View Full Version : Scotland

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

10-10-2021, 01:48 PM
Woke up with a few bruises all over my legs from celebrating McTominay’s goal at the game. :greengrin

Worth it.

10-10-2021, 02:42 PM
How did this " yes sir blah blah" start?
I am aware of the song but why have Scotland adopted this song? I've seen folks posting it on Facebook.
I'm I missing something?

Why did Celtic hijack Just Can’t Get Enough?

10-10-2021, 02:52 PM
I actually feel sorry for people who just can’t enjoy an absolutely marvellous occasion and result.

Context is everything but there seems to be a breed of fan- and Hibs have loads, who consistently want to downplay everything achieved by highlighting negatives or using the “how far have we fallen?” line in the mistaken belief that we were somehow previously a super power. Basically taking huge pride in never being satisfied… it’s no way to live.

I guess 2016 was nothing really to celebrate either as we only beat a Championship team in the final and were stuck in the Championship ourselves. Embarrassing too that we had 1 cup win in 114 years?

So basically you can stick your ‘perspective’ and let others be happy😉

Are you really comparing a last minute winner in a Scottish Cup final against Rangers to a last minute winner against lowly Israel to keep us a distant 2nd? Behave.

10-10-2021, 02:54 PM
Are you really comparing a last minute winner in a Scottish Cup final against Rangers to a last minute winner against Israel to keep us a distant 2nd? Behave.

Agreed. A poor comparison.

10-10-2021, 03:04 PM
Woke up with a few bruises all over my legs from celebrating McTominay’s goal at the game. :greengrin

Worth it.

You don't want to know where his bruise is.

10-10-2021, 03:18 PM
Are you really comparing a last minute winner in a Scottish Cup final against Rangers to a last minute winner against lowly Israel to keep us a distant 2nd? Behave.

There isn’t any comparison between the two things mentioned.

But why the need to try and play down the fact that we’re actually having a half decent campaign that is creating a bit of excitement?

10-10-2021, 03:25 PM
There isn’t any comparison between the two things mentioned.

But why the need to try and play down the fact that we’re actually having a half decent campaign that is creating a bit of excitement?

I had us dead and buried before the Austria game and now we are in the driving seat for the play offs.

The days of us qualifying for WCs as group winners are a long time ago, aside from anything else it's arguably harder now. The plays offs were our aim before a ball was kicked and all being well that's where we will now end up. Last night was a huge game regardless of opposition (and Israel are no mugs) and we won in the most dramatic fashion.

It's one to enjoy in the same way Hibs scoring a last minute winner v someone like Livingston to qualify for Europe is one to enjoy. Aye we used to win leagues in the 50s but that's not going to stop me going ****ing mental.

10-10-2021, 03:32 PM
I actually feel sorry for people who just can’t enjoy an absolutely marvellous occasion and result.

Context is everything but there seems to be a breed of fan- and Hibs have loads, who consistently want to downplay everything achieved by highlighting negatives or using the “how far have we fallen?” line in the mistaken belief that we were somehow previously a super power. Basically taking huge pride in never being satisfied… it’s no way to live.

I guess 2016 was nothing really to celebrate either as we only beat a Championship team in the final and were stuck in the Championship ourselves. Embarrassing too that we had 1 cup win in 114 years?

So basically you can stick your ‘perspective’ and let others be happy😉

Seriously 🤣

10-10-2021, 03:34 PM
I had us dead and buried before the Austria game and now we are in the driving seat for the play offs.

The days of us qualifying for WCs as group winners are a long time ago, aside from anything else it's arguably harder now. The plays offs were our aim before a ball was kicked and all being well that's where we will now end up. Last night was a huge game regardless of opposition (and Israel are no mugs) and we won in the most dramatic fashion.

It's one to enjoy in the same way Hibs scoring a last minute winner v someone like Livingston to qualify for Europe is one to enjoy. Aye we used to win leagues in the 50s but that's not going to stop me going ****ing mental.

There's always the danger against a team lower in the rankings that one or two players may have an off day and you get caught with your pants down and drop points you shouldn't have, so seeing the second half performance and rescuing success from the jaws of disaster will never grow old. Soon as you give a team at this level a lead then you're always going to struggle to claw it back.

Last night was to use an old cliche the sort of game that gets you into major tournaments - all the makings and beginning of an upset.

10-10-2021, 03:47 PM
No. It's a cringe. Especially when hardly anyone actually knows the words.

Nah it's brilliant a bit of fun and 50 k doing it to celebrate a hugely important win was wonderful to see. Was brilliant in the stadium seeing so many fans delighted with the win from old guys to loads of kids. Superb night.

10-10-2021, 03:50 PM

Same effect a win, 3 2 as well delirium in the stands.

Dr What If?
10-10-2021, 03:52 PM
I think Israel need to be given a bit more respect, they hammered Austria 5-2 and just a couple of years ago thumped them 4-2 in the Euro qualifiers as well. Zahavi plays for PSV, they have a couple of lads playing Serie A football and we know all about their keeper. You can put their results against us over the last few years down to Scotland being crap if you like but we are not the only team they have taken results off.

10-10-2021, 04:51 PM
Nah it's brilliant a bit of fun and 50 k doing it to celebrate a hugely important win was wonderful to see. Was brilliant in the stadium seeing so many fans delighted with the win from old guys to loads of kids. Superb night.

Yup.

The bairns around me giving it laldy, bouncing around with not a care in the world cause their team had just won.

Cringe so it is. 😂😭

10-10-2021, 04:52 PM
Yup.

The bairns around me giving it laldy, bouncing around with not a care in the world cause their team had just won.

Cringe so it is. 😂😭

Patter underclass

10-10-2021, 04:53 PM

Imagine Paco Luna had scored that header. It was like that.

When SDG scored in the final it was the weirdest emotional experience I have ever had, joy, excitement, fear, disbelief, shock, worry, happiness, memories flooding in and all together it was overpowering.

