View Full Version : Graeme Mathie Away?

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

30-09-2021, 02:08 PM
Incredible amount of ITK information on this thread. :greengrin Not really interested in who got on with who just how we do on the pitch. Clearly last window could have been better however we did keep all our best players so positive on that front. The Josh Doig saga seemed a bit odd all in.

Fuzzywuzzy
30-09-2021, 02:17 PM
If that's true then not surprising RG emptied him. I get the impression with RG if you're not fully committed to Hibs you're oot.

Sounds very much like Ross McEwan when he was at RBS😂

30-09-2021, 02:28 PM
Maybe we could bring Heckingbotton back in that role so he could do the famous Hecky pitch :greengrin

30-09-2021, 02:35 PM
Mathie applied for the Sporting Directo/Director of Football position with our neighbours last year.
In my opinion I don't see him as a great loss. Onwards and upwards.

No he didn't.

30-09-2021, 02:47 PM
If that's true then not surprising RG emptied him. I get the impression with RG if you're not fully committed to Hibs you're oot.

If that’s true I’m a Jambo.

30-09-2021, 02:47 PM
No he didn't.

If he had you could be sure our neebors would have been shouting it from the rooftops.

Torto7
30-09-2021, 02:56 PM
If he had you could be sure our neebors would have been shouting it from the rooftops.

Thats what I would've thought.

30-09-2021, 03:05 PM
I think he’ll end up at Queens Park with LD to be honest. Ron has already emptied our stadium manager who has now ended up there. Would be an ambitious move to a club with very lofty ambitions. Good luck to him wherever he goes, his leaving statement was very well written and you can tell emotional.

30-09-2021, 03:30 PM
I heard Mathie booted a 5 year old in the face and parks in disabled bays at Asda without a blue badge.

30-09-2021, 03:38 PM
I suspect the situation is he was incredibly successful to the point where the job outgrew him. Queens Park seems like an ideal destination given what they're trying to achieve.

Hopefully he continues to make it along to ER and continue to enjoy being part of the Hibs family from the terraces.

30-09-2021, 03:38 PM
I think he’ll end up at Queens Park with LD to be honest. Ron has already emptied our stadium manager who has now ended up there. Would be an ambitious move to a club with very lofty ambitions. Good luck to him wherever he goes, his leaving statement was very well written and you can tell emotional.

Any more of this and Queens Park fans will sing songs about us being their feeder club!

30-09-2021, 03:40 PM

What did the stadium manager role involve? If he was in charge of the weeding I'm not surprised he was emptied.

30-09-2021, 03:44 PM
I suspect the situation is he was incredibly successful to the point where the job outgrew him. Queens Park seems like an ideal destination given what they're trying to achieve.

Hopefully he continues to make it along to ER and continue to enjoy being part of the Hibs family from the terraces.

Sporting Director at Hibs is a bigger and more prestigious position than any role at Queens Park. I'm not sure you can say he outgrew the role then his ideal destination would be Queens Park.

30-09-2021, 03:49 PM
Sporting Director at Hibs is a bigger and more prestigious position than any role at Queens Park. I'm not sure you can say he outgrew the role then his ideal destination would be Queens Park.

The job outgrew him, not the other way round is what the poster is suggesting 😉

30-09-2021, 03:56 PM
The job outgrew him, not the other way round is what the poster is suggesting 😉

Ah yes, my bad. Thought it sounded rather odd!

30-09-2021, 04:21 PM
What did the stadium manager role involve? If he was in charge of the weeding I'm not surprised he was emptied.

He wasn’t emptied he resigned

30-09-2021, 07:40 PM
Could be remembering wrongly but was Graeme Mathie not the driving force behind Omeonga coming back in January last year? IIRC JR wasn't particularly fussed about Omeonga and benched him a fair bit, certainly more than he had been previously under Heckingbottom.

Anyway, best of luck to GM, seemed a decent guy.

30-09-2021, 08:45 PM
Wish him luck for his future(depending where he ends up of course :greengrin) Has done well in the implementation of the new system. Likely there were errors and probably things he would have done differently with hindsight but everything done with best intentions for Hibs.

30-09-2021, 10:49 PM
It's amazing how many high level members of Hibs staff have been 'moved on' in recent times.
From the CEO to Graeme Mathie with kitfolk Mr & Mrs Tam McCourt, a number of coaches including goalkeeping coach Alan Comb, the media guys in between.

Have I missed anyone out?
Is Ron the smiling assassin?
Are there any high profile Hibs employee left from when he arrived?

30-09-2021, 11:11 PM
It's amazing how many high level members of Hibs staff have been 'moved on' in recent times.
From the CEO to Graeme Mathie with kitfolk Mr & Mrs Tam McCourt, a number of coaches including goalkeeping coach Alan Comb, the media guys in between.

Are there any high profile Hibs employee left from when he arrived?Leeann Dempster had already spoken about her job having a "shelf life" so it was no great surprise when she moved on after a transition period between owners.

Tam McCourt was already past retirement age and he and his wife were rumoured to be on pretty generous salaries. That he was replaced by someone JR had previously worked with at St Mirren makes me wonder who was behind the decision (possibly facilitated by lockdown).

I doubt changes in coaching staff had anything to do with Ron, unless he took a particular dislike to someone.

Mathie is the one where Ron might be the instigator, but again it was more likely to be down to JR if rumours are true.

This would point to Ron putting more store in JR than the operational structure put in place under Leeann (where the manager was an interchangeable part of the football machine).

30-09-2021, 11:21 PM
Leeann Dempster had already spoken about her job having a "shelf life" so it was no great surprise when she moved on after a transition period between owners.

Tam McCourt was already past retirement age and he and his wife were rumoured to be on pretty generous salaries. That he was replaced by someone JR had previously worked with at St Mirren makes me wonder who was behind the decision (possibly facilitated by lockdown).

I doubt changes in coaching staff had anything to do with Ron, unless he took a particular dislike to someone.

Mathie is the one where Ron might be the instigator, but again it was more likely to be down to JR if rumours are true.

This would point to Ron putting more store in JR than the operational structure put in place under Leeann (where the manager was an interchangeable part of the football machine).

I don't think I'd disagree with any of that but I'd be interested in your opinion on it?

Do you think it's healthy, or a good thing, for the manager/head coach to have more power?

I'm a wee bit uncomfortable with it, I have to say. I like LD's approach, where the head coach is a smaller part of the machine. Obviously their opinion should always be sought but there should be a limit to what power they have.

Does it not leave us a bit vulnerable should either (or both) sides of the OF go through a dodgy spell and decide to replace their manager/ head coach with ours - or if not them, maybe a Championship club down South?

30-09-2021, 11:29 PM
Leeann Dempster had already spoken about her job having a "shelf life" so it was no great surprise when she moved on after a transition period between owners.

Ron also got rid of Hecky.
There really is no one left in high profile jobs at Hibs from when he arrived

So JR is the smiling assassin :wink:.
Josh Vela was quickly gone, Tom James and Steve Mallan made to disappear, Oli Shaw gone, David Gray frozen out. Gullan And Wright now on borrowed time and JR now giving Daz the big retirement message.

01-10-2021, 12:10 AM
I don't think I'd disagree with any of that but I'd be interested in your opinion on it?

Do you think it's healthy, or a good thing, for the manager/head coach to have more power?

I'm a wee bit uncomfortable with it, I have to say. I like LD's approach, where the head coach is a smaller part of the machine. Obviously their opinion should always be sought but there should be a limit to what power they have.

Does it not leave us a bit vulnerable should either (or both) sides of the OF go through a dodgy spell and decide to replace their manager/ head coach with ours - or if not them, maybe a Championship club down South?Like you, I like the idea of a structure where continuity is assured (as much as it can be) when someone moves on.

It's easy to passively watch all the changes that are being made given that we're doing pretty well on the pitch, and there's no doubt that Ron has been making all the right noises as well as putting his money where his mouth is.

The worry is that we end up with a Budge/Levein situation, where the owner gives the manager far, far too much clout.

In saying that, Ron has appointed an experienced CEO in Ben Kensell, who obviously wasn't employed just to be a yes man (he wouldn't have taken the job if that was the case).

01-10-2021, 12:14 AM
Ron also got rid of Hecky.
There really is no one left in high profile jobs at Hibs from when he arrived

So JR is the smiling assassin :wink:.
Josh Vela was quickly gone, Tom James and Steve Mallan made to disappear, Oli Shaw gone, David Gray frozen out. Gullan And Wright now on borrowed time and JR now giving Daz the big retirement message.There might be wee arguments here and there regarding certain players, but in general the changes have made perfect sense.

01-10-2021, 12:43 AM
Like you, I like the idea of a structure where continuity is assured (as much as it can be) when someone moves on.

It's easy to passively watch all the changes that are being made given that we're doing pretty well on the pitch, and there's no doubt that Ron has been making all the right noises as well as putting his money where his mouth is.

The worry is that we end up with a Budge/Levein situation, where the owner gives the manager far, far too much clout.

In saying that, Ron has appointed an experienced CEO in Ben Kensell, who obviously wasn't employed just to be a yes man (he wouldn't have taken the job if that was the case).

Mathies replacement is the biggie.
I have become used to Hibs recruiting well with little waste in recent times.
The new guy could spring us forward next summer or bury us in duds ala the Hearts recruitment of recent years.

01-10-2021, 05:19 AM

Are there any high profile Hibs employee left from when he arrived?

Is Tam McCourt away? Thought he was still there.

01-10-2021, 08:38 AM
Is Tam McCourt away? Thought he was still there.

Moved on a few months back, wages for him and his wife were overly large for the job they were doing.

01-10-2021, 08:47 AM
Moved on a few months back, wages for him and his wife were overly large for the job they were doing.

Yeah just noticed we've now got the ex Killie guy

01-10-2021, 09:00 AM
There might be wee arguments here and there regarding certain players, but in general the changes have made perfect sense.

I wasn't arguing about them going just saying how efficient JR is at getting them out the door.

