12-08-2021, 07:24 PM
36 years old? Surely he'd know when to take no changes and smash it up the park
Well done Daz.
So so poor from an experienced player but an absolute dive (again)
BegbieHSC
Wow
Games over
What happened there? Comical
Can I now officially agree with everyone who was saying we need to sign centre half cover....
It’s the hope that kills you. That will be that then.
12-08-2021, 07:25 PM
We have started the season so bad at the back. That should be avoided.
Ffs, horrible
That'll be that then...
Mikey_1875
Can’t believe that has found its way in
**** sake
Football suicide.
badabing67
that was never a booking
Were playing so well as well. Two disastrous minutes
tonyrougier123
Absolute riotous disaster that!
That’s it then. Only ourselves to blame.
What a horrendous goal to lose.
12-08-2021, 07:26 PM
That’s ****ing embarrassing that
We were in total control and we have just ****ed it.
I love the big guy but McGregor's really let us down big time tonight.
Poor from Daz, he was walking before the ref had the card out, very unprofessional.
F*** off Hibs
Didn't even look like a corner.
Daz isn't suited to us playing out from the back. Hibs by far the better side this half but in a couple of minutes in now looks all over. Crazy not having another centre Half on the books
TAHibby
Absolutely ****ing chucked it. So disappointing
12-08-2021, 07:27 PM
keystone cops at the back....amateur
Big Daz has rarely let us down but been an absolute liability tonight. That's that sadly
Been after a centre half for long enough, he never picked himself
Talk about a double whammy
Surely wasn't a corner?
Daz was the last person on the park you would expect to do something that stupid
JXM73
Thanks MacGregor, ****!
oldbiker
ffs just blown it
Daz isn't suited to us playing out from the back. Hibs by far the better side this half but in a couple of minutes in now looks all over. Crazy not having another centre half on the books
Blown it, better team. So annoying.
12-08-2021, 07:28 PM
Game chucked. Our defence is awful without Hanlon.
hibIBZ
Totally shot ourselves in the foot, game over from the looks of things. Daz looked totally exhausted in the minutes leading up to that,
that was never a booking
It was a yellow. Daz had hands round both hips. Boy made a meal of it but quite right to.
bringbackbenny
Wasn't even a corner lol
It's a terrrifc ball in but we are immune to putting defenders infront of attackers?
Totally crimal from Daz though - big mistake to lose the ball but pathetic to then compound that
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Got to be said but the club knew we needed another CB. Short up front still also As usual we aren't as prepared as we need to be for these games.
BegbieHSC
Absolutely appalling!
And the decision to risk Hanlon against Ross County looks terrible.
12-08-2021, 07:29 PM
Got to be said but the club knew we needed another CB. Short up front still also. As usual we aren't as prepared as we need to be for these games.
tonyrougier123
This is the result of a half built squad unequipped for European and domestic football.
eezyrider
WordS can't convey how bad that was. Disaster followed by disaster. I always hope for the best but always end up getting this.
EZ
All that hard work last season down the pan as we can't complete our recruitment in time for one of our biggest games of the season.
What's the point in finishing 3rd if we just end up going out of Europe like this year after year?
3-1
Night night.
We should have better than a 36 y/o CH as back up.
12-08-2021, 07:30 PM
Sadly a lot of our fears pre kick off been realised ...really poor we have so few options on that bench ...once again its gonna cost us a European run - not for the first time
NC1875
Another ball into the box. Another goal conceeded. People say we don’t need defenders. ****ing embarrassing
Aw **** off McGinn eh, you’re nowhere near good enough son
Oh well, game over
12-08-2021, 07:32 PM
McGinn needs a rest or at the very least competition
Stick McGregor into some other role at the club, sign a right back and at least one centre half.
To be fair that goal summed up perfectly our last 5 minutes
12-08-2021, 07:34 PM
Sadly a lot of our fears pre kick off been realised ...really poor we have so few options on that bench ...once again its gonna cost us a European run - not for the first time
We don't learn.
Will be in the same position in 12 months.
12-08-2021, 07:34 PM
McGinn looks a shadow of the player from last season and looks short of the quality needed for this level IMO. Not a priority, but think we need an upgrade at RB if we’re to really kick on. Hopefully that’s Cadden, with McGinn a good back up.
12-08-2021, 07:35 PM
McGinn has really been found out in this game.
McGregor should never have played in this game.
We'll be going for cheap options now as no European group stage money.
McGregor and McGinn nowhere ****ing near the level we need for games like tonight. Miles off it.
Another ball into the box. Another goal conceeded. People say we don’t need defenders. ****ing embarrassing
If I thought this through correctly only 2 of the 7 competitive goals conceded this season didn't come from crosses.
1 from Santa Coloma
1 from Rejika
12-08-2021, 07:36 PM
All hope of a win ruined by Daz and McGinn, times up for both. Horrendous
No competition at CH or RB, McGinn has been poor again and apart from a wee 10 mins when we got the goal, it's been another night of poor defending and players disappearing into their shells.
cameronw-hfc
12-08-2021, 07:37 PM
Game chucked. Our defence is awful without Hanlon.
