View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs vs Rijeka

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

The Pointer
12-08-2021, 08:05 PM
Said last week how they missed chances would kill us and nobody listened. As always we’ve self destructed and beat ourselves, because Rijeka are pish and up until the red card and gift of a second they were worse than Hibs.

Not McGregors fault he was bombed into the starting 11 when we’ve been after a centre half for months, or his fault the rest of the defence are also bang average.

If anything comes of this maybe RG will realise how far off it we are compared to where he is always telling us he he wants to be, and realise he needs to open his own wallet and perform open surgery to get us there. The nucleus is there but needs some major TLC at the back, we can be as exciting and lethal going forward against crap like Ross County but when your goalie and defence are Motherwell or Dundee standard you’ll always leak stupid goals.

Learning curve and we WILL be better next year

Sorry, but that's what we say every year.

For some reason our preparations are poor for playing against teams we would probably beat later in the season (or even next month). Rijeka in terms of ability are fairly average but we looked out of it early on, even before McGregor was sent-off, and that is poor from players and manager alike.

It would be interesting to hear what is said between Ross and Kensell on Monday morning but I think some home truths will be discussed.

Our squad is threadbare and we have too many fringe players that simply aren’t good enough.

We need to start clearing out the deadwood now and get some decent players in.

Start with a right back and CH, which we need in ASAP.

Chorley Hibee
Another season in Europe and yet again we've failed to recruit in time.

Makes you wonder what the point of even qualifying is.

Disappointing tonight but hopefully we learn. We are just not at euro level...yet. If we had scored when we were on top....if we didnt make that mistake etc. The fact is we didnt score when on top in the first game...we do make the mistakes. Thats the difference. People are pointing out there is not much difference between the teams... 5-2 says otherwise. Lets just beat killie on sunday and move on.

“Move on” as a support we get told to do this A LOT. ****ing pointless moving on if there’s no lessons learnt

How’s about having the squad ready and signings in to compete in Europe?

12-08-2021, 08:06 PM
We lack depth because we had about six players out. Some very important ones too.

I’m not denying that

Problem is our replacements tonight were 35/35 mcgregor and his replacement in the game was gogic

Up front doidge injured

We have on bench gullan who clearly Ross doesn’t think is good enough

I cant believe folk are telling me how bad we are, yet in the next breath they are saying how we were the better team?

We lost that tonight because we went down to 10 men, simple as that.

IMO that’s an over simplification

Certainly a huge factor but lack of depth and a worrying habit of failing in winnable games both need to be addressed

There’s no shame in getting beat but the performance levels of some in these games is a huge concern and IMO speaks of a failure to handle the pressure

Stoker
Ok, we might not pass the next round, but you guys and your Team operatives need to be more

down to earth, humble and stubborn to make better succes next year.

So many Hearts fans in here, just crazy!!!Their team ain't in Europe, where else will they get a big team fix?!

12-08-2021, 08:07 PM
I'm more worried about the defence.

Best form of defence is attack 😉

Can say that for every Scottish team outside the Old Firm. Out of our depth.

Weegreenman
Our defence is stinking! The amount of crappy goals we have gave away recently is annoying af.

100% this. Would love to get a proper CH who could captain the club. Hanlon is average at best and Porto has shown he’s not ready to play at this level yet. McGinn has been awful recently too.

Our squad is threadbare and we have too many fringe players that simply aren’t good enough.

We need to start clearing out the deadwood now and get some decent players in.

Start with a right back and CH, which we need in ASAP.

Correct

Hallberg, Mackie, Gullan, McGregor, McGinn all to be moved on

Tha Cabbage Kid
why on earth, is it that our defenders are more interested in taking a man on than our midfield? For the last 20 mins our midfield passed the ball side ways rather than have a go but Porteous wants to take a chance and dribble the ball up the park.

im stumped!:confused:

loanheadhibby
How many did we gift them? They are not a good European side. We blew that tie.

Does not really matter how many we gifted them. They took the chances presented and comfortably won over 2 legs.

They were clinical over 2 ties.

12-08-2021, 08:08 PM
So they do have a decent European pedigree then?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

No, we just have a very bad European pedigree. We have done spectacularly badly in Europe for years now so any time we play a semi decent side we treat them as giants.

They play in a tiny, half finished stadium and according to their fan posting on here, are in transition with practically a new team of players.

They are a very very average European side. We are a very poor European side.

Can say that for every Scottish team outside the Old Firm. Out of our depth.

I reckon Aberdeen are in with a good chance of qualifying for the groups.

I’m not denying that

Problem is our replacements tonight were 35/35 mcgregor and his replacement in the game was gogic

Up front doidge injured

We have on bench gullan who clearly Ross doesn’t think is good enough

We do need another striker and centre half, for sure.

I'm more worried about the defence.

Agree, red flags have been popping up for way too long and nothing has been done about it...:confused:

Too soft...

We do need another striker and centre half, for sure.

We’ve known that since the start of June though, we’re now half way through August nearly and we still need them. It’s not good enough.

12-08-2021, 08:09 PM
The away leg is always the hardest part of a European tie, folk saying they are mediocre etc need to look at how they handled the away leg compared to us. At ER we were the better team but they had their fair share of chances and managed the game much better than we did tonight. Even before the red card we were poor. They deserved it I'm afraid.

The lack of investment into the team is showing and we either need better coaching and planning for our defence or new personnel because this season, our defence is ***** and we will suffer because of that.

Sean, they’ve scored 5 goals against us in 2 games. You can’t seriously believe they are crap? They’ve spanked us tonight, no mistake.

I thought they were crap.

We've been put out of Europe by some really good and some decent sides in my time watching Hibs.

The fact that we didn't win that tie is totally on us. We underperformed in every way that it is possible to underperform at football.

That's not to say that they didn't have one or two tidy players - but if Hibs play average Hibs, we win. If we play well, we pump them.

More than a few characters at Hibs need to take a long, hard look at why we've come away today with the result we have.

That's a level that shouldn't be tolerated or excused, and we'll get nowhere if that's what we do.

"We had them on the ropes for 5 minutes" in a tie that we should have won comfortably just doesn't cut it.

It's bitterly disappointing and unacceptable.

Feeling a bit like this tonight having dared to suggest we’re a centre half and striker short before the game.

We’ve known that since the start of June though, we’re now half way through August nearly and we still need them. It’s not good enough.

June 2020?

Tha Cabbage Kid
12-08-2021, 08:10 PM
Correct

Hallberg, Mackie, Gullan, McGregor, McGinn all to be moved on

I dont think McGinn is that bad. and I wouldnt be to quick to get rid of Mackie just yet.

loanheadhibby
“Move on” as a support we get told to do this A LOT. ****ing pointless moving on if there’s no lessons learnt

How’s about having the squad ready and signings in to compete in Europe?

Excellent point. We’ve known since May when we are playing. Same thing happens every season. Last minute Reilly’s.

I reckon Aberdeen are in with a good chance of qualifying for the groups.

St Johnstone as well.

Weegreenman
12-08-2021, 08:11 PM

I remember saying this way back before the Malmö pumping and got mega abuse.
The truth is, we are decent in midfield and dangerous up top but defensively we lack a real leader. Doig, McGinn and Porto aren’t of this level.

Ryan Porteous is easily good enough for our domestic league

Losing Hanlon really hurt us though

I'm guessing we are hoping to get our number 1 target in mccart without wasting money on someone inferior

As a nation I also think we dismiss these 'smaller' teams - I'm currently watching the Icelandic team give Aberdeen a real run for there money

An aberdeen team who apparently got there squad ready early

No, we just have a very bad European pedigree. We have done spectacularly badly in Europe for years now so any time we play a semi decent side we treat them as giants.