Last night was a much simpler experience as I have far less of my life invested in supporting Scotland. When the winner went in it was just pure joy and excitement. I'm an old cantankerous bugger and I had no issue dancing to Yes Sir I can Boogie and singing my heart out(words resembling the original). It was a fantastic experience and there is something really special about Hampden for Scotland games when the full stadium is singing. I will be trying to get tickets for future games and I hope they are all hard to get hold of.

10-10-2021, 05:00 PM
Patter underclass

Limmy's no fur me.

10-10-2021, 05:05 PM
I thought it was one of the most exciting games i've seen in a while, edge of seat stuff for the whole game.

Scotland are a bit like Hibs, making good progress but not quickly enough for some folk.

The match thread is a carbon copy of Hibs ones, we are crap when we are not winning, crap when we go behind and brilliant as soon as we win.

In reality, we are a decent side who are improving. :thumbsup:

Agree to an extent, the difference between this thread and a Hibs match thread is that at least some of the posters admit they don't support Scotland. :wink:

10-10-2021, 06:08 PM
I must admit that until recently I rarely went out my way to find streams to watch Scotland games. Now the problem is that, given that I don't watch any English football, I have very little idea who some of the players are.

10-10-2021, 07:28 PM
I must admit that until recently I rarely went out my way to find streams to watch Scotland games. Now the problem is that, given that I don't watch any English football, I have very little idea who some of the players are.

I was at the game yesterday. The campaign where we drew England and played them home and away was possibly my last as a supporters club member. The truth is I'm at that age where we're all having kids, priorities are changing a bit. That, coupled with Platini's "week of football" meaning that we're as likely to play on a Monday or Thursday night as we are on a Saturday meant that our group has gone from being relative die hards to armchair fans who will pitch up to the odd game.

So yesterday was the first Scotland game I'd been at since storming out of Hampden in a huff when Harry Kane scored his late equaliser a few years back.

I watch little English football but a reasonable amount of Scottish football and I'm an avid supporter of my own team. We were in the South West Stand yesterday and before the game the players were warming up down in our corner so we were quite close to them. They also did a fair bit of warming up along the touchline where we were during the game. I was f'ing ashamed to be asking my mate who some of the players were as I just didn't recognise them. I know all about them as players, I just don't know their faces and can't tell them apart easily when they're all in identical training kit and don't have positions or numbers to give them away. Liam Cooper, Liam Kelly I didn't know. Lewis Ferguson and Steven O'Donnell are two more I just didn't recognise. I've debated their relative merits as footballers to death on WhatsApp groups and message boards then realised I'd walk past them both in the street.

Now I know them though.

Felt like a bit of a twat being the one in the stand asking my mate who the players were. I thought my uberfan credentials were a bit better than that.

10-10-2021, 07:41 PM

When SDG scored in the final it was the weirdest emotional experience I have ever had, joy, excitement, fear, disbelief, shock, worry, happiness, memories flooding in and all together it was overpowering.

Last night was a much simpler experience as I have far less of my life invested in supporting Scotland. When the winner went in it was just pure joy and excitement. I'm an old cantankerous bugger and I had no issue dancing to Yes Sir I can Boogie and singing my heart out(words resembling the original). It was a fantastic experience and there is something really special about Hampden for Scotland games when the full stadium is singing. I will be trying to get tickets for future games and I hope they are all hard to get hold of.

Really well said. 2016 was an experience apart. To understand it you had to not only be there but have lived the decades thad led there.

He's here!
10-10-2021, 09:49 PM

Fair enough. I guess the fact that loathing disco was a fundamental aspect of my formative punk/new wave years tends to linger (I loved it when Hibs used to run out to Teenage Kicks under Mowbray. Now THAT'S a song to get happy to, not this I can boogie flim flam). I'd kind of assumed the song had died off with our Euro hopes in the summer so it's disappointing to hear it's still being wheeled out. Are England still playing Sweet Caroline? I'd rather we'd adopted that one.

He's here!
10-10-2021, 09:58 PM
Really well said. 2016 was an experience apart. To understand it you had to not only be there but have lived the decades thad led there.

Very true. Probably another reason I've always found it hard to get too invested in international football. The 'big day out, everyone welcome' vibe that accompanies it doesn't really cut it for me. The edge just isn't there. In saying that, if I could just shrug my shoulders and immediately move on from a Hibs defeat the way I can from a Scotland loss I'd almost certainly be a better balanced person!

mcohibs
10-10-2021, 10:02 PM
Fair enough. I guess the fact that loathing disco was a fundamental aspect of my formative punk/new wave years tends to linger (I loved it when Hibs used to run out to Teenage Kicks under Mowbray. Now THAT'S a song to get happy to, not this I can boogie flim flam). I'd kind of assumed the song had died off with our Euro hopes in the summer so it's disappointing to hear it's still being wheeled out. Are England still playing Sweet Caroline? I'd rather we'd adopted that one.

Think I'd walk away from football if Scotland or Hibs ever adopted Sweet Caroline

10-10-2021, 10:04 PM
Very true. Probably another reason I've always found it hard to get too invested in international football. The 'big day out, everyone welcome' vibe that accompanies it doesn't really cut it for me. The edge just isn't there. In saying that, if I could just shrug my shoulders and immediately move on from a Hibs defeat the way I can from a Scotland loss I'd almost certainly be a better balanced person!My first international was 2-0 against Sweden in 1981. There was 82k at Hampden and the experience far surpassed anything I'd lived up until then (and for probably the next 10 years) with Hibs.

Jamesconnolly
10-10-2021, 10:16 PM
I don't really think hibs games and Scotland games can or should be compared. Hibs winning the Cup was amazing didn't think I would ever see it. Scotland playing England is every bit as intense for me as a Derby. Scotland winning the world Cup would never be bettered. Just the nationalist in me.

11-10-2021, 03:18 AM
Great song indeed but I still always preferred Poly Styrene to the Undertones.....:greengrin

adam middlemass
11-10-2021, 04:38 AM

Yes, agree 100%. I wish i could put into words what i experience at some of these cup finals I’ve been to watching the Hibs - some of you guys are far more educated than me but I love reading your takings on anything involving the team we all love :agree::thumbsup:

11-10-2021, 05:51 AM
Watched most of the game back yesterday after going to the game Saturday and getting in a little late. Got to be said the booing of the Israel anthem really was pathetic and embarrassing to be honest.

