotic or 'wanting' Scotland to lose, it's about putting a football match in perspective. Sure, if football means a great deal to you then yes it's trickier to step back and acknowledge the bigger picture but for those who don't attach so much importance to it then it really isn't too hard to understand why so many folk could let a Scotland win slide on this exceptional occasion. There would be a greater good served by Ukraine reaching the World Cup than Scotland or Wales, no question.
31-05-2022, 07:18 PM
I’m supporting Ukraine. They need this. We don’t.
31-05-2022, 07:19 PM
Last post was not meant seriously. Hope Scotland win convincingly.
31-05-2022, 07:39 PM
Nobody's saying it will make their lives better in the sense that it will change the course of this utterly unjustified war. It's about showing nutters like Putin that nuggets of positivity can still be unearthed amid such atrocities. The fact it's a football match is kind of beside the point. It could be any high profile event (eg Eurovision). It's also not about being somehow unpatriotic or 'wanting' Scotland to lose, it's about putting a football match in perspective. Sure, if football means a great deal to you then yes it's trickier to step back and acknowledge the bigger picture but for those who don't attach so much importance to it then it really isn't too hard to understand why so many folk could let a Scotland win slide on this exceptional occasion. There would be a greater good served by Ukraine reaching the World Cup than Scotland or Wales, no question.
Ok, I’ll reply for the sake of anyone in any doubt over the ongoing agenda here..
Put it in perspective by recognising it’s not important, but understand it’s important enough that we should be wanting Ukraine to win ahead of our own country?
I’ll doubt Putin will even know the score tomorrow night, never mind take some sort of message from it.
I think it is about you wanting Scotland to lose. As it usually is.
31-05-2022, 07:50 PM
Im a bit the other way round. Expect Scotland to win tomorrow but lose to Wales.
I think most will be mate (maybe without the ‘expect’ 😂). It’s more a hunch/ fancy for us against Wales.
Although no point even thinking about the weekend until after tomorrow.
I hope wales get beat on Sunday regardless!
31-05-2022, 08:00 PM
I think most will be mate (maybe without the ‘expect’ 😂). It’s more a hunch/ fancy for us against Wales.
Although no point even thinking about the weekend until after tomorrow.
I hope wales get beat on Sunday regardless!
I just want to see Bale in tears on Sunday if we do it.
31-05-2022, 08:50 PM
Wife booked tickets for top gun tomorrow night so now miasing the game, raging
31-05-2022, 09:01 PM
You have my sympathies.
31-05-2022, 09:01 PM
I'm guessing you've lost that loving feeling?
Well Bobby Williamson did say if you want entertainment......... :greengrin
31-05-2022, 10:20 PM
Im a bit the other way round. Expect Scotland to win tomorrow but lose to Wales.
ditto, unfortunately ;( even if Scotland beat Ukraine wales have had a nice long rest
31-05-2022, 10:22 PM
Cancel the tickets…..be a Maverick😏
01-06-2022, 06:46 AM
ditto, unfortunately ;( even if Scotland beat Ukraine wales have had a nice long rest
Sounds like Rangers in 2016 😄
Players would rather play than rest up doing nothing. Momentum is big in football so if Scotland win tonight they have a great chance in the final. Be 50/50 game.
01-06-2022, 06:58 AM
Wales play Poland tonight in the Nations League.
01-06-2022, 07:17 AM
My wife would be taking my daughter.
To be fair I wouldn't be going to see that regardless of whether there's a match on.
He's here!
01-06-2022, 07:29 AM
Ok, I’ll reply for the sake of anyone in any doubt over the ongoing agenda here..
Put it in perspective by recognising it’s not important, but understand it’s important enough that we should be wanting Ukraine to win ahead of our own country?
I’ll doubt Putin will even know the score tomorrow night, never mind take some sort of message from it.
I think it is about you wanting Scotland to lose. As it usually is.
I think you've misread my post.
As I say, it's easier to see the bigger picture when football's become less of a priority in your life.
01-06-2022, 07:35 AM
Is it just me or has the build up to tonight been very low key. Country would normally be buzzing for a game of this importance.
01-06-2022, 07:42 AM
As I say, it's easier to see the bigger picture when football's become less of a priority in your life.
It’s a football match - We should go out to win - and may the best team win …
01-06-2022, 07:56 AM
Looking forward to this. It's been far too long since Scotland have been at a World Cup.
Ukraine aren't a charity case, they will want to earn their place at the finals and won't be looking for any sympathy vote from Scotland fans, as it should be.
The only downer for me is Qatar doesn't feel like a proper World Cup. Leaving aside all the well trodden human rights issues and whatever I'm still not convinced by it. I can't imagine a real carnival atmosphere, there isn't a great footballing heritage there and, whilst I accept this isn't an uncommon occurrence for the southern hemisphere nations, playing it in winter feels wrong as well. I can't imagine a fan zone in the Meadows is November will be much fun.