Sergio sledge
01-10-2021, 10:31 AM
The new guy could spring us forward next summer or bury us in duds ala the Hearts recruitment of recent years.Yeah, it is a massive decision.

Mathie and the recruitment team made mistakes, and from the outside it seemed frustratingly slow at times, but I don't think anyone could argue that in general the recruits we have made have been good and the squad strength has been getting better year on year.

I am wary of moving away from the head coach model back to the manager model and giving the manager too much influence in the club. It seems like a backwards step in my opinion, but we'll just have to see if that is the route we are going down.

01-10-2021, 10:48 AM
The new guy could spring us forward next summer or bury us in duds ala the Hearts recruitment of recent years.

I agree with you although our neighbours didn't have a recruitment strategy under Levein and neither did we until the LD era. Since then our team and squad has got gradually better each year to the point where we now expect to be challenging at the top of the table and in the cup competitions. The new appointment, who ever they may be, should be continuity with the current data heavy project and they have a difficult act to follow.

01-10-2021, 11:10 AM
I think whoever comes in will find it a fairly easy transition. We have a department in place already and will have players identified and shortlists made in preparation for January (i'd have thought).

01-10-2021, 11:27 AM
Must have been a hell of a long resignation letter if it's taken Ron all this time to ReAs it and accept it.

01-10-2021, 12:17 PM

Told to resign. It's what big clubs do now :agree:

Greenworld
01-10-2021, 02:31 PM
I think whoever comes in will find it a fairly easy transition. We have a department in place already and will have players identified and shortlists made in preparation for January (i'd have thought).I dont know about easy , it may well be part of something bigger involving the whole development department. I know there have been some stiff words exchanged with those running it ,I expect a few more to go. I for one will delighted to see change

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

RIP Bestie
01-10-2021, 02:50 PM
No he didn't.

Yes he did

01-10-2021, 04:45 PM
I dont know about easy , it may well be part of something bigger involving the whole development department. I know there have been some stiff words exchanged with those running it ,I expect a few more to go. I for one will delighted to see change

I wonder if Eddie May might be on a shoogly peg, came in with Craig due the work he did at Falkirk but apart from the odd couple, we've not really developed enough, Doig was a Hearts product before he came here.

01-10-2021, 04:52 PM
I wonder if Eddie May might be on a shoogly peg, came in with Craig due the work he did at Falkirk but apart from the odd couple, we've not really developed enough, Doig was a Hearts product before he came here.
I believe he’s not particularly popular at East Mains.

01-10-2021, 09:12 PM
I believe he’s not particularly popular at East Mains.

I had heard this too, he got results at Falkirk but for a club our size and the money being put into E Mains our return via youth players isn't great, recently only Porteous is the real standout player who's made it into a 1st team regular, Doig was signed after his release from Hearts and spent a year at Queens Park, so we really can't claim him from the youths. Others have came through but after a few glimpses have gone on to smaller clubs like Murray, Stirling, Shaw, Handling etc.

01-10-2021, 09:22 PM
I had heard this too, he got results at Falkirk but for a club our size and the money being put into E Mains our return via youth players isn't great, recently only Porteous is the real standout player who's made it into a 1st team regular, Doig was signed after his release from Hearts and spent a year at Queens Park, so we really can't claim him from the youths. Others have came through but after a few glimpses have gone on to smaller clubs like Murray, Stirling, Shaw, Handling etc. Its very difficult to churn out first team ready players. Ollie Shaw I'd say is a success for the academy. 65 first team matches, 12 goals. Considering most of those games were as a sub, he done alright for us and was sold for a fee. Honestly, Hibs managers do not give these kids a fair shot either. We play full teams in league cup ties against pish sides instead of giving them any chance. I mean, could Dabrowski really not have played vs Kilmarnock earlier in the season for example? The idea that they absolutely must be excelling in training to get any minutes is mental. Guys sit on our bench for 2 years. They weren't in the best 11 players in training once in 2 years?

01-10-2021, 09:24 PM
I can’t believe the ongoing discussion about this issue. Our bosses have decided that GM’s position at the club was untenable and have let him go. With the right replacement, we can get stronger. :hibees

01-10-2021, 10:01 PM
I can’t believe the ongoing discussion about this issue. Our bosses have decided that GM’s position at the club was untenable and have let him go. With the right replacement, we can get stronger. :hibeesWhat don't you believe? The discussion's been pretty good has it not?

01-10-2021, 10:17 PM
I can’t believe the ongoing discussion about this issue. Our bosses have decided that GM’s position at the club was untenable and have let him go. With the right replacement, we can get stronger. :hibees

The proof as they say will be in the pudding.
The present squad was put together for a little over £1 million.

01-10-2021, 11:45 PM
What don't you believe? The discussion's been pretty good has it not?

The proof as they say will be in the pudding.
The present squad was put together for a little over £1 million.

As far as I can make out, ( but I have every confidence in my knowledge of the situation ) Mathie’s part in the latter part of our transfer dealings was nothing short of disgraceful. We will progress without him.

02-10-2021, 03:05 AM
As far as I can make out, ( but I have every confidence in my knowledge of the situation ) Mathie’s part in the latter part of our transfer dealings was nothing short of disgraceful. We will progress without him.I'm not sure you read the thread before making your previous comment criticising it. You say that "we'll progress without him" - surely that depends on how he's replaced?

02-10-2021, 06:35 AM
As far as I can make out, ( but I have every confidence in my knowledge of the situation ) Mathie’s part in the latter part of our transfer dealings was nothing short of disgraceful. We will progress without him.

What did he do that warrants being branded disgraceful?

02-10-2021, 07:38 AM

Disgraceful? Ffs.

02-10-2021, 09:07 AM

Hearing Eddie May will moved into the loans manager role and we are currently recruiting for a head of the academy.

02-10-2021, 09:13 AM
Hearing Eddie May will moved into the loans manager role and we are currently recruiting for a head of the academy.

Do we really need a manager dedicated solely to loans? Seems a rather strange position.

02-10-2021, 09:20 AM
Do we really need a manager dedicated solely to loans? Seems a rather strange position.

No we don’t. I think it’s more a development manager role. Ensuring youth players spend time with the correct lower league teams.

02-10-2021, 12:32 PM

Our signings have in the main been excellent.

02-10-2021, 01:12 PM
Our signings have in the main been excellent.

Probably meaning the tail end of the window when we failed to secure the 2-3 signings needed.

02-10-2021, 01:36 PM
Disgraceful? Ffs.

From the outside looking in it did look a bit shambolic to be honest. Failing to lodge paperwork for McGrath in time, trying hijack Hearts deal for McKay last minute after he'd been talking to them for weeks and not managing to get Tait in until January when he was wanted in now. I know these things aren't easy but they did raise my eyebrows a bit.

02-10-2021, 01:45 PM
From the outside looking in it did look a bit shambolic to be honest. Failing to lodge paperwork for McGrath in time, trying hijack Hearts deal for McKay last minute after he'd been talking to them for weeks and not managing to get Tait in until January when he was wanted in now. I know these things aren't easy but they did raise my eyebrows a bit.The McGrath paperwork might simply have been too late to be possible, the McKay thing could just be the agent trying to up the ante and Raith Rovers have confirmed that Tait was definitely going nowhere before Christmas. Some might choose these things as a stick to hit Mathie with but without more detail I certainly won't be.

02-10-2021, 01:48 PM
The McGrath paperwork might simply have been too late to be possible, the McKay thing could just be the agent trying to up the ante and Raith Rovers have confirmed that Tait was definitely going nowhere before Christmas. Some might choose these things as a stick to hit Mathie with but without more detail I certainly won't be.

Just seems too much of a coincidence that he's left the club a few weeks later.

02-10-2021, 01:51 PM
Probably meaning the tail end of the window when we failed to secure the 2-3 signings needed.

Yes I get that and agree we should have brought more in. Hoping for more from guys like Scott who hopefully will be more up to speed soon as he is better than he has shown.

02-10-2021, 01:57 PM
Just seems too much of a coincidence that he's left the club a few weeks later.One or all of the above could have brought things to a head.

There may well be other deals that didn't come off that we know nothing about.

As others have said, our dealings have definitely been more positive than negative since Mathie took over, so for me there has to be more to him moving on than one transfer window.

02-10-2021, 02:00 PM
One or all of the above could have brought things to a head.

There may well be other deals that didn't come off that we know nothing about.

As others have said, our dealings have definitely been more positive than negative since Mathie took over, so for me there has to be more to him moving on than one transfer window.

Yeah I agree. I've been pretty happy overall with the signings made during his time at the club.

02-10-2021, 07:05 PM
I worry that Mathie leaving is a major error of judgement.

02-10-2021, 07:06 PM

Why?

02-10-2021, 07:14 PM

I'm a wee bit worried. I have faith in Ron but it's a gamble and the next guy needs to be an improvement.

02-10-2021, 07:16 PM
Why?

Since he arrived in post he has a very strong record.

04-10-2021, 02:45 PM
Am assuming they will look to appoint someone during the international break so they have a couple of months to bed in before next Transfer Window Open

04-10-2021, 02:49 PM
Am assuming they will look to appoint someone during the international break so they have a couple of months to bed in before next Transfer Window Open

Ronnie, think. We need to be careful what we wish for, Graeme will be hard to replace

05-10-2021, 08:28 PM
Ronnie, think. We need to be careful what we wish for, Graeme will be hard to replace

I don’t doubt that Billy
It’s a crucial appointment for Ron as despite not getting what we wanted in the last day of the window there is a clear improvement in quality of players being brought in with the odd exception
But it’s clear if another couple of quality players had been brought in we would have better options
But if he gets it wrong it will be an own goal
Need to hope our international players come back unscathed as another couple of difficult games coming up
It would be nice to see Daniel Mckay and James Scott shoeing they can make an impact in first team

05-10-2021, 10:08 PM
From the outside looking in it did look a bit shambolic to be honest. Failing to lodge paperwork for McGrath in time, trying hijack Hearts deal for McKay last minute after he'd been talking to them for weeks and not managing to get Tait in until January when he was wanted in now. I know these things aren't easy but they did raise my eyebrows a bit.