Yet some people still want him out. Defence always falls apart when he's out. Think relegation season.
Steve88
Well done Daz, single handily responsible for knocking us out
Aw **** off McGinn eh, you’re nowhere near good enough son
He’s had a very bad night but there’s absolutely no need for that.
It's Goodnight Croatia.
12-08-2021, 07:38 PM
Damage was done last week - we should have won by at least 2 goals.
I think we were always going to be up against it after only drawing at home.
hibIBZ
All four Rijeka goals in this tie from crosses, simply not good enough,
Blown it, better team. So annoying.
I don't think we have been the better team.
We got ourselves into a position to be the better team, but we were only dominant for 5-10 minutes.
Too many of our most important players have failed to turn up, some have let us down badly.
This was ANOTHER huge opportunity for the club that they have simply failed to take.
At some point you have to just say - this isn't good enough.
Don’t understand what McGinn does a to start every week
B to be a vice captain
Jack Ross and big games again eh...
12-08-2021, 07:39 PM
We’ve been good overall but you can’t really legislate for players doing what mcgregor did tonight. I’d never have expected him to do this but here we are.
All hope of a win ruined by Daz and McGinn, times up for both. HorrendousMcgregor was the architect of our downfall
In command in the game and he thinks he's Paul Hanlon
I can forgive him losing the ball but you simply cannot forgive him then giving the ref no option to send him off
Even if they went on to score there (unlikely) then it's still 11-11
Scandelous, amateur play from McGregor
B to be a vice captain
We don’t have any alternative.
All four Rijeka goals in this tie from crosses, simply not good enough,
Add that to the 2 Motherwell goals as well.
12-08-2021, 07:40 PM
Na you’re right, it should really be a lot harsher
unfortunately Daz cost us this game
swin82
Couple of minutes of madness costing us but we haven’t disgraced ourselves over the 2 legs. Doidge is a massive miss and we can’t go through another season with just Hanlon and Porto as our main centre backs!we need someone who can be seen as a starter and not just sitting on the bench! Nothing against mcginn but said it last season I expect hibs to have a better right back than Paul mcginn
mcfly
Poor management and poor recruitment.
We were far to light player wise going into Europe. Feels like a big wasted opportunity.
Very disappointing but McGregor and McGinn 👎
McGinn was decent last season but has been found out as a weak link.
Get him replaced. Get a couple centre half’s in and sign another striker ffs
12-08-2021, 07:41 PM
We need to go out and spend money on a quality centre back. Until we do we will continue to fall short in these big games.
Whilst Daz was daft getting sent off he did have a decent first half. McGinn has been poor tonight continuing his poor start this season. But real focus on tonight giveaway should be on the recruitment team. Why have we not signed a striker and centre half? This game was winnable and it does feel we’ve thrown it away again at a crucial time.
Cost us a goal in Andorra and one at Motherwell did he not? He's not good enough
What a big disappointment this has turned out to be. I think the heat's been too much for us.
Make some subs and start going long.
B to be a vice captain
Absolutely horrendous tonight, a very poor start to the season from him. We need a lot better in there imo
We got ourselves into a position to be the better team, but we were only dominant for 5-10 minutes.
Too many of our most important players have failed to turn up, some have let us down badly.
This was ANOTHER huge opportunity for the club that they have simply failed to take.
But you’ll get told to ‘get over it’ and try supporting the team.
Jack Ross and big games again eh...
Aye, I saw him whisper in Daz's ear to **** up a back pass then get a red card
Welcome back everyone. I missed this
Up until the sending off I think we’d been the better team over both legs.
berwickhibee
12-08-2021, 07:42 PM
Got to be said but the club knew we needed another CB. Short up front still also. As usual we aren't as prepared as we need to be for these games.
The story of the last 40 years.
Going into a huge European campaign lacking players
In pivotal positions is criminal.
Cost us a goal in Andorra and one at Motherwell did he not? He's not good enoughLol, your no blaming mcginn for the goal just coz the guy crossed the ball are you?
Nisbet and Gogic was the ones to blame
Tonight puts to bed the myth that McGregor was capable of being our immediate back up at the back. Some people would have had you believe he should start every week. Criminal moment from him.
McGinn as well is as limited as it comes. Standing waiting on the ball for the third and slow to press the crosser for the first.
It’s a shame because for 5 minutes after we scored we looked ready to hurt them.
percy veer
shat the bed again, work hard all season to finish third then this . no doubt people will say we will learn from this ... but have we ever learned anything.
Suburban Hibby
Typically Hibs beat Hibs- wouldn’t mind quite so much if they were decent- but no, give them a wee hand, like most important ‘big’ games
Aye, I saw him whisper in Daz's ear to **** up a back pass then get a red card
Ignore him.
bringbackbenny
2 mins of madness has done us.