As a fan I would love another southern European World Cup. An Italia 90 or Spain 82 for the modern day. With the expanded format it's going to get harder for there to be a single host due to the sheer volume of facilities required. With North and Central America hosting in 2026 and I suspect the lure of Uruguay, Argentina & others will be strong for the centenary then we may be waiting a while. Spain and Portugal will have to knock it out the park. Another African World Cup would be great too.
DIXIHIBS
01-06-2022, 07:59 AM
Graeme Souness says he wants Ukraine to win and believes the majority of Scotland fans will too.
I'm all for a public show of support for the Ukrainians, but mon tf. :rolleyes:
Souness probably talking about fellow huns who always want scotland to get beat...strange people.
01-06-2022, 08:03 AM
Is it just me or has the build up to tonight been very low key. Country would normally be buzzing for a game of this importance.
It’s just as well, because inevitably we’re going to get let down.
01-06-2022, 08:19 AM
https://twitter.com/bbcradioscot/status/1531903032480382979?s=21&t=SsSDDR9Uum2FgamNq4Fp0w
‘On the phone in- we're asking is there anything wrong with wanting Ukraine to win?’
Just stop with this.
The Pointer
01-06-2022, 08:22 AM
Haven't trawled through the pages but is the game on anything other than Sky? I assume it'll be on a stream somewhere but the last time I watched one the picture was crap and had a constant buffer.
The Pointer
01-06-2022, 08:22 AM
https://twitter.com/bbcradioscot/status/1531903032480382979?s=21&t=SsSDDR9Uum2FgamNq4Fp0w
‘On the phone in- we're asking is there anything wrong with wanting Ukraine to win?’
Just stop with this.
Clickbait nonsense so must be a slow news day.
Fuzzywuzzy
01-06-2022, 08:24 AM
I actually can't believe this is a thing!!
01-06-2022, 08:26 AM
Just stop with this.
It's being unanimously criticised thankfully.
01-06-2022, 08:27 AM
Haven't trawled through the pages but is the game on anything other than Sky? I assume it'll be on a stream somewhere but the last time I watched one the picture was crap and had a constant buffer.
Just Sky Sports.
If we win tonight then Sunday's match v Wales will be on STV.
Stairway 2 7
01-06-2022, 08:27 AM
Clickbait nonsense so must be a slow news day.
Indeed. Its got the reaction it was looking for and lots of clicks and comments
01-06-2022, 09:18 AM
I didn’t misread it. Just like I don’t misread any of your other thinly veiled digs at Scotland, whether in sport or elsewhere.
There isn’t a bigger picture. It’s a football match.
Most of us probably don’t have football at the very top of our priority lists, but given we’re posting on a football related board, furthermore a thread about tonight’s game.. we probably care enough to want our own teams to win.
01-06-2022, 09:22 AM
Can’t wait for tonight.
Really hope the love for Ukraine isn’t a distraction(for players or the crowd) and it’s just like any other game of this magnitude.
EGL2000
01-06-2022, 10:06 AM
Risky but I actually wouldn't mind seeing robo drop into the back 3 to replace KT and bring hickey in. Had a very good season out in Italy. Robo can also play well inverted (cutting inside), which we seen alot in the champions league final. Safer option is probably just stick Scott McKenna in though.
Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 10:22 AM
Graeme Souness says he wants Ukraine to win and believes the majority of Scotland fans will too.
I'm all for a public show of support for the Ukrainians, but mon tf. :rolleyes:
Weirdo.
Ukraine winning doesn’t stop the war.
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-06-2022, 10:23 AM
Risky but I actually wouldn't mind seeing robo drop into the back 3 to replace KT and bring hickey in. Had a very good season out in Italy. Robo can also play well inverted (cutting inside), which we seen alot in the champions league final. Safer option is probably just stick Scott McKenna in though.
**** that, McKenna is rotten. Back five of Hickey, Hendry, Hanley, McTominay, Robertson for me
01-06-2022, 10:25 AM
**** that, McKenna is rotten.
He's apparently been absolutely outstanding this season. Source? The people who watch him every week.
01-06-2022, 10:26 AM
**** that, McKenna is rotten. Back five of Hickey, Hendry, Hanley, McTominay, Robertson for me
You don’t play as a first team Pick for a promoted Forest team , if you are rotten …
01-06-2022, 10:26 AM
Long shot but plans have been cancelled last minute, if anyone is selling a couple of tickets give me a shout.
01-06-2022, 10:27 AM
I also would prefer not to have Mckenna start, but think O’Donnell should and will start at right back.
Hanley is the one cert at centre half and Robertson to play his usual position. Cooper is another centre half option.
I imagine mctominay will probably play at the back but he could also play in the midfield with McGinn further forward behind Adams.
EGL2000
01-06-2022, 10:37 AM
Been very good this season down at Forrest, also plays in a back three down there.
