View Full Version : Match Updates Motherwell v Hibernian

Pages : 1 [2] 3

26-01-2022, 07:42 PM
Difficult conditions but no shots on target tells the tale. Devoid of pace with none of the midfield offering much in the way of an attacking threat. Campbell was almost invisible. Needs too do much more 2nd half... JDH wasn't much better tbh but has done more in defence as you'd expect. Doig has broke forward a few times but his touch and decision making has let him down. Defence have been pretty solid.

No shots on target doesn’t really tell the tale though.

A meaningless shot from 35 yards could go on target and not trouble the keeper in the slightest. The same was as nisbets chance against Celtic hit the post but wasn’t counted as a shot on target.

Stats can be flawed.

We’ve got some shots away that they’ve got good blocks in for - see Nisbet first minute.

Paul1642
26-01-2022, 07:43 PM
Not been a bad half but would make a few creative changes. Would like to see Murphy and Doige on for Campbell and Stevenson (booked) with doig dropping back.

Not the weather for Allan and don’t think it’s good conditions for Henderson’s debut. Iv Been keen to see Nisbit and Doige play together more.

Stanton Spence
Lets see if 'shades of Cathro' Maloney can impart any wisdom at half-time...Stop it [emoji23]

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

It scares me how some people don’t realise how big a part the conditions are playing.

Away to Motherwell in these conditions is all about the end result, nothing else.

Lets see if 'shades of Cathro' Maloney can impart any wisdom at half-time...

This one amuses me, can we keep him?

HendoDelivered
26-01-2022, 07:44 PM

Weirdo 😂😂

It does seem to be an evening for Doidge

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Not been a bad half but would make a few creative changes. Would like to see Murphy and Doige on for Campbell and Stevenson (booked) with doig dropping back.

Not the weather for Allan and don’t think it’s good conditions for Henderson’s debut. Iv Been keen to see Nisbit and Doige play together more.

Henderson played against Cove

Imagine being 2-0 down at home and your first thought is to come on here and troll

Better entertainment than watching the HoMofc i guess :devil:

HendoDelivered
26-01-2022, 07:45 PM
No, just *****.

Have to agree. Watching on Motherwell tv.

A tough away game at the best of times is even tougher in these conditions. We haven't been bad.

This patter was terrible the last time you tried it, probably an idea to just give it a rest.

Have to admire the players for trying to play football in such atrocious conditions. Some decent individual performances, Newell in particular seems to be having a good game. Our final ball has been poor so far, but in these conditions no surprise really. We need to change something second half, don't think we really tested their goalie yet.

It scares me how some people don’t realise how big a part the conditions are playing.

Away to Motherwell in these conditions is all about the end result, nothing else.

Aw totally. It's just a dire game of football due to the weather, won't argue with that.

JXM73
This one amuses me, can we keep him?

Cannae, mummy turns off the wifi at 9pm

26-01-2022, 07:46 PM
Maloney is like Cathro because they are both young and it is their first job. It is the exact same. They are different from Collins and Mowbray and Stubbs even though they were also young and in their first job. I will refuse to elaborate further.

Must see something in training would be a good hunch.

He must aye cause he shows **** all in games

Not the weather for Allan and don’t think it’s good conditions for Henderson’s debut.

Henderson started against Cove

26-01-2022, 07:47 PM

Who you talking about here?

Pretty much everyone on the thread has acknowledged the weather!

We’ve been pretty poor, but it’s hard with the weather being that bad to play any sort of football.

Superb! You could have been a bit more subtle. Toodle off to your bed!

26-01-2022, 07:48 PM
Who you talking about here?

Pretty much everyone on the thread has acknowledged the weather!

Some acknowledge it.

Some seem to have very unrealistic expectations for the conditions imo.

Everything just seems negative - give the lads praise for what was a decent first half considering.

26-01-2022, 07:48 PM
Horrendous conditions but some decent play nevertheless.

26-01-2022, 07:49 PM
Trying to gauge from afar how the game is going. Very mixed reports of the first half from the hibs.net brethren.