Never seen anything in McGrath to suggest he's worth getting worked up over, and considering Allan was meant to be going in the other direction I'd say the move falling through was a blessing in disguise.

06-10-2021, 04:25 AM
Never seen anything in McGrath to suggest he's worth getting worked up over, and considering Allan was meant to be going in the other direction I'd say the move falling through was a blessing in disguise.

Not even his 14 goals in league and cup last season ? Looks a player to me…

06-10-2021, 05:38 AM
Not even his 14 goals in league and cup last season ? Looks a player to me…

He's a player that would come on leaps and bounds at Hibs. Good age and ROI starter. Would have been a terrific signing. Wouldn't have had Allan leaving though as for me he still has plenty to offer.

09-10-2021, 07:15 AM
No replacement coming in for Mathie. New academy director being appointed and Ben Kensell to work with JR on transfers.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/no-hibs-replacement-for-graeme-mathie-as-sporting-director-role-sidelined-in-management-shake-up-3413210

09-10-2021, 07:25 AM
No replacement coming in for Mathie. New academy director being appointed and Ben Kensell to work with JR on transfers.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/no-hibs-replacement-for-graeme-mathie-as-sporting-director-role-sidelined-in-management-shake-up-3413210

im assuming we have some set criteria that we apply when signing players these days which is based on stats. If that’s all in place it would be interesting to know how much of GM’s job was identification of players and how much of it was the negotiation. He appears to have been excellent at the former and struggled at times with the latter. I suspect Ben will be far better at getting deals over the line, we just have to hope that the structure is in place to identify the right players.

Mr. Wonderful
09-10-2021, 08:18 AM
Huge change that, I hope it works out. Forgive me for holding fears that we return to the old pre Dempster ways again without the sporting director type there.

09-10-2021, 08:22 AM
This looks like a major change from the structure that Leeann put in place, although that depends how other roles are adapted. Who becomes head of recruitment - Ben, JR or someone else? Will this mean change in strategy when it comes to signing targets, ie. a shift away from signing up youngish players with potential on long contracts? I think Ron adheres to this strategy too, but might we see more experienced players being signed too?

It would be interesting to know exactly how the reorganised set-up will work, but I don't know how much detail we'll get.

09-10-2021, 08:22 AM
Got no feelings on this move one way or the other. Let's see how it pans out.

Greenworld
09-10-2021, 08:25 AM

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/no-hibs-replacement-for-graeme-mathie-as-sporting-director-role-sidelined-in-management-shake-up-3413210Excellent move and delighted a new academy Director is being appointed .

09-10-2021, 08:42 AM
Whst was the structure Ben Kinsell had at Norwich?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

09-10-2021, 08:48 AM
Whst was the structure Ben Kinsell had at Norwich?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

They have a Sporting Director

Mikey_1875
09-10-2021, 09:09 AM
First reaction is that I don’t like it as a sporting director seems to be in operation in some form at most top clubs these days. We will need to see how it works out though and have enough trust in them that they know what they’re doing.
I suppose if Ron is still going to be fairly involved then he would naturally be picking up some CEO tasks giving Ben more time to focus on recruitment?

09-10-2021, 09:26 AM
It concerns me that we implemented a footballing structure over the last 8 years, won a cup, rebuilt a strong team and have reached a consistent high position in the league, and we're scrapping a lot of it.

09-10-2021, 09:30 AM
Huge change that, I hope it works out. Forgive me for holding fears that we return to the old pre Dempster ways again without the sporting director type there.

Have always thought Sporting Directors, Directors of Football or whatever they get called are a bit overrated. Certainly at our level.

Pre Dempster we had folk that didn’t really have any ambition and made a habit of appointing bad managers. As long as we have a decent manager in place, we’ll be fine. Still the most important person at the club IMO.

09-10-2021, 09:38 AM
Have always thought Sporting Directors, Directors of Football or whatever they get called are a bit overrated. Certainly at our level.

Pre Dempster we had folk that didn’t really have any ambition and made a habit of appointing bad managers. As long as we have a decent manager in place, we’ll be fine. Still the most important person at the club IMO.

Manager is, but he can’t manage the team and recruitment too
We’re really light in experience in recruitment now

09-10-2021, 09:39 AM
It concerns me that we implemented a footballing structure over the last 8 years, won a cup, rebuilt a strong team and have reached a consistent high position in the league, and we're scrapping a lot of it.

Me too. JR won't be here forever - what does this vision look like when he's gone? I'm keen to here more but managers come and ago at an alarming rate in football. We need to be careful not to tie ourselves into giving too much power to one or two individuals.

09-10-2021, 09:40 AM
The EEN article says Kensell has loads of experience negotiating when it comes to transfers so hopefully that side of it improves. In terms of identifying the players surely our scouting department hasn’t really changed that much?

09-10-2021, 09:42 AM

I share a concern that we appear to have focussed on a very recent failure rather than an upward trend of success over a fairly long period of time.

We have new, ambitious and capable people in position who have done enough to earn our trust to continue a movement in the right direction but I can't pretend not to be a wee bit concerned, as vocal and as annoyed as I was about the summer window.

09-10-2021, 09:45 AM
The EEN article says Kensell has loads of experience negotiating when it comes to transfers so hopefully that side of it improves. In terms of identifying the players surely our scouting department hasn’t really changed that much?

Rumours Eddie May going to do some scouting, would be happy with that
Not sure we have any physical scouts employed by Hibs, last one Mike Meechan was made redundant last year, and Jack used Stephen McGinn for a bit

09-10-2021, 09:48 AM
I look forward to a picture of Jack with 8 randoms on deadline day.

09-10-2021, 09:51 AM
Not fussed. As long as everyone understands their role in the process and has enough time to do the various duties assigned then it doesn't matter what you name the person doing it.

Time will tell if we've got that part right or not.

09-10-2021, 09:53 AM
Not happy with this change in structure.

We need someone who is in charge of scouting for players, always has a list of suitable players if the manager asks and who can research any players suggested by the manager. This is a long term position that provides stability, whereas the managerial role tends to have a shorter lifespan. If the positions aren't separate then there will be disruption every time a new manager is appointed and wants to bring in his own scouting staff. Remember Butcher's mate Marsala and how well he identified talent?

It makes sense to have Kensall negotiate the deals though if he has a good track record. Mathie did a good job in identifying players, so it looks like he wasn't a good enough negotiator and that has cost him his job.

09-10-2021, 10:00 AM
Not happy with this change in structure.

We need someone who is in charge of scouting for players, always has a list of suitable players if the manager asks and who can research any players suggested by the manager. This is a long term position that provides stability, whereas the managerial role tends to have a shorter lifespan. If the positions aren't separate then there will be disruption every time a new manager is appointed and wants to bring in his own scouting staff. Remember Butcher's mate Marsala and how well he identified talent?

It makes sense to have Kensall negotiate the deals though if he has a good track record. Mathie did a good job in identifying players, so it looks like he wasn't a good enough negotiator and that has cost him his job.

The scouting staff are still in place. Called recruitment analysts or whatever they are these days.

I doubt Mathie was heavily involved in the actual identification (whilst in the Sporting Director role) of players. Main bit he did was probably the bit the CEO is going to take on.

09-10-2021, 10:04 AM
Not fussed. As long as everyone understands their role in the process and has enough time to do the various duties assigned then it doesn't matter what you name the person doing it.

Time will tell if we've got that part right or not.Except who's heading up recruitment?

Will a manager push for signing the likes of Tait from Raith Rovers (who seems to be one for the future) or prefer to spend his budget on an experienced journeyman who might do an OK job for 18 months?

There could well be a significant change in policy happening. All we can do is wait and see.

09-10-2021, 10:11 AM

One would have been good this window passed.

09-10-2021, 10:20 AM
Except who's heading up recruitment?

Will a manager push for signing the likes of Tait from Raith Rovers (who seems to be one for the future) or prefer to spend his budget on an experienced journeyman who might do an OK job for 18 months?

There could well be a significant change in policy happening. All we can do is wait and see.

Sometimes the experienced journeyman who can do a job for 18 months is exactly what you need though. Whether it is a manager or a recruitment department who recognises what we need isn't really important, it's just important that whatever we do we bring in what we need when we need it. There is more of a danger that a manager (whose job is on the line) might go for short termism a bit too often though.

I'd argue that our failure to bring in such a player in August might cost us dear this season.

It's all about the blend, really - too many journeymen or too many youngsters bought to be sold on, you might end up with a problem.

09-10-2021, 10:25 AM
Sometimes the experienced journeyman who can do a job for 18 months is exactly what you need though. Whether it is a manager or a recruitment department who recognises what we need isn't really important, it's just important that whatever we do we bring in what we need when we need it. There is more of a danger that a manager (whose job is on the line) might go for short termism a bit too often though.

I'd argue that our failure to bring in such a player in August might cost us dear this season.

It's all about the blend, really - too many journeymen or too many youngsters bought to be sold on, you might end up with a problem.I agree 100%, but a manager is judged on current results so is understandably unlikely to have the same recruitment criteria as a DoF or head of recruitment.

I'm only trying to see all the angles.

09-10-2021, 10:33 AM
It’s all well and good identifying players but if you continuously fail get them in the door then what’s the point? Prior to Mathie’s promotion our CEO was involved in transfer negotiations so it’s good to see a return having someone involved with strong experience in closing deals.

It’s also good to hear we are looking to bring in a dedicated Academy Director, another area of the Sporting Director role that Mathie had no real discernible experience in prior to his promotion.

09-10-2021, 10:33 AM
One would have been good this window passed.

You know we did sign players yeh?

St.Kristopher
09-10-2021, 10:35 AM
Except who's heading up recruitment?

Experienced journeymen won us the cup.

09-10-2021, 10:36 AM
It’s all well and good identifying players but if you continuously fail get them in the door then what’s the point? Prior to Mathie’s promotion our CEO was involved in transfer negotiations so it’s good to see a return having someone involved with strong experience in closing deals.

