View Full Version : Big screens.
19-09-2021, 02:08 AM
Sounds like music was playing over the goals shown pre match. This can work but also just having commentary ie Cliff and Tam going mad, can be great fun for the fans to have a laugh about and it also adds to the excitement.
19-09-2021, 07:35 AM
I thought it was good but should finish at around 10 to 3 and let the atmosphere build. Just my opinion , maybe I'm in the minority but the atmosphere was non existent in the first half
In time I think the screens can be used to actually help build atmosphere. If they don’t already have it, I imagine the media crew will be able to get good footage and quality sound of the fans in good voice. They can then broadcast that in amongst the action footage. I can see that bringing the atmosphere together if it was done well, especially in full house games.
19-09-2021, 08:14 AM
I thought they were great. I enjoyed the wee film before kick off. I preferred back when you couldn’t hear the tannoy. I was with my teenage nephew today and he’s a mumbling wee gimp at the best of times, so gave up trying to have a conversation over the noise of them.
[emoji23]
19-09-2021, 08:32 AM
Like them, far too loud though. Literally could not hear my dad in the seat next to me before the game! Can we also have less of the rave music and stick some oasis on, ta
19-09-2021, 08:40 AM
Can some detail explain the montage shown in the build up? Was it old classic games? Which ones? Or was it goals from the season so far?
Here in the States as the players come out and team is announced they put a picture or a video (player smiling/serious face while folding arms etc) and its a nice touch!
It was a bit of everything - old derby goals from the 0-7 (I think) the 6-2 game (Latapy’s goal), 0-3 game (Sauzees goal) the recent Livi game and of course the SCF with SDG’s header. That’s the ones I saw anyway.
I must admit that for me between the new PA system, the music and the big screens it was a sensory overload. It’s a bit like being on those work nights out when you get dragged into a sports bar when all you want is a quiet pint.
19-09-2021, 10:06 AM
Screens are fantastic and I thought the content was excellent. Like others have noted, we have gone from not hearing a thing in the west to having our ears blown off but it's a work in progress and it's a real positive investment in the infrastructure.
19-09-2021, 10:09 AM
Like them, far too loud though. Literally could not hear my dad in the seat next to me before the game! Can we also have less of the rave music and stick some oasis on, ta
Must admit, I liked the selection of house of pain, but it had no impact as the team performance had killed the crowds enthusiasm. Played at the right time, it could be a winner.
19-09-2021, 10:12 AM
I think they really added to the atmosphere and match experience. The advertising is absolutely a hundred times more prominent which will generate good cash and all of the old Hibs content was superb. Loving that we are getting live replays of each home goal as well.
19-09-2021, 10:47 AM
Loving that we are getting live replays of each home goal as well.
That's probably the best definition of oxymoron I've ever seen 😂
19-09-2021, 10:51 AM
I think they really added to the atmosphere and match experience. The advertising is absolutely a hundred times more prominent which will generate good cash and all of the old Hibs content was superb. Loving that we are getting live replays of each home goal as well.
The advertisement is a lot better than I expected it to be.
Your eye is drawn to the TV expecting a replay only to then be met with an advert.
I can see now why these will make some serious money for the club having seen them in action.
Helensburghhibs
19-09-2021, 11:03 AM
The advertisement is a lot better than I expected it to be.
Your eye is drawn to the TV expecting a replay only to then be met with an advert.
I can see now why these will make some serious money for the club having seen them in action.
Not being allowed to show controversial replays makes those moments prime time as everyone watches in hope of seeing it
19-09-2021, 11:18 AM
I'm sure you can stand on Albion Road and see the screen at the FF end of the East Stand from outside the ground. Might save some folk £23. Maybe not great on a cauld January night right enough. 😄
19-09-2021, 04:08 PM
A Good addition, like others have said, the sound was maybe a bit loud, but aside from that, no complaints, a decent selection of songs, be nice to know if there was a collated playlist somewhere, as there are a few that I liked the sound of, but wasn't able to identify.
Loved the variety of angles and replays of good moves/chances and goals - getting to see a replay of Scott Allan's pass for McGinn's goal on the big screens afterwards, thing of beauty that.
My Dad sits in the West and noted that even with the sun beating down on the screen in the North-East Corner, the picture was still clear and easily made out from his seat.
19-09-2021, 04:17 PM
In time I think the screens can be used to actually help build atmosphere. If they don’t already have it, I imagine the media crew will be able to get good footage and quality sound of the fans in good voice. They can then broadcast that in amongst the action footage. I can see that bringing the atmosphere together if it was done well, especially in full house games.
This. The harsh reality is certain fans need to drop this notion of the fans building the atmosphere up right be before kick off. I read it many times regarding stadium music 'turn it off 10 minutes before kicking off and let the fans signing and noise build it up for the players'. That sounds nice and all but is just out of touch with reality, especially in games vs everyone outside the Old Firm and Hearts - it just ain't going to happen, it never has. Culture, habits, societal? Who knows, but thats the way it is. I, like I'm sure the players would too, would much rather the tv on with good pumping up content right up to kick off with good music going too.
The suggestion of enhancing fan sounds via the tv/PA is a great idea also. There's 90+ minutes for the fans to sing and continue the atmosphere. These tvs and PA system are the perfect platform to set the match up!
JXM73
19-09-2021, 04:17 PM
Is there any sort of GOAL graphic or anything? Think the photos on social media of goal scorers would be funny on screen too... they looked great watching stream at home...
Helensburghhibs
19-09-2021, 04:18 PM
Choice of music can get the crowd going though. If you listened to ibrox today, home game v motherwell and it was pretty noisy Beefore the game. I'm no suggesting Tina Turner before anyone claims I'm a hun but it shows it can be done
19-09-2021, 04:26 PM
Am I the only one underwhelmed with the screens?
RG said they would bring the WOW factor in, not for me, and certainly didn't enhance my match-day experience.
3 points would have given me a better experience
19-09-2021, 04:47 PM
RG said they would bring the WOW factor in, not for me, and certainly didn't enhance my match-day experience.
Looks like it is just you going by all the comments so far.
Not quite sure how you can't be impressed to be honest, but each to their own.
19-09-2021, 04:49 PM
Looks like it is just you going by all the comments so far.
Not quite sure how you can't be impressed to be honest, but each to their own.
What's to be impressed about, seriously? Big screens....Is everyone impressed with them at Rantic?
TamHibs
19-09-2021, 04:51 PM
What's to be impressed about, seriously? Big screens....Is everyone impressed with them at Rantic?
They probably were when they were first installed…..
Inconsequential
19-09-2021, 04:51 PM
That's probably the best definition of oxymoron I've ever seen 😂 I'm afraid your suggestion may be lost to a few posters. Not only an oxymoron but it's definitely a contradiction too. :wink:
davhibby
19-09-2021, 04:53 PM
Choice of music can get the crowd going though. If you listened to ibrox today, home game v motherwell and it was pretty noisy Beefore the game. I'm no suggesting Tina Turner before anyone claims I'm a hun but it shows it can be done
That’s a bugbear of mine. There’s plenty of hibs songs that could be played in the 5/10 minutes to kickoff that could be changed up each week so it wasn’t all the same stuff each game. It wouldn’t really change the atmosphere for your run of the mill games against Livi or St Mirren but at least it would feel more like your at ER.
19-09-2021, 05:09 PM
They probably were when they were first installed…..
So a novelty then? Remember the buzz with our scoreboard on top of the shed, didn't last that long.
Is that the scoreboard out of action now,as the screens have the score at side of them?
TamHibs
19-09-2021, 05:10 PM
So a novelty then? Remember the buzz with our scoreboard on top of the shed, didn't last that long.
Is that the scoreboard out of action now,as the screens have the score at side of them?