Newall had a very decent game.
Make some subs and start going long.
Bring on Dabrowski and put Macey upfront.
As I said at half time, threadbare nature of the squad cost us. Daz is a legend but should be nowhere near the first team. At least it puts the argument that he should be picked ahead of Hanlon to bed. As many have said, to finish 3rd this season we need another centre half and a striker.
Only got ourselves to blame.
We should have went there with a lead. And then the defence imploded tonight. Still, don’t suppose we need a centre half or a striker.
I didn’t think we’d win the tie before we kicked a ball. We shouldn’t have based on what I watched though.
Weegreenman
12-08-2021, 07:43 PM
Boy band. Porto & McGinn not good enough at this level.
If we want to achieve cup success and at least try and finish best of the rest this season, we need better quality with experience.
I don’t trust either.
McGinn was decent last season but has been found out as a weak link.
Get him replaced. Get a couple centre half’s in and sign another striker ffs
McGinn is what we've always thought - a 7/10 player in the SPL. He doesn't have enough at this level though, and 36 year old Daz as one of only 3 CBs was always a massive gamble, as is having only 2 trusted strikers in the squad.
We'll do fine in the league this year but we still feel miles away from getting anywhere in Europe.
What a clown you really are.
Takes one to know one bud 👍🏼
hhibs
Maybe not but he has certainly not been playing well for a good while now,we need more in our defence even if only to provide competion.
As for Daz,jesus wept !
But you’ll get told to ‘get over it’ and try supporting the team.
That’s what being a supporter is, no? Enjoying the good and getting over the bad.
12-08-2021, 07:44 PM
Lol, your no blaming mcginn for the goal just coz the guy crossed the ball are you?
4 out of 6 goals conceded before tonight come from cross balls from McGinns side of the park
If we want to achieve cup success and at least try and finish best of the rest this season, we need better quality with experience.
I don’t trust either.
Don't think McGinn would fit it well in a boy band to be honest
I don’t trust either.
**** all to do with any sort of ***** Neil Lennon “boy band” patter. Everything to do with a few of our squad simply not being good enough.
Nice finish for the goal from Magennis, but his set pieces have been atrocious.
Why doesn't Newell take them?
His in swinging left footers are great from our right.
Nearly 4-1.
Welcome back everyone. I missed thisExactky this... Right onto the big game chat no doubt
Conveniently forgetting its the 'big commanding' centre half thrown the game for us
Said last week how they missed chances would kill us and nobody listened. As always we’ve self destructed and beat ourselves, because Rijeka are pish and up until the red card and gift of a second they were worse than Hibs.
Not McGregors fault he was bombed into the starting 11 when we’ve been after a centre half for months, or his fault the rest of the defence are also bang average.
If anything comes of this maybe RG will realise how far off it we are compared to where he is always telling us he he wants to be, and realise he needs to open his own wallet and perform open surgery to get us there. The nucleus is there but needs some major TLC at the back, we can be as exciting and lethal going forward against crap like Ross County but when your goalie and defence are Motherwell or Dundee standard you’ll always leak stupid goals.
Learning curve and we WILL be better next year
Mcginn turned inside out....again...
The sands of time run out for us all eventually and tonight they did for Darren
Big big ask for someone who hasn’t played much football at all in last season and a bit to go in and compete at that level in that heat
Criminal of the club to have so little cover at CF & CH for so long
2 injuries/suspensions from trouble and so it has proved
Sad, but not surprising, that the usual dregs of misery are out in force,
2 subs made!!! Get Gullan on ffs
confused
Now I remember why I stopped reading this
bringbackbenny
12-08-2021, 07:45 PM
I'm surprised some of the posters with 200 comments on the thread have found the time to watch the match :)
12-08-2021, 07:45 PM
Nisbet has been absolutely garbage.
12-08-2021, 07:46 PM
Said last week how they missed chances would kill us and nobody listened. As always we’ve self destructed and beat ourselves, because Rijeka are pish and up until the red card and gift of a second they were worse than Hibs.
Not McGregors fault he was bombed into the starting 11 when we’ve been after a centre half for months, or his fault the rest of the defence are also bang average.
If anything comes of this maybe RG will realise how far off it we are compared to where he is always telling us he he wants to be, and realise he needs to open his own wallet and perform open surgery to get us there. The nucleus is there but needs some major TLC at the back, we can be as exciting and lethal going forward against crap like Ross County but when your goalie and defence are Motherwell or Dundee standard you’ll always leak stupid goals.
Learning curve and we WILL be better next year
Agree with most of that but I reckon tonight’s absolutely Daz’s fault. We were well on top and an absolute moment of madness from him has ****ed it for us.
We need a CB in and we need a better RB in as well
Exactky this... Right onto the big game chat no doubt
Conveniently forgetting its the 'big commanding' centre half thrown the game for us
Don't forget he's a LEADER. Something we miss for big games. LEADER. who will LEAD us.
