View Full Version : He’s out of his depth

Pages : [1] 2 3

AL-Qaholik
05-02-2022, 03:57 PM
Simple as that, really.

Personally, I think his card is already marked.

Juice-Terry
Starting to think that way as well...

1 point from 9 this week :faf:

05-02-2022, 04:03 PM
Needs to go if Arbroath put us out.

05-02-2022, 04:03 PM
It’s becoming clearer with every game.

05-02-2022, 04:04 PM

Very funny eh.

05-02-2022, 04:04 PM
The Malloney experiment has failed.

05-02-2022, 04:05 PM
When he didn’t seem to think we needed a midfielder in the window, that concerned me.

05-02-2022, 04:05 PM
The poison pushers are out in force already. Predictable I suppose.

hibby rae
05-02-2022, 04:06 PM
Simple as that, really.

We're a work in progress but I'm not sure what he's meant to do if none of the players seem capable of scoring.

Decent balls go into the box and no one is on the end of them and it seems to have been that way since the split.

pollution
05-02-2022, 04:07 PM
When he was introduced as the new manager I thought a smart young man on his way to top tier management.

Now he looks lost, bewildered.

Still right behind him though.

05-02-2022, 04:07 PM
When he was introduced as the new manager I thought a smart young man on his way to top tier management.

Now he looks lost, bewildered.

Still right behind him though.

You'll be lost too then!

villahibs
05-02-2022, 04:08 PM
Take the hit now. Don’t persevere with this farcical experiment out of stubbornness

Broxburn Greens
Yup, players raised their game on Tuesday but looked clueless today.

Just doesn’t know how to change it, doesn’t seem to understand that we are not going to get the time on the ball his system needs. Closed down almost instantly and forced to pass side to side.

Midfield absent and doesn’t seem to be a creative player on the park.

Said to my laddie the day we’d have been better going for Jim Goodwin when Ross was sacked. Although I’ve always said we should never have sacked Ross in the first place.

As the OP said out of his depth.

Fuzzywuzzy
**** me

When he didn’t seem to think we needed a midfielder in the window, that concerned me.

Was so obvious. JDH and Campbell were atrocious. We were so easy to play against for most of that game, every player receives the ball with their back to goal and they just pressed every pass that went to a Hibs player in their half.

Yorkshire HFC

And what would that achieve?

Do you think Pep Guardiola would pitch up with £50m to spend to replace him?

He's a young manager in a new job - give him a chance.

john rossi
05-02-2022, 04:09 PM
He is a Rabbit caught in headlights this guy is clueless no shape and no midfield bottom six and stay clear of relegation. Worst Hibs team I have seen in many a year. Risky appointment from Ron Gordon should have gone for a safe pair of hands in Lennon.

Just said it on the match day thread but for me we’re just a very average team and on par with St Mirren etc.

I think we have been for the past while too, but the main difference has and always had been Martin Boyle. As soon as teams stopped him we really struggled.

We need alot more quality all over the squad.

He might well be proven to be out of his depth but he inherited the Martin Boyle team, won his first two games with Boyle, and hasn’t won any (Cove aside) without him.

We didn’t fix the midfield in the window and that might well end up costing him his job, but a problem that pre dates him and what got Ross sacked. He just needs to survive the rest of the season and then start to fix the glaring issues.

He does need to come up with a new approach though. Maybe a step backwards, go more basic and go 451 or some such and then implement his 343 when we have a new midfield.

Guys on our supporters bus already saying they won't be renewing STs next season. The club needs to get a ****ing grip or we will be scraping about bottom 6 for seasons!!!!

He is a Rabbit caught in headlights this guy is clueless no shape and no midfield bottom six and stay clear of relegation. Worst Hibs team I have seen in many a year. Risky appointment from Ron Gordon should have gone for a safe pair of hands in Lennon.

There is nothing safe about Neil Lennon!😅😂

05-02-2022, 04:11 PM
Worse that Sauzee was -no Organisation ..St Mirren look much better organised. Shambles

05-02-2022, 04:12 PM
I wouldn't trust Ron and Ben to get the next guy right either.

05-02-2022, 04:13 PM

Neither would I. They are to blame for this mess …

05-02-2022, 04:14 PM
I want to disagree with the OP so much but simply can’t.

The question for me is how long can the fans remain patient?

hibby rae
05-02-2022, 04:15 PM
And what would that achieve?

Do you think Pep Guardiola would pitch up with £50m to spend to replace him?

He's a young manager in a new job - give him a chance.

It's a valid point. Even the best managers have had crap spells when coming into teams. Look at Klopp's initial record at Liverpool, or O'Neill for NI.

Kneejerk reactions won't help the team improve.

HendoDelivered
05-02-2022, 04:15 PM
Feels like we are entering another Calderwood/Fenlon pointlessness type era again. A massive gamble that’s looking like it won’t be paying off. Think it will only get worse as well.

05-02-2022, 04:16 PM

This is something I’ve been thinking about. Ron has clearly put his money into the team and wants the best for us, I don’t think that can be questioned.

Kensell aswell will have the right ideas and intentions and I don’t doubt either of them in the slightest.

But I think in Dempster, Mathie and George Craig there was a real trust in them from what they done for us when we got relegated. Don’t get me wrong they never made the right decisions all the time and got plenty wrong, but I think the fans liked and trusted them overall.

Now a lot of familiar and trustworthy people have left and it’s results in people questioning the current guys intentions - like Gordon employing his son as head of recruitment.

It will take time for them to build the trust but hopefully it comes.

05-02-2022, 04:17 PM

I wouldn't trust you to give the "next guy" any time to build his team either.

Maloney, and any new coach, needs time.

Fuzzywuzzy
05-02-2022, 04:20 PM
Any kind of new system will need time or do we just go back to punting the ball up the park and hope for the best.

PolmontHibby
I refused to get caught up in the nonsense of change of style excitement after first two games (one against a very depleted Arab. Team on a very poor run) and I still won’t make a judgement on SM now.

On the other hand I do have severe doubts (which the loyalists have shot me down on before) on those in key positions at the club.

Jack Ross should've been given the January transfer window.

Shaggy
05-02-2022, 04:21 PM
If he doesnt improve or make the cut.............

Sorry....wont be popular

............Malky Mackay

a realist who is over achieving with out resources

hibby rae
05-02-2022, 04:22 PM

Sorry....wont be popular

............Malky Mackay

I'd return my season ticket if we hired him.

05-02-2022, 04:24 PM

I agree - for me this appointment is the measure of Ron Gordon's strategy. He has had enough time now to see what he has to deal with and consider the options. If we finish the league strongly then perhaps these last few weeks will be put down to 'teething' problems. Will be interesting to see how Ron reacts if we continue to struggle. Will he hold firm and make a big move in the Summer transfer market, or replace Maloney?

If there isnt an upturn by next season, I wouldnt be surprised if he looked for buyers before long. Succeeding in business is not the same as football.

That's the problem. Don't think there's any doubt that he's a good manager but it would create a bigger problem.

Silky
It's a valid point. Even the best managers have had crap spells when coming into teams. Look at Klopp's initial record at Liverpool, or O'Neill for NI.

Kneejerk reactions won't help the team improve.

Could it be argued that the previous incumbent's sacking was knee jerk? Has the team improved since his dismissal? I guess time will tell.

05-02-2022, 04:25 PM
Can’t argue with any of the posts as they all have a degree of validity. It’s the culture of our club. We want football to played in a certain way as well as the ‘success’ other fan bases crave. That makes it the most difficult job in Scottish football.

Shaggy

Yeah I know,
However we have expectations
and taking bets on a novice manager was always far fetched.

We are a bigger deserving club / fanbase that is simply regularly under achieving

100%

Silky

We wanted him gone though. His football was boring, results were poor...........

05-02-2022, 04:26 PM
I’m trying to find something positive about what I’m watching but I can’t. This season is write off already, hes going to have to learn on the job and be ready for next season. It’s going to be a bumpy road though and he’s going to take a lot of flak along the way. We’ve signed far too many players for the future and not enough for the present.

hibby rae
Could it be argued that the previous incumbent's sacking was knee jerk? Has the team improved since his dismissal? I guess time will tell.

I agree, I thought JR should be given more time.

I think with what we are as a club and what we want to be were always going to have to take risk with guys like Maloney and give them time.

