View Full Version : Scotland
Why have we not brought on another striker??
Gilmour you should be putting that away there
12-10-2021, 08:18 PM
Need a goal……bring on another midfielder😡
If we fail to win this he should be shown the door.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
His negativity is unbelievable.
12-10-2021, 08:20 PM
What does KN have to do to even make it on to the pitch?
12-10-2021, 08:20 PM
what on earth was that all about, gordon and tierney
His teams reflect his personality J-C - dour.
How the hell did he do so well at Killie?
12-10-2021, 08:21 PM
Porteous sent off for less than that tackle on McGinn
one day maybe...
12-10-2021, 08:21 PM
What good is this doing for KN's confidence, ridiculous from Clarke
12-10-2021, 08:22 PM
straight at the keeper
12-10-2021, 08:22 PM
Kevin Nisbet scores goals Steve Clarke.
78mins in and 1 sub made and it's a DM in McGregor, shocking game management by Clarke.
12-10-2021, 08:23 PM
****ing finally
gilmour wide again unfortunately
Nisbet and Patterson coming on.
12-10-2021, 08:24 PM
10 minutes for Nissie to win it.
****ing finally
Thought that meant we scored :(
Just_Jimmy
10 minutes... clown
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Best chances falling to midfielders, no surprise when there’s 6 of them on the pitch for your team🙄
12-10-2021, 08:25 PM
Thought that meant we scored :(
Sorry Saul, not as exciting as that.
12-10-2021, 08:25 PM
Failure to win this and Moldova next month should see Clarke sacked.
If we fail to reach the play offs after just needing to beat the Faroe Islands and Moldova to secure it then serious questions need to be answered.
12-10-2021, 08:28 PM
Yaaaaaas Dykes!!!
****ing finally
Get in there . 1-0 Dykes.
12-10-2021, 08:29 PM
yassssssss :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
About ****ing time, he's been pish all game and a cracking goal.
Yasssss
Var…not given yet
VAR check...🙄
And breath. Dykes again
12-10-2021, 08:30 PM
Phew, Dykes has been poor and needed the defender to hit it against him to score. Can't be offside now the defender played it
Has it hit Dykes arm?
McCoist calls it, said we would get a chance
It’s not a handball ffs, let’s get on with this.
At best we are truly awful. Clarke must shoulder some of the blame but the players are the ones on the field with the ball at their feet. On that we only go and score.:greengrin
Never in doubt. 🤮
OtleyHibs
Being checked but doesn't look like a handball to me
Check over it's a goal.
12-10-2021, 08:31 PM
Goal!!!! VAR rules!
God I love VAR
aw get on with it
OtleyHibs
Can breathe out now.
Another late goal, made a meal of this tonight
12-10-2021, 08:32 PM
Who really gives a **** about the performance?
If we had 1% possesion and 1 shot on target tonight it really doesn't matter if that shot goes in and we win 1-0. We are 1 win away from the play offs. That's all that matters.
Yaaas once again come on the var😁
6 minutes added on yet again!
Goal!!!! VAR rules!
With no var it was a goal half an hour ago! :greengrin
12-10-2021, 08:33 PM
i think that's 52 years since colin stein scored four goals in a row
6 minutes added on yet again!
Changed to 7.
12-10-2021, 08:33 PM
We've not deserved this at all. Will take it though.
12-10-2021, 08:34 PM
At best we are truly awful. Clarke must shoulder some of the blame but the players are the ones on the field with the ball at their feet. On that we only go and score.:greengrin
There’s no blame to be apportioned, we are winning and are likely to win the game. He got it right, he’s won us the game.
We've not deserved this at all. Will take it though.
Best team 2nd half.
If we had 1% possesion and 1 shot on target tonight it really doesn't matter if that shot goes in and we win 1-0. We are 1 win away from the play offs. That's all that matters.
Ultimately your right..3 points that’s all that matters.
Still would have been nice to build on the Israel result with 3 points AND a half decent performance!