Aye it was confirmed earlier in this thread by Barrie that the “old” scoreboard is now permanently switched off
19-09-2021, 05:11 PM
Aye it was confirmed earlier in this thread by Barrie that the “old” scoreboard is now permanently switched off
Never saw that, cheers for confirming
19-09-2021, 05:12 PM
Perhaps we can sell it to another club that doesn't have one?
Hearts?
19-09-2021, 05:13 PM
There was serious fanfare when the huns filled the corners and put the screens in.
TamHibs
19-09-2021, 05:13 PM
Hearts?
Would they have any money left in the cash cow to pay for it….
19-09-2021, 05:41 PM
What would be the wow factor for you in regards to match day experience?
19-09-2021, 05:47 PM
The screens are class. Of course they'll never replace getting 3 points for enjoyment factor, but then I don't think anyone has ever suggested they would.
19-09-2021, 05:58 PM
If we end up joint first with Hearts on same goal difference and goals scored I reckon screen size should be the next measure.
Either that or we get Akpo Sodje back (supposedly)
Wakeyhibee
19-09-2021, 06:00 PM
Would they have any money left in the cash cow to pay for it….
Bit harsh on Ms Budge no?
19-09-2021, 06:06 PM
Hearts?
They have no tiers in their stands so nowhere to put it.
As an east stander I wish they had put them in diagonal corners which would have been better for all round viewing
As an auld git it was too noisy
Much better when you found a spot on the terracing close to the guy with the transistor radio on his shoulder !!!!
19-09-2021, 06:17 PM
As an east stander I wish they had put them in diagonal corners which would have been better for all round viewing
Much better when you found a spot on the terracing close to the guy with the transistor radio on his shoulder !!!!
I think they would have had there been enough space between the West & the end stands.
Mikey_1875
19-09-2021, 06:17 PM
Its probably not as crass as this but the screens aren’t there for the folk that are already committed to STs each year. While they will be appreciated as a “nice to have” by current match goers I think it is all part of a package along with the wider range of catering, offering vegan stuff etc to bring new money into the club and help us expand. Whether that’s through new companies paying us for advertising space, hooking some of the kids in early or even the day-tripper/tourist.
Ron has said he thinks they will pay for themselves within a couple of years so after that it is all money that can be invested into the playing side, which can only be a positive.
While the appearance of all this stuff won’t make a difference to the attendance of people who went regularly in the first place, the club is getting ahead of the game and preparing well for the demands of a future match day experience that younger people will want imo.
19-09-2021, 06:18 PM
Well we know you don't like/trust RG so I doubt anything he does will meet with your approval. Most on this thread have the opposite view and see that they are a positive, especially if they bring in more money from advertising.
19-09-2021, 07:01 PM
I’m a bit non-plussed about them…had a minor positive impact I guess for me .cosmetic really…
Perhaps it will be more interesting if the content develops . Don’t mind them, but not particularly bothered about them either .
One minor point, I’d say the scoreboard at the south stand is better for displaying time and score during the game than the thin screens at each end of the east stand ….
19-09-2021, 07:13 PM
Is there any sort of GOAL graphic or anything? Think the photos on social media of goal scorers would be funny on screen too... they looked great watching stream at home...
Yes. Big GOAL! graphic appears up. Then a replay of the goal. Works well and will look especially good under the lights on a dark winter evening with a full stadium and a winning goal to celebrate.
19-09-2021, 07:15 PM
Pleased to see the fears from some that people in the east would not be able to see screens were unfounded. Did anyone have issues in the east? From the west I got a great view of both screens and could even see pretty much everything on the smaller inside screens. Could also pick up the score and clock very clearly.
But agree with the pleas to get sound levels right.
Yes. Big GOAL! graphic appears up. Then a replay of the goal. Works well and will look especially good under the lights on a dark winter evening with a full stadium and a winning goal to celebrate.
I did like looking for the goal replay's
Didnt notice if the away goals were shown, but noted the disallowed one wasnt shown
Pleased to see the fears from some that people in the east would not be able to see screens were unfounded. Did anyone have issues in the east?
They were not easy to see and angle not great. Better view of the internal screens but they could have done with being higher up to get a better view
HibsAnnouncer
19-09-2021, 07:25 PM
Hi guys
Been following the thread quite a bit so thought I would
jump on and add a little more to try give a little bit of an insight.
A lot of good feedback here. I said earlier on in other groups earlier, it’s a whole new production from what anyone has been used to. The match day from 2.15 onwards is timed to fit with the VT’s and ran to the minute. It makes for a more structured match day. There are going to be things that people enjoy and things that people don’t the key is to strike the balance, as I know in my ten years at the club, we are never going to please everyone but we can try our best.
With regards to levels, totally agree things were quite loud first half but we quickly changed it second. Without making excuses for that, we have been working to levels on a PA system that needed to be pushed to the limit to get any form of sound full stop and now we have a system that is the complete opposite.
The content (and songs) are always going to be changed up but you will see more content from VT and less music playlists as such. I have a lot of things that I put to the club that I have wanted to try for years based on feedback on here and other forums and hopefully we will start to now be able to implement this.
It’s really important that where there is criticism it’s backed up with some suggestions so I can do what I can to help and make it as enjoyable and get as much input as a can from you all.
There is now a full production team on a match day, we have two producers up in the box, Micky Gavin from Forth on music and me hosting. That should make for an all round better delivery moving forward.
I’ll keep my eye out where I can and keep doing my bit to strike that balance. As always if anyone has suggestions or things they would like to see fire away and I’ll feed it back to production. I care about getting it right as much as a fan as I am an employee. Keep the feedback coming and thanks everyone.
19-09-2021, 07:37 PM
I felt the same but apparently not enough room.
Whilst I'm sure it's all been measured out, I did think there may have been room over that side for a slightly smaller TV to be installed.
I did see the TV but if you're further back in the east stand it wouldn't be easy.
19-09-2021, 07:40 PM
Hi guys
A lot of good feedback here. I said earlier on in other groups earlier, it’s a whole new production from what anyone has been used to. The match day from 2.15 onwards is timed to fit with the VT’s and ran to the minute. It makes for a more structured match day. There are going to be things that people enjoy and things that people don’t the key is to strike the balance, as I know in my ten years at the club, we are never going to please everyone but we can try our best.
With regards to levels, totally agree things were quite loud first half but we quickly changed it second. Without making excuses for that, we have been working to levels on a PA system that needed to be pushed to the limit to get any form of sound full stop and now we have a system that is the complete opposite.
The content (and songs) are always going to be changed up but you will see more content from VT and less music playlists as such. I have a lot of things that I put to the club that I have wanted to try for years based on feedback on here and other forums and hopefully we will start to now be able to implement this.
It’s really important that where there is criticism it’s backed up with some suggestions so I can do what I can to help and make it as enjoyable and get as much input as a can from you all.
There is now a full production team on a match day, we have two producers up in the box, Micky Gavin from Forth on music and me hosting. That should make for an all round better delivery moving forward.
I’ll keep my eye out where I can and keep doing my bit to strike that balance. As always if anyone has suggestions or things they would like to see fire away and I’ll feed it back to production. I care about getting it right as much as a fan as I am an employee. Keep the feedback coming and thanks everyone.
Thanks for the update ..good luck with the continual improvements [emoji106]
19-09-2021, 07:46 PM
Hi guys
Exciting times for the club and must be especially exciting to be part of it. Good luck, it definitely seems to be coming together
Hi guys
If we can get the 7-0 and 6-2 goals on 2nd January that should get everyone onside :flag:
19-09-2021, 07:53 PM
Hi guys
Glad you got sound down a few decibels as I was having a conversation I was having to shout to the people around Me before the game as it was blasting out in the west lower.The screens look great and good to see old games with goals before the game.
