View Full Version : Match Updates Motherwell v Hibernian

Pages : 1 2 [3]

26-01-2022, 08:41 PM
Maloney's barely in the door. He's barely in any dugout, let alone ours. He's also just lost our best player. Let him get a team together no?

I mind the glory days of 2010/11 when even Calderwood was given time to get his own stamp of things once January was up and everyone was fit. We can't be that impatient now that a rookie manager's card is marked after one month?

26-01-2022, 08:41 PM
Drey Wright must be doing amazing things in training

26-01-2022, 08:42 PM
Not too disappointed tonight, conditions were awful.

Thought there were encouraging moments of quick, one touch stuff. Couple of big chances too.

Would have been disappointed had the wind not made it so difficult.

26-01-2022, 08:42 PM
That was a pretty woeful performance,particularly against 10 men. I think Newell needs to be dropped, for me he doesn't do nearly enough and he's too comfortable because at the moment there seems to be nobody challenging him for a starting place. The same could be said of a few others in this team. For the first time in a while I'm actually quite angry at that kind of performance. But maybe I'm in a minority.

JammyDoidger
26-01-2022, 08:43 PM
Apart from the goal we scored in the last game.

What in the 115th minute, against a part time side, 2 divisions below? C'mon man, your no counting that. This is worse than under ross, it's horrific viewing.

Poor game, poor conditions and a few players playing poorly too. JDH, McGinn, Wright, Campbell are all bench warmers as far as I can see. Looking forward to seeing Magennis back, Mueller getting fully fit and Melkersen adjusting to a new team and country. Henderson looked very bright when he came on, Rocky looks solid to and Mitchell has pace to burn, disappointing game but it's a point.

Bobo
Another woeful 90 minutes against a team of cloggers and not one attempt on target, even with an extra man! Far from good enough and far from entertaining.

Conditions may have been poor and we may be missing a few players but we have absolutely no threat and no idea going forward and subsequently won't win many games playing anti-football.

JamesHFC
It is Jack Ross’s team basically. Give Maloney time.

Newell and JDH have absolutely no drive at all. Need a seriously good centre midfielder and get the new guys upto speed and we’ll be ok.

This. We will see much better once the new boys are up and running along with a Boyle replacement.

26-01-2022, 08:44 PM
Knocked the ball about well enough and had decent possession. Easy to see where our problems lie though. Apart from the wing backs there is virtually no creativity in the final third.

Desperately need a replacement for Boyle.

Utterly devoid of anything, who we gonna blame this time... recruitment team? Fans?

Maloneyball better start showing some results soon...

It is ok to say maloneyball? dont want some snowflakes thinking i mean it from a negative...Hasnt moloneyball gave us

3 wins
1 draw
1 defeat

In 5 games

That no count as Results?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

0 shots on target is hard to win any game. Sometimes even under Ross the football was so slow and we need to move it quicker sometimes.

26-01-2022, 08:46 PM
I'm glad we sacked our boring manager. Now we can play like Belgium, but without any world class players.

Pffffffff 😐

No shots on target ?

GTF

Decent start for Maloney continues. A win against Livi would make it a good start and set us up for the derby.

That was utter garbage.

I really dunno how we can sign 6/7 players and look to Drey Wright to try and get a spark up front.

Why bring on Doidge when it was too late?

Clean sheet away from home.

Porto ban is finished.

Be good to have our first pick defence back which could be Rocky, Porto, Hanlon. Still have Clarke to come back too and McGennis.

Hoping for a strong finish to the season.

Unfortunately losing Boyle in this window will hugely impact in our attacking and scoring ability. We are creating nothing.

Sounded earlier on that the Boyle money might be spent this window or might not be spent until the summer. Maybe tonight will have made Maloney's mind up to use it sooner rather than later. Obviously we shouldn't be just spending it for the sake of it, need to get the right person in.

What in the 115th minute, against a part time side, 2 divisions below? C'mon man, your no counting that. This is worse than under ross, it's horrific viewing.[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Count the game just don't count the goal

Fair play [emoji106]

Poor game but the conditions played a major role in the quality of the match. Nisbet still looked very isolated so a fair bit of work to be done to improve how we attack as a team. We work great positions out wide but have no bodies in the box.

