View Full Version : He’s out of his depth
#2 Double Tap
05-02-2022, 07:42 PM
Christ, what a weird bunch on this forum. Ross was murder, Maloney is murder. Just admit our players are rubbish. Klopp would have no chance with this shower. The damage is done, the season is pretty much done with. We need to let the manager build his team in the summer.
gotta agree with smaxxa. plus klopp would win the league with this team, at a canter.
Zambernardi1875
05-02-2022, 07:43 PM
Don’t agree the season is still massively alive and was when he was appointed. Can’t just write it off not cause of a few bad results and quite frankly he shouldn’t be allowed the comfort of saying let him build in the summer this season doesn’t matter
Any opinion on maloney should be next season or at the very least after more than 7 games
05-02-2022, 07:45 PM
Don’t agree the season is still massively alive and was when he was appointed. Can’t just write it off not cause of a few bad results and quite frankly he shouldn’t be allowed the comfort of saying let him build in the summer this season doesn’t matter
There’s definitely still a lot to play for. Talk of writing it off is mental. Fact we still have as much to play for, having been so bad, is equally mental.
05-02-2022, 07:45 PM
Any opinion on maloney should be next season or at the very least after more than 7 games
Good job the SFA for once didn't take that attitude when replacing GJP with Clarke :agree:
05-02-2022, 07:46 PM
There’s definitely still a lot to play for. Talk of writing it off is mental. Fact we still have as much to play for, having been so bad, is equally mental.
We have much to play for because of the start we made.
05-02-2022, 07:47 PM
And thank god for that. Image this lot in a proper relegation scrap.
05-02-2022, 07:47 PM
gotta agree with smaxxa. plus klopp would win the league with this team, at a canter.
Rubbish. We have a team off wee lost lambs who are not very good.
05-02-2022, 07:48 PM
And thank god for that. Image this lot in a proper relegation scrap.
Dinnae.
05-02-2022, 07:49 PM
We are a team, minus Boyle that finished third last season and a three players our club value at more than £3m.
05-02-2022, 07:49 PM
Or due to the fact we improved when we binned your man Jack?
05-02-2022, 07:51 PM
Or due to the fact we improved when we binned your man Jack?
Aye, so we have. Today and last week looked it right enough.
05-02-2022, 07:52 PM
I just can’t agree with this give it time and give him another window / season of transition.
He was brought in to improve us. He’s having the same / possibly worse outcomes than the guy before him. That’s alarming.
We also have many who openly admit he’s a rookie manager - my question is why go with such a high risk appointment.
I never expect us to win every game or batter teams but there is a level of expectation.
There are few players which I’m finding a connection with at Hibs currently - few players I like but doesn’t feel much of a connection now Boyle has gone.
Then you have all the off field stuff at the club and lack of connection and there is a real frustration amongst many fans.
Well done those who went today but many who chose not to will feel justified they didn’t waste time and money attending for hardly any entertainment.
That’s a concern again as fans come to renew.
We all want the club to be successful but we are seriously under performing and that can’t be denied. I want him and the players to turn it around but we really aren’t helping ourselves with the transfer window / injuries / tactics and worryingly after the 1st 2x good wins we have got worse - not even sure how that’s possible when with a transfer window behind us we should be better?!!
05-02-2022, 07:52 PM
Good job the SFA for once didn't take that attitude when replacing GJP with Clarke :agree:
Or good job the SFA didn’t spit the dummy out at Clarke’s early results?
05-02-2022, 07:53 PM
Jack Ross was one of the worst managers we’ve had in a long time in so far that despite having a good team and Boyle failed to win anything despite having many easy routes to doing so. He was also a ****
Smurf - as I said right at the beginning - is someone with no experience and no particular idea as to what to do. His obsession with this back five against ***** like Motherwell and st midden is embarassing. This isn’t Belgium Smurf.
I think we should sack him now, acknowledge this was a hopeless mess up and get someone else in.
smurf - is that the nickname he prefers or one you thought up? Jamboesque imo but each to their own I prefer not to judge our managers prematurely Stop the merry go round.
05-02-2022, 07:53 PM
Aye, so we have. Today and last week looked it right enough.
Where were we when he left and where are we now?
You’re thriving on Us losing and no amount of ‘I want what’s best for the club’ pish will disguise that.
Your man is a big reason we are where we are.
05-02-2022, 07:54 PM
I just can’t agree with this give it time and give him another window / season of transition.
He was brought in to improve us. He’s having the same / possibly worse outcomes than the guy before him. That’s alarming.
We also have many who openly admit he’s a rookie manager - my question is why go with such a high risk appointment.
I never expect us to win every game or batter teams but there is a level of expectation.
There are few players which I’m finding a connection with at Hibs currently - few players I like but doesn’t feel much of a connection now Boyle has gone.
Then you have all the off field stuff at the club and lack of connection and there is a real frustration amongst many fans.
Well done those who went today but many who chose not to will feel justified they didn’t waste time and money attending for hardly any entertainment.
That’s a concern again as fans come to renew.
We all want the club to be successful but we are seriously under performing and that can’t be denied. I want him and the players to turn it around but we really aren’t helping ourselves with the transfer window / injuries / tactics and worryingly after the 1st 2x good wins we have got worse - not even sure how that’s possible when with a transfer window behind us we should be better?!!
"Off the field stuff?" Sorry, but could you explain further?
05-02-2022, 07:56 PM
Or good job the SFA didn’t spit the dummy out at Clarke’s early results?
We lost 3 games in his first 18 months and qualified for the first Tournament since 1998? :confused:
He's never lost to a nation ranked under us either.
#2 Double Tap
05-02-2022, 07:57 PM
its a leader to guide the wee lost lambs thats needed, we are not all bad some of the players are decent; cadden, porto, doig and newell, for a start, did you watch the derby, newell had the jumbos superstar midfielders in his pocket, doig hud their new rb in his and cadden was putting balls in the box teh whole game.
the problem is with motivation first and formost- then the team shape, followed by the tactical instruction and match plan. Ross suffered the same problems thats why he got emptied.
supersauzee
05-02-2022, 07:57 PM
Given time or not maloney is trying to implement a possession system with players that are not good enough to play it. Every team will know to press us high up the park and we will be punished every time. Our centre midfielders are the poorest I have seen in a long time! Sad state of affairs just now
05-02-2022, 07:58 PM
Where were we when he left and where are we now?
You’re thriving on Us losing and no amount of ‘I want what’s best for the club’ pish will disguise that.
Your man is a big reason we are where we are.
No, we where ***** when he left and getting progressively worse.
Keep backing Maloney based on nothing all you like because that's what it's based on. Zero.
I'm no giving a ***** what you say personally either, so I'll ignore that pish.
05-02-2022, 07:59 PM
Given time or not maloney is trying to implement a possession system with players that are not good enough to play it. Every team will know to press us high up the park and we will be punished every time. Our centre midfielders are the poorest I have seen in a long time! Sad state of affairs just now
Mowbray managed it when he took over from the hoofball under Williamson.
Mowbray is a very good football manager though, you could see that the minute we played Leeds.
Maloney? Nah.
1875Sean
05-02-2022, 08:03 PM
Go back 2 years to look for improvements?
Surley improvement is taken from when he started no?
He's doubled our points tally over the same number of games
Like it or not, that's improvement
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
I am confident if he lasts as long as Ross his overall record would not be as good
supersauzee
05-02-2022, 08:03 PM
Mowbray is a very good football manager though, you could see that the minute we played Leeds.
Maloney? Nah.
Yea but Mowbray inherited an amazing bunch of talented youngsters. The players we have at the moment are not good enough to play the way maloney wants. Yes its early days but I honestly think we are going to end up in a relegation scrap
Zambernardi1875
05-02-2022, 08:05 PM
Maloney? Nah.
Mowbray 2nd team Reid,orman,shields,smith,bailie,glass,mclusky,Murr ay,morrow,fletcher,konte.. would beat this team.. **** all to do with maloney
We lost 3 games in his first 18 months and qualified for the first Tournament since 1998? :confused:
He's never lost to a nation ranked under us either.
He had a horrendous start, losing four on the trot after winning his first game. There was total apathy, then he gradually turned it round. Sounds familiar and could maybe happen here as well. But maybe you don’t want it to….
I’m not even looking to defend Maloney, because I’ve been at every game since the break and think it’s been dire. But your desperation to tell us how bad he is and how good Jack was is pathetic.
i reckon shaun maloney will quit himself
if some keep calling him SEAN :grr::grr::grr:
and while i'm at it, it's freakin L I V I N G S T O N
NOT livingSTONE
and relax, thank you and God Bless
05-02-2022, 08:07 PM
Yea but Mowbray inherited an amazing bunch of talented youngsters. The players we have at the moment are not good enough to play the way maloney wants. Yes its early days but I honestly think we are going to end up in a relegation scrap
True. We still have better players than what we are showing though.
I hope not, you could be right though and if so I don't think we anywhere enough character to get through it.
It's time for the team to try something different. If it's not Cadden in the middle put Rocky in the middle of midfield and get Daz back in. It's like a team of clones.
Shaun McLoney, I'm nabbing that. :greengrin team lacks character. Like Shaun or Captain Calamity.
05-02-2022, 08:07 PM
No, we where ***** when he left and getting progressively worse.
Keep backing Maloney based on nothing all you like because that's what it's based on. Zero.
I'm no giving a ***** what you say personally either, so I'll ignore that pish.
Never said I think Maloney is doing a great job. Just find it odd that you seem so happy to be able to say he’s not.
Getting progressively worse but should have kept Ross?
05-02-2022, 08:08 PM
"Off the field stuff?" Sorry, but could you explain further?
Off the top of my head quickly..
FF stand maintenance
Ticket prices - many don’t attend due to cost of walk up price
Crap food service and quality / catering
Lack of connection with fans (gold ST not being value for money - few of the promised perks not happening)
Large turnaround of staff at ER behind the scenes
Hope that helps.
BegbieHSC
05-02-2022, 08:10 PM
I thought we looked a bit better when we switched to 4-2-3-1 - I know we conceded from a daft mistake, but I’m not convinced any of our midfielders are capable enough of controlling with just one central midfield partner. My team against the Huns would be:
Dabrowski
Cadden - Rocky - Porto - Doig
JDH - Newell
Mueller - Henderson - Melkersen/Mitchell
Nisbet
He had a horrendous start, losing four on the trot after winning his first game. There was total apathy, then he gradually turned it round. Sounds familiar and could maybe happen here as well. But maybe you don’t want it to….
I’m not even looking to defend Maloney, because I’ve been at every game since the break and think it’s been dire. But your desperation to tell us how bad he is and how good Jack was is pathetic.
He lost twice to the best nation in the world never to win anything and Russia. He didn't lose any game we expected to win. I don't think he ever have.
Comparing Maloney losing at home to Livi and St Mirren while struggling past part time cove to Steve Clark at Scotland is indeed desperation.
Did you overlook me saying how **** it was when Jack Ross was sacked or is that deliberate?
Never said I think Maloney is doing a great job. Just find it odd that you seem so happy to be able to say he’s not.
Getting progressively worse but should have kept Ross?
I'm not happy at all. It's ****ing gutting how bad it's getting.
05-02-2022, 08:12 PM
If that 2004 played this team what would the score be?
Don't know but we would probably still both lose at Hampden to Livi.
I seen us lose 6-2 down at Killie with the same group of players, also 3-0 down there the last day of that season so it's hard to say.
05-02-2022, 08:13 PM
He lost twice to the best nation in the world never to win anything and Russia. He didn't lose any game we expected to win. I don't think he ever have.
Comparing Maloney losing at home to Livi and St Mirren while struggling past part time cove to Steve Clark at Scotland is indeed desperation.
Did you overlook me saying how **** it was when Jack Ross was sacked or is that deliberate?
I didn’t overlook it but I did ask the question, if you thought it was getting progressively worse, why you’re so against sacking him?
I never compared Maloney and Clarke either, responded to separate points. The apathy around the national team until that playoff was huge and it turned on a couple of penalty shoot outs (first of which he was in because of that Exk guy you mentioned).
05-02-2022, 08:18 PM
I thought we looked a bit better when we switched to 4-2-3-1 - I know we conceded from a daft mistake, but I’m not convinced any of our midfielders are capable enough of controlling with just one central midfield partner. My team against the Huns would be:
Dabrowski
Cadden - Rocky - Porto - Doig
JDH - Newell
Mueller - Henderson - Melkersen/Mitchell
Nisbet
Hopefully Hanlon is back
05-02-2022, 08:18 PM
We're 5th which is not what we want but better than where we were. The difference is Boyle, not Maloney.
05-02-2022, 08:19 PM
I didn’t overlook it but I did ask the question, if you thought it was getting progressively worse, why you’re so against sacking him?
