Tasty. Very tasty.

23-09-2021, 09:03 PM

Hibs St Johnstone final

Hmm, toughest draw there was to be honest.

penihibs
23-09-2021, 09:04 PM
Bring them on!

Just_Jimmy
As I said, they'd draw celtic and rangers apart. Hibs v St Johnstone final hopefully

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Hope our game's on the Saturday.

23-09-2021, 09:05 PM
Rangers v Hibs

So it's us v the Saintees in the final! :greengrin

my trial run was correct... ****

but anyway, i remember the great Alex Miller saying the best chance of beating either of the old firm in the cup was to get them in the semi-final

i agreed then and i still agree now

Personally think they'll beat us but it's something to look forward to.

Crunchie
We have a great record against the hun in semi finals.

**** the hun
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Hibees1973
23-09-2021, 09:06 PM
Tbh I wanted to avoid Celtic.

Love us playing Rangers at Hampden.

Have a look at our record against them over the last 50 years at Hampden....it is VERY good.

Am I correct in thinking Dundee United were unbeaten at home this season until tonight?

Hearts beat them 2-0.

But they had only conceded 6 goals in all competitions before tonight.

Why were Rangers number 1 and Celtic 2 on the balls ?

DIXIHIBS
Pressure all on them. Hopefully suits hibs. Hibs v saints final...payback time.

Personally think they'll beat us but it's something to look forward to.

**** the hun
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Root a toot toot Rangers oot

Paul1642
23-09-2021, 09:07 PM
my trial run was correct... ****

but anyway, i remember the great Alex Millar saying the best chance of beating either of the old firm in the cup was to get them in the semi-final

i agreed then and i still agree now

Applies slightly less when the likelyhood of the draw is meeting the other side of the old firm in the final. Beating both is a big ask (not to write off St J)

Gerrard bottles cups - nothing to worry about

Cat Stanton
Part of me wants Celtic as they leak goals for fun...

Part of me wants St Johnstone as we are due them a beating. They are the most anti football team in the Scottish premiership though and I think I would explode with rage if they beat us again!

So we'll probably get Rangers!

You were correct!

23-09-2021, 09:08 PM
As I said, they'd draw celtic and rangers apart. Hibs v St Johnstone final hopefully

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Premier Sports desperately trying to recover their losses from last season's final...

What weekend is the Semi?

Last season's league placings. We were 3 and the Saintees 4.

Ray Donovan
You were correct!

First time for everything haha

Not upset about getting Rangers at all.

They are beatable this season as Dundee Utd and their European campaign has proven. Tough draw but then any draw we got was going to be tough. I reckon they would have rather avoided us as well.

Applies slightly less when the likelyhood of the draw is meeting the other side of the old firm in the final. Beating both is a big ask (not to write off St J)

fair point

Because Rangers were the top team in the league, Celtic second, us third and St Johnstone the fourth top team left.

23-09-2021, 09:09 PM

20/21 November.

one day maybe...
23-09-2021, 09:09 PM

Sureits the 20th/21st of November

23-09-2021, 09:10 PM
At least keeping the OF apart should mean good attendances at the SFs, thus more dosh for us whatever the outcome.

Does Sir David fancy coming out of retirement?

One to look forward to. Really hope the fans turn out in decent numbers for this as it’s winnable.

23-09-2021, 09:11 PM
That was the first draw that I’ve watched not caring who we got. The hun at hampden is always a good prospect. I don’t think I’ve seen us lose a game at hampden against them.

Ray Donovan
23-09-2021, 09:12 PM
We play them on Sunday!

True!

Now we know the draw I hope we give them the pumping we are due them on Sunday...!

23-09-2021, 09:12 PM
Nothing to fear, should be a good game.

007 Mickey Weir
23-09-2021, 09:13 PM
How many semi finals have we played since 2016? Must be quite a few now

23-09-2021, 09:13 PM
That was the first draw that I’ve watched not caring who we got. The hun at hampden is always a good prospect. I don’t think I’ve seen us lose a game at hampden against them.

I’m the same - we hardly ever play them there but we’ve won our last 3.