I think mitchell gets Campbells Place

noz
I just don't see anything in Campbell?

Am I missing something??

totally agree, Confused as to why he starts every game.

IncredibleHibee
26-01-2022, 07:51 PM
Cannae, mummy turns off the wifi at 9pm

haha that did make me chuckle, I'll give you that

26-01-2022, 07:53 PM
Lost count of how many times Doig’s put it out of play

26-01-2022, 07:53 PM
The ladies beat Motherwell 1-0. Just need the gents to do the same now

26-01-2022, 07:54 PM
Hopefully Maloney or Caldwell have had a word with the ref at halftime about Roberts' 2 pushes on Rocky.

26-01-2022, 07:55 PM
Cannae, mummy turns off the wifi at 9pmWee Shaun Lawson's mum used to do that at his bedtime as well, but when he turned 40 she gave him an extra half hour and took the parental control off the telly.

26-01-2022, 07:56 PM
Hopefully Maloney or Caldwell have had a word with the ref at halftime about Roberts' 2 pushes on Rocky.Yeah, just seen that, WTF? Oh it's Andrew Dallas.

26-01-2022, 07:56 PM
1 shot on target is all I ask for Hibs

26-01-2022, 07:57 PM
I like Campbell, good work rate.a bit like Liam Craig for me.

If ever anything was the epitome of damned by faint praise this is it!

26-01-2022, 07:57 PM
1 shot on target is all I ask for Hibs

Aye we need something here

26-01-2022, 07:58 PM
No shots on target doesn’t really tell the tale though.

A meaningless shot from 35 yards could go on target and not trouble the keeper in the slightest. The same was as nisbets chance against Celtic hit the post but wasn’t counted as a shot on target.

Stats can be flawed.

We’ve got some shots away that they’ve got good blocks in for - see Nisbet first minute.

Stats don't tell the whole story but they do tell the story here imo. Lack of creativity and ideas up front. Midfield not linking up well with Nisbet. On how the game has gone so so far I can't see where a goal is coming from. Hoping I'm wrong.

I love the SPFL way of dealing with head knocks...Ref tells the player to rub the sore bit and carry on :rolleyes:

That goes for the 2 commentating on the game for Hibs tv, couple of slavers at times.

26-01-2022, 08:00 PM
I fear for us if we go 1-0 down. Devoid of any creativeness. It’s really needing addressed

26-01-2022, 08:00 PM
I think it will be a high scoring game with us just coming out on top. I predicted 2-3 on the thread, but I now think it will be 3-4 or 4-5.
Mitchell for Campbell please.

26-01-2022, 08:01 PM
How’s many fouls does Roberts have to commit?

Paul1642
Mitchell for Campbell please.

I hadn’t realised he was on the bench

The Captain....
Doidge for ineffectual Mueller would be the sub I'd be hoping for

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

AdidasHibernian
26-01-2022, 08:02 PM
I fear for us if we go 1-0 down. Devoid of any creativeness. It’s really needing addressed

And yet Scott Allan is being touted as available to leave ..madness.

Totally agree though we lack any really quality when creating.

Paul1642
Doidge for ineffectual Mueller would be the sub I'd be hoping for

I think he looks okay and would give him he 90.

Wull
looks like we need a sub, bad start to second half

Just heard a “****ING HELL MAN” from my downstairs neighbour who is a Dundee United fan. I’m guessing that Ross County have a second.

26-01-2022, 08:03 PM
And yet Scott Allan is being touted as available to leave ..madness.

Totally agree though we lack any really quality when creating.

That is madness, especially with he way we are playing at the moment

Mueller struggling to get into the game this half. We are struggling to play in there half......until I start typing and we have two good attacks!

Unlucky there. Great play

26-01-2022, 08:04 PM
mon hibs give those fans a goal

Mueller struggling to get into the game this half. We are struggling to play in there half......until I start typing and we have two good attacks!

Keep typingggggg

Keep typing

Drey Wright coming on

That is madness, especially with he way we are playing at the moment

Scott Allan sadly isn’t of the quality we need anymore.

