Hlaf time
😂😂😂
Seems like the streams away for the 2nd
29-07-2021, 06:23 PM
Looking forward to the second half
29-07-2021, 06:24 PM
That was more enjoyable during the 1st half blackout. Job done though and over the piece we were miles ahead of them.
How prepared we are for the opening games of the season and the tougher European assignment that lies ahead is another matter though. We are still a couple short and any additions are now going to have to find their feet in proper competitive games.
29-07-2021, 06:25 PM
Must be some hibees there??, for players to clap
There are a travelling band of hibs there
Any doubts people had about Macey can surely go in the bin now. Outstanding.
People who were doubting him in the first place need their heads checked out. Guy hasn't put a foot wrong thus far.
DIXIHIBS
29-07-2021, 06:25 PM
5-1 aggregate so not too bad. Thought we were slack/ too casual at times but hard to judge against a team like that. Much tougher next week but hopefully that will make us more focused. Well done the hibees.
cjward2
29-07-2021, 06:26 PM
A moment of sloppy defending cost us the goal, but a great response to go 2-1 up. From what I saw of JDH he can pass the ball well.
My takeaway from that game is Andorra looks lovely
badabing67
Has anyone got a link for the Rijeka game
29-07-2021, 06:27 PM
29-07-2021, 06:28 PM
Not overly convincing but a wins a win.
... which is the bottom line.
Although for those of us looking for reasons to be positive about the season ahead will be left with only really the goalkeeping position to point at.
Thoroughly unconvincing in every department over the 2 legs for me (unless we were brilliant during the first half tonight).
We just about did enough. Well, we did enough.
Just about.
I've seen us put out of enough cup competitions by utter pish over the years to know not to scoff at a win in the cup, but they were absolute keech and we managed to be a wee bit better.
29-07-2021, 06:29 PM
Felt we were going through the motions and the goal woke us up. Easily stepped up a gear when they did.
Highwayman
Thought the same.The background to the stadium looked more interesting than the game a lot of the time.
Although for those of us looking for reasons to be positive about the season ahead will be left with only really the goalkeeping position to point at.
Thoroughly unconvincing in every department over the 2 legs for me (unless we were brilliant during the first half tonight).
Just about.
Hiy. Don’t you be giving that kind of opinion on here!
There was a stage of the Tour de France that went through Andorra and it looked absolutely epic - not much in the way of flat roads tho!
I think the players were told to avoid bookings (or worse), which is why we weren't pressing them when they had the ball in their own half and weren't sliding in when they were around our box.
It basically isn't worth the risk in a tie that was more or less won already. Look at Newall - sent off/suspended for sliding in in their box.
We need as many players as possible fit for Sunday and as many as possible available for the next round.
Job done. Well done Hibs.
Has anyone got a link for the Rijeka game
http://www.hesgoal.com/news/83756/Rijeka_vs_Gzira.html
uwxm07
29-07-2021, 06:30 PM
11-2 Hibs win @ 1-0 looking lgood now 😂😂😂
Sometimes I just love being a happy clapper
That was more enjoyable during the 1st half blackout. Job done though and over the piece we were miles ahead of them.
How prepared we are for the opening games of the season and the tougher European assignment that lies ahead is another matter though. We are still a couple short and any additions are now going to have to find their feet in proper competitive games.
But if we get someone in they’’ve done preseason & played a game or 2 with the club their currently at
There was a stage of the Tour de France that went through Andorra and it looked absolutely epic - not much in the way of flat roads tho!
Aye I wouldn’t imagine so. Looked nice.
Lads weekend to Andorra
People who were doubting him in the first place need their heads checked out. Guy hasn't put a foot wrong thus far.
I’ll concede that it is looking very unlikely we will sign another keeper as a I thought we still might.
I haven’t doubted him as such, my concern was more that he didn’t get past Rocky last year so we are taking a step down from what we had.
No problem at all if he turns out to be brilliant. We all want that.
Wouldn’t say he hasn’t put a foot wrong though. He chucked one in just a few games ago v Stoke and I’d question his role still in 2 goals v Motherwell.
The test will come over a prolonged period if he can minimise mistakes. We don’t really know that yet. Something Rocky kept a pretty good handle on.
