View Full Version : Scotland

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

09-10-2021, 05:17 PM
Some save by Gordon. Does so well to stand up and not anticipate there.

09-10-2021, 05:18 PM
Defence really is a shambles.

09-10-2021, 05:18 PM
That is the first decision that has gone for us.

And immediately we almost concede again!

StockholmHibs
09-10-2021, 05:20 PM
How are are we playing guys? Like Hibs🤣🤣

Scotland playing well this half so far.

Magpie
Marciano, different class.

aw man save Rocky really should score

JXM73
09-10-2021, 05:21 PM
Where has this scotland team been hiding for years?

Great save by Rocky but Dykes has to score. He's just headsred it straight.

What a game !

alhibby
So the Ref allows the goal after VAR, cancels Dykes booking but doesn't book the defender for simulation?

Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk

cannastar
09-10-2021, 05:22 PM
unlucky dykes getting yourself in right positions the goals will come

Stop that Marciano, you brilliant prick.

yellow card Robertson

How did Dykes not score that. An absolute sitter.

That's really poor from Dykes.

Building up nicely for Nisbet to come on and score the winner. Header on 90+2.

09-10-2021, 05:23 PM
Israel making two changes

StockholmHibs
09-10-2021, 05:23 PM
2- 0 Sweden dream goal!

09-10-2021, 05:24 PM
actor Dabbour subbed

JXM73
09-10-2021, 05:24 PM
Building up nicely for Nisbet to come on and score the winner. Header on 90+2.

Knowing clarke thats more likely when he'll make the substitution

09-10-2021, 05:25 PM
Is Dykes the guy that a load of people were saying should be subbed in the first half?

09-10-2021, 05:25 PM
Christie on for Adams

09-10-2021, 05:26 PM
We need a goal, bring on a midfielder for a striker when you’ve got a natural goal scorer on the bench, fxxx off Clarke.

09-10-2021, 05:27 PM
Why take Adams off and not bring on Nisbet? We need to win this game ffs.

cannastar
09-10-2021, 05:27 PM
wish dykes was a hibs player bit like doidge but with a bit extra his back will be full of bruises tonight great perfomance penalty miss apart. top class lead the line superbly

09-10-2021, 05:28 PM
Is Dykes the guy that a load of people were saying should be subbed in the first half?
The very fellow :greengrin

JXM73
09-10-2021, 05:28 PM
wish dykes was a hibs player bit like doidge but with a bit extra his back will be full of bruises tonight great perfomance penalty miss apart. top class lead the line superbly

Bad week to quit glue sniffing?

09-10-2021, 05:30 PM
Sorry but why bring Christie on for a striker !!!! You’ve got Nisbet on the bench ya clown.

09-10-2021, 05:30 PM
foul called on Rocky :rolleyes:

nah not for me

09-10-2021, 05:31 PM
I'm the same, the 70's teams were my favourite era.
Weren't they just 👌

cannastar
09-10-2021, 05:32 PM
no glue sniffin here my friend bit old for all that rubbish dykes has been best player on park second half maybe you thats on the glue.

09-10-2021, 05:32 PM
Hope we don't play Israel again for another 30 years

09-10-2021, 05:33 PM
foul called on Rocky :rolleyes:

nah not for meHe got out of jail there.

09-10-2021, 05:37 PM
he's just not going to give Nisbet the time

09-10-2021, 05:38 PM
Get off the ****ing park

09-10-2021, 05:39 PM
Robertson may as well have given them the ball back

JXM73
09-10-2021, 05:39 PM
Were well on top, brings christie on and its back to the 1st half pish...

JXM73
09-10-2021, 05:40 PM
Porteous got sent off for less...

Were well on top, brings christie on and its back to the 1st half pish...

He is not the most positive of coaches unfortunately

Two tackles in this game worse than the Porto one both yellows. The tackle for the pen and now gilmour

Well thats more a red than Portos...:greengrin

StockholmHibs
09-10-2021, 05:41 PM
Now 3 .....yawn 🥱

We're not playing Rangers at Ibrox with a weegie ref.

yellow card for patterson now

09-10-2021, 05:42 PM
Well thats more a red than Portos...:greengrin

Listening to the radio (BBC) not a foul!!!!

09-10-2021, 05:42 PM
This is a game we really need to be winning, taking off a striker for a midfielder is crap.

09-10-2021, 05:43 PM
Challenges flying in 👊

09-10-2021, 05:43 PM
So if it ends a draw where does that leave us? Who has the better run in?

09-10-2021, 05:44 PM
This is a game we really need to be winning, taking off a striker for a midfielder is crap.

Should have Nisbet and maybe Fraser on to go for this!

09-10-2021, 05:44 PM

He managed kille..

So no.surprise 😇

09-10-2021, 05:45 PM
one substitute clarke has made, just one and that was down to an injury

4th sub for israel

Scotland under Clarke are a dreadful watch. Play like his demeanour - drab.

e2los

Was just checking to see how many others had seen that before saying:

Tackle from Gilmour was way worse than Porto's one.