Wright on for Mueller

itslegaltender
Doig is our only threat at the moment.

26-01-2022, 08:05 PM
I was quite encouraged by Maloney's first couple of games but I just can't see where a goal comes from in this team.

Very little in the final third - even allowing for weather and playing away to half decent opposition.

HendoDelivered
Wright for Mueller

What a weird substitution.

Jesus

Wright on for Mueller.

far too many guests

anyway drey wright for mueller

Maloneys subs confuse me

Wrights nowhere near good enough

Mueller off Wright on.

26-01-2022, 08:06 PM
Another strange sub?

Paul1642
I think he looks okay and would give him he 90.

Maloney disagrees…

JXM73
Wright on for Mueller.

BOOOOOOOOO

Hopefully a wee bit of energy in midfield now...

GreenGray
Don’t get this sub at all.

Desperately need something different in midfield

Not surprising for me. Go on Drey.

26-01-2022, 08:07 PM
We’ve still barely had a shot at goal

The Captain....
26-01-2022, 08:07 PM
Cmon a wee defensive **** up 'Well, it looks like our best chance of scoring.

26-01-2022, 08:08 PM
This is pish.

Another strange sub?

Makes sense as a like for like and Mueller is still struggling for full fitness...but I would agree that we need a change of formation, not a like for like.

Well. Bringing on a 10 year old

26-01-2022, 08:09 PM
This is pish.

Very poor here. Creating absolutely nothing.

26-01-2022, 08:09 PM
Just have a shot on target ffs

26-01-2022, 08:10 PM
Motherwell sub looks about twelve.

far too many guests

anyway drey wright for mueller

Unwelcome ones, pests,.

Well. Bringing on a 10 year old

By all accounts he’s a good wee baller.

Conditions impacting the game.

Motherwell sub looks about twelve.

He does, seemingly he's 20.

Skol
I was quite encouraged by Maloney's first couple of games but I just can't see where a goal comes from in this team.

Very little in the final third - even allowing for weather and playing away to half decent opposition.

I didn’t see the Celtic game or tonight but based on what I read and heard plus what I saw against cove it doesn’t feel like we have progressed.

I was hopeful after the first two games and saw positive signs, but they seem to have evaporated.

Graham Alexander is looking scarily like Potter these days ! :shocked::sick:

26-01-2022, 08:11 PM
Right - 2nd half we really need more middle to final 3rd - this isn’t working.

Absolute utter pap.

Let nobody pretend this is any better than anything before. It’s actually worse.

The Captain....
**** me we are gash in the final third

To be fair Maloney inherited the Martin Boyle team and we’ve now lost him. Will take a number of windows to resolve our creativity issues. Allan & Murphy can create “on their day” but both aren’t good enough or consistent enough to be starters IMO. Hopefully Melkersen and Mueller can hit the ground running.

Earlydelivery
No shots on target 65 mins .. and none on target in our previous game against Celtic .. get doidge on

26-01-2022, 08:12 PM
Conditions impacting the game.

Lazy excuse this. We’ve just been really poor going forward

You can't really cross a ball better than that from Cadden. Begging to be attacked.

Unlucky Hibs, pity wind got behind the ball.

I'm Loving Rocky

**** me we are gash in the final third

We have nobody at all that can put their foot on the ball and pass forward.

Pass to Ryan Mcgivern and hit down the lines is like Butcher again

AL-Qaholik
26-01-2022, 08:13 PM
Looking like we could play all night and not hit the target.
Square pegs in round holes.

Conditions crying out for Doidge in the box.

Na he’s right. That ball just there from cadden looked to strong. Great ball carried further by the wind. Definitely having an effect.

Graham Alexander is looking scarily like Potter these days ! :shocked::sick:

Must have been drinking polyjuice.

AdidasHibernian
26-01-2022, 08:14 PM
I'm Loving Rocky

What one? There all good in my opinion 😁😁

Absolute utter pap.

