View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Aberdeen

Pages : 1 2 [3]

22-12-2021, 10:13 PM
That win was huge and the team worked hard and deserved that.

We started well 1st half but fell away a bit. I thought we were excellent 2nd half, especially when Gogic came on.

Porto deserved MoM but I thought Boyle was brilliant defensively as the game went on and chased everything down, he never stopped.

MagicSwirlingShip
22-12-2021, 10:14 PM
Good start for Maloney, you can see exactly what he wants the team to do, not all the players will pick it up right away but the better ones will. Happy with that win.

Didn't make the match tonight, can someone summarise what we think this is?

22-12-2021, 10:14 PM
jamboid brian mclaughlan said seriously to SM when he said the players will do some training on xmas day.

i suspect all teams will do at least some training on xmas day surely

The jokey/unprofessional nature of the question seemed to catch him off guard - he was a bit like “aye we’ll be training why wouldn’t we be?”

22-12-2021, 10:15 PM
Just seen the goal on alba there. Tidy header from Porto! Out of interest (doesn’t matter at all) but which sub did he point/smile at and jump on in celebration? Thought King lewy was looking on but maybe it was him.

Be great to follow-up with another 3 points on Boxing Day now. What a change in mood amongst us it would see.

This is my fear.

I don’t know why but alot of people have said about Caldwell and how a lot don’t like him for numerous reasons.

The last thing we need is players falling out with him.

Hopefully it was the 4th official.

I think it was to the players - a sort of don’t panic and don’t listen to the fans shouting for the ball to be thrown out quickly for the sake of it.

...WentToMowAnSPL
That win was huge and the team worked hard and deserved that.

We started well 1st half but fell away a bit. I thought we were excellent 2nd half, especially when Gogic came on.

Porto deserved MoM but I thought Boyle was brilliant defensively as the game went on and chased everything down, he never stopped.

Boyle plays for the jersey, and we are lucky to have him

22-12-2021, 10:17 PM
I think it was to the players - a sort of don’t panic and don’t listen to the fans shouting for the ball to be thrown out quickly for the sake of it.

That's exactly what I thought.

22-12-2021, 10:20 PM
Aberdeen defended with everyone behind the ball. Very cautious for a team with a lot of talent. Ojo didnt look good in the final third and Hibs defended well but not always with eleven behind the ball. While I thought over all individually Aberdeen looked better, on higher wages, Hibs looked the better because they took more risks and turned out to be tactically sound.

Skol

For about 70 minutes we were puttting pressure on the ball when Aberdeen had it rather than allowing possession. Nisbet noticeably put in a bigger shift than usual.

We also seemed to be looking for passes in and about midfield with little triangles being formed. Didn’t resort to a punt forward

The defence seemed to be more disciplined working in a line.

Towards the end though we tired and sat back.

I have a feeling Magenis will be a good fit for this approach.

High line and pressing from the front, midfield a lot tighter nicking the ball away or disrupting play.
Quick passing with the players looking to move forward rather than back.
Wingbacks wide hugging the touchline in possession making the pitch wide.
Players making more runs off the ball creating more space for others, didn't always come of but you can see what they were trying.
Playing out from the back and lastly the players all looked more positive in possession

MagicSwirlingShip
22-12-2021, 10:21 PM
Just seen the goal on alba there. Tidy header from Porto! Out of interest (doesn’t matter at all) but which sub did he point/smile at and jump on in celebration? Thought King lewy was looking on but maybe it was him.

Be great to follow-up with another 3 points on Boxing Day now. What a change in mood amongst us it would see.

2 floaty corners from Boyle lead to two goals in a week. Unbelievable.

MagicSwirlingShip
22-12-2021, 10:23 PM
For about 70 minutes we were puttting pressure on the ball when Aberdeen had it rather than allowing possession. Nisbet noticeably put in a bigger shift than usual.

We also seemed to be looking for passes in and about midfield with little triangles being formed. Didn’t resort to a punt forward

The defence seemed to be more disciplined working in a line.

Towards the end though we tired and sat back.

I have a feeling Magenis will be a good fit for this approach.

Thank you!

High line and pressing from the front, midfield a lot tighter nicking the ball away or disrupting play.
Quick passing with the players looking to move forward rather than back.
Wingbacks wide hugging the touchline in possession making the pitch wide.
Players making more runs off the ball creating more space for others, didn't always come of but you can see what they were trying.
Playing out from the back and lastly the players all looked more positive in possession

Nice ! Promising signs!