Magpie

Israel away to Austria and Scotland home to Denmark. The other two games both teams should be winning so it will probably come down to those games.

We're a point ahead of Israel, we have Moldova and the Faroes away and Denmark at home.

Israel have Moldova and the Faroes at home and Austria away.

JXM73
Sums dykes up, utter pish...

09-10-2021, 05:47 PM
**** off Rocky :(

Mikey_1875
09-10-2021, 05:47 PM
That was the chance

09-10-2021, 05:48 PM
What are people wathcing that they think this is dull, drab, dreadful etc?

We have been full of energy, had a great tempo and shown loads of attacking intent in the 2nd half. It's been a great game and bar a couple of bad misses from Dykes and McGinn we would have won this. Still might.

A draw is far from the end of the world tonight. 2nd is very much in our hands.

09-10-2021, 05:48 PM
Great play by Christie. SJM should have scored.

OtleyHibs
09-10-2021, 05:49 PM
6 mins stoppage time, come on Scotland!!

needed another goal and he's refusing to put another striker on

6 mins added

We have been full of energy, had a great tempo and shown loads of attacking intent in the 2nd half. It's been a great game and bar a couple of bad misses from Dykes and McGinn we would have won this. Still might.

It's been a great game of football :agree:

Two evenly matched teams. Says it all about the level we are at

09-10-2021, 05:50 PM
You do wonder why he wouldnt try and chuck on another striker.

JXM73

Up until the Christie substitution you were right, but clarke took the foot off the gas...

It is still in our hands but we'll possibly need at least a point v Denmark to finish second which would be unlikely.

e2los
09-10-2021, 05:51 PM

I wandered off at half time.. came back on the 60min mark... been great to watch, but it's so difficult for us.

Paul1642
09-10-2021, 05:51 PM
Scotland under Clarke are a dreadful watch. Play like his demeanour - drab.

Overall I agree but not tonight. Has been a good hard fought game in which we have played nice attacking football imo

09-10-2021, 05:52 PM
yas
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

OtleyHibs
Yaaaaaasssssssss

Fancy the 3 points Steve, no?

Mikey_1875
Yeeeeeeessssssss

JXM73
90+3

Get ****ing in there.

Great performance, well deserved win.

09-10-2021, 05:53 PM
3-2 Scotland

Oh. Ya. Beauty.

HiBremian
90+3
3-2
tasty score :greengrin

Wow!!!

Kings crivens helpmabob

David_D
Yesssssssssss. Get in

Magpie
Beat Faroe and Moldova, that’s all that’s needed now.

Get in!!!

Been great game.

Oh you belter. Go on Scotland.

09-10-2021, 05:54 PM
What a difference a full Hampden makes

Yessss!

Yabadabadoo, we support the boys in blue...

damn us for not scoring on 90+2 :grr:

final minute

Now hung on!!!!

09-10-2021, 05:55 PM
Yessss!

Yabadabadoo, we support the boys in blue...

and it's ea-sy,
...ea-sy!

09-10-2021, 05:55 PM
a slice of humble pie here....well done Mr Clarke :greengrin

:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag hope there's a DVD

09-10-2021, 05:56 PM
Love an injury time goal for a 3-2 win at Hampden.

e2los
Going to have to go for a lie down after this...

What a 2nd half.

cannastar
well done mctominay superb corner from sjm the ability of the players to come back from poorer perfomances in the first half dykes brilliant patterson brilliant hendry brilliant the future is positive

Final whistle.

3-2

90 plus 3.......!!!

scenes in the stands freakin wonderful

Yesssss

Brilliant game of football. Really enjoyed that and a huge result into the bargain.

Love an injury time goal for a 3-2 win at Hampden.

Oh yes

Job done. Great result.

09-10-2021, 05:57 PM
It is still in our hands but we'll possibly need at least a point v Denmark to finish second which would be unlikely.

I stand corrected. :greengrin

Beat the Faroes and Moldova and we're in the play offs.

09-10-2021, 05:57 PM
I stand corrected. :greengrin

Beat the Faroes and Moldova and we're in the play offs.

09-10-2021, 05:58 PM
That’s what the Israelis get for time wasting most of the game. Amazing spirit and no little skill by Scotland. Delighted.

Forever_Green93
Get ******* in there!!!!!

Great result!!!!!!!

:saltireflag

Glorious failure again, ****'s sake Scot- oh no how do I delete thi

Mikey_1875
Superb game and great result.

09-10-2021, 05:59 PM
Hamden is a Rockin

This is just making it that bit harder for ourselves not to qualify…

…but we’ll find a way. ;-)

cannastar
take a bow steve clarke hopre newcastle dony come a knocking

09-10-2021, 06:00 PM
never in doubt

09-10-2021, 06:01 PM

This is why the forum needs a 'Like' button

listening to yes sir i can boogie it wasn't noticed much but one of the Duo that sang it died just a few weeks back

e2los
This is just making it that bit harder for ourselves not to qualify…

…but we’ll find a way. ;-)

We can always find a way to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.

You would think all the hard work has been done now though.

Beautiful!

09-10-2021, 06:02 PM
You should hear the noise from outside the stadium.