And I’ve had to suffer 90 minutes of brutal fitba’
:7: mins jeezo
12-10-2021, 08:35 PM
Can we once and for all realise this nation, led by perennially limited strikers in talent and number, are never going to be the type to go to any away qualifier and win well.
12-10-2021, 08:35 PM
fair gutting for israel and austrian fans :greengrin
12-10-2021, 08:36 PM
Can we once and for all realise this nation, led by perennially limited strikers in talent and number, are never going to be the type to go to any away qualifier and win well.
Harsh 😂
12-10-2021, 08:36 PM
Ultimately your right..3 points that’s all that matters.
Still would have been nice to build on the Israel result with 3 points AND a half decent performance!
And I’ve had to suffer 90 minutes of brutal fitba’
It’s not been pretty but no one will care if we’re sitting with a beer watching Scotland at a World Cup. We needed to win and we have.
12-10-2021, 08:37 PM
fair gutting for israel and austrian fans :greengrin
Austria were probably out after we won over there.
Israel will be gutted as it probably kills them off.
12-10-2021, 08:39 PM
Touch wood.. we’ve seen this out really well.
12-10-2021, 08:39 PM
would be great to go in to the Denmark game not needing anything
12-10-2021, 08:41 PM
Probably? It does doesn't it?
Jesus that’s very sporting 😂
Not sure I would’ve gave it back
Full time, thank God.
That was painful.
get in :saltireflag
but i won't be buying the DVD for this one :greengrin
12-10-2021, 08:42 PM
Probably? It does doesn't it?
They're 4 points behind us with 2 games left.
We need to beat Moldova to clinch it.
Scotland will win this 1-0.
Told you 😁.
12-10-2021, 08:42 PM
Thank **** for that
12-10-2021, 08:43 PM
that team ranked 114th in the world took a helluva beating :cb
Harsh 😂
Pff, those predicting and demanding a pumping are in need of harsh words.
Yes of course, brain fart from me there..... :doh:
12-10-2021, 08:44 PM
see the way they put the tables up now, why change it ffs by the time i've nearly worked out what's what they swipe it away
12-10-2021, 08:46 PM
see the way they put the tables up now, why change it ffs by the time i've nearly worked out what's what they swipe it away
Agreed takes me an age to work out what's what 😅
Silversand
12-10-2021, 08:47 PM
VAR scores again [emoji1787]
Rotten game, but result is all that matters [emoji106]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
12-10-2021, 08:48 PM
That annoys me as well. They seem to do it differently depending on which competition it is. This is probably a pet peeves situation :greengrin
Nail on head
Ignominious success, for a change, is better than glorious failure. Fair play to them, they got there in the end.
Better second half but overall a poor performance. Got the result which is what mattered. I’d take a similar performance and result against Moldova if truth be told.
12-10-2021, 08:49 PM
Best team 2nd half.
By miles
12-10-2021, 08:50 PM
Austria could do us a favour. If they beat Israel at home in the next game, we're through.
get in :saltireflag
but i won't be buying the DVD for this one :greengrin
Fair weather fan 😅
12-10-2021, 08:50 PM
We’d have won 5-0 if Nisbet had started. FACT, ENDOFF. and any other such definitive words.
12-10-2021, 08:52 PM
Was surprised with fraser tonight, didnt look like he wanted to run at a player all game, surely with his pace you run at the guy all night
12-10-2021, 08:54 PM
FT Denmark 1 Austria 0
would be great to give them their only defeat whether we need the points or not
12-10-2021, 08:56 PM
Austria could do us a favour. If they beat Israel at home in the next game, we're through.
Yes also correct, meant to add that too.
I'd rather we just go and beat Moldova. :greengrin
12-10-2021, 08:57 PM
So we’ve won the last two games by a couple of lucky chests. Phew 😅
12-10-2021, 08:58 PM
Fair weather fan
DVD's are not cheap
it's a toss up between heating the house or the DVD
:(
Think we've used up all our luck.
Amazed at how late he made the subs, Fraser put a few great balls in but never took his man on all night. Patterson should've been on well before 82 mins.
