View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v St Mirren

Pages : [1] 2 3

05-02-2022, 12:41 PM
Weather is pretty rank out there. Hopefully the football brings some sunshine on Leith.

Updates here folks

05-02-2022, 12:45 PM

05-02-2022, 12:46 PM
Still without McGinn (sub), Hanlon, Doig(sub) & Newell. Kev keeps the gloves.

Jasper on the bench again, I wonder if we’ll see him today?

05-02-2022, 12:47 PM
Still without McGinn, Hanlon, Doig & Newell. Kev keeps the gloves.

Doig is on the bench

05-02-2022, 12:47 PM
I’m glad to see he’s put big kev back in , he earned it . Looks quite an attacking line up . Mon the hibs

05-02-2022, 12:48 PM
Doig is on the bench

Yeah I meant from the 1st team. Edited to the post to reflect!

05-02-2022, 12:49 PM
Still without McGinn (sub), Hanlon, Doig(sub) & Newell. Kev keeps the gloves.

Jasper on the bench again, I wonder if we’ll see him today?

Clarke and Melkersen also missing.

05-02-2022, 12:49 PM
Clarke and Melkersen also missing.

They are longer term injuries, much like Magennis

05-02-2022, 12:50 PM
Yeah I meant from the 1st team. Edited to the post to reflect!

He was excellent the other night, probably saving him for Wednesday night

Mike Berry
05-02-2022, 12:51 PM
25529Glad to see Dabrowski keeping the gloves. Deserves it. I assume Newell is injured.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

Mikey_1875
05-02-2022, 12:51 PM
Surprised Melkerson isn’t even in the squad after featuring in a few of the tweets etc on the club social media.

It’s a shame Newell and Hanlon haven’t made it but the team on the park are good enough to get the job done. Hopefully we get to see what Jasper is all about today as well.

05-02-2022, 12:52 PM
I thought we may have seen Melkerson on the bench today!

05-02-2022, 12:54 PM
A big physical St Mirren side
Alnwick
Fraser Shaugnessy Dunne Tait
Power Ronan Henderson Jones
Kiltie Greive

05-02-2022, 01:01 PM
About the best we could put out I reckon.

We need another CM though as Newell missing leaves a huge gap and it's square pegs for round holes with Campbell and Doyle Hayes as a pair. I expect it's an area we will recruit aggressively in during the summer.

05-02-2022, 01:03 PM
Ensure Shaughnessy is marked properly this time Hibs FFS!

Saint Hibee
05-02-2022, 01:04 PM
Would’ve liked to see Henderson in place of Campbell, but maybe deemed too lightweight for a more central role? I think he has much more to offer than what he’s shown so far.

05-02-2022, 01:05 PM
They are longer term injuries, much like Magennis

Don’t think Melkersen is a long term injured - or if he’s injured at all.

05-02-2022, 01:06 PM
Not much creativity in that midfield today, good to see dabrowski keep his place

05-02-2022, 01:06 PM
Team makes sense to me, given who is missing.

Hopefully we won’t fall back in the second half, as we’ve done in the last few games. 5 subs may prove to be useful, so we can freshen things up as some tire.

I’d love to see us look like scoring more. The front 3 getting another chance is probably the right thing to do but I have my doubts.

05-02-2022, 01:08 PM
Not much creativity in that midfield today, good to see dabrowski keep his place

Yeah I suspect this may be another tough watch this afternoon.

We'll see.

05-02-2022, 01:08 PM
Don’t think Melkersen is a long term injured - or if he’s injured at all.

Sure it was reported on here he was injured.

05-02-2022, 01:10 PM
Sure it was reported on here he was injured.

He's been training this week, Hibs have tweeted several photos of him.

Unless he's been injured yesterday?

05-02-2022, 01:12 PM
Strange no one from this b team is ever on the bench. There must be one of them better than James Scott. Will we even see any of these guys this season?

05-02-2022, 01:12 PM
He's been training this week, Hibs have tweeted several photos of him.

Unless he's been injured yesterday?

Missed that he was back training so must have overcome the injury. If he even had one 😁.

05-02-2022, 01:16 PM
Strange no one from this b team is ever on the bench. There must be one of them better than James Scott. Will we even see any of these guys this season?

I was expecting to see one of the Norwegian lads on the bench today.

05-02-2022, 01:17 PM
Fat jambo McLaughlin trying to needle Maloney pre match, asking if he feels he is being supported by the fans. Maloney handled him well but McLaughlin is a disgrace in his lack of balance and clear bias.