Could be playing the now, with the motherwell boys in the shower and I'm still not sure we'd score.

Far better than Jack Ross, eh?

26-01-2022, 08:47 PM
That was dire. We have very, very little quality in the final third.

We look to have improved the back line with Rocky, but overall that was total pish!

Agreed mate.

You going to the quiz on Sunday?

Possession play is obviously what SM wants but it’s absolutely pointless if you’re doing nothing in the final third. 0 shots on target against, on the night, a poor Motherwell team isn’t good enough

Five games in the door ffs.

MikeyS
This. We will see much better once the new boys are up and running along with a Boyle replacement.

I'm not sure we will get an exact replacement for Boyle. He was a wide attacker and I think based on what we've seen so far, the 3 in behind the CF are expected to play narrow allowing Doig & Cadden to get forward more.

Really poor performance tonight, we have absolutely nothing up front and zero shots on target is awful.

Big opportunity missed tonight with Hearts and Aberdeen both losing and obviously a chance to overtake Motherwell as well.

We need to win on Saturday.

Looking solid and comfortable tonight but no ability to play forward or link-up up front at all.

A missed opportunity with Aberdeen and Hearts both losing. All bunching up in the race for Europe, we need to be better if we want to be there.

Could be playing the now, with the motherwell boys in the shower and I'm still not sure we'd score.Ohh saucy!

Wull
what happened to Joe Newall, had a good first half then never kicked a ba second half, sayin that he wasnt the only one who had a poor second half. :confused:

Well yes, results have improved quite nicely after replacing Jack Ross.

26-01-2022, 08:48 PM
Solid enough in our own half but struggle to gain any meaningful possession in opponent's half. Can't see much of what they are working on in training, certainly not anything in middle of the pitch and beyond. A lot of work to be done.

Can someone explain to me why we play tippy tappy across the back against ten men and only minutes to go?
I’m horrified when I hear people booing our players but surely to god there was an argument for making forward passes tonight?

MikeyS
Agreed mate.

You going to the quiz on Sunday?

Sure am pal 👍🏻 best social event of the year!

Terrible tonight. At least we’ve turned a corner results wise since he left.

Absolutely dire. 1 goal in 3 games and that was ET against a league 1 team.

The subs are also baffling. Such a boring group of players to watch

That was dire. We have very, very little quality in the final third.

We're in dire need of a central player with creativity. So so poor in the middle. Disappointing night. Newell was fine.

Five games in the door ffs.

When you sack a manager who gets you 3rd and a very impressive cup record you expect a sign of better after 5 games.

Conditions werent great but doesnt excuse the fact wehad zero shots on target, we really need a spark in midfield, campbell just isnt good enough, another game where JDH didnt really do much either and nisbet had very little support

GreenGray
It’s pretty clear some of these players can’t play the way maloney wants it will take a while to get his methods properly implemented.

Only criticism of manager tonight is starting that midfield 3, Henderson must start next game.

ehf
26-01-2022, 08:49 PM
Drey Wright is not the answer.

With the possession we had and no shots on target, we might not lose many but winning’s going to be a struggle.

HendoDelivered
Maloney needs time, but looks like a lot of fans aren’t going to give him very much of it. Should have wen’t for Pep or Klopp…

I don't think 'meh' is a real word but it should be, it perfectly describes this Hibs team.

Not bad, not good, not anything really.

Expect more of the same on Saturday.

JamesHFC
7 points from Dundee United, Aberdeen and Motherwell. Into the next round of the Scottish Cup and people are throwing toys out the pram 😭🤣

Inconsequential
Maloney must go. Truly shocking, not good enough.

Sure am pal 👍🏻 best social event of the year!

See you there 👍

26-01-2022, 08:50 PM
Well got a very tough run of fixtures coming up. Hopefully 4th soon and stay there.

bringbackbenny
Maloney must go. Truly shocking, not good enough.