We were never likely to tax ourselves too much tonight.
badabing67
29-07-2021, 06:31 PM
http://www.hesgoal.com/news/83756/Rijeka_vs_Gzira.html
Cheers got one
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67KlwWKPA4Q
29-07-2021, 06:31 PM
We were never likely to tax ourselves too much tonight.
I was banking on us winning
29-07-2021, 06:32 PM
Cheers got one
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67KlwWKPA4Q
Tie over now
29-07-2021, 06:33 PM
I thought it was another good run out for the players, we made a lot of changes and a lot of players got some game time.
We played at a slow pace until we conceded, we managed the game well apart from when they scored. We had another 2 or 3 gears we could have gone up, but there really was no need.
29-07-2021, 06:34 PM
Well hello Rachel Bowlby..........
29-07-2021, 06:35 PM
Just about.
I've seen us put out of enough cup competitions by utter pish over the years to know not to scoff at a win in the cup, but they were absolute keech and we managed to be a wee bit better.
Other positives would be Magennis has looked the part and ready to step in. Mackay has come in and got some goals already and JDH also looked a pretty decent footballer.
Boyle has also looked very decent.
29-07-2021, 06:35 PM
Just about.
I've seen us put out of enough cup competitions by utter pish over the years to know not to scoff at a win in the cup, but they were absolute keech and we managed to be a wee bit better.I think a 'wee bit better' is a bit harsh
We won 5-1
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
29-07-2021, 06:36 PM
Well hello Rachel Bowlby..........Isnt it April?
29-07-2021, 06:37 PM
Yeah, a lucky 5-1 aggregate win.
He might have been talking about tinights leg, just a wild guess.
29-07-2021, 06:37 PM
I think a 'wee bit better' is a bit harsh
We won 5-1
Job done, on to the next round.
29-07-2021, 06:38 PM
What did we learn from that tie?
We have IMO more/better options than we did last season
Midfield looks better and will improve further
Defence needs to tighten up, my opinion is that they were cut open far too often by poor opposition over the two legs
Macey looks as though he will do just fine
Final ball needs improved as we got into some great positions and made nothing off many of them
Gullan won’t see any game time this season and would be better away for his own sake
We won comfortably over the 2 legs and did so competently and professionally and minimised our stress /risk
Personal opinion is we look better without Newall
hibee316
29-07-2021, 06:39 PM
29-07-2021, 06:40 PM
Defence needs to tighten up, my opinion is that they were cut open far too often by poor opposition over the two legs
Mackey looks as though he will do just fine
Final ball needs improved as we got into some great positions and made nothing off many of them
Gullan won’t see any game time this season and would be better away for his own sake
Mackey? Now that is confusing. [emoji12]
hibee316
I thought it was another good run out for the players, we made a lot of changes and a lot of players got some game time.
We played at a slow pace until we conceded, we managed the game well apart from when they scored. We had another 2 or 3 gears we could have gone up, but there really was no need.
With the heat there, I wonder if we really could have gone up through the gears. We will see in the next round!
The Croat mob look handy and the away section looks, erm horrendous.
29-07-2021, 06:42 PM
Weren’t going to lose the tie but important to win the game for the coefficient.
In the 15 minutes I saw of JDH I was glad to see that he actually wants to pass the ball forward.
From what I’ve seen so far I think we’ve got a bit to go to find the right balance in the team.
29-07-2021, 06:43 PM
No be anyone in the away section so won’t need to worry about that.
29-07-2021, 06:44 PM
Just seen the highlights from the first 45, looks like we played better in the 1st half than we did in the 2nd
I'd be pleasantly surprised if we progress past them. They're a good team with good experience in European competition.
Mackey? Now that is confusing. [emoji12]
It is indeed, fixed it:greengrin
Just seen the highlights from the first 45, looks like we played better in the 1st half than we did in the 2nd
Where was that?
29-07-2021, 06:46 PM
I'd be pleasantly surprised if we progress past them. They're a good team with good experience in European competition.
Maltese mob should have scored there.
29-07-2021, 06:47 PM
It's basically a street up in the mountains with duty free facilities.
29-07-2021, 06:50 PM
Job down but need to improve to beat Motherwell, never mind the next European tie.