They play in a tiny, half finished stadium and according to their fan posting on here, are in transition with practically a new team of players.

They are a very very average European side. We are a very poor European side.

We are European minnows

June 2020?

You could potentially argue that

12-08-2021, 08:12 PM
I cant believe folk are telling me how bad we are, yet in the next breath they are saying how we were the better team?

We lost that tonight because we went down to 10 men, simple as that.

They were better than us in this match even with 11 men.

We played better than them at home.

I think they had 2-3 players that were above our level (and probably theirs, they'll be lucky to keep them).

This match went before that red card. McGinn was getting a torrid time and even before the red Boyle was not tracking back anymore so McGinn's side was getting absolutely hammered.

We started the match looking slow in our minds but trying to play fast - Murphy's stupid quickly taken freekick resulting in McGregor's first yellow. I wouldn't be surprised if the players played the match in their heads..."bloody hell this is hot"...

That continued for most of the match. Nisbet clearly has a lot of qualities but he was very poor tonight, no real hold up and was often incapable of passing to teammates.

Sad as it is, we aren't ready for Europe.

Hulk1875
Shame. Think Ron will stick with the plan of gradual growth and will look at any weaknesses revealed and go again for next season. Revealed a bit lack of depth as well so hopefully we benefit in the window.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Like this post we had good season got into Europe back into it again finish same place or higher and better prepared for Europe

CL0762
We’ve known since about January we’d likely be playing in European competition.

Once again just like under Mowbray, Mixu & Fenlon we were criminally unprepared.

Ross was on sky sports a month ago saying we needed another centre half and another striker. This is simply not good enough.

We lack depth because we had about six players out. Some very important ones too.

We had one centre half and one striker out.

That's all it takes for us to look VERY thin in those areas indeed.

We've actually been very lucky to have as few injuries as we have in recent years, and that we've managed to get as much football as we have out of Nisbet, Doidge, Hanlon and Porteous.

We got found out tonight.

If we can get over a million for nisbet or doig go for it and get a CB and a CDM

:not worth

They weren’t great let’s be honest. Most teams become hard to beat with 10 men yet we absolutely capitulate. The last 3 goals were atrocious

it's something i've always been aware off with our sides, some/most sides appear to be galvanised when their side goes down to 10...and i've noticed a few heartz sides over the decades as an example of this, when a hibs side goes down to ten it's normally not a good outcome

12-08-2021, 08:13 PM
Excellent, what are you going to do about it?

Nothing much. Nothing I do changes the fact we should have them in

Ok, we might not pass the next round, but you guys and your Team operatives need to be more

down to earth, humble and stubborn to make better succes next year.

Are you really suggesting we need to be more humble? Fans are always biased towards their team but your coach and players were very disrespectful. You won but some of the comments were insulting and totally unreasonable.

You could potentially argue that

It’s a certainty

The position is exactly the same

12-08-2021, 08:14 PM
We were well on top when McGregor had his brainstorm so he has to carry the can for that embarrassment. We were poor in the first half but once we equalised it was just a matter of time till we scored again.
I've been following the Hibs long enough to know that the only thing certain in this game is that they will always find a way to let you down.

Place is a bit raw at times like this isn’t it?

great goal aberdeen 2-1

USAHibee
I remember saying this way back before the Malmö pumping and got mega abuse.
The truth is, we are decent in midfield and dangerous up top but defensively we lack a real leader. Doig, McGinn and Porto aren’t of this level.

Brilliant.. great take on tonight's game..

12-08-2021, 08:15 PM

We've been put out of Europe by some really good and some decent sides in my time watching Hibs.

The fact that we didn't win that tie is totally on us. We underperformed in every way that it is possible to underperform at football.

That's not to say that they didn't have one or two tidy players - but if Hibs play average Hibs, we win. If we play well, we pump them.

More than a few characters at Hibs need to take a long, hard look at why we've come away today with the result we have.

That's a level that shouldn't be tolerated or excused, and we'll get nowhere if that's what we do.

"We had them on the ropes for 5 minutes" in a tie that we should have won comfortably just doesn't cut it.

There’ll be a fair bit of chat about being proud of the performance I’d imagine.

We were really in control in the second half tonight and absolutely blew it. It shouldn’t all be put on McGregor either. We absolutely chucked it thereafter. Other teams become hard to beat when they go down to 10 men, not us.

Frustrating that we finish above Aberdeen in the league and they end up with a far easier tie than us. Granted their last tie was harder

Chorley Hibee

We needed both last season!

It's still not been addressed.

hhibs
I’m talking more about the players. When are they actually going to turn up in a “big” game and repay the fans.

Shat the bed again

Sadly, you really do have a point

12-08-2021, 08:16 PM

It's excusable when the games come round in early July, but I'm really frustrated to see a Hibs squad as thin as that trying to compete well into August when we're not obviously in any sort of crisis (ie having just been relegated, totally skint etc).

Apart from minnows from Andorra, Luxembourg etc I'm afraid nowadays that's the case of any team we'll play in Europe. Apart from Asteras we haven't beaten anything other than minnows in Europe for a very long time.

Hibs did not prepare or budget for a run in Europe and to do so would have been financially bonkers. We've probably got as far as the Board through we would, so focus will now revert to domestic competition and selling one or two of our best players. Sadly, that's the current reality for every Scottish club outside the OF - unless you get a Vlad or other owner with money to burn.

Frustrating that we finish above Aberdeen in the league and they end up with a far easier tie than us. Granted their last tie was harder

Because they’ve brought players in early. Identified where they needed to strengthen and gave them plenty time to let them gel and they’re reaping the rewards

12-08-2021, 08:17 PM
We clearly need cover at both ends of the park but some of the stuff on here is laughable.
The game was won and lost on one moment - the red card.
We were having our best spell and Rijeka looked tired.
When you are one injury away from a 36 year old starting at the back and having no decent forward options on the bench the spotlight has to fall on the recruitment team.
Still feel we are much better than last season in the middle of the park but not so much in other areas.

12-08-2021, 08:18 PM
Because they’ve brought players in early. Identified where they needed to strengthen and gave them plenty time to let them gel and they’re reaping the rewards

They got an easier tie because they brought in players early?

Sadly, you really do have a point

No he doesn't.

Hibs did not prepare or budget for a run in Europe and to do so would have been financially bonkers. We've probably got as far as the Board through we would, so focus will now revert to domestic competition and selling one or two of our best players. Sadly, that's the current reality for every Scottish club outside the OF - unless you get a Vlad or other owner with money to burn.

If that's the case we shouldn't bother about the league and just focus purely on the cups. The prize for finishing 3rd or 4th is European football. If we aren't going to prepare properly or take it seriously we might as well give up.

Let's also see how St Johnstone and Aberdeen get on. If either of them get through then we've been left behind after what was supposed to be our best season in decades.

We had one centre half and one striker out.

That's all it takes for us to look VERY thin in those areas indeed.

We've actually been very lucky to have as few injuries as we have in recent years, and that we've managed to get as much football as we have out of Nisbet, Doidge, Hanlon and Porteous.

We got found out tonight.

I’ve already said that we need cover in both positions, as has Ross, more importantly.

I don’t think you can say we’ve been lucky with injuries at all - how long was Porteous out with his knee problem? Murphy never got going last season because of injury, same for Magennis. Mackie one injury after another.

Six players out tonight and that seemed to be the way for long spells last season.

Tha Cabbage Kid

we shot ourselves in the foot plain and simple.
i think they were an ok side but we should have beat them easy. own goal, schoolboy defending errors, doing stupid stuff at the back and getting sent off for it cost us a bad defeat

we showed very little heart tonight.