Ross was successful but it became clear fans wanted more than just winning

JamesHFC
05-02-2022, 04:27 PM
I’m trying to find something positive about what I’m watching but I can’t. This season is write off already, hes going to have to learn on the job and be ready for next season. It’s going to be a bumpy road though and he’s going to take a lot of flak along the way. We’ve signed far too many players for the future and not enough for the present.

We are only two points from a European place.

hibby rae
05-02-2022, 04:27 PM
Yeah I know,
However we have expectations
and taking bets on a novice manager was always far fetched.

We are a bigger deserving club / fanbase that is simply regularly under achieving

Our best managers of the last 20 years have generally been novices.

But we also deserve better than a bigot for a manager.

05-02-2022, 04:28 PM
I know Maloney needs time to build a decent team but to lose at home to Livingston and St Mirren and struggle against Cove is simply not acceptable. Bottom six for us this season I guess then who knows what. We really are relegation material on current form but should be safe this season at least. Losing has become the norm.

Shaggy
05-02-2022, 04:28 PM
I agree, I thought JR should be given more time.

I agree,

If the cup final was lost by JR
we might have all agreed last orders please

05-02-2022, 04:29 PM
We wanted him gone though. His football was boring, results were poor...........

If Ross had "tried hard" against Hearts like we supposedly did on Tuesday then he wouldn't have got a pat on the back like Maloney did. He'd have been accused of not winning a big game. If it's not good enough for Ross then it shouldn't be for Maloney either. Something has to change pretty soon or Maloney is in trouble.

05-02-2022, 04:30 PM

Sorry....wont be popular

............Malky Mackay

Certainly a Much better head coach . Maloney might be decent one day , but he is not today

05-02-2022, 04:30 PM

I was saying that on the way home, it’s astonishing we’re still 5th when you look at our results.

JamesHFC
05-02-2022, 04:31 PM
Is it possible to have a Jack Ross mute button?

Boss_Nass
05-02-2022, 04:31 PM
The chucky doll/Smurf lookalike charlatan needs to go. He is completely out of his depth.

I’ll back the team v the bigots on Wednesday and Arbroath on Sunday but this has been a tragic appointment.

05-02-2022, 04:32 PM
Hahahha wish input my mortgage on a thread like is appearing 2 months ago

Predictable

Guess it's our clubs fault for giving our previous manager little leeway

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

I don’t think sacking JR was necessarily the wrong move. Time will tell but Maloney is going to have to start picking up some points to prove he deserved a shot at the job.

skyehibee
Yep it’s not working, it won’t be a quick fix either. We will finish bottom 6, go with him till the start of next season before sacking him.

You're going to need it.

05-02-2022, 04:33 PM
The chucky doll/Smurf lookalike charlatan needs to go. He is completely out of his depth.

I’ll back the team v the bigots on Wednesday and Arbroath on Sunday but this has been a tragic appointment.

jeezo

Not if it's evident they aren't cut out for the job.

MKHIBEE
As would I

Shaggy
I was saying that on the way home, it’s astonishing we’re still 5th when you look at our results.

Yeah its a consolation Aberdeen arent serious this year either

Hi Ian.

05-02-2022, 04:34 PM
I heard Gordon is officially changing our name to 'Hibs Nil'

Silky
I think with what we are as a club and what we want to be were always going to have to take risk with guys like Maloney and give them time.

Ross was successful but it became clear fans wanted more than just winning

Did we want what we have now? This is less than winning!

Bridge hibs

I’ll back the team v the bigots on Wednesday and Arbroath on Sunday but this has been a tragic appointment.What the **** is the chucky doll/smurf pish all about, no need for that jambo style pish on here, grow up ffs

I don’t think sacking JR was necessarily the wrong move. Time will tell but Maloney is going to have to start picking up some points to prove he deserved a shot at the job.

I agree. Not necessarily the wrong move. They needed to get his replacement very right though. The jury is still out but signs aren't promising.

05-02-2022, 04:35 PM
Just said it on the match day thread but for me we’re just a very average team and on par with St Mirren etc.

I think we have been for the past while too, but the main difference has and always had been Martin Boyle. As soon as teams stopped him we really struggled.

We need alot more quality all over the squad.

boyle saves us and Jack Ross on so many occasions. Quality of player in this squad is not great.

Why should he get time? The proven manager didn't. 1 from. 9 this week is dreadful. No excuse. Gray would've done better

When he didn’t seem to think we needed a midfielder in the window, that concerned me.When we brought on James Scott to try and salvage something from the game I decided to go and try ironing some tee shirts.

ehf
05-02-2022, 04:36 PM

We are also only five points off 10th and only heading in one direction.

05-02-2022, 04:36 PM

Correct - him or the recruitment decision is mind boggling.

For all the madness of Hibs.net the average punter could see this was a weak spot…that was before Newell was injured.

It’s simply not good enough right now and failing to get 4th let alone top 6 will be a failure and won’t sell ST next season.

DIXIHIBS
05-02-2022, 04:37 PM
[QUOTE=Boss_Nass;6849149]The chucky doll/Smurf lookalike charlatan needs to go. He is completely out of his depth.

Seriously...have a word with yersel.

Why should he get time? The proven manager didn't. 1 from. 9 this week is dreadful. No excuse. Gray would've done better

That's where I am. Patience and sympathy went out the window when we binned our last manager after a bad run. The club thought they knew better so let's see it.

All aboard the management Merry-go-round! Next stop, the championship!

skyehibee
05-02-2022, 04:38 PM
3 centre backs at home to St Mirren and then not to try change that till the 80th minute??

MKHIBEE

Pathetic comment, grow up

Yup you said already. He will be given time

sauzeelegod
05-02-2022, 04:39 PM
I think we look too empty in the middle of the park.
I’d love to see us play a 433.
Can still keep his possession principles but a 433 would give us more in midfield and still keep a natural width.

Why should he get time? The proven manager didn't. 1 from. 9 this week is dreadful. No excuse. Gray would've done betterSo your gave him a week?

[emoji23]

Surley the fact you think the club acted too quickly with Jack Ross should push your opinion to be they shouldn't act too quickly this time?

I didn't want Ross sacked either but absolutely no point sacking the new man 7 weeks into the job

All aboard the management Merry-go-round! Next stop, the championship!

Get someone in who isn’t a risk - this isn’t a coaching experiment to see if complicated tactics work - football is a simple game which is currently being complicated by the manager and the players are being affected.

Well you certainly proved there that hibs class is indeed not a thing.

05-02-2022, 04:40 PM

Ross lost 6 on the bounce and wasn’t sacked at that point. He was given time, there’s maybe an argument he should have been given more time but it’s not fair to say Ross wasn’t given time.

Maloney has had 8 games, at least give him to your 10 game mark to do your comparison between his first 10 games v Ross’ first 10 games.

3 centre backs at home to St Mirren and then not to try change that till the 80th minute??

We finally brought on Scott Allan and played our most creative player at centre back.

His subs are odd at the best of times.

Playing word bingo here almost a full-house.

The force is strong today.

Hibeewilly
When we brought on James Scott to try and salvage something from the game I decided to go and try ironing some tee shirts.

I'm all for giving Maloney a bit of time but his substitutions baffle me. The team seems to look disjointed with no shape or organisation when they're made....

Boss_Nass
05-02-2022, 04:41 PM
Well you certainly proved there that hibs class is indeed not a thing.

Bet you clapped him off. Mediocrity personified.

Bobo
05-02-2022, 04:41 PM
Team selection, formation and tactics were pathetic today and have been from day one with Maloney. There's been no deviation in his way of thinking despite it being patently obvious from what we've witnessed that his "vision" clearly isn't working.

Playing players out of position in a shapeless formation, that has no spine, isn't clever especially when you constantly invite pressure on your defence by laboriously playing the ball about in front of your own box. It only causes unnecessary problems as we saw today.

That was a bottom six performance from a bottom six team and it's sadly looking like another season wasted where we've barely reached the heights of mediocrity!

1875Sean
05-02-2022, 04:42 PM
Needs to try a different system, I’d go 442, Jesper looked good get him starting

***** recruitment for the past 3 windows is the reason in my book. Yes Maloney is on a shoogly peg and probably rightly so , but to have not signed a central midfielder despite making a raft of signings in the window was criminal. Also cant understand why the laddie tait was loaned out and not given a chance. If he doesn’t get in that midfield then theres no point in signing him.

May21/05/216
Simple as that, really.

Personally, I think his card is already marked.That the spirit

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Silky
05-02-2022, 04:43 PM
So your gave him a week?