05-02-2022, 01:20 PM
Fat jambo McLaughlin trying to needle Maloney pre match, asking if he feels he is being supported by the fans. Maloney handled him well but McLaughlin is a disgrace in his lack of balance and clear bias.

Don't see it that way at all, seems fair enough question to me for a reporter, as was the entire interview ...

05-02-2022, 01:22 PM
fractured 2 ribs during the week so can't make today. How do I link my Hibs TV to my Season Ticket to watch the game online? first game missed this season

05-02-2022, 01:23 PM

The rest of the Sportsound team were the same. Richard Gordon saying the fans are restless and getting on his back. Then talking down the fact that we are looking at catching Motherwell and focusing more on the fact St Mirren are just behind us.

05-02-2022, 01:24 PM
Newell’s propensity to get injured when in good form is so frustrating.

05-02-2022, 01:27 PM
Feel this might be a scrappy 1-0 win but hope I'm wrong.

Mon the Hibs.

05-02-2022, 01:28 PM

Mon the Hibs.

I'd be delighted with that.

05-02-2022, 01:30 PM

Mon the Hibs.

That would be a perfectly acceptable outcome.

05-02-2022, 01:31 PM
A big physical St Mirren side
Alnwick
Fraser Shaugnessy Dunne Tait
Power Ronan Henderson Jones
Kiltie Greive

And not lost in Their last three games so this is going to be a test for us

05-02-2022, 01:32 PM
I’ve lost track of our injury list now. That said, not for the first time I’m a wee bit puzzled with team and sub selection. Not moaning at all, I just can’t see yet how we’ll get to steady shape with SM’s choices.

Oh well, keep the faith and trust👍

No McGrath today for them obviously and no goal machine Gogic. Will be interesting to see how they do.

fractured 2 ribs during the week so can't make today. How do I link my Hibs TV to my Season Ticket to watch the game online? first game missed this season

Ignore this - found my email from earlier in the season.
Same logins as Hibspass if anyone else is wondering

05-02-2022, 01:34 PM
I don't see how anyone can take ftom the last game that the fans are on his back

If anything we applauded his change to go a bit more direct and quicker

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

05-02-2022, 01:34 PM
No McGrath today for them obviously and no goal machine Gogic. Will be interesting to see how they do.No surpised Mcgrath isn't in for them

He plays for Wigan now [emoji23]

atticmonkey
05-02-2022, 01:35 PM

Type you name follows
Billy-smith-Id number.(12345)
Id number again
Obviously substitute your own name and id must include the dashes

Mon the Hibs.

I will take any win today to be honest

I’ve lost track of our injury list now. That said, not for the first time I’m a wee bit puzzled with team and sub selection. Not moaning at all, I just can’t see yet how we’ll get to steady shape with SM’s choices.

Oh well, keep the faith and trust[emoji106]What would you have changed?

I thibk they team almost picked itself with the pending injuries

The rest of the Sportsound team were the same. Richard Gordon saying the fans are restless and getting on his back. Then talking down the fact that we are looking at catching Motherwell and focusing more on the fact St Mirren are just behind us.

None of these people know what they are talking about. No one with any sense is getting on Maloney's back. It's a long game, not a sprint.

Personally, I'd like to get on Richard Gordon's back and belabour him about the head. I've always hated him, the smirking ******.

05-02-2022, 01:36 PM
Injuries are killing us a bit at the moment and really disrupting the team

Big game for Mitchell in place of Doig who has been excellent of late, I imagine he’s still feeling the effects from Tuesday. Hopefully Mitchell puts as much in defensively as offensively as I think the St Mirren front 3 are all very decent and dangerous players.

Looking really light in centre mid now Newell is out injured. On TDD some mentioned signing a free agent once it was closed. Is this still happening?

Plenty on that pitch to win the game as we’ve been brilliant defensively and creating chances albeit not taking them.

Think Doidge will score today as he’s been very close lately.

Thought we’d see Melkersen or Hauge on the bench today but buzzing to see Jasper at some point!

Come on Maloney’s Hibees!

05-02-2022, 01:37 PM
Type you name follows
Billy-smith-Id number.(12345)
Id number again
Obviously substitute your own name and id must include the dashes

Thanks mate, managed to find the email just before you posted, but cheers anyway 👍🏻

05-02-2022, 01:44 PM
Injuries are killing us a bit at the moment and really disrupting the team

Big game for Mitchell in place of Doig who has been excellent of late, I imagine he’s still feeling the effects from Tuesday. Hopefully Mitchell puts as much in defensively as offensively as I think the St Mirren front 3 are all very decent and dangerous players.

Looking really light in centre mid now Newell is out injured. On TDD some mentioned signing a free agent once it was closed. Is this still happening?