It’s also good to hear we are looking to bring in a dedicated Academy Director, another area of the Sporting Director role that Mathie had no real discernible experience in prior to his promotion.

He was handed the Academy Director on a temporary basis

09-10-2021, 10:46 AM
I’m surprised at this, our relative success has come through continuity, we’ve had a very settled team over the last few years and had moved away from the churn over previous years.
Graeme’s role wasn’t all about recruitment - suppose we have to trust that the other aspects of his role are being picked up by others, but i did think the structure we had worked well.

09-10-2021, 10:50 AM

It’s also good to hear we are looking to bring in a dedicated Academy Director, another area of the Sporting Director role that Mathie had no real discernible experience in prior to his promotion.Mathie effectively replaced George Craig. Leeann was involved in negotiations but she always had a DoF type figure at her side.

09-10-2021, 10:52 AM
Feels like a step back. Too based around the wants of a single manager who likely has been with us longer than he will still be here in future.

09-10-2021, 10:53 AM
I’m surprised at this, our relative success has come through continuity, we’ve had a very settled team over the last few years and had moved away from the churn over previous years.
Graeme’s role wasn’t all about recruitment - suppose we have to trust that the other aspects of his role are being picked up by others, but i did think the structure we had worked well.That's my feeling too, but both Ron & Ben appear to be more long haul than quick fix so I'd imagine they'll have a specific new structure in mind.

09-10-2021, 10:54 AM

What you’ve said is why I’m not really concerned by this.

I might be totally wrong but I can’t imagine he was that heavily involved in actually identifying players, not since his promotion anyway. Since then it would have been far more about doing the actual deals and I don’t think there is any question that not doing that part as well as he should has contributed to him not being there now. The way I read it is that part will get passed on to the CEO but I can’t see that much else changing.

09-10-2021, 10:56 AM
Dempster done the deals, Craig showed the players EM and sold the club to them and Mathie was chief scout. Since moving up and losing Dempster, Mathie hasn't been great at finishing deals. The head coach is always involved as it's his side and he'll have an input into the players he wants. I think we really missed Leeann, remember her flying out to Belgium to sign Kamberi, her and Craig worked well together, I think Mathie's inexperience in finishing deals came to the fore.

09-10-2021, 10:57 AM
What you’ve said is why I’m not really concerned by this.

I might be totally wrong but I can’t imagine he was that heavily involved in actually identifying players, not since his promotion anyway. Since then it would have been far more about doing the actual deals and I don’t think there is any question that not doing that part as well as he should has contributed to him not being there now. The way I read it is that part will get passed on to the CEO but I can’t see that much else changing.Having listened to him being interviewed a few times, I'd say he was very much involved in identifying players/targets.

09-10-2021, 11:03 AM

Deary me. Let’s see how things go eh?

09-10-2021, 11:03 AM
Having listened to him being interviewed a few times, I'd say he was very much involved in identifying players/targets.

That would seem strange ..he’s an events manager turned football operations guy ….he’s a commercial being not a football qualified person . He seems to have no background or qualifications to assess footballers ….

09-10-2021, 11:07 AM
Whilst recruitment has been more stable in recent years, the way people are going on about Mathie is that he was the key to this.

When we lost Leeann, it was all going to be a shambles, it’s not.
When we lost Craig, it was alll going to be a shambles, it’s not.
When we lost McCourt, it was all going to be a shambles, it’s not.

All good people but things evolve, move on, that’s how I feel about Mathie.

09-10-2021, 11:08 AM
That would seem strange ..he’s an events manager turned football operations guy ….he’s a commercial being not a football qualified person . He seems to have no background or qualifications to assess footballers ….

If you’re talking about the CEO, I don’t think there’s much chance he’ll be assessing anyone. We’ve still got staff to do that.

Calvin Charlton, Head of Performance and Recruitment Analysis
Euan Fotheringham, First Team Performance and Recruitment Analyst

The above is why I don’t think Mathie would have been overly involved in the identification of players in his SD role. May have offered some direction but I think that would be based on what Ross wanted. I think in the SD role he’d have been much more involved once players were actually identified.

09-10-2021, 11:09 AM
I agree 100%, but a manager is judged on current results so is understandably unlikely to have the same recruitment criteria as a DoF or head of recruitment.

I'm only trying to see all the angles.

In these set-ups the manager usually specifies his requirements to the recruitment team. That’s certainly how it worked when Mathie was in the recruitment role. Do you think the head of recruitment has a free reign to identify whoever he fancies without any input from the manager? The two work together.

09-10-2021, 11:12 AM
Good to see that RG is in tune with the majority of fans regarding the last 2 transfer windows.

He gets it.

Mikey_1875
09-10-2021, 11:28 AM
Good to see that RG is in tune with the majority of fans regarding the last 2 transfer windows.

He gets it.

I don’t remember any fans calling for the abolition of the sporting director role itself? People could see why Mathies time came to an end and gave Ron credit for being ruthless etc; but a replacement was expected.

Removing what has been a pretty successful structure and one that is widely implemented at other successful clubs is a gamble and time will tell whether it works or not. I wouldn’t be showering RG with praise over this until we see the results of the next few windows.

09-10-2021, 11:29 AM
That would seem strange ..he’s an events manager turned football operations guy ….he’s a commercial being not a football qualified person . He seems to have no background or qualifications to assess footballers ….I was speaking about Mathie.

09-10-2021, 11:31 AM
In these set-ups the manager usually specifies his requirements to the recruitment team. That’s certainly how it worked when Mathie was in the recruitment role. Do you think the head of recruitment has a free reign to identify whoever he fancies without any input from the manager? The two work together.I agree, but do we currently have a head of recruitment to work alongside the manager?

09-10-2021, 11:32 AM
I was speaking about Mathie.

Ah. Apologies Peev. That makes much more sense [emoji106]

09-10-2021, 11:36 AM
Whilst recruitment has been more stable in recent years, the way people are going on about Mathie is that he was the key to this.

When we lost Leeann, it was all going to be a shambles, it’s not.
When we lost Craig, it was alll going to be a shambles, it’s not.
When we lost McCourt, it was all going to be a shambles, it’s not.

All good people but things evolve, move on, that’s how I feel about Mathie.I don't think anybody's saying that it's going to be a shambles, just commenting that the football structure at the club appears to be being changed.

09-10-2021, 11:37 AM
Ah. Apologies Peev. That makes much more sense [emoji106]OK. Don't do it again! [emoji6]

09-10-2021, 11:39 AM
Just had a look at the club directory and Ian Gordon is now listed as Head of Recruitment.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/our-club/club-directory

09-10-2021, 11:42 AM
I don’t remember any fans calling for the abolition of the sporting director role itself? People could see why Mathies time came to an end and gave Ron credit for being ruthless etc; but a replacement was expected.

Removing what has been a pretty successful structure and one that is widely implemented at other successful clubs is a gamble and time will tell whether it works or not. I wouldn’t be showering RG with praise over this until we see the results of the next few windows.

I'm not talking specifically about the sporting director's role, more just the general feeling of disappointment at the last 2 transfer windows.

I appreciate that we were happy to keep hold of key players, but most of us were expecting more signings, rightly or wrongly.

I'm guessing RG felt the same. Or maybe he was hoping to get a decent fee in for Doig or Nisbet. Who knows.

Point being, RG maybe didn't think the existing structure was successful or fit for purpose going forwards, hence the change.

I've been impressed with everything RG has done since day one and am fully behind whatever changes he feels are needed.

Personally, I think we will see a huge improvement in signings going forwards, not just because of this, but I think we're stepping up a level in all areas of the club, including recruitment.

09-10-2021, 11:43 AM
Just had a look at the club directory and Ian Gordon is now listed as Head of Recruitment.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/our-club/club-directory

Ron’s slipped him in quietly, unbelievable

Also notice from that our head of comms, Ben Jacobs has gone too

09-10-2021, 11:49 AM

:eek:

Mikey_1875
09-10-2021, 11:57 AM
I'm not talking specifically about the sporting director's role, more just the general feeling of disappointment at the last 2 transfer windows.

I appreciate that we were happy to keep hold of key players, but most of us were expecting more signings, rightly or wrongly.

I'm guessing RG felt the same. Or maybe he was hoping to get a decent fee in for Doig or Nisbet. Who knows.

Point being, RG maybe didn't think the existing structure was successful or fit for purpose going forwards, hence the change.

I've been impressed with everything RG has done since day one and am fully behind whatever changes he feels are needed.

Personally, I think we will see a huge improvement in signings going forwards, not just because of this, but I think we're stepping up a level in all areas of the club, including recruitment.

Yeah I’d agree he has been very impressive so far and Ron hasn’t given me any reason to not trust him so far. I guess i’m just a bit cautious about this one as I really like the model of having a sporting director in general and the club has enjoyed success with it.
Hopefully you are bang on about the improvement in quality of signings as the bar is already set at a good level, just needed more of it in some areas!

09-10-2021, 12:02 PM

Sensible decision.

09-10-2021, 12:05 PM

By not announcing him, that makes it worse than announcing him in my book. We preach transparency but for a fairly important role I’m a wee bit concerned about this and I say that as someone who has nothing but admiration for the way Ron has went about things since he took the reins.

Torto7
09-10-2021, 12:09 PM
Does anyone know what Mathie's salary was?

I must admit if his role was negotiations mainly then I can see why they've binned the position. The most important part is identifying players and that comes from the scouting dept. If they feel Kensall can do some of that and save on the sporting director salary then its fine by me. Ron Gordons son was involved directly with Jack Ross on the Mueller signing. Ron said on the 5 live podcast that they wanted to look at other markets for signing players as well as the local market. The might channel some of that saved money in that direction.

We'll see.

09-10-2021, 12:20 PM

Ian Gordon, Head of Recruitment!!!

The owners laddie.
That gives me the fear.
Qualifications for the job?

09-10-2021, 12:23 PM

The owners laddie.
That gives me the fear.

