View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Aberdeen

Pages : [1] 2 3

22-12-2021, 05:28 PM
Well it’s a cold wet night under the San Siro lights but hopefully there will be some signs of good things to come as Shaun Maloney takes charge for his first Hibs game.

There’s only been a short time meeting the players and a couple of training sessions so we’ll see if there are any noticeable change in formation or personal soon enough.

Team news still to come through but please post your updates on the game here.

Good luck Shaun Maloney’s Green and White Army.

22-12-2021, 05:36 PM
Well it’s a cold wet night under the San Siro lights but hopefully there will be some signs of good things to come as Shaun Maloney takes charge for his first Hibs game.

There’s only been a short time meeting the players and a couple of training sessions so we’ll see if there are any noticeable change in formation or personal soon enough.

Team news still to come through but please post your updates on the game here.

Good luck Shaun Maloney’s Green and White Army.
Cmon SMGAWA

22-12-2021, 05:36 PM
Team is up, a few changes from Sunday

HendoDelivered
22-12-2021, 05:37 PM
Scotty Allan starts

22-12-2021, 05:37 PM
Assuming Newell is injured or ill

22-12-2021, 05:38 PM
Midfield will struggle without Newell

Saint Hibee
22-12-2021, 05:39 PM
Assuming Newell is injured or ill

Or just not very good?

Be interesting to see Campbell playing deeper - looks more suited to it.

22-12-2021, 05:41 PM
Or just not very good?
The fact he’s not even on the bench would suggest an injury. :rolleyes:

Or just not very good?

LOL. No.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

They’ve not exactly been bossing it with him.

Interested to see what shape we play.

22-12-2021, 05:43 PM
3-4-3

Macey

McGinn Porto Hanlon

Cadden JDH Campbell Doig

Boyle Allan
Nisbet

22-12-2021, 05:45 PM
I think JDH will play much better being the only sitter.

Maybe it’s just me but when I played centre mid I used to find if there was a similar player to me as I’m going short to get it we would just get in each other’s way and it was frustrating.

Putting someone else in there (like Campbell) who will get beyond and help the forwards makes it so much easier and is another target to hit. It also makes the opposition drop off more so you have more space.

22-12-2021, 05:45 PM
Be interesting to see Campbell playing deeper - looks more suited to it.
I agree, his energy in there with JDH could be interesting. He will need to watch himself with his tackling though as he’s mistimed a few.

22-12-2021, 05:47 PM
A few big calls there.

Newell will be a loss, but other than possibly Newell in for Campbell - I think this might be close to my first choice Hibs XI (I'd have Doidge in for Nisbet but now's not the time to be going into that).

2 strikers - Nisbet gets Boyle up there with him. Nisbet benefits from this. Boyle's pace unnerves defences and will make them think twice about leaving space in behind. I always think Hibs look best with 2 up front.

I like Cadden and would play him whenever fit - particularly when we're playing wingbacks.

Scott Allan has something other players do not - and I'd always try to build a team to accommodate his weaknesses.

Hanlon better in a 3.

Doig is a good wingback. I'm less convinced by him at FB.

Only issue might be the defensive attributes of the 3 in the middle of the park.

I like it, I like it a lot.

Watch us get pumped now.

loanheadhibby
22-12-2021, 05:50 PM
Are you being serious?

22-12-2021, 05:51 PM
Is newell suspended?

22-12-2021, 05:52 PM
Is newell suspended?
Maybe we’ve had a bid for him.

Are you being serious?

Would rather have him starting than Allan to be honest.

A few big calls there.

Newell will be a loss, but other than possibly Newell in for Campbell - I think this might be close to my first choice Hibs XI (I'd have Doidge in for Nisbet but now's not the time to be going into that).

2 strikers - Nisbet gets Boyle up there with him. Nisbet benefits from this. Boyle's pace unnerves defences and will make them think twice about leaving space in behind. I always think Hibs look best with 2 up front.

I like Cadden and would play him whenever fit - particularly when we're playing wingbacks.

Scott Allan has something other players do not - and I'd always try to build a team to accommodate his weaknesses.

Hanlon better in a 3.

Doig is a good wingback. I'm less convinced by him at FB.

Only issue might be the defensive attributes of the 3 in the middle of the park.

I like it, I like it a lot.

Watch us get pumped now.

Also, by having 3 attacking players on the pitch, it surely makes it easier to try and win it back higher up the park.

Interested to see how Campbell plays in a deeper role. I’ve not been as impressed as some with him in a more advanced role.