EGL2000
01-06-2022, 10:39 AM
I also would prefer not to have Mckenna start, but think O’Donnell should and will start at right back.
Hanley is the one cert at centre half and Robertson to play his usual position. Cooper is another centre half option.
I imagine mctominay will probably play at the back but he could also play in the midfield with McGinn further forward behind Adams.
Cooper has been in and out of the team, also part of a tragic Leeds defense this season. However has usually been fairly decent for Scotland.
01-06-2022, 10:41 AM
Cooper has been in and out of the team, also part of a tragic Leeds defense this season. However has usually been fairly decent for Scotland.
I didn’t think he’d played a lot recently so assumed it wouldn’t be him, but apparently was being touted as the one that could step-in.
Assuming fit enough, Souttar is a good option for tonight.
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-06-2022, 10:44 AM
You don’t play as a first team Pick for a promoted Forest team , if you are rotten …
Okay maybe not rotten, just not good enough for Scotland. Will be found out majorly next season, too slow and can’t cope with fast breaks and balls in behind. Looks like a bloke you’ve just met in the boozer after his shift on a building site
01-06-2022, 11:39 AM
Appears everyone is getting the 12:45 train from Waverley to Glaagow.
01-06-2022, 11:39 AM
Okay maybe not rotten, just not good enough for Scotland. Will be found out majorly next season, too slow and can’t cope with fast breaks and balls in behind. Looks like a bloke you’ve just met in the boozer after his shift on a building site
So a bit like Harry Maguire at Manchester United then!
Rotten was a bit of OTT. McKenna was Man of the Match in the Premier League Promotion Play-Off match and, I think, is well respected by the Forest fans. He'll never be a Maldini, but he's certainly not rotten.
01-06-2022, 11:42 AM
So a bit like Harry Maguire at Manchester United then!
Rotten was a bit of OTT. McKenna was Man of the Match in the Premier League Promotion Play-Off match and, I think, is well respected by the Forest fans. He'll never be a Maldini, but he's certainly not rotten.
I disagree. Harry McGuire IS rotten 😁
01-06-2022, 12:03 PM
Lol….
That will definitely test him - big step up ..wonder if he will still be a regular first pick in the top league .
He’s a decent footballer for a big fella - and has a good turn of pace when he gets going . Think he’s better than he gets credit for - still relatively young and raw at times though …
01-06-2022, 12:15 PM
I get the point, but Grant Hanley captained a promoted Norwich team and he's pretty rotten tae. It's all relative though, "pretty rotten" is the better of our centre half options :greengrin
01-06-2022, 12:18 PM
I think I'd rather have Hickey at RB than O'Donnell. O'Donnell has done well for Scotland, but he's crap. He'd no even get his game at Hibs.
01-06-2022, 12:25 PM
I get the point, but Grant Hanley captained a promoted Norwich team and he's pretty rotten tae. It's all relative though, "pretty rotten" is the better of our centre half options :greengrin
Hanley is capable of outstanding performances for Scotland as well.
01-06-2022, 12:30 PM
Just stop with this.
Interesting language used in that tweet. "It's a huge night for Scotland as they try to take a step forward towards the World Cup tonight.", shirley that should be 'we' given it is BBC Scotland, oh wait a minute, of course it is 'they':rolleyes:
He's here!
01-06-2022, 01:39 PM
I didn’t misread it. Just like I don’t misread any of your other thinly veiled digs at Scotland, whether in sport or elsewhere.
There isn’t a bigger picture. It’s a football match.
Most of us probably don’t have football at the very top of our priority lists, but given we’re posting on a football related board, furthermore a thread about tonight’s game.. we probably care enough to want our own teams to win.
If you're referring to my far from thinly-veiled digs at the SNP on the Holy Ground then I'd contend that being anti-Scottish nationalism doesn't make me (or millions of other Scots) anti-Scottish. As for thinly veiled digs at Scotland in sport, where have I made these? I've made it clear that international football no longer means what it once did to me (a strong childhood memory is crying as Scotland lost to Peru in 78...I honestly believed we were going to win the World Cup!) and when I look at today's Scotland squad I actually don't recognise more than half the names there. That's part of a general waning of interest in football with the exception of Hibs, who run too deep in the blood to abandon. I just don't have that affinity any more but I don't recall posting anything anti-Scotland (unless admitting I'd have been happy to see England win last year's Euros final counts).
When I was growing up and football-obsessed I used to feel that the world revolved around the game I was at (and my mood was very much shaped by the final score), but in recent years as I've attended fewer and fewer games it's been in some ways liberating to edge towards the world where football matters not a jot. When Scotland played England at the aforementioned Euros I thought it would be a good opportunity to get the local supermarket quiet and was taken aback to find it as busy as normal. Ditto being in town when Hearts were at Hampden the other week. I thought there would be some sense of an Edinburgh team being in a cup final, but there was not even a hint of it. The (long-winded) point I'm trying to make is that when you step away from viewing things through a football-only lens it's not hard to see why many will be instinctively rooting for Ukraine. There's no hidden agenda there, just a point of view - and I'm not asking you to agree with it.