That’s a shocker. Completely agree. Warning signs all over this

09-10-2021, 12:23 PM

Terrifying

09-10-2021, 12:28 PM

The owners laddie.
That gives me the fear.

He’s probably got a more direct link to daddy’s wallet than anyone else. Could be a sign that we are looking to invest.

09-10-2021, 12:28 PM
Does anyone know what Mathie's salary was?

I must admit if his role was negotiations mainly then I can see why they've binned the position. The most important part is identifying players and that comes from the scouting dept. If they feel Kensall can do some of that and save on the sporting director salary then its fine by me. Ron Gordons son was involved directly with Jack Ross on the Mueller signing. Ron said on the 5 live podcast that they wanted to look at other markets for signing players as well as the local market. The might channel some of that saved money in that direction.

We'll see.

I am comfortable with change. Consultation would have taken place in the club and the key employees are likely to have agreed the change would work. They say it brings the CEO closer to the manager and managing. Other orgznisations are doing similar, and I know of one that has just started the internal consultation phase in the words of Bob Dylan 'The times they are a changing' we have to change with them.

09-10-2021, 12:29 PM
He’s probably got a more direct link to daddy’s wallet than anyone else. Could be a sign that we are looking to invest.

Invest in what though ? One of us are as likely to make better choices than he is

09-10-2021, 12:31 PM
Invest in what though ? One of us are as likely to make better choices than he is

Based on what?

09-10-2021, 12:34 PM

The owners laddie.
That gives me the fear.

Do we know if this is head of recruitment on the playing side though? Could be a terminology thing. Maybe he’s in charge of getting all these tradesman in that a lot of folk were saying we’re trying to hire for buttons.

09-10-2021, 12:34 PM
Did Ian Gordon not play quite a big part in the deal for Mueller? Could it be that we’re looking at this being a position that focuses on the commercial side, rather than the actual identification of players? We seem to have people that already do that side of stuff.

09-10-2021, 12:35 PM

The owners laddie.
That gives me the fear.

Were there not some on here crediting him with the Mueller signing and hoping he had a more active role in recruitment previously?

Let's see how things go. It might not be the case Gordon Jr is out scouting for players but instead doing the man management of the scouting team, where to go and when, collating the reports for Ross and Kensell

09-10-2021, 12:35 PM

Have to agree with most, definitely worrying. No qualifications to be doing that role. Hopefully means that Jack Ross will have more input on the players coming in etc. Even then Ron's son will be taking a decent wage you'd imagine.

Also, isn't Ben Jacobs not long in the door? The guy on the Hibee Buzz? If so, I liked him.

09-10-2021, 12:37 PM
Based on what?

Was thinking exactly the same…Actually thought the original comment was tongue in cheek.

09-10-2021, 12:37 PM
Based on what?

Well, if he has technical qualifications in football or football analysis then he is of course a real candidate for that role ….then fair play ..we should give him a chance

if not, then what would give him the credentials more than many on here ?

Ps. Two other points

What’s the chance that our owners son is the best candidate out there ? Highly unlikely

And

What’s the chance of when there is a debate between JR and Our new head of recruitment that our manager gets to win that debate …very little

Worrying for me

09-10-2021, 12:38 PM
Have to agree with most, definitely worrying. No qualifications to be doing that role. Hopefully means that Jack Ross will have more input on the players coming in etc. Even then Ron's son will be taking a decent wage you'd imagine.

Also, isn't Ben Jacobs not long in the door? The guy on the Hibee Buzz? If so, I liked him.

What’s the worry & what qualifications has he not got?

I can see Ron giving out a position on sentiment.

09-10-2021, 12:39 PM
Do we know if this is head of recruitment on the playing side though? Could be a terminology thing. Maybe he’s in charge of getting all these tradesman in that a lot of folk were saying we’re trying to hire for buttons.

Football side.
He is number 5 in the football staff part of the club directory after Ross, Potter, Gray and Samson

09-10-2021, 12:39 PM
What’s the worry & what qualifications has he not got?

Qualifications, none. That's the point.

Never usually ends well when owners of clubs sneak their family into roles. Why not just announce it?

09-10-2021, 12:48 PM
Well, if he has technical qualifications in football or football analysis then he is of course a real candidate for that role ….if not, then what would give him the credentials more than many on here ? That’s how ridiculous that appointment appears …

Well if its true he was influential in the Mueller dwal based on what Ive heard he is off to a good start. If we are looking at the Americas he might and pribably will no more than we do. For European market he will have Jack and Ben to guide him. I doubt RG kept Telemundo at number one in Latin Anerica and nade it a worthwhile acquisition for one of the biggest TV companies in the world by making daft decisions. Your point about experience ir inexoerience is still valid though but I doubt nany or any of us on hear could have been as influential as he has been said to have been in the Mueller deal. Dies anyine kniw for sure how that came about? I cant see GM having been involved in that from the start.

09-10-2021, 12:48 PM
Ron's son head of recruitment as per club directory

09-10-2021, 12:49 PM

Ben Jacobs only arrived in the summer as head of communications and he appears to be gone already.
He is a Leicester City supporter and an Oxford University graduate in English with an extensive history in sports journalism, consultation, digital media etc.
Clever guy but as calculating and bland as a bland thing.
Strangely he doesn't include Hibs in his CV.
No announcement from Hibs or Ben.

09-10-2021, 12:51 PM
Ben Jacobs only arrived in the summer as head of communications and he appears to be gone already.
He is a Leicester City supporter and an Oxford University graduate in English with an extensive history in sports journalism, consultation, digital media etc.
Clever guy but as calculating and bland as a bland thing.
Strangely he doesn't include Hibs in his CV.

Really? He's a prick then :greengrin

In all honesty I thought he was quite funny and a good edition to the Hibee Buzz. must have just been a short term thing then to help get things started.

09-10-2021, 12:54 PM
That’s a shocker. Completely agree. Warning signs all over this

The only other guys involved with recruitment are on the analyst side

09-10-2021, 12:56 PM
Well, if he has technical qualifications in football or football analysis then he is of course a real candidate for that role ….then fair play ..we should give him a chance

if not, then what would give him the credentials more than many on here ?

Ps. Two other points

What’s the chance that our owners son is the best candidate out there ? Highly unlikely

And

What’s the chance of when there is a debate between JR and Our new head of recruitment that our manager gets to win that debate …very little

Worrying for me

It will be a worry if we’re asking him to analyse and identify players.

If we have people who do that side of stuff (Calvin Charlton, Head of Performance and Recruitment Analysis and Euan Fotheringham, First Team Performance and Recruitment Analyst) and we’re asking him to do other aspects, that’s a different story IMO.

I don’t believe Ian Gordon will be telling Jack Ross who we are signing.

09-10-2021, 12:58 PM
Well if its true he was influential in the Mueller dwal based on what Ive heard he is off to a good start. If we are looking at the Americas he might and pribably will no more than we do. For European market he will have Jack and Ben to guide him. I doubt RG kept Telemundo at number one in Latin Anerica and nade it a worthwhile acquisition for one of the biggest TV companies in the world by making daft decisions. Your point about experience ir inexoerience is still valid though but I doubt nany or any of us on hear could have been as influential as he has been said to have been in the Mueller deal. Dies anyine kniw for sure how that came about? I cant see GM having been involved in that from the start.

He recommended him is what we were told on here …I think the same poster also suggested it was JR who had the biggest role in recruitment of him ..

Isn’t it worrying that the owners son is head of recruitment ? Even if that’s his profession - it still would be spectacularly lucky he was the best choice out there ..

09-10-2021, 01:01 PM

The owners laddie.
That gives me the fear.

Not player recruitment.

Ben Jacobs did the interviews last week.

Why are we thinking he’s left? I don’t think the club directory lists every employee?

RGs son maybe is the best man for the role. It’s clear Mathie wasn’t up to the job.

A lot of worrying over nothing. I see this as a huge plus.

The only other guys involved with recruitment are on the analyst side

There is more people working for Hibs than those listed on the directory.

09-10-2021, 01:03 PM
Really? He's a prick then :greengrin

In all honesty I thought he was quite funny and a good edition to the Hibee Buzz. must have just been a short term thing then to help get things started.

He has built up an impressive CV.
A good chance he has been brought in on an expensive short term contract to restructure things.

09-10-2021, 01:04 PM

Why are we thinking he’s left? I don’t think the club directory lists every employee?

RGs son maybe is the best man for the role. It’s clear Mathie wasn’t up to the job.

Ben was brought in as Head of Comms and was listed on the directory previously. He is no longer listed and Adam Tomlinson who was previously Comms manager is now listed as Head of Comms.

09-10-2021, 01:10 PM
There is more people working for Hibs than those listed on the directory.

I am presuming that any significant employee at Hibs is on the directory.

09-10-2021, 01:22 PM
Ben was brought in as Head of Comms and was listed on the directory previously. He is no longer listed and Adam Tomlinson who was previously Comms manager is now listed as Head of Comms.

he didn’t make it past the probation stage. We can’t keep going through employees like this, we’ll be getting a bad reputation

09-10-2021, 01:22 PM

The owners laddie.
That gives me the fear.
The sports scientists will look at the performance stats etc. He is probably brought in for other skills such a negotiation and selling the club to players and contacts in USA and other parts of the Americas.

09-10-2021, 01:24 PM
I am presuming that any significant employee at Hibs is on the directory.

You said the below, which is incorrect.

The only other guys involved with recruitment are on the analyst side.

09-10-2021, 01:31 PM
Making your son the head of recruitment is all a bit mad Vlad for my liking.

09-10-2021, 01:37 PM
**** it, is what it is, he might be brilliant at football manager 😂

Proof will be in the pudding but I don’t see the point stressing about it now.

Ron’s got a vested interest in this being a success so I’m sure there’s method to the madness.

09-10-2021, 01:42 PM
Interesting, not in a good way.

The fact we haven’t announced it either doesn’t sit right.