I never compared Maloney and Clarke either, responded to separate points. The apathy around the national team until that playoff was huge though.
From the start of the season we where. There was many reason for it though, including the club getting covid, the injuries and the fixture pile up that was forced upon us. Something we where all away of and agreed with Jack when he hit out against it.
That was the reason it was getting worse. I've every confidence, based on how he turned it around after Hecky and how he built as side to finish third that he would have turned it around too. Under Maloney? There's zero, literally nothing to suggest it will get better but blind faith for the sake of it.
If you think different fair enough but I would suggest a thread suggesting the manager is out his depth (which I agree 100% with) isn't for you if you get so wound up about it.
Start he's well within his depth if you like.
05-02-2022, 08:20 PM
its a leader to guide the wee lost lambs thats needed, we are not all bad some of the players are decent; cadden, porto, doig and newell, for a start, did you watch the derby, newell had the jumbos superstar midfielders in his pocket, doig hud their new rb in his and cadden was putting balls in the box teh whole game.
the problem is with motivation first and formost- then the team shape, followed by the tactical instruction and match plan. Ross suffered the same problems thats why he got emptied.
Its alright doing it against Hearts but there is issues if you cant do against Livi and St Mirren at home. Porto was poor today, Newell hot and cold all season. Cadden ill agree with and is probably our best player.
#2 Double Tap
05-02-2022, 08:23 PM
Its alright doing it against Hearts but there is issues if you cant do against Livi and St Mirren at home. Porto was poor today, Newell hot and cold all season. Cadden ill agree with and is probably our best player.
motivation 1st. making sure everyone is ready to go do it.
you dont need to do it for the derby, its natural, its against the shi t teams where it is most obvious. leadership, is and has been our biggest problem imo.
not signing another CMer was a real bad mistake as well.
hfc-1875
05-02-2022, 08:25 PM
I really fear for us for the rest of the season. When maloney got appointed I was quite excited with what I’d heard and how he was meant to be a brilliant coach with a style of play. But now I’m just thinking football these days is too much hung up on possession and stats, what’s the point in having X amount of possession when u don’t do anything with it or u don’t even look like u know what ur doing in the final third
h1bs4life
05-02-2022, 08:26 PM
Don't know if you're being sarcastic but that's simply not true - surveys on here indicated that the majority of fans were happy to give Ross more time. About 30-40% wanted him gone. The decision was Gordon's and Gordon's alone.
Surveys on here , how many 150 people . Hibs net while a good place to discuss all things Hibs no way represents the Hibs support over all the age groups.
Ross at the end couldn’t get the players playing for him and had to go.
Maloney I thought was an interesting appointment , he did at the start looked like he was giving everyone in the squad a chance to show him what they could do.
Bit concerned he is using Dray Wright as a sub few times as well as Scott.
His signings that have played look decent others still come in hopefully, one thing he has done is look further afield for signings. Ross signings usually had to have a St Mirren connection or already be here including resigning players at the end of the last year who nobody has ever wanted when he could have probably waited to the week before next season started to offer contracts
I am backing Shaun one thing he did do today was bring on one of his new signings rather than the usual Murphy or Gogic
05-02-2022, 08:27 PM
Maloney? Nah.
Surely we only need to look at Postecogleu at Celtc. Just last season Celtc wanted everyone out and they looked a rudderless club top to bottom. They appoint Postecogleu and for about the same period as Maloney has been Hibs manager he looked a dud. Maloney may well turn out to be a dud in time but I bet there’s not any Celtc fans now who wished they had acted earlier in the season and sacked him.
Maloney might be naive and making rookie mistakes in playing in a way we don’t have the players for. That’s fair questions to ask. I don’t think he should be sacked, or face the level of criticism, funnily enough by a lot of the same posters that were very vocal about not wanting Ross sacked, as he is because he’s not yet fixed the problems he inherited.
He inherited a squad that had 2 forwards, one of which is coming back from a long term injury, plus whatever James Scott is. Inherited a team that was overly reliant on Boyle to the point our game plan more often than not amounted to “give the ball to Boyle” and little other nuance, he then lost Boyle. Midfield options that consisted of making something balanced out of Newell, JDH, Campbell, Gogic, Hallberg, Allan & a permanently injured Magennis. A midfield problem Ross never got close solving.
Some posters have given him 8 games and a January window to rectify all of that and are now calling for his head. It looks like it’s going to be a steep learning curve and he will have to do some adapting, particularly in relation to being pragmatic and working with what he has not what he wants to have. I don’t think he gets a free swing and this season is completely written off and doesn’t matter what he does. However I don’t think it’s helpful either when posters are so entrenched that they just parrot “but Ross improved Heckingbottoms team”. A constructive debate is fine but Maloney’s biggest crime for some seems to be that he’s simply not Jack Ross.
05-02-2022, 08:27 PM
He’s very naive. He’s trying to get us to play a system we can’t possibly manage and is trying to fit players to a formation rather than the other way round.
I’m baffled as to what shape we were playing at the end and by the looks of it so were the players.
He needs to get streetwise very, very quickly.
05-02-2022, 08:28 PM
From the start of the season we where. There was many reason for it though, including the club getting covid, the injuries and the fixture pile up that was forced upon us. Something we where all away of and agreed with Jack when he hit out against it.
That was the reason it was getting worse. I've every confidence, based on how he turned it around after Hecky and how he built as side to finish third that he would have turned it around too. Under Maloney? There's zero, literally nothing to suggest it will get better but blind faith for the sake of it.
If you think different fair enough but I would suggest a thread suggesting the manager is out his depth (which I agree 100% with) isn't for you if you get so wound up about it.
Start he's well within his depth if you like.
Me wound up haha.
I’ve never said at any point that I think Maloney is doing well.
It was more or less a Jack Ross team in the park today. They got him the sack and, going by his inability to correct the problems he inherited in the window, they’ll get Maloney the sack as well.
05-02-2022, 08:34 PM
Surely we only need to look at Postecogleu at Celtc. Just last season Celtc wanted everyone out and they looked a rudderless club top to bottom. They appoint Postecogleu and for about the same period as Maloney has been Hibs manager he looked a dud. Maloney may well turn out to be a dud in time but I bet there’s not any Celtc fans now who wished they had acted earlier in the season and sacked him.
Maloney might be naive and making rookie mistakes in playing in a way we don’t have the players for. That’s fair questions to ask. I don’t think he should be sacked, or face the level of criticism, funnily enough by a lot of the same posters that were very vocal about not wanting Ross sacked, as he is because he’s not yet fixed the problems he inherited.
He inherited a squad that had 2 forwards, one of which is coming back from a long term injury, plus whatever James Scott is. Inherited a team that was overly reliant on Boyle to the point our game plan more often than not amounted to “give the ball to Boyle” and little other nuance, he then lost Boyle. Midfield options that consisted of making something balanced out of Newell, JDH, Campbell, Gogic, Hallberg, Allan & a permanently injured Magennis. A midfield problem Ross never got close solving.
Some posters have given him 8 games and a January window to rectify all of that and are now calling for his head. It looks like it’s going to be a steep learning curve and he will have to do some adapting, particularly in relation to being pragmatic and working with what he has not what he wants to have. I don’t think he gets a free swing and this season is completely written off and doesn’t matter what he does. However I don’t think it’s helpful either when posters are so entrenched that they just parrot “but Ross improved Heckingbottoms team”. A constructive debate is fine but Maloney’s biggest crime for some seems to be that he’s simply not Jack Ross.
A lot of good points imo but also excuse making for Maloney yet Ross wasn't given that?
Ange is not a good example as he's been a successful international manager and his CV is enough to be afforded time. Maloney has the coaching equivalent of Cathro.
You never know, in the summer we might be looking forward to next season under SM. We might be looking at European football.
Deep down, there's zero indicating that will be the case though. He's well out his depth. He would be doing well to wake up tomorrow and get someone else in to assist him. What he's thinking that Gary Caldwell is the answer to do so? Again based on what? He should be making a phone call to someone to help.
AL-Qaholik
05-02-2022, 08:36 PM
To all the “we need to give him time” folks;
With hindsight, how much time would you have given Butcher?
I’m not calling for his head right now - I just think he’s out of his depth and I’m not sure how long we give him to try to find his feet.
05-02-2022, 08:38 PM
Me wound up haha.
I’ve never said at any point that I think Maloney is doing well.
It was more or less a Jack Ross team in the park today. They got him the sack and, going by his inability to correct the problems he inherited in the window, they’ll get Maloney the sack as well.
Then why come on a thread saying he's out his depth moaning about people saying so? :confused:
He's inherited the third best side in Scotland last season and lost twice in a week to the kind of pap that cost the last guy his job, yet it's okay?
We didn't even have a shot at goal in Motherwell or Celtic, struggled past Cove, lost at home to St Mirren and Livi and had the most luck against the gunts I've ever seen us have in the derby.
Dabrowski and dropping Macey - there's the one improvement. Well done to Maloney for doing so when Ross ignored it.
05-02-2022, 08:39 PM
To all the “we need to give him time” folks;
With hindsight, how much time would you have given Butcher?
I’m not calling for his head right now - I just think he’s out of his depth and I’m not sure how long we give him to try to find his feet.
Butcher just needed time, inherited a shambles and sacking him in March that year would have been insane.
It's because we've lived this out before people are worried.
05-02-2022, 08:40 PM
I’m a season ticket holder for around 36 years. Right now I’m totally lost with Hibs. First half today was the worst I’d felt since butcher. Not even in anytime during Jack Ross reign did I feel like that
We need to be honest. We made a big mistake. A man who got us to third and 2 finals. Yes we felt hard done by last season but does anyone think we are in a better place now?
05-02-2022, 08:41 PM
I absolutely did not. A blatant lie. Look forward to you providing those quotes. I wished him luck like I do all managers. I judge on what I see, nothing else.
Find those posts Colin.
You slate him every week Pep.
05-02-2022, 08:41 PM
Agree with this. Good subs to change it at HT. Dreadful ones after that. If he plays James Scott once more I'll be firmly against him. Scott is utter gash.
You have never been behind him.
hfc-1875
05-02-2022, 08:47 PM
I’m a season ticket holder for around 36 years. Right now I’m totally lost with Hibs. First half today was the worst I’d felt since butcher. Not even in anytime during Jack Ross reign did I feel like that
We need to be honest. We made a big mistake. A man who got us to third and 2 finals. Yes we felt hard done by last season but does anyone think we are in a better place now?
Can’t help but feel your absolutely bang on. I was kind of inbetween wanting Jack Ross to stay and wanting him out, but when u see what he achieved, although we never won anything it was a lot better than what we’re looking at now.
gaz1875
05-02-2022, 08:51 PM
He’s very naive. He’s trying to get us to play a system we can’t possibly manage and is trying to fit players to a formation rather than the other way round.
I’m baffled as to what shape we were playing at the end and by the looks of it so were the players.
He needs to get streetwise very, very quickly.
The formation at the end was better that the one at the start. He was forced to play guys that wanted on the ball and were confident enough to try things. The JDH, Campbell midfield is too negative and slow. Just watched the highlights and Faddy said the pace of the pass is too slow, I must have been saying that every week for the last couple of seasons. Passes are either behind the player or takes an age to get to them killing the pace of the attack.
05-02-2022, 08:53 PM
I just think it was a risk with appointing a guy who has never been the main manager before to come in midseason with a squad needing changes.
If I was to take the job btw I would get back to basics and have a game plan which makes us harder to beat and create more chances. I wouldn’t bring on dud subs and give youth a chance.
I wasn’t against Maloney but he’s not helping himself with the results - let alone the level of performance. I just can’t this improving anytime soon.
Yes it was a risk, every manager is just that, a risk, celtc took a risk with the guy Ange, started of poorly but has turned it around, GVB is risk, our owner has went for Sean and his coaching team, I actually think the players he has brought in are an improvement on what we have, our defence have been better and we are missing Hanlon, two bad mistakes from Campbell and Hayes have cost us games, we created more chances today and should have scored a couple but there goalie played a blinder, will give you the subs issue, he needs to now stick with a starting 11 and stick with them and get some consistency in the team, it’s not pretty just now but we ain’t getting rid of Maloney anytime soon and I think things will get better. :aok:
05-02-2022, 08:53 PM
Then why come on a thread saying he's out his depth moaning about people saying so? :confused:
He's inherited the third best side in Scotland last season and lost twice in a week to the kind of pap that cost the last guy his job, yet it's okay?
We didn't even have a shot at goal in Motherwell or Celtic, struggled past Cove, lost at home to St Mirren and Livi and had the most luck against the gunts I've ever seen us have in the derby.
Dabrowski and dropping Macey - there's the one improvement. Well done to Maloney for doing so when Ross ignored it.