01-06-2022, 03:44 PM
Oh baby do you know that’s worth.
Lyndon Dykes is the best on earth.
01-06-2022, 05:01 PM
Anyone know of a watering hole in town that I could watch the game with my 15 yo son? Most places Seems to be quite strict on that.
01-06-2022, 05:06 PM
My wife would be taking my daughter.
To be fair I wouldn't be going to see that regardless of whether there's a match on.
Not worth the grief from the boss!
01-06-2022, 05:12 PM
Outside the ground now, certainly a lot more Ukrainian supporters than I thought there would be
How many tickets did they get
01-06-2022, 05:15 PM
Outside the ground now, certainly a lot more Ukrainian supporters than I thought there would be
How many tickets did they get
2k i think
Stairway 2 7
01-06-2022, 05:19 PM
Zinchenkos pre match press conference was very emotional. Safe to say everyone bar Russians will be against us tonight 😆
01-06-2022, 05:20 PM
2k i think
Thousands more than that here now
01-06-2022, 05:21 PM
Very positive starting 11 for us.
01-06-2022, 05:22 PM
What had Forth One posted that got subsequently deleted, out of interest?
01-06-2022, 05:23 PM
Great line up.
We’re going for this.
01-06-2022, 05:24 PM
352?
01-06-2022, 05:29 PM
A very patronising video about it being ok to let Ukraine win.
01-06-2022, 05:32 PM
Some nonsense about how big a game for Scotland this was and how long it's been since Scotland last qualified but that none of it really matters and that we want Scotland to win but just wish Ukraine didn't have to lose.
Hibiza
01-06-2022, 05:38 PM
C'mon Scotland.
01-06-2022, 05:45 PM
352?
Yes Billy
Delighted with 2 up top.
01-06-2022, 05:47 PM
Team largely as you would expect. RWB only question mark and he's gone for Hickey
Buzzing now. Cmon Scotland!!!
01-06-2022, 05:54 PM
I'd maybe have started Souttar for Mctominay and Christie for Gilmour.
Shame Fraser has burnt his bridges.
01-06-2022, 06:05 PM
I canny believe they’ve got Souness as a pundit.
01-06-2022, 06:05 PM
aye well done Sky you ****s and gtf Souness
Can't disagree with a word he's said so far
01-06-2022, 06:12 PM
Souness never said at any time that he wants anything other than a Scotland win tonight.
Just switched it on, he's obviously done a massive uturn then.
Tha Cabbage Kid
01-06-2022, 06:32 PM
guys im living abroad and want to catch the game. hesgoal is gone. anyone recomment another option to watch the game? PM me.
cheers,
01-06-2022, 06:33 PM
Just switched it on, he's obviously done a massive uturn then.
Never said it .
Media yada yada yada.
Some nonsense about how big a game for Scotland this was and how long it's been since Scotland last qualified but that none of it really matters and that we want Scotland to win but just wish Ukraine didn't have to lose.
Can't see a lot wrong with that to be honest 🤷*♂️
Mikey_1875
01-06-2022, 06:36 PM
Hoping we can dominate the centre of the park tonight and control the game from there. If we get the first goal I can’t see us being pegged back.
I canny believe they’ve got Souness as a pundit.
What's wrong with him?
01-06-2022, 06:43 PM
Looking forward to this game, don’t normally pay much attention to Scotland games unless they’re playing England. This one has caught my imagination so watching it with the laddie and supporting Scotland, would love to see them at the World Cup.
01-06-2022, 06:43 PM
Come on Scotland, let's do this! 🏴
01-06-2022, 06:48 PM
mon scotland in aboot thum
Hampden in the sun luvly jubly
01-06-2022, 06:52 PM
Ukraine playing out from the back. Let's get right up close to them.
01-06-2022, 06:53 PM
i think he should have played that on, he can easily book the Ukrainian when there's a break in play
01-06-2022, 06:53 PM
That's a shocker of a tackle.
01-06-2022, 06:55 PM
Brilliant save.
great save gordon
Gordon with his usual standard of goalkeeping. Excellent save.
01-06-2022, 06:56 PM
I honestly don't get Callum McGregor. He offers nothing.
Gordon seems to be getting better with age.
I honestly don't get Callum McGregor. He offers nothing.
Very seldom brings his Celtic form to Scotland but he's a good pointer and we always need one of those.
01-06-2022, 06:57 PM
That's a brutal tackle.
01-06-2022, 06:59 PM
What's wrong with him?
He’s a prick
01-06-2022, 07:01 PM
Not sure on the politik of praising a former one of them, but I'm really impressed by Hickey. What a career he's making for himself. Looks very composed for such a young player!