Plenty on that pitch to win the game as we’ve been brilliant defensively and creating chances albeit not taking them.

Think Doidge will score today as he’s been very close lately.

Thought we’d see Melkersen or Hauge on the bench today but buzzing to see Jasper at some point!

Come on Maloney’s Hibees!

No mention by club or Maloney of signing a free Transfer which isn’t surprising as at no point has he come out and said this is a area that needs strengthening
It’s been fan talk on here driving that

05-02-2022, 01:45 PM
What would you have changed?

I thibk they team almost picked itself with the pending injuries

Fair enough.
I can’t say what I would change because I don’t know to be frank. I guess what I’m saying is I need to be patient.

BlackSheep
05-02-2022, 01:46 PM
What time does the coverage start today? I thought they had a prematch build up?

Fuzzywuzzy
05-02-2022, 01:46 PM
Dunno if it's my poor eyesight but looks like a lot of broken seats on the south?

SJNB Hibby
05-02-2022, 01:51 PM
What time does the coverage start today? I thought they had a prematch build up?

Second home game in a row with no pre-match show

Stokesy's on fire

Well to be honest its a fair question considering the feelings within the stands and on the Hibs related forums

Mikey_1875
Looking like a very low attendance today unless it picks up dramatically

05-02-2022, 01:52 PM
I don't see how anyone can take ftom the last game that the fans are on his back

If anything we applauded his change to go a bit more direct and quicker

I don't think many are on Maloneys back beyond the vocal few on various online outlets who always make a greater noise than their numbers suggest they should.

At thr Cove game despite all the frustration expressed during the game when Maloney came over to the East he got a very warm receptions. Certainly a sizeable number of the fans in attendance that night didn't seem to be against him.

05-02-2022, 01:52 PM
Very poor turnout!

leith lynx
05-02-2022, 01:54 PM
Second home game in a row with no pre-match show

Do you only get the pre match build up if you are a Hibs TV subscriber? (I've got a season ticket and only get the game)

05-02-2022, 01:58 PM
What’s with the black coverings over the away end seats?

Is that those ****my wee *******s on Tuesday night breaking the seats I take it?

05-02-2022, 02:00 PM
Very poor turnout!

7500 actual attendance if you are lucky. Piss poor.

SJNB Hibby
05-02-2022, 02:00 PM
Do you only get the pre match build up if you are a Hibs TV subscriber? (I've got a season ticket and only get the game)

I'm a Hibs TV supporter in Canada, so I think we all get the same coverage

AZhibee
05-02-2022, 02:02 PM
Boyle in the lineup

In Saudi Arabia

05-02-2022, 02:03 PM

It's the same for everyone. Pre-covid it was normally 15 minutes of the commentators chatting, then when there were no fans they started doing a half-hour pre-match thing.

I guess they might be starting to scale back down to just the commentator's pre-match chat, since it's probably an unnecessary expense to do the whole show once it's back to just a relatively small number of overseas subsrcibers.

05-02-2022, 02:03 PM
7500 actual attendance if you are lucky. Piss poor.

All at the rugby. But that’s none of our business.

05-02-2022, 02:05 PM
Is Melkerson real? Beginning to think he’s an elaborate hoax.

shamo9
05-02-2022, 02:06 PM
Gutted I'm not there today. I'm feeling a bit under the weather and sitting out in the cold for hours wouldn't be a good idea.

Watching it on Hibs TV. Hopefully we put on a show. Come on Hibs!:flag::aok:

05-02-2022, 02:09 PM
Great ball in by Mitchell, Doidge made his run too early and Nisbet wasn't even in the box.

05-02-2022, 02:09 PM
Thats twice Cadden has played poor passes infield!

05-02-2022, 02:11 PM
Mitchell's a lucky boy there. That was a bad challenge.

05-02-2022, 02:12 PM
st mirren players ensure referee books mitchell

never a booking, he got the ball fairly

Lee Marvin
05-02-2022, 02:12 PM

It really wasn't

05-02-2022, 02:13 PM

No danger.
Good tackle. Never a booking.

Wasn't really, perfectly good challenge, controlled and won the ball.

It really wasn't

Straight leg, studs up. Playing the ball is irrelevant. Booking all day and the wrong ref on the wrong day could mean worse.

05-02-2022, 02:14 PM
Lovely bit of play from Nisbet there.

Third decent contribution already - good bit of closing down nearly setting something up, a great wee ball inside the full back for Mitchell and then that.

05-02-2022, 02:15 PM
Trailing leg pulls down mueller. Penalty all day long for me.

05-02-2022, 02:16 PM
Straight leg, studs up. Playing the ball is irrelevant. Booking all day and the wrong ref on the wrong day could mean worse.