JXM73
22-12-2021, 05:53 PM
Scott Allan has something other players do not

A beer belly? looked way overweight on sunday

22-12-2021, 05:53 PM
Devastated that Murphy’s not starting :duck:

22-12-2021, 05:54 PM
Lets see what happens.No need at all to slate any players.

22-12-2021, 05:54 PM
Scott Allan

Love it already

22-12-2021, 05:55 PM
Lets see what happens.No need at all to slate any players.

Apart from Murphy and Wright.

22-12-2021, 05:55 PM
Scott Brown out for them with Covid apparently

22-12-2021, 05:56 PM
Hibs site thinks we played Rangers in the cup final on Sunday - thought it was Celtic?

Stonewall
Also, by having 3 attacking players on the pitch, it surely makes it easier to try and win it back higher up the park.

Interested to see how Campbell plays in a deeper role. I’ve not been as impressed as some with him in a more advanced role.

Unless he’s going to use Allan in a deeper role.

Scott Brown out for them with Covid apparently
Good news for us as he usually strolls it against us.

22-12-2021, 06:01 PM
Looking forward to this one all day at work.

Mon the Hibs.

22-12-2021, 06:01 PM
Apart from Murphy and Wright.
Fresh start for everyone.

22-12-2021, 06:05 PM
Ojo starts, we can finally boo him!

22-12-2021, 06:05 PM

I'd wondered about that.

He actually looked like he was playing quite deep on Sunday and has expressed at times that he quite likes playing deeper than we've often played him.

22-12-2021, 06:07 PM
Really looking forward to this tonight.

22-12-2021, 06:08 PM
Newell injured dead leg

22-12-2021, 06:08 PM
Win tonight will put us in 5th 7 points behind 3rd, I'm not expecting a miracle overnight but will be interesting to see how we approach the game, even from kick off might not see the long punt.

22-12-2021, 06:09 PM
Looking forward to this game to see if there's any change of setup and tactics.

I'm presuming there will be.

Fuzzywuzzy
22-12-2021, 06:14 PM
Three young Aberdeen lads on easter road likely to get themselves a doin'

22-12-2021, 06:14 PM
Unless he’s going to use Allan in a deeper role.I would.He sees everything.Playing deeper gives him much more to see.

22-12-2021, 06:15 PM
Paid my £15.00 let's hope for a hibs win.

22-12-2021, 06:17 PM
I would.He sees everything.Playing deeper gives him much more to see.
The problem with that is it’s all every well seeing things but he can’t tackle a fish supper. I would rather see him up the other end to be Honest.

22-12-2021, 06:17 PM
How the fk is Doidge not up to speed yet? :confused:

cameronw-hfc
22-12-2021, 06:22 PM
The problem with that is it’s all every well seeing things but he can’t tackle a fish supper. I would rather see him up the other end to be Honest.

That can be countered quite easily by having runners beside him. Thankfully, we have a few of those types of players

22-12-2021, 06:24 PM
We need to play to our individual players strengths imo.Hopefully we sign the correct players going forward.

That can be countered quite easily by having runners beside him. Thankfully, we have a few of those types of players

Runners? Outside Campbell and Magenis were a bit light in that department.

pollution
It has all the makings of a good six pointer. Come on Hibs !!

22-12-2021, 06:31 PM
Looks like a back four with the way they’re warming up with Caldwell.

22-12-2021, 06:33 PM
Certainly an attacking Aberdeen team with only 2 conventional defenders. Perhaps Ojo and Hayes at full back.

We could do worse than just stick Boyle on Ojo, if it’s a 3-5-2 for us.

Campbell will need to show some defensive discipline tonight. Interested to see how he copes.

22-12-2021, 06:34 PM

Maybe he is but not fancied for a start tonight.

22-12-2021, 06:34 PM

Scotty said in an interview that he prefers to play a wee bit deeper, he has a great football brain and should be used more.

Highwayman
22-12-2021, 06:43 PM
Newell not in.I like Maloney already.

22-12-2021, 06:44 PM

Have you ever snapped your Achilles tendon?

Dmas
22-12-2021, 06:45 PM
Scotty said in an interview that he prefers to play a wee bit deeper, he has a great football brain and should be used more.

He complained that Brendan Rodgers was trying to use him as a deep playmaker when he arrived back here from Celtic

22-12-2021, 06:49 PM

Nasty injury to come back from

22-12-2021, 06:50 PM
We have set up really attacking - like it so far.

22-12-2021, 06:50 PM
Newell not in.I like Maloney already.

Maloney said in his pre match interview that he picked up a knock in the final but will hopefully be back for boxing day.

22-12-2021, 06:51 PM
He complained that Brendan Rodgers was trying to use him as a deep playmaker when he arrived back here from Celtic

Was going by the Simon Ferry's Open Goal interview.