😂😂😂

It’s the same as Jack Ross isn’t it? The difference is Boyle. Maloney doesn’t have someone to single-handedly rely on for all our attacking intent.

26-01-2022, 08:51 PM
When everyone is available, we have the makings of a very good team. The future is bright . 👍

Horrendous conditions to try and play football in . Positives are Rocky looks some player and Mitchell looks rapid . Also playing a makeshift defence that didn’t concede a goal .
Hopefully get 3pts against Livi and we will be set up for the pink mutants next Tuesday.

When you sack a manager who gets you 3rd and a very impressive cup record you expect a sign of better after 5 games.

Jack Ross was ***** for months and if he wasn’t he’d still be here.

Move on.

7 points from Dundee United, Aberdeen and Motherwell. Into the next round of the Scottish Cup and people are throwing toys out the pram 😭🤣

I’ve no seen many toys oot the pram. Folk aren’t happy with another game without a shot on target. It’s a very reasonable thing to be concerned about…and ***** to watch.

Absolutely dire. 1 goal in 3 games and that was ET against a league 1 team.

The subs are also baffling. Such a boring group of players to watch

7 points out of 12 from Aberdeen at home, Dundee Utd, Celtic and Motherwell away and through to the next round of the cup though.

i'm feeling sorry for nisbet, he's a striker so get the freakin ball to him ffs

how many times did any of our midfielders get in the motherwell box tonight

It is early days yes. But based on what I've seen, I'm worried about Maloney's decision making.

Hopefully things improve - next Tuesday is massive for him.

26-01-2022, 08:52 PM
Hendo surely has to start over Campbell going forward? Obviously Magennis will when he's back to full fitness. But Campbell can't be starting for us.

1875Sean
7 points out of 12 from Aberdeen at home, Dundee Utd, Celtic and Motherwell away and through to the next round of the cup though.

You can put a spin on it all you want we have been dug ***** the last 2 games

I don't think 'meh' is a real word but it should be, it perfectly describes this Hibs team.

Not bad, not good, not anything really.

Expect more of the same on Saturday.

You not got a job yet Lenny ?

😁

jingler1954
And not a shot on target this is getting so predictably.

Silky
Hasnt moloneyball gave us

3 wins
1 draw
1 defeat

In 5 games

That no count as Results?

Aye, but that's not the point. We're not playing an exciting, swashbuckling style!! That's what we wanted when we emptied Ross it could be 13 wins, but it's still, as someone posted earlier, "dug *****"

No shots on target is dire. A point away from home is not a bad result though.

26-01-2022, 08:53 PM
When everyone is available, we have the makings of a very good team. The future is bright . 👍

Only if Magennis is going to be available regularly. If he’s not, we absolutely need another attacking central midfielder.

26-01-2022, 08:53 PM
If doidge had hit the keeper with that guilt edge chance would that shot on target stat have been fine?

Torto7
26-01-2022, 08:54 PM
That was as boring a game as I can remember and usually Hibs Well is good value. Yes the weather played a part but jeez seeing Drey Wright come on as the first sub really annoyed me. That was when another attacker was needed.

26-01-2022, 08:55 PM
No shots on target is dire. A point away from home is not a bad result though.

Fine margins.

Jack Ross was ***** for months and if he wasn’t he’d still be here.

Move on.

We’re also stuck with a lot of the crap he left us with.

Our transfer window, for all the hype, hasn’t been good enough. Nobody has come in ready to go and the problems we had before it opened still seem to be there. Plus we’ve sold our best player.

GreenGray
Aye, but that's not the point. We're not playing an exciting, swashbuckling style!! That's what we wanted when we emptied Ross it could be 13 wins, but it's still, as someone posted earlier, "dug *****"

Have some patience ffs. Playing this sort of way takes a while, obviously not on the same level but remember Klopp and Pep’s first seasons? Rome wasn’t built in a day particularly when we are still resorting to starting Paul McGinn

26-01-2022, 08:56 PM
You not got a job yet Lenny ?

😁

I've been doing well, not mentioned NL once since Maloney was appointed :na na:

I've also not said a bad word about Maloney, I'm 100% behind him after the initial bemusement faded!