Potty78
23-09-2021, 09:14 PM
Won the last 3 against them at Hampden, nowt to be scared of👍

23-09-2021, 09:15 PM

Ha ha ha!!! I was thinking it was two - 1991 and 2004. Was struggling for a few moments to think of what the third one was!

Ray Donovan
23-09-2021, 09:16 PM

That's a nice stat!

1-1 then on pens in 2004
3-2 in 2016

What was the other one?

Aye that’s what I was thinking, I remember losing a league cup final, but that was at Parkhead.

Not upset about getting Rangers at all.

They are beatable this season as Dundee Utd and their European campaign has proven. Tough draw but then any draw we got was going to be tough. I reckon they would have rather avoided us as well.

Hopefully right after an away European game

That's a nice stat!

1-1 then on pens in 2004(or was it 2003?)
3-2 in 2016

What was the other one?
1991 in the league cup semi.

23-09-2021, 09:17 PM
Let's do it Hibs. Also sell out our end. The Rangers will demand more tickets. Sure there will be a statement incoming from them.

Ray Donovan
23-09-2021, 09:18 PM

Cheers.

23-09-2021, 09:18 PM
Looking forward to the semi. I'm looking forward even more to whupping St Johnstone in the final.

one day maybe...
23-09-2021, 09:19 PM
On a long weekend baby #GGTTH :flag:

23-09-2021, 09:19 PM
Strange game tonight. 3-1 win but don’t think we played too well and gave utd too much room in the midfield at times.

All about the win in the cup though. Bring on the zombies

23-09-2021, 09:21 PM

Keith! Keith! Keith! Keith!

23-09-2021, 09:21 PM
Big game won. Great result.

23-09-2021, 09:27 PM
Keith! Keith! Keith! Keith!Hateley, come near me in the box and ill break your back [emoji16]

23-09-2021, 09:27 PM
Keith! Keith! Keith! Keith!
Brilliant night that was.

23-09-2021, 09:29 PM
Hateley, come near me in the box and ill break your back [emoji16]

McCoist ! Come up here thinking your Billy Big Baws ? You couldnae make it doon t toon

23-09-2021, 09:29 PM
20/21 November.

Good Doidge should be back by then.

23-09-2021, 09:30 PM
this doesn't include the 16 replays against them in 1979, not a bad record against them

https://i.ibb.co/jZjz95n/Sevco-SC.jpg (https://ibb.co/fGT9VSj)

23-09-2021, 09:31 PM
Hopefully right after an away European game

No Europa games the week before

23-09-2021, 09:35 PM
Who got MOTM?

23-09-2021, 09:36 PM
Who got MOTM?

Allan

23-09-2021, 09:37 PM

Our game will probably be Saturday?

23-09-2021, 09:38 PM
Allan

👍

GRA
23-09-2021, 09:38 PM
Strange game tonight... thought Utd were the better team for more of the game but in spells where we dominated we got the goals at the right times... Still of all the domestic games so far this season we are

P8 W5 D3 L0 👏

Also nothing to fear from The Rangers, they will be heavy favourites but games were close between us last season... let's not forget the decisions they got 3 games in a row... hoping our luck is finally turning after some of the decisions this evening!

23-09-2021, 09:39 PM

Was my first trip to Hampden, aged 13. Unbelievable night.

23-09-2021, 09:41 PM
Got tickets for a gig in Glasgow on Saturday 20th November - wee 17:30 kick off that night would do nicely :greengrin

23-09-2021, 09:42 PM
Was my first trip to Hampden, aged 13. Unbelievable night.

Definitely one of favourite ever Hibs games. Was absolutely tremendous, loved that team.

andudare2
23-09-2021, 09:42 PM
Seen Hibs beat them 4 times in league cup semi finals,Brownlie winner, 2 1 aggregate semi, Wright winner and penalties game so see no reason why there cant be a fith.

23-09-2021, 09:43 PM
Well done Hibs, bring on Sevco

Does tonight count as a big game?….

23-09-2021, 09:44 PM
Well done Hibs, bring on Sevco

Does tonight count as a big game?….

Only if we had lost 😂

BoyledEgg
23-09-2021, 09:46 PM
Because Rangers were the top team in the league, Celtic second, us third and St Johnstone the fourth top team left.