It's unbelievable!

CLASS OF 72 -73
09-10-2021, 06:02 PM
We really aren't you know. Bang average.

Take that back:not worth

Magpie
09-10-2021, 06:04 PM
Realistically will get knocked out in the semi final of the play offs but it’s nice to be able to finally beat the likes of Israel in 90 minutes.

09-10-2021, 06:04 PM
Take that back:not worth

:greengrin This squad seem tae have a bit of belief about them, really believed they could win that.

09-10-2021, 06:05 PM

Mental huh. It’s like some folk just decide what their view is despite what their eyes are telling them.

Scotland were superb second half and fully deserved the win.

Cracking game of football that had everything.

09-10-2021, 06:07 PM
Nothing pulls at the heart strings like 90 mins of football

09-10-2021, 06:09 PM
listening to yes sir i can boogie it wasn't noticed much but one of the Duo that sang it died just a few weeks back
Yes sad

09-10-2021, 06:10 PM
I went off to cook and missed it 😂

09-10-2021, 06:10 PM
What a tremendous performance that was and a great game to watch. We’re never going to be the best team in the world, but if we can produce more performances like that I doubt there will be many complaints. All most football fans want is you’re team to have a right go and show the same commitment that the fans show. When it comes together it’s a wonderful thing. What a game and the atmosphere was unbelievable.

09-10-2021, 06:11 PM
Did I read earlier, that 3 wins, inc tonight before the Denmark game, and we’ll be seeded in the play off?

#2 Double Tap
09-10-2021, 06:11 PM
just what footy is all about, excellent stuff!!

the energy in the first 15- 20 mins of second half was amazing.

09-10-2021, 06:12 PM
If we hadn’t riled them up by booing their anthem we would have won easily…or something

09-10-2021, 06:14 PM
Nicola Sturgeon's just announce that the independence referendum is this wednesday, and she's very confident of winning it

:duck:

09-10-2021, 06:14 PM
That was brilliant. Won't forget that winner for a long time. What a second half, they just don't let up.

09-10-2021, 06:16 PM
If we hadn’t riled them up by booing their anthem we would have won easily…or something

That was the only classless bit of the evening. I thought we played high tempo football that I can’t remember us doing to that level for years. Outstanding game.

09-10-2021, 06:18 PM
Nicola Sturgeon's just announce that the independence referendum is this wednesday, and she's very confident of winning it

:duck:

Yes, I expect this will happen. :-)

Just_Jimmy
Proper enjoyed that second half. Drive, determination and ability. There's clearly issues but we deserved to win.

Chuffed with that.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

God Neil McCann likes the sound of his own voice...

09-10-2021, 06:19 PM
Fantastic second half. Tears in my eyes.

Orchard_Hibs
09-10-2021, 06:21 PM
Great game of football and a winner at SDG end

09-10-2021, 06:23 PM

Not as much as McTominay, considering what part of his body the ball bounced off before going in the net...

09-10-2021, 06:26 PM
Scotland very good 2nd half.

What a difference when they pass and move.

The Dykes goal - still not convinced it’s not dangerous play.

If Scotland had a half decent stadium as the views from behind the goals are awful.

09-10-2021, 06:27 PM
Not as much as McTominay, considering what part of his body the ball bounced off before going in the net...

His chest?

09-10-2021, 06:29 PM
Did I read earlier, that 3 wins, inc tonight before the Denmark game, and we’ll be seeded in the play off?

yes

09-10-2021, 06:30 PM
Nothing pulls at the heart strings like 90 mins of football

Just_Jimmy
09-10-2021, 06:30 PM
Scotland very good 2nd half.

What a difference when they pass and move.

The Dykes goal - still not convinced it’s not dangerous play.

If Scotland had a half decent stadium as the views from behind the goals are awful.If we're ruling that out for "dangerous play" then the games bust and we should all just give up.

He went and won it. He should do that more and get in the box.

09-10-2021, 06:31 PM
It's McGinn to deliverrrrrrr!!!!!!

09-10-2021, 06:36 PM
I have never felt that emotion at a game since Leigh’s 2nd free kick against England.

What a ****ing performance from everyone.

09-10-2021, 06:37 PM
interestingly i noticed over 58k viewing the updates on the BBC Sport page near the end

09-10-2021, 06:40 PM
Is it right that there’s only 3 playoff places available among the 10 qualifying groups?

09-10-2021, 06:41 PM
'Mon the Moldovans.

09-10-2021, 06:46 PM
Scott McTominay’s massive cock and bollocks to thank 👍

09-10-2021, 06:46 PM
Roller coaster of a game, what an ending.

MKHIBEE
09-10-2021, 06:47 PM
Is it right that there’s only 3 playoff places available among the 10 qualifying groups?
Thats right, 3 groups of 4 teams with a semi final and final to be played, winners qualify

houstonhibbee
09-10-2021, 06:47 PM
I think its 4 go through from the 12 qualifiers for the play offs. Split into 4 groups with two semis and a final

09-10-2021, 06:53 PM
I think its 4 go through from the 12 qualifiers for the play offs. Split into 4 groups with two semis and a final

Still two tough ties to win then.