If doidge had hit the keeper with that guilt edge chance would that shot on target stat have been fine?

Aye but he never

Agree, make shift team tonight and gain ground on hearts moved further away from Dons.

Silky

We can also spin it that it's "dug *****". But it's a results business. And what the poster quoted was results. And the results have been good.

26-01-2022, 08:57 PM
Can we play 2 upfront on Saturday.

26-01-2022, 08:57 PM
Rocky looks a player BTW

Mitchell will be a starter and looks to have a real injection of pace

26-01-2022, 08:58 PM
Can we play 2 upfront on Saturday.I doubt it

Maloney said something in an interview that made me think doidge might be off

Along the lines of Christian done fine but Nisbet was really good when we came on. There might be occassions when they can play together

The way he worded it though suggested that would be the exception

26-01-2022, 08:58 PM
Rocky looks a player BTW

Agree about Rocky. Thought he was the best player on the park for us.

26-01-2022, 08:59 PM
That was a pretty woeful performance,particularly against 10 men. I think Newell needs to be dropped, for me he doesn't do nearly enough and he's too comfortable because at the moment there seems to be nobody challenging him for a starting place. The same could be said of a few others in this team. For the first time in a while I'm actually quite angry at that kind of performance. But maybe I'm in a minority.

I’d drop Campbell and JDH before Newell, I thought he was at least trying to be involved by making himself available. I really don’t see what Campbell offers at all and JDH is stuck permanently in reverse.

26-01-2022, 08:59 PM
We still need new players - especially with Boyle gone - need speed and creativity.

noz
26-01-2022, 09:00 PM
That was as boring a game as I can remember and usually Hibs Well is good value. Yes the weather played a part but jeez seeing Drey Wright come on as the first sub really annoyed me. That was when another attacker was needed.

agree that was a strange one, put another midfielder on when we need edinburgh an attacker on.

The team that Maloney plays against Livingstone will be interesting. Luckily for him he is getting results of a sort, with a decent return points wise from the games so far. My worry is that our obsession with playing out from the back, with no mixing up of the play, means that every hard working team in the league can press us and we seem happy to just play in our own half. Motherwell defended in numbers from the front...just like Cove and we struggled to get the ball forward. We need to mix it up more, but the majority of our midfield is lightweight physically and fairly short, so long balls just come back even if we do hit it longer.

MGmick

No. But it was single fish under Ross too.

Can someone explain to me why we play tippy tappy across the back against ten men and only minutes to go?
I’m horrified when I hear people booing our players but surely to god there was an argument for making forward passes tonight?

That bit had me as pissed off as I’ve been at Hibs in a long time.

The number of players we had back in our own half, pissing about making sideways passes.

I’m not a lump it merchant but there’s a time to add a bit of drive to your play. There’s a time to smell blood and there’s a time to be aggressive.

The last 20 minutes were a shambles.

I was seriously unimpressed tonight, as per the last 2 games.

Hibs need to buck their ideas up.

Maloney might appear to love this style and formation but I just cannot see how we get goals. It looks utterly impotent to me.

#2 Double Tap
26-01-2022, 09:01 PM
Maloney needs time, but looks like a lot of fans aren’t going to give him very much of it. Should have wen’t for Pep or Klopp…

thats pretty unfair on the fans, they never picked maloney.

there are loadsa managers out there who could get a tune out of our team. maloney is showing naivety by sticking with a 343 formation and some of the players he is utilising.......read a post the other day about square pegs and round holes, pretty much sums us up under him so far.

tonight and against celtic we coulda settled for a 4 at the back with 4 players in their natural positions......instead of rb or lb or cm's at centre defence.

his 343 doesnt seem to be working in an attacking sense either. If 343 is his end game its all good, but to get there we need to utilise our squad better and find a way to pick up wins and create more chances. we dont have enough shots on target, it was the same under ross.

26-01-2022, 09:01 PM

Have you forgotten what we were like in the lead up to JR getting sacked? I didn't agree with him getting sacked when he did, I thought he should gave been given the cup final. However I'm going to back the new manager and be patient with what he's trying to do. We were on a ***** run and the results are greatly improved and hopefully it won't be too long until the performances do too.