He never inherited the third best team in Scotland this season, which is why your man is out a job.
You’re being daft with some of your comments to try and prove a point, Nisbet missed an open goal after two minutes at Parkhead for example. Again, not me saying Maloney is doing well, I just don’t think you want him to going by your posting as it backs up your opinion on binning Ross.
05-02-2022, 08:55 PM
Pedantic I know but on numerous occasions on this thread you've implied zero improvement but now say replacing Macey with Dabrowski is an improvement :wink:
05-02-2022, 08:55 PM
JR’s league results weren’t good this season but ultimately he paid the price for that wretched cup final performance last may. Had he won that he would have been untouchable this season. A Scottish cup and 3rd place.
as it was, that awful day (and his reaction to it “I’m really proud of the players”) stuck in the minds of many fans. There weren’t too many on here after the Livingston game in December saying he was still the right man to take us forward.
as for maloney, yeah I think we’ve probably made a mistake but he’s not getting sacked yet, nor should he. He’ll get the end of the season.
Totally Agree.. I used to think that J.R. was a bit wrong /Naive with his Tactics sometimes.. To swap him for someone with less experience was a gamble imo
05-02-2022, 08:59 PM
Some effort from whoever made that decision by the way. Really tremendous stuff.
Who made the decision.
05-02-2022, 09:02 PM
Why not just cut our losses, admit it was wrong, sack him and bring in better.
We've been here before and knows how the story ends. Has it ever turned around for the best? McLeish maybe but I still seen a lot of improvement in front of me despite going down. Plus he done a great job at Motherwell.
Where’s all the money coming from to do this, easy to say it not so easy to implement it, MALONEY WILL GET TIME TO TURN IT AROUND.
05-02-2022, 09:03 PM
[/B]
Pedantic I know but on numerous occasions on this thread you've implied zero improvement but now say replacing Macey with Dabrowski is an improvement :wink:
I'm surprised it's not been said earlier but Macey is out because he's injured.
I'm Spartacus
05-02-2022, 09:03 PM
It's very depressing, but he's had 8 games. EIGHT GAMES.
I think as a club we ****** the transfer window. Whoever came in would have also been given the same support I guess.
My finger is pointing towards Ron, it's not at Shaun (just yet).
05-02-2022, 09:04 PM
You have never been behind him.
Another lie. I'm actually still totally behind him now. I desperately want him to succeed. He simply isn't so far.
Still waiting on these quotes Colin.
05-02-2022, 09:05 PM
Where’s all the money coming from to do this, easy to say it not so easy to implement it, MALONEY WILL GET TIME TO TURN IT AROUND.
We're paying 400k for b team players, we can afford to sack a manager if we need to.
05-02-2022, 09:09 PM
The amount of absolute throbbers on this thread and site nowadays is unreal.
Where is your business accumen and successes that would allow you to purchase Hibs? Oh that's right, the vast majority if not likely all on here dont have the money to purchase the club yet somehow feel they have more knowledge than the ****kng owner of the club investing his own money into his own business.
Or your coaching credentials, come on? Surely everyone spouting their opinion can back up that opinion witn some decent credentials to show the understand how to coach a football team at elite level?
No? Didnt think so.
Hibs lost, it happens, it has happened for many a season, stop losing your ****ing minds and throwing your toys out the pram.
Roasters
Me like this post. :thumbsup:
05-02-2022, 09:10 PM
Yes it was a risk, every manager is just that, a risk, celtc took a risk with the guy Ange, started of poorly but has turned it around, GVB is risk, our owner has went for Sean and his coaching team, I actually think the players he has brought in are an improvement on what we have, our defence have been better and we are missing Hanlon, two bad mistakes from Campbell and Hayes have cost us games, we created more chances today and should have scored a couple but there goalie played a blinder, will give you the subs issue, he needs to now stick with a starting 11 and stick with them and get some consistency in the team, it’s not pretty just now but we ain’t getting rid of Maloney anytime soon and I think things will get better. :aok:
I was encouraged with his 1st two games - noticeable differences.
But it feels like opposition coaches have switched on and now understand how we play and how to limit chances.
I don’t think Ange or Gio are a risk - both have proven track records as mangers elsewhere.
Of course new risk with any coach but when recruiting you are wary of this - currently that risk isn’t paying off. It needs to improve quickly.
Fans need to enjoy watching the players and team again - especially against the so called smaller teams.
I don’t think he knows his best 11 and I agree with you consistency is important. Without Hanlon we have actually done fine but the other part of the spine of the team is really not doing much for us. If we play 2 midfielders in middle they need to be really good - if they are Campbell level we need 3.
05-02-2022, 09:15 PM
But it feels like opposition coaches have switched on and now understand how we play and how to limit chances.
I don’t think Ange or Gio are a risk - both have proven track records as mangers elsewhere.
Of course new risk with any coach but when recruiting you are wary of this - currently that risk isn’t paying off. It needs to improve quickly.
Fans need to enjoy watching the players and team again - especially against the so called smaller teams.
I don’t think he knows his best 11 and I agree with you consistency is important. Without Hanlon we have actually done fine but the other part of the spine of the team is really not doing much for us. If we play 2 midfielders in middle they need to be really good - if they are Campbell level we need 3.
Boyle played in his first 2 games. We don't have anyone who plays that role or anyone with his pace or ball carrying ability.
Agree on the midfield. Some say Newell and JDH can't function together. I'd say JDH is lost without Newell.
05-02-2022, 09:23 PM
All we needed was a decent striker and a defender in the summer transfer window. No wholesale changes, just a couple of little tweeks to help us progress in Europe and continue the season well incase we got injuries and suspensions. We got Scott and Wood. Seems a long, long time ago now. Cluster****.
Rumble de Thump
05-02-2022, 09:27 PM
We're paying 400k for b team players, we can afford to sack a manager if we need to.
How can anyone take you seriously?
Zambernardi1875
05-02-2022, 09:27 PM
Can’t help but feel your absolutely bang on. I was kind of inbetween wanting Jack Ross to stay and wanting him out, but when u see what he achieved, although we never won anything it was a lot better than what we’re looking at now.
What we achieved although we never won anything😂
05-02-2022, 09:28 PM
Where is your business accumen and successes that would allow you to purchase Hibs? Oh that's right, the vast majority if not likely all on here dont have the money to purchase the club yet somehow feel they have more knowledge than the ****kng owner of the club investing his own money into his own business.
Or your coaching credentials, come on? Surely everyone spouting their opinion can back up that opinion witn some decent credentials to show the understand how to coach a football team at elite level?
No? Didnt think so.
Hibs lost, it happens, it has happened for many a season, stop losing your ****ing minds and throwing your toys out the pram.
Roasters
If you think only the wealthy or those already involved in the game should be voicing their criticism on here, then why the **** are you on a message board in the first place?
Is it really that much of a surprise?
05-02-2022, 09:29 PM
05-02-2022, 09:31 PM
We are. Maloney has been using that stat too. For how long though . The pack has caught up with us .we could be 7th/8th soon quite easily ..
We need to continue to support him . But it’s easy to understand people being really worried . As you said yourself, since the break (ie since he has had decent time to work on shape and tactics) we’ve been worse . There isn’t any signs for me that we are improving . We look worse to me .
not for getting rid , he needs time , but we are very poor just now , and it has the hallmarks of a failure written all over it . Hope I’m proved completely wrong and his coaching approach shines through and we turn it around
I get that people are worried but saying he should be sacked now and club should get rid is stupidity, where is all the money coming from to keep changing managers every few months until we get it right, how the f*** can people be saying sack him now, it’s madness, we have to stick with Shaun and hope he turns it around, but some on here are just not willing to give him the chance and resort back to Jack Ross blah blah blah, he has gone we move on with Shaun Maloney. .
05-02-2022, 09:39 PM
I get that people are worried but saying he should be sacked now and club should get rid is stupidity, where is all the money coming from to keep changing managers every few months until we get it right, how the f*** can people be saying sack him now, it’s madness, we have to stick with Shaun and hope he turns it around, but some on here are just not willing to give him the chance and resort back to Jack Ross blah blah blah, he has gone we move on with Shaun Maloney. .
That’s just people showing how worried they are ..we always get extreme opinions on here . Particularly when things are bad .
He’s been unlucky with injuries. But his selections and definitely his substitutes are causing the nerves to fray .
Maloney needs to step up and start getting some results . Ibrox and Arbroath are two opportunities to show he’s the real deal . If he doesn’t, particularly in the cup , the clamour will be getting much louder .
05-02-2022, 09:47 PM
I took to Hecky more than I've taken to Maloney. Not felt this disillusioned about Hibs since Caldewood.
05-02-2022, 09:48 PM
Back to people personally abusing through difference of opinion.
Key West
05-02-2022, 09:54 PM
From initially working with Belgium to coming to Hibs he is out of his depth? :rolleyes:
05-02-2022, 09:56 PM
From initially working with Belgium to coming to Hibs he is out of his depth? :rolleyes:
You realise they are quite different jobs don’t you ?
Weir07
05-02-2022, 10:01 PM
Think you're spot on, coaches have now got Maloneys number, two competent bottom 6 coaches have won at Easter Road in the space of a week and they won't be the last. Will be a dreadful end to the season and Maloney likely to be sacked at the end of it. Then a new coach and a big squad overhaul. Hard to see any positives.
Zambernardi1875
05-02-2022, 10:01 PM
You realise they are quite different jobs don’t you ?
It’s a comparison to past jobs, all the critics have done is compare him to past managers, what’s the difference. It’s not even his team and posters nappy’s are full.
05-02-2022, 10:03 PM
No? Didnt think so.
Roasters
id be fairly confident a number of long standing Hibs fans that post on here have more knowledge on HFC and Scottish football than Ron Gordon.
id have said that when he bought his stake in 2019 and none of his actions so far have changed that opinion.
that doesn’t make him a bad owner, he certainly isn’t.
He is making a rod for his own back with the 343 system with these players. With the exception of the centre halfs I don't think it really suits any of them.
He has come into a team who's fans are already digruntled and he may have to be a bit more pragmatic in the short term to buy himself some time.
Cadden and doig are pretty one dimensional and at the moment are being asked to be 2 of our 5 attacking players. They would be much better as attacking full backs in a 4 for me. That would let us get another attacker on the pitch and also help the 2 in the middle, who are getting hung out to dry a bit in this system.
percy veer
05-02-2022, 10:15 PM
Sacked by Xmas...and repeat 1 window crap signings 3 year deals left lumbered with them
05-02-2022, 10:18 PM
Sacked by Xmas...and repeat 1 window crap signings 3 year deals left lumbered with them
Signing someone and being lumbered with them if they don’t work out is bad. We thought it would be good to give JDH and Campbell deals until 2025 once we’d actually watched them play.
angus hibby
05-02-2022, 10:26 PM
Porteous, Rocky, Doyle-Hayes, Hanlon, Newell, Henderson, Mueller all good technical footballers who are more than good enough to play it.
05-02-2022, 10:28 PM
Another lie. I'm actually still totally behind him now. I desperately want him to succeed. He simply isn't so far.
Still waiting on these quotes Colin.
What’s with the Colin chat?
05-02-2022, 11:01 PM
Thought we played OK. On another day we convert two or three of the chances created
Biggest issue is SM didn't think we needed (or couldn't find) a CM.
Sounds ruthless bit we either needed to get KM fit, or replace him. It might ultimately cost SM his job.
With Boyle gone, there's no drive or outlet
05-02-2022, 11:04 PM
The poison pushers are out in force already. Predictable I suppose.
What would you rather? Official arse licking account to come out, predictable I suppose?
MGmick
05-02-2022, 11:11 PM
Okay haha, you build your opinion on if someone is suitable for a Hibs manager based off of success at Alloa all you like, I’ll leave you to it.
Is that any more ridiculous than putting your faith in a man who's most impressive CV entry is being coach under a manager, who has won nothing managing the greatest generation of players a country has known?
And if you think it does qualify him, what relevance does working with the likes of Kevin De Bruyne, the Hazard brothers and Romelu Lukaku have to working with our squad, who to be honest, are fortunate to be around at a time when their very limited abilities allow them to earn money as professional footballers at any level of Scottish football?
Our manager is, I feel, on a bit of an ego trip. He's trying to play a game in the style of teams fielding some of the best players in the world with players who aren't equiped to emulate that. Meanwile our opponents employ a much more pragmatic approach and, given that it's much easier to destroy than create, stifle our forward efforts and profit from our failings at the back.
As the old saying goes, you can only **** with the dick you've got, and, I think, the sooner Maloney realises this the better it will be for him and, more importantly, Hibs.