DarrenSQH
19-09-2021, 07:59 PM
I felt the same but apparently not enough room.
Whilst I'm sure it's all been measured out, I did think there may have been room over that side for a slightly smaller TV to be installed.
I did see the TV but if you're further back in the east stand it wouldn't be easy.
Also the pitch would be the wrong way round on the screen which would be weird.
I had no interest in screens, didn't think they'd add anything to my day but I was wrong. I loved the build up and the atmosphere it created before KO, not so much half time which i thought wasn't great but I'm delighted with them now.
Allez Hibs
19-09-2021, 09:15 PM
19-09-2021, 09:18 PM
Hi guys
Question Barry, see when you ask for shout out from fans etc do you ever go back to acknowledge it and say I will do that? Also what I think would be useful is if you were to let these fans k is when such a shout out would be made say around xx minute. People enter at all different time and go for pies etc, I asked a few weeks ago for my wee one and didn’t even get an acknowledgment so no idea if you did it or not?
Hope that’s a moan and a suggestion at the same time 😂
19-09-2021, 09:19 PM
Great idea
stuart-farquhar
19-09-2021, 09:27 PM
I'd suggest having the sound at max volume in the south when playing Glasgow Aberdeen or them.
19-09-2021, 09:42 PM
Hi guys
I think you do a great job Barrie, see for one ***** game though can you make the playlist the choice of one lucky fan (as we don’t all like chart music) or let Lewis Stevenson pick? Screen that big and that sound system is begging for Acquiese or Eton Rifles to get the place pumped up at ten to 3
19-09-2021, 09:44 PM
Also any reason we announced only the surnames of the subs then full name for Scott Allan? Reeked of reading of the big tele
I was surprisingly impressed by the screens and the footage before kick off was excellent and all our group loved it. Is there any chance of having the half time Happy Hibby draw displayed on the screens and also advertised before the game to increase sales?
19-09-2021, 11:02 PM
You were dead against them from the start, could be a bit of confirmation bias at play here.
20-09-2021, 11:01 AM
Also any reason we announced only the surnames of the subs then full name for Scott Allan? Reeked of reading of the big tele
Minor point but also reading the away team would have been better to include first names for all players.
That and a graphic for each player (top trump style or to tramp when the Jambos are in town)
20-09-2021, 11:04 AM
Emma Stone on my lap would have given me a better experience but it's not really relevant.
20-09-2021, 11:14 AM
Emma Stone on my lap would have given me a better experience but it's not really relevant.
Ha. Funny :)
I think BF’s point is a fair one - there wasn’t much wow about them ..just because people aren’t in love with the big screens doesn’t make it an irrelevant point …
I posted earlier , I can take them or leave them..hopefully as their use and content improves , they will add more to the match day experience ..for now, it’s a bit of an improvement, but not too much . enjoyed some of the replays mind you …
20-09-2021, 11:28 AM
Ha. Funny :)
I think BF’s point is a fair one - there wasn’t much wow about them ..just because people aren’t in love with the big screens doesn’t make it an irrelevant point …
I posted earlier , I can take them or leave them..hopefully as their use and content improves , they will add more to the match day experience ..for now, it’s a bit of an improvement, but not too much . enjoyed some of the replays mind you …
They are revenue generators too. Should be more appealing to advertiser's.
Be good if the fan cam picks out the likes of you and BF scowling in disapproval in the match build up 😃
hibsforeurope
20-09-2021, 11:29 AM
Copying something similar to The team announcement video montage that they use at Murrayfield for the Scotland internationals would be good. A decent uplifting tune in the background and a pre made video, for the home team, on the screen with the announcer reading the team. builds the atmosphere really well i think.
20-09-2021, 11:34 AM
Minor point but also reading the away team would have been better to include first names for all players.
That and a graphic for each player (top trump style or to tramp when the Jambos are in town)
Honestly looked like he was reading it from the screen
20-09-2021, 11:38 AM
They are revenue generators too. Should be more appealing to advertiser's.
Be good if the fan cam picks out the likes of you and BF scowling in disapproval in the match build up [emoji2]
You’re not really reading what’s being said are ya ….I didn’t say I disapproved or disliked them ..just wasn’t that motivated by them on first viewing
If they drive revenue as well as match day experience I’ll be delighted
20-09-2021, 11:40 AM
Copying something similar to The team announcement video montage that they use at Murrayfield for the Scotland internationals would be good. A decent uplifting tune in the background and a pre made video, for the home team, on the screen with the announcer reading the team. builds the atmosphere really well i think.
Olayer profiles/videos similar to those at Murrayfield for Scotland internationals would be excellent
20-09-2021, 11:44 AM
You’re not really reading what’s being said are ya ….I didn’t say I disapproved or disliked them ..just wasn’t that motivated by them on first viewing
If they drive revenue as well as match day experience I’ll be delighted
I am reading and I wasn't being remotely serious about the fan cam comment, as I'm sure you know fine we'll. Wouldn't want the whole stadium to be depressed before KO picking glum people out... (joking!)
20-09-2021, 12:03 PM
Olayer profiles/videos similar to those at Murrayfield for Scotland internationals would be excellent
Any examples of that mate i can’t picture it
20-09-2021, 12:05 PM
I am reading and I wasn't being remotely serious about the fan cam comment, as I'm sure you know fine we'll. Wouldn't want the whole stadium to be depressed before KO picking glum people out... (joking!)
Honestly Dave I didn’t read it as a “funny”….it just came over as a wee dig at a couple of people who haven’t fallen in love with them right away …
If I misread it , and it was light hearted fun then fair enough [emoji106]
20-09-2021, 12:27 PM
Yep, this! Builds the atmosphere really well when done like that
20-09-2021, 12:37 PM
Budge is looking for chaps who sell tv screens with brick 🧱 in them to finish off the stand 😂
20-09-2021, 12:45 PM
Budge is looking for chaps who sell tv screens with brick 🧱 in them to finish off the stand 😂
I’m just waiting for Gorgie Rules to come on here and tell us that these screens were originally ordered for Tynecastle, but then rejected because Hearts will be installing something even biglier.
20-09-2021, 12:52 PM
When they announce the team they normally have a wee video of the players to accompany it. It's nothing groundbreaking but a good use of the screens and something younger fans who are used to watching football on Sky, etc can probably appreciate more than the older crowd (like myself) who grew up with a team being read out over the tannoy.
Don't think they do player stats on the videos but it would be good addition.
20-09-2021, 01:03 PM
They are still in the teething phase I guess so I would hope that these suggestions can be taken forward (the quick highlight of players for the team announcement one is a cracking one) I’m sure they will evolve and change in use throughout.
20-09-2021, 01:32 PM
I love them, i think showing old footage before games is great, and the obvious bonus is the money they will generate for us.
Whats not to like?:top marks
20-09-2021, 01:34 PM
I love them, i think showing old footage before games is great, and the obvious bonus is the money they will generate for us.
Whats not to like?:top marks
Should be bigger G canny see them from Windsor :cb
20-09-2021, 01:35 PM
Should be bigger G canny see them from Windsor :cb
Is that bloody castle in the way again?:greengrin
20-09-2021, 01:39 PM
Is that bloody castle in the way again?:greengrin
:faf::faf: Wonder if I'll get a better view if I move round the corner to Slough ?
20-09-2021, 03:47 PM
https://youtu.be/IXSEbtyFnfk
Something like this.
I've seen it at the rugby and it's pretty good.
Capt Mainwaring
20-09-2021, 06:00 PM
Though the screens were terrific - defo added value to the match day experience.