01-06-2022, 07:03 PM
what a save again gordon
01-06-2022, 07:04 PM
That's a world class save.
He’s a prick
If you say so. 🙄
Decent game. Scotland giving away too many chances though.
01-06-2022, 07:05 PM
If you say so. 🙄
Okay😂 not sure why my opinion on him is bothering you so much tbh.
what a save again gordon
This doesn't bode well for a Scottish win.
01-06-2022, 07:06 PM
Gordon really is World class, in the form of his life.
They are a pretty decent side likes
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
What a performance so far by Gordon.
The Hearts prick.
01-06-2022, 07:07 PM
And AGAIN from Gordon.
Finger oot the hole, Scotland!!!
Andymac85
01-06-2022, 07:08 PM
Scotland look like they are playing in slow motion compared with the Ukraine.
01-06-2022, 07:10 PM
Robbo doing his best cha cha slide impression there
01-06-2022, 07:10 PM
World class keeper
01-06-2022, 07:11 PM
Robertson saw the headlines :)
Ukraine will tire I think. Huge amount of mental/nervous energy adding to what they've already put in. There's only so long adrenaline will last
Never been a fan of Grant Hanley
cameronw-hfc
01-06-2022, 07:15 PM
Ref clearly wanting the fairytale Ukraine win
Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 07:15 PM
Not a fan of Adams.
Feel like everything he tries just never quite comes off.
Mikey_1875
01-06-2022, 07:18 PM
Mcgregor chasing shadows
Fifehibee1960
01-06-2022, 07:19 PM
We look knackered already… we look a poor side compared to Ukraine
01-06-2022, 07:20 PM
oh dear
01-06-2022, 07:20 PM
dunno where we're going to find two goals from
01-06-2022, 07:21 PM
Ahh well.
Nice dream while it lasted.
It's the Euros all over again. Can't get near them.
Great finish and we will do well to get back into this. They are a good bit better than us
Wonderful touch although I think (unusually) Gordon made it easier for him
Another uninspiring, insipid Scotland performance. Getting what we deserve here.
JamesHFC
01-06-2022, 07:22 PM
Surprised it took them this long. Much better team.
Tommy75
01-06-2022, 07:22 PM
Gordon really is World class, in the form of his life.
World class? C'mon, he's a very good goalkeeper but not world class.
01-06-2022, 07:23 PM
Another uninspiring, insipid Scotland performance. Getting what we deserve here.
Yep dreadful so far.
Ukraine would easily be 3 or 4 up if it wasn't for Craig Gordon.
He really is.
They've been better side but it's a 60 yard punt, one touch and in. Shocking defending.
01-06-2022, 07:24 PM
He really is in his current form.
01-06-2022, 07:25 PM
Iiiiiit's glorious failure time!
01-06-2022, 07:25 PM
The performance so far tonight has been.
cameronw-hfc
01-06-2022, 07:26 PM
Midfield 3 have been shocking for us. Nowhere near getting a grip on things
01-06-2022, 07:27 PM
He really is.
Craig Gordon on this seasons form is World Class.
01-06-2022, 07:27 PM
Scotland are truly awful.
I really did think we had to score first this evening.
Still plenty of time so hopefully up the tempo
Tommy75
01-06-2022, 07:29 PM
He really is.
Sorry but I disagree. The likes of Peter Schmeichel, Edwin Van Der Sar and Neuer broke the threshold in to world class, do you really think Craig Gordon can be considered to be at the same level as them?
Paulie Walnuts
We’ll forever struggle until we can unearth a forward.
These two are chronic.
Scotland players need a rocket at half time, the intensity and desire is a long way off
They're much sharper, quicker on and off the ball and we have Adams.
Scotland are truly awful.
They've never been that great, kind of living of a nil nil draw with England in the Euros, apart from that?
01-06-2022, 07:30 PM
McGinn's a waste of a jersey so far.
01-06-2022, 07:31 PM
How far was that boy allowed to travel...
McGinn's a waste of a jersey so far.
Not the only one
The higher ranked team, who have had three warm up games and two months training are winning?
Not a huge shock.
This is murder.
Scotland getting what we deserve here.
We need to get an extra body into that back line. The 3 are all at sea and can't cope with the movement.
01-06-2022, 07:32 PM
Sorry but I disagree. The likes of Peter Schmeichel, Edwin Van Der Sar and Neuer broke the threshold in to world class, do you really think Craig Gordon can be considered to be at the same level as them?
In current form yes.
Neville Southall was regarded as world class at one point in his career due to his tremendous form, Gordon fits the same mould.
JammyDoidger
We've not laid a glove here? Scared to go near them, or can't get near them. One of the two.
cameronw-hfc
Not sure how Adams has suddenly turned crap according to some on here, but he's considerably better than anything we've had in recent years, and im sure nobody was calling him crap after the Denmark game. Poor first half from everyone
01-06-2022, 07:33 PM
Mctominay is wasted playing as deep as he is, we need his strength and passing ability further up the park.