09-10-2021, 01:45 PM
Ian Gordon was previously talked about as out technical scout, he had a big part to play in the partnership with Charleston Battery and had a big hand in the signing of Mueller. Maybe he's actually the best person for the role within the club he's been given.

09-10-2021, 01:46 PM

Do you play the piano like Les Dawson ?

There’s some cracking Mis-keys in there ;)

I say until we know how things are re-structured and the revised nature of the role let’s not hit the panic button just yet.

On the comms front don’t have a view but it’s a critical role - even moreso atm so if it’s not working out then best making a call early and giving someone else a crack of the whip esp at a time we’ll ahead of a new season to bed in.

09-10-2021, 01:48 PM
Anyone got a copy of his stats from football manager 2021

09-10-2021, 01:48 PM
Yeah, I won't lie that this is pretty worrying.

09-10-2021, 01:51 PM
If Ron wants his son to be a success then he’s going to have to give him plenty money for players. I’m cool with that.[emoji106]

09-10-2021, 01:54 PM
Yeah, I won't lie that this is pretty worrying.

In what sense do you find it worrying?

I don’t mean to sound dismissive of the concerns as the optics clearly aren’t good but for me it’s basically an administrative role.

If Ross doesn’t like the players he’s finding he won’t sign him. There’s also a team of people looking for players, it’s not like it’s just him looking for players.

I think it’s so mad it’s potentially quite exciting. I’d bet we are looking for players from all over the world now and not just players familiar with Scottish football.

Time will tell.

09-10-2021, 02:09 PM
Not player recruitment.

It's listed under Football Staff.

09-10-2021, 02:28 PM
In what sense do you find it worrying?

I don’t mean to sound dismissive of the concerns as the optics clearly aren’t good but for me it’s basically an administrative role.

If Ross doesn’t like the players he’s finding he won’t sign him. There’s also a team of people looking for players, it’s not like it’s just him looking for players.

I think it’s so mad it’s potentially quite exciting. I’d bet we are looking for players from all over the world now and not just players familiar with Scottish football.

Time will tell.

I've never been a fan of nepotism. It is highly unlikely that the most qualified person for an extremely important role happens to be the son of the owner, yet there he is anyway.

I've been fully supportive of every decision Gordon has taken up until now, but not this one. Ultimately though if it's a success in the long run then no one, including me, will care.

09-10-2021, 02:33 PM

Mathie was up for the job when we signed a good chunk of the current playing squad, this offhand dismissal of his role is kinda crass now and he played a big part in getting to where we are.

09-10-2021, 02:50 PM
Ok, I’ll rephrase it.

It’s clear RG or the board didn’t think Mathie was up to the job going forwards. I just agree with them :greengrin

09-10-2021, 02:57 PM
If it was Hearts we'd be laughing. I'm not going to panic yet - he might be brilliant in the role. Ron still has my trust.

Time will tell.

St.Kristopher
09-10-2021, 03:02 PM
Ian Gordon was previously talked about as out technical scout, he had a big part to play in the partnership with Charleston Battery and had a big hand in the signing of Mueller. Maybe he's actually the best person for the role within the club he's been given.

Mathie specifically praised him for these in the press.

09-10-2021, 03:08 PM
Making your son the head of recruitment is all a bit mad Vlad for my liking.

Ron owns the club, if he thinks his son can bring something to the role then presumably thats why hes in it.

I imagine that someone like RG wouldnt put him in that position if he thought he was going to make a hash of it?

09-10-2021, 03:22 PM
Mathie specifically praised him for these in the press.

It's called playing the game

jingler1954
09-10-2021, 03:24 PM
Why do so many people have to judge Ron's son before knowing the full facts of the appointment (which I haven't seen anywhere officially) or what his capabilities are. I trust Ron Gordon and everything he has done so far for the club.(shaking head emoji)

09-10-2021, 03:26 PM
It's called playing the game

Or praising someone for doing a job well done.

09-10-2021, 03:30 PM
Or praising someone for doing a job well done.

Generally everything is great and wonderful in statements.
It's the media game.
Everyone has to make their own minds up based on evidence rather than bland club statments.

09-10-2021, 03:50 PM
This sounds like one of those red flags that we should've made a bigger deal about, 10 years from now when we're picking up the pieces. Does this guy have any qualifications whatsoever?

09-10-2021, 03:59 PM
he didn’t make it past the probation stage. We can’t keep going through employees like this, we’ll be getting a bad reputation

Whats the point of a probation period then? Would you rather we kept every duffer on that we hired just so we didn’t get a “bad reputation”? A lot of angst on here for what could turn out to be a fantastic decision.

09-10-2021, 04:02 PM
This sounds like one of those red flags that we should've made a bigger deal about, 10 years from now when we're picking up the pieces. Does this guy have any qualifications whatsoever?Ron wants the club to be successful. If it turns out to be a duff appointment he'll hopefully rectify that.

He could easily have installed his son as CEO but didn't so maybe there's more to the appointment than nepotism.

I'll give him the benefit of the doubt for the time being.

09-10-2021, 04:04 PM
Whats the point of a probation period then? Would you rather we kept every duffer on that we hired just so we didn’t get a “bad reputation”? A lot of angst on here for what could turn out to be a fantastic decision.

Maybe we should get our recruitment right in the 1st place

09-10-2021, 04:08 PM
Ron wants the club to be successful. If it turns out to be a duff appointment he'll hopefully rectify that.

He could easily have installed his son as CEO but didn't so maybe there's more to the appointment than nepotism.

Yeah, I mean, you'd think all owners want the club to be successful. But many, many owners have just used clubs to make money and not cared about the clubs success. Mike Ashley for example.

I don't think Ron is anything like those guys, but this is a red flag IMO.

09-10-2021, 04:08 PM
This sounds like one of those red flags that we should've made a bigger deal about, 10 years from now when we're picking up the pieces. Does this guy have any qualifications whatsoever?

I don’t think Ron’s an erse. Why not trust the man’s decisions instead of fantasising over hypothetical nonsense?

09-10-2021, 04:09 PM
Maybe we should get our recruitment right in the 1st place

That happens in every industry right enough.

Do you not like life under Ron Billy? You’ve been quite critical of some things happening at the club over the last few months.

09-10-2021, 04:09 PM
Maybe we should get our recruitment right in the 1st placeThere are different reasons why people don't continue at the end of a probationary period and it can come from either party. Nobody has to be at fault - sometimes it just doesn't work.

09-10-2021, 04:11 PM
That happens in every industry right enough.

It does, but we employed him, then game him the budget to bring in another 2 employees. So after a few months we’ve decided the personnel and structure isn’t right, and we’re back looking for another 2 people, instead of one

09-10-2021, 04:15 PM
It does, but we employed him, then game him the budget to bring in another 2 employees. So after a few months we’ve decided the personnel and structure isn’t right, and we’re back looking for another 2 people, instead of oneHe was appointed before Ben Kensell - maybe it's him that didn't fancy Ben Jacobs?

Once again people choose to criticise without knowing the details.

09-10-2021, 04:17 PM
I don’t think Ron’s an erse. Why not trust the man’s decisions instead of fantasising over hypothetical nonsense?

I don't think he's an arse either. I think this is a red flag. If he binned Ross tomorrow and put his wife in charge, would you trust his decision?

His son appears to be equally unqualified, thats all.

09-10-2021, 04:19 PM
I don't think he's an arse either. I think this is a red flag. If he binned Ross tomorrow and put his wife in charge, would you trust his decision?

Depends if she plays 1 or 2 up front.

09-10-2021, 04:21 PM
It does, but we employed him, then game him the budget to bring in another 2 employees. So after a few months we’ve decided the personnel and structure isn’t right, and we’re back looking for another 2 people, instead of one

File under **** happens!

Surely you can’t expect everyone and everything to always work out first time every time?

Having employed many many people I can tell you that it’s not uncommon for something like this to happen and for it to happen for many different reasons, one of which is the employee themselves changing their mind.

cameronw-hfc
09-10-2021, 04:24 PM
I think a lot of people are missing the fact that head of recruitment doesn't necessarily mean he's scouting himself. He'll have a team of scouts / analysts, and will be getting orders from Jack or Ben about what sort of player they're after, with the recruitment team then going to find one. He might just be a name in a place, he might revamp the whole structure, but as it stands, we've got brilliant scouts etc and I don't worry too much.

09-10-2021, 04:50 PM
Ron wants the club to be successful. If it turns out to be a duff appointment he'll hopefully rectify that.

CEO would have been better. It’s not a football appointment …

09-10-2021, 04:51 PM
Maybe I missed it earlier in the thread but who is Finlay Stark? Is he a new appointment as well? Have we just stopped announcing major personnel changes at the club?

09-10-2021, 04:56 PM
Maybe I missed it earlier in the thread but who is Finlay Stark? Is he a new appointment as well? Have we just stopped announcing major personnel changes at the club?https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-fc-staff-update

09-10-2021, 05:03 PM
Maybe I missed it earlier in the thread but who is Finlay Stark? Is he a new appointment as well? Have we just stopped announcing major personnel changes at the club?

Finlay has been around for years. Good lad. Used to be ops for Development team, and stepped up to Ops Manager for the club when George Craig retired

09-10-2021, 05:05 PM
Finlay has been around for years. Good lad. Used to be ops for Development team, and stepped up to Ops Manager for the club when George Craig retired

Cheers.

So does that mean Mathie won't be directly replaced then if we have a new recruitment head and a promoted football ops manager?

I'm not sure what to make of it all tbh. Something just doesn't sit right with it all.

09-10-2021, 05:22 PM
Cheers.

So does that mean Mathie won't be directly replaced then if we have a new recruitment head and a promoted football ops manager?

I'm not sure what to make of it all tbh. Something just doesn't sit right with it all.
Finlay was promoted at the start of 2020, nothing changes with him
Hibs have had a lot of jobs around just now, but this one wasn’t advertised

09-10-2021, 05:32 PM

His son appears to be equally unqualified, thats all.

What are Ron’s qualifications for being Executive Chairman of a football club?