09-10-2021, 06:54 PM

3 groups of 4, 1 team goes through from each group in addition to the 10 group winners. UEFA has 13 teams altogether.

09-10-2021, 06:58 PM
Cut out the defensive nonsense (Hanley back should help) and get McGinn or McGregor on pens.

2nd half was sensational, almost made up for the Euros.

09-10-2021, 07:19 PM
Disappointing from the whalers so far.

1875Sean
09-10-2021, 07:30 PM
Rocky was excellent tonight

09-10-2021, 07:49 PM
Good result against the international equivalent to St Johnstone.

09-10-2021, 07:55 PM
I have never felt that emotion at a game since Leigh’s 2nd free kick against England.

What a ****ing performance from everyone.

Nice to win but it was 3-2 at home to Israel ffs

09-10-2021, 08:01 PM
Moldova 0 Denmark 4 57 mins played

Faroes 0 Austria 2

09-10-2021, 08:02 PM

After the 2 home disasters in the Euros we needed a home win desperately. It was brilliant.

hibee316
09-10-2021, 08:03 PM

Take it you were not there?

The atmosphere was electric. Think folk have really missed the full house at Hampden.

Yea, it was "only" Israel, but that was a lot of fun!

09-10-2021, 08:16 PM
Felt like a glory hunter tonight. I think the last Scotland game I was at Steve Bull scored. If you are going to pick a game to go back you can't do much better than that. Brilliant atmosphere and a game that had everything. I thought Scotland were brilliant in the first 20 minutes of the second half. Exactly how we should play. Israel made the subs and came back into it a little but the whole second half I got a decent view from the east. That tells you how often the ball was around Rocky's net. First time I have been at a match with VAR so excellent to get two celebrations for one goal. I though Patterson showed a bit of bottle playing well in the second half after a terrible first half. Gilmore was really good and his movement got us moving imo. Well done Steve C and the players and well done the support. That board going up with 6 on it created an energy in the stands that transferred to the pitch and took us through to a thoroughly deserved win. What a great way to spend an evening with your kids

Keyser Sauzee
09-10-2021, 08:19 PM

He’s brilliant playing right of a 3, his best performances for Scotland have came when playing there.

09-10-2021, 08:19 PM
Take it you were not there?

The atmosphere was electric. Think folk have really missed the full house at Hampden.

Yea, it was "only" Israel, but that was a lot of fun!

09-10-2021, 08:25 PM
Best night at Hampden in a long time. Atmosphere in the second half was fantastic. It had to be 3-2 at our end. 👍

09-10-2021, 08:25 PM
After the 2 home disasters in the Euros we needed a home win desperately. It was brilliant.

I know it's Scotland so saying this is a bit daft but it was a win that should really see us into the play offs. With Moldova and the Faroes up next it really should be done and dusted and the Danish game becomes a dead rubber.

You can't underestimate how big a result that was and the atmosphere and reaction reflected that. We are as close to a World Cup as we have been in a long time (albeit that is still quite far away).

09-10-2021, 08:28 PM

Away man. That was brilliant tonight.

09-10-2021, 08:34 PM

We've just come from behind to take a massive step towards qualifying for the World Cup for the 1st time in 24 years ffs.

09-10-2021, 08:35 PM
Away man. That was brilliant tonight.

Israel have been scoring loads of goals recently according to the match build up and also hammered Austria not so long ago.

That was a brilliant result tonight.

09-10-2021, 08:44 PM
We've just come from behind to take a massive step towards qualifying for the World Cup for the 1st time in 24 years ffs.

Unfortunately that’s not strictly speaking true, I wished it was. Tremendous result though

09-10-2021, 08:49 PM

There's a pretty good chance that Israeli fans were saying it's only Scotland FFS before the game.....

09-10-2021, 08:57 PM
I really enjoyed what Israel brought to the game tonight. Attacking intent and played their part in a fantastic game.

09-10-2021, 08:58 PM
First Scotland game I’ve been to for a while. Brilliant fun today.

09-10-2021, 09:10 PM
First Scotland game I’ve been to for a while. Brilliant fun today.

What an atmosphere tonight. After full time was brilliant. Great result and 2nd half performance

09-10-2021, 09:11 PM
Unfortunately that’s not strictly speaking true, I wished it was. Tremendous result though

It kind of is though…a win tonight puts us firmly in the driving seat for a play off place. Two wins against the minnows now and the final game against the all conquering Danes becomes a non factor.

Then it’s two games to the finals and as we’ve seen with the Euros that’s not impossible at all.

So it was indeed a massive step towards qualification…just that said qualification has a couple of more massive steps to go! But every journey and all that [emoji1787]

09-10-2021, 09:22 PM
I really enjoyed what Israel brought to the game tonight. Attacking intent and played their part in a fantastic game.

They were up the park three times. Scotland’s attacking intent was far,far superior. Israel wanted to cheat a result.

09-10-2021, 09:32 PM

They were up the park three times. Scotland’s attacking intent was far,far superior. Israel wanted to cheat a result.