Fact is, you need quality players like Hanlon. You miss them, and while Mcgregor was a fine player, he isn't so much now, and it costs you when a poorer player has to play.
Nothing to do with Ross really. Hes a great manager. We lost a 50/50 tie because of a red card. We go again.
Exactky this... Right onto the big game chat no doubt
Is a big game though, isn’t it?
We’ve let ourselves down in a tie that was very winnable, based on the two games.
Ah well. Hibernians of Malta are on course for the next round. So there’s that.
expresso
12-08-2021, 07:47 PM
Worst thing for me is they are quite ordinary
Shame. Think Ron will stick with the plan of gradual growth and will look at any weaknesses revealed and go again for next season. Revealed a bit lack of depth as well so hopefully we benefit in the window.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
12-08-2021, 07:48 PM
Maybe not but he has certainly not been playing well for a good while now,we need more in our defence even if only to provide competion.
As for Daz,jesus wept !
Don’t disagree that he’s not hit the levels he’s been at, and unfortunate that his competition has been injured twice since he came in.
Good, honest pro, who overall has been a very good signing - and deserves far better than being told to **** off.
4 out of 6 goals conceded before tonight come from cross balls from McGinns side of the parkLol so winger gets cross - full backs fault for the goal
Not buying it
There 1st tonight if Daz woke up he wouldve cleared easily
Motherwells goal Gogic ran away from the forward for some mad reason
Mcginn might not be amazing but blaming him for every goal that happens start from the right is a bit mental
Block
Europe's a bonus that's went pear shaped. Let's hope this debacle speeds up the recruitment of at least a quality Center Back.
dunfyhibby
Getting quite toxic on here these days.
Better off logging into flash scores.
Win a game and we're f***in awesome, lose a game and suddenly every one is ***** again and this and f***in that!
Some complete fannies on this site!
Sad, but not surprising, that the usual dregs of misery are out in force,
I think that’s unfair, people are understandably going to be raging we lost a tie that we were well on top of until a stupid sending off and just no being quite as clinical up top as we should have been.
6 goals conceded this season and all from crossed balls. That should tell the management team something?
Absolutely handed this game to them, fully confident we were winning this had we kept 11 men on the park. Just a classic Hibs capitulation. Gutted.
Yep. We’ve ****ed it for ourselves over the two legs. Too many individual mistakes.
12-08-2021, 07:49 PM
Only got ourselves to blame.
We should have went there with a lead. And then the defence imploded tonight. Still, don’t suppose we need a centre half or a striker.
I didn’t think we’d win the tie before we kicked a ball. We shouldn’t have based on what I watched though.
I think we’re a good team, but this tie shows all of our deficiencies. Not clinical or ruthless enough and always capable of giving away cheap goals.
Over the course of a season we’re consistent, and I expect us to be challenging for 3rd again, but in cup competitions those failings stop us from taking the next step and being a special team rather than just a good one IMO.
Green Reaper
Agree and it’s a pity we were not more clinical in the first leg
Typical. Late injuries in the two areas we haven’t recruited in.
4-1.
mcfly
Don't forget he's a LEADER. Something we miss for big games. LEADER. who will LEAD us.
Fact is, you need quality players like Hanlon. You miss them, and while Mcgregor was a fine player, he isn't so much now, and it costs you when a poorer player has to play.
Nothing to do with Ross really. Hes a great manager. We lost a 50/50 tie because of a red card. We go again.
No we lost a winnable tie due to being ill prepared regarding g our defence which we all know is not good enough, defensively we are very poor and we’ve been found out tonight.
We lost plenty big games when hanlon played last year or have you forgotten the games at hampden?
What a tidy goal. Absolutely pumped.
Correct. So annoying.
4-1.
Mcginn turned inside out....again...
Hes gash eh. Need to sign a replacement
Haha yet again, you’re defending soft as ****ing *****.
Sigh.
Stoker
Don't be so disapointed lads. We are regular in euro competitions for last 10 or so years with more or less succes. We've already beaten clubs with reacher and not so reach histories and tradition.No shame. Everyone plays football these days.
But i must point out - that man McGregor, he's a lumberjack.
As for our last 2 goals, ah potatos we call that style scoring.
Greets from North Adriatic.
Pitiful.
That is honestly a scandalous goal to lose.
That’s what being a supporter is, no? Enjoying the good and getting over the bad.
It’s a legitimate question: why do we so rarely deliver a great performance when it really matters?
We are a decent level Scottish Premiership side but we aspire to be more than that… don’t we?
Green Reaper
Ffs
That defending is embarrassing.
12-08-2021, 07:50 PM
4-1 now embarrassing
shat the bed again, work hard all season to finish third then this . no doubt people will say we will learn from this ... but have we ever learned anything.
You only learn if you're a regular in Europe and the players stay at the club, otherwise that's hot air.