Leg and foot never left the ground, he never lunged and it looked totally controlled, feels like you can't slide tackle anymore without someone wanting the player sent off.

Lively so far. Mitchell deserving of his booking. Could've been worse. Porteous and Cadden a little slack with their passing.

I thought he was falling before touched?

05-02-2022, 02:18 PM
Couple of utter roasters almost coming to blows in the FF arguing about Maloney. FFS.

Lee Marvin
05-02-2022, 02:18 PM
Muellers touch and close control really is something

05-02-2022, 02:19 PM
Campbell is murder, nearly cost us a goal again.

05-02-2022, 02:20 PM
Couple of utter roasters almost coming to blows in the FF arguing about Maloney. FFS.

There are people in the FF?

Kids these days 😉

HendoDelivered

Probs fully grown men as well 😂😂

AZhibee

Agreed, I was cringing from the start, could’ve been a send off, not that I would agree with that but we have all seen it happen

05-02-2022, 02:22 PM
I'm enjoying this so far. Both teams trying to play passing attacking football . Very open game.

Given how wild the weather is in row S of the East, we should probably cut the players a bit of slack when the odd pass goes astray.

Conditions aren’t easy out there.

Nisbet has played really well so far.

Not a lot of movement in front of the back line so we are playing ourselves into trouble a lot.

05-02-2022, 02:23 PM
Why is nobody attacking the front post

We're losing the middle of the pitch again with this 343 due to personnel, JDH and Campbell cannot dominate the middle.

I feel really sorry for Cadden. Puts some brilliant balls into the box but neither striker bothering to get into the six yard box.

05-02-2022, 02:24 PM

After 18 mins of the match and at 0v0 ?

05-02-2022, 02:25 PM
I feel really sorry for Cadden. Puts some brilliant balls into the box but neither striker bothering to get into the six yard box.

We really need a striker in the door who camps himself in the box

05-02-2022, 02:26 PM
Mitchell’s pace is definitely a threat but his final ball hasn’t been great.

Decent game, we’re not playing badly and they’re no mugs.

Lee Marvin
We get into so many good positions

Every time Mueller gets the ball he looks to get in the front foot and play it forward.

Arrrrgggh go with your left son

Very good last gasp defending denies Mueller his first goal.

Someone needs to get across front post as a minimum.

It’s an open game but we really need to do better middle to front - we really struggle to create any opportunities that actually test the opposition keeper. We get in wide areas and the crosses are poor or the strikers don’t get onto the end of the cross. Would be nice to create more centrally (Mueller nearly got through but lost balance).

05-02-2022, 02:27 PM
Well worked chance there from mueller but great tackle from st mirren boy.

for the love o the wee man just gies a goal hibs will yi

Not even that, a striker with the brains to realise that Cadden puts in two or three balls like that a game and they need to get into position.

shamo9
Mueller close there, needed to take the shot earlier. He looks promising :aok:

05-02-2022, 02:28 PM

Games like this just shows how average our squad is, lose 2-3 of the better players and you realise the poor depth we have, I don't think it would matter what shape we played they'd still be average.

05-02-2022, 02:28 PM
Good work from the front 3. Mueller looking really good so far.

Doidge and Nisbet are culpable of being on top of each other when most balls are crossed in. Needs to be more movement across the front post.

05-02-2022, 02:29 PM
Build up play is pretty good.

05-02-2022, 02:29 PM
yellow card Tait

05-02-2022, 02:30 PM
Mueller just needs a wee break of the ball

Good fight from Hibs.

Cadden performing well again.

Doidge really isn’t in this much.

That’s criminally poor from that free kick. WTF?

Tam and other guy say no, defo penalty for me.

The boy Tait needs to bite the bullet and shave that mess on his head

05-02-2022, 02:31 PM

TBF one of them was telling the real roaster to shut it.

I could be tempted to have a swing at him myself before 9p minutes are up.

Build up play is pretty good.

It is…but we need that final part.

Boyle would have been ideal in this team to take chances.

Feels like Maloney plays better football than Ross but Ross teams created more chances (he did have Boyle).

This is awful

05-02-2022, 02:32 PM
Tam and other guy say no, defo penalty for me.

BBC commentary says the defender just got a bit of the ball first.

This ref is a ****ing prick.

BBC commentary says the defender just got a bit of the ball first.Yep, never a pen

Looked like Mueller just lost his footing and slipped.

This ref is a f ucking clown.

05-02-2022, 02:33 PM
I really like Dabrowski. Macey batters that into one of the two players closing him down there.