12-08-2021, 08:19 PM

I think they had 2-3 players that were above our level (and probably theirs, they'll be lucky to keep them).

This match went before that red card. McGinn was getting a torrid time and even before the red Boyle was not tracking back anymore so McGinn's side was getting absolutely hammered.

We started the match looking slow in our minds but trying to play fast - Murphy's stupid quickly taken freekick resulting in McGregor's first yellow. I wouldn't be surprised if the players played the match in their heads..."bloody hell this is hot"...

That continued for most of the match. Nisbet clearly has a lot of qualities but he was very poor tonight, no real hold up and was often incapable of passing to teammates.

I agree that they have a couple of quality players i'd love to see at Hibs, but at 1-1 we were well in the game and had started to create the odd chance.

We might have lost, we will never know, but as soon as Daz was sent off there was only one winner.

12-08-2021, 08:19 PM
They got an easier tie because they brought in players early?

Apologies I didn’t read your post correctly but I still reckon them having players in earlier has them in a good place to qualify. Financial incentives for reaching the groups could also have a big bearing on how they do in the league as well.

12-08-2021, 08:21 PM
We are European minnows

We certainly are, and its no use me harking back to the days when we battered far better teams than the Croats around, we are very average and without investment we will not get much better, Mr. Ross well I am no going to say anything at this time, but that was a terrible embarrassing performance, just as I feared when I heard that Hanlon and Doige were out. We don't have the quality required to compete even in what amounts to European 3rd Division, we are well in danger of being left behind completely to swim around wi the ****ing jambos and the other sheite.
Not a very grown up display at all.

St Johnstone as well.

St Johnstone are out of Europe now are they not? Or do they drop down into the conference play off game?

Weegreenman
Brilliant.. great take on tonight's game..

Why, thank yow! 😆

allmodcons
12-08-2021, 08:22 PM

Christ you don't half talk some *****.

Hibees1973
12-08-2021, 08:22 PM
Fail to prepare....prepare to fail.

As already stated here we have no depth in centre of the defence and up front....the spine of the team. This was clear a various points last season and yet again we have failed to turn up in a big game. Jesus, how many has this been over the last 2 years.

Yes, we were in it at 1-1, but truthfully we were lucky to be level. We were out of our depth at times.

Hibs are likely to lose Doig and Nisbet in this window and to be honest I won't be disappointed if we get £5-£6m for the pair of them. We must cash-in on players when they are at peak vaiue, this is what Hibs do.

We are a well run club, with no benefactor willing to throw money away. The money should be used to shore up our accounts after the pandemic and use £2-3m on new players. 2 new centre-halfs are a must (try and get Kerr & McCart from St Johnstone), 2 new full backs and a centre forward.

There is a core of a good squad at Hibs to stay in the top 4 and we in the running for cups.

Tonight was a loss..get over it and move on.

hhibs
12-08-2021, 08:23 PM
We were well on top when McGregor had his brainstorm so he has to carry the can for that embarrassment. We were poor in the first half but once we equalised it was just a matter of time till we scored again.
I've been following the Hibs long enough to know that the only thing certain in this game is that they will always find a way to let you down.

And, as my time passes my patience evaporates!

The Scottish Cup win seems a long time ago.

Aberdeen and Celtic through, Hibs European adventure over

I’ve already said that we need cover in both positions, as has Ross, more importantly.

I don’t think you can say we’ve been lucky with injuries at all - how long was Porteous out with his knee problem? Murphy never got going last season because of injury, same for Magennis. Mackie one injury after another.

Six players out tonight and that seemed to be the way for long spells last season.

We could do worse than buy 2 or 3 of them Croats, sell one and bring in quality.

12-08-2021, 08:24 PM
Aberdeen and Celtic through, Hibs European adventure overWouldn't be so sure, still plenty left in Aberdeen tie

Cracking watch actually

nairn hibee
St Johnstone are out of Europe now are they not? Or do they drop down into the conference play off game?
In the conference think it’s last from Austria they play

They go into the Conference League play offs.

bringbackbenny
12-08-2021, 08:25 PM

Some posters know everything that's wrong with Hibs and exactly what needs done to fix it. Cos it's always simple solutions that the whole backroom staff at East Mains haven't considered or are too stupid to bother concerning about.

12-08-2021, 08:26 PM
We lost that tie for two reasons ... the first is only scoring twice over two legs where we should have scored at least 4 goals with the amount of possession we had in and around the box especially in the first leg, I think we had 5 corners tonight and 4 of them were an easy catch for their keeper, that does not win you games. The second reason was an absolute brain fart by Daz when we had gotten on top in the game and were actually looking more like the side who could win it.

We have the makings of a good team here I am still in no doubt about that, folk can go on all they want about being naive in Europe and all that, but the truth is the aggregate score line is miles from being a reflection of the tie prior to the sending off ... With 11 v 11 it could have gone either way tonight and IMO it's unfair to the team to say otherwise, at no point in that tie were we outplayed or dominated prior to Daz being sent off and then immediately going a goal behind from a corner that wasn't.

But ... It's becoming clearer and clearer that we need to do something about our defence. This isn't even about individual players any more, as a whole this defence is soft as a month old bairns jobby no matter what combination of players we use .... from midfield to up front we have a team that can pass and move the ball really well, even if we need to be more clinical with out final ball and finishing, but you can almost guarantee that they will score in 9 out of 10 games ... its the defence that will stop this team being a success .... with a better one we could mount a serious challenge for 2nd in the league and both cups.

Tonight was a massive disappointment, but its not the end of our season that's for sure.

12-08-2021, 08:27 PM
We clearly need cover at both ends of the park but some of the stuff on here is laughable.
The game was won and lost on one moment - the red card.
We were having our best spell and Rijeka looked tired.
When you are one injury away from a 36 year old starting at the back and having no decent forward options on the bench the spotlight has to fall on the recruitment team.
Still feel we are much better than last season in the middle of the park but not so much in other areas.

I agree we are better in the middle but means nothing if our defence is so weak. They could've scored 1-2 more in the first half so whilst it played out over the red card, the tie could've been over in the first half. Much as it could've been over at ER.

Sadly, McGregor, Porteous and McGinn had absolute shockers tonight. Look at McGregor's positioning for the first goal. McGinn lets yet another cross come in. Porteous for their last goal.

We sign CMs like they're going out of stock and struggle to fill a team in other positions. Eventually this needs examined. No competition or cover in defence. That's ignoring little to no competition for Nisbet, Boyle, Murphy and Doidge. Any 2 of them get injured and we are struggling to keep same formation.

The player quality in recruitment has been good but sometimes it's like someone is playing Footie Manager or something - he has 5 star potential so we should sign him up even though we have 7 players in his position already but no goalkeeper...

gaz1875
12-08-2021, 08:28 PM
Fail to prepare....prepare to fail.

As already stated here we have no depth in centre of the defence and up front....the spine of the team. This was clear a various points last season and yet again we have failed to turn up in a big game. Jesus, how many has this been over the last 2 years.

Yes, we were in it at 1-1, but truthfully we were lucky to be level. We were out of our depth at times.

Hibs are likely to lose Doig and Nisbet in this window and to be honest I won't be disappointed if we get £5-£6m for the pair of them. We must cash-in on players when they are at peak vaiue, this is what Hibs do.

We are a well run club, with no benefactor willing to throw money away. The money should be used to shore up our accounts after the pandemic and use £2-3m on new players. 2 new centre-halfs are a must (try and get Kerr & McCart from St Johnstone), 2 new full backs and a centre forward.

There is a core of a good squad at Hibs to stay in the top 4 and we in the running for cups.

Tonight was a loss..get over it and move on.