Hopefully Adams is fit for Moldova, Dykes is average but he'll be missed.
Was surprised with fraser tonight, didnt look like he wanted to run at a player all game, surely with his pace you run at the guy all night
Did you fall asleep second half? He must have put in 5 or 6 brilliant balls after he decided to run at them and push further up.. 1st half he was dire though.
12-10-2021, 08:59 PM
Good 3 points but crap game despite the 2nd half improvement. To top it all I watched it on the worst hesgoal stream ever (and they're crap at the best of times).
Lendo
Real shame we aren’t at home for the Moldova game. I would fancy our chances more in a packed Hampden. Away from home I think we’ll really struggle.
Took a similar length of time for Denmark to break them down too.
I thought they were very good tonight. Defended in numbers but created a few chances too.
So we’ve won the last two games by a couple of lucky chests. Phew 😅
Thought McTominay scored with his knackers........ :greengrin
12-10-2021, 09:00 PM
i didn't notice but did KN even manage to get a touch of the ball
12-10-2021, 09:01 PM
i didn't notice but did KN even manage to get a touch of the ball
Actually he put himself about to good effect in his short cameo.
12-10-2021, 09:01 PM
thought it was his midriff
12-10-2021, 09:04 PM
Aye he’s got big baws though 😁
Think they were still hurting as he wasn’t at his best, particularly in the first half.
12-10-2021, 09:04 PM
Thought it was chest
12-10-2021, 09:06 PM
Took a similar length of time for Denmark to break them down too.
I thought they were very good tonight. Defended in numbers but created a few chances too.
Yep thought Faroes were very good. Organised but also good ability on the ball.
12-10-2021, 09:09 PM
Thought it was chest
jeezo, even after 43 replays of it we just can't make our mind up :(
12-10-2021, 09:10 PM
Clarke's team selection and formation was strange. Players seemed to unsure what the shape was. Took too long to make substitions. We need to pick our best team at all times even against lowly ranked opposition as they will always be well organised.
Got away with one tonight.
12-10-2021, 09:10 PM
So as things stand the play offs look like this;
Seeded
Portugal
Switzerland
Scotland
Spain
Poland
Croatia
Unseeded
Czech Republic
Norway
Romania
Ukraine
Wales
Austria
12-10-2021, 09:12 PM
Actually he put himself about to good effect in his short cameo.
so he actually touched the ball, great, i don't know why but i have it in my head that yonks ago a player actually had to touch the ball to get a cap
it was back in the 1900's right enough, i have strange dreams sometimes :boo hoo:
DVD's are not cheap
it's a toss up between heating the house or the DVD
:(
12-10-2021, 09:12 PM
Seeded
Portugal
Switzerland
Scotland
Spain
Poland
Croatia
Unseeded
Czech Republic
Norway
Romania
Ukraine
Wales
Austria
Is it two rounds of games with only 3 going to Qatar?
12-10-2021, 09:14 PM
Yeah the 12 teams are split into 3 groups of 4 and there's a single semi final and a final in each group and the 3 winners go through to the World Cup.
Willis1875
12-10-2021, 09:14 PM
Whoever the manager is of the Faroes he’s worked wonders with them.Knocked the ball about really well in stages during the first half aswell as being well organised
12-10-2021, 09:16 PM
Seeded
Portugal
Switzerland
Scotland
Spain
Poland
Croatia
Unseeded
Czech Republic
Norway
Romania
Ukraine
Wales
Austria
Can't be Czeck and Wales are they not in the same group.
12-10-2021, 09:18 PM
Can't be Czeck and Wales are they not in the same group.
Wales currently qualify as one of the two best qualifiers from the Nations League who haven't finished in the top two in their group.
12-10-2021, 09:19 PM
Wales currently qualify as one of the two best qualifiers from the Nations League who haven't finished in the top two in their group.
As with Austria?
12-10-2021, 09:20 PM
As with Austria?
Yep Wales and Austria currently qualify through the Nations League.