11-10-2021, 07:43 AM
Great song indeed but I still always preferred Poly Styrene to the Undertones.....:greengrin

There is only the Clash, these bands you mentioned are mere pussy cats.

11-10-2021, 07:48 AM
Watched most of the game back yesterday after going to the game Saturday and getting in a little late. Got to be said the booing of the Israel anthem really was pathetic and embarrassing to be honest.

It's an apartheid racist state established in 1948 that has ethnically cleansed the Palestinian people, speaking as a Jew whose family are descended from Jerusalem. More and more people are becoming aware of the nature of Israel which is why they were booed by so many people.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/1948_Palestinian_exodus

11-10-2021, 08:19 AM
It's an apartheid racist state established in 1948 that has ethnically cleansed the Palestinian people, speaking as a Jew whose family are descended from Jerusalem. More and more people are becoming aware of the nature of Israel which is why they were booed by so many people.

I too have serious issues with the isreali state, however I hate the booing of other nations anthems. It only shows us in a bad light...not them.

11-10-2021, 08:43 AM
I too have serious issues with the isreali state, however I hate the booing of other nations anthems. It only shows us in a bad light...not them.

Agree with this …having visited Israel, almost everyone I met seems to be against the Zionist ruling government …Many lovely
People

Booing anthems is poor form from fans

I'm Spartacus
11-10-2021, 09:06 AM
The long term effect of nights like that cannot be understated, players now want to be part of that set up and hopefully the days of the Old Firm muppets withdrawing are gone, the fans want to go back and get that atmosphere going again, fans want to watch it on the TV, fans who were there that maybe don't go and support their SPL team might just get off their backside and buy a ticket.

Bangkok Hibby
11-10-2021, 09:12 AM

Everything you say is true but I've another take on it. Celtic fans, most who had neither knowledge of, nor cared a hoot about Palestine until it became a cause at Parkhead.
When I asked two Celtic fans why the new interest in Palestine the answer was "oppressed nation man" I assume they liken it to the troubles in Ireland.

11-10-2021, 09:27 AM
Agree with this …having visited Israel, almost everyone I met seems to be against the Zionist ruling government …Many lovely
People

Booing anthems is poor form from fans

Was it Tel Aviv or a similarly liberal place you went to? Because the Israeli voters in general do have a history of consistently voting for genocidal maniacs instead of the many liberal options out there.

Booing anthems was something everyone I knew did at Scotland England games so I’m not going to clutch my pearls at the current generation of fans doing it now, whether it’s England Germany or Scotland Israel.

11-10-2021, 09:30 AM
Was it Tel Aviv or a similarly liberal place you went to? Because the Israeli voters in general do have a history of consistently voting for genocidal maniacs instead of the many liberal options out there.

Booing anthems was something everyone I knew did at Scotland England games so I’m not going to clutch my pearls at the current generation of fans doing it now, whether it’s England Germany or Scotland Israel.

We had a great trip Bollah…started at Tel Aviv…then trekked all the way to Jerusalem through the mountains . Stayed in Jewish, Muslim and joint places along the way ..

Yes, Tel Aviv, very liberal ….

Martin

11-10-2021, 10:08 AM

Also very critical of the Israeli state however the booing of a national anthem is imo very poor and only makes us look bad. Think it is a bit of a habit at Hampden irrespective of the opposition and their politics.

11-10-2021, 10:23 AM

YSICB isn't Disco it's Europop

11-10-2021, 10:25 AM
Che Adams withdrawn from the squad, hopefully Nisbet gets a run out against Faroes on Tuesday.

11-10-2021, 10:44 AM
Che Adams withdrawn from the squad, hopefully Nisbet gets a run out against Faroes on Tuesday.

Hopefully Kev start. Seeing him on Saturday would have been the cheery on the cake

11-10-2021, 10:56 AM
Everything you say is true but I've another take on it. Celtic fans, most who had neither knowledge of, nor cared a hoot about Palestine until it became a cause at Parkhead.
When I asked two Celtic fans why the new interest in Palestine the answer was "oppressed nation man" I assume they liken it to the troubles in Ireland.
Its also because Rangers fans align themselves with Israel.

Bangkok Hibby
11-10-2021, 11:01 AM

Probably. Ask any of them to give you a brief breakdown of the history of Israel/Palestine and the majority wouldn't have a clue....embarrassing really.

11-10-2021, 11:39 AM
YSICB isn't Disco it's Europop

A.Pedant writes...it's actually Eurodisco.

Anything that promotes joy and is sung when the national team does well will do for me.

11-10-2021, 11:50 AM

We are missing out here, who can we align ourselves with to give us a cause to get behind?:greengrin

11-10-2021, 11:55 AM
We are missing out here, who can we align ourselves with to give us a cause to get behind?:greengrin

I am thinking something radical like Hibernian FC, now there is a “cause” that needs all our support 😉

11-10-2021, 11:56 AM
I am thinking something radical like Hibernian FC, now there is a “cause” that needs all our support 😉
Where is the fun in that? :wink:

11-10-2021, 12:02 PM

Nah- you know fine well I'm not 'comparing' the two so you're the one needing to behave. Well done on getting a few other posters debating my supposed comparison though.

Just for clarity, the point being made was that if you're so inclined you can technically put a negative slant on ANY situation if you're really hell bent on doing so. Clearly my reference to 2016 was to highlight that and show how ridiculous it can be- seeing as it was probably most people on here's best football experience, myself included.

So no, and for the benefit of the hard of thinking, I was in no way saying that Scotland winning on Saturday was in any way similar to us winning the cup, or that it felt the same. I'll stick by what I did mean which was that I find it sad that some people can't get joy out of a great moment in their determination to be negative at all costs when there's no need.

11-10-2021, 12:17 PM
Independance for Leith😁

11-10-2021, 12:23 PM

Taliban, free smack for us hivs. :thumbsup:

11-10-2021, 12:28 PM
Independance for Leith😁

11-10-2021, 12:44 PM
The People's Republic of Leith.
Anthem We are the People😁

11-10-2021, 01:11 PM
Since when? Never seen that mentioned before.