29-07-2021, 06:51 PM
Many a Scottish club has come a cropper to minnows in Europe so I’m ok with a home and away win. Next round will be a sterner test.
29-07-2021, 06:51 PM
:agree: Why risk injuries or bookings.
29-07-2021, 06:52 PM
I think a 'wee bit better' is a bit harsh
We won 5-1
There were spells during both games where we looked far superior (which we are) - either because we had numerical advantage or because we bucked our ideas up a bit.
For long periods there wasn't much between the teams and they had a couple of decent(ish) spells in both games.
Our first goal tonight and the way they looked at points early on in the first game when we pressed them showed how really poor they were.
If the idea was to get through the tie, expending as little effort as possible and keep as much as possible in the tank (not an unreasonable tactic FWIW) then it was very much mission accomplished.
But if it was to build any sort of confidence ahead of the new season then it fell miles short.
We've got a lot of bucking up of ideas to do imo. Big game on Sunday and then the Croatian team will be decent. I think it's going to require a big (maybe too big) step up in performance from where we're at right now to have any real chance in that tie.
Hope I'm wrong but I'm not loving the shape or balance of the team. It has looked a bit "Heckinbottom" to me - clearly good players, struggling to look anything like a cohesive unit.
29-07-2021, 06:53 PM
Macey looks as though he will do just fine
We won comfortably over the 2 legs and did so competently and professionally and minimised our stress /risk
Personal opinion is we look better without Newall
Our passing out from the back is poor but we knew that anyway.
29-07-2021, 07:02 PM
Conceding to part time garbage like them is woeful.
We’ve looked really poor over the two legs to be honest apart from a spell in the second half of the first leg.
Don’t see us getting past Riejka unless the performance level improves massively.
29-07-2021, 07:04 PM
We’ve looked really poor over the two legs to be honest apart from a spell in the second half of the first leg.
Don’t see us getting past Riejka
We really havent looked really poor
hibee1875
29-07-2021, 07:06 PM
Don’t see us getting past Riejka unless the performance level improves massively.
What about the performances were really poor exactly?
HFC93
29-07-2021, 07:11 PM
Football rarely works like that when playing a part-time teams in European or domestic competitions. We won 5-1 on aggregate ffs.
hibbie02
29-07-2021, 07:12 PM
When did it kick off? I'm in Cyprus and thought I'd missed the first 20 minutes and find out its all over! WTF? Last week I was sitting here till silly o'clock for the first leg!!!
hibee1875
29-07-2021, 07:15 PM
When did it kick off? I'm in Cyprus and thought I'd missed the first 20 minutes and find out its all over! WTF? Last week I was sitting here till silly o'clock for the first leg!!!
About 3 hours ago
29-07-2021, 07:16 PM
It would have kicked off at 7.30pm Cyprus time.
29-07-2021, 07:19 PM
What about the performances were really poor exactly?
Every department was poor apart from goalkeeper.
We didn't defend nearly well enough, very wobbly at times tonight.
Not good enough playing out from the back.
Didn't create enough.
Final ball was very poor at times.
We missed a lot of the chances we created.
It was like a continuation of the woeful cup final performance only since we were up against an awful team (rather than a well-drilled St Johnstone side) we got away with it.
We need to improve in every department, by some distance, as soon as we come up against someone of the standard of Motherwell on Sunday. And they're not brilliant.
29-07-2021, 07:19 PM
17.30 Scottish time 🏴
29-07-2021, 07:20 PM
We really havent looked really poor
I wouldn’t go as far as to say really poor, disjointed is maybe more how I would describe it.
Last week I thought we were just really slow in our play early in the game then struggled for the remainder of the second half after the sending off. Were then much better in the second half after the change at half time. Tonight it took them scoring to liven us up.
We’ll need a big improvement against Rijeka but even against Motherwell on Sunday.
29-07-2021, 07:21 PM
Didn't create enough.
It was like a continuation of the woeful cup final performance only since we were up against an awful team (rather than a well-drilled St Johnstone side) we got away with it.
We need to improve in every department, by some distance, as soon as we come up against someone of the standard of Motherwell on Sunday. And they're not brilliant.