The 12 play off teams are made up of the 10 group runners up plus the 2 best teams who won their Nations League group but who haven't finished first or second of their World Cup group.
The top 6 runners up are seeded and the 4 worst runners up plus the 2 Nations League qualifiers are unseeded.
12-10-2021, 09:25 PM
Ok didn't realise that.
12-10-2021, 09:27 PM
https://i.ibb.co/x5N5cxh/table.jpg (https://ibb.co/f0s0KjM)
12-10-2021, 09:28 PM
Yep Wales and Austria currently qualify through the Nations League.
The 12 play off teams are made up of the 10 group runners up plus the 2 best teams who won their Nations League group but who haven't finished first or second of their World Cup group.
The top 6 runners up are seeded and the 4 worst runners up plus the 2 Nations League qualifiers are unseeded.
And if Wales get it through the group then Czech get it via the nations league I think?
Keyser Sauzee
12-10-2021, 09:32 PM
Seeded
Portugal
Switzerland
Scotland
Spain
Poland
Croatia
Unseeded
Czech Republic
Norway
Romania
Ukraine
Wales
Austria
Don’t fancy our chances getting to Qatar with that list
12-10-2021, 09:39 PM
We need to be seeded. We have a chance in a single leg, home semi against any of those unseeded teams IMO. Czechs would be the one I’d most want to avoid.
12-10-2021, 09:39 PM
Agree. Doesnt fill me with hope but hey ho, you never know.
12-10-2021, 09:40 PM
And if Wales get it through the group then Czech get it via the nations league I think?
Yes that's correct.
12-10-2021, 09:46 PM
We need to be seeded. We have a chance in a single leg, home semi against any of those unseeded teams IMO. Czechs would be the one I’d most want to avoid.
It's going to be close.
Since there groups of 5 and groups of 6 in the groups of 6 results against the team that finishes bottom are scrubbed when determining the seedings for the play offs so that means Scotland's results v Moldova don't count so if we beat them and lose to Denmark we'll be on 14 points.
It will be touch and go as to whether 14 points will be enough to be seeded.
Gordy M
12-10-2021, 09:46 PM
Seeded
Portugal
Switzerland
Scotland
Spain
Poland
Croatia
Unseeded
Czech Republic
Norway
Romania
Ukraine
Wales
Austria
Its possible that Serbia and Sweden will replace Spain and Portugal in the seeded list.
12-10-2021, 10:25 PM
Thing is, if we don't fancy our chances against that list then we'd get absolutely battered by almost everyone at the World Cup should we make it.
12-10-2021, 10:36 PM
Seeded
Portugal
Switzerland
Scotland
Spain
Poland
Croatia
Unseeded
Czech Republic
Norway
Romania
Ukraine
Wales
Austria
Fair to say i never appreciated the challenge still ahead looking at that.
12-10-2021, 10:38 PM
We need to beat Moldova before we can be certain we face that challenge.
12-10-2021, 10:47 PM
We need to beat Moldova before we can be certain we face that challenge.
Not necessarily - Israel would have to get a result in Austria. If they don’t then we’re guaranteed play offs.
patlowe
12-10-2021, 10:48 PM
Got to give us a decent chance in a semi at a full Hampden, if seeded. Also, Spain and Portugal have every chance of winning their groups so don't presume they will be waiting in a final. If we get there we will have a chance. All you can ask really, very tough to qualify for the World Cup these days.
I have looked at the fixtures and points each team has and giiven IF you finish 2nd the results agains the 6th placed team (currently Moldova) don’t count, we will need to beat Moldova and take a point against Denmark to almost guarantee seeding in play offs.
A win against Moldova and a loss against Denmark will mean it will be tough fir us to be seeded given other teams matches and our goal difference being beaten if points the same.
Moldova first though as clearly we need to finish 2nd!
12-10-2021, 11:05 PM
Got to give us a decent chance in a semi at a full Hampden, if seeded. Also, Spain and Portugal have every chance of winning their groups so don't presume they will be waiting in a final. If we get there we will have a chance. All you can ask really, very tough to qualify for the World Cup these days.