09-10-2021, 09:37 PM
I've not gone that radge at a 1 goal win against Israel in regulation time since 1981.

Paul1642
09-10-2021, 09:46 PM
We have ourselves in a great position which two games ago looked pretty unlikely. Now we will undoubtedly make two, in theory relay wins away to Moldavia and Faros hard for ourselves but what a great opportunity to at least reach the play offs. Is it two games we need to win form there? Across the board there are some very good teams sat in second place along with a few very beatable ones. Just feels a shame that second won’t take us though when if we were not playing in the European groups we would qualify no bother. Can we not identify as Middle Eastern 😄

Souter96Mac
09-10-2021, 09:51 PM
We have ourselves in a great position which two games ago looked pretty unlikely. Now we will undoubtedly make two, in theory relay wins away to Moldavia and Faros hard for ourselves but what a great opportunity to at least reach the play offs. Is it two games we need to win form there? Across the board there are some very good teams sat in second place along with a few very beatable ones. Just feels a shame that second won’t take us though when if we were not playing in the European groups we would qualify no bother. Can we not identify as Middle Eastern 😄

Correct re the playoffs, a single leg semi and then a single leg final.

Currently we'd be seeded for the semi draw too

09-10-2021, 09:53 PM

We might need Geordie Grandmothers for that.

09-10-2021, 09:53 PM
Scotland will qualify for Qatar where we can’t booze and gingers will burst into flames upon exiting the airplane. It is written.

09-10-2021, 09:56 PM
Scotland will qualify for Qatar where we can’t booze and gingers will burst into flames upon exiting the airplane. It is written.

[emoji1787][emoji1787]

He's here!
09-10-2021, 09:57 PM

When you haven't qualified for a World Cup for quarter of a century I guess it doesn't really matter who you beat (or how you beat them to get there). I take your point tho, we've hardly become world beaters by squeaking past the footballing giants of Israel. I remember when we lost to them under McLeish not so long ago it was voted the worst result in Scotland's history.

09-10-2021, 09:57 PM

09-10-2021, 09:58 PM
When you haven't qualified for a World Cup for quarter of a century I guess it doesn't really matter who you beat (or how you beat them to get there). I take your point tho, we've hardly become world beaters by squeaking past the footballing giants of Israel. I remember when we lost to them under McLeish not so long ago it was voted the worst result in Scotland's history.

We’ve maybe had a couple since then.

09-10-2021, 10:01 PM

I think I heard that there might be a relaxation on the bevvy laws, but the gingers have still had it.

In seriousness though, there's a lot of real reasons why we shouldn't go at all. I was hyper tonight, same as I will be against Moldova (can't get excited about the Faroes) and against Denmark, but I don't really want the reward.

09-10-2021, 10:03 PM

We had only beaten them once inside 90 minutes in the last six attempts and came from behind twice to win. As a result we are now basically in the play offs to try and qualify for a place in the World Cup for the first time in nearly 25 years.

I'd say it's quite a significant victory.

09-10-2021, 10:07 PM
Atmosphere was epic inside Hampden today - absolutely loved that game, had everything!! Complete nail biter.

Was my girlfriends first football match - did try and tell her afterwards that was NOT representative 😂

09-10-2021, 10:07 PM
I think I heard that there might be a relaxation on the bevvy laws, but the gingers have still had it.

In seriousness though, there's a lot of real reasons why we shouldn't go at all. I was hyper tonight, same as I will be against Moldova (can't get excited about the Faroes) and against Denmark, but I don't really want the reward.

Will finishing 2nd in our group not move us up a pot for future qualifying campaigns as well though?

I don’t think we’ll get through a play off but finishing 2nd will bring other rewards as well i think?

09-10-2021, 10:08 PM
Atmosphere was epic inside Hampden today - absolutely loved that game, had everything!! Complete nail biter.

Was my girlfriends first football match - did try and tell her afterwards that was NOT representative 😂

Get her back to Hampden soon then.

09-10-2021, 10:14 PM
If we're ruling that out for "dangerous play" then the games bust and we should all just give up.

He went and won it. He should do that more and get in the box.

I think the dangerous play rule is that if contact is made with the opposition player it is deemed to be dangerous play. If no contact is made and the player strikes the ball it is OK. That's what Dermot Gallagher said on ref watch. The Israeli player should have been booked for simulation.

09-10-2021, 10:26 PM
We had only beaten them once inside 90 minutes in the last six attempts and came from behind twice to win. As a result we are now basically in the play offs to try and qualify for a place in the World Cup for the first time in nearly 25 years.

I'd say it's quite a significant victory.

Are we genuinely in the play offs though?

09-10-2021, 10:31 PM

If we beat Moldova and the Faroe Islands then yes.

If we fail to beat either of these sides then we don't deserve to qualify.

09-10-2021, 10:32 PM
i've watched the 2nd half another three times now, man i would have loved to have been in the ground for that winner

09-10-2021, 10:38 PM

Emphatically NO.