What irks is that Rijeka are not a good side. They are bang average and over the 2 legs Hibs should have beaten them, but inexperience and red mist from Daz and we're out. Our defence need fixed.
This team is a joke and will achieve nothing
4-1
Doig a joke (came from the left)
[emoji848]
hfcok
Aye don’t forget how hot it is as well as the poor play from some players.
5-2 Rijeka on aggregate - full time.
We’ve learned a harsh lesson this evening.
We must learn from it, those involved tonight who are still here next time and from a recruitment point of view. If we aspire to reach the group stages we must recruit appropriately.
We were right in the tie until the red card. It was just one of those moments that changes everything. Daz will be furious with himself; he cost us the tie. Well, it was good to experience some European football again.
Some of the comments on here are wide of the mark. Hibs were playing well and looked like we’d go on and win the game but two of senior players have a nightmare. On the positives JDH looks a real find. But we can’t hide the fact we got beat 4-1 by a bang average team
NC1875
Another important game. Another defeat. When does it become a trend.
Just not good enough again
What an embarrassment.
Embarrassing that.
12-08-2021, 07:51 PM
Scandalous at the back again, ten men or no. Macey none too clever either
**** this I’m going to bed
BegbieHSC
Our own worst enemies tbh. Rijeka are ordinary. Embarrassing.
Thought we'd lose but 4-1 is a sore one
No we lost a winnable tie due to being ill prepared regarding g our defence which we all know is not good enough, defensively we are very poor and we’ve been found out tonight.
Well, it was our best defensive record in 20 years last season so? Clearly not poor.
Mental this place still thinks 4 defenders are the only thing to blame for losing goals.
well done St Johnstone getting a 2nd against a side with a good pedigree
Another important game. Another defeat. When does it become a trend.
Just not good enough againRoss out
Big game
You love it.
Absolutely handed this game to them, fully confident we were winning this had we kept 11 men on the park. Just a classic Hibs capitulation. Gutted.
4-1 humping from this side is an embarrassment.
We must learn from it, those involved tonight who are still here next time and from a recruitment point of view. If we aspire to reach the group stages we must recruit appropriately.
Aye a harsh lesson that your defence at any kind of decent level is nowhere near it
tonyrougier123
12-08-2021, 07:52 PM
Walked it in the net.absolute mess of a night,time for the cheque book to open.and if I hear any excuses about big tellys!!🤬
Europe's a bonus that's went pear shaped. Let's hope this debacle speeds up the recruitment of at least a quality Center Back.
Need a new right back after what I’ve seen of McGinn this season already - skinned in every game we’ve played. Need much better there too.
One crazy moment. That's all. Forget about what happened after. Still cannot believe Daz even tried the pass back never mind committing the foul.
Europe is a cracking opportunity to bring much needed revenue into the club and should be treated with respect rather than as a bonus.
We're out because of our own actions, inactions and wastefulness.
For those criticising the moaners and the "toxic" atmosphere - football is an emotional game, positive and negative.
Tonight we shot ourselves firmly in the foot when we were in a position to get a very impressive result.
If you don't expect a bit of negativity, criticism and frustration after that then I don't know what exactly you do expect.
You love it.
Haha, that the best you’ve got pal? Incredibly sad
This Croatian team is mediocre and has shown that we are not good enough for this level of football.
Isn't it mad how of defending has gotten softer with soft as ***** Hanlon out the team?
Weird.
Weegreenman
**** all to do with any sort of ***** Neil Lennon “boy band” patter. Everything to do with a few of our squad simply not being good enough.
Hate to say it but Lenny was right. Boy band mentality and it still exists. Our back four are woeful in possession. I include our inept captain in that. There’ll be a few clubs strikers in Scotland relishing playing against this lot.
We need a new captain CH with plenty experience to lead our club. Hanlon and Co have been at the heart of too many humiliations. Not good enough.
That was really pathetic tonight.
Some of the defending was farcical.
NC1875
Ross out
Big game
I’m talking more about the players. When are they actually going to turn up in a “big” game and repay the fans.
Shat the bed again
Lol, your no blaming mcginn for the goal just coz the guy crossed the ball are you?
How many goals we conceaded this season that have came from McGinns side, quite a few already
villahibs
Defence is awful when we play decent sides. McGinn and Doig are both poor. They can’t defend. We literally never stop crosses coming into our box.
12-08-2021, 07:53 PM
A moment of stupidity by big Daz cost us.
HibbyDave
On a brighter note… I’m still sober and saved an absolute fortune by not being in Croatia.
We are crying out for a CB and a quality midfield player.
That was really pathetic tonight.
Some of the defending was farcical.
Yes, 4-1 is a scudding; we fell apart after the red card.
hhibs
Win a game and we're f***in awesome, lose a game and suddenly every one is ***** again and this and f***in that!
Some complete fannies on this site!
That really is just daft from you tonight ,it is entirely justifiable to highlight the good and in this case the bad,some would say the very bad.