He continuously pulls off breathtaking saves. Every bit as good as Goram and Leighton in terms of Scottish keepers. As good as them this season anyway.
Not the only one
Agreed. It's quite unlike SJM though.
Back 4, swap Hickey for O'Donnell, McGregor for Christie and move McTominay into midfield. Completely overrun by them this half.
mayo hibee
If Gordon was World Class he'd have played consistently at a much higher level than he did. Very good keeper alright but has always had a clanger in him.
01-06-2022, 07:34 PM
Just because he isn’t breaking boundaries doesn’t mean they’re not world class.
And I’d actually argue that Gordon is breaking boundaries at his age.
cameronw-hfc
In current form yes.
Talking rubbish. To be world class you need a hell of a lot more than shot stopping. Gordon is a top class shot stopper, but he's nowhere near top class in pretty much every other aspect of goalkeeping, Ie, coming off his line for crosses and distribution being two massive weak points of his.
He's brilliant for Scotland, but let's not push it and say he world class when truly world class goalies would make him look silly an all round keeper.
Well that was ****.
pollution
Souness will be happy.
01-06-2022, 07:35 PM
Carbon copy of the Czech and Croatia games in the Euros. Surely we've learned from that?
Think McTominay needs pushed into midfield and Hickey is like a wee boy lost.
01-06-2022, 07:35 PM
Gordon is a brilliant keeper, but come on. Some folk never watched the likes of Neuer, Buffon or Allison. Levels above. If Gordon was world class, he'd be playing at a much higher level, even than Celtic, regardless of his age.
He is a very good shot stopper, maybe even world class in that regard. But not a world class all around goalie.
01-06-2022, 07:36 PM
Ukranian keeper has had **** all to do, nowt nada zilch
hhibs
Craig Gordon only guy playing for the jersey,the rest very poor.
Hook Dykes for Christie
Utterly awful 45 minutes.
If Gordon was World Class he'd have played consistently at a much higher level than he did. Very good keeper alright but has always had a clanger in him.
What keeper doesn't?
Our right hand side defensive play is terrible and Hickey is lost, he should never have started in this game. McTam is no much better in that position. It’s a strange team.
NC1875
Gordon “WORLD” class 😂😂
01-06-2022, 07:37 PM
Gordon is a brilliant keeper, but come on. Some folk never watched the likes of Neuer, Buffon or Allison. Levels above. If Gordon was world class, he'd be playing at a much higher level, even than Celtic, regardless of his age.
He is a very good shot stopper, maybe even world class in that regard. But not a world class all around goalie.
Is shot stopping not 99% of a keepers remit?
JammyDoidger
01-06-2022, 07:38 PM
Hook Dykes for Christie
If I was Hooking any of the strikers it wouldn't be dykes that's for sure. Adams has been a disgrace so far.
Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 07:39 PM
Just because he isn’t breaking boundaries doesn’t mean they’re not world class.
And I’d actually argue that Gordon is breaking boundaries at his age.
I look at the EPL teams and he’d struggle to get into the top 6 imo.
He’s not as good as Ederson, Allison, Mendy, Lloris, Ramsdale, De Gea, Schmeichel from the EPL. He’s not as good as Neuer, Ter Stegen, Donnarumma, Courtois, Handanovic from Europe.
He’s very good, but these guys are world class. He’s a bit below that level imo.
01-06-2022, 07:39 PM
Not sure how Adams has suddenly turned crap according to some on here, but he's considerably better than anything we've had in recent years, and im sure nobody was calling him crap after the Denmark game. Poor first half from everyone
Our two strikers haven't scored in their last 13 competitive games.
Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2022, 07:40 PM
Nowhere near it nowadays.
He was hampered by injury at Sunderland but even prior to that he was dropped out a couple of times.
At 40 Van Der Sar was playing for Man Utd, Buffon PSG, Kahn Bayern Munich. Craig Gordon is playing for Hearts and he's never really been close to a club of that stature in his career.
There's a reason for that. Very good goalkeeper. Nowhere near the greats.
Gilmore off, McTominay into midfield please. Need a bit if drive in there and Gilmire isn't up to that job I'm afraid. Need a big 45 from Scotland now. Poor first half from us
mayo hibee
01-06-2022, 07:41 PM
What keeper doesn't?
Relative to the frequency that Gordon has had them over the years, loads of keepers.
01-06-2022, 07:42 PM
wow Souness in the studio ! Didn't this bellend say we should have just gave Ukraine a free pass to the world cup ?
mayo hibee
Not even close. Command of the penalty box and distribution with feet are every bit as important these days.
Mikey_1875
The defending for that goal gets worse each time you see it. Fully agree McTominay needs pushed into midfield. Take your pick of the three to replace.