22-12-2021, 06:51 PM
Not many people at ER tonight

22-12-2021, 06:53 PM
3-4-3 as many predicted

22-12-2021, 06:53 PM

Understandable given so close to Xmas and the Govt warnings

22-12-2021, 06:55 PM
Ball on deck, pressing when not in possession.

22-12-2021, 06:56 PM
3-4-3 as many predicted

Encouraging he’s already trying to make us more attacking.

He will find out very quickly if he these players fit his formation.

22-12-2021, 06:56 PM
Tempo is certainly 100. Times better. Hopefully a full 90 mins at it.

22-12-2021, 06:57 PM
Tempo is certainly 100. Times better. Hopefully a full 90 mins at it.

That could be a big ask! It will take time to bed in the new ideas

22-12-2021, 06:58 PM
This is so much better already. Look tidier and like we are stretching Aberdeen a lot more than recent opposition. Under Jack Ross our players always looked like they had no space (bar our defenders).

22-12-2021, 06:59 PM
macey kicking it up with only boyle against three defenders, pointless

Liking this shape so far.

Signs are good, we are certainly pressing much further up the pitch, whether we have the personel to keep this up is the question?

But good early signs. :thumbsup:

That could be a big ask! It will take time to bed in the new ideas

100 percent agree with that. A lot of these players have played a hell of a lot of games over a short period of time. Give him time to assess and hopefully have a couple of new players in by the time the derby is played.

22-12-2021, 07:00 PM
Seems to be short / sharp simple passing and clever movement up front.

Maloney out giving instructions already.

22-12-2021, 07:00 PM
Not many balls being played above head height so far

Some subtle differences. Wing backs hanging right out wide. Some nice passing, being brave on the ball.

Looking good

22-12-2021, 07:01 PM
aberdeen first corner

Hanlon all over the place again. We really need better.

Cadden getting a lot of space - needs to do more when he has it.

Couple of early mishaps from Hanlon

22-12-2021, 07:02 PM
macey kicking it up with only boyle against three defenders, pointless
FFS what’s this obsession with hounding Macey. There was nothing else on for him.

22-12-2021, 07:02 PM
Hanlon all over the place again. We really need better.

He's not had a great start.

22-12-2021, 07:03 PM
Enjoyed this opening 15 minutes from both teams.

Both keen to get the ball down and protect it, both pressing high and both trying to make the pitch as big as possible by pushing players wide.

We have looked good and interesting to see a notable shift in style with a very clear message to stretch the pitch wide.

So bizarre playing an Aberdeen team that attacks.

Good shape, high press, ball on the deck and quick tempo forward, looking very good so far, playing in nice wee triangles, the wingbacks have massive space out wide.

22-12-2021, 07:04 PM

Decent Aberdeen crowd in fairness to them.

Also getting quite a few players in the box each attack.

Lose the ball and we are going after it very quickly.

FFS what’s this obsession with hounding Macey. There was nothing else on for him.

obsession ? what you on about, nothing else for him ? he kicked from hand up to one player surrounded by 3 defenders.... FFS indeed

hounding aye ok

This is night and day. Confident, positive play.

Lots of work to do but it feels like we’re not stale any more.

Yep, I like this.

Aberdeen no mugs and this is going to be an interesting tactical battle between 2 rookie managers.

Much better from Hibs though.

22-12-2021, 07:05 PM
So bizarre playing an Aberdeen team that attacks.

A few similarities with Glass and Maloney taking over from more stodgey managers and trying to play a .ore expansive and attractive attacking style? Maybe it's these American owners wanting to see entertaining teams? 😊

22-12-2021, 07:06 PM
obsession ? what you on about, nothing else for him ? he kicked from hand up to one player surrounded by 3 defenders.... FFS indeed

hounding aye ok
:fishin: :wink: Got ya

22-12-2021, 07:06 PM

hounding aye ok
It was nice and early tho. Happy with that. Better than waiting till everyone trots back. If it was a bit wider Boyle’s got them on toast.

22-12-2021, 07:08 PM
20 mins into the game and nothing has happened. Like, absolutely nothing!!

go go go Hibs!!

22-12-2021, 07:09 PM
Far better. Obviously has to end in results but I like the fact we are trying to force teams into making mistakes. It felt like we were hoping/waiting for them to make one rather than forcing it.

I'm liking the early signs. 2 days training and already a difference which is promising.

22-12-2021, 07:09 PM
I don't know if it's because I'm watching this game with the renewed optimism that comes with a new manager, but I've enjoyed this opening 20 minutes more than almost any game I can remember under Jack Ross.