When you compare qualifying now to 98 - it’s a whole lot harder these days. Back then the winner qualified, the best second place team qualified (Scotland) and the other 8 played one play off tie to qualify. Scotland were also second seeds back then.
12-10-2021, 11:22 PM
I have looked at the fixtures and points each team has and giiven IF you finish 2nd the results agains the 6th placed team (currently Moldova) don’t count, we will need to beat Moldova and take a point against Denmark to almost guarantee seeding in play offs.
A win against Moldova and a loss against Denmark will mean it will be tough fir us to be seeded given other teams matches and our goal difference being beaten if points the same.
Moldova first though as clearly we need to finish 2nd!
Yes we probably need a minimum of 4 points from our last 2 fixtures to be seeded.
It's hard to see how 14 points will be enough.
13-10-2021, 05:34 AM
Every chance of beating the bottom 4 in that list I think.
13-10-2021, 05:54 AM
We've toiled against two minnows way below us in the rankings in Israel an the Faroes, but then again we did beat Austria away. Last night was a hard watch as was Saturday but at least we're winning games by hook or crook.
13-10-2021, 06:12 AM
Did you fall asleep second half? He must have put in 5 or 6 brilliant balls after he decided to run at them and push further up.. 1st half he was dire though.
He didnt run at them the times he put a cross in though did he
13-10-2021, 06:29 AM
Thing is, if we don't fancy our chances against that list then we'd get absolutely battered by almost everyone at the World Cup should we make it.
That’s the spirit!
It was 1998 when we were last at a World Cup. I’d take just being there.
Remember how good the Euros were?
13-10-2021, 06:38 AM
Some folk wont be happy unless we win the bloody world cup. :rolleyes:
McSwanky
13-10-2021, 06:46 AM
Just before the moaners start re the Moldova game that will be tight, Moldova lost 2-1 away to Israel last night, but had more shots and more shots on target than the hosts.
They'll not be pushovers on their own patch.
13-10-2021, 06:59 AM
Oddly I feel pretty upbeat after last night. We fared similarly to Denmark when they were away to them, they were very well drilled and we still found a way through.
Just like if you’re playing St Johnstone or Aberdeen you know you’re not going to get a game that’s easy on the eyes but we looked much better for the change of shape second half and it worked out.
13-10-2021, 07:14 AM
Yeah the 12 teams are split into 3 groups of 4 and there's a single semi final and a final in each group and the 3 winners go through to the World Cup.
In that case, we have no chance.
I've decided, in advance, to paint it as Scotland refusing to qualify on principle to show our disgust at Qatar's Human Rights record.
The same way we refused to qualify for the previous twenty years because we were opposed to that totally corrupt bassa Sepp Blatter being in charge.
13-10-2021, 07:15 AM
Just before the moaners start re the Moldova game that will be tight, Moldova lost 2-1 away to Israel last night, but had more shots and more shots on target than the hosts.
They'll not be pushovers on their own patch.
They lost 4 to Denmark, 2 to Austria, 4 to Israel, all at home. They’re terrible. If it’s tight it’s because the players/system haven’t worked again.
13-10-2021, 07:18 AM
The old cliche is that there are no easy games in international football. I'm not sure that is strictly true but in the case of the Faroes there is a bit of merit to it. Their last 10 results are:
Scotland - 0-1
Austria - 0-2
Moldova - 2-1
Denmark - 0-1
Israel - 0-4
Lichtenstein - 5-1
Iceland 0-1
Scotland - 0-4
Austria - 1-3
Moldova - 1-1
So P10 W2 D1 L7 GF9 GA19
There's only 2 hammering in there. Ironically given the last few pages of this thread one of them against Scotland. Both Denmark and Scotland needed late goals to beat them at home.