Bangkok Hibby
11-10-2021, 01:16 PM

Ryan Porteous

11-10-2021, 01:29 PM

Mostly a reaction to the Republican-Palestinian "alignment". :rolleyes:

https://www.haaretz.com/world-news/europe/.premium.MAGAZINE-a-proxy-israeli-palestinian-conflict-is-playing-out-thousands-of-miles-away-1.8061545

11-10-2021, 01:33 PM

I've seen one or two Israel flags before after the Palestine flags began showing up at Celtic Park, a few on Twitter as well have done the whole union jack and Israel flag handshake patter too.

What I would say is that these people are very much a minority and while I do think most Celtic fans would say they support the Palestinian cause (how much each of them know about it all can be debated). I don't think the same can be said of Rangers fans and Israel beyond a few looking for a rise out of Celtic fans and maybe a couple others with ulterior motives.

11-10-2021, 01:36 PM

They don't.

They just do it to antagonise Celtic fans because they sympathise with Palestinians.

Celtic fans only do this because of the connection between the IRA / PLO from days gone by.

Neither of them give a toss about the actual issue.

Bangkok Hibby
11-10-2021, 01:41 PM
They don't.

They just do it to antagonise Celtic fans because they sympathise with Palestinians.

Celtic fans only do this because of the connection between the IRA / PLO from days gone by.

Neither of them give a toss about the actual issue.

Exactly! As I said...pathetic.

Edit, maybe I said embarrassing, same thing.

11-10-2021, 01:46 PM
Saw a video on YouTube Rangers fans outside a club flags flying union jack ulster flag Israel flag. Rangers fans asked about the Israeli flag and the said the saw the Israelis as being in the same position as the proddys in Northern Ireland. Have seen Israeli flags at Rangers games.

11-10-2021, 01:54 PM
I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm sure Celtic used to fly a Palestinian flag over the jungle, along with that of the Basque country and I don't know where else.

I'm also pretty sure that Rangers supporters first countered this with Israeli flags when they signed Avi Cohen, thus giving them an excuse.

11-10-2021, 02:21 PM
The People's Republic of Leith.
Anthem We are the People😁

Splitters! You should join the Leith People's Republic.

11-10-2021, 02:29 PM
I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm sure Celtic used to fly a Palestinian flag over the jungle, along with that of the Basque country and I don't know where else.

I'm also pretty sure that Rangers supporters first countered this with Isreali flags when they signed Avi Cohen, thus giving them an excuse.
I remember the flags starting to appear around that time. Was on a train back from London sitting opposite two Israeli people who were going to see Avi Cohen play for Rangers, they were astounded about the Bigotry in Glasgow and in the two football teams.
Getting back on topic what a game that was. Hope for 9 points from next 3 games 7 will do though.

11-10-2021, 02:32 PM
Splitters! You should join the Leith People's Republic.
We can form a strong coalition should be plenty of Greens ready to come on board.
THE SUNSHINE STATE

11-10-2021, 02:35 PM

I'm also pretty sure that Rangers supporters first countered this with Israeli flags when they signed Avi Cohen, thus giving them an excuse.

I remember seeing IRA/PLO same struggle badges in the early 80's

Souter96Mac
12-10-2021, 07:47 AM
Don't think I've looked forward to an away game Vs Faroes as much as this tonight.

Good to have Hanley back available too, as I'm sure he'll come back in and help tighten us up at the back - albeit against not as good opposition as Israel, but we can't get complacent.

Tonight's game is also important for the 2nd place seedings, as it only recognises results against 1st-5th, which it'll look like the Faroes will fall in.

Here's my team for tonight:
Gordon
McTominay Hanley Tierney
Patterson Gilmour McGregor McGinn Robertson
Dykes Nisbet

12-10-2021, 08:00 AM
Would personally drop gilmour for someone like turnbull tonight

12-10-2021, 08:37 AM
Haven't been this excited for a qualification game since, uh, Georgia away in 2007. :paranoid:

Wakeyhibee
12-10-2021, 09:04 AM

Gilmours been outstanding, if anyone its a toss up between McGregor & Turnbull for me.

12-10-2021, 09:25 AM
Gilmours been outstanding, if anyone its a toss up between McGregor & Turnbull for me.

Just think there are more goals in someone like turnbull than gilmour but yip could be a similar argument with mcgregor and turnbull

12-10-2021, 10:24 AM
Huge night tonight as goal difference could well be the deciding factor when it comes to the seedlings for second placed teams. Moldova results will be wiped so next months GD doesn’t matter. Tonight and Denmark are the big ones. Win both we’ll be seeded I’d imagine. Racking up a few goals tonight would help.

12-10-2021, 10:52 AM
I remember seeing IRA/PLO same struggle badges in the early 80's

PLO fighters used to come through safe houses to train with the Provisional IRA in the 70s. Both N.Ireland and Palestine have seen settler populations used to take their rights away.

Many Israelis are waking up to the aparthiad regime:

https://lm.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.haaretz.com%2Fopinion%2F .premium-time-to-call-a-spade-a-spade-israel-is-an-apartheid-regime-1.10282855&h=AT1Fna5g3aybn-AniKlgsQSr6jiAaNqeM5rq8WDY8klI-o5p_Xte4csLlfkurl-Wg1XC6fmeD4kNebUo5n-g0dXV5_AajWsz4hX4JVosKN4q7CGdaIYWo_XRYRct8zExOq1-

houstonhibbee
12-10-2021, 10:58 AM
Huge night tonight as goal difference could well be the deciding factor when it comes to the seedlings for second placed teams. Moldova results will be wiped so next months GD doesn’t matter. Tonight and Denmark are the big ones. Win both we’ll be seeded I’d imagine. Racking up a few goals tonight would help.
Let’s just make sure we get three points

12-10-2021, 11:55 AM

If we don’t then the likelihood is we won’t be qualifying for the playoffs anyway. We have to win by a few to give ourselves the best chance of getting a decent draw.