As Ron isn’t getting any younger I imagine this is a first step in Ian eventually taking over from Ron. This if true would indicate a long term commitment which would be very encouraging.

09-10-2021, 06:55 PM
Terrifying
I'll get the smelling salts out for you 😅

09-10-2021, 07:07 PM
Yeah, I mean, you'd think all owners want the club to be successful. But many, many owners have just used clubs to make money and not cared about the clubs success. Mike Ashley for example.

I don't think Ron is anything like those guys, but this is a red flag IMO.
You'll not make money from hibs or Scottish football, the reference to Newcastle is ridiculous.

09-10-2021, 07:10 PM
You'll not make money from hibs or Scottish football, the reference to Newcastle is ridiculous.Will you not? We've got about 20 sponsors as well as prize money, there is a few Bob there.

What are Ron’s qualifications for being Executive Chairman of a football club?

As Ron isn’t getting any younger I imagine this is a first step in Ian eventually taking over from Ron. This if true would indicate a long term commitment which would be very encouraging.

It's encouraging if they do a good job.

09-10-2021, 07:11 PM
Some amount of hyperbole being thrown around on this thread and the majority of it is based on little or no concrete information.

09-10-2021, 07:41 PM
Some amount of hyperbole being thrown around on this thread and the majority of it is based on little or no concrete information.Correct.

09-10-2021, 07:43 PM
Maybe Ron thinks this is us moving up a level. Hope so....

09-10-2021, 07:54 PM
Maybe Ron thinks this is us moving up a level. Hope so....

You hope Ron thinks this is us moving up a level?

09-10-2021, 08:01 PM

If he thinks the appointment will make us move up a level then I hope he's correct. Is there something wrong with that? I've no idea how it will turn out but I'm always open to change.

10-10-2021, 08:05 AM
If it was Hearts we'd be laughing. I'm not going to panic yet - he might be brilliant in the role. Ron still has my trust.

Time will tell.

This. Quite worried by this move but at the moment Ron has credit in the bank for his time so far. Sneaking in the appointment seems a very amateurish move though - he must realise it would have been picked up. Better just to be honest and tell us what his son brings to the role, what he'll be focusing on etc.

10-10-2021, 08:07 AM

do you think Ron is doing this because he thinks it’ll take us backwards?

10-10-2021, 08:07 AM
I don't think it's going to make an awful lot of difference to be honest. Ron Gordon isn't stupid. From what I've read so far from the club it'll be more a case of Ross and Kensell working closely together in identifying the players Ross wants.

10-10-2021, 08:13 AM
This. Quite worried by this move but at the moment Ron has credit in the bank for his time so far. Sneaking in the appointment seems a very amateurish move though - he must realise it would have been picked up. Better just to be honest and tell us what his son brings to the role, what he'll be focusing on etc.

I don't think displaying it on the club website for literally anyone to see is sneaking it in.

10-10-2021, 08:13 AM
RG hasn’t really put a foot wrong so far, he definitely has my backing. The optics might not be great but is their evidence to suggest his son shouldn’t have the job?

10-10-2021, 08:16 AM
I don't think it's going to make an awful lot of difference to be honest. Ron Gordon isn't stupid.

Hope so…we all want to keep progressing. It’s reasonable for eyebrows to be raised at an appointment that in the face of it doesn’t appear to have the background and experience for the role.

Gordon seems to have made decent appointments so far, so I can also understand why many seem relaxed. For me, I’d have preferred a candidate who is a top, up and coming
, talent in this type of role. If we get good quality targets in though, I’ll be happy.

10-10-2021, 08:17 AM
RG hasn’t really put a foot wrong so far, he definitely has my backing. The optics might not be great but is their evidence to suggest his son shouldn’t have the job?

No. Like others have said he has credit in the bank. Everything he has touched has turned to gold so far so I have no reason to doubt this. I'm still of the opinion our transfer window fell short and a change was needed. It's happened so I'll go with it.

Sioux
10-10-2021, 08:27 AM
Hope so…we all want to keep progressing. It’s reasonable for eyebrows to be raised at an appointment that in the face of it doesn’t appear to have the background and experience for the role.

Gordon seems to have made decent appointments so far, so I can also understand why many seem relaxed. For me, I’d have preferred a candidate who is a top, up and coming
, talent in this type of role. If we get good quality targets in though, I’ll be happy.

What do you know about the 'type of role'? Nothing.

10-10-2021, 08:29 AM

What a strange reply….I’m assuming it’s a head of recruitment role…as the title suggests…what about my post created such a response?

10-10-2021, 08:29 AM

It’s difficult when we don’t know exactly what he’s going to be responsible for, however head of recruitment comes across as one of the more important roles at a football club. The EEN article from yesterday made it sound like Kensell/Ross would be working closely together on transfers.

10-10-2021, 08:40 AM
I note Ian Gordon was described as a "technical scout" as far back as a year ago so it's not as if he has just been given a job out of the blue.
Instead it would appear he has a new role as part of a restructuring.

10-10-2021, 08:41 AM
I don't think displaying it on the club website for literally anyone to see is sneaking it in.

In the world of football it absolutely is. We've just filled what sounds like a key role in the club, and the first we know is just it getting bunged up on the website? No announcement, no chat from RG or his son about this major appointment.

10-10-2021, 08:54 AM
In the world of football it absolutely is. We've just filled what sounds like a key role in the club, and the first we know is just it getting bunged up on the website? No announcement, no chat from RG or his son about this major appointment.

Perhaps we don’t see it as a key role or a major appointment. We wouldn’t normally announce administrative roles at the club.

10-10-2021, 08:57 AM
Perhaps we don’t see it as a key role or a major appointment. We wouldn’t normally announce administrative roles at the club.

Strange title to give someone if it's not a key role at the club.

10-10-2021, 08:58 AM
Many seem relaxed about this, others are a bit more sceptical of this appointment. Neither reactions are unexpected at this stage.

RG has a good record so far, so I understand why people trust him to be making good decisions. This one feels a bit different than other appointments for me, less obvious (other than the obvious family links).

The role is a key one though. When Mathie spoke about this role at a session in East Mains (before he was made sporting director) he did loads of important things. He led the scouting and analysis teams. He made player long list and short list recommendations in line with the managers needs. He was the first point of contact with agents and players around coming to us. He hosted them when they arrived up here. Even before that he was marketing the club and the city to players and their families with videos and information packs around the club and the location. He was absolutely at the heart of our recruitment activity selling the move to targets, and also selling players to other clubs too. the boundaries may have changed slightly, but the majority of that will still be in the job.

It’s an important role.

10-10-2021, 08:58 AM
EEN article yesterday stated confirmation is expected next week of a new “streamlined structure”. Expect this will all be covered in that announcement.

10-10-2021, 09:00 AM

This is not an admin role Andy…it’s far from that…check out my recent post around how Mathie outlined his recruitment role previously . Now, there may be some boundary changes, but no other role is doing the core of these activities.

10-10-2021, 09:01 AM
This is not an admin role Andy…it’s far from that…check out my recent post around how Mathie outlined his recruitment role previously . Now, there may be some boundary changes, but no other role is doing the core of these activities.

What Mathie had to say about his role has nothing to do with this one.

Sioux
10-10-2021, 09:02 AM
What a strange reply….I’m assuming it’s a head of recruitment role…as the title suggests…what about my post created such a response?

You're critical of the appointment, but not knowing what the appointment entails. You don't know Ian Gordon's capabilities. Head of recruitment suggests that IG is leading a team of employees who's job is to find suitable recruitment candidates when the need arises, and probably put in place the most up to date processes and technology to help with that process. He might even want to introduce a continuous improvement strategy in an evolving area. By doing so, the team he leads will be in a position to identify the correct candidates (players etc).

I don't know the detail, only thinking of some possibilities, but that doesn't put me in a position to criticise, nor does it put me in a position to say this will work well.

But what I can do is suggest that the senior management at ER don't seem to do things just for the sake of it. From an outsider looking in, the club has been managed by RG in a positive and meaningful way.

I don't get the 'RG has employed his son so lets go negative' response.

10-10-2021, 09:02 AM
What Mathie had to say about his role has nothing to do with this one.

Come on Andy, don’t be ridiculous…he was talking about the functions of the role which he did at the time …they still need done…this is the role that will do most of them

10-10-2021, 09:04 AM
Come on Andy, don’t be ridiculous…he was talking about the functions of the role which he did at the time …they still need done…this is the role that will do most of them

He was talking about his role at the time. He wasn’t talking about whatever role this will be in what is a new structure with a new CEO who we have heard will be doing much more of this himself.

10-10-2021, 09:06 AM
You're critical of the appointment, but not knowing what the appointment entails. You don't know Ian Gordon's capabilities. Head of recruitment suggests that IG is leading a team of employees who's job is to find suitable recruitment candidates when the need arises, and probably put in place the most up to date processes and technology to help with that process. He might even want to introduce a continuous improvement strategy in an evolving area. By doing so, the team he leads will be in a position to identify the correct candidates (players etc).

I don't know the detail, only thinking of some possibilities, but that doesn't put me in a position to criticise, nor does it put me in a position to say this will work well.

But what I can do is suggest that the senior management at ER don't seem to do things just for the sake of it. From an outsider looking in, the club has been managed by RG in a positive and meaningful way.

I was certainly spooked when I first heard the appointment….it’s a key role..and in a fans forum we are allowed to chat about things related to Hibs.

My posts recognised there are supportive and questioning views…it’s wasn’t overtly critical..

It’s as reasonable to wonder about this appointment as it is to support it at this early stage.

10-10-2021, 09:08 AM
I was certainly spooked when I first heard the appointment….it’s a key role..and in a fans forum we are allowed to chat about things related to Hibs.

My posts recognised there are supportive and questioning views…it’s wasn’t overtly critical..

It’s as reasonable to wonder about this appointment as it is to support it at this early stage.

Or indeed to have virtually no view at all until you find out anything about the role.

10-10-2021, 09:08 AM
Strange title to give someone if it's not a key role at the club.

Yup. I've never heard of someone being Head of... and it not being a very important senior role.