He has been doing it for weeks so the question is do we not have one player in the squad capable of getting on the end of these

Why is nobody attacking the front post

Know what your saying bud but maybe Cadden needs to look up at times and see where players are, if they are at back post then that’s where he should put it.

05-02-2022, 02:34 PM
Wish we’d stop shelling it to Meuller!

I really like Dabrowski.

Nice bit of play there, came out, didn't panic, moved to the side and played a nice pass, looks assured.

This is ok.

He has been doing it for weeks so the question is do we not have one player in the squad capable of getting on the end of these

They are capable. They can’t be arsed busting a gut to get there. Running back into midfield is fine if you’re scoring goals but they’re not.

This game won't end 0-0

Become scrappy last 5-10 minutes.

Hope the scouts r there today

dmc1875
05-02-2022, 02:35 PM
Know what your saying bud but maybe Cadden needs to look up at times and see where players are, if they are at back post then that’s where he should put it.

This. He never gets his head up.

They were in the box but at back post.

We have no energy, constantly caught on our heels

Point taken Silver! Still missing that little bit of edge in final 3rd

They seem to be able to come through our midfield to easy!!!

05-02-2022, 02:36 PM
This is ok.

Still 0 shots on goal though from Hibs. Considering we are the home team we need to do more to test opposition keeper.

05-02-2022, 02:36 PM

When Cadden is so, so good at it then we need to be prepared for that though IMO.

If a young Jason Cummings is in our team then Cadden‘s on double figures for assists.

05-02-2022, 02:38 PM

That really goes for nothing when the guy catches Mueller’s back leg and brings him down.

They seem to be able to come through our midfield to easy!!!

In this formation and our midfield personnel we don’t have much going on in there - we desperately need a decent midfielder who can make something positive happen.

Mitchell needs better quality on the ball.

Strikers need to gamble when Cadden has the ball and is crossing or Cadden needs to lift his head.

We look a bit tired and leggy from Tuesday, quite flat.

Game for Jasper

Correct 👍

05-02-2022, 02:39 PM
Campbell again offering little

05-02-2022, 02:39 PM
That really goes for nothing when the guy catches Mueller’s back leg and brings him down.

mueller's back slipped

05-02-2022, 02:40 PM
I don’t think Cadden should get his head up unless he’s in acres.

When he’s running at pace, he needs to hit dangerous areas and hope the strikers do their job.

There are goals in this team for someone who can do that - the kind of striker normally slagged off for only scoring tap ins.

05-02-2022, 02:40 PM
Agree with Silver. A bit of both needed. More movements from those in the box coupled with Cadden trying to pick out a player now and then. Putting the ball in to good areas but not really trying to pick anyone out.

The midfield is still non existent for the most part. JDH and Campbell's counterparts are seeing a lot more of the ball.

Dr_Regal
05-02-2022, 02:41 PM
We offer nothing from central midfield. JDH and Campbell both poor

Point taken Silver! Still missing that little bit of edge in final 3rd

It will come, we need a wee break, Mueller looks good and once he gets his 1st his confidence will hopefully rocket.

Are we ever scoring a goal again

dmc1875
Still zero shots on target. I wonder what our shots on target stats are since Maloney came in they must be horrid. If you don’t test the keeper enough it’s not exactly easy to score. Boring boring boring.

we're easily winning the foul count

6-3

05-02-2022, 02:42 PM
This is poor.

After a positive start last 10 have been awful.

St Mirren well organised but we are offering nothing middle to front now.

Games turned sloppy with niggly fouls.

Need to try and get on the ball here

Really can’t hide it, this is really boring.

StockholmHibs
We have nothing in the final third......week in midfield too and even won't be surprised if we concede.
Meh

Truly dreadful first half frankly.

sean04
This is dreadful

05-02-2022, 02:43 PM
It was a decent start but it’s settled down into “the usual pish” as the half has gone on.

It will come, we need a wee break, Mueller looks good and once he gets his 1st his confidence will hopefully rocket.

How many did he score for previous team didn’t think he was that prolific

JDH booked

FFS Ryan

Wull
I like Rocky, few payers in recent years have made such an immediate good impression :flag:

Porto gets jdh booked ffs.

05-02-2022, 02:44 PM
Still zero shots on target. I wonder what our shots on target stats are since Maloney came in they must be horrid. If you don’t test the keeper enough it’s hard to score.

I might be wrong, but against hearts a lot of shots which would be on target were blocked. They should still be considered to be on target, but they aren't as far as statistics go.

Doyle Hayes gets booked for Porteous mistake!!!