Did you see the chances created in the 1st half?
He's here!
29-07-2021, 07:25 PM
I think the players were told to avoid bookings (or worse), which is why we weren't pressing them when they had the ball in their own half and weren't sliding in when they were around our box.
It basically isn't worth the risk in a tie that was more or less won already. Look at Newall - sent off/suspended for sliding in in their box.
We need as many players as possible fit for Sunday and as many as possible available for the next round.
Job done. Well done Hibs.
Agreed. Way too early to make sweeping judgements when the players are still getting up to speed and I think we'd all have taken a 5-1 aggregate beforehand. Certainly no complaints from me.
hibee1875
29-07-2021, 07:28 PM
Didn't create enough.
Fair enough if that’s your view but I disagree.
Positives I took from both games:
Magennis coming onto a game, finally showing his worth.
Boyle and Nisbet already up and running.
Campbell and JDH good options to come in in midfield.
Macey pulled off some good stops tonight.
Porto looks like he’s bulked up.
Potty78
29-07-2021, 07:32 PM
Didn't create enough.
Didn't create enough then u say we missed a lot of chances we created, make up your mind. Why cant we just say well done Hibs easy aggregate win and we move on
29-07-2021, 07:32 PM
Didn't create enough.
obviously only saw the second half but thought we were just fine apart froma couple of defensive lapses from the usually dependable Doig and McGinn. We managed the game pretty well with no injuries or stupid bookings etc on a plastic pitch. New boys look decent too. Certainly didn’t see anything to be alarmed about.
Tully
29-07-2021, 07:33 PM
Done what was required, totally different game on sunday, fans be there to give team a lift, same next Thursday another totally different game , one again the fans can play there part, looking forward to them
29-07-2021, 07:37 PM
Did you see the chances created in the 1st half?
No, so I'm commenting only on what I saw.
Mitigating factors etc that I'm prepared to accept -
We might have been brilliant during the first half tonight, but if we were, would we have been 0-0? I accept I'm only commenting on 3/4 of a tie.
The sending off had a big impact on the first game. Our team appears to be built around Scott Allan's contribution, we lost him early on as we tried to cope with the sending off, it affected us. We were adapting to a situation, even being without Allan tonight, and I didn't think we were bringing our "A" game at all.
The fact that we've got bigger fish to fry (even as soon as Sunday) and might well have wanted to keep a bit in reserve for that.
I tend to prefer us to play well and get a bit of confidence going into bigger games. We definitely didn't get that.
29-07-2021, 07:41 PM
Didn't create enough then u say we missed a lot of chances we created, make up your mind. Why cant we just say well done Hibs easy aggregate win and we move on��
I thought the team we were playing were awful and with the players we have, I expect us to be creating AND taking a fair number of chances. We didn't do enough of either - my mind is made up, thanks.
It is possible to be critical of the number of chances we created and the number we took.
Was the first goal tonight even a chance? It was clusterf*** defending by a pub team. Fair play to Murphy for not missing it and for forcing it (I guess).
We might have been brilliant during the first half tonight, but if we were, would we have been 0-0? I accept I'm only commenting on 3/4 of a tie.
The sending off had a big impact on the first game. Our team appears to be built around Scott Allan's contribution, we lost him early on as we tried to cope with the sending off, it affected us. We were adapting to a situation, even being without Allan tonight, and I didn't think we were bringing our "A" game at all.
The fact that we've got bigger fish to fry (even as soon as Sunday) and might well have wanted to keep a bit in reserve for that.
I tend to prefer us to play well and get a bit of confidence going into bigger games. We definitely didn't get that.
So you cant play well and not score, surely you have seen that happen before? The 1st half highlights are on hibs tv, looks like we created loads, probably should have scored a couple then but ill take a 5-1 win with not playing at full pelt
Tonight was a kick about in the sun for the players. Job done last week.
A good work out in advance of Sunday.
hibee1875
29-07-2021, 07:42 PM
SA hasn’t played for us for a year. Struggling to see your point. How did 30mins of football draw you to the conclusion that we’re built round his contribution? The team was spooked by going down to 10 men so early on, nothing to do with SA going off.