One small request tho - turn the volume down a bit 😀
HibsAnnouncer
20-09-2021, 08:19 PM
When they announce the team they normally have a wee video of the players to accompany it. It's nothing groundbreaking but a good use of the screens and something younger fans who are used to watching football on Sky, etc can probably appreciate more than the older crowd (like myself) who grew up with a team being read out over the tannoy.
Don't think they do player stats on the videos but it would be good addition.
This is coming mate. The guys are working on bringing that aspect to it and hopefully it won’t be too long until we have everyone’s in place but it part of the plan
20-09-2021, 08:26 PM
Will the screens be on for the women’s game next week?
JXM73
20-09-2021, 08:30 PM
Can we have FIFA22 on at half time, kids might get a buzz out of it ...might not switch it off if games ***** tho 🤣😂
Watched Ryan being held for the penalty on the screen rather than the corner being taken & that alone was worth it
20-09-2021, 09:13 PM
I believe the volunteering session on Wednesday consists of being strapped to a seat, eyes pinned back clockwork orange style and being subjected to images of hot dogs and the star spangled banner at high volume to see how much you can take.
Key West
20-09-2021, 09:22 PM
The Big screens should be used to identify those who are turning up late for the kick off, going for refreshments during the game and leaving early.🥵
AliboyFC
20-09-2021, 09:58 PM
Now I wonder when the digital ribbons will be installed at easter road.
20-09-2021, 10:16 PM
Now I wonder when the digital ribbons will be installed at easter road.
im interested in these, mainly because I’ve no idea what they are.
stuart-farquhar
20-09-2021, 10:20 PM
Tbh I would prefer seatback screens.
20-09-2021, 11:02 PM
That idea would never take-off
21-09-2021, 06:41 AM
Digital advertising boards between top and bottom tier.
Think Ibrox has them and some stadiums in England (like Spurs) but look pretty cool and again would add to the stadium experience.
Hopefully we will see these added and even permanent ribbons along pitch side - not just for TV games.
21-09-2021, 06:48 AM
The logical move for Stadium redevelopment is to add a third tier to the West to give us a Hospitality Suite with a view of the Castle
21-09-2021, 07:42 AM
That idea would never take-off
Agreed, just a flight of fancy
21-09-2021, 08:06 AM
Surprised Hibs Announcer hasn’t been back on to comment on the feedback and answer some of the points made 🤷*♂️
21-09-2021, 08:14 AM
Surprised Hibs Announcer hasn’t been back on to comment on the feedback and answer some of the points made 🤷*♂️
He has
21-09-2021, 08:25 AM
Easily missed since they have not specifically answered every individual comment but if you have a good look back through the thread you should find some excellent feedback from the stadium announcer. Think pretty much everything has been responded to. Think the problem might be that the thread has gone round in circles a bit with much of the constructive criticism repeated. That’s great as it indicates a strength of feeling but there is little point repeating the same answers when the subject has been thoroughly covered.
Taking that in to account the Stadium announcer seems to be doing a great job of feedback on here.
hibsforeurope
21-09-2021, 08:25 AM
This is one of the videos from a match a few years ago: https://youtu.be/Rhn4gxq468A
And this is what it look like at a night game: https://youtu.be/oN-3Oqbgw5g (this looks better now that they have LED ribbons in the stadium now)
Agreed, just a flight of fancy
22-09-2021, 07:50 AM
Fancy name for LED boards
22-09-2021, 08:28 AM
https://youtu.be/ZCZalFQ0DHg
Something like this.
22-09-2021, 08:36 AM
I believe the volunteering session on Wednesday consists of being strapped to a seat, eyes pinned back clockwork orange style and being subjected to images of hot dogs and the star spangled banner at high volume to see how much you can take.
Count me in!
22-09-2021, 08:37 AM
https://youtu.be/ZCZalFQ0DHg
Something like this.
Couldn't do that on the East though?
22-09-2021, 08:38 AM
Until they provide tablets or iPads on every seat, I'm not going back.
22-09-2021, 08:55 AM
Couldn't do that on the East though?
No, just the other three stands. Still has potential to add to the experience though.
22-09-2021, 02:45 PM
Looks like “HFC” being added in white seats across the East stand
22-09-2021, 03:51 PM
The logical move for Stadium redevelopment is to add a third tier to the West to give us a Hospitality Suite with a view of the Castle
Who needs to see a castle when you can see Arthurs Seat from one stand and Fife from the other?
22-09-2021, 03:54 PM
Looks like “HFC” being added in white seats across the East stand
Throwback to the old east. Great touch.
DanishJohn
22-09-2021, 04:20 PM
With the new Large Screens and new seats going in, the whole stadium seems to be getting the attention it most certainly deserves.
Here's a thought I have had for a while, you might agree or there again not.
When you arrive into Edinburgh by train on the east coast line you get a beautiful view of the stadium.
There are probably people on that train who are coming on holiday or business and are football fans but unaware "Hibernian" are from Edinburgh.
How many trains pass that spot per day?
What an opportunity to get the name associated with this beautiful structure.
I was thinking the lettering Hibernian FC along the roof of the East if the angles are right. They would of course have to be able to be lit up as I think in the darkness it would look superb.
Finally, (and I might be getting carried away), if you are on a flight coming into Edinburgh on the flight path that takes you out over the Forth and the up the Firth , you again get a great view of the stadium. What about a lit up large badge on the roof of the East ?
26-09-2021, 02:20 PM
Some more stadium feedback. 2 weeks in a row now the front row of FF upper has had water lying in it and its now starting to smell.
26-09-2021, 02:58 PM
Volume in the East was a lot better prior to KO today. Having the stats so far on the screen at HT was also pretty good.
26-09-2021, 04:06 PM
Yeah much better today.
Looking forward to seeing it all evolve further!
26-09-2021, 05:42 PM
Volume in the East was a lot better prior to KO today. Having the stats so far on the screen at HT was also pretty good.
HibsAnnouncer
26-09-2021, 05:57 PM
Really glad to hear that was better. We are still very much a work in progress but we that was only our second run today. I’m in at 9 to do a full match run through as if we are in live mode to ensure we get volumes etc right. The problem is, each ad provided by said sponsor/advertiser is recorded in different levels so it’s a balancing act.
There is going to be further investment in the equipment I.e mixer / microphones etc as this hasn’t been touched in years. We have had a great discussion with Ron regarding that part.
We still have a few improvements to made but really appreciate the feedback.
Rent the Scottish Rugby comments previously made with pictures of players appearing on screen, this is part of the plan but at the moment we don’t have team shots for James Scott and a few others so I would expect that to be introduced later on but it is part of the plan.
If anyone has any other questions just let us know.
May21/05/216
26-09-2021, 06:04 PM
I thought they were great
And when it's during the winter months when it's dark it will be even better
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Green Man
26-09-2021, 06:05 PM
I thought the countdown to kickoff was a good addition.
26-09-2021, 06:18 PM
I thought they were great
And when it's during the winter months when it's dark it will be even better
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Hopefully be good during the woman's derby this week
26-09-2021, 06:21 PM
Really glad to hear that was better. We are still very much a work in progress but we that was only our second run today. I’m in at 9 to do a full match run through as if we are in live mode to ensure we get volumes etc right. The problem is, each ad provided by said sponsor/advertiser is recorded in different levels so it’s a balancing act.
There is going to be further investment in the equipment I.e mixer / microphones etc as this hasn’t been touched in years. We have had a great discussion with Ron regarding that part.
We still have a few improvements to made but really appreciate the feedback.
Rent the Scottish Rugby comments previously made with pictures of players appearing on screen, this is part of the plan but at the moment we don’t have team shots for James Scott and a few others so I would expect that to be introduced later on but it is part of the plan.
If anyone has any other questions just let us know.
Can I come in and watch :greengrin Try and post a couple of pictures, must look even better in the dark.