Yes, no shots on target isn't good enough but I'm not going to panic 5 games into the new manager's tenure. I don't want to change manager every couple of months if we're not playing silky football right from the get go.

26-01-2022, 09:02 PM
Rocky looks a player BTW

Both good points and well done for injecting some positivity :greengrin:thumbsup:

26-01-2022, 09:03 PM
I've been doing well, not mentioned NL once since Maloney was appointed :na na:

I've also not said a bad word about Maloney, I'm 100% behind him after the initial bemusement faded!

😄.

Well said that man.

26-01-2022, 09:03 PM
Drop Josh Campbell for starters.
Defended maloney strongly after Celtic game.

He is implementing the right practices of ball possession.

But that means sod all with no end product

Hibs could have played there all night and not mustered a shot at goal.

Drey Wright isn’t going to get us third as much as he looks more confident.

We must sign a forward and not pin all hopes on a 18 year Norwegian kid.

Saying that, the football from the back to the front is so slow I genuianly am concerned we could still have Martin Boyle up there and it wouldn’t make a difference. We are so passive and a real lack of urgency.

Still believe, but 0 shots on target again.

26-01-2022, 09:05 PM
I doubt it

Maloney said something in an interview that made me think doidge might be off

Along the lines of Christian done fine but Nisbet was really good when we came on. There might be occassions when they can play together

The way he worded it though suggested that would be the exception

I would be absolutely pissed off if we let Doidge go.

May21/05/216
26-01-2022, 09:06 PM
Maloney has been in charge for 5 games
3 wins
1 draw
1 defeat
Give the man a chance

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

1875Sean
26-01-2022, 09:06 PM
thats pretty unfair on the fans, they never picked maloney.

there are loadsa managers out there who could get a tune out of our team. maloney is showing naivety by sticking with a 343 formation and some of the players he is utilising.......read a post the other day about square pegs and round holes, pretty much sums us up under him so far.

tonight and against celtic we coulda settled for a 4 at the back with 4 players in their natural positions......instead of rb or lb or cm's at centre defence.

his 343 doesnt seem to be working in an attacking sense either. If 343 is his end game its all good, but to get there we need to utilise our squad better and find a way to pick up wins and create more chances. we dont have enough shots on target, it was the same under ross.

Totally agree with this, a lot of attacking talent on the bench with Allan, Doidge, Murphy who can help us in the final third, I hope Maloney isn’t too stubborn sticking with an formation that doesn’t always suit us best with the players we have

26-01-2022, 09:09 PM
Rocky looks a player BTW

They're the main positives from tonight for me. Plus we're looking a lot more solid defensively. I actually feel like we can keep a clean sheet.

26-01-2022, 09:11 PM
For Mitchell’s cameo alone and sheer pace - he must play. The only player that looked like they could / wanted to run past an opponent.

If maloney can get a blend of what he has an a bit more directness like that we will be a decent outfit. As posters have said, to many passes for passes sake. Macey ain’t going to win us games specially with his first touch.

26-01-2022, 09:11 PM
This Jack Ross comparison pish is tiring and premature as ****.

It won't change overnight. Be patient for christ's sake.

Paul1642
26-01-2022, 09:13 PM
The conditions were crap but, Rangers, Celtic and Dundee United all manned to win in similar. We just weren’t great.

Hibees1973
26-01-2022, 09:13 PM
The last 2 Hibs games have been a difficult watch.

Know possession football is the thing these days and most teams do try to play from the back but it's really painful to watch at our level. Constantly moving the ball along the defence seems to be the way Maloney wants. We will have high possession stats but there is no threat in the last third.

Hopefully Melkersen & Mitchell will make a difference, but it's expecting a lot of the two of them to make a drastic change.

It is early days but there seems to be a pattern emerging and it's boring.

Vital we shift the dead wood on to create space for new players. Just hope the recruitment is good.

I feel we will hover between 5th & 7th in the table for the rest of the season.

K-Zazu
26-01-2022, 09:16 PM
We need to play 2 up front, can’t remember a good hibs team with one striker playing regularly?