[emoji23]

Surley the fact you think the club acted too quickly with Jack Ross should push your opinion to be they shouldn't act too quickly this time?

I didn't want Ross sacked either but absolutely no point sacking the new man 7 weeks into the job

You're right there isn't. We need to stick it out. Just hope that things improve. Limp through until summer, give him a pre-season and the summer window and see what happens.

scuttle
05-02-2022, 04:44 PM

Agree totally with this,we need to ditch 3 centre half's and put in another attacking midfielder it's that simple IMHO

05-02-2022, 04:45 PM
Ross lost 6 on the bounce and wasn’t sacked at that point. He was given time, there’s maybe an argument he should have been given more time but it’s not fair to say Ross wasn’t given time.

Maloney has had 8 games, at least give him to your 10 game mark to do your comparison between his first 10 games v Ross’ first 10 games.

Ross got 16 points in his first 10 league games with heckys squad.

Maloney has 8 in his first 7 league games with a much better squad. He has rangers, Ross County and Celtic as his next 3. He's already buggered if we're being honest.

05-02-2022, 04:45 PM

05-02-2022, 04:46 PM
So your gave him a week?

[emoji23]

He won’t be getting sacked, the owner will back him, said it many times before, before Maloney had got his 1st game under his belt folk on here were stabbing him in the back, some just don’t like him, we needed change from Ross and got it, we have to back the new guy as he won’t be going anywhere soon.

05-02-2022, 04:47 PM
We are 12 points off 3rd and only 5 points above Ross County in 10th and if the form continues as it is we will be beneath Ross County in 5 games. On what we are seeing I can’t predict anything other than bottom 3/4. It’s also dreadful to watch, there has been no improvement there.

.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220205/711730e4e495ce6d4d88dda7ff5a12da.jpg

05-02-2022, 04:47 PM
Get someone in who isn’t a risk - this isn’t a coaching experiment to see if complicated tactics work - football is a simple game which is currently being complicated by the manager and the players are being affected.

If it’s that simple then crack on and apply for the job and show us what your made off, should be so simple for you, can’t wait.

Skol
05-02-2022, 04:48 PM
Today was dreadful and it’s hard to know where to start as there is so much wrong

Why he didn’t address centre midfield in the window is beyond me. Up front we are toothless and defensively look like shipping goals. We seem to have signed very samey type players none of whom are good enough along with players who are not yet ready. Then we keep going back to Scott or wright or Allan playing too deep. Scatter gun substitutions

Maloney is fortunate to have those two early wins and he needs to pull some results out of the hat soon or we are on a run like that which got Ross his jitters

We could be on the end of a heavy defeat at ibrox

What a terrible thread for a Hibs supporter to start FFS.
Some real experts on this site tonight, we got beat by a team that out-fought us and we missed more chances than the other team, its fitba, we go again next game, and so on. He will get it right of that I have some faith, for now at least, ask me the same after a couple of years and I may be able to answer differently. Until then its just dumb opinions.

I'm gutted he’s not going to be a success.

Eaststand
Simple as that, really.

I seem to recall st mirren had an early get out clause when Stubbsy managed them, so they activated that clause. It was reported as being similar to a 6 month probation period.

I wonder if our board have something along those lines with Maloney's contract.

I hope so as it's looking like maloney is out of his comfort zone. He may have been a good assistant in the past, but he isn't a good manager for our club.

If it’s that simple then crack on and apply for the job and show us what your made off, should be so simple for you, can’t wait.

Why don't you have another crack at it Colin?

05-02-2022, 04:50 PM

Take the hit now. Don’t persevere with this farcical experiment out of stubbornness

He's been here five minutes. We can't sack a manger already; we would be a laughing stock and who would want the job, thinking he might be sacked after ten games or less?

This is something I’ve been thinking about. Ron has clearly put his money into the team and wants the best for us, I don’t think that can be questioned.

Kensell aswell will have the right ideas and intentions and I don’t doubt either of them in the slightest.

But I think in Dempster, Mathie and George Craig there was a real trust in them from what they done for us when we got relegated. Don’t get me wrong they never made the right decisions all the time and got plenty wrong, but I think the fans liked and trusted them overall.

Now a lot of familiar and trustworthy people have left and it’s results in people questioning the current guys intentions - like Gordon employing his son as head of recruitment.

It will take time for them to build the trust but hopefully it comes.

I'd love to know who applied for the job. We'll never know. I can see what they were thinking hiring Maloney, the vision of a young attack minded coach etc but something is clearly wrong. It won't be long before these players wonder if the manager knows what he's doing and then we are in trouble.

So what's the minimum number of games we allow managers now before we decide it's time to sack them, 6, 8, 10?

If we did that we'd have 4 managers a season like Watford.

The Maloney hatred on heard is shocking, all because their beloved designer clothes wearing Jack Ross got the boot, if it wasn't so pathetic I'd laugh.

05-02-2022, 04:51 PM

2 points from 15

Aye hilarious.

05-02-2022, 04:52 PM
So what's the minimum number of games we allow managers now before we decide it's time to sack them, 6, 8, 10?

The Maloney hatred on heard is shocking, all because their beloved designer clothes wearing Jack Ross got the boot, if it wasn't so pathetic I'd laugh.

Be serious. Results are starting to play a part.

No one hates Maloney. I certainly don't. He's just getting rubbish results, that's all.

Liked maloney first few weeks but his lack of changing formation is just plain stupid and bordering ignorant.

Signing no central midfielder will be his biggest downfall.

05-02-2022, 04:53 PM
2 points from 15

Aye hilarious.

Please, don't think I find it funny. It's really painful.

HibsGW
05-02-2022, 04:53 PM
Why is Jack Ross a proven manager? What’s he proven in? He’s been sacked everywhere he’s been, hounded out of Hibs and Sunderland. Surely a proven manager means you’ve achieved something?

05-02-2022, 04:54 PM
Why don't you have another crack at it Colin?

I’m not wanting him out Pep.

As for you, you made your thoughts very clear before he had a game under his belt.

AL-Qaholik
05-02-2022, 04:54 PM

I was not a Jack Ross fan.
I do, however, think we look like we’ve hired the wrong man to replace him.
Crack on with your lazy generalisations, though.

05-02-2022, 04:55 PM

You're talking rubbish again. The majority of those who wanted JR sacked, now want SM sacked. I didn't want JR sacked and I don't want SM sacked.

Jack Ross was sacked because form was really bad. You don't always get a new manager bounce in results, so it's unsurprising that a team which was struggling continues to struggle. Give Maloney a fair chance. Change can take time; managers aren't miracle workers.

Bridge hibs

The Maloney hatred on heard is shocking, all because their beloved designer clothes wearing Jack Ross got the boot, if it wasn't so pathetic I'd laugh.What the **** is with all the school boy comments tonight with regards managers, chucky smurf charlatan aimed at Maloney and now you come out with the beloved designer clothes Jack Ross wore, ****ing unreal, this place is full of pathetic bairns 🤣

05-02-2022, 04:56 PM
Kensall and Gordon have got to start communicating .. this is turning in to a crisis. They have been almost invisible during this who change process .

Keiran Power. If you are reading this , please consider advising them that they need to be front and Centre connecting with us as we navigate through this difficult period. It feels like they don’t care at all about the fans - they hardly Communicate and make big appointments without telling us

Maloney is taking it because his team have failed to win against St Mirren and Livingston at home. Of course every manager needs time but surely you can’t be surprised there’s this sort of reaction on here?

I'm not sure it's hatred but it's a huge worry with some tough games coming up, Arbroath is a massive game

Crack on with your lazy generalisations, though.

Yes, to use the word he said, pathetic.

05-02-2022, 04:57 PM

Mathie got the blame for that in the summer. Wonder who will carry the can this time.

05-02-2022, 04:57 PM
Fans talking today in their thousands.

Rugby or not

The empty seats are growing

May21/05/216
05-02-2022, 04:59 PM
He won’t be getting sacked, the owner will back him, said it many times before, before Maloney had got his 1st game under his belt folk on here were stabbing him in the back, some just don’t like him, we needed change from Ross and got it, we have to back the new guy as he won’t be going anywhere soon.Well said

Liked maloney first few weeks but his lack of changing formation is just plain stupid and bordering ignorant.

Signing no central midfielder will be his biggest downfall.

Actually thought the change of shape at half time made a difference today. Bad finishing and a shocking error from Doyle-Hayes cost us. To counter my own point, all the subs he made killed things in the last 20 minutes.