We have three games left. Two ‘easy’ games away at Faroese and away at Moldova. And Denmark in the final game who are playing like one of the best sides in world football at the moment.

Now, even a mad pessimist assumes we beat the Faroes away. But, it’s definitely conceivable we only come back from Moldova with a point. We only beat them 1-0 at Hampden after all. And, as expected we get nothing from the Danes in the last game. We’re on 14 points now, the above scenario gives us 4 more points so that equals 18, but if Israel or Austria behind us win their last three games, they go to 19 points and pip us to second. It’s far from over. The Moldova game is key.

Willis1875
09-10-2021, 10:46 PM
Emphatically NO.

We have three games left. Two ‘easy’ games away at Faroese and away at Moldova. And Denmark in the final game who are playing like one of the best sides in world football at the moment.

Now, even a mad pessimist assumes we beat the Faroes away. But, it’s definitely conceivable we only come back from Moldova with a point. We only beat them 1-0 at Hampden after all. And, as expected we get nothing from the Danes in the last game. We’re on 14 points now, the above scenario gives us 4 more points so that equals 18, but if Israel or Austria behind us win their last three games, they go to 19 points and pip us to second. It’s far from over. The Moldova game is key.

As it stands the Faroe Islands is possibly the harder of the two ties,Narrowly lost to Iceland and Denmark at home 1-0 this year and beat Moldova 2-1

09-10-2021, 10:47 PM
Will finishing 2nd in our group not move us up a pot for future qualifying campaigns as well though?

I don’t think we’ll get through a play off but finishing 2nd will bring other rewards as well i think?

I'm the last person to ask about football rules! I know Hibs is the team in green and white, Scotland in blue, and that's about it!

I'm very uncomfortable about going to Qatar. I know it wouldn't work like this, but if we got to go up a pot despite refusing to go, I'd be delighted.

09-10-2021, 10:52 PM
Am I the only one finding the yes sir I can boogie thing tedious

09-10-2021, 10:53 PM
i've watched the 2nd half another three times now, man i would have loved to have been in the ground for that winnerIt was a fantastic place to be. Feel very lucky to have been there with the kids.

09-10-2021, 10:53 PM
As it stands the Faroe Islands is possibly the harder of the two ties,Narrowly lost to Iceland and Denmark at home 1-0 this year and beat Moldova 2-1

Possibly.

Denmark Austria on Tuesday night worth watching. Denmark will be strong favourites, but if Austria spring a surprise it’s potentially bad news for our 2nd place qualification, but also opens the door for Scotland to win their next two ‘easy games’ which would set us up for a winner take all final game against the Danes for 1st place and auromatic qualification…Edit- Denmark would also need to drop points at home against the Faroese for us to catch them for 1st, highly unlikely!

09-10-2021, 11:00 PM
i've watched the 2nd half another three times now, man i would have loved to have been in the ground for that winner

The atmosphere was brilliant second half and at the end was delighted to be there. Doesn't get much better.

09-10-2021, 11:08 PM
It was a fantastic place to be. Feel very lucky to have been there with the kids.

i was going to mention how great it must have been for kids etc, instead i concentrated on just how good it was for us adults :greengrin

The atmosphere was brilliant second half and at the end was delighted to be there. Doesn't get much better.

i'm welling up here :thumbsup:

09-10-2021, 11:31 PM
I’m just back, what a game, what an atmosphere. My last two trips to hampden have ended 3-2 to the good guys with the winner coming from and injury time corner. Love it.

09-10-2021, 11:41 PM
If you support Hibs, Scotland and Norwich you don’t get all that many great days but today was absolutely a great day and it’s a game I’ll never forget being at.

Really bewildering to see all the ‘it’s only Israel FFS’ comments. You’ve not got a football soul if you didn’t feel amazingly good about that today. The atmosphere and celebrations were something else - add in a goal from SJM and a masterclass from Gilmour who I’ve never seen in the flesh yet and it was a truly memorable occasion.

tmb1875
10-10-2021, 12:42 AM
Still buzzing! Wow what a day, what a team!

Hulk1875
10-10-2021, 01:49 AM
Someone earlier wrote about nisbet coming on and scoring 90+2 but mctominay 90+4 will do

10-10-2021, 02:06 AM
What a game and atmosphere. Well done Scotland.

10-10-2021, 06:51 AM
If you support Hibs, Scotland and Norwich you don’t get all that many great days but today was absolutely a great day and it’s a game I’ll never forget being at.

Really bewildering to see all the ‘it’s only Israel FFS’ comments. You’ve not got a football soul if you didn’t feel amazingly good about that today. The atmosphere and celebrations were something else - add in a goal from SJM and a masterclass from Gilmour who I’ve never seen in the flesh yet and it was a truly memorable occasion.

Wasn’t at the game but was out watching it. Long, long time since the national team has got folk that excited. Brilliant.

10-10-2021, 07:31 AM
I may be biased but I don’t think there’s a midfielder in the world that does what John McGinn does.

10-10-2021, 08:04 AM
I may be biased but I don’t think there’s a midfielder in the world that does what John McGinn does.