26-01-2022, 09:17 PM
This Jack Ross comparison pish is tiring and premature as ****.

It won't change overnight. Be patient for christ's sake.

It’s far too early. Having said that I did expect to see a more drastic change in the style.

26-01-2022, 09:21 PM
Got to up the tempo if not can see another 0.0 on Saturday as Livi will be happy to sit in a take a point.

LunasBoots
26-01-2022, 09:22 PM
We need to play 2 up front, can’t remember a good hibs team with one striker playing regularly?

Said this under Ross and we are still not doing it now, Nisbet and Doidge worked before Doidge got injured, time to go back to a system that works

houstonhibbee
26-01-2022, 09:23 PM
We can also spin it that it's "dug *****". But it's a results business. And what the poster quoted was results. And the results have been good.
But we sacked Jack and brought in Maloney to win the missing fans back by playing more attractive football.......

26-01-2022, 09:23 PM
If you can't win, don't lose

Point away from home is fine

A win on Saturday will set us up nicely for the Derby

Still have Porto and Hanlon to come back

Clarke and Melkerson too

Mitchell will add some pace and hopefully a big signing to come by Tuesday...

#2 Double Tap
26-01-2022, 09:26 PM
But we sacked Jack and brought in Maloney to win the missing fans back by playing more attractive football.......

thats what the ceo never got.

its not "attractive possession football" we want, its quick direct passing - moving forward with the ball.

It's clear he is trying to change things, but changes dont just happen over night, you have to start somewhere. You can tell the players arent comfortable with the new system yet, some are maybe not even capable, the wind was brutal too. It was crap but like many hibs games like that just move on and forget it.

JammyDoidger
Honestly see everyone saying it'll be fine when we get melkerson, Clarke, and whoever else back have a word man..
You need to make the best of what's available here and now. And just now doidge and nisbet upfront is the best option. Maloney is going to be one of they managers that refuse to change shape. He would rather play a striker at centre half than change the shape by the looks of it. Going to take a lot of time for him to be able to do this properly, thirds away now, best we can hope for is 4th. So frustrating.

It's horses for courses, lennon was very good at this. It's ignorant and arrogant to think you don't have to change especially when you have the 4th or 5th biggest budget in the league.

26-01-2022, 09:28 PM

Short - mid term I’m happy to prioritise results over performance given the free fall Maloney inherited. Long term I expect to see a better style of football, more energetic, higher tempo and on the front foot as it begins to become Maloneys squad. Much the same way as Ross, if after 2 years I’m still not enjoying the 90 minutes more often than not, regardless of the results, I’ll inevitably start to drift away and stop attending.

26-01-2022, 09:28 PM
Honestly see everyone saying it'll be fine when we get melkerson, Clarke, and whoever else back have a word man..
You need to make the best of what's available here and now. And just now doidge and nisbet upfront is the best option. Maloney is going to be one of they managers that refuse to change shape. He would rather play a striker at centre half than change the shape by the looks of it. Going to take a lot of time for him to be able to do this properly, thirds away now, best we can hope for is 4th. So frustrating.

We gained a point in the team in 3rd today. We’re 9 behind and have to play them 3 more times this season.

JammyDoidger
26-01-2022, 09:32 PM
We gained a point in the team in 3rd today. We’re 9 behind and have to play them 3 more times this season.

You think this hibs team is going to make up that amount of points on hearts? Hopefully we can muster a shot on target against Livi.

26-01-2022, 09:32 PM
We gained a point in the team in 3rd today. We’re 9 behind and have to play them 3 more times this season.Tough game for hearts on the weekend too

26-01-2022, 09:33 PM
You think this hibs team is going to make up that amount of points on hearts? Hopefully we can muster a shot on target against Livi.