I’m not wanting him out Pep.

As for you, you made your thoughts very clear before he had a game under his belt.

I absolutely did not. A blatant lie. Look forward to you providing those quotes. I wished him luck like I do all managers. I judge on what I see, nothing else.

Find those posts Colin.

WestStandWillie
05-02-2022, 05:00 PM
Too many players don’t fit whit he’s trying tae dae.

Doyle-Hayes is exactly how St Mirren fans described. Good start, average middle and compete dross.

That squad has at least 7 or 8 players who need emptied in summer or we become a mid table side

05-02-2022, 05:00 PM
Actually thought the change of shape at half time made a difference today. Bad finishing and a shocking error from Doyle-Hayes cost us. To counter my own point, all the subs he made killed things in the last 20 minutes.

Agree with this. Good subs to change it at HT. Dreadful ones after that. If he plays James Scott once more I'll be firmly against him. Scott is utter gash.

05-02-2022, 05:01 PM

I just think it was a risk with appointing a guy who has never been the main manager before to come in midseason with a squad needing changes.

If I was to take the job btw I would get back to basics and have a game plan which makes us harder to beat and create more chances. I wouldn’t bring on dud subs and give youth a chance.

I wasn’t against Maloney but he’s not helping himself with the results - let alone the level of performance. I just can’t this improving anytime soon.

leith lynx
05-02-2022, 05:02 PM

Doyle-Hayes is exactly how St Mirren fans described. Good start, average middle and compete dross.

That squad has at least 7 or 8 players who need emptied in summer or we become a mid table side
Maloney should do himself a favour and get Robert Snodgrass in.

05-02-2022, 05:03 PM

Jack Ross, Shaun Maloney or Jurgen Klopp would be getting serious questions asked of them with no wins in 5, 1 point from the last 3 home games and Rangers and Celtic coming up. This has the potential to get very messy. He's had a full transfer window too.

May21/05/216
05-02-2022, 05:03 PM
Crack on with your lazy generalisations, though.I would say the maloney deserves more time

Stokesy's on fire
05-02-2022, 05:04 PM

Should be gone now

BlackSheep
05-02-2022, 05:05 PM
Not a team yet, but a lot of talented players….

Maloney just in the door, had 7/8 weeks with most of them and we have 5/6 new faces… it’s not gonna change overnight, but hopefully soon it’ll click.

Give the man time for crying out loud…. If you’re not happy or patient then go watch the other lot over the city.

05-02-2022, 05:05 PM
Should be gone nowCrazy IMHO

05-02-2022, 05:06 PM
1 point out of 9 in 3 homes is never acceptable but it worse when are losing to Livingston and St. Mirren. At this rate Maloney won’t see out the season and if he does hardly anyone will be there to see it. We lost our way under Jack Ross but FFS we are even worse under Maloney. Maybe Ron has acknowledge he got this wrong and empty him. Thank god for Dundee at St. Johnston

Bridge hibs
Maloney should do himself a favour and get Robert Snodgrass in.Snodgrass will be nowhere near hibs, would still command a wage outwith our budget, plus plenty clubs in England would be top of the pile

You take great delight in stirring it.

05-02-2022, 05:07 PM

I absolutely don't. I'd love nothing more than for Hibs to have won today.

05-02-2022, 05:07 PM
Why is Jack Ross a proven manager? What’s he proven in? He’s been sacked everywhere he’s been, hounded out of Hibs and Sunderland. Surely a proven manager means you’ve achieved something?

You must have forgotten the Job he done with Alloa, getting them from League 1 to the top of the championship.

You must not have noticed him taking over St Mirren in the Championship, bottom of the League and turning them into a Premier League team.

Apart from that you are correct, he's been sacked and failed everywhere. Including us, bottom of the table and achieving third and three cup finals. First third place since 2005.

05-02-2022, 05:08 PM
Not a team yet, but a lot of talented players….

Maloney just in the door, had 7/8 weeks with most of them and we have 5/6 new faces… it’s not gonna change overnight, but hopefully soon it’ll click.

Give the man time for crying out loud…. If you’re not happy or patient then go watch the other lot over the city.

Ross got more from heckys team. No excuse

05-02-2022, 05:08 PM
Should be gone now

Seriously? I'm genuinely surprised there are folk who would sack a manager after what, seven games, is it?

05-02-2022, 05:09 PM

Nobody is taking delight anywhere.

people are taking their frustrations out

Everyone would rather threads like these didn't happen - it would mean we are successful.

05-02-2022, 05:10 PM
Fans talking today in their thousands.

Rugby or not

The empty seats are growing

A lot of long time ST holders have been through many false dawns over the years but the way we’ve let the momentum slip since the huge boost we got for winning the cup is criminal.

We have been crying out for another striker for more than a season and didn’t get one, we’ve needed to address the depth in central midfield but instead brought in another left sided wing back who is now displacing one of our most promising youngsters whilst we still have the now captain Stevenson in there as well. It’s just all over the place.

Arch Stanton
05-02-2022, 05:10 PM

I don't recall JR winning too many games without Boyle.

05-02-2022, 05:11 PM
No identity to our play. Players look **** feared to take any risks. Simple passes across the defence and turning back when we’re attacking. Boring as ****.

05-02-2022, 05:12 PM

it would cost a lot of money to pay off at least just two contracts, JDH and josh Campbell just to start with, 3 and half years remaining each player

05-02-2022, 05:13 PM
it would cost a lot of money to pay off at least just two contracts, JDH and josh Campbell just to start with, 3 and half years remaining each player

Some effort from whoever made that decision by the way. Really tremendous stuff.

05-02-2022, 05:13 PM
Time for Goodwin

HibsGW
05-02-2022, 05:15 PM
You must have forgotten the Job he done with Alloa, getting them from League 1 to the top of the championship.

You must not have noticed him taking over St Mirren in the Championship, bottom of the League and turning them into a Premier League team.

Apart from that you are correct, he's been sacked and failed everywhere. Including us, bottom of the table and achieving third and three cup finals. First third place since 2005.

Oh wow, Alloa, incredible Hibs manager credentials. Wow turned St Mirren to a bang average bottom half/relegation zone SPL team. Is that exciting for a Hibs manager?

05-02-2022, 05:18 PM
So far not good but he will get time. Ross has gone and face it he wasn't great. Maybe the players need to step up or just not that good

05-02-2022, 05:18 PM
Oh wow, Alloa, incredible Hibs manager credentials. Wow turned St Mirren to a bang average bottom half/relegation zone SPL team. Is that exciting for a Hibs manager?

That wasn't the statement in the post I responded to.

Oh wow :greengrin

05-02-2022, 05:19 PM
So far not good but he will get time. Ross has gone and face it he wasn't great. Maybe the players need to step up or just not that good

We have better players than Livi' and St Mirren.

We have a lot better and professional players than Cove.

You would be struggling to see so though.

HibsGW
05-02-2022, 05:19 PM
That wasn't the statement in the post I responded to.

Oh wow :greengrin

You responded to my post, I responded to yours, not sure where the confusion is.

PolmontHibby
05-02-2022, 05:22 PM

Being a numbers nerd I am struggling with 6 but could be wrong.
We went on a 5 game loss starting with Sevco (when we were heading to top of league) and continued though period when team was hit by Covid - which ended with thumping of Sevco in cup.

5 losses (or 6) not great - but I was willing to forgive Ross as I am Maloney.

05-02-2022, 05:22 PM
You responded to my post, I responded to yours, not sure where the confusion is.

I responded to a post stating and claiming Jack Ross has been sacked everywhere he manages.

Is that true? Simple yes or no will do. But you won't. It will be "only there"

05-02-2022, 05:23 PM
There’s no danger he’ll be sacked any time soon, he’s going to have to do it the hard way and learn by his mistakes on the job. You can’t bring in a rookie manager and then want him sacked because results aren’t going our way. It’s dreadful to watch right now but we’ve got to hope he turns it around and we can improve.

05-02-2022, 05:26 PM
There’s no danger he’ll be sacked any time soon, he’s going to have to do it the hard way and learn by his mistakes on the job. You can’t bring in a rookie manager and then want him sacked because results aren’t going our way. It’s dreadful to watch right now but we’ve got to hope he turns it around and we can improve.

Why not just cut our losses, admit it was wrong, sack him and bring in better.

We've been here before and knows how the story ends. Has it ever turned around for the best? McLeish maybe but I still seen a lot of improvement in front of me despite going down. Plus he done a great job at Motherwell.