Let nobody pretend this is any better than anything before. It’s actually worse.

Not all that unsurprising as it’s still Jack Ross’ squad Maloney is working with.

Really hope we address the issue of having no creativity before the end of the window.

Why not bring Henderson on for Campbell? Give him 20mins to do something

HendoDelivered
If we play like this in the Derby, we’ve no chance of winning IMO. Defo something missing…

Absolute utter pap.

It’s better in a footballing sense than the turgid **** under JR. but we are lacking creatively big time.

Wull
26-01-2022, 08:15 PM
Newall has drifted oot o the game and it shows on our performance

AZhibee
26-01-2022, 08:15 PM
Boyce misses PK!!!

JamesHFC
26-01-2022, 08:16 PM
Red card. Now get Doidge on and get at them.

If we play like this in the Derby, we’ve no chance of winning IMO. Defo something missing…

I agree. Hearts will steam over the top of us. We are powderpuff in midfield.

Skol
Boyce misses PK!!!

Best penalty miss ever. Inside post along the line and bends round the post and out of play

He's OFF !

Motherwell red . Get Doidge and Mitchell on and let’s go for it

Motherwell down to 10 men.

motherwell down to 10

1875Sean
Motherwell player off thank ****

26-01-2022, 08:17 PM
Red card donnonly

Can't complain

Mitchell coming on

Donnelly off who also knocks the card out of the refs hand.

About time he went

The Poundland Gary Barlow red carded too.

Alexander off too.

Alexander sent off now.

alexander red card as well

Paul1642
Did not see that coming at all. Great opportunity now. Time for energetic subs.

Hfc_Since1875
Absolute utter pap.

Very much agree

I don’t enjoy watching Belgium, it’s usually slow without penetration and this is very similar

Motherwell have player and manager sent off.

How can Alexander complain?

AZhibee
Red card. Now get Doidge on and get at them.

Second that

26-01-2022, 08:18 PM
Alexander off too...Bye Bye Levein Lookalike

Motherwell manager in bother noe

The Captain....
Right we've got a chance now..get Allan on and let's try and create one decent opening in the game.

Are we losing here :rolleyes:

HendoDelivered
I see this useless Irish commentator is back on Hibs TV.

Van Veen and Rocky are the two Dutchmen coming together and Hibs are at home to Livi on Saturday according to this idiot.

No doubt he still thinks Dundee and Dundee Utd are the same team from his previous seasons clown book.

😂😂👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

15 mins to do something here

Van Veen and Rocky are the two Dutchmen coming together and Hibs are at home to Livi on Saturday according to this idiot.

No doubt he still thinks Dundee and Dundee Utd are the same team from his previous seasons clown book.Hibs are at home to livi on Saturday

So if 'this idiot' is right......

Demi is on!!

HendoDelivered
26-01-2022, 08:19 PM
Hendo n Mitch on

Campbell n Newell off

Van Veen and Rocky are the "two Dutchmen" coming together and Hibs are at home to Livi on Saturday according to this idiot.

No doubt he still thinks Dundee and Dundee Utd are the same team from his previous seasons clown book.
We are at home to Livingston on sat.:confused:

henderson for campbell

mitchell for stevenson

1875Sean
Can’t believe he never put doidge on there

Offt, so close

Very unlucky Hendo.

HendoDelivered
26-01-2022, 08:20 PM
Hendo instant impact

argggggghh just past the post

That was close.

jeez so close

Best chance for Hibs - great ball / low cross by Henderson but Nisbet could get a touch.

Come on hibs let’s get something

Henderson is delivering.

26-01-2022, 08:21 PM
We are at home to Livingston on sat.:confused:

Id maybe look to take JDH off and put Doidge on also.

Ref has lost this as has Alexander, cursing and swearing at the ref, comedy stuff.

Man off but should be down to 9 with Roberts not getting booked, 2 very attacking subs, going for it which I like to see.

didn't realise Chris Luketti was Motherwell assistant..used to watch him playing for Bury

26-01-2022, 08:22 PM
Paul mcginn's distribution is not good enough.