22-12-2021, 07:10 PM
20 mins into the game and nothing has happened. Like, absolutely nothing!!

go go go Hibs!!

Boyle nearly got in behind a few times.

Hibs giving away a few free kicks.

Looking forward to seeing Doidge fully fit in this team. Couple of balls been zipped into Boyle and Nisbet that they have tried to touch off or miscontrolled. Doidge will take them in, plant the feet and give runners time to get beyond him.

aberdeen 'clip' the post

22-12-2021, 07:11 PM
I don't know if it's because I'm watching this game with the renewed optimism that comes with a new manager, but I've enjoyed this opening 20 minutes more than almost any game I can remember under Jack Ross.
Obviously the former.

22-12-2021, 07:11 PM

Huns at Hampden semi?

22-12-2021, 07:12 PM
macey save

expresso
Getting nothing from this referee

The front 3 have been our weak links so far. Porto has played a few great balls in and Boyle and Nisbet haven’t got hold of the ball.

There’s definitely space in behind if we can find a pass.

22-12-2021, 07:13 PM

It's definitely that.

The thing with this formation is the central space - you really need 2 decent midfielders otherwise you can leave a lot of space.

Aberdeen growing into game - Macey comfortable save low down out for corner.

Huns at Hampden semi?

That's why I included the word almost :greengrin

Aberdeen really coming in to the game now. We've done well up to the final third.

22-12-2021, 07:14 PM

For me it's because we seem to be playing with purpose and look like we have a plan and a way we want to play

22-12-2021, 07:14 PM
Not a single thing from this ref. This is what happens when you say something about them. They say no corruption either...yeah, right.

22-12-2021, 07:15 PM
Nisbet cmonnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Nisbet with what looked like a free header over the bar.

Liking the way we’re trying to play, another referee giving us nothing and Scott Allan yet to be involved. So far so good but we’ve not really created anything yet.

Nisbet needs to do far better there

How has Nisbet missed that???

The front 3 have been our weak links so far. Porto has played a few great balls in and Boyle and Nisbet haven’t got hold of the ball.

There’s definitely space in behind if we can find a pass.

Just said above I think Doidge, or a new big man up top, will be key to this.

22-12-2021, 07:16 PM
Nisbet is one of the worst headerers of the ball in front of goal I can remember

As usual. Start relatively well and don't take our chances.

Nisbet 50p bit heid.

Yep just seen the replay - dreadful effort.

Time to sell him before he’s not worth a bag of chips.

Why can Kevin ****ing Nisbet not header a ball in a downward direction????

Boyle and Nisbet should have done much better there.

i agree with michael stewart, looked like a lot of spin on the ball

The Captain....
Liking the pressing and we look organised shape wise defensively.

Midfield especially and strikers need to be better.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

22-12-2021, 07:17 PM
Brutal header by Nisbet, he has to improve that part of his game.

Nisbet square heid :rolleyes:

I’m his harshest critic :greengrinbut that was dropping on his head rather than being able to be getting through it. Goes down as a half chance for me.

AdidasHibernian
As usual. Start relatively well and don't take our chances.

We have had 1 chance..

22-12-2021, 07:18 PM
Just said above I think Doidge, or a new big man up top, will be key to this.

I agree.

I’d rather have Doidge as the 9 and Nisbet in place of Allan.

Have we had a shot yet?

Nisbet misses far too many chances for a centre forward, we all get it that he's not very good up top on his own, but that does not excuse the amount of good chances he fluffs.

Rumble de Thump
Is there homophobic abuse coming from the Aberdeen fans? Maybe I need my hearing checked.

22-12-2021, 07:19 PM
Doyle-Hayes off inujured.

The Hibs press is pretty good. Winning the ball back early. We look so much more energetic

Gogic for Doyle Hayes

Has Scott Allan touched the ball yet🤔

JDH going off injured. Gogic replacing him, not ideal.

another injury for a hibs player

22-12-2021, 07:20 PM
JDH off injured

Nightmare after losing Newell too

Has Scott Allan touched the ball yet��

good observation, and i've just heard his name on the radio

JDH going off is a bit of a disaster. I reckon he's going to love playing under Maloney.

Let's see what Gogic can do here. I suspect this change might weaken us massively.

One thing I have noticed is that our passing seems to be much, much more direct. We're taking what sometimes look like risks but it gets us into better positions quicker. We're going to need to have excellent touch and movement to keep that up though.

22-12-2021, 07:21 PM
Can’t see Gogic being the most suitable for our new style!

Winter break being brought forward is ideal for us. Just need to find a way to get 6 points tonight and Sunday by hook or crook.

What was wrong with JDH ?

Maloney looks well dressed - definitely Hibs class.