05-02-2022, 11:44 PM
Goodwin interview saying he knew we would play around the box and they set traps for us. How their goal came about. Worrying stuff
gazzag70
05-02-2022, 11:47 PM
Martin Boyle was so influential in our attacking play losing him was always going to be a big blow to our style of play but it has now become apparent how big a player he was, we are a joke as an attacking force.
Nisbet is ineffective, Doidge looks destitute and our midfield is lame.
Is this Maloneys doing?
Maloney talks a good game but we are rank rotten, how long can we suffer this?
05-02-2022, 11:49 PM
Goodwin interview saying he knew we would play around the box and they set traps for us. How their goal came about. Worrying stuff
No how their goal came about was an error from us from our throw in, that’s nothing to do with setting traps which interestingly enough I seen very little evidence to say any so called traps were set over the course of the game.
Goodwin trying to take more credit than I think it merits it seems to me. You can anticipate us playing from the back and pressing us high that’s not setting a trap in a football sense.
05-02-2022, 11:54 PM
Martin Boyle was so influential in our attacking play losing him was always going to be a big blow to our style of play but it has now become apparent how big a player he was, we are a joke as an attacking force.
Nisbet is ineffective, Doidge looks destitute and our midfield is lame.
Is this Maloneys doing?
Maloney talks a good game but we are rank rotten, how long can we suffer this?
The Rangers away-even although they are gash- and high flying Arbroath away in the Cup starting to get the fear with this shambles of a team
06-02-2022, 12:03 AM
Surveys on here , how many 150 people . Hibs net while a good place to discuss all things Hibs no way represents the Hibs support over all the age groups.
Ross at the end couldn’t get the players playing for him and had to go.
Maloney I thought was an interesting appointment , he did at the start looked like he was giving everyone in the squad a chance to show him what they could do.
Bit concerned he is using Dray Wright as a sub few times as well as Scott.
His signings that have played look decent others still come in hopefully, one thing he has done is look further afield for signings. Ross signings usually had to have a St Mirren connection or already be here including resigning players at the end of the last year who nobody has ever wanted when he could have probably waited to the week before next season started to offer contracts
I am backing Shaun one thing he did do today was bring on one of his new signings rather than the usual Murphy or Gogic
I'm also backing Maloney and 100% want him to succeed. That was not the point of my post though - you are claiming that the majority of the support wanted Ross out one week before a cup final which he'd got us to and that's nonsense. Sure there was a vocal minority who had lost patience but I think the vast majority would have given him at least the Cup Final and many would have given him to the end of the season to turn things round barring disasters.
That was not to be though as Gordon pulled the trigger and now we have Maloney. Hopefully this will turn out to be a good move - it's early days yet and it remains to be seen if he's in or out of his depth - we played well against Hearts and actually created enough chances to win the game vs St Midden today so not all bad. But Shaun will have to pull some better form out of the hat and soon if he's not to find himself under increasing pressure. Long term strategies are all well and good but we need points on the board this season and with this squad of players.
06-02-2022, 12:05 AM
No how their goal came about was an error from us from our throw in, that’s nothing to do with setting traps which interestingly enough I seen very little evidence to say any so called traps were set over the course of the game.
Goodwin trying to take more credit than I think it merits it seems to me. You can anticipate us playing from the back and pressing us high that’s not setting a trap in a football sense.
Perhaps, there was two men on JDH when he took the touch. Turned from one into another. The fact these things are even being mentioned is a concern, it’s pretty rare you see one manager directly call out an element of another managers strategy.
06-02-2022, 12:09 AM
I’ll be honest I was buzzing when Maloney first got the job, but I’m starting to get really scared. I know it can sometimes take a bit of time for things to take effect, but he’s had a winter break now as well as a January transfer window and we’ve just got 1 point from 3 home games against Livingston, Hearts and St Mirren. Wtf is going on?
No? Didnt think so.
Roasters
This is one of the worst posts I’ve read on here
cocteautwin
06-02-2022, 12:16 AM
CEO is out his depth as well. It’s like middle management buzzword bingo every time he speaks.
Keepthefaith
06-02-2022, 12:20 AM
id be fairly confident a number of long standing Hibs fans that post on here have more knowledge on HFC and Scottish football than Ron Gordon.
id have said that when he bought his stake in 2019 and none of his actions so far have changed that opinion.
that doesn’t make him a bad owner, he certainly isn’t.
None of his actions or the ones you don't want to see? I find it so hard to believe that folk can't see the foundations being laid for the next few years. Ron spoke about a plan to develop our own talent, players with potential and to play attacking football. This I believe has started
No one said it would be easy or perfect but it pissed me off that folk are slating everything about the club because of an indifferent start for Maloney. Give the guy some slack? Players have said how much they're enjoying the style, others said it was a big reason why they signed. Patience and support, not melodramatic reaction is what's needed now!
andrew70
06-02-2022, 12:32 AM
None of his actions or the ones you don't want to see? I find it so hard to believe that folk can't see the foundations being laid for the next few years. Ron spoke about a plan to develop our own talent, players with potential and to play attacking football. This I believe has started
No one said it would be easy or perfect but it pissed me off that folk are slating everything about the club because of an indifferent start for Maloney. Give the guy some slack? Players have said how much they're enjoying the style, others said it was a big reason why they signed. Patience and support, not melodramatic reaction is what's needed now!
This 100%. Well said. Things have started to happen and will continue to happen. Full trust in Maloney, the CEO and Ron Gordon.
HibeeSince85
06-02-2022, 12:45 AM
You've posted on the Ron Gordon thread insinuating he has left Hibs for his son to piss about with and one on the hoff thread stating his signing as one of the most confusing things Hibs have done.
Your comments although I dont agree with them are actually quite tame when you compare it some of the drivel posted on here lately from some very emotional fans.
It is a bad run of form that is turning into a bit of a **** season but the owner isn't shafting the club, the manager isn't someone who lacks experience in the highest levels of the game and "knows nothing". It feels like some of the fans at least on here are conforming to the social media trend of who can be the most outraged.
We won't get relegated, we certainly wont get anywhere throwing our toys out the pram every rough patch.
06-02-2022, 12:48 AM
You've posted on the Ron Gordon thread insinuating he has left Hibs for his son to piss about with and one on the hoff thread stating his signing as one of the most confusing things Hibs have done.
Your comments although I dont agree with them are actually quite tame when you compare it some of the drivel posted on here lately from some very emotional fans.
It is a bad run of form that is turning into a bit of a **** season but the owner isn't shafting the club, the manager isn't someone who lacks experience in the highest levels of the game and "knows nothing". It feels like some of the fans at least on here are conforming to the social media trend of who can be the most outraged.
We won't get relegated, we certainly wont get anywhere throwing our toys out the pram every rough patch.
‘We won’t get relegated’ is hardly a barometer of where Hibs and us fans should be aiming.
HibeeSince85
06-02-2022, 12:49 AM
‘We won’t get relegated’ is hardly a barometer of where Hibs and us fans should be aiming.
No but it means we can afford the club the time to complete the transition without fans losing their minds and wanting wholesale changes in a month.
06-02-2022, 12:55 AM
No but it means we can afford the club the time to complete the transition without fans losing their minds and wanting wholesale changes in a month.
I don’t think anyone asking for wholesale changes. I think people are asking for clear replacements and additions to glaringly obvious weak parts of our first team.
06-02-2022, 01:30 AM
You should try reading your own posts, they are chronic.
06-02-2022, 02:15 AM
I was responding to the guy who was muttering something about Hibs fans not knowing as much about the club as a Peruvian American who just landed on the scene less than three years ago and who’s only connection with us is that he had enough dollars in the bank to buy Tom Farmer’s stake. I disagree with that. Depending on their age everyone on this forum will have witnessed either one, two, or three relegations in their lifetimes, plus other near misses, dreadful Hibs teams and results and plenty of good memories too. We know worrying trends when we see them.
I do like Ron. Financially he has guided us through the pandemic, and his enthusiasm in interviews is contagious. I wish him nothing but the best in his plans. The plans you mention are all exciting, but they won’t mean a thing if we keep losing.
06-02-2022, 05:34 AM
Loads have him on ignore now, its the best way, only down side is seeing posts when folk reply to him
Only on your phone but not on the laptop.
06-02-2022, 06:29 AM
Their goal was an individual screw up, not an elaborate trap.
06-02-2022, 06:32 AM
The amount of individual errors our players make it's suicide to play like we do. At least one of those types of mistakes happens every game we play.
hfc-1875
06-02-2022, 06:41 AM
What we achieved although we never won anything😂
We achieved a 3rd place finish and got to 2 finals?
Fuzzywuzzy
06-02-2022, 06:45 AM
The amount of gaslighting on .net at the moment is phenomenal
Crunchie
06-02-2022, 07:14 AM
Can’t argue with any of the posts as they all have a degree of validity. It’s the culture of our club. We want football to played in a certain way as well as the ‘success’ other fan bases crave. That makes it the most difficult job in Scottish football.
I'd say it makes it the most impossible.
I was firmly in the Jack must stay camp and I'm firmly behind Maloney now.
May I remind you the majority of you were in favour of sacking Jack the least you can do is get behind the man, he's been in the door for 5 minutes ffs.
When is the penny going to drop with you people that consistently sacking the managers DOESN'T work.
Crunchie
06-02-2022, 07:23 AM
Not a team yet, but a lot of talented players….
Maloney just in the door, had 7/8 weeks with most of them and we have 5/6 new faces… it’s not gonna change overnight, but hopefully soon it’ll click.
Give the man time for crying out loud…. If you’re not happy or patient then go watch the other lot over the city.
:top marks My only criticism of him so far would be him not signing a striker in the transfer window. Other than that 100% what you say :aok:
06-02-2022, 07:34 AM
:top marks My only criticism of him so far would be him not signing a striker in the transfer window. Other than that 100% what you say :aok:
Except he did, he got injured
The Captain....
06-02-2022, 07:40 AM
I don't think I'll be renewing next season tbh. I was looking forward to yesterday but after 45 mins was wishing I'd stayed in the pub.
It's not for me this 'style' of football and I'm not convinced by anyone in a position of influence at Hibs at the moment. We're piss poor quality wise all over the park but especially in midfield..our strikers don't shoot, our creators don't carve out chances (I'll give Cadden a pass here as he does tbf), our midfield can't pass the ball. It's boring as **** to watch and I've had enough.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
06-02-2022, 07:43 AM
The chucky doll/Smurf lookalike charlatan needs to go. He is completely out of his depth.
I’ll back the team v the bigots on Wednesday and Arbroath on Sunday but this has been a tragic appointment.
Ffs
06-02-2022, 07:47 AM
Totally agree poor goal poor mistake not some genius plan
Crunchie
06-02-2022, 07:50 AM
Except he did, he got injured
Just our luck then.
I said we should write off this League season and concentrate on the cups, that suggestion was laughed at and the get rid off Jack camp won.
As a fan base I fear we'll never learn.
06-02-2022, 07:51 AM
***** recruitment for the past 3 windows is the reason in my book. Yes Maloney is on a shoogly peg and probably rightly so , but to have not signed a central midfielder despite making a raft of signings in the window was criminal. Also cant understand why the laddie tait was loaned out and not given a chance. If he doesn’t get in that midfield then theres no point in signing him.
Agree Tait being loaned out makes no sense given how light we are in that area.
06-02-2022, 07:54 AM
Agree Tait being loaned out makes no sense given how light we are in that area.And yet Tait looked very ropey against arbroath
20 page thread on Campbell if he does the same next week
Mike Berry
06-02-2022, 08:00 AM
And yet Tait looked very ropey against arbroath
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkI watched the Killie Arbroath game, and Tait was indeed very ropey. In fact it was his error that led to the goal, albeit the keeper should have saved it.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
06-02-2022, 08:00 AM
Agree give him a proper chance. He has been unlucky with injuries and yesterday wasn't great however he needs a real chance to change things. Fans at games lack of support and patience isn't helping that is for sure.
OstKurve Hibs
06-02-2022, 08:01 AM
The pish football played under ross is still clearly ingrained in the way the team play, itll take time to implement a new style of play. It doesnt happen over night and there will be bumps in the road.
But maloney is also suffering from the same issue ross had with these players in the fact that they cant turn good goal scoring opportunities and even sitters into goals.
A blind man would have 15 goals for us this season if presented with some of the chance our forwards have wasted
06-02-2022, 08:02 AM
And yet Tait looked very ropey against arbroath
Not sure I have seen enough of Tait to know whether he could be a top league player just thinking we are very light numbers wise in that area and was surprised if he was moving on there wasn't another centre mid coming in.
Key West
06-02-2022, 08:08 AM
The Rangers away-even although they are gash- and high flying Arbroath away in the Cup starting to get the fear with this shambles of a team
Glad you’re not the manager we shouldn’t bother turning up for these games.