22-12-2021, 10:24 PM

Win the ball high up the pitch, wing backs to stay high and very wide, make the pitch as big as possible. There were lots of wee triangle passes but this became more difficult when JDH went off. Clear intent to get lots of switches of play to either full back.

Lots of it worked but clear the players started to tire. I don’t think it really worked with the front 3 of Nisbet, Boyle and Allan as we didn’t create very much bug there were clear signs of what we were trying to do.

22-12-2021, 10:31 PM
Promising signs.

A few players aren’t good enough long term to carry it out tho.
Hard for your ideas to come to fruition when the players don’t have the tools.

I will stick my head out as my own opinion. Apart from obvious ones in squad needing upgrades on Wright , gogic etc

I feel we need a better right back than McGinn. Takes too many touches, too slow and doesn’t offer anything going forward. Meaning even when Boyle operates through middle he often pops up everywhere to try make things happen.

Jake Doyle-Hayes. I just don’t see it. Very boring slow football , everything is sideways and backwards between him and McGinn it slows everything down. Feel these 2 as constant starters need upgrade. We need more dynamic players capable of dropping a shoulder and going past people.

Lastly - unpopular opinion. Scott Allan isn’t answer anymore long term. Feel we should look to dip into market for a younger exciting play maker for the team.

Couple of bums off seats players badly needed. In my humble opinion

I’ll add to the controversy;

As much as I like both players, Cadden and Doig need to produce much better quality on the ball.

Cadden had a good game and is very good against the better teams but at times when there’s a bit of a break on his pass forward is really poor and kills a potentially decent chance. He lacks a bit of vision with seeing passes too. Not saying that he needs dropped, nowhere near it but it’s an area he really needs to improve on.

Doig needs to concentrate on his first touch, at times it gets caught under his feet which slows our play down and results in him passing it backwards, a couple of times today if he was sharper he could have played Allan in behind as he made the run down the line.

It’s little things but if we want to be better going forward our wingbacks needs to produce better quality as they’re our out ball and will get plenty of it.

Positives though are both were sound defensively and worked their socks off.

Fwiw I’m not saying they had bad games but I’m sure it’s something Maloney will look at as it was hugely frustrating imo

22-12-2021, 10:33 PM
Win the ball high up the pitch, wing backs to stay high and very wide, make the pitch as big as possible. There were lots of wee triangle passes but this became more difficult when JDH went off. Clear intent to get lots of switches of play to either full back.

Lots of it worked but clear the players started to tire. I don’t think it really worked with the front 3 of Nisbet, Boyle and Allan as we didn’t create very much bug there were clear signs of what we were trying to do.

Do you think Cadden / Doig were much wider than normal?

I didn't think so but stand to be corrected. I have never felt the width was that much of a problem when Cadden, for example, plays.

22-12-2021, 10:35 PM
Personally think it was Caldwell. He was going nuts pointing out instructions then was pretty quiet after that. Could 100% be wrong about that mind you!

Was defo Caldwell. Maloney just asked him to chill….to relax a bit….wasn’t a big thing….

22-12-2021, 10:39 PM

I didn't think so but stand to be corrected. I have never felt the width was that much of a problem when Cadden, for example, plays.

Yeah, I thought they were but maybe not. They might just have been used more or might have been because they were higher up the pitch it was more noticeable.

There were a couple of times a ball was sprayed out to Cadden but I didn’t realise he was there and was thinking WTF was that, only to realise Cadden was there in acres of space and it was a great ball. In the recent past he would have gone shorter to receive the ball or it wouldn’t have worked it’s way out there I think.

22-12-2021, 10:41 PM
Was defo Caldwell. Maloney just asked him to chill….to relax a bit….wasn’t a big thing….

Aw totally don't think it was a big thing. Was just sure it was Caldwell he was calming down. Good that Caldwell cares.

22-12-2021, 10:43 PM
Yeah, I thought they were but maybe not. They might just have been used more or might have been because they were higher up the pitch it was more noticeable.