26-09-2021, 06:47 PM
Still too loud in the west upper.
Also, do we need to be reminded about football banning orders and acceptable behaviour every week? We get it.
Would anyone notice if you didn’t bother?
26-09-2021, 06:50 PM
I think there was a wee mistake. During the 2nd half when the teams flashed up during a break in play it was showing Doyle-Hayes as shirt number 7, they forgot to change it.:greengrin
26-09-2021, 08:21 PM
Also, do we need to be reminded about football banning orders and acceptable behaviour every week? We get it.
Not everyone is a regular, might be someone's first time. I'd assume that there is probably some SPFL/SFA rule somewhere that states that clubs HAVE to make that announcement every game
26-09-2021, 08:31 PM
Not everyone is a regular, might be someone's first time. I'd assume that there is probably some SPFL/SFA rule somewhere that states that clubs HAVE to make that announcement every game
Yeah I get that, but who would tell on us? Who would give us a row?
Let’s live a little and take a chance. it’s patronising guff.
26-09-2021, 09:04 PM
First time viewing the screens today and thought they were good. The quality is unreal. Prematch content was good.
For a guy who used to complain about the East Sound System, today’s levels were spot on.
26-09-2021, 09:06 PM
SPFL/SFA send delegates to every match
If you sit in the middle of the east they are a waste of time :-0
26-09-2021, 09:09 PM
SPFL/SFA send delegates to every match
As it’s patronising guff, let’s take a chance and ignore it though 🙄
26-09-2021, 09:19 PM
That's true unfortunately - certainly miss out on the experience of the screens. The side ones are not quite the same, you'd get a sore neck trying to pay them any attention.
26-09-2021, 09:43 PM
The screens are great. Where I sit I get a great view of one on the wall of the East. Getting the goal replays is great if its down the other end from your seat.
26-09-2021, 09:46 PM
It is. And it's also irrelevant to most of us and ignored by those it's aimed at.
But it will be one of those CYA statements, like "Contains nuts" on a packet of nuts, so Hibs need to waste time deafening us with it every week.
26-09-2021, 10:21 PM
They weren’t put up for you they are for the proper fans in the West stand.:wink:
26-09-2021, 10:28 PM
First time seeing them
I actually think Hibs missed a trick not putting a third smaller one on the famous fiver lower, with it being the Hibs kids encouraged end they must struggle to see the screen from that angle surely
Looks good though
Kiosk speed, awful
Hero76
26-09-2021, 10:31 PM
Sect 45 the screens are mince....do they have a deal with the referees not to show dodgy ****ing replays ???
The 50/50 **** is not replayed is this not to undermine the officials ?
26-09-2021, 10:55 PM
Sect 45 the screens are mince....do they have a deal with the referees not to show dodgy ****ing replays ???
The 50/50 **** is not replayed is this not to undermine the officials ?
Contentious decisions are not allowed to be replayed.
First time seeing them
I actually think Hibs missed a trick not putting a third smaller one on the famous fiver lower, with it being the Hibs kids encouraged end they must struggle to see the screen from that angle surely
Looks good though
Kiosk speed, awful
Famous five can see the screen at the south end
27-09-2021, 07:48 AM
I had the opposite thought actually.
If I wanted to see a replay of a shot then I turned my head and watched it. Otherwise I just watched the action in front of me - I thought that from the West you'd have the big screens in your peripheral vision the whole game (and presumably on a marginal lag) which would get distracting/annoying.
27-09-2021, 08:03 AM
It is. And it's also irrelevant to most of us and ignored by those it's aimed at.
But it will be one of those CYA statements, like "Contains nuts" on a packet of nuts, so Hibs need to waste time deafening us with it every week.
Exactly right.
Maybe we could turn the volume down to 1 when reading it out, thereby ticking the correct boxes?!
On a serious point, why read it out and then let Rangers fans sing whatever they want? Double standards right there.
Either enforce it or ditch it.
27-09-2021, 08:22 AM
My favourite one was a few years ago when the announcer fluffed his lines and said "Supporters are reminded that unacceptable behaviour... Is not acceptable". Got a few laughs.
27-09-2021, 08:26 AM
I am in the West Upper, Screens are great as is the new sound system.
Great initiative Hibs.
27-09-2021, 08:41 AM
Can I ask what content was shown pre match?
happiehibbie
27-09-2021, 08:45 AM
Due to other commitments first home game of the league season.
The screens look great
Sound system way to loud
Music really needs to meet a wider demographic of people.
I like the changes being made for matchday
et_hibby
27-09-2021, 08:47 AM
Can I ask what content was shown pre match?there was a montage of goals from big games just before kick off: LC wins, SCF, 7-0, 6-2, Millenium Derby etc.
27-09-2021, 09:04 AM
On the off chance the announcer is reading the thread, I have a few suggestions!
Match stats: would love to see shots on target, off target, corners, fouls etc etc flash up from time to time. Hopefully just a matter of copying off the BBC?
To that end, stick the scorer names below the score as well, ala at Hampden.
Live score updates: I get that advertisers will have paid for in-game slots but I would really like to see some sort of ticker - on the bottom of the screen, or maybe even half? - showing us updates from the other Scottish games (not just the Premiership!)
Half-time scores - this has been a personal gripe of mine for years now even before the screens were installed. PLEASE show us the Scottish Championship, League One, Two scores. I honestly care about them more than that Crystal Palace are drawing 0-0 with Burnley or whatever. By all means show the EPL scores too, but c'mon, this is Scotland, show our results! Would also like to see the scores for longer than half a minute before ads come back on, but again, appreciate people have likely paid good money and you need to recoup the investment.
Big screens look great, and definitely add to the matchday experience - just a wee bit of feedback!
27-09-2021, 10:23 AM
I wish the extra time (5 mins yesterday) ticked up/down on the scoreboard next to the screens in the East?
Unless there is a reason they cant do this?
The 5 mins seems to take forever!!
27-09-2021, 10:27 AM
I wish the extra time (5 mins yesterday) ticked up/down on the scoreboard next to the screens in the East?
It's already been covered, granted I won't expect you to have read 30 pages.
It's in the league rules they aren't allowed.
You arent allowed to do this. The time added on is up to the ref not an absolute countdown.
Fifa rules state that stadium clocks must stop at 45 and 90 minutes
27-09-2021, 10:29 AM
Folk should also remember the 5 minutes extra time is the minimum, if the ref thinks it's 6 minutes or 5 and a half, then that's what he will play.
27-09-2021, 10:31 AM
Folk should also remember the 5 minutes extra time is the minimum, if the ref thinks it's 6 minutes or 5 and a half, then that's what he will play.
I think that's why Fifa brought the rule in. As soon as the clock would have hit the number put on the board the crowd would have been going mental but the ref may feel that more time needed to be added
27-09-2021, 10:32 AM
Although weirdly yesterday he blew for FT at about 94:45, at least according to the TV clock.
27-09-2021, 10:33 AM
Although weirdly yesterday he blew for FT at about 94:45, at least according to the TV clock.
That's Beaton for you, whats he like? :confused:
big gogs
27-09-2021, 10:37 AM
Especially if rangers have not had their penalty to get a draw.
27-09-2021, 10:42 AM
It's already been covered, granted I won't expect you to have read 30 pages.
It's in the league rules they aren't allowed.
You arent allowed to do this. The time added on is up to the ref not an absolute countdown.
Fifa rules state that stadium clocks must stop at 45 and 90 minutes
Thanks for that. I thought that might be the case :agree:
27-09-2021, 10:53 AM
I had the opposite thought actually.
If I wanted to see a replay of a shot then I turned my head and watched it. Otherwise I just watched the action in front of me - I thought that from the West you'd have the big screens in your peripheral vision the whole game (and presumably on a marginal lag) which would get distracting/annoying.