05-02-2022, 05:27 PM

You've hit the nail on the head. We knew he's a rookie when appointing him; a rookie taking over a struggling team. Let's give him a chance.

05-02-2022, 05:27 PM
Ross got more from heckys team. No excuse

You keep repeating that. I’ve not seen you actually debate or give any balance. You’ve not mentioned any mitigation like the fact Maloney hasn’t had a talisman like Boyle to rely on, other than winning the two games he did have him for. Or that most of our problems aren’t new. We’ve struggled for creativity and goals all season, or that the midfield Maloney inherited lacks real quality. Or that it’s unrealistic to expect him to address all the issues he inherited in one January window.

Maloney needs to look at what he has and go back to basics in the short term and play 451 or some such to mitigate our poor midfield. He needs to steady the ship and plod along until we can address the issues properly in the summer. He might even need to sacrifice his principles in the short term to succeed in implementing them successfully in the long term.

You seem more interested in shouting loudest and calling people Colin Calderwood than any genuine desire for balanced debate.

05-02-2022, 05:28 PM
Mind last season when we lost consecutive home games 0-2 and 0-3 to Ross County and Livi. Those games were worse than our 2 recent games Vs Livi and today. Maloney inherited a mess from Ross and lost his best player.

Ultimately he might not work out but FFS the guy needs a decent chance. Unless we do a Butcher style plummet down the league, Maloney at the very least deserves a summer preseason and next season.

Hibees1973
05-02-2022, 05:28 PM

If he loses next week in the cup and somehow we slip towards 8th of 9th, is Maloney the kind of guy you want managing us in tooth & nail relegation games. I think not.

05-02-2022, 05:29 PM
You keep repeating that. I’ve not seen you actually debate or give any balance. You’ve not mentioned any mitigation like the fact Maloney hasn’t had a talisman like Boyle to rely on, other than winning the two games he did have him for. Or that most of our problems aren’t new. We’ve struggled for creativity and goals all season, or that the midfield Maloney inherited lacks real quality. Or that it’s unrealistic to expect him to address all the issues he inherited in one January window.

Maloney needs to look at what he has and go back to basics in the short term and play 451 or some such to mitigate our poor midfield. He needs to steady the ship and plod along until we can address the issues properly in the summer. He might even need to sacrifice his principles in the short term to succeed in implementing them successfully in the long term.

You seem more interested in shouting loudest and calling people Colin Calderwood than any genuine desire for balanced debate.

Livingston and St Mirren also lost their best players this window. It doesn't stop them playing as a football team.

I was very impressed by the coaching of Livi' to turn it around last week. Today when they scored, we all knew deep down it was done.

Mrimbetween
05-02-2022, 05:29 PM
Some want Maloney gone

In the unlikely event, well for me and it did happen, what would be the financial implications ??

Horrific and would eat way into the budget

Give Sean till the end of the season **** or not i say

05-02-2022, 05:30 PM
Some want Maloney gone

In the unlikely event, well for me and it did happen, what would be the financial implications ??

Horrific and would eat way into the budget

Give Sean till the end of the season **** or not i say

What's the difference between top and bottom six? Europe or no? More than punting a manager that isn't going to achieve the first couple?

His name is Shaun too. Probably best getting that right before you get hounded upon.

05-02-2022, 05:44 PM
Time for Goodwin

Why not, we try everything else from st mirren

HibsGW
05-02-2022, 05:45 PM
I responded to a post stating and claiming Jack Ross has been sacked everywhere he manages.

Is that true? Simple yes or no will do. But you won't. It will be "only there"

Okay haha, you build your opinion on if someone is suitable for a Hibs manager based off of success at Alloa all you like, I’ll leave you to it.

05-02-2022, 05:48 PM
Okay haha, you build your opinion on if someone is suitable for a Hibs manager based off of success at Alloa all you like, I’ll leave you to it.

Ffs. Ross had 100s of games as a manager and had done well …let’s not challenge his appointment . He did well for us too . Most managers get sacked in their roles . Only a very few Elite ones avoid that ..He’s gone now . Not coming back , so don’t get the anti Ross stuff now .

The pressing issue now is that Maloney is struggling . That’s not in question . He needs to improve and likely needs help ..any suggestions??

05-02-2022, 05:52 PM

Where did I do any of that? :confused:

05-02-2022, 05:52 PM
Ffs. Ross had 100s of games as a manager and had done well …let’s not challenge his appointment . He did well for us too . Most managers get sacked in their roles . Only a very few Elite ones avoid that ..He’s gone now . Not coming back , so don’t get the anti Ross stuff now .

The pressing issue now is that Maloney is struggling . That’s not in question . He needs to improve and likely needs help ..any suggestions??

Stokesy's on fire
05-02-2022, 05:54 PM

We are a mid table side now

Greenwich_Hibby
05-02-2022, 05:56 PM
He is clueless, loads of talk, just like Jim Duffy...
get rid now Hibs, you have backed the wrong horse.

05-02-2022, 05:56 PM

It doesn’t help that the same posters keep going on and on about Ross after every negative result. As you say, he’s gone, let’s move on.

Maloney needs to figure out a way of getting this group to score goals. The current system and playing style isn’t it. He’s somehow made Nisbet look even less of a threat.

HibeeSince85
05-02-2022, 05:58 PM
The amount of absolute throbbers on this thread and site nowadays is unreal.

Where is your business accumen and successes that would allow you to purchase Hibs? Oh that's right, the vast majority if not likely all on here dont have the money to purchase the club yet somehow feel they have more knowledge than the ****kng owner of the club investing his own money into his own business.

Or your coaching credentials, come on? Surely everyone spouting their opinion can back up that opinion witn some decent credentials to show the understand how to coach a football team at elite level?

No? Didnt think so.

Hibs lost, it happens, it has happened for many a season, stop losing your ****ing minds and throwing your toys out the pram.

Roasters

It doesn’t help that the same posters keep going on and on about Ross after every negative result. As you say, he’s gone, let’s move on.

Maloney needs to figure out a way of getting this group to score goals. The current system and playing style isn’t it. He’s somehow made Nisbet look even less of a threat.

Maloney needs to show any sort of improvement from the last guy. So far there's been zero. So quite rightly people who thought we sacked the last guy far too fast are upset and asking questions.

If individual players stopped making absolute howlers on the park then we wouldn't be asking for suggestions.

05-02-2022, 05:59 PM

Absolutely my thoughts too.

05-02-2022, 05:59 PM

Where is your business accumen and successes that would allow you to purchase Hibs? Oh that's right, the vast majority if not likely all on here dont have the money to purchase the club yet somehow feel they have more knowledge than the ****kng owner of the club investing his own money into his own business.

Or your coaching credentials, come on? Surely everyone spouting their opinion can back up that opinion witn some decent credentials to show the understand how to coach a football team at elite level?

No? Didnt think so.

Hibs lost, it happens, it has happened for many a season, stop losing your ****ing minds and throwing your toys out the pram.

Roasters

Start by ripping posters and the site.
End by doing the same.
In the middle ask questions while giving zero answers.

Decent.

05-02-2022, 06:00 PM
If individual players stopped making absolute howlers on the park then we wouldn't be asking for suggestions.

You’d be happy tonight with a nil nil ? there would still be plenty of questions

05-02-2022, 06:00 PM
He's really not going to get a proper chance is he? Not long in the door but folk screaming 'Maloney GTF' etc when leaving today.

Past three games we should have scored plenty goals. The chances are definitely being created and I think that's a positive that will only get better with time.

Think folk were dreaming if they expected him to come in and work wonders overnight. Especially with our current strikers and losing Boyle .

05-02-2022, 06:02 PM
Big concern for me is our squad. We have had to rely on bringing drey wright vs Hearts , and then scott allan today .. Both players we tried to offload in the summer when we were after mcgrath. Not a good situation to be in , campbell looks miles off of being a player who can influence a game , but he plays almost every week .. Doyle hayes is hit or miss , more often than not a miss though. Fair enough we have newell , who on his day can be brilliant.. Our central midfield is two players short in terms of quality for me .

05-02-2022, 06:02 PM
Maloney needs to show any sort of improvement from the last guy. So far there's been zero. So quite rightly people who thought we sacked the last guy far too fast are upset and asking questions.

We’ve moved up the table. There’s (probably the only) improvement.

Magnifique
05-02-2022, 06:03 PM
Gonna buck the trend a bit as it’s still early days and I think SM is still struggling with players he inherited.