The pish football played under ross is still clearly ingrained in the way the team play, itll take time to implement a new style of play. It doesnt happen over night and there will be bumps in the road.
But maloney is also suffering from the same issue ross had with these players in the fact that they cant turn good goal scoring opportunities and even sitters into goals.
A blind man would have 15 goals for us this season if presented with some of the chance our forwards have wasted
:agree::top marks
You can only pee with the cock you've got.
06-02-2022, 08:27 AM
He might well be proven to be out of his depth but he inherited the Martin Boyle team, won his first two games with Boyle, and hasn’t won any (Cove aside) without him.
We didn’t fix the midfield in the window and that might well end up costing him his job, but a problem that pre dates him and what got Ross sacked. He just needs to survive the rest of the season and then start to fix the glaring issues.
He does need to come up with a new approach though. Maybe a step backwards, go more basic and go 451 or some such and then implement his 343 when we have a new midfield.
Shaun was backed in this window. He says he’s happy with the squad.
Obviously it’s impossible to reshape a squad in one window but he had a full month to address areas that needed it.
He has to take some responsibility for that.
06-02-2022, 08:32 AM
May I remind you the majority of you were in favour of sacking Jack the least you can do is get behind the man, he's been in the door for 5 minutes ffs.
When is the penny going to drop with you people that consistently sacking the managers DOESN'T work.
It would be interesting to dig deeper into this, but I would guess that a lot of the folk wanting Ross to go are now also raging at Maloney.
Likewise, there are fans who thought it was wrong to sack Ross and now wondering what the point was.
I actually thought the fans seemed pretty supportive yesterday and the booing at full time was fair enough - it was a Hibs performance that fell well below expectations.
Shaun was backed in this window. He says he’s happy with the squad.
Obviously it’s impossible to reshape a squad in one window but he had a full month to address areas that needed it.
He has to take some responsibility for that.
He said he wanted to sort out the defence, which he did by bringing in Rocky and Clarke, although the latter got injured, unfortunately he's had McGinn and Hanlon injured at the same time so had to play Lewis in the back 3.
I still think he was pinning his hopes on Magennis solving his midfield problems but the lad is made of straw and seems to get injured kicking a ball. January as we know is never a great time to get quality in, usually over priced average players like McGrath.
06-02-2022, 08:45 AM
It would be interesting to dig deeper into this, but I would guess that a lot of the folk wanting Ross to go are now also raging at Maloney.
Likewise, there are fans who thought it was wrong to sack Ross and now wondering what the point was.
I actually thought the fans seemed pretty supportive yesterday and the booing at full time was fair enough - it was a Hibs performance that fell well below expectations.
I am a big Jack Ross fan. Think he’s a quality coach. I’m also fully behind giving Maloney the time to grow into the role and get it right .
I think you can do that and still have concerns . We’ve appointed a rookie first time coach . Some start very well, but most take time to grow into the role. Gerrard made lots of errors in his first season . He later admitted as much . We’ve also got a coach who has made the decision to completely change the playing style during the season . There would be few experienced managers who would choose to do that . It’s never going to be a smooth transition that . Add to that the seemingly committed strategy of bringing in young, less experienced players . It’s got a lost of risks around this approach .
I feel Gordon and Kensall could be much more supportive of Maloney by constantly underlining their ambitions and asking us to be patient as they are on for the long game . Yet , they’ve been nowhere . Leaving our new rookie boss to lead for the front .
Maloney is making mistakes . and he is trying it with a squad that is probably not what he needs for his style of play . Again, something that he needs to get his head around . Since we have committed
To him knowing what he was and what he wasn’t (experienced), he should absolutely get time to show he can get it right . We look so poor currently though. We look firmly like a bottom six side yesterday. it is absolutely natural that people will be hammering him and the team on here . It will continue for some time too is my guess .
06-02-2022, 08:45 AM
Ditching Heckingbottom led to a 3rd place finish, Europe and 2 cup finals.
Should we have stuck with him and bounced around the bottom 6 instead?
The penny has dropped for a lot of us that Maloney isn't the right man. You'll see it eventually :greengrin
Crunchie
06-02-2022, 08:51 AM
The penny has dropped for a lot of us that Maloney isn't the right man. You'll see it eventually :greengrin
And the guy who got us to Europe and 2 cup finals was sacked. I rest my case.
06-02-2022, 08:52 AM
For me the game should of been done and dusted for us before we gave our goal away.
I don't think the changing of the 3 most weeksmis helping also I love Doidge but I don't think he fits in to this system.
We created many chances but never put any away.
06-02-2022, 08:54 AM
He has had to bring in half a new team, some of which haven’t even been able to contribute as yet. We’ve lost our best player and top goal scorer/assist in Boyle, give the man some time for goodness sake.
06-02-2022, 08:56 AM
And the guy who got us to Europe and 2 cup finals was sacked. I rest my case.
Yeah but that ship has sailed.
You were happy with JR, as was I, but i expected better when he left. Doesn't make much sense to me to stick with an inferior manager to JR.
Zambernardi1875
06-02-2022, 08:58 AM
We achieved a 3rd place finish and got to 2 finals?
League we beat Killie and Utd was it? Rangers played well.
Scottish was Stranraer, Motherwell on pens and Utd in the semis. This illusion that getting to finals is some illustrious achievement played over 8-9 ties is just a joke.
06-02-2022, 08:59 AM
The pish football? Thankfully we are Barca now.
06-02-2022, 08:59 AM
Please explain.
06-02-2022, 09:02 AM
He’s got Mueller, Melkerson and Jasper. We’ve definitely signed players, that’s not the issue.
06-02-2022, 09:02 AM
For me the game should of been done and dusted for us before we gave our goal away.
I don't think the changing of the 3 most weeksmis helping also I love Doidge but I don't think he fits in to this system.
We created many chances but never put any away.
I do actually agree with this, we did create a lot of chances yesterday. Henderson could've had 3 goals in 15 minutes. Yesterday on its own wasnt some big disaster. The problem for me is, the previous 4 league games, Hearts, Livi, Celtic and Motherwell we did not create that many chances. Maybe yesterday was a one off.
06-02-2022, 09:03 AM
I was excites by the Maloney appointment even altho I thought sacking JR had panic written all over it and he should have been given the cup final and probably till the Jan window. Now we seem to be in free fall and this has the feel of the Butcher era about it for me, we look clueless and easy to beat. I hope that changes but on current form we could easily get dragged into a scrap - 1 pt from 3 home games and barely a shot on target...if he loses the next 2 and unfortunately Ibrox looks a given, he is under massive pressure already
06-02-2022, 09:05 AM
How could Maloney not see what most fans see and sign players for the positions we need, namely central midfield and striker.
Signing players for a B squad is all very well, but most of us only care about the first team. We needed more experienced and first team ready guys, All very well building for the future, but in the meantime we need to keep the first team on track. Hearts have a decent squad and a manager who knows what he’s doing. The days of squandering seem to be over and in the meantime they are on track to reap the benefit and financial rewards of 3rd place. That could make a big difference to available finance and future asset building.
In terms of tactics, it’s very naive to persist with the current approach, teams must be rubbing their hands in glee.
The inexplicable loaning of McKay, Bradley and Tait is also odd. Surely these guys are better off staying at the club and trying to force their way into the first team squad, same as the others. Just don’t get it at all.
Crunchie
06-02-2022, 09:06 AM
Yeah but that ship has sailed.
You were happy with JR, as was I, but i expected better when he left. Doesn't make much sense to me to stick with an inferior manager to JR.
He's been in the door 5 minutes, he wasn't my first choice by any stretch, I'd have gone for McInnes or Neil, proven managers at our level like Ross was.
Maloney was always going to be a gamble, time will tell whether it was the right one, I hope he gets better support from Ron than Ross did.
06-02-2022, 09:06 AM
I do actually agree with this, we did create a lot of chances yesterday. Henderson could've had 3 goals in 15 minutes. Yesterday on its own wasnt some big disaster. The problem for me is, the previous 4 league games, Hearts, Livi, Celtic and Motherwell we did not create that many chances. Maybe yesterday was a one off.
We created few really decent chances though.
A ball flashed across the box from Cadden when no one is there or a snatched shot when the ball is barely under control isn’t a decent chance.
Everything looks rushed and disjointed at the moment, our players constantly crowded out or, further back, expected to cover huge areas of the park with little support. Tactically it looks like a mess.
06-02-2022, 09:07 AM
Had to google this...
Gaslighting is a form of manipulation that often occurs in abusive relationships. It is a covert type of emotional abuse where the bully or abuser misleads the target, creating a false narrative and making them question their judgments and reality.
You've lost me. You're gonna have to add to your post if you want folk to understand what you're getting at.
06-02-2022, 09:08 AM
He's been in the door 5 minutes, he wasn't my first choice by any stretch, I'd have gone for McInnes or Neil, proven managers at our level like Ross was.
Maloney was always going to be a gamble, time will tell whether it was the right one, I hope he gets better support from Ron than Ross did.
Agree with all of that apart from the very end. My gut feeling is it will be better to cut our losses and make the change sooner rather than later.
Clarence
06-02-2022, 09:11 AM
We seem to have a bit of a random group of players at the moment. No spine to the team. RG appointing his son as head of recruitment is a massive worry.
06-02-2022, 09:13 AM
How could Maloney not see what most fans see and sign players for the positions we need, namely central midfield and striker.
Signing players for a B squad is all very well, but most of us only care about the first team. We needed more experienced and first team ready guys, All very well building for the future, but in the meantime we need to keep the first team on track. Hearts have a decent squad and a manager who knows what he’s doing. The days of squandering seem to be over and in the meantime they are on track to reap the benefit and financial rewards of 3rd place. That could make a big difference to available finance and future asset building.
In terms of tactics, it’s very naive to persist with the current approach, teams must be rubbing their hands in glee.
The inexplicable loaning of McKay, Bradley and Tait is also odd. Surely these guys are better off staying at the club and trying to force their way into the first team squad, same as the others. Just don’t get it at all.
Mueller, Melkerson and Jasper are all attacking options.
Central midfield looks threadbare. Threw on Scotty there yesterday when the opposition were sitting off us and protecting their lead, which did make sense but also looked like a rather desperate plan B.
Crunchie
06-02-2022, 09:14 AM
He’s got Mueller, Melkerson and Jasper. We’ve definitely signed players, that’s not the issue.
A goalscorer is definitely our issue, we're creating plenty of chances with no goals.
06-02-2022, 09:14 AM
This is spot on. We signed loads of players but very few are ready for the 1st team. I fear for Hibs this season, I can easily see us end up in a relegation fight. Ron Gordon is going face the flack if this appointment continues to be as bad as it just now.
OldEast
06-02-2022, 09:18 AM
Do you think it's possible that Steve Kean has persuaded Ben Kensall (rightly or wrongly) that the important thing for the future well being of Hibs on the park and financially is to concentrate on young upcoming talent somewhat at the expense of this season's first team?
Is the big plan already in place and that's exactly what we're seeing playing out now.
06-02-2022, 09:18 AM
It's ok. Let's stick with Maloney because some fans have a romantic notion of playing the "Hibs way". Bigger myth than the Tynecastle atmosphere. If he'd started with two home defeats to St Mirren and Livingston then followed it up with a couple of wins over Dundee United and Aberdeen after having the winter break to work with the players then I'd be more positive but it's the opposite. This stuff about about improving since Ross was punted is nonsense. Nothing has improved, infact we're regressing. 2 or 3-0 against Hearts would have been more reflective of the game. Bad refereeing prevented another home defeat. We are powderpuff and have been out thought by Goodwin, Neilson and Martindale easily. The guy just doesn't inspire confidence, rabbit in the headlights. Not sure what Caldwell brings to the party either. It's looking like a very poor managerial appointment. Calling it as I see it.
The Captain....
06-02-2022, 09:30 AM
We must be the easiest side tactically to play against in the league at the moment. You don't even really need to press as the distinct lack of quality of our passing and even more so our lack of movement means we give away possession cheaply time after time.
It is absolutely infuriating to watch. There is very little about this current side I can stomach.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
06-02-2022, 09:40 AM
A goalscorer is definitely our issue, we're creating plenty of chances with no goals.
I’m not sure we’re creating much in terms of real quality.
Fizzing the ball across the area when there is no one there or pinging it forward to players in congested areas ain’t doing much for me.
WestCoastHibby
06-02-2022, 09:45 AM
Loads bleated on here about Jack Ross and now bleating about Maloney.
Zero point in sacking new manager so early in his tenure and as far as I’m concerned top six is our only target for this year. How many time have we raised our game for Hearts or the ugly sisters to then Chuck it in the following fixture? We’ve done it for donkeys years
Roll on the end of this season and if it doesn’t improve before September/October then let’s move on……again
06-02-2022, 09:48 AM
In hindsight we should have asked Alex Neil to name his price.