Stanton Spence
29-07-2021, 07:43 PM
A good work out in advance of Sunday.Correct, tonight was just a pre season run out bud [emoji1303]
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
29-07-2021, 07:44 PM
Looking at the highlights hibs put up of the first half, Campbell might feel a bit disappointed that the fans didn't get to see more of his contribution. Certainly mentioned on twitter feed.
29-07-2021, 07:45 PM
I know it’s early stages but Dan Mackay certainly seems capable of chipping in with goals.
29-07-2021, 07:45 PM
obviously only saw the second half but thought we were just fine apart froma couple of defensive lapses from the usually dependable Doig and McGinn. We managed the game pretty well with no injuries or stupid bookings etc on a plastic pitch. New boys look decent too. Certainly didn’t see anything to be alarmed about.
I don't know if I'd say I was alarmed. I was prepared to forgive Hanlon his gaffes in the friendlies, I just think you need to buck your ideas up a bit in competitive games and the mistakes from McGinn and Doig were uncharacteristic. The bit that probably had me most alarmed was how poor we were for 10-15 minutes leading up to their goal. It was coming, and I don't think we should be finding ourselves under the cosh against a team who looked so weak and bereft of ideas at times.
In fairness - I thought we responded really pretty well to the goal and were much more like we should be for a spell after that. Not sure we should be having to lose goals against teams like that to shake us up though.
You can only beat what is in front of you and we managed it, but I think we need to improve pretty drastically from here, even just to win on Sunday.
hibee1875
29-07-2021, 07:46 PM
I know it’s early stages but Dan Mackay certainly seems capable of chipping in with goals.
Glad he got a goal tonight. Not sure if the occasion got to him last week but he was almost playing it too safe at times, scared of making a mistake on his debut. Goals breed confidence though so hopefully he can build on it
29-07-2021, 07:48 PM
So you cant play well and not score, surely you have seen that happen before? The 1st half highlights are on hibs tv, looks like we created loads, probably should have scored a couple then but ill take a 5-1 win with not playing at full pelt
Yeah, the result whilst not at our best is a definite positive. I'll take your word for the better first half performance, I hope it was. But does that give more fuel to the "missed chances" argument? TBH, given I think our strikers are pretty good I'd probably be happy with a better first half and a few missed chances, over the course of a season I'd expect our strikers to do fine in front of goal, may just have had an off night tonight. It happens.
hibbie02
29-07-2021, 07:50 PM
17.30 Scottish time [emoji2528]
Shoulda checked kick off time…. Assumed it was the same as last week. Oh well had a lovely fillet steak with proper piri piri sauce thanks to a recommendation by Speedy Gonzalez!
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
29-07-2021, 07:52 PM
SA hasn’t played for us for a year. Struggling to see your point. How did 30mins of football draw you to the conclusion that we’re built round his contribution? The team was spooked by going down to 10 men so early on, nothing to do with SA going off.
He played a big part of the game against Arsenal and tbh I thought that even in spite of Arsenal looking a bit rusty, we played very well that night. Allan was at the centre of it.
Allan then started the home tie, in the same sort of formation. That suggested to me that Jack Ross wants to have him as a big part of the team.
TBH - the Arsenal game gave me a lot of hope. I quite liked Nisbet up front on his own, Allan tucked in behind, inverted wingers and the fullbacks getting forward. The sitting midfielders and the defence did their job pretty well that night (other than the odd mistake).
It gave me a bit of early hope that we were going to build on that and work with that shape ahead of the league season.
We've not really been able to do so since the red card in the first leg, and it looks a little bit to me like we've been on plan B since then - and that plan B hasn't really been up to it.
hibbie02
29-07-2021, 07:53 PM
The Croats only beat that Maltese team 1-0 at home. Something to think about and consider?
HFC93
29-07-2021, 07:58 PM
The Croats only beat that Maltese team 1-0 at home. Something to think about and consider?
Can't be right. I read on here that Rijeka are essentially Real Madrid.
29-07-2021, 08:07 PM
I’m sure Rijeka.net will lament how it’s embarrassing they just squeezed through. Their defenders were awful passing out the back.
29-07-2021, 08:09 PM
Relax was just passing on my opinion from what I've seen. We can and hopefully will play better.