There were a couple of times a ball was sprayed out to Cadden but I didn’t realise he was there and was thinking WTF was that, only to realise Cadden was there in acres of space and it was a great ball. In the recent past he would have gone shorter to receive the ball or it wouldn’t have worked it’s way out there I think.

Definitely agree about Cadden. Thought he was always on the byeline, usually in loads of space as well. He looked to be playing much further forward than Doig was on the other side first half.

22-12-2021, 10:45 PM

I don’t think he was any wider than normal but maybe they were trying to get the ball out to him quicker.

22-12-2021, 10:47 PM

Maloney told Caldwell to chill and that’s who Nisbet was having a go at when he came off?

22-12-2021, 10:49 PM
Massive win for us tonight, well done Hibs:thumbsup:

JoeT
22-12-2021, 10:52 PM
Do we think Stephen Glass saying that Charlie Adam is Dundee's driving force is worthy of starting a hibs.net pun fest?

22-12-2021, 10:53 PM
Great win Hibs.

22-12-2021, 10:54 PM
Do we think Stephen Glass saying that Charlie Adam is Dundee's driving force is worthy of starting a hibs.net pun fest?

No - all that matters is 3 points

JoeT
22-12-2021, 10:56 PM

Or would that not be in the spirit of things?

22-12-2021, 10:56 PM
Massive win for us tonight, well done Hibs:thumbsup:

I thought so too but its an illusion because still only half way through the league. Never the less it was adifficult game to win for a couple of reasons and so was very satisfying.

JoeT
22-12-2021, 11:01 PM
No - all that matters is 3 points

Deserves more than 3 points. Even McGinn's complaint about Beaton might get a ban

22-12-2021, 11:05 PM
Promising signs.

A few players aren’t good enough long term to carry it out tho.
Hard for your ideas to come to fruition when the players don’t have the tools.

I will stick my head out as my own opinion. Apart from obvious ones in squad needing upgrades on Wright , gogic etc

I feel we need a better right back than McGinn. Takes too many touches, too slow and doesn’t offer anything going forward. Meaning even when Boyle operates through middle he often pops up everywhere to try make things happen.

Jake Doyle-Hayes. I just don’t see it. Very boring slow football , everything is sideways and backwards between him and McGinn it slows everything down. Feel these 2 as constant starters need upgrade. We need more dynamic players capable of dropping a shoulder and going past people.

Lastly - unpopular opinion. Scott Allan isn’t answer anymore long term. Feel we should look to dip into market for a younger exciting play maker for the team.

Couple of bums off seats players badly needed. In my humble opinion

I don’t think we need to sign anyone, just get Magennis fit.

22-12-2021, 11:06 PM
Am I the only one who thinks Macey rarely gets enough credit?

There are actually people calling for him to be dropped… it’s beyond belief.

Kicking needs a lot of work but that’s a very commanding display tonight. Been a long time since we’ve seen a goalie come through a ruck of players to safely clutch some crosses at key times to relieve the pressure.

Still fairly inexperienced but he’s done a great job overall and will improve.

22-12-2021, 11:07 PM

Be easier to sign Haaland and Mbappe.

22-12-2021, 11:12 PM
Not giving the ball away - good. Pressing when you don’t have the ball - good.

Quality and creativity of passing needs to get better. Boyle was well marked but that should create opportunites for others. Towards the end he had more space but it wasn’t used.

Overall good base to build from.

JoeT
22-12-2021, 11:15 PM

Kicking needs a lot of work but that’s a very commanding display tonight. Been a long time since we’ve seen a goalie come through a ruck of players to safely clutch some crosses at key times to relieve the pressure.

I like Macey. He gets complaints for not going for balls when the angle is terrible for a goalie to go for but because some think because of his height he should catching everything like a Harlem globetrotter. As for distribution, that'll come. The plukey rug muncher is still terrible at kicking long but he's still the best in the country

22-12-2021, 11:17 PM
I think we’ll be looking for a new keeper. Macey doesn’t have the distribution to play the way we’re shaping up

Agree with the point on distribution but ge also get drawn into kicking more than I would expect.

There seemed to be a strategy/tactic/pattern on kicks from goal but I couldn’t work out what it was supposed to achieve.

23-12-2021, 01:31 AM
It was a decent performance and it shouldn't be forgotten most of that team played a cup final only three days ago, it's notable Celtic could only manage a 0 - 0 draw tonight .... in these circumstances it's no wonder we tired in the last 20 minutes and Aberdeen began to press us.