12-10-2021, 12:00 PM
Let's hope we're ALL singing this tonight.

https://twitter.com/ScotlandNT/status/1446970898100203528

https://twitter.com/ScotlandNT/status/1446903288775991300

12-10-2021, 12:23 PM

Billy Gilmour will control the midfield and dictate tempo for us like nobody else we have can. No way whatsoever he is dropped.

Hanley will come back - and thank goodness. Only other change will be who replaces Adams and I'm guessing it will be Christie as he was very good and creative when he came on last Saturday.

12-10-2021, 12:33 PM

12-10-2021, 02:25 PM

Personally wouldn't change the midfield and personally struggle a bit with Turnbull. A sub nothing else at present imo. This will be a tough game on horrible pitch against more physical team. Just about getting the win. Think Christie will start in front of Kevin.

12-10-2021, 02:30 PM
If we don’t then the likelihood is we won’t be qualifying for the playoffs anyway. We have to win by a few to give ourselves the best chance of getting a decent draw.

Think if we win next two we are sure to be seeded.

Spudster
12-10-2021, 02:31 PM
Hanley will come back - and thank goodness. Only other change will be who replaces Adams and I'm guessing it will be Christie as he was very good and creative when he came on last Saturday.

Argument to be had that we shouldn't need Hanley tonight. I view Hanley as no nonsense type CB whereas the 3 on Saturday are all very good going forward.

12-10-2021, 02:32 PM
Argument to be had that we shouldn't need Hanley tonight. I view Hanley as no nonsense type CB whereas the 3 on Saturday are all very good going forward.

He should theoretically tighten us up at set pieces Saturday none of our centre backs were commanding in the air.

12-10-2021, 02:41 PM
He should theoretically tighten us up at set pieces Saturday none of our centre backs were commanding in the air.

:agree: And he's dangerous in the oppositions box too.

12-10-2021, 02:44 PM
:agree: And he's dangerous in the oppositions box too.

Yep a good threat to have in a likely to be tight game with opposition sitting in.

12-10-2021, 03:09 PM
Think if we win next two we are sure to be seeded.

The Moldova game means nothing in terms of seeding (we lose the points and GD due to being in a group of 6 and them finishing bottom). We need to beat them to finish second though. Likely need a result against Denmark and if not then tonight’s goal difference will be a big factor.

12-10-2021, 03:12 PM
When I think of the Faroes I can’t help but smile at the memory of some of the tartan army singing ,,,,,

”Puffins! You only eat deep fried puffins, deep fried puffins you only eat deep fried puffins.”

Childish I know, but funny as at the time and the locals laughed too. Best thing about that 2-2 draw for many.:greengrin

He's here!
12-10-2021, 03:45 PM
[QUOTE=Bangkok Hibby;6719931]Everything you say is true but I've another take on it. Celtic fans, most who had neither knowledge of, nor cared a hoot about Palestine until it became a cause at Parkhead.
When I asked two Celtic fans why the new interest in Palestine the answer was "oppressed nation man" I assume they liken it to the troubles in Ireland.[/QUOTE

It can get embarrassing (or even excruciating) when people are asked to explain their views on Israel/Palestine and don't actually have a clue:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7DoywTGsWfs

He's here!
12-10-2021, 03:53 PM

Hard to imagine anyone seriously believes we might not get three points.

Callyballybe
12-10-2021, 03:57 PM

Absolutely brilliant. I'm off to listen to McCoist's reaction to our 3rd goal again.

12-10-2021, 04:18 PM

I watched their game the other night. Not a bad side. Play well and we win, play badly and we might not.

12-10-2021, 04:22 PM
I watched their game the other night. Not a bad side. Play well and we win, play badly and we might not.

A side who haven’t picked up 1 single point against any of the top 4 seeds I’d say are a bad side. Scotland on a bad night should win by a couple comfortably. Would take a daft early sending off to really sway the game tonight for me.

Gordy M
12-10-2021, 04:35 PM
A side who haven’t picked up 1 single point against any of the top 4 seeds I’d say are a bad side. Scotland on a bad night should win by a couple comfortably. Would take a daft early sending off to really sway the game tonight for me.

Mmm, a win is the important thing, they only lost one nil to a Danish penalty in the last 10 mins, and Austria only beat them 2-0 with a very lucky 2nd goal. To say we should be winning by a few is maybe being at bit ott. Il take any win at the mo.

Callyballybe
12-10-2021, 04:56 PM
As much as it would be great to say we should be putting a few past them without worry, I've been Scottish far too long to even consider being so confident! Regardless of their history as a footballing nation, if the Danes only managed a 1-0 win with a late penalty, and it wasn't a walk in the park either for the Austrians when they visited Tórsvøllur, then this could be tougher than we expect. Hopefully the players aren't coming into this with such 'exuberant confidence'. :greengrin

Callyballybe
12-10-2021, 04:58 PM

I hadn't thought about an early sending off. Yet another thing to worry about now! :grr:

12-10-2021, 04:59 PM
We should win comfortably tonight but as Clarke says, these so called minnow teams are well organised nowadays and are stuffy and harder to break down, patience will be needed.

12-10-2021, 04:59 PM
We should win comfortably tonight but as Clarke says, these so called minnow teams are well organised nowadays and are stuffy and harder to break down, patience will be needed.

And it’s on a plastic pitch too

hibee316
12-10-2021, 05:03 PM
Just think there are more goals in someone like turnbull than gilmour but yip could be a similar argument with mcgregor and turnbull

Couldn't disagree more!

We just scored 3 goals (going on 5!) With Gilmour playing against a better side than the Faroes.

12-10-2021, 05:03 PM
No chance it will be comfortable tonight, expect similar to all the other times we've played there. Only thing that matters is to get any kind of win.

12-10-2021, 05:26 PM
Nisbet on the bench again

12-10-2021, 05:27 PM
Couldn't disagree more!

We just scored 3 goals (going on 5!) With Gilmour playing against a better side than the Faroes.