Is there homophobic abuse coming from the Aberdeen fans? Maybe I need my hearing checked.

Plenty from the fans on the street pre-game.

That midfield of Gogic, Allan and Campbell doesn't exactly look great on paper.

22-12-2021, 07:22 PM
Have we had a shot yet?

As Russel Crowe would say. …..are you not entertained?:greengrin

Fingers crossed new manager inspires Gogic.

What was wrong with JDH ?

Maloney looks well dressed - definitely Hibs class.

Looked like an ankle knock. He walked off so hopefully not too serious.

22-12-2021, 07:23 PM
Gogic booked.

22-12-2021, 07:24 PM
Gogic...jeezo

Gogic booked.

He’s just bloody on!

Gogic yellow card :rolleyes:

We started the season with a midfield of JDH, Newell with Magennis just ahead of them. We're currently without any of them and I think we might now struggle in the midfield.

As Russel Crowe would say. …..are you not entertained?:greengrinFirst 15 mins or so we looked good but since then decididly average

Gogic booked already

22-12-2021, 07:25 PM
Gogic FFS

Pilrig_Sauzee
We’re all looking for positives so here’s one: Maloney hasn’t stopped talking and coaching the players all game. Like to see a manager engaged in the game trying to help the players, don’t like passive/arms folded managers.

JammyDoidger
We are honestly so bad. Like utter tripe.

Aberdeen are matching us up a bit more now and starting to get the better of things last 10 mins or so.

Interesting to see how Maloney reacts.

Gogic really isn’t very good

Stupid fro a Gogic.

was that 4 mins for gogic between coming on and getting booked

Jack Ross would be slaughtered for this first half performance.

22-12-2021, 07:26 PM
Never let the ball bounce, lose the ball and get a yellow, Gogic away in January hopefully, just no a good player.

Behave.

Yawn.

He’s gone, get over it

22-12-2021, 07:27 PM

You wanting to slaughter Maloney after 2 days training - 1 day with full squad ?

Not a single thing from this ref. This is what happens when you say something about them. They say no corruption either...yeah, right.

The ref? How do you have a problem with the ref?

there has been literally nothing for him to do.

neither team has done anything of note. This is as much of a non event as is possible.

it’s not bad or anything , it’s just , well, nothing really 😑

Porteous is going to love playing like this.

Hopefully he's not planning on going anywhere in January.

AdidasHibernian
22-12-2021, 07:28 PM
You wanting to slaughter Maloney after 2 days training - 1 day with full squad ?

Exactly.

Well said 🙌

After a lively start from us, this has been a fairly poor game - which can happen against Aberdeen, as we well know. Being down 4 central midfielders is seriously hurting us.

thebausburst
This is fairly dire tbh

Why? Aberdeen are no mugs.

Passing is sharper, ball on the deck most of the time and looking to go forward with the ball, so much easier on the eye, it'll take time and new players but you can see the difference.

neither team has done anything of note. This is as much of a non event as is possible.

Boy had a challenge on Macey that was a booking. He missed that. :greengrin

Macey's kicking really is horrific.

Just not true.

We are honestly so bad. Like utter tripe.

You gave the new manager 30 mins and 2 days if coaching then 🤷*♂️

22-12-2021, 07:29 PM
Doig has to do better there. A good ball to him from Hanlon, loads of space, decent 1st touch then 2nd touch is ridiculously heavy.

We have worked it into some nice positions but individual errors have stopped us really capitalising. Be that bad decision making, bad passes or bad touches.

Never been so excited for a transfer window to open - we seriously need fresh players.

I agree with that. Not a slight on Maloney as he's literally just in the door but we've not even had a shot on goal, or even looked remotely dangerous.

22-12-2021, 07:30 PM
We need more from Hanlon and McGinn when they have space to drive into. Everyone just needs to pass a bit quicker.

No harm in throwing balls over the top at times, we need to get them turned a bit more

It's posts like this that prove no manager is good enough for some. :rolleyes:

Yawn.

He’s gone, get over it

Very boring, we had all that pish when Lennon left too, can't believe that fully grown men get so emotional over a manger.

22-12-2021, 07:31 PM
It's posts like this that prove no manager is good enough for some. :rolleyes:

Or some Hibs fans are just never ****ing happy?

What's happened to Josh Doig?? A shadow of the player he was last season

Just not true.
There’s actually a possibility with 0 attempts on target with 1 up front that he would to be fair. Poor to bring it up after Maloneys first 25 mins or so in charge.

0-0 half time.

That was dreadful.

He's not been that bad I suppose. I always have a problem with refs though. Inevitably they'll do something ridiculous in every match.