A moment of stupidity by big Daz cost us.
and terrible wastefulness last week
As I feared, it's Molde, Dnipro etc all over again. Decent home result followed by a doing away from home.
Strolled through and passes it past Macey, brutal result and performance, poor by Daz and amateur defending by the rest, after a couple of good attacking performances we land back to earth with a huge bump.
mcfly
12-08-2021, 07:54 PM
Well, it was our best defensive record in 20 years last season so? Clearly not poor.
Mental this place still thinks 4 defenders are the only thing to blame for losing goals.
Wow you don’t think the defence is poor?
You must be on the wind up 🤣🤣
Forever_Green93
Our defence is stinking! The amount of crappy goals we have gave away recently is annoying af.
This Croatian team is mediocre and has shown that we are not good enough for this level of football.
We were the only team looking to good ahead at 1-1. We were dictating the play, mcgregor was foolish
Lack of squad depth and penny pinching for our run in Europe is what stopped it.
I’m not even raging we got beat, could take a pumping off a team with a clear European pedigree. But they were by and large crap and we gifted it them, with missed chances last week and being crap and soft at the back
We have some really good players but what stops them being great players is that when the pressure is on they don’t deliver often enough
Boyle and Nisbet being prime examples
I don’t blame them for this but there is a reason a lot of our players are at Hibs and their inability to deal with that pressure more than their ability is it
Hopefully people will realise what Hanlon brings now
We never learn
oldbiker
pretty disappointed tonight, we blew it with a soft and daft sending off and then crumbled. hope there is not going to be a hangover now
12-08-2021, 07:55 PM
We were the only team looking to good ahead at 1-1. We were dictating the play, mcgregor was foolish
Lack of squad depth and penny pinching for our run in Europe is what stopped it.Penny pinching?
Goodness me
It's annoying that their loudmouth manager told us this and we proved him right :rolleyes:
Typical. Late injuries in the two areas we haven’t recruited in.
Thing is we have needed more cover in those areas since the start of last season.
bringbackbenny
You love it.
He's relishing it. And no doubt Dr Football you quoted has all the answers and he'll incessantly and repeatedly let us all know what the very obvious answers are to tonight's defeat.
12-08-2021, 07:56 PM
I’m not even raging we got beat, could take a pumping off a team with a clear European pedigree. But they were by and large crap and we gifted it them, with missed chances last week and being crap and soft at the backCompared to us they have a far superior recent European pedigree
How long have we needed reinforcements at the back? Must be a few transfer windows now. Incredible how poor we can be at the back sometimes.
Why do you always use you or your when talking about Hibs? Every time.
NC1875
Isn't it mad how of defending has gotten softer with soft as ***** Hanlon out the team?
Weird.
The defence has been terrible this season with Hanlon in it too.
IMO we need 2 centre half’s after that. Daz is finished
Hate to say it but Lenny was right. Boy band mentality and it still exists. Our back four are woeful in possession. I include our inept captain in that. There’ll be a few clubs strikers in Scotland relishing playing against this lot.
We need a new captain CH with plenty experience to lead our club. Hanlon and Co have been at the heart of too many humiliations. Not good enough.
Tonight’s result has nothing to do with “boy band mentality”. We were on top and looking good after the equaliser before McGregor chucks it and gets sent off. You include Hanlon in your post and he’s sat at home ffs 😂
We absolutely need better players in 3 positions, I’m sure Ross will be frustrated that we haven’t got them in yet.
Annoying. Up until a moment of absolute madness by our most experienced player, I feel we were the better team over the two legs. We were the more threatening home team and away team, in the respective legs, to that point.
Gutted. Huge opportunity blown.
The bottom line is we need a decent striker. We should have had this tie done and dusted at ER. Nisbet doesn't work hard enough for me.
Well, it's disappointing but we'll have learnt some good lessons I think.
We definitely tried to attack too much from the off and made some poor choices, such as the botched free kick that cost McGregor his first yellow.
We had them on the ropes in the first leg and also when we scored tonight.
I don't think they're a bad side but not miles better than us. That's the standard of these qualifiers and with some shrewd signings and a bigger and better squad, we'll be well placed to do better next year.
Some individuals with a lot to prove. Macey made a good save but looked (one of many) culpable on the corner.
Mcginn has started the season poorly and tonight was a horror show. I appreciate that cadden was probably to be his main competition this season but I feel we need more options at RB.
McGregor, a very silly mistake that put us in a best impossible position.
Conceding so quickly after going down to 10 really killer us, if we could have held it at 1-1 for 5-10 who knows?
Oh and as for a hostile atmosphere as mentioned by the Croatian poster? 😂 Seen radger atmosphere at the links!
The tie really pivoted on dazs mistake and it going 2-1 straight away. Up until then there was little in it.
Disappointed, but we will bounce back. Every game is huge and a good cup run will help us get over it, bring in Killie.