You are right, the big screens are always in your peripheral vision, although I don’t find them a distraction. Having said that, I am about to contradict myself, I did find myself looking to see if there was a delay and was surprised to find they were almost bang on real time. I like them and hope the beam back next week is a massive success. Can’t make that one but I will take advantage of others in future.
27-09-2021, 11:35 AM
Because the footage is not close up I didn’t find the screens a distraction from the West. Was enjoying celebrating Boyles penalty so missed the replay of that as well.
I’m not sure how enjoyable the beamback on Sunday will be as I found it hard to see what was going on with the standard camera positions when I did take a look at the screen.
Anyone know why the one between south and east have a black line down side of it ?
27-09-2021, 01:32 PM
Anyone know why the one between south and east have a black line down side of it ?
It might be to do with the way it is mounted on that side, a bracket extender or something ? Not too sure
linlithgowhibbie
27-09-2021, 01:37 PM
It might be to do with the way it is mounted on that side, a bracket extender or something ? Not too sure
Missile deflector?
27-09-2021, 01:41 PM
The gap between the two stands is larger in the south after we removed a couple of rows of seats to increase the size of the pitch a few years back. The screens are, understandably, the same size but the gap is bigger. The “black line” is the framework that fills that gap.
Could probably do with bit of tidying up but it’s functional and necessary.
27-09-2021, 01:43 PM
First time seeing them
Looks good though
Kiosk speed, awful
You get a pretty decent view of the screens from FF Lower, at least where I sit in section 16, which is the furthest away from the screen.
There might well be a problem seeing them in the extreme end seats of sections 20 and 25, though.
BegbieHSC
27-09-2021, 01:51 PM
The big screens are an outstanding addition, and really do improve the experience. The count down to kick off, and video montages were excellent, and the way line ups, replays and statistics are displayed give Easter Road an elite feel.
Ultimately, they do make us money as well - good money, which is a great thing. Most of the video adverts were grand, and didn’t upset the tone (Uber Eats, Terry Healy, Eden Mill) but that Carabao one with the daft wee voices down the tannoys was chronic 😂😂.
27-09-2021, 02:08 PM
The big screens are an outstanding addition, and really do improve the experience. The count down to kick off, and video montages were excellent, and the way line ups, replays and statistics are displayed give Easter Road an elite feel.
Ultimately, they do make us money as well - good money, which is a great thing. Most of the video adverts were grand, and didn’t upset the tone (Uber Eats, Terry Healy, Eden Mill) but that Carabao one with the daft wee voices down the tannoys was chronic 😂😂.
The Manscaped ads got most attention from folk around me!
Make sure you go home and check those balls...
27-09-2021, 03:20 PM
The Manscaped ads got most attention from folk around me!
Make sure you go home and check those balls...
Fantastic ad. I did have to explain to my 8 year old what it was about which is no bad thing.
He asked if I checked mine. I stopped short of saying his mum did it for me 🤣
27-09-2021, 03:45 PM
You get a pretty decent view of the screens from FF Lower, at least where I sit in section 16, which is the furthest away from the screen.
There might well be a problem seeing them in the extreme end seats of sections 20 and 25, though.
Ah right cheers
Just thinking I myself will be moving over to FF lower soon as my little one is approaching that age where she will getting dragged a long and the more distractions to keep her amused the better.
Inconsequential
27-09-2021, 04:26 PM
The gap between the two stands is larger in the south after we removed a couple of rows of seats to increase the size of the pitch a few years back. The screens are, understandably, the same size but the gap is bigger. The “black line” is the framework that fills that gap.
Could probably do with bit of tidying up but it’s functional and necessary. That is what I was beginning to think also. Although the old advertisement boards looked the same size there must be a difference in width. I think a surround on both screens would look better... maybe no.
27-09-2021, 04:51 PM
Ah right cheers
Just thinking I myself will be moving over to FF lower soon as my little one is approaching that age where she will getting dragged a long and the more distractions to keep her amused the better.
They've got a wee ball pit thing as well... though it's usually quite popular with the toddlers, so you might have to book :wink:
27-09-2021, 05:02 PM
I really like the screens but it irked me a bit that the ref was obviously told to hold off kick off for the countdown thing. Just start the game!
JXM73
27-09-2021, 05:03 PM
On the off chance the announcer is reading the thread, I have a few suggestions!
Match stats: would love to see shots on target, off target, corners, fouls etc etc flash up from time to time. Hopefully just a matter of copying off the BBC?
To that end, stick the scorer names below the score as well, ala at Hampden.
Live score updates: I get that advertisers will have paid for in-game slots but I would really like to see some sort of ticker - on the bottom of the screen, or maybe even half? - showing us updates from the other Scottish games (not just the Premiership!)
Half-time scores - this has been a personal gripe of mine for years now even before the screens were installed. PLEASE show us the Scottish Championship, League One, Two scores. I honestly care about them more than that Crystal Palace are drawing 0-0 with Burnley or whatever. By all means show the EPL scores too, but c'mon, this is Scotland, show our results! Would also like to see the scores for longer than half a minute before ads come back on, but again, appreciate people have likely paid good money and you need to recoup the investment.
Big screens look great, and definitely add to the matchday experience - just a wee bit of feedback!
Take it you weren't there yesterday then...
27-09-2021, 05:34 PM
I really like the screens but it irked me a bit that the ref was obviously told to hold off kick off for the countdown thing. Just start the game!
Where’s the fun in that? Counting down the last few seconds after the game had started would make no sense at all. Good wee addition
27-09-2021, 05:37 PM
I thought the screens look great, however I found it a bit frustrating that when something happened on the pitch, for instance Allan going down in the box, where you were not sure if it was or wasn't a pen that the screens had an advert up instead of a replay of the incident. I would guess there is a reason for that but I found it a bit annoying.
Minor gripe on a massively positive thing for the stadium.
27-09-2021, 05:39 PM
I thought the screens look great, however I found it a bit frustrating that when something happened on the pitch, for instance Allan going down in the box, where you were not sure if it was or wasn't a pen that the screens had an advert up instead of a replay of the incident. I would guess there is a reason for that but I found it a bit annoying.
Minor gripe on a massively positive thing for the stadium.
They can't show replays of any contentious decisions.
27-09-2021, 05:43 PM
Is it that, or is it the ref waiting until exactly 3pm?
The screen got to zero, the ref blew his whistle, and my watch ticked over from 2:59 to 3:00 all at the same time.
27-09-2021, 05:58 PM
Chill out pal. Its all part of the match day experience Big Ronny style 😎
27-09-2021, 06:26 PM
First time seeing them in the flesh and I enjoyed them. Nice to see a replay of a chance like the Scott Allan lob attempt to see if it was as close as you think sitting in the front row.
Some nice old game footage and I'm sure it will only improve.
27-09-2021, 06:55 PM
Fitba folk ken.
Very good [emoji106]
Did think there would be a reason they couldn’t show replays but thought I would have. Amina anyway [emoji23]
27-09-2021, 07:40 PM
Does anybody else feel the urge to jump up and celebrate when SDG's baldy heid does its stuff?
mcohibs
27-09-2021, 07:46 PM
Game kicks off at 3pm regardless if the screen's there or not. If it wasn't there, the ref would still wait until then, you just probably wouldn't notice
27-09-2021, 08:04 PM
Although weirdly yesterday he blew for FT at about 94:45, at least according to the TV clock.I always run a stop watch at the start of the second half. Not sure it was 15 seconds do but he did blow early. But there was no danger of an equaliser when he did blow.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
DickieDastardly
27-09-2021, 09:59 PM
I might be in the minority with this but the position of the screens for me is pretty disappointing. Sitting in the east, fairly central, the screens are not well positioned, even the smaller screens are a neck twister to see and not high enough, it’s frustrating that away fans will have a better view than me and many others seated centrally in the east.