What was noticeable to me at least was the number of times we could have progressed the ball but the player in possession was either too slow to see the pass or did but didn't play the ball quickly enough, the good part of that was that it showed our movement was better, the bad part being we couldn't make more of it in the middle of the pitch and in the final third ..... hopefully the fatigue I alluded to played a part in that, not just physical but mental fatigue when you look at the number of games these players have been involved in recently.

A special nod to Martin Boyle, he didn't have a lot of luck going forward, but in that last 20 minutes he chased down everything defensively.

A few new players in key positions to add to the likes of Boyle and we could have a decent team on our hands ... perhaps not after this window but hopefully after the summer one.

23-12-2021, 06:30 AM
Thought we defended really well tonight as a team off the ball and made it difficult for Aberdeen, Porteous had an outstanding game apart from his silly little kick out at Ramirez.

Once we start creating a bit more and scoring more than one goal we should be fine.

GGTTH.

23-12-2021, 06:33 AM
Do we actually know what is wrong with Magennis? There doesn't seem to have been anything mentioned about him by the club at all. He's been out for about 3 months now and he's not even back in training as far as we know which points to a fairly serious injury.

hibsdaft
23-12-2021, 07:00 AM
Do we actually know what is wrong with Magennis? There doesn't seem to have been anything mentioned about him by the club at all. He's been out for about 3 months now and he's not even back in training as far as we know which points to a fairly serious injury.

The club gave an update a few weeks back. Still injured. Can't remember the details.

23-12-2021, 07:01 AM
This is my fear.

I don’t know why but alot of people have said about Caldwell and how a lot don’t like him for numerous reasons.

In all honesty the way Nisbet has played this season by in large he deserves a rollicking if he was indeed getting one. Boy needs a rocket up his erchie and if he's no happy, sell him in Jan - he really wouldn't be missed on current form

DIXIHIBS
23-12-2021, 07:12 AM
Must have missed it at game but did porto do something naughty last night. Never saw anything but noticed a few comments on here.

23-12-2021, 07:15 AM
Must have missed it at game but did porto do something naughty last night. Never saw anything but noticed a few comments on here.

He kicked Ramirez in the balls when he was on the ground.

23-12-2021, 07:15 AM
In all honesty the way Nisbet has played this season by in large he deserves a rollicking if he was indeed getting one. Boy needs a rocket up his erchie and if he's no happy, sell him in Jan - he really wouldn't be missed on current form

My fear is we won’t get anywhere near the 2 million for him he were previously ordered.

If we were to get offered around 2 million for him and 3-4 million for Doig again id bite your hand off.

Both are replaceable especially for that money.

Hillsidehibby
23-12-2021, 07:19 AM
Or the Davina McCalls as Tam McManus put it.

23-12-2021, 07:19 AM

Rubbish. He worked his socks off again last night.

23-12-2021, 07:22 AM

Exactly. The loss of him and doidge has left a massive hole in the team structure. Hopefully both back firing after the break. Will make a huge difference to have them back fit.

23-12-2021, 07:31 AM

I think we need to acknowledge that although he’s been hard done by on some occasions, he’s not helping himself by some of his nonsense. He has a chance to reach the top if he can sort it out.

Rick Rude
23-12-2021, 07:32 AM
Who was Nisbet having a go at when he came off btw?

Clapped the fans off but as he got to the touch line he had a moan to someone and was pointing?

I imagine the 4th official and not Maloney or the coaching staff.

Looked to me like it was the 4th official. He was pointing at his ankle and, I assume, having a moan about a kick he got there not long before coming off.

23-12-2021, 07:41 AM
Looked to me like it was the 4th official. He was pointing at his ankle and, I assume, having a moan about a kick he got there not long before coming off.

It was. I think the 4th official was moaning at him for taking so long to get off the pitch

23-12-2021, 07:49 AM

His kicking is absolutely brutal I cant remember another goalkeeper that has kicked so badly in ma puff. The amount of times they go straight out is shocking. Apart fae that I think hes pretty decent

23-12-2021, 07:52 AM
This is my fear.

If he’s second in command and has SM in front of him to act good cop then that’s fine by me.

Greenio
23-12-2021, 07:53 AM
"Great save by Macey"

You hear it at least 4/5 times a game.