How many did gilmour score? I havent said he isnt a good player as he seems to be but we need goals from other midfielders not just john mcginn constantly

12-10-2021, 05:33 PM
Surprised Fraser is in. Not in the picture for Newcastle.

12-10-2021, 05:35 PM
Surprised Fraser is in. Not in the picture for Newcastle.

Wing back probably, think he will offer more going forward than patterson but will see

12-10-2021, 05:40 PM

I would expect him to be on for the second half if we haven’t scored by then. Not because he’s our club but because the nation needs a win. Who comes off to accommodate him is a decision for Mr Clarke.

12-10-2021, 05:49 PM
Not a fan of that team at all, I get the need to rotate. One upfront against the Faroes ffs

hibby rae
12-10-2021, 05:58 PM

From a Hibs perspective I'm cool with that, he could do with a wee break. Been full on for him this season.

But from a Scotland one it would be nice to see him get more game time and a chance to add some goals

12-10-2021, 06:08 PM
Not a fan of that team at all, I get the need to rotate. One upfront against the Faroes ffsDisagree. Just because he has 1 out and out striker on the park doesn't mean he's not playing 2 up top. Also doesn't mean we won't be as attacking, Christie was brilliant when he came on against Israel.

Despite being a Hibs fan, I think Christie is a better player than Nisbet and trust Clarke's decision. Too easy to say that just because he's not playing Nisbet he's going to have us sitting deep or playing defensively.

12-10-2021, 06:11 PM
Disagree. Just because he has 1 out and out striker on the park doesn't mean he's not playing 2 up top. Also doesn't mean we won't be as attacking, Christie was brilliant when he came on against Israel.

Despite being a Hibs fan, I think Christie is a better player than Nisbet and trust Clarke's decision. Too easy to say that just because he's not playing Nisbet he's going to have us sitting deep or playing defensively.

It's not just because he's not playing Nisbet.

He's playing one striker against Faroes.

12-10-2021, 06:13 PM

Most teams play one up front these days, even the best teams.

12-10-2021, 06:13 PM

He's playing plenty attackers

mcohibs
12-10-2021, 06:14 PM
Not a fan of that team at all, I get the need to rotate. One upfront against the Faroes ffs

Will be two up top, Christie and Dykes

12-10-2021, 06:17 PM
Will be two up top, Christie and Dykes

Even bigger insult to Nisbet imo, getting bumped for an attacking mid to play as a striker.

mcohibs
12-10-2021, 06:19 PM
Even bigger insult to Nisbet imo, getting bumped for an attacking mid to play as a striker.

On second thought it may well be McGinn and Christie sitting behind Dykes

12-10-2021, 06:19 PM

Denmark the team who have dominated the group scored their winner in this 'tie in the 85th minute.

12-10-2021, 06:23 PM

Don't think it is an insult just a recognition Christie played well on Saturday when he came on. I am sure he will get some game time tonight.

12-10-2021, 06:32 PM

there's just something special with a capacity Hampden Park

12-10-2021, 06:46 PM
Budge will be admiring that wall of glass behind the goal🤔😂

12-10-2021, 06:47 PM
We really need to be pumping this team. No excuses about them being decent etc.

12-10-2021, 06:50 PM
Big scare for Scotland, a better team scores that.

Crunchie
12-10-2021, 06:50 PM
Denmark are very decent and they struggled to overcome them, I think we'll win but we won't pump them as you call it.

12-10-2021, 06:54 PM
Poor passing and composure from us here, Faroes should've scored.

12-10-2021, 06:56 PM
It’s a cracking wee stadium that. Sometimes small stadiums can be quite crappy and have no atmosphere, but this ones great. Does anyone know what the capacity is?

12-10-2021, 06:57 PM
I really hate plastic pitches.:rolleyes:

12-10-2021, 06:58 PM
It may be the surface and conditions but McTominey looks off the pace and really average at best.

12-10-2021, 07:00 PM
It’s a cracking wee stadium that. Sometimes small stadiums can be quite crappy and have no atmosphere, but this ones great. Does anyone know what the capacity is?

JXM73
12-10-2021, 07:03 PM
Loving the faroes musuc, rivers of babylon now that tetris tune

12-10-2021, 07:03 PM
Looks like all the Faroe fans have been given some sort of rattle. Decent atmosphere

The dalmeny
12-10-2021, 07:04 PM

a comment illustrating one of the things wrong with Scottish football

12-10-2021, 07:05 PM

They have improved massively from the fodder they once were

12-10-2021, 07:06 PM

Not really. If he had said we should be it would have been.

12-10-2021, 07:08 PM
Gordon makes a brilliant save, thought that was in.

SJNB Hibby
They have improved massively from the fodder they once were

And when they were fodder we didnt exactly cover ourselves in glory

fs Hendry why give away a stupid foul in their penalty box

there's just something special with a capacity Hampden Park

Imagine how good it would be if we knew the words!

aw wow great save Gordon

12-10-2021, 07:09 PM
Faroes looking dangerous.

We really need to get going here, that’s another good chance for them.

Scotland shambolic. Where is Scott Mctominay? Is he not meant to be the CDM?

FFS a long ball does us there, Jack Hendry is all over the place.:rolleyes:

12-10-2021, 07:10 PM
another great chance for them

i tense up when i see the opposition in our penalty box

12-10-2021, 07:10 PM
Fantastic save by Gordon . We need to give ourselves a shake here. Everything is so incredibly slow.

12-10-2021, 07:11 PM
Thank **** for Gordon

12-10-2021, 07:11 PM
Formation is wrong for me.

12-10-2021, 07:15 PM
Very disjointed performance so far, defence looks shaky again.

12-10-2021, 07:15 PM

Don’t think that’s the problem. They’re just not doing basic things like tackle or pass to each other well enough.

12-10-2021, 07:16 PM

Only playing a back 3 to fit in Tierney and Robertson but it doesn't really suit us.

12-10-2021, 07:17 PM
Very disjointed performance so far, defence looks shaky again.
:agree: Where is McTominay supposed to be playing, he's been slow and ponderous from the start. We are far too cautious and just let them get back into shape.