Has our football digressed from JR? Surely can’t have

Still zero shots on target. I wonder what our shots on target stats are since Maloney came in they must be horrid. If you don’t test the keeper enough it’s not exactly easy to score. Boring boring boring.

15 shots on target in 8 games including today in league.

Hard to win games of football without a shot on target… that’s now 4 out of 5 halves we’ve played without one.

dmc1875
15 shots on target in 8 games including today in league.

That is utterly pathetic.

05-02-2022, 02:45 PM
The football is anything but exciting under Maloney. People who are saying there is an improvement just want to believe it.

Ray Donovan
Poor first half.

We really should have signed a quality midfielder in the window.

Dabrowski’s having another decent afternoon.

Games turned sloppy with niggly fouls.

Need to try and get on the ball here

Given the exertions midweek this is going to be a day to use the right subs at right time if we are to sneak a win

Unlucky there after superb ball from Mitchell

Game is crying out for Drey Wright :devil:

Yawn

At least when the rugby is ***** you can go and get a pint 😂😂

Unlucky by Mitchell there

05-02-2022, 02:46 PM
Game is crying out for Drey Wright :devil:

When Cadden is so, so good at it then we need to be prepared for that though IMO.

If a young Jason Cummings is in our team then Cadden‘s on double figures for assists.

I’m not saying Cadden deliveries are poor, but he needs to look up before putting ball in to see where players are, if they have come in to back post they can’t magically run to front post, he must get head up before putting these good balls in.

0-0 all over it

He’s doing ok but needs to hold more - spilled a few and could easily go straight to Saints player.

Needs to catch the ball more, sooner or later one will fall in front of an attacker.

05-02-2022, 02:47 PM
Given the exertions midweek this is going to be a day to use the right subs at right time if we are to sneak a win

Maybe Ronnie but lack of Newell is evident this afternoon! Pretty scrappy in middle of park but again no shots on target!

Put it this way. One keeper has worked much harder than the other.

Decent chance there though.

45 mins of my life I’ll never get back

We've bought most of their players and they still running rings round us, simply not good enough Hibs

Devonhibs
Tedious

HT thankfully :greengrin

05-02-2022, 02:48 PM
Tam and other guy can be annoying imo.

FFS, there’s a half yard of space for Nisbet to move forward into but stays still and waits for the ball to come to him.

Would be harsh to pick that out in isolation but just not good enough. Go to it and just get a ****ing shot away by any means necessary. So, so lacking movement in key areas.

45 mins of my life I’ll never get back

Pretty awful. 45 to save an awful week results wise.

05-02-2022, 02:49 PM
Missing Newell in the middle. We have nothing in midfield. It’s like we are down to 10 men.

Our inability to pull off shots on target is a real concern.

The football is anything but exciting under Maloney. People who are saying there is an improvement just want to believe it.

Are you surprised? There’s only two of Maloneys signings in the team today. It’s still a Jack Ross team and still has all of the same failings that got Ross the sack.

Scrappy game but conditions are clearly awful to play in. Passes going astray from both teams.

Not a great spectacle but plenty mitigation for that. Some of the moaning around me is out of all proportion to what is actually going on on the park.

Mikey_1875
From Tuesdays energy to this. They seem to have our wing backs reasonably covered and we are short of any ideas through the middle. When we do get a cross in there is no one near! Front two really need to be adding something second half.

Make no mistake this is absolutely garbage

05-02-2022, 02:50 PM
Not good, one big yawn so far.

Are you surprised? There’s only two of Maloneys signings in the team today. It’s still a Jack Ross team and still has all of the same failings that got Ross the sack.

I wouldn't have expected us to get worse.

We need new midfielders, the games got scrappy probably due to the conditions but JDH and Campbell are squad players at best, Doidge has been hopeless, Nisbet for all his running about never gets anywhere near a cross from Cadden, 4 players doing sod all through the middle of our team will always make it hard to create and win.

Paul1642
05-02-2022, 02:51 PM

It should be a strong enough team to best St Mirren.

Maybe Ronnie but lack of Newell is evident this afternoon! Pretty scrappy in middle of park but again no shots on target!

I reckon even if Newell was playing it would be 0-0.

We need creativity / spark centrally or someone to shoot from distance or dribble past a player - basically make something positive happen.

I’m all for nice football but you need an end product.

Think I might head off and watch the rugby.

Put it this way. One keeper has worked much harder than the other.

Decent chance there though.

FFS, there’s a half yard of space for Nisbet to move forward into but stays still and waits for the ball to come to him.

Would be harsh to pick that out in isolation but just not good enough. Go to it and just get a ****ing shot away by any means necessary. So, so lacking movement in key areas.