We weren't lucky to be level, we were deservedly level and on top until the defensive blunder (another)

12-08-2021, 08:29 PM

So you don’t reckon that puts you in a better place when it comes to European ties? Because lack of options certainly hindered us tonight.

12-08-2021, 08:30 PM
Some posters know everything that's wrong with Hibs and exactly what needs done to fix it. Cos it's always simple solutions that the whole backroom staff at East Mains haven't considered or are too stupid to bother concerning about.

If the backroom staff at East Mains can't see where the weaknesses are in that team it's time they packed in.

12-08-2021, 08:31 PM
Hibs boss seeks reinforcementsFT: Rijeka 4-1 Hibernian (5-2)

"We need depth and quality," says disappointed Hibernian head coach Jack Ross, who was missing Paul Hanlon, Christian Doidge and Scott Allan this evening.
The Easter Road club are waiting anxiously for the results of a scan on striker Doidge after a training ground injury

12-08-2021, 08:32 PM
If the backroom staff at East Mains can't see where the weaknesses are in that team it's time they packed in.Ross and everyone out

12-08-2021, 08:32 PM

"We need depth and quality," says disappointed Hibernian head coach Jack Ross, who was missing Paul Hanlon, Christian Doidge and Scott Allan this evening.
The Easter Road club are waiting anxiously for the results of a scan on striker Doidge after a training ground injury

That makes it sound like Doidge might be out a while

12-08-2021, 08:33 PM

What's the point looking for reinforcements after the big event? I'll never understand this...

bringbackbenny
If the backroom staff at East Mains can't see where the weaknesses are in that team it's time they packed in.

And how do you know they aren't working on it? I would rather they waited and get the right player with the right attributes rather signing some pishy journeyman - we've all seen the panic buys before. Have some hope!, the futures green 😀

Wait, the managers said this!? What does he think hibs are doing at east mains!?

12-08-2021, 08:34 PM
What's the point looking for reinforcements after the big event? I'll never understand this...I'm sure we have been looking for months

I just watched Brendon Rogers say they are still looking but they might not be able get or afford the type of players they need

Even clubs at that level have the same issues

12-08-2021, 08:35 PM
What's the point looking for reinforcements after the big event? I'll never understand this...

Should’ve been sorted before the first game. We’ve had plenty time. Yet again we start the season short

We lost that tie for two reasons ... the first is only scoring twice over two legs where we should have scored at least 4 goals with the amount of possession we had in and around the box especially in the first leg, I think we had 5 corners tonight and 4 of them were an easy catch for their keeper, that does not win you games. The second reason was an absolute brain fart by Daz when we had gotten on top in the game and were actually looking more like the side who could win it.

We have the makings of a good team here I am still in no doubt about that, folk can go on all they want about being naive in Europe and all that, but the truth is the aggregate score line is miles from being a reflection of the tie prior to the sending off ... With 11 v 11 it could have gone either way tonight and IMO it's unfair to the team to say otherwise, at no point in that tie were we outplayed or dominated prior to Daz being sent off and then immediately going a goal behind from a corner that wasn't.

But ... It's becoming clearer and clearer that we need to do something about our defence. This isn't even about individual players any more, as a whole this defence is soft as a month old bairns jobby no matter what combination of players we use .... from midfield to up front we have a team that can pass and move the ball really well, even if we need to be more clinical with out final ball and finishing, but you can almost guarantee that they will score in 9 out of 10 games ... its the defence that will stop this team being a success .... with a better one we could mount a serious challenge for 2nd in the league and both cups.

Tonight was a massive disappointment, but its not the end of our season that's for sure.

Let the record books show that the result was 5-2. lets no kid ourselves, we lack quality to compete in Europe even in their 3rd Division.

loanheadhibby

I can’t disagree that it’s a lamentable result but credit where it’s due also. They had our number. We may think they are inferior but the got the job done comfortably.

As you say, that’s on recruitment, management and players. Yet another let down for fans from this squad of players.

12-08-2021, 08:37 PM
Hibs boss seeks reinforcements

FT: Rijeka 4-1 Hibernian (5-2)

Ffs, been saying the same for years now.

12-08-2021, 08:37 PM
And how do you know they aren't working on it? I would rather they waited and get the right player with the right attributes rather signing some pishy journeyman - we've all seen the panic buys before. Have some hope!, the futures green 😀

We needed a CB at the start of last season never mind this season. The fact Gray and McGregor were still part of last seasons squad was a bit ridiculous. McGregor still being so close to being a first team player is still ridiculous. Any CB we sign now can't possibly be a panic buy unless we are doing no scouting/research whatsoever and merely recruiting based on agents contacting the club...

Surely we would know our targets months ago. We must surely have a list.

I can only hope we are waiting for Kerr or McCart - they possibly wanted a crack at Europe with St Johnstone.

12-08-2021, 08:38 PM

Is the league cup, derbies, Scottish cup not worth it now?

It was ****ing 1-1 till a player (also a human being) made a bad mistake (like all human beings do)

It happens. Absolutely no need for this silly reaction. Its very frustrating to go out, I'm not happy about it at all. But its not some disaster. We were miles away from this level of game under Hecky. We've massively progressed. We just gotta win the next one.

GRA
12-08-2021, 08:39 PM
People need to look at these games objectively.
Two very matched teams. We were better in the 1st game but never took a lead over. In the 2nd game they were better until Kyle equalised. Until Daz got sent off we were in the ascendancy.

No doubt about it the red card cost us the tie. Was in the balance until then.

That said the way we folded was weak. Missed Hanlon as well tonight.

12-08-2021, 08:40 PM

Be devastated if Doidge is out for a long period.

12-08-2021, 08:43 PM

Yup. We done the same when Molde put us out. McGinn dragged us past Asteras with half a team. We maybe wouldn’t have beat Molde but we go into Europe every time we get there now well short in some positions.

Everyone goes on about how they wouldn’t take cup wins over Europe because Europe helps us consolidate being a good team and then the cups will come. In reality we’ll go into Europe every season well short and get pumped out by really average teams like tonight.

12-08-2021, 08:44 PM
I'm sure we have been looking for months

I just watched Brendon Rogers say they are still looking but they might not be able get or afford the type of players they need

Even clubs at that level have the same issues

I cannot accept this for the CB position though. We needed one last season so we've had close to 18months to ascertain possible targets and put them on a list then make relevant enquiries etc.

McGregor starting tonight shows we aren't ready for Europe. If Daz was 5-6 years younger then it'd have been no bother. He isn't though, sadly.

Hanlon, first choice, picks up an injury so we have to turn to the 36 year old CB who struggled to train last season because he has dodgy knees...

This, like Gray's injury problems, have been known for years now. We've been unfortunate with Cadden but, in my opinion, complacent at CB. We needed to recruit a CB ages ago.

Jim Herriot
Hibernians (Malta) out of the tournament, losing 4-1 with a player sent off.

Mikey_1875
People need to look at these games objectively.
Two very matched teams. We were better in the 1st game but never took a lead over. In the 2nd game they were better until Kyle equalised. Until Daz got sent off we were in the ascendancy.

No doubt about it the red card cost us the tie. Was in the balance until then.

That said the way we folded was weak. Missed Hanlon as well tonight.

Sums it up perfectly for me. Still very frustrating and disappointing though. Sending off doesn’t excuse the comical nature of the goals we conceded but if we can get 3/4 consecutive seasons in Europe then hopefully we can get better through time in these situations rather than once every 4/5 years.

12-08-2021, 08:48 PM
Yup. We done the same when Molde put us out. McGinn dragged us past Asteras with half a team. We maybe wouldn’t have beat Molde but we go into Europe every time we get there now well short in some positions.

Everyone goes on about how they wouldn’t take cup wins over Europe because Europe helps us consolidate being a good team and then the cups will come. In reality we’ll go into Europe every season well short and get pumped out by really average teams like tonight.