Kicking needs work but keepers are there to keep goals out.

His ability to pluck a ball out the air (never been a fan of goalies punching the ball) is top class

23-12-2021, 07:56 AM

The guys an idiot, if he’d done this in England he’d be in front of the Old Baileys

23-12-2021, 08:13 AM
Can't also forget how little time Shaun and his staff have had with the players to get his new ideas across.

23-12-2021, 08:15 AM
"Great save by Macey"

You hear it at least 4/5 times a game.

Kicking needs work but keepers are there to keep goals out.

His ability to pluck a ball out the air (never been a fan of goalies punching the ball) is top class

The one right near the final whistle when it didn't even look like he jumped to claim the ball.

23-12-2021, 08:26 AM
His kicking is absolutely brutal I cant remember another goalkeeper that has kicked so badly in ma puff. The amount of times they go straight out is shocking. Apart fae that I think hes pretty decent

Just watch whoever we play every week - the St Mirren keeper booted one straight out the park. Happens most weeks.

Fuzzywuzzy
23-12-2021, 08:29 AM
His kicking is brutal. It's like a new redbull sport of how much airtime can you get with a football. I never actually know if he's trying to reach a player or just hit and hope

23-12-2021, 08:31 AM
His kicking is brutal. It's like a new redbull sport of how much airtime can you get with a football. I never actually know if he's trying to reach a player or just hit and hope

A rugby coach would probably say that he throws the ball up too high and loses the angle before he boots it.

Mind you, Marciano had his moments as well. !

loanheadhibby
23-12-2021, 08:35 AM

Jim Leighton was probably worse than Macey at kicking. Todays goalkeeper has to be good all rounder.

He was lucky with the Lewis Ferguson one as he’d just booted it straight down in to Lewis’s arms!

23-12-2021, 08:37 AM
Jim Leighton was probably worse than Macey at kicking. Todays goalkeeper has to be good all rounder.

He was lucky with the Lewis Ferguson one as he’d just booted it straight down in to Lewis’s arms!

Was that the one Ferguson got booked for ? Thought that was for him raising his leg as Macey tried to kick the ball ? May be a different moment you are referring to

23-12-2021, 08:42 AM

Aye big Jim was the worst but it wasn’t quite as important then.

I do agree about Macey’s kicking but Rocky wasn’t a whole lot better and a lot more casual …. but he didn’t seem to get criticised too much for it.

He definitely needs to improve going forward but his all round game has been very promising - his shot stopping has been excellent (low shots maybe the weakness?), he’s been great on 1 on 1’s (unfortunately Sunday was maybe the first time he’s lost a goal from one) and is showing good signs of really commanding his box with clean catches reverent. I also this he redirects the ball really well when making saves.

Fuzzywuzzy
23-12-2021, 08:45 AM
Not that it counts for anything but at half time I was watching dabrowski with Stevenson. He seems to be comfortable using either foot (dabrowski that is)

Crunchie
23-12-2021, 08:50 AM
Am I the only one who thinks Macey rarely gets enough credit?
No, he's a very safe pair of hands. If he works on his kicking he'll be the full article, then be off to a bigger club and we'll be lumbered with another Zibby or Smith.

Be careful what you wish for Macey bashers.

23-12-2021, 09:07 AM
Not that it counts for anything but at half time I was watching dabrowski with Stevenson. He seems to be comfortable using either foot (dabrowski that is)

Maceys not too bad when he’s warming up as well though. It’d be interesting to see how we around be when Porteous or Hanlon put him under pressure with a dodgy back pass.

Point above is good - he does seem to be kicking it high rather than hard - wonder if it’s deliberate?

zitelli62
23-12-2021, 09:30 AM
No, he's a very safe pair of hands. If he works on his kicking he'll be the full article, then be off to a bigger club and we'll be lumbered with another Zibby or Smith.

Be careful what you wish for Macey bashers.

Spot on if his kicking was Great he would not be at hibs shot stopping good coming for high balls good he just needs to improve his kicking but overall a good keeper.

23-12-2021, 09:59 AM
Proper naughty from Porto last night. Wouldn't at all be surprised to see him cited for that. Trial by social media and all that

Shame because he was excellent last night

Stonewall
23-12-2021, 10:05 AM
A rugby coach would probably say that he throws the ball up too high and loses the angle before he boots it.