Could be patience from the support?

Shots on target - 0 is a big worry.

26-01-2022, 08:23 PM
McGinn booked.

I wish we wouldn't poke it about at the back so much. We're not Man City.

Playing ourselves into bother there

Chance from a free kick for them

Goss and van veen can take em

yellow card SPM

poor from newell

jeez..that's suicide

Poor by Newell but McGinn should've got there.

26-01-2022, 08:24 PM
Cmon Hibs.

off the wall for a corner

Come on hibs

well blocked

Newell off for doidge

About time.

doidge at last

Poor by McGinn, he's had a poor season so far.Surley he done the right thing and wiped the ball out?

26-01-2022, 08:25 PM
doidge on for 9 mins

bringbackbenny
Poor by McGinn, he's had a poor season so far.

He had to make the foul hospital pass from Newall (who's been decent)

JamesHFC
Poor by Newell but McGinn should've got there.

He will struggle to get back into the side once Porteous and Clarke are back.

Shots on target - 0 is a big worry.

Same as Celtic. This bothers me a lot

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

What’s Wright dain, watching it go over his head

26-01-2022, 08:26 PM
Hanging on v 10 men

What's up with Hanlon?

Surley he done the right thing and wiped the ball out?

Meant Newell and also McGinn

Systems that rigid there’s 0 creative freedom

Team full of ****ing cloggers

MikeyS
26-01-2022, 08:27 PM

We've somehow became even less attacking than we were under Ross!

That should be another red.

Dirty *******s.

They are a dirty shower of *******s. And how Roberts has gotten away without being booked is a mystery

Team full of ****ing cloggers

Deliberately took out Mitchell. Welcome to Scottish football.

26-01-2022, 08:28 PM
10 year old sub subbed off

He's got homework for tomorrow.

We've somehow became even less attacking than we were under Ross!

Took the midfield off with only JDH and a lightweight Henderson there.

****ing hell man, what do these managers see in Wright!!!

1875Sean
This possession based football doesn’t necessary mean attacking football, seen a few people say we have 60+% possession but it’s not entertaining with such few attacks

26-01-2022, 08:29 PM
Doidge ffs

Possession counts for hee haw. Toothless up front. Who’s got the ten men?

4 and a half minutes to get a shot on target

Aw what a chance ffs

Big chance missed doidge

Berwickhibby
Shocking from Doidge there

Great ball by Hendo, Doidge should have done better.

Should've scored there Christian

Pish from doidge. Didnt even hit the target

26-01-2022, 08:30 PM
Trust us not to make good use of Aberdeen slipping up yesterday

It’s hard to get excited when the style of play doesn’t create any real shots on target.

MikeyS
Took the midfield off with only JDH and a lightweight Henderson there.

I'm not meaning personnel mate, hasn't mattered who we have had on the park we have done bugger all in their final 3rd.

Poor by Doidge, great chance

Hendo looks a tweet.

How is that just the first yellow for that big lump?

JamesHFC
This possession based football doesn’t necessary mean attacking football, seen a few people say we have 60+% possession but it’s not entertaining with such few attacks

Doesn’t help when we have just lost our best attacking player.

HendoDelivered
Holy **** macey

My mate just texted "Honestly chief. This is identical to Arsenal...."

26-01-2022, 08:31 PM
****ing dirty *******s. Van veen is a thug.

Another poor challenge from them.

Macey’s shot stopping percentage really isn’t good and he is footballing ability is dreadful.

Give Dabrowski a chance.

We've looked worse against 10 men

26-01-2022, 08:32 PM
Not seeing this high pressing attacking football we were promised. Devoid of anything going forward

26-01-2022, 08:32 PM
****ing dirty *******s. Van veen is a thug.

I honestly thought he was Dutch.

26-01-2022, 08:33 PM
90 minutes of my life that I'll never get back.