The main thing is obviously getting through so it's firmly job done. Riejka are obviously not Real Madrid but they are going to be a tougher test and we will need to be better in terms of overall performance to get through the tie.
29-07-2021, 08:13 PM
Fair enough if that’s your view but I disagree.
Positives I took from both games:
Magennis coming onto a game, finally showing his worth.
Boyle and Nisbet already up and running.
Campbell and JDH good options to come in in midfield.
Macey pulled off some good stops tonight.
Porto looks like he’s bulked up.
Allan looks to be back and Newell will be available after red card.
ElginHibbie
29-07-2021, 08:16 PM
A good work out in advance of Sunday.
147lothian
29-07-2021, 08:20 PM
A positive from tonight, Mackay and Campbell could be like two new signings, I thought they both had excellent games even though Mackay wasn't on the pitch for as long, he looked very good and I would like to see Campbell getting a regular start.
29-07-2021, 08:22 PM
A positive from tonight, Mackay and Campbell could be like two new signings, I thought they both had excellent games even though Mackay wasn't on the pitch for as long, he looked very good and I would like to see Campbell getting a regular start.
Mackay is a new signing.
29-07-2021, 08:26 PM
Anyone able to say how JDH, Magennis and Campbell played?
Seen a couple of positive posts about Campbell and the clips on hibs Twitter look good, a lot of 3rd man runs beyond the striker.
29-07-2021, 08:30 PM
Seen a couple of positive posts about Campbell and the clips on hibs Twitter look good, a lot of 3rd man runs beyond the striker.JDH looks skillfull. Campbell was involved and was probably unlucky not to score. Magennis also continuing his good form of his past couple of appearances.
29-07-2021, 08:39 PM
Seen a couple of positive posts about Campbell and the clips on hibs Twitter look good, a lot of 3rd man runs beyond the striker.
I thought JDH looked to pass the ball forward which is an instant improvement in that part of the pitch for me. But it was only 20 minutes or so against them so hard to judge.
29-07-2021, 08:45 PM
Isnt it April?
July 😉
29-07-2021, 08:48 PM
Can't be right. I read on here that Rijeka are essentially Real Madrid.
You must be reading things that aren't there.
147lothian
29-07-2021, 08:54 PM
Mackay is a new signing.
True bud, and with Campbell returning from his loan spell what I was meaning to say was that it's as good as two new signings. If tonight's performances are anything to go by.
29-07-2021, 08:55 PM
True bud, and with Campbell returning from his loan spell what I was meaning to say was that it's as good as two new signings. If tonight's performances are anything to go by.
Sorry to be pedantic.
29-07-2021, 09:01 PM
Looked from the highlights that the first half performance was pretty good, other than the dismal finishing.
29-07-2021, 09:02 PM
We won both legs - that was the target.
We look to have plenty sharp, pacey potentially exciting options going forward - was good to see Murphy get on the scoresheet and a moment he flew past his man down the left with incredible ease stood out.
I also thought the goalie was excellent.
I do think at the back we are capable of lapses in concentration that can cost us. I am a big Mcginn fan and it's a new season clean slate but when you look in the cold light of day that was a poor poor mistake tonight and the amount of soft errors individually leading to goals are beginning to stack up a bit.
We undoubtedly need to play to a higher level next round, but reason to be positive going in to the tie absolutley.
29-07-2021, 09:16 PM
The only negatives from the tie we take into the next round are bookings for Boyle and McGinn.
Important that both avoid European bookings now.
In reality our season starts on Sunday and our European examination begins for real next Thursday.
Game on!
29-07-2021, 09:25 PM
Andorra is a fantastic country. Historically the season was the ski season so you could have a faintly inexpensive break there during the summer. We flew to Barcelona and got the bus to Andorra le Vie. I recommend it to anyone who is thinking of it.
29-07-2021, 09:36 PM
BBC 5 LIVE happy to mention the Aberdeen win, not a jot about The Hibees 🙄
29-07-2021, 09:37 PM
BBC 5 LIVE happy to mention the Aberdeen win, not a jot about The Hibees 🙄
Means nothing. Stuff like that has no baring on what we do this season. Let all the noise be about the Dons and we can keep focusing on a successful season.