Of course we should be beating them but they aren't going to roll over and let us. Tough games there are nothing new anyway. I remember a 1-1 draw late 90s/early 00s when we were down to 10 men. Also a 2-2 draw when we were 2-0 down after about 8 minutes. Even the wins have been scrappy, I remember Garry O'Connor scoring in a drab 2-0 win not so long ago.
Last night was pretty crap but the general pattern over the last few games has been good. We needed a win, we got one. I'd tak exactly the same in Moldova so we can go into the Denmark game with the pressure off.
13-10-2021, 07:26 AM
In that case, we have no chance.
I've decided, in advance, to paint it as Scotland refusing to qualify on principle to show our disgust at Qatar's Human Rights record.
The same way we refused to qualify for the previous twenty years because we were opposed to that totally corrupt bassa Sepp Blatter being in charge.
I should also add that being seeded is really only an advantage in the semi final as you're at home and will play a non-seed.
As there's two seeds and two non-seeds in each group there's every chance you'll play another seed in the final and being at home is not guaranteed.
13-10-2021, 07:29 AM
I should also add that being seeded is really only an advantage in the semi final as you're at home and will play a non-seed.
As there's two seeds and two non-seeds in each group there's every chance you'll play another seed in the final and being at home is not guaranteed.
But, if your seeded there is a chance you can play two non seeds, both at home. If you are non seeded there is a chance you can play two seeds, both away.
13-10-2021, 08:27 AM
A side who haven’t picked up 1 single point against any of the top 4 seeds I’d say are a bad side. Scotland on a bad night should win by a couple comfortably. Would take a daft early sending off to really sway the game tonight for me.
Like I said, not a bad side.
13-10-2021, 09:11 AM
yeah looking at the remaining fixtures you'd expect both these sides to be replaced by Sweden and Serbia, who while being a tough opponent would be a lot easier on paper than Spain or Portugal.
13-10-2021, 09:17 AM
Like I said, not a bad side.
They were really poor, Scotland were awful and had no idea how to break them down.
They’ve won 9 times in 5 years - all against Latvia, Moldova, Malta, Liechtenstein, Andorra - conceding 3+ on 14 occasions in that time. If that’s not a bad side I’ve no idea what is.
13-10-2021, 09:32 AM
They were really poor, Scotland were awful and had no idea how to break them down.
They’ve won 9 times in 5 years - all against Latvia, Moldova, Malta, Liechtenstein, Andorra - conceding 3+ on 14 occasions in that time. If that’s not a bad side I’ve no idea what is.
I’ve no idea why you’re trying so hard to focus on the negatives of last night or this campaign. Someone posted the Faroes last 10 results and they are competitive these days, particularly at home, with Denmark only winning 1-0 with an 85th minute goal like us.
McSwanky
13-10-2021, 09:47 AM
They lost 4 to Denmark, 2 to Austria, 4 to Israel, all at home. They’re terrible. If it’s tight it’s because the players/system haven’t worked again.
Not sure what age you are, but I can't remember a time in my life when I'd be confident of an easy Scotland win away to a side like Moldova. Have all our managers in the last 40 something years been pish then?
13-10-2021, 10:00 AM
Not sure what age you are, but I can't remember a time in my life when I'd be confident of an easy Scotland win away to a side like Moldova. Have all our managers in the last 40 something years been pish then?
Moldova are 180th in the world, they’ve won 4 times since 2017, conceded 8 and 4 against the Danes, regularly concede 3 or more. Would be a bit like Hibs fans expecting a tough game away to Brechin.
13-10-2021, 10:03 AM
Moldova are 180th in the world, they’ve won 4 times since 2017, conceded 8 and 4 against the Danes, regularly concede 3 or more. Would be a bit like Hibs fans expecting a tough game away to Brechin.
Agree we should win however last night showed a bit like Hibs we are better when other teams come out at us. Only losing 2 1 to Israel away last night with 10 men suggests they can be difficult on their day.
13-10-2021, 10:09 AM
But, if your seeded there is a chance you can play two non seeds, both at home. If you are non seeded there is a chance you can play two seeds, both away.