I agree with that. Not a slight on Maloney as he's literally just in the door but we've not even had a shot on goal, or even looked remotely dangerous.

:yawn:

22-12-2021, 07:32 PM
I’ll go against the grain and say that I’ve been pretty fair with this so far. Some nice passing, using the full width of the pitch, played with decent pace.

The more we get used to the system, the more I can see us being a really good team.

Curly1875
Is Allan on the pitch?

Aberdeen have won their last 3 scoring 7 and conceding 1.

They aren’t that bad.

HT

Mutu
Would take a 0-0 draw here.

We desperately need the January window.

bringbackbenny
Is Allan on the pitch?

God bless him but he looks way off the pace. Surprised if he starts 2nd half

22-12-2021, 07:33 PM
There’s actually a possibility with 0 attempts on target with 1 up front that he would to be fair. Poor to bring it up after Maloneys first 25 mins or so in charge.

Key difference right there. If Ross was getting grief it would be because he had 2 and a half years to get us playing a better style. Maloney has had 2 training sessions and half a game.

And so it begins.

Or some Hibs fans are just never ****ing happy?

Nail on head.

22-12-2021, 07:34 PM

He’s 19 and still developing and improving every week. Happens with the development of young players.

It's just like watching Belgium 😉

Much faster and pressing more. Woeful in the final 3rd as usual though.

Restricted them well but created absolutely nothing.

I like the look of the system though and think it will come good one the players are more comfortable.

That said at least one shot on goal or clear cut chance would have been nice

Mikey_1875
22-12-2021, 07:35 PM
As dull as it gets. Roll on the winter break where the manager can get some new signings and energy about the place.

Boyle has shown some lovely touches during the last couple of passages of play there. What an improved player he is.

I'd say there are a couple of people who might be a bit concerned that their attributes aren't going to be what the new manager is looking for - I'm thinking particularly Gogic and Nisbet here. No issues with Nisbet's work rate here but a striker in this formation needs their touch to be much more reliable than he has shown.

I'm enjoying it though.

cameronw-hfc
Not amazing, but a complete difference in how we're playing imo. Pressing high, passing it, aiming long balls rather than hoofing.

I'll hold out on Allan until he gets a run of 4/5 starts as he's the sort of player that can change games with one pass, but can also go missing.

22-12-2021, 07:36 PM
0-0 half time.

That was dreadful.

No it wasnt, it was two evenly matched sides trying to pass the ball quickly and forward with good pace.

This place is a joke. What are people actually expecting to happen after a manager being in 2 days? We've played well in spells and kept the ball to try to play football which is an improvement on what we've seen the last 3 months.

I’ll go against the grain and say that I’ve been pretty fair with this so far. Some nice passing, using the full width of the pitch, played with decent pace.

The more we get used to the system, the more I can see us being a really good team.

I'm with you.

I can see what we are trying to do. It hints at a distinctive philosophy and style and I look forward to seeing it when Maloney has had 2 or 3 weeks to work the players and get a couple of bounce games in.

I'm not sure we really have the players to play this way right now but January is literally days away now so we can address that as soon as we get United out the way.

22-12-2021, 07:37 PM
Never been so excited for a transfer window to open - we seriously need fresh players.
You’re so right, we have no squad depth whatsoever. If we’re serious about challenging we can’t let this situation occur again. Loads of folk wanting Allan back in but he’s not showed up. He’s a terrific player but I think he’s had his best days, hope he proves me wrong in the second half.

Very boring, we had all that pish when Lennon left too, can't believe that fully grown men get so emotional over a manger.

At this time of year there are a lot of men getting emotional over a manger, in fact it’s a tradition.

Boyle has shown some lovely touches during the last couple of passages of play there. What an improved player he is.

I'd say there are a couple of people who might be a bit concerned that their attributes aren't going to be what the new manager is looking for - I'm thinking particularly Gogic and Nisbet here. No issues with Nisbet's work rate here but a striker in this formation needs their touch to be much more reliable than he has shown.

I'm enjoying it though.

Maloney will be used to dealing with these kind of Hazards though 😁

22-12-2021, 07:38 PM
More movement off the ball and using the width of the pitch. Started really brightly but fizzled out as the half went on. Outside Nisbet's pathetic attempt at a header we haven't really looked like scoring.

Allan needs subbed. Done nothing. Gogic needs to do better. For a defensive minded 'enforcer' he's getting brushed off the ball easily. His yellow was amateur stuff.

Get Doidge on. That is all.

So Maloney hasn't turned us into Man City overnight, certain posters are giving him grief already, it beggars belief at times.

I was disappointed (and surprised tbh) with his touch on a few occasions.

One nice cutback to Boyle for what should have been our best chance though.

The Captain....
22-12-2021, 07:39 PM
That midfield would send an insomniac to sleep. Too many touches, can't play on the half turn and wayward passing when it rarely does go forward. We desperately need quality in there.

Don't think the shape is working..we can't get our best players in the game. Aberdeen content to let us make 10 passes sideways and back on the halfway line.

The pressing is good to see as is the defending well as a unit. Entertainment wise its a typical hibs aberdeen dour game.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

No it wasnt, it was two evenly matched sides trying to pass the ball quickly and forward with good pace.

To be fair I was offering an opinion on what I've just seen. You can disagree but you can't say that opinion's wrong.

loanheadhibby
JDH off injured

Nightmare after losing Newell too

Both are no good as Maloney will soon realise.

I’ve had enough of Macey being unable to kick a football. It puts us under pressure almost every single time

Maybe but the one thing I've seen in this match so far is Hibs are trying to be on the front foot. I will always be more positive about a Hibs team on the front foot rather than this defensive, drop back into shape stuff. Maloney has had 2 days of training and you can already see what he is trying to do, less touches on the ball, more triangles and pressing opposition.

We should've had 1 goal, that Nisbet header is really poor. He doesn't need to put any power on it, enough spin to cause chaos - just get something on it to direct it goalward. We've been wasteful as usual in the final third. Taking the wrong decision and breaking up our own attacks.

Felt we had the better of the 1st 15 minutes, but mainly because we hit long balls over or through midfield to Boyle.
After 15 minutes we started to try and pass the ball through and Aberdeen closed us down as soon as we arrived in their half.
Scottie is the man if he can get on the ball with his passing, but Aberdeen are keeping him from even touching the ball.
Cadden gets good possession but never seems to manage to find Boyle.
Got to hope we can get the 3 points as losing puts us in a worse position.

This place is a joke. What are people actually expecting to happen after a manager being in 2 days? We've played well in spells and kept the ball to try to play football which is an improvement on what we've seen the last 3 months.

Have to agree with this , more forward passing, more use of both wide areas, better pressing. It's. a start.

Boy had a challenge on Macey that was a booking. He missed that. :greengrin

Ah cool, I’ll look out for that in the highlights when I get home!!

MikeyS

Far to early to judge obviously but hopefully your fears of Maloney being a quiet wee mouse has been eased. Very animated and in constant communication with the players.

Well said! 👍👏👏

22-12-2021, 07:40 PM
Not sure what folk are expecting- we have won 3 of our last 13 and SM has had 2 days to work with some players.

What is good is he will see what we need and will get the window to try improve us.

Would have been rubbish if he didn’t have the window to improve us.

Nisbet should have scored his header - I reckon Doidge would have scored.

So Maloney hasn't turned us into Man City overnight, certain posters are giving him grief already, it beggars belief at times.

Some mental stuff on here. Can't quite believe what I'm reading.

Obvious changes so far;

Defensive line is much higher and alot tighter with little gaps between. We press the ball a lot more when it’s passed to the opposition player and try and nick it.

On the ball we’re playing some nice stuff with the two wing backs hugging the touch line and Nisbet dropping deep to get on the ball. This was mainly the first 15 minutes but it faded out as Aberdeen grew into the game.

We’re wanting a quicker switch of play and it worked but for some reason we stopped doing it.

Nisbet should have scored his header.

Doig has all the space in Easter road tonight but with the combination of his touch, the passes to him and him not getting the pass quick enough we’ve not exploited it.

Maloney has been very animated at the side so I think he’ll have words at half time.

We really need the January window to bring in new players that can actually create instead of relying on Boyle.

Has Allan touched the ball?

22-12-2021, 07:41 PM
86% pass accuracy in the first half vs 74% in Ross' last game away to Livi. Big difference in game plan and philosophy

Some mental stuff on here. Can't quite believe what I'm reading.

I can. This is Hibs Net.

🙄

Boring half of football. Again watching us I think we have far too many instances where we play infront of teams, Boyle is coming back towards his own goal with too many touches. We need to find away to go with the momentum of the play and get in behind teams much more and get them running backwards.

Under any sort of pressure we seem to end up back with the CB's in possession. Although the same could be said for both teams first half.

22-12-2021, 07:42 PM
This place is a joke. What are people actually expecting to happen after a manager being in 2 days? We've played well in spells and kept the ball to try to play football which is an improvement on what we've seen the last 3 months.A shot or 2 I'm guessing

We started brightly but the game has turned into sort if a stalemate

Aberdeen looking the most likley to score though

Our midfield 3 is pretty alarmingly poor

Gogic
Campbell
Allan

22-12-2021, 07:42 PM
Both are no good as Maloney will soon realise.