Fraser might as well be sitting next to me too.

12-10-2021, 07:19 PM
Only playing a back 3 to fit in Tierney and Robertson but it doesn't really suit us.

The pair of them have got a great understanding now. It absolutely gets the best from them. Not so far tonight but the relative success we’ve had has been built on that formation.

We need to get two or three goals as they look like scoring.

When did McTominay become a freekick specialist ffs, that was brutal.

Very poor effort from McTominay from a free kick in a decent position.

12-10-2021, 07:20 PM
Don’t think that’s the problem. They’re just not doing basic things like tackle or pass to each other well enough.

Often a symptom of the wrong formation.

But either way very poor so far.

12-10-2021, 07:21 PM
Often a symptom of the wrong formation.

But either way very poor so far.

And against a side representing a country with a smaller population than Inverness 😖

12-10-2021, 07:23 PM
Christie booked and will miss the next match.

12-10-2021, 07:24 PM
Christie should be nowhere near the starting 11. Very poor.

That is a couple of times we have got behind them and the crosser is trying to pick up a single Scotland player among 6 or 7 defenders. Need to be a bit braver and commit more men forward

idiot christie

misses next match as well

The pair of them have got a great understanding now. It absolutely gets the best from them. Not so far tonight but the relative success we’ve had has been built on that formation.

But we're playing Fraser wide right as a wingback when we have a proper one on the bench, McTominay one game CH the next midfield, just so disjointed again, no rhythm.

Christie should be nowhere near the starting 11. Very poor.

Agreed. Blessing he's out the Moldova game

12-10-2021, 07:25 PM
Christie booked and will miss the next match.

Thank god as he’s pretty poor.

McTominay is having and absolute shocker.

Someone tell mcTominay to stay in our half.

12-10-2021, 07:26 PM
If they score first we aint winning this

12-10-2021, 07:26 PM
The Faroe Islands are making Scotland look like San Marino…….

12-10-2021, 07:27 PM
Is McTominay any good for Man Utd. Just don't see it myself when he plays for Scotland. Faroes look at least as good as us so far

12-10-2021, 07:28 PM
This has been a shocker of a performance.

12-10-2021, 07:28 PM
This first half has been utter keek.

12-10-2021, 07:29 PM
Where has the team from the second half on Saturday gone??

12-10-2021, 07:29 PM
Get McTominay off he's absolute pish tonight.

12-10-2021, 07:30 PM
we really do like giving away cheap fouls near our box

If you have McGinn as the box2box and and Gilmour sitting as the playmaker, McTominay needs to sit back and give Gilmour an out ball, he's all over the place.

stuart-farquhar
This first half has been utter keek.

The school orchestra has been a novel idea though.

12-10-2021, 07:31 PM

Someone tell McTominay he’s supposed to be a football player

Really poor from Scotland this half.

Robertson turns back on himself like prime Lewy Stevenson

On a positive note I’ve got tickets for the Denmark game, we might need something from that now. :greengrin

12-10-2021, 07:32 PM
Half time 0-0.

Absolutely dreadful so far.

12-10-2021, 07:32 PM
How are the Faroe Islands players deemed as qualifying to play for them?

As they are not a nation per se nor can you be a citizen of the Faroes.

Are they actually a Denmark B team?

Either way they are pretty handy for a ‘nation’ of 50,000 people!

12-10-2021, 07:33 PM
ffs McTominay lift the damn thing there's two waiting on it

12-10-2021, 07:33 PM
Utter pish

12-10-2021, 07:34 PM

Independent since 1945. No?

12-10-2021, 07:34 PM
That's enough for me for tonight. Brutal watch.

12-10-2021, 07:35 PM
That's enough for me for tonight. Brutal watch.

Slow, slow… then slower.

Always think Clarke makes too many changes and dropping McGregor in a game where we need to keep the ball moving was just stupid. And Patterson needs to come on.

Massive improvement needed.

All their players were born there on the islands.

I think they have a similar status to Scotland.

12-10-2021, 07:36 PM
Dismal disjointed first half. Think we will see Nissy come on at ht or very early 2nd half.

12-10-2021, 07:37 PM
McTominay has been really poor, just because he's Man U doesn't mean he's a brilliant player, decidedly average and the reason Man U are winning nothing at the moment, is Fraser playing? get the young lad Patterson on for the 2nd half.

Not accordingly to my Google.

Born in Faroes gives you danish citizenship (if one or both parents are Danish).

Seems to be a ‘protectorate’

hhibs
McTominay ,worse than a man down,Robertson ,did he make even one forward pass ?

Clarke has to sort this out at half time or this has the hallmarks of a bad night for us.

idiot christie

misses next match as well
Won't be a bad thing not the same player as a few years ago.
Hendry has been very poor. Manager needs to change the formation, needs two up top

They're not independent, they have a devolved goverment but they're part of the Kingdom of Denmark.

Bobo
12-10-2021, 07:38 PM
Pathetic 45 minutes from Scotland, no pace and very little football on show. Far too many players well below standard so far.

Fraser, Christie, McTomany and Hendrie have all been really poor with the rest not much better, far from good enough.

All their players were born there on the islands.

I think they have a similar status to Scotland.

Ahh got ya.

Some handy players for sure and if that’s what they can do with 50,000 Scotland could do with taking a few lessons on player development!

Always think Clarke makes too many changes and dropping McGregor in a game where we need to keep the ball moving was just stupid. And Patterson needs to come on.

McGregor would just be another of the “pass back” brigade. Rather see Turnbull on.

McGregor dropped to fit in McTominay, Clarke has his favourites.

12-10-2021, 07:39 PM
I have horrible feeling of de ja vu. Hope I’m just being panicky.

Dismal disjointed first half. Think we will see Nissy come on at ht or very early 2nd half.

Unless it’s for Dykes we won’t see him early. We need someone running the channels. Neither do they. That’s why Christie is on the pitch.

Ahh got ya.

Some handy players for sure and if that’s what they can do with 50,000 Scotland could do with taking a few lessons on player development!