06-02-2022, 10:00 AM
The pish football? Thankfully we are Barca now.
not a bad comparison. Barca are pish too
06-02-2022, 10:01 AM
8 games. 8.
That’s a ridiculous amount of time to judge someone who has major work on the squad and playing style to do.
06-02-2022, 10:03 AM
That’s it in a nutshell. Get a striker who gets in he 6 yard box and we score goals. Someone needs to get on the end of the balls that Cadden puts in the box.
06-02-2022, 10:22 AM
It's ok. Let's stick with Maloney because some fans have a romantic notion of playing the "Hibs way". Bigger myth than the Tynecastle atmosphere. If he'd started with two home defeats to St Mirren and Livingston then followed it up with a couple of wins over Dundee United and Aberdeen after having the winter break to work with the players then I'd be more positive but it's the opposite. This stuff about about improving since Ross was punted is nonsense. Nothing has improved, infact we're regressing. 2 or 3-0 against Hearts would have been more reflective of the game. Bad refereeing prevented another home defeat. We are powderpuff and have been out thought by Goodwin, Neilson and Martindale easily. The guy just doesn't inspire confidence, rabbit in the headlights. Not sure what Caldwell brings to the party either. It's looking like a very poor managerial appointment. Calling it as I see it.
How was us missing 5 or 6 really good opportunities a result of Goodwin outthinking Maloney?
It's understandable that people are frustrated but posting bare faced lies doesn't help anybody.
06-02-2022, 10:25 AM
Someone asked for an example of Gaslighting, here it is right here.
Lies and hypothetical events made up to suit a narrative.
06-02-2022, 10:30 AM
How was us missing 5 or 6 really good opportunities a result of Goodwin outthinking Maloney?
It's understandable that people are frustrated but posting bare faced lies doesn't help anybody.
Agree, it’s usually from people still hurting about the sacking of Ross as well.
Not sitting here saying Maloney is doing a great job, but he wasn’t out thought tactically by Goodwin yesterday. Actually, the change of shape at half time turned the game in our direction before JDH has an absolute howler. Nothing in the Hearts game had me thinking he was out thought and we didn’t defend two long balls in to our box against Livingston, something we didn’t do multiple times in defeats to them under the previous manager.
06-02-2022, 10:37 AM
Do you think it's possible that Steve Kean has persuaded Ben Kensall (rightly or wrongly) that the important thing for the future well being of Hibs on the park and financially is to concentrate on young upcoming talent somewhat at the expense of this season's first team?
Is the big plan already in place and that's exactly what we're seeing playing out now.
No, I think this is a strategy that comes from our owner. Of course he has a bigger plan, but there are steps in between and maintaining the first team is paramount. There is always an element of gamble in football ownership, but without a strong first team Hibs will go nowhere. There are no guarantees that any of these young guys have what it takes I include Henderson in that) . I can see sense in signing emerging talent but this team also needed a number of guys who could come straight in and improve the side, particularly in the central midfield and centre forward areas.
06-02-2022, 10:38 AM
He's 2 points worse off than jack Ross was his first 7 games.
06-02-2022, 10:39 AM
Maloney wont be given the time to work his magic, he will be hounded out by the same folk who hounded out every manager we've had who has a bad run of form.
He is trying to change the way we play (too quicky for me may i add) but we have lost Boyle, who was brilliant for us.
New players have been brought in, but will need time, as will the manager to mould them into the way he wants.
He should get time, at least another couple of windows to give him the best chance of success, but i know that will never happen, and he will be hounded out again like the others, although at least some of the others had actually given us some success and good days, SM has no previous managerial experience at this level, so i expect the real abuse to start much earlier.
I mean it's started already.
06-02-2022, 10:56 AM
Someone asked for an example of Gaslighting, here it is right here.
Lies and hypothetical events made up to suit a narrative.
Bury your head in the sand if you like.
06-02-2022, 11:03 AM
Keep making things up and living in a hypothetical world if you like.
06-02-2022, 11:08 AM
It would be more constructive if you added any balance. We’ve gone from 7th to 5th and I think it was you that said replacing Macey with Dabrowski was an improvement. We’re also generally sound defensively. I’d not argue there’s been a big improvement, but I can at least acknowledge the good and the bad so far.
You should either start to add some balance to your points or just come out and say he’s not Jack Ross so you’ve never wanted him.
06-02-2022, 11:09 AM
He's 2 points worse off than jack Ross was his first 7 games.
Oh dear,that's World's end stuff. 🙄
06-02-2022, 11:12 AM
Maloney wont be given the time to work his magic, he will be hounded out by the same folk who hounded out every manager we've had who has a bad run of form.
He is trying to change the way we play (too quicky for me may i add) but we have lost Boyle, who was brilliant for us.
New players have been brought in, but will need time, as will the manager to mould them into the way he wants.
He should get time, at least another couple of windows to give him the best chance of success, but i know that will never happen, and he will be hounded out again like the others, although at least some of the others had actually given us some success and good days, SM has no previous managerial experience at this level, so i expect the real abuse to start much earlier.
I mean it's started already.
A lot of the folk on Maloney’s case, certainly on here, are folk who were quite strongly opposed to sacking Ross and defended him to the death. Feels like some are almost waiting on us losing so they can say ‘told you so’ about sacking him and as such aren’t going to afford Maloney any time.
Think it’s totally fair for people to be expressing concerns about what we’re watching though.
06-02-2022, 11:19 AM
It would be more constructive if you added any balance. We’ve gone from 7th to 5th and I think it was you that said replacing Macey with Dabrowski was an improvement. We’re also generally sound defensively. I’d not argue there’s been a big improvement, but I can at least acknowledge the good and the bad so far.
You should either start to add some balance to your points or just come out and say he’s not Jack Ross so you’ve never wanted him.
There’s very little positive about what Maloney has done for Hibs at the moment . Whilst we are two places higher . Iirc, We had a games in hand on his arrival , and also we had a good gap to those below us . We are now just as likely to be 8th or 9th in a few games as we are to remain 5th .
I’m bored of any Ross related points nowadays (even though as I was a fan of his). He’s gone . Not coming back . But on Maloney , current context is we are without a league win in five games and can’t see any material improvement . I’d be pleasantly surprised , albeit not particularly motivated, if we end up in the top six this season . I can completely understand posters who want Maloney to be given time . He should . Equally though, I can also understand posters who are concluding he’s not good enough . As there are no signs he is .
06-02-2022, 11:35 AM
8 games. 8.
That’s a ridiculous amount of time to judge someone who has major work on the squad and playing style to do.
You might be right.
How long do you give it though? Plenty clubs change manager after a short space of time if it's clear it isn't working.
If we finish the season in 5 - 7 place do we then say it's all about the new season? Then if we're mid table come October, is that then long enough?
I don't have the answers, but Maloney just doesn't give me any confidence that things will improve. I'm not hating on him, or frothing at the mouth or anything, but i just don't see the plan or any improvement in either performances or results.
He's the exact opposite of what I thought we would go for when Ross left.
I'm not speaking for anyone else, but everything Hibs just feels stale/boring/meh to me. I really wish I was dying to get to ER each week but I don't, it feels like a chore.
06-02-2022, 12:04 PM
It wasn’t elaborate, they pressed him on one side forcing him to turn into the other player. Two men pressing the man receiving the ball 30 yards from goal resulting in them gaining possession. Clearly part of their game plan however Goodwin frames it.
06-02-2022, 12:12 PM
Oh dear,that's World's end stuff. [emoji849]That's exactly my point
06-02-2022, 12:16 PM
I’d take Ross back in a millisecond. Not even a second thought.
MKHIBEE
06-02-2022, 12:18 PM
What happens if we get rid of Maloney? ( not that we should imo) We extend the cycle of not giving a manager the time he needs to build a settled team playing the way he wants and getting the results we need.
Since Calderwood, and probably before, the managers office has been accessed by a revolving door with managers tenures being around 15 months on average.
If we had the money to spend on changing squads with top quality players every time we change managers things might be different.
SM has obviously convinced Ron that he has a plan to ensure that the club is able to move forward and begin to put down solid roots that ensures that the style of play and quality of players ensures we are challenging at the top end of the table and in the cups. He needs time and support. We need a different mindset when it comes to managers than the one we have had for years otherwise nothing will improve or change
06-02-2022, 12:20 PM
I’d take Ross back in a millisecond. Not even a second thought.
he’s not coming back. Doubtful he’d want to even if Hibs did a u-turn and went grovelling to him.
06-02-2022, 12:23 PM
What happens if we get rid of Maloney? ( not that we should imo) We extend the cycle of not giving a manager the time he needs to build a settled team playing the way he wants and getting the results we need.
Since Calderwood, and probably before, the managers office has been accessed by a revolving door with managers tenures being around 15 months on average.
If we had the money to spend on changing squads with top quality players every time we change managers things might be different.
SM has obviously convinced Ron that he has a plan to ensure that the club is able to move forward and begin to put down solid roots that ensures that the style of play and quality of players ensures we are challenging at the top end of the table and in the cups. He needs time and support. We need a different mindset when it comes to managers than the one we have had for years otherwise nothing will improve or change
Within 3 games of Alan Stubbs taking over (and building a team from scratch) I could see the style of play & how the team would develop
Within 180mins of Neil Lennon's tenure v Brondby you could see a period of good times ahead
After 8 games with Shaun I know how Arbroath will open the scoring against us next Saturday. We are too naive
loanheadhibby
06-02-2022, 12:25 PM
he’s not coming back. Doubtful he’d want to even if Hibs did a u-turn and went grovelling to him.
Don’t believe that for a minute. He’s out of a job, sitting in house doing nothing, he’d be back at Hibs in a shot if asked. He won’t be asked, but pretty certain he’d jump at chance.
Maloney will get until the end of the season at least.
06-02-2022, 12:27 PM
Those baying for Ross to be sacked should have asked themselves these questions first…
06-02-2022, 12:27 PM
agree. I don’t think we’re a long way from being a very good team and I’m willing to suffer days like yesterday, and the previous Saturday if I think we’re headed in the right direction.
the lack of goals are a real worry though. If nisbet and others don’t start putting away the many chances that are falling to them then the new stylish passing Hibs that maloney is trying to create will be choked at birth and he’ll be out of a job.
06-02-2022, 12:30 PM
agree. I don’t think we’re a long way from being a very good team and I’m willing to suffer days like yesterday, and the previous Saturday if I think we’re headed in the right direction.
the lack of goals are a real worry though. If nisbet and others don’t start putting away the many chances that are falling to them then the new stylish passing Hibs that maloney is trying to create will be choked at birth and he’ll be out of a job.
You’re more optimistic than me.
I’m not seeing any stylish passes or quality possession. Our strikers are feeding off scraps or being asked to come deep looking for the ball, which is then fizzed into the box before they get the chance to get there.
This partly explains why we aren’t scoring goals.
06-02-2022, 12:46 PM
A lot of the folk on Maloney’s case, certainly on here, are folk who were quite strongly opposed to sacking Ross and defended him to the death. Feels like some are almost waiting on us losing so they can say ‘told you so’ about sacking him and as such aren’t going to afford Maloney any time.
Think it’s totally fair for people to be expressing concerns about what we’re watching though.
Not calling for Jack’s sacking wasn’t defending him to death. It was saying he deserved more time to try and sort it out, given his overall record.
When Hibs sack the manager a week before a major cup final it is a clear sign that the club has lost its way imo. Getting to those cup finals has been the only realistic possibility of silverware in my lifetime, and is how we measure success - or used to.
06-02-2022, 12:52 PM
Not calling for Jack’s sacking wasn’t defending him to death. It was saying he deserved more time to try and sort it out, given his overall record.
When Hibs sack the manager a week before a major cup final it is a clear sign that the club has lost its way imo. Getting to those cup finals has been the only realistic possibility of silverware in my lifetime, and is how we measure success - or used to.
Yep. Stubbs Hibs were, on the face of it, in serious shambles before the 15/16 final. In the months before it, we lost 3-0 to Morton, 3-2 to Dumbarton, 1-0 to QoTS, 2-1 to Raith and 1-0 to Alloa. We also lost the playoff semi to Falkirk and finished 3rd. There were actually folk on here saying he should be sacked ''if we're to have any chance against Rangers''
It is so, so depressing that after finishing 3rd, we're already being told to write off this season so we can maybe be good next season.