You’re biased.
Except if you mean what he does with his erchie while running.

hibee316
10-10-2021, 08:14 AM

You find lots of people having a sing-song and having fun tedius?

It was one of the highlights of the game for me!

10-10-2021, 08:15 AM

Ooooooooh yes sir, I can boogie

10-10-2021, 08:37 AM

Bangkok Hibby
10-10-2021, 08:52 AM

I get what you mean. Unfortunately I don't care enough to be ersed one way or the other.
Just thought I'd give you a line of support as it seems to be going against you.

10-10-2021, 08:54 AM
Last night was absolutely tremendous. Don’t care one bit that “it was only Israel”. Great game and atmosphere.

10-10-2021, 08:54 AM
I get what you mean. Unfortunately I don't care enough to be ersed one way or the other.
Just thought I'd give you a line of support as it seems to be going against you.

I’m so ambivalent to people who are ambivalent to the Scottish NT and our songs that I can barely finis

Bangkok Hibby
10-10-2021, 09:00 AM
I’m so ambivalent to people who are ambivalent to the Scottish NT and our songs that I can barely finis

Who cares? 😃😃😃

10-10-2021, 09:02 AM

It was only Israel though. A bit of perspective is needed. It shows how far we've fallen that a last minute winner over the international equivalent of Peterhead is casing such a reaction. I find the "what a team" reactions bewildering.

10-10-2021, 09:06 AM
It was only Israel though. A bit of perspective is needed. It shows how far we've fallen that a last minute winner over the international equivalent of Peterhead is casing such a reaction. I find the "what a team" reactions bewildering.

Fallen since when?

The 70’s and 80’s?

We just went 20 odd years without qualifying. Perspective is very much needed

He's here!
10-10-2021, 09:20 AM

No. It's a cringe. Especially when hardly anyone actually knows the words.

10-10-2021, 09:22 AM
Fallen since when?

The 70’s and 80’s?

We just went 20 odd years without qualifying. Perspective is very much needed

Correct however some folk go looking for a negative to drain away the positivity.

He's here!
10-10-2021, 09:35 AM

They're probably more of an international Airdrie than a Peterhead but then Scotland have probably been the equivalent of, say, Queen of the South until recently so as you say perspective is needed.

I think, though, that when you consider a sizeable proportion of today's Scotland fans may not even have been born when Scotland were last at a World Cup then a win over Israel which effectively puts us in the play-offs will seem like a bigger deal than it does for those of us oldies who remember headier achievements.

Sure, apart from Denmark, we've landed an easier group than usual but it would be a sign of progress to actually reach a major tournament properly (for all the fanfare about us being at the Euros the backdoor Nations League route was a bit of a fudge IMHO).

10-10-2021, 09:44 AM
I'll be honest, I ****ing love the Yes Sir I Can Boogie stuff. It's great to see a packed Hampden singing and dancing and celebrating together. After the last eighteen months I don't think I'll tire of it.

***** song mind you :greengrin

10-10-2021, 09:47 AM
I'll be honest, I ****ing love the Yes Sir I Can Boogie stuff. It's great to see a packed Hampden singing and dancing and celebrating together. After the last eighteen months I don't think I'll tire of it.

***** song mind you :greengrin

As I was in the south upper, I was more wondering if the stand was going to handle all the bouncing! :).

He's here!
10-10-2021, 09:49 AM
Probably already been asked but how come Israel are deemed 'European' for football purposes? Is it the same with other sports they play?

10-10-2021, 09:56 AM
Probably already been asked but how come Israel are deemed 'European' for football purposes? Is it the same with other sports they play?

Yes they can't play in Asia because many of their teams won't play them.

10-10-2021, 09:56 AM

Fitba and song contests apparently.

10-10-2021, 10:14 AM

We were by far the better team in the game, but we disappointingly went behind twice, but still came through to win at the last moment, when it looked like it wasn’t going to happen.

How negative do you have to be to not see how it was great??

10-10-2021, 10:24 AM
I thought it was one of the most exciting games i've seen in a while, edge of seat stuff for the whole game.

Scotland are a bit like Hibs, making good progress but not quickly enough for some folk.

The match thread is a carbon copy of Hibs ones, we are crap when we are not winning, crap when we go behind and brilliant as soon as we win.

In reality, we are a decent side who are improving. :thumbsup:

10-10-2021, 10:31 AM

We’ve fallen quite far and people are happy that we’re starting to climb back up again.

I wasn’t even at the game but last night was brilliant. Don’t know if you really mean what you’re posting or if it’s just that thing where people like to pretend everything is terrible with the national team, even when it’s not.

10-10-2021, 10:31 AM
We were by far the better team in the game, but we disappointingly went behind twice, but still came through to win at the last moment, when it looked like it wasn’t going to happen.

How negative do you have to be to not see how it was great??

It was great because despite being punished twice from only 3 defensive mistakes and missing a penalty Scotland won scoring 3 goals in the process.
That is a big step up offensively on what Scotland have produced for many years.
Shut the back door with Hanley and we might have something.
That is what is exciting.

10-10-2021, 10:32 AM

Really weird reading this up until I saw the goal!