This has done my nut in all season. It’s his thing just stands on the penalty spot every time. Never runs front post (or back). Mighta worked in the lower leagues you need to make space in more organised defences.

^^^ can’t really add anything to that 😐

Get mcgennis off those e scooters ! Advert at half time

05-02-2022, 02:52 PM
I'm bored. This game is crying out for Henderson to come on and get on the ball and play some decent through balls

Ross got more out of heckys team. No excuse.

When he’s running at pace, he needs to hit dangerous areas and hope the strikers do their job.

There are goals in this team for someone who can do that - the kind of striker normally slagged off for only scoring tap ins.

You don’t think Cadden should get his head up, of course he should, that’s how you play football or should we just blindfold him and hope for the best.

Henderson coming on second half by the look of it

Have to up the intensity massively - are we tired from Tuesday?

What infuriates me is when the defence play really good possession and passes to break the press of the opposition strikers in midfield for the ball to go to the middle of the park and come back again.

If we break the press we need to be brave and show quality.

Mueller has looked not bad but don’t think he’s a attacking mid. Wouldn’t mind seeing him up top with Jasper coming on and playing in the hole.

Mitchell needs to be stronger and produce better quality as he’s getting the ball in dangerous positions.

05-02-2022, 02:53 PM
Crap weather, crap game, crap performance

05-02-2022, 02:53 PM
This is awful, but predictable.

You can’t play football without anything in the middle of the pitch or up front.

05-02-2022, 02:54 PM
Henderson coming on second half by the look of it

Hopefully for JDH or Campbell as he’ll at least get it on the half turn and pick a pass.

Campbell is a lot better at that than JDH in fairness but I can’t see JDH getting subbed.

Gogs07
Martin Boyle just scored his first goal in Saudi. Winning 3-0 after 30 mins!

Bought a couple of steak pies at about the 37th minute mark. Ate them inside the stand and didn't miss anything. The pies were decent. Highlight of the half

This has done my nut in all season. It’s his thing just stands on the penalty spot every time. Never runs front post (or back). Mighta worked in the lower leagues you need to make space in more organised defences.

I don’t think it’s the midfield that are the problem, Newell can make some really good passes. Doidge is struggling for fitness and is very slow and Nisbet just doesn’t work hard enough in the final third. Nobody is converting opportunities into shots on target.

05-02-2022, 02:55 PM
The Easter Road pitch looks massive with this Hibs team. So much space in between players that do not look like linking up at all.

Our wide men and strikers don't seem to have much relationship at all, good balls in with strikers found missing and balls over hit when strikers well placed.

Porteous should get a talking to at HT IMO. So sloppy in possession on several occasions.

Not sure where we go from here. Looks like another 45 to stick at it, hope we knick something and move on.

We’ve been watching this type of thing all season, mainly with him in the team as well.

I wouldn't have expected us to get worse.

We’ve not got worse, we’ve gone from 7th to 5th. We’re still hamstrung by having no midfield and lack creativity and goals. We’re far from the finished article and I’d not make a strong argument we’ve improved much, but can’t see why you think we’re worse.

In fairness to the team and Maloney I just don’t think we’ve got the quality that we need/think we have.

Don’t think there’s much between the teams at all.

This is where we need to improve in the summer and buy genuine quality.

How many did he score for previous team didn’t think he was that prolific

Don’t know Ronnie but he is getting in to good positions and looking like our biggest threat.

It’s definitely not super fantastic, that’s for sure.

Same dire stuff every week.

Was it this bad under JR? :duck:

St Mirren look like the more settled side and know what they are doing. The only question that they are being asked is where in park will we give them the ball.

05-02-2022, 02:56 PM
Have to up the intensity massively - are we tired from Tuesday?

What infuriates me is when the defence play really good possession and passes to break the press of the opposition strikers in midfield for the ball to go to the middle of the park and come back again.

If we break the press we need to be brave and show quality.

Mueller has looked not bad but don’t think he’s a attacking mid. Wouldn’t mind seeing him up top with Jasper coming on and playing in the hole.

Mitchell needs to be stronger and produce better quality as he’s getting the ball in dangerous positions.

Yup it’s middle to front that isn’t connecting.

The lack of signing a central midfielder or someone with creativity is making us so predictable - basically defend our crosses.

Henderson may mix it up if he comes on but we needed a midfielder before Newell was injured and we we continue like this we aren’t going to score many goals.

05-02-2022, 02:57 PM
I don’t think it’s the midfield that are the problem, Newell can make some really good passes. Doidge is struggling for fitness and is very slow and Nisbet just doesn’t work hard enough in the final third. Nobody is converting opportunities into shots on target.