06-02-2022, 01:03 PM
Yep. Stubbs Hibs were, on the face of it, in serious shambles before the 15/16 final. In the months before it, we lost 3-0 to Morton, 3-2 to Dumbarton, 1-0 to QoTS, 2-1 to Raith and 1-0 to Alloa. We also lost the playoff semi to Falkirk and finished 3rd. There were actually folk on here saying he should be sacked ''if we're to have any chance against Rangers''
It is so, so depressing that after finishing 3rd, we're already being told to write off this season so we can maybe be good next season.
and blew an amazing chance to win the league cup
06-02-2022, 01:04 PM
It is depressing that last seasons 3rd looks to be the end of another upward trajectory rather than the foundations for sustained success. Last season was an achievement, no re-writing history, even if I didn’t particularly enjoy it.
I think this season shows that the foundations of last season were pretty hollow. Ross and his team faced a stronger league and Hearts coming back up. Both he and his team were found wanting in the face of those challenges. We were looking like having to write the season off before Maloney arrived, and disappointingly that looks to still be the case.
06-02-2022, 01:06 PM
You’re more optimistic than me.
I’m not seeing any stylish passes or quality possession. Our strikers are feeding off scraps or being asked to come deep looking for the ball, which is then fizzed into the box before they get the chance to get there.
This partly explains why we aren’t scoring goals.
I know, I’m not seeing it either but I am seeing an attempt to play that way. I can’t make a judgement on it until Maloney has his own team (and we’ve just signed a lot of players).
feeding off scraps they may be but some of the chances we’ve squandered since the winter break have been astonishing
06-02-2022, 01:12 PM
That's fine if we were in control of what happens if/when a manager is successful. We're not. Invariably, we lose our better players and manager as soon as they threaten to bring success. Been that way for 50+ years. Hibs most successful squads were built under the radar in the Mowbray era (great youngsters) and when relegated under McLeish and Stubbs. Would be great if Maloney was different and Ron promised £££ to break the cycle, but at the moment this feels like just another painful "transition" to mediocrity.
06-02-2022, 01:13 PM
I know, I’m not seeing it either but I am seeing an attempt to play that way. I can’t make a judgement on it until Maloney has his own team (and we’ve just signed a lot of players).
feeding off scraps they may be but some of the chances we’ve squandered since the winter break have been astonishing
I respect your opinion but that approach isn’t good enough for me.
This isn’t a squad that scraped through a relegation battle last season. We finished 3rd (albeit aided in that by an absent Hearts and Aberdeen falling to pieces).
We’ve had a lot of new players join us last month. Ok, Shaun didn’t have a lot of time to make plans ahead of the transfer window but he did have some time to prepare.
We simply have to see better results soon. ‘Wait until summer’ won’t cut it.
06-02-2022, 01:15 PM
Don’t believe that for a minute. He’s out of a job, sitting in house doing nothing, he’d be back at Hibs in a shot if asked. He won’t be asked, but pretty certain he’d jump at chance.
Maloney will get until the end of the season at least.
Sadly that boat has sailed. We need to move on and back Shaun Maloney until he moves on. Stability is what makes clubs successful, not constant sackings and upheaval. I was and am convinced the club made a huge mistake parting company with Jack Ross but he had a very sensible saying which, to paraphrase, said you cannot affect the past, only the future. We have to live with the SM experiment and get behind it. If it fails it should not be because the fans turned against the club. The club is bigger than any management team or owner.
06-02-2022, 01:27 PM
I dont know if saying the last manager deserved more time is defending him to the death, i do know he has plenty left as a manager, and he had achieved for my club more than many have in the past.
I do know that when you sack a manager, the new guy will come in and completely rip up a squad and bring his own men in, the old transitional period as its called.
Now we have a new manager, he's done that, he's signed many players, i lost count. And he wants us to play a different style, seems to me it's a style without scoring goals and a style that is all about keeping ther ball between the back 3/4/5 before they lose it in dangerous positions.
Now of course he will say his team needs time to develop, and i 100% agree with him, but he just wont get that time, and playing the way he wants with players not capable of playing that way will only hurry along that eventual sacking.
I'm never going to say i told you so, what i will say is a manager who has deliverd in the past, can do it again given time.
Yet each time we sack a a manager, we should give the new man time, but it's clear to me that, this will never happen again.
We all want success yesterday, and anything but that is not enough.
06-02-2022, 01:30 PM
Those baying for Ross to be sacked should have asked themselves these questions first…
Was anyone baying for him to be sacked bar the odd numpty? A half-arsed chant at Livi was as bad as it got.
There was a fair bit of apathy and a number of us said at points of frustration that it wouldn’t necessarily bother us if he was sacked. In the cold light of day, I don’t think any of us wanted him to go - we wanted him to be adequately backed in January so we could say for sure whether he had it or not.
I think his sacking was an error of judgment. I think it was a misinterpretation of the empty seats and stay away fans. The disgruntlement wasn’t actually anything like as big as it can be (or arguably is now). It’s easy to watch from home and through the first half of the season I was a bit guilty of doing that when I was able to get to the game. I also suspect there might have been the odd cross word between the owner and manager that played a part, but I don’t think there was ever a baying mob driving Ross out, even if there was the odd bit of muttering when the football wasn’t brilliant.
I’ve tried to stay off the Jack Ross subject as he’s gone, not coming back and there’s little to be gained by going over it.
But having watched all of Maloney’s games, I think we’re much poorer for the managerial change - and I don’t think the blame for Ross’ departure should be laid at the door of a non-existent angry mob.
06-02-2022, 01:35 PM
Was anyone baying for him to be sacked bar the odd numpty? A half-arsed chant at Livi was as bad as it got.
There was a fair bit of apathy and a number of us said at points of frustration that it wouldn’t necessarily bother us if he was sacked. In the cold light of day, I don’t think any of us wanted him to go - we wanted him to be adequately backed in January so we could say for sure whether he had it or not.
I think his sacking was an error of judgment. I think it was a misinterpretation of the empty seats and stay away fans. The disgruntlement wasn’t actually anything like as big as it can be (or arguably is now). It’s easy to watch from home and through the first half of the season I was a bit guilty of doing that when I was able to get to the game. I also suspect there might have been the odd cross word between the owner and manager that played a part, but I don’t think there was ever a baying mob driving Ross out, even if there was the odd bit of muttering when the football wasn’t brilliant.
I’ve tried to stay off the Jack Ross subject as he’s gone, not coming back and there’s little to be gained by going over it.
But having watched all of Maloney’s games, I think we’re much poorer for the managerial change - and I don’t think the blame for Ross’ departure should be laid at the door of a non-existent angry mob.
there was a thread on here after the Livy game with the title ‘Can anyone still defend him?’ Or something to that effect. And very few did.
not that football forums are representative of a support as a whole. But the feeling on here was definitely that he had reached the end of the road
the tornadoe
06-02-2022, 01:40 PM
there was a thread on here after the Livy game with the title ‘Can anyone still defend him?’ Or something to that effect. And very few did.
Cove, Livy, Hearts then St mirren.. he changed the set up and style of play for one of those games only, Hearts. Our best performance a mile... does that mean he knows how to play to our strengths at the moment but uses " lesser games " to try and implement HIS way of playing. Knowing full well he would have been under enormous pressure had Hearts gave us a real pumping..
06-02-2022, 01:44 PM
Cove, Livy, Hearts then St mirren.. he changed the set up and style of play for one of those games only, Hearts. Our best performance a mile... does that mean he knows how to play to our strengths at the moment but uses " lesser games " to try and implement HIS way of playing. Knowing full well he would have been under enormous pressure had Hearts gave us a real pumping..
dont know, but the Livy game I was talking about was the one Jack Ross lost in december
06-02-2022, 01:46 PM
not that football forums are representative of a support as a whole. But the feeling on here was definitely that he had reached the end of the road
Was there not also a poll a few weeks from the end where he enjoyed more than 70% support? Given the nature of fans, forums, and the form we were in, that was a fairly ringing endorsement.
Even if a few of us who had voted that he should stay said that we were a bit unsure at that point.
06-02-2022, 01:49 PM
To be honest Parkhead should have been a cricket score at half time and I admired Maloney persisting with the way we played.
I didn't expect it to look quite as shambolic against Cove but apart from a 20 min spell it wasn't good or pretty.
06-02-2022, 01:54 PM
Yes it dramatically went from blaming Mathie for everything to threads understanding the fixture pile up that was about to happen to it's all Ross' fault and the players aren't playing for him for some reason.
I personally thought we should have kept him and gave him the chance to turn it around - he deserved that but for some he could never recover the Hearts Semi and the Cup Final, which I understand. If sacking him it would only have been the right thing to do if there was a ready made replacement to come in and help guide the team to third or fourth before rebuilding in the summer if needed.
It just looks that things have been done for the sake of it with no plan but we just have to blindly back this plan when the manager who had us third got to November the next season before he was knifed in the back. Both at board room level and by some of the fans.
If rumours are to be believed, Ross had big fall out with Ron, when that happens there's only going to be one outcome, same happened at Sunderland.
06-02-2022, 01:57 PM
If rumours are to be believed, Ross had big fall out with Ron, when that happens there's only going to be one outcome, same happened at Sunderland.
Any idea what the reason was for the fall out?
06-02-2022, 01:59 PM
I dont know if saying the last manager deserved more time is defending him to the death, i do know he has plenty left as a manager, and he had achieved for my club more than many have in the past.
I do know that when you sack a manager, the new guy will come in and completely rip up a squad and bring his own men in, the old transitional period as its called.
Now we have a new manager, he's done that, he's signed many players, i lost count. And he wants us to play a different style, seems to me it's a style without scoring goals and a style that is all about keeping ther ball between the back 3/4/5 before they lose it in dangerous positions.
Now of course he will say his team needs time to develop, and i 100% agree with him, but he just wont get that time, and playing the way he wants with players not capable of playing that way will only hurry along that eventual sacking.
I'm never going to say i told you so, what i will say is a manager who has deliverd in the past, can do it again given time.
Yet each time we sack a a manager, we should give the new man time, but it's clear to me that, this will never happen again.
Since 1960 we have had 28 managers.
Not counting interims/caretakers.....
I read on another thread,someone calling for Shaun to go now and we appoint "the right man!!" :panic:
The next manager will be "the right man " ,wont he ?:hmmm:
Any idea what the reason was for the fall out?
None but the rumour had been floating around a good month or so before he went. Remember he also had a fall out with Mathie, perhaps Ron blamed both of them for the screw up in the summer window.
TheHibernator
06-02-2022, 03:08 PM
He is a Rabbit caught in headlights this guy is clueless no shape and no midfield bottom six and stay clear of relegation. Worst Hibs team I have seen in many a year. Risky appointment from Ron Gordon should have gone for a safe pair of hands in Lennon.
This is gold
06-02-2022, 03:16 PM
This is gold
First time I’ve ever seen Lennon referred to as a safe pair of hands 😂
allmodcons
06-02-2022, 03:18 PM
Now we have a new manager, he's done that, he's signed many players, i lost count. And he wants us to play a different style, seems to me it's a style without scoring goals and a style that is all about keeping the ball between the back 3/4/5 before they lose it in dangerous positions.
I'm never going to say i told you so, what i will say is a manager who has delivered in the past, can do it again given time.
A great post that sums up how I feel about the sacking of Jack Ross and my (early) impression of his replacement.
06-02-2022, 04:40 PM
The spine and centre midfield is a major issue - probably worst midfield we have had for a long time.
K-Zazu
06-02-2022, 04:43 PM
Maybe someone should tell him that just because your allowed to make 5 subs doesn’t mean u need to make them all. Don’t think changing half the team during the game is doing him any favours
06-02-2022, 04:49 PM
The fans have never hounded out any of our managers that turned out to be decent. They got enough time to do what was needed.
Mowbray, McLeish, Stubbs and Lennon for example.
We did however voice concerns about Calderwood, Fenlon, Butcher and Heckingbottom.
Looking back, would anyone say we should have given these 4 more time?
As a fan base, it's not a bad track record really :greengrin
06-02-2022, 04:50 PM
4 goals closer to 3rd after todays results…
06-02-2022, 04:53 PM
The fans have never hounded out any of our managers that turned out to be decent. They got enough time to do what was needed.
We did however voice concerns about Calderwood, Fenlon, Butcher and Heckingbottom.
Fenlon absolutely should've been given to that seasons end. Otherwise you're right. The fans generally get it right. Ron was definitely going to bin Ross regardless of fan opinion. Something wasn't right.
06-02-2022, 05:00 PM
Fenlon absolutely should've been given to that seasons end. Otherwise you're right. The fans generally get it right. Ron was definitely going to bin Ross regardless of fan opinion. Something wasn't right.
Fenlon resigned - it was his decision
06-02-2022, 05:25 PM
Maloney might come good; he might not. But he's a new manager in his first job, and seven games is no time to judge. I still think it would be a disgrace to sack any manager so early.