1959 Hibby
10-10-2021, 10:37 AM
Really weird reading this up until I saw the goal!

Thank goodness for the Israeli keeper: good shot stopper but hopeless at corners

10-10-2021, 10:45 AM
Thank goodness for the Israeli keeper: good shot stopper but hopeless at corners

Hehe. He was excellent last night Rocky, wasn’t he….didn’t deserve to be on the losing team…glad he was mind you.

Was thinking he was destined to keep us from winning. One of my favourite ever Hibs goalies..

HibsGW
10-10-2021, 10:50 AM

😴 😴

StockholmHibs
10-10-2021, 11:05 AM

How did this " yes sir blah blah" start?
I am aware of the song but why have Scotland adopted this song? I've seen folks posting it on Facebook.
I'm I missing something?

10-10-2021, 11:10 AM
I am aware of the song but why have Scotland adopted this song? I've seen folks posting it on Facebook.
I'm I missing something?

The Scotland team were celebrating qualifying doing a conga to the song.

Heaven forbid some people have a laugh and dance around to pop song eh?

10-10-2021, 11:12 AM

I actually feel sorry for people who just can’t enjoy an absolutely marvellous occasion and result.

Context is everything but there seems to be a breed of fan- and Hibs have loads, who consistently want to downplay everything achieved by highlighting negatives or using the “how far have we fallen?” line in the mistaken belief that we were somehow previously a super power. Basically taking huge pride in never being satisfied… it’s no way to live.

I guess 2016 was nothing really to celebrate either as we only beat a Championship team in the final and were stuck in the Championship ourselves. Embarrassing too that we had 1 cup win in 114 years?

So basically you can stick your ‘perspective’ and let others be happy😉

10-10-2021, 11:17 AM
Emphatically NO.

The good thing is that both Austria and Israel still have to play the Danes as well 😁

10-10-2021, 11:21 AM

How do you like your football ?
Give me that type of match and result any day of the week.
Great entertainment.

HibsGW
10-10-2021, 11:23 AM
I actually feel sorry for people who just can’t enjoy an absolutely marvellous occasion and result.

Context is everything but there seems to be a breed of fan- and Hibs have loads, who consistently want to downplay everything achieved by highlighting negatives or using the “how far have we fallen?” line in the mistaken belief that we were somehow previously a super power. Basically taking huge pride in never being satisfied… it’s no way to live.

I guess 2016 was nothing really to celebrate either as we only beat a Championship team in the final and were stuck in the Championship ourselves. Embarrassing too that we had 1 cup win in 114 years?

Nail on the head. Why bother following the football if you can’t get any enjoyment out of any of it.

10-10-2021, 11:24 AM
The good thing is that both Austria and Israel still have to play the Danes as well [emoji16]

Not Israel…already played them home and away….they do play each other though….

10-10-2021, 11:25 AM
Not Israel…already played them home and away….they do play each other though….

👍

10-10-2021, 11:42 AM
I'm I missing something?

Andy Considine sang it in drag for his stag do. The Scotland squad did it to wind him up / have a laugh.

10-10-2021, 11:48 AM

He's here!
10-10-2021, 11:59 AM
We’ve fallen quite far and people are happy that we’re starting to climb back up again.

I wasn’t even at the game but last night was brilliant. Don’t know if you really mean what you’re posting or if it’s just that thing where people like to pretend everything is terrible with the national team, even when it’s not.

I can take or leave international football if I'm honest. It's a minor distraction compared to the bread and butter, in the blood nature of following Hibs. Put it this way, if given the choice of Hibs winning their next game or Scotland qualifying for the next World Cup it's no contest. A Hibs win every time.

However, it's clear that after so many years of not even getting near a play-off that Scotland are finally making some progress. I can see why some aren't really getting the euphoria around beating a relatively minor football nation, but then we've been a relatively minor football nation for a long time so I think the celebrations are also understandable!

10-10-2021, 12:21 PM
The Scotland team were celebrating qualifying doing a conga to the song.

Heaven forbid some people have a laugh and dance around to pop song eh?

It started with considine singing it in drag at a stag do I think.

There’s nothing wrong with it but these things just get repeated so often they become tiring. I feel the same about the “2-0 down at tynie” song. It gets sung so often and it’s a tune that everyone has a song to and it starts to grate.

Souter96Mac
10-10-2021, 12:45 PM
Wonder if we'll rotate the team for Tuesday's match, some of the lads looked off their feet towards the end of that. However, the way that ended, the players buzz and adrenaline could help through it!

10-10-2021, 12:49 PM
Wonder if we'll rotate the team for Tuesday's match, some of the lads looked off their feet towards the end of that. However, the way that ended, the players buzz and adrenaline could help through it!

Would like to see NIsbet in for Adams.

10-10-2021, 01:13 PM
Nail on the head. Why bother following the football if you can’t get any enjoyment out of any of it.

Exactly, the boozer I was in was bouncing, I still got asked to leave for falling asleep (after the game) as did my mate! 2 out of 4 folk on another planet 😲

Sambuca and double vodkas to blame methinks.