IMO they should have been positioned diagonally opposite or either side of the away stand..
27-09-2021, 10:13 PM
I might be in the minority with this but the position of the screens for me is pretty disappointing. Sitting in the east, fairly central, the screens are not well positioned, even the smaller screens are a neck twister to see and not high enough, it’s frustrating that away fans will have a better view than me and many others seated centrally in the east.
IMO they should have been positioned diagonally opposite or either side of the away stand..
Gap between the West and South is required for emergency vehicle access, and even if it wasn't needed for that, there would need to have been a new support structure put in place, which would also likely require planning permission. Gap between the West and North is probably too small for a screen of decent size and is also used for the TV studio when TV games are at ER, so probably wouldn't be allowed to fit one there either, plus access to that section would be rather difficult.
27-09-2021, 10:31 PM
Does anybody else feel the urge to jump up and celebrate when SDG's baldy heid does its stuff?
I’d just have that on repeat non stop over and over and over again for when our pals in blue visit.
27-09-2021, 10:34 PM
a bald head has never looked sexier than in that moment.
28-09-2021, 08:33 AM
Does anyone else get distracted by it and find themselves looking at game on screen rather than the pitch at times?
28-09-2021, 08:34 AM
Does anyone else get distracted by it and find themselves looking at game on screen rather than the pitch at times?
The first game I was doing that loads, but less so on Sunday.
28-09-2021, 12:03 PM
Gap between the West and South is required for emergency vehicle access, and even if it wasn't needed for that, there would need to have been a new support structure put in place, which would also likely require planning permission. Gap between the West and North is probably too small for a screen of decent size and is also used for the TV studio when TV games are at ER, so probably wouldn't be allowed to fit one there either, plus access to that section would be rather difficult.
I think it could be feasible though, the screen could be high enough for vehicular access underneath it, and a screen size adjustment for the other side.
In this day and age, these are minor engineering tasks and I’d love to see the east screens duplicated in the west stand, that would look pretty awesome IMHO.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Highwayman
28-09-2021, 12:35 PM
They can't show replays of any contentious decisions.
Can anybody elaborate on why they can’t show contentious decisions.
As I was down other end on Sunday,had to wait until I got home and sit through the tedious Sportscene to see exactly what happened concerning the penalty.
IIRC at the previous game they didn’t show how the St Mirren goals came about.
Puzzling.
28-09-2021, 12:40 PM
As I was down other end on Sunday,had to wait until I got home and sit through the tedious Sportscene to see exactly what happened concerning the penalty.
Puzzling.
There’s some common sense ones, first of all the pressure it puts on referees - if they see a mistake would they feel compelled to correct it, despite VAR not having a process in place in Scotland?
Would then lead to potentially Hibs only showing replays when it suits (i.e. our penalty claims but not the opponents, or every decision we feel aggrieved by).
28-09-2021, 12:45 PM
Puzzling.
https://spfl.co.uk/admin/filemanager/images/shares/pdfs/SPFL%20Rules%20and%20Regulations%2029-Jul-21%20(MASTER%20COPY)%20CLEAN.pdf
H44 Except with the prior written consent of the Board, giant screens or the like at any Club's ground shall not be used to relay to spectators closed circuit pictures of the Official Match at which they are present.
H45 Any consent given hereunder shall be subject to the Code of Practice governing the use of giant screens in Official Matches or League Cup Matches forming Appendix 1 hereto.
And the appendix says
6 The following provisions govern the actual use of the Giant Screens:-
(a) "Live" action may be shown during the course of the match being played.
Action replays are permitted during the course of play, and highlights, showing only the positive aspects of the match, may be shown at half-time and fulltime.
(b) A Club wishing to show "live" action from a match being played outwith its stadium must seek the prior written consent of the Board, and such consent shall be given on such terms and conditions as the Board may decide.
(c) No replays of any negative or controversial incidents may be shown, including actions of any player or official which may be capable of being considered as inciting the spectators or bringing the game into disrepute. Likewise, it shall not be permissible to replay pictures and/or sound of any incidents or matters which may highlight or bring into question the competence or judgment of any Match Officials.
Steven79
28-09-2021, 12:55 PM
https://spfl.co.uk/admin/filemanager/images/shares/pdfs/SPFL%20Rules%20and%20Regulations%2029-Jul-21%20(MASTER%20COPY)%20CLEAN.pdf
H44 Except with the prior written consent of the Board, giant screens or the like at any Club's ground shall not be used to relay to spectators closed circuit pictures of the Official Match at which they are present.
H45 Any consent given hereunder shall be subject to the Code of Practice governing the use of giant screens in Official Matches or League Cup Matches forming Appendix 1 hereto.
And the appendix says
Action replays are permitted during the course of play, and highlights, showing only the positive aspects of the match, may be shown at half-time and fulltime.
(b) A Club wishing to show "live" action from a match being played outwith its stadium must seek the prior written consent of the Board, and such consent shall be given on such terms and conditions as the Board may decide.
(c) No replays of any negative or controversial incidents may be shown, including actions of any player or official which may be capable of being considered as inciting the spectators or bringing the game into disrepute. Likewise, it shall not be permissible to replay pictures and/or sound of any incidents or matters which may highlight or bring into question the competence or judgment of any Match Officials.That last one is ridiculous.
So we can't see replays as it may show that the refs are eithet incompetent or bent.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
28-09-2021, 01:05 PM
That last one is ridiculous.
So we can't see replays as it may show that the refs are eithet incompetent or bent.
Not really. Referees are human and don't deserved to be lynched for making an honest mistake.
Steven79
28-09-2021, 01:09 PM
Not really. Referees are human and don't deserved to be lynched for making an honest mistake.I've seen many decisions that are clearly not a "honest mistake" but refs siding against a certain team.
We see the same down south with Martin Atkinson that clearly shouldn't be allowed to ref a Manchester United game.
28-09-2021, 01:12 PM
I've seen many decisions that are clearly not a "honest mistake" but refs siding against a certain team.
We see the same down south with Martin Atkinson that clearly shouldn't be allowed to ref a Manchester United game.
But it's not for some Hibs TV guy or whatever to decide the rights and wrongs on the spot. It's far safer and less complicated to simply avoid replays of tight or controversial decisions.
We've managed fine without replays at matches up until now.
Highwayman
28-09-2021, 01:15 PM
And the appendix says
(c) No replays of any negative or controversial incidents may be shown, including actions of any player or official which may be capable of being considered as inciting the spectators or bringing the game into disrepute. Likewise, it shall not be permissible to replay pictures and/or sound of any incidents or matters which may highlight or bring into question the competence or judgment of any Match Officials.
Thanks.
That certainly clarifies the situation.
Caversham Green
29-09-2021, 12:11 PM
Puzzling.
Here's an example of when they did show a contentious decision which sort of explains the reasons why they don't now.
World Cup 2010 Most Shocking Moments 10 - Tevez Goal Replay - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzTnEkFn3vY)
29-09-2021, 01:46 PM
Here's an example of when they did show a contentious decision which sort of explains the reasons why they don't now.
World Cup 2010 Most Shocking Moments 10 - Tevez Goal Replay - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzTnEkFn3vY)
That is a cracker. Wow. :greengrin
Green Man
29-09-2021, 01:49 PM
Was there not a similar incident where a Frank Lampard goal wasn’t given, then the replay on the big screen showed it was over the line?
Aye that was the game Germany won 4-1, was 2-1 when that happened with England having only just scored their 1st the momentum swing to go 2-2 quickly would possibly have seen then go on to win the tie.