Yes there is of course that possibility. I was just responding to a post that was saying it will really be a long shot for Scotland to qualify and really emphasising that.
As things stand we will need to beat at least one of the following;
Portugal
Switzerland
Spain
Poland
Croatia
I think that would be a long shot even if we got them at Hampden.
As I said last night though just getting to the play offs is significant progress for Scotland and should give us real hope for trying to qualify for Euro 2024.
13-10-2021, 10:12 AM
Agree we should win however last night showed a bit like Hibs we are better when other teams come out at us. Only losing 2 1 to Israel away last night with 10 men suggests they can be difficult on their day.
tbf Moldova only went down to 10 after 85 mins and the onus will be on them as the home side against us to attack more, they will surely be desperate to pick up which would only be their 2nd point
13-10-2021, 10:14 AM
tbf Moldova only went down to 10 after 85 mins and the onus will be on them as the home side against us to attack more
Ok didn't realise that :greengrin
McSwanky
13-10-2021, 10:14 AM
Fair enough. I'm going to stop arguing with you, you have your views, I have mine. We can both find reasons to be right and completely ignore the other person's arguments, but it will just go round in circles.
FWIW I think we're probably around about where you'd expect us to be now (which we haven't been for a long time) - nowhere near the big boys, but competing hard with that second tier (the likes of Austria, Sweden, Ukraine, Poland etc) - sometimes even coming out on top.
I'd love Scotland to be a Belgium, but that would take a lot more than a change of manager.
By the way, remember a few years back when everyone was bemoaning the fact that we couldn't be more like Iceland? Turns out they were just overachieving for a few years.
13-10-2021, 11:11 AM
I've gone ahead and predicted the outcomes of the other groups; based on what I think, the final standings for each one (with results against bottom side removed) look like this:
Seeded:
Russia +8 19
Serbia +8 18
Switzerland +11 17
Spain +9 16
Poland +9 15
Unseeded:
Czech Republic +5 14
Norway +3 14
Romania +2 13
Ukraine +1 10
We're currently on +5 GD and 14 points, which would be the same as the Czech Republic. I'd say we'll probably go into the Denmark game needing at least a point to be seeded.
13-10-2021, 11:11 AM
Twice this week they've played much bigger nations, had chances and been unlucky.
Scotland should be winning but they're not as bad as you're making out. For me, it's like Old Firm against someone like Killie - clear who the winner should be but no guarantees.
McSwanky
13-10-2021, 12:02 PM
I've gone ahead and predicted the outcomes of the other groups; based on what I think, the final standings for each one (with results against bottom side removed) look like this:
Seeded:
Russia +8 19
Serbia +8 18
Switzerland +11 17
Spain +9 16
Poland +9 15
Unseeded:
Czech Republic +5 14
Norway +3 14
Romania +2 13
Ukraine +1 10
We're currently on +5 GD and 14 points, which would be the same as the Czech Republic. I'd say we'll probably go into the Denmark game needing at least a point to be seeded.
Looks like it'll be Austria and one of Wales or Czech Republic joining that list as non-seeded teams. I think Spain will do enough to get over the line in 1st in their group as well, so I would expect Sweden to be the seed from there.
Bottom line is, seeded or not seeded, it's going to be a very difficult task to beat 2 of those teams and make it to the WC. Nice to have the chance though!
14-10-2021, 05:20 PM
well done the TA
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/245346518_4507371775986285_6722188403485726306_n.j pg?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=8Lr6-RBBDXUAX-z6fuF&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=9293cb95664836415f13dff3c3bd2fdc&oe=616CA187
He's here!
14-10-2021, 05:59 PM
Twice this week they've played much bigger nations, had chances and been unlucky.
Scotland should be winning but they're not as bad as you're making out. For me, it's like Old Firm against someone like Killie - clear who the winner should be but no guarantees.
More like Rangers v Brora Rangers and there's no way Brora should beat a 'big' full-time club...oh, wait a minute.
The Veteran
15-10-2021, 08:34 AM
I’ve no doubt that Scotland will blow it. :na na: