View Full Version : Match Updates Rangers v Hibs
03-10-2021, 05:40 PM
You saw all that on first view?
Well aye, it was outside the box where he dug the pitch up.
03-10-2021, 05:41 PM
Has anyone other than a Hibs or Celtic supporter said it's not a red?
Sitting beside a mate whos neither…First thought the ref was right then after a couple of reply’s said it was a joke decision.
03-10-2021, 05:42 PM
Yep agreed.
Really disappointed with Jack today - awful acquiescence. Stand up man !!!
03-10-2021, 05:43 PM
Porteous has got an unfair reputation because of incidents against one team. Who have been very vocal about him. The undeserved reputation and crowd got him sent off. But our manager understands it….
Just like we understand why they can’t give us tickets. And it’ll be understandable that we’ll need to give up 20% of our own stadium.
Really disappointed, not least because I thought we looked very good before the unjust red card.
03-10-2021, 05:44 PM
What JR said is accurate, but I’d rather he’d gone full green tinted specs in his interview and bring up other shocking decisions we’ve had against the Huns in recent games. Make referees think twice about awarding decisions against us. By all means though say what he did behind closed doors.
03-10-2021, 05:45 PM
[QUOTE=Hibee Mac;6713221]It's almost like the narrative that Boyle is a diver, it just becomes self feeding so that every time Porteous makes a rough tackle the media jump all over it. Now no ref in the country will give him the benefit of the doubt in situations like this and it'll be a red every time.[
Exactly. And Slippy is stoking this up as we speak. Refs are always going to play safe at Ipox and give any contentious decision their way, because it keeps them out of the media largely.
If a Hibs player does a bad tackle and he doesn't send him off, we get Gerrard going mental in the press, with days of media handwringing about standards. Walsh then probably doesn’t get to referee any big games for the foreseeable. If a Hibs player makes a tackle and he wrongly decides to send him off and it turns the game the media largely shrug their shoulders and say 'thems the breaks', Walsh continues to get the big games and the huns keep on getting the decisions.
03-10-2021, 05:46 PM
I ****ing hate Kevin Thomson btw. Hun sympathising wee prick. Never want to hear him pretend to be a Hibs fan again.
03-10-2021, 05:46 PM
Too honest?
Very honest and spot on. We will be hard pressed to win any appeal for that one. I don’t think that a Rangers player would have walked for the same tackle due to home advantage but Porto gave the ref all he needed. I still love him though. :greengrin
03-10-2021, 05:48 PM
What JR said is accurate, but I’d rather he’d gone full green tinted specs in his interview and bring up other shocking decisions we’ve had against the Huns in recent games. Make referees think twice about awarding decisions against us. By all means though say what he did behind closed doors.
They slaughter Porteous publicly every time we play them. It’s a joke. Just stick up for your player.
That decision wasn’t taken in isolation today IMO. Paul Hanlon wouldn’t have been red carded for it.
LeithMike
03-10-2021, 05:50 PM
It's almost like the narrative that Boyle is a diver, it just becomes self feeding so that every time Porteous makes a rough tackle the media jump all over it. Now no ref in the country will give him the benefit of the doubt in situations like this and it'll be a red every time.Perhaps that might be what he needs so he can start to play with his head. A few weeks ago against Livingston he was diving in near his own penalty box too.
I like a good sliding tackle, not much better when it is timed right and you nick the ball from the attacker. There was no need for Porteous to do it in that situation and while he got the ball his timing was still off, he slid a long way and he was out of control. Really poor judgement.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Just_Jimmy
03-10-2021, 05:51 PM
https://twitter.com/DMcIver22/status/1444683997179785228?s=19
At last decent footage.
The best angle is between 22 and 23 seconds
Freeze it at 23 seconds.
At that point Ryan is travelling at speed, his feet are both off the ground and he appears to all but miss the ball with his lead foot.
On a good day he might have got away with a yellow but in this day and age that is considered reckless and could endanger an opponent.Whys the hun rolling around. He doesn't touch him. Regardless of the argument if its red or not, there's no debate that he didn't make contact so why is the hun prick rolling around like he's been snapped in half?
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
03-10-2021, 05:52 PM
They slaughter Porteous publicly every time we play them. It’s a joke. Just stick up for your player.
That decision wasn’t taken in isolation today IMO. Paul Hanlon wouldn’t have been red carded for it.
Agree with that. The way they go on about him has built up this reputation and it’s what made the ref get the red card out immediately.
03-10-2021, 05:52 PM
I ****ing hate Kevin Thomson btw. Hun sympathising wee prick. Never want to hear him pretend to be a Hibs fan again.
Disappointed me too. By all means he needs to pander to the Huns but draw the line at referring to them as “we”.
Mikey_1875
03-10-2021, 05:53 PM
I don’t mind Jacks interview. He’s gave an honest opinion about what he thinks about the red card, if he didn’t think that Ryan gave the ref a decision to make then he wouldn’t have said it.
It’d be great for him to come out and call them cheats etc but apart from appeasing the fans it isn’t going to win any battles and might result in a ban. I don’t know what will change incompetent refereeing in Scotland but I doubt it’ll be on the back of a post match interview after a defeat at Ibrox.
I take more confidence in the fact that he’s identified we lost two poor goals today and is angry about that. Focusing his energy into the right areas imo.
03-10-2021, 05:53 PM
Nope.
This is the match footage and freezing the clip at 23 seconds you clearly see both of Ryan's feet are off the ground.
What are you seeing?
03-10-2021, 05:54 PM
Aye, no studs up at all...
https://twitter.com/DMcIver22/status/1444683997179785228?s=19Exactly, not even a foul.
Silky
03-10-2021, 05:54 PM
Really disappointed with Jack today - awful acquiescence. Stand up man !!!
I think he's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't. Speak out and he's up before the SFA, say nothing, and he's just accepting it.
I remember Lennon getting dogs on here for going tonto about a ref and subsequently getting a ban. For me, managers can't win.
Just_Jimmy
03-10-2021, 05:55 PM
https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/sport/19622207.rangers-boss-steven-gerrard-slams-leg-breaking-ryan-porteous-tackle-let-manager-down/
Gerrard’s viewGob***** talking *****.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
03-10-2021, 05:55 PM
I think Jack Ross come across much better with the context of the full interview rather than the odd phrase plucked out.
100% agree.
03-10-2021, 05:56 PM
Sadly though Porto needs to be cuter. Doesn’t matter if we think it was a joke of a red, he’s giving the referee a chance to punish him.
03-10-2021, 05:57 PM
Disappointed me too. By all means he needs to pander to the Huns but draw the line at referring to them as “we”.
I always defended Kevin but he's never a true Hibs fan now - sticks in my throat any Hibs fan referring to another side as 'we'. And he does it consistently now. Of course he's entitled to do so, but he's not a supporter now. Not in a million years.
03-10-2021, 06:01 PM
I think he's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't. Speak out and he's up before the SFA, say nothing, and he's just accepting it.
I remember Lennon getting dogs on here for going tonto about a ref and subsequently getting a ban. For me, managers can't win.
I'm well aware of Lennon's weaknesses and that there was another side to him, but the results he got in games like this were generally very good. He fought tooth and nail for us, he fought ugly, and it really helped. Our continued passivity (couple with Rangers and their relentless aggression - see Gerrard keeping up the kicking of Porteous) just encourages a continuation of the same.
I get those who like a dignified silence etc but it really isn't doing us any favours. Our inability to be more streetwise is contributing to our continuing to lose games by the odd goal, with the game being decided by at least one honking decision in Rangers' favour.
03-10-2021, 06:02 PM
Why does he need to pander to them, he’s not employed by them anymore, and if he thinks he is getting Slippys job when he moves on then he is more deluded than I thought, a so called Hibs man wouldn’t chat/behave like that and diss his club he supposedly supports.
03-10-2021, 06:05 PM
I always defended Kevin but he's never a true Hibs fan now - sticks in my throat any Hibs fan referring to another side as 'we'. And he does it consistently now. Of course he's entitled to do so, but he's not a supporter now. Not in a million years.
Did text my friend to pass on that he was a prick and no chance he is a Hibs fan.
03-10-2021, 06:06 PM
Why does he need to pander to them, he’s not employed by them anymore, and if he thinks he is getting Slippys job when he moves on then he is more deluded than I thought, a so called Hibs man wouldn’t chat/behave like that and diss his club he supposedly supports.
I'd say that if he's being employed by them to be a summariser then he's being employed to pander to them.
Kevin Thomson is an odd creature. Personally I can't stand him, which is strange given he has so much in the plus column when it comes to what he contributed for us as a player.
I just have little time for anyone who chooses to take the coin off an inherently bigoted and corrupt institution, even if they can say some nice nice things about us when they want something.
03-10-2021, 06:07 PM
I simply couldn't commentate on another club's channel, professing to be a Hibs fan, and referring to them as 'we' and pandering SH - even when I trained with Hearts as a youngster I would miss a tackle or misplace a backpass v Hibs :greengrin
This is the match footage and freezing the clip at 23 seconds you clearly see both of Ryan's feet are off the ground.
What are you seeing?
It's not clear and at the replay at 15-16 secs makes even less clear.
percy veer
03-10-2021, 06:09 PM
Actually disgusting the way he was today , dont wakt to see him back at Easter road .
03-10-2021, 06:09 PM
Has anyone other than a Hibs or Celtic supporter said it's not a red?
Majority on kickbackback and afc chat think decision was farcical.
Hibees1973
03-10-2021, 06:10 PM
We have been at the wrong end of a disgraceful decision today.
I always feel that if there is pressure on the OF, such as Hibs 1-0 up against them at Ibrox, comfortable, and potentially going top of the league, Scottish football supporters know there is going to be a major decision that will go for the OF in a key game.
The referees know that they will be threatened with social media poison and physical violence to themselves and their families if they make a decision against the OF. This has happened before to many Scottish referees in the past.
What can supporters/SFA/media do about this. Nothing tangible as the OF hold all the power in the game up here.
This decision has made me sick. Game is corrupt up here and is dismal when you have a competitive to team support, but you know there is the usual brickwall somewhere ahead.
Wonder what will happen if Hibs get ahead in the semi-final. Probably something similar again I expect. :brickwall
tmb1875
03-10-2021, 06:34 PM
Soft as ***** mentally shows up again. Should be defending porteous to the hilt and saying there’s a vendetta against him right or wrong. We’ve been done from poor decisions all last season against them then again today. You never hear from the club speaking out about it. If you don’t stand up for yourself and keep quiet then you’ll keep getting walked all over. No wonder there’s a malaise with the fans.
03-10-2021, 06:37 PM
Soft as ***** mentally shows up again. Should be defending porteous to the hilt and saying there’s a vendetta against him right or wrong. We’ve been done from poor decisions all last season against them then again today. You never hear from the club speaking out about it. If you don’t stand up for yourself and keep quiet then you’ll keep getting walked all over. No wonder there’s a malaise with the fans.
03-10-2021, 06:37 PM
There is no way our club is soft as anything. Acting with dignity and grace in the face of severe provocation is often the hardest option.
03-10-2021, 06:41 PM
There is no way our club is soft as anything. Acting with dignity and grace in the face of severe provocation is often the hardest option.
Sorry soft as hell. Took the no tickets allocation for Ibrox like a whimper, unlike our neighbours who made a complaint
Bet you all our directors were at the game today, enjoying the freebies, while the fans couldn’t attend
Silky
03-10-2021, 06:43 PM
I'm well aware of Lennon's weaknesses and that there was another side to him, but the results he got in games like this were generally very good. He fought tooth and nail for us, he fought ugly, and it really helped. Our continued passivity (couple with Rangers and their relentless aggression - see Gerrard keeping up the kicking of Porteous) just encourages a continuation of the same.
I get those who like a dignified silence etc but it really isn't doing us any favours. Our inability to be more streetwise is contributing to our continuing to lose games by the odd goal, with the game being decided by at least one honking decision in Rangers' favour.
Some of that is fair enough, but I'm not buying the not being streetwise part. This was our first loss of the season. We came through a Derby, where we had to be a bit more streetwise than normal. We didn't lose. Also, last season we got the better of the notoriously "streetwise" Aberdeen and passed that test. I don't think that's the issue. Not at all.
03-10-2021, 06:45 PM
Sorry soft as hell. Took the no tickets allocation for Ibrox like a whimper, unlike our neighbours who made a complaint
Bet you all our directors were at the game today, enjoying the freebies, while the fans couldn’t attend
If we are a big club, act like a big club - simple as that. Call them out at EVERY opportunity.
03-10-2021, 06:47 PM
I’ll not hold my breath waiting for the club to put an appeal in. Martin Boyle was subject to a pretty much like for like challenge a few weeks back and this place exploded. The number of posts on here about ‘’there’s no contact’ is embarrassing, suppose if someone swings a fist or leg at a player and misses that’ll be fine with that logic. Even if he made contact with the ball it’s the intent and lack of control in the challenge, the linesman would’ve clearly seen his boot up off the ground sliding in out of control so no doubt had a part to play in the referees decision. I’m a big fan of Ryan and I think he’s having a great season bar a couple of silly mistakes, Jack Ross was spot on with his assessment.
03-10-2021, 07:08 PM
Daftest post on the subject yet. Why wouldn’t we have Directors at the game, every game for that matter. Hearts will complain about everything and anything but I’m certain they’ll have representation at every game as well.
03-10-2021, 07:09 PM
I’ll not hold my breath waiting for the club to put an appeal in. Martin Boyle was subject to a pretty much like for like challenge a few weeks back and this place exploded. The number of posts on here about ‘’there’s no contact’ is embarrassing, suppose if someone swings a fist or leg at a player and misses that’ll be fine with that logic. Even if he made contact with the ball it’s the intent and lack of control in the challenge, the linesman would’ve clearly seen his boot up off the ground sliding in out of control so no doubt had a part to play in the referees decision. I’m a big fan of Ryan and I think he’s having a great season bar a couple of silly mistakes, Jack Ross was spot on with his assessment.
03-10-2021, 07:12 PM
Absolutely. I’m surprised at how many folk seem ignorant of the fact that contact doesn’t come into it.
03-10-2021, 07:15 PM
Correct.
In fact I think the rule states this -
“Any player who lunges at an opponent in challenging for the ball from the front, from the side or from behind using one or both legs, with excessive force and endangering the safety of an opponent is guilty of serious foul play”
We are all annoyed that it is the huns, that they gave us no tickets, and that their manager is a fool playing to his gallery of knuckledraggers..............but that doesnt mean it wasnt a bad tackle that - at the very least - put RP in danger of getting a red.
What utter pish.
03-10-2021, 07:19 PM
Absolutely. I’m surprised at how many folk seem ignorant of the fact that contact doesn’t come into it.
I’m more surprised with the folk that are being selective in the angles they want to look at. Folk happy to join in with the narrative The Rangers have been creating and pushing at against our player.
All very understandable I suppose…
03-10-2021, 07:20 PM
Absolutely. I’m surprised at how many folk seem ignorant of the fact that contact doesn’t come into it.I'm more surprised by the people refusing to even acknowledge that Porto had his studs up.
03-10-2021, 07:23 PM
I’m more surprised with the folk that are being selective in the angles they want to look at. Folk happy to join in with the narrative The Rangers have been creating and pushing at against our player.
All very understandable I suppose…There's one angle where we get a clear view of Porto going over the ball with his studs up. What we see (or can't) from the other angles is irrelevant.
03-10-2021, 07:23 PM
Some of that is fair enough, but I'm not buying the not being streetwise part. This was our first loss of the season. We came through a Derby, where we had to be a bit more streetwise than normal. We didn't lose. Also, last season we got the better of the notoriously "streetwise" Aberdeen and passed that test. I don't think that's the issue. Not at all.
Fair enough.
I was mainly referring to the way we deal with the Rangers problem, which I don't think we're dealing at all well with at the moment.
The way we interact with, and play against, other clubs is fine.
Rangers are wanton aggressors and passivity of clubs like Hibs just empowers them.
03-10-2021, 07:25 PM
All very understandable I suppose…
Whats understandable?
FFS, we are all Hibs fans and if Ryan had put that ball in row Z, got the head down and put in a controlled, solid 90 we could have been walking away with 3 points.
Its difficult enough to win there with 11 men.
"happy to join in the narrative" my erse. The real narrative is that Ryan has had a smashing season, but he didnt need to do that today.
03-10-2021, 07:28 PM
There's one angle where we get a clear view of Porto going over the ball with his studs up. What we see (or can't) from the other angles is irrelevant.
Irrelevant when you only want to look at the one that suits you.
Never a red card.
03-10-2021, 07:29 PM
Irrelevant when you only want to look at the one that suits you.
Never a red card.So his studs weren't up?
03-10-2021, 07:29 PM
Correct.
In fact I think the rule states this -
“Any player who lunges at an opponent in challenging for the ball from the front, from the side or from behind using one or both legs, with excessive force and endangering the safety of an opponent is guilty of serious foul play”
We are all annoyed that it is the huns, that they gave us no tickets, and that their manager is a fool playing to his gallery of knuckledraggers..............but that doesnt mean it wasnt a bad tackle that - at the very least - put RP in danger of getting a red.
I’m not disputing what you are saying about the rule mate but I honestly can’t remember a situation where a player gets a red for a reckless challenge where no contact is made, yellow most definitely. Plus we all know if a Hun had made that challenge on a Hibs player no way would Walsh have given them a red.
03-10-2021, 07:30 PM
Whats understandable?
FFS, we are all Hibs fans and if Ryan had put that ball in row Z, got the head down and put in a controlled, solid 90 we could have been walking away with 3 points.
Its difficult enough to win there with 11 men.
"happy to join in the narrative" my erse. The real narrative is that Ryan has had a smashing season, but he didnt need to do that today.
I don’t think the decision was understandable, it was our manager that did. Which I think is nonsense.
Weegreenman
03-10-2021, 07:33 PM
Yeah I have seen it and that is never a red card.
Ryan didn’t have to make that tackle. He gave the ref an opportunity to give him a red card with the ferocity in which he flew in. He was high and out of control and had he hit the defenders leg it would most certainly have been a leg breaker!
It’s the modern game. You need to play the game, especially at places like Ibrox.
03-10-2021, 07:36 PM
I’m not disputing what you are saying about the rule mate but I honestly can’t remember a situation where a player gets a red for a reckless challenge where no contact is made, yellow most definitely. Plus we all know if a Hun had made that challenge on a Hibs player no way would Walsh have given them a red.
Sam Cosgrove got sent off for same offence a while back - Ajer jumped out the way (and Mcinnes was saying the same as some people on here "how can it be a red if theres no contact?").
As someone mentioned up thread, if you throw a punch and miss, its still a red.......
03-10-2021, 07:36 PM
So his studs weren't up?
It wasn’t a red card.
He went and won the ball. Studs can’t face the ground at all time. Mason Walsh doesn’t send Goldson off for the same challenge. He doesn’t even send Paul Hanlon off. He sends Ryan Porteous off because of everything they have built up around him.
Jack Ross has let us down far more than Ryan Porteous today by not sticking up for his player whilst the opposition continue to publicly criticise him. Porteous just made a challenge, which wasn’t remotely as bad as some would have you believe.
03-10-2021, 07:37 PM
It wasn’t a red card.
He went and won the ball. Studs can’t face the ground at all time. Mason Walsh doesn’t send Goldson off for the same challenge. He doesn’t even send Paul Hanlon off. He sends Ryan Porteous off because of everything they have built up around him.
Jack Ross has let us down far more than Ryan Porteous today by not sticking up for his player whilst the opposition continue to publicly criticise him. Porteous just made a challenge, which wasn’t remotely as bad as some would have you believe.
Where did I say it was a red card?
I said his studs were up - some people are even denying that.
03-10-2021, 07:40 PM
Sam Cosgrove got sent off for same offence a while back - Ajer jumped out the way (and Mcinnes was saying the same as some people on here "how can it be a red if theres no contact?").
As someone mentioned up thread, if you throw a punch and miss, its still a red.......
Fair enough mate although I don’t remember the Cosgrove one.
I’d argue a punch was a bit different though. It’s getting to the stage you can’t risk making a “proper” hard challenge for fear of being sent off. I’m all in favour of protecting players (unless it’s Morelos) but I’d never want a player red carded when he makes no contact with an opponent.
03-10-2021, 07:41 PM
Where did I say it was a red card?
I said his studs were up - some people are even denying that.
You’re arguing with numerous people who are arguing that it wasn’t a red card. If you think it was, what the hell is the point of your argument?
Do you think it was a red card or not?
03-10-2021, 07:43 PM
There's one angle where we get a clear view of Porto going over the ball with his studs up. What we see (or can't) from the other angles is irrelevant.
Do you not think it is better to consider all the angles, then make up your mind?
I'm thinking that there might be perfectly good tackles that might look bad from one angle.
Rather than "studs up" or "getting the ball", I thought the rule now was around excessive force. There's one angle that looks like the studs are up, he's going in high and a bit out of control but most angles I look at I just don't see the excessive force.
I'm not sure it's one that we'd have much complaint about in real time, if it had been against us. Just a fairly robust tackle.
Tommy75
03-10-2021, 07:48 PM
Blunt interview from Pep Guardiola after the City game. Would like to see Ross come out and be as bold after games like today.
Got a few pals and family members who are English. They like to slag off the Scottish football with the usual 'pub league' patter. I try to stick up for Scottish football but it is getting harder all the time. I'm at a point where I actually agree with them and trying to defend it actually makes me come off as foolish.
03-10-2021, 07:51 PM
You’re arguing with numerous people who are arguing that it wasn’t a red card. If you think it was, what the hell is the point of your argument?
Do you think it was a red card or not?All I've said from the start is that Porto went over the ball and showed his studs, and that the referee had the same angle of view as the most damning of the 3 replays.
Some people are insisting his studs weren't up - which is wrong. Just because you can't see it from 2 of the camera angles, it's crystal clear in the third.
I think he was daft to lunge into the challenge but, not knowing the exact rule, I don't know if it's a straight red.
I have no argument with anyone, other than those saying I'm wrong - I don't see how I can be in this instance.
03-10-2021, 07:52 PM
Do you not think it is better to consider all the angles, then make up your mind?
I'm thinking that there might be perfectly good tackles that might look bad from one angle.
Rather than "studs up" or "getting the ball", I thought the rule now was around excessive force. There's one angle that looks like the studs are up, he's going in high and a bit out of control but most angles I look at I just don't see the excessive force.
I'm not sure it's one that we'd have much complaint about in real time, if it had been against us. Just a fairly robust tackle.All I've said is that his studs were up. Some aren't even accepting that.
Tommy75
03-10-2021, 07:57 PM
Ryan didn’t have to make that tackle. He gave the ref an opportunity to give him a red card with the ferocity in which he flew in. He was high and out of control and had he hit the defenders leg it would most certainly have been a leg breaker!
It’s the modern game. You need to play the game, especially at places like Ibrox.
There shouldn't be 'a game' though. Rules are rules and shouldn't be applied differently depending on where you are playing. Porteous had every right to slide in for that ball just like he would have if we were playing at Tannadice.
03-10-2021, 08:04 PM
There shouldn't be 'a game' though. Rules are rules and shouldn't be applied differently depending on where you are playing. Porteous had every right to slide in for that ball just like he would have if we were playing at Tannadice.
Totally agree. He had one at Tynecastle on McKay-Steven the other week right out in front of the Wheatfield stand. He was trying to break away, someone was short with a pass. He saw an opportunity to take ball and player and duly put him 6ft in the air. It wasn’t even a free kick. Any challenge he makes against Rangers is blown out of all proportion. The way Gerrard spoke about it today, again, was a joke. Almost as much of a joke as the comments of his own manager
03-10-2021, 08:07 PM
Totally agree. He had one at Tynecastle on McKay-Steven the other week right out in front of the Wheatfield stand. He was trying to break away, someone was short with a pass. He saw an opportunity to take ball and player and duly put him 6ft in the air. It wasn’t even a free kick. Any challenge he makes against Rangers is blown out of all proportion. The way Gerrard spoke about it today, again, was a joke. Almost as much of a joke as the comments of his own manager
You really are tearing the erse out of your faux outrage at our managers comments.
03-10-2021, 08:11 PM
You really are tearing the erse out of your faux outrage at our managers comments.
No faux outrage. I think his comments were shocking.
Allez Hibs
03-10-2021, 08:19 PM
The whole attitude is pathetic. Their manager is having a pop at our player. Our manager is saying he can understand the decision.
Stick up for your player, don’t say you can understand why it was given.
Couldn't agree more.
JR should be showing more steel here and standing up for the club at all costs.
Allez Hibs
03-10-2021, 08:31 PM
I'm more surprised by the people refusing to even acknowledge that Porto had his studs up.
I'm more surprised at Hibs fans alluding it was indeed a red card.
Porteous' foot is slightly off the ground, his studs are showing and he went in at pace. Those 3 things are indisputable, they are clear from every angle.
The fact he won the ball puts it into the frustrating sometimes given and sometimes not category that comes with the ambiguity in the rules r.e. excessive force and endangering an opponent. No point in appealing as there is no clear mistake to be overturned and i agree with ross that it was unneccesary from porteous.
The red card aside, however, the ref had an awful game and gave a ridiculous amount of wrong decisions in their favour.
A very good performance from us until the red card, though. All the players worked hard after and really limited their chances so in the end it's frustrating that we ended up losing to 2 terribly defended goals.
Nothing to fear in the semi final.
Allez Hibs
03-10-2021, 08:41 PM
https://youtu.be/DK3aNN9dVKI
Would a Celtic player have been sent off today?
penihibs
03-10-2021, 10:18 PM
He was superb today. One of his best performances for us.
Classy player we're lucky to have him..
Check the tackle the Rangers player does just beforehand. Jumps in with his studs up.
https://i.ibb.co/nk7LGWn/Screenshot-20211003-232205-You-Tube.jpg (https://ibb.co/HgtHSJx)
03-10-2021, 11:15 PM
No faux outrage. I think his comments were shocking.
“Shocking”… dearie me. He said he disagreed with the decision but he’s wishing Porto wouldn’t give them any excuse.
Bring back Neil Lennon - we need a drama queen at the helm to satisfy some folk.
Torto7
03-10-2021, 11:27 PM
“Shocking”… dearie me. He said he disagreed with the decision but he’s wishing Porto wouldn’t give them any excuse.
Bring back Neil Lennon - we need a drama queen at the helm to satisfy some folk.
No I disagree. He needs to stick up for a talented young player who's been targeted and smeared by the media/huns. The same media who have painted Boyle as a diver but ignore the dives by Sevco players today. Calling this out isn't being a drama queen it's good management.
After the ned Gerards comments Hibs need to protect Ryan imo.
03-10-2021, 11:28 PM
Simunovic keeps his studs down and hits through the middle of the ball in that clip, Ryan was so out of control he went over the top of the ball.
03-10-2021, 11:32 PM
Simunovic keeps his studs down and hits through the middle of the ball in that clip, Ryan was so out of control he went over the top of the ball.
Showing your studs is irrelevant also. Two phrases in the rules are endangering an opponent and excessive force.
03-10-2021, 11:35 PM
Showing your studs is irrelevant also. Two phrases in the rules are endangering an opponent and excessive force.
Can't see how either of them apply.
03-10-2021, 11:40 PM
It's bordering on excessive force but is very controlled.
It was also almost 5 years ago so would be running a bigger risk if he did it now.
1875godsgift
04-10-2021, 12:01 AM
It's bordering on excessive force but is very controlled.
It was also almost 5 years ago so would be running a bigger risk if he did it now.
So how's that any different from Porto's then?
The only bigger risk he's running is that he's wearing a Hibs strip!
04-10-2021, 12:09 AM
The ball's away before the contact. Incredible decision.
04-10-2021, 12:27 AM
If we are a big club, act like a big club - simple as that. Call them out at EVERY opportunity.
But deep down we are not a big club, that’s why we don’t call anyone out, I wonder what our new owner thought of all this today, if he wants to compete with the big clubs then start acting like one, Hibs class blah blah blah, ffs we had Dempster having a go at our fans a few seasons a go she even marched down to give a interview about our fans without saying anything about other clubs, back our club or GTF, if Ron has ambitions for Hibs then Jack Ross needs to start backing this team or he can do one as well, Ross should just remember the folk who left the club recently and more are on there way out, he could be the next one.
Still raging about today.
Hope you are well my friend. :aok:
04-10-2021, 12:31 AM
Was Ryan just to let Aribo run through and get the ball, he done what he needed to do, won the ball.
04-10-2021, 01:45 AM
maybe 'shocking' isn't the right word, but it's very weak from Ross IMO. He is absolutely right about Porto, but this should be a quiet word in his ear, not to the national press. The OF need to be challenged off the park as well as on the park, because they, and in particular the huns, are getting away with absolute murder week in week out, on and off the pitch. **** them.
The more I watch Porto's tackle, the more it seems like the ref has either personally decided, or has been briefed, to make a point about young Ryan's ...ahem... 'can do attitude' in OF games. Yes, he goes in hard and aggressive, and he's a bit of a hot-head - but there is no way in hell that was a red card. You really need to want it to be a red to believe it's a red.
04-10-2021, 01:56 AM
In my opinion while the tackle is hard Simunovic keeps his studs down thereby limiting the danger to the Rangers player. I think it's as close to a text book "hard tackle" as you can find in this day and age and every time I see it I'm genuinely impressed with how he manages to send both Kenny Miller up in the air while also maintaining that level of control.
Ryan's I see differently in every way. I think he endangers Aribo by going in the way he does. I know I'm in the minority on this judging by the rest of the comments but that's just genuinely my opinion, I would be unhappy if anyone went in like that on one of our players and I'm unhappy that Porteous went in like that when he didn't need to and put us in the position to defend a 1-0 lead for an hour.
Nick Walsh is still a terrible ref and the vast majority of his decisions were terrible, but I think Ryan has allowed him to justifiably go to his back pocket I'm afraid.
Rumble de Thump
04-10-2021, 02:19 AM
In my opinion while the tackle is hard Simunovic keeps his studs down thereby limiting the danger to the Rangers player. I think it's as close to a text book "hard tackle" as you can find in this day and age and every time I see it I'm genuinely impressed with how he manages to send both Kenny Miller up in the air while also maintaining that level of control.
Ryan's I see differently in every way. I think he endangers Aribo by going in the way he does. I know I'm in the minority on this judging by the rest of the comments but that's just genuinely my opinion, I would be unhappy if anyone went in like that on one of our players and I'm unhappy that Porteous went in like that when he didn't need to and put us in the position to defend a 1-0 lead for an hour.
Nick Walsh is still a terrible ref and the vast majority of his decisions were terrible, but I think Ryan has allowed him to justifiably go to his back pocket I'm afraid.
Simunovic could have limited the danger to the opponent by not going right through him. Ryan managed to win the ball without causing any harm to the opponent. Although it was interesting that Aribo stayed on the ground pretending to have been injured when he hadn't been touched.
Mikey_1875
04-10-2021, 03:28 AM
I’m really struggling to believe how Jack Ross has ended up in the firing line for this.
“ I don't necessarily agree with the decision but I can understand why it's given. He [Porteous] has got my absolute support.”
It’s written in black and white, you don’t even need to read between the lines. He doesn’t agree with the decision and Porteous has his absolute support. At what part of that is throwing him under the bus. He can understand why it’s given, a considerable amount of hibs fans and people with no allegiance agree so I don’t understand the anger at him giving his honest take on it. ‘Going to ground and giving the ref a decision to make’ is a term used to describe situations in every league, regardless of the opponents. If this happened against St Mirren would there be the same amount of anger at Ross?
Are folk annoyed about Gerrards comments? Was Ross even aware of these comments before giving this interview? Everyone is hugely pissed off at what happened earlier, the club as a whole need to be doing more to challenge the OF (tickets for todays game, reporting Barisic incident to the compliance officer (if that still exists) etc), we need to be focusing more on the real bad guys. To be hammering our own manager for some pretty innocuous comments is way over the top imo.
04-10-2021, 04:22 AM
I’m really struggling to believe how Jack Ross has ended up in the firing line for this.
“ I don't necessarily agree with the decision but I can understand why it's given. He [Porteous] has got my absolute support.”
It’s written in black and white, you don’t even need to read between the lines. He doesn’t agree with the decision and Porteous has his absolute support. At what part of that is throwing him under the bus. He can understand why it’s given, a considerable amount of hibs fans and people with no allegiance agree so I don’t understand the anger at him giving his honest take on it. ‘Going to ground and giving the ref a decision to make’ is a term used to describe situations in every league, regardless of the opponents. If this happened against St Mirren would there be the same amount of anger at Ross?
Are folk annoyed about Gerrards comments? Was Ross even aware of these comments before giving this interview? Everyone is hugely pissed off at what happened earlier, the club as a whole need to be doing more to challenge the OF (tickets for todays game, reporting Barisic incident to the compliance officer (if that still exists) etc), we need to be focusing more on the real bad guys. To be hammering our own manager for some pretty innocuous comments is way over the top imo.
Thats why, ridiculous from our manager.
04-10-2021, 04:42 AM
Gerrard is a ****ing ******
Porteous has given the ref an excuse to show him a red because of the force he went in on the tackle, he charged over like a bull to a red rag and only missed breaking Aribo's leg because he jumped he challenge. This isn't the 1st time Ryan has done this, it's a part of his game he needs to sort out, if he stays controlled and tackles properly without the 20 yard sprint and big lunge, it's a good tackle and no controversy. I watched it at half time and with various angles, yes he get the ball but only slightly at the top of the ball, his foot was at least a foot off the ground and there was no control, this is why he was shown red, control the tackle and there's no problem, he's given the ref a reason to send him off.
04-10-2021, 05:34 AM
Porteous has given the ref an excuse to show him a red because of the force he went in on the tackle, he charged over like a bull to a red rag and only missed breaking Aribo's leg because he jumped he challenge. This isn't the 1st time Ryan has done this, it's a part of his game he needs to sort out, if he stays controlled and tackles properly without the 20 yard sprint and big lunge, it's a good tackle and no controversy. I watched it at half time and with various angles, yes he get the ball but only slightly at the top of the ball, his foot was at least a foot off the ground and there was no control, this is why he was shown red, control the tackle and there's no problem, he's given the ref a reason to send him off.
I'm struggling to see how people don't understand this. He's gone in with excessive force with a straight leg. Doesn't matter if it's one leg or two. When you're going in like that you're out of control. Going by the rulebook it's a red card.
He’s not ‘gone in’ to anything, if aribo was in control of the ball and Porto made that tackle and won the ball yes it’s excessive force and a red card (much like the barisic one at ER) he’s cutting the ball out from arriving at aribo.
I don’t get the amount of posters saying he’s ‘needlessly’ dived in either, We’re not talking about Paolo Maldini here, even though Porto was favourite to get the ball he’s not knocking the ball round aribo to beat him once he’s got it, he’s dived in to get there quicker so he has time to get himself away or the ball away without the worry of loosing a challenge with aribo and him being through 1v1
Mickey Weir
04-10-2021, 05:45 AM
I cringe every time Porto goes in for a challenge and today was no different. It was a straight red all day long and if a Huns player had made that challenge on Nisbet, we'd be screaming for it.
Hes lost us the game and the chance to go top.
It’s only a tackle if the opponent has control of the ball, aribo never once touched the ball it was cut out from arriving at him, any header with arms up for example could be punished the same as their ‘could’ be contact, can’t just go around blowing up ‘could be’s’ and dishing out straight red cards for things that haven’t happened.
04-10-2021, 06:01 AM
That is what my view is. Would be as raging as anyone as I was at first viewing however the views shown at half time and also at the time convinced me it should have been a red. Sportscene showed a view from the broomloan stand end and how high his foot was looked horrific. Afraid no one is to blame but Ryan himself we were in control of the game and his lack of discipline has cost us go in as aggressively as you need to but not like that. Nothing Ross has said either is wrong for me in this instance however there have been previous games imo he should have been more forthright the Hearts semi, Morelos at er and Porto goal. Thought Walsh as usual looked for reasons to book Hibs players while not treating Rangers players to the same standard.
Mikey_1875
04-10-2021, 06:19 AM
Thats why, ridiculous from our manager.
But if he can understand, as can some supporters, then why is it ridiculous to say so if that’s what he believes to be the truth.
04-10-2021, 06:19 AM
It’s only a tackle if the opponent has control of the ball, aribo never once touched the ball it was cut out from arriving at him, any header with arms up for example could be punished the same as their ‘could’ be contact, can’t just go around blowing up ‘could be’s’ and dishing out straight red cards for things that haven’t happened.
I'm afraid thats not actually part of the rules.
Same as when people last night were suggesting you cant get a red where there is no contact.
That is what my view is. Would be as raging as anyone as I was at first viewing however the views shown at half time and also at the time convinced me it should have been a red. Sportscene showed a view from the broomloan stand end and how high his foot was looked horrific. Afraid no one is to blame but Ryan himself we were in control of the game and his lack of discipline has cost us go in as aggressively as you need to but not like that. Nothing Ross has said either is wrong for me in this instance however there have been previous games imo he should have been more forthright the Hearts semi, Morelos at er and Porto goal. Thought Walsh as usual looked for reasons to book Hibs players while not treating Rangers players to the same standard.
When you know who the ref is and what he's like you do not give him any excuse to send you off, he couldn't get the card out quick enough and some of his other decisions were just as bizarre, when you know all this you keep the head. Aribo was nowhere near our goal and simply staying on his feet and controlling the situation was all he had to do but as soon as you seen the sprinted charge towards the Rangers player, you knew what the outcome was going to be. Ryan has done this a few times and it's part of his game he needs to sort out, apart from that the ref was again brutal and looked for any excuse to give Rangers the advantage.
04-10-2021, 06:33 AM
I cringe every time Porto goes in for a challenge and today was no different. It was a straight red all day long and if a Huns player had made that challenge on Nisbet, we'd be screaming for it.
Hes lost us the game and the chance to go top.
There was nothing wrong with the challenge. Aribo embarrassingly took a dive and feigned injury for a tackle that never even touched him. The linesman never even flagged and he had a far better view.
04-10-2021, 06:36 AM
But if he can understand, as can some supporters, then why is it ridiculous to say so if that’s what he believes to be the truth.
Because he and those hibs fans who agree with him are wrong.
04-10-2021, 06:37 AM
When you know who the ref is and what he's like you do not give him any excuse to send you off, he couldn't get the card out quick enough and some of his other decisions were just as bizarre, when you know all this you keep the head. Aribo was nowhere near our goal and simply staying on his feet and controlling the situation was all he had to do but as soon as you seen the sprinted charge towards the Rangers player, you knew what the outcome was going to be. Ryan has done this a few times and it's part of his game he needs to sort out, apart from that the ref was again brutal and looked for any excuse to give Rangers the advantage.
Agree with that would also say not sure how the ref could have seen it from his view possibly linesman has called it may be wrong.
04-10-2021, 06:53 AM
Has anyone been able to see the Lundstram tackle on Doig again? Not covered anywhere surprisingly. Same with the Barisic assault on Boyle. Probably, as the hun on Sportscene said about Morelos, regarded as clever play on their part. *****.
04-10-2021, 06:54 AM
One tackle resulted in a player catapulting in the air, flipping over and basically landed on his head/neck. The other there was no contact between the two players. Read both those statements and tell me which player was endangered without watching them?
tmb1875
04-10-2021, 06:56 AM
You missed out the bit where jack ross said it didn’t look good from the angle behind the goals. Nae need to give the huns, press, whoever a stick to beat Porto with.
Has anyone been able to see the Lundstram tackle on Doig again? Not covered anywhere surprisingly. Same with the Barisic assault on Boyle. Probably, as the hun on Sportscene said about Morelos, regarded as clever play on their part. *****.
These things not being highlighted because of the Stazi control of rangers media dept and journo issues? can’t even get a decent debate on the equilizer as that had a hint of offside as well as the points you raise.
04-10-2021, 07:00 AM
I'm afraid thats not actually part of the rules.
Same as when people last night were suggesting you cant get a red where there is no contact.
I don’t think “studs up” is part of the rules either. Yet that’s being used continuously as a reason why it should’ve been a red by some on here.
04-10-2021, 07:04 AM
Jack’s comments are spot on. Many of us may not like that but he gives an honest assessment of the tackle. Looks fine from many angles, doesnt look good from another. There is no chance that red will become a yellow as it’s not a clear and obvious error by the ref.
04-10-2021, 07:19 AM
Jack’s comments are spot on. Many of us may not like that but he gives an honest assessment of the tackle. Looks fine from many angles, doesnt look good from another. There is no chance that red will become a yellow as it’s not a clear and obvious error by the ref.
Regardless of how you view the tackle the vitriol directed at our own manager by a few on here and elsewhere is by far the worst thing to come out of this in my opinion.
They need to listen to his full interview on Hibs TV before putting the boot in.
04-10-2021, 07:19 AM
Spot on they might be, but they’re not going to influence anything in our favour the next time we play Rangers.
Mikey_1875
04-10-2021, 07:25 AM
You missed out the bit where jack ross said it didn’t look good from the angle behind the goals. Nae need to give the huns, press, whoever a stick to beat Porto with.
Im guessing that angle is what has made him understand how it could be a red. Fair enough he maybe never needed to point that out but to me it seems like nitpicking when he is still in agreement with 95% of the sentiment of the people who are angry with him. It isn’t a rehearsed speech he is providing us with and he maybe felt prompted to provide justification for his understanding.
He still doesn’t agree with the red and reiterated full support for Porteous. For him to be hauled over the coals by sections of the support for it seems really unfair to me. The difference in opinion (or tempering of opinion) doesn’t warrant the reaction.
04-10-2021, 07:31 AM
For me it wasn’t a red card but unfortunately Porto went flying in and gave the ref a decision to make. It’s not surprising they get everything their own way as it’s only Rangers fans in the ground
04-10-2021, 07:31 AM
Spot on they might be, but they’re not going to influence anything in our favour the next time we play Rangers.
Neither is him going banzai. Been tried before.
04-10-2021, 07:33 AM
Regardless of how you view the tackle the vitriol directed at our own manager by a few on here and elsewhere is by far the worst thing to come out of this in my opinion.
They need to listen to his full interview on Hibs TV before putting the boot in.
While I totally agree about the vitriol I thought that JR might have commented on the referee's all round performance. Setting the Porto decision to one side (personally I didn't think he needed to make the tackle in that manner) some of the other decisions in the huns favour were diabolical.
04-10-2021, 07:35 AM
While I totally agree about the vitriol I thought that JR might have commented on the referee's all round performance. Setting the Porto decision to one side (personally I didn't think he needed to make the tackle in that manner) some of the other decisions in the huns favour were diabolical.
Can't argue with that though I am pretty sure he and Potter would have made their feelings pretty clear.
04-10-2021, 07:37 AM
It’s quite similar to the red card the young Hamilton boy got against us at Easter Road last season.
He went in hard. Wins the ball. That was overturned.
That wasn’t against Rangers though, and Gerrard wasn’t in the media telling everyone how dangerous it was.
04-10-2021, 08:06 AM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1444710732508057606?s=21
That's the best interview I've seen him give yet in his time as manager.
Crunchie
04-10-2021, 08:22 AM
:top marks Jack is as honest as the day's long and his statement reflects that. He's supporting Ryan as well and we hopefully move on and he learns.
If the boy was playing in the 70's or 80's that kind of tackle was applauded and rightly so, unfortunately he's not and he has to learn which I'm sure with Jack's guidance he will.
04-10-2021, 08:33 AM
Football has gone as soft as **** and it’s a shame there are hibs fans agreeing that’s a red card. Absolute ****ing nonsense :agree:
04-10-2021, 08:39 AM
Agree very good interview.
04-10-2021, 08:55 AM
My office jambo reckons it was a disgrace to send Porto off. He says there was an identical tackle in the tarts v Well game on Saturday that the ref didn't even give a free kick for. Sadly no one who knows anything about Scottish football won't be surprised about that
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 11:41 AM
That's the best interview I've seen him give yet in his time as manager.You are at the wind up.
Why is he not standing up for his player and club? Why is he not talking with an element of gamesmanship regarding refereeing decisions to set the stage for games against the old firm.
He needs to have more backbone.
04-10-2021, 11:42 AM
You are at the wind up. Why is he not standing up for his player and club? Why is he not talking with an element of gamesmanship regarding refereeing decisions to set the stage for games against the old firm. He needs to have more backbone. Because ultimate, he is not an emotional fan, he knows it would do no good.
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 11:52 AM
Because ultimate, he is not an emotional fan, he knows it would do no good.No, a stand against the referees was there to be made in that interview in the context of having Hibs and Hearts properly challenging this season in that it's time for a club out with the old firm to win the league. It just proves why the league is a tinpot nonsense.
JR should have been emotional after the game saying we should be top but because of corrupt referees, we have been prevented from doing so.
It's time to 100% call it out!
04-10-2021, 11:58 AM
Just saw it again now. IMO a worse challenge as Lundstram actually makes contact with Doig. About time we started calling out referees on this. Walsh is nothing more than a cheat.
https://twitter.com/scottyhibs/status/1444988120429178880?s=21
Just saw it again now. IMO a worse challenge as Lundstram actually makes contact with Doig. About time we started calling out referees on this. Walsh is nothing more than a cheat.
https://twitter.com/scottyhibs/status/1444988120429178880?s=21Don't worry. The compliance officer will pick up on that......
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
04-10-2021, 12:01 PM
https://twitter.com/ScottyHibs/status/1444988120429178880?s=20
And therein is exemplified the issue. A worse challenge and it's play on.
04-10-2021, 12:04 PM
https://twitter.com/scottyhibs/status/1444988120429178880?s=21
I missed the first few mins so first time I’ve seen that challenge. Definitely a red card too
04-10-2021, 12:05 PM
"We need to be a team that comes here and wins". Great quote lost in the furore. I can't remember too many hibs managers coming out with that ambitious a line.
Good interview.
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 12:09 PM
https://twitter.com/scottyhibs/status/1444988120429178880?s=21That is unbelievable.
Are there still any Hibs fans who think Porteous should have been sent off after seeing that?
LeithMike
04-10-2021, 12:09 PM
https://twitter.com/scottyhibs/status/1444988120429178880?s=21That is worse. A clear jump as well.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
04-10-2021, 12:10 PM
I missed the first few mins so first time I’ve seen that challenge. Definitely a red card too
At the time I thought it was shocker. Unsurprisingly Hun TV didn’t show any replays of it. I’m not sure how anyone can view both incidents, let alone the match referee, and determine one is play on while the other is a straight red. Unless of course the referee is a cheat.
04-10-2021, 12:13 PM
That is unbelievable.
Are there still any Hibs fans who think Porteous should have been sent off after seeing that?
The sad thing is it’s not unbelievable. It happens all too often against them. Off the top of my head, Porteous scores at Ibrox but it’s chalked off for an invisible foul. Morelos stamps on him, nothing given. Joe Newell kicked in the head in their box, again nothing given. Then add in yesterday’s decisions.
04-10-2021, 12:13 PM
My office jambo reckons it was a disgrace to send Porto off. He says there was an identical tackle in the tarts v Well game on Saturday that the ref didn't even give a free kick for. Sadly no one who knows anything about Scottish football won't be surprised about that
Out of interest I just asked 3 of my (French) workmates - all regular matchgoers (2 are ST holders, 1 at Rennes the other at Guingamp). Even though I pointed out that there was minimal contact if any, their unanimous reaction (roughly translated) was "oof FFS! - straight red".
04-10-2021, 12:16 PM
Out of interest I just asked 3 of my (French) workmates - all regular matchgoers (2 are ST holders, 1 at Rennes the other at Guingamp). Even though I pointed out that there was minimal contact if any, their unanimous reaction (roughly translated) was "oof FFS! - straight red".
Pour quoi? Charge de merde
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 12:17 PM
Out of interest I just asked 3 of my (French) workmates - all regular matchgoers (2 are ST holders, 1 at Rennes the other at Guingamp). Even though I pointed out that there was minimal contact if any, their unanimous reaction (roughly translated) was "oof FFS! - straight red".It's still not even a foul.
That tackle is even worse.
Gordy M
04-10-2021, 12:17 PM
Yeh but you have to see the context of the game, did you sho them the Lunstrom tackle, the push on Porteous al the other tackles in the scottish game week in week out ..... thats the point. If other similar tackles were dealt with the same way then thats fine.....
They are mot.
04-10-2021, 12:19 PM
It's still not even a foul.
That tackle is even worse.
Possibly, although his studs aren't showing.
In any case it's irrelevant as I was posting about Porto's foul/sending off.
04-10-2021, 12:20 PM
His studs up are and he’s flown in way off the ground. Ref didn’t even give a foul ffs 😂
Allez Hibs
Pour quoi? Charge de merdeAsticoter.
Have you got another angle of the tackle? If you don’t, how can you tell his studs aren’t up???
04-10-2021, 12:21 PM
Pour quoi? Charge de merde
"Ouf, putain! - C'est un rouge direct." :sauzee:
04-10-2021, 12:26 PM
His studs up are and he’s flown in way off the ground. Ref didn’t even give a foul ffs 😂
Have you got another angle of the tackle? If you don’t, how can you tell his studs aren’t up???
From what I can see he stamps more than anything else - I'm in no way defending that tackle though as he definitely jumps in 2 footed.
04-10-2021, 12:26 PM
Never mastered adding a screenshot on here, but there is one in the replies to the video on Twitter that I linked where it’s clear there is daylight between Lundstram’s boot and the pitch therefore studs must be raised.
04-10-2021, 12:27 PM
His ankle must be some weird shape if he can jump across with a straight leg and still have his studs pointing down the way.
04-10-2021, 12:28 PM
Doenst exactly look in control, does it? https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211004/3bef8906c90873f423bb3527ad702990.jpg
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
04-10-2021, 12:29 PM
His ankle must be some weird shape if he can jump across with a straight leg and still have his studs pointing down the way.
Look, don't bother trying to dissect what I'm saying as I'm not defending that tackle.
04-10-2021, 12:34 PM
No, a stand against the referees was there to be made in that interview in the context of having Hibs and Hearts properly challenging this season in that it's time for a club out with the old firm to win the league. It just proves why the league is a tinpot nonsense.
JR should have been emotional after the game saying we should be top but because of corrupt referees, we have been prevented from doing so.
It's time to 100% call it out!
Maybe JR, and everyone else at Hibs, don’t think the ref was corrupt? Maybe they think he just called that decision wrong?
I’ve never heard anyone connected to Hibs claiming the game is corrupt.
Which is weird considering so many of our fans know it for a fact. You’d have thought that there would have been some evidence of it with it being so blatant and obvious.
Apparently Dundee Utd think the game’s corrupt after their league game against us.
Try getting into a conversation with Pat Stanton, he'll put you right.
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 12:40 PM
Maybe JR, and everyone else at Hibs, don’t think the ref was corrupt? Maybe they think he just called that decision wrong?
Which is weird considering so many of our fans know it for a fact. You’d have thought that there would have been some evidence of it with it being so blatant and obvious.
Apparently Dundee Utd think the game’s corrupt after their league game against us.JR sitting on the fence for the sake of his own career to keep open a future job offer from the Old Firm. That's my reading of his comments.
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 12:42 PM
Look, don't bother trying to dissect what I'm saying as I'm not defending that tackle.So you think it was a red card?
04-10-2021, 12:43 PM
Apparently Dundee Utd think the game’s corrupt after their league game against us.
I don’t think he should call it out as corrupt, but I do think he should call it out. Say he’s had a second look at the Lundstram challenge and would love an explanation why it was deemed that there wasn’t even a foul, let alone a red card.
It’s funny how the Rangers rarely get bad decisions given against them, never get a player sent off in Scotland, yet in Europe non Scottish refs have no problems giving decisions against them and red carding their players.
Doenst exactly look in control, does it? https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211004/3bef8906c90873f423bb3527ad702990.jpg
I've just looked at it on Hibs TV
From the one angle available i think there is a case for a red card under the present system.
Lunging into the tackle with both feet off the ground and like the Porteous one it intimidates the opposing player causing him to take evasive action.
Only thing that makes it look better is that he accurately blocks the ball whereas Porteous misses the ball with his front foot and keeps travelling at speed.
I think if it's at Easter Road he gets sent off because of the crowd reaction. There is no reaction from the crowd when this happened yesterday and neither Cliff nor Pat seemed to notice it on the commentary.
Other factor is linesman at that side is in the other half of the pitch and his view is obstructed so down to the referee alone to see it. The TV pictures don't show his position.
It certainly gives JR and Hibs grounds for feeling hard done by.
JR sitting on the fence for the sake of his own career to keep open a future job offer from the Old Firm. That's my reading of his comments.
That’s some take on things.
He won’t win friends at Celtic doing this. JR needs to try harder if his game plan is all just one long job application!
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 12:44 PM
That’s some take on things.
He won’t win friends at Celtic doing this. JR needs to try harder if his game plan is all just one long job application!Yes, it is tongue in cheek. But I'm sure you get the sentiment. He's following his media training to the letter.
04-10-2021, 12:45 PM
JR sitting on the fence for the sake of his own career to keep open a future job offer from the Old Firm. That's my reading of his comments.Aye OK then.
04-10-2021, 12:46 PM
JR sitting on the fence for the sake of his own career to keep open a future job offer from the Old Firm. That's my reading of his comments.
Aye right.
So you think it was a red card?
Possibly - so what? It has nothing to do with the Porteous incident.
04-10-2021, 12:48 PM
Yes, it is tongue in cheek. But I'm sure you get the sentiment. He's following his media training to the letter.
Nope. I get the anger about the game yesterday but I don’t see what difference it would make if JR was more vocal about things.
I don’t think the game is corrupt at all. Be interesting to see if our owner or CEO think it is. I doubt it.
04-10-2021, 12:49 PM
I've just looked at it on Hibs TV
From the one angle available i think there is a case for a red card under the present system.
Lunging into the tackle with both feet off the ground and like the Porteous one it intimidates the opposing player causing him to take evasive action.
Only thing that makes it look better is that he accurately blocks the ball whereas Porteous misses the ball with his front foot and keeps travelling at speed.
I think if it's at Easter Road he gets sent off because of the crowd reaction. There is no reaction from the crowd when this happened yesterday and neither Cliff nor Pat seemed to notice it on the commentary.
Other factor is linesman at that side is in the other half of the pitch and his view is obstructed so down to the referee alone to see it. The TV pictures don't show his position.
It certainly gives JR and Hibs grounds for feeling hard done by.
Doig doesn’t strike me as the type to feign injury. By his reaction Lundstram made contact with him.
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 12:49 PM
Possibly - so what? It has nothing to do with the Porteous incident.
It has everything to do with it and shows the hypocrisy and blatant Old Firm bias in refereeing decisions in this country. The club should be standing up for themselves against it. I'd argue the tackle on Doig is worse than Porteous challenge.
Yesterday was as blatant cheating from the referee as you will ever see.
Weird how the vast majority of mistakes benefit one team in this fixture.
04-10-2021, 12:50 PM
That is unbelievable.
I think they are both red cards
04-10-2021, 12:52 PM
Nope. I get the anger about the game yesterday but I don’t see what difference it would make if JR was more vocal about things.
I don’t think the game is corrupt at all. Be interesting to see if our owner or CEO think it is. I doubt it.
Because it would put the spotlight on referees and maybe, just maybe, the next time they think about penalising a Hibs player for a challenge or letting a Hun player off with one, they think again.
04-10-2021, 12:54 PM
It has everything to do with it and shows the hypocrisy and blatant Old Firm bias in refereeing decisions in this country. The club should be standing up for themselves against it. I'd argue the tackle in Doig us worse than Porteous challenge.
Yesterday was as blatant cheating from the referee as you will ever see.
You're wrong.
I asked to my workmates about Porto's challenge - nothing else.
They'd probably say that Lundstram should have been sent off too. That doesn't make Porto's challenge (ie. the one I was posting about) any less rash.
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 12:57 PM
I think they are both red cardsPorteous isn't even a foul though. Tackle on Doig is far more dangerous than Porteous. Doig has full control of the ball, Aribo never once has control of the ball.
It's like the movie Minority Report and using that as an interpretation of the rules.
04-10-2021, 01:01 PM
Doig doesn’t strike me as the type to feign injury. By his reaction Lundstram made contact with him.
Can't tell exactly what happens in the one angle on Hibs TV but Doig definitely cuts short his last stride when he sees the lunge coming.
He is down for a while and when he gets up and limps back he is feeling pain in his left lower leg possibly his ankle.
I think he has been hit a glancing blow by Lundstrom but the angle doesn't show it. I would like to see the angles which cooked the Porteous goose.
The whole point of the rule is to reduce the risk of players getting serious and potentially career ending injuries.
Both incidents are red cards under the rule but this incident has been missed.
I believe VAR would have picked it up.
It would have changed the game. The Nisbet goal wouldn't have happened but neither would the Porteous red card.
04-10-2021, 01:03 PM
Porteous isn't even a foul though. Tackle on Doig is far more dangerous than Porteous. Doig has full control of the ball, Aribo never once has control of the ball.
It's like the movie Minority Report and using that as an interpretation of the rules.
That’s your opinion but I disagree. Doesn’t mean I’m wrong. Or anyone else who disagrees with you. Porteous was excessive force which he didn’t need to do. The Rangers player’s one was worse.
All pundits except McManus plus ex ref Gallagher on sky sports say it was a red. Doesn’t mean we are right of course but have some respect for other peoples opinion
04-10-2021, 01:10 PM
The main point about Sunday is that we lost the game because of our pathetic defending of balls into the box-our bugbear all season. OK Porteous being sent off leaving us a man short meant we were unable to play our usual game of being in control of the ball but other than Macey having a couple of excellent saves Rangers were totally ineffective in trying to create anything in our penalty area. Both goals lost were from simple balls in-Patterson's was just a lob-with the whole defence facing the ball each time . First goal Darren was in the middle of the goal,marking nobody but playing Rangers onside-very poor positioning. Second goal Hanlon sees the ball all the way and gets nowhere near it and nowhere near Morelos. To me we've now lost seven points this season in similar situations(Rangers never looked like scoring and certainly didn't have to work hard for those goals)-even worse was the smallest man on the park at Dundee scoring from a header. Ross says he was annoyed at the goals lost-so he should be but should also be asking himself and his coaches why they haven't got it sorted by now.
04-10-2021, 01:12 PM
Yes, it is tongue in cheek. But I'm sure you get the sentiment. He's following his media training to the letter.
Gies peace.
04-10-2021, 01:18 PM
Porteous isn't even a foul though. Tackle on Doig is far more dangerous than Porteous. Doig has full control of the ball, Aribo never once has control of the ball.
What does control of the ball have to do with the danger element of a tackle?
04-10-2021, 01:22 PM
The main point about Sunday is that we lost the game because of our pathetic defending of balls into the box-our bugbear all season. OK Porteous being sent off leaving us a man short meant we were unable to play our usual game of being in control of the ball but other than Macey having a couple of excellent saves Rangers were totally ineffective in trying to create anything in our penalty area. Both goals lost were from simple balls in-Patterson's was just a lob-with the whole defence facing the ball each time . First goal Darren was in the middle of the goal,marking nobody but playing Rangers onside-very poor positioning. Second goal Hanlon sees the ball all the way and gets nowhere near it and nowhere near Morelos. To me we've now lost seven points this season in similar situations(Rangers never looked like scoring and certainly didn't have to work hard for those goals)-even worse was the smallest man on the park at Dundee scoring from a header. Ross says he was annoyed at the goals lost-so he should be but should also be asking himself and his coaches why they haven't got it sorted by now.
Totally agree with your analysis of the goals.
There's been a lot of talk this year about stopping crosses. When we're a man short it's hard to avoid crosses coming in but on both goals we've got experienced defenders just making poor errors. McGregor with his positioning - either mark the man or play him offside.
Hanlon for the 2nd is just awful defending getting caught under that ball. He doesn't even make it difficult for Morelos.
Difficult to blame the coaching when our 2 most experienced players are guilty of such poor defending.
The 2nd goal Macey had a right mare at, flapping about at a ball 4ft from him.
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 02:11 PM
Gies peace.No, give me peace.
After what happened yesterday, Jack Ross needs an us against the world mentality.
We are clearly a good side and he is manager of a big club - Stand up for it.
04-10-2021, 02:15 PM
Can't tell exactly what happens in the one angle on Hibs TV but Doig definitely cuts short his last stride when he sees the lunge coming.
He is down for a while and when he gets up and limps back he is feeling pain in his left lower leg possibly his ankle.
I think he has been hit a glancing blow by Lundstrom but the angle doesn't show it. I would like to see the angles which cooked the Porteous goose.
The whole point of the rule is to reduce the risk of players getting serious and potentially career ending injuries.
Both incidents are red cards under the rule but this incident has been missed.
I believe VAR would have picked it up.
It would have changed the game. The Nisbet goal wouldn't have happened but neither would the Porteous red card.
Don't think Var would have done Lundstram as Walsh had a perfect view of the tackle and gave nowt. The more I look at it his view for Porto tackle was a poor one imo from behind and not clear.
04-10-2021, 02:16 PM
It is a shocker straight at his left hand and fumbles it in being right on the line wouldn't have helped either. Really should have saved that.
04-10-2021, 02:18 PM
Totally agree with your analysis of the goals.
There's been a lot of talk this year about stopping crosses. When we're a man short it's hard to avoid crosses coming in but on both goals we've got experienced defenders just making poor errors. McGregor with his positioning - either mark the man or play him offside.
Hanlon for the 2nd is just awful defending getting caught under that ball. He doesn't even make it difficult for Morelos.
Difficult to blame the coaching when our 2 most experienced players are guilty of such poor defending.
Yes we played three centre backs yesterday and lost two poor goals to free headers in the box criminal to be honest ten men or not.
04-10-2021, 02:25 PM
I kind of thought he should have done better with the winner. But I’ve not really seen it back properly and it’s all been a bit overlooked in amongst the sending off.
04-10-2021, 02:26 PM
Although unavailable yesterday Ross brought in what is ment to be a highly rated centre half but hasent had any game time
04-10-2021, 03:10 PM
Why would that matter. He is jumping in, to me the most obvious way of being out of control as you can't change direction till you land. He is travelling quickly, Doig is very close to the point of contact and imo that tackle is far more likely to endanger the opponent than Porteous' was.
The big difference is the colour of top and the cheat that is the referee. How can anyone see those two tackles and still think it is incompetence. The Thes get point after point from decisions that are not even close to being marginal. The offside goal they got following a corner a few games back is one of the worst decisions I have ever seen and nothing is made of it. They essentially start the league 5-10 points ahead given some of the ordering offs they survive and offside goals they are allowed. You can tell the level of corruption the second they play without the help of a Scottish Official. The whole league is set up so they can win it and we wonder why it is hard to get good TV deals
04-10-2021, 04:05 PM
HIBS have lodged an appeal re Porto’s sending off
HIBS Twitter
04-10-2021, 04:32 PM
The more I see it the harder I find it to make up my mind.
Some angles it looks totally innocuous, one angle it looks horrific.
It seems that more than ever you pick an opinion then compile the evidence to back it up and there is evidence with that one to back up either opinion.
I reckon it would be possible to take an obvious, clear as day, good, honest, proper, non foul tackle and catch it at an angle that makes it look bad. To tackle you sometimes have to leave the ground, you have to accelerate towards the ball, sometimes you get it cleanly and sometimes you don't. I've seen worse tackles than that one not even given a foul against and had a foul not been given I reckon the huns would have been over it within about 20 seconds. It wouldn't have been a "should it have been" controversy.
It was a tackle in a Rangers Hibs game by a Hibs player so of course it was a red card. I'm not really any closer to making up my mind whether it should have been or not.
04-10-2021, 04:50 PM
He'll be fuming that Hibs have appealed then. No doubt marched straight to Ron's office letting him know the club have jeopardised his future job opportunities and it is ruining all the good work his media training accomplished.
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 05:03 PM
He'll be fuming that Hibs have appealed then. No doubt marched straight to Ron's office letting him know the club have jeopardised his future job opportunities and it is ruining all the good work his media training accomplished.I think appealing the red card is the least the club can do and what the fans would expect.
04-10-2021, 05:05 PM
I think appealing the red card is the least the club can do and what the fans would expect.
If it’s the least the club can do what should they do in addition?
04-10-2021, 05:06 PM
I think appealing the red card is the least the club can do and what the fans would expect.
it is but I fear it’s an utterly futile gesture.
porteous has already been tried and found guilty by the MSM.
not a chance that’s getting overturned.
allmodcons
04-10-2021, 05:16 PM
You really are a pathetic attention seeker at times.
04-10-2021, 05:21 PM
it is but I fear it’s an utterly futile gesture.
porteous has already been tried and found guilty by the MSM.
not a chance that’s getting overturned.
We have had a few overturned and a few applied after our opponents got away with it on the day. I wonder if there is an application process where you can get all your cards retrospectively like Hearts and The Thes. Playing the games with a full complement and dealing with suspensions with a week or to prepare seems preferable to me.
mcohibs
04-10-2021, 05:21 PM
The more I see it the harder I find it to make up my mind.
Some angles it looks totally innocuous, one angle it looks horrific.
It seems that more than ever you pick an opinion then compile the evidence to back it up and there is evidence with that one to back up either opinion.
Exactly. And the referee only gets to look at the incident once in real time and make a decision. The fact that some fans can't fathom how he even MIGHT come to the conclusion that it's a red is what I don't understand.
Ryan didn't need to go to ground. He was clearly getting to the ball before Aribo on his feet. But he made the decision to lunge in and his foot rolls over the top of the ball as he makes contact with it and his studs were showing. And at pace. He gave the ref a decision to make when he didn't need to. That's exactly how I expect Jack Ross to see it also btw. It was needless and I'm not sure anyone can argue that it wasn't (even if you don't think it's a red).
https://i.ibb.co/wsZVT1g/Screenshot-20211003-172432.jpg (https://ibb.co/HdL60Q4)
04-10-2021, 05:22 PM
Agreed. We should have quit the whole league in protest. Obviously Ross has too much influence in the club and is insisting we stick two fingers up to Ryan by not doing so in support of him.
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 05:30 PM
If it’s the least the club can do what should they do in addition?The manager should have stood up for the club and put it front and centre the clear bias from officials not only yesterday but in previous games against Rangers.
They clearly influence officials, why shouldn't we in the build up to games. We are a big club.
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 05:31 PM
You really are a pathetic attention seeker at times.Constructive post. Well done.
04-10-2021, 05:31 PM
Exactly. And the referee only gets to look at the incident once in real time and make a decision. The fact that some fans can't fathom how he even MIGHT come to the conclusion that it's a red is what I don't understand.
Ryan didn't need to go to ground. He was clearly getting to the ball before Aribo on his feet. But he made the decision to lunge in and his foot rolls over the top of the ball as he makes contact with it and his studs were showing. And at pace. He gave the ref a decision to make when he didn't need to. That's exactly how I expect Jack Ross to see it also btw. It was needless and I'm not sure anyone can argue that it wasn't (even if you don't think it's a red).
https://i.ibb.co/wsZVT1g/Screenshot-20211003-172432.jpg (https://ibb.co/HdL60Q4)
Still screenshots mean **** all.
04-10-2021, 05:32 PM
The manager should have stood up for the club and put it front and centre the clear bias from officials not only yesterday but in previous games against Rangers.
They clearly influence officials, why shouldn't we in the build up to games. We are a big club.
If there's a clear bias towards rangers throughout the game why would the press have cared, or even bothered to report what we said in the run up to the game? If they had would it have been a fair representation of our comments?
Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 05:34 PM
If there's a clear bias towards rangers throughout the game why would the press have cared, or even bothered to report what we said in the run up to the game? If they had would it have been a fair representation of our comments?Because we have a voice. The club shouldn't just roll over and just accept things.
04-10-2021, 05:44 PM
You do know the ref was behind the incident and never seen what happened eh? Decent story though.
04-10-2021, 05:46 PM
Because we have a voice. The club shouldn't just roll over and just accept things.
We haven't though. We've appealed the decision which is the exact opposite of rolling over and accepting things.
04-10-2021, 05:54 PM
The manager should have stood up for the club and put it front and centre the clear bias from officials not only yesterday but in previous games against Rangers.
They clearly influence officials, why shouldn't we in the build up to games. We are a big club.If referees sometimes get decisions wrong on the spur of the moment and on here we can still disagree with each other over different incidents, how sure do you think Jack Ross can be of every decision from his viewpoint at the dugout?
Obviously managers get a quick look at certain things before their post match interviews, but they certainly don't have time for micro analysis of the entire match.
I'm glad we have a manager who speaks intelligently and with composure as opposed to spouting the hysterical nonsense that you seem to be wanting.
04-10-2021, 05:55 PM
You do know the ref was behind the incident and never seen what happened eh? Decent story though.The referee had a very good view of Porto's challenge.
04-10-2021, 05:55 PM
Football phone in is a joke to listen to these Huns great tackle from the rangers guy blah blah
hfc-1875
04-10-2021, 05:58 PM
Red card all day for me, let’s face it if it was the other way about we would all be saying it’s a red! Porto had no need to fly in like that could easily have slid and taken the ball but once again let’s us down trying to show he’s a big hard man. Yes he made minimal/no contact with Aribo but he still flew in over the top of the ball and could easily have broke his leg
04-10-2021, 06:03 PM
Red card all day for me, let’s face it if it was the other way about we would all be saying it’s a red! Porto had no need to fly in like that could easily have slid and taken the ball but once again let’s us down trying to show he’s a big hard man. Yes he made minimal/no contact with Aribo but he still flew in over the top of the ball and could easily have broke his leg
Where does all this ‘once again he’s let us down’ stuff come from? Are these red cards a regular thing?
He’s maybe made mistakes that cost us goals but comments like the above suggest that he’s letting us down time and again discipline wise. He’s not, despite what Stevie and the media suggest.
mcohibs
04-10-2021, 06:04 PM
You do know the ref was behind the incident and never seen what happened eh? Decent story though.
What on earth are you talking about? That's not even remotely true. Honestly, folk just pull things out their arse when posting on here sometimes.
https://i.ibb.co/m88HTHj/Screenshot-20211004-190051.jpg (https://ibb.co/RyyCbCF)
04-10-2021, 06:04 PM
That’s rubbish from start to finish.
04-10-2021, 06:05 PM
Going back to the home leg vs that mob from Andorra, then this - there seems to be an awful lot down to the discretion of the referee now. Crazy tackles that aren’t even punished with a foul, contentious red cards when there’s the perception of recklessness. It’s hard to see a strain of consistency through the decision making.
It is more than a wee bit open to abuse, in my opinion.
We can, and will, bicker amongst ourselves about it but I don’t think it’s a great situation for the game in general.
04-10-2021, 06:07 PM
it was the other way about, approximately 27 minutes earlier to be exact.
whatever your thoughts on porteous’ challenge, many people’s frustration comes from the fact that it’s one rule for them and another for the rest of us.
hfc-1875
04-10-2021, 06:22 PM
That’s rubbish from start to finish.
Explain..
04-10-2021, 06:24 PM
Explain..
In the sense that it was all rubbish.
04-10-2021, 06:27 PM
A bit like your claim Porto kicked the bottom of the ball then?
04-10-2021, 06:28 PM
What on earth are you talking about? That's not even remotely true. Honestly, folk just pull things out their arse when posting on here sometimes.
https://i.ibb.co/m88HTHj/Screenshot-20211004-190051.jpg (https://ibb.co/RyyCbCF)
It’s the opposite side of his body, unless he can see through Porto’s body to see how he dives in. The fact he doesn’t blow straight away and almost allows play to continue shows that. Incident happens in front of Porteous on his left side, the ref is behind Porteous on his right side, doesn’t get much more opposite to me.
hfc-1875
04-10-2021, 06:32 PM
Great response! So you don’t think portoeus could have slid and not go in so recklessly? And you don’t think if aribo never jumped he couldn’t have got a broken leg?
04-10-2021, 06:36 PM
It’s the opposite side of his body, unless he can see through Porto’s body to see how he dives in. The fact he doesn’t blow straight away and almost allows play to continue shows that. Incident happens in front of Porteous on his left side, the ref is behind Porteous on his right side, doesn’t get much more opposite to me.Except Porto's leg wasn't hidden by his body as it was sticking straight out in front of him.
04-10-2021, 06:43 PM
Except Porto's leg wasn't hidden by his body as it was sticking straight out in front of him.
His whole body is literally between the ref and his left leg.
04-10-2021, 06:44 PM
His whole body is literally between the ref and his left leg.You seem to be confusing this camera's point of view with that of the referee.
Great response! So you don’t think portoeus could have slid and not go in so recklessly? And you don’t think if aribo never jumped he couldn’t have got a broken leg?
if you have to pull out hypotheticals to explain a red card, it wasn’t a red card
04-10-2021, 06:49 PM
You seem to be confusing this camera's point of view with that of the referee.
Nothing confused here.
mcohibs
04-10-2021, 07:06 PM
if you have to pull out hypotheticals to explain a red card, it wasn’t a red card
The whole premise of whether a tackle is dangerous is hypothetical though. Contact doesn't have to be made.
It’s really not hypothetical at all.
04-10-2021, 08:02 PM
It’s easy to throw out claims of cheat and corruption when there’s no come back on you.
If JR said some of the crap you lot want him to, it’s him that would get hammered. You can’t just go around making these kinds of accusations.
If the club feel the same as you, why wouldn’t we kick up a fuss? Nothing to lose if everything is rigged against us anyway!
Isn’t it possible that the club don’t think anyone cheated and simply think the ref had a shocker?
04-10-2021, 08:28 PM
It’s easy to throw out claims of cheat and corruption when there’s no come back on you.
If JR said some of the crap you lot want him to, it’s him that would get hammered. You can’t just go around making these kinds of accusations.
If the club feel the same as you, why wouldn’t we kick up a fuss? Nothing to lose if everything is rigged against us anyway!
Isn’t it possible that the club don’t think anyone cheated and simply think the ref had a shocker?
mcohibs
04-10-2021, 08:59 PM
It’s really not hypothetical at all.
It is. A tackle is deemed dangerous if it COULD cause harm to an opposing player. It doesn't have to actually injure a player to be a dangerous challenge.
04-10-2021, 10:20 PM
You really are a pathetic attention seeker at times.
At times?
04-10-2021, 10:30 PM
A bit like your claim Porto kicked the bottom of the ball then?
You can watch that happen from the view from opposite the main stand.
05-10-2021, 08:59 AM
Amazing that you still found a way to criticize Jack Ross on Sunday. Hibs are appealing the red which suggests that Jack Ross has watched it back and thinks it wasn't a red. I'd imagine he'll also be having words with Porteous about making tackles that he doesn't need to.
05-10-2021, 09:15 AM
Amazing that you still found a way to criticize Jack Ross on Sunday. Hibs are appealing the red which suggests that Jack Ross has watched it back and thinks it wasn't a red. I'd imagine he'll also be having words with Porteous about making tackles that he doesn't need to.
Heard last night that Ryan & his agent demanded Hibs appealed this. This is the young lads footballing reputation at stake here.
Heard last night that Ryan & his agent demanded Hibs appealed this. This is the young lads footballing reputation at stake here.Facebook was down last night.
05-10-2021, 09:25 AM
Facebook was down last night.
What's that got to do with anything?
What's that got to do with anything?Just a joke mate.
Where did you hear about Ryan and his agent insisting on an appeal?