10-10-2021, 09:09 AM

You think it's likely Head of Recruitment is an administrative role? Really?

10-10-2021, 09:10 AM
Many seem relaxed about this, others are a bit more sceptical of this appointment. Neither reactions are unexpected at this stage.

RG has a good record so far, so I understand why people trust him to be making good decisions. This one feels a bit different than other appointments for me, less obvious (other than the obvious family links).

The role is a key one though. When Mathie spoke about this role at a session in East Mains (before he was made sporting director) he did loads of important things. He led the scouting and analysis teams. He made player long list and short list recommendations in line with the managers needs. He was the first point of contact with agents and players around coming to us. He hosted them when they arrived up here. Even before that he was marketing the club and the city to players and their families with videos and information packs around the club and the location. He was absolutely at the heart of our recruitment activity selling the move to targets, and also selling players to other clubs too. the boundaries may have changed slightly, but the majority of that will still be in the job.

It’s an important role.

Bigwheel has explained what the role previously entailed for Mathie, and it can't have changed that much for Gordon. So what evidence do we have that Gordon has any experience that would make him suited to that role?

Right now the only plausible defence is that his father has done a good job so far and is unlikely to jeopardise that by appointing someone who is clueless.

10-10-2021, 09:12 AM
Bigwheel has explained what the role previously entailed for Mathie, and it can't have changed that much for Gordon. So what evidence do we have that Gordon has any experience that would make him suited to that role?

Right now the only plausible defence is that his father has done a good job so far and is unlikely to jeopardise that by appointing someone who is clueless.

Summarises how I feel about Ian Gordon’s appointment into a senior role in the club.

10-10-2021, 09:14 AM
You think it's likely Head of Recruitment is an administrative role? Really?

In the sense that it isn’t a ‘football’ role, yes. Would expect it to be about coordination, management of resource and link to budget rather than him making any judgement on football players.

10-10-2021, 09:17 AM
He was talking about his role at the time. He wasn’t talking about whatever role this will be in what is a new structure with a new CEO who we have heard will be doing much more of this himself.

You positioned this as an admin role….regardless of structure it’s not. It’s fair to assume that most of the role and functions of recruitment will still be done by the recruitment team and their leader. There is no other function that would have those technical analysis and assessment capabilities.

10-10-2021, 09:20 AM
Amazes me that clubs like Motherwell and St Johnstone appear to manage to recruit well without all these dedicated roles.................

10-10-2021, 09:25 AM
Amazes me that clubs like Motherwell and St Johnstone appear to manage to recruit well without all these dedicated roles.................

Nick Daws runs recruitment at Motherwell….not sure about Saints tbf, they are not too bad at it mind you..whoever it is. great academy too run by Alastair Stevenson who used to be with us…

10-10-2021, 10:40 AM
Some folk have got themselves in a real lather about this, me I'll wait for forth coming Statement.

10-10-2021, 10:55 AM

They sign a lot more rubbish than us.

10-10-2021, 01:14 PM
So what is a recruitment manager? We have a recruitment team that identifies players the head coach has asked for, they'll report back to the recruitment manager and head coach. Once the players have been identified, the recruitment manager will then attempt to sign said players. The head of recruitment does not need to have experience as a scout to sign players.

10-10-2021, 01:17 PM
So what is a recruitment manager? We have a recruitment team that identifies players the head coach has asked for, they'll report back to the recruitment manager and head coach. Once the players have been identified, the recruitment manager will then attempt to sign said players. The head of recruitment does not need to have experience as a scout to sign players.

I just posted similar on the HoR thread.

10-10-2021, 04:07 PM

That role would be have Negotiator in the title, not Recruitment, so the actual role at Hibs must be broader.

And how many contracts do we negotiate each year? It won't be enough to require a full time Negotiator.

11-10-2021, 09:07 AM
Some folk have got themselves in a real lather about this, me I'll wait for forth coming Statement.

Possibly - and I don’t say this lightly - one of the most preposterous threads in recent times.

I’m surprised an argument hasn’t broken out over the definition of the word ‘of’ yet. Can only be a matter of time as we seem to have chased down every other rabbit hole.

11-10-2021, 09:41 AM
That role would be have Negotiator in the title, not Recruitment, so the actual role at Hibs must be broader.

And how many contracts do we negotiate each year? It won't be enough to require a full time Negotiator.I'm pretty sure I read that Ben Kensell would be handling the contract talks with players so it's quite possible that Ian Gordon won't have that responsibility in his role going forward and Is there to manage the recruitment team and make contact with potential targets.

Like everyone else I'm just submising but could it be that the recruitment department identify players for positions at the managers request, they present this to their superior Ian Gorgon who in turn after identifying what player(s) Jack Ross likes the look off makes initial contact with the players and turns on the charm to sell the club to said players. When contract time comes there is no middle man for agents to deal with they speak directly to the CEO and deals are either concluded or not.

All seems fairly straight forward in my head anyway. We'll wait and see how it materialises. We've signed some cracking players over the last few years but also some dross too. Nobody will get the recruitment right 100% of the time so I'm pretty relaxed and happy to sit tight and let the club do their stuff. I don't think anything is done without a great deal of thought and intention of success from RG.

Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk

11-10-2021, 10:09 AM
I’ve skipped about 30 pages or so of this thread as it appeared to take off over a couple of days.

I don’t know what credentials Ian Gordon has but I find it quite amusing some using the fact he got us Muller as a big catch when we don’t even know if he’s any good yet 😅

Could it be as simple as Ron wants someone at the club 24/7 that he trusts explicitly and will get things done, someone who Ross also has a strong relationship with?

I also don’t know the main difference in roles between for example Kensell and Mathie? Surely there’s quite a bit of an overlap.

Especially when you consider they will both have teams of people doing the daily work for them.

Maybe Kensell will just take more ownership and control of everything.

11-10-2021, 10:24 AM
I’ve skipped about 30 pages or so of this thread as it appeared to take off over a couple of days.

I don’t know what credentials Ian Gordon has but I find it quite amusing some using the fact he got us Muller as a big catch when we don’t even know if he’s any good yet 😅

Could it be as simple as Ron wants someone at the club 24/7 that he trusts explicitly and will get things done, someone who Ross also has a strong relationship with?

I also don’t know the main difference in roles between for example Kensell and Mathie? Surely there’s quite a bit of an overlap.

Especially when you consider they will both have teams of people doing the daily work for them.

Maybe Kensell will just take more ownership and control of everything.

Mueller ( hope this isn't going to be a Nisbet /Nesbit scenario 😁) was probably seen as a bit of a catch as most of the media in the US and further afield thought if he was going to Scotland it would be to Celtic or Rangers , he was also linked with a move to Belgium. On paper he looks like a decent signing and by all accounts alot of work went into this signing.

Obviously we don't know how it will turn out but the same can be said for any signing.

11-10-2021, 04:15 PM
Some really interesting responses to the "Head of" angle in this thread.

It doesn't necessarily mean a thing, it's like getting a gold star at school or being made a director of a company, it means nothing.

It can be a purely vanity title to give someone a higher profile or a bit of recognition or dare I say because they are related to the owner.

He could be doing the filing for all we know.

What matters is the role they actually perform.

If we recruited John Park again and called him toilet attendant and he signed the next Ronaldo, would anyone really care about his title?

11-10-2021, 04:53 PM
Some really interesting responses to the "Head of" angle in this thread.

It doesn't necessarily mean a thing, it's like getting a gold star at school or being made a director of a company, it means nothing.

It can be a purely vanity title to give someone a higher profile or a bit of recognition or dare I say because they are related to the owner.

He could be doing the filing for all we know.

What matters is the role they actually perform.

If we recruited John Park again and called him toilet attendant and he signed the next Ronaldo, would anyone really care about his title?

in my job the “head of” the department knows very little about the ins and outs of the day job i do and if push came to shove they probably wouldnt be able to do it themselves, but thats because thier job as the “head of” is to manage the higher level functions of the department such as its operating structure, budgets, resource and productivity etc and managing people who in turn deal with thier responsibilities and so on.

In corporate jobs being the head of something doesnt mean your the foremost authority in that specific thing but its likely you will be the one who manages the people that are, and getting them to do what they do and what the business needs from them.

11-10-2021, 05:20 PM
I have two questions about this appointment:

Will he now actively be taking a part in scouting new players?

If so, what experience/qualification does he have that makes him a good fit for this role?

No cynicism on my part, I'm genuinely just curious, especially as scouting/recruiting new players is a really important responsibility.

11-10-2021, 05:50 PM
in my job the “head of” the department knows very little about the ins and outs of the day job i do and if push came to shove they probably wouldnt be able to do it themselves, but thats because thier job as the “head of” is to manage the higher level functions of the department such as its operating structure, budgets, resource and productivity etc and managing people who in turn deal with thier responsibilities and so on.

In corporate jobs being the head of something doesnt mean your the foremost authority in that specific thing but its likely you will be the one who manages the people that are, and getting them to do what they do and what the business needs from them.

Often that this is the case in larger businesses but in privately run businesses there are so many vanity titles that you are never sure if you are dealing with the organ grinder or the monkey, based on titles or where the power and decision making capability lies

11-10-2021, 05:54 PM
I assume it’s JR that has had the biggest influence in signings since Hecky left but generally it seems to have been successful and we don’t seem to be signing duds anymore.

11-10-2021, 05:58 PM
I have two questions about this appointment:

Will he now actively be taking a part in scouting new players?

If so, what experience/qualification does he have that makes him a good fit for this role?

No cynicism on my part, I'm genuinely just curious, especially as scouting/recruiting new players is a really important responsibility.

First question: No, I don’t think he will. He might obviously be involved with the deployment and co-ordination of others employed to carry out these duties.

Second question: Because of my first answer, I don’t think he personally or necessarily requires the experience/qualification to scout and recruit. Professionalism, efficiency and competence will be among the pre-requisites for the role.

All in my opinion of-course.

Ps - just read MyJo’s post which pretty much falls in line with my thinking.