This is now I feel and why I wasn't getting overly excited about 3rd. The two teams that finished below us are still in Europe. Who knows, one or both may even get into the group stage.

12-08-2021, 08:52 PM
I cannot accept this for the CB position though. We needed one last season so we've had close to 18months to ascertain possible targets and put them on a list then make relevant enquiries etc.

McGregor starting tonight shows we aren't ready for Europe. If Daz was 5-6 years younger then it'd have been no bother. He isn't though, sadly.

Hanlon, first choice, picks up an injury so we have to turn to the 36 year old CB who struggled to train last season because he has dodgy knees...

This, like Gray's injury problems, have been known for years now. We've been unfortunate with Cadden but, in my opinion, complacent at CB. We needed to recruit a CB ages ago.

The problem is that the long deals given to Gray & McGregor to protect the culture / ethos of the club weren’t sensible from a playing perspective and how little we have gotten out of them as players since those extensions were signed has hampered the ability to recruit replacements

Even now I see why what was done was done and can’t make my mind up if it was wrong or right

I guess we will have similar discussions withStevenson & Hanlon in due course

I suspect if you asked Jack Ross and he felt able to answer honestly he would have very definite views

The culture of the club in the long term isn’t his responsibility, results on the park are.

allmodcons
12-08-2021, 08:52 PM
So you don’t reckon that puts you in a better place when it comes to European ties? Because lack of options certainly hindered us tonight.

What I reckon is that you don't half talk some *****.

12-08-2021, 08:53 PM

It was ****ing 1-1 till a player (also a human being) made a bad mistake (like all human beings do)

It happens. Absolutely no need for this silly reaction. Its very frustrating to go out, I'm not happy about it at all. But its not some disaster. We were miles away from this level of game under Hecky. We've massively progressed. We just gotta win the next one.

Eh? Europe is worth more to Hibs in terms of developing as a club than anything you've listed. If we had got group stage football that'd be approximately £2.5m to the club and increased ad and tv revenue.

We've progressed but I do not see this massive progression. How have we progressed since McGinn was here? He carried us through some rounds in Europe and left. We were competing in a lower European competition and are out early on again.

We are looking better than last season in CM but our defence needed strengthened a long time ago and it's still the same.

I never mentioned Hecky and I'm not taking a dig at McGregor. The whole defence pretty much needs looked at. Needed looked at before we went on to the European stage. Hence why I cannot understand looking for reinforcements after getting knocked out.

Maybe next season we'll have a solid defence and be in Europe. Who knows. We knew we were in Europe this season though. Soon to be a distant memory.

12-08-2021, 08:53 PM
I’m gutted to be out, but we’re not *****, our whole teams not hopeless.

We have nae divine right to beat Rijeka in Europe, and while we weren’t looking great tonight, we were well in the tie until a red card. Playing away from home in Europe with 10 men isn’t easy.

It feels ***** just now, but I wish some folk could have a little perspective. It’s an absolute joke how quick some can turn on the club and players.

12-08-2021, 08:59 PM

Change the record mate.

Of course we’ve progressed. That’s obvious and it’s good to see. However, having earned the right to play in cup finals and play in Europe, we keep messing up the opportunity to do something truly memorable. That’s also obvious.

Why you need to berate other fans over this I have no idea.

12-08-2021, 09:06 PM
We have a very good squad for the league. Just need another CB. We only play one actually striker and we have about 6 to play behind there. CB and RB (if Cadden doesn’t come back quick) are out issues. BUT. If we sign McCart we have to go back 3 so then everything changes. McCart and Kerr have looked great in back 3. St J are poor when they play a back 4.

12-08-2021, 09:09 PM
Change the record mate.

Of course we’ve progressed. That’s obvious and it’s good to see. However, having earned the right to play in cup finals and play in Europe, we keep messing up the opportunity to do something truly memorable. That’s also obvious.

Would winning tonight and losing in the next round be memorable? I don't think this was the great oppertunity you think it was.

Stoker
12-08-2021, 09:10 PM

We have nae divine right to beat Rijeka in Europe, and while we weren’t looking great tonight, we were well in the tie until a red card. Playing away from home in Europe with 10 men isn’t easy.

It feels ***** just now, but I wish some folk could have a little perspective. It’s an absolute joke how quick some can turn on the club and players.

I guess you folks are never gonna learn :wink:

12-08-2021, 09:11 PM
Change the record mate.

This. We are back where we belong given our budget and standard of competition in the Scotland. Hecky under achieved. Improving from that is a bear minimum.

The test now is can we kick on? Do we want to? That squad didn't look like one that was set up to progress in Europe. I don't blame the manager at all for tonight, having criticised him last year for poor performances.

But the club need to decide what our priorities are and make sure we are resourced appropriately.

Right now, after all the excitement about finishing 3rd,, we are out of Europe and the two sides who finished below us aren't.

12-08-2021, 09:12 PM
I guess you folks are never gonna learn :wink:

You also need to learn how to read English a bit better 👍🏼

Stoker
12-08-2021, 09:15 PM
You also need to learn how to read English a bit better 👍🏼

As long as we understand each other...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZvQfgoXWxQ

12-08-2021, 09:16 PM
As long as we understand each other...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZvQfgoXWxQ

That makes no sense. File under must try harder.

12-08-2021, 09:16 PM
Would winning tonight and losing in the next round be memorable? I don't think this was the great oppertunity you think it was.

But it was an opportunity. So was the cup final, and the two semi finals before that.

Like a lot of fans, I’m frustrated at this growing list of missed opportunities. There’s no guarantee they will come round again this season.

You don’t have to subscribe to that opinion of course. But you could at least acknowledge it.

Nights like this you’re allowed to be p*****d off and have a moan about the things that obviously need sorting.

Wakeyhibee
12-08-2021, 09:21 PM

Pretty much this. No matter the disappointment it does show how much Scottish football is behind in the times. It's great internally. Doesnt translate outside

12-08-2021, 09:21 PM
Shocking from Daz. But the defending from the following (questionable) corner is abysmal! Need to keep it tight and not lose silly goals after going a man down. Then we do the exact opposite.

So frustrating. We were well on top at the time of the sending off as well and the team looked right up for it.

12-08-2021, 09:22 PM
This. We are back where we belong given our budget and standard of competition in the Scotland. Hecky under achieved. Improving from that is a bear minimum.

The test now is can we kick on? Do we want to? That squad didn't look like one that was set up to progress in Europe. I don't blame the manager at all for tonight, having criticised him last year for poor performances.

But the club need to decide what our priorities are and make sure we are resourced appropriately.

Right now, after all the excitement about finishing 3rd,, we are out of Europe and the two sides who finished below us aren't.

We’ve already nothing to show for last season.

For all that folk hail finishing third as a brilliant season all it’s really given us is a game against a part time team and a horsing off an average team.

If Europe is what the club are really aiming for then we need to get signings in early and give ourselves a chance or else why is it we’re so desperate to qualify?

Stoker
12-08-2021, 09:23 PM
That makes no sense. File under must try harder.

Sorry, i was addressing to true Hib fans here. Not to you.

EdinburghHibern
12-08-2021, 09:24 PM
Disappointing evening. The goals we lost were so soft. Hope we make some signings.

tmb1875
12-08-2021, 09:31 PM
Jack Ross will deliver you 3/4/5 every season but for the big important games forget it. Been delighted with the start of the season but failure to bring in mccart/ Kerr, mueller and a striker had cost us. Aswel as not having the quality to put away our chances in the 1st leg. £500k we would have got tonight for getting through.
Annoyed as I thought he had changed this but obviously not. I’ll still go week in week out regardless and support the boys.