01-06-2022, 07:43 PM
Talking rubbish. To be world class you need a hell of a lot more than shot stopping. Gordon is a top class shot stopper, but he's nowhere near top class in pretty much every other aspect of goalkeeping, Ie, coming off his line for crosses and distribution being two massive weak points of his.
He's brilliant for Scotland, but let's not push it and say he world class when truly world class goalies would make him look silly an all round keeper.
Yes you are talking rubbish, take the green tinted glasses off and give the guy the credit he deserves.
wow Souness in the studio ! Didn't this bellend say we should have just gave Ukraine a free pass to the world cup ?
No
That was an awful goal to lose. No pressure on the ball leading to a long ball that takes our defence out. Superb take by the forward, but a poor goal to lose at this level.
Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 07:44 PM
Adams and Dykes must be the worst pairing in the top 50 or 60 international teams.
A couple of huddy’s, Adams by far the worst of the 2 today.
(Goal incoming [emoji28])
01-06-2022, 07:44 PM
I look at the EPL teams and he’d struggle to get into the top 6 imo.
He’s not as good as Ederson, Allison, Mendy, Lloris, Ramsdale, De Gea, Schmeichel from the EPL. He’s not as good as Neuer, Ter Stegen, Donnarumma, Courtois, Handanovic from Europe.
He’s very good, but these guys are world class. He’s a bit below that level imo.Did you say Aaron Ramsdale is world class?
01-06-2022, 07:45 PM
Did you say Aaron Ramsdale is world class?
Not sure about world class but he's a better all round goalkeeper than Craig Gordon.
01-06-2022, 07:46 PM
No
Glad to hear that , Must be the rumour mill talking pish
01-06-2022, 07:47 PM
He's miles better than Gordon
01-06-2022, 07:48 PM
The team balance just doesn’t look right and Ukraine have worked out Hickeys side is a weakness.
But the main issue is central midfield - getting a run around chasing the ball.
It was a risk going with 2 up front and starting Hickey in such an important game.
Ukraine score next it’s over.
hhibs
01-06-2022, 07:48 PM
Clarke has his work cut out,needs to change team ,tactics and attitude,this present set up looks beat already.
Suggest he needs to do it now,no messing about or ,to me ,the game is lost so hook now not at 65 mins !
01-06-2022, 07:50 PM
That was an awful goal to lose. No pressure on the ball leading to a long ball that takes our defence out. Superb take by the forward, but a poor goal to lose at this level.
Unacceptable goal to lose at int level. Horrible.
01-06-2022, 07:52 PM
So so poor
01-06-2022, 07:53 PM
that's game
Team of ball watchers. No movement throughout.
FFS game over
JamesHFC
Saves getting battered by Wales on Sunday.
For **** sake. So so poor.
hickey hopeless
Where the f*** is the defence?!
01-06-2022, 07:54 PM
Scotland haven't turned up tonight. Disgrace.
Oh well, maybe next time
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Have we even created a chance?
We just haveny got them have we
**** off Scotland.
NC1875
Hickey 15 million ? Absolute dug*****
Clarke has made a Mike Hunt of this tonight!
Shocking performance from Scotland tonight.
Mikey_1875
Rubbish. Rolled over and had our tummies tickled by a hungrier side.
Scotland poor again when it matters, all the usual hope for them to bottle it again.
01-06-2022, 07:55 PM
That cross was only going to one player.
hickey hopeless
Is this the guy who’s being banded about at £25 mill :faf:
Paulie Walnuts
I did and tbf I don’t even think that myself, I just got carried away listing goalies I think are better :greengrin
He’s better than Gordon though and as you say, he’s not world class either.
Well Hickey was a weakness 1st half and Scotland didn’t make the change - goal comes from not being able to stop cross and defend it.
Would be amazed if Scotland even manage to score here - flat and disjointed chasing shadows wasting a lot of energy.
Rubbish. Rolled over and had our tummies tickled by a hungrier side.
Hungrier and technically superior as well. We are nowhere near them.
Hickey 15 million ? Absolute dug*****
Be used to the slow pace of Italian game. This is too quick for him.
Really poor defending and no goal threat.
cameronw-hfc
01-06-2022, 07:56 PM
Yes you are talking rubbish, take the green-tinted glasses off and give the guy the credit he deserves.
They're well and truly off, he's an amazing keeper, but nowhere near world-class. When coaching my keepers I tell them to watch Ederson, Alisson, keepers that are good literally everywhere. Gordon doesn't fall into that category, he's a brilliant shot stopper, but communication, positioning, distribution (long and short), sweeping, all huge parts of being a keeper and Gordon is great at one or two of those attributes, he's very average to poor at others.
He's good for our level, and would start for a lot of teams lacking a top class keeper, but he's not even close to the remit of world class.
If Ukraine had any nerves before this match, they've gone now. Sharper, quicker, fitter, hungrier. God know what the Scotland players have been doing in prep for this game. Its horrendous.