Hibs are second

our 2nd home, love it...except for the distance behind the goals

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/242589664_4243604489071913_237746943830527576_n.jp g?_nc_cat=101&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=xt3fzYfRKawAX8UtXEh&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=7df8d3f757e77398e804bebbd1cfd310&oe=6172EC05

Our game will probably be Saturday?

Do they not normally try put the more ‘TV appealing’ game on the Sunday? I could be totally making that up tbf, just rang a bell in my head

Roxyhibee
23-09-2021, 09:50 PM
We beat Rangers in semi then Celtic in Final in 1972. I’m taking that as an omen without any real connection at all apart from it was 49 years ago..

23-09-2021, 09:51 PM
Do they not normally try put the more ‘TV appealing’ game on the Sunday? I could be totally making that up tbf, just rang a bell in my head

I thought it was just the order they're drawn in. First tie drawn out plays on the Saturday.

lugz
23-09-2021, 09:51 PM
Not going to start a new thread and potentially a political debate BUT will we need vaccine passports for the semi final at hampden?

23-09-2021, 09:56 PM
Definitely one of favourite ever Hibs games. Was absolutely tremendous, loved that team.

Was superb. Was something about the vibe of that team after surviving the summer - as soon as the semi final draw was made I asked my Dad if we could go. Maybe just youthful naivety but was really confident.

23-09-2021, 09:57 PM
I thought it was just the order they're drawn in. First tie drawn out plays on the Saturday.

I hope you’re right mate, fingers crossed for the Saturday game.

1875godsgift
23-09-2021, 09:57 PM
Hibs are second

League finish at the end of last season.

23-09-2021, 10:04 PM
When will the dates be confirmed?

HTD1875
23-09-2021, 10:07 PM
When was the last time that mob beat us at hampden? nothing to fear.

23-09-2021, 10:11 PM
When was the last time that mob beat us at hampden? nothing to fear.

I’m thinking it was 79 ….42 years and counting

Allez Hibs
23-09-2021, 10:13 PM
Is that 5 consecutive semi finals at least in last 5 cup competitions?

About time we got over the line and won a Cup Competition again.

RCNG
23-09-2021, 10:16 PM
Great result. Hopefully Mr. Oagwibble didn't know it was on so won't be along to dampen the mood.

23-09-2021, 10:27 PM
Can't decide if they were really good and us really bad in the second half or perhaps a bit of both.

Either way all that matters is the result :aok:

23-09-2021, 10:31 PM
Can't decide if they were really good and us really bad in the second half or perhaps a bit of both.

Either way all that matters is the result :aok:

We weren’t bad. It was typical cup tie stuff, they had nothing to lose so we’re always going to play with a lot more freedom in the second half. We coped with that reasonably well.
I won’t pretend I found the second 45 relaxing though. :greengrin

23-09-2021, 10:31 PM
Hibs are second

Not last season we weren't.

Allez Hibs
23-09-2021, 10:33 PM
Not last season we weren't.

Second best in two semi finals and a final last season. Another chance to win a Cup this season. Let's take it.

Allez Hibs
23-09-2021, 10:35 PM
That's a nice stat!

1-1 then on pens in 2004
3-2 in 2016

What was the other one?

League Cup 1991.

23-09-2021, 10:38 PM
Second best in two semi finals and a final last season. Another chance to win a Cup this season. Let's take it.

Yes but I was answering a question about why we were ball number 3 and not ball number 2 in tonight's draw.

23-09-2021, 10:42 PM
https://youtu.be/QvzSbbmHgtY

Hibs tv highlights

mcohibs
23-09-2021, 10:57 PM
Always going to be a tricky second half to manage when 3 up at half time in a cup tie. Did enough in the end to get the result.

We look most threatening when on the break though which I actually think will suit us against Rangers. If we can keep a tight ship at the back and work the ball well going forward like we've shown we can do, we've got a real chance.

One defeat this season in Croatia with 10 men as JR says. Mon the cabbage!!

23-09-2021, 11:09 PM

Hibs tv highlights

What a first touch from Newell for our first. We looked much less nervy in the highlights than it felt at the game. Penalty decision was a total shocker and we have really had our fair share of decisions this year for the first time that I can remember in about 40 odd years. Hope it continues.