Pish post

22-12-2021, 07:44 PM
To be fair I was offering an opinion on what I've just seen. You can disagree but you can't say that opinion's wrong.

I do disagree, it's a completely different way of playing we aare seeing, some of the one touch football was a delight. We were in control for the first 25 minutes spraying it about quickly and with purpose.

Aberdeen came into the game a bit, but to say it was dreadfull is just wrong, it might be your opinion but its a wrong opinion.

e2los
22-12-2021, 07:45 PM
Watching on Hibs TV, 3 points are there to take..
Seem pretty together.
It's coming, don't think we will win by more than 1 goal though.

We need a decent transfer window badly. My concern is that it might be difficult to offload a few of these players.

I do disagree, it's a completely different way of playing we aare seeing, some of the one touch football was a delight. We were in control for the first 25 minutes spraying it about quickly and with purpose.

Aberdeen came into the game a bit, but to say it was dreadfull is just wrong, it might be your opinion but its a wrong opinion.

There is nothing wrong with the style of play. Maloney faces the same difficulty Ross faced. Very poor players in midfield.

We know we need another central midfielder or 2.

We know we need another striker.

We need new players - I’m pretty certain he will add them.

22-12-2021, 07:46 PM
Is it ok to criticise the substitution. I thought doidge on and Allan further back might have been the call. To be fair I went to the Arniston Miners school of football and not Cruyffs establishment. Maybe he forgot he was on the park.

Might be in the minority, but I quite enjoyed the first half.

Was a bright start for 20 minutes then Aberdeen got a little into the game.

With a bit more quality players then Shaun could be a good appointment as we never really troubled them apart from Nisbet header really.

Allan had a quiet game so far.

e2los

I didn't see anything dreadful either.

Lots of positives and we will coming flying out.

22-12-2021, 07:47 PM
Is it ok to criticise the substitution. I thought doidge on and Allan further back might have been the call. To be fair I went to the Arniston Miners school of football and not Cruyffs establishment.

Allan not fit enough to cover the midfield ground.

Doubt he will last 60 mins as it is further forward.

Is it ok to criticise the substitution. I thought doidge on and Allan further back might have been the call. To be fair I went to the Arniston Miners school of football and not Cruyffs establishment.

A centre 2 of Allan and Campbell gives me the fear.

That's been the story of our season so far really. Looking good for 15/20 minutes before letting the other team get into it. We've not had a shot on target yet. I'd say his opinion was bang on.

22-12-2021, 07:48 PM
There isn't actually many, if any at all, posts I can see having a go at Maloney.

Classic Hibs.net reacting to posts that haven't actually happened. Think a lot of posters on here just like getting angry.

👍

e2los

I'll be in that group also.

Doidge for Allan would make an immediate difference IMO. Can’t see us waiting longer than the hour mark to get Doidge on.

Started well, good energy and pressing high. Drifted out of it a bit and now stalemate. I'd get Doidge on for Allan and give Boyle a bit of a free role

I know Allan basically offered nothing but then none of our front players have really done anything of note

Generally some uninspiring stuff from us, we are often simply too slow and static - think Aberdeen overall have looked the better and more dangerous team going forward - we haven't posed much of a threat apart from Nisbet's weak header. 2nd half can only get better ...

There is nothing wrong with the style of play. Maloney faces the same difficulty Ross faced. Very poor players in midfield.

Yip 100% spot on, what is good though is we have a lot of those fringe players who we know are just not up to it, out of contract in the summer.

There must be about 7-8 of them who will be released without a pay off for a change, giving the manager a decent amount of money to bring in his type of player.

Is it Hibs TV for season ticket holders to watch?

22-12-2021, 07:49 PM
Obvious changes so far;

Defensive line is much higher and alot tighter with little gaps between. We press the ball a lot more when it’s passed to the opposition player and try and nick it.

On the ball we’re playing some nice stuff with the two wing backs hugging the touch line and Nisbet dropping deep to get on the ball. This was mainly the first 15 minutes but it faded out as Aberdeen grew into the game.

We’re wanting a quicker switch of play and it worked but for some reason we stopped doing it.

Nisbet should have scored his header.

Doig has all the space in Easter road tonight but with the combination of his touch, the passes to him and him not getting the pass quick enough we’ve not exploited it.

Maloney has been very animated at the side so I think he’ll have words at half time.

We really need the January window to bring in new players that can actually create instead of relying on Boyle.

Has Allan touched the ball?

Good summary. Agree word for word

22-12-2021, 07:49 PM
aberdeen sub ramsay for emmanuel-thomas