06-02-2022, 05:27 PM
Very fair point - we couldnae even get rid of Williamson :greengrin we did manage to Mixu mind you.
06-02-2022, 05:28 PM
Maloney might come good; he might not. But he's a new manager in his first job, and seven games is no time to judge. I still think it would be a disgrace to sack any manager so early.
Probably as much as a disgrace sacking a manager a week before a National final head lead us too but I agree.
JamesHFC
06-02-2022, 05:35 PM
His future will depend on whether or not we finish top six.
Noticeable that you've not included Jack Ross, the most relevant one.
06-02-2022, 05:41 PM
Jack Ross is gone. You need to move on.
06-02-2022, 05:50 PM
Supporters of any team will always measure the performance of their current manager against others that have been at the club. And especially against the one immediately before them.
The discussion won’t stop.
I have moved on.
I quoted a post about fans hounding out managers which referenced 8 managers. All I did was point out the obviously most relevant one had been omitted.
06-02-2022, 06:01 PM
He’s the most recent manager to leave, it’s perfectly reasonable to expect him to be included in any arguments about managers.
06-02-2022, 06:10 PM
Its been done to death already but ok, I don’t think for one minute that the fans hounded him out.
That was 100% on the club.
Paulie Walnuts
06-02-2022, 08:22 PM
I wouldn’t read too much into the very vocal tiny minority who are already wanting Maloney binned (even if they follow up their posts claiming they don’t want him binned, which they clearly do).
One of them posted before JR was sacked that results was all that matters to them yet Maloney has started his career better than JR finished his and now they can’t wait to tell us how we’re not any better and we should have kept JR. I mean it’s quite simply not true and if you’re going to stick up for JR by claiming results are all that you care about then you better be prepared to stick by that for the new man.
8 points from the same amount of games that JR picked up 4 points in. In fact, just in case anyone forgot how bad it got under Jack Ross, Maloney could lose his next 3 league games and he would still have picked up DOUBLE the amount of points JR picked up in his last 9 league games in his first 9. That’s how ****ing bad we were. That’s why Jack Ross got sacked, that’s why Jack Ross didn’t deserve the final, that’s why Jack Ross didn’t deserve the transfer window and that’s why Jack Ross is unemployed.
5th place to JRs 7th. By absolutely every factual measure, we’re a better team than Jack Ross’ team that he finished up with. Someone that only cares about results wanting to keep JR/pining for him to come back and wanting SM sacked? Laughable.
The same poster even declared before we knew who the new manager was going to be that he wouldn’t be able take to the new man because he wasn’t Jack Ross. It’s laughable really.
Theres 3 or 4 posters on this thread who seem to be more invested in JR than they are in Hibs. Let them spout their crap all they want, they’ll try and make enough noise to make it look like Hibs fans want Maloney binned already when it’s blatantly not the case. And for the avoidance of any doubt for these posters - if Maloney gets binned, you still don’t be getting Jack Ross back.
Let’s get behind him. There’s absolutely a lot to be unhappy about so far, but the reaction is utterly ridiculous. We’ve even got folk asking why SM should be given time when JR wasn’t. This is the same JR who had 2 years in the job, 3 Hampden horror results, numerous Easter Road horror results, next to never lay a glove on the Old Firm… and yet we’re told he wasn’t given time? How did he continue on in the job after all these dreadful results if he wasn’t given time? The guy had more horrible results and/or performances than I could count on my hands. He had more than enough time and was given plenty opportunities to rectify results that were a hell of a lot worse than the Livi and St Mirren ones from the last week.
06-02-2022, 08:32 PM
For what it is worth I do not think he is out of his depth. I do think the team will come good. When? Who can say but we have four injured key players, so perhaps when they are up and running. The finished article will still give a away a goal in matches such as we saw against Livingston and St Mirren. We are going to need real class in the goal scoring department. Someone has to step up until we sign one in the summer.
06-02-2022, 08:47 PM
Simple as that, really.
Personally, I think his card is already marked.
:troll::kbacker:
villager
06-02-2022, 09:00 PM
I wouldn’t read too much into the very vocal tiny minority who are already wanting Maloney binned (even if they follow up their posts claiming they don’t want him binned, which they clearly do).
One of them posted before JR was sacked that results was all that matters to them yet Maloney has started his career better than JR finished his and now they can’t wait to tell us how we’re not any better and we should have kept JR. I mean it’s quite simply not true and if you’re going to stick up for JR by claiming results are all that you care about then you better be prepared to stick by that for the new man.
8 points from the same amount of games that JR picked up 4 points in. In fact, just in case anyone forgot how bad it got under Jack Ross, Maloney could lose his next 3 league games and he would still have picked up DOUBLE the amount of points JR picked up in his last 9 league games in his first 9. That’s how ****ing bad we were. That’s why Jack Ross got sacked, that’s why Jack Ross didn’t deserve the final, that’s why Jack Ross didn’t deserve the transfer window and that’s why Jack Ross is unemployed.
5th place to JRs 7th. By absolutely every factual measure, we’re a better team than Jack Ross’ team that he finished up with. Someone that only cares about results wanting to keep JR/pining for him to come back and wanting SM sacked? Laughable.
The same poster even declared before we knew who the new manager was going to be that he wouldn’t be able take to the new man because he wasn’t Jack Ross. It’s laughable really.
Theres 3 or 4 posters on this thread who seem to be more invested in JR than they are in Hibs. Let them spout their crap all they want, they’ll try and make enough noise to make it look like Hibs fans want Maloney binned already when it’s blatantly not the case.
Let’s get behind him. There’s absolutely a lot to be unhappy about so far, but the reaction is utterly ridiculous. We’ve even got folk asking why SM should be given time when JR wasn’t. This is the same JR who had 2 years in the job, 3 Hampden horror results, numerous Easter Road horror results, next to never lay a glove on the Old Firm… and yet we’re told he wasn’t given time? How did he continue on in the job after all these dreadful results if he wasn’t given time? The guy had more horrible results and/or performances than I could count on my hands. He had more than enough time and was given plenty opportunities to rectify results that were a hell of a lot worse than the Livi and St Mirren ones from the last week.
Nailed it 👍
06-02-2022, 09:07 PM
Big problem for the club this. The fans are detached from the club and completely split. One side pinging Jack Ross stats to suit the fact he should have stayed and the other using the other stats to spin why he should be sacked.
In the meantime all forgetting to support the team and the new guy. Petty bickering going to help no one but there’s countless threads in here all spewing the same nonsense.
06-02-2022, 09:09 PM
I agree. Hibs.net needs to shut down for a few weeks 🙃
06-02-2022, 09:35 PM
Maloneys here until at least May, 3rd is long gone but we’re never getting relegated and even a loss next week wouldn’t see him out so as it stands he’s going absolutely nowhere
We’ve got what we’ve got and although I don’t think we’re as bad as most on here are making us out to be we are very normal and bang average.
It might not be pretty but as change isn’t imminent if we’re buckling up and getting on with it we need to at least get behind the players as the alternative of berating the same pool and still expecting wonders won’t happen either.
I was very vocal about getting Ross out intact I was poisonous on here after the Celtic home game but tell you what, holding my hands up maybe we should be carful what we wish for as SM is not the answer
Greenio
06-02-2022, 09:41 PM
Maloney will get plenty time and so he should, unless we're in a relegation battle, which I'm confident we won't be, he gets the whole season and the start of next.
Anyone calling for his head now is just venting and being completely irrational.... although well intitled to do so if they wish!
Paul1642
06-02-2022, 09:44 PM
I do generally agree with this however do recall that Stubbs was on pretty thin ice and only kept the fans on side with cup runs (thank god that he did).
Keepthefaith
06-02-2022, 09:46 PM
Theres 3 or 4 posters on this thread who seem to be more invested in JR than they are in Hibs. Let them spout their crap all they want, they’ll try and make enough noise to make it look like Hibs fans want Maloney binned already when it’s blatantly not the case. And for the avoidance of any doubt for these posters - if Maloney gets binned, you still don’t be getting Jack Ross back.
👋👋👋
The only thing you forgot is that Ross did all of that WITH Boyle too, oh and also forgot our horrendous discipline under Ross, but otherwise nailed it.
Paul1642
06-02-2022, 09:47 PM
Maloneys here until at least May, 3rd is long gone but we’re never getting relegated and even a loss next week wouldn’t see him out so as it stands he’s going absolutely nowhere
We’ve got what we’ve got and although I don’t think we’re as bad as most on here are making us out to be we are very normal and bang average.
It might not be pretty but as change isn’t imminent if we’re buckling up and getting on with it we need to at least get behind the players as the alternative of berating the same pool and still expecting wonders won’t happen either.
I was very vocal about getting Ross out intact I was poisonous on here after the Celtic home game but tell you what, holding my hands up maybe we should be carful what we wish for as SM is not the answer
I wouldn’t say never. It really should not come close to it, especially with our squad of players which imo is actually pretty Strong for the most part, however 12 points in 14 games is not far from impossible. How many points were we clear when Butcher came in?
06-02-2022, 09:53 PM
I wouldn’t say never. It really should not come close to it, especially with our squad of players which imo is actually pretty Strong for the most part, however 12 points in 14 games is not far from impossible. How many points were we clear when Butcher came in?
Mate there is absolutely no chance in hell we will get relegated this season
I agree. Hibs.net needs to shut down for a few weeks 🙃
My lad's deleted the app on his phone due to the roasters on here right now wanting Maloney gone after 8 games, he said he's not been to ER much this season due to the eejits there spewing their bile and the same crap on here too.
06-02-2022, 11:19 PM
My lad's deleted the app on his phone due to the roasters on here right now wanting Maloney gone after 8 games, he said he's not been to ER much this season due to the eejits there spewing their bile and the same crap on here too.
Won’t somebody think of the children?!
06-02-2022, 11:38 PM
I think of mine every month when the credit card bill comes in. Murderous thoughts mainly...
MagicSwirlingShip
06-02-2022, 11:59 PM
Our forward players are badly out of form. Form is temporary though, and that should be considered. They have not become bad players overnight.
Goals will come again once their form picks up. I hope!
Persevere
07-02-2022, 03:38 AM
SM is here but the clock is ticking on him turning things around. The results and stuff on show at the moment might be bearable to hard-lined Hibbies but less hardy fans will think twice of forking out £400+ next season unless there's clear signs of improvement and a master-plan.
07-02-2022, 04:08 AM
SM is here but the clock is ticking on him turning things around. The results and stuff on show at the moment might be bearable to hard-lined Hibbies but less hardy fans will think twice of forking out £400+ next season unless there's clear signs of improvement and a master-plan.
Aye ok, 8 games in is it? FFS. F*****g mental. Eight games or whatever it is. Hahahahahahahaha......
07-02-2022, 04:22 AM
Aye ok, 8 games in is it? FFS. F*****g mental. Eight games or whatever it is. Hahahahahahahaha......
it’s not as if we haven’t been here before, multiple times! Supporting Hibs is like living in a perpetual Groundhog Day.
07-02-2022, 04:36 AM
Someone who doesn't even go to games calling those who do roasters and eejits for having a different opinion :faf:
Oh so hilarious, except he's 38 and not the only one fed up with sections of our support, ER is toxic nowadays and its spread to .net.
07-02-2022, 05:53 AM
Oh so hilarious, except he's 38 and not the only one fed up with sections of our support, ER is toxic nowadays and its spread to .net.
I’ve never experienced ER being anywhere near toxic …
07-02-2022, 05:56 AM
It's not their opinions that are toxic, it's how they present them. Being abusive about something because you disagree with it is toxic yes. Which is exactly what you are doing calling people roasters and eejits.
I really don't see loads of people wanting Maloney out. At worst I see people thinking he shouldve been hitting the ground running. Which is perfectly reasonable. You cannot write off a season so you can maybe be good next season.
07-02-2022, 06:00 AM
Complain about the site being toxic then call posters eejits and roasters... Good one.
I think Maloney should go but wouldn't call someone with different opinions names. Opinions are like ****holes, everyone has one.
07-02-2022, 06:23 AM
Complain about the site being toxic then call posters eejits and roasters... Good one.
I think Maloney should go but wouldn't call someone with different opinions names. Opinions are like ****holes, everyone has one.
Should go after 8 games you have to be joking.
07-02-2022, 07:00 AM
Maloney should go? Isn’t that just bonkers?
07-02-2022, 07:05 AM
Should go after 8 games you have to be joking.
No. Ron wants us to be best of the rest. We binned the guy who got us that because his form wasn't good enough this season. We look worse under Maloney.
07-02-2022, 07:07 AM
No. Ron wants us to be best of the rest. We binned the guy who got us that because his form wasn't good enough this season. We look worse under Maloney.
So now no one gets a chance? It’s instant impact or out the door?