Not playing like that but I’m always optimistic. Hearts haven’t had a bad spell yet either - we have.

gaz1875
26-01-2022, 09:35 PM
I never seen the game but reading the reports on here and listening on the radio it is all too predictable. Maloney as I have said a couple of times is making strange starting line ups and substitutions. I was very surprised Doidge never played from the start given the conditions, today was not a day for tippy tappy passes. There is nothing wrong in going long at times especially with the wind and rain. Doidge leading the line with Nisbet behind was the way to start, and Newell and JDH together is not the answer to moving the ball quickly in central midfield nor Campbell in forward midfield. He ain't going to change his mindset so things might get a bit tense in the coming games.

JammyDoidger
26-01-2022, 09:35 PM
Not playing like that but I’m always optimistic. Hearts haven’t had a bad spell yet either - we have.

This whole seasons just been frustrating. Into the end of January, signed about 6 players, still trying to find a settled team, shoe horning players into positions that don't suit them, why couldn't we have just done that in the summer and backed ross and we would be so much better off.

JamesHFC
26-01-2022, 09:36 PM
Tough game for hearts on the weekend too

Hearts next three games are Motherwell, us and Rangers.

We play Livi, them and St Mirren all at home.

Win our three games and I think we will be within at least 3 points of them.

26-01-2022, 09:40 PM

3rd is gone.

We need to focus on making sure we come 4th and see how close we can push Hearts.

At the same time we could easily fall out the top 6 if we don’t sign more players this week.

26-01-2022, 09:43 PM
Hearts next three games are Motherwell, us and Rangers.

We play Livi, them and St Mirren all at home.

Win our three games and I think we will be within at least 3 points of them.

We need to create chances, have shots on target and score goals to achieve that. We look miles away from that at the moment as the ball doesn’t stick up front giving no chance for the attack shy midfielders. We need attacking players in midfield and a number 9 who can hold the ball up for this to work. We don’t have this with Nisbet up front on his own and JDH and Newell in midfield.

26-01-2022, 10:24 PM
First game I have been to since Maloney took over
Rocky is a find but after a bright start it seemed easy fir them to contain us
Muller was fairly anonymous tonight and never posed the same threat he managed v cove
We were toothless up front
At times we were passing intricately in tight spaces but well bided Thier time snd we ran out of ideas
But when they went down to 10 men they were the better team for the. I’ll of that time
You can’t just throw on too random players and the team then lose all shape
The two players who turned the game fir us v 10 man st Johnstone stayed on the bench
Drey Wright was back to his worst Mitchel didn’t see enough of the ball but had one great run driving forward
Doidge should of done better with his chance
Henderson had some nice touches and a shot come cross that went wide
Cadden had one great ball into box that no one could get on the end of
And better teams will punish us trying to play out from the back as it was all a bit obvious and didn’t help us get forward with any purpose and no shots on target ffs
I know it’s early days but with only one more game before the Derby I worry hearts will turn us over
But let’s see what team he puts out v Livi

1875Sean
26-01-2022, 10:25 PM
Just see the maloney interview, he said he was happy with the way we played and we created enough chances to win, I must have been watching another game

26-01-2022, 10:42 PM
First game I have been to since Maloney took over
Rocky is a find but after a bright start it seemed easy fir them to contain us
Muller was fairly anonymous tonight and never posed the same threat he managed v cove
We were toothless up front
At times we were passing intricately in tight spaces but well bided Thier time snd we ran out of ideas
But when they went down to 10 men they were the better team for the. I’ll of that time
You can’t just throw on too random players and the team then lose all shape
The two players who turned the game fir us v 10 man st Johnstone stayed on the bench
Drey Wright was back to his worst Mitchel didn’t see enough of the ball but had one great run driving forward
Doidge should of done better with his chance
Henderson had some nice touches and a shot come cross that went wide
Cadden had one great ball into box that no one could get on the end of
And better teams will punish us trying to play out from the back as it was all a bit obvious and didn’t help us get forward with any purpose and no shots on target ffs
I know it’s early days but with only one more game before the Derby I worry hearts will turn us over
But let’s see what team he puts out v Livi

What about the howling gale that blew across the park, the ref who let Well away with repeatedly fouling Hibs players and the most physical Well side I think I’ve ever seen, absolute hammer throwers?