Mind you, Marciano had his moments as well. !

We should get Hoggy in to show him how it’s done.

23-12-2021, 10:10 AM
Proper naughty from Porto last night. Wouldn't at all be surprised to see him cited for that. Trial by social media and all that

Shame because he was excellent last night

I don't think it's trial by social media, that would have been things like his red card against Rangers that never was in a million years.

If he's booted another player in the baws then it'd be a deserved suspension. Other way around we'd be screaming for an Aberdeen player to get a ban.

23-12-2021, 10:14 AM
I don't think it's trial by social media, that would have been things like his red card against Rangers that never was in a million years.

If he's booted another player in the baws then it'd be a deserved suspension. Other way around we'd be screaming for an Aberdeen player to get a ban.

I’m pretty certain a two game ban is in the post.

TheHibernator
23-12-2021, 11:44 AM
Ref was poor last night all round, took him till the dying minutes to book an Aberdeen player, Ferguson got away with a good few whereas Gogic comes on and within 2 minutes gets booked for pulling someone back, nisbet booked for his first challenge of the game. Consistent performance though with regards to Scottish refs

23-12-2021, 12:35 PM
Aberdeen player involved in the incident with Porteous doing his best to get him banned by posting the clip on Twitter. No one likes a grass.

23-12-2021, 12:42 PM
Aberdeen player involved in the incident with Porteous doing his best to get him banned by posting the clip on Twitter. No one likes a grass.

He is quite rightly frustrated. Exactly the same as Morelos last season against us. Should be off and then scores the winner.

Ryan doing things like this is getting a bit beyond a joke now IMO. He is a brilliant young player but he desperately needs to cut this ***** out.

23-12-2021, 12:45 PM
He is quite rightly frustrated. Exactly the same as Morelos last season against us. Should be off and then scores the winner.

Ryan doing things like this is getting a bit beyond a joke now IMO. He is a brilliant young player but he desperately needs to cut this ***** out.

Completely agree.

23-12-2021, 12:47 PM

Does Ramirez not smash him with a forearm in the head later in the game ? Is he highlighting that on social media too ?

I actually think moaning about this on social media is poor for any pro….he will do things he’s not proud of at times ..get on with it , and let the authorities deal with it

23-12-2021, 12:49 PM

Still should be posting stuff on twitter, essentially trying to get a player into bother

23-12-2021, 12:51 PM

23-12-2021, 12:54 PM

Shouldn’t be posting it on social media. ***** behaviour. Did Porteous post videos of Morelos stamping on him last season?

23-12-2021, 12:55 PM
Shouldn’t be posting it on social media. ***** behaviour. Did Porteous post videos of Morelos stamping on him last season?

Personally don't see a problem with it. Its his own personal account, can post whatever he wants.

23-12-2021, 12:58 PM
Personally don't see a problem with it. Its his own personal account, can post whatever he wants.

He can, doesn’t change my opinion that he’s a big *****bag for doing so.

23-12-2021, 12:59 PM
Porto is really doing my head in. All that ability being undone with stupid stuff like last night and don't get me started on the rolling about clutching whatever part of his body the other player has brushed against. Hopefully Maloney will get him to cut it all out.

23-12-2021, 01:01 PM

Is it any different from Paul McGinn calling out the referee for making bad decisions on Sunday? IMO, not really.

Referees should be held to a higher standard by players. That decision changes the game.

23-12-2021, 01:02 PM
I think it was an accident. Prove me wrong. Or are we all jumping on the Gerrard bandwagon that Porto is a psychopath who eats babies?

23-12-2021, 01:05 PM
Does he not smash him with a forearm in the head later in the game ? Is he highlighting that on social media too ?

I actually think moaning about this on social media is poor for any pro….he will do things he’s not proud of at times ..get on with it , and let the authorities deal with it

Completely agree behaviour of a cry baby.

23-12-2021, 01:08 PM

I do agree about Macey’s kicking but Rocky wasn’t a whole lot better and a lot more casual …. but he didn’t seem to get criticised too much for it.

He definitely needs to improve going forward but his all round game has been very promising - his shot stopping has been excellent (low shots maybe the weakness?), he’s been great on 1 on 1’s (unfortunately Sunday was maybe the first time he’s lost a goal from one) and is showing good signs of really commanding his box with clean catches reverent. I also this he redirects the ball really well when making saves.