Block
There's no doubt about it that the sending off changed that game. We had significantly stepped up and were beginning to control the game until Big Daz had a rush of blood to the head. Had a few passengers though tonight. Thought Nisbet, Boyler and McGinn were as poor as I've seen them. While JDH, Magennis and Murphy were impressive imo.
Hopefully people will realise what Hanlon brings now
That's the first positive I've taken from the evening.
Never has it been more obvious.
MJ hibs
If we can get over a million for nisbet or doig go for it and get a CB and a CDM
Pathetic from start to finish, just another, in a long line of, performances when we show little desire and bottle it when it matters most.
Watch the transfers out start to move quickly now. Whole new back 4 and keeper needed for me, what we've got are far from good enough.
12-08-2021, 07:57 PM
They did to us what we should have done to them at ER. How on earth are Hibs the only team to have a man sent off over these two ties , unbelievable.:confused:
Embarrassing to be the first Scottish club out of Europe this season. Really makes a mockery of finishing third last year, what’s the point?:rolleyes:
The bottom line is we need a decent striker. We should have had this tie done and dusted at ER. Nisbet doesn't work hard enough for me.
I'm more worried about the defence.
This might have opened Ron Gordon's eyes on how short we are.
We will get punished in the league as well for being this soft in defence. Far too easy to score against us.
Porteous was just as bad as McGinn, who were both as bad as McGregor minus the red.
So easy to get past Porteous, he rampages forward square on. He did that for the last goal there.
Porteous and McGregor as a pair are ragged at best. Both aggressive and don't hold a good defensive line.
McGinn isn't at this level unfortunately but didn't get helped by Boyle in the 2nd half.
That's the first positive I've taken from the evening.
Never has it been more obvious.Yup, 100%
We never learn
Yup. We'll get into Europe again and be in the same position next year. We celebrate 3rd/4th but often feels like the prize (Europe) is an after thought. I'm not sure we truly believe we will go through. We certainly don't seem to plan for it judging by the bench tonight.
Unless we get to a cup final this was our biggest game of 2021/22. And the squad wasn't ready.
bringbackbenny
We definitely tried to attack too much from the off and made some poor choices, such as the botched free kick that cost McGregor his first yellow.
I don't think they're a bad side but not miles better than us. That's the standard of these qualifiers and with some shrewd signings and a bigger and better squad, we'll be well placed to do better next year.
Some individuals with a lot to prove. Macey made a good save but looked (one of many) culpable on the corner.
Mcginn has started the season poorly and tonight was a horror show. I appreciate that cadden was probably to be his main competition this season but I feel we need more options at RB.
Conceding so quickly after going down to 10 really killer us, if we could have held it at 1-1 for 5-10 who knows?
Oh and as for a hostile atmosphere as mentioned by the Croatian poster? 😂 Seen radger atmosphere at the links!
The tie really pivoted on dazs mistake and it going 2-1 straight away. Up until then there was little in it.
Disappointed, but we will bounce back. Every game is huge and a good cup run will help us get over it, bring in Killie.
Great post
12-08-2021, 07:58 PM
Oh and as for a hostile atmosphere as mentioned by the Croatian poster? [emoji23] Seen radger atmosphere at the links!
Disappointed, but we will bounce back. Every game is huge and a good cup run will help us get over it, bring in Killie.Good summary for me
12-08-2021, 07:58 PM
Compared to us they have a far superior recent European pedigree
They weren’t great let’s be honest. Most teams become hard to beat with 10 men yet we absolutely capitulate. The last 3 goals were atrocious
loanheadhibby
12-08-2021, 07:59 PM
I’m not even raging we got beat, could take a pumping off a team with a clear European pedigree. But they were by and large crap and we gifted it them, with missed chances last week and being crap and soft at the back
Sean, they’ve scored 5 goals against us in 2 games. You can’t seriously believe they are crap? They’ve spanked us tonight, no mistake.
Why do you always use you or your when talking about Hibs? Every time.
It’s just the way I speak, like saying “yer defence are *****”
Stoker
Who said Rijeka is Croatian team? :greengrin
Zambernardi1875
Thought we were the better team over the 2 legs funny enough. Still need a proper goal scorer and defender. Not fussed about going out we still aren’t savvy enough and never seem to learn from the defeats.
allmodcons
There are times I am embarrassed to be a Hibee.
Reading some of the **** posted on here by so-called fans makes tonight one of those times.
Zero balance or analysis just greeting faced ****wits who mostly need to grow up.
A game changing moment of madness by Daz doesn't make the whole team crap.
Personally, I thought McGinn was really poor tonight but, again, one poor game doesn't make him a bad player.
Yes, 4-1 is a scudding; we fell apart after the red card.
We lack character in a situation like that. You see other teams lose a man, dig in and be hard to beat. We just implode. Remember being up at Aberdeen last game before Covid .cruising, Whittaker sent off, 3-1 down 10 minutes later.
sorrow sorrow
That team tonight is basically the same as last season’s and that is not progress.