12-08-2021, 09:35 PM
Sorry, i was addressing to true Hib fans here. Not to you.

As I said. Try harder.

Crazyhorse
12-08-2021, 09:42 PM
Said last week how they missed chances would kill us and nobody listened. As always we’ve self destructed and beat ourselves, because Rijeka are pish and up until the red card and gift of a second they were worse than Hibs.

Not McGregors fault he was bombed into the starting 11 when we’ve been after a centre half for months, or his fault the rest of the defence are also bang average.

If anything comes of this maybe RG will realise how far off it we are compared to where he is always telling us he he wants to be, and realise he needs to open his own wallet and perform open surgery to get us there. The nucleus is there but needs some major TLC at the back, we can be as exciting and lethal going forward against crap like Ross County but when your goalie and defence are Motherwell or Dundee standard you’ll always leak stupid goals.

Learning curve and we WILL be better next year

Well quite a few of us said that and we were in a minority but there is no point in reminding everyone we were right.
The question is what do we do about it. In my view we have some good players but not enough quality in the squad. If we don’t strengthen our team we will be 5th or 6th this year.

12-08-2021, 09:43 PM
Shocking from Daz. But the defending from the following (questionable) corner is abysmal! Need to keep it tight and not lose silly goals after going a man down. Then we do the exact opposite.

So frustrating. We were well on top at the time of the sending off as well and the team looked right up for it.

The goal from the corner was the worst bit.

Mikey Stewart made the point in commentary about the importance of the next 5 minutes after the red card.

Weather a storm and then attempt to ****house your way to penalties. There was a glorious failure there for the taking which is still a failure - but a more respectable one than what we ended up with. Ore even, a glorious win. Fine margins and all that.

The fact that we didn't have the strength or resolve to go 30 seconds without conceding an atrocious goal from a defensive point of view after the red card speak volumes about our character imo.

Crazyhorse
12-08-2021, 09:48 PM

Anyone who comes out with this crap that it’s better to finish in the top 4 three years in a row than win the Scottish Cup is an idiot.

12-08-2021, 09:50 PM
Anyone who come out with this crap that it’s better to finish in the top 4 three years in a row than win the Scottish Cup is an idiot.

Will St Johnstone grow as a club more than us over the next few years.

ionahibby
12-08-2021, 09:58 PM

We're not turning on the club, it's called having targets ie setting the bar higher every year. If an athlete gets a bronze medal he/she willI aim for silver or gold next time. Hibs should be doing the same, aim higher every time. We don't, we continue to lose semi finals and finals and get thrown Europe early doors every time. If as fans we didn't put pressure on the club after these games we won't go anywhere and the club will continue to take our money quite happily knowing we won't moan.
We've had plenty opportunities in Europe the past years. How long do we keep doing this?

hhibs
12-08-2021, 09:58 PM

And, as my time passes my patience evaporates!

The Scottish Cup win seems a long time ago.

EdinburghHibern
12-08-2021, 09:59 PM
We're not turning on the club, it's called having targets ie setting the bar higher every year. If an athlete gets a bronze medal he/she willI aim for silver or gold next time. Hibs should be doing the same, aim higher every time. We don't, we continue to lose semi finals and finals and get thrown Europe early doors every time. If as fans we didn't put pressure on the club after these games we won't go anywhere and the club will continue to take our money quite happily knowing we won't moan.
We've had plenty opportunities in Europe the past years. How long do we keep doing this?

Yes,that's why there have been consistent calls for the defence to be re tooled.

Crazyhorse
12-08-2021, 10:00 PM

Given the relative size of the clubs who knows. What evidence do you have they won’t?
Not attacking you at all Brightside but over the past decade they have achieved more than we have.
Over the next decade I hope we will achieve more than them and maybe we will. That’s me being hopeful as a Hibs supporter and not based on experience unfortunately.

12-08-2021, 10:07 PM

Would we grow more as a club if we won cups than we will if we go into Europe and get rogered as soon as we face a semi competent team?

The idea that getting into Europe is better than winning cups was laughable when it was suggested and is even more laughable when you realise that this is most likely the extent of what a European run will look like for us whenever we get there.

To some extent we are STILL on a high from winning the cup 5 years ago. Getting into Europe is all we achieved last season and the ‘prize’ has given us a game against a part time team and a ****ging off an average one.

12-08-2021, 10:08 PM
The goal from the corner was the worst bit.

Mikey Stewart made the point in commentary about the importance of the next 5 minutes after the red card.

Weather a storm and then attempt to ****house your way to penalties. There was a glorious failure there for the taking which is still a failure - but a more respectable one than what we ended up with. Ore even, a glorious win. Fine margins and all that.

The fact that we didn't have the strength or resolve to go 30 seconds without conceding an atrocious goal from a defensive point of view after the red card speak volumes about our character imo.
Totally agree. Unfortunately this team just don’t have it in them. I said last season that this team will continually let us down and they continue to do so. When’s the next one … Tynecastle?

Magpie
12-08-2021, 11:26 PM
Unfortunately another big game where we have turned up and failed to win.

12-08-2021, 11:49 PM
Unfortunately another big game where we have failed to turn up.

We never ‘failed to turn up’ unless it was some other side Magennis scored for. We rode their storm, equalised and we’re well in the ascendancy (Boyle should have had us 2-1 up) until McGregor made a Noel Hunt of things. We fell to bits at that point.

Magpie
12-08-2021, 11:50 PM
We never ‘failed to turn up’ unless it was some other side Magennis scored for. We rode their storm, equalised and we’re well in the ascendancy (Boyle should have had us 2-1 up) until McGregor made a Noel Hunt of things. We fell to bits at that point.

Ultimately lost the game 4-1.

12-08-2021, 11:56 PM
Ultimately lost the game 4-1.

There’s a difference though. If you don’t turn up to something then your never in it. We turned up, we done our job for 3/4 of the game. I’d go as far as saying we had wrestled full control of it until one of our players has a full on brain fart. That’s unfortunately unavoidable for every other person.

Magpie
13-08-2021, 12:03 AM
There’s a difference though. If you don’t turn up to something then your never in it. We turned up, we done our job for 3/4 of the game. I’d go as far as saying we had wrestled full control of it until one of our players has a full on brain fart. That’s unfortunately unavoidable for every other person.

Fair enough, I’ll change my statement to another big game we have turned up and failed to win.

EdinburghHibern
13-08-2021, 08:20 AM
As an aside, I thought the all green kit last night looked excellent.

13-08-2021, 09:55 AM
Unfortunately another big game where we have turned up and failed to win.

There will be a lot more to come. As there will be more big games that we do win. That's football. Can't legislate for an absolute brain fart from one of our most experienced players.

13-08-2021, 10:22 AM
The problem is that the long deals given to Gray & McGregor to protect the culture / ethos of the club weren’t sensible from a playing perspective and how little we have gotten out of them as players since those extensions were signed has hampered the ability to recruit replacements

Even now I see why what was done was done and can’t make my mind up if it was wrong or right

I guess we will have similar discussions withStevenson & Hanlon in due course

I suspect if you asked Jack Ross and he felt able to answer honestly he would have very definite views

The culture of the club in the long term isn’t his responsibility, results on the park are.

I don’t think those two contracts are an issue.

SDG has now retired, and Daz contributed well last season. The issue is that we needed another CB and, right now, a RB too.

13-08-2021, 10:25 AM
They go into the Conference League play offs.

Both St J and Aberdeen have what look like good opportunities to get into the conference league proper.

I wish we were joining them.

13-08-2021, 10:28 AM

Agree were well in the game when red card happened then gave away two horror show goals. We were in the ascendency when Daz walked no way imo could that be argued as not performing though the reaction to the sending off was poor.