The question here is to look at the players SM has brought in and ask yourself if they are better than what we had and I believe to a man the ones we have seen are better than what we had.

I’m pretty confident slowly he will get the winning formula.

HibeeSince85
05-02-2022, 06:04 PM
Start by ripping posters and the site.
End by doing the same.
In the middle ask questions while giving zero answers.

Decent.

The site is infected by posters nowadays who want immediate success and without immediate success litter the forum with numerous threads ripping the club, owner, management team, players whilst providing no answer.

The questions I asked were not questions I need to answer myself, I'm not trying to tell the owner or management team what to do?
The sense of entitlement of some of our fans is scary.

May21/05/216
05-02-2022, 06:05 PM
Gonna buck the trend a bit as it’s still early days and I think SM is still struggling with players he inherited.

The question here is to look at the players SM has brought in and ask yourself if they are better than what we had and I believe to a man the ones we have seen are better than what we had.

GGTTHThat's my thoughts as well

05-02-2022, 06:06 PM
***** recruitment for the past 3 windows is the reason in my book. Yes Maloney is on a shoogly peg and probably rightly so , but to have not signed a central midfielder despite making a raft of signings in the window was criminal. Also cant understand why the laddie tait was loaned out and not given a chance. If he doesn’t get in that midfield then theres no point in signing him.

This is where I'm at. Recruitment **** up last summer ultimately cost JR his job. Our business this window looks a bit all over the place with the obvious deficiencies in midfield not addressed. I'm far convinced about Maloney but he needs time.

Don’t know whether to slow clap or weep.

When the going got tough, Stubbs got his head down and concentrated on what he believed and things improved while many were losing their heads.

We can’t keep the merry-go-round going. Give the manager and players time. Although I must admit we need to find something when we go 1-0 with 30 mins to go and come up short. 10 mins for Allan what’s the point? So not without flaw but the gnashing of teeth and Armageddon talking well I’m not sure its helpful unless its for a Kickboak rent-a-quote - evening ladies.

What happened to Persevered?

PS. I just have ‘accepting mediocrity’ for a full house on the barmy bingo card.

HibeeSince85
Away with yourself and your roasters comment.
Hibs gave the game away today

How come people who think SM is poor so far have to prove their credentials but you don’t?

Why do you ask a question and answer it yourself?

Nah I stand by what I said. A lot of fans are acting like petulant little children throwing their toys out the pram and lashing out at anything they can.

You’d be happy tonight with a nil nil ? there would still be plenty of questions

Maloney deserves time to get his ideas across so like most sensible fans, I'll reserve judgement for a while yet.

05-02-2022, 06:07 PM
Maloney needs to show any sort of improvement from the last guy. So far there's been zero. So quite rightly people who thought we sacked the last guy far too fast are upset and asking questions.His last (first) 7 league games against Ross last 7 league games

Maloney- 8 points

Ross - 4 points

And we lost our best player

And we are changing systems mid season

That not improvement?

05-02-2022, 06:07 PM
The site is infected by posters nowadays who want immediate success and without immediate success litter the forum with numerous threads ripping the club, owner, management team, players whilst providing no answer.

The questions I asked were not questions I need to answer myself, I'm not trying to tell the owner or management team what to do?

Actually kinda agree with that. Think Hendo, Mitchell, Rocky and from the very little on show today Jasper look like good additions to the squad and will all improve us.

Boss_Nass
05-02-2022, 06:08 PM

No? Didnt think so.

Roasters

Gary Caldwell not very happy at the well founded criticism of Maloney (smurf)

BigKev
05-02-2022, 06:09 PM
Young guy learning his trade. The next few months he’ll analyse the squad and replace what he thinks needs replacing.

He’ll maybe try to get Snodgrass on a short term deal which would help massively in the middle of the park. No Newell today, big loss.

Maloney can’t be held responsible for inheriting a heavily imbalanced squad. No point in paying over the odds for average players in January if you can get the real deal in the summer.

Work in progress and of course we want results to improve but to put the blame firmly at the door of Maloney is wrong.

05-02-2022, 06:10 PM

Personally, I want to see any sort of improvement from last manager to our current, have you seen much?

I want to see improvement in our recruitment team from the last lot to our next.

I want to see us moving forward under our new MD from our last.

There is alarm signals all over the place and it's like when we sold the golden generation and replaced them with heaps of ***** all over again. That, ultimately ended 7 years later in relegation.

The team, the stands and the club are going back the way. It's not our job to give the answers but it sure has hell is our job to voice concerns.

In fact the answer is sack Maloney now and replace him with an experienced manager. Not someone that looks like he's blagged it big time and well out his depth.

HibeeSince85
05-02-2022, 06:10 PM
Gary Caldwell not very happy at the well founded criticism of Maloney (smurf)

No issue with criticism of Maloney, Caldwell, whomever. Is Smurf any better that Mixup or Jack Dross etc etc?

05-02-2022, 06:11 PM
Stubbs lost to Alloa, Falkirk, struggled Vs Dumbarton all in his first games.

Lennon lost to QotS 3-1 at home and started slow.

Jack Ross lost to Ross County and Livi several times, including twice in his first month or so.

Shaun needs time to get to know who he can trust, who needs punted and who is willing to buy in. Needs at the very minimum a proper preaseason to stamp his mark.

Even then it might not work, but to call for his head 8 games in is ludicrous.

05-02-2022, 06:13 PM
Personally, I want to see any sort of improvement from last manager to our current, have you seen much?

I want to see improvement in our recruitment team from the last lot to our next.

There is alarm signals all over the place and it's like when we sold the golden generation and replaced them with heaps of ***** all over again. That, ultimately ended 7 years later in relegation.

The team, the stands and the club are going back the way. It's not our job to give the answers but it sure has hell is our job to voice concerns.

In fact the answer is sack Maloney now and replace him with an experienced manager. Not someone that looks like he's blagged it big time and well out his depth.

Sack Maloney now. That's actually insane.

We've tried experience before as well and ended up relegated?

hibbydad
05-02-2022, 06:13 PM
No issue with criticism of Maloney, Caldwell, whomever. Is Smurf any better that Mixup or Jack Dross etc etc?
He insists in playing a style of football that is not suited to the scottish game

HibeeSince85
05-02-2022, 06:14 PM

I haven't seen any improvement in the side of late but I wasnt expecting major changes when the bulk of the side remains the same and when even major clubs like Man Utd etc cant get an immediate reaction to changing manager I'm not surprised the same has happened at Hibs.

His last (first) 7 league games against Ross last 7 league games

Maloney- 8 points

Ross - 4 points

That not improvement?

No, there's not been improvement. Ross was sacked for his last 7 games. Only Dundee Utd has been decent. Nowhere near as joyous than pumping the huns at Hampden. In comparison, Cove Huns was a shambles at time.

St Mirren lost their best player midweek too. Living changed their system at half time to come back and beat us.

:thumbsup::agree:

05-02-2022, 06:16 PM
I haven't seen any improvement in the side of late but I wasnt expecting major changes when the bulk of the side remains the same and when even major clubs like Man Utd etc cant get an immediate reaction to changing manager I'm not surprised the same has happened at Hibs.

We sacked our last manager because he wasn't getting best our the players we have apparently. Now it's the players fault all along?

We have much better players than Cove Livi and St Mirren. I don't think we have a better manager than any of them though.

05-02-2022, 06:17 PM
Sack Maloney now. That's actually insane.

We've tried experience before as well and ended up relegated?

We stuck with Butcher and got relegated when it was clear he was not an improvement and just needed time too.

I want Maloney to succeed but he absolutely must adapt or this is going to end in tears.

I can almost forgive him for being idealistic and thinking he can waltz into Scottish football and instantly start playing a possession 343 style but that's probably 5 games now with absolutely zero signs of improvement. I enjoyed the derby performance but that was due to the passionate performance more than anything else.

For his own sake, he needs to adapt to the players he has and the team's we are facing. That's what management is all about. We have a squad that is more than capable of 4th place this year but we are underperforming significantly.

Get some results on the board, get us 4th, get us fashioning more chances and taking a few of them and the fans will get behind you Shaun. Then take the summer window to try and get your 343 style of play working and actually generating the attacking football you promised us. It's okay to change the plan!