We really needed to make 2/3 real quality signings to push on this season,a missed opportunity to really push on this season
12-08-2021, 08:00 PM
Penny pinching?
Goodness me
Yes
Absolute no depth
Penny pinching
God forbid what we would do when Nisbet and Boyle got injured
swin82
12-08-2021, 08:00 PM
Spot on☝🏻☝🏻 They have been in the Europa group stages constantly last few years! Most hibs fans didn’t expect us to go through tonight and we didn’t but over the piece, we played well in spells and if it wasn’t for awful mistakes/defending its cost us in a game that we were totally on top!
Wakeyhibee
12-08-2021, 08:01 PM
Poor showing tonight against a team that are no great shakes but have a better mentality towards the modern game than Scottish football in general.
I'll probably be dead but when Scottish football wakes up to the fact that they teach poor technique designed for the SPFL and not the general footballing world, the better
Sean, they’ve scored 5 goals against us in 2 games. You can’t seriously believe they are crap? They’ve spanked us tonight, no mistake.
How many did we gift them? They are not a good European side. We blew that tie.
franck sauzee
Have to say I'm disappointed at 2-1 we haven't made any changes. Not expecting anything in terms of result at that point but Boyle, Murphy, Nisbet, Newell all looking tired. Get any of Gullan, Mackay, Campbell or Wright on and at least give us a chance to counter
Alan62
We've lost terrible goals this season. The defence is weak and the keeper is rotten. Other than that, things are looking up. :wink:
Seriously, though, we absolutely caved tonight. The heat would have something to do with it but Daz let his mates down tonight with an absolutely dreadful mistake at a time in the game when we looked like a threat.
I really don't rate Macey either.
Not the first time they've pumped a Scottish side. Can stamp our feet all we want and say we were the better team but we were taught a lesson by a streetwise European club. We were up against it from the off.
EVENTUALLY
Paul McGinn has had a difficult start to the season by his own very good standards. A bad mistake in Andorra led to
a goal against and he didn't start the Motherwell game very well, but Hibs won both games. He has been up against a very difficult opponent tonight and has found it tough. The Rijeka winger is a tricky player.
Moments prior to Daz screwing up he was struggling and bent over hand on his knees toiling for breath. He is generally a no nonsense type of CH and ought to have just launched the ball up the park instead of exposing his own weak short passing ability. It was a major game changer and I don't think Hibs would have survived the 90 mins even if they hadn't conceded at the corner.
Would have liked to have progressed in Europe but so far as I'm concerned learn the lessons and bounce back in the league and cup games at home.
Reading some of the **** posted on here by so-called fans makes tonight one of those times.
Zero balance or analysis just greeting faced ****wits who mostly need to grow up.
Personally, I thought McGinn was really poor tonight but, again, one poor game doesn't make him a bad player.There's little middle ground now
Its clear as day that the red card and losing goal soon after killed us
We were well ontop until Daz threw it away
Disappointing performances from Boyle and nisbet in particular but Murphy JDH and Magennis (again) were impressive
12-08-2021, 08:02 PM
I cant believe folk are telling me how bad we are, yet in the next breath they are saying how we were the better team?
We lost that tonight because we went down to 10 men, simple as that.
12-08-2021, 08:02 PM
Seems to me that Rijeka were the better team over the two legs and a 5-2 aggregate score can hardly be argued with. They looked technically better, athletically, better, and tactically better to me, their passing game alone made us look poor. OK, they are not a great team, but our performance was lacking in urgency and any real sense of purpose - most of our players had a poor night. Too many bad decisions, poor crosses into the box and the less said about our "defence" (sic) the better ... yet another missed opportunity, bad night for the club.
12-08-2021, 08:03 PM
Yes
Absolute no depth
Penny pinching
God forbid what we would do when Nisbet and Boyle got injured
We lack depth because we had about six players out. Some very important ones too.
12-08-2021, 08:03 PM
Compared to us they have a far superior recent European pedigree
Apart from minnows from Andorra, Luxembourg etc I'm afraid nowadays that's the case of any team we'll play in Europe. Apart from Asteras we haven't beaten anything other than minnows in Europe for a very long time.
12-08-2021, 08:04 PM
Apart from minnows from Andorra, Luxembourg etc I'm afraid nowadays that's the case of any team we'll play in Europe. Apart from Asteras we haven't beaten anything other than minnows in Europe for a very long time.So they do have a decent European pedigree then?
USAHibee
12-08-2021, 08:04 PM
Personally, I thought McGinn was really poor tonight but, again, one poor game doesn't make him a bad player.
So many Hearts fans in here, just crazy!!!
DIXIHIBS
12-08-2021, 08:05 PM
Disappointing tonight but hopefully we learn. We are just not at euro level...yet. If we had scored when we were on top....if we didnt make that mistake etc. The fact is we didnt score when on top in the first game...we do make the mistakes. Thats the difference. People are pointing out there is not much difference between the teams... 5-2 says otherwise. Lets just beat killie on sunday and move on.