13-08-2021, 10:33 AM
Both St J and Aberdeen have what look like good opportunities to get into the conference league proper.

I wish we were joining them.

Aberdeen have a tough game against Quarabag. Usually always in the Europa league group stages. Another streetwise side that in all likelihood will beat Aberdeen.

13-08-2021, 10:44 AM
There will be a lot more to come. As there will be more big games that we do win. That's football. Can't legislate for an absolute brain fart from one of our most experienced players.

And you can’t really legislate for the rest of them absolutely folding thereafter. The defending for the goal right after the sending off was ridiculous. Sending off was obviously a big moment but we did not react whatsoever.

13-08-2021, 11:03 AM
I don’t think those two contracts are an issue.

SDG has now retired, and Daz contributed well last season. The issue is that we needed another CB and, right now, a RB too.

Where do you think the monies to pay these players is going?

13-08-2021, 11:39 AM
Post match interviews anywhere?

13-08-2021, 11:45 AM

Aye, cause there's loads of fans out there boasting to their rivals that their club 'grew more' than yours last year.

What on Earth are you on about? We want trophies.

St J got 2 last year. How much growth will take until we win 2 more cups? 10 years or more?

13-08-2021, 11:51 AM
Aye, cause there's loads of fans out there boasting to their rivals that their club 'grew more' than yours last year.

What on Earth are you on about? We want trophies.

St J got 2 last year. How much growth will take until we win 2 more cups? 10 years or more?

If Hibs won 2 cups in the next 10 years that would be fantastic.

Spudster
13-08-2021, 01:13 PM
Jack Ross
"With Paul’s injury and Darren’s sending off, the only recognised central defender we had left was young Jack Brydon and I felt it was unfair to throw him into that environment."

Surely that's the exact emergency situation we took him over there for?

13-08-2021, 01:43 PM
Jack Ross
"With Paul’s injury and Darren’s sending off, the only recognised central defender we had left was young Jack Brydon and I felt it was unfair to throw him into that environment."

If he wasn't ready to play in a game like that, then simply don't take him, Gogic can play as emergency cover.

13-08-2021, 01:48 PM
Would we grow more as a club if we won cups than we will if we go into Europe and get rogered as soon as we face a semi competent team?

The idea that getting into Europe is better than winning cups was laughable when it was suggested and is even more laughable when you realise that this is most likely the extent of what a European run will look like for us whenever we get there.

To some extent we are STILL on a high from winning the cup 5 years ago. Getting into Europe is all we achieved last season and the ‘prize’ has given us a game against a part time team and a ****ging off an average one.

That's not always going to happen though, Aberdeen and St Johnstone both now have a decent chance at making the groups. Both are definitely underdogs in the play-offs but either or both could easily do it.

the more this core group of players qualify for Europe, the more experience they have playing against sides with different styles of play, in different conditions, with stricter refs etc. than what they are used to in Scotland. This in turn will make us more likely to turn up and beat sides like Rijeka, Molde, Brondy who have better European records than us on paper, but when it comes to the actual game there is very little between the sides.

Getting into Europe will be even more important the next couple of seasons when the cup winning spot will be guaranteed group stage football. Whoever can regularly grab that position out of us, Aberdeen or Hearts will be in a great position to kick on.

13-08-2021, 01:59 PM
Jack Ross

That sounds like a kick in the nuts and a vote of no confidence in a young player to me.

13-08-2021, 02:00 PM
****sake hibs

The goal we conceded after Daz was sent off was absolutely bizarre. It was quite comical actually without making me laugh but if it was any other team it may have provoked a chuckle. I couldn’t believe it had found its way in.

13-08-2021, 02:04 PM
That sounds like a kick in the nuts and a vote of no confidence in a young player to me.

We went down to 10 men and lost a goal very quickly after, bringing on another centre half wouldn’t have made any difference in my view, therefore pointless to Chuck the boy into that.

13-08-2021, 02:22 PM
Jack Ross

Yeah it's a strange one. I'm not quite sure why he was on the bench if we had no intentions of putting him on.

13-08-2021, 02:28 PM
Yeah it's a strange one. I'm not quite sure why he was on the bench if we had no intentions of putting him on.

We didn’t have anyone else though, did we?

Nothing strange about it really, young guys to fill spaces on the bench with the amount of injuries we have. There could have been a combination of changes we needed to make that could have seen him come on but I’m sure the intention would have been that it was very unlikely we’d want to do it.

In a team down to 10 in an important game then I’m not surprised that it was seen as not the ideal circumstance.

13-08-2021, 02:34 PM
We didn’t have anyone else though, did we?

Nothing strange about it really, young guys to fill spaces on the bench with the amount of injuries we have. There could have been a combination of changes we needed to make that could have seen him come on but I’m sure the intention would have been that it was very unlikely we’d want to do it.

In a team down to 10 in an important game then I’m not surprised that it was seen as not the ideal circumstance.

Surely we had the option of just naming one less sub?

13-08-2021, 02:42 PM
Surely we had the option of just naming one less sub?

Which would take the option of using him away completely. Ross isn’t saying he was never going to play him, he’s saying in that scenario it wasn’t right for a young boy to go on. Sensible.

13-08-2021, 02:45 PM
i don't think it would have done the young lads confidence any good whilst those around him had turned into the keystone cops

13-08-2021, 02:48 PM
Which would take the option of using him away completely. Ross isn’t saying he was never going to play him, he’s saying in that scenario it wasn’t right for a young boy to go on. Sensible.

Fair enough, I just didn't personally see the point in playing Gogic in that role.

13-08-2021, 02:52 PM
Fair enough, I just didn't personally see the point in playing Gogic in that role.

He’s an experienced player who has played most of his career as a centre half. It was a more obvious move than giving a kid his debut, in the circumstances.

EdinburghHibern
13-08-2021, 03:36 PM
Jack Ross

Quite a contrast to the young Chelsea defender who played in the Super Cup Final the other night, winning a medal - his first game for Chelsea!

13-08-2021, 04:06 PM
Quite a contrast to the young Chelsea defender who played in the Super Cup Final the other night, winning a medal - his first game for Chelsea!

**** off. It’s St Johnstone we use as the bar not Chelsea and probably not Hearts either.

13-08-2021, 04:22 PM

Are you talking about the 22 year old who has played over 100 first team games for Ipswich, Huddersfield and Lorient? He also played most of Chelsea's pre season games and played from the start the other night.

You are really comparing that to a 17 year old who has played some games for Civil Service Strollers and Stenhousemuir coming on in a European game with his team down to 10 men?

Crazy.

13-08-2021, 04:22 PM
Are you talking about the 22 year old who has played over 100 first team games for Ipswich, Huddersfield and Lorient? He also played most of Chelsea's pre season games and played from the start the other night.

You are really comparing that to a 17 year old who has played some games for Civil Service Strollers and Stenhousemuir coming on in a European game with his team down to 10 men?

Crazy.

Post count.

13-08-2021, 04:41 PM
That's not always going to happen though, Aberdeen and St Johnstone both now have a decent chance at making the groups. Both are definitely underdogs in the play-offs but either or both could easily do it.

the more this core group of players qualify for Europe, the more experience they have playing against sides with different styles of play, in different conditions, with stricter refs etc. than what they are used to in Scotland. This in turn will make us more likely to turn up and beat sides like Rijeka, Molde, Brondy who have better European records than us on paper, but when it comes to the actual game there is very little between the sides.

Getting into Europe will be even more important the next couple of seasons when the cup winning spot will be guaranteed group stage football. Whoever can regularly grab that position out of us, Aberdeen or Hearts will be in a great position to kick on.