Got to be said not seeing a lot of that about Macey

23-12-2021, 01:11 PM
Ref was poor last night all round, took him till the dying minutes to book an Aberdeen player, Ferguson got away with a good few whereas Gogic comes on and within 2 minutes gets booked for pulling someone back, nisbet booked for his first challenge of the game. Consistent performance though with regards to Scottish refs

Muir has always been a horrific ref he must have been gutted we won last night. Honestly thought for about 30 mins or so there was only one team on the pitch. Who can forget his play off performance at ER against Falkirk? Shouldn't be within 50 miles of a top flight game

23-12-2021, 01:22 PM

Aye, whatever happened to what happens on the pitch, stays on the pitch.

Daft (again) from Porteous but going home and tweeting about it is pretty sad.

23-12-2021, 01:32 PM
Aye, whatever happened to what happens on the pitch, stays on the pitch.

Daft (again) from Porteous but going home and tweeting about it is pretty sad.

So you can go around kicking or racially abusing an opponent and get away with it because what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch? Cant agree with that at all.

23-12-2021, 01:34 PM

I actually think low saves are a strength of his, which is odd considering his height. Hes made a few clutch saves like that with hands and feet.

Otherwise agree with your post completely.

23-12-2021, 01:38 PM
Some might argue that moaning on the internet about a player tweeting is even sadder.

It’s the stupid incidents on field that are going to cost us and I’d be more annoyed at Porto continuing to be spotted for the wrong reasons than I would because Ramirez has had the audacity to comment on it.

Still some f***** heider though 👍

23-12-2021, 01:39 PM
So you can go around kicking or racially abusing an opponent and get away with it because what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch? Cant agree with that at all.

He might no get away with it. That’s what the compliance officer is there for. A player running away and crying about it on twitter is sad though.

23-12-2021, 01:45 PM
He might no get away with it. That’s what the compliance officer is there for. A player running away and crying about it on twitter is sad though.

Hes not crying. He is pointing out a game changing incident that was missed. Like McGinn did in his interview on Sunday.

23-12-2021, 01:52 PM
I think it was an accident. Prove me wrong. Or are we all jumping on the Gerrard bandwagon that Porto is a psychopath who eats babies?

No, we're not.

He's a player we all love (he was absolutely f'ing outstanding last night, that moment aside) but we're not daft and don't wish to defend the indefensible.

It's all that holds him back right now. Cut out the nonsense, pay attention a bit more - and he has everything it takes to go to the very top.

Burying heads in sand doesn't help him - he needs to confront it and deal with it, as it has the potential to scupper him.

We can say that from watching him every week. Gerrard and everyone to do with Sevco can sod off.

23-12-2021, 02:28 PM
Hes not crying. He is pointing out a game changing incident that was missed. Like McGinn did in his interview on Sunday.

Players moan about refs all the time. No very often you’ll see one calling out a fellow player on social media like that. Didn’t mind swinging his arms about and banging in to folk repeatedly. Someone has a wee kick back and he’s flagging it up on social media. Sad.

23-12-2021, 02:29 PM
Players moan about refs all the time. No very often you’ll see one calling out a fellow player on social media like that. Sad.

This post could've actually been a Donald Trump tweet.

23-12-2021, 02:30 PM
This post could've actually been a Donald Trump tweet.

In what sense? You really talk some pish.

23-12-2021, 02:31 PM
We should get Hoggy in to show him how it’s done.
You jest……………but……….

23-12-2021, 02:33 PM

Game changing? Seen it loads of times and it's absolutely nothing. And the McGinn interview is completely different to this.

23-12-2021, 02:34 PM
This is where I am. From the clip I saw even VAR couldn’t conclusively say it was deliberate. Maloney should have a word and that’s that.

23-12-2021, 02:36 PM
In what sense? You really talk some pish.He loved to finish tweets with words like ''sad''. His trademark. Need to calm yourself down a bit man.

Game changing? Seen it loads of times and it's absolutely nothing. And the McGinn interview is completely different to this.

If he gets a red card which he easily could have, then yes, that changes everything.

23-12-2021, 02:36 PM
He loved to finish tweets with words like ''sad''. His trademark. Need to calm yourself down a bit man.