This team has a bit of the feel of the cup winning team to me. Great spirit and togetherness and capable of real quality. We have had a brilliant start to this season yet I don't think we have hit anything like top gear and have played some halves like we have never met. Ross has us on an upward trajectory though and regardless of what happens in this cup he has already got a tick against it as we are in the semi final. He has a good few "big games" coming up that could really put us in line for a very special season.

davhibby
23-09-2021, 11:12 PM

In the Scottish cup semis the non BBC game which is the Premier Sports pick is usually the Sunday. The last couple of years we’ve been the Saturday evening in the league cup and probably been the more interesting tie

23-09-2021, 11:22 PM
Better hope our game is the Saturday as there’s very, very few trains on the Sunday.

24-09-2021, 05:53 AM
Better hope our game is the Saturday as there’s very, very few trains on the Sunday.

Not sure if it will matter but Rangers are at home the following Thursday and Celtic are away in Germany.

Whether the Spfl want to give Celtic the extra 24 hours or not we'll see.

24-09-2021, 06:32 AM

Hibs tv highlights

Interesting that the United second goal wasn't deemed a highlight. :greengrin

mcohibs
24-09-2021, 07:14 AM
Any pictures from last night of the full Hibs stand?

24-09-2021, 07:22 AM

Damn Scotrail workers. They should be strung up!

24-09-2021, 07:31 AM
Sorry where was the post on here, that said the last time Rangers beat us at Hampden?

Allez Hibs
24-09-2021, 07:33 AM
Sorry where was the post on here, that said the last time Rangers beat us at Hampden?

1979. 42 years ago.

24-09-2021, 07:36 AM

Was it not we have won the last three games versus Rangers at Hampden?

To answer your question probably 1979 eventually :greengrin

24-09-2021, 07:38 AM
Having watched the highlights I have a question about the Dundee Utd goal (and I did notice this last night when watching live).

In the build up, when Harkes plays the ball to Freeman, Pawlett is in an offside position.

Freeman crosses and Pawlett scores.

I thought that should be flagged as offside however I admit to not being 100% sure of the rule.

24-09-2021, 07:40 AM
1979. 42 years ago.

Ta

24-09-2021, 07:41 AM
Was it not we have won the last three games versus Rangers at Hampden?

To answer your question probably 1979 eventually :greengrin

Probably😀
So they’ve beat us 1 game in 6 in 42 years

Allez Hibs
24-09-2021, 07:41 AM
Having watched the highlights I have a question about the Dundee Utd goal (and I did notice this last night when watching live).

In the build up, when Harkes plays the ball to Freeman, Pawlett is in an offside position.

Freeman crosses and Pawlett scores.

I thought that should be flagged as offside however I admit to not being 100% sure of the rule.

All to do with the phases of play. Pawlett wasn't affecting the first phase.

24-09-2021, 08:27 AM
This thread, jeez. The moaning and whinging about performance.:rolleyes:

In cup games all that matter is the result. ALL. How many times have we been the better team in a game like this and been out the cup?

Yes, we’ve played better but this was a tough game and I wasn’t entirely sure about an away tie at a rejuvenated Utd. I think they are a better ‘team’ when everything isn’t about Shankland.

Our creative players turned up and the game was over , bar the (lots of) shouting, by half time.

Hard luck United, they fought hard but Hibs are in another semi and we are undoubtedly one of the better teams in the Premiership.

hibeg
24-09-2021, 08:31 AM
I thought the much maligned Paul McGinn had a good game, noticed he cut out a few crosses !

Bangkok Hibby
24-09-2021, 08:37 AM
I thought the much maligned Paul McGinn had a good game, noticed he cut out a few crosses !

Yes I thought this time he was better defensively.

24-09-2021, 08:57 AM
Thought the whole defence were good last night. Folk who moan about Hanlon will only see how good he is when we have to try to replace him. Porto is improving all the time. McGinn was back to his steady self and Lewis did Lewis stuff.
Allan was good going forward and defensively fine for the first half but definitely tired.
Newall and Magennis did well. Boyle didn't get enough of the ball for me and Nisbet looked off it a bit and really needs Doidge back.
Great result and bring on the hun!!