Boss_Nass

Jack Ross was one of the worst managers we’ve had in a long time in so far that despite having a good team and Boyle failed to win anything despite having many easy routes to doing so. He was also a ****

Smurf - as I said right at the beginning - is someone with no experience and no particular idea as to what to do. His obsession with this back five against ***** like Motherwell and st midden is embarassing. This isn’t Belgium Smurf.

I think we should sack him now, acknowledge this was a hopeless mess up and get someone else in.

05-02-2022, 06:18 PM

No? Didnt think so.

Roasters

I think most people would agree that you’re probably the biggest roaster on this thread with that post. A football forum discussing football and you come out that pish. Deary me.

1875Sean
05-02-2022, 06:19 PM

Maloney- 8 points

Ross - 4 points

That not improvement?

How do you compare it against Ross first 7 games in charge?

05-02-2022, 06:20 PM
Jack Ross was one of the worst managers we’ve had in a long time in so far that despite having a good team and Boyle failed to win anything despite having many easy routes to doing so. He was also a ****

Smurf - as I said right at the beginning - is someone with no experience and no particular idea as to what to do. His obsession with this back five against ***** like Motherwell and st midden is embarassing. This isn’t Belgium Smurf.

I think we should sack him now, acknowledge this was a hopeless mess up and get someone else in.

Ross was a much, much better manager for Hibernian than Butcher, Fenlon, Hecky, Coco the clown and Mixu. He was also better than JC and Yogi. Williamson too, Duffy obviously and I'm leaving Le God out of it.

Lennon, Stubbs and Ross are on the same level for me. Mowbray was exceptional as was the GJP.

Maloney is looking like Calderwood levels of perhaps being a decent coach but a **** manager.

05-02-2022, 06:20 PM
He insists in playing a style of football that is not suited to the scottish game

Not suited to our players more like

Zambernardi1875
05-02-2022, 06:21 PM
Quite liked the first few games and he seemed to be trying out a lot of players to find his best team, worry now for me Is he’s picking too many players every week that clearly aren’t good enough.

No idea how the head of loans at Man City could get 1-2 loans in Jan or a poacher. No matter the results I’m far more excited with the future under maloney than where Ross was taking us and to want him sacked already is insane

05-02-2022, 06:22 PM

Don't know if you're being sarcastic but that's simply not true - surveys on here indicated that the majority of fans were happy to give Ross more time. About 30-40% wanted him gone. The decision was Gordon's and Gordon's alone.

HibeeSince85
I think most people would agree that you’re probably the biggest roaster on this thread with that post. A football forum discussing football and you come out that pish. Deary me.

That's fair enough.

I came on the site after the result to read about the game and was met with page after page and thread after thread of nonsense.

Can we trust Ron
He doesnt have a clue

To name but two threads, no real intelligent conversation or debate but posters throwing their toys out the pram.

How do you compare it against Ross first 7 games in charge?

Or the first 7 games of this season, with largely the same players.

05-02-2022, 06:23 PM
How do you compare it against Ross first 7 games in charge?Go back 2 years to look for improvements?

Surley improvement is taken from when he started no?

He's doubled our points tally over the same number of games

Like it or not, that's improvement

Ross was a much, much better manager for Hibernian than Butcher, Fenlon, Hecky, Coco the clown and Mixu. He was also better than JC and Yogi. Williamson too, Duffy obviously and I'm leaving Le God out of it.

Lennon, Stubbs and Ross are on the same level for me. Mowbray was exceptional as was the GJP.

Maloney is looking like Calderwood levels of perhaps being a decent coach but a **** manager.

You only think Ross is better than those you mentioned because he was given time though. Can almost guarantee you wouldn't have thought that after less than 10 games in charge!

PolmontHibby
Seriously? I'm genuinely surprised there are folk who would sack a manager after what, seven games, is it?

Why the surprise - we sacked a manager with a bloody good record over 98 games after a first poor run of results (covid impact as well) that is not much worse.

And no I don’t think SM should be sacked.

The bar has been set by binning our most successful manager in years after a bad run despite getting us to another final. If the fans have high expectations then the club is to blame for for that. The club thought we were underachieving under Ross. That tells me the last 6 games haven't been acceptable.

Der Panzer
05-02-2022, 06:24 PM
Bewildered at his failure to address the gaping hole in our midfield when magennis is missing (most of the time) during the transfer window. Strikes me as idealistic, flooding the squad with attacking prospects without building a spine.

Whilst Ross had built up significant goodwill, he was emptied quickly when our form stuttered. It will be interesting to see the patience afforded to Maloney.

Struggling to find any positives from performances during his reign so far. If anything, we seem worse than the end of Ross' tenure.

05-02-2022, 06:25 PM

No? Didnt think so.

Roasters

You’re right on a number of fronts there.
You will get absolutely crucified for it :faf: but you’re right.

05-02-2022, 06:26 PM
You only think Ross is better than those you mentioned because he was given time though. Can almost guarantee you wouldn't have thought that after less than 10 games in charge!

Of course I would. There was an instant improvement when he came in from Hecky.

Hibernian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.)
3–1
Motherwell (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motherwell_F.C.)

showEdinburgh

26 November 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
St Mirren (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Mirren_F.C.)
1–2

showPaisley (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paisley,_Renfrewshire)

30 November 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
2–2
Kilmarnock (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kilmarnock_F.C.)

showEdinburgh

4 December 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
Ross County (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ross_County_F.C.)
2–1

showDingwall (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dingwall)

7 December 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
3–0
Aberdeen (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aberdeen_F.C.)

showEdinburgh

15 December 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
Celtic (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celtic_F.C.)
2–0

showGlasgow (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glasgow)

20 December 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
0–3
Rangers (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rangers_F.C.)

showEdinburgh

26 December 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
Heart of Midlothian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heart_of_Midlothian_F.C.)
0–2

05-02-2022, 06:29 PM

Since the break has been dreadful. But we are still in a healthier league position than when we binned Ross. You won’t acknowledge that, of course, and I do say that as someone who has been concerned by what I have seen since the break.

05-02-2022, 06:30 PM

3–1

showEdinburgh

26 November 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
1–2

30 November 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
2–2

showEdinburgh

4 December 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
2–1

7 December 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
3–0

showEdinburgh

15 December 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
2–0

20 December 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
0–3

showEdinburgh

26 December 2019Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)
0–2

Just like there has been an improvement since he’s been sacked….

HibsGW

Maloney- 8 points

Ross - 4 points

That not improvement?

Bang on. We’ve been awful the last few games but there’s clear evidence of a better points return recently. No point complicating it. When I say this I’m not even saying I believe Maloney is definitely the long term option.

3–1

showEdinburgh

1–2

2–2

showEdinburgh

2–1

3–0

showEdinburgh

2–0

0–3

showEdinburgh

0–2

That's honestly not too dissimilar to Maloney now though, surely? Won his first two difficult games and has had a few games we should have done better in.

First half was torture today but I honestly thought we looked good second half and created plenty chances to win the game. A daft mistake cost us a goal though.

05-02-2022, 06:32 PM
Pep Guardiola would struggle to get a tune out of our current midfield. Im struggling to think of a positive attribute berween the lot of them.

05-02-2022, 06:35 PM
Since the break has been dreadful. But we are still in a healthier league position than when we binned Ross. You won’t acknowledge that, of course, and I do say that as someone who has been concerned by what I have seen since the break.

We are. Maloney has been using that stat too. For how long though . The pack has caught up with us .we could be 7th/8th soon quite easily ..

We need to continue to support him . But it’s easy to understand people being really worried . As you said yourself, since the break (ie since he has had decent time to work on shape and tactics) we’ve been worse . There isn’t any signs for me that we are improving . We look worse to me .

not for getting rid , he needs time , but we are very poor just now , and it has the hallmarks of a failure written all over it . Hope I’m proved completely wrong and his coaching approach shines through and we turn it around

05-02-2022, 06:36 PM
That's honestly not too dissimilar to Maloney now though, surely? Won his first two difficult games and has had a few games we should have done better in.

First half was torture today but I honestly thought we looked good second half and created plenty chances to win the game. A daft mistake cost us a goal though.

It's much worse. Ross 16 from 10 games, Shaun 8 from 7 games. So he has to win next 3 to better Ross.

Ross also inherited a poorer side.

05-02-2022, 06:40 PM
We sacked our last manager because he wasn't getting best our the players we have apparently. Now it's the players fault all along?

We have much better players than Cove Livi and St Mirren. I don't think we have a better manager than any of them though.

I don’t think we have better centre mids than any of them though and it’s a pretty important area of the pitch.