To be honest it straight out of the St Johnston school of football. Dull as a very dull thing

12-10-2021, 07:40 PM
They're not independent, they have a devolved goverment but they're part of the Kingdom of Denmark.

Very like Scotland then!

Davy Mac
Time for a movie cause this is pish

Keyser Sauzee
Is McFadden a Hun?

12-10-2021, 07:41 PM
With Nisbet not included, I was satisfied that at least he would avoid injury before our next game. We are so poor, however, that Clarke might have to ring the changes and bring him on.

12-10-2021, 07:42 PM
Haud ma pint, a feel a campaign coming on. This could be our answer to the question posed about a cause for hibs fans to get behind. Independence for the Faroes. :greengrin
https://i.ibb.co/PNZdP1b/A1872-AFB-3-F79-430-A-987-A-38375-F3-D3-EAE.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

12-10-2021, 07:43 PM
Must replace Fraser, he's been anonymous which is poor considering the opposition.

I think it's might be similar to Saturday in that changes aren't the most important we just need our 11 to play much better.

12-10-2021, 07:44 PM

Agree don't get that change would have kept Mctominay at the back and binned Hendry. McGregor links the play with Gilmour much better than Mctominay does.

McGregor was a Clarke favourite when he was playing poorly last season. If he feels he has to play McTominay then drop Hendry.

Coisty is right, we need to be taking on and beating players. Only Tierney has done it and in the last minute. Fraser a passenger.

Surely we cant play that badly agin in the 2nd half. :worried:

ClermistonGreen
Does anyone really care ?

12-10-2021, 07:45 PM
Unless it’s for Dykes we won’t see him early. We need someone running the channels. Neither do they. That’s why Christie is on the pitch.

I’d like to see Paterson on and allow Fraser to play further up the park. Feel he’s stunted where he is at wing back. Paterson was excellent on Saturday and seems to be forming a good relationship with Gilmour

Is McFadden a Hun?

Why you ask? Think he may have been a Sellik fan as kid not sure

Given that we’re up to 24 pages m going to say yes. If you don’t why did you come on this thread?

Clearly enough to comment on a thread about it

does anyone really care ?

ltfif.

Keyser Sauzee
12-10-2021, 07:47 PM
Why you ask? Think he may have been a Sellik fan as kid not sure

Always wondered that’s all

12-10-2021, 07:47 PM

dear o dear :faf:

12-10-2021, 07:49 PM

Not passionately, but I would always have more than a passing interest in our sporting progress in any competition. I wouldn’t lose much sleep over it, to be honest.

Paul1642
12-10-2021, 07:50 PM

Easy to be indifferent when it goes wrong, but yes, I would go mental if we got to a World Cup

12-10-2021, 07:50 PM
Looked like Christie was brought down also looked like he was offside.

12-10-2021, 07:51 PM
If it's not offside it's a penalty.

12-10-2021, 07:51 PM
No penalty.

12-10-2021, 07:52 PM
No penalty.
It was offside

12-10-2021, 07:52 PM
What is McTominay actually for?

12-10-2021, 07:54 PM
Give it 10 more minutes then bring Nisbet on.

12-10-2021, 07:54 PM
Great ball by Fraser and Dykes attempts to kick it like a carthorse.

12-10-2021, 07:55 PM
It was offside

:agree: Very close but the right call.

12-10-2021, 07:55 PM
Looking far better already this half.

12-10-2021, 07:56 PM
This is a horrendous result as things stand. Faroe Islands has a population of 48,000. This is Scotland versus a country the size of Dunfermline. Hoping they will tire a lot though.

12-10-2021, 07:57 PM
If Scotland don't win this we'll possibly need to win our last two games (including v Denmark) to finish second.

12-10-2021, 07:59 PM
Have we had a shot on target yet?

DIXIHIBS
12-10-2021, 08:04 PM
This is a horrendous result as things stand. Faroe Islands has a population of 48,000. This is Scotland versus a country the size of Dunfermline. Hoping they will tire a lot though.

More people in hampden on saturday!

12-10-2021, 08:05 PM
Have we had a shot on target yet?

One!

A single shot on target v Faroe Islands in over an hour is shocking.

12-10-2021, 08:06 PM
Oh look! Scottish football fans trusted with alcohol in the stadium!

Scotland will win this 1-0.

gilmore just wide :(

One!

A single shot on target v Faroe Islands in over an hour is shocking.

It's that poor I'm on here posting about it.

12-10-2021, 08:08 PM
Another chance for the Faroes. 🙄

12-10-2021, 08:09 PM
Oh joy. Passback McGregor just what we need

Dykes booked, misses next match.

This is the time to bring Nisbet on, we’re playing the ****in Faroe Islands ffs. Bringing on another striker with 5 minutes to go is ridiculous, get him on now.

12-10-2021, 08:10 PM
Need a goal……bring on another midfielder😡

yet another yellow card for dykes

not sure about that one

he misses next game as well

Have to see Nisbet on for him now. Just so he feels he’s not an after thought against Moldova

Need a goal ? Bring on another striker ? Naaah I’ll bring on Callum McGregor. WTF

And Christie. Surely Nisbet starts this time.

12-10-2021, 08:11 PM
Dykes needs to come off now. We could be down to ten in a heartbeat.

12-10-2021, 08:13 PM
McTominay jumps, pushes Hanley who in turn pushes the defender, free kick, just brutal.

12-10-2021, 08:14 PM
Need a goal ? Bring on another striker ? Naaah I’ll bring on Callum McGregor. WTF

He's never been seen as an adventurous coach has he?

12-10-2021, 08:15 PM
c'mon robertson lift the freakin ball man fgs

10 minutes into the game I loved that Tetris tune.. doing my tits in now tho.

Scotland playing to the level of the opposition.

12-10-2021, 08:16 PM
He's never been seen as an adventurous coach has he?

His teams reflect his personality J-C - dour.

12-10-2021, 08:17 PM
Failure to win this and Moldova next month should see Clarke sacked.

Just_Jimmy
If we fail to win this he should be shown the door.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

We’ve got them hemmed in but not remotely likely to score. I hope we don’t fall to a sucker punch.