24-09-2021, 08:59 AM

Defensively much better, but he was slowing down a lot of our play in the first half. Jack Ross had a go at him at one point for it.

24-09-2021, 10:51 AM
Hope it's the Sunday game as will be staying over.

Crunchie
24-09-2021, 11:34 AM

In cup games all that matter is the result. ALL. How many times have we been the better team in a game like this and been out the cup?

Yes, we’ve played better but this was a tough game and I wasn’t entirely sure about an away tie at a rejuvenated Utd. I think they are a better ‘team’ when everything isn’t about Shankland.

Our creative players turned up and the game was over , bar the (lots of) shouting, by half time.

Hard luck United, they fought hard but Hibs are in another semi and we are undoubtedly one of the better teams in the Premiership.

24-09-2021, 04:38 PM

Is that why we are having to wait nearly two months before the semi finals are played

24-09-2021, 09:14 PM
borrowed from fb, lots of congratulational hand signals for squirrel, i think an older guy near the top left is shouting at the referee to book him :greengrin

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/242698611_10227537776495971_2596266057067052667_n. jpg?_nc_cat=109&_nc_rgb565=1&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=EOLBBz6f6voAX9Tb3Ej&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=515655ff06e7c44824708e3e6acc842c&oe=61735294

24-09-2021, 09:33 PM
Is that why we are having to wait nearly two months before the semi finals are played

More chance of Doidge being fully fit.

Mikey_1875
24-09-2021, 09:40 PM
borrowed from fb, lots of congratulational hand signals for squirrel, i think an older guy near the top left is shouting at the referee to book him :greengrin

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/242698611_10227537776495971_2596266057067052667_n. jpg?_nc_cat=109&_nc_rgb565=1&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=EOLBBz6f6voAX9Tb3Ej&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=515655ff06e7c44824708e3e6acc842c&oe=61735294

What a happy bunch they are! Did notice that there was a fair amount of projectiles thrown at our players on the pitch at different times when we scored and to Macey as well when he was ham acting in the second half.

Aware that we’re no saints either in these things with a smoke bomb getting on last night but at least it wasn’t aimed at a player!

Selkirkhibs
24-09-2021, 09:58 PM

Totally agree. It was a tough away match that we overcame very thankfully. Our team will have felt that they were in a match post bath time. Got to be extremely happy that we are in the semi final. Every player worked hard with a fighting spirit which we will need, to win again against the Rangers. Mon the Cabbage.

24-09-2021, 10:20 PM

https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/242698611_10227537776495971_2596266057067052667_n. jpg?_nc_cat=109&_nc_rgb565=1&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=EOLBBz6f6voAX9Tb3Ej&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=515655ff06e7c44824708e3e6acc842c&oe=61735294Dearie me. The Dundee gene pool could do with some stirring up.

ehf
24-09-2021, 11:17 PM
Dearie me. The Dundee gene pool could do with some stirring up.

Apparently the ginger lad in the maroon jacket at the bottom right is the new James Bond.

25-09-2021, 12:16 AM
Apparently the ginger lad in the maroon jacket at the bottom right is the new James Bond.

is that the one that's indicating he's only scored the one goal tonight ?

there's a few pointing that out though :)

25-09-2021, 12:18 AM

they're literally just one big happy family, well maybe not so happy at the time

25-09-2021, 08:04 AM

That one wee section of the D.U. support could supply the full cast of the Adams Family, the Munsters and sundry horror movies.

25-09-2021, 08:20 AM
Apparently the ginger lad in the maroon jacket at the bottom right is the new James Bond.And there's one on the bottom left with a cup of coke who's got a scream mask on.

25-09-2021, 08:35 AM

Well, Leigh Griffiths is going to have some free Saturday afternoons soon…

JXM73
25-09-2021, 08:38 AM
Maybe Leigh Griffiths hasn’t been signed for the football?

He must be the only guy no scoring in dundee...

25-09-2021, 08:38 AM
Well, Leigh Griffiths is going to have some free Saturday afternoons soon…[emoji1787]