Is this the guy who’s being banded about at £25 mill :faf:
i've really never understood the hype tbf
cannastar
01-06-2022, 07:57 PM
knew from starting line up we would stuggle mctominay at centre back was never going to work against the ukraine srike force. gordon has kept the score down thus far.
NC1875
Anonymous Callum McGregor as usual for Scotland as well.
Pathetic performance from Scotland. Pathetic
Utter Raphael
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Scotland are hopeless.
01-06-2022, 07:58 PM
Anonymous Callum McGregor as usual for Scotland as well.
Pathetic performance from Scotland. Pathetic
Unfortunately, yes. Pathetic. Massive let down.
Billy gilmour is a man down. Can’t get near anybody.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
01-06-2022, 07:58 PM
well done craig gordon avoiding an embarrassment for this side
so far
hhibs
01-06-2022, 07:59 PM
Clarke has his work cut out,needs to change team ,tactics and attitude,this present set up looks beat already.
Suggest he needs to do it now,no messing about or ,to me ,the game is lost so hook now not at 65 mins !
Predictable ,absolutely clear this was going to happen
Clarke chiefly to blame IMO
I really don’t get playing Hickey out there. Poor guy looks lost.
The big issue though is goal scoring, we just don’t have a clinical striker. Ukraine have a guy up top who has scored 45 goals for them. Lyndon Dykes has 64 goals in his entire career at club and international level.
Very poor performance. Our players all look like it is one game too many this year.
Chorley Hibee
Looks like that's exactly what we've done.
I really don’t get playing Hickey out there. Poor guy looks lost.
The big issue though is goal scoring, we just don’t have a clinical striker. Ukraine have a guy up top who has scored 45 goals for them. Lyndon Dykes has 64 goals in his entire career at club and international level.
Don't think that's the issue tonight. The issue is they've dominated the middle of the park.
01-06-2022, 08:00 PM
Why Clarke thought it was a good idea to go with 2 up front and give Hickey his debut in such an important game is madness.
Add in Gilmour been really poor and they look like a team who have never played together.
Ukraine are good but Scotland awful - no shots on target in 55mins.
01-06-2022, 08:00 PM
Clarke oot - he's lucked out in getting us to the Euros via the back door, but under him Scotland have never looked convincing.
This is howling.
01-06-2022, 08:01 PM
Gutted by this performance, defense all at sea.
01-06-2022, 08:02 PM
and btw McGregor and Gilmore have been absolutely utter p@sh
that's game
Set and match, think they'll beat Wales
and btw McGregor and Gilmore have been absolutely utter p@sh
Think it’s fair to say only Gordon gets pass marks so far.
Stonewall
01-06-2022, 08:03 PM
Predictable ,absolutely clear this was going to happen
Clarke chiefly to blame IMO
Nonsense-only get so far with inferior players.
Clarke oot - he's lucked out in getting us to the Euros via the back door, but under him Scotland have never looked convincing.
This is howling.
:agree: Let somebody else earn a few bob leading a shower of nondescripts.
Set and match, think they'll beat Wales
Wouldn't be too sure of that.
Sergio sledge
Clutching at straws maybe, but why wasn't their 2nd goalscorer given a yellow card for leaving the field of play when he scored? Would have been a 2nd booking and a red card.
This is howling.
While the depth of squad has improved - I’ve said for years Scotland don’t have good enough players when it matters.
Not a Clarke fan but don’t see even a decent manager doing much more with the limited players the country produces.
01-06-2022, 08:04 PM
McGinn should probably be off there.
McTominay bringing nothing to the side as usual.
Mcbizz1998
knew from starting line up we would stuggle mctominay at centre back was never going to work against the ukraine srike force. gordon has kept the score down thus far.
McTominay is so poor. The fact he plays for United tells you everything you need to know about where they are as a club right now.
Mcbizz1998
01-06-2022, 08:05 PM
Clutching at straws maybe, but why wasn't their 2nd goalscorer given a yellow card for leaving the field of play when he scored? Would have been a 2nd booking and a red card.
If that’s right then it’s a sympathy vote, pure and simple.
01-06-2022, 08:06 PM
This is howling.
To be replaced by who??
I get your anger/despondence and dismay.
I'm the same, I don't know where we go or if replacing him will improve us.
01-06-2022, 08:06 PM
Shot on target at least.
01-06-2022, 08:07 PM
The lack of composure is absolutely staggering. But why?
01-06-2022, 08:07 PM
Adams looks like he has concrete wellies on. I know Dykes was booked but he was actually doing ok.
NC1875
01-06-2022, 08:08 PM
How so many of this Scotland team play in the premier league is beyond me. Dreadful and paid a fortune for it
It’s hard not to admire how Ukraine are playing They are now taking thier foot off the gas
Complacency could let Scotland back into the game
Ach well time to look out the Iran scarf.
01-06-2022, 08:09 PM
awk freakin come on McTominay ffs man