I don’t think the things that went wrong in this tie were anything to do with being inexperienced in Europe, it was just down to a lack of quality at both ends of the pitch. Too many chance were missed in the first leg. And an inability to defend crosses which we’ve shown domestically as well.

I thought we handled the different continental approach well, didn’t get too sucked in by them rolling around etc.

13-08-2021, 04:45 PM
I don’t think the things that went wrong in this tie were anything to do with being inexperienced in Europe, it was just down to a lack of quality at both ends of the pitch. Too many chance were missed in the first leg. And an inability to defend crosses which we’ve shown domestically as well.

Yeah that's fair,

But take the red card for instance - if our squad/Daz had more experience of playing against savvy European sides who like to dive and look to get the opposition carded then maybe McGregor would have thought twice about raising his arms at all and avoided getting the second yellow.

We missed some chances and conceded some soft goals, but if Daz doesn't get sent off then we go through imo.

13-08-2021, 04:58 PM
Yeah that's fair,

But take the red card for instance - if our squad/Daz had more experience of playing against savvy European sides who like to dive and look to get the opposition carded then maybe McGregor would have thought twice about raising his arms at all and avoided getting the second yellow.

We missed some chances and conceded some soft goals, but if Daz doesn't get sent off then we go through imo.

No sure about McGregor. It was just pure instinct from him to do what he did. It’s one of those things that happen and it’s easy to blame him in the circumstances. But I don’t think his mates helped him thereafter, was really disappointed with how we reacted. Never cleared their heads and got themselves organised to defend properly. Basically never gave ourselves a chance.

13-08-2021, 06:16 PM
McGregor has prob pulled him back without thinking , more and instinctively. I’m personally more annoyed at the performance when we went to 10men . We saw it when Malmö went to 10 men they managed a win , we went to 10men and we just had a mare , didn’t defend then it all went to pot

14-08-2021, 07:56 AM
He’s an experienced player who has played most of his career as a centre half. It was a more obvious move than giving a kid his debut, in the circumstances.

Tend to agree would make more sense still that level imo.

14-08-2021, 07:57 AM
McGregor has prob pulled him back without thinking , more and instinctively. I’m personally more annoyed at the performance when we went to 10men . We saw it when Malmö went to 10 men they managed a win , we went to 10men and we just had a mare , didn’t defend then it all went to pot

Totally agree it was the reaction to the red which was the worst part. Tam McManus indicated you would be embarrassed if an under 15 team lost that goal and he was spot on. Shocking goal at this level.

14-08-2021, 08:22 AM
Totally agree it was the reaction to the red which was the worst part. Tam McManus indicated you would be embarrassed if an under 15 team lost that goal and he was spot on. Shocking goal at this level.

It was a bad goal to lose but two things, if the red doesn’t happen then neither does the free kick, and the ref gives a corner when it’s clearly a bye kick. It should’ve been defender far better but I’d expect the players heads would’ve been scrambled at that time. They were also missing a defender for a corner, so plans put in place pre game went out the window.

There was nothing in the game that was worse for Hibs than the sending off.

14-08-2021, 09:16 AM
It was a bad goal to lose but two things, if the red doesn’t happen then neither does the free kick, and the ref gives a corner when it’s clearly a bye kick. It should’ve been defender far better but I’d expect the players heads would’ve been scrambled at that time. They were also missing a defender for a corner, so plans put in place pre game went out the window.

There was nothing in the game that was worse for Hibs than the sending off.

Not sure I agree they are all professional players and should have defended a very poorly hit corner at the front post. That should be a given even appreciating it wasn't a corner in the first place. Obviously the red was a key moment in the game especially at a time we were threatening to score a second however many teams with ten have been difficult to break down and see the game into extra time and possibly pens. Just thought our reaction was poor however appreciate your view also.

14-08-2021, 09:23 AM
Not sure I agree they are all professional players and should have defended a very poorly hit corner at the front post. That should be a given even appreciating it wasn't a corner in the first place. Obviously the red was a key moment in the game especially at a time we were threatening to score a second however many teams with ten have been difficult to break down and see the game into extra time and possibly pens. Just thought our reaction was poor however appreciate your view also.

100% should’ve been dealt with better, but every player would know their role from a corner, and when someone gets sent off, someone else will need to mark their man/space, and in all likelihood it becomes a mess - players in the box that wouldn’t normally be etc. From then on we were brutal though and dealt with it really poorly!

14-08-2021, 10:15 AM

A year ago the boy was in school, of course it’s unfair to throw him in for his competitive debut when you are playing away from home in Europe, playing a good team and down to 10 men. It would be mindless.

14-08-2021, 10:49 AM

Gogic has played CB before elsewhere I think, you’d hope he’d be competent at it.

Having said that, I always hoped Marvin Bartley could be a stand in centre back but he was pretty poor at it.

14-08-2021, 04:05 PM
A year ago the boy was in school, of course it’s unfair to throw him in for his competitive debut when you are playing away from home in Europe, playing a good team and down to 10 men. It would be mindless.

Would it?

It's almost the ideal time to do it. The game was pretty much gone, and given what went before, even if he had a bit of a nightmare nobody sensible is ever going to hold it against him.

Footballers have to be resilient, and that resilience will often come from making mistakes and learning from them.

I've always been a "chuck them in at the deep end and they either sink or swim" type. Brydon might have been at school a year ago but presumably he's been training with our first team every day since the team came back after the summer.

Porteous made his debut in a back 3 at Ibrox with Efe Ambrose and Lewis Stevenson, no? He swam, as many do.

If he's really not ready then I don't know why he's there. And I'd also suggest that we maybe should have seen fit to give him a few minutes at some point before now so we might have been more able to call upon him if need be.

EI255
14-08-2021, 10:15 PM
Rielka are bubble boys. F them.

Hope PAOK f them next round.

I fact, I hope PAOK really turn them over. Croat weirdos

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

EI255
14-08-2021, 10:17 PM

Sent from my LG-H870 using TapatalkNo friend of ours.

You play a hoorible cheating game. Good luck you cheating Croats

14-08-2021, 10:17 PM

Is it not a bit weird to give that much of a monkey's?!!?

EI255
14-08-2021, 10:33 PM
Is it not a bit weird to give that much of a monkey's?!!?Greek football is better than the red chess board crap. Fact

EI255
14-08-2021, 11:05 PM
Is it not a bit weird to give that much of a monkey's?!!?Do you HAVE to support every team we play?

Fk them. They don't give a monkeys about us and I cpidny care about the Reijka tosser who came on board here. Get him t f.

EI255
14-08-2021, 11:05 PM
Do you HAVE to support every team we play?

Fk them. They don't give a monkeys about us and I cpidny care about the Reijka tosser who came on board here. Get him t f.

Sent from my LG-H870 using TapatalkChess board losers

14-08-2021, 11:29 PM
I’m starting to enjoy EI255’s pished rants on a Saturday night

14-08-2021, 11:33 PM
I’m starting to enjoy EI255’s pished rants on a Saturday night

🤣 I'm just waiting for it to turn into a full on argument with himself.

14-08-2021, 11:40 PM
🤣 I'm just waiting for it to turn into a full on argument with himself.

Already started replying to his own posts 😂 superb viewing!

15-08-2021, 01:21 AM
The piano has been drinking .....

15-08-2021, 06:54 AM
That’s superb 🤣🤣

15-08-2021, 08:10 AM
Chess board losers

Why are you having a conversation with yourself, no matter how pished you get, you surely can't be that bad your chatting to yourself on here. :greengrin

15-08-2021, 08:16 AM
The piano has been drinking .....

Tom Waits Great Track

15-08-2021, 09:04 AM
No friend of ours.

You play a hoorible cheating game. Good luck you cheating Croats

Did you just reply to yourself? What a hero.