I don't know if I'd say I was alarmed. I was prepared to forgive Hanlon his gaffes in the friendlies, I just think you need to buck your ideas up a bit in competitive games and the mistakes from McGinn and Doig were uncharacteristic. The bit that probably had me most alarmed was how poor we were for 10-15 minutes leading up to their goal. It was coming, and I don't think we should be finding ourselves under the cosh against a team who looked so weak and bereft of ideas at times.
In fairness - I thought we responded really pretty well to the goal and were much more like we should be for a spell after that. Not sure we should be having to lose goals against teams like that to shake us up though.
You can only beat what is in front of you and we managed it, but I think we need to improve pretty drastically from here, even just to win on Sunday.
Yep, we were under the cosh for 3 minutes! If we had taken 25% of our chances over both legs we would have been out of sight. We won 5 1, we won both legs, we're in next round & most importantly none of our key players were injured.
loanheadhibby
29-07-2021, 09:40 PM
I agree huge improvement needed, strange that we are in the minority. Surely to kick on this season we need to show more than we did tonight.
29-07-2021, 09:43 PM
I agree huge improvement needed, strange that we are in the minority. Surely to kick on this season we need to show more than we did tonight.
Seems Jack Ross also agrees that improvement is required :agree:
29-07-2021, 09:44 PM
Didn't create enough.
Wow. It was a game played at 60%. We are through. No injuries. All good.
29-07-2021, 09:46 PM
The only negatives from the tie we take into the next round are bookings for Boyle and McGinn.
Important that both avoid European bookings now.
In reality our season starts on Sunday and our European examination begins for real next Thursday.
Game on!
And Doidge.
Inconsequential
29-07-2021, 09:47 PM
Mackay is a new signing. Well spotted that man! He is indeed a new signing. :agree:
29-07-2021, 09:55 PM
Anyone know how much cash we get for progressing past this round?
29-07-2021, 10:02 PM
Anyone know how much cash we get for progressing past this round?
Reaching the third qualifying round is worth 550,000 Euros.
29-07-2021, 10:03 PM
And Doidge.
Forgot about his :aok:
29-07-2021, 10:06 PM
Reaching the third qualifying round is worth 550,000 Euros.
:aok:That is way more than I expected.
Having a deco online it looks like we will receive 550,000 Euros for playing in the next round.
Win that tie and it's bumped up to 750,000 for being in the play off round.
Win that and we are in the big money, just short of 3 million Euros and a further 500,000 Euros for every game won and 166,000 for every draw.
How much do folk reckon we spent on the plane charter, hotels etc for the present trip?
29-07-2021, 10:09 PM
Seems Jack Ross also agrees that improvement is required :agree:
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1420852376915820558?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
I actually think his interview here is really good, and I agree with pretty much everything he says.
It sounds to me like he's probably wanting to be more critical than he actually is here, that he's seen a fair bit that he was unhappy with, but that he knows they're good players and that he's willing to see the bigger picture - ie the mission was ultimately a success. He's being quite restrained and positive, and I think that's a good thing - Lennon did the whole lambasting the players all the time thing and we saw how that played out.
30-07-2021, 06:38 AM
Has it started yet?
JR singling Josh Campbell out for his MOM performance last night saying it could be a big season for the HIBS daft youngster
Daily Mail
https://mol.im/a/9840809
adam middlemass
30-07-2021, 06:52 AM
i wish posters could respect others views without the snide comments
positive or negative
This 100%. 👍
adam middlemass
30-07-2021, 06:58 AM
Santa Coloma dead as a club now.
Brilliant ! :not worth
30-07-2021, 05:25 PM
With foresight like that will you please buy me a lottery ticket or two. Thanks. Much appreciated.:greengrin
Bought you one lol
madbadlad
31-07-2021, 04:04 PM
Just out of interest, the coach of Santa Coloma quit his position after the game to join Unió Esportiva Llagostera of Girona.
31-07-2021, 04:18 PM
Just out of interest, the coach of Santa Coloma quit his position after the game to join Unió Esportiva Llagostera of Girona.
Is that a football or Rugby Union team? :greengrin
31-07-2021, 04:19 PM
Is that a football or Rugby Union team? :greengrin
😂😂😂