Green Man
29-09-2021, 02:02 PM
Aye that was the game Germany won 4-1, was 2-1 when that happened with England having only just scored their 1st the momentum swing to go 2-2 quickly would possibly have seen then go on to win the tie.
Ah, that’s a shame :greengrin
29-09-2021, 02:59 PM
England got absolutely bodied that day. 4-1 flattered them. I don't think it would've made a big difference to who won.
29-09-2021, 04:34 PM
If only there had big screens showing replays in 1966 :wink:
Probably due to the fact the way we watched football last season was on TV screens, hard to get out of the habit.
30-09-2021, 08:15 AM
How were the screens last night guys under the twilight sky?
30-09-2021, 08:31 AM
No game highlights unfortunately, also no stats or team lineups. Obv the data wasn’t available for them. But they were hardly used due to that. Just showing the Hibs badge for most of the game.
30-09-2021, 08:51 AM
No game highlights unfortunately, also no stats or team lineups. Obv the data wasn’t available for them. But they were hardly used due to that. Just showing the Hibs badge for most of the game.
OK Thanks
👍🏿
30-09-2021, 08:55 AM
Not really. Referees are human and don't deserved to be lynched for making an honest mistake.
But IMHO the mistakes should be brought to light. In the case of VAR, rectified live.
But we don’t have the ££££ in Scotland so it doesn’t matter.
30-09-2021, 08:58 AM
But IMHO the mistakes should be brought to light. In the case of VAR, rectified live.
But we don’t have the ££££ in Scotland so it doesn’t matter.
That's the problem - it has to apply to every match (eg. in the same league) or not at all.
30-09-2021, 11:59 AM
Your eyes are really drawn to the when a still image changes to another of a different colour.
Quite annoying actually.
My ST is in the East so that might not be an issue for me at the mens matches.
30-09-2021, 12:04 PM
Your eyes are really drawn to the when a still image changes to another of a different colour.
Quite annoying actually.
My ST is in the East so that might not be an issue for me at the mens matches.
👍🏿
30-09-2021, 07:19 PM
The lack of line ups was disappointing. I didn't have a clue who any of the Hearts players were, except Tweedie and Handley who are ex-Hibs.
30-09-2021, 08:10 PM
Any plans for them to be used for birthday messages etc
Anyone notice one at south stand end had a block not working at the top?
Yes I got bored last 20 mins.
16-10-2021, 06:57 PM
Nope. All looked fine from the west.
16-10-2021, 06:58 PM
Noticed that as well. Hopefully only a shoogly connection and easily fixed! Otherwise could end up spending a fair amount in repairs.
Nope. All looked fine from the west.
I was in the West Upper today and noticed it. Defo looked a section was not working.
16-10-2021, 07:16 PM
I was in the West Upper today and noticed it. Defo looked a section was not working.
Maybe too many in the corporate bar then 🍺
16-10-2021, 07:17 PM
Noticed that as well. Hopefully only a shoogly connection and easily fixed! Otherwise could end up spending a fair amount in repairs.
Wouldn't be difficult to fix at all. Access is a bit of a pain but the install itself it's very basic stuff.
16-10-2021, 07:19 PM
Wouldn't be difficult to fix at all. Access is a bit of a pain but the install itself it's very basic stuff.
What are you doing Wednesday afternoon?
Asking for a friend 😃
Maybe too many in the corporate bar then 🍺
I wish ha.
Still on the train home and a few beers might have helped me sleep and forget it. Ha.
When I saw this thread had gone back to the top I was expecting it to be someone saying they're a waste of money and it should have been spent on the team. (cue someone to now say well they are waste of money and it should have been spent on the team).
16-10-2021, 07:22 PM
What are you doing Wednesday afternoon?
Asking for a friend 😃
I'm off work, so probably vegetating. Why do you ask? :greengrin
Logie Green
16-10-2021, 07:24 PM
I noticed after 7 minutes that the clock at that end went a bit wonky. It started moving on 10 seconds at a time then went back to normal. It then counted backwards for a few seconds before going back to normal.
It might’ve been better if it had gone gone straight to 90 minutes.
16-10-2021, 07:28 PM
I noticed that, a black square at the top. Also the smaller screen inside the stand at the FF end had some dodgy wrong coloured pixels in it ! Hopefully just a glitch
16-10-2021, 07:31 PM
Would have been good to stick homes under the hammer on or any daytime dross on other than watching that today.
16-10-2021, 07:35 PM
Now the dull days are here, talking about daylight rather than football standard, the screen annoy me. Sitting in the west they are often the brightest part of your field of view. That makes your eye automatically be drawn to them or they are a distraction. Wish they would switch then off during the game if they aren't going to show the play
16-10-2021, 08:15 PM
Would have been good to stick homes under the hammer on or any daytime dross on other than watching that today.
They should show Soccer Saturday.
.Louise.
16-10-2021, 08:35 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211016/a733a5a442f3aee73fb6fe3fbdf5aebe.jpg
DarrenSQH
16-10-2021, 08:41 PM
Looked a bit like the old days when the adverts were due to come on.
16-10-2021, 08:42 PM
They should stick a wee red triangle in the top corner - maybe boost the crowds a bit.
16-10-2021, 08:46 PM
They should stick a wee red triangle in the top corner - maybe boost the crowds a bit.
That’s going back a bit !!
16-10-2021, 08:51 PM
Would it not be possible for replays to override the adverts? A bit of a pain watching for a replay of something and it gets cut off to go to an advert.
16-10-2021, 08:55 PM
Would it not be possible for replays to override the adverts? A bit of a pain watching for a replay of something and it gets cut off to go to an advert.The screens show the same as the live stream, except they're not allowed to show replays of contentious incidents or decisions in the stadium, so they show adverts instead.
16-10-2021, 08:58 PM
The screens show the same as the live stream, except they're not allowed to show replays of contentious incidents or decisions in the stadium, so they show adverts instead.
That’s not right.
The screens show the game but the feed is cut by timed adverts, like every minute or so.
Some replays are shown of chances or the Hibs goals but the timed adverts still kick in and cut off the replays. It should be that the replays take priority over the advert.
16-10-2021, 08:59 PM
😂😂😂
16-10-2021, 09:00 PM
First time seeing them today and thought they looked terrific.
16-10-2021, 09:03 PM
That’s not right.
The screens show the game but the feed is cut by timed adverts, like every minute or so.
Some replays are shown of chances or the Hibs goals but the timed adverts still kick in and cut off the replays. It should be that the replays take priority over the advert.Fair enough. I thought I saw the screens showing something else whenever there was a replay on the stream, but TBH I haven't really paid that much attention and the screens aren't always in the picture.
16-10-2021, 09:13 PM
I wish ha.
Still on the train home and a few beers might have helped me sleep and forget it. Ha.
Ah! 😂 I was referring to my own consumption but can see how my comment hit the wrong note. Apologies
16-10-2021, 09:38 PM
That’s not right.
Some replays are shown of chances or the Hibs goals but the timed adverts still kick in and cut off the replays. It should be that the replays take priority over the advert.
There seemed to be a lot more adverts today than the last couple of games
16-10-2021, 10:09 PM
It would have been there for the whole match. 🔺
mcohibs
16-10-2021, 10:34 PM
Would it not be possible for replays to override the adverts? A bit of a pain watching for a replay of something and it gets cut off to go to an advert.
'Hello there, company who has paid to advertise on our new screens. Would you mind if we removed your advert at the time when most people are looking at them? Cheers.'
I see that going down well :greengrin
16-10-2021, 11:51 PM
That’s not right.
The need to see a replay is exactly the time for an advert. These screens aren’t there to allow us to watch the game, they’re there to make money.