05-02-2022, 06:40 PM
It's much worse. Ross 16 from 10 games, Shaun 8 from 7 games. So he has to win next 3 to better Ross.

Ross also inherited a poorer side.

What was Ross after 7 games though? No point judging Maloney on 10 if he hasn't played 10 league games is there?

05-02-2022, 06:41 PM
What was Ross after 7 games though? No point judging Maloney on 10 if he hasn't played 10 league games is there?Look likes 10 points

With Maloney on 8

roo62
05-02-2022, 06:44 PM
Not suited to our players more like

I think we have a lot of short term bedwetters at the minute. We have taken a gamble on a rookie manager to start a longer term project of playing a different way whilst at the same time working towards a younger more skillful squad. This will take a season or two so I think a lot of supporters will not have the patience for this if we don't start getting results.To be fair to SM he has inherited an average squad, he has inherited strikers totally out of form and lacking confidence and has seen arguably our most exciting player sold. Add in long term injuries to key players and recent sending offs, particularly Porteous, makes it very difficult to magically turn things around short term. I have faith in the project for next season, have written off this season but still expect a push for a top 4 finish once we get a more settled and stronger team on the park. I am prepared to give this transitional period time. It is frustrating but we cannot keep changing managers and not giving new situations the chance to develop. Keep the faith for the next few months I think the plan will come together, it just needs patience and for many that will not be an option sadly.Change is uncomfortable for many people, it creates uncertainty, right where we are currently. But it can be exciting over time if you embrace it and it works. It will go one way or the other... I am expecting the latter.

What was Ross after 7 games though? No point judging Maloney on 10 if he hasn't played 10 league games is there?

10 points from 7. His next game 2-0 win away at hearts. Maloney got a big away game next...

Look likes 10 points

With Maloney on 8

Cheers. So not too dissimilar. Obviously level of opponent and squad etc should be taken into account.

Just personally think it's mental to be saying we should be looking to replace him after seven games.

05-02-2022, 06:45 PM
We have better players than Livi' and St Mirren.

We have a lot better and professional players than Cove.

You would be struggling to see so though.

Not so sure we have better players going by our results. As a team they arent showing it. Under bith Ross and Maloney

05-02-2022, 06:45 PM
10 points from 7. His next game 2-0 win away at hearts. Maloney got a big away game next...

Very true. We're due a result away at Ibrox, surely!

Fuzzywuzzy
05-02-2022, 06:51 PM
Everyone seems to have a touch of the Billy browns today

05-02-2022, 06:59 PM
Maybe try a more simplistic 4-3-3 I think this squad is better suited to that on paper

A possible

Keeper
Clarke Bushiri Porto Doig
Cadden Newell Henderson
Jasper Melkerson Mitchell

I’d sell Nisbet and doidge I really would. Nisbet couldn’t lace riordans left boot.

05-02-2022, 07:00 PM
I thought we played well but yet again the final ball is lacking and also no one making good moves in the box and we gave St Mirrren a goal.

05-02-2022, 07:02 PM
Stubbs lost to Alloa, Falkirk, struggled Vs Dumbarton all in his first games.

Lennon lost to QotS 3-1 at home and started slow.

Jack Ross lost to Ross County and Livi several times, including twice in his first month or so.

Shaun needs time to get to know who he can trust, who needs punted and who is willing to buy in. Needs at the very minimum a proper preaseason to stamp his mark.

Even then it might not work, but to call for his head 8 games in is ludicrous.

Stubbs inherited a genuine shambles. Maloney didn't.

Lennon won his first 5 league games.

05-02-2022, 07:07 PM
Shaun Cathro. Hibernian Nil.

05-02-2022, 07:10 PM
I think we have a lot of short term bedwetters at the minute. We have taken a gamble on a rookie manager to start a longer term project of playing a different way whilst at the same time working towards a younger more skillful squad. This will take a season or two so I think a lot of supporters will not have the patience for this if we don't start getting results.To be fair to SM he has inherited an average squad, he has inherited strikers totally out of form and lacking confidence and has seen arguably our most exciting player sold. Add in long term injuries to key players and recent sending offs, particularly Porteous, makes it very difficult to magically turn things around short term. I have faith in the project for next season, have written off this season but still expect a push for a top 4 finish once we get a more settled and stronger team on the park. I am prepared to give this transitional period time. It is frustrating but we cannot keep changing managers and not giving new situations the chance to develop. Keep the faith for the next few months I think the plan will come together, it just needs patience and for many that will not be an option sadly.Change is uncomfortable for many people, it creates uncertainty, right where we are currently. But it can be exciting over time if you embrace it and it works. It will go one way or the other... I am expecting the latter.
Ian Maloney, Shaun Cathro. Wrong Gordon.

05-02-2022, 07:11 PM
Ian Maloney, Sean Cathro. Wrong Gordon.

Wrong Gordon is decent. Fair play 😅👏

roo62
05-02-2022, 07:12 PM
Ian Maloney, Shaun Cathro. Wrong Gordon.

Time will tell.

Bridge hibs
05-02-2022, 07:12 PM
Sean Cathro. Hibernian Nil.Oh another 5 year old, Admins any chance of blocking under 10s on a Saturday

05-02-2022, 07:15 PM
We are. Maloney has been using that stat too. For how long though . The pack has caught up with us .we could be 7th/8th soon quite easily ..

We need to continue to support him . But it’s easy to understand people being really worried . As you said yourself, since the break (ie since he has had decent time to work on shape and tactics) we’ve been worse . There isn’t any signs for me that we are improving . We look worse to me .

not for getting rid , he needs time , but we are very poor just now , and it has the hallmarks of a failure written all over it . Hope I’m proved completely wrong and his coaching approach shines through and we turn it around

I do agree with this, it’s just the harping back to Ross that annoys me a bit. He’s a big part of the reason we are where we are. A lot of the same thing happened today that were happening under Ross (mainly his team). My big issue with Maloney is that he’s not done anything to address the clear issues he inherited.

05-02-2022, 07:30 PM
Some absolute idiotic comments on this thread that’s for sure. I will say it as I have I’m not overly enamoured with SM and didn’t don’t agree with a lot of things and he’s already made some massive mistakes not getting a CM and a CF in and retaining some of the dross. However, anyone suggesting he should be sacked or near sacked is absolutely mental. Yes results have been crap recently, but be balanced and look at today for example we created more than enough very good chances to win the game. What we are seeing is the same players making the same Individual mistakes that are costing us games. This won’t be resolved in 1 transfer window, it will take time. JDH it was today but I actually thought he did ok for the most park but missed Newell on there as Campbell as I’ve said on his thread simply isn’t good enough. That’s where people who want to criticise the manager should direct their frustration not getting in a good CM.

I feel our business was a bit erratic personally. We didn’t strengthen 2 key positions but added players in defence we probably didn’t need short term but had to as they will be key long term. We needed a good CH defensively to get us to the summer imo, the rest we could have managed with.

He’s a young manager and should be afforded to learn and make mistakes. If we are making the same mistakes in 2 months time then yeah he will be rightly under pressure. For me too early and crazy to want him sacked.

05-02-2022, 07:30 PM
I am having real concerns about our current direction of travel, the appointment of Shaun Maloney and the general decision making at the club.

I do agree with the thread title, I think Maloney is currently out of his depth and I'm worried about how bad things will end up.

We show no signs of getting back into games when we go behind and it is concerning that we have now 2 points from 15 since returning from the break and required extra time to beat a part time team at home from two leagues below us.

Next Sunday is really in the must win category - it really is quite simple. Lose that and I honestly think Maloney's coat is on a shaky peg already.

05-02-2022, 07:35 PM
Christ, what a weird bunch on this forum. Ross was murder, Maloney is murder. Just admit our players are rubbish. Klopp would have no chance with this shower. The damage is done, the season is pretty much done with. We need to let the manager build his team in the summer.

05-02-2022, 07:37 PM
Right now I wouldn't back us in a relegation playoff. Let's hope we don't get to that stage.

05-02-2022, 07:38 PM
Christ, what a weird bunch on this forum. Ross was murder, Maloney is murder. Just admit our players are rubbish. Klopp would have no chance with this shower. The damage is done, the season is pretty much done with. We need to let the manager build his team in the summer.

Don’t agree the season is still massively alive and was when he was appointed. Can’t just write it off not cause of a few bad results and quite frankly he shouldn’t be allowed the comfort of saying let him build in the summer this season doesn’t matter