If he gets a red card which he easily could have, then yes, that changes everything.

I’m perfectly calm and you’re as patronising as ever. Man.

23-12-2021, 02:39 PM
Was Ramirez playing last night? Wouldn't have known.

23-12-2021, 02:41 PM

I've just seen it for the first time.

I don't think it's accidental and would be surprised if he's not in bother.

Really disappointing.

23-12-2021, 02:42 PM
I've just seen it for the first time.

I don't think it's accidental and would be surprised if he's not in bother.

Really disappointing.

Na he definitely knew what he was doing.

23-12-2021, 02:42 PM
Players moan about refs all the time. No very often you’ll see one calling out a fellow player on social media like that. Didn’t mind swinging his arms about and banging in to folk repeatedly. Someone has a wee kick back and he’s flagging it up on social media. Sad.

Absolutely agree. Just made himself a bit of a laughing stock all over social media. After a performance like his last night he'd have been better just keeping quiet and concentrating on his next game.

23-12-2021, 02:45 PM

Aberdeen know this and tried to force Macey to kick it long all the time.

I hope he’s practicing a lot because his kicking really is poor.

23-12-2021, 02:46 PM
I’m perfectly calm and you’re as patronising as ever. Man.

:faf: okay bud. You're losing the head a bit here so I'll bow out. Don't want a pointless fight.

23-12-2021, 02:49 PM

An after match interview is a fair place for people to mention a match grievance. Tweeting about it the day after is not a usual or helpful place for a professional to do so.

I’m Pretty sure he hammered his forearm into Porto later in the game . He doesn’t mention this .

Porto may have got lucky on this , but at one point I think you’ve compared raising it as the same as raising allegations of racism. There is simply no comparison .

I’d be really disappointed if a Hibs player was doing this. Suck it up , and get the better of him next time you play .

23-12-2021, 03:04 PM
He loved to finish tweets with words like ''sad''. His trademark. Need to calm yourself down a bit man.

Without getting into an argument because we have different opinions on this , he didn't get a red card and I don't think it was deserving of a red card. Porteous is a fantastic player and I know you aren't disputing that. I don't think he's done much of anything wrong this season that merrits the tag that fans of other clubs are labelling him with , it's just lazy if you ask me , which you didn't 😁

Last night he was immense and will be very difficult to replace if he goes this January or Summer.

23-12-2021, 05:16 PM
Not sure if it would be considered a red card offence but it did look like Porteous deliberately kicked the guy, in retaliation for being fouled.

He's a really good player but he really needs to cut out this kind of behaviour.

As for Ramirez; his Davina's will be black and blue today, so I can see why he posted about it on social media, even if it's not the kind of thing a player should be doing.

23-12-2021, 05:47 PM
Not sure if it would be considered a red card offence but it did look like Porteous deliberately kicked the guy, in retaliation for being fouled.

He's a really good player but he really needs to cut out this kind of behaviour.

As for Ramirez; his Davina's will be black and blue today, so I can see why he posted about it on social media, even if it's not the kind of thing a player should be doing.

Football players should not be posting pictures of their hee haw's on the internet no matter what colour they may be, just not sporting at all.
It's a bit below the belt for sure although Porto put up wi a lot of crap from the guy, before and after.

23-12-2021, 09:09 PM

I agree it was deliberate but would he not of been referred today by compliance officer

23-12-2021, 09:12 PM
I agree it was deliberate but would he not of been referred today by compliance officer

get tomorrow out of the way, then a sigh of relief

i don't think it's always the day after an event

23-12-2021, 09:15 PM
get tomorrow out of the way, then a sigh of relief

i don't think it's always the day after an event

Ah cheers

24-12-2021, 02:27 PM
Porteous charged. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59785127

loanheadhibby
24-12-2021, 03:10 PM
Was that the one Ferguson got booked for ? Thought that was for him raising his leg as Macey tried to kick the ball ? May be a different moment you are referring to

Aye the on Ferguson got booked for. I was meaning Macey just punted it straight to their keeper giving them the chance to launch another attack. Macey needed to hit a corner or even better, kick it for Doidge to get control of it.

luckily for us Ferguson gives away a stupid free kick and we got ball back.

24-12-2021, 06:09 PM
Porteous charged. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59785127

Not surprised to be honest