26-01-2022, 10:46 PM
What about the howling gale that blew across the park, the ref who let Well away with repeatedly fouling Hibs players and the most physical Well side I think I’ve ever seen, absolute hammer throwers?

Vanveen and Roberts both lucky to stay on the park, absolute hatchet men. Hibs were still not very good though despite the weather and hacking.

26-01-2022, 10:48 PM
Vanveen and Roberts both lucky to stay on the park, absolute hatchet men. Hibs were still not very good though despite the weather and hacking.

Particularly Roberts. I reckon if that's in any other league in Europe both pushes first half are a yellow. He then went on to make about 372 other fouls second half.

26-01-2022, 10:53 PM
A point away at Motherwell on a night like this in difficult conditions is not a bad result on paper, but I can’t say I really enjoyed it.

Thought things might open up for us a bit more after the red card but it was a continued struggle. Yes, we created two or three chances but we really should be creating a lot more than that.

Hopefully we can carve out a few on Saturday and get the win.

May21/05/216
26-01-2022, 10:57 PM
A point away at Motherwell on a night like this in difficult conditions is not a bad result on paper, but I can’t say I really enjoyed it.

Thought things might open up for us a bit more after the red card but it was a continued struggle. Yes, we created two or three chances but we really should be creating a lot more than that.

Hopefully we can carve out a few on Saturday and get the win.I agree

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

26-01-2022, 11:14 PM
https://youtu.be/LwXgIQo9LkM

Highlights

26-01-2022, 11:17 PM
It’s going to take time. Weather played a huge part tonight and no mistake. Maybe when he gets a full squad to pick from.

26-01-2022, 11:30 PM
It’s going to take time. Weather played a huge part tonight and no mistake. Maybe when he gets a full squad to pick from.

This is the main thing for me.

Anyone that’s played in Scottish football, at any level, knows it’s an absolute battle. Especially when the weather is like that tonight.

Motherwell away is always a tricky tie and they’re 4th so let’s not downplay our opposition and how tough a game it was.

There’s improvements to be made 100%.

We’re building in stages. We’re solid defensively and get the ball into the final third with controlled possession, we’re now lacking the hardest thing in football and that’s creating and scoring chances.

A couple of quality signings will completely change that.

cameronw-hfc
26-01-2022, 11:41 PM
Just see the Maloney interview, he said he was happy with the way we played and we created enough chances to win, I must have been watching another game

I get the vibe Maloney isn't the sort of manager to slate his players in the press. He's got Caldwell in there that can go through them if needed behind the scenes, I just think he'll always defend them publicly and let things be said behind the scenes.

27-01-2022, 12:40 AM
Horrendous conditions to try and play football in . Positives are Rocky looks some player and Mitchell looks rapid . Also playing a makeshift defence that didn’t concede a goal .
Hopefully get 3pts against Livi and we will be set up for the pink mutants next Tuesday.

Good point regards the defence. Only mcginn playing in his recognised position yet we didn't seem to miss Hanlon or porteous. Rocky looks like a younger Darren mcgregor. Quick and strong in the challenge. Great he's up to speed so quickly.if porteous stays then that's a solid defence there.Mueller,Mitchell,Henderson will need a few games to get match sharpness. Quite a few positives looking forward IMHO.

27-01-2022, 01:28 AM
Just see the maloney interview, he said he was happy with the way we played and we created enough chances to win, I must have been watching another game

Seriously? We're you expecting him to blast the players in public?

27-01-2022, 06:13 AM
I could understand it being a good point if we had our backs to the wall and was under pressure but that wasn't the case.

27-01-2022, 08:46 AM

Was too busy watching how we played given it was first time first time had been to game with Maloney in charge
I expect we won’t have a settled team for a few weeks yet and have said elsewhere we are going to have to be patient and it may well be next season before we see the best of a Maloney team
If he can transition our style of play while challenging for fourth place and get a decent run in tbe cup he will be doing well
But those were my thoughts when I got home last night
Realistically we aren’t going to get Boyles replacement in this window
Other teams managed to score in these conditions last night apart from st johnstone and Dundee and we know how poor they are
But as I say we have players to come back from injury and suspension and new players to integrate into the team