26-01-2022, 08:34 PM
4 mins of misery remaining

26-01-2022, 08:34 PM
We've looked worse against 10 men

This is true

26-01-2022, 08:35 PM
Why was neef not booked again after kicking the ball away

They really are a bunch of cheating huddies

motherwell could have taken a chance and played the keeper as an outfield player....he's not been needed

26-01-2022, 08:36 PM
Not seeing this high pressing attacking football we were promised. Devoid of anything going forward

I'm sure there's a clever plan afoot that exists on a level I just don't understand.

But from where I'm watching this is what utter pish looks like.

The performance since they went down to 10 has been shocking.

More boring than watching Jack Ross’ team

JammyDoidger
Absolutely rubbish. 3 games without a goal. Not anywhere near good enough.

26-01-2022, 08:37 PM

I actually hate saying this but I agree.

300 minutes and three shots on target.

loady utter p@sh 0-0

It’s just no ****ing good enough.

26-01-2022, 08:38 PM
I'm sure there's a clever plan afoot that exists on a level I just don't understand.

But from where I'm watching this is what utter pish looks like.

The performance since they went down to 10 has been shocking.

Its quite incredible how poor we’ve been going forward tonight. Quite unbelievable.

****ing booooo

Refs mental

4 mins Inj time and ball in play for about 2 mins

Mitchell and Henderson need to start next game and doidge for nisbet

The Captain....
We've looked worse against 10 menIt's been a shocker of a second half entertainment wise. Not enjoyed it at all.

Don't see how we score a goal playing like this. Really miss Boyles pace..exposing how much we relied on him in final third.

Weather didn't help but that was poor.

norhfc
Since the red card we got into their box once that I can remember, the Doidge chance.

On to Saturday it is...

Dire

Berwickhibby
Not shots on target sums up tonight’s performance

That was utter dug*****.

JamesHFC
Wouldn’t had complained with a draw away there at the beginning of the day. We move onto Livi, a point gained on Hearts.

JammyDoidger
26-01-2022, 08:39 PM
Maloneys subs are criminal. Doidge should have been on much earlier. Shambles, waste of a night, an average hibs side should be pumping that shower!

MikeyS
It’s just no ****ing good enough.

We look to have improved the back line with Rocky, but overall that was total pish!

Horrendous conditions. Was a battle all game and a draw was a fair result.

Rocky was brilliant.

We just aren’t good enough in the final third. We need to recruit real quality.

Ross had us hard to beat and counter with Boyle. Now without Boyle this team is lost going forward.

We need to fix it and quick.

Absolutely rubbish. 3 games without a goal. Not anywhere near good enough.

Apart from the goal we scored in the last game.

Absolutely awful football match.

No shot on target against 10 men.

Rubbish.

Lester B
That was genuinely awful. Utterly devoid of ideas.

26-01-2022, 08:40 PM
Decent point away from home in poor conditions, Irish commentator is a slaver.

Had the better chances but didn’t take them.

300 minutes and three shots on target.

That is a shocking statistic. Just nowhere near good enough

Clean sheet away from home.

Porto ban is finished.

Be good to have our first pick defence back which could be Rocky, Porto, Hanlon. Still have Clarke to come back too and McGennis.

Hoping for a strong finish to the season.

other than the odd gallop down the flank by either Cadden or Doig, we have shown no ability to get the ball forward at all. The conditions were awful and Motherwell were very physical, but at the moment the new style is not creating football people will want to watch.

On the plus side..I love Rocky.. Mitchell looked fast and direct in that tiny cameo at the end and it also has to be pointed out that Motherwell have a terrific home record.

NC1875

It is Jack Ross’s team basically. Give Maloney time.

Newell and JDH have absolutely no drive at all. Need a seriously good centre midfielder and get the new guys upto speed and we’ll be ok.

JXM73
Utterly devoid of anything, who we gonna blame this time... recruitment team? Fans?

Maloneyball better start showing some results soon...

It is ok to say maloneyball? dont want some snowflakes thinking i mean it from a negative...

26-01-2022, 08:41 PM
Fair result on a horrible night for football.

Utter pap.

Can’t see where a goals coming from just now