Midfield is a huge issue. They battled brilliantly the other night but were generally poor in there. Nothing to link middle to front.

Waiting for a shot on target. Never mind a goal.

Brummie_Hibs
Don't actually think it's that bad. We have played some good football in spells.

However, the forward line is our issue. It seems like they are hiding at times and don't want to be given the ball.

I've seen worse football from Hibs this season.

OldEast
I like Rocky, few payers in recent years have made such an immediate good impression :flag:

I was just going to say I haven't been impressed by him this half at all. Is he carrying an injury? Doesn't look comfortable with ball at feet. A certainty to drop out for Hanlon when he's fit.

05-02-2022, 02:58 PM

The lack of signing a central midfielder or someone with creativity is making us so predictable - basically defend our crosses.

Henderson may mix it up if he comes on but we needed a midfielder before Newell was injured and we we continue like this we aren’t going to score many goals.

The space is there and you are right if we had a quality midfielder they would find the space/pass.

I am hoping Jasper gets a chance this afternoon and is given a free role to attack

I still think we needed another proven striker in who could score given Doidge is just getting back up to speed after long term injury and Nisbet not scoring consistently
And I assumed we would bring in a free agent in midfield given lack of creativity there
We knew McGennis would take time to come back and could possibly have a set back and if Newell is missing for a few games it was obvious we would struggle

Waiting for a shot on target. Never mind a goal.We've had 1!

Happy days!

But we might get a shot on target

It’s definitely not super fantastic, that’s for sure.

Same dire stuff every week.

Was it this bad under JR? :duck:

At least we’re not losing all the time. Need to just try and nick some wins and get through to the end of the season in 4th. It’s not going to be pretty because we don’t have the players.

05-02-2022, 02:59 PM
Scrappy game but conditions are clearly awful to play in. Passes going astray from both teams.

Not a great spectacle but plenty mitigation for that. Some of the moaning around me is out of all proportion to what is actually going on on the park.

Stay calm hit hard :thumbsup:

I still think we needed another proven striker in who could score given Doidge is just getting back up to speed after long term injury and Nisbet not scoring consistently
And I assumed we would bring in a free agent in midfield given lack of creativity there
We knew McGennis would take time to come back and could possibly have a set back and if Newell is missing for a few games it was obvious we would struggle

Ronnie I’m hoping Melkerson will be our poacher however god knows when we’ll see him!

Mueller is still pretty decent looking

05-02-2022, 03:00 PM
I think Scott Allan's time is done and I think Maloney does as well but why put him on the bench if he's not going to play him? Give him a go. We aren't creating.

At least we’re not losing all the time. Need to just try and nick some wins and get through to the end of the season in 4th. It’s not going to be pretty because we don’t have the players.

But just had a whole month to bring in the players we needed..

It does worry me if a club outside the two cheeks from Glasgow can afford the sort of players required to play silky, possession heavy attacking football.

Mueller is still pretty decent looking

He is and as I mentioned earlier I think he just needs a wee break of the ball!

05-02-2022, 03:02 PM
It does worry me if a club outside the two cheeks from Glasgow can afford the sort of players required to play silky, possession heavy attacking football.

We can afford better than this. We’ve seen better when spending less money.

Baby steps!

Bloody annoying that we don’t have the players when we’ve just signed half a team.

Not to worry, we can do it all again in the summer!

Martin Boyle just scored his first goal in Saudi. Winning 3-0 after 30 mins!

Also has an assist as well.

Grilling up some flatbread to go with some crispy chicken and habanero relish just now. Going axe throwing at five.

Going to take inspiration from our squad by looking at the axes and moaning at the staff wondering why they’re not flying into the target by themselves.

hhibs
Campbell and Doyle Hays is just not working, one certainly must be replaced ,strikers not positioning and almost all players are sooo slow and heavy legged.

I think we will lose this game unless there are some serious changes in personnel and attitude.

05-02-2022, 03:03 PM
Henderson for Doidge.

05-02-2022, 03:03 PM
Henderson for Doidge.

Deary me.

05-02-2022, 03:04 PM
Don’t know Ronnie but he is getting in to good positions and looking like our biggest threat.

From what I have seen I do like him So hopefully he can start getting goals

As far as Cadden goes, I feel this is what lets him down. It's hit and hope rather than creative vision... and didn't we have tap in scorers previously? Namely Doidge and Nisbet? Could do with getting them back on song.

We've been really poor since losing Boyle. There's no spark atm

McGruber
Bring Scott Allan on please. For the love of all things football. So he'll never be as fit as he once was or have the legs. Have others doing his running. A 75% fit Allan is better than our other options in there